# Amicus Curiae Brief — Board of Ed. of Westside Community Schools (Dist. 66) v. Mergens

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0467%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 496 U.S. 226

## Text

No. 88-1597

IN THE ee

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1989

BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE WESTSIDE COMMUNITY
SCHOOLS (DIST. 66), ef. al.,
Petitioners,

—V_-—

BRIDGET C. MERGENS, et ai.,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF THE ANTI-DEFAMATION LEAGUE OF
B’NAI B’RITH, THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION, THE NATIONAL COALITION FOR PUBLIC

EDUCATION AND RELIGIOUS LIBERTY, THE
NATIONAL JEWISH COMMUNITY RELATIONS ADVI-
SORY COUNCIL, THE COMMITTEE FOR PUBLIC
EDUCATION AND RELIGIOUS LIBERTY, AND AMER-
ICANS FOR RELIGIOUS LIBERTY, AMICI CURIAE,
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

RICHARD E. SHEVITZ
Anti-Defamation League
of B'nai B'rith
823 United Nations Plaza
New York, NY 10017
(212) 490-2525
Counsel of Record

Of Counsel Ruti G. TEITEL
MEYER EISENBERG New York Law School
JEFFREY P. SINENSKY 57 Worth Street
STEVEN M. FREEMAN New York. NY 10013
Jitt L. KAHN (212) 431-2322

Anti-Defamation League :
of B'nai B'rith

823 United Nations Plaza

New York, NY 10017

(212) 490-2525

Counsel for Amici Curiae

“

Il.

i
Questions Presented

Whether the Equal Access Act and its application in the
present case requiring Westside High School to recognize
and sponsor a Christian prayer club violates the estab-
lishment clause of the first amendment.

Whether the Equal Access Act’s mandate requiring pub-
lic secondary schools to recognize and sponsor religious
student speech as it would other speech is compelled by
the free speech clause of the first amendment.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......-----+-++05:
TABLE OF CONTENTS.......---:-:seeeeeee?
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.......----- +++:
CONSENT OF THE PARTIES ......-----+++>:
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ......-..----.

INTRODUCTORY STATEMENT AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......----->>

ARGUMENT .......-ccccccccccscccccsescees

1. The Equal Access Act Violates the
Establishment Clause of the First
Amendment .......cccccccccccccedvccees

A. Public Schools and the Establishment
Clause: The Lemon Test........--+->-

B. The Equal Access Act On Its Face and
as Applied in This Case Violates All
Three Prongs of the Lemon Test.....-...

1. The Purpose of the EAA and of the
Christian Bible Club Meetings at
Westside High School is Religious ....

a. The EAA’s Religious Purpose ....
i. The Origins of the EAA ......
ii. The Language of the EAA ....

b. The Religious Purpose of the
Student Meetings at Westside
High School .....-....--++++++>

2. The EAA Has the Primary Effect of
Promoting Religion ........---++++:

a. Use of School Resources......--.
b. The Imprimatur of Government...

own S. +S

10
10

c. The Effect of School-Endorsed
Prayer on Students .............

d. The Effect of the Christian Club
at Westside: School Sanctioned
ee

3. The EAA and its Application in this
Case Fosters Unconstitutional
Entanglement of Government and
Ee eo

Ne le tc eee eees

b. The Application of the EAA in the
Present Case Would Result In
Excessive Entanglement Between
Government and Religion ........

Ill. Widmar v. Vincent Does Not Apply to Public
Secondary Schools ............--eeeeeeees

IV. The Court of Appeals Erred in Deferring to
Congress’ Fact-Finding on a Matter of
EE cc cc cess accceccecs

V. Westside is Not Compelled by the Free
Speech Clause of the First Amendment To
Sponsor the Christian Bible Club ..........

A. The Free Speech Clause Does Not
Require the Public Schools to Sponsor
Religious Expression..............--++:

B. Westside’s Sponsorship of a Christian
Club Would Constitute Government
Speech and Would Promote a Religious
ne ee

C. Non-Recognition of the Christian Club
Does Not Infringe Student Free Speech
PEER G CSW ssasecvescccseccccess

1. Equal Endorsement v. Equal Access ..

2. Respondents’ Religious Expression... .

16

17
17

18

19

23

24

24

/}

iV

3. The School Cannot Disclaim a
Religious Endorsement .........----

D. School Religious Clubs Undermine the
Public School’s Ability to Foster
Democratic Values of Equality and
ee ee

CONCLUSION .... cc cccc cece ce crcrceecccers

APPENDIX A: Member Organizations of the
National Jewish Community
Relations Advisory Council .....

APPENDIX B: Member Organizations of the
National Coalition for Public

Education and Religious Liberty .

PAGE

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Abington School District v. Schempp,

ee eee ee
Aguilar v. Felton, 473 U.S. 402, 412 (1985) ..

Allegheny County v. A.C.L.U.,

ee I eee cnc ceeses
Ambach v. Norwick, 441 U.S. 68 (1979) .....
Bd. of Educ. v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982)....

Bell v. Little Axe Indep. Sch. Dist.,

766 F.2d 1391 (10th Cir. 1985)...........

Bender v. Williamsport Area Sch. Dist.,

741 F.2d 538 (3d Cir. 1984) .............
Bethel v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 679 (1986) .......

Brandon v. Bd. of Ed., 635 F.2d 971

ee nb weldeee6s
Brown v. Board of Ed., 347 U.S. 483 (1954)..
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940) .

Collins v. Chandler, 644 F.2d 759

we eelis
Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987)...
Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962) ........

Garnett v. Renton Sch. Dist., 865 F.2d 1121

SE I ee ch Labbe k hdd ads
Grand Rapids v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373 (1985)...

Hazelwood School Dist. v. Kuhlmeier,

484 US. ,108 S. Ct. 562 (1988) ........

PAGE

passim

passim

passim
27
28

12, 22

passim
28

passim
28
10

18
passim

5,17

passim

4, 12, 24

passim

vi 7 vil

PAGE PAGE
Knights of the KKK v. East Baton Rouge Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980) ....... 5
Parish School Board, 578 F.2d 1122 (Sth Student Coalition for Peace v. Lower Merion
Cir. 1978) TURP TELE ERECECEE ETE TEE LTT 28 School, 776 F.2d 431 (3d Cir. 1985) ‘eee 6, 20
Landmark Communications, Inc. v. Virginia, Tilt Richardson. 403 US. 672 (1971) ... 24
435 U.S. 829 (1978) 0.0... cece eee ce. 24 a he 4 ri ys ve riot ny ia
petites Celie Bien inker v. Des Moines, se :
a re 12 Trietley v. Board of Ed., 65 A.2d 1,
EE TE ove cscs cccccccscn 18
Larson v. Valente,
Se ID oo sks cannes... 15 United States v. Carolene Products,
ee ced Nase wks be acees 23
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) .... passim wall Jaffree, 472 US. 38 (1985)
ree, S. 38 (1985)....... assim
Lubbock Civil Liberties Union v. Lubbock : a 7 fe ,
Indep. School Dist., 669 F.2d 1038 Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981) ..... passim
(Sth Cir. 1982) a awe a ee oe oe Oe eee 8 8 0 4 8 8 12, 18 Constitutional Provisions and Statutes
Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984)...... 5, 14, 19 USC pee
S. ES assin
Mary May v. Vanderburgh, 787 F.2d 1105 ne ee ; “
SS Se 26 Equal Access Act, 20 U.S.C. §§4071
i 6a a nis i 5 5 6 v6 4 ne 6% 5
McCollum v. Board of Education, Supp ae
swe essees passim Legislative Materials
Nartowicz v. Clayton County Sch. Dist., Bills
736 F.2d 646 (1 Ith Cir. 1984) seeeeveceoces 12, 22 S.2782, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1984) eee ee 6
Perry Education Assn. v. Perry Local H.R.4996, cited as revised S.815, 98th Cong.,
Educators re 6
Me OUEOD vvdecnccccccces 20 679%. $1 C 24S 004 :
Perumal v. Saddleback, 243 Cal. Rptr. 545, eats ian wasith shia :
cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 327 (1988) ........ 26 S.J. Res. 212, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1984) ... 6
Sable Communications of California, Inc. v. 128 Cong. Rec. 11,719 (1982) .............. 5
F.C.C., 109 S. Ct. 2829 (1989) ........... 24 130 Cong. Rec. 93 (1984) ................. 6
Smith v. Board of Commissioners, 827 F.2d 130 Cong. Rec. 2433 (1984) ............... 6
1684 (11th Cir.), aff'd, —- U.S. — (1989) 25, 26, 28 130 Cong. Rec. 2678 (1984) .............-. 6

Smith v. St. Tammany Parish Board, 316 F.
Supp. 1174 (E.D. La. 1970), aff'd, 448 F.
eee 28

Vili ix
PAGE PAGE
Hearings Yudof, When Government Speaks: Toward a
Hearings on S.815 and S.1059 Before the Theory of Government Expression and the

Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 98th Cong., First Amendment, 51 Tex. L. Rev. 863

RR a en tad cine xs 6, 20 Semen tee renee Ree e ry esses pn Heme > + > 25, 28
R New York Times, Aug. 1, 1984 ............. 7
eports

S. Rep. No. 357, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. |
reprinted in 1989 U.S. Code Cong., & Ad.

0 EN a ee a 6, 20
Debates
130 Cong. Rec. S$.8330-8337, 8360-8361 (daily
Ss ad iw key eee 6, 7
130 Cong. Rec. S$.8340-8343 (daily ed.
Medes sad wbiewe ke wds «060% 28

Other Authorities

J. Melton, A Directory of Religious Bodies in
the United States, xiii (1977) ............. 28

Stewart, The First Amendment, the Public
Schools and the Inculcation of Community
Values, 18 Journal of Law and Education 23
EE Leek Ce ieee kore See geek vb 0 08 6 26

Stone, The Equal Access Controversy: The
Religion Clauses and the Meaning of
Neutrality, 81 Nw.U.L. Rev. 168 (1986) ... 23

Teitel, The Unconstitutionality of Equal
Access Policies and Legislation Allowing
Organized Student-Initiated Religious
Activities in the Public Schools, 12 Hastings
ET RB fo Serer errrrr 7, 11

CONSENT OF THE PARTIES

All parties have consented to the filing of this brief and their
joint letier of consent has been filed with the Clerk of the
Court.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith was organized
in 1913 to advance good will and mutual understanding
among Americans of all creeds and races, and to combat
racial and religious prejudice in the United States. The Anti-
Defamation League has always adhered to the principle that
these goals and the general stability of our democracy are best
served through the vigorous protection of the separation of
church and state.

In support of this principle, the League has previously filed
briefs in this Court as counsel and as a friend of the court in
numerous cases dealing with the religious liberty clauses of
the first amendment. E.g., Allegheny County v. A.C.L.U., 109
S. Ct. 3086 (1989); Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578
(1987); Hobbie v. Unemployment Appeals Comm'n of Flor-
ida, 480 U.S. 136 (1987); Aguilar v. Felton, 473 U.S. 402
(1985); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985); Lynch v.
Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984); Widmar v. Vincent, 454 US.
263 (1981); Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971). The
League is able to bring to this appeal the perspective of a
national organization dedicated to safeguarding all persons’
religious freedoms.

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) is a nation-
wide, nonpartisan organization with 275,000 members dedi-
cated to preserving the principles embodied in the Bill of
Rights, including the separation of church and state. The
ACLU has frequently appeared before this Court on church-
State issues, both as direct counsel and as amicus curiae.

The National Coalition for Public Education and Religious
Liberty is a coalition of individuals and organizations dedi-
cated to a strong public school system which guarantees the
religious liberty of all citizens. In support of these principles,
the National Coalition for Public Education and Religious
Liberty has intervened in many key establishment clause
cases. Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987); Aguilar v.

2

Felton, 473 U.S. 402, 412 (1985); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 US.
38 (1985); and Grand Rapids v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373 (1985).
Members organizations of the National Coalition for Public
Education and Religious Liberty participating in this brief are
listed at appendix B.

The National Jewish Community Relations Advisory Coun-
cil (NJCRAC) is an umbrella organization including the
following national organizations: B'nai B'rith, Hadassah,
Jewish Labor Committee, Jewish War Veterans of the U.S.A.,
National Council of Jewish Women, Union of American
Hebrew Congregations, Union of Orthodox Jewish Congrega-
tions of America, United Synagogue of America/National
Women’s League for Conservative Judaism, Women’s Ameri-
can ORT as well as 117 community member agencies repre-
senting all major Jewish communities in the United States,
listed in appendix A. As the national planning and coordinat-
ing body for the field of Jewish community relations, the
NJCRAC believes that the separation of church and state in
the public schools is an essential bulwark in maintaining the
individual and political equality of all Americans.

This brief is also submitted on behalf of the Committee for
Public Education and Religious Liberty (PEARL), a non-
profit corporation consisting of organizational and individual
members committed to the preservation of the dual principles
of the separation of church and state and the free exercise of
religion as they relate to education in the State of New York.
To effectuate this purpose, PEARL has instituted suits and
submitted briefs amicus curiae in numerous actions arising
under the establishment clause, including Aguilar v. Felton,
473 U.S. 402 (1985); Committee for Public Education and
Religious Liberty v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756 (1973); and Levitt
v. Commiitee for Public Education and Religious Liberty,
413 U.S. 472 (1973).

Americans for Religious Liberty (ARL) is a non-profit,
nationwide educational organization whose members
represent the entire religious spectrum. ARL maintains that
strict religious neutrality is required of our public schools by
the first amendment. In support of this principle, ARL has
filed briefs amicus curiae in numerous establishment clause
cases. E.g., Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987).

3

INTRODUCTORY STATEMENT AND SUMMARY
OF ARGUMENT

In enacting the Equal Access Act (“EAA”) Congress
expressly rejected this Court’s interpretations of both the free
speech and the establishment clauses of the first amendment.
This Court has long held that the estabiishment clause prohib-
its school-sponsored religious activities in the public schools.
In addition, this Court has recognized that the free speech
clause permits limitations on those forms of student expression
which implicate the voice of government. The EAA rejects
these fundamental principles of first amendment
jurisprudence.

The EAA seeks to equate school-sponsored prayer meetings
with nonreligious school-sponsored activities. This legislative
equation overlooks the establishment clause barrier against
the use of the public schools to promote religion. The EAA
permits, even requires, government to lend both material and
symbolic support to religion, in blatant disregard for this
Court’s longstanding teachings under the establishment
clause. An examination of the text and history of the EAA
and its application to the prayer club involved in this case
demonstrates that the EAA violates core establishment clause
principles by providing government support to religion.

The EAA purports to extend the protection of the free
speech clause to school sanctioned religious activities. Under
the free speech clause, students in this case and in public
schools across the country are free to meet to discuss religious
issues and to pray. But the free speech clause does not require
the public schools to place their imprimatur upon student
religious meetings. By requiring our nation’s public schools to
endorse sectarian activities, the EAA, rather than fostering
religious freedom, threatens individual rights of conscience.

4

ARGUMENT

I. The Equal Access Act Violates the Establishment Clause
of the First Amendment.

A. Public Schools and the Establishment Clause: The
Lemon Test

The establishment clause of the first amendment mandates
that “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment
of religion.” In Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 612-613
(1971), this Court developed a now longstanding tripartite
analysis to determine the constitutionality of government
involvement with religion under the establishment clause: the
challenged practice must have a secular purpose, its effect
must neither advance nor inhibit religion, and it must not
foster excessive government entanglement with religion.' A
government action violates the establishment clause if it fails
any one of the three prongs. Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S.
578 (1987).

The Lemon analysis was first articulated in a case involving
government support for religion in education; and this Court
has “relied on Lemon in every case involving the sensitive
relationship between government and religion in the education
of our children.” Edwards, 482 U.S. 578; Grand Rapids v.
Ball, 473 U.S. 373 (1985); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38
(1985).

B. The Equal Access Act On Its Face and as Applied in This
Case Violates All Three Prongs of the Lemon Test

1. The Purposé of the EAA and of the Christian Bible
Club Meetings at Westside High School is
Religious

a. The EAA’s Religious Purpose

When examining the constitutionality of a statute under the
purpose prong of the Lemon test, this Court examines the
legislation’s “preeminent purpose.” Edwards, 482 U.S. at

'This Court recently reaffirmed the continuing vitality of the Lemon test
in Allegheny v. ACLU, 109 S. Ct. 3086 (1989).

5

590. In evaluating a statute requiring a religious display in
the public schools, the Court concluded “Kentucky's statute
requiring the posting of the Ten Commandments in public
schoolrooms had no secular legislative purpose and is there-
fore unconstitutional.” Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980).
Similarly, this Court struck down a legislative attempt to
introduce prayer in the public schools, holding that the statu-
tory provision for a moment of silence was enacted for “the
sole purpose of expressing the State’s endorsement of
prayer....” Wallace, 472 U.S. at 60. More recently, Louisi-
ana’s “Balanced Treatment Act” did not survive constitu-
tional scrutiny because it lacked a secular purpose. Although
the state legislature had articulated a secular purpose, Justice
Brennan, writing for the Court, explained, “it is required that
the statement of such purpose be sincere and not a sham.”
Edwards, 482 U.S. at 587.

As Justice O'Connor explained in her concurring opinion in
Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 688 (1984) “[i]he purpose prong
of the Lemon test asks whether government's actua/ purpose is
to endorse or disapprove of religion.” 465 U.S. at 690,
(emphasis added). To determine a statute’s actual purpose,
this Court has focused on the statute’s legislative history. See,
e.g., Wallace, 472 U.S. at 60. An examination of the language
and the legislative history of the EAA demonstrates beyond
any doubt that, notwithstanding its asserted goal of allowing
all students “equal access” to school facilities, the actual
purpose of the EAA is to promote sectarian religious activities
in the public schools.

i. The Origins of the EAA

The EAA was the result of a two year effort, through a
variety of legislative proposals and constitutional amend-
ments, to circumvent this Court’s school prayer decisions, see,
e.g., Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962), and to promote
religious activities in the public schools. The original equal
access proposal was introduced in 1982. S.2928 specifically
authorized meetings at the public schools for student religious
groups. $.2928, 97th Cong., 2d Sess., 128 Cong. Rec. 11,719
(1982). This proposal gave way to two proposed constitutional
amendments, the Hatch and Dixon Amendments, which also

6

sought to introduce prayer into the public schools.’ When
these efforts failed, they gave birth to several legislative initia-
tives. One of the bills, entitled the “Equal Access Act”
provided that it would be unlawful for a school receiving
federal financial assistance to deny “equal access... [to]
students ... that seek to engage in... activities that include
prayer or religious speech on school premises. S.1059, S. Rep.
No. 357, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. 1 reprinted in 1984 U.S. Code
Cong. & Ad. News 2348. The Religious Speech Protection
Act, the immediate precursor to the EAA, also expressly
provided for student prayer meetings in the public schools.’

The religious purpose of the EAA manifested itself in the
floor debates. In struggling to defend the EAA’s deficiencies,
Senator Hatfield, one of its leading proponents, essentially
conceded that the “equal access” concept was an artifice to
escape the establishment clause barrier to the use of the public
schools to promote religion: ““The Senator from Alabama has
spoken about religious activities ... I believe you can... pre-
sent this case as... a matter of freedom of speech and free-
dom of assembly.” See 130 Cong. Rec. $.8337 (daily ed. June
27, 1984). Thus the “equal access” concept was extended to
protect “political, philosophical, or other” types of speech as a
compromise measure to placate those members of Congress
who “feared that protecting any religious speech would run
afoul of the Establishment Clause.” Student Coalition for

S.J. Res. 212, 98th Cong., Ist. Sess. §2, 130 Cong.Rec. 93 (daily ed.
Jan. 24, 1984); S. 2782, 98th Cong., Ist Sess., §§1-2, 130 Cong. Rec. 2678
(daily ed. Mar 4, 1984). In his statement before the Senate Committee on
the Judiciary, Senator Denton explained that equal access measures were
designed “to restore the constitutional right to pray in public schools and
buildings.” Hearings on S.8!5 and S.1059 Before the Senate Comm. on the
Judiciary, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983).

‘The Religious Speech Protection Act provided in part:

It shall be a policy subject to the penalties in section 2 for a public
secondary school receiving federal financial assistance which generally
allows non-school sponsored groups of students to meet, not to discrim-
inate on the basis of the religious content of the speech at such
meetings.

H.R.4996, cited as revised S. 815, 98th Cong., 2d Sess., 130 Cong. Rec.
2433 (daily ed. Mar. 8, 1984).

7

Peace v. Lower Merion School, 776 F.2d 431, 439 (1985),
discussing 130 Cong.Rec.8336-37 (remarks of Sen. Hatfield).

Senator Mattingly was even more direct: “The purpose of
{the EAA] is, simply and straightforward [sic]—to allow
students in public schools throughout this Nation to meet
voluntarily during noninstructional periods for religious dis-
cussion, or Bible study, or prayer.” Jd. at 8360.‘ He did not
conceal the EAA constituted a legislative maneuver to pro-
mote school prayer:

Earlier this year the Senate debated for several weeks
President Reagan’s constitutional prayer amendment.
Much to my regret, and I am sure to many of my
colleagues in the Senate, President Reagan’s amendment
failed to receive the necessary two-thirds majority vote
for passage.

Following the vote I expressed my disappointment in the
outcwme of the prayer amendment. However, | also
expressed my desire for the Senate to take the next step
toward restoring ... religion in the schools—which is to
ensure that students are provided equal access to school
facilities for voluntary religious activities.

Id. at 8361.

To believe the EAA was actually intended to enhance stu-
dent free speech rights, one would have to overlook thé exten-
sive history reflecting Congressional efforts to promote relig-
ion in the public schools. As reflected in this legislative
history, the EAA “was not motivated by any clearly secular
purpose.” Wallace, 472 U.S. at 56. “[W]e need not be blind
in this case to the legislature’s preeminent religious purpose in

‘The general perception of the religious purpose of the EAA is also
captured in the media's reference to it as “the Son of School Prayer.”
President Signs a Bill To Permit Prayer in Schools, New York Times.
Aug. |, 1984, at A24, col. 1.

‘For added analysis of the religious purpose of the EAA as reflected in its
legislative history, see Teitel, The Unconstitutionality of Equal Access
Policies and Legislation Allowing Organized Student-Initiated Religious
Activities in the Public High Schools, 12 Hastings Const. L.Q. 529 (1985).

8

enacting this statute.” Edwards, 482 U.S. at 590. The legisla-
tive history of the EAA reveals the statute lacks the constitu-
tionally required secular purpose.

ii. The Language of the EAA

Although the EAA is ostensibly intended as a measure to
protect all student speech equally, its very text reveals its
impermissible religious purpose. The Act purports to protect
the right of students to meet for discussions on all philosophi-
cal, political and religious subjects. Significantly, however, the
majority of the EAA’s provisions are devoted to circumventing
the constitutional barriers to government sponsored religious
activities in the public schools. In seeking to protect religious
meetings, the EAA has the paradoxical effect of limiting,
rather than enhancing, all other nonreligious student activities
in the public schools.

For example, the EAA specifies that student meetings can-
not be sponsored by the school, government, or its agents or
employees. 20 U.S.C. §4071(c)(5). This statutory provision is
irrelevant to a meeting of typical youth organizations such as
the noncurricular clubs stipulated to this case.* No social,
educational or constitutional propose is served by preventing
the public schools from sponsoring, and even encouraging,
student attendance at such meetings. To the contrary, the
value of such clubs is only diminished by depriving them of
school sponsorship.

The EAA goes on to require that for the purpose of creating
a limited open forum, “nonschool persons may not direct,
conduct, control or regularly attend the meetings.” 20 U.S.C.
§4071(c)(S). Once again, this provision is irrelevant, even
counterproductive, to all student clubs other than sectarian
religious groups. A 4-H club does not need the protection of
the EAA to meet at school, but under the EAA, it could be
prohibited from inviting a local farmer to lead a discussion on
agricultural subjects. While purporting to protect students’

‘The noncurricular clubs at Westside include: the ski club. a chess club. a
surfing club, and service clubs, such as Welcome to Westside, Zonta and
Interact. J.A. 297-307.

9

rights of free expression, the EAA ironically limits the availa-
bility of information and means of expression in the schools by
extending the constitutional prohibition against school support
for religion to all student clubs.

The provisions of the EAA which specifically address relig-
ious activities conclusively demonstrate that its actual purpose
is to promote religion, and not to broaden free expression in
the public schools. Sections 4071(d)(1), (2) and (3) prohibit
school officials from influencing the form of religious activity,
requiring any person to participate in religious activity and
expending public funds on student meetings. These provisions
are material only to those student meetings which are religious

_and likely to conflict with this Court’s longstanding decisions

prohibiting the use of the public schools to promote religion.
See, e.g., Abington School District v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203
(1963); Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962); McCollum v.
Board of Education, 333 U.S. 203 (1948).

School sponsored student meetings which are not religious
in nature do not need the protection of the EAA. Further,
individual religious student expression does not need the pro-
tection of the EAA. See Tinker v. Des Moines Indep. Com-
munity School Dist., 393 U.S. 503 (1969). Accordingly, it is
specious to argue that the EAA’s purpose is to protect student
rights of free expression. The EAA’s exclusive purpose is to
protect school sponsored religious meetings.

By enacting the EAA, Congress provided statutory support
to those religious faiths seeking governmental support for their
worship and proselytizing efforts. The true purpose of the
EAA is to eviscerate the constitutional mandate forbidding
the use of the public schools to promote religion. “[W]hen the
State enacts a law to serve a religious purpose. . . [its] govern-
mental intention to promote religion is clear.” Edwards, 482
US. at 585.

b. The Religious Purpose of the Student Meetings
at Westside High School

Though respondents strain to characterize the Christian
club as a component of the secular educational goals of West-
side High School (“Westside”), the record clearly demon-
strates that the club is devoted to essential Christian purposes.

10

Bridget Mergens conceded below that she organized the Bible
club not only to engage in the quintessentially religious activi-
ties of prayer and fellowship, but also because she wanted to
promote Christianity to non-religious students at Westside.
J.A. 75. Prayer and proselytizing are religious activities. See
Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. at 424; Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310
U.S. 296 (1940).

Proselytizing is an imporiant part of the Christian Bible
club’s activities. One club member explained that he attended
the Bible club meetings not only because it allowed him to use
Westside to further his development as a Christian, but
because the club also enabled him to assist others to “become
Christians.” J.A. 185. Another club member similarly testi-
fied that the club fit in with her involvement in a program
called “Evangelism Explosion,” which is devoted to telling
others about “Jesus Christ and how he has affected our life.”
Trial Transcript at 232. A Christian Bible club organized to
engage in prayer and to attract converts serves an exclusively
religious purpose.

2. The EAA Has the Primary Effect of Promoting
Religion

a. Use of School Resources atm

Though this Court has-not yet considered the constitution-
ality of school sponsored student worship in the public schools,
similar religious practices have not withstood constitutional
scrutiny. In McCollum, the Court held the establishment
clause prohibits religious groups from taking advantage of the
state’s public school machinery to further their sectarian
goals:

The operation of the state’s compulsory education system
thus assists and is integrated with the program of relig-
ious instruction carried on by separate religious sects. .. .
This is beyond all question a utilization of the tax-estab-
lished and tax-supported public school system to aid
religious groups to spread their faith. And it falls
squarely under the ban of the First Amendment.

333 U.S. at 209-210. The establishment clause bars the state
from “employ[ing] its facilities or funds in a way that gives
any church, or all churches, greater strength in our society

1]

than it would have by relying on its members alone.” Abing-
ton, 374 US. at 229.

Westside conducts a club fair in its gym each year under the
direction of the assistant principal at which clubs aggressively
recruit new members. J.A. 422 et. seg. Requiring the school
to allow respondents to exploit a school-sponsored fair con-
ducted in the school’s gymnasium to win converts clearly
involves the “utilization of the tax-established and tax sup-
ported public school system to aid religious groups.” McCol-
lum, 333 US. at 210.

Though the EAA seeks to justify organized religious activi-
ties by characterizing prayer meetings and proselytizing as
“student-initiated,” the establishment clause proscription on
the use of public school resources to promote religion in no
way depends upon who initiates the religious activities. Under
the establishment clause, it is immaterial whether students,
teachers, or outsiders initiate the religious activities. See 12
Hast. Const. L. Q. 529, supra note 5. The religious activities
held unconstitutional in McCollum originated with private
individuals, not state officials, but the Court recognized that
the exploitation of state resources for religious purposes and
the accompanying appearance of government support for
religion violated the establishment clause.

b. The Imprimatur of Government

The EAA not only sanctions the use of public school
resources to advance religion, it also violates the establishment
clause by requiring the public schools to place their imprima-
tur on religious activities. The EAA permits the students at
Westside and at public secondary schools across the country to
obtain their school’s official sponsorship and recognition of
sectarian clubs devoted to worship and proselytizing. 20
U.S.C. §4071(b). Conducting religious activities under the
school’s formal auspices and with school approval creates the

impression that government endorses those sectarian practices
or beliefs.

More than forty years ago, the Court recognized that the
public school constitutes “the symbol of our democracy.”
McCollum, 333 U.S. at 231. In Engel, Justice Black wrote
that activities which place the government's “official stamp of

12

approval” on religion represent “one of the greatest dangers to
the freedom of the individual to worship in his own way.” 370
US. at 429.

More recently, this Court explained in Grand Rapids:

Our cases have recognized that the Establishment Clause
guards against more than direct, state-funded efforts to
indoctrinate youngsters in specific religious beliefs. Gov-
ernment promotes religion as effectively when it fosters a
close identification of its powers and responsibilities with
those of any—or all—religious denominations as when it
attempts to inculcate specific religious doctrines. If this
identification conveys a message of government endorse-
ment or disapproval of religion, a core purpose of the
Establishment Clause is violated.

473 U.S. at 389. In Grand Rapids, the Court concluded the
challenged programs violated the establishment clause in sev-
eral ways. Not only did they provide a government subsidy to
religion, permitting state-funded religious indoctrination, but
they also created the unconstitutional appearance of a “sym-
bolic union of church and state.” Jd. at 397. The EAA
provides for a similar union of church and state. When a
public high school provides official sponsorship to sectarian
activities, government becomes unconstitutionally allied with
religion. See Abington, 374 U.S. at 224; see also Larkin v.
Grendel's Den, 459 U.S. 116, 125-126 (1982).

Every federal appellate court to review the constitutionality
of “equal access” religious activities in the public schools, with
the sole exception of the court below, has held that such
activities violate the establishment clause by placing the gov-
ernment’s imprimatur on religion. Garnett v. Renton Sch.
Dist., 865 F.2d 1121 (9th Cir. 1989), Bender v. Williamsport
Area Sch. Dist., 741 F.2d 538 (3d Cir. 1984), vacated on
other grounds, 475 U.S. 534 (1986); Bell v. Little Axe Indep.
Sch. Dist., 766 F.2d 1391 (10th Cir. 1985); Nartowicz v.
Clayton County Sch. Dist., 736 F.2d 646 (11th Cir. 1984):
Lubbock Civil Liberties Union v. Lubbock Indep. School
Dist., 669 F.2d 1038 (Sth Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S.
1159 (1983); Brandon v. Bd. of Ed., 635 F.2d 971 (2d Cir.
1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1123 (1981).

13

In Bender, the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
explained:

Since it is the public schools which provide the most
prolonged and involved contact which youth enjoy with
the state, and indeed, for many, the public schools may
appear as an institutional symbol of government in gen-
eral, any practice which communicates sanction by the
school of religious activity amounts to an Establishment
Clause violation.

741 F.2d at 555. Most recently, the Ninth Circuit, addressing
a nearly identical factual setting, held the use of igh school
facilities to conduct student prayer meetinss impermissibly
advances religion because the meetings are school recognized
and thus enjoy school sponsorship. The circuit recognized the
many distinctions between the setting of a public secondary
school and the university setting presented in Widmar v.
Vincent, 454 U.S. 269 (1981):

Unlike university students, high school students are
required to attend school. The instructional format at a
high school is far more structured than at a univer-
sity.... Teachers at high school, unlike college profes-
sors, are both educators and authority figures. The same
considerations that mandate special vigilance in prevent-
ing religious establishments in public schools—the
impressionability of young students, compulsory attend-
ance laws that make students a captive audience, and the
role of public schools in inculcating democratic ideals—
distinguish public secondary schools from public universi-
ties. The religious activity proposed in this case, which
would take place at a time closely associated with a
highly structured school day, would be far more likely to
appear to enjoy school sponsorship than a group on a
college campus.

865 F.2d at 1125-1126. See Lubbock, 669 F.2d at 1045.
({A]llowing religious meetings at a time closely associated
with the beginning or the end of the school day... carries
with it the implicit approval by school officials.... This
renders the primary effect of the policy impermissible
advancement of religion).

14

To our nation’s students, the public school is a symbol of
government. McCollum, 333 U.S. at 231. This Court and the
overwhelming majority of federal appellate courts have held
that permitting organized religious activities in the public
schools violates the establishment clause by conferring the
government’s imprimatur upon those sectarian activities. By
requiring a school to recognize a school religious club when
the school provides for even a single “non-curricular club, 20
U.S.C. §4071(a), the EAA only exaceroates the impression of
state sponsorship of religion. In a school at which there is only
one other student club, and the school’s sanction, therefore, is
not diffused through a variety of student organizations, the
EAA-required school promotion of a religious club under-
scores the appearance of unconstitutional government spon-
sorship of religion.

c. The Effect of School-Endorsed Prayer on
Students

By requiring the public schools to endorse religious clubs,
the EAA threatens the religious liberty of all those students
who are not members of the endorsed religion. Justice
O'Connor has articulated the rationale underlying the frst
amendment’s mandate against government endorsemen! oc.
religion:

The endorsement test does not preclude government f rom
acknowledging religion or from taking religion into
account in making law and policy. It does preclude
government from conveying or attempting to convey a
message that religion or a particular religious belief is
favored or preferred.

Wallace, 472 U.S. at 70. in her concurring opinion in Lynch,
Justice O'Connor wrote:

Endorsement sends a message to nonadherents that they
are outsiders, not fuli members of the political commu-
nity, and an accompanying message to adherents that
they are insiders, favored members of the political
community.

465 US. at 669.

15

This Court recently reaffirmed the significance of this test
in Allegheny v. A.C.L.U, 109 S. Ct. 3086. Writing for the
Court, Justice Blackmun defined the establishment clause
inquiry in part as whether nonadherents are likely to perceive
the challenged governmental action as a disapproval of their
individual religious choices. Jd. at 3101-3103. In his dissent,
Justice Kennedy agreed the establishment clause proscribes
an activity which “would place the government's weight
behind an obvious effort to proselytize on behalf of a particu-
lar religion.” Jd. at 3137.

When a public school endorses a sectarian student group,
students will be influenced to adopt the school endorsed prayer
club's beliefs to meet what they perceive to be the school’s

expectations. As the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
observed in Brandon:

An adolescent may perceive “voluntary” school prayer in
a different light were he to see the captain of the schools
football team, the student body president, or the leading
actress in a dramatic production participating in commu-

nal prayer meetings in the “captive audience” setting of a
public school.

635 F.2d at 978. Justice Frankfurter expressed the same view
in McCollum, “(t]he law of imitation operates, and non-
conformity is not an outstanding characteristic of children.”
333 U.S. at 227. The EAA only increases this pressure to

conform by requiring schools to place their authority behind
student religious clubs.

In enacting the EAA, Congress did more than pass uncon-
Stitutional legislation designed specifically to advance the
religious needs of certain sectarian groups. See Larson v.
Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982). The EAA also threatens the
religious liberty of nonadherent students. In the public school
context, students who choose not to participate in school
sanctioned religious meetings become outsiders in their own
community. These serious social consequences are especially
problematic since secondary school students are compelled by
law to attend school. The establishment clause prohibits the

16

government from diminishing anyone’s stature in the commu-
nity on the basis of their religious choices. Allegheny, 109 S.
Ct. at 3102.

d. The Effect of the Christian Club at Westside:
School Sanctioned Prayer

Though respondents freely engage in informal religious
meetings at Westside, in the present action they expressly seck
the school’s formal endorsement of their sectarian activities
through the school’s official recognition and sponsorship of
their club. J.A. 141, 428. Requiring official school sponsorship
of the Christian Bible club would give rise to a blatant form of
‘state sponsorship of religion.

Westside students testified they pray informally as a group

~—and discuss religious matters without interference from school

officials. J.A. 106, 136.’ Dr. Findley, Westside’s Principal,
told the students they could meet informally at school for
religious purposes. J.A. 428. Unsatisfied with such meetings,
however, respondents now demand that the school place its
formal sanction on their sectarian activities. J.A. 141, 428.

Under Westside’s policy, every student club is officially
sponsored by the school. J.A. 488. School Board Policy 5610,
which governs Westside, provides, in pertinent part:

The Board of Education regards student clubs and orga-
nizations as a vital part of the total education program as
a means of developing citizenship, wholesome attitudes,
good human relations, knowledge and skills.

School-sponsored clubs and organizations are those
directly under the control of the school administration,
and shall have faculty sponsorship. The Superintendent
shall establish guidelines for clubs and organizations
which shall function for the welfare and best interest of
the students and the school.

"In addition, they meet for fellowship and prayer in each other's homes
and at church. J.A. 140.

17

Such clubs and organizations shall not be sponsored by
any political or religious organization, or by any organi-
zation which denies membership on the basis of race
color, creed, sex or political belief.

Id. (emphasis added).

Dr. Findley testified that under this policy, the Christian
club would involve school sponsorship. He explained: “We've
always had a sponsor in charge of a club and . . . we've always
encouraged kids’ participation in clubs and activities. In
fact... when I talk to parents I emphasize the importance of
being involved.” J.A. 425. A sectarian club at Westside would

necessarily receive the official support of the school
administration.

Respondents do not seek the right to engage in prayer:
instead, they seek the school’s endorsement of their sectarian
activities. Nothing prevents the students at Westside from
meeting on school premises or outside of school to pray. What
the establishment clause forbids is the formal governmental
sanction of these religious meetings. The first amendment
“has never meant that a majority could use the machinery of
the state to practice its beliefs.” Engel, 374 U.S. at 226.

3. The EAA and its Application in this Case Fosters

Unconstitutional Entanglement of Government and
Religion

a. The EAA

When religious activities take place within the highly super-
vised context of a public school, the school inevitably becomes
entangled with religion. In Lemon, the Court recognized the
entanglement which flows from “putting the school in a posi-
tion of governance over religious activity.” 403 U.S. at 621-
622. Aguilar v. Felton, 473 U.S. 402, 412 (1985).

The EAA provides for the “nonparticipatory” presence of
public employees at student meetings. 20 U.S.C. §407]
(c)(3). The lower courts have consistently recognized that
faculty supervision of student religious activities creates a

18

level of administrative entanglement with religion which ren-
ders school-supervised student worship unconstitutional. In
Garnett, the Ninth Circuit said “the necessary supervision of
student activities by teachers” makes it likely that government
and religion will become excessively entangled. 865 F.2d at
1126. The Second Circuit has similarly concluded, . if the
state must engage in continuing administrative supervision of
nonsecular activity, church and state are excessively inter-
twined.” Brandon, 635 F.2d at 979. See also Bender, 74)
F.2d at 556-557; Lubbock, 669 F.2d at 1047; Collins v.
Chandler, 644 F.2d 759 (9th Cir. 1981); Trietley v. Board of
Ed., 65 A.2d 1, 409 N.Y.S. 912 (1978).

Under the EAA, there is added unconstitutional entangle-
ment because the schools must monitor student religious
meetings to ensure they remain “student-initiated. | 20
U.S.C. §4071(c)(1). Excessive entanglement inheres in the
constant surveillance needed to guarantee that student partici-
pation in prayer meetings remains free of coercion. Lubbock,
669 F.2d at 1047.

b. The Application of the EAA in the Present Case
Would Result In Excessive Entanglement
Between Government and Religion

Pursuant to Westside’s policy and practice, its student clubs
are an integral part of the school’s program. Policy 5610
requires that every student club have a faculty sponsor. J.A.
188. Such faculty supervision engenders entanglement
between the school and religion. “[T]he very restrictions and
surveillance necessary to ensure that teachers play a strictly
nonideological role give rise to entanglements between church
and state.” Lemon, 403 US. at 620-621.

The fundraising activities of student clubs at Westside pre-
sent added entanglement concerns. J.A. 353, 357. School
officials would have to engage in pervasive monitoring to
ensure that the funds raised by the Christian club representing
the school in the outside community are not employed for
sectarian purposes. Such close government supervision of the
daily activities of a religious organization “infringes precisely

19

those establishment clause values at the root of the prohibition
of excessive entanglements.” Aguilar, 473 U.S. at 412.

The constitutional prohibition against entanglements
between government and religion arises from the historical
concern over social divisiveness along religious lines. Lemon,
430 US. at 624." The public schools symbolize our democ-
racy, and “[i)n no activity of the state is it more vital to keep
out divisive forces than in the schools.”” McCollum, 333 US.
at 231. Justice Brennan expressed this concern eloquently in
his concurring opinion in Abington:

[T]he American experiment in free public education
available to all children has been guided in large measure
by the dramatic evolution of the religious diversity among
the population which our public schools serve. The inter-
action of these two important forces in our national life
has placed in bold relief certain positive values in the
consistent application to public institutions generally, and
public schools particularly, of the constitutional decree
against official involvements of religion which might pro-
duce the evils the Framers meant the Establishment
Clause to forestall... .

374 U.S. at 241-242. School sponsorship of sectarian activi-
ties under the EAA fosters social divisiveness and undermines
the welfare of our country’s unparalled religious diversity.

II]. Widmar v. Vincent Does Not Apply to Public
Secondary Schools.

Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981), held that the
establishment clause did not prevent a religious group from
meeting at the University of Missouri. The Court found that
by making its facilities “generally available” to more than 100
Student groups, the university had created a public forum.

*While the Court appears to have limited its concern over the constitu-
tional significance of societal divisiveness along religious lines to the context
of cases involving direct financial aid to religion, see Lynch, 465 US. at
685, such parameters have not been articulated in the context of the public
schools, which present unique divisiveness concerns. See Abington, 374
U.S. at 242; McCollum, 333 U.S. at 227 (Brennan J., concurring)

20

Absent a compelling state interest, the exclusion of a speaker
from such a forum would violate the Constitution. 454 U.S. at

270.

The EAA seeks to apply Widmar to the context of public
secondary schools.’ In the present case, the court below
simply accepted Congress’ extension of Widmar. 867 F.2d -
1080. By extending Widmar beyond its facts, however, the
EAA ignores essential constitutional distinctions between a
public secondary school and a public university under both the
establishment and free speech clauses. A comparison of the
facts of the present case with those in Widmar illustrates the
errors in extending Widmar to the vastly different setting of a
public school.

In Widmar, the Court emphasized that the student meet-
ings conducted on the campus of a state university did not
involve the government's official stamp of approval: First, an
open forum in a public university does not confer any impri-
matur of state approval on religious sects or practices. 454
U.S. at 274. While a public university may constitute a public
forum, the campus of a public secondary school rarely if ever
possesses these characteristics. Hazelwood School Dist. v.
Kuhimeier, 484 US. __, 108 S. Ct. 562 (1988); Perr)
Education Ass'n. v. Perry Local Educators’ Ass'n, 460 US.
37 (1983).

iversity i f unrestricted
The University of Missouri had a policy o :
access to campus facilities. 454 U.S. at 267. As this Court
noted, that policy effectively disassociated the university from
the message of any of the student groups which met on
campus:

[S]uch a policy “would no more commit — the
University . . .to religious goals” than it is “now

*During Congressional hearings, Senator Hatfield stated: “This oill is a
asientimaaamae to apply the Supreme Court's decision in oma
v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981) to public schools which receive a
aid.” Hearings on S.815 and S.1059 Before the Senate mona Po the
Judiciary, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983)(prepared statement of pod
Hatfield). See S. Rep. No. 357, 98th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in
U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2348, analyzed in Stud. Coalition for Peace
v. Lower Merion School, 776 F.2d 431, 439. (3d Cir. 1985).

21

committed to the goals of the Students for a Democratic
Society, the Young Socialist Alliance.” or any other
group eligible to use its facilities.

Id. at 274. Public secondary schools are considered to be
public forums only if school officials have allowed them to

become open to “indiscriminate use by the general public.”
Hazelwood, 108 S. Ct. at 569.

In contrast to the policy of the University of Missouri,
which provided for indiscriminate access of student organiza-
tions, Westside’s Policy 5610 excludes clubs which embrace
discriminatory standards and those which are sponsored by
any religious organization. J.A. 488. Further, Policy 5610
provides: “student clubs and organizations [are] a vital part
of the total education program as a means of developing
citizenship, wholesome attitudes, good human relations.
knowledge and skills.’ Jd. emphasis added. Pursuant to this
policy, Westside has promoted various skills-training clubs
such as chess and photography, service clubs, such as Interact
and Zonta, and civic clubs, such as student government. The
subject matter of these clubs reflects the special educational
and civic goals of the public schools. See Hazelwood. 108 S.
Ct. at 570. Since Westside clearly regulates the use of its

facilities by students, the school does not constitute a public
forum. /d. at 562.

Furthermore, the students in Widmar were not compelled
by law to attend the University of Missouri. In contrast,
attendance for high school students is mandated by state law.
Garnett, 865 F.2d at 1125; Bender, 741 F.2d at 548. Obvi-
ously, the establishment clause prohibits government from
transporting citizens to and from worship services at a govern-
ment-owned and maintained facility at public expense. See
McCollum, 333 U.S. at 209-210. The EAA, however.
requires the public schools to provide exactly this support to
students who wish to pray at Westside.

Westside also differs from a public university in that Policy
5610 requires the presence of a faculty sponsor at student
meetings, thus placing the authority of government over stu-
dent religious activities. The circuit courts have repeatedly
noted the significance of this distinction. The Ninth Circuit

22

pointed out in Garnett that “the student groups allowed to
meet in Widmar, ...did not need supervision or monitoring
by government employees. 865 F.2d at 1126. In Bender, the
Third Circuit emphasized:

[ijt is readily apparent that a school teacher or somebody
associated with the school necessarily must impart the
impression to students that the school’s authority and the
school’s endorsement is implicated in the relevant activ-
ity.... Even a parent undertaking the role of monitor
would necessarily be perceived as a school authority. It
goes without saying that no such authority figure or
government endorsement was part of the Widmar activ-
ity program....

74] F.2d at 552-553. See Little Axe, 766 F.2d at 1405;
Nartowicz, 736 F.2d at 648; Lubbock, 669 F.2d at 1047;
Brandon, 635 F.2d at 978.

Most important, as this Court pointed out in Widmar:

University students are, of course, young adults. They
are less impressionable than younger students and should
be able to appreciate that the University’s policy 1s one of
neutrality toward religion.

454 US. at 275 n. 14. The distinction drawn in Widmar
reflects this Court’s emphasis on the impressionability of pub-
lic school students. In his concurring opinion in Abington,
Justice Brennan noted that the difference in student ages
“warrants a difference in constitutional results.” 374 U.S. at
253. More recently this Court said in Edwards:

Families entrust public schools with the education of
their children; but condition their trust on the under-
standing that the classroom will not purposely be used to
advance religious views that may conflict with the private
beliefs of the student and/or his or her family Students
in such institutions are impressionable and their attend-
ance is involuntary.... The State exerts great authority
and coercive pewer through mandatory attendance
requirements, and because of the students’ emulation of
teachers as role models and the children’s susceptibility
to peer pressure.

23

482 US. at 584 (citations omitted).

The circuit courts also have consistently evidenced this
concern. In Lubbock, the Fifth Circuit recognized that the
“impressionability of secondary and primary age school chil-
dren and the possibility that they would misapprehend the
involvement of the [school]” in religious meetings rendered
such activities unconstitutional. 669 F.2d at 1045. See also
Brandon, 635 F.2d at 978 (“To an impressionable student,
even the mere appearance of secular involvement in religious
activities might indicate that the state has placed its imprima-
tur on a particular religious creed. This inference is too
dangerous to permit’’).

Widmar simply does not apply to the vastly different setting
of a public high school. See Stone, The Equal Access Contro-
versy. The Religion Clauses and the Meaning of Neutrality.
81 Nw.U.L. Rev. 168, 172 (1986). By attempting to extend
Widmar beyond its facts, the EAA misstates the free speech
principles underlying that decision, and contravenes the estab-
lishment clause by allowing sectarian student groups to use
the public secondary schools to promote religion.

IV. The Court of Appeals Erred in Deferring to Congress’
Fact-Finding on a Matter of Constitutional Law.

Without engaging in any independent judicial inquiry, the
court below merely accepted Congress’ extension of Widmar
to the public schools. Ignoring the many distinctions between
the limited government role in the public university in
Widmar and the significant role of government at Westside.
the court below focused solely on the differing age levels of the
students, and summarily concluded, “Congress considered the
difference in the maturity levels of secondary and university
level students before passing the EAA. We accept Congress’
factfinding.” 867 F.2d at 1080.

By deferring to Congress’ “fact-finding” and its interpreta-
tions of both the free speech and establishment clauses of the
first amendment, the court of appeals departed from its
responsibility to apply the principles of ~onstitutional law
developed by this Court. While deference to Congress may be
appropriate in areas such as commercial regulation, see
United States v. Carolene Products, 304 U.S. 144 n. 4 (1938),

24

this Court has rejected the proposition that the judiciary
should accede to the legislature’s interpretation of the Consti-
tution: “To the extent that the government suggests that we
should defer to Congress’ conclusion about an issue of consti-
tutional law, our answer is that while we do not ignore it, it is
our task in the exd to decide whether Congress has violated
the Constitution.” Sable Communications of California, Inc.
v. F.C.C., 109 S. Ct. 2829, 2838 (1989). See also Landmark
Communications, Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829, 843 (1978),
(“‘[djeference to a legislative finding cannot limit judicial
inquiry when First Amendment rights are at stake’’).

A constitutional determination is “in large part a legal
question to be answered on the basis of judicial interpretation
of social facts.” Lynch, 465 U.S. at 694 (O'Connor. J., concur-
ring). The inquiry is a highly fact-sensitive one which empha-
sizes the specific context of the challenged government
involvement with religion. Allegheny, 109 S. Ct. at 3102.
3103. In establishment clause cases involving educational
settings, this Court has long recognized the constitutional
distinctions presented by the divergent contexts of a university
and a public school. Compare Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S.
672 (1971) with Grand Rapids, 473 U.S. 373. The court
below erred in accepting without any judicial analysis Con-
gress’ “findings” concerning the EAA and its application to
the setting of a public school.

V. Westside is Not Compelled by the Free Speech
Clause of the First Amendment To Sponsor
the Christian Bible Club.

A. The Free Speech Clause Does Not Require the Pub-
lic Schools to Sponsor Religious Expression

In an effort to buttress their statutory claim, respondents
attempt to cast this case in free speech terms. Yet as respon-
dents readily concede, school officials have expressly permit-
ted them to meet at the school. J.A. 450; 428. School officials
have never attempted to dictate either the form «r substance
of their meetings. Respondents’ only complaint, therefore, is
that their meetings have not received the official imprimatur
of school sponsorship that other clubs receive. What is at

25

stake in this case is whether or not respondents have a consti-
tutional right to become the Westside High School Christian
Bible Club.

Nothing in the first amendment guarantees that right. To
the contrary, the use of the school’s name in connection with
an inherently religious activity would raise obvious and
profound establishment clause problems. See Section |,
supra. These constitutional problems are not vitiated by the
Eighth Circuit’s erroneous application of Widmar’s public
forum analysis to this case. None of the student clubs at the
University of Missouri were school sponsored; accordingly,
Widmar is entirely silent on the question of school sponsorship
of student clubs, the issue now before this Court. Widmar
holds that a state university cannot selectively deny access to
Student groups wishing to meet for purposes of religious
expression. Westside has provided such access in this case.
Whether Westside created “‘a limited open forum” by sponsor-
ing certain student clubs pursuant to school board policy is
inapposite.

B. Westside’s Sponsorship of a Christian Club Would

Constitute Government Speech and Would Promote

a Religious Viewpoint
. This Court has affirmed there is no first amendment right to
incorporate religious doctrine in the public school curriculum.
Smith v. Board of School Com'rs, 827 F.2d 684 (11th Cir.
1987), affd, __ U.S. __ (1988). In regard to other school
activities, this Court has recognized the distinction between
the constitutional protection of student free speech rights and
“whether the First Amendment requires a school affirmatively
to promote particular student speech.” Hazelwood, 108 S.Ct.
at 569."° If the Hazelwood School District has discretion over
the contents of its school newspaper in order to avoid the
impression of official school sponsorship, given the express
prohibition on religious endorsement contained in the estab-
lishment clause, Westside cannot be constitutionally com-
pelled to sponsor a student Christian club.

"See generally Yudof, When Government Speaks: Toward a Theory of
—* Expression and the First Amendment, 57 Tex. L. Rev. 863
(1979).

26

In eschewing sponsorship of religious clubs, Westside main-
tains a policy of religious neutrality, and not hostility toward
religion." There is no basis for respondents’ allegations that
the school has discriminated against their particular religious
viewpoint. Neither Westside’s curriculum nor any of its clubs
express any viewpoint whatsoever on religion. Cf. Tinker v.
Des Moines, 393 U.S. 503 (1969).

C. Non-Recognition of the Christian Club Does Not
Infringe Student Free Speech Rights

1. Equal Endorsement v. Equal Access

Respondents do not seek “equal access” to school facilities.
Instead, they seek “equal status” to become the Westside
High School Christian Club. See J.A. at 157, 244, 454. They
want Westside to express their private sectarian messages as
the school’s message. While neither students nor teachers
check their first amendment rights at the school house door,
neither do they there obtain the right to commandeer the
state’s imprimatur and resources in support of their personal
sectarian views. See, e.g., Mary May v. Vanderburgh, 787
F.2d 1105 (7th Cir. 1986). Such government endorsement has
no analogue in the larger community. Stewart, The First
Amendment, the Public Schools and the Inculcation of Com-
munity Values, 18 Journal of Law and Education 23, 28
(1989). In fact, the establishment clause forbids such govern-
mental support for religious messages. There is a constitu-
tional difference between a private religious club and a school
sanctioned one. See, e.g., Perumal v. Saddlebrook, 243 Cal.
Rptr. 545 (Cal. App. 4 Dist.), cert. denied, 109 S.Ct. 327
(1988). Respondents would blur that distinction. Respon-
dents want to compel Westside to express their personal relig-
ious viewpoints as the message of the public school.

"To suggest otherwise is to overrule longstanding court precedent man-
dating separation of church and state in the public schools. See, e.g.
Wallace, 472 U.S. at 60. The principle of separation of church and state
does not constitute hostility toward religion. See Abington, 374 US. at
215. See also Smith v. Board of Commissioners, 827 F.2d 684 (11th Cir.

1987).

27

2. Respondents’ Religious Expression

Furthermore, the students are not deprived of the means of
religious expression. They are free to meet as a group for
religious purposes at school, J.A. 428,450, and they meet
several nights each week in their homes. They also worship in
the neighboring Westside Community Church. J.A. 140-141.
As Justice Brennan pointed out in his concurring opinion in
Abington, “(t]he student’s compelled presence in school for
five days a week in no way renders the regular religious
facilities of the community less accessible to him than they are
to others.” 374 U.S. at 299. The constitutional barrier to the
use of public school facilities to promote religious activity does
not impair the students’ ability to engage in prayer “outside of
the school premises and at times other than during school
hours.” Bender, 741 F.2d at 560. Westside’s policy in no way
prevents respondents from practicing their religion.

3. The School Cannot Disclaim a Religious
Endorsement

Finally, if Westside endorses a Christian club as a school
club, as a constitutional] matter, that endorsement cannot be
disclaimed. In Allegheny, this Court recognized that such a
disclaimer would simply demonstrate that, rather than com-
municating a message of its own, “the government is endors-

“ing the religious message of that organization.” 109 S. Ct. at
3105. “But the establishment clause does not limit only the
religious content of the government’s own communications. It
also prohibits the government's support and promotion of
religious communication by religious organizations.” Jd. If
respondents succeed in establishing the Westside High School -
Christian Bible Club, they will have succeeded in compelling
the school to endorse their religious views, without any free
speech basis and contrary to the establishment clause.

D. School Religious Clubs Undermine the Public School's
Ability to Foster Democratic Values of Equality and
Tolerance.

To “prepar(e] .. . individuals for participation as citizens.”
our nation’s public schools bear “the obligation to promote
civic virtues.” Ambach v. Norwick, 441 U.S. 68, 76 (1979).
These “civic virtues” are those democratic principles which

28

enable us to coexist as citizens in a pluralistic society. See
Bethel v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 679, 682 (1986); Bd. of Educ. v.
Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982). See generally Yudof, supra
note 10. To this end, the school’s educational purpose is not
value-free. Principles of racial and religious equality as well as
religious tolerance are fundamental to our system. See, e.g.,
The Declaration of Independence, Art. 1. This Court has
emphasized repeatedly that it is the function of the public
schools to promote these values. See, e.g., Brown v. Bd. of
Ed., 347 U.S. 483 (1954); see Abington, 374 U.S. 203.

There is no basis in either law or policy for respondents’
claim to an “equal access” right to compel Westside to pro-
mote a particular religious message. See Hazelwood, 108 S.
Ct. at 570; Smith v. Bd. of Commissioners, 827 F.2d 684. For
example, nothing compels a school to sponsor an apartheid
club in order to balance out the principles of nondiscrimina-
tion taught in the classroom. See, e.g., Smith v. St. Tammany
Parish Board, 316 F. Supp. 1174 (E.D. La. 1970), aff'd, 448
F. 2d 414 (8th Cir. 1971)."

The public schools foster those values which allow students
of different races and religions to study, work, and live
together in harmony. In order to foster the habits of citizen-
ship, it is essential to maintain separation of church and state
in our public schools. Our nation’s unparalleled religious
diversity and freedom flourishes when personal religious
choices are made free of pressure from governmental institu-
tions.” Allowing a sectarian group to use the public school
system to promote its beliefs and to proselytize interferes with
an individual's freedom of conscience, and impedes the public
schools’ ability to promote “cohesion among a heterogeneous
democratic people.” McCollum, 333 U.S. at 216 (Frank-
furter, J. concurring).

“While the first amendment may protect the right of the Ku Klux Klan
to meet at public schools when they are functioning as forums open to the
community, see, e.g., Knights of the KKK v. East Baton Rouge Parish
School Board, §78 F.2d 1122 (Sth Cir. 1978), the EAA goes much further
Under the EAA, schools could be required to permit a student-initiated
chapter of the Ku Klux Klan to meet on school premises during the schoo!
day. See 130 Cong. Rec. $.8340, 8343 (June 27, 1984).

"There are over 1200 religions and religious sects in this country. J.
Melton, A Directory of Religious Bodies in the United States, xiii (1977).

29

CONCLUSION

In his concurring opinion in Abington, Justice Brennan
declared:

It is implicit in the history and character of American
public education that the public schools serve a uniquely
public function: the training of American citizens in an
atmosphere free of parochial, divisive, or separatist influ-
ences of any sori—an atmosphere in which children may
assimilate a heritage common to all American groups and
religions.

374 U.S. at 241-242 (emphasis in original). The EAA and its
application in this case violate the establishment clause of the
first amendment; by sanctioning sectarian religious activities
in our nation’s public schools, it interferes with the right of the
individual to believe as he or she sees fit and it undermines the
school’s ability to instill in students the vital democratic values
of respect and tolerance.

For the reasons stated herein, amici respectfully urge that
the decision of the court of appeals be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD E. SHEVITZ
Anti-Defamation League
of B'nai B'rith
823 United Nations Plaza
New York, NY 10017
(212) 490-2525
Counsel of Record

Of Counsel

<i RuTi G. TEITEL
MEYER EISENBERG | New York Law School
JEFFREY P. SINENSKY 57 Worth Street
STEVEN M. FREEMAN New York. NY 10013

Jitt L. KAHN

Anti-Defamation League
of B'nai B'rith

823 United Nations Plaza

New York, NY 10017

(212) 490-2525 .

(212) 431-2322

Counsel for Amici Curiae

A-]

APPENDIX A

MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS OF THE NATIONAL
JEWISH COMMUNITY RELATIONS ADVISORY
COUNCIL

Birmingham JCC
Greater Phoenix Jewish Federation
Tucson Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona

Greater Long Beach and West Orange County Jewish
Community Federation

Los Angeles CRC of Jewish Federation-Council
Oakland Greater East Bay JCRC

Orange County Jewish Federation
Sacramento JCRC a

San Diego CRC of United Jewish Federation
San Francisco JCRC

Greater San Jose JCRC

Greater Bridgeport Jewish Federation
Greater Danbury CRC of Jewish Federation
Eastern Conn. Jewish Federation

Greater Hartford CRC of Jewish Federation
New Haven Jewish Federation:

Greater Norwalk Jewish Federation
Stamford United Jewish Federation
Waterbury Jewish Federation

JCRC of Connecticut

Wilmington Jewish Federation of Delaware
Greater Washington JCC

South Broward Jewish Federation

Greater Fort Lauderdale Jewish Federation
Jacksonville Jewish Federation

Greater Miami Jewish Federation

Greater Orlando Jewish Federation

A-2

Palm Beach County Jewish Federation

Pinellas County Jewish Federation
Sarasota-Manatee Jewish Federation

South County Jewish Federation

Atlanta Jewish Federation

Savannah Jewish Council

Metropolitan Chicago JCRC of the Jewish United Fund
Peoria Jewish Federation
Springfield Jewish Federation

Indianapolis JCRC

South Bend Jewish Federation of St. Joseph Valley
JCRC of Indiana

Greater Des Moines Jewish Federation

Lexington Central Kentucky Jewish Federation
Louisville Jewish Community Federation

Greater Baton Rouge Jewish Federation

Greater New Orleans Jewish Federation
Shreveport Jewish Federation

Portland Southern Maine Jewish Federation-Community
Council

Baltimore JCRC

Greater Boston JCRC

Marblehead North Shore Jewish Federation
Greater New Bedford Jewish Feder tion
Springfield Jewish Federation

Worcester Jewish Federation

Metropolitan Detroit JCC

Flint Jewish Federation

Minneapolis Minnesota and Dakotas JCRC-Anti-
Defamation League

Greater Kansas City Jewish Community Relations Bureau
St. Louis JCRC
Omaha JCR Committee of Jewish Federation

A-3

Atlantic County Federation of Jewish Agencies
Central New Jersey Jewish Federation
Clifton-Passaic Jewish Federation

Delaware Valley Jewish Federation

Metrowest United Jewish Federation

Greater Middlesex County Jewish Federation
Northern New Jersey JCRC

Southern New Jersey JCRC of Jewish Federation
Albuquerque JCC

Binghamton Jewish Federation of Broome County
Greater Buffalo Jewish Federation

Elmira CRC of Jewish Welfare Fund

Greater Kingston Jewish Federation

New York JCRC

Northeastern New York United Jewish Federation
Greater Orange County Jewish Federation
Rochester Jewish Community

Syracuse Jewish Federation

Utica Jewish Federation

Akron Jewish Community Federation

Canton Jewish Community Federation

Cincinnati JCRC —
Cleveland Jewish Community Federation
Columbus CRC of Jewish Federation

Greater Dayton CRC of Jewish Federation
Greater Toledo CRC of Jewish Federation
Youngstown JCRC of Jewish Federation
Oklahoma City JCC

Tulsa JCC

Portland Jewish Federation

Allentown CRC of Jewish Fede ration

Erie JCC

Greater Philadelphia JCRC

pe B-|

Pittsburgh CRC of United Jewish Federation APPENDIX B

Scranton-Lackawanna Jewish Federation MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS OF THE NATIONAL

Greater Wilkes-Barre Jewish Federation COALITION FOR PUBLIC EDUCATION AND
Providence CRC of Rhode Island Jewish Federation RELIGIOUS LIBERTY JOINING IN THIS BRIEFS
Charleston JCR Committee

Columbia CRC of Jewish Welfare Federation American Association of School Administrators

Memphis JCRC The National Education Association

Nashville and Middle Tennessee Jewish Federation National P.T.A.

Austin JCC The Committee for Public Education and Religious Liberty
Greater Dallas JCRC of Jewish Federation Americans for Religious Liberty

E] Paso JCR Committee The American Civil Liberties Union

Fort Worth Jewish Federation The Minnesota Civil Liberties Union

Greater Houston Jewish Federation The American Ethical Union

San Antonio JCR of Jewish Federation The National Service Conference of the American Ethical
Newport News-Hampton United Jewish Community of the Union

Virginia Peninsula American Hum. Association

Richmond Jewish Community Federation 7 Council for Democratic and Secular Humanism
Tidewater United Jewish Federation Ohio Association for Education and Religious Lib.
Greater Seattle Jewish Federation os Michigan Council Against Parochaid

Madison JCC Public Funds for Public Schools of New Jersey
Milwaukee Jewish Council Munroe County PEARL

Central Conference of American Rabbis

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0467%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
