# Opposition Brief — Honda Motor Company, Ltd. v. Walter P. Coons

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0390%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1123

## Text

[ ottice-supome Court, U.S,

84-985 | FiLep

OCT 24 1984
ALEXANDER a STEVAS,
In The CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

fa
Vv

HONDA MOTOR CO., LTD.,

Petitioner,
Vv.

WALTER P. COONS,
Respondent.

fy
Vv

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of New Jersey

ty.
ww

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

fy
Vw

Irwin I. KimMELMAN

Attorney General of New Jersey

Attorney for Respondent,
Attorney General of New Jersey

Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex

CN 112

Trenton, New Jersey 08625

(609) 292-1527

JAMES J. CIANCIA
Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel

Harry HAvsHALTER
Deputy Attorney General
On the Brief

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

~ BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Pages

Counterstatement of the Case ... = A wee”

Argument:

In Accordance With The Equitable Standards
Established By This Court, The Supreme Court

Of New Jersey Correctly Determined To Apply
The Invalidity of N.J.S.A. 2A :14-22 On A Pro-

spective Basis ...... ; Waiiiiitieiihibamaie:
I hit as pidhentliadeesiesce ae
AUTHORITIES CITED
Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544 (1969) 18
Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias, 52 U.S.L.W. 4979 (June
BIT rn TSE re he ot ca ae Pe a 19
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S.1 (1976) 17

Chevron Ou Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971) 5, 6,9, 14, 15

Chicot Co. Drainage Dist. v. Baxter State Bank, 308
U.S. 371, 374 (1940) ..... Se nah 06S Rs ae 5

Cipriano v. City of Houma, 395 U.S. 701 (1969) 0... 17
City of Phoenix v. Kolodziejski, 399 U.S. 701 (1970)... 18

Coons v. American Honda Motor Company, 94 N.J.

307, 463 4.2d 921 (1983) passim
Coons v. American Honda Motor Co., Inc., 96 NJ.

419, 476 A.2d 763 (1984) | : 4, 20
Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1984) 17

G.D. Searle & Company v. Cohn, 455 U.S. 404 (1982) 3,9, 11
Jenkins v. Delaware, 395 U.S. 213 (1969) 18

il

AUTHORITIES CITED—Continued

Pages
Lemke v. Bailey, 41 N.J. 295, 196 A.2d 523 (1963) WW. 9
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) 8

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 1921 (1973) 5, 6,8, 9, 15, 16
Los Angeles Dept. of Water and Power v. Manhart,

435 U.S. 702 (1978) 17
New York v. Cathedral Academy, 434 U.S. 124 (1977) 15, 16
Norton v. Shelton Cty., 118 U.S. 425 (1886) 5
Rodrique v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 395 U.S.

352 (1969) 6, 7
Salorio v. Glaser, 93 N.J. 447, 461 A.2d 1100 (1983),

cert. denied, 52 U.S.L.W. 3422 (Nov. 28, 1983)...._._-19
San Antonio School District v. etait 411 US.

160 (1973) . 18
Solem v. Stumes, 55 U.S.L.W. 4307 (Feb. 29, 1984) 17
State v. Johnson, 457 U.S. 537 (1982) 16, 17
State v. Vigliano, 50 N.J. 51, 232 A.2d 129 (1967) —.. 18
United States v. U.S. Coin & Currency, 401 U.S. 715

(1971) 15, 16
Velmohos v. Maren Whncihii. Corp., 83 N.J. 282,

416 A.2d 372 (1980) 10

OTHER AUTHORITIES

N.J. Ct. R. 2:12-2 3
N.J.S.A, 2A :14-2 2
N.J.S.A, 2A :143 14
N.J.S.A. 2A:14-22 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, 12, 13

Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act, 15 U.S.C.
1399(e) 2

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner, Honda Motor Co., Ltd., is seeking, by
writ of certiorari, to have this Court review a decision by
the Supreme Court of New Jersey holding that, based
upon the balancing of equitable principles reaffirmed by
this Court in numerous decisions, its previous declaration
of invalidity of a portion of the New Jersey tolling sta-
tute, V.J.S.A. 2A :14-22,* on Commerce Clause grounds is
to be prospectively applied as of August 3, 1983, the date
of the declaration of invalidity. N.J.S.A. 2A:14-22 pro-
vides for a tolling of certain statutes of limitation against
foreign corporations which are not represented in New
Jersey for service of process.

*N.J.S.A. 2A:14-22 states that,

lf any person against whom there is any of the causes
of action specified in sections 2A:14-1 to 2A:14-5 and 2A:
14-8, or if any surety against whom there is a cause of
action specified in any of the sections of article 2 of this
chapter, is net a resident of this State when such cause
of action accrues, or removes from this State after the
accrual thereof and before the expiration of the times
limited in said sections, or if any corporation or corporate
surety not organized under the laws of this State, against
whom there is such a cause of action, is not represented
in this State by any person or officer upon whom sum-
mons or other original process may be served, when
such cause of action accrues or at any time before the
expiration of the times so limited, the time or times dur-
ing which such person or surety is not residing within
this State or such corporation or corporate surety is not
so represented within this State shall not be computed
as part of the periods of time within which such an action
is required to be commenced by the section. The person
entitled to any such action may commence the same after
the accrual of the cause therefor, within the period of
time limited therefor by said section, exclusive of such
time or times of nonresidence or nonrepresentation.

This matter commenced as a personal injury suit
brought by the respondent, Walter P. Coons (‘‘Coons”),
in the Superior Court of New Jersey, Law Division.
Coons was the owner of a Honda CB 350 motoreyele and
was injured as a result of an accident on October 30, 1974
while riding the eyele. Coons instituted legal action on
October 30, 1978 naming as the primary defendants Honda
Motor Company, Ltd. (‘‘Honda”’), the manufacturer of
the motoreyele, and American Honda Motor Co. (‘‘ Ameri-
ean Honda”), the distributor of Honda products in the
United States. American Honda is a California corpora-
tion that maintains /acilities in New Jersey. Honda is a
Japanese corporation which is not authorized to do busi-
ness in New Jersey. American Honda was served with a
summons and complaint by mail at its Moorestown, New
Jersey facility. Service of process upon Honda was ef-
fected as a result of a court order permitting substituted
service upon a Washinton, D.C. law firm, which acted as
Honda’s agent under the Trafiic and Motor Vehicle Safe-
ty Act, 15 U.S.C. 1399(e) (App. 65a-66a).

The trial court dismissed American Honda as a de-
fendant because the suit was instituted beyond the two-
year statute of limitations under N.J.S.A. 2A :14-2 (App.
Tia). Honda thereafter filed a motion for summary
judgment seeking dismissal of the suit also on the basis
that the complaint was instituted beyond the two-year stat-
ute of limitations. The trial court denied the motion and
held that the two-year statute had been tolled by N.J.S.A.
2A :14-22 since Honda was a foreign corporation which
was not represented in this State by a person upon whom
process could be served. The trial court further held that
the statute was consistent with the Equal Protection

Clause of the Federal Constitution (App. 69a-70a). Upon
appeal, the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Di-
vision, affirmed the judgment of the trial court. Honda
filed a motion for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court of
New Jersey which was denied. Following the filing by
Honda of a notice of appeal with this Court, an order was
entered on March 8, 1982, vacating the judgment of the
Appellate Division and remanding the matter to the Ap-
pellaie Division for further consideration in light of G.D.
Searle & Company v. Cohn, 455 U.S. 404 (1982). The
Attorney General intervened on the remand in support of
the constitutionality of N.J.S.A. 2A :14-22. In the Searle
ease, this Court sustained the validity of N.J.S.A. 2A :14
22 on Due Process and Equal Protection grounds, but re-
manded the case for further consideration in light of a
Commerce Clause challenge. On September 14, 1982, the
Supreme Court of New Jersey directly certified this case
pending unheard in the Appellate Division.* (App. 73a).

On August 3, 1983, the New Jersey Supreme Court
issued the opinion and judgment in Coons v. American
Honda Motor Company, 94 N.J. 307, 463 A.2d 921 (1983)

(Coons 1), which determined that,

1. The only formal means by which a foreign cor-
poration can become represented and thus desig-
nate an agent for the purpose of accepting ser-

o~ vice of process in New Jersey is by receiving a
certificate of authority from the New Jersey Sec-
retary of State to do business in New Jersey un-
der N.J.S.A. 144A :13-4,

*Pursuant to N.J. Ct. R. 2:12-2, the Supreme Court of New
Jersey may directly certify an appeal pending unheard in the
Superior Court, Appellate Division.

4

2. The only means by which a foreign, unrepresented
corporation could avoid the tolling of the appli-
eable statute of limitations under N.J.S.A. 2A :14-
22 is by designating an agent upon whom process
can be served in the context of securing a certifi-
cate of authority to do business in New Jersey
from the New Jersey Secretary of State.

3. The tolling provision, N.J.S.A. 2A :14-22, is viola-
tive of the Commerce Clause of the United States
Constitution because it imposes a ‘‘foreed licen-
sure” upon an unrepresented, foreign corporation
by requiring a certificate of authority from the
New Jersey Secretary of State as the only means
for such corporation to he represented in New
Jersey and thus avoid the tolling effect of the
statute.

4. The decision is to,

... be given retrospective effect, consistent with
the general rule applied in civil cases that a new
ruling shall apply to all matters that have not
reached final judgment. See For v. Snow, 6 N.J.
12, 14 (1950). [App. 78a].

Following the decision in Coons I, Coons filed a peti-
tion for rehearing with the Supreme Court of New Jersey
regarding all of the issues previously considered. The
petition for rehearing was granted solely on the issue of
retroactive application of the decision in Coons I. The
Supreme Court of New Jersey thereafter issued an opin-
ion and judgment, dated June 13, 1984, in Coons v. Ameri-
can Honda Motor Co., Inc., 96 N.J. 419, 476 A.2d 763 (1984)
(Coons II), which held that the invalidity of N.J.S.A. 2A:
14-22 on Commerce Clause grounds warranted a prospec-
tive application of Coons I as of August 3, 1983, the date
of that decision. The prospective holding applied to all
litigants, including the participating defendant and amici.

The Supreme Court of New Jersey, in reaching its deci-
sion on the prospectivity issue, applied the equitable bal-
ancing test best typiiied in Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404
U.S. 97 (1971), and Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 1921
(1973) (Lemon II). The court noted that since its deci-
sion in Coons I was the equivalent of a new rule of law
clearly not anticipated and since justifiable reliance was
placed on a system that provided for a tolling of statutes
of limitation with respect to unrepresented, foreign cor-
porations, the holding of prospectivity was proper and
consistent with the relevant precedents of this Court.

co)

ARGUMENT

In Accordance With The Equitable Standards
Established By This Court, The Supreme Court
Of New Jersey Correctly Determined To Apply
The Invalidity Of N.J.S.A. 2A:14-22 On A Pros-
pective Basis.

The applicable common law doctrine initially required
the determination of a statute’s unconstitutionality to be
retroactive on the basis that the statute was ‘‘. . . inoper-
ative as though it had never been passed.’’ Norton v. Shel-
ton Cty., 118 U.S. 425 (1886). In Chicot Cos Drainage
Dist. v. Baxter State Bank, 308 U.S. 371, 374 (1940), this
Court recognized the Norton doctrine as being overly
broad and subject to rejection in the context of public
policy concerns regarding the justifiable reliance upon
existing iaw:

The actual existence of a statute, prior to such a de-
termination, is an operative fact and may have con-

6

sequences which cannot justly be ignored. The past
cannot always be erased by a new judicial declara-
tion... . Questions of rights claimed to have hecome
vested, of status, of prior determination deemed to
have finality and acted upon accordingly, of public
policy in the light of the nature both of the statute
and of its previous application, demand examination.
Subsequent decisions by this Court have clearly eroded
the Norton doctrine and have substituted an equitable
balancing test to determine whether a statute’s invalidity

is to be prospectively or retroactively applied.

That balancing test is best illustrated in Chevron Oil
Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971), and Lemon v. Kurtzman,
411 U.S. 192 (1973) (Lemon II). Prior to Chevron, supra,
this Court held in Rodrique v. Aetna Casualty & Surety
Co., 395 U.S. 352 (1969), that state law rather than ad-
miralty law, including state statutes of limitation, applied
to personal injury actions relating to fixed structures on
the Outer Continental Shelf. Chevron involved a suit for
personal injury suffered by the plaintiff while working on
the defendant’s drilling rig located on the Outer Con-
tinental Shelf. At the time the Chevron suit was insti-
tuted, the two-year statute of limitations under admiraity
law was deemed applicable. The Chevron suit was filed
within two years of the injury but outside the one-year
statute of limitations governing under state law. The
Chevron Court noted that in the last few decades it had
recognized the doctrine of nonretroactivity outside the
criminal area many times in both constitutional and non-
constitutional cases (404 U.S. at 106) and translated those
holdings into a three-part test to determine whether a ret-
roactive application was warranted:

In our cases dealing with the nonretroactive
question, we have generally considered three separate

factors. First, the decision to be applied nonretro-
actively must establish a new principle of law, either
by overruling clear past precedent on which litigants
may have relied, see e.g., Hanover Shoe v. United
Shoe Machinery Corp., supra, at 496, 20 L.Fd.2d
at 1243, or by deciding an issue of first impres-
sion whose resolution was not clearly foreshad-
owed, see, e.g., Allen v. State Board of Elections,
supra, at 572, 22 L.Ed.2d at 20. Second, it has been
stressed that ‘‘we must ... weigh the merits and de-
merits in each case by looking to the prior history of
the rule in question, its purpose and effect, and
whether retrospective operation will further or retard
its operation.” Linkletter v. Walker, supra, at 629,
14 L.Ed.2d at 608. Finally, we have weighed the in-
equity imposed by retroactive application, for
‘*{wlhere a decision of this Court could produce sub-
stantial inequitable results if applied retroactively,
there is ample basis in our cases for avoiding the ‘in-
justice or hardship’ by a holding of nonretroactivity.”’
Cipriano v. City of Houma, supra, at 706, 23 L.Ed.2d
at 652. [404 U.S. at 106-107].

In applying these factors, this Court concluded that the
state statute of limitations should not be applied retro-
actively. It noted that Rodrigue, supra, was not only a
ease of first impression but also overruled prior lower
court decisions which were binding. It was thus proper
for the plaintiff to have relied on the “existing” law at
the time suit was instituted. This Court opined that sub-
stantial inequitable results would be produced by a retro-
active application of Rodrigue since the plaintiff had suf-
fered serious injury for which he may be barred from
further relief because of a sudden change in the appli-

cable statute of limitations.

In Lemon II, supra, in which this Court determined
that its holding in Lemon I* was to be given prospective
effect, Chief Justice Burger, writing for the Court, held
that the abandonment of the Norton doctrine was com-
pelled by the “recognition that statutory or judg. nade
rules of law are hard facts on which people must rely in
making decisions and in shaping their conduct.” 411 U.S.
at 199. He stated that the process of reconciling consti-
tutional concerns reflected in a new rule of law with re-
liance interests founded upon the old law presents a dif-
ficult issue which must incorporate various considera-
tions, including the relations and conduct of parties, of
rights that may have vested, of status, of prior determin-
ations that have been deemed final and public policy. 411
U.S. at 199. He noted, however, that, “reliance interests
must weigh heavily in the shaping” of proper equitable
remedies. 411 U.S. at 203. Chief Justice Burger further
stated that,

Here, we are not considering whether we will apply
a new constitutional rule of criminal law in reviewing
judgments of convictions obtained under a prior
standard; the problem of the instant case is essen-
tially one relating to the appropriate scope of federal
equitable remedies, a problem arising from enforce-
ment of a state statute during the period before it
had been declared unconstitutional. . . . But however
we state the issue, the fact remains that we are asked
to re-examine the District Court’s evaluation of the
proper means of implementing an equitable decree.
1411 U.S. at 199}.

*Lemon Il is distinguishable from Lemon | (Lemon v. Kurtz-
man, 403 U.S. 602 (1971)), in which this Court invalidated a
Pennsylvania statutory program to reimburse nonpublic sec-
tarian schools for designated secular educational services.

9

Thus, the contention by petitioner that the issue of retro-
activity-prospectivity in this matter involves questions of
constitutional dimension is simply not accurate. This is-
sue relates to essentially equitable considerations which
must be closely scrutinized to reach a fair result.

The Supreme Court of New Jersey applied the prin-
ciples enumerated in Chevron and Lemon I/ in determin-
ing that the invalidity of N./J.S.A. 2A:14-22 was to re-
ceive prospective application. Initially, in applying the
three-part test of Chevron, the court noted that its hold-
ing of invalidity in Coons I under the Commerce Clause
was not foreshadowed and constituted a new principle of
law. The tolling statute, N.J.S.A. 2A:14-22, had been on
the books since 1949 and a tolling provision had been a
fixture of New Jersey law since 1820. See Lemke v. Bai-
ley, 41 N.J. 295, 298, 196 A.2d 523, 525 (1963). The first
mention of a potential Commerce Clause problem by an
appellate court was this Court’s decision in G.D. Searle
& Co. v. Cohn, supra. Thus, as of 1978, the vear in which
plaintiff contemplated this law suit, there was no indi-
cation of the invalidation of the tolling statute as to for-
eign, unrepresented corporations on Commerce Clause
grounds. The New Jersey Supreme Court thus aptly con-
cluded that,

Hence, the declaration of Coons I was hardly
foreshadowed; and although the case did not literal-
ly alter precedent because there was none on the
holding of the case, it amounted to a “statement” in
a matter of first impression—and thus “new law.”
[App. 16a].

With regard to another facet of the Chevron test,
the consideration of reliance, it is appropriate to recog-
nize that potential New Jersey plaintiffs were justified in

10

relying on the existence of the tolling statute in believing
that causes of action against foreign, unrepresented cor-
porations would be preserved in New Jersey. Obviously,
the retroactive invalidity of the tolling statute may for-
ever bar such plaintiffs from instituting legal action in
this State. For example, there may exist potential plain-
tiffs, wno had a cause of action against a foreign, unrep-
resented corporate defendant which was amenable to long-
arm service in New Jersey during the assumed tolling of
the statute of limitations.* Such plaintiffs, in strict re-
liance on the tolling statute and for reasons of conveni-
ence, strategy, expense and the like, opted to refrain from
utilizing long-arm service as the only available means for
instituting action in this State within the statute of lim-
itations. Such potential plaintiffs would be seriously prej-
udiced by a retroactive application of Coons I sinee, but
for the tolling statute, timely suit would have been com-
menced in New Jersey. In addition, there may be poten-
tial plaintiffs whe had a substantial cause of action
against a foreign, unrepresented corporate defendant
which was not amenable to long-arm service in New Jer-
sey. Such plaintiffs, but for the tolling statute and the
anticipation of filing suit in New Jersey sometime in the
future, would have presumably made effort to institute
action in a foreign jurisdiction in order to prosecute the
eause of action. The expense and inconvenience of in-
stituting such an action would have been justified in light
of the seriosusness and/or substantiality of the cause of

*In Velmohos v. Maren Engineering Corp., 83 N.j. 282, 416
A.2d 372 (1980), the Supreme Court of New Jersey held that
the tolling effect was applicable even to foreign, unrepresent-
ed corporations that were subject to long-arm service of pro-
cess.

11

action. Clearly such plaintiffs would be severely preju-
diced by a retroactive application of the tolling statute’s
invalidity particularly if the availability of the out-of-state
forum were now foreclosed because the applicable stat-
utes of limitation had run.

It is obviously difficult to gauge the number of plain-
tiffs that may be affected by a retroactive holding and it
is also difficult to determine the prejudice to be suffered
by those actual or potential plaintiffs who may have re-
lied on the tolling statute. It is clear, however, that the
tolling statute must have served a useful purpose in pre-
serving causes of action for New Jersey residents re-
garding foreign, unrepresented corporate entities other-
wise the New Jersey Legislature would not have enacted
such a provision. The salutary purpose served by such
legislation was unequivocally recognized in G.D. Searle
& Company v. Cohn, supra. As previously noted, the toll-
ing provision has represented a fundamental facet of
New Jersey’s jurisprudence for many years. The pub-
lic had no hasis for anticipating a judicial ruling that the
tolling statute was invalid and, therefore, had no oppor-
tunity to structure its legal strategy accordingly. Thus, in
fairness to potential or actual plaintiffs who justifiably
relied on the validity of the tolling provision, the holding
of unconstitutionality in Coons I was properly applied
prospectively. Such a holding terminated the tolling of
the statutes of limitation applicable to causes of action
against foreign, unrepresented corporate defendants on
August 3, 1983, the date of the decision in Coons I, and
triggered the running of the statutes of limitation as of
that date.

Further compounding the egregious inequity that
would result from a retroactive holding of Coons I is the

12

recent amendment to N./J.S.A. 2A:14-22 by the enactment
of New Jersey Public Law 1984, Chapter 131. This law
was approved and became effective, on August 23, 1984.
The amendment added the following italicized para-
graph to N.J.S.A, 2A:14-22:*

If any person against whom there is any of the
causes of action specified in sections 2A :14-1 to 2A:

*N.J. Public Law 1984, Chapt. 131, was introduced in the New
Jersey Legislature as Senate Bill 953 (1984). The Senate Judici-
ary Committee Statement to Bill 953, dated February 23, 1984,
clearly identifies that its purpose was to remedy the uncon-
stitutional defect found in Coons !:

N.J.S. 2A:14-22 tolls the running of the statute of
limitations in civil actions against foreign corporations
that are not represented in New Jersey and thus cannot
be reached with service of process. This bill would pro-
vide that a foreign corporation would be deemed repre-
sented in New Jersey for the purpose of N.j.S. 2A:14-22
if the corporation filed with the Secretary of State a no-
tice designating a representative to accept service of
process.

The bill was introduced in response to a recent New
Jersey Supreme Court decision, Coons v. American Honda
Co., Inc., 94 N.J. 327 (1983). In that decision, the court
determined that in order to be ‘“‘represented” in the con-
text of N.j.S. 2A:14-22, a foreign corporation must ob-
tain a certificate to do business in New Jersey. The court
ruled that this requirement was in violation of the com-
merce clause of the U.S. Constitution in that it unduly
burdened interstate commerce by requiring a foreign cor-
poration engaged exclusively in interstate commerce to
obtain such a certificate.

The filing of a notice designating a representative to
accept process is a less burdensome requirement than ob-
taining a certificate to do business. Therefore, by pro-
viding that a foreign corporation would be deemed rep-
resented for purposes of N.j.S. 2A:14-22 if such a notice
were filed, S-953 is intended to meet the Supreme Court's
objections as stated in the Coons decision and thereby
assist New Jersey citizens to pursue their claims against
foreign corporations.

13

14-5 and 2A :14-8, or if any surety against whom there
is a cause of action specified in any of the sections of
articie 2 of this chapter, is not a resident of this State
when such cause of action accrues, or removes from
this State after the accrual thereof and before tne ex-
piration of times limited in said sections, or if any
corporation or corporate surety not organized under
the laws of this State, against whom there is such a
cause of action, is not represented in this State by
any person or officer upon whom summons or other
original process may be served, when such cause of
action accrues or at any time before the expiration of
the times so limited, the time or times during which
such person or surety is not residing within this
State shall not be co:mputed as part of the periods of
time within which such an action is required to be
commenced by the section. The person entitled to any
such action may commence the same after the accrual
of the cause therefor, within the period of time limited
therefor by said section, exclusive of such time or
,times of nonresidence or nonrepresentation. A cor-
poration shall be deemed represented for purposes of
this section if the corporation has filed with the Sec-
retary of State a notice des'gnating a representative
to accept service of process.

The amendment to N.J.S.A. 24 :14-22 provides that
foreign, unrepresented corporations may file a notice with
the New Jersey Secretary of State designating a repre-
sentative to accept service of process in order to be rep-
resented in New Jersey and thereby avoid the tolling ef-
fect. Accordingly, as of May 23, 1984, foreign, unrepre-
sented corporations no longer need to obtain a certificate
to do business in New Jersey as the sole means of avoid-
ing the tolling effect of N.J.S.A. 2A:14-22. Therefore,
the constitutional defect of the statute determined in
Coons I has been cured.

14

In light of the statutory amendment, the equitable
scales even more than ever tip in the direction of a pros-
pective holding of Coons I. <A prospective holding is
clearly appropriate in order to maintain continuity in the
judicial system and to avoid the disruptive effect of hav-
ing certain causes of action against foreign corporations
relating to a period after August 23, 1984 tolled while
earlier causes of action would be barred by the applicable
statutes of limitation.*

The final facet of the three-part test enunciated in
Chevron, supra, relates to the purpose of the rule in
Coons I. Clearly Coons I invalidated that portion of the
tolling statute which violated the Commerce Clause. Not-
withstanding petitioner’s contention that the prospective
holding of Coons I essentially perpetuates a wrong and re-
sults in a ‘‘new”’ violation of the Commerce Clause, that
arguinent overlooks the equitable principles that must be
considered in this analysis. ‘This argument was con-
sidered and properly rejected by the Supreme Court of
New Jersey:

*As a practical matter, the prospective holding of Coons / as
of August 3, 1983 does not create a significant gap in the toll-
ing effect. The period between August 3, 1983 and August
23, 1984 (1 year and 20 days), a period during which there
would be no tolling effect upon foreign, unrepresented cor-
posations under a prospective holding of Coons |, is relatively
short and would only affect those limited causes of action sub-
ject to a 1 year statute of limitations and occurring between
August 3, 1983 and August 22, 1983. The only applicable stat-
ute with a 1 year limitation is N.J.S.A. 2A:14-3, which relates
to libel and slander actions. Thus, a prospective holding of
Coons |, in light of the recent statutory amendment, would
retain the tolling effect for most causes of action involving
foreign, unrepresented corporate defendants without any gap.

15

Finally, following Chevron, supra, 404 U.S. at 106-07,
30 L.Ed.2d at —, we look to the purpose of the rule
in Coons I. In its starkest terms, that determination
had as its purpose the outlawing of so much of the
tolling statute as violates the commerce clause. De-
fendant contends that not to apply the ruling retro-
actively would be to countenance unconstitutionality.
But the argument overlook; the balancing of interests
and impact, called for by our commitment to equitable
principles. Those concerns are addressed above—the
reliance of plaintiff and those similarly situated, and
the absence of any showing that in fact defendant and
corporate amici suffered a burden borne of a compul-
sion to register in New Jersey to permit recourse to
the statute of limitations. On balance we are satis-
fied that the purpose of the prior ruling is fulfilled by
excluding from the scope of the Coons I ruling only
those actions already coimmenced as of August 3, 1983.
[App. 18a].

Therefore, the Supreme Court of New Jersey appropri-
ately concluded that the invalidity of the tolling statute
does not warrant a per se retroactive holding. The reli-
ance factor and concepts of equity, which support a pros-
pective holding, are critical considerations in this analysis
which the petitioner simply ignores. Thus, the prospec-
tive application of Coons I is consistent with the three-
part test articulated in Chevron, supra, and comports with
the equitable standards applied by this Court in eivil liti-
gation.

Petitioner suggests that the propriety for applying
the balancing test in Chevron, supra, to determine issues
of prospectivity-retroactivity has been severely undercut
by Lemon II, supra, New York v. Cathedral Academy, 434
U.S. 124 (1977), and United States v. U.S. Coin & Cur-
rency, 401 U.S. 715 (1971), and that a per se rule of retro-
activity should be applied where a state civil statute is

16

held unconstitutional. That conclusion is simply unsub-
stantiated by those decisions and is clearly incorrect. As
previously noted, Lemon I], supra, reinforces the applica-
tion of the equitable balancing test enunciated in Chevron,
supra, in determining the propriety for prospective appli-
cation of a judicial ruling declaring a state law unconsti-
tutional. In New York v. Cathedral Academy, supra, a
New York statute reimbursing religious schools for cer-
tain expenses was struck as unéonstitutional. This sta-
tute was enacted after a Federal District Court had de-
clared unconstitutional a similar statute relating to the
previous school year. This Court, in applying the equit-
able considerations discussed in Lemon I], found a retro-
active holding of the statute’s invalidity proper since the
New York legislature was aware of such invalidity at the
time of enactment, since reliance on such ostensibly de-
fective legislation was unwarranted and since a prospec-
tive holding would encourage state legislatures to under-
mine judicial rulings in the future. 434 U.S. at 130.
Therefore, in applying the equitable balancing test in New
York v. Cathedral Academy, supra, this Court concluded
that a retroactive invalidation of the statute was proper,
but only en grounds of equity and policy and not based
on an alleged per se rule of retroactivity.

Similarly, no express or implied per se retroactivity
standard can be surmised from United States v. U.S. Coin
& Currency, 401 U.S. 715 (1971), in which this Court held
that previous decisions interpreting the Fifth Amendment
privilege against self incrimination to prohibit criminal
convictions of gamblers who did not file required registra-
tion statements were to be retroactively applied. More
recently, in State v. Johnson, 457 U.S. 537 (1982), in which
a Fourth Amendment construction was deemed applicable

17

to all convictions not yet finel at the time of the decision,
this Court established that, in the criminal law context, a
prospective holding would be proper if a decision consti-
tuted a ‘‘clean break with the past.” The Johnson ‘‘clean
break’’ test was somewhat modified in Solem v. Stumes,
55 U.S.L.W. 4307 (Feb. 29, 1984), holding that Edwards v.
Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1984) (which established that once
a suspect has invoked the right to counsel, any subsequent
initiation of conversation by one other than the suspect
violates that right) was to be applied prospectively be-
cause it constituted a new rule despite absence of a ‘‘clean
break with the past.” Thus, even in the criminal area,
where a much stricter standard of retroactivity has been
applied by this Court, a per se rule of retroactivity is not
currently in vogue.

Moreover, petitioner overlooks a host of decisions by
this Court which have sustained a prospective application
of a holding that a civil statute is unconstitutional. See
Los Angeles Dept. of Water and Power v. Manhart, 435
U.S. 702 (1978) (holding that sexual discrimination in
funding of pension plan was to be prospectively applied in
order to avoid disruption of the pension system and in ree-
ognition of valid reliance on the existing funding mechan-
ism); Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) (a finding that
certain facets of the Federal Election Campaign Act were
unconstitutional was prospectively applied, thus granting
Federal Election Commission’s past decisions de facto
validity based on considerations of reliance and sound
publie policy) ;* Cipriano v. City of Houma, 395 U.S. 701

*In Buckley v. Valeo, supra, this Court further established that
its holding was to be effective 30 days from the date of the
decision in order to allow Congress an opportunity to rectify
the —_— of the Federal Election Campaign Act found
invalid.

18

(1969), and City of Phoenix v. Kolodziejski, 399 U.S. 701
(1970) (sustaining previous municipal financing arrange-
ments later declared unconstitutional on the grounds of
equitable principles); Allen v. State Board of Elections,
393 U.S. 544 (1969) (recognizing the validity of past elee-
tions of local officials notwithstanding a finding that such
elections were unconstitutional in order to avoid disrupt-
ing the local governing system). In each of these deci-
sions relating to noneriminal litigation, the concern of this
Court focused on legitimizing past conduct premised on
lawful standards. Such a result comports with ‘*.. . one
of the first principles of constitutional adjudication—the
hbasie presumption of the constitutional validity of a duly
enacted state or federal law.” San Antonio School Dis-
trict v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 160 (1973) (Stewart, J., con-
curring).

The further contention by petitioner that the Supreme
Court of New Jersey misconceived the prospective-retro-
active determination as being a matter of ‘‘state law” is
of no merit. As a practical matter, the Supreme Court
of New Jersey applied the precedents established by this
Court and explicitly noted that, ‘‘[t]he development of
New Jersey’s retroactivity law has proceeded on a track
roughly paralleling that represented by the cases’’ de-
cided by this Court (App. lla). The Supreme Court of
New Jersey, in framing the relief to be granted the peti-
tioner, was possessed of ‘‘a large measure of . . . discre-
tion... in deciding both the issues of prospective applica-
tion or retrospective application and the time for which
the new principle is to be deemed controlling.’ State v.
Vigliano, 50 N.J. 51, 65-66, 232 A.2d 129 (1967), cited with
approval in Jenkins v. Delaware, 395 U.S. 213, 218 (1969).

19

This large measure of diseretion is best illustrated in
Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias, 52 U.S.L.W. 4979 (June
29, 1984), which declared a Hawaii taxing statute, grant-
ing tax preferences to certain domestically produced wine
and liquor manufacturers, in violation of the Commerce
Jlause. Having declared the taxing act unconstitutional,
this Court was faced with the dilemma of formulating an
appropriate remedy as to the extent and propriety of any
refund claim. With respeet to that issue, this Court
stated that,

These refund issues, which are essentially issues
of remedy for the imposition of a tax that unconstitu-
tionally discriminated against interstate commerce,
were not addressed by the state courts. Also, the
Federal constitutional issues involved may well be
intertwined with, or their consideration obviated by,
issues of state law. Also, resolution of those issues, if
required at all, may necessitate more of a record than
so far has been made in this case. We are reluctant,
therefore to address them in the first instance. Ae-
cordingly, we reverse the judgment of the Supreme
Court of Hawaii and remand for further proceedings
not inconsistent with this opinion, [52 U.S.L.W. at
4983; emphasis supplied].

Thus, the means for formulating an appropriate remedy
to implement the holding in Bacchus, supra, were left to
the state court. Similarly, in Salorio v. Glaser, 93 N.J.
447, 461, A.2d 1100 (1983), cert. den., 52 U.S.L.W. 3422
(Nov. 28, 1983), this Court declined to review a decision
by the Supreme Court of New Jersey which gave a pros-
pective application to the holding that the New Jersey
IXmergency ‘Transportation Tax is _ unconstitutional.
These cases further illustrate the wide latitude this Court
has permitted the state courts in shaping remedies in light
of an unconstitutional holding of a state law. This defer-

20

ence is based on the ability of state judiciaries to be more
familiar with local concerns so as to balance the relevant
equitable considerations and thereby formulate proper
remedies.

The determination by the Supreme Court of New
Jersey in Coons II comporis with this Court’s consistent
conlidence in the competency of the State judiciary to ad-
judicate and safeguard federal constitutional rights. In
strict adherence to the standards to be considered in de-
termining issues of retroactivity-prospectivity proclaimed
hy this Court, the New Jersey Supreme Court balanced
the interests of actual or potential plaintiffs, the public
policy of preserving causes of action and the consequences
of a prospective holding of Coons I. The lower court’s
evaluation was based on reason and fairness in a manner
consistent with the rulings of this Court. Clearly, the de-
cision in Coons II of establishing a prospective holding
for Coons I was proper and sound.

The petition for writ of certiorari plainly does not
present a question of constitutional dimension which
would warrant the granting of such extraordinary relief.
Therefore, the petition should be denied.

o

21

CONCLUSION

For the above-stated reasons, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the petition for writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Irwin I. KimmetMan

Attorney General of New Jersey

Attorney for Respondent,
Attorney General of New Jersey

By: Harry HavsHALTer
Deputy Attorney General

DATED:

James J. CIANCIA
Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel

Harry HAvusHALTER
Deputy Attorney General
On the Brief

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0390%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
