# Amicus Curiae Brief — Austin v. Michigan Chamber of Commerce

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0465%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 494 U.S. 652

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
EIDED

Jue 26. 08

No. 88-1569 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK

Y

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1989

RICHARD H. AUSTIN, Michigan Secretary of State, and
FRANK J. KELLEY, Michigan Attorney General,
Appellants,
v.

MICHIGAN STATE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE,
Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit.

BRIEF FOR THE CENTER FOR PUBLIC
INTEREST LAW AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE

ERIC B. SCHNURER
125 South Ninth Street
Suite 401

Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 923-4206

ROBERT C. FELLMETH*
Center for Public Interest Law
University of San Diego
Alcala Park
San Diego, CA 92110
(619) 260-4806
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Center for Public Interest Law

July 26, 1989 “Counsel of Record

PACKARD PRESS / LEGAL DIVISION, 1617 J.F.K BOULEVARD, PHILA, PA 19103 (215) 563-9000

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the government may, consistent
with the first amendment, limit campaign
expenditures by for-profit corporations’ that
pose the well-recognized potential for
corrupting the electoral process, and, if so,
whether a state statute that fails to require
ideological, non-profit corporations to
segregate monies received from for-profit
corporations from its funds expended on
political campaign speech may nonetheless
constitutionally regulate expenditure of such

funds.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICUS ...eeeeeecerecevees
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ....----eeeeeeeeees
ARGUMENT. ccccccccccecccceceeesesesese

I. THE REGULATION OF CORPORATE
CAMPAIGN EXPENDITURES, NECESSITATED
BY THE WELL-RECOGNIZED POTENTIAL
FOR CORRUPTION OF THE ELECTORAL
PROCESS BY SUCH EXPENDITURES, IS
NOT PROHIBITED BY THE FIRST
AMENDMENT... ..ceeccccccreccecesccens

A. Money and speech are not
CONBPUCNE.. wee eee eee eeseeesesees

B. Expenditures may be limited
where the speech that such
expenditures facilitate may
itself be limited--irrespective
of its content -- because of
inherent limitations of the
forum or system of free speech...

C. Reasonable expenditure limits
are required to ration access to
the most expensive and effective
means of political speech on
some basis other than wealth.....

D. The constitutionality of
government rationing of access
to effective but limited fora on
some basis other than wealth is
reinforced by the need to reduce
the corrupting effects of money
on the political process.........

Page
viii
xi

1

10

18

23

CONCLUSION.

E. Rationing access to effective
but limited campaign fora on
some basis other’ than wealth is
especially justified when
applied to corporations
organized for profit.............

II. THE MICHIGAN LEGISLATURE HAS
NOT EXERCISED ITS POWER TO BAN ALL
CORPORATE FUNDS FROM ENTERING THE
POLITICAL MARKETPLACE, BUT RATHER
HAS SIMPLY BARRED ALL NON-PAC
CORPORATE EXPENDITURES; HENCE,
EXPENDITURES BY THE CHAMBER -- A
NON-PROFIT IDEOLOGICAL CORPORATION
PROTECTED UNDER MCFL -- ARE LAWFUL..

- 335°

Page

30

38

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases . Page
Bolger v. Youngs Drug Prods. Corp.,

463 U.S. 60 (1983)...... Se eeseecece 32
Brown v. Hartlage, 456 U.S. 45 (1982).. Ss
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976)....passim
Bullock v. Carter, 405 U.S. 134 (1971). 29
CBS v. Democratic Nat’l Comn.,

so 8” ee Be. See 20
Clark v. Community for Creative

Non-Violence, 468 U.S. 288 (1984). Tae
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438

BOVE Pee cesecesosoereeeceseos Seeeeee 32

FEC v. Massachusetts Citizens for Life,
479 U.S. 238

FEC v. National Conrervative Political
Action Committee, 470 U.S. 480....passim
1985).

FEC v. National Right to Work Committee,
459 U.S. 197

First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti,

435 U.S. 765

In re Primus, 436 U.S. 412 (1978)...... 31

Lubin v. Panish, 415 U.S. 709 (1974)... 29

Michigan State Chamber of Commerce v.
Austin, 856 F.2d 783
C. gl Oe ree ere 1,40-41

Page

Minneapolis Star & Tribune Co. v.
Minnesota Comm’r of Revenue,

460 U.S. 575 (1983)... eee eeees 10

NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware, 458 U.S. 886
CRUE No6e60006e68660608 *eee#neeee © © @ @ 32

Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass’n,
Bee Selle SES LEPeMreccceeeceooccese 31

Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe,
402 U.S. 415 (1971) PPrrrTrTryTTTTiTTs 32

Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slayton,
413 U.S. 49 (1973)...... eoccccccce 7

Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. 593 (1972) 42

Pipefitters Local Union 562 v. United
States, 407 U.S. 385 (1972) oes 66% 3

Police Dept. v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972) 9

Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S.
De BE PUbeeheb66e6 66 6 eee e ee eee. 19-21

Schacht v. United States, 398 U.S. 58
Diet. sbae eee 860666 660468660 668 7

Secretary of State of Maryland v.
Joseph H. Munson Co., 467 U.S. 947

eth h eae cade 6 bi oes 6 84 080.00 11
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513 (1958) 43
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) 6

Vv

Texas v. Johnson, 57 U.S.L.W. 4770
f. 3 @ |

Tinker v. Des Moines Indep. Sch. Dist.,
393 U.S. 503 (1969

United States v. Container Corp.,
393 U.S. 333 (1969)........- beenes
United States v. International Union,

United Automobile Workers,
352 U.S. 567 (1957)... cc cece eee

United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367
Ps 646566000606 h06e008 ee fetee# # @# @ @

Virginia State Bd. of Pharmacy v.
Virginia Citizens Consumer Council,

Eng GEO Cols FED CbOTOdccccccces

Statutes & Regulations

a Serene Gs Metin dk ooeee 666 bees seece
Be Beets BOO, BES c BREE dc cvcccccececccce
26 C.F.R. Sec. 53.4945-2... cc cccccccces

Books & Articles

M. Barone & G. Ujifusa, The Almanac of
American Politics: 1988 (1987)....

Budde, Business-Related Political Action

Committees -- A Permanent Force
After One Decade, 3 J.L. & Pol. 449
(1986) *e ff # © &© @ *eenereer#sefhiee#+5fe#e###e#%*###* @#®« «6

- vyio-

31

43
39
44

25

27

Page

Cong. Res. Svce., Report on Campaign
Financing (Update, July 2, 1987).. 26

Conlon, The Declining Role of Individual
Contributions in Financing

Congressional Campaigns, 3 J.L. &

Pol. 467 DPPC SEE aS Ebe eee cccees 25
Cox, Constitutional Issues in the

Regulation of the Financing of

Election Campaigns, 31 Cleve. St.

L. Rev. 395 rTos2y.. eeece seoesrvreoss $8,08
T. Emerson, The System of Freedom of

Expression (1970)........ obese ke ee 14,23

Freund, Commentary in A. Rosenthal,
Federal Regulation of Campaign
Finance: Some Constitutional
Questions (Citizens’ Research
Foundation Study No. 18) (1971)... 28

A. Meiklejohn, Free Speech and Its
Relevance to Self-Government
(1944S pi ccccccccccccccscceas *eeeeee 13,15

Wald, Two Unsolved Constitutional
Problems, 49 U. Pitt. L. Rev. 753
(1988)... eeoveus cone bee ee oe 64.0 0 25

Wright, Money and the Pollution of
Politics: Is the First Amendment an

Obtsacle to Political Equality?,

82 Colum. L. Rev. 609 (1982)....15,16,25
epeciai rorum on tf

Reforms in Campaign Financing,

3dJ.L. & Pol. 419 (1986 ) pegeboeceec 24

- yvii-

1
INTEREST OF AMICUS

The Center for Public Interest Law is an
academic public interest research and
advocacy center at the University of San
Diego School of Law. The Center has been
vitally interested and involved in issues of
open government; taxpayer, consumer and voter
advocacy; and political, regulatory and
systemic reforn.

The Center for Public Interest Law has
participated in numerous public interest law
suits, including the successful defense of
Proposition 103, the "Voter Revolt to Cut
Insurance Rates" initiative passed by the

California electorate in November, 1988. The

1

Consent to the filing of this

brief has been obtained from counsel to the
paries.

-viir

California Supreme Court unanimously upheld
the measure in May, 1989. The Center is also
the named plaintiff in litigation defending
Proposition 68, the "Campaign Spending Limits
Act" initiative passed by the voters in June,
1988, which raises many of the same issues
presented in this case.

The Center also publishes the California

Regulatory Law Reporter (the only publication

in the Nation that comprehensively covers the
regulation of business by state government),
educates 40 interns each year in areas of
state regulatory procedures, and engages in
advocacy projects.

These projects have included drafting
the law that provided the California Open
Meetings Act with a meaningful civil remedy;
drafting a counterpart open meetings law
applicable to local governments; the creation
by regulatory petition of an entity to
represent ratepayers before the California

Public Utilities Commission; and the drafting

- ix-

of and successful lobbying for the first
deregulation statute to abolish a major
regulatory agency in California in the past
twenty years. The Center has particularly
advocated the strengthening of open meetings

laws and related "sunshine” statutes.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The expenditure of money, generally
speaking, is not speech; rather, it is

conduct that facilitates speech. The

government may not, however, impose lim!t~ on
the expenditure of money in such a way that
the exercise of first emendment rights is
itself unconsititutionally constrained.

Such an expenditure limitation does not
unconstitutionally constrain speech, however,
where the speech may itself be limited to
promote the values of the system of freedom
of expression. Such is the case when a forum
is naturally limited in such a way that.
government rationing is justified in order to
keep some speakers from monopolizing access
to the forum whether due to “unregulated
talkativeness" or unregulated expenditure of

their wealth.

Mass media -- particularly electronic
mass media -- have become the indispensable
and central instruments of political speech,
and have helped drive the spiraling costs of
campaigning for public office. This Court
has already recognized that access to these
media may be rationed on some basis. other
than wealth. The failure to do so has_ made
wealth even more important in the political
context, and led to subtle and not-so-subtle
corruption of the political process, which
this Court has recognized may in itself
justify some regulation of speech-related
conduct.

The impact of concentrated wealth on the
political process and on the system of
freedom of expression is exacerbated in the
context of for-profit corporate expenditures.
First amendment interests in protecting such
expenditures are at their lowest. The

government may therefore regulate or prohibit

- sii

entirely corporate political campaign
expenditures.

Non-profit, ideological corporations are
protected from this power, however, by the
first amendment. The Chamber of Commerce, as
an ideological non-profit that is not the
subsidiary of any profit-making corporation,
is entitled to that protection, even if this
arguably represents a potentially large
loophole through which for-profit corporate
funds could leak back into the campatgn
arena. Legislatures have the means at their
disposal to prohibit the funneling of
for-profit corporate monies through such
ideological associations; the law in question

has not utilized such means, however.

-xiit

ARGUMENT
I. THE REGULATION OF CORPORATE CAMPAIGN
EXPENDITURES, NECESSITATED BY THE
WELL-RECOGNIZED POTENTIAL FOR CORRUPTION OF

THE ELECTORAL PROCESS BY SUCH EXPENDITURES,
IS NOT PROHIBITED BY THE FIRST AMENDMENT.

There is no doubt that political speech
"lies at the core of the first amendment."

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 14-15 (1976).

And as the Court of Appeals held below,
"[t]jJhe Chamber [of Commerce ]} does not
surrender its first amendment rights merely
by assuming the corporate form of

organization." Michigan State Chamber of

Commerce v. Austin, 856 F.2d 783, 787 (6th

Cir. 1988) (emphasis added). And see FEC vy.

Massachusetts Citizens for Life ("MCFL"), 479

U.S. 238, 263 (1986) (MCFL "does not suddenly
present the spectre of corruption merely by
assuming the corporate form") (emphasis

added); First National Bank of Boston .v.

Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 784 (1978) ("speech

that otherwise would be within the protection
of the First Amendment [does not] lose[] that
protection simply because its source is a
corporation") (emphasis added).

However, this Court has long recognized
the special justifications for regulation of
corporate expenditures in the campaign
context. "([P]Jreventing corruption or the
appearance of corruption,” are, in fact, “the
only legitimate and compelling government
interests thus far identified for restricting

campaign finances." FEC Vv. National

Conservative Political Action Committee

("NCPAC"), 470 U.S. 480, 496-97 (1985). And
the necessity of fighting corruption or the
appearance thereof has been recognized by
this Court as a particularly pregnant concern
in the corporate context. "(T]he special
characteristics of the corporate structure
require particularly careful regulation."

FEC v. National Right to Work Committee

("NRWC"), 459 U.S. 197, 209-10 (1982).

As the Court noted in MCFL, 479 U.S. at
257, “the long history of regulation of
corporate political activity,” is grounded on
the need to restrict "the influence of
political war chests funneled through the
corporate form,” NCPAC, 470 U.S. at 501;
"eliminate the effect of aggregated wealth on

federal elections,” Pipefitters Local Union

562 v. United States, 407 U.S. 385, 416

(1972); curb the political influence of
"those who exercise control over the large

aggregations of capital,” United States v.

International Union, United Automobile

Workers, 352 U.S. 567, 585 (1957); and

regulate the "substantial aggregations of
wealth amassed by the special advantages
which go with the corporate form of
organization,” NRWC, 459 U.S. at 207.

The Court therefore wrote in MCFL that
"(rjegulation of corporate political activity
thus has reflected concern not about use of

the corporate form per se, but about the

potential for unfair deployment of wealth for
political purposes," 479 U.S. at 259, and
that the concerns that arise from allowing
for-profit corporations to wield their
economic clout in the political arena justify
departure from the standard first amendment
analysis applied to advocacy expenditures by
individuals and voluntary associations.

The MCFL Court, however, specifically
did not decide the constitutional limits on
regulation of political expenditures by
traditional profit-making corporations, MCFL,
479 U.S. at 263. In reaching its holding,
however, the Court did note that regulations
requiring that campaign spending be
accomplished out of segregated political
action funds were “of course distinguishable
from the complete foreclosure of any
opportunity for political speech that we
invalidated in the state referendum context

in First National Bank of Boston v. Bellocti,

435 U.S. 765 (1978)." 479 U.S. at 259 n.12.

Nevertheless, the NCPAC Court asserted

that "[i]n Bellotti, of course, we did not

reach, nor do we need to reach in these
cases, the question whether a corporation can
constitutionally be restricted in making
independent expenditures to influence
elections for public office." 470 U.S. at
496. |

Amicus respectfully submits that this
case presents the Court with an opportunity

to re-evaluate both Bellotti’s assessment

that corporations are entitled to full first
amendment protection, and, in particular,
Buckley’s emphasis on money as a form of
speech, 424 U.S. at 16 ("({T]jhis Court has
never suggested that the dependence of a
communication on the expenditure of money
operates itself to introduce a nonspeech
element or to reduce the exacting scrutiny
required by the First Amendment.").: In
short, it is therefore urged that the Court

recognize that free speech rights: do not

inure to the profit-making corporate form to
such an extent as to prohibit legislative

proscription and, a fortiori, lesser

regulation of such corporations’ political

campaign expenditures.

A. Money and speech are not congruent.

The expenditure of money is not’ speech.
The act of spending money as one chooses is
itself therefore afforded no particular
constitutional protection. It is generally
accepted that the government may prohibit
individuals from spending money to _ purchase
narcotic or haleucenogenic drugs; firearms;
the services of prostitutes; slaves; or
votes. Despite the first amendment right to

possess and read obscene pornography, Stanley

v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969), individuals

may nonetheless be prohibited from spending

money in pursuit of such activities. Paris

Adult Theatre I v. Slayton, 413 U.S. 49

(1973) ("A man may be entitled to read an
obscene book in his room. . .. But if he
demands a right to obtain the books and
pictures he wants in the market .. . then to
grant him his right is to affect the world
about the rest of us, and to impinge on other
privacies.") (emphasis omitted).

Of course, the giving or spending of
money is an action that, like many actions,
can be imbued with expressive conduct. See,

e.g@., Texas Vv. Johnson, 57 U.S.L.W. 4770,

4772 (June 20, 1989) (flag burning); Clark v.

Community for Creative Non-Violence, 468 U.S.

288 (1984) (sleeping); Tinker v. Des _ Moines

Indep. Sch. Dist., 393 U.S. 503, 505 (1969)

(wearing of armbands); United States v.

O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 376 (1968) (burning of

draft card); Schacht v United States, 398

U.S. 58 (1970) (wearing of military

uniforms).

The giving of money to a cause or
candidate, including the amount given, can be
an expressive act. But the amount given or
spent does not in and of itself necessarily
indicate intensity of support -- it might
merely reflect the giver’s ability to pay.
Cf. Buckley, 424 U.S. at 21 ("At most, the
size of the contribution provides a very
rough index of the intensity of . . . support
- + «-"). Thus, neither does the spending or
giving away of money in itself constitute
speech, nor do limitations on the level of
expenditures (at least beyond the initial
quantum expressing support ) pose any
Significant infringement on free expression
in terms of whatever expressive value inheres
in the actual giving or expending of the
money.

While government clearly cannot suppress

the propagation of political views, see,

e.g., Brown v. Hartlage, 456 U.S. 45 (1982)

(first amendment has its "fullest and most

A ON aN Sete sin Set OE

AC Me Sema. Ie

urgent" application in the case of regulation
of the content of political speech); Police
Dept. v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 95-96 (1972),

it is not at all apparent that that principle
applies "to the expenditure of money to
propagate political views, rather than to the
propagation of those views unaccompanied by
the expenditure of money." NCPAC, 470 U.S.
at 493. Cf. O’Brien, 391 U.S. at 376-77

(regulation of speech-related conduct is

constitutional if it serves important
governmental interest and if that interest is

unrelated to suppression of speech); Clark v.

Community for Creative Non-Violence, 468 U.S.

at 293.

Any first amendment limitation on the
regulation of campaign expenditures and
contributions, then, must be found in the
extent to which the limitation of monetary
constrains

expenditures constitutionally

protected speech made possible by those

expenditures.

B. Expenditures may be limited where the
speech that such expenditures facilitate
may itself be limited -- irrespective of
its content -- because of inherent
limitations of the forum or system of
free speech.

In some instances prohibiting the
spending of money would clearly foreclose
constitutionally protected opportunities for
speech and thus run afoul of the first

amendment. As the Court noted in Buckiey,

virtually every means of communicating
ideas in today’s mass society requires
the expenditure of money. The
distribution of the humblest handbill or
leaflet entails printing, paper, and
circulation costs. Speeches and rallies
necessitate hiring a hall and
publicizing the event.

424 U.S. at 19. And sec Minneapolis Star &

Tribune Co. v. Minnesota Comm’r of Revenue,

460 U.S. 575 (1983) (state may not impose
additional tax on paper and ink required to

produce newspapers).

Thus, first amendment actors must be
allowed to pay for the ink for their presses,
the paper for their handbills, even the
administrative overhead for their first

amendment activities, see Secretary of State

of Maryland v. Joseph H. Munson Co., 467 U.S.

947 (1984). But clearly not all limitations
on individuals’ ability to expend money to
propagate their views unconstitutionally
limits speech, for two reasons: (1) the
expenditure limitation may have negligible,
if any, effect on the exercise of the first
amendment right, or (ii) the exercise of the
first amendment right itself may conflict
with the requirements of the system of
freede® of expression and may thus. properly
be limitable.

An example of the first situation would
be a campaign expenditure limit of $1
million. Virtualiy no person or entity
(other than the official campaign

organization itself) is likely to spend $1

» $9 «

million on campaign-related speech. But see

Cox, Constitutional Issues in the Regulation

of the Financing of Election Campaigns, 31

Cleve. St. L. Rev. 395, 395 (1982) ("The
first massive infusion of special interest
money into a federal election campaign
occurred in 1832 when Nicholas Biddle and the
Bank of the United States-spent $800,000 --
$1,000,000 in present-day dollars in a vain
effort to prevent the reelection of Andrew
Jackson." )

The lower the ceiling the more pressing
the question whether, and to what extent, the
ability to speak is actually being impinged
by the limitation. This is a factual
question answerable only by reference to the
actual workings of the real world. cf.
NCPAC, 470 U.S. at 493 ("({Fljor purposes of
presenting political views in connection with
a nationwide Presidential election, allowing
the presentation of views while forbidding

the expenditure of more than $1,000 to

» 49 «

present them is much like allowing a_ speaker
in a public hall to express his views while
denying him the use of an amplifying
system").

In those instances in which a
restriction on spending is found actually to
curtail the ability to speak, there may
independently be governmental power to limit
the volume of expenditure because of power to
limit the "volume" (or amount) of speech. As
Alexander Meiklejohn has observed, there is a
difference between abridging the "freedom of
speech" -- which is forbidden -- and
abridging speech, which is in some instances
permissible. A. Meiklejohn, Free Speech and
Its Relevance to Self-Government 19 (1948).

As Professor Emerson noted, while
government may not regulate "expression that |
is thought to harm other social interests,"
government may regulate speech to “promote
the goals of the system" of free expression

itself, including improvement in the "quality

« 28 «

and meaningfulness of expression." T.
Emerson, The System of Freedom of Expression
633 (1970). In Emerson’s view, the question
is “whether there has been an ‘abridgment’ of
freedom of expression," and the answer is

"framed in terms of accomodation of interests

within the system," meaning "promotion rather

than deterence of expression." Id. at 629
(emphasis added).

In short, neither Emerson, Meiklejohn,
nor Amicus here would assert that speech
could be limited to improve its "quality". by
eliminating speech that the government
regarded as of inferior ideological or
intellectual content, for this involves’ the
abridgme®t of speech on the basis of values
derived outside the system of free expression
itself. However, government may, in proper
instances, act as a “traffic cop" to improve

the quality of the functioning of the systen,

much as government keeps traffic flowing

through an intersection.

» £8 «

Thus, Meiklejohn has observed that
"(t]he First Amendment . .. is not the
guardian of unregulated talkativeness."
Meiklejohn, supra, at 25. Thus, in
Meiklejohn’s famous example, speech may be
limited at a town meeting in order to ensure
other speakers their right to speak.
Similarly, Judge Skelley Wright has asserted
that

[e]xpenditure limits and other curbs’ on
campaign finance practices are analogous
to rules of order at a town meeting,
enforced so that the deliberative
process is not distorted. The first
amendment does not permit curbs on
general discussion of political,
economic, or social controversies. But,
like the loud mouth and long talker at
the town meeting, untrammeled spending
during an election campaign does not
serve the values of self-government, nor
can it lay claim to first amendment
protection.

Wright, Money and the Pollution of Politics:

Is the First Amendment an Obtsacle to

Political Equality?, 82 Colum. L. Rev. 609,

639 (1982).

This does not mean that the government
could, without more prohibit repetitive
speech -- a campaign expenditure level would
not be acceptable simply because it is high

enough to let one say what he or she has to

say once, but no more. In the absence of a
compelling governmental interest -- or a

competing interest springing from the system
of free expression itself -- the government
may not regulate "talkativeness” or the
speaker’s right to repeat his message as much
as he likes or attempt to reach as many
listeners as he wishes.

Thus, such limitation of speech must be

predicated upon the "the forum[’s being]

limited by physical, technological, or
economic factors." Wright, supra, 82 Colum.
L. Rev. at 640. The fact that one individual
may possess greater skills or resources in
putting across his message does not suffice
to show such an inherent limitation in the

forum as to require government interference

- £6 «

in rationing access to the forun. Rather,
the nature of the forum itself must’ require
the rationing.

In the campaign context, it can be
argued that there is no inherent rationing
required because each citizen is as free as
the next to spread her views through
speaking, handbilling, and other first
amendment actions; thus, the greater ability
of those with greater resources to attain
their goals through the free market of
expression is constitutionally irrelevant.
See, e.g., Buckley, 424 U.S. at 39-51. But
this ignores the realities of modern

campaigns.

= 89 «

C. Reasonable expenditure limits are
required to ration access to the most
expensive and effective means of
political speech on some basis other
than wealth.

As the per curiam opinion in Buckley

acknowledged, "[t]jJhe electorate’s increasing
dependence on television, radio, and other
mass media for news and information has made

these expensive modes of communication

indispensable instruments of effective
political speech." Buckley, 424 U.S. at 19

(emphasis added). And see NCPAC, 470 U.S. at

493 ("The PACs in this case, of course, are

not lone pamphleteers or street corner
orators in the Tom Paine mold; they spend
substantial amounts of money in order to
communicate their political ideas through
sophisticated media advertisements." ). And,
as this Court has recognized, access to these

expensive and indispensable instruments of

effective political speech -- particularly
television -- by their nature must be
» 18 «

rationed, and ought properly be rationed on
some basis other than mere wealth.

In Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395

U.S. 367 (1969), this Court’ upheld the
constitutionality of the FCC “fairness
doctrine" requiring broadcasters to give free
air time, in specific instances, to those
with opposing viewpoints. The Court
recognized that this limitation on the
broadcaster’s right to use as he saw fit the
broadcast time he "owned" would “enhance
rather than abridge the freedoms of speech °
and press." Id. at 375. This was because of
the “scarcity of broadcast frequencies, the
Government’s role in allocating those
frequencies, and the legitimate claims of
those unable without governmental assistance
to gain access to those frequencies for
expression of their views." Id. at 400.

In short, as the airwaves are a
physically or technologically limited forun,

regulation that adds to the stock of

» 46 «

expressed attitudes on a more equal basis is
permissible. It is, after all, “the purpose
of the First Amendment to preserve an
uninhibited marketplace of ideas in which
truth will ultimately prevail, rather than to

countenance monopolization of that market."

Red Lion, 395 U.S. at 390.

Thus, in rejecting a rule that would
compel broadcasters to air paid messages, the

Court in CBS:v. Democratic Nat’l Comm., 412

U.S. 94 (1973), found that a right to’ spend
as much money as one wanted to "speak" on
television would be "so heavily weighted in
favor of the financially affluent, or those
with access to wealth" that the system of
freedom of expression "would scarcely. be
served." Id. at 123. "[{T]he views of the
affluent could well prevail over those of the
others," Chief Justice Burger observed for
the Court, "since they would have it within
their power to

purchase time more

frequently." Id.

» 6 @

This Court has thus found that the right
to spend money to facilitate speech is not
unlimited; rather, where access to the
relevant forum is itself limited, government
may ration that access on a content-neutral
basis other than wealth. "Just as the
Government may limit the use of sound
amplifying equipment potentially so noisy
that it drowns out civilized speech, so may
the Government limit the use of broadcast
equipment. The right of free speech of a
broadcaster, the user of a sound truck, or
any other individual does not embrace a right
to snuff out the free speech of others." Red
Lion, 395 U.S. at 387.

A legislative body could well find that,
as this Court itself has stated, expensive
mass media -- particularly the electronic
media -- are the “indispensable instruments
of effective political speech" central to
campaign communication today, Buckley, 424

U.S. at 19 (emphasis added), and that

» 68 «

rationing of access to such media is
essential to preserving the integrity of the
political process and the first amendment.
And as major campaign contributors primarily

"spend substantial amounts of money in order

to communicate their political ideas through
sophisticated media advertisements," NCPAC,
470 U.S. at 493 (emphasis added), a rational
legislature could today conclude that’ the
valid rationing of access to mass media in
the campaign context and the limitation of
campaign expenditures are essentially
synonymous.

In short, the legitimate protection of
"the system of freedom of expression" in the
modern

dominant fora of the political

campaign essentially requires regulation of

campaign expenditures. Thus, legislative

limitations on political campaign
expenditures, so long as reasonable within
the foregoing analytic framework, ought to

carry a fair presumption of constitutionality

oe £8 eo

under the first amendment.

Accord T.
Emerson, The System of Freedom of Expression
639-40 (1970) (campaign limits permissible
because they “are directed to a limited end

and deal with a limited situation").

D. The constitutionality of government
rationing of access to effective but
limited fora on some basis other than
wealth is reinforced by the need to
reduce the corrupting effects of money
on the political process.

That the de facto rationing of access to
the most effective means of communication in
modern campaigns should not be carried out on
the sole basis of access to large

agglomerations of money is bolstered by this

Court’s long-held conviction that "preventing

, corruption or the appearance of corruption"

constitute a legitimate and compelling
governmental interest in the regulation of

campaign finance. NCPAC, 470 U.S. at 496-97.

e £9 -

In NCPAC, the Court objected, however, that

"precisely what the ‘corruption’ may consist
of we are never told with assurance.” 470
U.S. at 498. The corruption of the political
process at issue, of course, is not outright
bribery -- but open bribery is not the only
form that. corruption may take.

Money, in the popular imagination and in
fact, appears to be the largest, if not’ the
single, determinant of electoral success. As
Michael S. Berman, a_ long-time national
political operative, has commented, "[Li]n his
experience as a campaign organizer, he had
always operated under the premise that ‘if I
had enough money, I can do it [win the

election]’." Comments, Special Forum on

Proposed Reforms in Campaign Financing, 3

J.L. & Pol. 419, 500 (1986). And as_ two
esteemed federal judges have observed, the
FEC has reported that a two-to-one
expenditure advantage over one’s opponent

translates into a 93% probability of

«e @6 «

election. See, Wald, Two Unsolved

Constitutional Problems, 49 U. Pitt. L. Rev.
753, 754 (1988); Wright, Money and the

Pollution of Politics, supra, 82 Colum. L.

Rev. at 622 (1982).

The amount of money required to obtain
public office, meanwhile, is sky-rocketing.
Candidates for the Senate spent five times as
much, and House candidates four times as
much, in 1985-86 as a decade earlier. See M.
Barone & G. Ujifusa, The Almanac of American
Politics: 1988, at 1363 (1987). The result
has, not unpredictably, been the declining
relevance of the small, individual
contributor. Contributions of $100 or less
fell from 38% of the financing of U.S. Senate
races in 1974 to only 23% in 1986; for House
races, the drop off is even more dramatic,
falling from 46% to only 13% in the last

election cycle. Conlon, The Declining Role

of Individual Contributions in Financing

Congressional Campaigns, 3 J.L. & Pol. 467,
471, 476 n.4, 479 (1986).

The role of PAC’s has concommitantly
grown; PAC contributions have risen from only
$12 million in 1974 to $132 million in 1986
and ’87. Cong. Res. Svce., Report on
Campaign Financing 6 (Update, July 2, 1987).
While some of these PAC’s still represent
"mechanisms by which large numbers of
individuals of modest means can join
together," NCPAC, 470 U.S. at 494, PAC’s are
by no means purely, or even predominantly,
"ideological mutual funds." PAC’s are,
rather, the predominant means by which large
aggregations of corporate wealth are injected
into the electoral process today. In fact,
the vice president for "political education"
of the Business-Industry Political Action
Committee has asserted that "{i]f anything,
corporate America has been timid in the full
campaign

exercise of its power to make

contributions and influence candidates."

=

Co

Budde, Business-Related Political Action

Committees -- A Permanent Force After One

Decade, 3 J.L. & Pol. 449, 453 (1986).
The individuals or entities that can
supply (whether

indirectly through the

official campaign apparatus, or directly
through his own expenditures on behalf of the
candidate) the large cash infusions needed to
compete for office today are the candidate’s
and officeholder’s lifeblood. Thus, the
point is not that "candidates and elected
officials may alter or reaffirm their own
positions on issues in response to political
messages paid for by the PACs," NCPAC, 470
U.S. at 498, but that candidates and elected
officials must, in general, "alter or
reaffirm their . positions on issues in
response to" the availability of large
aggregations of money, if they wish to remain
competitive.

As Professor Freund has observed, such

large contributors "are operating vicariously

» £9 «

through the power of their purse, rather than
through the power of their ideas, and... I
would scale that relatively lower in the
hierarchy of First Amendment values."
Freund, Commentary in A. Rosenthal, Federal
Regulation of Campaign Finance: Some
Constitutional Questions 74 (Citizens’
Research Foundation Study No. 18) (1971).

The insidious effects of large
concentrations of money in our politics are
not just that this money in large measure
predestines election results, thereby
predisposing politicians toward the positions
of the wielders of such sums, but also that
the positions taken by candidates -- at
least, those who run to win end not just to
state their principles -- are largely
constrained by the preferences not of the
electorate as a whole but rather of the
purveyors of the necessary campaign finances.

See, e.g., Cox, Constitutional Issues in the

Regulation of the Financing of Election

» 8 -«

Campaigns, supra, 31 Cleve. St. L. Rev. at
399-401. ;

We should certainly be concerned where
the range of positions presented to the
electorate is constrained, in no small
degree, by those entities with large sums of

money available, cf. Bullock v. Carter, 405

U.S. 134 (1971) (large candidate filing fee
unconstitutionally limits voter choice to
those views supported by substantially monied

voters); Lubin v. Panish, 415 U.S. 709

(1974). This is even more true where those
exercising this inordinate influence are not
even themselves entitled to vote but are,

rather, artificial and purely commercial

"persons."

o £89 «

E. Rationing access to effective but
limited campaign fora on some basis
other than weaith is especially
justified when applied to corporations
organized for profit.

The use of the corporate form to collect
money for profit and then expend it in the
political campaign context is particularly

problematic. As the Court recently asserted,

concern over the corrosive influence of
concentrated corporate wealth reflects
the conviction that it is important to
protect the integrity of the marketplace
of political ideas.. . . Direct
corporate spending on political activity
raises the prospect that resources
amassed in the economic marketplace may
be used to provide an unfair advantage

in the political marketplace... . . The
reasources in the treasury of a business
corporation . . . are not an indication

of popular support for the corporation’s
political ideas. They reflect instead
the economically motivated decisions of
investors and customers. The
availability of these resources may make
a corporation a formidable political
presence, even though the power of the
corporation may be no reflection of the
power of its ideas.

MCFL, 479 U.S. at 257-58.

@- OO «

Thus, the argument for full first
amendment protection of corporate political
campaign expenditures has already been
severely undercut on several fronts. The
well-established doctrine of commercial
speech, see Virginia State Bd. of Pharmacy v.

Virginia Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425
U.S. 748 (1976), in fact provides lessened

first amendment protection not for commercial

speech but for commercial speakers:

The same substantive speech (e.g., wage
rates, product quality, or business
patronage ) becomes fully-protected,

non-commercial speech when spoken by someone
other than the commercially concerned entity.

Compare Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass’n, 436

U.S. 447 (1978) (state may bar lawyer

solicitation for pecuniary gain), with In re

Primus, 436 U.S. 412 (1978) (state may not

normally bar legal organization from
soliciting in furtherance of "political and

ideological goals of the association"); and

» 94 -

compare Bolger v. Youngs Drug Prods. Corp.,

463 U.S. 60 (1983) (government may bar
commercial circulation of birth control
materials and brochure advocating their use)

with Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972)

(state cannot proscribe dispensing of birth

control materials or advocacy of their use).

And see NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware, 458 U.S. .

886 (1982); Organization for a Better Austin

v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415 (1971). Thus, one’s

status as a commercial actor has already been
accepted as justification at least in part
for lessened first amendment protection.

That for-profit corporations have
lessened first amendment rights is certainly

not a novel proposition. In Bellotti, after

noting that "([cJertain ‘purely personal’
guarantees, such as the privilege against
compulsory incrimination" -- or “equality
with individuals in the enjoyment of a right
to privacy," -- “are unavailable to

corporations and other organizations because

o Of «

the ‘historic function’ of the particular
guarantee has been limited to the protection
of individuals," 435 U.S. at 779 n.14 (per
curiam opinion) (citations omitted), the
Court wrote that "[w]hether or not a
particular guarantee is ‘purely personal’ or
is unavailable to corporations for some other
reason depends on the nature, history, and
purpose of the particular constitutional

provision. Id.

As Justice White noted in his Bellotti

dissent, though, "what some have considered
to be the principal function of the First
Amendment, the use of communication as a
means of self-expression, self-realization,
and self-fulfillment, is not at all furthered

by corporate speech." Id. at 304-05 (White,
J., dissenting) (citing T. Emerson, Toward a
General Theory of the First Amendment 4-7

(1966); West Virginia Bd. of Ed. v. Barnette,

219 U.S. 624 (1943)). Indeed, the Court has

long recognized in the antitrust context that

- 33 -

the government may curtail business
corporations’ speech and associational rights
so as to preclude combining expenditures or
any aspect of operations unless trade is not
restrained, or to forbid even basic or
indirect communication on matters of price.

See, e.g., United States v. Container Corp.,

393 U.S. 333 (1969).

The first amendment question at issue
here, then, “is not one of equalizing the
resources of opposing candidates or opposing
positions, but rather of preventing
institutions which have been permitted to
amass wealth as a result of special
advantages extended by the State for certain
economic purposes from using that wealth to
acquire an unfair advantage in the political

process." Bellotti. at 809. Since the state

“indirectly assist[s] the propagation of
corporate views because of the advantages its
laws give to the corporate acquisition of

funds to finance such activities[, sJuch

» #4 «@

expenditures may be viewed as seriously
threatening the role of the First Amendment
as @ guarantor of a free marketplace of

ideas." Id. at 810. And see id. at 825-26

(Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

Limitiations on corporate political

speech, moreover, do not infringe on the

ability of any individual to participate in

.

campaign speech -- the true "core value" of
the first amendment -- because any corporate

investor, owner, or manager is free to use
his or her own resources for first amendment
purposes as he or she chooses. A
corporation, after all, is not a real person
with any right to participate in the
electoral system; it is a legal device for
the promotion of enterprise through the
pooling of resources ~by any number of
individuals -- all of whom are free to use
their resources, including those they gain
from their corporate investments, for

expressive purposes.

As noted at the outset, moreover, the
level of political expenditure relates only
very tenuously to any expressive content
beyond simply the initial marginal act of

spending. The incongruity between the
“expressive content of the expenditure and the
pure economic value of the expenditure is
exacerbated in the for-profit corporate
context, however, by the fact that the amount
of money available to traditional,
profit-making corporations does not function,
as this Court has acknowledged, as any more
than "a rough barometer of public support

for" their ideas, see MCFL, 479 U.S. at 258.

The particular merit, at least for first
amendment purposes, of the ideological
corporation, in contrast, is that its capital
is accumluated specifically for the purpose
of communicating the views in question.
For-profit coporate money may, instead, in

fact be used to espouse views contrary ta

those of the shareholders or workers who made

o 96 «

the funds available, and who have no
realistic ability to protest or control such

uses, see NRWC, 459 at 207. There is thus

even less reason to suppose that the first
amendment protects the for-profit corporation
against restrictions on transferring its
unique clout in the economic marketplace
directly to the political marketplace.

In sum, the protections of the first
amendment are at their lowest in the context
of political expenditures by a purely
commercial corporate entity. The potentially
corrupting effect on the political process of
political expenditures is also at its
highest. Moreover, the legislative interest
in limiting politcal campaign expenditures in
the reality of the modern campaign
environment actually itself furthers a valid
and compelling first amendment objective of
providing adequate speech for all speakers by
rationing access to the most "indispensable"

political fora. This Court should therefore

- OF «

uphold legislative proscription or limitation

of corporate political campaign expenditures.

II. THE MICHIGAN LEGISLATURE HAS NOT
EXERCISED ITS POWER TO BAN ALL CORPORATE
FUNDS FROM ENTERING THE POLITICAL
MARKETPLACE, BUT RATHER HAS SIMPLY BARRED ALL
NON-PAC CORPORATE EXPENDITURES; HENCE,
EXPENDITURES BY THE CHAMBER -- A NON-PROFIT
IDEOLOGICAL CORPORATION PROTECTED UNDER MCFL
-- ARE LAWFUL.

In the foregoing Section, Amicus

suggested that corporate funds can be
completely banned from injection into a
politicai campaign.

As noted, however, the corporate form is
not the determinant eo ipso of when electoral
integrity concerns are sufficient to overcome
amendment

traditional - first protection;

"voluntary associations" and id. dslogical
corporations may not and should not be
treated in the same way as. profit-making
enterprises.

"Voluntary political

» £6 «

:

associations do not suddenly present’ the
spectre of corruption merely by assuming the
corporate form." MCFL, 479 U.S. at 263. For
example, the Federal Election Commission
permits a political committee to incorporate
“for liability limitation purposes only." i11
C.F.R. Sec. 114.12(a).

"Undoubtedly, as this Court has

recognized, see NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415

(1963), there are some corporations formed
for the express purpose of advancing certain
ideological causes shared by all their
members, or, as in the case of- the press, of
disseminating information and ideas. Under
such circumstances, assceciation in a
corporate form may be viewed as merely a
means of achieving effective self-expression.
But this is hardly~ the case generally with
corporations operated for the purrose of
making profits." Bellotti, 435 U.S. at 805
(White, J. dissenting).

- 39 -

Thus, “voluntary associations," whether

incorporated or not, are afforded -- as are

individuals ae full first amendment

protection in expenditures constituting

political advocacy. MCFL, 479 U.S. at 263.

Traditional, profit-making corporations,

however, can be subject to stringent

regulation of campaign expenditures because

of the serious threat to “the integrity of

the marketplace of political ideas" raised by
concentrated

"the corrosive influence of

corporate wealth." Id. 257. "As we said in

California Medical Ass’n v. FEC, 453 U.S. 182

(1981), the ‘differing structures and

purposes’ of different entities ‘may require

different forms of regulation in order to

protect the integrity of the electoral
process.’" NRWC, 459 U.S. at 210.

The Court of Appeals -- noting that
"(t]he Chamber is not a sub-corporation
established by a parent corporation,"
Austin, 856 F.2d at 789 -- found that’ the

o O08 «

press eee —
/

_ profit-making enterprises.

Chamber of Commerce was a "voluntary

political association," 856 F.2d at 788, and

therefore could not be subject to corporate

campaign expenditure restrictions.

Appellants and supporting amici

argue

that this finding opens up a potentially

massive loophole in corporate campaign

contribution legislation, allowing such

organizations to do an end-run around “the

distinction between corporations formed for

ideological purposes and those formed as

It is argued that

allowing ostensibly ideological, non-profit

corporations formed primarily by for-profit

corporations to qualify for full first

amendment protection equally with non-profits
associated

and voluntary associations not

with the profit-making sector would vitiate

the “different forms of regulation" needed to
structures and

address "the ‘differing

purposes’ of different entities". in the

context of "protect[ing] the integrity of the

« 6h «

electoral process." National Right to Work

Comm., at 210.

business-affiliated non-prorit,
ideological corporations do indeed constitute
a large hole in any comprehensive attempt
eliminate corporate funds from the political

environment. However, Court has

recognized, such an exemption is required by

a ee

amendment. supra.

Nonetheless, a hole if not

closeable, is at least bridgeable.

The government only prohibit

corporations from directly injecting money

into the political campaign process;

also prohibit corporations indirectly

funneling money process’ through

non-profit, ideological corporations.

such ideological

voluntary associations

cannot be denied the exercise of their

amendment rights simply because

receipt of corpcrate funds in other contexts,

cf. Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. (1972);

Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 526 (1958),

they may be required to segregate such funds
from their political activities.

For instance, ideological corporations
or voluntary associations can be required to
maintain segregated accounts to demonstrate
that corporate funding of those organizations
do not subsidize political campaign
activities. Federal regulations currently
provide that federal political committees
that cannot accept business or labor
contributions may nonetheless establish
non-federal accounts that accept such funds
for state campaigns, where permitted by state
law. See 11 C.F.R. Sec. 102.5.

Similarly, the Internal Revenue. Code
prohibits orivate foundations from making
grants earmarked for lobbying, but allows
such foundations to provide general support
grants to public charities that doin fact
lobby but requires such charities to.

demonstrate that their lobbying activities

- 43 -

were not subsidized by the foundation grants.
See 26 C.F.R. Sec. 53.4945-2.

In short, segregation of funds is
already a commonly applied and easily
enforced principle. It allows the government
to address the valid concern with corporate
contributions somehow "leaking" into
electoral advocacy. But, as corporate gifts
are often vital to a non-profit, ideological,
or voluntary organization’s charitable or
civic activities unrelated to electoral
politics, such segregation-of-funds
regulations allow these organizations to

continue the first amendment activities

central to their existence as well as their

constitutionally protected . electoral
advocacy. In this way, the first amendment
concerns prompting corporate campaign

expenditure limitations, see supra Section I,

can be advanced without mandating that
voluntary and ideological organizations

choose between alternative first amendment

e 64 «

activities, both of which they are
constitutionally permitted to pursue.

However, this the Michigan legislature
has not done. The Michigan Campaign Finance
Act prohibits contributions and expenditures
by corporations, except through segregated
PAC accounts; such a restriction, under MCFL,
cannot apply to aen~eref it, ideological
corporations, which thé Court of Appeals
found to include the Michigan Chamber of
Commerce. The Act contains no separate
provision such as those discussed above,
requiring a non-profit such as the Chamber to
segregate funds originating from corporate
sources and those to be used for campaign
advocacy, however.

The Chamber was thus entitled to expend
its funds on campaign advocacy. This case
requires the careful balancing of, on the one
hand, the state’s power to protect its
democratic institutions from domination by

large aggregations of wealth through the

a @2 «

limitation or proscription of corporate
campaign expenditures; and, on the other
hand, the constitutional protection of
non-profit, ideologically based expression
and giving through the corporate format. The

result in the Court of Appeals’ therefore

ought to be affirmed.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the judgment of the

court below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

ERIC B. SCHNURER
125 South Ninth Street,
Suite 401
Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 923-4206

ROBERT C. FELLMETH*
Center for Public Interest Law
University of San Diegp
Alcala Park
San Diego, CA 92110
(619) 260-4806

Counsel for Amicus Curia
Center for Public Interest Law

_ July 26, 1989 * Counsel of Record

» £9 «

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0465%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
