# Respondents Brief — Board of Ed. of Westside Community Schools (Dist. 66) v. Mergens

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0467%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 496 U.S. 226

## Text

“~-_
> a
. «

BEST AVAILABLE COPY [aaa

| D
IN THE oct 24 we
Supreme Court cf the Unite _ SPANIDL, 38.

OctToBER TERM, 1988

Tue Boarp or EpucaTIon or THE WESTSIDE
Community ScHoo ts (Dist. 66), et al.,

Petitioners,
v.

Bripcet C. MEercEns, et al.,
Respondents.

ro ae

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS

Rosert K. Sko_roop Jay ALAN SEKULOW
National Legal Foundation (Counsel of Record)

Suite 306, P. O. Box 64845 Enric Aan Day

Virginia Beach, Virginia James M. HENDERSON, Sr.

23464 1000 Thomas Jefferson

(804) 424-4242 Street, N.W. Suite 520
Washington, D.C. 20007

Douc.ias VEITH — :

205 Galvin Road (404) 633-2444

Bellevue, Nebraska 68005 Douctas W. Davis

(402) 292-2800 6332 Chestnut Hill Road

Cuar.es E. Rice wae Beach, Virginia

Free Speech Advocates
P. O. box 815 (804) 420-0120

Notre Dame, IN 46556
(502) 549-5454

—— ~ — ee =

II.

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

DOES THE SCHOOL OFFICIALS’ BAN OF A VOL-
UNTARY STUDENT-INITIATED BIBLE CLUB CON-
STITUTE AN UNCONSTITUTIONAL
INFRINGEMENT ON THE STUDENTS’ FREE
SPEECH RIGHTS AS PROTECTED BY THE FIRST
AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS?

A. Do Public School Students Have First Amendment
Rights of Freedom of Speech and Freedom of
Association?

1. Are Religious Discussion and Worship Forms
of Speech Protected By the First Amendment?

B. Can the Voluntary, Student-Initiated Bible Club Be
Banned From the Club and Organization System at
Westside High School?

1. Is the Club and Organization System at West-
side High School an Open Public Forum?

2. Is the School Board’s Content-Based Ban Justi-
fied By a Compelling State Interest?

a. Is the School Board’s Ban Content Based?

b. Do School Officials Have a Compelling
State Interest?

3. Is the School Officials’ Ban Narrowly Tailored?

C. Is the School Officials’ Ban of a Student-Initiated
Bible Club Unconstitutional Because It Is An Effort
To Suppress Expression Merely Because They
Oppose the Students’ Viewpoints?

D. Is the School Officials’ Ban of the Bible Club A
Reasonable Time, Place and Manner Regulation?

DOES THE BAN OF A STUDENT-INITIATED BIBLE
CLUB CONSTITUTE A VIOLATION OF THE STU-
DENTS’ DUE PROCESS RIGHTS BECAUSE OF THE
LACK OF OBJECTIVE STANDARDS AND PRO-
CEDURAL SAFEGUARDS WHICH RESULTED IN
THE SCHOOL OFFICIALS’ EXERCISE OF ARBI-
TRARY DISCRETION?

" j

Il.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

A. Did School Officials Exercise Impermissible Dis-
cretion In Refusing to Allow the Student-Initiated
Bible Club To Meet On the Westside High School
Campus?

B. Is the School Officials’ Ban of the Student-Initiated
Bible Club Void for Vagueness?

IS THE EQUAL ACCESS ACT CONSTITUTIONAL
UNDER THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS?

A. Has Westside High School Established A Limited
Open Forum Under the Equal Access Act?

B. Does the Equal Access Act Violate the Establish-
ment Clause of the First Amendment?

1. Does the Equal Access Act Have a Secular
Purpose?

2. Does Equal Access Have the Primary Effect of
Advancing Religion?

3. Does an Equal Access Policy Foster Excessive
Government Entanglement With Religion?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
So once c ct dccccsccesccess i
ES Sic occ cep cesessecccecccces iv
ee vii
STAbmeamm: OF THE CASE ............cceecccees l
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .................. 8
eee esc aces ccesccescesccsss 11

I. THE SCHOOL OFFICIALS’ BAN OF A VOLUN-
TARY, STUDENT-INITIATED BIBLE CLUB IS
AN UNCONSTITUTIONAL INFRINGEMENT ON
THE STUDENTS’ FREE SPEECH RIGHTS AS
FROTECTED BY THE FIRST AND FOUR-
TESNTH AMENDMENTS...........:.......-.- 11

A. Public School Students Have First Amendment
Rights of Freedom of Speech and Freedom of
a oS ee sew eee yesees 11

1. Religious Discussion and Worship are
Forms of Speech Protected By the First
Circe eG Ue Obbos dda scescocce 19

B. The Club System At Westside High School Is A
Public Forum From Which A Voluntary, Student-
Initiated Bible Club May Not Be Banned....... 19

1. The Club and Organization System at
Westside High School Constitutes An Open
PTE Seb ds wsceccbesecascese 19

2. The School Officials’ Content-Based Ban
Is Not Justified By a Compelling State
ect eeeccees 21

Il.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

a. The School Officials’ Ban is Content
ee 2 ane ~

b. The School Officials Have Not Shown
a Compelling State Interest..........

3. The School Officials’ Ban Is Not Narrowly
a eee ee eee

The School Officials’ Ban of a Student-Initi-
ated Bible Club is Unconstitutional Because It
Is An Effort To Suppress Expression Merely
Because They Oppose the Students’ View-
eee eee ree. a eee

The School Officials’ Ban of the Bible Club Is
Not A Reasonable Time, Place and Manner
Regulation

Seee OCeeresgCgcescea2 ce atwe een oe eee See .6 & ©

THE BAN OF A STUDENT-INITIATED BIBLE
CLUB CONSTITUTES A VIOLATION OF THE
STUDENTS’ DUE PROCESS RIGHTS BECAUSE
OF THE LACK OF OBJECTIVE STANDARDS
AND PROCEDURAL SAFEGUARDS WHICH
RESULTED IN THE SCHOOL OFFICIALS’
EXERCISE OF ARBITRARY DISCRETION .....

A.

The School Officials Exercised Impermissible
EE Ta RR Sry hk eee
The School Officials’ Ban of the Student-Initi-
ated Bible Club Is Vague ..................

THE EQUAL ACCESS ACT IS CONSTITU-
TIONAL UNDER THE FIRST AND FOUR-

TEENTH AMENDMENTS

22

25

26

28

29

29

31

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

Westside High School Has Established A Lim-
ited Open Forum Under The Equal Access Act

The Equal Access Act Does Not Violate the
Establishment Clause of the First Amendment

1. The Equal Access Act Has A Secular Leg-
RE ee ee

2. Equal Access Does Not Have the Primary
Effect of Advancing Religion...........

3. An Equal Access Policy Does Not Foster
Excessive Government Entanglement With
EE bo) sibiccevcnctubsokesveesnee ren

GIRO: hace davs'cnesdevdetenesataneneanes

34

40

41

42

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CAsEs:
Ambach v. Norwick, 441 U.S. 08 (1979)............... 26
Bates v. City of Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516 (1960)...... 15
Bender v. Williamsport Area School Dist., 475 U.S.
i EE ES ree a 24, 25, 45
Bethel School District No. 403 v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675
ee eR ROEE ooed denon ctuknste dieses cs 16
Board of Airport Commissioners v. Jews for Jesus,
ee eT I, nn, te wencesaces 8, 19, 26, 33, 34

Board of Education v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982) .. 13, 45

Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. __, 108 S.Ct. 1157 (1988)
BP SPOS he a Pee eee, ae i

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1974)
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954). 29, 35

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1979)............... 32, 33
Burnside v. Byars, 363 F.2d 744 (Sth Cir. 1966) ....... 12
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940)...... 23, 46
Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S. 455 (1980) ........... 9, 21, 25
Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Defense & Ed. Fund, 473

i da ss Gace udk rune, oem 26, 27, 28, 30
Corporation of Presiding Bishop v. Amos, 483 U.S.

re SE BIE 6 dw’ bdo v's ee Deas eet ed 28, 30

County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties
Union, 492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 3086 (1989)
2's ods GSna se Mhe d 0 64 i0 6 Eats 4 CR Pea sss 10, 25, 27, 43

Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965)................ 22

Eastland v. United States Servicemen’s Fund, 421
EER aa eo ee 44

Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987)..... 23, 41, 43

Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962).................. 23

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968)......... 18, 42
Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1 (1947)..... 24

Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. ____, 108 S.Ct. 2495 (1988) .... 28
Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972) . 29, 32
Hazelwood School District v. Kuhlmeir, 484 U.S. __.,

ee I EE dc det atbivecscccccseses 6, 15, 19
Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169 (1972)........ 8, 14, 15, 18
Heffron v. International Society for Krishna Con-

sciousness, Inc., 452 U.S. 640 (1981)........... 19, 28
Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, 455

as oe Sata ihe wenn dee oes sent 23
Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987) ..............055. 9
Hunt v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734 (1973) ........eceeeeeve 42
Katzenbach v. Morgan, 384 U.S. 641 (1966)...... Paap ae
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589 (1967).... 13
Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983) ......... 31, 32
Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77 (1949)............. 29, 34

Larkin v. Grendel's Den, Inc., 459 U.S. 116 (1982)..... 47
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) ...10, 22, 40, 41, 44
Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 430 U.S. 130 (1974) ....31, 32

Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938) ..... 19, 20
Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984) 25, 40, 41, 42, 43
McDaniel v. Paty, 435 U.S. 618 (1978)................ 24
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961)........... 42

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Mergens v. Board of Education, No. CV 85-0-426,
Slip Op. (1988) (reproduced in Pet. For Certiorari:
ET EG eouardies \o6csedceeenuseeeeaess passim
Mergens v. Board of Education, 867 F.2d 1076 (8th
Me etd SARE ATOUEUAK oo Chakea haus passim
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) .............. 11
Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co. +49 U.S. 456
NA eG eat ale ea re ee lk 44
NAACP vy. Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. 449
Cs rik Send die eek a dead Y bile oo ewt ics ck euwe) 14
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963)................ 25
New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1985)............ 9, 32

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) .... 22
Niemetko v. Maryiand, 340 U.S. 268 (1951) ....19, 25, 29

O’ Hair v- Andrus, 198 U.S. App. D.C. 198, 613 F.2d

ES soi igs: €o4 on dawn tucks caacies 46
Perry Education Assn. v. Perry Local Educators

oe ee 20, 26, 28
Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896) .............. 29

Police Department v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972) .. 22, 31

Roemer v. Maryland Board of Public Works, 426 U.S.
LT Waite oipiuid ces cu deedhncukete ste seeds 42

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

Saia v. New York, 334 U.S. 558 (1948)................ 19
Schaumburg v. Citizens for a Better Environment, 444

chiles dt Chet es ieee eke bees eae.eee 28

Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147 (1939).... 15, 19, 20, 29
School District v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203 (1963)... 23, 43, 45
Secretary of State v. Joseph H. Munson Co., 467 U.S.

A «chee de Che Ee RMR ebeeeeee eines aces cenee 30
Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960)..:....... 9, 13, 25
Shuttlesworth v. Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147 (1969) ..... 20
Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S.

es SCL ied ah ens wekbeines teas 0's ses oe ee 20
Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980) ............. 23, 42
Texas Monthly v. Bullock, 489 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 890

EEE IESE SS Ne eae em eT eRe eae 10, 42, 43
Thomas v. Review Board, 450 U.S. 707 (1981)......... 18

Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community School Dis-
trict, 393 U.S. 503 (1969) .... 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, 45

Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971)............. 40
United States v. American Trucking Association, 310

U.S. 534 (1940)... 2... cece cece eee cee eee e ences 34
United States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171 (1983)........... 28
Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 29 (1985) ............ 25, 43

Waiz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664 (1970) ......... 46

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct.

DOIG Nadchuutaes¢wes.ceeatdutaescherss 21, 25
Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 586 (1985)........... 22
West Virginia State Board of Ed. v. Barnette, 319 U.S.

Se hick cece, dhavsdbudieaddbeesececegeetsss 13
Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927)............ 22
Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981)........... passim
Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972)........... 21, 23
Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306 (1952)....... «9, 24, 45
ConstiTuTIONS AND STATUTES:
en oa a Cals wo ehie ees passim
eee My CEE oa bowen sd decees ssdeeandiucned ete 22
U.S. Const. amend. XIV ......... To eBe ON, TE, Bee Bee oe
ee is Se cudeevawendeeawene passim
ee ee ES OE ov cv ddncadiccnvunewdereesuss 3, 35
The 4-Way Test Of The Things We Think, Say Or Do

(Rotary International, Evanston, Illinois)......... 27, 38
Hearing Before the Senate Committee on Judiciary on

S.815 & S.1089, 98th Cong., 2d Sess., April 28,

See. Ge Fe Oe WU GEO ac vcccccsececseccces . 44
S. Rep. No. 357, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. ............ 43, 44

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

128 Cong. Rec. (daily ed. Sept. 17, 1982)
PE ae ntdeu ister de at ahh epee ths wsscssvecenes 34

130 Cong. Rec. (daily ed. June 27, 1984)
DG Cas clbvck res cdi ba vdeddeve ss enen eee 10, 33, 34
EE PTT eee ey eT ee TT 34
Gian cUCo eb ae thes bu wiveddeddwe(abaeb acum 33
Ee asks cn kann nnn kewl oghe 10k kane eel 34
eons didn ile aie Ue ek laa deen 36, 37, 38, 39
cubes ekndsadhanaedeces cadidetbenues 37, 39
DR Sibu bens Oebes anaueechuWs cuseseeeeeanued 47
ign cided das uneenkne qusdaveukeds cheat Ke 33, 47
EE cin stn ba tune cbehewese Ube eee neeeeeael 34
DEN Los see Lid oe iumieet reese eran 34
RT Cite Aie ticalie @ nh eink hood al & dena gene Re 34
NE RE ree Ee Pee eye re 37
hia Cab de Ulin deka weds ink scew eee oeeeeenan 33
inn teGwiGiaeddds 10aNs Gu dhuk Sed cceeeued 33

130 Cong. Rec. (daily ed. July 25, 1984)
Pfc ockiws slelhkeinew ee euneandass neous 33
tans was Vk aaieien dukes eae one ee ee 37
EP eee VERT E TT Pe Peer rer Tre 33, 41
Fe errs ey een rT 33
ED es Skin Ga CWE SA ewe a Vea an alr 33

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Laycock, Equal Access and Moments of Silence: The
Equal Status of Religious Speech by Private

Speakers, 81 Nw. U.L. Rev. 1 (1986)............

Religious Speech Protection Act: Hearing on H.R.
4996 before the Subcomm. on Elementary, Second-
ary, and Vocational Education of the House Comm.

Education and Labor, 98th Cong., 2nd Sess. 47

RSE OT ON e6 ones ce ESS ENS aSORESEOREER EH C0 000

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (1967)....

Note, The Constitutional Dimensions of Student-Initi-
ated Religious Activity in Public High Schools, 92

Se IN 00 o eee a6 h Fal eve ee- anetes

Note, Religious Expression On The Public School
Forum: The High School Students’ Right To Free

COG, Fae GOO. Ted. TFS CIDBSR on cs cece ccccnces

Page

No. 88-1597

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States
OcToBEeR TERM, 1988

THE Boarp or EpucaTion or THE WESTSIDE
Community ScHOooLs (Dist. 66), et al.,

Petitioners,
vV.

Bripcet C. MeErGEns, et al.,
Respondents.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Westside High School (WHS) is a public secondary
school as defined by Nebraska State Law.! (J.A. 57). Located
in Omaha, Nebraska, WHS is organized as part of the West-
side Community School system, an independent public school
district managed by the Board of Education of Westside
Community Schools. /d. WHS receives federal financial
assistance. Jd. Respondents, Bridget C. Mergens, et al., are
students at WHS who desire to form a voluntary student-
initiated Bible Club. (J.A. 72, 116-17, 133). Had school
Officials allowed them to meet, the students envisioned using
“any empty classroom in the morning or after school” on the
WHS campus. (J.A. 78, 117). As proposed to school officials,
the Bible Club meetings would have included Bible study,
prayer and discussions of relevant topics in an effort to
encourage personal and spiritual growth. (J.A. 73-77, 154-55,
185, 190). Christian fellowship, Bible reading, worship and
prayer are a vital part of the daily lives of these students.
(J.A. 75, 131, 163). The student-initiated Bible Club sought
the same rights, privileges, terms and conditions accorded to
other clubs at WHS. (J.A. 105, 109). Simply put, the students
wanted equal treatment, nothing more, nothing less.?

The school board maintains WHS for the benefit of its
students and it provides, by policy and practice, for the
dissemination of a wide range of ideas to those required to

1 The School Officials and students, in a pretrial stipulation, agreed
that WHS is a secondary school “as defined by the Equal Access Act.”
(Pretrial Order No. 2, J.A. 57). WHS served students in grades 10-12.

2 Although the students wanted the same rights, privileges, terms
and conditions as other clubs, they were willing to allow the school to
make announcements in the school paper or the public address system to

the effect that the school did not endorse the content of the Bible Club.
(J.A. 73).

2

attend WHS.? Over thirty student clubs and activities are
recognized by school officials at WHS.* (J.A. 479). Several of
these clubs are not related to the school’s curriculum. For
instance, “Peer Advocates” is a “service activity” club at
WHS that allows WHS students to work with handicapped
students. Dr. Findley, Principal of WHS, testified at trial that
“Peer Advocates” is not curriculum related:
Q- Did Peer Advocates, when you were looking
at it, relate to any of the required curriculum
or elective courses at Westside High School?
A- No.

(J.A. 231).

Permitting both curricular and noncurricular clubs
accords with school officials’ recognition that the “primary
liberties in a student’s life involve the process of inquiry and
learning, of acquiring and imparting knowledge, and of
exchanging ideas.” (J.A. 489 [School Policy 5450]). In addi-
tion to clubs and activities, a school newspaper is published
by the students (J.A. 136, 262-66, 326-27) and the administra-
tion invites speakers and organizations from the general pub-
lic to participate in club activities and classes. (J.A. 95-96,

3 Indeed, the school has shown the movie “The Omen” concerning
devil worship (J.A. 171). Abortion and homosexuality were also dis-
cussed in class at WHS. (J.A. 125). Yet, a voluntary, student-initiated
Bible Club was not allowed to meet. Bible Club students could have
discussed such controversial subjects from a Biblical perspective if
permitted to meet on campus. (J.A. 75).

* As of August, 1984, the following Clubs and activities were
recognized at WHS: Band, Chess Club, Cheerleaders, Choir, Class Offi-
cers, Computer Club, Distributive Education, Speech and Debate, Drill
Squad and Squires, Future Business Leaders of America, Future Medical
Assistants, Interact (associated with Rotary International), International
Club, Latin Club, Math Club, Student Publications, Student Forum,
Dramatics, Creative Writing Club, Photography Club, Orchestra, Outdoor
Education, Swimming Timing Team, Student Advisory Board, Intra-
murals, Competitive Athletics, Zonta Club (associated with Zonta Interna-
tional girls association), Subsurfers, Welcome to Westside Club,

Wrestling Auxiliary, National Honor Society and Peer Advocates. (J.A.
231, 479-487).

3

167-68, 175, 268-70, 279-81, 307-08, 360, 375-76, 451).
Students are encouraged to “express opinions, to take stands,
and to support causes, publicly or privately, in a manner
consistent with the rights of others and the lawful functions
and objectives of the school and school district.” (J.A. 489).
Yet, the students desiring to form a Bible Club were treated
differently. (J.A. 72). They were banned not only from the
club forum, but from meeting on a regular basis anywhere on
the WHS campus. (J.A. 452).

Students attending WHS are told that they can organize
and participate in a variety of student clubs and organizations
which meet after school hours on school grounds. (J.A.
221-222, 297-298, 358, 479, 488). Superficially, clubs are
allegedly “sponsored” by the assignment of “faculty spon-
sors.” In most cases, these “sponsors” are monitors perform-
ing purely custodial functions. (J.A. 92, 111-12, 123-24).
Several club “sponsors” did not regularly attend the club
meetings. (J.A. 92). Kevin Dale Coates, a WHS student,
testified that the “faculty sponsor” of the Computer Club was
not a member of the teaching faculty of WHS and attended
only “about a fourth” of the meetings. (J.A. 182). Likewise,
Respondent Mergens testified that the “sponsor” of the Drama
Club did not attend all of the meetings and “sometimes he
would come back and lock up after we were done.” (J.A. 92)
(emphasis added). Student testimony was confirmed by Dr.
Findley, the WHS Principal. Dr. Findley testified, with regard
to the role of the faculty sponsor, “that there’s not someone
there all the time” monitoring the Club.> (J.A. 247). Some

5 The Equal Access Act, 20 U.S.C. § 4071(c)(2) (1984) prohibits the
“sponsorship of the meeting by the school, the government, or its agents
or employees.” The term “sponsorship”, however, as defined by the Act,
prohibits participation, leading or promotion of the meeting by the school.
“The assignment of a teacher, administrator, or other school employee to
meeting for custodial purposes does not constitute sponsorship.” 42
U.S.C. § 4072(2) (emphasis added). In fact, the policy and practice of
club sponsorship at WHS (J.A. 92, 111-12, 123-24, 182, 247) accords
with the limited, “custodial,” role permitted under the Equal Access Act.
20 U.S.C. § 4072(2).

4

sponsors receive remuneration for their services, while others
do not. (J.A. 239).

School Board policy 5610 recognizes student clubs as a
“vital part of the total education program as a means of
developing citizenship, wholesome attitudes, good human
relations, knowledge and skills.” (J.A. 488). Policy 5610 does
not provide a procedure for the formation of clubs and organi-
zations and there are no formal written guidelines for club
creation. (J.A. 231, 240-41, 292-93, 359-60). At WHS, the
practice is to direct student requests for club formation to
Ronald Huston, the Activities Director, who analyzes pro-
posals and determines compatibility with the missions and
goals of WHS. (J.A. 231).

Schooi Administrators testified that the Bible Club would
be in accord with the goals and missions of WHS. (J.A. 234,
254). Yet, the students’ request for a Bible Club was denied,
and the denial was based solely on the content of the proposed
club. (J.A. 71, 81, 341).

In January, 1985, Bridget Mergens requested permission
from Dr. Findley, the school principal, to form a Bible Club
that would meet at WHS after school hours. (J.A. 72). As
stated previously, she requested that the club be treated in the
same manner as other WHS clubs, but indicated that assign-
ment of a faculty sponsor would not be required if the school
could not or would not provide one. (J.A. 83-85). At the time
of her request, Bridget Mergens was unaware of the require-
ments for forming a club but was “very willing to oblige
whatever the school policy was.” (J.A. 85). Immediately, Dr.
Findley advised Bridget Mergens that she would not be per-
mitted to meet due to the content of the proposed club. (J.A.
72, 81, 85-86, 246, 347-49, 373-74).

In February, 1985, Bridget Mergens again presented her
request to Dr. Findley, together with Dr. James Tangdall,
Associate Superintendent of Schools. This second request was
discussed with School Superintendent Kenneth Hansen and all
three officials agreed that the initial decision be upheld and
that the Bible Club request would be denied based on the
“separation of church and state” and administrative inter-
pretation of school policy. (J.A. 341, 345-46). Administrators

5

agreed that students could discuss religious topics informally
but that informal religious meetings conducted by a group of
students on a regular basis would be prohibited. (J.A. 431-34,
451-54) (emphasis added). Bridget Mergens was given no
opportunity to clarify her request or to discuss the purpose,
goals and activities of the Bible Club with any school official.
The denial was an immediate hysterical response to the idea
of a “Bible Club.”

On March 4, 1985, Bridget Mergens presented her
request to the Westside Community Schools Board of Educa-
tion. At the meeting, she stressed that students wanted to meet
after school hours on a voluntary basis and that a faculty
sponsor would not be necessary unless required by the school.
(J.A. 59:15, 464-67). The school board voted to uphold the
administrative decision denying permission to conduct a Bible
Club at WHS (J.A. 467). No other student group has been
denied access to WHS on the basis of the content of speech.®
In this case, WHS students have been denied the right to meet
at WHS for religious discussion after school hours. (J.A.
431-34, 451-54).

On April 17, 1985, five students and their parents
brought suit against the school district, school administrators
and school board members in the United States District Court
for the District of Nebraska. The Complaint alleged that
denial of the students’ right to meet as a Bible Club violated
their freedom of speech, freedom of assembly, free exercise
of religion and equal protection rights guaranteed by the First
and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States Constitu-
tion, and by Article I of the Nebraska Constitution and the
Equal Access Act, 20 U.S.C. §§ 4071-4074 (1984) (EAA). In
their Answer, the Defendants denied the applicability of the
EAA to WHS and relied on the Establishment Clause as their
defense. (J.A. 37-54).

© Swdent safety concerns resulted in a denial of access for a
Dungeon and Dragons Club and certain athletic club requests were turned
down for other reasons. (J.A. 293-94, 309-10, 352, 367).

6

On April 8, 1987, the case went to trial. On February 2,
1988, the district court entered judgment for the Defendants,
holding that WHS maintains a closed forum and that, there-
fore, the EAA does not apply to WHS. Further, the court held
that the actions of the Defendants did not vivlate the First and
Fourteenth Amendment rights of the students. Effectively, the
court dismissed Petitioners’ contention that the Establishment
Clause constituted a compelling interest justifying exclusion
of a Bible Club from WHS by its finding that students at
WHS could distinguish between school-mandated religious
activity and student-initiated religious activity. The court
based its finding in this regard on two factors:

‘First, the proposed format protects against the con-
ferring of an imprimatur of school approval. Sec-
ond, Dr. David Workman, [sic] an expert in the
development of cognitive reasoning and intellectual
development, testified that students over the age of
12 years can make sponsorship distinctions and that
there is no significant differences between high
school and college students in their abilities to
understand endorsement or nonendorsement by the
school. The court credits this evidence.

Mergens v. Board of Education, No. CV 85-0-426 Slip Op.
(1988) (reproduced in Pet. For Certiorari, Appendix B-11)

The court’s finding on the issue of impressionability was
based on the testimony of Dr. David Moshman and on the
testimony of students who had no interest in forming or
participating in a Bible Club. These students testified that
they would feel no compulsion to attend a Bible Club if one
were permitted access to WHS and that they would not view
the existence of such a club as the school favoring one
religion over another. (J.A. 211-12, 214-15).

In deciding that the Bible Club could not be permitted
access to WHS, the district court held that the administrators’
unwritten policy, requiring presentation of a balanced view
when political, religious and economic information is dis-
pensed within WHS facilities, constitutes a “legitimate educa-
tional concern which reasonably justifies WHS’s actions in
this case.” Mergens, supra, at 15.

7

On February 8, 1989, the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals
reversed, holding that WHS maintains a limited open forum
under the EAA, that the EAA is constitutional and that this
Court’s decision in Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981),
requires reversal. The appeals court noted that the WHS
administrators’ interpretation of “curriculum-related” would
permit school officials to circumvent the EAA by administra-
tive fiat while allowing them to arbitrarily deny unfavored
student speech. Mergens v. Board of Education, 867 F.2d
1076, 1079 (8th Cir. 1989). Relying on legislative history, the
court found that, by allowing a Chess Club to meet, as well as
many other noncurriculum-related clubs, WHS had created a
limited open forum for student speech. Mergens, 867 F.2d at
1079.

The eighth circuit decision noted that the EAA closely
tracks this Court’s decision in Widmar. In fact, the court found
that the only difference between this case and Widmar is the
extension of Widmar principles to the high school level. In
light of congressional fact-finding that rejected the fotion
that high school students would confuse an equal access
policy with state sponsorship of religion, the court held that
the EAA does not violate the Establishment Clause. Mergens,
867 F.2d at 1079-80. The Court concluded by stating that
Widmar compels the same result even in the absence of the
EAA.’ Mergens, 867 F.2d at 1080. _

Finally, the limited scope of this case is to be noted. This
case does not involve an off-campus group seeking access to
the WHS facilities. This case does not involve disruption or
interference with the academic purpose or atmosphere of the
high school. This case does not involve religious activity
during the school day or during mandatory school hours. This
case does not involve an effort by these students to obtain any
greater accommodation for Bible Club meetings than is made
for other student clubs at WHS. This case simply involves the

7 Indeed, this Court need not reach the constitutionality or appli-
cability of the EAA and can affirm the eighth circuit decision by applying
this Court’s precedent in Widmar, supra.

8

right of these religiously motivated students to use school
facilities after school hours with the same rights ané respon-
sibilities as other clubs and on an equal basis, without favori-
tism Or opposition from the administration. In sum, this case
is Widmar v. Vincent at the public secondary school level.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

1. The High School Students Desiring to Form the Bible
Club Were Protected By the First Amendment.

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution
protects the students at WHS who desired to form a student-
initiated Bible Club to meet after school in any empty class-
room. These students did not “shed their constitutional rights
to freedom of speech or expression at the schoolhouse gate.”
Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community School District,
393 U.S. 503, 506 (1964). There has been no showing or
finding that the Bible Club would have “materially and sub-
stantially interfered with the requirements of appropriate dis-
cipline in the operation of the school.” /d. at 509. To the
contrary, the testimony established that the Bible Club would
meet the missions and goals of WHS. (J.A. 256).

In addition to the students’ freedom of speech, the School
Officials’ ban of the Bible Club violated the students’ free-
dom of association. Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169, 180 (1972).
The affected students wanted to meet for Bible study, prayer
and worship, which are forms of speech protected by the First
Amendment. Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981). Equal
treatment to that afforded the other student clubs and organi-
zations was all these students desired. (J.A. 105, 109). Yet the
School Officials would not even allow the students at WHS to
meet informally on a regular basis. (J.A. 431-34, 451-54).

2. The Club System at Westside High School Constitutes
an Open Public Forum.

The WHS Club System constitutes an open forum. This
Court has identified three types of public forums: “the tradi-
tional public forum, the public forum created by government
designation, and the nonpublic forum.” Board of Airport

9

Commissioners v. Jews for Jesus, 482 U.S. 569 (1987). Over thirty
clubs and organizations exist at WHS. By policy and practice,
School Officials at WHS have “created a forum generally open for
use by student groups.” Widmar, 454 U.S. at 267.

School Officials have not established any compelling state
interest to justify their complete prohibition of the Bible Club.
Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S. 455, 461 (1980); Widmar, 454 U.S. at
270. Their reliance on the Establishment Clause as a “compelling
interest” was specifically rejected by this Court in Widmar. The
School Officials’ hostility toward the students’ religious speech
“show[s] a callous indifference to religious groups.” Zorach v.
Clauson, 343 U.S. 306, 314 (1952). Rather than utilizing narrc ly
drawn regulations employing the least restrictive mean., School
Officials have implemented a ban “that broadly stifle[s)] fundamen-
tal liberties.” Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960).

3. The School Officials’ Ban Is An Unconstitutional Prior
Restraint.

The sweeping ban of the Bible Club is an unconstitutional
prior restraint on the students’ freedoms of speech and association.
School Officials exercised the sort of official discretion that this
Court will not tolerate. Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987).
Further, the School Officials’ application of unwritten guidelines,
coupled with their broad-based and open-ended view of “curricu-
lum related,” constitute vague policies in violation of the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. New York v. Ferber,
458 U.S. 747 (1985).

4. The Equal Access Act Is Constitutional.

The School Officials’ ban of the student-initiated Bible Club
is in violation of the Equal Access Act (EAA). The EAA became
law in 1984. Under the EAA, public secondary schools that
received federal financial assistance are required to grant equal
access to their facilities for students wishing to meet for religious,
political or philosophical purposes when the school has a limited
public forum. 20 U.S.C. § 4071(a). Congress passed the EAA

10

to end confusion among school administrators by applying
Widmar to public high schools, thereby insuring that public
schools “not discriminate against speech based on its con-
tent.” 130 Cong. Rec. $8332 (daily ed. June 27, 1984).

A public secondary school triggers the EAA “whenever
such school grants an offering to or opportunity for one or
more noncurriculum-related student groups to meet on school
premises during non-instructional time.” 20 U.S.C. § 4071(b).
Over thirty student clubs and organizations meet and use
WHS facilities after school hours. (J.A. 231, 479-87). The
eighth circuit correctly noted that many noncurriculum-
related clubs meet at WHS. Mergens, 867 F.2d at 1079. In
fact, Dr. Findley, the WHS principal, admitted that the Peer
Advocates Club is noncurriculum related. (J.A. 231). Further-
more, Interact, an affiliate of Rotary International which is
imbued with moral philosophy, exists at WHS. Subsurfers
Scuba Club, which is supervised by non-school personnel, is
another noncurriculum club in existence at WHS. Dr. Syb-
outs, a curriculum expert, reviewed the EAA and its legisla-
tive history. Based on this review, Dr. Sybouts found that
WHS had one or more noncurriculum-related clubs and there-
fore the EAA was triggered. (J.A. 412). 20 U.S.C. § 4071(b).

The EAA does not violate the Establishment Clause. The
application of the three-part test enunciated by this Court in
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971), confirms the consti-
tutionality of the EAA. The creation of a forum for student
speech, including religious speech, constitutes a legitimate
secular purpose. Widmar, supra. Likewise, a policy of equal
access “does not confer any imprimatur of state approval on
religious sects or practices.” Texas Monthly v. Bullock, 489
U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 890 (1989). Over thirty student clubs and
Organizations are in existence at WHS. “The provision of
benefits to so broad a spectrum of groups is an important
index of secular effect.” Widmar, 454 U.S. at 274. By allow-
ing a policy of equal access, School Officials will not be
“making adherence to a religion relevant in any way to a

person’s standing in the political community.” County of

Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, 492 U.S. __.,
109 S.Ct. 3086 (1989).

11

The argument that high school students are more impres-
sionable than college students was properly rejected by Con-
gress, the District Court and the Eighth Circuit Court of
Appeals. In short, a policy of equal access does not have the
primary effect of advancing religion.

Finally, permitting a voluntary, student-initiated Bible
club to meet during noninstructional time does not foster an
excessive government entanglement with religion. In fact,
enforcing a ban against religion at WHS would prove to be far
more entangling than a neutral policy of equal access. Widmar
at 272 n.11.

ARGUMENT

I. THE SCHOOL OFFICIALS’ BAN OF A VOLUN-
TARY, STUDENT-INITIATED BIBLE CLUB IS AN
UNCONSTITUTIONAL INFRINGEMENT ON THE
STUDENTS’ FREE SPEECH RIGHTS AS PRO-
TECTED BY THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS.

A. Public High School Students Have First Amendment
Rights of Freedom of Speech and Freedom of
Association.

The high school students at WHS who desired to form a
voluntary student initiated Bible Club to meet on campus did
not “shed their constitutional rights to freedom of speech or
expression at the school house gate.” Tinker v. Des Moines
Independent Community School District, 393 U.S. 503, 506
(1969). As proposed to School Officials, the Bible Club
meetings would have included Bible study, prayer and discus-
sions of relevant topics in an effort to encourage personal and
spiritual growth. (J.A. 73-77, 154-55, 185, 190). The Club
would have met in “any einpty classroom” either before the
commencement of the required school day or after the com-
pletion of the school day. (J.A. 78, 117). The student-initiated

8 “This has been the unmistakable holding of this Court for almost
50 years.” Tinker, 393 U.S. at 506; Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390
(1923).

12

Bible Club simply desired the same rights, privileges, terms
and conditions as the Other clubs at WHS. (J.A. 75, 131, 163).
See note 2, supra.

The School Officials’ prohibition cannot be sustained
since there has been “no finding and no showing that engag-
ing in the [Bible Club] would materially and substantially
interfere with the requirements of appropriate discipline in
the operation of the school.” Tinker, 393 U.S. at 509 (quoting
Burnside v. Byars, 363 F.2d 744, 749 (Sth Cir. 1966)). To the
contrary, even the school administrators testified at trial that
the Bible Club would be in accord with the goals and missions
of the school. (J.A. 234, 254). Notwithstanding the obvious
compatibility of the Bible Club’s purpose and the school’s
goals, the students’ request was flatly and unequivocally
denied.

It was the content of the speech in Tinker to which the
school board objected, and, likewise, it is the content of the
students’ speech in the present case, to which School Offi-
cials now object.? Yet,

[iJn our system, state-operated schools may not be
enclaves of totalitarianism. School officials do not
possess absolute authority over their students. Stu-
dents in school as well as out of school are ‘per-
sons’ under our constitution. They are possessed of
fundamental rights which the State must respect,
just as they themselves must respect their obliga-
tions to the State. In our system, students may not
be regarded as closed-circuit recipients of only that
which the State chooses to communicate. They may

9 Professor Laurence Tribe noted that, for constitutional purposes,
the speech in Tinker was indistinguishable from a student-initiated Bible
study. “No conceivable principal of distinction can suggest that students
who have a right to wear arm bands to protest the war suddenly lose that
right if they utter the name of God in the process, or if, heaven forbid,
they should do it as a group instead of single file.” Religious Speech
Protection Act: Hearing on H.R. 4996 before the Subcomm. on Elemen-
tary, Secondary, and Vocational Education of the House Comm. on
Education and Labor, 98th Cong., 2nd Sess. 47 (1984).

13

not be confined to the expression of those senti-
ments that are officially approved.!°

Tinker, 393 U.S. at 511.

Students who seek to form the Bible Club acknowledge
that the School Officials have “important, delicate and highly
discretionary functions” to perform. West Virginia State Board
of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 637 (1943). These
functions, however, must be performed “within the limits of
the Bill of Rights.”!! Barnette, Id. at 637. “The vigilant
protection of constitutional freedoms-is nowhere more vital
than in the community of American schools.” Shelton v.
Tucker, 364 U.S. 479, 487 (1960); Keyishian v. Board of.
Regents, 385 U.S. 589, 603 (1967). By forbidding the Bible
Club to meet, the School Officials exercised “authoritative
selection” violative of the well-established principle that the
“classroom is peculiarly the marketplace of ideas.” Keyishian,
385 U.S. at 603.

This Court has recognized that “personal intercom-
munication among the students” in high school is an activity
to which schools are dedicated. Tinker, 393 U.S. at 512. The

10 In fact, official approval is exactly what School Officials require.
In his affidavit submitted at trial, James E. Findley, Principal of WHS,
testified “[t}hat in the event any one or more of the student clubs or
organizations are determined by the Court to be noncurriculum related
and if the Court determines that Westside High School has a limited open
forum under the Equal Access Act, / would recommend to the administra-
tion and Board of Education that it consider amending the policies to
discontinue such student clubs or organizations.” (J.A. 472) (emphasis
added).

'! See also, Board of Education v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982). Public
schools “are educating the young for citizenship [which] is reason for
scrupulous protection of constitutional freedoms of the individual, if we
are not to strangle the free mind at its source and teach youth to discount
important principles of our government as mere platitutes.” Barnetie, 319
U.S. at 637.

14

WHS students desired to meet together before or after regular
school hours. The right of these students to meet, does “not
embrace merely the classroom hours.” /d. The School Offi-
cials’ prohibition against the Bible Club violates the students’
rights of freedom of speech and freedom of association. '!2

“Among the rights protected by the First Amendment is
the right of individuals to associate to further their personal
beliefs.” Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169, 180 (1972). The
School Officials have denied a fundamental constitutional
right to the WHS students who seek to form a Bible Club. The
students wanted treatment equal to that afforded other WHS
clubs, nothing more. (J.A. 105, 109). Rather than provide
equal treatment, School Officials, in an attempt to circumvent
constitutional mandates, allegedly would have allowed the
Bible Club to meet “informally” or off campus at a nearby
church.!3 (J.A. 81, 83; Pet. Brief at 7). These identical con-
tentions were raised by the school officials in Healy and
rejected by this Court.

In Healy, school officials asserted that students desiring
to form a local chapter of Students for a Democratic Society
(SDS) could “meet as a group off campus . . . and that they
still may meet together informally on campus — as individuals,
but not as CCSC-SDS.” 408 U.S. at 182 (emphasis added).

12 Those rights are protected by the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution as applied to the States through the Fourteenth
Amendment. “It is beyond debate that freedom to engage in association
for the advancement of beliefs and ideas is an inseparable aspect of the
“liberty” assured by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, which embraces freedom of speech. Of course, it is immaterial
whether the belief sought to be advanced by association pertain to
political, economic, religious or cultural matters, and state action which
may have the effect of curtailing the freedom to associate is subject to the
closest scrutiny.” NAACP v. Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. 449,
460-61 (1958) (citations omitted) (emphasis added).

'3 In fact, “informal” meetings held on campus on a regular basis
would not have been allowed. (J.A. 431-434, 451-454).

15

Rejecting the school officials’ proposition, this Court held
that “the group’s possible ability to exist outside the campus
community does not ameliorate significantly the disabilities”
imposed by the campus ban.!* /d.

Similarly, the denial of official recognition burdens and
abridges the freedom of association.'> “The primary impedi-
ment to free association flowing from nonrecognition is the
denial of use of campus facilities for meetings and other
appropriate purposes.” Healy, 408 U.S. at 181. The “associa-
tional interests” of students desiring to form the Bible Club
“were circumscribed by the denial of the use of campus
bulletin boards and the school newspaper.” /d. These “impedi-
ments cannot be viewed as insubstantial.” /d. at 182. The
freedom of association is “protected not only against heavy
handed frontal attack, but also from being shifted by a more
subtle governmental interference.” Bates v. City of Little
Rock, 361 U.S. 516 (1960).'©

Recently this Court revisited issues of student free
speech rights in the public high school environment. In Hazel-
wood School District v. Kuhlmeir, 484 U.S. __, 108 S.Ct. 562
(1988), the Court reaffirmed the Tinker test for regulations of

14 This Court, in Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147, 163 (1939), held
that “one is not to have the exercise of his liberty of expression in
appropriate places abridged on the plea that it may be exercised in some
other place.”

1S There is a distinction between recognition and sponsorship. In
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (1967), “recognition” is
defined, in pertinent part, as “acceptance of an individual as being entitled
to consideration or attention.” /d. at 1896. “Sponsorship” is defined as
“the state of being a sponsor; [the] act of sponsoring; official or financial
support.” Id. at 2204 (emphasis added).

'6 As discussed infra at III B, Petitioners’ justification for banning
the Bible Club is based on concerns of an Establishment Clause violation.
As discussed more fully below, a policy of equal access does not violate
the Establishment Clause. Furthermore, it is the School Officials who
have failed to meet the “heavy burden” necessary to demonstrate the
appropriateness of their actions.

16

Student-initiated speech.!? While, in Hazelwood, this Court
allowed school officials to edit and eliminate student-written
stories from the high school newspaper, the Court unequivo-
cally stated that the issues in Hazelwood were distinct from
those presented in Tinker.

The question whether the First Amendment requires
a school to tolerate particular student speech — the
question that we addressed in Tinker — is different
from the question whether the First Amendment
requires a school affirmatively to promote particu-
lar student speech. The latter question concerns
educators’ authority over school-sponsored publica-
tions, theatrical productions, and other expressive
activities that the students, parents and members of

the public might reasonably perceive to bear the
imprimatur of the school.

Hazelwood, 484 U.S. at __, 108 S.Ct. at 569.

The student-initiated, voluntary Bible Club at WHS
would not be deemed “school sponsored” within the meaning
of Hazelwood. In Hazelwood, the school paper

Spectrum was written and edited by the Journalism
II class at Hazelwood East. The newspaper was
published every three weeks or so during the
1982-1983 school year. More than 4,500 copies of
the newspaper were distributed during that year to

students, school personnel, and members of the
community.

'7 The Tinker test may be summarized as follows: Absent a showing
that the speech activity would “materially and substantially interfere with
the requirements of appropriate discipline” or would interfere with the
rights of others, prohibition of the speech activity would be inappropriate.
Tinker, 393 U.S. at 513. In Bethel School District No. 403 v. Fraser, 478
U.S. 675 (1986), this Court again reaffirmed the principles enunciated in
Tinker. In Bethel, the Court approved the school’s actions in punishing a
student for a nominating speech filled with lewd remarks and sexual

innuendos. The speech was given at a school assembly - a school-
sponsored forum. Id. at 677.

17

The Board of Education allocated funds from its
annual budget for the printing of Spectrum.

Id. at __, 108 S.Ct. at 565.

Furthermore, “Journalism I] was taught by a faculty
member during regular class hours. Students received grades
and academic credit for their performance in the course.” /d.
at __, 108 S.Ct. at 568.

These factors, indicating school sponsorship, are absent
from the present case.'* The Bible Club would have been
voluntary, and it would have met after school. No credit or
grade would have been received for participation. (J.A. 72,
78, 117). Furthermore, School Officials have no “legitimate,
pedogogical concerns” with regard to the Bible Club. In fact,
of the over 30 clubs and organizations at WHS, participation
in only three of them could have any effect on a student’s
grade. !9

The School Officials’ sponsorship argument presents a
“Catch 22” situation for the students. They argue that students
can meet “informally” for religious discussions but that infor-
mal meetings conducted on a regular basis will not be
allowed. (J.A. 431, 434, 451-454). The School Officials fault
the students for requesting permission to meet on an equal
basis with other student clubs; and they claim they did not
request a faculty sponsor as required by Policy 5610. (J.A. 59,
Pretrial rder Stipulation No. 13). School Officials further
contend that the presence of a faculty sponsor at a Bible Club
meeting would violate the Establishment Clause. Ultimately,
the Bible Club is denied the right to meet either informally on
a regular basis or formally at all. Thus, the School Officials’
reasoning for the denial of access for stUdents wishing to

18 Far from being taught by a faculty member, many “faculty
sponsors” for WHS clubs frequently missed the meetings. (J.A. 92, 182,
247). =»

19 Participation in Band, Choir and Drama can affect course grade.
Each of these clubs, however, constitute activities that are part of the
regular curriculum or activities that are extensions of secular academic
classes. (J.A. 479, 483).

18

form a Bible Club, is merely a pretextual justification for
discriminating against religious beliefs and speech.?°

This Court has reaffirmed the duty of federal courts “to
apply the First Amendment’s mandates in our educational
system” in order “to safeguard the fundamental values of
freedom of speech and inquiry. . . .” Epperson v. Arkansas,
393 U.S. 97, 104 (1968). “[Blasic constitutional values” are
“directly and sharply” implicated in this case by the School
Officials’ ban of the student-initiated Bible Club. Pico, 457
U.S. at 866 (quoting Epperson, 393 U.S. at 104).2! The
Student-initiated, voluntary Bible Club would not have “mate-
rially or substantially” disrupted the educational process,
therefore, the School Officials’ prohibition violates the stu-
dents’ free speech, free exercise and freedom of association
rights protected by the First and Fourteenth Amendments.
Tinker, 393 U.S. at 513.72

20 Christian fettowship, Bible reading, worship and prayer are a
vital part of the daily lives of these students. (J.A. 75, 131, 163). In
addition to the violation of the students’ rights of freedom of speech and
association, the School Officials’ prohibition of the voluntary, student-led
Bible Club violates the free exercise clause of the First Amendment.
School Officials have denied a “benefit because of the conduct mandated
by religious belief.” Thomas v. Review Board, 450 U.S. 707, 717-18
(1981).

21 See also Note, The Constitutional Dimensions of Student-Initiated
Religious Activity in Public High Schools, 92 Yale LJ. 499 (1983); Note,
Religious Expression on the Public School Forum: The High School
Students’ Right to Free Speech, 72 Geo. L.J. 135 (1983).

22 This Court can affirm the opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit without reaching the constitutionality of
the EAA or the applicability of the open forum doctrine. The constitu-
tional rights of students to freedom of speech and freedom of association
as set forth in Tinker and Healy, are independent of the EAA or the open
forum doctrine.

19

1. Religious Discussion and Worship Are Forms of
Speech Protected By the First Amendment.

As proposed to school officials, the Bible Club meetings
would have included Bible study, prayer, and discussions of
relevant topics in an effort to encourage personal and spiritual
growth. (J.A. 73-77, 154-155, 185, 190). Identical speech was
at issue in Widmar, 454 U.S. 263. A “typical Cornerstone
meeting included prayer, hymns, Bible commentary and dis-
cussion of religious views and experiences.” Widmar, 454
U.S. at 266 n.2. It is a constitutional axiom that the kinds of
speech proposed for the student-initiated Bible Club, consist-
ing of religious worship and discussion, “are forms of speech
and association protected by the First Amendment.” Widmar,
454 U.S. at 269.23

B. The Club System at Westside High School Is A Public
Forum From Which A Voluntary, Student-Initiated
Bible Club May Not Be Banned.

1. The Club and Organization System at Westside High
School Constitutes An Open Public Forum.

The club and organization system in place at WHS con-
Stitutes an open public forum. “In balancing the government
interest in limiting the use of its property against the interests
of those who wish to use the property for expressive activity,
the Court has +dentified three types of forum: the traditional
public forum, the public forum created by government desig-
nation and the nonpublic forum.” Board of Airport Commis-
sioners v. Jews for Jesus, 482 U.S. 569 (1987).

An open forum consists of public property which the
State has opened for use by the public, “or by some segment
of the public, such as student organizations,” as a place for
expressive activity. Hazelwood, 484 U.S. at ___, 108 S.Ct. at

23 See, e.g, Heffron v. International Society for Krishna Conscious-
ness, Inc., 452 U.S. 640 (1981); Niemetko v. Maryland, 340 U.S. 268
(1951); Saia v. New York, 334 U.S. 558 (1948); Schneider, 308 U.S. 147;
Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938).

20

568. The Constitution forbids a State to enforce certain exclu-
sions from a forum generally open to the public even if it was
not required to create the forum in the first place. Perry
Education Assn. v. Perry Local Educational Assn., 460 U.S.
37, 45 (1983). Undeniably, WHS School Officials created a
student activities forum. As in many other cases decided by
this Court,2* exclusions from a forum, “come[] to this Court
bearing a heavy presumption against [their] constitutional
validity.” Southeastern Promotions v. Conrad, 420 U.S. 546,
558 (1975). School Officials have failed to overcome that
heavy presumption.

The Widmar decision controls the issues presented
herein. The University of Missouri at Kansas City encouraged
the activities of student organizations as its stated policy.
Similarly, WHS School Officials “regard student clubs and
organizations as a vital part of the education program.” (J.A.
488). In Widmar, the University recognized over 100 student
groups. Likewise, WHS School Officials recognized over 30
clubs and student organizations. Despite its stated policy, the
University would not allow “Cornerstone” to meet on campus
because a regulation prohibited the use of university grounds
for religious teaching or worship. Likewise, WHS School
Officials banned the student-initiated Bible Club because the
content of the students’ speech would have been “religious.”

In Widmar, this Court held that the university’s prohibi-
tion was unconstitutional. The facts of the present case dictate
the same result reached in Widmar. “Through its policy of
accommodating their meetings, [the School Officials have}
created a forum generally open for use by student groups.
Having done so, [the School Officials have] assumed an
obligation to justify its discriminations and exclusions under
applicable constitutional norms.” Widmar, 454 U.S. at 267. In
Widmar, the University could not justify its exclusion of
religious speech from the University forum. In the present

24 See, e.g., Schneider, supra; Lovell, supra; Shuttlesworth v. Bir-
mingham, 394 U.S. 147 (1969).

21

case, the School Officials have similarly failed to justify their
policy of excluding religious speech.

2. The School Officials’ Content-Based Ban Is Not Justi-
fied By a Compelling State Interest.

a. The School Officials’ Ban is Content Based.

The School Officials’ ban of the student-initiated Bible
Club cannot be constitutionally justified.

In order to justify discriminatory exclusion from a
public forum based on the religious content of a
group’s intended speech, the [School Officials]
must therefore satisfy the standard of review appro-
priate to content-based exclusions. It must show
that its regulation is necessary to serve a compelling
State interest and that it is narrowly drawn to
achieve that end.

Widmar, 454 U.S. at 269-70 (emphasis added); Carey v.
Brown, 447 U.S. 455, 461, 464-65 (1980).25

There is no question that the Bible Club ban is a content-
based response to the students’ intended speech. (J.A. 81,
313). Dr. Findley testified at trial that it was the Christianity
of the club that prompted his decision. (J.A. 312). This Court
defines content-neutral speech restrictions as “those that are
justified without reference to the content of the regulated
speech.” Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. __, __, 108 S.Ct. 1157,

23 The least restrictive alternative test must be applied to this case
because content-based bans “must be subjected to the most exacting
scrutiny.” Ward v. Rock against Racism, 491 U.S. ___, __, 109 S.Ct.
2746, ___ (1989). The least restrictive alternative test must be applied
here because of Respondents’ asserted claims of injury to their rights of
free exercise of religion. Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972) (“only
those interests of the highest order and those not otherwise served can
overbalance legitimate claims to the free exercise of religion.”). Peti-
tioners content-based prohibition “is not narrowly tailored; a less restric-
tive alternative is readily available.” Boos, 485 U.S. at __, 108 S.Ct. at
1168.

——$_$___.

22

1163 (1988) (citations omitted). Here, it was solely the con-
tent of the students’ speech that was the basis for the imple-
mentation of the ban on the student-initiated Bible Club.?°

b. The School Officials Have Not Shown a Compelling
State Interest.

School Officials have failed to establish a compelling
interest justifying the sweeping ban of the Bible Club. Their
reliance upon the Establishment Clause as a “compelling
interest” was specifically rejected by the Widmar Court.?’
While this Court agreed “that the interest of the University in
complying with its constitutional obligations may be charac-
terized as compelling[,] {i]t does not follow, however, that an
“equal access” policy would be incompatible with this

26 Stressing its disdain for content-based prohibitions, this Court has
said:

But, above all else, the First Amendment means that the
government has no power to restrict expression because of its
message, its ideas, its subject matter, or its content. [Citations
omitied.] . . . The essence of this forbidden censorship is
content control. Any restriction on expressive activity because
of its content would completely undercut the “profound
national commitment to the principle that debate on public
issues should be uninhibited, robust, and wide-open... .”
[New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 270).

Police Department v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 95-96 (1972).

Content-based regulation of speech constitutes “censorship in a most
odious form” and violates the First Amendment. Cox v. Louisiana, 379
U.S. 536, 581 (1965) (Black, J., concurring). Education is a proper and
preferable alternative to censorship. Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357
(1927). Content-based discrimination also constitutes a violation of Equal
Protection through the Fifth Amendment. Wayte v. United States, 470
U.S. 586, 608 n.9 (1985).

27 For an analysis of the Establishment Clause under the three-prong
test enunciated in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971), see section
Ill B, infra.

——— —_

23

Court's Establishment Clause Cases.”?® Widmar, 454 U.S. at
271 (emphasis added).

Voluntary, student-initiated, student-led religious activity
on public school property has never been prohibited by this
Court. Indeed, this Court’s interpretation of the Establishment
Clause has required that school officials accommodate the
needs of students with religious convictions. See, e.g., Yoder,
406 U.S. 205.

Sound constitutional distinctions may be made between a
State-initiated religious activity, in which students choose
whether or not to participate and a voluntary, student-initiated
religious activity that school officials simply permit under a
neutral policy of equal access allowing students to meet to
discuss their various interests. Markedly different from a
voluntary, student-initiated Bible Club are state statutes
requiring posting of the Ten Commandments in public class-
room walls, Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980), state laws
requiring daily Bible reading and recitation of the Lord’s
Prayer in public classrooms, School District v. Schempp, 374
U.S. 203 (1963), state statutes requiring recitation of a State-
composed prayer in the public classroom, Engel v. Vitale, 370
U.S. 421 (1962), and state statutes requiring teachers that
teach evolution to also teach creation, Edwards v. Aguillard,
482 U.S. 578 (1987).

28 The Establishment Clause provides that “Congress shall make no
law respecting an establishment of religion. . . .” U.S. Const., amend. I.
The Establishment Clause is applicable to the States through the Four-
teenth Amendment. Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940).

Petitioners have also asserted that they have met the compelling state
interest test because the Bible Club would not have presented a “balanced
view” (Pet. Brief at 44). Rather than justifying their ban in light of this
Court’s precedent, Petitioners rely upon a heretofore unheard of theory of
law requiring the presentation of a “balanced view” when controversial
subjects are discussed at WHS. Presenting a balanced view does not
constitute a compelling interest. This Court examines, with the highest
degree of scrutiny, regulations that infringe on constitutional rights.
Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, 455 U.S. 489, 499 (1982).

24

The Establishment Clause was designed to prevent gov-
ernment from exercising jurisdiction over matters of religion.
The Establishment Clause does not address or affect rights of
communication between individuals. As Justice Brennan
wrote in his concurring opinion in McDaniel v. Paty, 435 U.S.
618, 641 (1978), “the Establishment Clause does not license
government to treat religion and those who teach or practice
it, simply by virtue of their status as such, as subversive of
American ideals and therefore subject to unique disabilities.”
Yet, the School Officials have treated the students desiring to
form the Bible Club at WHS as “subversives.” Dr. Findley,
the Principal at WHS, testified that if the Court deems WHS a
public forum, he would “recommend to the administration and
the Board of Education that it consider amending the policies
to discontinue such student clubs or organizations.” (J.A.
472).

The School Officials’ hostility toward the students’ reli-
gious speech “show(s] a callous indifference to religious
groups.” Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306, 314 (1952).?9 This
Court has recognized that the “Establishment Clause man-
dates state neutrality, not hostility, toward religion.”%° Bender
v. Williamsport Area School Dist., 475 U.S. 534, 554 (1986).
(Burger, C.J. dissenting) (emphasis added).

The Free Speech Clause and the Establishment Clause do
not conflict.

[T)he First Amendment require[s] vision capable of

distinguishing between state establishment of reli-

gion, which is prohibited by the Establishment

Clause, and individual participation and advocacy

of religion which, far from being prohibited by the

Establishment Clause, is affirmatively protected by

29 In fact, Respondent Andrea Dawn Simmonds testified that when
school officials denied the Bible Club the right to meet, she felt that she
was discriminated against on the basis of her religious beliefs. (Tr. 100).

30 In Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1, 18 (1947), Justice
Black, writing for the Court, stated that the First Amendment “requires
the state to be neutral in its relations with groups of religious believers
and nonbelievers; it does not require the state to be their adversary. State
power is no more to be used to handicap religions than to favor them.”

25

the Free Exercise and Free Speech Clauses of the
First Amendment.

Bender, 475 U.S. at 553.

Equal access to public high schools for all lawful groups
who are entitled to be there is precisely the ideal and vision of
the Founding Fathers. To exclude a student-initiated, student-
led Bible Club from the WHS club forum offends the very
core of the First Amendment. Widmar, supra; Niemetko,
supra. A policy of equal access at WHS would not endorse
religion, nor promote it, nor would it coerce participation.
Over 30 clubs and organizations are in existence at WHS. By
following a policy of equal access, School Officials will not
be “making adherence to a religion relevant in any way to a
person’s standing in the political community.” Lynch v. Don-
nelly, 465 U.S. 668, 687 (1984); County of Allegheny v.
American Civil Liberties Union, 492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 3086
(1989). In sum, an equal access policy does not constitute a
violation of the Establishment Clause of the First Amend-
ment. See generally, Laycock, Equal Access and Moments of
Silence: The Equal Status of Religious Speech by Private
Speakers, 81 Nw. U.L. Rev. 1 (1986).

3. The School Officials’ Ban Is Not Narrowly Tailored.

The absolute ban of a student-initiated Bible Club from
the WHS campus is not “narrowly drawn” nor does it utilize
“least restrictive alternatives” as is required to meet constitu-
tional standards. Widmar, supra; Carey, supra; Boos, supra;
Ward, supra; Shelton, supra. “(B)jecause First Amendment
freedoms need ‘breathing space’ to survive, government may
regulate in this area only with narrow specificity.” NAACP v.
Button, 371 U.S. 415, 433 (1963). “Precision of regulation
must be the touchstone” in regulating free speech. /d. at 438.

Rather than implementing narrowly drawn regulations,
School Officials implemented a ban “that broadly stifle[s]
fundamental personal liberties when the end can be more
narrowly achieved.” Shelton, 364 U.S. at 252. Many less
restrictive alternatives exist which would accommodate the
School Officials’ concern. The students would have been

26

willing to allow School Officials to post disclaimers in order
to convey state neutrality to the student population. (J.A.
72).31 Yet School Officials did not even consider these least
restrictive means. (J.A. 73). These same School Officials
must teach the meaning of the Bill of Rights to students, not
only by words, but by action. Ambach v. Norwick, 441 U.S.
68, 76-77 (1979). Instead of complying with the applicable
constitutional requirements, however, School Officials cre-
ated a “First Amendment Free Zone” at WHS with regard to
the Bible Club. Jews for Jesus, 482 U.S. at 574.

C. The School Officials’ Ban of a Student-Initiated Bible
Club is Unconstitutional Because It Is An Effort To
Suppress Expression Merely Because They Oppose the
Students’ Viewpoints.

The School Officials’ ban of a student-initiated Bible
club would be unconstitutional even in a nonpublic forum
because it is an, “effort to suppress expression merely
because public officials oppose the speaker’s view.” Perry
Ed. Assn. v. Perry Local Ed. Assn., 460 U.S. 37, 46 (1983).
Just as a ban may be void regardless of the nature of the
forum on overbreadth grounds, Bd. of Airport Com'rs of Los
Angeles v. Jews for Jesus, 482 U.S. 569 (1987), so too, the
School Officials’ ban is void regardless of the nature of the
forum because it is, “impermissibly motivated by a desire to
suppress a particular point of view.” Cornelius v. N.A.A.C.P.
Legal Defense & Ed. Fund, 473 U.S. 788, 812-13 (1985).

Although the School Officials may prefer the discussion
of “some subjects over others,” they have intentionally, albeit
impermissibly, engaged in blatant viewpoint discrimination.
Principal Findley so desires to suppress the students’ world
view that he would rather, “discontinue such student clubs or

31 In fact, at trial, Bridget Mergens testified that if the School
Officials wanted to make a disclaimer announcement in the school paper
or through the P-A. system, “that would have been fine with me, sir.”
(J.A. 73)

27

organizations,” than permit the students to study the teachings
of the Bible in a student-initiated Bible Club. (J.A. 472).

In contrast, the teachings of the viewpoint of Interact, a
student affiliate of the Rotary Club International, receives
official sponsorship under the school’s own view of “sponsor-
ship.” Instead of a Ten Commandments, Interact employs the
4-Way Test. The 4-Way Test is:

1. Is it the TRUTH?

2. Is it FAIR to all concerned?

3. Will it build GOODWILL and BETTER

FRIENDSHIPS?
4. Will it be BENEFICIAL to all concerned?

Rotary International, The 4-Way Test Of The Things We
Think, Say Or Do (Rotary International, Evanston, Illinois).

This admirable guiding ethic is considered by Rotarians
to be the catalyst for “a great improvement in moral charac-
ter” for its adherents. /d. at 9.

Justice Stevens has previously addressed the imper-
missibility of inconsistent approaches to doctrinally-related
school clubs:

It seems apparent that the policy under attack would
allow groups of young philosophers to meet to dis-
cuss their skepticism that a Supreme Being exists,
or a group of political scientists to meet to debate
the accuracy of the view that religion is the “opium
of the people.” If school facilities may be used to
discuss anticlerical doctrine, it seems to me that
comparable use by a group desiring to express a
belief in God must also be permitted. The fact that
their expression of faith includes ceremonial con-
duct is not, in my opinion, a sufficient reason for
suppressing their discussion entirely.

Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263, 281 (1981) (Stevens, J.,
concurring).

Assuming, arguendo, the validity and reasonableness of
the school’s justifications for banning the club, “those justi-
fications cannot save an exclusion that is in fact based on the
desire to suppress a particular point of view.” Cornelius, 473
U.S. at 812. Under the school’s view, the Establishment

28

Clause prohibits a Bible club because the school sponsors
clubs, yet they simultaneously sponsor the viewpoint of
Rotary International through the Interact Club. The school’s
ban therefore is void, regardless of the nature of the forum,
because School Officials admit that they have acted, “with the
intent of promoting a particular point of view in religious
matters,” Corporation of Presiding Bishop v. Amos, 483 U.S.
327, 335 (1987).

D. The School Officials’ Ban of the Bible Club Is Not A
Reasonable Time, Place and Manner Regulation.

Reasonable time, place and manner restrictions, not
sweeping prohibitions, are the means by which School Offi-
cials may control access to a public forum. Such restrictions
must be content neutral and “narrowly tailored to serve a
significant government interest, and leave open ample alter-
native channels of communication.” Perry, 460 U.S. at 45.
Insofar as the School Officials’ policy bans the Bible Club
from WHS, it offends the First Amendment for it is neither a
reasonable time, place and manner restriction nor is it nar-
rowly drawn to serve a significant government interest.*2 The
prohibition of the Bible Club at WHS is the type of “sweeping
ban” that this Court has consistently condemned.**

As an attempt to “save” the constitutionality of the prohi-
bition, School Officials asserted that the Bible Club could

32 As set forth fully supra, the School Officials’ ban of the Bible
Club is not content neutral. (J.A. 255).

33 United States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171 (1983) (a total ban on
display of “flags, banners, or devices” on the sidewalk surrounding the
Supreme Court is unconstitutional); Schaumburg v. Citizens For a Better
Environment, 444 U.S. 620, 637 (1980) (“measures less intrusive than a
direct prohibition on solicitation” can be instituted to prevent fraudulent
misrepresentation); Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. __, 108 S.Ct. 2495
(1988) (picketing in front of a single residence may be prohibited, bus not
general marching, through a residential neighborhood). See also Heffron,
supra, (free speech activities allowed; solicitation on fairgrounds,

(Continued on following page)

29

meet in a church across the street from the school. This self-
serving gesture cannot be countenanced. Relegating students
otherwise entitled to participate in the club system forum has
the effect of “stamping” Bible Club participants with “a
badge of inferiority.” Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537
(1896). The time is long past when School Officials may
satisfy the Equal Protection Clause by providing separate but
equal facilities. Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483
(1954). Finally, as this Court recognized over fifty years ago,
“[ojne is not to have the exercise of his liberty of expression
in appropriate places abridged on the plea that it may be
exercised in some other place.” Schneider, 308 U.S. at 163.

Il. THE BAN OF A STUDENT-INITIATED BIBLE
CLUB CONSTITUTES A VIOLATION OF THE
STUDENTS’ DUE PROCESS RIGHT BECAUSE OF
THE LACK OF OBJECTIVE STANDARDS AND
PROCEDURAL SAFEGUARDS WHICH RESULTED
IN THE SCHOOL OFFICIALS’ EXERCISE OF
ARBITRARY DISCRETION.

A. The School Officials Exercised Impermissible
Discretion.

The School Officials’ ban of the student-initiated Bible
Club is an unconstitutional prior restraint on the students’
freedoms of speech and association. Many times this Court
has held that arbitrary official discretion to permit or forbid
First Amendment activities constitutes an impermissible prior
restraint. Niemotko, 340 U.S. at 271. Even a cursory review of
the facts of this case establishes that the WHS School

(Continued from previous page)

however, required to be conducted from booths to ensure orderly move-
ment of crowds). By enacting reasonable time, place and manner restric-
tions rather than flat prohibitions, free speech will not be stifled at its
source. Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 7 (1949) (prohibiting only those
“sound trucks that emit loud and raucous noise”); Grayned, 408 U.S. 104
(prohibiting only those demonstrations that disrupt normal activities).

30

Officials exercised the type of unbridled discretion “to grant
or withhold [permission] upon a broad criteria unrelated to
the proper regulation of public places” that this Court has
consistently condemned. /d. at 294; accord, Secretary of State
v. Joseph H. Munson Co., 467 U.S. 947 (1984).

Westside School District, like the University in Widmar,
has applied a policy favorably toward non-religious student
groups while applying the same policy in an invidiously
discriminatory manner against religious student groups. Dr.
Findley, the WHS Principal, testified that he and Mr. Huston
are responsible for evaluating student requests for the cre-
ation of student organizations. (J.A. 241). He testified that
there was no written procedure for assessment of student
requests (J.A. 241), only the unwritten, customary procedure
that has evolved over the years. (J.A. 241). The unwritten
policy requires Dr. Findley and Mr. Huston to assess each
student request by determining the goals and objectives of the
club (J.A. 358, 359), and by meeting with potential sponsors
to “see whether or not it fits under our guidelines and our
Board Policy.” (J.A. 359). Only after such an investigation
would the administrators make the decision whether to
approve or deny the club. (J.A. 241).

Bridget Mergens’ request for a Bible Club was treated
differently. When she made her first request to Dr. Findley, it
was immediately denied. (J.A. 72). Mr. Huston was told about
the request only after it had already been denied by Dr.
Findley. Mr. Huston testified that Dr. Findley told him that
someone had requested the formation of a Bible Club. (Tr.
512:17-22). Mr. Huston stated he had no input at all into the
decision-making process for denial of the club. (J.A. 361).
Furthermore, Dr. Findley had already told Mr. Huston that it
was his opinion that the Bible Club could not meet. (J.A.
254).

Dr. Findley did not review school policy before the
denial (J.A. 256, 257), nor did he seek a legal opinion before
denial, despite the fact that the students requested that their
club meet under the guidelines of the EAA. (J.A. 87). The
denial was based on Dr. Findley’s own interpretation of the
Act (J.A. 244, 246), and “the fact that it appeared to me that it

31

was advocating a religious viewpoint instead of giving a
study of a religion. . . .” (J.A. 246). Dr. Findley denied access
to the proposed club, because he felt that it violated the
missions and goals of WHS in that the Club would not “give
both sides.” (J.A. 254). He then admitted that he had made an
“assumption” with regard to the students’ request (J.A. 255),
and finally stated that a Bible Club could meet the missions
and goals requirements of WHS. (J.A. 256).

The student Bible Club at WHS was denied access under
an oral policy which was applied in an invidiously discrimi-
natory and unequal manner. The administration failed to abide
by its own policy and exercised unfettered discretion in viola-
tion of the First Amendment and Equal Protection Clause.**

The School Officials’ standardless policy provides the
“opportunity for abuse, especially where a [policy] has
received a virtual open-ended interpretation” in violation of
this Court’s many precedents. Lewis v. City of New Orleans,
430 U.S. 130, 135-36 (1974) (Powell, J., concurring). See
also Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987); Kolender v. Law-
son, 461 U.S. 352 (1983). School Officials must not be
allowed to continue to hold and exercise the sort of official
discretion that this Court refuses to tolerate.

B. The School Officials’ Ban of the Student-Initiated
Bible Club Is Vague.

The School Officials’ “unwritten guidelines”, coupled
with their broad-based and open ended view of “curriculum
related,” constitute vague policies in violation of the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. These “poli-
cies” embody both offensive aspects under the vagueness
doctrine:

34 This proscription violates the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment. It singles out religious clubs as a suspect class
and deprives that class of benefits accorded to all other WHS student
clubs and organizations. See Police Department v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92,
102 (1972).

32

It is a basic principle of due process that an enact-
ment is void for vagueness if its prohibitions are not
Clearly defined. Vague laws offend several impor-
tant values. First, because we assume that man is
free to steer between lawful and unlawful conduct,
we insist that laws give the person of ordinary
intelligence a reasonable opportunity to know what
is prohibited, so that he may act accordingly. Vague
laws may trap the innocent by not providing fair
warning. Second, if arbitrary discriminatory
enforcement is to be prevented, laws must provide
explicit standards for those who apply them. A
vague law impermissibly delegates basic policy
matters to policemen, judges and juries for resolu-
tion on an ad hoc and subjective basis, with the
attendant dangers of arbitrary and discriminatory
application. Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S.
104, 108 (1972). . . . This Court has recognized that
“a sweeping statute or one incapable of limitation
has the potential to repeatedly chill the exercise of
expressive activity by many individuals... .”

New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 772 (1985).

At trial, Dr. Findley admitted that he made an “assump-
tion” with regard to the proposed Bible Club. He employed
“unwritten policy”, and there was no “written procedure” for
assessment of students’ requests, according to his trial testi-
mony. Finally, all the recognized clubs were, in Dr. Findley’s
opinion, “curriculum related.” This vagueness produces a
chilling effect in violation of the First Amendment. Buckley v.
Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 76-82 (1979); Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413
U.S. 601, 611-12 (1974). The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals
condemned the application of “curriculum related” as pro-
posed by the School Officials:

Allowing such a broad interpretation of “curriculum

related” would make the Equal Access Act mean-

ingless. A school’s administration could simply
declare that it maintains a closed forum and then
choose which student clubs it wanted to allow by
tying the purposes of those student clubs to some
broadly defined educational goal. At the same time,
the administration could arbitrarily deny access to

33
school facilities to any unfavored student club on
the basis of its speech content. ... . A public

secondary school cannot simply declare that it
maintains a closed forum and then discriminate
against a particular student group on the basis of
the content of the speech of that group.

Mergens, 867 F.2d at 1078 (emphasis added).

The line between the School Officials’ opinion of-curric-
ulum-related clubs “is, at best, murky,” and therefore the
application of the policies are void for vagueness. Jews for
Jesus, supra.

Ill. THE EQUAL ACCESS ACT IS CONSTITUTIONAL
UNDER THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS.

The School Official’s Ban of the WHS student initiated
Bible Club was a violation of the Equal Access Act. The
Equal Access Act requires a public secondary school receiv-
ing federal financial assistance to grant equal access to its
facilities for students wishing to meet for religious, political
or philosophical purposes when the school has a limited
public forum.35 20 U.S.C. § 4071(a) (1984). According to the
sponsors of the Act, it was necessary for Congress to end
confusion among school administrators by applying the

35 The EAA was passed by overwhelmingly bipartisan majorities in
the House of Representatives (377-73) (130 Cong. Rec. H7740-41 (daily
ed. July 25, 1984)), and the Senate (88-11) (130 Cong. Rec. $8370 (daily
ed. June 27, 1984)). Its supporters cited the need to end discrimination
and hostility toward students desiring to voluntarily associate themselves
together in common interest for religious discussion. See 130 Cong. Rec.
$8337 (daily ed. June 27, 1984) (statement of Sen. Hatfield); see also id.
at $8331-332 (statement of Sen. Hatch); id. at $8355 (statement of Sen.
Levin); id., at $8365 (statement of Sen. Baucus); 130 Cong. Rec. H7730
(daily ed. July 25, 1984) (statement of Rep. Nielson); id. at H7734
(statement of Rep. McEwen). “Equal Access will go a long way toward
ending the official hostility that has come to dominate the Government's
attitude toward the free and voluntary practice of religious beliefs.” /d. at
H7737 (statement of Rep. Emerson).

34

principles enunciated in Widmar, to insure that “[g]overnment
may not discriminate against speech based on its content.”
130 Cong. Rec. $8332 (daily ed., June 27, 1984) (statement of
Sen. Hatch); id. at $8358 (remarks of Sen. Durenburger).*°
The function of this Court in interpreting the EAA “is to
construe the language so as to give effect to the intent of
Congress.” United States v. American Trucking Association,
310 U.S. 534, 542 (1940). Simply stated, the EAA was
enacted in part to eradicate invidious discrimination against
student-initiated religious speech such as was perpetrated by
the WHS School Officials.3’

A. Westside High School Has Established a Limited
Open Forum Under the Equal Access Act.

School Officials have created a limited open forum at
WHS. In determining whether School Officials created a
“limited open forum” under the EAA, the policy and practice

36 Sen. Denton stated that the EAA is designed to clarify that
secondary school students “have the same rights to associate together and
to speak, as do students who wish to meet to discuss chess, politics or
philosophy.” 130 Cong. Rec. $8335 (daily ed. June 27, 1984).

37 Sen. Mark Hatfield, the primary sponsor of the EAA, in expres-
sing his adamant opposition to the President’s School Prayer Amendment
stated:

Instead of concentrating our attention on initiatives like a
School Prayer Amendment, I would urge my colleagues to
devote their energies to rooting out ridiculous barriers that
have been enacted to forbid voluntary meetings of students
who seek to meet and pray in non-disruptive ways.
128 Cong. Rec. $11781 (daily ed. Sept. 17, 1982) (printed remarks of
Sen. Hatfield).

In fact, the majority of those who strongly opposed the prayer
amendment expressed complete support for the Equal Access Act, and
concern that, “[s}chools today are being hostile toward religion. Not
neutral, but plainly antagonistic.” 130 Cong. Rec. $8360 (daily ed. June
27, 1984) (statement of Sen. Mattingly); see also id. at $8340 (remarks of
Sen. Leahy); id. at $8356 (remarks of Sen. Bumpus); id. at $8358
(remarks of Sen. Biden).

35

at the school is determinative. A public secondary school
triggers the EAA “whencver such school grants an offering to
Or Opportunity for one or more noncurriculum-related student
groups to meet on school premises during non-instructional
time.” 20 U.S.C. § 4071(b). Approximately 30 student clubs
and organizations meet and use the facilities of WHS after
regular school hours. (J.A. 231, 479-87). Attendance at these
clubs is voluntary, and they exist and function on the basis of
student interest. (J.A. 276-277, 363-364). School Officials
testified that clubs cease to exist when student interest wanes.
(J.A. 276-77, 363-364). Participation in extracurricular activ-
ities is encouraged, and the administration entertains student
suggestions for the formation of clubs. (J.A. 230-231,
240-241, 290-291, 358). Teachers play the role of custodial
monitors and do not “instruct” in any sense, in the majority of
these groups meetings.3® (J.A. 92, 111-12, 123-24).

As the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals held, many non-
curriculum-related clubs meet at WHS. Mergens, 867 F.2d at

38 The Computer Club sponsor is not a member of the teaching
faculty and was not present for “about a fourth” of the club meetings.
(J.A. 182).

Bridget Mergens testified that the Drama Club was directed and run
by the student officers and that the sponsor would “sometimes . . . come
back and lock up after we were done.” (J.A. 92). When asked about the
proposed Bible Club, Bridget Mergens testified:

Q. Who did you expect to direct the activities of the club?

A. Students, simply like any other club that I was ever involved in
that was not Choir. Other than Choir, all the arrangements were
made by the students. It would simply be the same format as
that.

(J.A. 112); see also J.A. 124 (Spanish Club directed by students).

The EAA provides for teacher sponsorship to the extent that they are
present in a nonparticipatory capacity. 20 U.S.C. § 4071(c)(3) (1984).
That section of the Act explains § 4071(c)(2) which would otherwise
appear to permit schools to avoid equal access by requiring “sponsorship”
of student meetings. The term “sponsorship” is defined by the Act in
§ 4072(2) and specifically provides that the assignment of a teacher “for
custodial purposes does not constitute sponsorship of the meeting.”

36

1078. During Senate debates, Sen. Hatfield stated that “cur-
riculum related” meant the club or organization was an
“extension of the classroom”. 130 Cong. Rec. $8342 (daily
ed. June 27, 1984) (statement of Sen. Hatfield).

In order to determine the extent of the forum at WHS
under the EAA, this Court must answer one fundamental
question: Are the recognized clubs and activities directly
related to curriculum course work? If not, the clubs are not

39 In Webster’s Third New International Dictionary Unabridged,
1986, the word “curricular” is defined as, “of or relating to academic
courses of study.” The word “curriculum” is defined as:

The whole body of courses offered by an educational institu-

tion or one of its branches. Any particular body of courses set

for various majors (e.g., the curriculum in engineering)

Id. at 557.
The word “courses” is defined in that same volume as:

An educational unit usually at the high school, college, or

university level consisting of a series of instruction periods

(as lectures, recitations, and laboratory sessions) dealing with

a particular subject.

A series of such courses coordinated to constitute a curricu-

lum and leading typically to a degree.

Id. at 522. -

In contrast, the word “extracurricular” (also “extracurriculum”) is
defined as:

Outside a regular curriculum: not falling within the scope of a

regular curriculum; specifically: of or relating to officially or
semiofficially approved, and organized student activities (ath-
letics, dramatics, or publication of a school newspaper) con-
nected with the students’ school and usually carrying no
academic credit.

Id. at 806 (emphasis added).

The common and most recognized usage of the word reflects direct
application to academic courses of study offered at a high school or
university which are required in order to obtain a degree. With the
exception of Drama Club, Band and Choir, the clubs at WHS are not
academically oriented and are not required for high school graduation.
(J.A. 479, 483).

37

“curriculum related” and the school has established a limited
open forum under the EAA.“

Despite WHS School Officials attempt to broadly inter-
pret “curriculum related” and rationalize the exclusion of the
Bible Club, Dr. Findley conceded that Peer Advocates is
noncurriculum related.

Q. Did Peer Advocates, when you were looking at it,
relate to any of the required curriculum or elective
curriculum courses at Westside High School?

A. No.
(J.A. 231).

Furthermore, Interact is a moral philosophic service club
at WHS related to Rotary International. Interact operates in
conformity with specified philosophical guiding principles of
Rotary International. (J.A. 287-89). Rotarians attend Interact
meetings and on occasion Interact members attend Rotary
functions. (J.A. 299-300, 367-68). Interact, like all other
WHS clubs is voluntary and is not required for class credit or
graduation and is not directly related to curriculum course

40 Under Representative Goodling’s test, a club is curriculum related
only if the students who are in the club also attend the related class. 130
Cong. Rec. H7732 (daily ed. July 25, 1984) (statement of Rep. Goodling).

Sen. Dole stated that a club or activity is noncurricular if the
meetings are “not directly related to the school’s curriculum”. 130 Cong.
Rec. $8362 (daily ed. June 27, 1984).

Sen. Hatfield also posited that if the school permits students to
initiate requests for the formation of clubs, they have established a limited
open forum. 130 Cong. Rec. $8342 (daily ed. June 27, 1984).

Other legislators expressed the same principle in a slightly different
manner: If a school permits “voluntary student groups,” “student activ-
ities,” or “student groups” to meet, it must permit voluntary student
groups to engage in religious speech. 130 Cong. Rec. $8342-43 (daily ed.
June 27, 1984) (statement of Sen. Gorton).

38

work. (J.A. 226-28). Interact is a noncurriculum-related activ-
ity within the parameters of the EAA.*!
The existence of a Chess Club at WHS triggers the EAA,
as evidenced by the following debate:
Mr. Gorton: I gather from the previous remarks of
the Senator from Oregon and the Sen-
ator from Alabama that the definition
of these non-related student groups is
fairly broad. The Chess Club would
be such a group. If the school permits
a Chess Club, it has thereby created
the limited open forum which brings
into effect the proscriptions of the
act.
Mr. Hatfield: That is correct.

130 Cong. Rec. $8342 (daily ed. June 27, 1984) (colloquy of
Sen. Hatfield and Sen. Gorton).

WHS has compiled a list of activities and has specifically
defined such clubs as Band, Choir and Distributive Education
as being “included in our regular curriculum”, “offered as a
part of the curriculum” and “this is an organization that is an
extension of the Distributive Education class.” (J.A. 479-87).
Similar references are made to the Dramatics Club and
Orchestra Club. (J.A. 479-87). The Chess Club is defined,
however, as an activity “for those interested in chess”; Inter-
act and Zonta are described by reference to nationally recog-
nized service organizations. (J.A. 479, 481, 485). By virtue of
these descriptions, WHS has identified those clubs which are
either curriculum or noncurriculum related within its club
system.

At trial, Dr. Ward Sybouts, a curriculum expert, testified
that he had studied the EAA, EAA guidelines, legislative
history and the WHS club system. He testified that, in his

41 “For many decades Rotary clubs and Rotarians around the world
have used The 4-Way Test as an instrument to develop respect and
understanding among peoples.” Rotary International, The 4-Way Test Of
The Things We Think, Say Or Do (Rotary International, Evanston,
Illinois).

39

opinion, Congress had adopted a definition of curriculum that
included only those student activities related to courses
offered at the school. (J.A. 408). When asked to give his
opinion about specific WHS clubs, Dr. Sybouts stated that
Interact “would be non-curriculum[,]” (J.A. 410), and that
Chess Club “would be more likely considered as a non-
curriculum-related club.” (J.A. 410). Similarly, Welcome to
Westside “would be a service activity and probably not
related to a course and therefore it would be non-curricular.”
(J.A. 411). Also, Dr. Sybouts testified that since WHS had no
class in leadership, “student council or your student forum is
non-curricular.” (J.A. 412). In summary, after reviewing the
Student Activities List (J.A. 479), Dr. Sybouts testified WHS
had one or more non-curriculum-related clubs. (J.A. 412).

The evidence in this case fully supports the eighth cir-
cuit’s finding that WHS has created a limited open forum
under the EAA. The court of appeals correctly held that
adopting the School Officials’ view of the forum would per-
mit them to “arbitrarily deny access to school facilities to any
unfavored student club on the basis of its speech content.”
Mergens, 867 F.2d at 1078.

The School Official’s interpretation of “curriculum
related,” as anything that remotely relates to the educational
purpose and mission of WHS, violates the Act itself, as well
as congressional intent. It is conceivable that any student
group under such a definition would qualify as “educational,”
including the students proposed Bible Club.

As the Eighth Circuit correctly observed, “[a]llowing
such a broad interpretation of ‘curriculum-related’ would
make the EA ningless.” Mergens, 867 F.2d at 1078. To
define “nongtrriculum related student group” in a way that
allows schools to evade the Act by cleverly describing exist-
ing student groups is not faithful to Congress’ intent to
protect “extracurricular student speech.” See e.g., 130 Cong.
Rec. $8342-43 (daily ed. June 27, 1984) (colloquy of Sen.
Hatfield and Sen. Gorton).

40

B. The Equal Access Act Does Not Violate the Establish-
ment Clause of the First Amendment.

The Equal Access Act does not conflict with the Estab-
lishment Clause. In this case, the conflict is between the WHS
students and the School Officials’ incorrect view of the law.
Wrongly, the School Officials assert, that equal treatment of
voluntary, student-initiated religious speech in a high school
setting operates to establish religion in violation of the First
Amendment. A careful analysis of this Court’s relevant prece-
dents, however, establishes that a policy of equal access for
Student organizations does not violate the Establishment
Clause. Widmar, supra.

In Widmar, this Court provided a framework for analyz-
ing equal access issues consistent with this Court’s earlier
decision in Lemon, 403 U.S. at 612-13, noting that

a[n equal access] policy will not offend the Estab-

lishment Clause if it can pass a three-pronged test:

“First, the [governmental policy] must have a secu-

lar legislative purpose; second, its principal or pri-

mary effect must be one that neither advances nor

inhibits religion . . . ; finally, the [policy] must not
foster ‘an excessive government entanglement with
religion.’ ”

Widmar, 454 U.S. at 263 (quoting Lemon, 403 U.S. at
612-13).42

In Widmar, this Court held that an open-forum policy,
including nondiscrimination against religious speech, would
have a secular purpose and would avoid entanglement with
religion. Widmar, 454 U.S. at 271-72. With respect to the
claim that allowing religious groups to share the forum would

42 The analysis of the three-part Lemon test is equally applicable to
both a “policy and practice” of equal access and the Equal Access Act.
This Court, however, has “repeatedly emphasized [its] unwillingness to
be confined to any single test or criterion in this sensitive area.” See
Lynch, 465 U.S. at 679; Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971).

41

have the primary effect of advancing religion, this Court
stated that the real question was whether the university, hav-
ing opened its facilities for use by student groups, could “now
exclude groups because of the content of their speech.” /d. at
273. This Court concluded that the school could not do so
without violating the students’ First Amendment rights.

1. The Equal Access Act Has a Secular Legislative
Purpose.

The plain language of the EAA proclaims a secular legis-
lative purpose. The Act’s purposc, as stated by its sponsors,
was to end discrimination and confusion surrounding free
speech and assembly rights of students. Supra fns. 35-37.
Facially, the Act not only prohibits discrimination against
religious meetings, but protects “political, philosophical or
other content of the speech at such meetings” as well. Title 20
U.S.C. § 4071(a); 130 Cong. Rec. H7734 (daily ed. July 25,
1984) (statement of Rep. Smith of Nebraska).*?

As this Court noted in Widmar, the creation of a forum
for student speech, including religious speech, constitutes a
legitimate secular purpose. That a policy of equal access
touches on religious speech is no more violative of the Lemon
test than is the inclusion of religious groups in any other
public forum created for secular reasons. As Justice Scalia
stated in Aguillard, in “all three cases in which we have
struck down laws under the Establishment Clause for lack of a
secular purpose, we found that the legislature’s sole motive
was to promote religion.” Aguillard, 482 U.S. at 614 (Scalia,

43 This Court noted in Aguillara, 482 U.S. 578, that it “is normally
deferential to a [governmental] articulation of a secular purpose .. . .” /d.
at 586. In Lynch, 465 U.S. 668 (1984), this Court held that a non-secular
purpose will not be inferred lightly.

42

J., dissenting) (emphasis added).** Both the EAA and an
equal access policy meet the secular purpose prong of Lemon.

2. Equal Access Does Not Have the Primary Effect of
Advancing Religion.

Allowing a voluntary, student-initiated Bible Club to
meet at WHS does not have the primary effect of advancing
religion. This Court rejected the claim that the extension of an
open forum policy to student religious groups would have the
impermissible primary effect of advancing religion. Widmar,
454 U.S. at 273-75. Acknowledging that it was “foreseeable”
that religious groups would benefit from the open forum
policy, this Court nevertheless held that any benefit would be
“merely incidental” and therefore, would not constitute the
advancement of religion under the Establishment Clause.**

Two factors were identified by the Widmar Court as
especially relevant to its holding: first, the fact that an open
forum policy “does not confer any imprimatur of State
approval on religious sects or practices,” and second, the fact
that the forum was available to a broad class of speakers.
Widmar, 454 U.S. at 274; see also Texas Monthly v. Bullock,
489 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. 890 (1989).

The endorsement inquiry “turns upon the context in
which the contested object appears.” Thus, “[e]very govern-
ment practice must be judged in its unique circumstances to

44 See also Lynch, 465 U.S. at 680 (describing Stone and Epperson
as cases in which this Court invalidated laws “motivated wholly by
religious considerations”).

45 To this point, the Widmar Court noted several cases in which
state action was held to be constitutional, despite benefits to religious
organizations. Roemer v. Maryland Board of Public Works, 426 U.S. 736
(1976) (aid to institutions of higher education, including institutions
affiliated with religious sects); Hunt v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734 (1973)
(issuance of state revenue bonds for church-affiliated college); McGowan
v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961) (Sunday closing Jaws).

43

determine whether it [endorses] religion.” County of Alle-
gheny, 492 U.S. __, __, 109 S.Ct. 3086 (1989) (citing
Lynch, 465 U.S. at 694). Over thirty student clubs and organi-
zations are in existence at WHS, covering a wide range of
student interests. In fact, WHS students are told that they can
initiate and organize clubs. (J.A. 221-222). “The provision of
benefits to so broad a spectrum of groups is an important
index of secular effect.” Widmar, 454 U.S. at 274; Texas
Monthly, 489 U.S. at ___, 103 L.Ed. 2d at 14. With such a
“broad spectrum” of student clubs and organizations at WHS,
School Officials, by allowing the Bible Club to meet, would
not be “conveying or attempting to convey a message that
religion or a particular religious belief is favored or prefer-
red.”*© County of Allegheny, 492 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct. at 3101
(quoting Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. at 70).

The School Officials’ argument that WHS students spe-
cifically, and secondary school students in general, are more
impressionable than university students, and would view an
accommodation of the Bible Club as endorsement of one
religion over another is not valid. This assumption of impres-
sionability was investigated in detail by Congress in its con-
sideration of the EAA and was rejected.*” After observing the

46 See also Aguillard, 482 U.S. at 593 (“preference” for particular
religious beliefs constitutes an endorsement of religion); Schempp, 374
U.S. at 305 (Goldberg, J., concurring) (“The fullest realization of true
religious liberty requires that government ... effect no favoritism
among sects or between religion and nonreligion”).

47 The Senate Judiciary Committee found it a false assumption “that
students will not perceive a ban on all extracurricular religious speech as
State hostility toward religion,” and went on to find that “the clear
message that the blackout of religious speech and ideas sends to students
is that the State is hostile to religion.” S.Rep. No. 357, 98th Cong., 2d
Sess. 10, 19 (hereafter S.Rep. No. 357). Congress, in enacting the EAA,
made explicit findings of fact in support of the legislation. “To the extent
‘legislative facts’ are relevant to a judicial determination, Congress is

(Continued on following page)

44

maturity and capabilities of the students who testified, as well
as psychological information related to impressionability, the
Senate Committee on the Judiciary found that “students below
the college level are capable of distinguishing between State-
initiated, school sponsored, or teacher-led religious speech on
the one hand and student-initiated, student-led religious
speech on the other.” S.Rep. No. 357, supra fn. 50, at 35.**

In addition to legislative fact finding, the students pre-
sented expert testimony refuting the impressionability argu-
ment. Dr. David Moshman, a child psychologist, testified that
students at the age of eleven or twelve have reached the final
stage in the development of cognitive reasoning and are fully
capable of understanding differences between state endorsed
religious activity and student-initiated religious activity. (J.A.
390-391; 399). In fact, Dr. Moshman stated that by the time
students reach age twelve, they are capable of understanding

(Continued from previous page)

well equipped to investigate them, and such determinations are of course
entitled to due respect.” Katzenbach v. Morgan, 384 U.S. 641, 667
(1966). In Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S. 456 (1981),
this Court held that those challenging legislative judgment must persuade
the Court that legislators could not reasonably believe the facts on which
they based their judgment. /d., at 464. See also Eastland v. United States
Servicemen’s Fund, 221 U.S. 491 (1985) (the power to investigate is
inherent in the power to legislate).

48 For example, Bonnie Bailey testified before the Committee and
said:

We have been taught that the Constitution guarantees us
freedom of speech. But we feel that here we have been
discriminated against, because we can picket, we can demon-
strate, we Can Curse, we can take God’s name in vain, but we
cannot voluntarily get together and talk about God on any
part of our campus, inside or out of the school.

We just feel frustrated because we don’t feel like we are
being treated equally.

Hearing Before the Senate Committee on the Judiciary on S815 &
$.1089, 98th Cong., 2d Sess., April 28, 1983 and August 3, 1983 at 37.

45

concepts of hostility and discrimination, and that the exclu-
sion of a religious club from a forum generally open to other
clubs would result in a student perception of hostility toward
religion. (J.A. 392-394, 397, 399). Finally, two WHS students
who would not have participated in the Bible Club testified
that they would not view the existence of such a club at WHS
as the promotion of religion, nor would they feel compelled to
attend the meetings. (J.A. 211-12, 214-15).

Based on the unrebutted expert testimony, the students’
testimony and the format of the clubs at WHS, the district
court correctly held that high school students are not more
impressionable than college students and that they are capable
of making religious sponsorship distinctions. Mergens, Slip
Op. at 11 n.1. The eighth circuit concurred in this finding,
taking note that Congress, in passing the EAA, made the same
finding. Mergens, 867 F.2d at 1080 n.2. The students at WHS
are quite capable of distinguishing between student expres-
sion and school endorsement.

This Court has recognized that high school students are
able to distinguish student speech from school endorsed
speech. In Tinker, students did not perceive a fellow student’s
protest of the Vietnam War as endorsed by the school. Like-
wise, a student’s refusal to salute the flag because of religious
convictions was not perceived as the school’s endorsement of
the student’s religious or political views. Barnette, supra. The
utilization of the Bible as history or literature in a class at
public school does not imply endorsement of the Bible's
teachings. Schempp, 374 U.S. at 225. Accommodating stu-
dents by granting “released time” for religious instruction off
campus does not constitute the imprimatur of state approval.
Zorach, supra. Finally, the existence of controversial books in
the school library does not constitute state approval of the
content. Pico, supra.*? This Court’s view of the free speech

49 Justice Powell, in Bender, correctly noted that “I do not believe -
particularly in this age of massive media information — that the few years
difference in age between high school students and college justifies
departing from Widmar.” Bender, 474 U.S. at 556 (Powell, J., dissenting).

46

rights of high school students does not change merely because
religious speech is involved.

3. An Equal Access Policy Does Not Foster Excessive
Government Entanglement With Religion.

Permitting a voluntary, student-initiated Bible Club to
meet during noninstructional time does not foster an exces-
sive government entanglement with religion. Enforcing a ban
against religion at WHS would prove to be far more entan-
gling than a neutral policy of equal access. Widmar, 454 U.S.
at 272 n. 11. In rejecting the entanglement argument, the
Widmar Court observed that the “University would need to
determine which words and activities fall within ‘religious
worship and religious teaching.’ This alone could prove ‘an
impossible task in an age where many and various beliefs
meet the constitutional definition of religion.’ Widmar, 454
U.S. at 273 n.11 (quoting O’Hair v. Andrus, 613 F.2d 931,
936 (DC. Cir. 1979)).°°

50 Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664, 674-75 (1970) (granting
tax exemptions to churches gives rise to a lesser governmental involve-
ment than would taxing it); Cantwell, 310 U.S. at 305 (requiring official
determination of what is and what is not a “religion” violates the First
Amendment).

Sen. Levin spoke directly to the entanglement prong of the Lemon
test and observed:

Critics of the Hatfield amendment are concerned that it
will force school officials to become involved in delicate
decision making about whether groups should be permitted to
meet because of the religious content of their speech. This
argument is faulty for two reasons. First, it is precisely
because the law is in the state of chaos that legislation is
needed in order to clarify what is and what is not permitted
under the first amendment. Second, school officials are now
being forced to make difficult decisions each time students
request to meet when the subject of the meeting could be
religion. For example, if a student-initiated group requests the

(Continued on following page)

47

In view of the nature of the activity permitted under the
EAA and the de minimis amount of school supervision needed
to implement it, no serious contention can be made that the
Act creates excessive entanglements.5! Likewise, as was
established at trial, teacher involvement in WHS clubs consti-
tuted custodial monitoring. (J.A. 92, 111-12, 123-24, 184,
247). The presence of a teacher at the Club meeting as a
custodial monitor is the kind of “limited and incidental entan-
glement between church and state authority [that] is inevita-
ble in a complex modern society” and certainly does not
constitute an excessive entanglement forbidden by the Consti-

tution. Larkin v. Grendel’s Den, Inc., 459 U.S. 736, 747
(1976).

(Continued from previous page)

use of school premises to talk about “moral issues,” school
officials would have to make further inquiries before granting
the request. Will the group be discussing philosophy or
theology? If the students plan to talk about religion, should
the school deny the request? Clearly, school officials already
face difficult decisions. The Hatfield amendment will make
their job easier.
130 Cong. Rec. $8355 (daily ed. June 27, 1984) (statement of Sen.

Levin). Accord, id. at $8348 (remarks of Sen. Danforth); id. at $8363
(remarks of Sen. Mitchell).

Since § 4071(e) of the Act states that it does not authorize the
Federal government to deny or withhold federal financial assistance to
any school, no contention can be made that the Act creates Federal
government entanglement with student-initiated religious groups.

5! Representative Goodling stated:

There are some who say the bill makes school administrators
decide what is religion. That is totally wrong. This bill does
not create such entanglement with religion. This bill applies _
to all noncurricula meetings, regardless of whether religious
or not. So there is no entanglement with religion because
school administrators will make their decisions governing

(Continued on following page)

48
In short, neither a policy of equal access nor the Equal
Access Act violates the Establishment Clause.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Court should affirm the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Rospert K. SKOLROoD Jay ALAN SEKULOW
National Legal (Counsel of Record)
Foundation Eric ALan DALy
Suite 306 James M. HENDERSON, Sr.
P. O. Box 64845 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W.
Virginia Beach, Suite 520
Virginia 23464 Washington, D.C. 20007
(804) 424-4242 (404) 633-2444
Douc.Las VEITH Douc.ias W. Davis
205 Galvin Road 6332 Chestnut Hill Road
Bellevue, Nebraska 68005 Virginia Beanch,
(402) 292-2800 Virginia 23464

(804) 420-0120

Cuarves E. Rice

Free Speech Advocates
P. O. Box 815

Notre Dame, IN 46556
(502) 549-5454

Attorneys for Respondents

(Continued from previous page)

such meetings for all noncurricula-related meetings, religious
or otherwise.

130 Cong. Rec., H7732 (daily ed. July 25, 1984).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0467%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
