# Petitioners Brief — United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0360%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 121

## Text

No. 84-701 MAY 6 5
SBS. ——̃ ( v—— 8. |

j Lees Py Lo!
' CUERK

In the Supreme Court of the United Stuten

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.

RIVERSIDE BAYVIEW HOMES, INC., ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

REX E. LEE
Solicitor General

F. HENRY HaBIcuT II
Assistant Attorney General

LOUIS F. CLAIBORNE
Deputy Solicitor General

KATHRYN A. OBERLY
Assistant to the Solicitor General

ANNE S. ALMY
ELLEN J. DURKEE
Attorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, under the Clean Water Act of 1977, 33
U.S.C. 1251 et se., federal jurisdiction to regulate dis-
charges into “wetlands” is limited to areas that support
aquatic vegetation only by virtue of “frequent flooding”
from adjacent streams, lakes, or seas.

(1)

II

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

In addition to the parties listed in the caption, Allied
Aggregate Transportation Company is a respondent in
this case. So far as the United States is aware, Allied
has no interest in the case separate from that of River-
side Bayview Homes, Inc. Cf. Pet. App. 22a n.2.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
a - 1
e : . —— 1
Statute and regulations involved 2
r ũ ͤ᷑ cTƷrfrf —-— 2
Summary of argument 1 11
r ESTEE K———„— 16

I. The court of appeals ignored well-established

rules of statutory construction in interpreting
the scope of Section 404 wetlands jurisdiction... 17

II. The Corps’ assertion of Section 404 jurisdiction

to regulate discharges of dredged or fill material

into wetlands adjacent to streams, lakes, or seas
comports with congressional intent 19

A. The Act’s objectives and legislative history

demonstrate that Congress intended to reg-

ulate discharges of dredged or fill material

into “wetlands” beyond the limits of tradi-
tional navigable waters 19

B. Extensive judicial authority supports a

broad interpretation of Section 404 jurisdic-
e acineeernnosoosconvs 2 27

C. The Fifth Amendment does not require a
narrow construction of Section 404 30

III. The Corps’ regulatory implementation of its
jurisdiction under Section 404 is based on sound
legal, scientific, and administrative considera-
, ‚ͥͥͥ 22 rv 33

A. Nothing in the Corps’ definition of wet-
lands” requires that they be created by
“frequent flooding” from adjacent navigable
SE 33

IV
Argument—Continued: Page

B. The regulatory definition of “wetlands” is
scientifically sound and serves to promote
Congress’s water quality concerns 37

C. The Corps’ regulatory definition of its Sec-
tion 404 jurisdiction ensures that critical
wetlands will receive the protection intended
by Congress and promotes ease of adminis-
tration for regulators and landowners alike.. 40

IV. The southern portion of Riverside’s property is
a wetland subject to Section 404 regulatory
rr! AAA 44

D Ad 49

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 25 31
Avoyelles Sportsmen’s League, Inc. v. Alexander,
511 F. Supp. 278, aff’d in part and rev’d in

part on other grounds, 715 F.2d 897 33
Avoyelles Sportsmen’s League, Inc. v. Marsh, 715

r le hor oe Paes Bier one! passim
Bob Jones University v. United States, 461 U.S.

PP. . PL SE SIR 8 DALES a ROE 13, 25
Buttrey v. United States, 690 F.2d 1170, cert. de-

,,, ̃ ———— 31-32
Chemical Manufacturers Ass’n v. NRDC, No. 83-

I / 19
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. NRDC, No. 82-1005 (June

r Ute re FO 19
Consolidation Coal Co. v. Costle, 604 F.2d 239 28
Deltona Corp. v. Alexander, 682 F.2d 888 32
Deltona Corp. v. United States, 657 F.2d 1184,

cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1017 5 88 32
E. J. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. Train, 430 U.S.

— — K oe 19
EPA v. California ex rel. State Water Resources

Control Board, 426 U.S. 200 ................................. 20

Ford Motor Credit Co. v. Milhollin, 444 U.S. 555.. 36-37

Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining & Reclamation
FO Senos 22, 29, 31, 32, 40

Hurley v. Kincaid, 285 U.S. 95 9 31

¢

Cases—Continued : Page
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 ........ 31, 32
Leslie Salt Co. v. Froehlke, 578 F.2d 742 28
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc. v.

I Ge Ms i etcescccectnniincignnsnciiccenneciisescdnecscenes 23
NRDC v. Callaway, 392 F. Supp. 68 5, 22
Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367. 25
Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U. 8.

% 31
Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 618 45
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., No. 83-196 (June 26,

r rN ON OC 31
Train v. Colorado Public Interest Research Group,

,, e ete: 18
Udall v. Tallman, 380 US. FFF 37
United States v. American Trucking Ass’ns, 310

r 18
United States v. Appalachian Electric Power Co.,

. ** 22
United States v. Ashland Oil & Transportation Co.,

SS tea ae 22
United States v. Byrd, 609 F.2d 1204 _.............. 22, 28, 29,

30-31, 34
United States v. City of Fort Pierre, 747 F.2d

REE ER BEET a eS nes MEME, OR 28
United States v. Holland, 373 F. Supp. 6666 5, 29
United States v. Huebner, 752 F.2d 1233 27.28
United States v. Republic Steel Corp., 362 U.S.

1 J 95 cS IE DRIED DIET 22, 28
United States v. Texas Pipe Line Co., 611 F. 2d

FFF 28
United States v. Tilton, 705 F. 2d 429 9 28, 29
Utah v. Marsh, 740 F. 2d 799 22. 28, 29
Wickard v. Filburn, 817 U.S. 111. 40
Zabel v. Tabb, 430 F.2d 199, cert. denied, 401 U.S.

910 — e eee 22

Constitution, statutes and regulations:

U.S. Const. :
Art. I, § 8, Cl. 3 (Commerce Clause) 5, 13, 22, 29,
32, 40
. A 13, 30, 32

Just Compensation Clause 30

VI

Statutes and regulations—Continued : Page

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 702 31
Clean Water Act of 1977 (formerly Federal Water
Pollution Control Act), 33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq...2, 3, 11,

20
I I / / 3, 20
D 20
, cscs earimnbieenatiatl 5
, ( 3
re 37
r tices lana 37
4 n 19
r eeteliiannisiealiniss 3, 20
r ... ̃ ̃˙ ee anc ea on n= 19
e 21
Zee passim
r x 30, 40
1 „ • 21, 41
EEE SE een ie eee ee Rae 21
, T 23
r i slecnictem aseslaniinatinlions 48
TE ( ee 24
— 17, 25
D / eae as esr eE en 20
, - 2, 4, 11, 20
Rivers and Harbors Appropriation Act of 1899,
eee 4
33 C. F. R.:
Pt. 209:
Section 209.120 (d) (1) (197a—292e 4
Section 209.120 (d) (2) (1976)))) 5
Section 209.120 (d) (2) () (1976) 7, 8, 35, 45
Section 209.120 (e) (2) (1976) 5
Section 209.260 (J) (197)7ꝓ́y˖̃᷑ n 4
Section 209.260 (k) (ii) (1973ͥI1)ĩ 4
I C 30, 41
r 1 41
eee 42

Section 320.4 (b) 9 42

VII

Regulations Continued: Page
Z e 30
r 6

Section 323.2(a) (3) .................................... 16, 29

r ee Nee passim

Section 338.23(6) ................................... 6, 15, 16, 46

Pt. 325:
r 11
Pt. 330:

. AI PRS ee eae ede 42
r ee 6
40 C. F. R.:

nnn ace ORR RE 21, 30, 41

er 41

Section 230.10 (a) (3) 6 41

Section 230.20-23 0.61111. 41

Section 230.70-230.7ꝰ7 . 42
38 Fed. Reg. 10834 (1973) 8 ED 18
SO Fred. Rew. IBLIG (1G74) oo... ccccccccccecceeeccoceseee 4
40 Fed. Reg. (1975) :

r Y 5
. i 5
D ̃è˙—“ . ! 5
, caves nee 5
42 Fed. Reg. (1977):
1 A Te 6
pp. 37127-37128 . iid a ae a 29
SE 3, 4, 34, 35, 45, 46, 48
47 Fed. Reg. 31795 (1982) ee 6
Miscellaneous:
118 Cong. Rec. 33699 (1972) 21
123 Cong. Rec. (1977) :
.. 25
ieee 22
EL . es 26
rr 25, 26
e a ae ce ens em 27

VIII

Miscellaneous —Continued: Page
r ——— 23
e —— 25
r 37
c —— 27
e 27
1 26, 27
r 24, 25, 27, 43
e 3, 26
Zr 1 25
rr 8 22
Z 25
r e 3, 27
aer 27

Council on Environmental Quality, Our Nation’s
Wetlands, An Interagency Task Force Report
0 ial alah tisigcimetnaintl 2, 3, 38

Development of New Regulations by the Corps of
Engineers, Implementing Section 404 of the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act Concern-
ing Permits for Disposal of Dredge or Fill Ma-
terial: Hearings Before the Subcomm. on Wa-
ter Resources of the House Comm. on Public
Works and Transportation, 94th Cong., Ist Sess.
r 22

Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Dep't of the In-
terior, Classification of Wetlands and Deepwater
Habitats of the United States (1979). 2, 37, 38, 45, 48

J. Kusler, Environmental Law Institute, Our Na-
tional Wetland Heritage: A Protection Hand-

ES ES Ee 0 a 38, 39
H.R. Rep. 92-911, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. (1972) 20
H.R. Rep. 93-1396, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974) 5
H.R. Rep. 95-139, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) 1 27
H.R. Conf. Rep. 95-830, 95th Cong., Ist Sess.

SI — ³ 5 AAA iat tcabnnn 22

Office of Technology Assessment, Congress of the
United States, OTA-0-206, Wetlands: Their Use
.. passim

43 Op. Att’y Gen. No. 15 (Sept. 5, 19799 18

Miscellaneous—Continued : Page

R. Tiner, Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Dep’t of
the Interior, Wetlands of the United States:
Current Status and Recent Trends (1984) 37, 38, 39
Section 404 of the Federal Water Pollution Control
Act Amendments of 1972: Hearings Before the
Senate Subcom m. on Public Works, 94th Cong..,
, a lenriuientiios 4, 22
S. Rep. 92-414, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (19717 20, 25
S. Rep. 95-370, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) .......... 23

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No 84-701
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
*.

RIVERSIDE BAYVIEW HOMES, INC., ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-19a)
is reported at 729 F.2d 391. The judgment order of the
district court (Pet. App. 42a-44a) is unreported. Two
previous opinions of the district court (Pet. App. 22a-31a,
32a-41la) are also unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
March 7, 1984. A petition for rehearing was denied on
June 8, 1984 (Pet. App. 20a-21a). On August 27, 1984,
Justice O’Connor extended the time for filing a petition
for a writ of certiorari to and including November 5,
1984. The petition was filed on November 1, 1984, and
granted on February 19, 1985. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATUTE AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Relevant provisions of the Clean Water Act of 1977, 33
U.S.C. 1251 et se., and implementing regulations pro-
mulgated by the United States Army Corps of Engineers
are reprinted at Pet. App. 45a-48a.

STATEMENT

1. The court of appeals has held that respondent’s
property is not the kind of “wetland” that is subject to
the regulatory jurisdiction of the United States Army
Corps of Engineers and hence that respondent may fill in
its property without securing a permit under Section 404
of the Clean Water Act of 1977 (CWA), 33 U.S.C. 1344.
The issue presented by this case is the extent to which
the Nation’s “wetlands” are “waters of the United
States” within the meaning of Section 502(7) of the
CWA, 33 U.S.C. 1362(7), and therefore subject to fed-
eral regulatory jurisdiction. Before turning to the facts
of this case, we set forth a brief description of “wet-
lands” generally and the statutory and regulatory scheme
for their protection.

a. In general, and not as a strictly legal or jurisdic-
tional matter, wetlands are areas characterized by vegeta-
tion growing in soils that are periodically or normally
saturated with water. See generally Office of Technology
Assessment, Congress of the United States, OTA-0-206,
Wetlands: Their Use and Regulation (1984) [hereinafter
cited as Wetlands]; Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Dep’t
of the Interior, Classification of Wetlands and Deepwater
Habitats of the United States (1979) [hereinafter cited
as Classification] ; Council on Environmental Quality, Our
Nation’s Wetlands, An Interagency Task Force Report
(1978) [hereinafter cited as Our Nation’s Wetlands}.
Familiar types of wetlands are marshes, swamps, and
bogs. Wetlands occur along gradually sloping areas be-
tween uplands and deep-water environments, such as
rivers and lakes, or form in basins that are isolated from

larger water bodies. Wetlands 3. Freshwater wetlands,
which account for approximately 90% of total remaining
wetlands in the country, may be fed by ground water,
surface springs, streams, run-off from the surrounding
terrain, or a combination of these sources. Our Nation’s
Wetlands 10. Water levels in freshwater wetlands rise
and recede in part according to rainfall, so that at times
they may be quite dry. Ibid.

It is widely recognized that wetlands perform unique
ecological services. For example, many wetlands purify
water by holding nutrients and recycling pollutants, they
provide flood protection by retarding surface runoff from
rainwater and shielding upland areas from storm dam-
age, and they also provide vital food resources and
habitat for fish and wildlife. Our Nation’s Wetlands 19-
27; see also 123 Cong. Rec. 26718-26719 (1977) (remarks
of Sen. Baker). In a 1977 congressional debate, it was
reported that wetlands provide $140 billion worth of flood
control and water purification services. 123 Cong. Rec.
38994 (1977) (remarks of Rep. Lehman).

b. The Clean Water Act is a comprehensive statute
designed “to restore and maintain the chemical, physical,
and biological integrity of the Nation’s waters.” 33
U.S.C. 1251 (a) In Section 301 (a) of the CWA, 33
U.S.C. 1811(a), Congress enacted an absolute prohibition
against the discharge of pollutants into the Nation’s wa-
ters, excepting only discharges made in compliance with
other sections of the Act, including Section 404.

Pursuant to Section 404 of the CWA, 33 U.S.C. 1344,
the United States Army Corps of Engineers administers
a permit program for the discharge of dredged or fill

1In 1972, Congress passed extensive amendments to the Federal
Water Pollution Control Act (FWPCA), 33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq., and
for the first time established a comprehensive federal program for
the control and abatement of water pollution. The 1977 Amend-
ments to the FWPCA changed the popular name of the statute to
the Clean Water Act. 33 U.S.C. 1251 note. For convenience, we
shall refer to the statute by its new name throughout this brief.

4

material into “navigable waters.” The statute defines
“navigable waters” as “waters of the United States, in-
cluding the territorial seas.” 33 U.S.C. 1362(7). The
Corps of Engineers first published regulations further de-
fining “navigable waters” for purposes of the Section 404
permit program on April 3, 1974. 39 Fed. Reg. 12115.
Those regulations limited the Corps’ assertion of jurisdic-
tion under Section 404 to the same waters previously reg-
ulated by the Corps pursuant to the Rivers and Harbors
Appropriation Act of 1899, 33 U.S.C. 401 et seg. Thus,
“navigable waters” for both Section 404 and Rivers and
Harbors Act purposes initially were defined by the Corps
as “those waters of the United States which are subject
to the ebb and flow of the tide, and/or are presently, or
have been in the past, or may be in the future susceptible
for use for purposes of interstate or foreign commerce”
(33 C. F. R. 209.120(d)(1) (1974)). Under this defini-
tion, commonly referred to as the “traditional” definition
of navigable waters, the Corps exercised extremely limited
jurisdiction over freshwater wetlands; only wetlands sub-
ject to such regular inundation by lacustrine or riverine
flow so as to be considered part of a navigable water
body were encompassed by the regulations.“

The Corps’ initial interpretation of the scope of its
jurisdiction under Section 404 met with substantial op-
position. The Environmental Protection Agency inter-
preted the CWA as a congressional assertion of signifi-
cantly broader federal jurisdiction than would be encom-
passed by the traditional definition of “navigable wa-
ters.” See Section 404 of the Federal Water Pollution
Control Act Amendments of 1972: Hearings Before the
Senate Comm. on Public Works, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 349-
351 (1976) (letter from Russell E. Train, EPA Admin-
istrator, to Lt. Gen. W. C. Gribble, Jr., Chief, Corps of

2In freshwater bodies, only those wetlands below the ordinary
high water mark were regulated, and jurisdiction in tidal areas
was limited to wetlands below the mean high water mark. 33 C.F.R.
209.260(j) and (k) (ii) (1974).

5

Engineers)“ In addition, the House Committee on Gov-
ernment Operations called upon the Corps to abandon its
narrow view of Section 404 jurisdiction and to use that
provision to protect wetlands above the mean high water
line from the damage caused by the discharge of dredged
or fill material. H.R. Rep. 93-1396, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.
23-27 (1974). Several federal courts agreed that the
Corps had given Section 404 a more restrictive reading
than had been intended by Congress. E. g., United States
v. Holland, 373 F. Supp. 665, 670-676 (M.D. Fla. 1974).
In NRDC v. Callaway, 392 F. Supp. 685, 686 (D.D.C.
1975), the court held that in the CWA Congress “as-
serted federal jurisdiction over the nation’s waters to the
maximum extent permissible under the Commerce Clause
of the Constitution. Accordingly, as used in the Water
Act, the term [‘navigable waters’] is not limited to the
traditional tests of navigability.“ The court ordered the
Corps to publish new regulations “clearly recognizing the
full regulatory mandate of the Water Act” (ibid.).

In response to the order in NRDC v. Callaway, the
Corps promulgated interim final regulations providing for
a phased-in expansion of its Section 404 jurisdiction. 40
Fed. Reg. 31320 (1975); 33 C. F. R. 209.120(d) (2) and
(e) (2) (1976).* On July 19, 1977, the Corps published

EPA administers the CWA except as otherwise explicitly pro-
vided. 33 U.S.C. 1251(d). See also note 11, infra. The only re-
sponsibilities assigned to the Corps under the CWA are those con-
tained in Section 404.

*The Phase 1 regulations, which were made immediately effec-
tive, included coastal waters and traditional inland navigable wa-
ters and their adjacent wetlands. “Adjacent wetlands” were to
be determined by a prevalence of aquatic vegetation and periodic
inundation; neither the ordinary high water mark nor the mean
high tide line necessarily marked the shoreward limit of jurisdic-
tion. 40 Fed. Reg. 31321, 31324, 31326 (1975). The Phase 2 regu-
lations, which took effect on July 1, 1976, extended the Corps’
jurisdiction to lakes and primary tributaries of Phase 1 waters.
as well as wetlands adjacent to the lakes and primary tributaries.
Ibid. The Phase 3 regulations, which took effect on July 1, 1977,
extended the Corps’ jurisdiction to all remaining areas encompassed

6

its final regulations, in which it revised the 1975 interim
final regulations to clarify many of the definitional terms.
42 Fed. Reg. 37122.

Pursuant to the fina] regulations published in 1977, the
Corps’ jurisdiction under Section 404 extends to all “wet-
lands” that are “adjacent” to (1) navigable waters as
traditionally defined, (2) the tributaries of traditional
navigable waters, and (3) interstate waters, whether or
not navigable, and their tributaries. In addition, intra-
state lakes or streams and isolated wetlands are subject
to the Corps’ jurisdiction if the use, degradation, or de-
struction of those areas could affect interstate commerce.
See 33 C. F. R. 323.2(a).° The regulations define the criti-
eal terms “wetlands” and “adjacent” as follows (33
C. F. R. 323.2(c) and (d)):

(c) The term “wetlands” means those areas that
are inundated or saturated by surface or =
— at a frequency and duration sufficient to
port, and that under normal circumstances do
port, a prevalence of vegetation typically adapted
for life in saturated soil conditions. Wetlands gen-
erally include swamps, marshes, bogs and similar
areas.

(d) The term “adjacent” means bordering, con-
tiguous, or neighboring. Wetlands separated from
other waters of the United States by man-made
dikes or barriers, natural river berms, beach dunes
and the like are “adjacent wetlands.”

by the regulations (e.g., perched or isolated wetlands and wetlands
adjacent to tributaries other than primary tributaries). /bid.

5 The Corps’ current definition of “waters of the United States.”
including “wetlands,” is a reworded, but substantively unchanged,
version of the definition promulgated in 1977. The 1977 definition
was amended in 1982 to make it identical to EPA's definition of
the same phrase (40 C.F.R. 122.2). See 47 Fed. Reg. 31795 (1982).
Thus, the two agencies define “waters of the United States”—and
hence the scope of federal regulatory jurisdiction—in the same way
for all Clean Water Act programs. regardless of which agency ad-
ministers a particular program.

—

7

2. Respondent Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc. owns
approximately 80 acres of property in Macomb County,
Michigan, near Lake St. Clair. In November 1976, River-
side submitted an incomplete permit application to fill a
portion of its property. Without completing the applica-
tion and without waiting for the Corps’ decision on its
request for a permit, Riverside commenced fill activity.
When Riverside refused to comply with a cease and de-
sist order issued by the Corps, the United States initiated
this action in the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Michigan, seeking to enjoin River-
side’s unauthorized filling of wetlands. Riverside defended
its actions by asserting that none of its property was
subject to Clean Water Act jurisdiction. Following evi-
dentiary hearings, the district court (then-District Judge
Cornelia Kennedy) entered a preliminary injunction and
later a permanent injunction prohibiting further filling
activity on that portion of the property below the eleva-
tion of 575.5 feet until a Corps permit was obtained.

The district court found that the area subject to the
injunction was an “adjacent wetland” under the Corps’
1975 interim final regulations.“ This “wetland” area is
contiguous to Black Creek, a navigable water and tribu-
tary of Lake St. Clair. Pet. App. 23a. It was undisputed
that Riverside’s property is predominantly vegetated with
cattails, marsh grasses, and other wetlands plants—i.e.,
vegetation that is typically adapted for life in saturated
soil conditions. Ibid. The district court found that, ex-
cept for periodic surface water inundation from their
overflow, the nearby water bodies (Black Creek, Clinton

The relevant interim final regulation provided (33 C.F.R.
209.120 (d) (2) () (1976)): Freshwater wetlands’ means those
areas that are periodically inundated and that are normally char-
acterized by the prevalence of vegetation that requires saturated
soil conditions for growth and reproduction.” In relevant part, the
final regulation eliminated the words “periodically inundated” and
substituted “inundated or saturated by surface or ground water at
a frequency and duration sufficient to support * * * [aquatic vegeta-
tion]“ (33 C. F. R. 323.2(c)). See page 6, supra.

8

River, and Lake St. Clair) are not the cause of the
satyrated conditions that support the wetlands vegetation
four’ on Riverside’s property (id. at 25a).” Instead, the
district court found that the growth of the wetlands
vegetation was principally caused by saturation asso-
ciated with the type of soil found on the property—the
soil drains poorly, resulting in a high water table and
water on or near the surface (id. at 24a-25a). The
record reflects that Riverside’s property is part of a
larger undeveloped area that has exhibited the wetlands
characteristics of moisture and vegetation for decades.
See, e.g., J.A. 51-53, 58-60, 64-67; Pet. App. 23a-24a.
The environmentai functions of the area were described
by experts as providing habitat for muskrats and water-
fowl and furnishing food resources for fish in Lake St.
Clair. E. g., J. A. 41-42, 47, 62-63, 72, 75-76.

Having found that Riverside’s property is “normally
characterized by the prevalence of vegetation that re-
quires saturated soil conditions for growth and reproduc-
tion“ (33 C.F.R. 209.120 (d) (2) ( (1976)), the district
court separately considered the requirement of “periodic
inundation” found in the 1975 interim final regulation
(ibid.). The court had considerable difficulty with this
aspect of the regulation (which has since been eliminated
to avoid confusion), but ultimately concluded that “pe-
riodie“ required “more than five” floods (Pet. App. 31a)
and found that the elevation of 574.9 feet had been sur-
passed by flooding on six “occurrences” (some of several
years’ duration) in the last 80 years (id. at 30a). By

7 This finding was based on the district court’s conclusion that
there is no hydrologic connection between Riverside’s property and
the nearby water bodies (Pet. App. 32a-37a). In context, however,
it is clear that the finding refers to the absence of an underground
connection by which water flows from those water bodies to the
property. The court made no findings on the reverse question
whether surface water drains from the property to the water
bodies; the record suggests that it does because the property slopes
toward Black Creek. See J.A. 104, 114; DX 33.

9

adding half a foot to account for normal monthly fluetua-
tion, the court arrived at its conclusion that Riverside’s
property below the elevation of 575.5 feet was a “wet-
land” subject to the Corps’ jurisdiction (id. at 31a).

Riverside appealed. On motion of the United States,
the court of appeals remanded the case to the district
court for consideration of the effect of the Corps’ 1977
revised final regulations. District Judge Gilmore applied
the new regulations to the facts found by Judge Kennedy
and again concluded that the area was an adjacent wet-
land under the regulations. The court permanently en-
joined Riverside from filling without a permit. Pet. App.
42a-44a. Riverside appealed anew.

3. The court of appeals reversed, holding that River-
side’s property was not a “wetland” under the 1977 reg-
ulations and was not subject to the Corps’ jurisdiction
under the Clean Water Act (Pet. App. la-19a). The
court held that the Corps’ jurisdiction over “wetlands” is
limited to areas in which aquatic vegetation is directly
attributable to frequent flooding from adjacent navigable
waters. Applying this test, the court concluded that
Riverside’s property was not a “wetland” for jurisdic-
tional purposes because inundation by the periodic flood-
ing from adjacent water bodies had not been sufficiently
frequent to be the cause of the aquatic vegetation found
on the property. Pet. App. 10a-i2a.

The court of appeals initially characterized its “fre-
quent flooding” test a= an interpretation of the Corps’
revised definition of “wetlands” (33 C.F.R. 323.2 (e)).
The court stated (Pet. App. 10a):

The new regulation makes clear that it is the present
occurrence of inundation or flooding sufficient to sup-
port wetlands vegetation, not the mere presence of
vegetation from some other cause, that determines
whether a particular area is a wetland. Thus, as we
understand it, the presence of inundation on the
land “as it exists” now, sufficient to cause the growth
of aquatic vegetation, is necessary to satisfy the

10

wetlands definition. Neither inundation nor aquatic
vegetation would be sufficient, standing alone, to
bring a piece of land within the definition. Both
must be present, and the latter must be caused by
the former.

Although the court quoted a portion of the pertinent reg-
ulation at several points in its opinion (Pet. App. 10a,
lla, 15a), nowhere did it discuss the regulation’s ap-
plicability to areas characterized by a prevalence of
aquatic vegetation that is attributable in whole or in part
to saturated soil conditions or ground water (33 C. F. R.
323.2 (e)). Instead, the court held that the regulation re-
quires “frequent flooding by waters flowing from ‘naviga-
ble waters’ as defined in the Act” (Pet. App. 15a).

The court reasoned that its narrow interpretation of
the regulation was necessitated by what it perceived as
both statutory and constitutional constraints on the Corps’
jurisdiction. Pet. App. 18a-16a. Because the CWA ex-
tends jurisdiction to “waters of the United States,” the
court questioned whether Congress intended to regulate
“wetlands” at all. Id. at 18a (emphasis added). In addi-
tion to its view that Congress may not have intended to
extend jurisdiction over the property at issue, the court
reasoned that its narrow construction was required to
avoid the potential problem of an unconstitutional taking
(id. at 14a-15a).

The government petitioned for rehearing en banc. The
petition was denied, but the panel expanded its initial
opinion to make clear its view that the Clean Water Act
itself, in addition to the Corps’ regulation, does not au-
thorize federal jurisdiction over “wetlands” not created
by “frequent flooding” from adjacent navigable waters
(Pet. App. 20a-2la). The government’s interpretation
of the Clean Water Act, which is reflected in the Corps’
regulations, was rejected as “over broad and inconsistent
with the language of the Act in question” (id. at 2la).*

8 During the pendency of the appeal in this case, the Corps denied
Riverside’s application for an after-the-fact permit for a 10-acre

11

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. A. Under the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251
et seq., the United States Army Corps of Engineers was
given the responsibility of issuing permits for the dis-
charge of dredged-or-fill material into the “waters of the
United States.” 33 U.S.C. 1344 and 1362(7). The Corps
has issued jurisdictional regulations defining the “waters
of the United States” to include, inter alia, “wetlands”
that are adjacent to navigable water bodies and are
“inundated or saturated by surface or ground water at
a frequency and duration sufficient to support, and that
under normal circumstances do support, a prevalence
of vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil
conditions.” 33 C.F.R. 323.2(c). If a wetland area falls
within this regulatory assertion of jurisdiction, then the
landowner must apply for a Corps permit before engaging
in the discharge of dredged-or-fill material. The mere
assertion of regulatory jurisdiction does not, however,
mean that a permit will be denied. On the contrary, it
merely allows the Corps the opportunity to conduct a
site-specific evaluation of the landowner’s dredge-or-fill
proposal to ensure that the critical ecological functions
performed by wetlands are not unnecessarily destroyed.

area filled between May 26, 1976, and January 16, 1977. The after-
the-fact permit request was denied based on the Corps’ conclusion
that “the existing fill has had an adverse impact on the wetland
and its function as a flood-water storage area, water quality en-
hancement basin and fish and wildlife habitat.”

In addition to its request for after-the-fact approval of its
earlier fill, Riverside sought permission to fill 30.6 more acres.
The State of Michigan denied a state permit for this proposed fill.
Accordingly, the Corps also refused to approve the proposed work
because its regulations (see 33 C.F.R. 325.8(b)) provide that per-
mits will not be granted by District Engineers if a permit required
by state or local law has been denied. Riverside did not seek judi-
cial review of the Corps’ permit denials, and the court of appeals
did not address the subject, presumably because its ruling on the
scope of the Corps’ jurisdiction made it unnecessary for Riverside
to obtain any Corps permits.

12

Apparently unaware of the distinction between a
threshold jurisdictional determination and an actual de-
cision on a permit application, the court of appeals con-
cluded that the Corps’ interpretation of its jurisdiction
over “adjacent wetlands” would prevent landowners “from
using low lying land areas where water sometimes stands
and where vegetation requiring moist conditions grows”
(Pet. App. 20a). Unhappy with this prospect, the court
of appeals created its own test for wetlands jurisdiction,
holding that the Corps may assert Section 404 jurisdiction
only over those wetlands that exhibit aquatic vegetation
attributable to “frequent flooding” from adjacent lakes,
streams, or seas.

The lower court’s “frequent floodng” test is flatly in-
consistent with the intent of Congress and fails to accord
any deference to the agencies (in this case, the Corps and
the Environmental Protection Agency) entrusted with the
administration of the statute. Both as originally enacted
in 1972 and as amended in 1977, Congress made clear
that the purpose of the Clean Water Act was to promote
and maintain the integrity of the Nation’s waters by
controlling pollutant discharges at their source. Congress
intentionally abandoned its previous reliance on voncepts
of navigability and instead made water quality the touch-
stone of the statutory and regulatory program. More-
over, Congress repeatedly demonstrated its understanding
of the vital role played by wetlands in the maintenance
of water quality.

Of particular significance is the fact that Congress was
fully aware of the geographic reach of the Corps’ regula-
tory program under Section 404, which had generated
substantial controversy between 1972 and 1977. Con-
gress’s response to the controversy was to exempt certain
activities, such as normal farming activities, from the
reach of the statute. After extensive debate, however,
Congress refused to narrow the geographic reach of Sec-
tion 404 as implemented by the Corps’ regulations. Thus,
Congress clearly ratified the Corps’ interpretation of the

13

scope of its Section 404 jurisdiction. See, e.g., Bob Jones
University v. United States, 461 U.S. 574, 599-602
(1983). In these circumstances, it was error for the
court of appeals to disregard the legislative history of the
1977 amendments in favor of its own self-created “fre-
quent flooding” test for wetlands jurisdiction. The error
was all the more apparent in light of the fact that every
other circuit to address the issue has recognized that Con-
gress intended to exercise jurisdiction over the Nation’s
waters, including wetlands, to the full extent of its power
under the Commerce Clause.

B. Contrary to the court of appeals’ analysis, there-
fore, the only relevant constitutional provision is the Com-
merce Clause, and not the Fifth Amendment. The lower
court’s concern that a narrow reading of the Corps’ Sec-
tion 404 jurisdiction was required to avoid a “taking
problem” was misguided and premature. No “taking”
of private property arises from the mere assertion of
regulatory authority to require an application for a per-
mit. Moreover, even if a permit is denied, and a taking
has been established, no constitutional violation occurs un-
less just compensation is unavailable. The court of ap-
peals therefore erred in invalidating significant portions
of the Section 404 regulatory program in the absence of
any conclusion (which would have found no support in
the law in any event) that a landowner whose permit ap-
plication is denied may not bring an inverse condemna-
tion action.

II. In addition to holding that the Corps’ interpreta-
tion of Section 404 is inconsistent with the language of
the Clean Water Act, the court of appeals also held that
Riverside’s property is not a “wetland” within the mean-
ing of the Corps’ regulations. This ruling was plainly
inconsistent with the regulatory language. The court’s
“frequent flooding” test, which it purported to derive
from the regulations, totally ignores the fact that the reg-
ulations also assert jurisdiction over areas that support

14

a prevalence of wetlands vegetation attributable to
ground water or saturated soil conditions. The court also
ignored the fact that the regulations are consistent with
congressional intent, reflect good wetlands science, and
promote ease of administration for landowners and regu-
lators alike.

In light of Congress’s demonstrated concern for the
promotion of enhanced water quality, any jurisdictional
test that focuses on the source of the waters creating
wetlands vegetation makes no sense. Wetlands perform
the same important functions whether they are fed by
“frequent flooding,” ground water, surface run-off, rain-
water, or types of soil that retain moisture. The Corps’
regulations recognize this fact by asserting jurisdiction
over areas that are inundated or saturated at a frequency
and duration sufficient to support wetlands vegetation.

This regulatory definition of wetlands not only accords
with congressional intent, but it reflects good science.
Although there are many different types of wetlands, the
single feature that wetlands have in common is exposure
to water. The source of that exposure, however, is totally
irrelevant to the valuable functions that wetlands per-
form.

In addition, the Corps’ definition of wetlands is ad-
ministratively sound. If the Corps is to fulfill Congress s
intent to protect ecologically important wetlands, then
its threshold jurisdiction must be construed broadly. The
determination whether particular wetlands should be sub-
ject to restrictions on development by virtue of Section
404 can only be made on a case-by-case basis, after the
Corps has had the opportunity to evaluate the environ-
mental impacts of the proposed project and to weigh
those impacts against the public benefits of the project.
The court of appeals’ crabbed approach to the threshold
jurisdictional issue wholly pretermits the permit review
process for vast areas of wetlands and will inevitably

15

lead to water pollution and destruction of wetlands that
would not otherwise occur.

Finally, the Corps’ regulatory definition of wetlands
jurisdiction has the virtue of ease of application for land-
owners and regulators alike. By focusing primarily on
vegetation, the threshold jurisdictional inquiry usually
can be answered through visual inspection. Under the
court of appeals’ “frequent flooding” test, on the other
hand, time-consuming and expensive hydrologic studies
would be required to determine the existence, the fre-
quency, and the direction of the flow of water, and then
to evaluate its causal relationship to aquatic vegetation.
Requiring landowners to partake in such a complex in-
quiry as a threshold matter undoubtedly would jeopardize
public cooperation with the Corps’ program.

III. The southern portion of Riverside’s property is a
wetland within the meaning of the Clean Water Act and
the Corps’ implementing regulations. Expert witnesses
for both parties agreed that the property exhibits a prev-
alence of wetlands vegetation, and the record demon-
strates a total absence of upland species of vegetation.
In addition, the property is saturated at a frequency and
duration sufficient to support the wetlands vegetation
found there. The soil on the property drains poorly and
has a high water table, with water on or near the sur-
face most of the time. Riverside’s property also is “ad-
jacent” to a navigable waterway within the meaning of
33 C. F. R. 323.2(d) because it is contiguous to Black
Creek, a navigable waterway and tributary of Lake St.
Clair. Finally, there is no dispute that Riverside’s prop-
erty performs precisely the type of valuable ecological
functions that Congress intended to protect when it en-
acted Section 404. Accordingly, the judgment of the
court of appeals holding that Riverside need not apply for
a Section 404 permit should be reversed.

16

ARGUMENT

At the outset, it should be clearly understood what is
involved in this case and what is not. The only issue
before the Court is whether the Clean Water Act author-
izes the Corps of Engineers to assert regulatory jurisdic-
tion over those wetlands whose “aquatic” character is
attributable to causes other than “frequent flooding”
from navigable lakes, streams, or seas. The court of ap-
peals failed to appreciate that this threshold jurisdic-
tional inquiry is wholly distinct from the question whether
a permit to discharge dredged-or-fill material should be
granted in a particular case. Recognition of jurisdiction
does nothing more than allow the Corps to consider
whether the wetlands values that Congress sought to pro-
tect would be jeopardized by a particular project; it
does not in and of itself mean that any and all activity
on a particular parcel of land will be prohibited. See
pages 30-31, 40-43, infra.

The position of the United States, as set forth in the
Corps’ 1977 regulations, is that jurisdiction over wet-
lands—as distinct from the decision to grant or deny a
permit—is to be determined by geographic proximity
(“adjacency”) to a navigable water body, coupled with
the presence of saturated soil conditions sufficient to sup-
port a prevalence of wetlands vegetation. 33 C.F.R. 323.2
(ec) and (d).* The court of appeals rejected this position
as a matter of law, concluding that it was “inconsistent
with the language of the Act” (Pet. App. 21a). As a
result, the court of appeals could not and did not con-
sider whether the Corps should have issued a permit for
the filling of Riverside’s property. Instead, by adopting
a crabbed interpretation of the Corps’ threshold jurisdic-

*In this brief we address only the scope of the Corps’ jurisdic-
tion under the CWA over wetlands that are adjacent to traditional
navigable water bodies and their tributaries. The Corps’ regula-
tions also assert jurisdiction over certain “isolated” wetlands (see
33 C.F.R. 323.2(a)(3)), but Riverside’s property does not fall
within that category. See pages 29 note 20, 46-47 & note 40, infra.

17

tion even to consider the effect on wetlands of particular
dredge-or-fill projects, the court of appeals wholly pre-
termitted the permit review process (see pages 40-43,
infra) that Congress intended as the mechanism to en-
sure that wetlands are not destroyed without a prior
determination of the ecological importance of the par-
ticular wetland and the impacts of the proposed activity
on that wetland. As we demonstrate below, the court of
appeals was able to arrive at this result only by ignoring
well-settled principles of statutory construction and by
substituting its judgment for that of the agencies charged
with the administration of the statute.

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS IGNORED WELL-
ESTABLISHED RULES OF STATUTORY CON-
STRUCTION IN INTERPRETING THE SCOPE OF
SECTION 404 WETLANDS JURISDICTION

The court of appeals’ exclusive reliance on the statu-
tory language, with its concomitant failure to examine
the Act’s legislative history, led it to an interpretation of
the statute that is flatly inconsistent with congressional
intent. The court of appeals observed (Pet. App. 13a)
that Congress “may, indeed, have meant to extend the
protections of the Act beyond the straightforward” statu-
‘ory definition of “navigable waters” but concluded that
it was “not clear” from: the statute how far the Corps’ ju-
risdiction extends in the case of wetlands." Having found
a lack of clarity in the statutory language, it was mani-
festly inappropriate for the court of appeals to ignore the
legislative history. With specific reference to the CWA,
this Court has held that, “however clear the words may
appear on ‘superficial examination.“ courts may not ig-

The court of appeals’ assertion (Pet. App. 13a) that the lan-
guage of the statute makes no reference to “wetlands” is inac-
curate. Section 404(g)(1) refers to “adjacent” “wetlands” as
regulated waters. 33 U.S.C. 1344(g)(1). Thus, the statutory lan-
guage itself casts doubt on the court of appeals’ conclusion that
the adjacent wetlands at issue in this case are not “waters of the
United States.”

18

nore the legislative history in discerning the meaning of
a statutory term. Train v. Colorado Public Interest Re-
search Group, Inc., 426 US. 1, 10 (1976) (quoting
United States v. American Trucking Ass’ns, 310 U.S.
534, 543-544 (1940)). Thus, the court of appeals erred
in resting its decision solely on the bald conclusion that
the Corps’ interpretation of the CWA was “inconsistent
with the language of the Act” (Pet. App. 21a. Though
the statutory term “waters of the United States” may
at first blush be deceiving, even a cursory review of the
legislative history of the CWA, both as it was passed in
1972 and as amended in 1977, quickly and conclusively
dispels any notion that Congress intended the Section 404
program to be limited by the traditional concepts of
navigability resurrected by the court of appeals. See
pages 19-27, infra.

The court of appeals compounded its analytic error by
refusing to accord any deference to the administrative
interpretation of the statute.“ This Court has repeatedly
emphasized that reviewing courts are precluded from sub-
stituting their judgment for that of an agency, particu-
larly with respect to technical matters or to a determina-

The fact that the Corps initially took a narrower view of its
jurisdiction under Section 404 is of no moment in this case. The
Attorney Genera! has determined that the “ultimate administrative
authority to determine the reach of the ‘navigable waters’ for the
purposes of § 404” resides with EPA. 43 Op. Att'y Gen. No. 15,
at 1 (Sept. 5, 1979). EPA has consistently supported a broad
interpretation of the scope of Clean Water Act jurisdiction (see
pages 4-5 & note 3, supra). Shortly after the Act was passed in
1972, EPA established a policy of preserving wetland ecosystems in
the administration of its regulatory activities and grant programs.
The agency took this action because t he Nation's wetlands * * *
are a unique, valuable, irreplaceable water resource” (38 Fed. Reg.
10834 1973 With particular regard to the type of wetland at
issue in this case, EPA recognized that ibid.

Fresh-water wetlands support the adjacent or downstream
aquatic ecosystem in addition to the complex web of life that
has developed within the wetland environment. The relation-
ship of the fresh-water wetland to the subsurface environment
is symbiotic, intricate, and fragile.

19

tion, including jurisdiction, that has been assigned pri-
marily to the agency administering a statute. See, e. g.,
Chemical Manufacturers Ass’n v. NRDC, No. 83-1013
(Feb. 27, 1985), slip op. 8-9; Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v.
NRDC, No. 82-1005 (June 25, 1984), slip op. 5-6; EJ.
du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. Train, 430 U.S. 112, 134-
135 (1977). Congress delegated substantial authority to
EPA and, with respect to permits for the discharge of
dredged-or-fill material, to the Corps for implementa-
tion of the Clean Water Act. See, e. g., 33 U.S.C. 1311,
1342, and 1344. In the absence of an explicit statutory
definition of covered wetlands, those agencies were given
implicit authority to determine administratively the pre
cise scope of wetlands jurisdiction. See Chevron U.S.A.
Ine. v. NRDC, slip op. 5-6. Since the agencies had done
so, the court of appeals was precluded from substituting
its own construction of the statute so long as the adminis-
trative interpretation was a reasonable one.

Had the court below consulted the legislative history
and followed these principles of judicial review, it would
have recognized that the Corps’ interpretation of its juris-
diction under Section 404 is a reasonable construction of
the statute that should have been upheld.

Il. THE CORPS’ ASSERTION OF SECTION 404 JURIS-
DICTION TO REGULATE DISCHARGES OF
DREGED OR FILL MATERIAL INTO WETLANDS
ADJACENT TO STREAMS, LAKES, OR SEAS
COMPORTS WITH CONGRESSIONAL INTENT

A. The Act’s Objectives And Legislative History Dem-
onstrate That Congress Intended To Regulate Dis-
charges Of Dredged Or Fill Material Into “Wet-
lands” Beyond The Limits Of Traditional Naviga-
ble Waters

1. In 1972, Congress substantially rewrote the federal
law governing water pollution in order to “restore and
maintain the chemical, physical, and biological integrity

of the Nation’s waters.” 33 U.S.C. 1251(a). The in-
tegrity” of the Nation’s waters is a broad concept—‘“a
condition in which the natural structure and function of
ecosystems is maintained. H.R. Rep. 92-911, 92d Cong.,
2d Sess. 76 (1972). Congress’s objective was to achieve
that level of water quality that provides for the “protec-
tion and propagation of fish, shellfish, and wildlife and
provides for recreation in and on the water” (33 U.S.C.
12510 % % The strategy adopted to achieve these
goals was to control the discharge of pollutants at their
source. See generally EPA v. California ex rel. State
Water Resources Control Board, 426 U.S. 200, 204-205
(1976). Congress recognized that restricting Clean Wa-
ter Act jurisdiction to those relatively few waterways
that support navigation would make it impossible to
achieve the objectives of the Act. The Senate Report ex-
plained S. Rep. 92-414, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. 77 (1971)):

Water moves in hydrologic cycles and it is essential
that discharge of pollutants be controlled at the
source.

Accordingly, the statute prohibits the unauthorized dis-
charge of any pollutant—including dredged or fill mate
rial—into “navigable waters,” defined as the “waters of
the United States, including the territorial seas.” 33
U.S. C. 131l(a), 1344, 1362(6). 1362(7). Congress’s
use of the term “waters of the United States” was a
deliberate rejection of the more limited concept of tradi-
tional navigable waters, in recognition of the fact that
that narrow focus was ill-suited to the Act’s water qual-

ity goals. The House Report stated (H.R. Rep. 92-911,
supra, at 131):

One term the Committee was reluctant to define was
“navigable waters.” The reluctance was based on

the fear that any interpretation would be read nar-
rowly. However, this is not the Committee’s intent.

To alleviate its fears, Congress deleted the word “naviga-
dle from the Act’s definition of “navigable waters.”

21

The Conference Committee explained that (118 Cong.
Rec. 33699 (1972) (emphasis added) ):

The Conferees fully intend that the term “navigable
waters” be given the broadest possible constitutional
interpretation unencumbered by agency determina-
tions which have been made or may be made for ad-
ministrative purposes.

Congress thus clearly understood that traditional con-
cepts of navigability had nothing to do with combatting
water pollution and that the Act’s purposes require a
scientific and functional interpretation of “waters of the
United States” directly tied to water quality concerns.“
Moreover, Congress intended to assert federal jurisdic-
tion over the sources of pollutant discharges into the hy-
drologic cycle to the maximum extent permissible under
the Commerce Clause in order to improve and maintain
water quality. In other words, the only constraint on
regulatory jurisdiction intended by Congress was the
limit of the Commerce Clause power to control water
pollution.“

12 The criteria that the Corps must consider when evaluating
permit applications for dredged or fill materials exemplify Con-
gress’s water quality concerns. Section 404(b)(1) of the Act,
33 U.S.C. 1344(b) (1), directs the Corps to evaluate permit applica-
tions by applying guidelines developed by EPA in conjunction with
the Corps. EPA’s guidelines (published at 40 C. F. R. Pt. 230) must
take into account, inter alia, the effect of discharges of dredged
or fill material on fish, shellfish, and wildlife; effects on recrea-
tional, economic, and aesthetic values; and changes in aquatic
ecosystem diversity, productivity, and stability. Sections 403(c) (1)
and 404(b) (1), 33 U.S.C. 134306 (1) and 1344(b) (1). In addition,
EPA may veto or restrict the use of any site for the disposal of
dredged or fill material when it determines that a discharge “will
have an unacceptable adverse effect on municipal water supplies,
shellfish beds and fishery areas (including spawning and breeding
areas), wildlife, or recreational areas.” Section 404(c), 33 U.S.C.
1344(c). Thus, Congress sought through the permit requirement
and evaluation process to prevent unnecessary discharges causing
significant adverse impacts on water quality.

13 Historically, federal regulatory involvement in water-related
activities focused primarily on the navigability of waterways, but

22

2. Whatever doubt may have existed concerning the
intended reach of the CWA over wetlands was completely
laid to rest by the 1977 amendments to the statute. The
1975 interim final regulations promulgated by the Corps
in response to NRDC v. Callaway, supra, aroused con-
siderable congressional interest. Hearings on the subject
of Section 404 jurisdiction were held in both the House
and the Senate. An amendment to limit the geographic
reach of Section 404 to traditional navigable waters end
their adjacent wetlands was passed by the House, 123
Cong. Rec. 10434 (1977), defeated on the floor of the
Senate, 123 Cong. Rec. 26728 (1977), and eliminated by
the Conference Committee, H.R. Conf. Rep. 95-830, 95th
Cong., Ist Sess. 97-105 (1977). Congress rejected the
proposal to limit the geographic reach of Section 404 be-
cause it wanted a permit system with “no gaps” in its

it has long been recognized that other water-related interests can
be addressed pursuant to the Commerce Clause, including, inter
alia, ecological concerns. See, e.g., United States v. Republic Steel
Corp., 362 U.S. 482 (1960); United States v. Appalachian Electric
Power Co., 311 U.S. 377, 426 (1940); Zabel v. Tabb, 430 F.2d 199,
203-204 (5th Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 401 U.S. 910 (1971). Regula-
tion of wetlands for the purpose of addressing environmental prob-
lems is undoubtedly within Congress’s power under the Commerce
Clause. See Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining & Reclamation Ass'n,
452 U.S. 264, 282 (1981); United States v. Byrd, 609 F.2d 1204,
1209-1210 (7th Cir. 1979). Cf. Utah v. Marsh. 740 F.2d 799, 804
(10th Cir. 1984) (CWA regulation of an intrastate lake that affects
interstate commerce is constitutional); United States v. Ashland
Oil & Transportation Co., 504 F.2d 1317, 1328-1329 (6th Cir.
1974) (CWA jurisdiction over non-navigable tributaries of naviga-
ble streams is constitutional)

14 Section 404 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amend-
ments of 1972: Hearings Before the Senate Comm. on Pubiic
Works, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976); Development of New Regula-
tions by the Corps of Engineers, Implementing Section 404 of the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act Concerning Permits for Dis-
posal of Dredge or Fill Material: Hearings Before the Subcomm.
on Water Resources of the House Comm. on Public Works and
Transportation, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975).

23

protective sweep. 123 Cong. Rec. 26707 (1977) (remarks
of Sen. Randolph).

Rather than alter the geographic reach of Section 404,
Congress amended the statute by exempting certain ac-
tivities—most notably certain agricultural and silvicul-
tural activities—from Section 404’s permit requirements.
See 33 U.S.C. 1344 (f).“ The Senate Report, which ex-
plained the approach ultimately adopted by the Confer-
ence Committee, demonstrates that the decision to leave
the geographic scope of Section 404 intact was an affirma-
tive approval of the administrative interpretation of the
term “waters of the United States.” The report stated
(S. Rep. 95-370, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 75 (1977) ):

Initial consideration of the section 404 controversy
stimulated discussion on the extent of the waters
in which discharges of dredged or fill material will
be regulated.

The 1972 Federal Water Pollution Control Act
exercised comprehensive jurisdiction over the Na-
tion’s waters to control pollution to the fullest con-
stitutional extent.

To limit the jurisdiction of the Federal Water Pol-
lution Control Act with reference to discharges o?
the pollutants of dredged or fill material would er p-
ple efforts to achieve the act’s objectives.

The committee amendment does not redefine navi-
gable waters. Instead, the committee amendment in-
tends to assure continued protection of all the Na-
tion’s waters, but allows States to assume the pri-

* 1 Congress also added several other provisions to Section 404.
including provisions designed to streamline the permit process and
to allow states to administer portions of the program. Altogether,
16 new subsections were added to Section 404. Those amendments
demonstrate that Congress thoroughly reexamined Section 404
when it passed the 1977 amendments. In these circumstances,
Congress's decision not to alter the geographic reach of the section
takes on added significance. See, ., Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner
& Smith, Inc. v. Curran, 456 U.S. 353, 381-382 (1982).

24

mary responsibility for protecting those lakes, rivers,
streams, swamps, marshes, and other portions of the
navigable waters outside the corps program in the
so-called phase I waters. Under the committee
amendment, the corps will continue to administer the
section 404 permit program in all navigable waters
for a discharge of dredge or fill material until the
approval of a State program for phase 2 and 3
waters. '**!

Other evidence abounds to support the conclusion that
when Congress rejected the attempt to limit the geo-
graphic reach of Section 404, it was well aware that the
Corps’ 1977 regulations asserted jurisdiction over all
adjacent wetlands and some isolated wetlands. For ex-
ample, Senator Baker stated (123 Cong. Rec. 26718
(1977) ):

Interim final regulations were promulgated by the
corps [on] July 25, 1975. * * *

Together the regulations and [EPA] guidelines
established a management program that focused the
decisionmaking process on significant threats to
aquatic areas while avoiding unnecessary regulation
of minor activities. On July 19, 1977, the corps re-
vised its regulations to further streamline the pro-
gram and correct several misunderstandings. * * *

Continuation of the comprehensive coverage of
this program is essential for the protection of the
aquatic environment. The once seemingly separable
types of aquatic systems are, we now know, inter-
related and interdependent. We cannot expect to
preserve the remaining qualities of our water re-
sources without providing appropriate protection for
the entire resource.

16 This passage is particularly significant because it demonstrates
beyond peradventure Congress’s understanding of the Corps’
phased-in expansion of Section 404 jurisdiction (see page 5 &
note 4, supra). Instead of rejecting that approach, Congress
specifically incorporated the Corps’ regulatory scheme into the
amendment authorizing partial delegation of the Section 404 permit
program to the States. Section 404(g), 38 U.S.C. 1344(g).

Earlier jurisdictional approaches under the [Riv-
ers and Harbors Act] established artificial and often
arbitrary boundaries

See also 123 Cong. Rec. 38967-38968 (1977) (remarks
of Rep. Roberts). Moreover, Congress specifically re-
ferred to “wetlands adjacent” to traditional navigable
waters as regulated waters in one of the amended Sec-
tion 404 provisions, 33 U.S.C. 1344(g)(1). Congress’s
use of this regulatory term of art was an affirmative
endorsement of the Corps’ interpretation of the scope of
its jurisdiction under Section 404.

This legislative history leaves no room for doubt that
Congress intended adjacent wetlands to be treated as
“waters of the United States.” The proceedings lead-
ing to the 1977 amendments to the CWA offer a textbook
case of congressional approval of administrative action.
See Bob Jones University v. United States, 461 U.S. 574,
599-602 (1983); Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395
U.S. 367, 380-381 (1969).

Furthermore, the legislative history of the 1977 amend-
ments clearly demonstrates Congress’s continuing con-
cern with water quality, its understanding of the sig-
nificant relationship between wetlands and water quality,
and its intention to regulate wetlands under the Section
404 program to promote enhanced water quality.“ In

It also bears noting that Congress was fully aware that the
dredged materia! and fill material with which Section 404 is con-
cerned is not harmless “clean dirt.” As Senator Baker noted (123
Cong. Rec. 26718 (1977)), dredged and fill materials often con-
tain a wide range of pollutants, including toxic substances.” See
also S. Rep. 92-414, supra, 74-75; 123 Cong. Rec. 26701, 26713-
26714, 26720-26721 (1977) (remarks of Sens. Stafford, Hart, and
Muskie) ; 123 Cong. Rec. 6792-6794 (1977) (statement of Khristine
L. Hall, Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc.). And even in
the case of fill material that is not contaminated by toxic pollutants,
its mere placement into wetlands “can physically destroy essential
parts of the aquatic system, including swamps, marshes, submerged
grass flats and shellfish beds.” 123 Cong. Rec. 26718 (1977) (re-
marks of Sen. Baker).

debating the proposal to restrict Section 404 jurisdic-
tion, it was noted that more than half of the Nation’s
original wetlands already have been lost by filling, dredg-
ing, or draining and that the remaining areas are dis-
appearing at a rate of 300,000 acres per year. 123 Cong.
Rec. 26701, 26717 (1977) (remarks of Sens. Stafford
and Chaffee). Congress thought it essential to put a
stop to this trend in order to achieve the water quality
goals of the CWA. For example, Senator Baker, a spon-
sor of the 1977 amendments, stated (123 Cong. Rec.
26718-26719 (1977)):

[P]rotection of water quality must encompass the
protection of the interior wetlands and smaller
streams.

We should be mindful of the fact that when these
(wetland) areas are polluted out of existence, we
will have lost the very valuable free service of na-
ture; and if toxic-laden dredged or fill material is
discharged into wetlands, we risk poisoning the very
foundation of our aquatic system.

Senator Muskie, also one of the primary sponsors of
the Act, expressed similar views (123 Cong. Rec. 26697
(1977) ):

There is no question that the systematic destruction
of the Nation’s wetlands is causing serious, perma-
nent ecological damage. The wetlands and bays, es-
tuaries and deltas are the Nation’s most biologically
active areas. They represent a principal source of
food supply. They are the spawning grounds for
much of the fish and shellfish which populate the
oceans, 14 They pe A 12 for numerous upland
game 5 provide nesting areas for a
myriad of species of birds and wildlife.
unregulated destructi these areas is a
and which imple-
has attempted to achieve.

27

See also 123 Cong. Rec. 38994-38996 (1977) (remarks of
Reps. Ambro, Lehman, and Dingell); 123 Cong. Rec.
26701-26702, 26713, 26716-26717 (1977) (remarks of
Sens. Stafford, Hart, and Chaffee); H.R. Rep. 95-139,
95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) (additional views of Reps.
Edgar and Myers)“

In sum, the court of appeals’ conclusion that it is “not
clear” (Pet. App. 13a) that Congress wanted the Corps
to exercise the broadest possible jurisdiction over the
Nation’s wetlands is simply untenable when examined in
light of the legislative history.

B. Extensive Judicial Authority Supports A Broad
Interpretation Of Section 104 Jurisdiction

The court of appeals seemingly approached the issue
before it as though it were a question of first impression.
In fact, it is not, and, what is more, every other circuit
to address the matter (either in the context of Section
404 or of other sections of the CWA that apply to “waters
of the United States”) has concluded that Congress in-
tended in the CWA to assert federal jurisdiction over
the Nation’s waters to the full extent of its constitu-
tional power, not limited by traditional concepts of navi-
gability, and that the Corps’ implementing regulations
faithfully reflect that intent. See, e.g., United States v.

18 Finally, Congress also was concerned about the economic im-
pact of the loss of wetland areas on commercial fish harvests and
water treatment and flood control costs. See, e.g., 123 Cong. Rec.
26716 (1977) (remarks of Sen. Chaffee); id. at 26718 (remarks
of Sen. Baker): id. at 38994 (remarks of Rep. Lehman). In
addition to the estimate that wetlands provide $140 billion worth
of water purification and flood control services (see page 3, supra),
specific illustrations of the economic impact of wetlands destruc-
tion were cited. In the early 1960s, for example, a channelization
project on the Kissimmee River in Florida eliminated 45.000 acres
of flood plain marshes. The unexpected result of the project was
a “gross deterioration of water quality in the Kissimmee River
and in Lake Okeechobee,” into which the river flowed. To undo
this damage, “it is going to cost a lot more money.” 123 Cong.
Rec. 26717 (1977) (remarks of Sen. Chaffee).

Huebner, 752 F.2d 1235, 1239, 1240-1241 & n.9 (7th
Cir. 1985) ; Utah v. Marsh, 740 F.2d 799, 802-804 (10th
Cir. 1984) ; Avoyelles Sportsmen's League, Inc. v. Marsh,
715 F.2d 897, 914-916 (5th Cir. 1983); United States v.
Tilton, 705 F.2d 429, 431 (11th Cir. 1983) ; United States
v. Texas Pipe Line Co., 611 F.2d 345, 347 (10th Cir.
1979) ; United States v. Byrd, 609 F.2d 1204, 1209-1211
(7th Cir. 1979); Leslie Salt Co. v. Froehike, 578 F.2d
742, 754-756 (9th Cir. 1978); ef. Consolidation Coal Co.
v. Costle, 604 F.2d 239, 243, (4th Cir. 1979).”

These courts have all recognized that Congress’s pur-
poses, described at pages 19-27, supra, would be severely
frustrated by an interpretation of “waters of the United
States” that excluded areas, including wetlands, the de-
struction or pollution of which could threaten the more
traditional waters to which the court below confined its
concern. In contrast to the admittedly “narrow interpre-
tation” of wetlands jurisdiction adopted by the court
below (Pet. App. 13a), these courts have accorded Sec-
tion 404 the broad reach intended by Congress in order
to accomplish the Act’s goal of controlling water pollu-
tion at its source. Repeatedly, courts have rested their
interpretation of the scope of “wetlands” jurisdiction on
the understanding that Congress intended to exercise its

1 But see United States v. City of Fort Pierre, 747 F.2d 464
(8th Cir. 1984). There, the court of appeals held that the Corps’
jurisdiction did not extend to an area falling within the literal
language of the Corps’ “wetlands” definition because the area’s
wetland characteristics were the undisputed by-product of the
Corps’ dredging activities and the area was polluted and devoid of
any value for fish, wildlife, or recreation. The court emphasized,
however, that its conclusion turned on “peculiar facts and unique
circumstances,” and it did “not question the Corps’ broad, plenary
authority to protect, maintain, and restore our Nation’s wetlands”
(id. at 465-466). The court also noted that (when determining
whether the Corps’ jurisdiction over our Nation’s wetlands extends
to a particular area, a court must bear in mind Congress’ intent
to extend this jurisdiction to the full extent permissible under the
Constitution” (id. at 465).

regulatory powers to the maximum extent permitted by
the Commerce Clause. See, e. g., Avoyelles Sportsmen's
League, Inc. v. Marsh, 715 F.2d at 916 n.33; United
States v. Tilton, 705 F.2d at 431; United States v. Byrd,
609 F.2d at 1209-1211; United States v. Holland, 373
F. Supp. at 668-676.

For example, in United States v. Byrd, 609 F.2d at
1210, the court held that the Corps’ assertion of Section
404 jurisdiction over wetlands adjacent to an intrastate
lake was a constitutional exercise of power, consistent
with congressional intent, because “filling activities, al-
though they are local, have the potential for exerting a
substantial economic effect on interstate commerce by an
easily traced chain of causation.” The court recognized
that the effect of such localized filling activities would
be to degrade the water quality of the lake they adjoined.
Ibid. That degradation, in turn, would affect interstate
commerce through its impact on the lake’s value for
recreation, fish, and wildlife. Ibid. See also Utah v.
Marsh, 740 F.2d at 803-804.”

In Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining & Reclamation
Ass n, 452 U.S. 264, 282 & n.21 (1981), this Court, citing
Byrd and similar cases with approval, endorsed the same
Commerce Clause analysis: “{We] agree with the lower
federal courts that have uniformly found the power con-
ferred by the Commerce Clause broad enough to permit
congressional regulation of activities causing air or water
pollution, or other environmental hazards that may have

Under the Corps’ regulations, 33 C. F. R. 323.2(a)(3), a pre-
requisite to jurisdiction over an intrastate lake or wetland such as
that involved in Byrd is a specific finding that its destruction or
degradation could affect interstate or foreign commerce. Where,
as here, the water body to which a wetland is adjacent is an inter-
state water or the tributary of an interstate water, no such show-
ing is required. See 42 Fed. Reg. 37127-37128 (1977). The portion
of Riverside’s property at issue in this litigation (see pages 46-47
& note 40, infra) is adjacent to Black Creek, a navigable water and
primary tributary of Lake St. Clair, an international boundary
water linking the Great Lakes Huron and Erie.

30

effects in more than one State.” The reasoning of the
court below is, therefore, fundamentally at odds with
the analytical approach to which all other courts have
subscribed. The court below made no attempt to tie its
self-created “frequent flooding” limitation to the goals
and legislative history of the Act and seemingly rejected
the Commerce Clause as an inadequate “limiting prin-
ciple” (Pet. App. 2la). Contrary to the assumption
implicit in the court of appeals’ “frequent flooding” test,
federal jurisdiction over wetlands is not predicated on
the physical creation of wetlands by navigable water
bodies. Rather, the ecological and environmental role
of wetlands in the hydrologic cycle is the touchstone for
federal jurisdiction.

C. The Fifth Amendment Does Not Require A Narrow
Construction Of Section 404

The court of appeals seriously erred in concluding that
a narrow interpretation of Section 404 wetlands juris-
diction is required by the Just Compensation Clause
of the Fifth Amendment. The fundamental flaw in the
court’s “taking” analysis was its erroneous assumption
that the mere assertion of Section 404 jurisdiction
amounts to the prohibition of “any development or change
of such property.” Pet. App. 14a. In fact, however, the
scope of Section 404 jurisdiction determines nothing more
than whether the owner of a wetland must obtain a per-
mit before discharging pollutants onto his property.
Moreover, the statute and the implementing regulations
expressly contemplate the granting of permits in appro-
priate circumstances, see 33 U.S.C. 1344(b); 33 C.F.R.
Pts. 320, 323; 40 C.F.R. Pt. 230, and, even if a permit
is denied, it does not follow that all economically viable
uses of the property will be foreclosed. Thus, a “taking”
claim based only on a recognition of wetlands jurisdiction
is altogether premature. See Avoyelles Sportsmen’s
League, Inc. v. Marsh, 715 F.2d at 927; United States

31

v. Byrd, 609 F.2d at 1211; ef. Hodel v. Virginia Surface
Mining & Reclamation Ass’n, 452 U.S. at 295-296.

A “taking” of private property cannot arise from the
mere assertion of regulatory authority to require an
application for a permit. Moreover, even if a permit is
denied, and a taking has been established, no constitu-
tional violation occurs unless just compensation is un-
available. See, e.g., Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., No.
83-196 (June 26, 1984), slip op. 27-28; Hodel v. Virginia
Surface Mining & Reclamation Ass’n, 452 U.S. at 297
n.40; Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S.
102, 127, 149 (1974); Hurley v. Kincaid, 285 U.S. 95,
104 (1932). Thus, the court of appeals clearly erred in
invalidating significant portions of the Section 404 regu-
latory program in the absence of any conclusion (which
would have found no support in the law in any event)
that a landowner whose permit application is denied may
not bring an inverse condemnation action.”

The sole authority for the court of appeals’ “taking” analysis,
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979) (Pet. App.
14a-15a), nowhere suggests that a narrow view of federal regula-
tory jurisdiction is required to avoid a taking “problem.” In fact,
Kaiser Aetna supports the opposite conclusion. There, this Court
explicitly acknowledged that a privately owned lagoon converted
by its owners into a marina was subject to federal regulatory
jurisdiction. 444 U.S. at 174, 179. It was only the government's
attempt to require the owners to provide the public with free
access to the lagoon in the unique factual circumstances of that
case that amounted to a “taking” for which compensation would be
due. The Court noted that the access requirement would have
deprived the owners of “the ‘right to exclude,’ so universally held
to be a fundamental element of the property right” (id. at 179-180
(footnote omitted)). Subsequently, the Court refused to apply
Kaiser Aetna to a land use regulation that, like the permit require-
ments of the Clean Water Act, did not extinguish any “fundamental
attribute of ownership.” Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255,
262 (1980).

22 Of course, a landowner also may obtain judicial review, pur-
suant to the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 702, of a
Corps decision to deny a permit application. See, ¢.g., Buttrey v.
United States, 690 F.2d 1170, 1183 (5th Cir. 1982), cert. denied.

Finally, the taking analysis in any particular case is
fundamentally factual. See, e. g., Hodel v. Virginia Sur-
face Mining & Reclamation Ass'n, 452 US. at 295;
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 175 (1979).
In a Section 404 case, for example, the court would have
to determine, inter alia, whether denial of a permit de-
prived the landowner of all economically viable uses of
his land. See, ¢.g., Deltona Corp. v. United States, 657
F.2d 1184, 1191-1193 (Ct. Cl. 1981), cert. denied, 455
U.S. 1017 (1982). The court of appeals conducted no
such inquiry in this case, and thus its taking concerns
were wholly speculative.”

In sum, the only constitutional provision relevant to
this case is the Commerce Clause, not the Fifth Amend-
ment. Congress’s power to regulate wetlands emanates
from the Commerce Clause because of the functional re-
lationship between wetlands and the environmental goals
of the Clean Water Act. The benefits that wetlands pro-
vide for water quality and management, and the con-
comitant negative impacts resulting from the dumping
of fill and other pollutants into wetlands, leave no doubt
that the exercise of Section 404 jurisdiction over “adja-
cent wetlands” is well within Congress’s power.”

461 U.S. 927 (1983); Deltona Corp. v. Alexander, 682 F.2d 888
(11th Cir. 1982).

As noted (see note 8, supra), Riverside applied for and was
denied a permit while this case was pending in the court of appeals.
But the court of appeals did not decide whether the permit denial
was proper or whether it effected a taking in the circumstances of
this case, nor could the court have considered these questions in-
asmuch as Riverside never challenged the denial of the permit.

24 The Commerce power, although it encompasses the protection
and regulation of interstate navigation, is not, of course, limited
to navigable waters or even to activities that affect such waters.
Thus, Section 404 is not constitutionally restricted to what would
be a permissible exercise of the federal navigation servitude. See
Kaiser-Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. at 173-180.

III. THE CORPS’ REGULATORY IMPLEMENTATION
OF ITS JURISDICTION UNDER SECTION 404 IS
BASED ON SOUND LEGAL, SCIENTIFIC, AND
ADMINISTRATIVE CONSIDERATIONS

In addition to holding that the Corps’ interpretation of
the statute was “inconsistent with the language of the
Act” (Pet. App. 21a), the court of appeals also construed
the Corps’ regulatory definition of wetlands (33 C.F.R.
323.2(c)) to exclude Riverside’s property (Pet. App.
10a-12a). The court’s ruling was plainly inconsistent
with the regulatory language. Moreover, the court failed

to recognize that the Corps’ regulatory definition of wet-
lands represents both a scientifically and administratively

A. Nothing In The Corps’ Definition Of “Wetlands”
Requires That They Be Created By “Frequent
Flooding” From Adjacent Navigable Water Bodies

The court of appeals was of the view that the Corps’
regulatory definition of “wetlands” is limited to areas in
which aquatic vegetation is caused by “frequent flooding”
by waters from adjacent streams, lakes, and seas Pet.
App. 15a). This interpretation finds no support what-

which encom-

soever in the language of the regulation,
passes not only areas that are “inundated” by adjacent

for life in saturated soil conditions.” 33 C. F. R. 323.2(c)
(emphasis added). “The [1977] revision makes it clear
that inundation is not necessary if actual saturation is
present.” Avoyelles Sportsmen's League, Inc. v. Alezx-
ander, 511 F. Supp. 278, 290 (W.D. La. 1981), aff'd in
part and rev'd in part on other grounds, 715 F.2d 897
(5th Cir. 1980). Nowhere in the Corps’ regulations is
there a suggestion that the water inundating or saturat-

ing an area must flow from a lake or stream. On the
contrary, the water inundating or saturating a wetland
may originate from groundwater, rainwater, surface run-
off, or a combination of these and other sources. See 42
Fed. Reg. 37128 (1977); ef. Avoyeiles Sportsmen's
League, Inc. v. Marsh, 715 F.2d at 933; United States v.
Byrd, 609 F.2d at 1208. Thus, the court of appeals’ re-

quirement that water flowing from adjacent navigable

waters cause the wetland vegetation—thereby eliminating
saturated or inundated areas fed by surface run-off,

groundwater, rainwater, or a combination of sources—
burdens the administrative definition with limiting con-
cepts untraceable to the regulatory language.

Contrary to the court of appeals’ suggestion Pet. App.
9a, 12a n.3), the preamble to the Corps’ 1977 regulations

one sentence in the preamble, and it read that sentence
out of context. The sentence stated that “[t]he abnormal
presence of aquatic vegetation in a non-aquatic area would
not be sufficient to include that area within the Section

court

— — — —

35

which, in the past, have been transformed into dry land
for various purposes.” 42 Fed. Reg. 37128 (1977).
Riverside’s property, which has exhibited the wetlands
characteristics of saturation and aquatic vegetation for
decades, is not within that category (see J.A. 52-53, 56,
58-60, 64-67, 69-71; pages 44-46, infra).

The court of appeals also misunderstood the import of
the Corps’ intent to assert jurisdiction over a wetland
area “as it exists” now, and “not as it may have existed
over a record period of time.” 42 Fed. Reg. 37128
(1977). By confining its self-created jurisdictional test
to instances of inundation from “frequent flooding,” the
court was able to conclude that Riverside’s property is not
a wetland “as it exists’ now” (Pet. App. 10a, 11a).
But the Corps intentionally eliminated the requirement of
“periodic inundation” (33 C. F. R. 209.120(d) (2) (h)
(1976)) because that phrase had been erroneously con-
strued “as requring inundation over a record period of
years.” 42 Fed. Reg. 37128 (1977). This was never the
Corps’ intent (ibid.) :

Our intent under Section 404 is to regulate dis-
charges of dredged or fill material into the aquatic
system as it exists, and not as it may have existed
over a record period of time. The new definition is
designed to achieve this intent. It pertains to an
existing wetland and requires that the area be inun-
dated or saturated by water at a frequency and
duration sufficient to support aquatic vegetation.

Thus, the court clearly erred in concluding that the pres-
ence or absence of “frequent flooding” was conclusive on

26 Thus, the Corps’ regulation does require that the presence of
wetland vegetation be attributable to wet or saturated conditions,
as opposed to the “abnormal” presence of wetland species in a dry
or upland environment. However, inundation or saturation may be
intermittent, rather than constant; the inundation or saturation
need only be at a “frequency and duration sufficient to support
aquatic vegetation.” 33 C.F.R. 323.2(c). Cf. Avoyelles Sportsmen's
League, Inc. v. Marsh, 715 F.2d at 913.

36

the question whether Riverside’s property is a wetland
“as it exists” now.

Moreover, while vegetation and hydrology are the pri-
mary factors relied upon to identify wetlands, soil also
is considered a wetlands indicator. See Avoyelles Sports-
men’s League, Inc. v. Marsh, 715 F.2d at 917-918.“ Ac-
cordingly, the court of appeals plainly erred in suggesting
that the type of soil found on Riverside’s property—soil
characterized by a high water table, poor drainage, and
water at or near the surface—is a reason for concluding
that the prevalence of wetlands vegetation represents
“abnormal” growth in an upland area (Pet. App. 12a
n.3). On the contrary, the soil type is confirmatory evi-
dence that the wetland vegetation results from saturated
conditions, as contemplated by the regulatory definition.

In sum, the Corps’ regulation contains no requirement
that wetland vegetation be caused by frequent flooding
from navigable waterways, as opposed to other water
sources. In reading frequent flooding and causation re-
strictions into the regulation, the court of appeals clearly
disregarded the well-established principle that an agency’s
interpretation of its own regulations is entitled to defer-
ence by a reviewing court, particularly where, as here,
the matter involves technical expertise. See, e.g., Ford

27 In Avoyelles, the court upheld EPA’s methodology and applica-
tion of the regulatory definition of “wetlands” to a particular tract
of land. EPA’s methodology is discussed in a report attached as
an appendix to the court’s opinion. 715 F.2d at 930-934. The report
explained that [while vegetation is perhaps the most important
factor in applying the [wetlands] definition,” some species con-
sidered to be wetlands vegetation “may sometimes grow in soils
that are only rarely saturated” (id. at 931). Hydrologic or soil
data are therefore relevant factors used to verify the significance
of wetlands vegetation (id. at 931-933). The report observed that
much of the tract consists of soil types generally recognized as
wetlands soils because of fheir tendency to hold moisture and drain
poorly” (id. at 932). Thus, the wetland to be regulated in Avoyelles
“consist[ed] of those areas where the evidence showed that the
presence of wetland species was confirmed by either inundation or
saturated soils” (id. at 933).

37

Motor Credit Co. v. Milhollin, 444 U.S. 555, 556 (1980);
Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 16 (1965); Avoyelles
Sportsmen’s League, Inc. v. Marsh, 715 F.2d at 910.

B. The Regulatory Definition Of “Wetlands” Is Scien-
tifically Sound And Serves To Promote Congress’s
Water Quality Concerns

Having failed to consult the legislative history of Sec-
tion 404, the court of appeals was unaware of Congress’s
intention to promote enhanced water quality and the
necessary role that wetlands play in achieving that goal.
Thus, the court failed to appreciate that the Corps’ regu-
latory definition of “wetlands” (33 C.F.R. 323.2(c)) isa
scientifically sound description of areas performing the
multiple ecological services that scientists generally at-
tribute to wetlands. The presence of vegetation and
saturation or inundation are, for example, consistent with
the scientific identification of wetlands developed by the
United States Fish and Wildlife Service for purposes of
the National Wetlands Inventory authorized by Congress
in Section 208 (i) (2) of the CWA, 33 U.S.C. 1288(i)
2)“ Scientists have developed a complex taxonomic

28 The National Wetlands Inventory, for which Congress au-
thorized the expenditure of $6 million, was intended to generate
scientific information on the characteristics and extent of the
Nation’s wetlands in order to provide technical assistance to state
agencies regulating wetlands. See 33 U.S.C. 1288(i)(1) and (2);
123 Cong. Rec. 26715-26716 (1977) (remarks of Sen. Stafford);
Classification iii; R. Tiner, Fish & Wildlife Service, U.S. Dep’t of
the Interior, Wetlands of the United States: Current Status and
Recent Trends 2-3 (1984) [hereinafter cited as Current Status}.
The Fish and Wildlife Service, approaching the classification of
wetlands from an “ecological standpoint” (id. at 3), has adopted a
broader definition of wetlands than the regulatory definition used
by the Corps for jurisdictional purposes. For example, hydric soil
alone is sufficient to classify an area as a wetland under the defini-
tion employed by the Fish and Wildlife Service. See Classification
3. The Corps’ regulatory definition, on the other hand, requires a
combination of wetlands vegetation and inundation or saturation of
the soil (33 C. F. R. 323.2(c) ).

38

structure for differentiating types of wetlands (see gen-
erally Classification 4-33), but the single feature that
nearly all wetlands have in common is “soil or substrate
that is at least periodically saturated with or covered by
water.” Id. at 3. This exposure to water—from what-
ever source“ creates severe physiological problems for
all plants and animals except those that are adapted for
life in water or saturated soil.” bid.

Thus, the fact that the Corps’ regulatory definition of
wetlands attaches no significance to the source of water
is fully consistent with scientific understanding. Scien-
tists recognize that ground water, surface run-off, or
precipitation may be the source of the water feeding wet-
land areas. See Our Nations Wetlands 10; J. Kusler,
Environmental Law Institute, Our National Wetland
Heritage: A Protection Handbook 37 (1983) [herein-
after cited as Our National Wetland Heritage]. From
a functional standpoint, there is no merit to the court of
appeals’ requirement that “frequent flooding” from an
adjacent navigable water body be the cause of wetland
vegetation. The beneficial services provided by wetlands
are not limited by, nor dependent on, any particular test
of causation. Rather, areas having the physical charac-
teristics of wetlands (i.e., saturation and vegetation)
typically provide scientifically and economically demon-
strable ecological services and resource values. See gen-
erally Wetlands 25-28, 37-61.

For example, wetlands purify water by removing nu-
trients, processing chemical and organic wastes, and re-
ducing sediment loads. See Current Status 18.“ Wet-

20 The processes by which wetlands perform these functions are
too complex to be fully understood by scientists, much less explained
in detail here. It is clear, however, that vegetation is important to
these processes ( Wetlands 48 (footnote omitted) ) :

Dissolved nutrients (i.e., nitrogen and phosphorous) may be
taken up directly by plants during the growing season and by
chemical absorption and precipitation at the wetland soil sur-
face. Organic and inorganic suspended material also tends to

lands located in the transition zone between uplands and
permanent water bodies are particularly good water fil-
ters because they intercept run-off from land before it
reaches the water body. Ibid. Other functions performed
by wetlands, such as controlling floods by retarding the
flow of surface run-off or providing habitat and nutri-
tion for fish and wildlife,” likewise do not depend upon
any particular water source as the cause of the wetland
vegetation.

In short, the court of appeals’ “frequent flooding” test
bears no relationship to the best scientific understanding
of the role of wetlands. By excluding functionally im-
portant wetland areas from coverage under the Corps’
regulations, the court has failed to recognize Congress’s
intent to protect the economic and ecological value of
wetlands. The Corps’ regulatory definition, on the other
hand, reflects good wetlands science.

settle out and is trapped in the wetland. Some pollutants
associated with this trapped material may be converted by
biochemical processes to less harmful forms; some may remain
buried. Others may be taken up by the plants growing in the
wetland and either recycled or transported from it.

* * * With some toxic chemicals, like degradable pesticides, the
fact that these pollutants are secured in the wetland long
enough to degrade is important. Other toxics either remain
buried or are taken up by the wetland plants.

See generally Wetlands 48-52; Our National Wetland Heritage 37.

% Although some wildlife (e.g., waterfowl and muskrats) rely
directly on wetland vegetation for food, its primary food value is
indirect. Current Status 19. When a wetland plant dies, it frag-
ments into small particles to form detritus that flushes into ad-
jacent waters. Detritus is the base of an aquatic food web that
supports “higher consumers,” such as commercial fish (ibid.). Al-
though commercially and recreationally important fish may not
consume detritus directly, they feed on animals (e.g., snails, worms,
small fish, crustaceans) or aquatic insects that employ detritus as
a major food source (ibid.). Most aquatic animals depend, either
directly or indirectly, on this resource (ibid.)

40

C. The Corps’ Regulatory Definition Of Its Section 404
Jurisdiction Ensures That Critical Wetlands Will
Receive The Protection Intended By Congress And
Promotes Ease Of Administration For Regulators
And Landowners Alike

1. If Congress’s intention to protect wetland values is
to be realized, the Corps’ threshold jurisdiction to evalu-
ate proposed activities that might threaten those values
must be interpreted broadly. The determination whether
particular wetlands should be subject to restrictions on
development by virtue of Section 404 rationally can oc-
cur only after the Corps has been given the opportunity
to make case-specific evaluations. A narrow jurisdic-
tional threshold such as that adopted by the court below
thus pretermits the regulatory procedure set up by Con-
gress to enhance and maintain water quality. It leaves
wetlands that may be critical to the quality of the tra-
ditional waters to which the court below confined its con-
cern wholly outside the regulatory ambit.”

Each “adjacent wetland” subject to the Corps’ regula-
tory jurisdiction does not, however, perform ecological
functions to the same degree; nor does every pollutant
discharge into these areas cause significant downstream
impacts. A Corps permit will issue if the proposed activ-
ity complies with the guidelines issued under Section
404(b) of the Act, 33 U.S.C. 1344(b), and is otherwise
not contrary to the public interest. That determination,
of course, can only be made on a case-by-case basis. The
degree to which a particular wetland actually performs
the functions that Congress sought to promote varies
according to localized, complex, interacting factors. See

31 A broad test for threshold jurisdiction over adjacent wetlands
also is consistent with the Commerce Clause principle that the
triviality of an individual's intrastate act is irrelevant so long as
the class of such acts might well have a nationally significant effect
on interstate commerce. See Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining &
Reclamation Ass'n, 452 U.S. at 277; Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U.S.
111, 127-128 (1942).

41

Wetlands 5, 37, 43. Impacts also depend on the scope
and methodology of the project and will vary according
to the season of the year. Id. at 124-135.

Jurisdictional rules are of only limited utility in aec-
commodating these variations. It is for that reason that
site and project-specific considerations are evaluated in
the Section 404 permit review process. In issuing Sec-
tion 404 permits, the Corps must apply environmental
guidelines developed by EPA in conjunction with the
Corps. See Section 404(b)(1) of the CWA, 33 U.S.C.

1344 (b) (1); 40 C. F. R. Pt. 230. EPA’s guidelines re
quire the Corps to consider the potential impact of the
proposed project upon the physical, chemical, and bio-
logical characteristics of the aquatic ecosystem. 40
C. F. R. 230.20-230.61.

The Corps has supplemented EPA’s guidelines with
its own regulations governing the issuance of all Corps
permits. 33 C.F.R. Pt. 320. Under these regulations,
the Corps engages in a “ ‘public interest balancing proc-
ess. which takes into account “the national concerns
for both the protection and utilization of important re-
sources.” 33 C. F. R. 320.1(a). The Corps’ “public in-
terest review” is “a dynamic program that varies the
weight given to a specific public interest factor in light
of the importance of other such factors in a particular
situation.” Ibid.

With respect to wetlands in particular, the Corps
evaluates seven criteria to determine whether a given

The guidelines state that “no discharge of dredged or fill ma-
terial shall be permitted if there is a practicable alternative to the
proposed discharge which would have less adverse impact on the
aquatic ecosystem” (40 C.F.R. 230.10(a)). In addition, if the
proposed discharge is to occur in a wetland (a “special aquatic
site”) and the proposal is not water dependent ie, it does not
require siting within or access to the “special aquatic site” to fulfill
its purpose—practicable alternatives are presumed available unless
otherwise specifically shown. 40 C.F.R. 230.10(a)(3). This pre-
sumption imposes an evidentiary burden on an applicant, but it
does not bar issuance of a permit if a proper showing is made.

42

wetland perform is] functions important to the public
interest.” 33 C. F. R. 320.4(b) (2). “ If a given wetland
is identified as “important” under these criteria, then
the Corps still must weigh the benefits of the project
against the damage to the wetland resources. 33 C.F.R.
320.4 (b) (4). Conversely, if a given wetland has rela-
tively little value under these criteria, the public inter-
est weighs more heavily in favor of issuance of the
permi

to result in an “all-or-nothing” decision.

the Corps may determine that a permit
should issue, but that it should be conditioned to reduce
adverse consequences of the proposal. Adverse effects
from the discharge of pollutants into the aquatic en-

of relatively low ecological value or by employing “best
management practices” (see 40 C.F.R. 230.70-230.77;
33 C.F.R. 330.6) or other measures to mitigate adverse
effects on water resources, including wetlands.”

A broad test for threshold jurisdiction, therefore, al-

functions, (2) is set aside for study or as a refuge (3) is valuable
for natural drainage, (4) is significant in shielding other areas
from erosion, (5) is valuable for water storage, (6) is a prime
natural recharge area for other connected waters, or (7) serves
to purify other waters.

* On average, more than one-third of all Section 404 permits
that are granted contain conditions requiring best management
practices or other mitigation measures. Wetlands 12.

inevitably lead to water pollution and destruction of

wetlands that would not otherwise occur.“

a R 1 „ e ne h yeo

e

5
3

b
2

E

3

:
:

15

tu

72
321
1117

fits

a;
1525
1115

35

f

19770):

—

at
1 ;
1.41
A

1 atl

411 3
Bess 1211111

115
Tae |

i

123

.
sentially a throwback to the unduly complicated deter-

mination required when the mean or ordinary high water
mark was employed as the shoreward limit of jurisdie-
tion, undermines effective implementation of the Section

THE

44

404 program. In contrast to the relative ease with which
the jurisdictionai test set forth in the Corps’ regulations
can be applied to particular parcels of land, the court of
appeals’ “frequent flooding” test is dependent upon highly
technical, hydrologic data not readily accessible to land-
owners or regulators. As a practical matter, it would
be difficult for landowners to isolate the inundation re-
quired by the court’s decision from other factors affect-
ing the wetness of an area. The presence of saturated
soil and wetland vegetation is, however, relatively easy
to detect. Approximately 11,000 Section 404 permit ap-
plications are processed annually by 38 Corps district
offices. Wetlands 12. Due to the magnitude of the pro-
gram and its decentralized administration, effective im-
plementation of Section 404 is highly dependent on vol-
untary compliance by landowners, which in turn requires
a clear, easily-applied jurisdictional test. In effect, the
court of appeals’ decision requires a potential permit
applicant to hire hydrologists to assess the existence, the
frequency, and the direction of the flow of water, and
then to evaluate its causal relationshipship to the aquatic
vegetation. In these circumstances, public cooperation in-
evitably will be jeopardized. For the same reasons, the
government’s ability to enforce Section 404 by detecting
violations and advising landowners of permit require-
ments will be unduly complicated. By contrast, the
Corps’ regulations are a workable means of readily iden-
tifying areas subject to Section 404 jurisdiction, thereby
promoting effective implementation of the statutory
scheme.

IV. THE SOUTHERN PORTION OF RIVERSIDE’S
PROPERTY IS A WETLAND SUBJECT TO SEC-
TION 404 REGULATORY JURISDICTION

The vegetation and saturated soil conditions that char-
acterize the southern portion of Riverside’s property—
i.e., the area south and east of a contour line of the ele-
vation of 575.5 feet (International Great Lakes Datum)

45

(Pet. App. 31a)—bring that area within the Corps’ wet-
lands definition. (The Corps did not assert, nor did the
district court find, Section 404 jurisdiction over the
northwest portion of the property, some of which had
been filled previously without objection (Pet. App. 22a-
23a).) It is undisputed that the southern portion of the

property supports a “prevalence of vegetation typically

adapted for life in saturated soil condit 33 C.F.R
323.2(c). Expert witnesses identified all of the vegeta-
tion on the property as wetland species, and the

tation. J. A. 33-34, 56-57, 75, 77.“ As accurately
by the district court, “{Riverside’s] witnesses conceded

soil conditions for survival. J.A. 29, 34, 55, 71, 75-76. Thus, the
district court, in applying the Corps’ 1975 interim regulation, 33
C.F.R. 209.120(d)(2)(h) (1976), concluded that the unfilled,
southern portion of the property is “ ‘characterized by the preva-
lence of vegetation that requires saturated soil conditions for
growth and reproduction.“ Pet. App. 23a. Other types of vegeta-
tion found on the property (¢.g., ash, red maple, pussy willows,
cottonwood, and red ozier dogwood) can survive in dry or upland
but they can tolerate saturated wetland conditions. J.A.
33-34, 56-57. See also Classification 37-41 (listing all of the vegeta-
tion found on Riverside’s property as wetland plants). The 1977
revision to the Corps’ regulations eliminated the words “vegetation
that requires saturated soil conditions” (33 C. F. R. 209.120(d) (2) (a)
(1976)) and substituted the phrase “vegetation typically adapted
for life in saturated soil conditions“ (33 C.F.R. 823.2(c)). The
revision clarified that wetland species include vegetation that can
tolerate, but does not biologically require, saturated soil conditions.
See 42 Fed. Reg. 37128 (1977); Avoyelles Sportsmen's League,
Ine. v. Marsh, 715 F.2d at 912-913.

u The court of appeals declined to overturn any of the district
court’s factual findings, and thus they should be accepted by this
Court. See, ¢.g., Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613, 623 (1982).

46

It is also clear that the property in question is, “as it
exists” now (42 Fed. Reg. 37128 (1977)), saturated at
a frequency and duration sufficient to support wetlands
vegetation. The Lamson soil found on the property is
generally saturated because of its attributes of poor
drainage and a high water table (Pet. App. 25a, 37a.“
The observations of expert witnesses who inspected the
property near the time of trial confirmed that there was
water on the surface and that the soil was saturated
(although there was no evidence suggesting that Lake
St. Clair was then at a high enough level to overflow
onto the property). J. A. 29, 47-48, 74-75, 77.“ More-
over, the prevalence of plants that require saturated soil
conditions, coupled with the evidence of abundant wet-
land wildlife such as muskrats and marsh wrens (JA.
41-42, 55, 66, 67), can only be explained by saturated
conditions.

Finally, Riverside’s property is an “adjacent” wetland
within the meaning of 33 C.F.R. 323.2(d). The property

As noted by the district court (Pet. App. 37a) the “Soil
Survey, Macomb County, Michigan,” issued by the Soil Conserva-
tion Service of the United tates Department of Agriculture (DX
28), confirmed that for Lamsom soil, the water table is at or
near the surface much of the year” (J.A. 21); that “water in and
or on the soil interferes with plant growth or cultivation” (J.A.
22); that “[a)rtifical drainage is a major management requirement
for all uses of this soil” (ibid.); aad that the soil is “well-suited”
for “wetland food and cover plants” and wildlife “that normally
frequent such wet areas as ponds, marshes, and swamps” (J.A. 25).

% Even Riverside’s expert, Mr. Gough, who had the most reserva-
tions about classifying the property as a wetland, testified that “at
the present time” the southern portion of the property could be
classified as a Class 3 wetland (a shallow fresh water marsh) that
is usually water-logged during the growing season and often is
covered with as much as six inches or more of water (J.A. 110
DX 91). As the surface elevation rises to the north, the property
was by Mr. Gough's evaluation a Class 2 wetland (an inland
fresh meadows wetland), in which the soil is without standing
water during most of the growing season but
a few inches of the surface (J.A. 110-111).

f

|
:

47

404 program. J.A. 41-42, 47, 62-63, 72, 75-76."

lit itzt
ad 116

fi 5 HIE i
1
1
e
t
!
ee J

1 ili 117,100 Ha 21121 110

i e ati
0 10 0 1

H : ; 1 1 0

i 1 e

110 112

Iii I 1117111 4115 II a

49

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be re-
versed.

Respectfully submitted.

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

F. HENRY HABICHT II
Assistant Attorney General

Louis F. CLAIBORNE
Deputy Solicitor General

KATHRYN A. OBERLY
Assistant to the Solicitor General

ANNE S. ALMY
ELLEN J. DURKEE

Attorneys

May 1985

® ©. &. Government ramrine orrice; 1965 461531 10213

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0360%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
