# Amicus Curiae Brief — Cruzan Ex Rel. Cruzan v. Director, Missouri Department of Health

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0463%3A20

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 497 U.S. 261

## Text

No. 88-1503 SEP 1 1969
a pea JR.
CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

NANCY BETH CRUZAN, by her parents and co-guardians,
LESTER L. and JOYCE CRUZAN,
. Petitioners,
ROBERT HARMON, Director of Missouri Department
of Health, and DONALD LAMKINS, Administrator of the
Missouri Rehabilitation Center at Mt. Vernon,

. Respondents, ;
THAD C. McCANSE, Guardian ad litem,
-_ Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Missouri Supreme Court

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
THE NATIONAL HOSPICE ORGANIZATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

BARBARA F’.. MISHKIN
WALTER A. SMITH, JR.*
ANN MORGAN VICKERY
HOGAN & HARTSON
555 13th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 687-5728

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
* Counsel of Record National Hospice Organization

WILSON - EPes PRINTING Co.. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Constitution protects a dying person’s
decision to refuse unwanted medical intervention.

2. Whether a dying person’s decision to refuse such
intervention is vitiated by the person’s subsequent in-
capacity.

3. Whether a State’s asserted interest in forcing the
continuation of life in all circumstances overcomes a

dying person’s right to refuse unwanted medical inter-
vention.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. .0000...2.0.........ccccccccceseeeeeeeeeees i

TA I ED cic ccctnnccnsncccecnccencesececcses iv
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS

EEE IC es YOR Ne eS ne RES meee 1

RPE, GOU DTTREIIO cececitcccccccsccccensccseeessesctonses 3

ARTES AS ee 6

1. DYING INDIVIDUALS HAVE A FUNDA-
MENTAL RIGHT TO MAKE CHOICES
ABOUT THEIR MEDICAL CARE ...._............. 6

Il. THE RIGHTS OF DYING INDIVIDUALS
ARE NOT EXTINGUISHED BY THEIR IN-
STII sccoshcnininsnccesinsaiinatnigeettseundaiiisrinnadineniineines 13

Ill. THE STATE HAS NO INTEREST SUFFI-
CIENT TO OVERRIDE THE TREATMENT

CHOICES OF DYING INDIVIDUALS ............ 15
SFI cccvsecescecsssescsvasesreeree sdeeaaobaiitliclicpbaiineteaihtthiasinidaspiiee 18
(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979) -.............. 8
Bartling v. Glendale Adventist Medical Ctr., 209

Cal. Rptr. 220 (Cal. Ct. App. 1984) —..........0...... 10
Brophy v. New England Sinai Hosp., 497 N.E.2d
EERIE AR oe ie oe NER passim

Canterbury v. Spence, 464 F.2d 772 (D.C. Cir.),

cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1064 (1972) ....020 0... 6
Cobbs v. Grant, 502 P.2d 1 (Cal. 1972) ......000000.... 6
Eichner v. Dillon, 426 N.Y.S.2d 517 (N.Y. App.

Div. 1980), mod. and consolidated sub nom. In

re Storar, 420 N.E.2d 64 (N.Y.), cert. denied,

SE NS A ae a 13
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 488 (1972) ............... 7,16
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) ....... 7
In re Gardner, 5384 A.2d 947 (Me. 1987) ........ 9,10, 11,17
In re Osborne, 294 A.2d 372 (D.C. 1972) —.......00.... 16
In re Prange, 527 N.E.2d 308 (Ill.), cert. denied,

a a ee I ici iitcietectsnctiiliticitittictincttnitnss 17

In re Quinlan, 355 A.2d 647 (N.J.), cert. denied, -
429 U.S. 922 (1976), overruled in part, In re

Conroy, 486 A.2d 1209 (N.J. 1985) -...0.2000 4,7
In re Torres, 357 N.W.2d 332 (Minn. 1984) .......... 11
John F. Kennedy Memorial Hosp. v. Bludworth,

Ge Ie I Py I deetecttcccnadccescettgieserscccsiccees 18
Leach v. Shapiro, 469 N.E.2d 1047 (Ohio Ct. App.

REE EE Sa TE Soa Ne ke 14, 15
Mills v. Rogers, 457 U.S. 291 (1982)............00002.... 8

Natanson v. Kline, 350 P.2d 1093 (Kan.), clarified,

354 P.2d 670 (Kan. 1960) ......... aaa 6
Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 ( 1928) .. 9
Rasmussen v. Fleming, 741 P.2d 674 (Ariz. 1987 ). 7,9
Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952) .............. 8
Schloendorff v. Society of New York Hosp., 105

i isenns 6
Superintendent of Belchertown State School v.

Saikewicz, 370 N.E.2d 417 (Mass. 1977).............. 8,9, 13
Thornburgh v. American Coll. of Obstetricians &

Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747 (1986)...................... 9

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Tune v. Walter Reed Army Medical Hosp., 602 F.
I, Te Gs I cicciccctcccrccctcnccctccesescomace 7,9
Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753 (1985) -........ smijeitian:
STATUTES:
STE EE passim
Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 459.010-.055 (1985) 00... passim

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:

A Matter Of Choice: Planning Ahead For Health
Care Decisions, Senate Special Comm. on Aging,
S. Rep. No. 211, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. (1986) ....3, 11, 14
~ Dying With Dignity: Difficult Times, Difficult
Choices: Hearing Before the Select Comm. on
Aging, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. (Comm. print
a a lehiininilenied See 3,11

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Andrews, “Informed Consent Statutes and the De-
cisionmaking Process,” 5(2) J. Legal Med. 163
READE Ri VERE: Kira SENSO es ec 14, 15

The Appleton Consensus: Suggested International
Guidelines for Decisions to Forego Medical
Treatment (1988), reprinted in J. of Danish
eth a 17

Buschman, “Psychosocial Issues in the Care of the
Terminally Ill” in J. Zimmerman, Hospice: Com-
plete Care for the Terminally Ill (2d ed. 1986)... 4, 12

C. Fried, Right and Wrong (1978) ...... Sa ae 9
Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs, American
Med. Assoc., Current Opinions (1986) ................ 16, 17
Rodin, “Aging and Health: Effects on the Sense of
Control,” 233 Science 1271 (Sept. 19, 1986)...... 11

Viner, “Life at the Other End of the Endotracheal
Tube: A Physician’s View of Critical Illness,” 2
Prog. Crit. Care Med. 3 (19885) ...............000.000....... 1l

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Weisman, “Psychosocial Considerations in Ter-
minal Care,” in Schoeberg, Carr, Peretz and
Kutscher (eds.), Psychosocial Aspects of Ter-
Se ee csi

J. Zimmerman, Hospice: Complete Care for the
Terminally Ill (2d ed. 1986) —..2..-22 eee.

Page

12

4,11

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 88-1503

NANCY BETH CRUZAN, by her parents and co-guardians,
LESTER L. and JOYCE CRUZAN,

~. Petitioners,

ROBERT HARMON, Director of Missouri Department
of Health, and DONALD LAMKINS, Administrator of the
Missouri Rehabilitation Center at Mt. Vernon,

; Respondents,
THAD C. McCANSE, Guardian ad litem,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Missouri Supreme Court

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
THE NATIONAL HOSPICE ORGANIZATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The National Hospice Organization (“NHO”) is a non-
profit, tax-exempt entity dedicated to improving the care
of terminally ill Americans. The NHO was established
eleven years ago and currently represents over 1,000
hospices across the country and an additional 2,000 in-
dividual members.

2

Since the first hospice in this country began caring for
patients in 1974, more than 1,600 hospice programs have
developed around the nation. A hospice program is a co-
ordinated program of palliative and supportive services,
including medical, psychological, social, and spiritual care
for dying persons and their families. These services are
provided by a medically directed interdisciplinary team
of physicians, nurses, specialized therapists, social work-
ers, and volunteers, and are provided both in the home
and in inpatient settings.

The hospice philosophy recognizes dying as part of the
normal process of living and focuses on enhancing the
quality of remaining life. Hospice affirms life and seeks
“neither to hasten nor to postpone death. It also affirms
the right of those who are dying to make as many choices
as possible for themselves—both in living what is left of
life and in dealing with fatal illness. An important com-
ponent of hospice care, therefore, is enhancing the ability
of patients to control their lives for as long as possible,
even in the terminal phase of their illness.

Choosing hospice is a decision made by increasing num-
bers of dying patients. Other patients make different
choices. In 1987, more than 188,000 terminally ill Ameri-
cans were served by hospice programs. We estimate that
more than one-third of Americans dying of cancer in
1987 and nearly forty percent of those who died of AIDS
in that year were hospice patients. Moreover, hospices
have cared for many patients who have chosen to forego
artificial nourishment and who find in hospice maximal
support for that choice and attentive care. Because we
know from years of hospice experience that such a choice
can bring comfort, not pain, to those who make it, and
because it is a medically sound choice, we strongly endorse
the right of the dying to make it.

It is this right of free choice that NHO seeks to pre-
serve, together with the right to expect that a choice made
by a competent individual will be honored, even if that

individual later becomes unable to express the choice in
terms of a specific treatment decision. NHO is concerned
that the Missouri Supreme Court’s decision, if affirmed
by this Court, would severely limit important choices
made by dying patients, particularly those no longer
capable of insisting that their choices be honored. For
that reason, we file this brief amicus curiae.’

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As the Bible teaches, the road which opens with birth
leads to the grave. Birth and death are the most
singular events we experience and, therefore, the con-
templation of death as of birth should be a thing of
beauty and not of ignobility.?

Such was the testimony of Jacob Javits at a Congres-
sional hearing, shortly before his death. Not everyone has
spoken on this subject as eloquently, but many have come
to appreciate the importance of communicating their
thoughts on such matters. Accordingly, most States—in-
cluding Missouri—have enacted laws validating advance
directives for health care (such as living wills and dur-
able powers of attorney) .*

Maintaining control over the manner of one’s dying is
a fundamental aspect of personal liberty. For dying is by
definition a personal matter; it may be painful or peace-
ful, humiliating or liberating, depending on how each

1 This brief is filed with the consent of the parties. Copies of
the consent letters are on file with the Clerk.

2 Dying With Dignity: Difficult Times, Difficult Choices: Hear-
ing Before the House Select Committee on Aging, 99th Cong., Ist
Sess. (Comm. print 1985) at 5-6 (testimony of former Senator
Jacob Javits). When he testified, Senator Javits was terminally
ill—and totally paralyzed from the neck down—a condition which,
as he observed, “concentrates the mind on this subject.” I/d.

3 See, e.g., A Matter of Choice: Planning Ahead for Health
Care Decisions, Senate Special Comm. on Aging, S. Rep. No. 211,
99th Cong., 2d Sess. (1986).

4

individual experiences the process. Indeed, controlling
the process is often the last possible expression of one’s
individuality; and maintaining control over that indi-
viduality and over what is done to them during a vermi-
nal illness is for many patients a crucial part of hospice
care. Wher patients lose that control, they lose their
dignity, their bodily integrity, and their sense of self.‘
Deciding to forego aggressive treatment when there is
no hope of recovery is for some an affirmation of self and
of control. It is for them an acceptance of the inevitable.

For nearly fifteen years, state and federal courts across
the country consistently have concluded that the Constitu-
tion protects such choices by the dying and guards them
from the State’s insistence that they accept life-sustaining
treatments they do not want. The first such case, that of
Karen Ann Quinlan,’ has been followed by many others,
all endorsing this basic principle. This Court’s own prior
decisions likewise confirm the right of persons to be free
from State intrusion upon their bodies and their beliefs,
particularly when fundamental, personal decisions are at
issue. The Court should confirm in this case that the
choice of the dying to refuse unwanted treatment is such
a fundamental, personal decision and that it is constitu-
tionally protected.

Coutrary to the implications of the Missouri Supreme
Court’s decision, this fundamental, personal choice should
not be ignored—nor can it be considered vitiated—simply
because a dying person has become incapacitated. Even
though incapacitated, dying persons are still persons, and

* See, e.g., Buschman, “Psychosocial Issues in the Care of the
Terminally Ill” in J. Zimmerman, Hospice: Complete Care for the
Terminally Ill, (2d ed. 1986) at 77.

5In re Quinlan, 335 A.2d 647 (N.J.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 922
(1976), overruled in part, In re Conroy, 486 A.2d 1209. (NJ.
1985). '

6 See, e.g., Brophy v. New England Sinai Hosp., 497 N.E.2d 626
(Mass. 1986) aad cases cited therein.

5

they stili possess their basic constitutional rights. When
their choice regarding the acceptance or nonacceptance of
prolonged life-sustaining treatment is known, it should be
honored. ;

Describing Cruzan as a case in which » “third party
seeks to cause the death of an incompetent,”* or in which
the issue is whether guardians may “choose the death of
their ward,’® or in which “we are asked to allow the
medical profession to make Nancy die,”® inflames but
does not inform. Moreover, it distorts—if it does not
ignore altogether—the true human interests at stake.
Neither Nancy Cruzan nor her parents chose the accident
that left her incapable of rudimentary bodily functions *
and forever incapable of cognitive life,’ just as no one
ever chooses terminal illness. It is not that her parents
wish Nancy dead; it is that they do not want her death
to be held in abeyance in a manner they know (and the
trial court found) is inconsistent with Nancy’s clearly
expressed wishes.’*

The Missouri Supreme Court’s claim that the State has
an overriding interest in insisting that dying people ac-
cept unwanted, unremitting life-sustaining treatment—
even where there is no hope of recovery—should not be

7 Appendix to Petition for V’rit of Certiorari (“Pet. App.”) at
A4l.

8 Id. at Ad4.
® Jd. at A9.

10 She has “no cognitive cr reflective ability to swallow food or
water to maintain her daily essential needs.” Jd. at A8.

11 She is “oblivious to her environment except for reflex responses
to sound and perhaps painful stimuli” due to “cerebral cortical
atrophy [which) is irreversible, permanent, progressive and on-
going.” Id. at AT.

12 The trial court found as fact that Nancy “would not wish to
continue w’cth nourishment and hydration” under the_circumstances
here presented. Jd. at A8

6

accepted by this Court. The State has a valid interest in
protecting life, but that interest does not warrant un-
wanted intrusion upon the dying.

Furthermore, neither the State fegislature nor the, Mis-
souri Supreme Court has explained why the State’s con-
cern with protecting life requires forcing substances into
dying bodies through feeding tubes, while not requiring
forcing oxygen into those bodies through ventilators. Yet
the State permits the latter to be refused, but not the
former. Because there is no justification for this dis-
similar treatment (i.e., between patients whose nourish-
ment is provided mechanically and those whose respira-
tion or kidney function are provided mechanically), the

State’s action in this case not only subverts fundamentai ~

constitutional liberties, it also violates the Equal Protec-
tion Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

ARGUMENT

{. DYING INDIVIDUALS HAVE A FUNDAMENTAL
RIGHT TO MAKE CHOICES ABOUT THEIR MEDI-
CAL CARE

The right of individuals to decide what medical proce-
dures (if any) may be performed on them was first
enunciated in 1914."* This fundamental right is imple-
mented through the process of informed consent, which
provides an opportunity for an informed patient to decide
whether or not to accept the proffered therapy,’ based
upon personal values and goals, religious and moral be-

13 Schloendorff v. Society of New York Hosp., 105 N.E. 92, 93
(N.Y. 1914) (“Every human being of adult years and sound mind
has a right to determine what shall be done with his body and
cannot be subjected to medical treatment without his consent’).

14 See generally Canterbury v. Spence, 464 F.2d 772, 780 (D.C.
Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1064 (1972); Cobbs v. Grant, 502 P.2d
1 (Cal. 1972). See also Natanson v. Kline, 250 P.2d 1093 (Kan.),
clarified, 354 P.2d 670 (Kan. 1960).

7

liefs, and an individualized weighing of burdens and
benefits. Accordingly, the right to consent necessarily

_ includes the corollary right to refuse medical treatment; **

and the right to refuse is not limited to any particular
kind of treatment or circumstances.

[I]t is now a well-established rule of general law
... that it is the patient, not the physician, who
ultimately decides if treatment—any treatment—is
to be given at all .... The rule has never been
qualified in its application by either the nature or
purpose of the treatment, or the gravity of the con-
sequences of acceding to or foregoing it.’®

Moreover, consent is a continuing process and the patient
always has the right to withdraw consent previously
given.*’

In 1976, these well accepted principles became the
cornerstone of the Quinlan decision, in which the Supreme
Court of New Jersey ruled that the right of privacy in-
cludes the right to refuse life-sustaining medical treat-
ment.'® Quinlan reflected in part this Court’s affirmation
that the United States Constitution protects personal
medical decisions such as the use of contraception.’
This Court has since ruled that prisoners and mental

15 See, e.g., Rasmussen v. Fleming, 741 P.2d 674, 683 (Ariz. 1987)
(en banc).

16 Tune v. Walter Reed Army Medical Hosp., 602 F. Supp. 1452,
1455 (D.D.C. 1985) (citations omitted).

17 Brophy, 497 N.E.2d at 638 and cases cited therein. See also
Tune, 602 F. Supp. at 1456 (“competent adult patients . . . with
termina! illnesses and in the circumstances presented here have a
right to determine for themselves whether to allow their lives to be
prolonged by artificial means, including the right to demand the
cessation of life support once begun’) (emphasis added).

18 In re Quinlan, 355 A.2d 647 (N.J.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 922
(1976), overruled in part, In re Conroy, 486 A.2d 1209 (N.J. 1985).

19 Griswold v. Connettrcut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965); Eisenstadt v.
Baird, 405 U.S. 488 (1972).

8

patients have constitutionally protected liberty interests
that are implicated by the administration of drugs
against their will;*° and that even a small incision to
remove a bullet from a criminal suspect “implicates ex-
pectations of privacy and security of such magnitude that
the intrusion may be ‘unreasonable’ even if likely to pro-
duce evidence of a crime.” **

The Court now addresses, for the first time, the extent
to which the Constitution affords dying individuals a
right against unwanted invasion of bodily integrity. We
believe that interest is at least as strong as the other
circumstances in which the Court has already confirmed
aright to be free from State intrusion upon fundamental
human decisions. Surely the right to control the manner
of one’s dying deserves as much protection under our Con-
stitution as the right to control conception; and if brief
insertion of a tube to remove stomach contents offends,”
so much more does the permanent insertion of a tube to
force substances into the stomach of an unwilling, dying
individual.

Courts throughout the States uniformly have invoked
federal constitutional rights in affirming a patient’s right
to refuse life-prolonging treatment. Until Cruzan v. Har-
mon, courts consistently—and correctly—have held that
to deny patients freedom of choice concerning health care
would be to infringe their constitutional rights:

The constitutional right to privacy, as we conceive it,
is an expression of the sanctity of individual free
choice and self-determination as fundamental con-
stituents of life. The value of life so perceived is
lessened not by a decision to refuse treatment, but

20 Mills v. Rogers, 457 U.S. 291 (1982); Addington v. Tezas, 441
U.S. 418 (1979).

21 Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753, 754 (1985).
22 Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952).

9

by the failure to allow a competent human being the
right of choice.”

The Cruzan court overlooked this crucial fact, i.e., that
the right to privacy embodies more than mere control
over painful bodily intrusions. It extends as well to one’s
sense of self and one’s emotional well-being. These are
primary concerns of many who are dying—persons who
wish to be remembered other than as a senseless organism
with tubes delivering and removing various substances
through bodily orifices.

In his well-known description of the right to privacy,
Justice Brandeis reminds us that the makers of our Con-
stitution “recognized the significance of man’s spiritual
nature, of his feelings and of his intellect. They knew
that only a part of the pain, pleasure and satisfactions of
life are to be found in material things.” ** As former
Solicitor General Charles Fried has written:

What a person is, what he wants, the determination
of his life plan, of his concept of the good, are the
most intimate expressions of self-determination, and
by asserting a person’s responsibility for the results
of this self-determination we give substance to the
concept of liberty.”

A patient’s privacy may be invaded, and his liberty
violated, even without the administration of highly in-
trusive procedures and without any experience of physical
pain. It is enough that something is done that the patient

23 Tune v. Walter Reed Army Medical Hosp., 602 F. Supp. at 1456,
quoting Superintendent of Belchertown State School v. Saikewicz,
370 N.E.2d 417, 425-426 (Mass. 1977); accord Brophy, 497 N.E.2d
at 633; Rasmussen, 741 P.2d at 681-682; In re Gardner, 534 A.2d
947, 955 (Me. 1987).

24 Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438, 478 (1928) (Brandeis,
J. dissenting).

25C. Fried, Right and Wrong, at 146-147 (1978), quoted with
approval in Thornburgh v. American Coll. of Obstetricians & Gyne-
cologists, 476 U.S. 747, 777 n.5 (1986) (Stevens, J. concurring).

10

does not want. It is enough that the intimate aspects of
one’s being are exposed to others through unwanted proce-
dures. Often, what dying patients fear most is continued
existence under conditions that are humiliating even to
contemplate; and it is the indignity and loss of control,
rather than physical pain, that the patient hopes most fer-
vently to avoid. William Bartling, for example, described
the “degrading and dehumanizing” impact of receiving
unwanted life support and gave the following reasons for
petitioning a California court for the right to have a
respirator removed:

I am totally unable to care for myself and believe
that I am dependent on a mechanical ventilator to
support and sustain my respiration and life. I con-
tinuously suffer agonizing discomfort, pain and the
humiliating indignity of having to have my every
bodily need and function tended to by others. I do
not wish to continue to live under these conditions.”

Such concerns are equally valid when expressed pros-
pectively, in anticipation of the degradation. In 1987,
the Supreme Court of Maine authorized removal of xaso-
gastric feeding tubes from a patient who previously had
made clear his intent never to be dependent upon such
equipment. In its opinion, the Court observed:

It is apparent from the testimony that what was on
[the patient’s] mind was not only the invasiveness
of life-sustaining systems, such as the NG tube, upon

the integrity of his body. It was also the utter help-

lessness of the permanently comatose person, the
wasting of a once strong body, and the submission
of the most private bodily functions to the attention
of others. In the face of those understandable con-
cerns, “[t]he law recognizes the individual’s right to
preserve his humanity, even if to preserve his hu-
manity means to allow the natural processes of a

26 Bartling v. Glendale Adventist Medical Ctr., 209 Cal. Rptr. 220,
222 (Cal. Ct. App. 1984).

11

disease or affliction to bring about a death with
dignity.” ””

Similarly, the Supreme Court of Minnesota assumed that
a patient who had not provided advance directives on this
point, nevertheless “may well have wished to avoid, as
one writer vividly put it, ‘The ultimate horror [not of]
death but the possibility of being maintained in limbo, in
a sterile room, by machines controlled by strangers.’ ” **

As hospice providers well know, the sentiments de-
scribed above are common in dying people for whom main-
taining control over treatment is essential to human dig-
nity and emotional health. Indeed, one of the most frus-
trating and frightening aspects of illness and hospitali-
zation is the sense of losing control and thereby losing
individuality.”

Serious illnesses of ali kinds bring with them dif-
ficult psychosocial problems. Feelings of fear, depres-
sion, loneliness, and loss of control are almost univer-
sal among the sick .... The fact of imminent
death introduces the whole panorama of problems
related to death, separation, and loss. Superimposed
now on the fear of pain and discomfort arising from
illness are fears about dying and death. For the
patient this includes fear of loss of dignity, au-
tonomy, identity, and personhood.”

27 In re Gardner, 534 A.2d at 953, quoting Brophy, 497 N.E.2d
at 635.

28 Jn re Torres, 357 N.W.2d 332, 340 (Minn. 1984) (citation
omitted).

29 A Matter Of Choice, supra n.3, at 4-5. See also Rodin, “Aging
and Health: Effects on the Sense of Control,” 233 Science 1271
(Sept. 19, 1986); Viner, “Life at the Other End of the Endo-
tracheal Tube: A Physic an’s View of Critical Illness,” 2 Prog.
Crit. Care Med. 3 (1985), reprinted in Dying With Dignity: Diffi-
cuit Times, Difficult Choices: Hearing Before the House Select
Comm. on Aging, 99th Cong., Ist Sess., at 79 (Comm. print 1985).

30 J. Zimmerman, Hospice: Complete Care for the Terminally IU
at 3 (2d ed. 1986).

12

As a consequence, one of the human problems hospice
nurses must learn to identify and treat has been termed
“annihilation anxiety,” in which:

The staff and family become “they” or “those peo-
ple”, just as the patient fears becoming only a num-
ber or a thing. Fear of losing sanity means fear of
losing whatever makes sense and becoming nothing
at all.

Thus, dying patients need more than freedom from
painful procedures; they need to maintain control and to
chart their own course. This Court recognized the im-
portance of such self-determination and personal dignity
when it ruled that compulsory surgery performed under
anesthesia violated the Fourth Amendment—not because
of any physical pain, but because surgery under anes-
thesia “involves a virtually total divestment of [one’s]
ordinary control” over the procedures performed. Yet,
out of a short-sightedness and an insensitivity that bor-
dered on the inhumane, the Missouri Supreme Court
overlooked (or ignored) all these critical values and in-
terests that lie at the core of personhood. Without analy-
sis, it simply declared that the State’s forced intrusicn
upon the dying was no burden to them and was therefore
justified.* As hospice providers and those they serve
well know, the court could not have been more wrong.
Being stripped of dignity and autonomy as death ap-
proaches is the ultimate burden for the dying. Our Con-
stitution should be held to prohibit it.

31 Buschman, supra n.4 at 77, 82, quoting Weisman, “Psychosocial
Considerations in Terminal Care,” in Schoeberg, Carr, Peretz and
Kutscher (eds.), Psychosocial Aspects of Terminal Care 162 (1972).

32 Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. at 765.

33 According to the court, “the burdens” associated. with un-
wanted treatment are “not excessive” or “substantial to the patient
and whatever “constitutional right” the dying may have “to refuse
[such] treatment” is always “outweigh[ed]” by “[t]he State’s in-
terest in the preservation of life.” Pet. App. at A38, A43.

a a ee =

13

II. THE RIGHTS OF DYING INDIVIDUALS ARE NOT
EXTINGUISHED BY THEIR INCAPACITY

That an individual’s constitutional rights are not ter-
minated by illness or incapacity should go without say-
ing. As virtually every court addressing the question has
ruled: “the right of terminally ill patients should not be
lost when they suffer irreversible brain damage, become
comatose, and are no longer able to personally express
their wishes ... .” Rather, the right to refuse treat-
ment “must extend to the case of an incompetent, as well
as a competent, patient because the value of human dig-
nity extends to both.” ** Indeed, equal protection requires
that it be so.

What possible societal policy objective is vindicated
or furthered by treating the two groups of terminally
ill differently? What is gained by granting such a
fundamentai right only to those who, though termi-
nally ill, have not suffered brain damage and coma in
the last stages of the dying process? The very notion
raises the spectre of constitutional infirmity. .. .**

To dery to the incapacitated the right to have a prior
treatment choice implemented would discriminate against
the disabled by depriving them of a constitutional right

solely because their capacity to assert that right is im-
paired.

The only difference between competent and incompetent
patients in this regard is the means by which their right
to refuse treatment is implemented.** Many states au-

34 John F. Kennedy Memorial Hosp. v. Bludworth, 452 So.2d 921,
924 (Fla. 1984).

85 Saikewicz, 370 N.E.2d at 427.

36 Jd., quoting Eichner v. Dillon, 426 N.Y.S.2d 517 (N.Y. App.
Div. 1980), mod. & consolidated sub nom. In re Storar, 420 N.E.2d
64 (N.Y.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 858 (1981), (emphasis in origi-
nal).

87 John F. Kennedy Memorial Hosp. v. Bludworth, 452 So.2d at
924-925; Saikewicz, 370 N.E.2d at 423.

14
’

thorize advance directives, such as “living wills” and
duraple powers of attorney, through which individuals
provide instructions about their health care to be imple-
mented in case of subsequent incapacity.** Yet in this
case the Missouri Supreme Court strongly suggested that
even a properly executed living will should not be honored
because a person could never know in advance the pre-
cise medical facts necessary for making an informed
choice at some future time.*

Further, both the Missouri Supreme Court and the
State’s Attorney General take the extraordinary position
that certain kinds of treatment—such as forced nutri-
tion and hydration—are always beyond the control of the
individuai, either while competent or through an advance
directive such as a living will.“ Such reasoning renders
living wills nugatory and takes from the dying the right
of choice at the moment when that right is most impor-
tant to them. This Court should not accept that view.

The right to refuse treatment is meaningless unless it
survives incapacity. Any other view would eviscerate the
right and lead to intolerable results.

It may be that a patient will make an informed deci-
sion against undergoing a particular procedure yet,
once the person’s condition deteriorates to be life-
threatening, the physician may perform the proce-
dure against the patient’s will on the grounds that
the situation was an emergency and informed consent
was therefore not required.”

38 See generally A Matter of Choice, supra n.3.

39 Pet. App. at A21 (“It is definitionally impossible for a person
to make an informed decision—either to consent or to refuse—
under hypothetical circumstances”). See also, Pet. App. at A37.

40In so ruling, the State admittedly rejects the rulings of vir-
tually every state and federal court that previously addressed this
issue. Pet. App. at Al0, n.4 and A29-30.

41 Andrews, “Informed Consent Statutes and the Decisionmaking
Process,” 5(2) J. Legal Med. 163, 208 (1984). See also, Leach v.

a 15

Accordingly, if a patient rejects life-sustaining treatment
with a clear understanding of the effects of such refusal—
which the trial court found to be the case with Nancy
Cruzan—‘“the materialization of such effects should not
be used to invalidate the decision made while compe-
tent.” * This Court should so hold in this case.

Iii. THE STATE HAS NO INTEREST SUFFICIENT
TO OVERRIDE THE TREATMENT CHOICES OF
DYING INDIVIDUALS

Missouri’s living will law affirms that every individ-
ual “has the primary right to request or refuse medical
treatment subject [only] to the state’s interest in pro-
tecting innocent third parties, preventing homicide and
suicide and preserving good ethical standards of the
medical profession.” ** The Missouri Supreme Court ac-
knowledged that none of those three enumerated State
interests is implicated in this case.“ But the court nev-
ertheless perceived a fourth “unqualified” State interest
—preservation of life no matter the circumstances of
that life—and proclaimed this interest paramount even
though the legislature did not include that interest in its
list of considerations that would limit an individual’s
right to refuse medical treatment. It strains credulity
that the legislature would fail even to mention an inter-
est it considered to be of such overriding importance.

In any event, the State’s supposed interest in the pro-
tection of life cannot overcome a dying person’s right to
bodily integrity and personal dignity: “[t]he notion that
the individual exists for the good of the state is, of

Shapiro, 469 N.E.2d 1047, 1053 (Ohio Ct. App. 1984) (“a physician
could circumvent the express wishes of a terminal patient by wait-
ing to act until the patient was comatose and critical”’).

*2 Andrews, supra n.41 at 208.
43 Mo. Rev. Stat. § 459.055(1) (1985).
* Pet. App. at A25.

-—-

16

course, quite antithetical to our fundamental thesis that
the role of the state is to ensure a maximum of individ-
ual freedom of choice and conduct.” * An unexplained,
undifferentiated State insistence on prolonging life in
every case—no matter the circumstances, no matter the
deprivation of personal freedom to the dying—should not
be found sufficient to undo basic individual rights.

Nor may the State limit the exercise of such rights by
invoking distinctions for which a rational basis is neither
proposed nor supportable. Given that one has a funda-
mental right to accept or decline medical treatment, the
State may not deny to patients receiving artificial
nourishment the rights afforded to patients receiving
artificial respiration, without demonstrating that the two
groups of patients differ in a legally relevant way.“
No such showing has been made nor could be made.

Indeed, the organized medical community has concluded
that artificial nourishment and hydration constitute medi-
cal treatment that is no different medically or morally
from other life-sustaining procedures. The AMA Judicial
Council has in fact issued the following opinion:

Even if death is not imminent but a patient’s coma
is beyond doubt irreversible and there are adequate
safeguards to confirm the accuracy of the diagnosis
and with the concurrence of those who have respon-
sibility for the care of the patient, it is not unethical
to discontinue all means of life-prolonging medical
treatment.

Life-prolonging medical treatment includes medica-
tion and artificially or technologically supplied respi-
ration, nutrition or hydration. In treating a termi-
nally ill or irreversibly comatose patient, the physi-
cian should determine whether the benefits of treat-

~

45 In re Osborne, 294 A.2d 372, 375 n.5 (D.C. 1972).
46 Fisenstadt, 405 U.S. at 447-448.

~ ee eee ee

» 47

-
~<oe @ee

|

ment outweigh its burdens. At all + aes the dignity
of the patient should be maintain

With the exception of the Cruzan court, the state and
federal courts that have addressed the issue have uni-
formly held that there is no legal basis for distinguishing
the artificial provision of nutrition and hydration through
a gastrostomy tube from any other procedure which sup-
plants a necessary bodily function.** Moreover, the no-
tion that artificial nutrition and hydration differ from
artificial respiration or kidney dialysis is insupportable
in view of the fact that a patient dies just as surely
from the removal! of the latter as the former.

The State of Missouri, like all States, does indeed have
significant interests—and responsibilities—in protecting
life. But it also has the obligation to distinguish among
the persons it seeks to protect, and to recognize that some
of those persons do not need, do not want, and are entitled
to reject the State’s “protection.” The National Hospice
Organization knows from years of experience that many
of the dying are included in that group of people. We
submit that their choice to reject State “protection” is
a basic right that should be honored by the Court in
this case.

*7 Council on Ethical & Judicial Affairs of the American Medical
Association, Current Opinions (1986) Opinion 2.18 (emphasis
added). See also “The Appleton Consensus: Suggested Interna-
tional Guidelines for Decisions to Forego Medical Treatment”
(1988), reprinted in 151(11) J. of Danish Med. Assoc. 700 (1989).

48 See In re Gardner, 534 A.2d at 954 and cases cited therein.
See also In re Prange, 527 N.E.2d 303 (Ill.), cert. denied, 109
S. Ct. 229 (1988.

18

CONCLUSION

This Court should reverse the decision of the Supreme
Court of Missouri, should recognize the right of the dying
to refuse unwanted treatment, should receznize further
that that right is not extinguished by incapacity, and
should recognize finally that the State has no interest
sufficient to override that right.

Respectfully submitted,

BARBARA F. MISHKIN
WALTER A. SMITH, JR.*
ANN MORGAN VICKERY
HOGAN & HARTSON
555 13th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 637-5728

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
* Counsel of Record National Hospice Urganization

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0463%3A20. Public record. Not legal advice.
