# Amicus Curiae Brief — Atascadero State Hospital v. Scanlon

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0386%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 473 U.S. 234

## Text

No. 84-351 | FILER

FEB 99 1995
Supreme Court of the United HrakeyOee. svevas

IN THE

U.S

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

>
ATASCADERO STATE HOSPITAL
and
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH,
Petitioners,
on

DOUGLAS JAMES SCANLON,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION AND THE AMERICAN CIVIL
LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION OF SOUTHERN
CALIFORNIA AS AMICI CURIAE
SUPPORTING AFFIRMANCE

DAVID L. SHAPIRO
(Counsel of Record)
PAUL L. HOFFMAN 1525 Massachusetts Avenue
MARK D. ROSENBAUM Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138
American Civil Liberties (617) 495-4618
Union Foundation of
Southern California
633 South Shatto Place
Los Angeles, CA 90005
(213) 487-1720

BURT NEUBORNE

CHARLES S. SIMS

American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation

132 West 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

(212) 944-9800

INTEREST OF AMICI

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) is a nation-
wide, nonpartisan organization of more than 250,000 members
dedicated to the protection of civil liberties and civil rights.
The ACLU Foundation of Southern California is a state
affiliate of the ACLU. Either as counsel for a party or as
amicus curiae, the ACLU has frequently asserted the federal
statutory and constitutional rights of handicapped persons.
The ACLU has also previously filed briefs in this Court
concerning the proper scope of the Eleventh Amendment.

With the consent of the parties, indicated by letters we have
lodged with the Clerk of the Court, we file this brief amici
curiae to bring our experience to bear on the important
questions presented by this case.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICI ..........cccccccccccccccces

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ..........ccccccccccces

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........ccececeeces

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..............--+-0055

ARGUMENT. .......cccccccccccccccccccccssceseses

I. Congress Has Effectively Abrogated Eleventh
Amendment Immunity in Private Suits for Viola-
tion of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act ....

Il.

A.

Congress Has Authorized a Private Remedy
for Violation of Section 504 Against All Re-
cipients of Federal Assistance, Including the
States and Their Departments..............

. Congressional Abrogation of Eleventh

Amendment Immunity in This Case Does Not
Require State Consent to Be Effective.......

. If State Consent is Required, It May Be In-

ferred From the Continued Acceptance of
Federal Assistance With Notice of the Condi-
tions Imposed by Federal Law .............

This Case Affords an Opportunity to Clarify the
Scope and Application of the Eleventh Amend-

11

12

14

18

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE
Alabama v. Pugh, 438 U.S. 781 (1978)............. 4, 9, 16
Alexander v. Choate, 53 U.S.L.W. 4072 (U.S. Jan. 9,
EEE REL ccc ese sccnceccenacces 7,9
Bossier Parish School Bd. v. Lemon, 370 F.2d 847 (Sth
Cir.), cert. denied, 388 U.S. 911 (1967)............. 8
Brown v. Sibley, 650 F.2d 760 (Sth Cir. 1981) ......... 5
Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677 (1979) 8
Chisholm v. Georgia, 2 Dall. (2 U.S.) 419 (1793)...... 15
Consolidated Rail Corp. v. Darrone, 104 S. Ct. 1248
Peek eee ectecsescceccccceccecs 2
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) ............. 4, 13
EEOC v. Wyoming, 460 U.S. 226 (1983) ............. 12
Employees v. Department of Public Health & Welfare,
ke tac s ee eccncccecs 13, 14
Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908). ................ 16
Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 (1976)............. 4, 11

Florida Dep’t of Health & Rehabilitative Services v.
Florida Nursing Home Ass’n, 450 U.S. 147 (1981)...10, 13

Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448 (1980) ........... 12
Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1 (1890)........... 4, 15, 17, 18
Hospital Building Co. v. Trustees of the Rex Hospital,
ee acc c ese sncececes l
Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678 (1978) .............. 9, 10, 11
Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974) ................. 8

Lloyd v. Regional Transportation Authority, 548 F.2d
EEE ee 12

iV

PAGE
Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 267 (1977). ...........4.. 4
Mills Music, Inc. v. Arizona, 591 F.2d 1278 (9th Cir.

PC kvecudndedcideann ieeeseceaanseneunanauns 5
Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (1979). ............045. 16
Parden v. Terminal Railway, 377 U.S. 184 (1964)... .5, 10, 13
Parks v. Pavkovic, 536 F. Supp. 296 (N.D. Ill. 1982)... 12
Peel v. Florida Dep’t of Transportation, 600 F.2d 1070

ES onc ciate eee ede Dee eReaee 13
Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 104 S.

Ge EE 53.60 4sgkbdsoebesbessnecuanesebass 14, 16
Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332 (1979). ........520005- 9
Scanlon v. Atascadero State Hospital, 677 F.2d 1271 (9th

Cir. 1982), vacated and remanded, 104 S. Ct. 1583, on

remand, 735 F.2d 359 (9th Cir. 1984). .............. 2
Southeastern Community College v. Davis, 442 U.S. 397

PEE cb Aknsd chads ches eed chen nen daewekedéane 13
Statutes and Regulations
Education Acts, 20 U.S.C. §§ 1401 ef seg............. 12
Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, 20

SP ice Cee ee G0 GO oon cevecivcacdcsccésccseves 5,6
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C.

SF kcccpucenavesessvéceueedsdetedeuessaauend passim
ee es OP PU 6k bn dé Seve cusaceeunt obese vanees 7
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

Se SG MD, once ecncescuvcdousdketséuceees 5, 6, 7,8
GP es OI oo eercvawisccrccttenseieeees 1]

42 Fed. Reg. 22677 (May 4, 1977), 45 C.F.R. § 84.3(f).. 8

PAGE
Legislative Materials

Senate Report No. 890, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 19 (1978) 8,9
Senate Report No. 1297, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 39-40

SE 6on6hbendannedaeeunes tnbhedsenwuses4isees 6, 8
110 Congressional Record 10075-76 (1964)............ 8
110 Congressional Record 1378 (1964) ............... 8
117 Congressional Record 45974-75 (1971)............ 12
118 Congressional Record 525 (1972) ................ 12
119 Congressional Record 24587 (1973) .............. 6
124 Congressional Record 30346 (1978) ..............

124 Congressional Record 30347 (1978) .............. 9

Implementation of Section 504, Rehabilitation Act of
1973: Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Select
Education of the House Committee on Education and
Labor, 95th Cong., Ist Sess (1977)................. 7

Other Authorities

Engdahl, Jmmunity and Accountability for Positive
Governmental Wrongs, 44 U. Colo. L. Rev. 1 (1972) 14

Field, The Eleventh Amendment and Other Sovereign
Immunity Doctrines, 126 U. Pa. L. Rev. 515 (1977)
(Part I), 126 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1203 (1978) (Part II)... = 14,

15, 17

Fletcher, A Historical Interpretation of the Eleventh
Amendment: A Narrow Construction of an Affirma-
tive Grant of Jurisdiction Rather than a Prohibition
Against Jurisdiction, 35 Stan. L. Rev. 1033 (1983)... 14

Gibbons, The Eleventh Amendment and State Sovereign
Immunity: A Reinterpretation, 83 Colum. L. Rev.
PN 26s cade ndandieat sheeheddnskcecnuess 14, 15

vi
PAGE

C. Jacobs, The Eleventh Amendment and Sovereign
Immunity (1972) ......ccccccccccccccccecescscees 14

Orth, The Interpretation of the Eleventh Amendment,
1798-1908: A Case Study of Judicial Power, 1983 U.
By SG MD 5. 66 046.008 Vin Cee enecedeeesoescsee< 14

Shapiro, Wrong Turns: The Eleventh Amendment and
the Pennhurst Case, 98 Harv. L. Rev. 61 (1984)..... 14, 16

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-351
>

ATASCADERO STATE HOSPITAL

and

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH,

Petitioners,
—-\V .—

DOUGLAS JAMES SCANLON,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

>

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION AND THE AMERICAN CIVIL
LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION OF SOUTHERN
CALIFORNIA AS AMICI CURIAE
SUPPORTING AFFIRMANCE

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In November 1979, Douglas Scanlon filed this suit in a
California federal district court against the Atascadero State
Hospital and the California Department of Mental Health.' He

1. The summary of the case in this statement is drawn from Scanlon’s
complaint. See J.A. 2-23. Since the case arises on a motion to dismiss, the
allegations of the complaint are taken to be true for purposes of this

proceeding. See Hospital Building Co. v. Trustees of the Rex Hospital, 425
U.S. 738, 740 (1976). :
(footnote continued on following page)

2

alleged in his complaint that he suffers from diabetes mellitus
and loss of vision in one eye, that in February 1978 he applied
for a position as a graduate student assistant in recreation
therapy at Atascadero Hospital, and that after a physical
examination, the hospital withdrew a job offer it had made
because his diabetes was “uncontrolled” and because he lacked
vision in one eye.

Scanlon then complained to the regional Office of Civil
Rights of the Department of Health, Education and Welfare.
That office determined that the withdrawal of the job offer
violated Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29
U.S.C. § 794, which provides that “[n]o otherwise qualified
handicapped individual . . . shall . . . be subjected to dis-
crimination under any program or activity receiving Federal
financial assistance.” When conciliation efforts failed, the
present action to redress the violation was brought.” The
complaint prayed for a declaratory judgment and injunctive
relief, as well as backpay, “any further compensatory dam-
ages,” costs, and reasonable attorney’s fees.

The defendants’ motion to dismiss was granted by the
district court on the grounds (1) that Section 504 did not
prohibit discrimination against the handicapped in a federally
assisted activity unless a primary purpose of that federal
assistance was to provide employment, and (2) that the action
was barred by the Eleventh Amendment. The Court of Ap-
peals affirmed on the first of these grounds, 677 F.2d 1271 (9th
Cir. 1982), but after the decision in Consolidated Rail Corp. v.
Darrone, 104 S. Ct. 1248 (1984), this Court vacated and
remanded for reconsideration. 104 S. Ct. 1583 (1984). On
remand, the Court of Appeals concluded (1) that under Dar
rone, Section 504 was applicable even if the primary purpose
of the federal assistance was not to provide employment, and
(2) that the suit was not barred by the Eleventh Amendment.

The Department of Mental Health is the state agency responsible for
supervising and administering the Atascadero Hospital. Both defendants
allegedly receive funds from the federal government.

2. Scanlon also alleged in his complaint that the defendants’ actions
violated two California statutes.

3

735 F.2d 359 (9th Cir. 1984). The latter determination is now
before this Court for review.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and its amendments repre-
sent a major effort by Congress to deal with one of the
enduring social problems of our day—that of enabling the
handicapped to lead full and useful lives. As an essential part
of this effort, Congress prohibited discrimination against the
handicapped not only by federal agencies and contractors but
also by all recipients of federal financial assistance, and autho-
rized a private remedy against any recipient who violated that
prohibition.

The language and legislative history of the act and its
amendments demonstrate that the states and their d2part-
ments, as principal recipients of federai assistance, fall within
the scope of that statutory prohibition and of the private
remedy afforded for its violation. Thus Congress, acting pur-
suant to its constitutional power under Section 5 of the
Fourteenth Amendment and the spending clause of Article I,
has effectively abrogated Eleventh Amendment immunity
when such a remedy is sought.

Since congressional abrogation of Eleventh Amendment im-
munity in this case is based in substantial part on congressional
power under the Fourteenth Amendment, state consent to suit
is not required in order for the abrogation to be effective. Even
if consent were required, it may properly be inferred from
continued state acceptance of federal financial assistance with
full notice of the conditions imposed on acceptance by federal
law.

Although existing law supports the conclusion that Califor-
nia and its departments may not claim immunity in this action,
the present state of Eleventh Amendment doctrine is complex
and confusing. Recent studies have laid the foundation for an
interpretation of the Amendment that is more closely tied to its
language and intended purpose, and the present case provides
an excellent vehicle for reconsidering existing doctrine and

4

clarifying this important area of constitutional law. Properly
applied, the Eleventh Amendment is not a bar to this action
because (1) it is not a suit against a state by a citizen of another
State, and (2) federal jurisdiction is based not on the identity of
the parties but on the presence of a federal question. The
remaining issue—whether the state may claim its common law
immunity from an unconsented suit—raises a straightforward
question of statutory construction to be decided on the basis of
the language and purpose of the relevant law. Here, that
immunity must yield to the congressional decision to provide a
federal forum for the effective vindication of federal rights.

ARGUMENT

I. Congress Has Effectively Abrogated Eleventh Amend-
ment Immunity in Private Suits for Violation of Section
504 of the Rehabilitation Act.

Under existing precedent, a state may claim Eleventh
Amendment immunity from private suit in a federal court even
if the suit is brought by a citizen of that state, and even if the
basis of jurisdiction is that the action arises under federal law.
See, e.g, Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1 (1890); Edelman v.
Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974).? But this Court has recognized
the power of Congress, when acting under Section § of the
Fourteenth Amendment, to abrogate that immunity in order to
implement the Amendment’s requirements. See Fitzpatrick v.
Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 (1976). Moreover, the Court has upheld

3. It is not entirely clear whether this conclusion is derived directly from
the Eleventh Amendment or indirectly from the doctrine of sovereign
immunity which the Eleventh Amendment is said to reflect. For simplicity,
the rule will be referred to here as one of Eleventh Amendment immunity.

In the present case, the only defendants are agencies of the state; no state
officials have been joined. Thus if Eleventh Amendment immunity applies,
none of the relief sought may be obtained, even though some aspects of that
relief might be available in a suit against state officials. Compare Alabama v.
Pugh, 438 U.S. 781 (1978), with Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 267, 288-90
(1977).

5

congressional action subjecting a state to suit as part of the
exercise of other powers delegated to Congress, at least when
the conduct of the state can fairy be said to constitute consent.
See, e.g., Parden v. Terminal Railway, 377 U.S. 184 (1964).*

Congress, in the relevant sections of the Rehabilitation Act,
has effectively exercised this power to abrogate Eleventh
Amendment immunity. This statute represents a major legisla-
tive effort to protect the handicapped against discrimination
and thus to ensure to them the equal protection of the laws
guaranteed by the Fourteeth Amendment. An essential aspect
of this effort is the authorization of a private remedy against
any recipient of tederal funds who engages in prohibited
discrimination. And like the other important civil rights stat-
utes on which it is patterned,’ the Rehabilitation Act is signifi-
cantly directed at the states themselves as principal recipients
of federal funds.

Congressional authority to enact Section 504, as it applies to
the states and their departments, rests not only on Section 5 of
the Fourteenth Amendment but also on the spending power in
Article I, Section 8. Whether or not Congress has authority to
abrogate state sovereign immunity without state consent in
action taken under the spending power, continued acceptance
of federal assistance by a state after Congress has made its
purpose clear constitutes effective consent to the bringing of a
citizen suit in federal court.

These conclusions are not simply appropriate to the interpre-
tation of the Rehabilitation Act. They are essential if the
worthy purpose of that statute ‘is to be realized.

4. Cf. Mills Music, Inc. v. Arizona, 591 F.2d 1278 (9th Cir. 1979) (power
of Congress under the copyright and patent clause of Article I, Section 8).

5. Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000d ef seq.,
and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, 20 U.S.C. §§ 1681 ef
seq. See Brown v. Sibley, 650 F.2d 760, 767 (Sth Cir. 1981) (noting “virtual
identity between the discrimination provisions of Section 504 and those of
Title VI and Title 1X”).

6

A. Congress Has Authorized a Private Remedy for Violation
of Section 504 Against All Recipients of Federal Assis-
tance, Including the States and Their Departments.

As originally enacted in 1973, the Rehabilitation Act envi-
sioned a far-reaching program to increase opportunities for the
handicapped—by providing programs and funding to the
states, by authorizing federal agencies to implement the act,
and by imposing obligations on federal agencies, federal con-
tractors, and recipients of federal funds. The prohibition of
discrimination in Section 504 formed a critical part of this
vision. As Senator Taft, a member of the Committee on Labor
and Public Welfare, stated (119 Cong. Rec. 24587 (1973)):

[I]f we are to assure that all handicapped persons may
participate fully in the rewards made possible by the
vocational rehabilitation program, we must devote all our
energy toward the elimination of the most disgraceful
barrier of all—discrimination.

The 1973 Act did not expressly provide for private enforce-
ment of the duties imposed by Section 504, but Congress left
no doubt of its purpose on this score when it enacted a sevies of
amendments to the Act in 1974. The Senate Report accom-
panying those asscndments, S. Rep. No. 1297, 93d Cong., 2d
Sess. 39-46:(1974), noted that Section 504 was almost identical
to the anti-discrimination provisions of Title VI of the 1964
Civil Rights Act, § 601, 42 U.S.C. § 2000d, and Title IX of the
1972 Education Amendments, § 901, 20 U.S.C. § 1681, and
then continued:

The language of section 504, in following the above-
cited Acts, further envisions the implementation of a
compliance program which is similar to those Acts. . . .
This approach ... would ensure administrative due
process (right to hearing, right to review), provide for
administrative consistency within the Federal government
as well as relative ease of implementation, and permit a
judicial remedy through a private action. (Emphasis
added.)

7

If the history of this statute ended here, some question might
be raised about the demonstration of congressional purpose,
since the clearest evidence was a statement in a committee
report issued a year after Section 504 was enacted into law.°
But Congress went on in the course of further amendments in
1978 to make its purpose explicit. After hearings that focused
in significant part on the need for an express private remedy
and for recovery of attorney’s fees by successful litigants,’
Congress added a new Section 505, 29 U.S.C. § 794a. This
section provides that the remedies, procedures, and rights in
Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act “shall be available to any
person aggrieved by any act or failure to act by any recipient of
Federal assistance” under section 504, 29 U.S.C. § 794a (a)(2)
(emphasis added), and further provides that in any action to
enforce the act, the court has discretion to allow “the prevail-
ing party, other than the United States, a reasonable attorney’s
fee as part of the costs,” 29 U.S.C. § 794a(b).

Senator Cranston, the author of the attorney’s fee provision,
explained its purpose in detail on the floor of the Senate,
saying that “[p]rivate enforcement of these title V rights is an
important and necessary aspect of assuring that these rights are
vindicated and enforcement is uniform.” 124 Cong. Rec. 30346
(1978).

The reference in Section 505 to Title VI of the 1964 Civil
Rights act is especially significant. Although Title VI did not
explicitly provide a private remedy for its violation, federal
courts, including this Court, have consistently found such a

6. This Court has recently noted, however, that since the 1974 amend-
ments were “virtually contemporaneous” with the 1973 Act, “the amend-
ments and their history do shed significant light on the intent with which
§ 504 was enacted.” Alexander v. Choate, 53 U.S.L.W. 4072, 4077 n.27 (U.S.
Jan. 9, 1985).

7. See Implementation of Section 504, Rehabilitation Act of 1973:
Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Select Education of the House
Committee on Education and Labor, 95th Cong., \st Sess. (1977).

8

remedy to be available,* and Congress in 1974 and again in
1978 acted on the understanding that the remedy did exist.?

The reference to Title VI also underscores the intent of
Congress to make this private remedy available against the
States and their departments. The major purpose of Title VI
was to end discrimination on the basis of race, gender, and
national origin by state and local governments, the principal
recipients of federal funds. As Senator Javits stated during the
debates, “We are primarily trying to reach units of govern-
ment, not individuals.” 110 Cong. Rec. 13700 (1964); see also
id. at 10075-76 (Letter of Attorney General Kennedy to Sena-
tor Cooper stating that “it is to discrimination by such State
and local agencies that title VI is basically directed.”).

Indeed, the language of Section 505 itself leaves no doubt of
Congress’s intent. The provision authorizes a remedy against
“any recipient” of federal funds, and regulations issued by the
Department of Health, Education and Welfare in 1977 had
explicitly defined “recipient” to include “any state or its
political subdivision, any instrumentality of a state or its
political subdivision . . . or any person to which Federal
financial assistance is extended . . .” 42 Fed. Reg. 22677 (May
4, 1977), 45 C.F.R. § 84.3(f). And the Senate Report accom-

8. See, e.g., Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974); Bossier Parish School
Bd. v. Lemon, 370 F.2d 847, 852 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 388 U.S. 911 (1967).

9. See S. Rep No. 1297, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 39-40 (1974); S. Rep. No.
890, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 19 (1978); cf. Cannon vy. University of Chicago,
441 U.S. 677, 703 (1979) (“We have no doubt that {in 1972] Congress
intended to create Title IX remedies comparable to those available under
Titie VI and that it understood Title VI as authorizing an implied private
cause of action for victims of the prohibited discrimination.”).

The United States suggests in its amicus brief in this Court, U.S. Br. at 13,
that Congress may have had some question in 1978 about the availability of a
private remedy under Title VI. This suggestion is rebutted by the legislative
history of the amendments. As noted by the United States in its amicus brief
in support of Scanlon in the court below (p. 33): “When Section 505(a)(2)
was enacted in 1978, Congress understood that Title VI provided a private
cause of action and intended, as it had indicated in 1974, that such a remedy
should be available under Section 504.”

9

panying the 1978 amendments expressly referred to these
regulations and to their conformity with regulations promul-
gated under Title VI. See S. Rep. No. 890, 95th Cong., 2d
Sess. 19 (1978).'°

Finally, Senator Cranston, in his remarks on the floor of the
Senate, spoke directly of actions against states to enforce
Section 504:

[W]ith respect to State and local bodies or State and
local officials, attorney’s fees . . . would be collected
from the official . . . or from the State or local govern-
ment—regardless of whether such agency or government
is a named party. The authorization of attorney’s fees
under proposed § 505(b) in cases brought to enforce title
V is within the power of Congress under among other
things, section 5 of the 14th Amendment. Thus, in ac-
cordance with the Supreme Court’s decision in Hutto v.
Finney [437 U.S. 678 (1978)], the 11th Amendment is no
bar to the recovery of attorney’s fees under proposed
section 505(b) . . .'' 124 Cong. Rec. 30347 (1978).

j

This Court has held that congressional purpose to abrogate
Eleventh Amendment immunity must be clearly shown. See,
e.g., Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332, 343-45 (1979). But the

10. This Court has on several occasions recognized these regulations as an
important source of guidance on the meaning of the 1978 amendments. See,
e.g., Alexander v. Choate, 53 U.S.L.W. at 4076 n.24.

11. Both the petitioner and the United States (in its amicus brief in this
Court) seek to minimize the importance of this statement by pointing to its
emphasis on fee awards. This effort to distinguish away even a direct
reference to the abrogation of the Eleventh Amendment must fail. Senator
Cranston’s point was that attorney’s fees could be recovered from state
funds under this section whether or not a Title V enforcement action was
brought directly against the state as a “named party.” His assumption that an
enforcement action could be brought against the state as a named party in an
appropriate case is consistent only with congressional abrogation that is
broader than the mere authorization of fees; in the absence of such abroga-
tion even prospective relief may be sought only against individuals. See
Alabama v. Pugh, 438 U.S. ‘781 (1978).

10

Court has never held that abrogation of immunity must be
stated in so many words in the text of the statute in order to be
effective. On the contrary, the Court has found legislative
abrogation even in the absence of express statutory language.
See, e.g., Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678 (1978). And despite
petitioner’s efforts to explain Hutto as a case relating solely to
litigation costs, the Court in that case emphasized that its
refusal to require express abrogation would have obtained
“[e]ven if we were not dealing with an item such as costs.” /d.
at 698 n.31."

To insist on greater specificity than exists in this case would
be to demand a degree of precision that can only frustrate the
effectuation of congressional purpose. Congress provided for
§ 504 actions against state agencies because the availability of a
private remedy against an offending state is critical to the
fulfillment of the goals of Section 504. The states and their
departments head the list of federally assisted grantees, and the
alternative tool of administrative enforcement—a cutoff of
federal funds—is too Draconian to be useful in all but the most
flagrant and pervasive instances of unlawful conduct.

In its amicus brief in this Court, the United States attempts
to make the requirement of specificity even more onerous and
unrealistic. It is not sufficient, the United States suggests, for
the language and history of a statute to make clear the purpose
of Congress to abrogate immunity and to subject the state to

12. The Court in Hutto pointed to the strength of the legislative history
and to the source of congressional action in Section 5 of the Fourteenth
Amendment. Cases in which greater emphasis has been put on the impor-
tance of express language, e.g., Florida Dep’t of Health & Rehabilitative
Services v. Florida Nursing Home Ass’n, 450 U.S. 147 (1981), have not been
cases in which Congress was legislating in the exercise of authority under
Section 5. Cf. Parden v. Terminal Railway, 377 U.S. 184 (1964) (subjecting
State to suit under the Federal Employers Liability Act).

11

suit; Congress “must clearly express an intention to permit
retrospective damage suits in federal court if it so intended.”
U.S. Br. at 16 n.10 (emphasis added). This argument contains
two flaws. First, it relies on cases in which congressional
authority to legislate did not derive from Section 5 of the
Fourteenth Amendment. See supra note 12. Second, even cases
in which Congress undeniably intended to authorize suit would
often fail this test. For example, in Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427
U.S. 445 (1976), Congress had not explicitly provided that
states were subject not only to actions for prospective relief for
violations of Title VII but also to the monetary awards autho-
rized in 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g). Yet the Court quite properly
held that Congress had intended to subject states to such suits,
and in so holding the Court gave full effect to the legislative

purpose.'?

B. Congressional Abrogation of Eleventh Amendment Im-
munity in This Case Does Not Require State Consent to
Be Effective.

When Congress abrogates Eleventh Amendment immunity
in the exercise of its power under Section 5 of the Fourteenth
Amendment, state consent to that abrogation is not required.
See, e.g., Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 (1976); Hutto v.
Finney, 437 U.S. 678 (1978). Indeed, if consent were a condi-
tion of abrogation in this circumstance, effective implementa-
tion of the Fourteenth Amendment might be held hostage to
the will of the states themselves.

For the first time, petitioners have suggested in their brief in
this Court that authority for application of the Rehabilitation
Act to the states does not derive from Section 5 but only from

13. Since only state agencies and not state officials have been sued in the
present action, the Eleventh Amendment, if applicable, may bar all claims
for relief, prospective as well as retrospective. See supra note 3. The United
States recognizes, U.S. Br. at 16 n.11, that this inappropriate consequence
may flow from acceptance of its argument that Congress has not done
enough to make clear its desire to subject the states to suits for retrospective
relief.

12

the spending power in Article I. But there is no doubt that the
desire of Congress to secure equal protection of the laws for
the handicapped was an important basis of this legislation.
This idea was expressed by several sponsors of the original
proposals out of which the Act evolved,'* as well as by Senator
Cranston in the remarks quoted above, see supra at 9. More-
over, the Act’s provisions, which are based on extensive consid-
eration of the denial of opportunity to the handicapped by
governmental and private agencies, are intimately related to
the protections afforded by the Education Acts, 20 U.S.C.
§§ 1401 et seq. And the origin of those laws in the Fourteenth
Amendment has been judicially recognized. See, e.g., Parks v.
Pavkovic, 536 F. Supp. 296, 306-11 (N.D. 111. 1982).

The case is thus similar to Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S.
448 (1980), in which the Court concluded that the basis of the
congressional program there at issue lay in the commerce
power as the program related to private contractors and in “the
power to enforce the equal protection guarantees of the Four-
teenth Amendment insofar as the rrogram objectives pertain
to the action of state and local grantees.” 448 U.S. at 475.'5

C. If State Consent is Required, It May Be Inferred From the
Continued Acceptance of Federal Assistance With Notice
of the Conditions Imposed by Federal Law.

Even were the Court to conclude that Congress has not here
legislated under Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment, the
Sstate’s claim to immunity should not succeed. Assuming ar-
guendo that the spending power in Article I, Section 8 were the

14. As noted in Lioyd v. Regional Transportation Authority, 548 F.2d
1277, 1280 n.9 (7th Cir. 1977), Section 504 had its genesis in an attempt in
1971 and 1972 by Representative Vanik and Senator Humphrey to amend
Title VI. The remarks of those sponsors, as they relate to the Fourteenth
Amendment, may be found at 117 Cong. Rec. 45974-75 (1971) and 118
Cong. Rec. 525 (1972).

15. The Court has made it clear that an express statement by ‘Congress of
reliance on Section 5 is not required. See EEOC v. Wyoming, 460 U.S. 226,
243 n.18 (1983).

12

sole source of congressional aut.\ority for this statute, the
decisions of this Court do not clearly determine the question
whether abrogation of immunity must be accompanied by state
consent to suit in order to be effective. See, e.g., Parden v.
Terminal Railway, 377 U.S. 184 (1964); Edelman v. Jordan,
415 U.S. 651 (1974).'* But even if state consent is required, it is
clear that in appropriate cases consent may be inferred from
conduct. Here, a critical combination of factors is present.
First, Congress has legislated a private remedy against a class
of persons (“recipients” of federal assistance) which in terms
embraces the states and indeed highlights their inclusion. In
this respect, the case differs from Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S.
651 (1974), and Florida Dep’t of Health & Rehabilitative
Services v. Florida Nursing Home Ass’n, 450 U.S. 147 (1981).
Second, the state agencies that are defendants in this case have
continued not only to carry on the normal business of govern-
ment but also to accept federal assistance in the very programs
and activities that are the subject of this suit. In this respect,
the case differs from Employees v. Department of Public
Health & Welfare, 411 U.S. 279 (1973). The state has therefore
acted with full understanding of the consequences of its actions
and with complete freedom to reject federal aid if those
consequences are unacceptable. Thus the requisites of knowing
consent have been made out.”

16. Cf. Peel v. Florida Dep’t of Transportation, 600 F.2d 1070 (Sth Cir.
1979) (analyzing Supreme Court authority and suggesting that state consent
is not required when abrogation of immunity is based on exercise of the war
power, Art. I, Section 8).

17. Indeed, it is noteworthy that the state of California, whose depart-
ments are defendants in this case, participated as an amicus supporting the
suit of a private person under § 504 against a state agency in Southeastern
Community College v. Davis, 442 U.S. 397 (1979). Since the named defen-
dant in that case was a state agency, an Eleventh Amendment question could
have been raised, even if the sole relief sought was prospective in nature.

Moreover, given that an Eleventh Amendment defense “partakes of the
nature of a jurisdictional bar,” Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. at 678, this
Court could have raised the Eleventh Amendment issue in that case on its
own motion. However, this Court did not do so.

14

Il. This Case Affords an Opportunity to Clarify the Scope
and Application of the Eleventh Amendment.

As shown in Part I, existing precedent fully supports the
conclusion that the present suit may be brought against the
state of California and its departments in a federal court. But
as many commentators have observed, the present state of
Eleventh Amendment jurisprudence is complex, uncertain, and
confusing.'* For example, there is uncertainty about the degree
of precision required for congressional abrogation of Eleventh
Amendment immunity under grants of legislative power other
than that in the Fourteenth Amendment, about the necessity of
State consent to suit, and about the kinds of state behavior that
may constitute consent in particular contexts. Moreover,
individual Justices have expressed wide disagreement about
the relationship of the doctrine of sovereign immunity, the
Eleventh Amendment, and other provisions of the Constitu-
tion. See, for example, the several opinions in Employees v.
Department of Public Health & Welfare, 411 U.S. 279 (1973),
and in Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 104
S. Ct. 900 (1984).

At the same time, an outpouring of scholarly research in
recent years has cast new light on the purpose and scope of the
Eleventh Amendment and on the place of sovereign immunity
doctrine in constitutional law.'? This research strongly suggests

18. See C. Jacobs, The Eleventh Amendment and Sovereign Immunity
(1972); Engdahl, Immunity and Accountability for Positive Governmental
Wrongs, 44 U. Colo. L. Rev. | (1972); Field, The Eleventh Amendment and
Other Sovereign Immunity Doctrines, 126 U. Pa. L. Rev. 515 (1977) (Part 1),
126 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1203 (1978) (Part II); Fletcher, A Historical Interpreta-
tion of the Eleventh Amendment: A Narrow Construction of an Affirmative
Grant of Jurisdiction Rather than a Prohibition Against Jurisdiction, 25
Stan. L. Rev. 1033 (1983); Gibbons, The Eleventh Amendment and State
Sovereign Immunity: A Reinterpretation, 83 Colum. L. Rev. 1889 (1983);
Orth, The Interpretation of the Eleventh Amendment, 1798-1908: A Case
Study of Judicial Power, 1983 U. Ill. L. Rev. 423; Shapiro, Wrong Turns:
The Eleventh Amendment and the Pennhurst Case, 98 Harv. L. Rev. 61
(1984).

19. See authorities cited supra note 18, especially Engdahl, Field, Gibbons,
and Orth.

15

that state sovereign immunity was not viewed by the Framers
as a constitutional limitation on federal judicial power either
before or after adoption of the Eleventh Amendment. it
further suggests that the Eleventh Amendment itself should not
be given an expansive interpretation that bears little relation-
ship to its text. Rather it should be read, in accordance with its
language, as an amendment drafted by the Federalists “in the
narrowest possible form that would serve to quiet the rapidly
mobilizing reaction to Chisholm [v. Georgia, 2 Dall. (2 U.S.)
419 (1793)], while leaving intact the rest of article III,”—an
amendment that would “reach cases such as Chisholm—over
which the Supreme Court’s jurisdiction was original and based
solely on party status but leave intact the clauses in article III,
section 2 dealing with subject matter jurisdiction, especially
federal question jurisdiction.” Gibbons, supra note 18, at
1934.

Under this approach, the Eleventh Amendment would apply
to bar a federal court suit on/y when the asserted basis of
jurisdiction was that the defendant was a state and the plaintiff
was a citizen of another state. Indeed, no Supreme Court
decision before Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1 (1890), gave the
Amendment a broader reading, and the revisionism of the
Hans decision was born out of the political controversy over
repudiation of state debts in the aftermath of Reconstruction.”
See Gibbons, supra note 18, at 1968-2003.

This recent scholarship provides a firm foundation for a
restatement of the significance of the Eleventh Amendment
and of sovereign immunity doctrine. Neither the Amendment
nor the doctrine erects a constitutional barrier to congressional
authorization of suit against a state in a federal court when
that authorization is incidental to the proper exercise of any
delegated power. There is no warrant for any requirement of

20. Hans was the first Supreme Court decision to hold that the Constitu-
tion barred a suit against a state by one of its own citizens. (There is some
-support for the view that even Hans did not hold that such a suit was
constitutionally precluded, but subsequent decisions have plainly regarded it
as standing for that proposition. See Field, supra note 18 (Part I), at 536-46
& nn. 81, 86.)

16

extraordinary and virtually unattainable specificity in drafts-
manship or of “consent” on the part of the state when federal
power is duly exercised. The question whether Congress has
overridden a state’s common law immunity from suit is, like
any other question of statutory construction, one that involves
the careful ascertainment of legislative purpose.

Existing precedent of this Court is in important ways consis-
tent with this approach, though it often looks in couflicting
directions. For example, while these amici believe that last
Term’s sharply divided decision in Pennhurst, supra, reached
an unfortunate and unnecessary result, we also believe that the
majority’s rationale supports a fresh approach to the scope of
federal authority. The great case of Ex parte Young, 209 U.S.
123 (1908), the Pennhurst Court said, rested not on the
“fiction” that a government official acting in violation of law
was stripped of his official authority, but rather on the clear
need “to permit the federal courts to vindicate federal rights
and hold state officials responsible to the ‘supreme authority
of the United States.’” 104 S. Ct. at 910 (quoting Ex parte
Young, 209 U.S. at 160). Recognition that the Eleventh
Amendment need never be a barrier to the attainment of that
goal—the effective vindication of federal rights—would thus
harmonize with this -:nderstanding of Ex parte Young’s ra-
tionale.”!

We submit, therefore that the time and occasion are ripe for
the Court, at the least, to clarify the authority of Congress to
subject the states and their departments to federal court suit.”

21. Moreover, recognition that state sovereign immunity is not man-
dated by any provision of the Constitution would be fully consistent with this
Court’s decision in Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (1979), which allowed the
state of Nevada to be sued in a California court without Nevada’s consent.
See Shapiro, supra note 18, at 79-80.

22. This case also affords an opportunity to rule that when the doctrine of
Ex parte Young pcrmaits a federal court suit for prospective relief in order to
vindicate federal rights, that relief may be sought not only against public
officers “in tweir individual capacity” but also “in their official capacity,”
i.e., against the state itself. The current rule, reflected in Alabama v. Pugh,
supra note 3, often serves as a procedural trap for the unwary.

17

More fundamentally, we believe the occasion is an appropriate
one to reconsider the rationale of the decision in Hans v.
Louisiana, supra,” and to hold that the Eleventh Amendment
does not apply to the present suit for two independent reasons:
(1) the suit is not one brought against a state by a citizen of
another state, and (2) federal jurisdiction is based not on party
identity but on the presence of a federal question. When the
Eleventh Amendment issue is thus stripped away, the question
whether the State of California can be sued without its con-
sent, despite the traditional immunity of the state from suit,
becomes a straightforward question of statutory construction
which should be answered in the affirmative for reasons stated
in Part I of this brief.

We have not set forth in full the historical and analytical
bases for these conclusions because the relevant studies are
readily at hand and because we are not sure whether the Court
will find it necessary or appropriate to follow this course. But
if the Court wishes to have fuller briefing and argument of
these questions, we suggest that it set the case for reargument
and ask the parties and amici to address the question whether
the rationale of Hans v. Louisiana and related decisions should
now be reconsidered.

23. Even if the rationale of Hans is reconsidered along the lines suggested
here, alternative grounds would support the result in that case. See Field
(Part 11), supra note 18, at 1266.

18

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we urge that the decison below be
affirmed. If the Court believes that the case affords an oppor-
tunity for reconsideration of the rationale of Hans v. Loui-
siana and related decisions, the Court may wish to set the case
for reargument and ask the parties and amici to address these
fundamental questions of Eleventh Amendment doctrine.

PAUL L. HOFFMAN
MARK D. ROSENBAUM
American Civil Liberties

Union Foundation of

Southern California
633 South Shatto Place
Los Angeles, CA 90005
(213) 487-1720

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID L. SHAPIRO

(Counsel of Record)

1525 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138
(617) 495-4618

BURT NEUBORNE

CHARLES S. SIMS

American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation

132 West 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

(212) 944-9800*

* Counsel gratefully acknowledge the assistance of Carl H. Loewenson,
Jr., a law school graduate awaiting admission to the Bar of the State of New

York.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0386%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
