# Amicus Curiae Brief — Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance v. Russell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0403%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 473 U.S. 134

## Text

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.
oy Py FILED

No. 84-9. / ' NOV 14 1984

IN THE ’ mR L. STEVAS.

Supreme Court of the United States ““

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

MASSACHUSETTS MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
and CECILIA STEVENSON,
- Petitioners,

DorIs RUSSELL,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
FOR ALASKA FISHERMEN’S UNION-
SALMON CANNERS PENSION TRUST,

ALASKA FISHERMEN’S UNION-
SALMON CANNERS WELFARE TRUST,
ALASKA PLUMBING &
PIPEFITTING INDUSTRY PENSION TRUST FUND,
MONTANA TEAMSTER EMPLOYERS TRUST,
NATIONAL SHOPMEN PENSION FUND,
NORTHWEST METAL CRAFTS TRUST FUND,
OREGON TEAMSTER EMPLOYERS TRUST,
PRINTING SPECIALTIES AND
PAPER PRODUCTS JOINT EMPLOYER AND
UNION HEALTH AND WELFARE FUND,
RETAIL CLERKS PENSION TRUST,
RETAIL CLERKS WELFARE TRUST,
SOUTHERN CALIFORWIA LUMBER INDUSTRY
HEALTH AND WELFARE FUND,
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA LUMBER
INDUSTRY RETIREMENT FUND,

AND SPOKANE AREA HOTEL
AND RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES TRUST FUND

[Counsel listed on inside cover }

SST AE aA PEE SS
WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co.. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

® ceo co yvv'

THOMAS J. HART
(Counsel of Record)
LENA S. ZEZULIN
THOMAS HART & ASSOCIATES
Suite 302
1625 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 797-8700
RICHARD P. DONALDSON
DUANE KIEL
BRUCE MCKENZIE
DONALDSON & KIEL
Vanderveer Bldg., Suite 100
2819 First Avenue
Seattle, WA 98121
(206) 682-5261

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, under the Employee Retirement Income Se-
curity Act, a fiduciary of an employee benefit plan may
be held personally liable to a plan participant or benefici-
ary for punitive or compensatory damages for improper
or untimely processing of benefit claims?

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company*
Cecilia Stevenson
Doris Russell

* The following are non-wholly owned subsidiaries of the Massa-
chusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company as well as companies that
may be deemed affiliates thereof:

MML Blend Investment Company, Inc.

MML Equity Investment Company, Inc.

MML Managed Bond Investment Company, Inc.
MML Money Market Investment Company, Inc.
MML Bay State Life Insurance Company
MassMutual Corporate Investors, Inc.
MassMutual Income Investors, Inc.
MassMutual Mortgage and Realty Investors
MassMutual Liquid Assets Trust

Maslif One & Co.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

8,

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ...........................

po Re en

icc cecnticticenecinpatsnensineesentnntignemnsennte

STATEMENT OF THE CASE -ooo.2.oo22n.....eeseeeceneeeeees

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT Wee

SI Riad dealcilectiicscisitnidsteictainennitcplanantnicnkine

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling is Inconsistent with
ERISA’s Terms and Underlying Policy ...............

Il.

A.

ERISA Established Interrelated but Separate
Rules to Protect Employee Benefit Plans and
their Individual Participants and Benefici-

ERISA Provides Remedies for Individuals
Which Are Different from Those Available
RRS Se Gea ET RS Pi Mirae eon es

. ERISA Does not Provide for any ee

of Punitive Damages .........

By Effectively Altering the Provisions of
ERISA, The Ninth Circuit Has Usurped the
Legislative Function ........... 20.22.

The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling Will Have a Severe
Adverse Impact on Multiemployer Benefit Plans
and their Participants .............. one . ;

(iii)

10

11

12

14

16

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

. The Nature and Importance of Multiemployer
Benefit Plans to the Retirement Security and
to the Health and Welfare Benefits of Mil-
lions of Employees ...........—------------------------+-----

_ The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling will Severely In-
jure Multiemployer Benefit Plans and their
Participants because it will Undermine the
Prudent and Careful Administration of Such
es aioe

_ The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling will Deter Quali-
fied Persons from Serving as Fund Trustees
and Administrators .................-.--.---0:--0---------+++

_ The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling is Injurious to
the Dispute Resolution Process Favored by
n= 5. asenmnencoctatanmmeianesaneoess

. Compensatory and Punitive Damages are
not Uniformly Awarded and are Frequently
Large and Inconsistent ................-------------- =

CONCLUSION ......--.------------c-ees-nneeeesenenecenceeoennnsnnssnessnnnnnsenes

Page

17

21

30

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Bayles v. Central States, Southeast, Etc., 602 F.2d
REE Se a SN 1
Bittner v. Sadoff & Rudoy Industries, 728 F.2d 820
gp ta Rice RT a 2 anata et
Brune v. Morse, 475 F.2d 858 (8th Cir. 1978) ........
Clark v. Celeb Pub., Inc., 530 F.Supp. 979
ne I
Cooper v. Department of Admin., State of Nev.,
558 F.Supp. 244 (D. Nev. 1982) —...0000
Dependahl v. Falstaff Brewing Corp., 653 F.2d 1208
(8th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 968
a aE NTE Ma Manes ee I le Ia
Electrical Workers v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42 (1979)...
Feathers v. U.M.W. Health and Retirement Funds,
99 L.R.R.M. 2287 (D.D.C. 1978) ......0.000000000....
Freeport Sulphur Co. v. S/S Hermosa, 526 F.2d
rn
Hysell v. lowa Public Serv. Co., 559 F.2d 468 (8th
I
Kross v. Western Electric Co., Inc., 701 F.2d 1238
(7th Cir. 1983), aff’g in part and rev’g in part,
— EO ne See
Lucas v. Warner & Swasey Company, 475 F.Supp.
Be I I D cncitiintittsscessccencesetibteee
Moglia v. Geoghegan, 403 F.2d 110 (2nd Cir.
TE a EE Ee: a ETS a ee ee
Moore v. Greene, 431 F.2d 584 (9th Cir. 1970) ......
Nachmen Corp. v. PBGC, 446 U.S. 359 (1980),
reh. denied, 448 U.S. 908 (1980)...
Newport v. Facts Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247
SES eA NR 2d SAE Se
NLRB v. Amazx Coal Co., 453 U.S. 8322 (1981) _......
Ross v. United States, 640 F.2d 511 (5th Cir.
Sy actin ie Oi se ee
Ryan v. Foster & Marshall, Inc., 556 F.2d 460 (9th
ED i ee ere
Stoleson v. United States, 708 F.2d 1217 (7th Cir.
BS ER ee ;

13
15

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Vanelli v. Reynolds School Dist. No. 7, 667 F.2d
7173 (9th Cir. 1982) ........----------------eceeceeesesneseeneees 28
Whitaker v. Texaco, 566 F. Supp. 745 (N.D. Ga.
DOBB) —— onvennnccnnnecsceceersenesovnscesenscwesenennsnscesonsnenensoneneees 13
STATUTES
26 U.S.C. § 4975 (ERISA § 2008) -.......-----------------++- 11
2B U.S.C. § 1254 (1) -....------------c-eceeeeeeeeeeeeenenenenenenennnes ;
28 U.S.C. § 1381 (a) -.....-------------------eeeeneeeneneneneneeeennenens ;
2B U.S.C. § 1441 (a) -....-.--------------0-nceeneenenneeneneeneeneesenees
29 U.S.C. § 186(c) (5) and (6) ........-----------------e0ee- 18
29 U.S.C. § 1104 (ERISA § 404) ...........-.------------------ 21
29 U.S.C. § 1108 (ERISA § 408 (a) (2) ) -......-.-.-------- 23
29 U.S.C. § 1109 (ERISA § 409) -...........-------------------- passim
29 U.S.C. § 1131 (ERISA § 501) -............---.------------- ; 4
29 U.S.C. § 1182 (ERISA § 502) .............----..------------- passim
29 U.S.C. § 1182(a) (1) (B) (ERISA § 502(a) (1)
CIB) ) anannnncecccnveoccceserenerevem 7
29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1 (h) (4) .....-------------------0--0---0-- 7
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
House Education and Labor Committee Report on
H.R. 12906, 93rd Cong., 2nd Sess., reprinted
in Legislative History of the Employee Retire-
ment Income Security Act of 1974 (Legislative
History) (1976) U.S. Government Printing
Office, pp. 32938-3350 ...........-.---------------e-----ee-ee2ee-e0> 15
House Report No. 1280, 93d Cong., 2nd Sess.
(1974), reprinted in Legislative History, pp.
4277-4654 12

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Senate Report No. 127, 98d Cong., 1st Sess. (1973),
reprinted in Legislative History, pp. 587-665

Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980

House Education and Labor Committee Report on
H.R. 3964 (Rept. 96-869, Part I, April 2, 1980) ..
House Ways and Means Committee Report on H.R.
3904 (Rept. 96-869, Part II, April 23, 1980).
Senate Labor Committee Summary and Analysis of
Consideration of S.1706 (April 1980) U.S. Code
Cong. & Admin. News

BOOKS AND PERIODICALS

eg

38 Am. Jur. 2d Fright, Shock and Mental Dis-
RT ae Fe
Robert D. Cooper, Multiemployer Health and Wel-
fare Plan Operations and Express (1983) Inter-
national Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans,
Brookfield, Wisconsin .........................--...-...-0..-....
Robert D. Cooper and Melody A. Carlsen, Pension
Fund Operations and Expenses (1980) Interna-
tional Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans,
Brookfield, Wisconsin —....000000000 00
Robert D. Cooper and Hetty K. Balanoff, Technical
Report: A Study of Taft-Hartley Health and
Welfare Trust Fund Operations Cost (1979) In-
national Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans,
Brookfield, Wisconsin .......
Jury Verdicts Weekly, Vols. 26 (1982), 27 (1983)

and 28 (1984), Jury Verdicts, Inc., Sante. Rosa,
California

ie ee

Page

12

18

18

18

19

19

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-9

MASSACHUSETTS MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
and CECILIA STEVENSON,

‘. Petitioners,

DorRIs RUSSELL,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
FOR ALASKA FISHERMEN’S UNION-
SALMON CANNERS PENSION TRUST,

ALASKA FISHERMEN’S UNION-
SALMON CANNERS WELFARE TRUST,
ALASKA PLUMBING &
PIPEFITTING INDUSTRY PENSION TRUST FUND,
MONTANA TEAMSTER EMPLOYERS TRUST,
NATIONAL SHOPMEN PENSION FUND,
NORTHWEST METAL CRAFTS TRUST FUND,
OREGON TEAMSTER EMPLOYERS TRUST,
PRINTING SPECIALTIES AND
PAPER PRODUCTS JOINT EMPLOYER AND
UNION HEALTH AND WELFARE FUND,
RETAIL CLERKS PENSION TRUST,
RETAIL CLERKS WELFARE TRUST,
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA LUMBER INDUSTRY
HEALTH AND WELFARE FUND,
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA LUMBER
INDUSTRY RETIREMENT FUND,

AND SPOKANE AREA HOTEL
AND RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES TRUST FUND

The amici curiae Alaska Fishermen’s Union-Salmon
Canners Pension Trust, Alaska Fishermen’s Union-
Salmon Canners Welfare Trust, Alaska Plumbing &
Pipefitting Industry Pension Trust Fund, Montana
Teamster Employers Trust, National Shopmen Pension
Fund, Northwest Metal Crafts Trust Fund, Oregon
Teamster Employers Trust, Printing Specialties and
Paper Products Joint Employer and Union Health and
Welfare Fund, Retail Clerks Pension Trust, Retail Clerks
Welfare Trust, Southern California Lumber Industry
Health and Welfare Fund, Southern California Lumber
Industry Retirement Fund, and Spokane Area Hotel
and Restaurant Employees Trust Fund, respectfully sub-
mit this brief in support of the petitioners in the above-
captioned case, pursuant to Rule 36.3 of the Supreme
Court rules. The amici curiae have obtained the consent
of counsel for both the petitioner and the respondent.

The amici curiae have an interest in this action be-
cause they are multiemployer pension and health and
welfare plans organized under the authority of the Taft-
Hartley Act and the Employee Retirement Income Se-
curity Act ‘ERISA).

The Alz a Fishemen’s Union-Salmon Canners Pen-
sion Trust 1s a pension plan with 1,191 participants and
13 contributing employers. It received 40 claims during
its last reporting year. The Alaska Fishermen’s Union-
Salmon Canners Welfare Trust is a health and welfare
plan with 1,122 participants and 13 contributing employ-
ers. It received 893 claims during its last reporting year.
“he Alaska Plumbing & Pipefitting Industry Pension
Trust Fund is a pension plan with 1,357 participants and
200 contributing employers. It received 49 claims during
its last reporting year. The Montana Teamster Employ-
ers Trust is a health and welfare plan with 1,904 par-
ticipants and 179 contributing employers. It received
28,600 claims during its last reporting year. The Na-
tional Shopmen Pension Fund is a pension plan with

17,000 participants and 283 contributing employers. It
received 480 claims during its last reporting year. The
Northwest Metal Crafts Trust Fund is a health and
welfare plan with 5,695 participants and 139 contribut-
ing employers. It received 20,000 claims during its last
reporting year. The Oregon Teamster Employers Trust
is a health and welfare plan with 17,600 participants
and 993 contributing employers. It received 58,200 claims
during its last reporting year. The Printing Specialties
and Paper Products Joint Employer and Union Health
and Welfare Fund is a health and welfare plan with
8,400 participants and 126 contributing employers. It
received 102,000 claims during its last reporting year.
The Retail Clerks Pension Trust is a pension plan with
25,153 participante and 738 contributing employers. It
received 258 claims during its last reporting year. The
Retail Clerks Welfare Trust is a welfare plan with
17,100 participants and 667 contributing employers. It
received 222,672 claims during its last reporting year.
The Southern California Lumber Industry Health and
Welfare Fund is a health and welfare plan with 8,200
participants and 560 contributing employers. It received
42,000 claims during its last reporting year. The South-
ern California Lumber Industry Retirement Fund is a
pension plan with 7,600 participants and 460 contribut-
ing employers. It received 420 claims during its last
reporting year. The Spokane Area Hotel and Restaurant
Employees Trust Fund is a health and welfare plan with
659 participants and 25 contributing employers. It re-
ceived 4,263 claims during its last reporting year. To-
gether, these plans processed 479,775 claims during their
last reporting year.

The Ninth Circuit’s ruling below has extraordinarily
severe implications for the administration and financial
well-being of all employee benefit plans. But, that de-
cision has particularly severe consequences for multiem-
ployer plans.

4
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at
722 F.2d 482 (9th Cir. 1983), and appears in the Ap-
pendix to the petition at nages la to 25a. The order of
the United States District Court for the Central District
of California granting petitioner’s motion for summary
*4dgment, as well as the findings of fact and conclusions
of law issued in connection therewith, are unreported
and appear in the Appendix to the petition at pages 26a
to 32a.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit was entered on December 16, 1983. A timely
petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en
bane was denied by that Court on April 6, 1984. Ap-
pendix to petition at page 34a. The petition for writ of
certiorari was docketed on July 5, 1984. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court was invoked by petitioners pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). This Court granted certiorari
on October 1, 1984.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

This case involves Sections 409, 501, 502 and 503 of
the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
as amended (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1109, 1131, 1132,
and 1133, and 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1 promulgated pur-
suant to ERISA § 503. These provisions are reproduced
in the Appendix to the petition at pages 35a to 48a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent, Doris Russell (Russell), was an employee
of a California office of the petitioner, Massachusetts
Mutual Life Insurance Company (Mass Mutual). Mass
Mutual sponsors two employee benefit plans which pro-
vide disability benefits to eligible employees. Both plans
are provided at no cost to employees and are funded by

1 Amici Curiae accept petitioner’s statement of the case, but
provide a synopsis of it herein.

5

the general assets of the company. Both plans are
covered by ERISA?

Russell filed a disability claim under the company’s
salary continuance plan in May, 1979, asserting that she
could not work because of a back problem. Mass Mutual
began payment of benefits.

In August, 1979, the claim was reviewed by Mass
Mutual’s Disability Committee. The Disability Commit-
tee referred Russell to an orthopedic surgeon. In Sep-
tember, 1979, this specialist examined Russell and con-
cluded that, from an orthopedic perspective, she was not
physically disabled. On October 17, 1979, Russell was
notified that disability payments would be discontinued
upon the recommendation of the Disability Committee.
Russell was also advised of her right to appeal that
decision to the Plan Administrator.

On October 22, 1979, Russell wrote to the Director of
Group Claims (not to the Plan Administrator) and
asked for additional information regarding the termina-
tion of her benefits and for an application for long-term
disability benefits. She also stated her intention to ap-
peal the termination of her disability benefits and to
submit additional medical information.

On November 27, 1979, Russell wrote to the Plan Ad-
ministrator concerning her appeal and submitted addi-
tional evidence, including a report from her psychiatrist
which indicated that she was suffering from a psycho-
somatic disability with physical manifestations rather
than an orthopedic disability.

The Mass Mutual Plan Administrator treated Rus-
sell’s letter of November 27, 1979 as a formal appeal
and referred it to the Disability Committee. Russell
was examined by an independent psychiatrist, who con-
firmed that Russell suffered from a psychiatric dis-
ability in a report dated February 15, 1980. On the

2 Petitioner Cecilia Stevenson, an employee of Mass Mutual, was
Russell’s supervisor at Mass Mut~al.

6

basis of this report, the Disability Committee recom-
mended that Russell’s benefits be reinstated retroactively.
The Plan Administrator adopted this recommendation
and informed Russell of his decision on March 11, 1980.
Payment of all benefits due was made two days later.

Although she received full benefits from both plans,
Russell sued Mass Mutual in California Superior Court
on December 9, 1980 for compensatory and punitive
damages for the “untimely and improper” handling of
her benefit claim,? which allegedly resulted in economic
loss and mental anguish.*

After removal of the case to the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Central District of California on the
ground that the case was governed by ERISA,° the
District Court granted a motion by Mass Mutual for
summary judgment. The court first held that all of
Russell’s state law claims arising from the processing
of her claim for disability benefits were pre-empted by
ERISA. The court then concluded that, as a matter of
law, punitive and compensatory damages are not avail-
able to plan participants under ERISA. By so ruling,
the court tacitly acknowledged that a plan participant
only has a claim against the plan for non-payment of
benefits and costs of litigation, including fees. Because
Russell had been paid benefits in full, she was not en-
titled to any additional relief. The Court found that

8 Other employment-related claims were also asserted; the only
claim addressed herein by the amici curiae is Russell’s claim with
respect to her disability benefits.

4 Russell claimed, inter alia, that Mass Mutual’s delay forced her
husband, who was also unemployed on the grounds of disability,
to cash out his retirement savings plan. Russell alleged that she
and her husband lost the security of lifetime benefits. Russell also
sought damages for emotional distress and claimed that her pre-
existing psychosomatic illness was aggravated as a result of the
improper and untimely handling of her claim.

5 Mass Mutual removed this action pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441

(a), alleging the existence of federal jurisdiction under 29 U.S.C.
§ 1132(e) (1) and 28 U.S.C. § 1331(a).

7

Russell’s appeal was filed on November 27, 1979 and
rejected her contention that she was entitled to damages
because her claim had not been processed in 120 days,
as required by regulations promulgated under ERISA
§ 503, 29 U.S.C. § 1133. See 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1(h)
(1983) .®

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the District Court’s hold-
ing that Russell’s state law claims were pre-empted by
ERISA. However, the Ninth Circuit reversed the Dis-
trict Court’s grant of summary judgment. The appel-
late court held that Russell’s complaint had stated a
claim under ERISA for breach of fiduciary duty based
on the allegedly improper or untimely handling of her
appeal. The Court of Appeals determined that Russell’s
appeal began with her initial letter of October 22, 1979
and that Mass Mutual, therefore, rendered its final de-
termination twelve days beyond the 120-day limit.

The Court of Appeals went on to hold that such a
claim could support an award of both compensatory and
punitive damages. The appellate court based its opinion
on an interpretation of ERISA § 409, 29 U.S.C. § 1109.
It held that Section 409, which expressly imposes upon
fiduciaries a personal liability to the plan for fiduciary
breaches, also makes fiduciaries personally liable to indi-
vidual participants with respect to benefit claims. The
Ninth Circuit is the only appellate court to have held
that Section 409 authorizes recovery against plan fiduci-

aries by individual participants for denial of a benefit
claim.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The ruling of the Ninth Circuit is inconsistent with
doth the terms of ERISA and the Act’s underlying legis-

*The regulations which require benefit claims to be decided
within 120 days do not provide affirmative relief. These regula-
tions simply provide that, in the event of the plan’s failure to
render a decision within that time, “the claim shall be deemed
denied on review.” 29 C.F.R. § 2560. 508-1(h) (4). The participant
can then file suit under ERISA Section 502 without fear that a
defense of failure to exhaust remedies can be raised.

8

lative policy. ERISA, which is a “comprehensive and
reticulated statute”, provides two distinct and separate
sets of remedies: one for employee benefit plans them-
selves and one for benefit claimants. The remedies avail-
able to employee benefit plans are contained in ERISA
Section 502. That provision expressly authorizes awards
of personal liability against plan trustees and other fi-
duciaries who breach their fiduciary obligations to the
plan. The exclusive remedies available to persons claim-
ing that benefits were erroneously denied them or that
claims were improperly processed are set forth in ERISA
Section 409. The latter provision specifically limits re-
lief to the benefits due plus attorneys’ fees and other costs
of litigation. Remedies under Section 409 are awarded
against plans only. Section 409 does not authorize awards
of damages against trustees or other fiduciaries person-
ally. Neither of these carefully crafted remedial pro-
visions authorizes awards of either punitive or extra-
contractual compensatory damages.

Congress, by creating a separate remedial provision for
persons seeking benefits, balanced the need to encourage
care in the administration of benefit claims with its
express policy of encouraging the growth of the private
pension system. The Ninth Circuit’s rewriting of
ERISA’s remedial scheme has upset the balance struck
by Congress. Unless it is overruled, the decision below
will cause serious injury to multiemployer benefit plans
and hence to their participants. |

The ruling below will severely injure multiemployer
plans because it will undermine the prudent and care-
ful administration of such plans. Out of a fear of liti-
gation and concomitant risk of personal liability, trus-
tees and fiduciaries will become likely to acquiesce in
questionable claims to the detriment of a plan’s financial
soundness. The ruling will also injure multiemployer
funds by effectively deterring responsible persons from
serving as trustees and fiduciaries.

9

The ruling below will further injure multiemployer
plans by irretrievably damaging the informal dispute
resolution process favored by the Act. With the prospect
of personal liability facing them in every case of benefit
determination or administration, plan trustees are likely
to become far less flexible in resolving benefit claims out
of a concern that a change of mind will later be asserted
as evidence of impropriety. The lack of flexibility will
inevitably result in increased litigation. Indeed, some
benefit claimants may be encouraged to forego an in-
formal resolution in the hope of also obtaining a wind-
fall award of punitive damages.

ARGUMENT

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling is Inconsistent with
ERISA’s Terms and Underlying Policy

The Ninth Cireuit’s ruling that punitive and extra-
statutory compensatory damages may be awarded to plan
participants and beneficiaries is contrary to the plain
words of ERISA. It is, moreover, inimical to the care-
fully tailored policies established by federal pension law.
The Ninth Circuit’s ruling is in error principally for
two reasons. ERISA was carefully crafted by Congress
to provide that awards of damages against trustees or
other fiduciaries personally were to be only in favor of
the funds themselves and not individual participants and
beneficiaries. And, ERISA does not authorize the award-
ing of punitive damages to anyone.

In this section of our brief we first outline (in Part
A) the different rules established by ERISA to protect
plans as a whole and individuals entitled to benefits. We
next (in Part B) review the remedial provisions of
ERISA and show that they do not permit recovery by
individual claimants from fiduciaries for benefit claims
decisions. We then demonstrate (in Part C) that ERISA
contains no authorization for awards of punitive dam-
ages. Finally (in Part D), we show that the Ninth Cir-
cuit’s ruling has upset, without justification, the care-
fully crafted statutory scheme enacted by Congress.

10
A. ERISA Established Interrelated but Separate Rules

to Protect Employee Benefit Plans and their Indi-
vidual Participants and Beneficiaries

As this court has observed, ERISA is a “comprehen-
sive and reticulated statute” in which Congress estab-
lished many detailed rules to further “the well-being and
security of millions of employees and their dependents”
and to remedy the numerous flaws in the private pension
plan system. Nachman Corp. v. PBGC, 446 U.S. 359,
361 (1980), reh. denied, 448 U.S. 908 (1980). ERISA
improved the benefit security of Americans in two dis-
tinct ways: it promoted the financial integrity and
growth of employee benefit plans and it established rules
protecting the receipt of benefits by individuals. The two
approaches were clearly interrelated, since the financial
stability of plans ultimately protects the benefits of par-
ticipants entitled to benefits under the plans.

ERISA protects individual benefits through partici-
pation and vesting requirements, and through reporting
and disclosure rules. The vesting and participation rules
protect individuals’ entitlement to benefits. The report-
ing and disclosure rules protect the right of individuals
to receive information about plan benefits.

Congress also wanted to promote the growth of em-
ployee benefit plans because such growth would lead to
improved benefit security for millions of Americans.
ERISA promotes the growth and stability of employee
benefit plans by establishing funding requirements for
plans and rules for fiduciary behavior. The funding
rules require plans to provide adequate long-term fund-
ing for benefits payable in the future. The fiduciary
rules impose strict requirements of prudence and im-
partiality upon all persons having discretionary author-
ity over plan assets. However, the fiduciary rules, while
stringent, do not deter qualified individuals from serving
as plan fiduciaries because they are clear and do not

11

penalize fiduciaries for informed good faith discretionary
decisions. \

B. ERISA Provides Remedies for Individuals Which
Are Different from Those Available to Plans

ERISA differentiates between remedies available to
plans themselves and remedies available to individual
participants and beneficiaires who are claiming bene-
fits. The statute expressly imposes personal liability
upon fiduciaries to make plans whole for any loss result-
ing from a breach of a fiduciary obligation or to disgorge
any profit made as a result of such breach. Indeed,
ERISA also provides for payment of excise taxes by fi-
duciaries and other parties in interest who violate the
prohibited transaction rules (which prohibit self-dealing).
The excise taxes are assessed and collected by the Internal
Revenue Service. 26 U.S.C. § 4975. But, ERISA does not
authorize the assessment of personal liability in favor of
a plan beneficiary who has sued with respect to a benefit
determination.

The remedies of personal liabilty are reserved for
breaches of fiduciary duties to plans themselves because
ERISA’s rules of fiduciary conduct were designed prin-
cipally to protect plans from losses caused by fiduciary
malfeasance or negligence. An erroneous benefit deter-
mination or inappropriate administration of a claim
does not result in an economic loss to an employee bene-
fit plan. The Fund would, in any event, eventually be
required to pay the claim. Neither does an erroneous
benefit determination result in any personal financial
benefit to a plan fiduciary. An assessment of personal
liability against a fiduciary in favor of a benefit claim-
ant simply is not consistent with the Act’s fiduciary
scheme.

The separateness of the Act’s two remedial schemes
is especially evident when one notes that ERISA § 409
provides equitable and remedial relief for fiduciary

12

breaches only to plans themselves. That provision is not
applicable to relief sought by individual participants.’
Relief for individual participants and beneficiaries who
have been denied benefits is exclusively pursuant to
ERISA § 502(a)(1)(B), 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) (1) (B).
This latter provision does not authorize the imposition
of personal liability upon fiduciaries for any compensa-
tory or punitive damages to individual participants or
beneficiaries. Rather, it limits benefit claimants to re-
covery ot benefits due from the plan and to cosis of
litigation, including attorneys’ fees.

The Ninth Circuit’s ruling effectively rewrites the
latter provision. By imposing upon plan fiduciaries ex-
trastatutory personal liability for their benefit determi-
nations and administration, the Ninth Circuit substituted
its judgment for the policy choices made by Congress
when it enacted and amended ERISA.

C. ERISA Does not Provide for any Imposition of
Punitive Damages

While ERISA provides detailed remedies to plans and
beneficiaries and imposes the payment of excise taxes as
a penalty for some violations, it makes absolutely no
provision for the imposition of any punitive damages
payable to plans or to individual claimants. The personal
liability of fiduciaries for fiduciary breach is designed to
compensate the plan for any actual loss or for income

7 ERISA’s legislative history confirms that any recovery under
Section 409 necessarily benefits the plan as a whole. See, e.g. H.
Conf. Rep. No. 1280, 93d Cong., 2nd Sess., p. 320 (1974), reprinted
in Legislative History of the Employee Retirement Income Security
Act of 1974 (Legislative History) (1976) U.S. Government Printing
Office, p. 4587 (personal liability of fiduciary for losses to the plan
resulting from fiduciary breach) and S. Rep. No. 127, 93d Cong.,
1st Sess. 33 (1973), reprinted in Legislative History, p. 619 (per-
sonal liability of fiduciary to reimburse fund for losses resulting
from fiduciary breach and to turn over any profits obtained by use
of fund assets).

13

that should have inured to the plan but for the breach.
Similarly, a plan’s liability to an individual entitled to
a benefit is limited to the benefit and the costs incurred
in any litigation to obtain the benefit.

The Eighth Circuit has recognized that punitive dam-
ages are not available to individual benefit claimants
under ERISA. In Dependahl v. Falstaff Brewing Corp.,
653 F.2d 1208 (8th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S.
968 (1981), that court stated:

We do not think that punitive damages are provided
for in ERISA. Ordinarily punitive damages are not
presumed; they are not the norm; and nowhere in
ERISA are they mentioned. If Congress had desired
to provide for punitive damages, it could have easily
so stated, as it has in other acts.

653 F.2d at 1216; see also Bittner v. Sadoff & Rudoy
Industries, 728 F.2d 820, 825-26 (7th Cir. 1984), which
held that punitive damages are not available in an ac-
tion for plan benefits under ERISA § 502(a) (1) (B).
The Eighth Circuit zecognized that the extraordinary
remedy of punitive damages could not be added to
ERISA by judicial fiat. So too has a strong majority of
the district courts that have considered the question.
See Whitaker v. Texaco, 566 F. Supp. 745 (N.D. Ga.
1983) and cases cited therein.

This court has also held, in a recent decision, that
punitive damages cannot be recovered from a munici-
pality under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (the Civil Rights Act of
1866) because nothing in that law or its legislative his-
tory indicated that Congress intended to abolish the
traditional municipal immunity from punitive damages.
Newport v. Facts Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 263-64
(1981). This Court found, in that case, that “the ex-
clusion of punitive damages was no oversight,” but,
rather, a deliberate Congressional choice. 453 U.S. 265.
Similarly, in the case of ERISA, Congress’ exclusion of

14

punitive damages from the statutory framework of
ERISA was not an oversight that should be remedied
by judges. It was a deliberate policy choice. Congress
considered, and adopted, a myriad of remedial measures
designed to secure the financial integrity of employee
penefit plans and the rights of individuals entitled to
benefits under those plans. Congress simply did not find
that the draconian remedy of punitive damages was nec-

essary for its purposes.

D. By Effectively Altering the Provisions of ERISA,
The Ninth Circuit Has Usurped the Legislative
Function

The different remedial provisions of Sections 409 and
502 reflect the delicate balance struck by Congress among
the multiple purposes served by ERISA. Among the
most important of those purposes are: (1) the promo-
tion of the expansion of the private pension plan sys-
tem; (2) the deterrence of fiduciary malfeasance; and
(3) the securing of benefits expected by individual par-
ticipants and beneficiaries. Congress balanced the pro-
phylactic effect cf the imposition of personal liability
upon fiduciaries as a deterrence for malfeasance against
the need to promote expansion of pension plans. Con-
gress determined that personal liability to the plan for
fiduciary breaches would deter malfeasance, but that
excessive imposition of personal liability (such as was
created by the Ninth Circuit) would hamper the crea-
tion of new plans, the expansion of existing ones, and
the recruitment of plan trustees.

Congress, in balancing competing concerns, clearly felt
that deterrent measures (such as the imposition of per-
sonal liability) designed to prevent abuses of plan re-
sources were not an appropriate way of dealing with
errors made in connection with benefit claims by par-
ticipants. Balancing the need for encouraging the exer-
cise of care in benefit claim determinations and adminis-

15

tration against its policy of promoting pension plan
expansion, Congress authorized full recovery of benefits
due to individuals from plans, as well as costs of litiga-
tion (including attorneys’ fees). But, it did not go so
far as to impose personal liability upon plan fiduciaries
for either compensatory or ~unitive damages. ERISA is
carefully crafted to deter aalfeasance in the manage-
ment of plans, provide remedies to individual claimants,
and yet not create barriers to the exp-nsion of the
private pension system. This Court has, ‘in other circum-
stances, observed that there must be a “careful balance
of individual and collective interests” in Electrical
Workers v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42, 48 (1979) (punitive
damages are not available for claims of breach of duty
of fair representation under the Railway Labor Act, 45
U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq.). Congress created such a balance
in ERISA.

One additional point must be made concerning the
Ninth Circuit’s rewriting of ERISA’s remedial provi-
sions. Congress designed ERISA to be a nationwide,
uniform system of administration for employee benefit
plans. Prior to ERISA, such plans were governed by the
principles of trust law, which varied considerably from
state to state. Such state variation precluded uniform
plan administration and was particularly prejudicial to
large nationwide plans, such as collectively bargained
multiemployer plans. One of Congress’ purposes in pass-
ing ERISA was to remedy this problem:

The uniformity of decision which the Act is designed
to foster will help administrators, fiducidries and
participants to predict the legality of proposed ac-
tions without the necessity of reference to varying
state law.

Report of House Education and Labor Committee or.
H.R. 12906, 93rd Cong., 2nd Sess. 1974, reprinted in
Legislative History of the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act (1976) U.S. Government Printing Office,

16
p. 3308. The grafting of punitive damages onto the

framework of ERISA would subvert the goal of national
uniformity. This is so because punitive damages are

generally awarded pursuant to state law principles. The
exposure of plan fiduciaries to such damages will result
in divergent, inconsistent rulings throughout the many
courts of this country.

The Ninth Circuit upset the careful balance struck
by Congress without any justification. The imposition of
personal liability upon plan fiduciaries for prior errors
in claims processing does not significantly add to the de-
terrent effect of the measures expressly provided by
Conzress to prevent fiduciary malfeasance. Neither does
it add to the ability of individual participants to secure
benefits. Benefits are already secured under the benefit
recovery provisions of Section 502. But, the Ninth Jir-
cuit’s ruling has extremely deleterious effects on plans.
Unless it is reversed, the decision will adversely alter the
decision-making procedures of plan trustees and, by dis-
couraging responsible persons from serving as trustees,
significantly inhibit the expansion of the private pension
plan system. We now turn to a discussion of these con-
sequences as they apply to multiemployer plans.

II. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling Will Have a Severe Adverse
Impact on Multiemployer Benefit Plans and their
Participants

Multiemployer plans are integral to the financial se-
curity of millions of Americans. The Ninth Circuit’s
ruling will injure multiemployer plan administration,
deter qualified individuals from serving as plan fiduci-
aries, discourage the process of dispute resolution estab-
lished by ERISA, and expose fiduciaries to liabilities
that they cannot estimate and for which they may be
unable to insure themselves. It is likely, moreover, to
result in increased litigation against plans (with a con-
comitant increase in plan administrative costs) since

17

benefit claimants may file suit or refrain from compro-
mise so that they might seek the windfall of an award
of punitive damages. The cumulative effect of this is to
undermine the stability of multiemployer plans and effec-
tively halt their expansion. In this section of our brief,
we first provide the Court with a brief summary of the
structure of multiemployer benefit plans and a discussion
of the vital role they play in the benefit security of mil-
lions of Americans. We then review the ways in which
the Ninth Circuit’s decision will adversely affect such
plans.

A. The Nature and Impe: tance of Multiemployer Bene-
fit Plans to the Re? rement Security and to the
Health and Welfare Benefits of Millions of Em-
ployees

Multiemployer employee benefit plans play a vital role
in the financial well-being of millions of workers. They
enable the employees of small and medium sized com-
panies to obtain the level of pension and health and wel-
fare benefits only available from large plans. They per-
mit employees who work for more than one employer in
the same industry to accumulate meaningful pension
benefits. They also protect pension benefits when an em-
ployer leaves the plan. Multiemployer plans support two
important features of the American economy: small bus-
inesses and a mobile workforce.

Small and medium sized companies often cannot afford
sophisticated and generous employee benefits such as
those provided xy large corporate plans. Large employee
benefit plans can profit from substantial economies of
scale and can also more accurately reflect the science of
“averages,” which forms the basis of actuarial predic-
tions. An increase in p'an size considerabiy reduces the
risk that a plan may suffer financial adversity because
its benefit claims experience does not accurately mirror
statistical predi-tions.

18

Because multiemployer pension plans generally include
many employers in an industry, an employee moving
from one employer in the plan to another continues to
accumulate benefits without interruption. By their very
nature, multiemployer plans provide a form of “portable”
benefits which do not exist elsewhere. These portable
benefits result in greater benefit security. Multiemployer
plans also protect pension benefits because they provide
benefits to an employee even though his or her employer
leaves the plan.

Congress has recognized that multiemployer plans
“typically provide workers with greater retirement se-
curity than single employer plans.” Senate Labor Com-
mittee Summary and Analysis of Consideration of 8.1076
(April 1980) U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, p. 2985.
Accordingly, Congress has repeatedly passed legislation
to strengthen multiemployer plans. The most compre-
hensive effort in this regard was the Multiemployer Pen-
sion Plan Amendments Act of 1980, which amended
ERISA by imposing withdrawal liability upon employ-
ers who withdraw from multiemployer pension plans.
Sectic.: 3 of the Act explicitly states that it is Congres-
sional policy to encourage the maintenance and growth
of multiemployer pension plans.®

Multiemployer benefit plans are establishea through
collective bargaining agreements. The Taft-Hartley Act
of 1947 specifically provided for the formation of trusts
to administer health and welfare and pension funds for
employees represented by labor unions in collective bar-
gaining with management. 29 U.S.C. § 186(c)(5) and

8 The 1980 Amendments to ERISA were enacted by Pub. L. No.
96-364, 94 Stat. 1208-1311 (1980). For further discussion of
Congressional policy to encourage the maintenance and growth
of multiemployer pension plans, see House Ways and Means Com-
mittee Report on H.R. 3904 (Rept. 96-869, Part II, April 23, 1980)
and House Labor Committee Report on H.R. 3904 (Rept. 96-869,
Part I, April 2, 1980).

19

(6). That statute also required such plans to be man-
aged by trustee boards equally divided between revresen-
tatives of management and of labor. See NLRB v. Amazx
Coal Co., 453 U.S. 322 (1981) for a description of the
functioning of such trustees.

Collectively bargained multiemployer benefit plans pro-
vide coverage to millions of American workers. Multi-
employer pension plans are primarily defined benefit
plans. Multiemployer pension plans represent only 2.3%
of all pension plans and 3.2% of all defined benefit pen-
sion plans. Nonetheless, defined benefit muitiemployer
pension plans provide pension coverage to 20-26% of all
defined benefit pension plan participants.® In 1980, there
were 1,826 multiemployer defined benefit pension plans in
the country. These pension plans covered 8.5 million ac-
tive workers and over 10 million total participants and
beneficiaries.”°

Multiemployer health and welfare funds provide a sim-
ilarly large proportion of benefits to American workers.
Collectively bargained multiemployer health and welfare
plans represent about 10% of all health and welfare
plans. Such plans include about 25% of all workers with
health and welfare coverage." In 1980, there were 4,500
multiemployer health and welfare funds, of which 3,040
provided basic hospitalization and other health benefits to
8.1 million participants.”

® Robert D. Cooper and Melody A. Carlsen, Pension Fund Opera-
tions and Expenses (Pension Fund Operations), p. 21 (1980)
International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans, Brookfield,
Wisconsin.

10 Cooper, Pension Fund Operations, p. 22 n.5, pp. 28 and 85.

11 Robert D. Cooper, Multiemployer Health and Welfare Plan
Operations and Expenses (Multiemployer Health and Welfare Plan),
p. 14 (1983) International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans,
Brookfield, Wisconsin.

12 The other 1,460 health and welfare plans provide other bene-
fits, such as vacation, unemployment, etc. Cooper, Multiemployer
Health and Welfare Plan, p. 14 n.5.

20

Multiemployer pension plans annually process hun-
dreds of thousands of benefit claims. Multiemployer
health and welfare plans annually process millions of
claims. A conservative estimate of monthly average claims
processed by multiemployer health and welfare funds in
1979 was between 1,130 and 1,166."* The monthly aver-
age of claim checks written by such funds was between
1,070 and 1,090.%* All of these claims are processed by
trustees or by acministrators acting on their behalf or
through insurance carriers. Even when claims are proc-
essed by insurance carriers, trustees usually reserve the
right to supervise the handling of claims.

Multiemployer trustees are familiar with the particu-
lar needs of their industry and are best able to design
plans to fit those needs. They frequently devise claims
processing and review procedures that meet the needs of
individuals working within their industry. While plan
trustees and administrators closely monitor the establish-
ment and administration of claims processing rules, they
cannot personally handle the volume of claims that must
be processed. Some delegation of routine ministerial
tasks is essential in order for plan trustees and other
fiduciaries to provide for prompt review of all submitted
claims.

18 Robert D. Cooper and Hetty K. Balanorf, Technical Report: A
Study of Taft-Hartley Health and Welfare Trust Fund Operations
Cost (Technical Report), p. 41 (1979) International Foundation
of Employee Benefit Plans, Brookfield, Wisconsin. This source,
in all likelihood, underestimates the number of claims processed
on account of the great variation among plans as to what is con-
sidered a “claim.” For example, “if an illness generated six bills,
each of which was submitted individually, was this six claims? Or
if the same six bills were submitted all at once, were these only
one claim?” (p. 18). Some funds (46.4%) consider each check a
claim, some (39.3%) consider each illness a claim, and some
(10.3%) consider each separate piece of paper a claim (p. 41).

14 Cooper, Technical Report, p. 41. Again, these numbers may
underestimate the number of actual claims because some plans
write one check for several claims submitted by one claimant.

21

Multiemployer benefit plans perform a valuable pub-
lie service. They provide- benefit coverage to millions of
Americans who might otherwise be in dire financial need
and process a tremendous volume of benefit claims. The
Ninth Cireuit’s decision will weaken the multiemployer
benefit plan system, thereby affecting the benefit security
of all workers.

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling will Severely Injure
Multiemployer Benefit Plans and their Participants
because it will Undermine the Prudent and Careful
Administration of Such Plans

The financial well-being of multiemployer benefit plans,
and of their participants and beneficiaries, is dependent
upon careful, prudent and reasonable management of all
aspects of the plan, including the area of benefit claims
processing.

Plan trustees design benefit systems and devise and
implement procedures for processing and evaluating
claims. While it is, of course, important to make prompt
payment of all justified claims, it is likewise important
to refuse payment of claims that do not meet plan re-
quirements. Indeed, ERISA § 404(a)(1)(D) mandates
this: “. . . a fiduciary shall discharge his duty ... in
accordance with the documents and instruments govern-
ing the plan... .” If plan requirements were not scru-
pulously followed, plan assets would be squandered and
the benefit security of all participants would be under-
mined. Plan trustees must balance the interest of the in-
dividual benefit claimant against the interests of all other
participants in safeguarding the plan’s assets through ac-
curate and prudent claim administration.

ERISA does not require that plan trustees and ad-
ministrators resolve all doubts in the individual partici-
pants’ favor. Rather, ERISA § 404, 29 1J.8.C. § 1904, re-
quires only that fiduciaries act prudently with respect to
the plan. They must not make benefit determinations arbi-
trarily or capriciously. “The trustees of a. . . fund have,

22

hot only the authority, but the duty to insure that pay-
ments are made to only those who are eligible.” Feathers
v. U.M.W. Health and Retirement Funds, 99 L.R.R.M.
2287 (D.D.C. 1978)." The fiduciaries of a plan must
jealously guard the benefit security of all participants.

ERISA safeguards individual rights by providing the
right to obtain accurate data regarding plan benefits and
by requiring prompt claim processing. ERISA § 503 pro-
vides that plans must provide “adequate notice” of any
benefit denial, “written in a manner calculated to be
understood by the participant,” and that plans must
provide “reasonable opportunity” for a “full and fair
review” of any benefit denial. ERISA § 502(a) (1) (B),
29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) (1) (B), further protects the rights
of benefit claimants by providing for full recovery of
benefits due from a plan plus attorneys’ fees and costs.

The Ninth Circuit’s interpretation of ERISA § 409
will cause plan fiduciaries to be especially fearful of litiga-
tion whenever they review claims because of the possi-
bility that a benefit claimant may seek to assess per-
sonal liability against them individually. This very justi-
fied fear will significantly distort the entire decision-
making process concerning claims. Trustees will be far
more likely to acquiesce in the payment of questionabie
claims. While the approval of one questionable claim will
not likely weaken a plan, the cumulative effect of fiduci-
ary acquiescences to such claims over time certainly will
have that effect. |

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling will Deter Qualified
Persons from Serving as Fund Trustees and Ad-
ministrators

Multiemployer benefit plans are primarily labor-man-
agement funds that are administered by joint boards of
labor and management trustees. Unlike single employer
plans, multiemployer plans frequently are administered

158 See also Moglia v. Geoghegan, 408 F.2d 110, 116 (2nd Cir.
1968); Brune v. Morse, 475 F.2d 858 (8th Cir. 1973); Bryles v.
Central States, Southeast, Etc., 602 F.2d 97 (5th Cir. 1979).

23
by management trustees who work for geographically
dispersed companies (many of them quite small) and by

union trustees who are also frequently dispersed geo-
graphically.

Labor and management trustees are not compensated
for their time because such payments are prohibited by
ERISA § 408 (a) (2), 29 U.S.C. § 1108(a) (2). Trustees of
single employer plans, who generally work for the plan
sponsor, have many strong institutional incentives to
perform an important company function by service as
trustees. Such persons do not risk a loss of income by
serving as trustees. On the other hand, trustees of
multiemployer plans receive no institutional rewards for
their service. Employer trustees must forego manage-
ment of their business and may lose income because they
take time to serve as trustees; union trustees must
forego their organizing tasks. Multiemployer plan trust-
ees agree to serve because of a serious commitment to
employee benefit security and because of a desire to
perform a service to their union members or to their
employees.

Trustees are well aware that the fiduciary require-
ments of ERISA mandate prudent, honest and selfless
plan administration. They are also aware that fiduciary
breaches injurious to the fund may result in the im-
position of personal liability against them to remedy any
injury caused to the fund or to pay excise taxes to the
Internal Revenue Service. Generally speaking, fiduciaries
can fulfill their obligations and avoid breaches of fiduci-
ary duty by carefully selecting investment managers,
accountants, and administrators to perform the day-to-
day administrative tasks of the fund, and by thorough
periodic review of plan reports, operations, personnel de-
cisions and policies.

Prior to the decision of the Ninth Circuit in this
matter, trustees did not fear that personal liability might
arise from every benefit decision or ministerial task per-
formed by plan employees or agents. ‘Thus, prior to the

24

Ninth Circuit’s decision, responsible individuals with
sound financial and administrative skills have been will-
ing to serve as trustees of multiemployer funds because
they could adequately perform their fiduciary duties by
providing management and direction without direct in-
volvement in individual claim processing details.

By drastically expanding the scope of personal liability
of trustees beyond that contemplated by ERISA, the
Ninth Circuit has provided a powerful disincentive for
any reasoning person from serving as trustee of a multi-
employer plan. Now, the otherwise responsible, prudent
trustee is personally liable for any delays or errors of
judgment in the handling of benefit claims. The Ninth
Circuit has made it virtually impossible for the tradi-
tional multiemployer trustee to function. Since multi-
employer trustees are generally not compensated, it will
be extremely difficult, if not impossible, to find compe-
tent labor and management trustees willing to serve in
the face of such risk.

Similarly, competent individuals with administrative
and financial expertise will be deterred from serving as
administrators of multiemployer plans because each
daily task that they perform may result in substantial
personal liability. Indeed, every task delegated by a
plan administrator to a clerical employee will expose her
or him to potentially runious personal liability.

The exposure to liability which the Ninth Circuit’s fiat
has imposed is far beyond the scope of that contemplated
by Congress. Congress intended to deter fiduciary mal-
feasance. But, it did not intend to make service as a
voluntary trustee so onerous and fraught with risk as
to discourage competent and responsible persons from
serving at all.

The result of the Ninth Circuit’s decision will be the
transfer of all plan functions from labor and manage-
ment trustees (as envisioned by Congress) to large banks
and insurance companies. This result will deprive this
country of vital leadership that has previously worked

25

well to provide benefits to millions of Americans. It will
also diminish a major area of labor-management coopera-
tion that Congress has specifically sought to nurture.

D. The Ninth Circuit’s Ruling is Injurious to the Dis-
pute Resolution Process Favored by ERISA

ERISA § 503, 29 U.S.C. § 1133, and regulations pro-
mulgated thereunder, favor internal administrative reso-
lution of disputes concerning benefit claims. Section 503
requires plans to provide adequate notice and explana-
tion of any denial of benefits and a “full and fair re-
view” to all claimants who appeal denials of benefits.
This general provision is further elaborated by regula-
tions set forth at 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1.

The regulations impose certain requirements for rea-
sonable claims procedures established by plans. Plans
must provide for reasonable claim filing procedures that
must be communicated to participants. If such proce-
dures are not established, a claim is deemed filed when
the participant brings it to the attention of the plan.

Plans must also provide notice and explanation of any
denials of claims within 90 days, or, at the most, within
180 days if special circumstances exist. The notice must
set forth (1) the reason for benefit denial; (2) the plan
provisions on which denial is based; (3) a description of
any additional information or materials needed to per-
fect the claim; and (4) information about how to obtain
a review of the denial of benefits.

Finally, plan participants must be given the oppor-
tunity to appeal denied claims to the appropriate fiduci-
ary or to a person designated by the fiduciary. The par-
ticipant must be given access to all pertinent plan
documents and an opportunity to submit issues and com-
ments in writing. The decision on review must be made
promptly, usually within 60 days after receipt of the
request for review, or, under special circumstances (such
as the scheduling of hearing), within 120 days after
receipt.

26

The procedures outlined above are designed to pro-
mote dispute resolution through the exchange of informa-
tion by plans and participants. The procedures require
a plan to disclose the reasoning behind every denial of
benefits and to state if any additional information may
change the results. This gives participants the oppor-
tunity to offer relevant information that might have been
originally overlooked. The resulting process is an essen-
tially nonadversarial dialogue between the plan and the
participant that is designed to raise all the arguments
and information pertinent to the denied claim and to
avoid unnecessary litigation.

Courts have generally required claimants to exhaust
their internal plan remedies before filing suit under
ERISA § 502. See eg. Lucas v. Warner & Swasey Com-
pany, 475 F.Supp. 1071 (E.D. Pa. 1979); Kross v.
Western Electric Co., Inc. 701 F.2d 1238 (7th Cir.
1983), aff’g in part and rev’g in part, 534 F.Supp. 251
(1982). This is so because the dispute resolution mech-
anism provided by ERISA is particularly well-suited for
resolving disputes that are based on a misunderstand-
ing of plan rules or on incomplete information. Because
the internal dispute resolution mechanisms of plans so
successfully accomplish their purposes, the federal courts
are not overburdened by litigation of routine benefit
disputes.

The case at bar is a good example of the proper func-
tioning of internal plan dispute resolition. The partici-
pant was advised of the specific reasons for the denial
of her claim, had the opportunity to, and did present,
additional information, and was ultimately granted full
benefits on the basis of information obtained through
the dispute resolution process.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision will irretrievably damage
this valuable and efficient process. Since plan trustees
and administrators may now be subject to litigation and
to grave personal liability for the performance of even
routine ministerial plan functions, they will have a

27

tendency to be guarded and cautious when dealing with
benefit claim denials. They will be hesitant to set forth
all the issues frankly and will be reluctant to receive
any additional information for fear of violating the time
requirements mandated by the regulations. They will also
be concerned that any change in a benefit determination
result may be used later against them as evidence of im-
propriety. Flexibility in plan administration will in-
evitably be reduced thereby resulting in even more litiga-
tion. Indeed, some participants may be encouraged to
forego a settlement resolution without litigation in the
hopes of also obtaining a windfall award of punitive
damages.

Before the Ninth Circuit’s decision, litigation over
benefit claims denials could only result in full payment
of the disputed claim and costs incurred in seeking plan
benefits. Now, such litigation also threatens unknown
and potentially enormous personal liability. The change
in fiduciaries’ behavior resulting from this new liability
concern will decrease the internal resolution of benefit
claim disputes and significantly increase the volume of
litigation in the already burdened federal courts.

E. Compensatory and Punitive Damages are not Uni-
formily Awarded and are Frequently Large and
Inconsistent

Compensatory damages to a claimant whose claim has
been erroneously denied or mishandled include damages
for all losses and injuries sustained by the claimant as
a result of the erroneous determination or claim proc-
essing error.* The individual elements of compensatory
damages vary widely from state to state, and may in-
clude such unpredictable elements as damages for mental
anguish.’ Mental anguish has been variously defined as

16 See e.g. Ross v. United States, 640 F.2d 511 (5th Cir. 1981) ;
Freeport Sulphur Co. v. S/S Hermosa, 526 F.2d 300 (5th Cir.
1976) ; and 22 Am. Jur. 2d Damages § 11, n.12.

17 See e.g. Stoleson v. United States, 708 F.2d 1217 (7th Cir.
1988); Hyseli v. lowa Public Serv. Co., 559 F.2d 468 (8th Cir.

28

nervous shock, fright or humiliation.** For instance, the
Ninth Circuit has held that under California law damages
for embarassment, humiliation, fear or other forms of men-
ta! anguish are recoverable. Moore v. Greene, 431 F.2d
584 (9th Cir. 1970) and Clark v. Celeb Pub., Inc., 530
F.Supp. 979 (S.D.N.Y. 1981) (relying on Moore as au-
thority for damages recoverable under California law).
The Ninth Circuit has also recently held that mental
or emotional distress caused by a denial of due process
may serve as a basis for recovery. Vanelli v. Reynolds
School Dist. No. 7, 667 F.2d 773 (9th Cir. 1982).”
There is no uniform standard of law by which asserted
damages of this nature can be verified or measured. And,
the amount to be awarded is particularily subjective.”
The determination of mental suffering may be “essentially
subjective” and “evidenced by one’s conduct.” Cooper v.
Department of Admin., State of Nev., 558 F.Supp. 244,
253 (D. Nev. 1982).

Punitive damages are even less predictable. By defini-
tion, they do not compensate the claimant for any actual
injuries.2* See Newport v. Facts Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S.
247, 266 (1981). Thus, awards of punitive damages
amounts are frequently arbitrary and may ke many
times greater than actual injuries. The following recent
examples of punitive damages awards in California state
court litigation illustrate this point: ”

1977); Ryan v. Foster & Marshall, Inc., 556 F.2d 460 (9th Cir.
1977) ; 22 Am. Jur. 2d Damages § 195; and Prosser, Law of Torts
§ 54, at 328 (4th ed. 1971).

18 See 38 Am. Jur. 2d Fright, Shock and Mental Disturbance
§ 45.

19 See also Cooper v. Department of Admin., State of Nev., 558
F.Supp. 244 (D. Nev. 1982).

20 See Am. Jur. 2d Damazes §§ 109, 198.
21 See Am. Jur. 2d Damages §§ £36, 207, 238.

22 Jury Verdicts Weekly, Vol. 26 (1982) Nos. 5:8, 7:10, 12:4,
17:8 and 18:22; Vol. 27 (1983) Nos. 17:31, 44:16 and 52.21; Vol.
28 (1984) Nos. 11:8, 17:25 and 28:16. Jury Verdicts, Inc., Santa
Rosa, California.

20,000
30,000

Damages
$ 102,327
$ 3,117,946
$ 5,000,000
$15,000,000
$ 5,000,000
$13,054,479
$ 400,000
$ 1,000,000
$ 1,110,000
$

Punitive

$

$ 50,000
$ 343,310
$ 123,769.
$ 100,000
$ 659,231
$ 45,000

3,500
$ 34,339
$ 47,593

$ 17,000

Actual
Damages
$2,633,599

and humiliation

Embarrassment
Breach of

Examination
Fraud

pay medical
claim

contract
Insurance
Bad Faith
Accounting
Fraud and
Independent
Medical

Breach of
Fiduciary

Duties
Insurance
Bad Faith
Failure to
Insurance
bad faith
Breach of
trust
Insurance
bad faith
Breach of
fiduciary

duties—

reai estate

Type of
Case

Superior
Court
Norwalk
Sacramento
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
Compteu

Los Angeles
San Diego
San Francisco
San Francisco
Sonoma
Sonoma

Triple E. Machinery
v. Englebrecht

Downey Savings &

The P.K.L. Companies
v. Eaton Corporation
Garvey v. State Farm
Thompson v. Thompson

Loan v. Ohio
Foundation Health

Spieker v. Senator
Hotel

Union Fire Ins. Co.
Sullivan v. Kaiser
Plan

Coconis v. Ins. Co.
North America
Gump v. Wells
Bank

Casualty Ins. Co.
Elmer Sprague v.
Equifax, Inc.
Berk v. National

Name of Case

30

As is evident fron. these examples, no fiduciary will e
able to predict the amount of his or her personal liabili. ~
exposure to such damages.

The availability of insurance coverage for punitive and
extrastatutory compensatory damages is doubtful at this
time. But, even if such coverage ultimately became avail-
able, it would, no deubt, be prohibitively expensive pre-
cisely because the risk of liability is so difficult to pre-
dict or quantify.

CONCLUSION

The amici curiae urge this Court to reverse the Ninth
Circuit because the lower court’s decision is contrary to
the language of ERISA and the Act’s underlying legis-
lative policy. It will, moreover, severely inhibit the ex-
pansion of multiemployer plans. In sum, the decision
below threatens the vitality of an institution which pro-
vides employee benefit security to millions of Americans.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS J. HART
(Counsel of Record)

LENA S. ZEZULIN
THOMAS HART & ASSOCIATES
Suite 302
1625 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 797-8700

RICHARD P. DONALDSON
DUANE KIEL
BRUCE McKENZIE
DONALDSON & KIEL
Vanderveer Bidg., Suite 100
2819 First Avenue
Seattle, WA 98121
(206) 682-5261

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0403%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
