# Amicus Curiae Brief — Aetna Life Insurance v. Lavoie

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0327%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 813

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED
AUG 2 1985

No. 84-1601

JOSEPH F. SPANIOZ:
‘/ /

IN THE CLERK _
Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1984

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE CoO.,
Appellant,
V.

MARGARET W. LAVOIE AND ROGER J. LAVOE, SrR.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE FOR AMERICAN COUNCIL OF
LIFE INSURANCE AND HEALTH INSURANCE
ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA IN SUPPORT OF

APPELLANT
Of Counsel:
JACK H. BLAINE ERWIN N. GRISWOLD
Vice President, State Relations, (Counsel of Record)
and General Counsel THOMAS F. CULLEN, JR.
EDWARD J. ZIMMERMAN PATRICIA A. DUNN
Senior Associate General Counsel Jones, Day, REAVIS & POGUE
AMERICAN COUNCIL OF LIFE 655 15th Street, N.W.
INSURANCE Washington, D.C. 20005-5701
1850 K Street, N.W. (202 ) 879-3939
Washington, D.C. 20006-2284
(202) 862-4000 Counsel for Amici
Jor W. PEEL

Vice President en
General Counsel
JOHN P. DINEEN
Assistant General Counsel
HEALTH INSURANCE ASSOCIATION
OF A\MERICA
919 Third Avenue
28th Floor
New York, New York 10022
(212) 486-5578

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

I.

II.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THE CREATION OF A NEW TORT CAUSE
OF ACTION RETROACTIVELY APPLI-
CABLE TO EXISTING CONTRACTS CON-
STITUTES AN IMPAIRMENT OF CON-
TRACTUAL OBLIGATIONS IN _ CON-
TRAVENTION OF THE CONTRACT

THE DECISION OF THE SUPREME COURT
OF ALABAMA UPHOLDING MASSIVE
PUNITIVE DAMAGES SHOULD NOT
STAND UNDER DUE PROCESS OR THE
EIGHTH AMENDMENT .............c..c-ccsecccrscssceeceess

A. The Assessment of Punitive Damages
Against Appellant is Violative of Due

B. The Decision Below Imposes an Exces-
sive Fine in Violation of the Eighth
a cecssintncsnennibigienineccneeieiteniadsiediaiitiades

ETT cxicnennicessinnoncsnitnnsiarssidtiansniciibnsiuibilnniinaines

11

11

:s

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Airco Inc. v. Simmons First National Bank, 276 Ark.
486. 638 S.W.2d 660 ( 1982 ) ........eccceceeeeteceeneeeeeeees

Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 234,
reh’g denied, 439 U.S. 886 ( 1978) ..............ccecceeseeeees

American Pioneer Life Insurance Co. v. Sandlin, No.
82-1063 ( Ala. April 12, 1985) Sesiiciiiaaidimeeanes

Arizona Governing Committee v. Norris, 463 U.S.
ce

Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979) .........c.csessecoesneeeees
Bridges v. California, 314 U.S. 252 (1941) ..............00.

Campus Sweater and Sports Wear Co. v. M. B. Kahn
Construction Co., 515 F. Supp. 64 (D.S.C. 1979),
aff'd without opinion, 644 F.2d 877 ( 4th Cir. 1981)

Chavers v. National Security Fire & Casualty Co., 405
So.2d 1 (Ala. 1981). aioadilidiiiaiaetaneettcennasee

Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971) ............
Cipriano v. City of Houma, 395 U.S. 701 (1969).........
City of Phoenix v. Kolodzieyski, 399 U.S. 204 (1970)...
C vker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977) .........cccceceeeeeeeee
Dey v. Woodworth, 13 Howard 363 (1851) .................

Dempsey v. Auto Owners Insurance Co., 717 F.2d 556
I TE sictinternegttentntenanncmnatnatinnneescateencscsstersees

Dorsey v. Honda Motor Co., 655 F.2d 650 (Sth Cir.
1981), ified on other grounds, 670 F.2d 21 (Sth
Cir. ), cert. ied, 459 U.S. 880 ( 1982) ...................

Egan v. Mutual of Omaha, 24 Cal. 3d 809, 157 Cal.
a. 482, 598 P.2d 452 (1979), appeal dismissed,
Ee

Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982) ..........-:s0000

First Bank (N.A.)—Billings v. Transamerica Insur-
ance Co., 679 P.2d 1217 ( Mont. 1984) ....................

Ford Motor Company v. Stubblefield, 319 S.E.2d 460
| EE eT

17

12

Frazier v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., No.
B004240 (Cal. App. June 10, 1985) 0.00...

Geohagan v. General Motors Corp., 291 Ala. 167, 279
I i et eccrine

Gelpcke v. City of Dubuque, | Wall. 175 ( 1863)..........
Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974) .......

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, reh’g denied, 429 U.S.
Be aE saccindisistenitlintindtadicicieniiciiandiintienituieectinineseees

Grimshaw v. Ford Motor Co., 119 Cal. App. 3d 757,
| Ee a

Gulf Atlantic Life Insurance Co. v. Barnes, 405 So.2d
EL. A ea

Hansen v. Johns-Manville Products Corp., 734 F.2d
aaa (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S.Ct. 1749
|, OS a eae

Hasson v. Ford Motor Company, 32 Cal.3d 388, 185
Cal. Rptr. 654, 650 P.2d 1171 (1982), cert. dis-
I Ge eae COR CBD D ccccececcscscescccccnsccscecsssess

Hill v. Stone, 421 U.S. 289, reh’g denied, 422 US.
ee ilithininsiiddisibenladvitaniinnsiihinmenennninebenssinneeeenesses

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers v.
ee I cirsistnrinenisetaitinidesensamneny

Jackson v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 727 F.2d 506
IIE id itincitecrietisestninitcaiineniaiintidindncebatenennnenn

Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144 (1963)..

Lavoie v. Aetna Life & Casualty Co., 374 So.2d 310
FR RES OREN ERIE SERS aC OUR

Lavoie v. Aetna Life & Casualty Co., 405 So.2d 17
I FSS RL a

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 192 (1973) ......0.....0.....

Maxey v. Freightliner Corporation, 450 F.Supp. 955
(N.D. Tex. 1978), aff'd, 623 F.2d 395 (5th Cir.
1980), vacated and remanded upon rehearing, 665
F.2d 1367 (Sth Cir. 1982), vacated in part and
aff'd in part, 722 F.2d 1238 ( 5th Cir. 1984).............

Moore v. American United Life Insurance Co., 150
Cal. App.3d 610, 197 Cal. Rptr. 878 ( 1984)............

10
15,18

13,22,23
12

4

17

12

16

13

iV

Page
National Savings Life Insurance Co. v. Dutton, 419

Bs FR Ds ene 4
National Security Fire & Casualty Co. v. Bowen, 417

Ns a tectitinnideenineercnaniniiammene 4
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. v. Clay, Nos. 82-

536, 82-917 ( Ala. Feb. 8, 1985) .............cccccccescsecseees 13
Neal v. Farmers Insurance Exchange, 2\ Cal.3d 910,

148 Cal. Rptr. 389, 582 P.2d 980 ( 1978)................. 14
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 ( 1964) ll
O’Gilvie v. International Playtex, Inc., No. 83-1846-K

Ce SD TEE Ge TIP cendenvenntecintiienebtenitienesiginns 12
Palmer v. A. H. Robins Co., 684 P.2d 187 (Colo.

Pore ichiahihiciicanceidenditaincndicittniestaininleibbinnigennicinatonsitannnmseee 12
Pistorius v. Prudential Insurance Co., 123 Cal.

App.3d 541, 176 Cal. Rptr. 660 (1981) ................... 13
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, No. 84-233 (June

Bis: PEP ienincinninecranritneenneptiapinnrienemetgatnmene 10
San Jose Production Credit Association v. Old Repub-

lic Life Insurance Co., 723 F.2d 700 (9th Cir.

Pave issesdindiiibdarsinsibdetnestianinedininitnininbiaiialeiatiiliidebdineiansineedcien 13
Sexton v. Liberty National Life Insurance Co., 405

tk | he eT nee a ee 4
Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983) ...........ccccceeeeeeeeeees ea .
Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983) ...........eccccceeeeceeeees 6,21,23
Sparks v. Republic National Life Ins. Co., 132 Ariz.

529, 647 P.2d 1127, cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1070

(1982) snidaepnatiiniialidetpanasdiiutst piiadibatiitieianees 13
Sturm, Ruger & Co. v. Day, 594 P.2d 38 (Alaska

1979), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 894 (1981) ................. 16
The Sunday Times v. The United Kin ,2 E. Hu.

R. R. 245 (European Court of Human Rights !

Oe sitar lace tiatetatinasiilciaiiaaanaaegen ll
T.D.S. Inc. v. Shelby Mutual Insurance Co., 760 F.2d

Se ee te BE cttininntensiniminniinnpaiteemenie 13
Tibbs v. Great American Insurance Co., 755 F.2d

ee ty IED eit tcchseminintstencsaninnitniamsianeancennin 13
Tidal Oil Company v. Flanagan, 263 U.S. 444 (1924). 5,10,11
Trop. v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958) ............cccceeeeeeeeeeee 14,22

United States v. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. 258
UT UTE Wiadesinnnssccisudesbiileddacnsciniciedaannsdlidlcidssidiindiesbiacniiiidicliuandaieniil 24

—

United States v. Ward, 448 U.S. 242, reh’g denied,
ee i cihictieraciinciematinicannintiionaiiniaiaianstes

United States Trust Co. of New York v. New Jersey,
8 SET RET eI Hee ene

Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349 (1910).............

Wood v. Citronelle-Mobile Gathering System Com-
pany, 409 F.2d 367 (Sth Cir. 1968)... eee

STATUTES:
Ala. Code § 27-1 through 27-40 ( 1975)...............
Se Oe ee 0 BF Picccrencetcieencsensnciennccninsee
Mont. Code Ann. § 27-1-221 ( 1983)............0000....

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Bernstein, “Dread Singularities” (Book Re-
ge ae ae York Times Book Review, April
iNT scesiaesieiiniibicbinbemeadtiadadiidideatiddlentesionttdalieniagssnees

Ellis, Fairness and Efficiency in the Law of
— Damages, 56 So. Cal. L. Rev. 1
er aarhasdieeietnneiaenneihbniabigittht haa ttatinat iainstanasstanenenenene

Grass, The Penal Dimensions of Punitive Dam-
ages, 12 Hastings Const. L.Q. 241 ( 1985)........

Granucci, “Nor Cruel and Unusual Punishment
Inflicted”: The Original Meaning, 57 Cal. L.
ne cies

J. Holt, Magna Carta (1965) .0..........c.cccccccesceceseees
Myers and Barrus, Punitive Damages in Product

Liability Cases: A Survey, 52 Ins. Counsel J.
I iiceiniiiinntiedecshieiintiociiclidneniincintidesne

Nelson, Punishment for Profit: An Examination
of the Punitive Damage Award in Strict Liabil-
8 _) IEEE a

R. Perry, Sources of Our Liberties (1959)............

Rabin, Dealing with Disasters: Some Thoughts
on the Adequacy of the Legal System, 30 Stan.
aI OTT iinseeniientiinsinineesnenediiinaiedsieimnouesen

Wheeler, The Constitutional Case for Reforming
Punitive Damages, 69 Va. L. Rev. 269 (1983).

20,21

17

15

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-1601

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE CoO.,
Appellant,
Vv.

MARGARET W. LAVOIE AND ROGER J. Lavoie, Sr.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE FOR AMERICAN COUNCIL OF
LIFE INSURANCE AND HEALTH INSURANCE
ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA IN SUPPORT OF

APPELLANT

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI '

The American Council of Life Insurance (“Council”) is
the largest life insurance trade association in the United States,
representing the interests of 627 member life insurance com-
panies including most of the major life insurers in the country.
The Council’s members currently hold ninety-five percent of the
life insurance in force in legal reserve life insurance companies
in the United States. The Health Insurance Association of
America (“HIAA”) represents the interests of 327 member
companies which write over eighty-five percent of the health

1 Consent from counsel for both parties has been filed with the Clerk of
this Court.

2

insurance written by insurance companies in the United States,
and the combined memberships of the HIAA and the Council
represent over ninety percent of the health insurance written by
insurance companies in the United States.

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Alabama below is
important to members of the Council and the HIAA because it
enlarges the contract liability of insurers by exposing them to
open-ended punitive damages. A new tort cause of action has
been grafted onto Alabama insurance contracts which greatly
enhances the legal and actuarial liabilities of the members of
the Council and the HIAA. As with any form of insurance, a
predictable allocation of risks and costs, based upon historical
patterns of claim payments, is essential to the financial integrity
of a finite fund subject to partial liquidation upon the occur-
rence of events, such as death or illness. Virtually all insurance
companies, including members of the Council and the HIAA,
enter into contracts of insurance, establish claim procedures and
remedies, calculate premiums and establish reserves in reliance
upon these risk allocations. Because the opinion below creates
the possibility that contractual remedies may be wholly abro-
gated by the unpredictable creation of an amorphous new tort
cause of action, and that the partial payment or nonpayment of
an insurance claim may be accompanied by a substantial, yet
unpredictable, punitive award, the stability of the insurance
industry in general, and of insurance companies in particular, is
seriously threatened. Members of the Council and the HIAA
will be forced to incur the increased costs of defending against a
proliferation of “bad faith” claims seeking punitive relief, and
of making payment of unmeritorious claims to avoid such
actions in the future. Faced with large and unpredictable
punitive awards—awards not anticipated in the contractual
scheme of the insurer-insured relationship—members of the
Council and the HIAA may be unable to provide affordable
policies of insurance, or, in certain circumstances, to provide
such policies at all due to the increased liabilities associated
with them. The problems posed by the decision below are
serious ones for the companies that sell, and for the people who
buy, insurance. The Council and the HIAA thus have a direct
and immediate interest in the issues presented in this case.

ies

3
STATEMENT 2

Appellees were insured beneficiaries of a group policy of
health insurance issued by Aetna Life Insurance Company
(“Aetna”), the appellant herein, to the City of Mobile, Ala-
bama. On February 3, 1977, appellee Margaret W. Lavoie was
admitted to the Mobile Infirmary Hospital, apparently because
of back pains and osteoarthritis. During her twenty-three day
stay at the hospital, her doctors conducted extensive diagnostic
testing. Her discharge diagnosis was “Osteoarthritis: Mild
Psychophysiologic reaction manifested by abdominal pain.”
Jurisdictional Statement, App. A at 4a.

Appellees filed a claim under the group policy issued by
Aetna for an amount totaling $3,028.25. On June 3, 1977,
Aetna paid to appellees, the attending physician and the
hospital a total of $1,579.74. Pursuant to the terms of the
policy of insurance, Aetna declined to pay for various other
charges, including some of the diagnostic tests, on the basis that
these charges were incurred for care and services not necessary
for treatment of the disease involved. The stipulated amount of
the charges which Aetna declined to pay is $1,650.22. Aetna
again declined to pay the remainder of the claim on November
14, 1977, December 23, 1977 and August 3, 1978.

The Proceedings Below

Appellees filed suit against Aetna alleging, inter alia,
breach of contract and bad faith failure to pay an insuratice
claim, and seeking compensatory and punitive damages. Be-
cause the State of Alabama did not recognize a cause of action
for “bad faith,” the action was dismissed. On August 31, 1979,
the Supreme Court of Alabama reversed, stating that a cause of
action for bad faith failure to pay an insurance claim had been
“neither accepted nor rejected” in Alabama. Lavoie v. Aetna

2 This bref omits references to the reports of the opinions below, a
statement of the grounds of jurisdiction, a recitation of constitutional provi-
sions involved, and the questions presented, and adopts the statements in
Appellant’s brief on these subjects.

4

Life & Casualty Co., 374 So. 2d 310, 311 (Ala. 1979). Upon
remand, the Circuit Court of Mobile County granted Aetna’s
motion for summary judgment on the “bad faith” claim.

In a trilogy of cases handed down by the Alabama
Supreme Court on October 2, 1981, the Court changed the law
of Alabama—introducing not only a “bad faith” cause of
action,? but also the amorphous doctrine of punitive damages in
such actions,‘ and set the stage for this appeal. In light of these
decisions, the Supreme Court of Alabama reversed the Circuit
Court’s decision granting summary judgment to Aetna on the
“bad faith” claim, and again remanded to the Circuit Court.
Lavoie vy. Aetna Life & Casualty Co., 405 So. 2d 17, 18 (1981).

Cn November 4, 1982, a jury returned 4 verdict against
Aetna in favor of appellees, awarding $1,650.22 in com-
pensatory damages and $3.5 million in punitive damages. On
December 7, 1984, the Supreme Court of Alabama affirmed the
award, departing from its own precedents and again enlarging
the new tort. The Court held that a plaintiff need not be
entitled to judgment as a matter of law on the contract claim in
order for the bad faith action to go to the jury,5 and that partial
payment of a claim would not defeat a bad faith action.® This
broadening departure from existing precedent was announced
in an opinion joined by five justices. Four justices dissented.
On December 21, 1984, Aetna filed an Application for
Rehearing.

While Aetna’s Application for Rehearing was pending,
Aetna learned that Justice Embry—the justice who wrote the

3 Chavers v. National Security Fire & Casualty Co., 405 So. 2d | (Ala.
1981).

* Gulf Atlantic Life Insurance Co. v. Barnes, 405 So. 2d 916, 925 ( Ala.
1981).

SIn 1982, the Alabama Supreme Court in National Savings Life
Insurance Co. v. Dutton, 419 So. 2d 1357, 1362 (Ala. 1982), held that, as a
general rule, a bad faith claim was not cognizable unless a plaintiff was
“entitled to recover on the contract claim as a matter of law.”

§ In National Security Fire & Casualty Co. v. Bowen, 417 So. 2d 179, 186
(Ala. 1982), the Alabama Supreme Court had reaffirmed its position that
partial payment of a claim would generally defeat the issue of bad faith
refusal to pay. See also Sexton v. Liberty National Life Insurance Co., 405 So.
2d 18 (1981).

5

December 7, 1984 majority decision—had, less than a year
before rendering his decision in this case, filed suit against Blue
Cross-Blue Shield of Alabama (“Blue Cross”), alleging bad
faith failure to pay an insurance claim and seeking punitive
damages. On February 21, 1985, Aetna filed motions seeking
to disqualify Justice Embry from rendering any decision on
Aetna’s Application for Rehearing, requesting the other justices
to disqualify themselves, and seeking withdrawal of the Decem-
ber 7, 1984 decision. On March 8, 1985, Aetna’s dis-
qualification motion was denied with each justice determining
individually that he would not recuse himself. Aetna’s Appli-
cation for Rehearing was also overruled. Justice Embry
participated in these decisions.

On March 22, 1985, Aetna renewed its challenge to Justice
Embry’s participation in the decisions below, and moved again
for his disqualification. On March 25, 1985, the motion was
denied. Juszice Embry again participated in the decision.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Judge-made law, like !egislacon, can unravel a pre-
existing contract and frustrate constitutionally protected inter-
ests in the protections of that contract. See Lemon v. Kurtzman,
411 U.S. 192 (1973); Caevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97
(1971). As all insurers do, Aetna entered into an insurance
contract based upon the liabilities it assumed and the actuarial
incidence of those liabilities. Insurance cannot work any other
way. The decision below introduces a liability which is not only
new, but completely unpredictable and open-ended. By this
decision, Alabama denies Aetna “the stability of contractual
obligations” which the Contract Clause guarantees. United
States Trust Co. of New York v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1, 15
(1977). The essential stability is no less undermined by nine
officials in court than by a legislature in session. This Court
should not apply Tidal Oil Company v. Flanagan, 263 U.S. 444
(1924), a case whose jurisprudential basis is now recognized to
be unrealistic and outmoded, to deny the necessary relief.

II. The award of punitive damages below—more than
2,100 times the actual damages in a case which did not involve

6

invasion of any basic right or imposition of any severe or
continuing injury—was imposed without any coherent substan-
tive standards and without any particular procedural
safeguards to ensure that the award was rational, fair, or based
upon intelligible standards. This offends both due process and
the Eighth Amendment prohibition against excessive fines. It is
clear that the award was punishment—and very serious punish-
ment indeed. It is also clear that any criminal defendant faced
with a $100 misdemeanor, and any jury charged with imposing
it, would have been provided clearer standards and more
exacting guidance than that provided to Aetna and the jury
below. “Bad faith” and the distinctions between negligence
and malice are concepts too blurry to support the huge and
unpredictable range of results available to juries. The result
reflected in the verdict below demonstrates all too clearly the
imprecision in asking juries to draw such distinctions. A higher
standard of proof, and a clearer definition of the predicate
conduct, are required, at the very least, to restore a semblance
of due process.

The award of $3.5 million itself violates the Eighth
Ame~.dment as well because it is grossly disproportionate to the
offense charged. Punitive damages are civil fines wich penal
purposes, and, as punishment, the basic Eighth Amendment
principle of proportionality should apply to them. This prin-
ciple, which has been applied since the Magna Carta, is, like
other legal principles here, a bulwark against arbitrariness and
jury passion. The “ ‘parallel limitations’ on bail, fines, and
other punishments”, Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277, 289 (1983),
embodied in the Eighth Amendment should apply to an
exaction that operates as a fine. That the jury exacted a fine
without the support of either a criminal finding or the limits of a
criminal statute should argue ror, rather than against, relief.

Although the Eighth Amendment has yet to be applied in a
punitive damages case, the time is now ripe. The proliferation
of punitive awards, the meaningless standards, the profligacy of
the amounts assessed all demonstrate tiat there is no rational or
reliable jurisprudence to be applied hee if the Due Process
Clause and the Eighth Amendment are not. Punitive damages
become a windfall for the plaintiff, and a spring-gun in the

7

woods—a random, cruel surprise—for defendants. Punitive
damages should not continue to enjoy an immunity from
constitutional scrutiny.

ARGUMENT

I. THE CREATION OF A NEW TORT CAUSE OF AC-
TION RETROACTIVELY APPLICABLE TO EXIST-
ING CONTRACTS CONSTITUTES AN IMPAIRMENT
OF CONTRACTUAL OBLIGATIONS IN CON-
TRAVENTION OF THE CONTRACT CLAUSE

If the Alabama legislature had passed a statute altering the
remedial scheme embodied in contracts of insurance in Ala-
bama by creating a new tort cause of action which was
retroactively applicable to those existing contracts, there would
be no doubt that the state had violated the Contract Clause of
the United States Constitution. See Allied Structural Steel Co.
v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 234, reh’g denied, 439 U.S. 886 (1978);
United States Trust Co. of New York v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. |
(1977). The mere fact that the unanticipated creation of new
contractual liabilities, under the guise of the tort of bad faith,
was the product of judicial legislaticu, as opposed to statutory
enactment, should not shield this action from constitutional
scrutiny.

Judges as well as legislators make law, and judge-made
laws, like statutes, engender constitutionally protected reliance
interests. That judges make law has been expressly acknowl-
edged by this Court in a series of recent decisions which
recognize a doctrine of nonretroactivity in cases where unantici-
pated federal judicial rulings would upset well-founded reliance
interests. See, e.g., Arizona Governing Committee v. Norris, 463
U.S. 1073 (1983); Hill v. Stone, 421 U.S. 289, reh’g denied, 422
U.S. 1029 (1975); Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 192 (1973);
Chevron Oil Co v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971); City of Phoenix
v. Kolodziejski, 399 U.S. 204 (1970); Cipriano v. City of
Houma, 395 U.S. 701 (1969). In these cases, the Court
recognized the “fact of legal life” that judges, as well as state
legislators, make law and that “even judge-made rules of law

8

are hard facts on which people must rely in making decisions
and in shaping their conduct.” Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. at
199 (1973).7 Thus, when this Court determines whether to
apply a constitutional decision retroactively, it now engages in a
“process of reconciling the constitutional interests reflected in a
new rule of law with reliance interests founded upon the old.”
Lemon, 411 U.S. at 198.8 Implicit in this process is a recognition
by this Court that these reliance interests can themselves reach
constitutional proportions, and cannot be swept away with the
old rule of law.

The reliance interests of Aetna in particular and of insurers
in generai who contract to provide insurance in Alabama are
significant. As this Court recognized in Allied Structural Steel
Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. at 246-47, reliance interests are
particularly strong in the business of insurance. Insurance is
essentially a system of private ordering—the consensual estab-
lishment of legal rights and obligations between parties. As
with any contract, insurance contracts cannot be repugnant to
la, and the system of law existing at the time of the contract
supplements, without impairing, this consensual relationship.

7 The need for judicial accountability to constitutional standards when
judges are making law—particularly laws which have broad impact through
retroactive as well as prospective application—is dramatically illustrated by
this case. The substance of the rule applied will virtually always be easier to
assess than the interest of the tribunal. A reviewing court can focus upon
substantive and meaningful standards in making law to ensure that con-
stitutional interests are protected, and absolve itself generally of review of the
judicial processes of state tribunals. This approach allows this Court to face
substantial constitutional issues, to decide cases with resort to traditional
substantive principles, and to avoid making ad hoc, and sometimes difficult,
decisions of judicial ethics. For insurers, like Aetna, who do business in
Alabama, reliable protection against encroachment upon constitutional rights
must come from adherence to general constitutional standards, and not from
after-the-fact scrutiny of the bias and interests of a particular tribunal.

8 See also Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971). In Chevron,
this Court articulated a three-part test, which has been followed in subsequent
cases, to determine when the doctrine of nonretroactivity will apply: (1)
whether the new decision is a clear break from prior law which was not
foreshadowed; (2) whether retroactive effect is necessary for the operation of
the new principles announced; and (3) whether substantial inequity would
result from a retroactive application. /d. at 106-108.

9

Thus, cognizant of the laws of the states in which they contract
to provide insurance, insurers like Aetna assess their potential
liabilities, calculate premiums, allocate reserves, and enter into
contracts of insurance.

In this case, Aetna, an out-of-state insurer, entered into a
contract of insurance with the City of Mobile in 1967. That
contract was made by Aetna with knowledge of its obligations
under Alabama’s pervasive insurance laws,® and with aware-
ness of the decisions of the Alabama courts interpreting those
laws. This contract, like any other contract in Alabama, was
subject to the general rule that no punitive damages may be
awarded in contract actions. '°

In a series of decisions in 1981—fourteen years after Aetna
had contracted to provide insurance to the City of Mobile —the
Supreme Court of Alabama drastically upset the reliance
interests of Aetna by legislating an entirely new tort cause of
action which it retroactively applied in 1984 to Aetna’s 1967
contract of insurance. Significantly, the Alabama Supreme
Court was not reinterpreting existing laws or decisions when it
ruled that a cause of action for bad faith failure to pay an
insurance claim existed in Alabama. Instead, it created an
entirely new remedy enormously increasing the potential lia-
bility for breach of contract—a remedy which had not pre-
viously existed in Alabama—and labeled it as the tort of “bad
faith.” By so doing, the Alabama Supreme Court abrogated the
consensual arrangement between Aetna and the City of Mobile,
and imposed upon Aetna a $3.5 million liability which could
not have been anticipated at the time of contracting.

The impact of abrogating these reliance interests is severe,
and completely at odds with the central concern of the Contract

® Insurance companies, and contracts of insurance, are subject to com-
prehensive regulation in Alabama. Indeed, the Alabama Insurance Code
occupies nearly an entire volume of the Code of Alabama, and consists of 40
chapters regulating insurance in general as well as specific types of insurance.
See Ala. Code §§ 27-1 through 27-40 (1975).

10 See, e.g., Wood v. Citronelle-Mobile Gathering System Company, 409
F.2d 367 (Sth Cir. 1968) (applying Alabama law); Geohagan v. General
Motors Corp., 29\ Ala. 167, 279 So.2d 436 (1973).

10

Clause: “to encourage trade and credit by promoting con-
fidence in the stability of contractual obligations.” United States
Trust Co. of New York v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. at 15. The
decision below undercuts any expectation of stability in the
insurance industry in Alabama.'' It eliminates from the insur-
er’s considerations the existing law of the state in which it
contracts, and exposes the insurer to unforeseen and unpredict-
able creations of new obligations by state courts—not in small
matters of detail, but, in this case, increasing liability more than
2,100 times. '2

This Court’s decision in Tidal Oil Company v. Flanagan,
263 U.S. 444 (1924), that the Contract Clause was directed
only to impairments of contracts by legislation, and not by
judgments of state courts, poses the only possible bar to
concluding that the decision below violates the Contract Clause.
Tidal Oil, however, runs counter to the central concern of the
Contract Clause, and rests upon a formalistic and outmoded
view of the law which holds that judges do not make new law,
but simply declare what the law has always been.'3 Because
this view is inconsistent with the Court’s retroactivity decisions,

'' Moreover, the imposition of unpredictable and substantial punitive
damages upon insurance companies hampers compliance with and enforce-
ment of state insurance laws and regulations, particularly those requirements
relating to the maintenance of adequate reserves and requirements designed
to ensure the solvency of insurance companies.

‘2 This Court recently recognized the unfairness of applying laws which
‘vere not within the parties’ expectations at the time of contracting. In Phillips
Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, No. 84-233 (June 26, 1985), the Court concluded
that Kansas contract and equity law could not be applied to transactions of
the parties in a manner consistent with due process, stating (at 25) (citations
omitted ):

When considering fairness in this context, an important element

is the expectation of the parties.... There is no indication that

when the leases involving land and royalty owners outside of

Kansas were executed, the parties had any idea that Kansas law

would control.

‘3 Moreover, the historical basis of Tida/ Oil is suenect. As early as 1863,
this Court in Gelpcke v. City of Dubuque, | Wall. 175, expressed an
interpretation of the Clause which is more consonant with its pur-
pose—namely, that if a contract, when made, is valid, it cannot be impaired
by subsequent legislation or by judical decision altering the construction of the
law.

Witten os n

|!

this Court must reconcile Tidal O:/ with the realities of modern-
day jurisprudence. '¢

Only by protecting Aetna’s valid contractual expectations
from unpredictable legislation by the judiciary can this Court
preserve the values embodied in the Contract Clause. To hold
this Clause inapplicable in this case would be to permit
Alabama to accomplish through its judiciary what it could not
constitutionally do through its legislature.

Il. THE DECISION OF THE SUPREME COURT OF
ALABAMA UNPHOLDING MASSIVE PUNITIVE
DAMAGES SHOULD NOT STAND UNDER DUE
PROCESS OR THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT

A. The Assessment of Punitive Damages Against Appel-
lant is Violative of Due Process

Punitive damages are not “a favorite of the law.” See
Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 58 (1983) (Rehnquist, J.,
dissenting). They are an historical anomaly, transplanted in
neo-natal form to American soil from eighteenth century Eng-
land and nurtured by early American courts which employed
punitive damages to compensate victims in small amounts for
intangible injuries which the law otherwise did not recognize. '5
Punitive damages were thus awarded in small sums to victims

14 Tidal Oil is also inconsistent with other decisions of this Court. This
Court Aas interpreted “law” to mean common law in the context of the First
Amendment, which provides that “Congress shall make no law . . . abridging
the freedom of speech.” Even though the First Amendment refers specifically
to law made by Congress, this Court has given the Amendment a broader
interpretation. See, e.g., Bridges v. California, 314 U.S. 252 (1941) (applied
to judicial contempt citations ); New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254
(1964) (applied to common law actions of libel against public officials). C/.
The Sunday Times v. United Kingdom, 2 E. H. R. R. 245, 270 (European
Court of Human Rights 1979) (“ ‘law’... covers not only statute but also
unwritten law”).

18 The doctrine of punitive damages was recognized in 1851 by this
Court in a modest way in Day v. Woodworth, 13 Howard 363 (1851). Ina
passage considered to be the foundation of punitive damages in American
law, Justice Grier, writing for the Court, stated (13 Howard at 371):

It is a well-established principle of the common law, that in
actions of trespass and all actions on the case for torts, a jury may

(footnote continues)

12

of tortious conduct, such as libel or slander, where actual
damages for humiliation or affronts to dignity were largely
unascertainable. See Nelson, Punishment for Profit: An Exam-
ination of the Punitive Damage Award in Strict Liability, 18
Forum 377, 380-81 ( 1983).

From this small beginning, punitive damages have recently
branched far beyond their origins in insult torts and have been
stretched beyond the limits of their validity.'* The expansion of
this doctrine beyond the traditional tort areas, without historical
justification, has brought an explosive increase in the size and
frequency of punitive damages awards '7—a phenomenon
strikingly evident in this case, where a $3.5 million punitive
damages award was upheld against Aetna for failure to pay a
portion of a $3,000 insurance claim. Moreover, staggering ~

(footnote continued)

inflict what are called exemplary, punitive or vindictive damages

upon a defendant, having in view the enormity of his offence

rather than the measure of compensation to the plaintiff. .. . In

many civil actions, such as libel, slander, seduction, &c., the

wrong done to the plaintiff is incapable of being measured by a

money standard; and the damages assessed depend on the

circumstances, showing the degree of moral turpitude or atrocity

of the defendant’s conduct, and may properly be termed ex-

emplary or vindictive rather than compensatory.

6 As has been well said in another context, “these laws are being
extrapolated to places where they no longer apply.” Bernstein, “Dread
Singularities” (Book Review), New York Times Book Review, April 25,
1982, p. 10.

17 The seemingly uncontrolled growth in both the size and frequency of
punitive damages awards is evident in product liability and mass tort cases.
See, e.g., O’Gilvie v. International Platex, No. 83-1846-K (D. Kan. May 24,
1985) ($10 million jury award of punitive damages reduced to $1.35 million
after defendant implemented remedial measures); Grimshaw v. Ford Motor
Co., 119 Cal. App. 3d 757, 174 Cal. Rptr. 348 (1981) ($125 million punitive
award remitted to $3.5 million); Ford Motor Company v. Stubblefield, 319
S.E.2d 460 (Ga. App. 1984) ($8 million); Palmer v. A.H. Robins Co., 684
P.2d 187 (Colo. 1984) ($6.2 million); Dorsey v. Honda Motor Co., 655 F.2d
650 ( Sth Cir. 1981) ($5 million), modified on other grounds, 670 F.2d 21 (Sth
Cir. ), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 880 (1982); Airco Inc. v. Simmons First National
Bank, 276 Ark. 486, 638 S.W.2d 660 (1982) ($3 million); Hasson v. Ford
Motor Company, 32 Cal.3d 388, 185 Cal. Rptr. 654, 650 P.2d 1171 (1982)
($4 million ), cert. dismissed, 459 U.S. 1190 (1983). Many other comparable
awards, and awards in smaller amounts, have proliferated.

- —

eet te =

13

sums have been awarded as punitive damages in other cases
against insurance companies by juries, who, left unguided, have
assessed damages “in a way that can only be called freakish.”
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 206, reh’g denied, 429 U.S. 875
(1976).18 The lower courts have varied unpredictably in their
willingness to face the implications of such awards for fairness
and due process. Although some awards have not survived
judicial scrutiny,'® many have.2°

18 While perhaps some of the more exorbitant punitive damages awards
have been rendered by juries in California and Arizona, see notes 19 and 20,
infra, similarly outrageous awards have been handed down by Alabama
juries. Two recent cases, one affirming a jury award of $1,250,000 against an
insurance company on a bad faith claim, see Nationwide Mutual Insurance
Co. v. Clay, Nos. 82-536, 82-917 (Ala. Feb. 8, 1985), and another affirming
an award of $3,000,000, see American Pioneer Life Insurance Co. v. Sandlin,
No. 82-1063 (Ala. April 12, 1985), amply demonstrate the arbitrariness of
punitive damages awards in insurance litigation.

19 See, e.g., San Jose Production Credit Association v. Old Republic Life
Insurance Co., 723 F.2d 700 (9th Cir. 1984) (court reversed jury award of
$500,000 in punitive damages); Egan v. Mutual of Omaha, 24 Cal. 3d 809,
157 Cal. Rptr. 482, 598 P.2d 452 (1979), appeal dismissed, 445 U.S. 912
(1980) (jury award of $5 million in punitive damages against insurer for
failure to conduct proper investigation of its insured’s claim held to be
excessive in that award was 40 times larger than the compensatory damages
award and represented two and one-half months of the insurer’s net income in
1973 as well as more than seven months of its income in 1974).

20 See, e.g., T.D.S. Inc. v. Shelby Mutual Insurance Co., 760 F.2d 1520
(lith Cir. 1985) (jury award of $2.1 million in punitive damages against
insurer held not to be excessive}; Tibbs v. Great American Insurance Co., 755
F.2d 1370 (9th Cir. 1985) (court upheld award of $600,000 in punitive
damages); Dempsey v. Auto Owners Insurance Co., 717 F.2d 556 (11th Cir.
1983) (court held jury award of $3.1 million to be excessive and remanded
with directions to require a remittitur to $1.5 million); Frazier v. Metropolitan
Life Insurance Co. No. B004240 (Cal. App. June 10, 1984) (jury award of
$8 million in punitive damages, as remitted to $2 million, overturned upon
finding that claim was time-barred); Moore v. American United Life Insur-
ance Co., 150 Cal. App. 3d 610, 197 Cal. Rptr. 878 (1984) (court held $2.5
million punitive damages award not to be excessive, even though award was
83 times the amount of compensatory damages); Sparks v. Republic National
Life Insurance Co., 132 Ariz. 529, 647 P.2d 1127, cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1070
(1982) ($3 million award punitive damages for insurer’s tortious termination
of insurance benefits upheld); Pistorius v. Prudential Insurance Co., 123 Cal.
App. 3d 541, 176 Cal. Rptr. 660 (1981) (court upheld award of $1 million in

(footnote continues)

14

The conduct of the insurance business suffers in particular
because insurance depends heavily on the ability to make
careful and exact computations of risks. Contracts of insurance
are premised upon these risk calculations, and the ability of
insurers to predict with relative accuracy their liabilities over a
period of time is crucial to the development and maintenance of
adequate reserves in any sound system of insurance.

Because the purposes and impact of punitive damages
awards are plainly penal, constitutional protections akin to
those accorded to criminal defendants should be afforded to
defendants in punitive damages actions. A civil label should
not blind this Court to their penal nature and purposes. See,
e.g., United States v. Ward, 448 U.S. 242, reh’g denied, 448 U.S.
916 (1980); Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144
(1963). As this Court has stated:

How simple would be the tasks of constitutional
adjudication and of law generally if specific problems
could be solved by inspection of the labels pasted on
them! ... Doubtless even a clear... classification of
a statute as “non-penal” would not alter the
fundamental nature of a plainly penal statute.

Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 94-95 (1958). Thus, although a
penalty has been labeled civil, this Court has declined to view it
as such where the penalty is “so punitive either in purpose or
effect” as to negate such a labeling. United States v. Ward, 448
U.S. at 248-49.21

(footnote continued)

punitive damages); Neal v. Farmers Insurance Exchange, 2| Cal.3d 910, 148
Cal. Rptr. 389, 582 P.2d 980 (1978) (court upheld jury award of punitive
damages, as reduced to $740,000).

21 This Court, as well as the lower courts, have been guided by the list of
considerations articulated in Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. at 168-69, in
determining whether a law is penal in nature. Assessed under these factors,
which are “neither exhaustive nor dispositive,” United States v. Ward, 448
U.S. at 249, punitive damages can only be deemed penal. While punitive
damages impose no “affimative disability or restraint,” Mendoza-Martinez,
372 U.S. at 168, they typically are imposed upon a showing of “willfulness”

(footnote continues)

Sie ate ey

15

Members of this Court have recognized that punitive
damages are essentially penal. Indeed, this Court has stated:

Punitive damages ‘are not compensation for injury.
Instead, they are private fines levied by civil juries to
punish reprehensible conduct and to deter its future
occurrence.”

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers v. Foust, 442
U.S. 42, 48 (1979) (emphasis added ), quoting Gertz v. Robert
Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 350 (1974). See also Smith v.
Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 58 (dissenting opinion of Justice
Rehnquist). Punitive damages thus further no goals of the civil
law. They serve only to promote the traditional goals of
punishment, namely, retribution and deterrence—goals which
this Court has stated “are not legitimate nonpunitive govern-
mental objectives.” Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 539 n. 20
(1979).

This Court in Mendoza-Martinez recognized that con-
stitutional safeguards must be accorded to defendants in pro-
ceedings in which the sanction to be imposed is punishment. In
striking down a statute which provided for the automatic
forfeiture of citizenship as a penalty for draft evasion, the Court
concluded that the statute was essentially penal, and that its
application deprived the appellees of their citizenship without
due process of law and without according them the nights
guaranteed by the Fifth and Sixth Amendments. In so holding,
the Court stated:

What we hold is only that, in keeping
with ... cherished tradition, punishment cannot be
imposed ‘without due process of law.’ Any lesser

(footnote continued)

or “maliciousness”, they are often assessed in amounts greater than criminal
actions involving similar conduct, and no alternative purposes—other than
punishment and deterrence—can rationally be assigned to them. See Grass,
The Penal Dimensions of Punitive Damages, \2 Hastings Const. L. Q. 241
(1985), and Wheeler, The Constitutional Case for Reforming Punitive
Damages, 69 Va. L. Rev. 269 (1983), for exhaustive analyses of the penal
nature of punitive damages.

16

holding would ignore the constitutional mandate
upon which our essential liberties depend.

Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. at 186.

That punitive damages actions, as they now exist, fail to
comport with even the simplest notion of due process is evident
from the complete lack of standards for assessing punitive
damages, coupled with the unbridled discretion of judges and
juries in awarding such damages. Punitive damages, in unde-
fined and accelerating amounts, have been awarded to punish
and deter conduct which ranges from “malice” to some degree
of “negligence.” A multitude of necessarily overlapping and
somewhat redundant terms have been employed to support
awards of punitive damages against a defendant whose conduct
lies somewhere in between.22 And, application of these “stan-
dards” continues to be imprecise, given the uncertainty sur-
rounding the definitions of such terms as “malice,” see Smith v.
Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 38-41 and n.6, and given the blurred
distinctions between terms like “willful,” “wanton,” “reckless

22 While awards of punitive damages have traditionally been premised
upon conduct which is found to be “malicious,” “willful” or “wanton”, these
standards, though never carefully defined, have been perceptibly lowered,
permitting courts to award punitive damages against a defendant whose
conduct can be characterized, at most, by some heightened degree of
negligence. See, e.g., Dempsey v. Auto Owners Insurance, 717 F.2d 556, 561
(llth Cir. 1983) (applying Alabama’s standard requiring “maliciousness,
willfulness, or wanton and reckless disregard for the rights of others,” court
upheld punitive award as remitted to $1.5 million ); Jackson v. Johns-Manville
Sales Corp., 727 F.2d 506, 526 (Sth Cir. 1984) (applying Mississippi’s
requirement of a showing of “wanton, gross, or intentionally wrongful
conduct,” court disallowed punitive damages award); Airco Inc. v. Simmons
First National Bank, 276 Ark. 486, 638 S.W.2d 660, 663 (1982) (defendant’s
reckless disregard of the consequences held to warrant $3 million punitive
award ); Maxey v. Freightliner Corporation, 450 F.Supp. 955, 963 (N.D. Tex.
1978) (punitive damages may be awarded if defendant acts “intentionally or
willfully, or with a degree of ‘gross negligence’ which approximates a fixed
Purpose to bring about the injury”), aff'd, 623 F.2d 395 (Sth Cir. 1980),
vacated and remanded upon rehearing, 665 F.2d 1367 (Sth Cir. 1982),
vacated in part and aff'd in part, 722 F.2d 1238 ( Sta Cir. 1984); Sturm, Ruger
& Co. v. Day, 594 P.2d 38, 46 (Alaska 1979), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 894
(1981) (even though punitive damages were warranted on the basis of

(footnote continues)

17

disregard” and “conscious indifference.” See Ellis, Fairness and
Efficiency in the Law of Punitive Damages, 56 So. Cal. L. Rev.
1, 34-37 (1982).23 Consequently, these vague and varying
standards provide no real guidance to courts and juries. Jd.24
Moreover, the standards upon which courts rely in reviewing

(footnote continued)

defendant’s “reckless indifference to rights of others, and conscious action in
deliberate disregard of them,” jury award was held to be excessive); Hansen
vy. Johns-Manville Products Corp.,.734 F.2d 1036, 1043 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert.
denied, 105 S. Ct. 1749 (1985) (punitive damages awarded on the basis of
Texas’ “gross negligence” standard); Campus Sweater & Sports Wear Co. v
M.B. Kahn Construction Co., 515 F.Supp. 64, 104 (D.S.C. 1979) ( punitive
damages upheid on basis of South Carolina’s standard of negligence which is
“so gross or reckless of consequences as to imply or assume the nature of a
wantonness, willfulness or recklessness”), aff'd without opinion, 644 F.2d 877
(4th Cir. 1981). See also Meyers and Barrus. Punitive Damages in Product
Liability Cases: A Survey, 5\ Ins. Counsel J. 212 (April 1984). The Court
below, in upholding the $3.5 million punitive award against Aetna, apparent-
ly deemed Aetna’s conduct to be “oppressive, malicious, willful [and]
fraudulent.” Jurisdictional Statement, App. A at 35a.

23 The difficulty of distinguishing between conduct which is “reckless” as
opposed to merely “negligent” leads inevitably to inconsistent applications of
these standards. As stated by one author.

Unfortunately, the distinction between recklessness and negli-
gence relates to no clear behavioral standards in the real
world .... It is truly striking how we have devised a system that
is not far removed from a lottery for deciding such grave
matters —with the draw determined by not only the predilections
of the presiding judge, but the emotions of the jury sitting in the
case.
Rabin, Dealing with Disasters: Some Thoughts on the Adequacy of the Legal
System, 30 Stan. L. Rev. 281, 297 (1978).

24 In an opinion certifying Montana law to a Federal district court, the
Supreme Court of Montana recognized this uncertainty in the area of punitive
damages. See First Bank (N.A.)—Billings. v. Transamerica Insurance Co.,
679 P.2d. 1217 (Mont. 1984). In concluding that insurance coverage of
punitive damages does not violate Montana’s public policy, the court noted
that “juries and judges typically award punitives for a broad range of conduct
not often described as willful or wanton, but as merely reckless or unjusti-
fiable.” Jd. at 1222. Refusing to preclude such insurance coverage in light of
the uncertainty in the area of punitive damages, the court further stated that
“fact-finders ... wrestle with concepts like recklessness and reasonableness,

(footnote continues)

i8

jury awards of punitive damages are equally imprecise, requir-
ing judges to inquire generally whether an award reflects the
Passions or prejudices of the jury.25

Similarly vague are the standards used for determining the
amount of punitive damages to be assessed against a defendant.
This amount is generally left to the sole discretion of the jury,
guided only by certain ill-defined factors relating to the nature
of the defendant’s misdeed and including the wealth of the
defendant, thus emphasizing the punitive nature of the award.
The lack of standards, and, indeed, of rationality, for assessing
punitive damages has prompted members of this Court to
comment on the arbitrary and prejudicial nature of punitive
damages awards. As Justice Powell stated in Gertz v. Robert
Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 350 (1973):

In most jurisdictions jury discretion over the amounts
[of punitive damages] awarded is limited only by the
gentle rule that they not be excessive. Consequently,
juries assess punitive damages in wholly unpredict-
able amounts bearing no necessary relation to the
actual harm caused.

See also International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers vy.
Foust, 442 U.S. 42, 50-51 (1979); Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30,

(footnote continued)

such that defendants may not know that their conduct constituted presumed
malice until after trial, and that a defendant in one case may never know the
sting of punitive damages while another defendant in a similar case may be
faced with financing a sizeable award.” Jd. Recognizing, as the Montana
Supreme Court did, the randomness of punitive damages awards, the
Montana legislature passed legislation, effective April 16, 1985, limiting the
applicability of punitive damages. The statute requires, inter alia, that the
elements of a claim for punitive damages be proven by clear and convincing
evidence, and places limits on the amounts in which punitive damages can be
awarded. See Mont. Code Ann. 3 27-1-221 (1983), as amended by House
Bil 303.

25 The potential for arbitrariness is inevitably increased when articulabie
standards are not applied «w judicial action. See pp. 3-5, supra. Resort to ad
hoc decisions regarding judicial ethics is an inappropriate, and ineffective,
method of protecting constitutional rights. Only the application and enforce-
ment by judicial tribunals of sound constitutional standards, establishing
predicate conduct and adequate procedures and governing the proportionality
of awards, can adequately ensure that these rights are not abrogated.

or Be ne oe Mea.” Cane 4. : See aS

19

56-65, 92-94 (dissenting opinions of Justices Rehnquist and
O’Connor ).26

Despite the complete lack of standards for assessing puni-
tive damages, no unique procedures have been developed to
protect a defendant in a punitive damages action from the risk
that such damages will be improperly awarded, based upon the
whim or caprice of a judge or jury. Further, the absence of
procedures satisfying even the most fundamental concepts of
due process results in arbitrary and erroneous deprivations of
property, and in the stigma which necessarily attaches to a
defendant whose conduct is characterized as “fraudulent,”
“malicious” or “wanton”. Due process cannot be satisfied in a
punitive damages action without detailed and carefully tailored
procedural safeguards, such as an elevated standard of proof,
limitations on the amounts of punitive damages, and bifurca-
tion of punitive damages trials.

The constitutional infirmities which inhere in punitive
damages actions should no longer be ignored. If not eliminated
entirely from the field of insurance—an area where they do not
belong—punitive damages should be limited, and defendants
should, at a minimum, be accorded the constitutional protec-
tions guaranteed to other defendants who are subject to
punishment by juries and courts. The ultimate responsibility
rests with this Court to guard against stealthy encroachments
upon constitutional rights by practices which spring from
unjustified deviations in the law. No better example of a
stealthy encroachment—and one which should be halted by
this Court—exists than punitive damages.

26 As Justice Rehnquist stated in Smith v. Wade (461 U.S. at 87-88):

It is anomalous, and counter to deep-rooted legal principles and
common-sense notions, to punish ; ersons who meant no harm,
and to award a windfall, in the form of punitive damages to
someone who already has been fully compensated. These
peculiarities ought to be carefully limited—not expanded to every
case where a jury may think a defendant was too careless,
particularly where a vaguely defined, elastic standard like “reck-
less indifference” gives free reign to the biases and prejudices of
juries. In short, there are persuasive reasons not to create a new
Punitive damages remedy unless it is clear that Congress so
intended. |

20

B. The Decision Below Imposes an Excessive Fine in
Violation of the Eighth Amendment

Whereas due process provides safeguards against proce-
dures which result in arbitrary awards and standardless ver-
dicts, the Eighth Amendment provides an added protection
against arbitrariness and excessiveness in punishment. Focus-
ing upon the result itself, the Eighth Amendment ensures that
punishment will not be meted out arbitrarily, or in excessive
amounts wholly disproportionate to the offense. Even assuming
that the procedures employed in assessing and upholding
punitive damages awards comport with due process—which
they do not—the decision below cannot survive scrutiny under
the Eighth Amendment.

The Eighth Amendment’s ban against excessive punish-
ments and requirement of proportionality derive from English
law. By the thirteenth century, discretionary amercements,
often excessive and oppressive, had become prevalent in Eng-
land—so prevalent that three chapters of the Magna Carta
were devoted to their control.27 Indeed, Chapter 20 of the
Magna Carta, setting forth the rule against excessiveness in
punishment, provided:

A free man shall not be amerced for a trivial offence,
except in accordance with the degree of the offence,
and for a serious offence he shall be amerced accord-
ing to its gravity, saving his livelihood; and a mer-
chant likewise, saving his merchandise; in the same
way a villein shall be amerced saving his wainage; if
they fall into our mercy. And none of the aforesaid

27 See Granucci, “Nor Cruel cad Unusual Punishment Inflicted”: The
Original Meaning, 57 Cal. L.R. 839, 845 (1969). The amercement was the
equivalent of the modern fine. Amercements, given their discretionary
character, permitted the circumstances of each case to be considered, and the
fine fixed accordingly, but invited the opportunity for arbitrariness and
excessiveness. Jd.

le Se oR et eee ew

21

amercements shall be imposed except by the testi-
mony of reputable men of the neighborhood.

J. Holt, Magna Carta 323 (1965).28

The principle that amercements could not be excessive was
reiterated in the English Bill of Rights of 1689, which, in
language borrowed by the framers, strove to curb selective and
arbitrary application of harsh penalties by incorporating “the
longstanding principle of English law that the punishment...
should not be... greatly disproportionate to the offense
charged.” R. Perry, Sources of Our Liberties 236 (1959).
Evidencing the intent of the English Bill of Rights to preclude
disproportionate and excessive fines, the House of Lords,
“barely three months after the Bill of Rights was adopted...
declared that a ‘fine of thirty thousand pounds, imposed by the
court of King’s Bench upon the earl of Devon was excessive and
exorbitant, against magna charta, the common right of the
subject, and the law of the land.” Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277,
285 (1983), quoting Earl of Devon’s Case, 11 State Tr. 133, 136
(1689).

The concept of proportionality which was firmly em-
bedded in English law by 1689 was transplanted to American
soil, and ultimately incorporated into the Bill of Rights as the
Eighth Amendment. See Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. at 285-86.
This “constitutional principle of proportionality,” id. at 286,
was recognized by this Court as early as 1910. In Weems v.
United States, 217 U.S. 349, 367 (1910), the Court held that
the Eighth Amendment precluded the punishment of 15 years
of imprisonment plus hard labor in chains for the crime of
falsifying a public document, noting “that it is a precept of
justice that punishment for crime should be graduated and
proportioned to the offense.” On repeated occasions since
Weems, the Court has resorted to the constitutional principle of

26 Maitland said of this chapter that “very likely there was no clause in
the Magna Carta more grateful to the mass of the people.” F. Maitland, Pleas
of the Crown for the County of Gloucester xxxiv (1884), cited in Granucci,
supra, at 845.

22

proportionality to conclude that certain punishments are, or are
not, excessive.29 Most recently, this Court in Solem revisited the
concept of proportionality in punishments, holding that the
Eighth Amendment prohibits a life sentence, without possibility
of parole, for the commission of a seventh nonviolent felony.3°

Although this Court has had little occasion to address the
Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment, the cases
decided under the Cruel and Unusual Punishments Clause
provide a useful framework for assessing the validity of puni-
tive damages under the Eighth Amendment—an issue of first
impression in this Court. In light of the common origin of the
clauses of the Eighth Amendment, the concept of proportion-
ality should be equally applicable to all of the clauses of the
Amendment. Indeed, as this Court has stated:

We have recognized that the Eighth Amendment
imposes ‘parallel limitations’ on bail, fines, and other
punishments, Jngraham v. Wright, supra, at 664, and
the text is explicit that bail and fines may not be
excessive. It would be anomalous indeed if the lesser
punishment of a fine and the greater punishment of
death were both subject to proportionality analysis,
but the intermediate punishment of imprisonment

28 See Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 ( 1977) (death sentence heid to be
grossly disproportionate and excessive for the crime of rape); Trop v. Dulles,
35 U.S. 92 (1958) (expatriation for wartime desertion violated the Eighth
Amendment); Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982) (death penalty for
felony murder held to be excessive under the circumstances); Gregg v.
Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976) (death denalty for murder upheld ).

3° In so holding, the Court weighed the gravity of the offense and the
harshness of the penalty, and looked to the sentences imposed for similar
conduct in the same and other jurisdictions, stating that “[i]f more serious
crimes are subject to the same penalty, or to less serious penalties, that is some
indication that the punishment at issue may be excessive.” Jd at 291.
Applying the considerations enunciated in Solem, a punitive award, 2,100
times the amount of actual damages, is obviously excessive and grossly
disproportionate to the offense of bad faith failure to pay an insurance claim.
Moreover, consideration of the fines allowed for violation of the Alabama
Insurance Code, which proscribes a general practice of refusing to pay or
settle claims, removes all doubt that the award here was excessive. Section
27-1-12 of the Alabama Code provides that a willful violation of the statute is
punishable, at most, by a $1,000 fine. See Ala. Code § 27-1-12 (1975).

23

were not. There is also no historical support for such
an exception.

Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. at 289.

The governing principle of proportionality as a protection
against arbitrariness and excessiveness in punishment compels
reversal of the award of $3.5 million against Aetna for the
“offense” of paying only a portion, rather than the whole, of a
$3,000 insurance .iaim. The award of $3.5 million in punitive
damages against Aetna was rendered in a proceeding which
failed to comport with due process, and which permitted the
jury to award punitive damages in an amount which was
arbitrary and wholly disproportionate to the offense charged."
The complete absence of standards for assessing punitive
damages (an infirmity which would not survive in other
criminal contexts ) has led inevitably to a proliferation of similar
punitive awards—a result which the Eighth Amendment pro-
scribes.

Despite the magnitude of the punitive damages award
assessed against Aetna, the court below concluded that “the
verdict is [not] so excessive as to warrant a finding that it was
based upon bias, passion, prejudice or some other improper
motive.” Jurisdictional Statement, App. A at 35a. To call the
verdict below anything but excessive, however, rejects the
concept of proportionality, and gives open-ended indulgence to
the sort of judge or jury passion that inflates such awards. By
upholding an award of $3.5 million in punitive damages—a
punishment that is over 2,100 times the amount of actual

Significantly, this Court, reviewing the role of the jury in meting out
criminal sentences, has emphasized the importance of providing proper
guidance to juries to protect against arbitrary and discriminatory sentences.
See Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. at 189 (“discretion must be suitably directed
and limited so as to minimize the risk of wholly arbitrary and capricious
action”). Although guidance has traditionally been provided to juries
assessing punishment in criminal contexts, no similar guidance—or, at least,
no useful guidance—has been rendered by courts to juries vested with the
power to assess punitive damages.

24

damages allegedly suffered—the court below has sanctioned a
scheme of punishment which bears no rational relation to the
offense charged.32 Such punishment should not be upheld
under the plain words and purposes of the Eighth Amendment.

32 This Court has held a fine of $3.5 million to be excessive. In United
States v. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. 258, 304-05 (1947), this Court
concluded that an unconditional fine of $3.5 million against a union for
criminal contempt was excessive, in light of the character of the defendant’s
conduct, the effectiveness of the sanction, the financial resources of the
defendant and the burden imposed upon the defendant. The Court reduced
the fine to $700,000, with an additional fine of $2,800,000 payable if the
defendant persisted with its noncompliance with a restraining order.

, SS =

25

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above and for the additional
reasons advanced in the Brief for the Appellant, the decision

below should be reversed.

Of Counsel:

Jack H. BLAINE

Vice President, State Relations,
and General Counsel

EDWARD J. ZIMMERMAN

Senior Associate General Counsel

AMERICAN COUNCIL OF LIFE
INSURANCE

1850 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006-2284

(202) 862-4000

Jor W. PEEL
Vice President and
General Counsel
JOHN P. DINEEN
Assistant General Counsel
HEALTH INSURANCE ASSOCIATION
OF AMERICA
919 Third Avenue
28th Floor
New York, New York 10022
(212) 486-5578

AUGUST, 1985

Respectfully submitted,

Erwin N. GRIswoL_D
(Counsel of Record)
THomaS F. CULLEN, Jr.
PaTRICiIA A. DUNN
Jones, Day, Reavis & POGUE
655 15th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005-5701
(202) 879-3939

Counsel for Amici

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0327%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
