# Amicus Curiae Brief — Walters v. National Assn. of Radiation Survivors

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0338%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 473 U.S. 305

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

Harry N. WALTERS, ADMINISTRATOR OF
VETERANS’ AFFAIRS, et al.,

Appellants,

V.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF RADIATION
SURVIVORS, ef al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
OF THE DISABLED AMERICAN VETERANS
IN SUPPORT OF THE UNITED STATES

JosEPH C. ZENGERLE*
WILLIAM N. BERKOWITZ

BINGHAM, Dana & GOULD
1724 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 822-9320

Counsel for
The Disabled American Veterans

*Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Ne on icc cccncucunscseseseeesesens ili
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ...........sccccccssccccssece |
RP GEE” FUEPITD occccvccccesccnccccscecsccccsees 4
Nee as a scetnattendenavanonee 5

I. PRINCIPLES OF JUDICIAL RESTRAINT, IMPROPERLY
IGNORED BY THE DISTRICT COURT, APPLY TO THIS
CONTROVERSY BECAUSE OF THE CourRT’s HISTOR-

ICAL SOLICITUDE IN THIS AREA AND CONGRESS’
PLENARY CONSIDERATION OF VA BENEFIT Sys-
TEM PROCEDURES AND REPEATED RECENT DE-
TERMINATIONS TO LEAVE THEM UNCHANGED ........ 5

Il. By MISCONSTRUING THE NATURE OF THE PRI-
VATE INTEREST INVOLVED, UNDERVALUING THE
QUALIFICATIONS OF VETERANS SERVICE OFFI-
CERS AND FAILING TO CONSIDER IMPORTANT
NON-FINANCIAL GOVERNMENT INTERESTS, THE
DisTRICT COURT STRUCK A SKEWED DUE PROC-
nh ETE Tp aE a Be 1]

A. Preservation of the $10 Fee Limitation Would
Foster the Psychological Value of Meaningful
Communication .f Veterans’ Claims By and
Through Similarly Situated Disabled Service
I Sieh alicia di dae esebonnsceces 13

B. The Extensive Training, Agency Familiarity,
Organizational Expertise and Specia. Motiva-
tion of Amicus Curiae’ s National Service Offi-
cers, When Combined With the Nonadver-
sarial Setting of VA Claims Administration,
Minimize the Risk of Error Which Paid Attor-
ney Involvement May Increase ................... 15

TABLE OF CONTENTS

C. The Non-Financial Government Interests of
Preventing the Diversion of Veterans’ Bene-
fits, Maintaining Nonadversarial Proceedings
Involving Veterans, and Preserving Veterans’
Organizations’ Full Capacity to Represent
Claimants and Assist the Congress, Warrant
Upholding the $10 Fee Limitation ................. 23

CONLIN ............000000000000enmmaniiisnnnnninnnnnnnnnnn 28

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

CASES:

“Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation, In Re,
MDL No. 381, slip op. (E.D.N.Y. Jan. 7, 1985) . 20n, 24n

“Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation, In Re,
MDL No. 381, slip op. (E.D.N.Y. Sept. 25, 1984) . 20n

Califano v. Boles, 443 U.S. 282 (1979) ...............0005. 15
Califano v. Yamasaki, 442 U.S. 682 (1979) ............. 16n
Columbia Broadcasting System v. Democratic National

Committee, 412 U.S. 94 (1973) ...............0055. 8,9, 10
Devine v. Cleland, 616 F.2d 1080 (9th Cir. 1980) ....... 13
Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448 (1980) ............... 10
Gagnon v. Scarpelli, 411 U.S. 778 (1973) ............ ee
Gendron v. Levi, 423 U.S. 802 (1975), aff g Gendron

v. Saxbe, 389 F. Supp. 1303 (C.D. Cal.) ............. 12n
Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975) .............. 21, 23, 25
Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361 (1974) ............... 5, 6
Lassiter v. Departmeni of Social Services, 452 U.S. 18

Neen cas ccccsecesceccesocccccesecs 21
Landon v. Plasencia, 459 U.S. 21 (1982) .................. 11
Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) .......... passim
McCarty v. McCarty, 453 U.S. 210 (1981) .............. iln
Mitchell v. Cohen, 333 U.S. 411 (1948) ............... 5, 24

Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972) ..............5. 21

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
National Ass'n of Radiation Survivors v. Walters, 589

F.Supp. 1302 (N.D. Cal. 1966) .......cccccccccssees passim
Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973) ................5. 27
Parham v. J.R., 442 U.S. 584 (1979) ................. 21, 25
Personnel Administrator of Massachusetts v. Feeney,

rer iene edenaialibtes 5, 6, 24
Pratte v. N.L.R.B., 683 F.2d 1038 (7th Cir. 1982) .... 12n
Primus, in Re, 436 U.S. 412 (19TE) .....ccccccccccccccss: 27n
Regan v. Taxation with Representation of Washington,

Te Ts IED sb ccccnccadicsadeducdantidtinesane 5, 6, 24
Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) ............ 8n, 10
Schweicker v. McClure, 456 U.S. 188 (1982) ............. 12
Triumph Hosiery Mills, Inc. v. Triumph International

Corp., 308 F.2d 196 (2d Cir. 1962) .................... 12n
United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434 (1973) ............... 10
United States v. Swords to Plowshares, No. CR-84-776

ee Sa, SI SR a als On
Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480 (1980) .............. 17, 21, 23
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1974) ....... ye ee
Woodby v. INS, 385 U.S. 276 (1966) .................eee eee 10
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:

EE os acis ick sntcacertmebonbenasdannneiaadaaiea lin
I in ctiienndinddsaligpebenaasene: 4,5, 10, 27n
Ue PIII vc aitindciccdsdlaccsscencascecusipepiseien passim
FEDERAL STATUTES:

is Se I OD vidiininvccaescecnadncmomerannsed 22n

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
rs Se ddiecindicdsdeniacatdvnsodeatonncsupananniinen 2
ee IED sii co-cndusdguntadenonsdessuusseanunicennnes 2
Be ice TEU. vaicinnensesensccccorevenses lsiahbar eatin 2
BS TED chicccnedansinocknebsieiasakdsumnenbninnetéd 3, 26
I ion hiss scnndnnnsiduniemeamonsunietimvepnniatete 2
BR MI iin caine pa mieliinambisenaaneniieannne 2
I ioc cininatdndnetanddceusnuneeeninenienade 6
IED vaikdtinsnsantsadartardebheiedenenienninn 18
es EE: bh. ck bicdaadicesebaniseacsabdaeinenaaponns 8n, 18
eS SE oisiccaicccntdscndiesstscocneacsuseceiehinds 2
EE PE ois scicacicnasispenakaaumuabieiiod bade 3, 6
IU, a ha i il eerie 3, 6
At ED. inna ta coercion ddmepoaeadoniise sauktil On
Pub. L. 98-542, 98 Stat. 2725 (1984) ................ 19n, 20
DURES COUT TRIED BD onsen cccnensecscrssosccsvccssesesccsses In
FEDERAL REGULATIONS:
es ED unccisnccussecenvnckeneennebielabedesouiien 16
SI I oo inal dilate llede cap eeaNieD 20n
I a dea dbdneuinmaaenenennee 20n
ED ss nndeensecadentiineanessiienesions 22
ee te IE axsinninstscinicssasonmessmeemeiaoncouns 2
CONGRESSIONAL MATERIALS:
119 Cong. Rec. H10622 (daily ed. April 2, 1973) ....... 17
131 Cong. Rec. H102 (daily ed. Jan. 7, 1985) ............. 9

131 Cong. Rec. H129-130 (daily ed. Jan. 22, 1985) ...... i)

{

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
FY82 Legislative Recommendations of Veterans’ Or-
ganizations: Hearings Before the Senate Comm. on
Veterans’ Affairs, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. (1982) ...... 25n
H.R. 313, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. § 401 (1985) ............. )
H.R. 585, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. § 401 (1985) ............. 9

Hearings on Legislative Recommendations, etc., Before
the Senate Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, 96th Cong..,
I as ee tdi ae ds lin, 25

Judicial Review of Veterans’ Claims: Hearings Before
the Subcomm. on Oversight and Investigations of the
House Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, 98th Cong., Ist
I ee aki is 6n, 7n

Readjustment Counseling: Hearing Before the Sub-
Comm. on Hospitals and Health Care of the House
Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, 97th Cong., Ist Sess.

TEE Risidaedcarintadlsnsvelacedesaniuseiaseensswsdeldeneiiee 1Sn
>. 350, 96 Comg., tet Seas. (ID7D) ..........cccccccseseees 7n
S. 349, Fith Cong., 26 Seas. (1962) ................... 7n, 15
D. GE, Fee GE. BEE TES. CITED vccsvcsscsssccncesesves 7n
S. Rep. No. 97-466, 97th Cong., 2d _ Sess.

EEE. siisecnkinnnatseinniieniacnsummeedanbaie 16, 17, 24, 26

Sixty-Third National Report, Disabled American Vet-
erans, 1983, H.R. Doc. No. 98-150, 98th Cong. , 2d
ls 3

Veterans’ Administration Adjudication and Judicial
Review Act, etc.: Hearing Before the Senate Comm.
on Veterans’ Affairs, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983) .... 6n

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Veterans’ Administration Analysis and Evaluation,
etc., 95th Cong., 2d Sess., Report by the Administra-
tor of Veterans’ Affairs (House Comm. Print 1978) .

Veterans’ Administration Evaluation of Benefits, etc.,
95th Cong., 2d Sess., Report by the Administrator
of Veterans’ Affairs (House Comm. Print 1978) ......

Veterans’ Claims for Disabilities for Nuclear Weapons
Testing: Hearing Before the Senate Comm. on Veter-
ans’ Affairs, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979) ..............

Veterans’ Exposure to Agent Orange: Hearing Before
the Senate Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, 98th Cong.
Ist Sess. (1983) ........... Sink SclasdasdlesAsbantibenihiae ciidenabeciieabiaebalani

MISCELLANEOUS:

American Psychiatric Association, DIAGNOSTIC AND
STATISTICAL MANUAL OF MENTAL DISORDERS (3d

lin

ee eiikcabichcniaentinadinistevinedsntedbesesseseisssases 20n

Fy PU IE edstncdeccncstnnsnesncdscsvevssiocs
Barton, Behind the Legal Explosion, 27 STAN. L. REv.

EF GN da iteddneencdinesudindben dia ditdnndespinssscessecs 24n

The Forgotten Warriors: New Concern for the Vietnam
Vet., BEHAV. MED. 38 (July, 1979) ...................04.

PostT-TRAUMATIC STRESS DISORDERS OF THE VIETNAM
VETERAN: OBSERVATIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS
FOR THE PSYCHOLOGICAL TREATMENT OF THE VET-
ERAN AND His FAmMILy (T. Williams ed. 1980) .........

es

— — A TERE SN _—

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-571

HARRY N. WALTERS, ADMINISTRATOR OF
VETERANS’ AFFAIRS, ef al.,
Appellan..,

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF RADIATION
SURVIVORS, ef al.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
OF THE DISABLED AMERICAN VETERANS
IN SUPPORT OF THE UNI ED STATES

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

The Disabled American Veterans (“DAV”) is one of the
nation’s largest nonprofit veterans’ organizations, chartered

‘Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 36, written consent to the filing of this
brief has been obtained from counsel for all parties and the letters of consent
have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

2

in 1932 by an Act of Congress, 36 U.S.C. §§ 90a et seq.,
and exempted from federal income taxation under the Internal
Revenue Code. 26 U.S.C. §§ 501(a) and 501(c)(4). Member-
ship in PAV is restricted essentially to those persons disabled
in time of war while serving in the armed forces of the United
States and subsequently discharged under honorable condi-
tions. 36 U.S.C. § 90e. DAV has more than 900,000 members,
of whom nearly 300,000 are disabled Vietnam veterans.

DAV’s principal activities are the conduct of various pro-
grams designed to assist member and nonmember veterans
alike in obtaining the fair compensation, adequate medical
care »nd suitable employment to which their disabling wartime
military service entitles them. As reflected in DAV’s most
recent audit report submitted to the Coinptroller Generai of
the United States for the year ended December 31, 1983, see
36 U.S.C. § 90i(b), the annual budget for the operation of
these programs is in excess of $25 million.? Approximately
$18 million, or 70% of that program budget, is used to maintain
the largest service program of all the nation’s veterans’ or gani-
zations.

DAV’s service program is conducted by a paid professional
staff of more than 250 full-time employees called National
Service Officers (“NSOs”). During 16 months of initial training
conducted by DAV, each NSO must secure accreditation from
the Veterans’ Administration (“VA”) as a representative of
DAV, a recognized service organization. 38 U.S.C. § 3402(a);
38 C.F.R. § 14.629(a). This accreditation authorizes the NSO
to assist veterans in making claims under laws administered
by the VA. DAV has NSOs assigned to every VA Regional
Office in the United States and Puerto Rico, certain VA Med-
ical Centers, the Pentagon and elsewhere, totaling approxi-

* Approximately 80% of DAV’s annual financial support derives from public
donations; the balance is roughly divided among investment income and mem-
bership dues. More than 60% of DAV’s total revenue is devoted to the operation
of these programs.

3

mately 70 office locations. In addition, NSOs regularly provide
services to veterans living in more remote areas of the ccuntry
through the operation of DAV’s Mobile Field Service Unit
Program. As an indication of the scope of NSO representation,
in the year ended June 30, 1983, NSOs obtained more than
100,000 powers of attorney from veterans seeking some form
of claims assistance. Sixty-Third National Report, Disabled
American Veterans, 1983, H.R. Doc. No. 98-150, 98th Cong.,
2d Sess. 102 (1984).

DAV has developed its extensive national service program
as a primary means of fulfilling its statutory purposes to ad-
vance the interests of disabled veterans and cooperate with the
VA. 36 U.S.C. § 90c. This development has been possible
because the claims representation services of NSOs have been
provided io all veterans free of charge, thereby complying
with the $10 fee limitation imposed by the statutory provisions
challenged in this case. 38 U.S.C. §§ 3404-05. An examina-
tion of the nature of DAV’s service program and the VA claims
representation services provided to veterans from other sources
will necessarily play an important role in this Court’s analysis
of the constitutional issues presented herein. Because the out-
come of this case will therefore unavoidably raise an inference
about the adequacy of DAV’s most significant nonprofit activ-
ity on behalf of disabled veterans, DAV seeks this opportunity
to present its views to this Court as amicus curiae.’

«4

‘At tne Government’s request and without the benefit of its own counsel,
DAV provided information of record in the District Court proceedings. Mr.
Charles E. Joeckel, Jr., DAV’s National Director of Services, executed a
declaration (“Joeckel Decl.”) attached to the closing brief filed on November
21, 1983, in support of the Government's opposition to appellees’ motion for
a preliminary injunction.

4
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The District Court demonstrated an insufficient regard for
a coordinate branch of government when it preliminarily en-
joined the operation of the statutory provisions at issue. In
light of the facts that Congress has repeatedly rejected modifi-
cation of the statutory scheme that includes those provisions
after having thoroughly considered the same veterans’ interests
at conflict in this case, and that it now has before it again
similar proposals for reform, this Court should hesitate to
displace legislative competence with constitutional adjudica-
tion, especially with regard to subject matter historically treated
with judicial deference. When «...amined with principles of
resiraint in mind, it is evident that the judgment under review
proceeds from an application of Mathews v. Eldridge, 424
U.S. 319 (1976), that strikes an analytically and factually
deficient balance of due process considerations and concludes
with an unjustified extension of First Amendment doctrine.

The private interests of veterans in the property at stake
include a psychological value fostered by the free claims assist-
ance rendered by disabled service officers that calls for mainte-
nance of the challenged $10 fee limitation. The unusual qual-
ifications possessed by these service officers particularly enable
them to function in the nonadversarial proceedings of the VA
with an effectiveness that yields a more than acceptable risk of
erroneous Claim determination — a risk that an influx of paid
attorneys, with its predictably formalizing effect on agency
behavior, could weil increase rather than diminish. The Gov-
ernment’s substantial non-financial interests in guarding
against unnecessary legal expenses and preserving an informal
benefit system supported administratively and legislatively by
strong veterans’ service organizatioius demonstrate finally the
validity of the status quo as a matter of due process of law.
The existing statutory and regulatory scheme also adequately
safeguards the First Amendment rights of petition and free

5

speech of appellees, whose associational rights have not been
abridged by the fee limitation because of their economic mo-
tive.

ARGUMENT

|. PRINCIPLES OF JUDICIAL RESTRAINT, IMPROPERLY IGNORED
BY THE DistricT CouRT, APPLY TO THIS CONTROVERSY
BECAUSE OF THE CourRT’S HISTORICAL SOLICITUDE IN THIS
AREA AND CONGRESS’ PLENARY CONSIDERATION OF VA
BENEFIT SYSTEM PROCEDURES AND REPEATED RECENT
DETERMINATIONS TO LEAVE THEM UNCHANGED.

This Court has traditionally given Congress a wide constitu-
tional berth in enacting statutes for the benefit of those who have
served in the armed forces of the United States. See, e.g.,
Regan v. Taxation with Representation of Washington, 461
U.S. 540 (1983) (upholding tax exemption of veterans’ organi-
zations against equal protection and First Amendment chal-
lenges); Personnel Administrator of Massachusetts v. Feeney,
442 U.S. 256 (1979) (upholding Massachusetts veterans’ pre-
ference law against equal protection challenge); and Johnson
v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361 (1974) (upholding “G.I. Bill” for
veterans against equal protection and First Amendment chal-
lenges). This historical solicitude has in part been based upon
the “moral obligation and debt of gratitude,” Mitchell v. Cohen,
333 U.S. 411, 420 (1948), that the country owes to veterans
for their subjection to “the mental and physical hazards as
well as the economic and family detriments which are peculiar
to military service and which do not exist in normal civil life.”
Johnson, supra, 415 U.S. at 380 (emphasis in original).

In such cases, the parties seeking relief have not, as a general
rule, shared the interests of the veterans for whose benefit the

6

statutes challenged by these parties were enacted. See, e.g.,
Regan, supra (challengers were charitable organizations not
including veterans’ groups); Feeney, supra (challenger was
nonveteran woman); and Johnson, supra (challenger was con-
scientious objector). Accordingly, the special obligation owed
to veterans could be invoked without compromise to shield
the statutes under attack and thus preserve Congress’ attempt
to discharge the nation’s obligations to the veteran-ben-
eficiaries of the enactments.

In this case, however, the original parties seeking relief —
appellees herein — are two veterans’ organizations and four
individual veterans. Since the nation’s special obligation runs
in part to the challengers of the statutory provisions at issue
here, 38 U.S.C. §§ 3404-3405, the degree to which that obli-
gation operates to shield those provisions is unclear. This un-
certainty is enhanced by DAV’s own alignment as amicus
curiae. On the one hand, DAV would generally support the
District Court’s view as to the importance of veterans’ benefits
made available under Title 38 of the U.S. Code. National
Ass'n of Radiation Survivors v. Walters, 589 F.Supp. 1302,
1314-1315 (N.D. Cal. 1984) (“NARS”). See infra p. 13. Indeed,
as a matter of policy, DAV has no objection to modification of
the fee limitation provisions attacked by appellees, to the extent
that the current prohibition under 38 U.S.C. § 211(a) of judicial
review of decisions by the VA Administrator is also modified.‘

*See Judicial Review of Veterans’ Claims: Hearings Before the Subcomm. on
Oversight and Investigations of the House Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, 98th
Cong., Ist Sess. 22 and 154 (1983) (“House Hearings”) (statement of John F.
Heilman, DAV National Legislative Director); Veterans’ Administration Adjudi-
cation and Judicial Review Act, etc.: Hearing Before the Senate Comm. on
Veterans’ Affairs, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. 237 (1983) (“Senate Hearing’’) (statement
of Mr. Heilman). DAV would have no objection to the payment of reasonable
fees by veteran claimants for attorney representation in judicial review proceedings,
as distinguished from proceedings conducted under laws administered by the VA.
House Hearings, supra, at 34; Senate Hearing, supra, at 250.

7

On the other hand, DAV vigorously supports the United
States «nd opposes appellees in defending the constitutionality
of the $10 fee limitation under the current statutory scheme.
Although this fundamental conflict between the positions of
DAV and appellees shifts some component of the special ob-
ligation running to veterans away from appellees and back to
the defenders of the statutes, that traditional basis for deference
to Congressional action remains of uncertain strength. DAV
submits, however, that the conflict of veterans’ interests herein
provides an independent basis for this Court to exercise self-re-
straint in considering the constitutionality of the $10 fee limi-
tation.

The independent basis for the Court to stay its constitutional
hand arises from the fact that essentially the same multiplicity
of veterans’ interests at work in this case has recently and
consistently been resolved by the Congress in favor of preserv-
ing unchanged the statutes challenged here. For the last three
consecutive Congresses, the statutory scheme containing the
$10 fee limitation has been the subject of intense Congressional
scrutiny without ultimate legislative action.* DAV has provided
extensive testimony on the legislative proposals considered by
the Congress in this regard, see, e.g., supra note 4, while
other veterans’ organizations that support appellees in this
litigation have also presented views to the Congress on these
same legislative proposals to modify the fee limit.° The refusal
of Congress to enact legislation disrupting the statutory scheme

‘In each of the 96th, 97th and 98th Congresses, the Senate passed a bill
modifying, inter alia, both the judicial review and fee limitation provisions of
Title 38. The House, however, refused to adopt companion measures, thus
preventing agreement with the Senate that might have permitted alteration of
the statutory scheme. See S. 636, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983); S. 349, 97th
Cong., 2d Sess. (1982); S. 330, 96th Cong., ist Sess. (1979).

*See, e.g., House Hearings, supra note 4, at 73-76 (statement of John F.
Terzano, Legislative Director, Vietnam Veterans of America (“VVA")). VVA
is expected to file herein a brief amicus curiae in support of appellees.

8

after plenary consideration of these proposals reflects the judg-
ment of Congress that the competing interests among veterans
with respect to statutory reform are properly balanced by the
maintenance of the status quo.’

As this Court observed in upholding another statutory and
regulatory scheme (the Fairness Doctrine) against constitu-
tional attack: “Congress and its chosen regulatory agency have
established a delicately balanced system of regulation intended
to serve the interests of all concerned.” Columbia Broadcasting
System v. Democratic National Committee, 412 U.S. 94, 102
(1973) (“CBS”). DAV submits that Congress is constitutionally
better equipped not only to make comprehensive inquiry into
the procedural operation of the VA benefit system, but also
to assess the weight that should be accorded the views of those,
like DAV, of whom it makes such inquiry so as to balance
“the interests of all.”* This is especially so when the environ-

’ Appellees reject this implication because “the $10.00 fee limitation has
never been separately considered by Congress.” Appellees’ Motion to Affirm
(“Mot. to Aff.”), at 30. But the fairness of a complicated and interrelated
Statutory and regulatory scheme for mass claims administration cannot sensibly
be judged piece by piece, but rather must be examined as a whole. The principle
emerges in the Court’s own due process examinations:

[I]t is obvious that a proper due process inquiry cannot be made by
focusing upon one narrow provision of the challenged statutory scheme.
Such a focus threatens to overlook factors which may introduce constitu-
tionally adequate protections into a particular government action. San-
tosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745, 775 (1982) (Rehnquist, J. , dissenting).

“For example, the status of a service organization recognized by the VA
carries with it implications of organizational standing and experience with the
VA claims administration process that are familiar to Congress and are undoubt-
edly taken into account by it when considering the effect of testimonial infor-
mation. In this regard, DAV was included by name in the statute authorizing
such recognition when it was enacted. 38 U.S.C. § 3402. With respect to the
two original organizational plaintiffs in this case, however, appellee National
Association of Radiation Survivors is not recognized by the VA. Appellee

\
|

9

ment in which the scheme operates is “dynamic.” /d. That
characteristic is applicable to the modern VA benefit system,
which has witnessed the development of DAV’s (and other
organizations’) service programs contemporaneously with the
increasingly complicated nature of benefit claims “arising from
such causes as exposure to atomic radiation or Agent Orange,
or from Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome.” NARS, supra, 589
F.Supp. at 1320.

A final consideration bearing upon the degree to which the
respect due a coordinate branch of government is implicated
in this case was also noted in CBS, supra. There, the Court
commented that the agency administering the constitutionally
challenged regime was conducting a “wide-ranging study” of
the scheme that had gotten underway during the pendency of
the case, stating: “At the very least, courts should not freeze
this necessarily dynamic process into a constitutional holding.”
412 U.S. at 132. Similarly here, the Legislative Branch has
during the last three Congresses considered (and rejected) pro-
posals to modify the fee limitation and other related provisions
of Title 38. See supra noe 5. In addition, in the 99th Congress,
bills have already been introduced which, if enacted, would
modify the $10 fee limit. H.R. 585, 99th Cong., Ist Sess.
§ 401 (1985) (introduced by more than eighty-five (85) original
sponsors, see 131 Cong. Rec. H129-130 (daily ed. Jan. 22,
1985)); H.R. 313, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. § 401 (1985), see
131 Cong. Rec. H102 (daily ed. Jan. 7, 1985). There is more
than equal reason here to allow Congress, in its “continuing
search,” CBS, supra, 412 U.S. at 132, for a means to balance
all the competing interests of veterans, to proceed without its

Swords to Plowshares Veterans Rights Organization has been so recognized,
but its status may be adversely affected by its recent criminal conviction under
38 U.S.C. § 3502(b) for accepting payment from the VA with the intent to
defraud the Government. United States v. Swords to Plowshares, No. CR-84-
776 (N.D. Cal. Nov. 6, 1984).

10

options being unduly restricted by a constitutional holding.
See United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434, 451 (1973) (Burger,
C.J., concurring) (observing, in the context of a Congressional
commission’s continuing review of the bankruptcy laws: “The
Constitution is not the exclusive source of law reform, even
needed reform, in our system.”).

The rule of according “great weight to the decisions of
Congress” has been applied when a statute “raises equal pro-
tection concerns,” Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448, 472
(1980), and when legislation implicates fundamental rights
under the First Amendment, as appellees assert here. See, e.g.,
CBS, supra, 412 U.S. at 102. One analytical consequence of
applying the rule in these kinds of cases may have been a
reduction in the magnitude of the governmental interest re-
quired to justify the effect of the challenged enactment on the
constitutional rights involved.

The rule of restraint shou!d have a like effect in resolving
a due process challenge, but the strength of the governmental
interest required to uphold a statute against a due process attack
has not been differentiated by the Court as it has in First
Amendment and equal protection cases, where a compelling
or substantial increment can be demanded — and offset by
the exercise of restraint. Accordingly, one way DAV might
characterize the analytical consequence of applying the rule
to appellees’ due process ciaim is that Congress’ comparatively
more comprehensive institutional powers to inquire into the
fairness of the procedural aspects of the VA benefit system
and to weigh the competing interests among those affected by
it, at least when those powers have been fully exercised and
are being invoked again, call for a suspension of the ordinary
rule that the judiciary is the expert among the Branches on
matters of procedure See, e.g., Santosky, supra note 7, 455
U.S. at 755-756 (standard of proof “is the kind of question which
has been traditionally left to the judiciary to resolve.) (quoting
Woodby v. INS, 385 U.S. 276, 284 (1966)). To put the propos)-

\
\

11

tion alternatively: “The role of the judiciary . . . does not
extend to imposing procedures that merely displace congres-
sional choices of policy.” Landon v. Plasencia, 459 U.S. 21,
34-35 (1982).°

Il. By MISCONSTRUING THE NATURE OF THE PRIVATE INTER-
EST INVOLVED, UNDERVALUING THE QUALIFICATIONS OF
VETERANS SERVICE OFFICERS AND FAILING TO CONSIDER
IMPORTANT NON-FINANCIAL GOVERNMENT INTERESTS,
THE District CouRT STRUCK A SKEWED DUE PROCESS
BALANCE.

DAV will conform its due process argument to the three-fac-
tor test set forth in Mathews, supra, 424 U.S. at 335, to dem-

*The contribution of VA disability benefits to the strength of the nation’s
active military forces is of particular relevance in this regard given Congress’
power to “raise and support Armies . . . and maintain a Navy.” U.S. Const.
art. I, § 8. As far back as the 16th century, England enacted a statute for the
relief of disabled veterans after battle with the Spanish Armada “to encourage
others to serve,” Veterans’ Administration Evaluation of Benefits, etc., 95th
Cong., 2d Sess., Report by the Administrator of Veterans’ Affairs | (House
Comm. Print 1978). In this country, the Continental Congress enacted the first
national legislation to assist those with service-connected disabilities “to encour-
age enlistments.” /d. at 4. Even before the Revolutionary War, veterans’
benefits were provided by Plymouth Colony “to encourage the colony's soldiers
against the Indians.” Veterans’ Administration Analysis and Evaluation, etc.,
95th Cong., 2d Sess., Report by the Administrator of Veterans’ Affairs 5
(House Comm. Print 1978). Continuing into the present, the Chairman of the
Senate Veterans’ Affairs Committee affirmed that efforts to “maintain our
national security . . . include our commitment to those who must wage the
war after they have served.” Hearings on Legislative Recommendations, etc.,
Before the Senate Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 63 (1980)
(1980 Senate Hearings”) (statement of Sen. Cranston). As the Court recently
emphasized in protecting military retirement benefits from diversion by state
community property laws, “in no area has the Court accorded Congress greater
deference than in the conduct and control of military affairs.” McCarty v.
McCarty, 453 U.S. 210, 236 (1981). The Court should similarly exercise
restraint when considering veteran benefit legislation given its historical con-
tribution to «ctive military forces.

12

onstrate that the District Court erroneously applied that test in
measuring the validity of the $10 fee limitation.'"? As DAV
has just argued, the District Court failed to exhibit proper
regard for the “strong presumption in favor of the validity of
congressional action.” Schweicker v. McClure, 456 U.S. 188,
200 (1982) (reversing District Court for holding that due proc-
ess requires hearing officers on Medicare claims to be lawyers).
This failure warrants particularly critical scrutiny of the District
Court’s application of the Mathews factors.''

To the extent that this Court’s summary affirmance in Gendron v. Levi,
423 U.S. 802 (1975), aff g Gendron v. Saxbe, 389 F.Supp. 1303 (C.D. Cal.),
was based upon the benefit-applicant status of the VA claimant-appellant there,
the fact that certain individual appellees here are VA benefit recipients distin-
guishes Gendron. But to the extent that the affirmance was based on the
Gendron District Court's determination that the $10 fee limitation satisfied
due process, the decision calls for reversal of the District Court in this case.

'' As a matter of either law or fact, this Court should make a final determi-
nation of appellees’ claim despite the preliminary nature of the relief under
review. As a matter of law — in this case, the District Court's failure, inter
alia, to apply principles of judicial restraint — appeals courts ordinarily engage
in plenary review of grants or denials of preliminary relief when the appeal is
based upon an error of law. See, e.g., Pratte v. N.L.R.B., 683 F.2d 1038,
1040 (7th Cir. 1982) (“when the availability of preliminary relief turns on
interpretation of the law rather than the facts, the appellate court is free to
review de novo the District Court’s judgment.”). As a matter of fact, the
District Court purported to examine the due process adequacy of the fee limi-
tation “as applied” to appellees. NARS, supra, 589 F.Supp. at 1309. But that
characterization apprurs to have been no more than an attempt to distinguish
the “great deal of evidence” marshalled in this case, NARS at 1310, from the
“sparse,” id., record in Gendron, supra note 10, not an effort to confine the
effect of the ruling herein to the appellees. As such, sound judicial administra-
tion should lead the Court to resolve this case finally rather than to require
that the costs of further trial proceedings be borne for the comparatively small
evidentiary gain that would be likely. See, e.g., Triumph Hosiery Mills, Inc.
v. Triumph International Corp., 308 F.2d 196, 200 (2d Cir. 1962) (court
would not remand case following review of preliminary injunction in light of
extensive record).

13

A. Preservation of the $10 Fee Limitation Would Foster the
Psychological Value of Meaningful Communication
of Veterans’ Claims By and Through Similarly Situated
Disabled Service Officers.

DAV does not disagree with the District Court’s conclusion
that “[mJany of the claimants and recipients are totally or
primarily dependent upon [VA] benefits for their support.”
NARS, supra, 589 F.Supp. at 1314. Plainly the importance of
such property interests as are at stake in many VA claims
proceedings militates in favor of insuring that the $10 fee
limitation does not deprive claimants of a fundamentally fair
procedure.

But DAV believes that the District Court misconstrued the
effect of “certain less direct interests” it found VA claimants
also to possess. /d. at 1315. The trial court was sensitive to
the “‘psychological value to the veteran of personally com-
municating with bureaucracy’” before the veteran’s claim is
denied by the VA. /d. (quoting Devine v. Cleland, 616 F.2d
1080, 1088 (9th Cir. 1980) ). Presumably, the District Court’s
view was that the $10 fee limitation operated as a barrier to
full realization of that “psychological value,” thus further un-
dermining the statutes’ constitutional validity.

In fact, however, the $10 fee limitation has itself indirectly
served to foster that psychological value, rather than inhibit
its realization, by contributing to the development of a dedi-
cated corps of accredited representatives of recognized vete-
rans’ service organizations whose free assistance to VA claim-
ants may be best illustrated by the NSOs who operate DAV’s
national service program. See supra pp. 2-3. As presented to
the D:strict Court:

{A]ll DAV NSOs are wartime disabled veterans with serv-
ice-connected, wartime disabilities. Like the clients they

I4

represent, they have had to learn to face the handicaps
that overshadowed their futures. Thus, they are able to
relate to and understand the plight of the claimants they
serve, not on the level of a cold business relationship,
but on the personal level of individuals who have shared
similar, painful and tragic experiences. Joeckel Decl.,
supra note 3, at § 11.

It does not take a leap of faith to recognize that veterans’
service organization representatives, and especially those pos-
sessing the characteristics of NSOs, supply to the veteran
claimants whom they assist more than the substance of their
skills, qualifications that DAV wiil address in the next section
of argument. See infra pp. 17-21. These representatives also
impart to claimants a sense that the personal conditions under-
lying their claims are fully appreciated and that these claims
will be handled in the reaningful way that only one who
shares a similar condition, produced by a similar experience,
can assure. Tne fact that this assistance is rendered free of
charge surely intensifies the claimants’ perception of being
well served.

The psychological consideration invoked by the District
Court therefore works in favor of the $10 fee limitation, espe-
cially if invalidation of that provision would weaken the service
officer system, as DAV will later argue would occur. See infra
pp. 25-27. At the very least, it may be posited that those who
would represent veterans for a profitable fee should appellees
prevail would also, as a general rule, be less likely to conve:
the same measure of psychic satisfaction concerning meaning-
ful communication. On balance, then, the “private interest that
will be affected by the official action,” Mathews, supra, 424
U.S. at 335, presents a factor of mixed influence in the due
process analysis rather than one that unqualifiedly supports
the judgment of the District Court.

ee ee

15

B. The Extensive Training, Agency Familiarity, Organiza-
tional Expertise and Special Motivation of Amicus
Curiae’s National Service Officers, When Combined
With the Nenadversarial Setting of VA Claims Adminis-
tration, Minimize the Risk of Error Which Paid Attorney
Involvement May Increase.

The principal reason for DAV’s participation in this case,
as Stated earlier, supra p. 3, is that the Court’s decision will
necessarily raise an inference about the adequacy of DAV’s
most important nonprofit activity: the nationwide provision of
free claims service through the NSO system. The inevitability
of such an inference arises from the Court’s necessary determi-
nation of whether the contribution of NSOs (and other service
organization representatives) to the administration of VA
claims, in conjunction with the nature of those proceedings,
yields an “acceptable rate of error.” Califano v. Boies, 443
U.S. 282, 283, 285 (1979) (recognizing the “special difficulties
presented by the mass administration of the social security
system,” akin to the VA benefit system in which nearly five
million claims were pending in one year, Jurisdictional State-
ment at 21 n.14). DAV submits that the current procedural
structure of the VA benefit system more than satisfies that
standard.

A useful starting point is the observation made by the Senate
Veterans’ Affairs Committee when it reported S. 349, a recent
unsuccessful effort to alter the statutory scheine governing the
adjudication of VA claims, sec supra note 5:

Many of the VA’s internal procedures, particularly in the
area of adjudication of claims, have developed over the
years in such a way as to afford to VA claimants some
advantages not afforded to claimants before other agen-

16

cies. Advantages most often cited are the VA’s very liberal
standards for the admission of evidence, and free represen-
tation before the VA by skilled officers of the various
national veterans’ service organizations — advantages
which are often credited for the informal, “nonadversa-
rial” nature of VA proceedings. . . . [T\he Committee
has given renewed attention and the utmost deference to
these unique and desirable VA practices. S. Rep. No.
97-466, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. 25 (1982) (“S. Rep. No.
97-466") (emphasis added).

Other participants in this case will describe these “desirable
VA practices,” including, by way of prominent example, the
resolution of any reasonable doubt in favor of the claimant,
38 C.F.R. § 3.103(b), in more detail.'* DAV would only con-
clude that the effect of veterans’ service organization represent-
atives like NSOs must thus be measured from a starting point
at which the risk of erroneous deprivation of veterans’ benefits
is already substantially iower than it would be in the traditional
adversary setting.

‘? The Government has described the VA benefit system principally by refer-
ence to VA regulatory provisions. Jurisdictional Statement at 3-8. Appellees
assert that this description “departs dramatically from the record.” Mot. to
Aff., supra note 7, at 3. To the extent that the VA regulatory system as
described by the Government satisfies constitutional requirements, as DAV
submits it does, appellees’ remedy is te attack not the constitutionality of
statutes implemented by the regulations, but the VA's failure to follow its own
‘egulations. To the extent that the VA's regulations implementing the statutory
scieme are themselves viewed by the Court as falling short of constitutional
requirements, a conclusion DAV would oppose, the Court should avoid un-
necessary constitutional adjudication and deciare that the VA improperly im-
plemented the statutory scheme since the Court has been “willing to assume
a congressional solicitude for fair procedure.” Califano v. Yamasaki, 442 U.S.
682, 693 (1979) (reversing constitutional basis for requirement of a hearing
by construing Social Security Act to require it).

17

The same Senate Committee quoted above later commented
that “there is a strong and vital system of veterans service
officers who provide excellent representation at no cost to
claimants.” S. Rep. No. 97-466, supra, at 50-51 (emphasis
added). The Chairman of the House Veterans’ Affairs Commit-
tee, discussing DAV specifically, had earlier and in another
context noted that its NSOs are “fully qualified to assist veterans
in all phases and in all matters pertaining to benefits for the
disabled veteran.” 119 Cong. Rec. 10622 (daily ed. April 2,
1973) (statement of Rep. Dorn) (emphasis added). These au-
thoritative characterizations of service officer skills substan-
tiate the view that in appropriate circumstances, as here, “due
process may be satisfied by the provision of a qualified and
independent adviser who is not a lawyer.” Vitek v. Jones, 445
U.S. 480, 499 (1980) (Powell, J., concurring in part).

The applicability of that view to this case is fully justified
by the qualifications of NSOs. These include (a) the completion
of an extensive NSO training program supported by the VA,
(b) the familiar relationship with the agency before which the
NSOs appear, (c) the organizational expertise acquired from
DAV in such subject areas as those giving rise to the complex
claims of special concern to the District Court, and (d) the
special motivation to assist the claimants they represent. All
of the more than 250 NSOs employed by DAV, whose training
and operations are funded by approximately $18 million an-
nually, see supra p. 2 & note 2, share these qualifications.

The NSQOs’ qualifications derive in part from their participa-
tion in a comprehensive 16 month training program which the
VA usually sponsors under chapter 31 of Title 38, U.S. Cede,
because of each NSO’s disabled status. Joeckel Decl., supra
note 3, at { 7. This targeted program is designed to educate
NSOs in all aspects of the VA’s benefit programs, the laws and
regulations governing the allocation of benefits and the proce-
dures used by the VA in processing claims. /d. at {4 7 and 8

18

and Appendix G attached thereto (“App.”). Of the more than
2600 hours of on-the-job training, for example, half is devoted
to compensation ¢ “ms alone. /d., App. at G-1 and G-2. In
addition, the DAV ___nal Serv.ce and Legislative Headquar-
ters in Washington, D _*reauently conducts intensive con-
tinuing education semina: =. ~~ NSOs are updated with
new materials and information. sa. at { 9.

Another advantage attributable to DAV representation is
that NSOs are highly familiar with VA personnel and have
ready access to VA institutional resources. /d. at | 10. The
close relationship that NSOs have with the VA has developed
as a result of the nonadversarial nature of the claims procedures
described earlier and the VA’s provision to recognized service
organizations like DAV of office space in the VA, 38 U.S.C.
§ 3402, and full access to the records and libraries of the
agency. 38 U.S.C. § 3301(d). NSOs are therefore accustomed
to dealing with VA personnel on a regular and informal basis
i: the nearly 70 VA offices where they work. See supra p. 3.
The practica! advantages that NSOs thus possess in seeking
to successfully shepherd claims through the VA system should
not be underestimated.

The District Court concluded that NSOs lack the expertise
to handle cases in which there are “substantive” and “pro-
cedural” complexities. NANS, supra, 589 F.Supp. at 1322-
1323. On the contrary, by virtue of the NSO training program
and the access which NSOs have to both VA and DAV re-
sources, the NSOs have accumulated substantial expertise in
both the procedural workings of the VA claims process and
the difficulties associated with the proof of complicated claims.
Complex though the operation of the VA claims system may
be, NSOs have been educated in the intricacies of this process
and have become highly specialized as a result of their concen-
trated practice.

As to the substantive complexities involved in modern VA
claims such as those relating to exposure to atomic radiation,

19

Agent Orange and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (“PTSD”),
id. at 1320, these are well understood by DAV and its NSOs.
For example, the first Congressional hearing on the effect of
veterans’ exposure to atomic radiation was held in 1979. Vet-
erans’ Claims for Disabilities for Nuclear Weapons Testing:
Hearing Before the Senate Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, 96th
Cong., Ist Sess. (1979). DAV testified extensively at that
hearing on the health effects of exposure to atomic radiation
and urged legislation to provide relief to the claimants. /d. at
220 and 234-237 (statement of Charles E. Joeckel, Jr.)."°
DAV enjoys a particularly distinguished record with respect
to its activities concerning PTSD. As reported in The Forgotten
Warriors: New Concern for the Vietnam Vet., BEHAV. MED.
38, 40 (July, }°79), DAV funded the “Forgotten Warrior Proj-
ect” — “th. first comprehensive study of the psychological
and social protile of Vietnam veterans.” Springing from this
study, D+.V developed a nationwide outreach project operated
by its own NSOs — “one of the first positive steps toward helping
the Vietnam veteran.” APA Monitor, April, 1979 (published by
the American Psychological Association). DAV subsequently
published its own book on the subject: Post-TRAUMATIC STRESS
DiSORDERS OF THE VIETNAM VETERAN: OBSERVATIONS AND
RECOMMENDATIONS FOR THE PSYCHOLOGICAL TREATMENT OF
THE VETERAN AND HIS FAMILY (T. Williams ed. 1980).'*
‘Among other things, Mr. Joeckel stated that the VA “should develop
guidelines” to grant assistance in this area. /d. at 220. After years of persistent
DAV effort, last fall the Congress enacted the Veterans’ Dioxin and Radiation
Exposure Compensation Standards Act, Pub. L. No. 98-542, 98 Stat. 2725
(1984) (“Exposure Standards Act of 1984”). Section 5(a)(1)(B) of the Act now

requires the VA to “establish guidelines” to resolvé claims concerning veterans’
exposure to atomic radiation. 98 Stat. 2727.

‘*DAV’s ground-breaking effort was the forerunner for the estabiishment of
the VA's own “Vet Centers.” See generally, Readjustment Counseling: Hearing
Before the Subcomm. on Hospitals and Health Care of the House Comm. on
Veterans’ Affairs, 97th Cong., ist Sess. 205 (1981) (statement of Robert H.
Lenham, Speciai Projects Officer, DAV). This ultimately led to the recognition
of PTSD as a psychological disorder by the American Psychiatric Association.

20

Finally, as it did with respect to radiation e> posure, see
supra note 13, DAV urged that “guidelines for the disposition
of phenoxy herbicide related claims” be developed. Veterans’
Exposure to Agent Orange: Hear ‘ngs Before the Senate Comm.
on Veterans’ Affairs, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. 539 (1983) (state-
ment of Stephen L. Edmiston, Associate Deputy National
Legislative Director, DAV). Section 5(a)(1)(A) of the Expo-
sure Standards Act of 1984, supra note 13, now requires the
VA to “establish guidelines” for this purpose. 98 Stat. 2727."

‘The disabled status of NSOs was previously described as
helping to foster the psychological value of\a veteran's sense
that his/her claim was personally communicated. See supra pp.
13-14. On the other side of that psychological equation is
the special motivation of a wartime disabled veteran to help
someone similarly situated. The unique bonding that such a shared
experience makes possible needs no elucidation for its force
to be conveyed. When it is combined with the extensive train-

See American Psychiatric Association, DIAGNOSTIC AND STATISTICAL MANUAL
OF MENTAL Disorpers (3d ed. 1980). Mental disorders providing a basis for
VA benefits must be diagnosed in accordance with this manual. 38 C.F.R.
§§ 4.125 and 4.126.

''The District Court seems to have believed that attorneys could better
“assist” claimants with respect to such complex claims. NARS, supra, 589,
F.Supp. at 1322. DAV questions whether, assuming arguendo that NSOs’
expertise in these areas does not offset the advaniage of legal training, attorneys
could fair any better in outcome. For example, in preliminarily approving the
$180 million settlement of the Agent Orange litigation consolidated in the
Eastern District of New York, the U.S. District Court noted that despite “five
years of . . . extensive discovery,” the most serious doubt about plaintiffs’
case remained whether “present scientific knowledge would support a finding
of causality.” Jn Re “Agent Crange” ”roduct Liability Litigation, MDL No.
381, slip op. at 7 and 96 (E.D.N.Y. Sept. 25, 1984). The court suggested the
possibility of a directed verdict for defendants, but even if a jury were permitted
to find a causal link between Agent Orange exposure and plaintiffs’ diseases,
the court was dubious whether the verdict would survive a motion for judgment
n.o.v. Id. at 118 and 130. On January 7, 1985, the Court issued its final
judgment approving the settlement and awarding approximately $10 million
in legal fees. In Re “Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation, MDL No.
381, slip op. (E.D.N.Y. Jan. 7, 1985). If the quantum of attorney effort in
that case yielded so little in the way of proving the Vietnam veterans’ claims,
it seems legitimate to ask how much better than NSOs attorneys would fair
with this and similar “complex” claims before the VA.

21

ing, agency familiarity and organizational expertise upon
which NSOs can draw in the nonadversarial setting of the VA
claims process, the risk that a claimant will be erroneously
deprived of benefits is more than acceptably minimized for
constitutional purposes.

Whatever risk does remain, DAV maintains that representa-
tion of veterans by private counsel would not significantly
improve claimants’ prospects. In a variety of contexts, this
Court has found that representation by an attorney does not
substantially reduce the risk of erroneous deprivation of a
liberty or property interest. Lassiter v. Department of Social
Services, 452 U.S. 18, 33 (1981); Vitek, supra, 445 U.S. at
499-500 (Powell, J., concurring in part); Wolff v. McDonnell,
418 U.S. 539, 569-570 (1974). Cf. Morrissey v. B..ewer, 408
U.S. 471, 489 (1972). Moreover, the Court has been particu-
larly reluctant to require counsel under the mandate of due
process in situations such as obtain under the VA claims sys-
tem, “where the prescribed procedure involved informal deci-
sion-making without the trappings of an adversarial trial-type
proceeding,” Lassiter, supra, 452 U.S. at 37 (Blackmun, J.,
dissenting). See Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, 583 (1975);
Gagnon v. Scarpelli, 411 U.S 778, 785-789 (1973). Cf.
Parham v. J.R., 442 U.S. 584, 604-609 (1979); Wolff, supra,
418 U.S. at 569-570. The need for counsel to insure a just
result} _—_arily based upon the operation of an adversarial
syster which an “equal contest of opposed interests” is the
mode assiter, supra, 452 U.S. at 28. Outside such a system,
attor. . have significantly less value, see Gagnon, supra,
411 U.u. at 789, and assistance in conformity with due process
may be supplied in the form of a “qualified and independent
adviser who is not a lawyer.” Vitek, supra, 445 U.S. at 499
(Powell, J., concurring in part). Cf. Wolff, supra, 418 U.S.
at 570.

That attorneys are less likely to reduce the risk of an errone-
Ous decision in a nonaéversarial setting, particularly given the

22

availability of NSOs, is indicated by available statistics from
the VA’s Board of Veterans Appeals (“BVA”). During fiscal
years 1979 through 1982, the average allowance rate in BVA
cases in which an NSO represe.ited a veteran claimant was
13.3%, while the average allowance rate in cases in which a
private attorney represented a claimant was 13.2%. Joeckel
Decl., supra note 3, at § 13. These statistics suggest that
representation by private attorneys is no more effective than
that of NSOs. Although paid attorneys might arguably fare
better, the statistics also fail to reflect the fact that private
attorneys, paid or not, are able to select their cases. By contrast,
NSOs are obligated to represent all veterans who request rep-
resentation, 38 C.F.R. § 14.628(d)(4), including those whose
claims would have insufficient merit to induce an attorney to
become involved.

The District Court found these statistics to be “not helpful.”
NARS, supra, 589 F.Supp. at 1317. It relied instead upon
Statistics which compared the effectiveness of NSOs to private
attorneys in discharge-upgrade proceedings. These statistics
are particularly unreliable since discharge-upgrade proceedings
are formally adjudicated within the Department of Defense
and are ultimately subject to judicial review, making them
fundamentally different from VA claims proceedings.'° DAV
does not mean to suggest that NSOs and lawyers stand on an
equal footing in adversarial proceedings outside the VA.

Ironically, it is conceivable that an influx of attorneys into
the VA claims process could work to the overall detriment of
claimants. Apart from the probability that attorneys would
seek to limit their caseload primarily to meritorious claims as
to which NSOs would just as likely prevail, the predictable
result of substantial attorney participation in VA claims pro-
ceedings would be to make those proceedings more formal and

‘° Adverse upgrade decisions are administratively reviewable by the armed
forces’ Boards for Correction of Military Records, from which the normal
appeal would lie in the U.S. Claims Court. See generally, 10 U.S.C. §§ 1551
et seq.

23

adversarial. ve “ss, supra, 419 U.S. at 583 (1975); Wolff,
supra, 418U.s 909-570 (1974); Gagnon, supra, 411 U.S.
at 787-788 (1975 As Justice Powell noted in Vitek, supra:
“*The introduction of counsel into a revocation proceeding
[would] alter significar’ the nature of the proceeding’. . .
because the hearing would inevitably become more adversary.”
445 U.S. at 498 (Powell, J., concurring in part) (quoting
Gagnon, supra, 441 U.S. at 787). Non-lawyers would be less
prepared to represent claimants in a more adversarial and for-
mal context, and because of the larger numbers of veterans
they would likely represent, any comparatively lower margin
of allowed claims that non-lawyers would thus experience
could well exceed whatever increased margin attorneys might
produce.

In sum, not only does the “excellent representation,” S.
Rep. 97-466, supra at 50-51, provided by veterans service
officers like NSOs substantially minimize the risk of error in
the nonadversarial setting of the VA claims process, but the
added participation of paid attorneys in that process could operate
to increase that risk for veteran claimants as a whole. The Con-
stitution should not be read to reject the former in favor of the
latter.

C. The Non-Financial Government Interests of Preventing
the Diversion of Veterans’ Benefits, Maintaining Nonad-
versarial Proceedings Involving Veterans, and Preserv-
ing Veterans’ Organizations’ Full Capacity to Represent
Claimants and Assist the Congress, Warrant Upholding
the $10 Fee Limitation.

The District Court commented that “the government has
asserted little or no cognizable interest in maintaining the
$10.00 fee restriction.” NARS, supra, 589 F.Supp. at 1323.
Thus the trial court dispensed with the final Mathews factor
in one paragraph of a twenty-seven page opinion. While appel-
lants are best able to articulate the substantial financial costs

24

to the Government if the current VA benefit system were
altered as appellees desire, DAV would offer its views on
non-financial costs since the former “are not of controlling
weight in determining whether duc process requires a particular
procedural safeguard.” Mathews, supra, 424 U.S. at 348.
An uncontested purpose of the fee ‘imitation is to prevent
diversion of VA benefits from veterans to attorneys and others.
The District Court described the purpose as “paternalistic.”
NARS, supra, 589 F. Supp. at 1323. But even the Senate
Committee that sought in 1982 to revise the fee limit stated
that “continuing to discourage attorney representation .. .
would, the Committee believes, appropriately serve to protect
claimants benefits. . . .” S. Rep. 97-466, supra at 50 (em-
phasis added). In viewing the country’s “long standing po) :y”
of favoring veterans, this Court affirmed that it has “aiways
been deemed to be legitimate.” Regan, supra, 461 U.S. at
551 (quoting Feeney, supra, 442 U.S. at 279 n.25)."”
Furthermore, as suggested by the Senate Committee's “ut-
most deference” to the “ ‘nonadversarial’ nature of VA pro-
ceedings,” see supra p. 16, the creation of a more adversarial
context for claimants by the introduction of attorneys would
be particularly unseemly in light of the “moral obligation and
debt of gratitude” owed to veterans. Mitchell, supra, 333 U.S.
at 420. This Court has frequently recognized the government's

' The continuing legitimacy of guarding against unnecessary legal expenses
was evidenced on January 7, 1985, when the court rejected an attorney's fee
claim in the Agent Orange litigation,” supra note 15, “requesting $2,500.00
. . . for doing nothing more than submitting a claim form — a task accomplished
by tens of thousands of claimants without a lawyer's intervention.” /n Re
“Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation, MLi. No. 381, slip op. at 55
(E.D.N.Y. Jan. 7, 1985). More broadly, the well-recognized litigious nature
of modern society could lead veterans mistakenly to believe that attorncys are
necessary to secure VA benefits in the event that their fees are constitutionally
made payable. See generally, Barton, Behind The Legal Explosion, 27 STan.
L. Rev. 567 (1975)

25

non-financial interest in preserving the nonadversarial nature
of proceedings in a variety of settings. See Parham, supra,
442 U.S. at 605; Goss, supra, 419 U.S. at 583; Wolff, supra,
418 U.S. at 570.

An additional non-financial consideration in maintaining the
current method of allocating veterans’ benefits involves the
Government's interest in maintaining the integrity and viability
of veterans’ organizations. In addition to the service programs
which they operate, these groups provide vital assistance to
the Congress in fulfilling its legislative, informing and over-
sight functions:"*

Those of us who have served on this Committee a number
of years are well aware of the excellent work of your
organization of disabled veterans in support of fair and
just compensation for service-connected disabilities. . . .
As in prior years, we will carefully review, consider and
act upon the observations and recommendations of the
Disabled American Veterans. 1980 Senate Hearings,
supra note 9, at 44-45 (statement of Sen. Stafford) (em-
phasis added).

The nature of DAV’s legislative activities with respect to VA
compensation for disabilities underlying certain complex
claims of concern to the District Court was suggested earlier.
See supra notes 13-15 and accompanying text.

‘* As the Chairman of the Senate Veterans’ Affairs Committee stated concern-
ing recommendations made by such groups on VA authorizations and appro-
priations for fiscal year 1982:

These annual presentations give us on the Committee an excellent oppor-
tunity for members to become more familiar with the views of the
membership of veterans’ organization» on the legislative needs relating
to veterans. These sessions assist the committee in planning its priorities
for the year. “Y82 Legislative Recommendations of Veterans’ Organiza-
tions: Hearings Before the Senate Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, 97th
Cong., 2d Sess. 60 (1982) (statement of Sen. Simpson).

26

Two important aspects of veterans’ groups like DAV that
could be injured by a decision against the Government in this
case are their service programs specifically and their reputa-
tions generally. It takes little vision to imagine that legal entrep-
reneurs would find NSOs to be as skilled as described above
and would seek to lure them away from DAV to use them in
a paralegal-type capacity in order to maximize profits. In ad-
dition, reputational damage from such a decision would be
unavoidable, as mentioned above. See supra pp. 3 and 15.

One principal consequence of these injuries would directly
conflict with the Senate Committee’s expressed wish “not to
disrupt unnecessarily the very effective network of non-attor-
ney resources” that currently exists. S. Rep. No. 97-466,
supra, at 49-50. Loss of NSO personnel — without replace-
ments likely because even the youngest wartime disabled vet-
erans are now established in careers — would be accompanied
by lowered morale and a more adversarial VA that together
would significantly weaken the NSO system. This consequence
would in turn undermine the credibility of DAV’s presentations
to the Congress which, when combined with predictably ad-
verse reactions from actual and potential DAV members and
donors, would reduce the considerable value of the assistance
that DAV currently renders the Legislative Branch.

So weakened, DAV would be correspondingly less able to
provide the fraternal benefit to the veteran community intended
by Congress when it included in DAV’s charter the purpose
of “stimulat[ing] a feeling of mutual devotion, helpfulness,
and comradeship among all wounded, injured and disabled
veterans.” 36 U.S.C. § 90c. As Congress itself has thus indicated,
to harm veterans’ service organizations is to harm the nation’s
individual veterans as well. For those many veterans who would
continue to desire the free assistance of the service organizations
even if the fee limit were lifted, their choice would be restricted

27

by the opportunity made available to others to retain paid counsel.
This significant interest of the veterans whom Congress has de-
termined to benefit should not be subjected to such a delicate
policy trade-off under the limitations of constitutional decision-
making.

By ignoring the foregoing non-financial government interests,
the District Court assigned too little weight to this Mathews
factor, just as it assigned too much weight to the private interests
and risk of error involved in the current VA ciaims system.
Proper adjustment of the resulting imbalance will yield the con-
clusion that the $10 fee limitation does not violate appellees’
rights to due process of law.'®

'* As to appellees’ First Amendment claim, DAV’s due process analysis “dem-
onstrates that [appellees’ petition] mghts under the First Amendment have been
fully satisfied.” Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656, 660 n.5 (1973). The District
Court’s conclusion that appellees sought attorneys to “obtain . . . compensation
rather than . . . make a political statement,” NARS, supra, 589 F.Supp. at 1326,
subjects the individual appeliees’ interests in contracting with attorneys to economic
regulation outside First Amendment associational protection. In Re Primus, 436
U.S. 412, 438 n.32 (1978). Finally, the fact that the $10 fee limitation “indirectly
cripples” the organizational appellees’ fundraising, NARS, supra at 1324, does
not indicate an infringement of their First Amendment associational rights, but
merely that their viability should not depend so vitally on receiving money from
veteran claimants.

28
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the District Court
should be reversed.”

Respectfully submitted,
JosEPH C. ZENGERLE*
WILLIAM N. BERKOWITZ

BINGHAM, DaNaA & GOULD
1724 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 822-9320

Counsel for
The Disabled American Veterans

*Counsel of Record

January 31, 1985

This brief was prepared with the able assistance of Ms. Kate D. Balaban,
a third year student at the Univ -rsity of Chicago Law School.

‘
4

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0338%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
