# Amicus Curiae Brief — Metropolitan Life Insurance v. Massachusetts

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0387%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 929

## Text

Fit pe ws
( 3) (15) _
Nos. 84-325 and 84>356 | caret STEVAS

In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

v. Appellant,
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.
THE TRAVELERS INSURANCE COMPANY,
Vv. Appellant,
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.

On Appeal From The Supreme Judicial Court
Of The Commonwealth Of Massachusetts

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF THE STATE OF
CONNECTICUT, JOINED BY THE STATES OF
CALIFORNIA, KANSAS, LOUISIANA, MAINE,
MARYLAND, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MONTANA,
NEW JERSEY, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, NORTH
CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, SOUTH CAROLINA,
VERMONT, WISCONSIN AND THE COMMONWEALTH
OF VIRGINIA, IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE

JOSEPH I. LIEBERMAN
Attorney General of the
State of Connecticut
Amicus Curiae

ELLIOT F. GERSON
Deputy Attorney General

ARNOLD B. FEIGIN
Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

30 Trinity Street
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
(203) 566-4990

(Additional List of Counsel on Inside Pages)

—_—_—— ——
—_—_— SL

ie

JONATHON L. ENSIGN

JOHN G. HAINES

RICHARD T. SPONZO

ROBERT E. WALSH

Connecticut Assistant Attorneys General

JOHN K. VAN DE KAMP
Attorney General of the
State of California
Amicus Curiae

ROBERT T. STEPHAN
Attorney General of the
State of Kansas

Amicus Curiae

WILLIAM J. GUSTE, JR.
Attorney General of the
State of Louisiana
Amicus Curiae

JAMES E. TIERNEY
Attorney General of the
State of Maine

Amicus Curiae

STEPHEN H. SACHS
Attorney General of the
State of Maryland
Amicus Curiae

FRANK J. KELLEY
Attorney General of the
State of Michigan
Amicus Curiae

HUBERT H. HUMPHREY, III
Attorney General of the
State of Minnesota
Amicus Curiae

MIKE GREELY

Attorney General of the
State of Montana
Amicus Curiae

IRWIN I. KIMMELMAN
Attorney General of the
State of New Jersey
Amicus Curiae

PAUL G. BARDACKE
Attorney General of the
State of New Mexico
Amicus Curiae

ROBERT ABRAMS

Attorney General of the
State of New York
Amicus Curiae

LACY H. THORNBURG
Attorney General of the
State of North Carolina
Amicus Curiae

NICHOLAS SPAETH
Attorney General of the
State of North Dakota
Amicus Curiae

T. TRAVIS MEDLOCK
Attorney General of the
State of South Carolina
Amicus Curiae

JEFFREY L. AMESTOY
Attorney General of the
State of Vermont

Amicus Curiae

BRONSON C. LA FOLLETTE
Attorney General of the
State of Wisconsin
Amicus Curiae

GERALD L. BALILES
Attorney General of the
Commonwealth of Virginia
Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.......--+++ee-

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE........---

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT......--+-+eeee05

ARGUMENT

I.

A STATUTE OF THE COMMONWEALTH
OF MASSACHUSETTS MANDATING
THAT INSURANCE COMPANIES PRO-
VIDE MINIMUM MENTAL HEALTH
BENEFITS IN GENERAL HEALTH
INSURANCE POLICIES WHICH MAY
BE SOLD TO EMPLOYEE BENEFIT
PLANS ESTABLISHED PURSUANT TO
THE EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT INCOME
SECURITY ACT OF 1974, 29
U.S.C. § 1001 ET SEQ.,. IS NOT
PREEMPTED BY 29 U.S.C. §
1144(@) ccc ccccccccccccccscces

A. The Statute Does Not
Relate To Employee Benefit
2) SaPrrrrrrrr re eee

B. The Statute Is Expressly
Excepted From ERISA Pre-
emption by 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(b)(2)(A)......-----

11

14

Page

II. THE MASSACHUSETTS STATUTE IS
NOT PREEMPTED BY THE NATIONAL
LABOR RELATIONS ACT........---- 27

A. The Massachusetts Statute
Lacks a Substantial Effect
On Negotiation Of An Agree-
ment And The Balance Of
Power In Collective
Bargaining...........-+++5- 27

1. Preemption Requires
a Substantial Effect
On Negotiation of an
| Agreement and the
| Balance of Power in
| Collective Bargain-
t ” PPPTTIEPI CLE 27

2. The Massachusetts
Statute Lacks a Sub-
stantial Effect On
) Conduct Intended by
| Congress to be Un-
| SOMEEGEES cc ccecccccess 35

a. The Massachusetts
Statute Lacks a Sub-
stantial Effect On
Negotiation of an
Agreement...........--- 35

b. The Massachusetts
Statute Does Not

Affect the Balance

of Power in Collective
Bargaining... .cccccee 36

ii

hasan

Page

B. The Balancing Test Between
State and Federal Interests
Requires a Holding Against
Preemption.......--+++eee% 37

1. The Test for Preemption
Requires a Balancing of
the State Interest in
Regulation Against the
Potential for Inter-
ference With the
Federal Interest...... 37

2. The State Interest in
Health Under the Mass-
achusetts Statute Out-
weighs Its Limited
Effect on the Federal
Policy of Leaving Un-
regulated the Terms
of Agreements.......-- 40

C. The McCarran-Ferguson Act
Establishes a Congressional
Intent to Allow the
Massachusetts Statute..... 42

CONCLUSION... .- cee eee eer ereeeereeere 46

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Alessi v. Raybestos-

Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504..... 8, 14,
4} eer TT TTT 15, 18

Attorney General v. Travelers
Insurance Co., 385 Mass. 598,

433 6.8.24 1223 (1982)... ccccccces 43

Belknap, Inc. v. Hale,..........-- 28, 29,
U.S. — fF XX Sarr. 30, 31,

Bae EOP oe cesecececccecccccoces 33, 35

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of
Kansas City v. Bell, No. 84-2255
(D.Kan., Nov. 7, 1984).......-..+.+-- 17

California Auto. Assn. v.
Maloney, 341 U.S. 105 (1951)...... 2

Donovan v. Dillingham, 688 F.2d
1367 CALS CLE. TOSS). cccccccccces 7

Farmer v. United Brotherhood
of Carpenters & Joiners of

America, Local 25, 430 U.S. ...... 37,
290 (C1977). ccccesccccccccscccccces 38, 40

iv

Page

Hamilton Life Insurance Co. v.

Republic National Life
Insurance Co., 408 F.2d 606

(24 Cir. 1969)... cc cece eeeeeeesees 43

H. K. Porter Co., Inc. Vv.
NLRB, 397 U.S. 99 (1970).........-. 34

Local 24, International
Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

Oliver, 358 U.S. 283
@. ) ) ) er 34

Lodge 76, International
Association of Machinists v.
Wisconsin Employment

Relations Commission, ...........-- 28, 33,
427 U.S. 132 (1976). cccccccccceecs 38, 39
McDonald v. Thompson,

305 U.S. 263 (1938). cc cccccccccee 23

New York Telephone Co. v.

New York State Department of...... 28, 33,
Labor, 440 U.S. 819 .~. cc ceccccves 39, 40,
6, ) RSSPrTT rrr ree 41

Page

Pressroom Union-Printers

League Income Security Fund

v. Continental Assurance Co.,
700 F.2d 889 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 104 S.Ct 148 (1983)......-.- 17

San Diego Building Trades
Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S.

236 (1959)... eee cere cence eenrereees 27
S.E.C. v. National Securities,
393 U.S. 453 (1969)... 2.22 e ee eees 19
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,

U.S. » B03 B.CE. coccccecces 8. 15,
2890 (1983)... weer eee eee n er eerees 18

Tuvia Convalescent Center, Inc.

v. National Union of Hospital

and Health Care Employees,

717 F.2d 726 (2d Cir. 1983).......- 17

Wadsworth v. Whaland, 562

F.2d 70 (lst Cir. 1977), cert.

denied, 435 U.S. 980 ....- eee eeeee 21, 22,
CDOTS) cccccccccccccscccccccccccccs 23

vi

STATUTES

Federal

Employees Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974, 29
BS BOGE OR BOR. cdcccccccess

U.S.C.

(ERISA)

29
29
29

29

29

29

29

U.
U.
U.

U.

U.

Ss.

Ss.

Cc.

Cc.

L0O0Z(1). cc cccccces
1003 (8)... ccccccces
1144(G).. cc cccccecs

1132(8). ccc ccccces

Fair Labor Standards Act,
29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq. .......

McCarran-Ferguson Act,
15 U.S.C. § 1011 et seg. ......

1S U.S.C. § LLL. ce ccccccccces
1§ U.S.C. § 1012(a).........26-
156 U.S.C. § 1012(b)....... 0c
156 U.S.C. § 1014... ccc eevece

vii

Page

ll, 22,
25, 26
7

7

6, 8,
ll, 13,
14, i7.
18, 25
8, 11
13, 18
20, 25
9, 12,
20

9, 12,
25. 26
17

44

2. 8,
10, 26,
42

24

25

26, 42,
45

43, 44,
45

National Labor Relations Act,

29 U.S.C. § 151 et seq. .....-.--. 6. 7.
CWLRA) . ccccccccccccescccccecrccs 9, 27.
TTT TLLILE TLL 35, 41
Pere TT TUTTLE LLL 42
State

Conn. Gen. Stat. Sections:

SES oe ee 3, 4
OOS 8 oe tai oc eeeeen 4
ES. _.bb4sn060800005 000% 4
ee bcc e kee nhehehe’ 4
AUS . 4. i babheeedeseeee 4
| 4
ees i ekheedeena en 4
LO Lee ates eeeceues 4
0a 4
rth S64 ee bebucteccees 4
Er 4
Ee 4
PL cot tee pennsevsaves 4
Ce cue seas bape beneebes 5
TE ee eee cea ee 5
DP. hc kieehescocecenes 7
PLY Oo. SGUb ceeseeeneees 5
DT. pieces eentehnstsivenes 5
Th cen neunneesneeeeenes 5
sn ce ceneneeeeeunees 5
ee bee Cee eens hen eee ©
Conn. Gen. Stat. ch. 692........+.- 5

viii

K.S.A 40-2, 105... cccccceecescces 3
24A M.R.S.A. § 2843

(Supp. 1983-84)... eee eee eee vness 3
Md. Ann. Code Art. 48A,

§ 477E (Michie Supp. 1984)..... 3
Mass. Gen. Laws, ch. 175,

§ 47B (Section 47B)......-+-+++-+- passim
Minn. Stat. Ann. § 62A.152

(West Supp. 1984)........-----: 3
Mont. Code Ann. §§ 33-22-701 to

TOG (1983)... cece cece eccreees 3
N. Y. Insur. Law 162 (16)......---- 3

N.D. Cent. Code § 26-39-03 to
—O4 (1978)... cee eee eee neeeereess 3

Va. Code § 38.1 - 348.7
0) ) 5 eee 3

Wis. Stat. Ann. § 632.89

(West 1980 and Supp.
1983-84). ccc ccccccccescccccess 3

ix

Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Brummond, Federal Preemption
of State Insurance Regulation

Under ERISA, 62 Iowa L. Rev.
oe Date web ekaeaesecececes 3, 6

125 Congressional Record
St SPs see eaeeeecedbeoaneeocecec 23

The ERISA Improvements Act

of 1979: Summary and Analysis of
Consideration, United States

Senate Committee on Labor
and Human Resources, 1979......... 23

Kilberg and Inman, Preemption

of State Law Under ERISA:

Drawing the Line Between Laws

That Do and Laws That Do Not

Relate to Employee Benefit

i. Be DUE BEMcceecoceccssccocs 21

Manno, ERISA Preemption and
the McCarran-Ferguson Act: The

Need for Need for Congressional Action,
Se wae me Ge Be BEE Pcccccecece 3

Okin, Preemption of State

Insurance Regulation by ERISA,
Ss. § ££: ,, :) Ferrer 3

Page

Rottman, Rawls, and Gollaher,
National Association of Insurance
Commissioners Statement on
Federal Preemption of State
Insurance Regulation Under
Section 514 of ERISA, 1 NAIC
Proceedings 1977, 237 (July 21.
WTS) acccccccescssecescesccccccces

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1984

Nos. 84-325 and 84-356

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Appellant,

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.

THE TRAVELERS INSURANCE COMPANY,
Appellant,

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
Appellee.

On Appeal From The Supreme Judicial Court
Of The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF THE STATE OF
CONNECTICUT, JOINED BY THE STATES OF
CALIFORNIA, KANSAS, LOUISIANA, MAINE,
MARYLAND, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MONTANA,
NEW JERSEY, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, NORTH
CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, SOUTH CAROLINA,
VERMONT, WISCONSIN AND THE COMMONWEALTH
OF VIRGINIA, IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

This brief is submitted by the

amici states pursuant to Supreme Court
Rule 36.4.

By the McCarran-Ferguson Act. 15
u.S.C. § 1011, et seqg-., Congress re-
established the states' right under their
police powers to regulate the business of
insurance. The Court has recognized the
great public interest which the states
have in regulating insurance and their
commensurate authority: “(Tjhe power of
the state is broad enough to take over
the whole business, leaving no part for

private enterprise." California Auto.

Assn. v. Maloney, 341 U.S. i105, 110

(1951).
Pursuant to this authority, the

amici states have regulated the business

of health insurance by mandating policy

provisions, particularly in group po-

licies. i/ For example, the State of

Connecticut mandates that the following

1/ See generally Brummond, Federal Pre-
emption of State Insurance Regulation
Under ERISA, 62 Iowa L.Rev. 57 (1976);
Manno, ERISA Preemption and the
McCarran-Ferguson Act: The Need for
Congressional Action, 52 Temp. L. Q. 51
(1979); Okin, Preemption of State In-
surance Regulation by ERISA, 13 Forum
652 (1978); Rottman, Rawls, and
Gollaher, National Association of In-
surance Commissioners Statement on
Federal Preemption of State Insurance
Regulation under Section 514 of ERISA, 1
NAIC Proceedings 1977, 237 (July 21.
1976).

Amici states of Connecticut, Kansas,
Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Montana, New
York, North Dakota, Virginia, and Wis-
consin have mandated benefit statutes
requiring that benefits be provided for
mental health treatment. Conn. Gen.
Stat. § 38-174d; K.S.A. 40-2,105;: 24A
M.R.S.A. § 2843 (Supp. 1983-84); Md.
Ann. Code Art. 48A, § 477E (Michie Supp.
1984); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 62A.152 (West
Supp. 1984); Mont. Code Ann. §§ 33-22-
701 to 704 (1983): N.Y. Insur. Law 162
(16); N.D. Cent. Code § 26-39-03 to -04
(1978); Va. Code § 38.1-348.7 (1981);
Wis. Stat. Ann. § 632.89 (West 1980 and
Supp. 1983-84).

provisions be included in group health
policies: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 38-174d
(minimum mental illness benefits).
38-174e (non-termination of coverage for
mentally retarded or physically handi-
capped dependent children), 38-1749
(minimum newborn benefits), 38- 174h
(certain payments to dentists), 38-1741
(minimum drug overdose benefits),
38-174} (prohibition of offsets based on
disability benefits), 38-174k (minimum
home health care benefits), 38-1741
(minimum home health care benefits pro-
vided by a recognized nonmedical
system), 38-174m (minimum loss ratio in
medicare supplement policies), 38-174n
(lien on workers' compensation awards),
38-1740 (standards for third party
prescription programs), 38-174p (offer

of coverage for comprehensive

rehabilitation services), 38-174q

(minimum occupational therapy benefits).
38-262b (minimum alcoholism treatment
benefits), 38-262c (standards for can-
cellation or discontinuance of cover-
age), 38-262d (conversion and extension
rights), 38-262f (offer of coverage for
outpatient treatment of alcoholism),
38-2629 (limitation on spousal premium
charges), 38-262h (spousal coverage as
employee and dependent), 38-262i (mini-
mum benefits for treatment of tumors and
leukemia), 38-262} (prohibition against
age discrimination) and Conn. Gen.
Stat., Chapter 692 (minimum benefits and
policy provisions for group Con-
prehensive Health Care Plans).

Although the statute before the
Court, Massachusetts General Laws,

Chapter 175, 8 47B (Section 47B),

pertains only to mandatory minimum men-

tal health benefits, a holding of pre-
emption under § 514(a) of the Employee
Retirement Income Secucity Act of 1974
(ERISA), 29 U.S.C § 1144(a), would re-
move many other benefits and protections
provided in group health insurance po-
licies enjoyed by the citizens of var-
ious states and throw them into what
some commentators have referred to as

2
2/ Moreover,

“the requlatory void."
Appellants’ arguments of preemption
under ERISA and the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, 29 U.S.C. § 151 et

2/ Brummond, supra, at 117-20; Rottman,
supra, at 291-97. Additionally, a hold-
ing of preemption would place both the
industry and the state regulators in the
aifficult position of ascertaining

Continued on next page.

ea eC

seq.. (NLRA), if adopted by the Court,

would seriously erode, if not eliminate,
state supremacy in the regulation and
control of the health insurance busi-
ness. Thus, the amici states have sub-
stantial interests in the proper resolu-
tion of the questions presented in these
appeals.

Amici states file this brief in
support of the Commonwealth of Mass-
achusetts urging that the judgment of
the Supreme Judicial Court of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts be

affirmed.

Footnote 2 continued:

whether the purchaser of a group health
insurance policy is a qualified employee
benefit plan under 29 U.S.C. §§ 1002(1)
and 1003(a) to determine whether state
insurance law applies to the policy.
Donovan v. Dillingham, 688 F.2d 1367
(llth Cir. 1982), provides insight into
some of the difficylties in determining
whether an ERISA-qualified employee
benefit plan does exist.

"7
sd

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A statute of the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts mandating that insurance
companies provide minimum mental health
benefits in general insurance policies
which may be purchased by employee bene-
fit plans does not relate to employee
benefit plans within the meaning of 29
U.S.C. § 1144(a) as construed in Alessi

v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S.

504 (1981), and Shaw v. Delta Air Lines,

Inc., U.S. ° 103 §$.Ct. 2890

(1983).

Even if it were to be found that
such a statute relates to employee bene-
fit plans, it would be saved from pre-
emption under the terms of ERISA'sS sav-
ings clause, 29 =+U«.S.C. § 1144(b)
(2)(A). This is the only result con-

gsonant with the Mccarran-Ferguson Act

and ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(d), and is

necessary to avoid rendering the savings
clause and the deemer clause, 29 U.S.C.
§ 1144(b)(2)(B) surplusage.

Preemption under the National
Labor Relations Act is based on two doc-
trines, the first preempting state regu-
lation concerning conduct arguably pro-
tected or prohibited by the NLRA and the
second preempting state regulation of
conduct intended by Congress to be un-
regulated. The latter doctrine, which
governs this case, is restricted to
state regulation affecting the balance
of power in collective bargaining nego-
tiations and requires a substantial
effect on such balance of power. The
Massachusetts statute does not affect
the balance of power in negotiations and
does not have a substantial effect on

the negotiation of terms of agreements

in view of its tangential relation as
health legislation to the collective
bargaining process and its tolerance of
the alternative of providing benefits
without insurance.

The doctrine governing this case
recognizes also a balancing of the state
interest in regulation against the
potential interference with the federal
interest. The state incerest in health
underlying the Massachusetts statute
outweighs the limited effect on ne-
gotiation of terms of agreements.

Furthermore, the statute is not
preempted since Congress intended to
allow state regulation of insurance
under the McCarran-Ferguson Act. The
provision of the McCarran-Ferguson Act
for application of the NLRA to the busi-
ness of insurance refers only to the

labor relations of insurance companies.

10

ARGUMENT
I.

A STATUTE OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF

MASSACHUSETTS MANDATING THAT IN-

SURANCE COMPANIES PROVIDE MINIMUM

MENTAL HEALTH BENEFITS IN GENERAL

HEALTH INSURANCE POLICIES WHICH

MAY BE SOLD TO EMPLOYEE BENEFIT

PLANS ESTABLISHED PURSUANT TO THE

EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT INCOME SE-

CURITY ACT OF 1974, 29 U.S.C. §

1001 ET SEQ.. IS NOT PREEMPTED BY

29 U.S.C. § 1144(a)

The Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. §
1144(a), provides in part: “Except as
provided in subsection (b) of this
section, the provisions of this sub-
chapter...shall supersede any and all
State laws insofar as they may now or
hereafter relate to any employee benefit
plan...." The noted exception to this
preemption clause, 29 u.S.C. § 1144(b)
(2)(A). is a _ broad savings clause for

certain state laws and reads as

follows: “Except ac provided in

1l

subparagraph (B), nothing in this sub-
chapter shall be construed to exempt or
relieve any person from any law of any
State which regulates insurance, bank-
ing, or securities."

The subparagraph (B) exception to
this savings clause protects only en-
ployee benefit plans and their trusts by
providing that they shall not be deemed,

inter alia, to be an “insurance company

or other insurer...or to be engaged in
the business of insurance...for purposes
of any law of any State purporting to
regulate insurance companies, [or] in-
surance contracts...."

Finally. Congress clearly in-

dicated its intent that ERISA was to
have no effect on any existing federal
legislation by the following language in

29 U.S.C. § 1144(d):

EE

Nothing in this subchapter
shall be construed to alter,
amend, modify, invalidate,
impair, or supersede any law

of the United States (except

as provided in sections 1031

and 1137(b) of this title)

or any rule or regulation

issued under any such law.

Thus, in order to hold that a
state statute mandating that insurance
companies provide specific health bene-
fits in general insurance policies is
preempted by ERISA, the Court must first
find that the statute “relates to" en-
ployee benefit plans for the purposes of
the general preemption clause, 29 U.S.C.
§ 1144(a). If a determination is made
that the statute relates to employee
welfare benefit plans. and a further
finéding is made that the statute does
not regulate insurance within the sav-
ings clause, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b) (2)(A).
oniy then will the state law be held to

be preempted.

13

A. The Statute Does Not Relate To
Employee Benefit Plans

In order to come within the ambit
of ERISA preemption, a state law must
“relate to" an employee benefit plan.

In Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan,

Inc., 451 U.S. 504, 524 (1981), a New
Jersey workers' compensation statute
banning pension benefit offsets based on
workers' compensation was held to relate
to employee benefit plans within the
meaning of 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). Having
found that ERISA permitted all employee
benefit plans to make pension benefit
offsets based on workers’ compensation,
the Court concluded that the “relate to”
requirement was met since the New Jersey
statute directly deprived employee bene-
fit plans of a “calculation technique"
permissible under federal law. Id. at

524-25.

14

In Shaw _v. Delta Air Lines,

Inc., U.S. » 103 $.Ct. 2890, 2900

(1983), the Court held that the New York
Human Rights Law related to employee
benefit plans to the extent that it pro-
hibited practices (providing dis-
criminatory benefits) permitted by
federal law and that, similarly, the New
York Disability Benefits Law related to
employee benefit plans insofar as it
required employers offering the plans to
provide specific disability benefits.

All three state statutes under
consideration in Alessi and Shaw did
“relate to" employee benefit plans be-
cause they applied directly to the plans
and gave the plans no choice but to
significantly change or alter the bene-
fits payable under the plans. In the

present case, however, the state

15

statute applies only to insurance con-
panies issuing general health insurance
policies which may or may not be pur-
chased by employee benefit plans. The
plans clearly are not forced to comply
with these laws, but may elect to become
self-insurers.

That the state statute at issue
here, Section 47B, applies only to group
insurance policies and not ' employee
benefit plans, is evidenced by the fact
that the action was brought only against
insurance carriers who issue the af-
fected policies and not against en-

ployers or employee organizations who

16

offer employee benefit plans or the
plans themselves. 3/

To hold that a state statute
applicable only to insurance companies
issuing general health insurance

policies relates to employee benefit

plans and is therefore within the

3/ Indeed, the insurance carriers who
raise the issue of preemption under 29
U.S.C. § 1144(a) in this action would
appear to lack the requisite standing
under ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a). had
they attempted to bring suit in their
own right to enforce the preemption pro-
vision of ERISA. Blue Cross and Blue
Shield of Kansas City v. Bell, No.
84-2255 (D. Kan., Nov. 7, 1984) (citing
Tuvia Convalescent Center, Inc. Vv.
National Union of Hospital and Health
Care Employees, 717 F.2d 726 (2d Cir.
1983); Pressroom Union-Printers League
Income Security Fund v. Continental
Assurance Co., 700 F.2d 889 (2d Cir.).
cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 148 (1983)).

17

preemptive ambit of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §
1144(a), would be an unwarranted ex-
tension of the holdings in Alessi and
Shaw, and would make any state law which
regulates or affects a product which an
employee benefit plan may purchase or an
activity in which an employee plan may

engage susceptible to a claim of ERISA

preemption.
B. The Statute Is Expressly Excepted

From ERISA Preemption by 29
U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A)

Expressly excepted from the gen-

eral preemption provided in 29 U.S.C. §
1144(a) is “any law of any State which
regulates insurance...." 29 U.S.C. §
1144(b)(2)(A). A state statute which
mandates minimum benefits in general
health insurance policies sold by in-
surance companies is a law which

regulates insurance. Such a_ statute

18

directly regulates the relationship be-
tween the insurer and the insured and
has been considered to be at the center
of insurance regulation by this Court:
The relationship between
insurer and insured,’ the

type of policy which could
be issued, its reliability,

interpretation, and en-
forcement-- these were the
core of the ‘business of
insurance.' Undoubtedly,

other activities of in-
surance companies relate so
closely to their status as
reliable insurers that they
too must be placed in the
same class. But whatever
the exact scope cf the stat-
utory tern, it is clear
where the focus was-- it was
on the relationship between
the insurance company and
the policyholder. Statutes
aimed at protecting or regu-
lating this relationship,
directly or indirectly, are
laws regulating the _ ‘busi-
ness of insurance. '

S.E.C. v. National Securities, 393 U.S.

453, 460 (1969).

19

Several factors dictate that
state mandatcry benefit statutes were
intended by Congress to come within the
savings clause exception, 29 U.S.C. §
1144(b)(2)(A), to the general preemption
provision of ERISA. First, the ex-
ception is written in the broadest lan-
guage possible: “any law of any State
which regulates insurance...." (Emphasis
added). It has been noted that this
savings clause exception to the general
rule of preemption was s0 broad as to
envelop the general rule and made it
necessary to include the deemer clause
exception, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B). to
the savings clause to prevent the direct

application of state insurance laws

20

to employee benefit plans and, in ef-
fect, require them to become insurance

4/ The deemer clause

companies.
would be surplusage if Congress did not
consider the savings clause exception to
be extremely broad.

Since the direct application of
state insurance laws to employee benefit
plans is prevented by the deemer clause,
the savings clause must be construed to
encompass insurance laws which in-
directly affect employee benefit plans,

or it, too, would be rendered sur-

plusage. Wadsworth v. Whaland, 562 F.2d

70, 78 (lst Cir. 1977), cert. denied,

435 U.S. 980 (1978).

4/ Kilberg and Inman, Preemption of

State Law Under ERISA: Drawing the Line
Between Laws That Do and Laws that Do

Not Relate to Employee Benefit Plans, 19
Forum 162, 163 (1983).

21

In 1979, Congress failed to enact

an amendment to ERISA that would have

taken state mandatory minimum coverages

in insurance out of the protection of

the broad exception for insurance laws.

The report of the Senate Committee on

Labor and Human Resources specifically

stated that the proposed amendment was

intended to legislatively overrule
decision of the First Circuit

Wadsworth v. Whaland, supra. The

guage proposed in Senate Bill 209

as follows:

A State insurance law which
provides that a specific
benefit or benefits must be
provided or made available
by a contract or policy of
insurance issued to an en-
ployee benefit plan is a law
which relates to an employee
benefit plan within the
meaning of subsection (a)
and is not a law which regu-
lates insurance within the
meaning of subparagraph
|) ea

22

the
in
lan-

read

The ERISA Improvements Act of 1979: Sum-
mary and Analysis of Consideration,
United States Senate Committee on Labor
and Human Resources, 1979, pp. 46, 88;
see also, 125 Congressional Record 931,
937 (1979).

It is a fundamental canon of
statutory construction that an act of
Congress should be construed “in such a
manner as to give effect to all its
parts and to avoid a construction which
would render a provision surplusage."

Wadsworth v. Whaland, supra, 562 F.2d at

78, citing McDonald v. Thompson, 305
U.S. 263 (1938). Any other construction

of these sections of 29 U.S.C. § 1144
would render either the savings or the
deemer clause, or both, surplusage. If
Congress had intended to preempt any law
which may have an effect on employee

benefit plans, both the savings clause

23

and the deemer clause would have been
unnecessary.

All these subsections of 29
U.S.C. § 1144 underscore and reinforce
the long-standing Congressional policy
of state supremacy in the regulation of
the insurance business set forth in the
McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1011

and 1012. 3/

5/ 15 U.S.C. § 1011 reads:

Congress declares that the
continued regulation and
taxation by the several
states of the business of
insurance is in the public
interest, and that silence
on the part of Congress
shall not be construed to
impose any barrier to the
regulation or taxation of
such business by the several
States.

15 U.S.C. § 1012 reads in pertinent
part:

Continued on next page.

24

The general preemptive clause, 29

U.S.C. § 1144(a), is silent as to the
business of insurance and can hardly be
construed to relate specifically to the
business of insurance. The savings
clause, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A), spec-
ifically refers to insurance, but only
to reinforce the non-preemptive mandate
of 15 U.S.C. § 1012(b). Finally, the
language of 29 U.S.C. § 1144(d) clearly
indicates Congressional intent that
nothing in ERISA is to be construed to
alter the status quo of other federal

legislation.

Footnote 5 continued:

(a) The business of i iin-
surance, and every person
engaged therein, shall be
subject to the laws of the
several States which relate
to the regulation or tax-
ation of such business.

Continued on next page.

25

Thus, a fundamental canon of
statutory construction, the McCarran-
Ferguson Act, and the language of 29
U.S.C. § 1144(d) of ERISA, lead to the
conclusion that ERISA does not preempt
a state insurance statute directly ap-
plicable to insurance companies and the

terms of the policies they issue.

~~

Footnote 5 continued:

(b) No Act of Congress shall
be construed to invalidate,
impair, or supersede any iaw
enacted by any State for the
purpose of regulating the
business of insurance, or
which imposes a fee or tax
upon such business, unless
such Act specifically re-
lates to the business of
insurance....

26

Il.

THE MASSACHUSETTS STATUTE IS NOT
PREEMPTED BY THE NATIONAL
LABOR RELATIONS ACT

A. The Massachusetts Statute Lacks a
Substantial Effect On Negotiation
Of An Agreement And The Balance
Of Power In Collective Bargaining

1. Preemption Requires a Sub-
stantial Effect On Ne-
gotiation of an Agreement and
the Balance of Power in Col-
lective Bargaining

This Court has recognized two

distinct approaches to preemption of
state regulation by the National Labor
Relations Act. The first approach pre-
empts state regulation concerning con-

duct that is arguably prohibited or

protected by the Act. San Diego

Building Trades Council v. Garmon, 359

U.S. 236, 245 (1959). The second
approach prohibits state regulation

having a substantial effect on conduct

27

that Congress intended to be un-
regulated, specifically conduct in-
volving the self-help remedies left to
the parties in labor disputes. Lodge

76, International Association of

Machinists v. Wisconsin Employment Rela-

tions Commission, 427 U.S. 132, 140,

147-148 (1976). The existence of these
two doctrines of NLRA preemption has
been confirmed by the Court on several

occasions. Belknap, Inc. v. Hale,

U.S. ° 103 S.Ct. 3172, 3176-77

(1983); New York Telephone Co. v. New

York State Department of Labor, 440 U.S.

519, 527-531 (1979); Lodge 76, Inter-

national Association of Machinists v.

Wisconsin Employment Relations Commis-

sion, supra, 427 U.S. at 138-140.

In Belknap, Inc. Vv. Hale,

supra, U.S. » 403 $§$.Ct. at

28

3177-81, the Court's application of the
Machinists doctrine recognizes the more
limited preemption under that doctrine
than under Garmon. The Court requires a
determination of actual effect of the
state regulation on conduct intended by
Congress to be unregulated. By con-
trast, minnen requires only a showing of
State regulation of conduct arguably
protected or prohibited by the Act.
There is no requirement under Garmon of
establishing the practical effects of
the state regulation on that conduct.
This distinction between Garmon
and Machinists is clearly indicated by
the Court in Belknap. Its application
of Garmon is premised on state regu-
lation of conduct arguably protected or
prohibited by the Act. Id. at __, 103

S.Ct. at 3181-82. Its application of

29

“ ” a ater agp soles «my permit” NE We BA NOS, aca ny . ~ f -

Machinists, however, undertakes careful
inquiry into the degree of effect of the
state regulation on conduct that Con-
gress intended to be unregulated.

The Court's application of

Machinists in Belknap is marked by its

focus on the tangential relation of
suits for damages by replacements to the
federal recognition of the employer's
rights with respect to hiring replace-
ments during ae strike. The Court
regards the infliction of injury on
third parties as tangential to. the
rights of employer and union to use
economic weapone against each other.
Id. at ___, 103 $.Ct. at 3177-78. The
Court further rejects the argument of
serious detriment to the employer from
the conditioning of offers to the re-

placements in order to avoid a breach

30

ee TR Be Eee we

of contract, should the employer be
ordered to reinstate strikers or should
a settlement require reinstatement. Id.
at. 103 S.Ct. at 3178-79. The Court
then undertakes a calculation of the
effects of the state regulation on
federal rights. The Court discerns no
Substantial impact on settlement of
strikes since the employer can condition
offers to replacements to avoid suits
for damages. Id. at __, 103 §.Ct. at
3180-81. The employer's risk of lia-
bility upon discharge of replacements
under a settlement is viewed as mini-
mal. The Court recognizes no greater
effect on settlement than under pre-
emption of suits for damages.

The critical aspect of the
Court's approach is its reliance on

calculating the degree of effect of the

31

state regulation on conduct intended by
Congress to be unregulated. This re-
liance is illustrated by the Court's
comparison of the eftects on federal
rights with and without preemption, its
emphasis on the lack of substantial in-
pact on settlement and the minimal risk
of employer liability and its-7~ re-
cognition of the tangential relation of
suits for damages to federal rights.
The Court does not accept, as it does
under Garmon, an approach under

Machinists which requires only a con-

clusion that the state regulation con-
cerns conduct in an area covered by the
NLRA.

In addition to the requirement of
substantial effect on conduct intended
by Congress to be unregulated, the

Machinists doctrine requires upsetting

32

es

the balance of power between employer

and union in i bargaining. This is
Clearly the focus in Belknap. Id.
ee. » 103 $.Ct. at 3177. Machinists,

too, was decided on the basis of the
effects of the state law on the balance
of economic weapons between union and

employer. Lodge 76, International Asso-

ciation of Machinists v. Wisconsin

Employment Relations Commission, supra,
427 U.S. at 148-151. In New York Tele-

phone Co. v. New York State Department

of Labor, supra, 440 U.S. at 531-533,
the Court was again concerned with the
effect on the balance of economic
weapons between employer and union.

With respect to the intent of
Congress to leave unregulated the terms
of collective bargaining agreements, the
Machinists doctrine must be construed az

limited to state regulation affecting

33

the balance of power in the negotiation
of the terms of such agreements. Local

24, International Brotherhood of Team-

sters v. Oliver, 358 U.S. 283, 293-294

(1959). This also follows from the Con-
gressional concern with the balance of

power in leaving unregulated the terms

of agreement. In H.K. Porter Co., Inc.

v._ NLRB, 397 U.S. 99 (1970), the Court

iadicated the underlying rationale for
leaving unregulated the terms of agree-
ments. “It is implicit in the entire
structure of the Act that the Board acts
to oversee and referee the process of
collective bargaining, leaving the

results of the contest to the bargaining

strengths of the parties." Id. at
107-108.
Accordingly, the Machinists

doctrine requires a substantial effect

on conduct intended by Congress to be

34

unregulated and state regulation af-
fecting the balance of power in nego-
tiation of terms of agreements.
2. The Massachusetts Statute
Lacks a Substantial Effect On
Conduct Intended by Congress
to be Unregulated
a. The Massachusetts Statute
Lacks a Substantial Effect
on Negotiation of an
Agreement
The Court's approach in Belknap
leads to the conclusion that Section 47B
is not preempted by the NLRA. The tan-
gential relation of the statute to the
concerns of Congress in leaving un-
regulated the terms of agreement must be
considered. It cannot’ seriously . be
argued that Congress had in mind the
preemption of health and welfare legis-
lation totally unrelated to regulation
of collective bargaining when it sought

to leave the parties free to enter into

terms of agreement. Moreover,

35

preemption here would lead to the absurd
result of preempting major pieces of
critical state health and safety legis-
lation with similar tangential effects
on collective bargaining agreements.
For example, state legislation on auto-
mobile seat belts and prescription drugs
would be preempted.

The effects of Section 47B on
collective bargaining agreements are
further limited by the ability of the
parties to reach agreements without the
use of insurance. Employee health plans
may be provided without the purchase of
insurance. The statute applies only
when the parties have purchased in-
surance.

b. The Massachusetts Statute

Does Not Affect the Balance

of Power in Collective
Bargaining

36

Section 47B does not affect the
Congressional concern with the balance
of power in leaving unregulated the
terms of agreements, since it allows the
parties to negotiate benefits without
purchasing insurance and, even when in-
surance is purchased, equally restrains
each party in bargaining for other
benefits.

B. The Balancing Test Between
State and Federal Interests

Requires a Holding Against
Preemption

1. The Test for Preemption
Requires a Balancing of
the State Interest in
Reculation Against the

Potential for Inter-
ference With the Federal
Interest

The Machinists doctrine is sub-
ject to the exceptions under the Garmon
doctrine, which have been incorporated,

under Farmer _v. United Brotherhood of

Carpenters & Joiners of America, Local

37

25, 430 U.S. 290, 297-301, 304 (1977),
in a test balancing the state interest
in regulation against the potential for
interference with federal regulation.
These include the exceptions for state
regulation involving deeply rooted local
interests, matters of peripheral concern
to the NLRA and health and safety. Id.
at 296-297, 301 n. 10, 299, 302-303.

The Court in Machinists indicates that

its doctrine is limited by the same ex-

ceptions as is Garmon. Lodge 76, Inter-

national Association of Machinists v.

Wisconsin Employment Relations Commis-

sion, supra, 427 U.S. at 151. The
Court's acceptance of the Garmon ex-

ceptions for purposes of the Machinists

doctrine is further revealed by its
reference to basic exceptions to pre-
emption of general applicability in-

cluding the exceptions for deeply rooted

38

local interests and matters of per-
ipheral concern to the NLRA. Id. at
136-137.

In New York Telephone Co. v. New

York State Department of Labor, supra,

440 U.S. at 533-534, the plurality ac-

cepts under Farmer a distinct state re-
gulatory purpose as an exception to pre-
emption. It decides against preemption
on the basis of the purpose of un-
employment compensation statutes to pro-
vide a state program of employment
security rather than the purpose to ad-
just bargaining power as well as Con-
gressional intent in federal un-
employment compensation statutes to al-
low state regulation. Id. at 533-537.
The concurring opinion also recognizes
the applicability of the Garmon ex-

ceptions to the Machinists doctrine such

39

as the exception for deeply rooted local
interests. Id. at 550.
2. The State Interest in Health
Under the Massachusetts
Statute Outweichs Its Limited
Effect on the Federal Policy
of Leaving Unregulated the
Terms of Agreements
Application of the Farmer balanc-
ing test to Section 47B requires a hold-
ing against preemption. The purpose of
the state statute is to promote the
health of citizens, not to regulate
labor relations. It falls not only
within the Farmer balancing test as a
separate state interest but also within
the specific exceptions for deeply
rooted local interests in light of the
state interest in the health of its

citizens and for health and safety

regulations.

40

The potential for interference in
federal interests under the NLRA is
limited. First, the statute, unlike the

New York statute in New York Telephone

Co., does not affect the balance of
power between the parties in bargain-
ing. It permits the parties to nego-
tiate benefits without the purchase of
insurance and, even when insurance is
purchased, affects the terms of the col-
lective bargaining agreement with an
equal impact on union and employer.
Furthermore, Section 47B as _ health
legislation has a tangential relation to
regulation of the collective bargaining
process, and preemption here would have
the absurd consequence of preempting
critical etate health and safety

legislation.

41

Accordingly. the state's interest
aa the health of its citizens outweighs
the potential interference with the
federal policy, and the Massachusetts
statute is thus not preempted by the
NLRA.

C. The McCarran-Ferguson Act

Establishes a Congressional

Intent to Allow the Mass-
achusetts Statute

Section 47B is not preempted by
virtue of the McCarran-Ferguson Act.
The Act provides in relevant part: “No
Act of Congress shall be construed to
invalidate, impair, or supersede any law
enacted by any State for the purpose of
regulating the business of insurance."
15 U.S.C. 8 1012(b). Section 47B
directly regulates insurance and in-
surance policies, and therefore the NLRA

does not invalidate such regulation.

42

Attorney General v. Travelers Insurance

Co., 385 Mass. 598, 613-614, 433 N.E.2d
1223, 1232 (1982). The Massachusetts
statute is therefore distinguishable
from the New York arbitration statute in

Hamilton Life Insurance Co. v. Republic

National Life Insurance Co., 408 F.2d
606, 611 (2d Cir. 1969).
McCarran-Ferguson is not rendered
inapplicable on the basis of Section 4
of the Act, which provides: “Nothing
contained in this chapter shall be con-
strued to affect in any manner the ap-
plication to the business of insurance
of...the National Labor Relations Act,
or...the Fair Labor Standards Act...."
15 U.S.C. § 1014. This must be in-
terpreted to mean that the labor rela-
tions of insurance companies are subject

to the NLRA. Section 4 of McCarran-

Ferguson provides for the application to

the business of insurance of the Fair
Labor Standards Act. 15 U.S.C. § 1014.
If this provision were construed to ref-
er to application of the NLRA to state
regulation of insurance, as opposed to
the state regulation of the labor rela-
tions of insurance companies, then
similarly it must be construed to refer
to the application of the Fair Labor
Standards Act to the state regulation of
insurance, as opposed to state regu-
lation of minimal standards of
employment at insurance companies.
However, the Fair Labor Standards Act,
29 U.S.C. § 201 et seg., by its very
nature is concerned with the minimum
wages and maximum hours in employment
and therefore could have no application
to state regulation of insurance.
Accordingly, 15 U.S.C. § 1014 must refer
to the application of the Fair Labor
Standards Act to employment

44

standards of insurance companies and,
similarly, to the application of the
NLRA to labor relations of insurance
companies.

This interpretation is also sup-
ported by the recognition that 15 U.S.C.
§ 1014 is not an exception to 15 U.S.C.
§ 1012(b) but merely states that nothing
in the chapter affects the applicaton of
the NLRA to the business of insurance.
Accordingly, 15 U.S.C. § 1014 does
not impose a limitation on the authori-
zation of state regulation of insurance
in 15 U.S.C. § 1012(b) but merely clari-
fies the irrelevance of that provision
to the labor relations of insurance con-
panies. In essence, 15 U.S.C. § 1014
confirms that the phrase “business of
insurance" as used in 15 U.S.C. §
1012(b) may not be interpreted as in-
cluding the labor relations of insurance
companies.

45

For

CONCLUSION

foregoing reasons, the

judgment of Supreme Judicial Court of

the Commonwealth of Massachusetts should

be affirmed.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

JOSEPH I. LIEBERMAN
Attorney General of the
State of Connecticut
Amicus Curiae

ELLIOT F. GERSON
Deputy Attorney General

ARNOLD B. FEIGIN
Assistant Attorney
General

Counsel of Record

(Additional List of
Counsel on Inside Pages)

46

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0387%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
