# Amicus Curiae Brief — Bowen v. American Hospital Assn.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0316%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 610

## Text

BEST AVAILABLE COPY ll

Supreme Court, U.S.
“BS a. 1)

A
No. 84-1529 | AUG 29 1985

iL, JR.

IN THE JOSEPH F

CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

MARGARET M. HECKLER, SECRETARY OF HEALTH
AND HUMAN SERVICES.

Petitioner.
VS.
AMERICAN HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION, et al.

Re spondents,

ON A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
CARLTON JOHNSON
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER, MARGARET M.
HECKLER

James Bopp, Jr.

Thomas J. Marzen*

Thomas J. Balch

Sharon M. Paulus

The National Legal Center for
the Medically Dependent
and Disabled, Inc.

P.O. Box 441069

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 632-6245

Attorneys for the Amicus

*Counsel of Record

Central Publishing Company. Inc.. Indianapolis. IN 46206

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I Lh dS eco beitcccdisecededeccces ili
Interest of the Amicus Curiae ...................4. l
oe an i ceca ec encenseaee 2
a a, a cee eclewanseuns 5
RE eee 5

Il. THE SELECTION PROCESS AT OKLA-
HOMA CHILDREN’S MEMORIAL
HOSPITAL ILLUSTRATES THE
COMPELLING NECESSITY THAT
SECTION 504 APPLY TO DISCRIM-
INATORY MEDICAL PRACTICES ....... 6

A. The Selection Process Discriminated
Against Infants with Congenital Disabil-
i Ce Bie ee a eaees 7

B. Social, Intellectual, and Other Non-
Medical Criteria Were Considered in
Determining Whether an Infant Should
Be Denied Beneficial Medical Tred&tment 8

C. Recommendations for Denial of Beneficial
Medical Treatment Led to the Death of
EE. SG dd bectduacteus se 13

III. SECTION 504 WAS VIOLATED WHEN
HANDICAPPED INFANTS WERE
DENIED ACCESS TO MEDICAL CARE
AT OKLAHOMA CHILDREN’S MEM-
EE | EERE sce ucilecccdeccedecdene 15

A. Discrimination Between Infants with
“Significant Handicaps” and Infants with
“Minimal Handicaps” ir the Initial
Selection Process Violated the Plain
Language of Section 504................ 16

B. Discrimination Among Infants with
“Significant Handicaps” on the Basis of
Intellectual, Social, Economic, and other
Nonmedical Criteria Violated Plain
Language of Section 504................ 16

IV. CARLTON JOHNSON, AN INFANT WITH
CONGENITAL DISABILITIES, WAS
DENIED MEDICAL TREATMENT ON
TWO SEPARATE AND DISTINCT
OCCASIONS AT OKLAHOMA CHIL-
DREN’S MEMORIAL HOSPITAL IN
VIOLATION OF SECTION 504 ........... 18

V. THIS COURT SHOULD ACKNOWLEDGE
THE AUTHORITY OF FEDERAL LAW TO
PROTECT BOTH INFANTS WITH DIS-
ABILITIES AND THEIR PARENTS ..... 21

A. The Injunction Currently in Force Has
Prevented the Federal Government From
Investigating the Selection Process at
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital 21

B. Section 504 Must Apply to Discrim-
inatory Medical Practices to Protect
PaCenes TEAS «.o3svccesasseeneuueeess 22

C. The Federal Government Must Have the
Power to Investigate Allegations of
Discriminatory Conduct in all Fed-
erally Funded Programs ............... 24

COMGDREE . . . 4 ckcédcuetioces scenes aeuneeeennn 25

**f

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Pages:

American Hospital Association v. Heckler, No. 84-
6211 (2d Cir. Dec. 27, 1984), cert. granted, 105 S.Ct.

PUP CCSCMEG A ci ce ks sd eeccedeccceeces 5
American Hospital Association v. Heckler, 585 F.
i” 22
Lassiter v. Department of Social Services, 452 U.S. 18
ME CUAREEAS CGA de dbeedcedcrvdcececes 23
Southeastern Community College v. Davis, 442 U.S.
AUER we doe bchicccoaccccvececcce 15
Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ............. 23

United States v. University Hospital, State University
of New York at Stony Brook, 729 F.2d 144 (1984) 15

Statutes:
ee DOR gk ccc ccccccccecce 15, 19
EE 18

Child Abuse Amendments of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-457,
tit. 1 §§121-28, 98 Stat. 1749, 1752-55 (codified as
amended at 42 U.S.C. §§5101-5103 (Supp. 1985) 24

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 §504, 29 U.S.C. §794
eS Ce RhWesiebesicesvdccecsccese passim

Other Authorities:

Epstein, Meningomyelocele: “Pitfalls” in Early and
Late Management, 30 Clinical Neurosurgery 366
SE, OE A PT ere ee er ee 11

Freeman, Early Management and Decision Making
for the Treatment of Myelomeningocele: A Critique,
73 Pediatrics 564 (1984) ...........ccccceeeeees 13

Gerry, The Civil Rights of Handicapped Infants: An
Oklahoma “Experiment”, 1 Issues in L. & Med. 15
CREE kien ioe ckee odudatsadssn tenes beendseeess 22

Gross, Cox, Tatyrek, Pollay & Barnes, Early
Management and Decision Making for the Treat-
ment of Myelomeningocele, 72 Pediatrics 450
Ge 5s Gebers cede thhamendaeaiesbeneeesarke passim ,

Gross, In Reply, 74 Pediatrics 166 (1984) ........... 14

Gross, Newborns With Myelodysplasia — The Rest of
the Story, 312 New Eng. J. Med. 1632 (1985)... 9, 16

Homer, Selective Treatment, 84 Am. J. Nursing 309

SR wht dv wenennsausmindeenad GAs eh. 11
Kamin, The Science and Politics of I.Q. (1974) ...... 16
Jones, Bad Blood: The Tuskegee Syphilis Experiment

SE cakctanns Kubnckceen ceksabaneawhseudesdss 22
Kerr, Computing the Cost of Life, Newsday, June 2,

SEE 6 dni cnt uv meaved be buka aac eeeis 14

Liptak & Masiulis, Letters to the Editor: Care of
Infants with Myelomeningocele, 74 Pediatrics 165

CE -« talks dunks canden bad bins eee ane 63 ek ¢ . BB
Lorber, Early Results of Selection Treatment of Spina
Bifida Cystica, 4 Br. Med. J. 201 (1973)........ 9

Mapstone, Rekate, Nulsen, Dixon, Glaser & Jaffe,
Relationship of CSF Shunting and IQ in Children
with Myelomeningocele: A Retrospective Analysis,

BE Ce SD RE ORUIIED ob So cdcediecevcccee 8

McLone, Czyzewski, Raimondi & Sommers, Central
Nervous System Infections as a Limiting Factor in
the Intelligence of Children with Myelomeningocele,

Fe I SEE bing ccc ccobbstnecocsere x
McLone, Letters to the Editor: Care of Infants with
Myelomeningocele, 74 Pediatrics 163 (1984) ..... 14

iv

McLone, Results of Treatment of Children Born with a
Myelomeningocele, 30 Clinical Neurosurgery 407
EE Satie scks chavs Pec UWbebebueeatccdndéen

Nelson, Behrman & Vaughan, Textbook of Pediatrics,
CRE GE. BOND naccncsepeseccescescccescovenges

Shaw, Defining the Quality of Life, 7 Hastings Center
NE EE eirbbbcus i dks 05es oD eNODEeKKEC CEs

Sherwood, Who Lives, Who Dies? — Part I, Cable
News Network Documentary, Radio TV Monitor-
ing Service Transcript at 2-3, 5,6, (February 21,
Mure a GA ces ga Cua cdsdoceednesek eaaeéns

Sherwood, Who Lives, Who Dies? — Part II, Cable
News Network Documentary Radio TV Monitor-
ing Service Transcript at 4-5 (February 22, 1984)

Shurtleff, Hayden & Lowser, Myelodysplasia:
Decision for Death or Disability, 291 New Eng. J.
INE Wid heck den beGecdbasdiciecis

Shurtleff, Letters to the Editor: Care of Infants with
Myelomeningocele, 74 Pediatrics 164 (1984) .....

Turnbull & Turnbull, Parents Speak Out: Then and
EE fi oldie ckdeeneuvadenveunses

Venes, Letters to the Editor: Care of Infants with
Myelomeningocele, 74 Pediatrics 162 (1984) .....

14

19

12

10

13

12

13

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Carlton Johnson, a black male infant, was born
September 12, 1982. At birth, Carlton had
myelomeningocele, hydrocephalus, and associated
congenital anomalies. Carlton did not receive optimal
medical treatment. Instead, he was subjected to a dis-
criminatory selection process that denied him appropriate
medical care — surgery, placing a shunt and, later,
antibiotics and intravenous fluids. Carlton, unfortunately,
did not meet the intellectual, social, economic, and other
nonmedical criteria deemed necessary to provide disabled
infants access to proper treatment at Oklahoma Children’s
Memorial Hospital. He was, therefore, denied beneficial
medical treatment and transferred to a nursing care
facility. Surprisingly, Carlton survived and a year later the
myelomeningocele team at Oklahoma Children’s Memorial
Hospital reconsidered their initial recommendation for
non-treatment. Carlton finally received definitive medical
care in January, 1984 — a year and a half after his birth.
Further evaluation is necessary to determine the degree of
intellectual and physical impairment Carlton suffered asa
direct result of the delay in treatment.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C.
§794 (1982), is intended to prevent discrimination on the
basis of handicap. When Carlton Johnson was denied access
to medical treatment because of his handicaps — medical
treatment that an infant without disabilities would cer-
tainly have been provided — Carlton’s civil rights under
Section 504 were violated.

The National Legal Center for the Medically Dependent
and Disabled, Inc., a support center for the Legal Services
Corporation, represents Carlton in a prospective class ac-
tion litigation against individuals _ ssociated with
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital who selected
Carlton and other disabled children for non-treatment. An
allegation that Section 504 was violated by this selection

2

process is te crucial federal civil rights claim to be raised
by Carlton and his class. If Section 504 is held not to apply to
discriminatory medical practices, then Carlton will not
have this remedy available. This brief is thus offered to
illustrate the need for the application of Section 504 to
protect infants like Carlton. All parties have consented to
the filing of this brief.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A selection program that qualified some infants for life-
saving medical treatment and rejected others, illustrates
the compelling need for Section 504 of the Rehabilitation
Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. §794 (1982) (hereinafter cited as
“Section 504”), to apply to discriminatory medical
practices.

This selection program, implemented by a team of health
care professionals at Oklahoma Children’s Memorial
Hospital, a state institution, was applied to infants with a
congenital disability known as myelomeningocele — an
opening in the spine. The results of the program over a five
year period were reported in medical literature. During
this process of selection among children with treatable
problems, social, economic, intellectual, and other non-
medical criteria were considered before the infant was
permitted full access to medical treatment. All of the
twenty-four infants subjected to this selection process, and
who were recommended for only “supportive care,” died.
The euphemism, “supportive care” entailed denial of bene-
ficial medical treatment; it consisted of minimal comfort-
care, without the use of antibiotics or sedatives.
Recommendations for “supportive care” were made for
about half of the infants seen, even though these children
had the same chance for survival with appropriate treat-
ment as did those infants who were deemed “worthy” of
proper treatment.

The plain language of Section 504 was vioiated twice
when these handicapped infants were denied the benefits of
medical treatment: 1) when the infant who had a prognosis

3

for survival with a “significant” handicap was placed in a
selection program instead of receiving proper treatment; 2)
when an infant in the selection program was evaluated on
the basis of social, economic, and intellectual criteria, as
well as the degree of the child’s physical disability and the
economic, intellectual, and emotional resources of the
family, in order to determine if the child qualified for treat-
ment.

Carlton Johnson is a black male born with
myelomeningocele. Now nearly 3 years of age, he was
evaluated by the myelomeningocele team at Oklahoma
Children’s Memorial Hospital shortly after his birth and
shortly after the time of the reported study. Carlton did not
meet the social, intellectual, economic, and other non-
medical criteria necessary to qualify him for proper treat-
ment. He was transferred, presumably to die, to an inter-
mediate nursing care facility.

One month later, Carlton returned to Oklahoma
Children’s Memorial Hospital. He was critically ill, suffer-
ing from severe dehydration and an ear infection. Instead
of the aggressive therapy that any nonhar.dicapped cnild
would have received, Carlton was denied the benefits of
laboratory tests to monitor his condition, intravenous
fluids, and antibiotics. But surprisingly, Carlton improved
after rehydration through oral-gastric tube feedings. His
infection subsided on its own.

: Carlton Johnson’s rights under the plain language of
Section 504 were violated twice at Oklahoma Children’s
Memorial Hospital. During his first admission; he was
subjected to an evaluation that led to a recommendation for
“supportive care” only, which discriminatorily denied him
access to beneficial medical treatment. During his second
admission, Carlton was deprived of appropriate treatment
in a life-threatening situation — treatment that would
have, without question, been provided to any
nonhandicapped infant

Section 504 must be held to apply to discriminatory

4

medical practices so that the federal government has the
power to investigate and remedy these types of dis-
criminatory conduct. Yet due to the injunction issued by
the lower court in this case, the Department of Health and
Human Services has been unable to investigate or remedy
the situation at Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital.

While it is asserted that the final decision for “supportive
care” or treatment — actually a decision between life and
death — was left to the parents, parents do not have the
informational and emotional resources available to them to
make a competent decision immediately after the birth of
their disabled child. The parents routinely relied on the
expertise of the myelomeningocele team; there is no
evidence thai the parents are told of the nonmedical social,
economic, and intellectual criteria considered in making
the recommendation. The myelomeningocele team in fact
made the decision, not the parents. After a decision for
“supportive care” was effectuated and the child died, rights
to the companionship, care, and custody of the child were
lost. Thus, not only were child’s rights discriminatorily
denied, but parental rights were also violated.

A recent Act of Congress treats the type of dis-
criminatory conduct evidenced by the selection process at
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital as child abuse.
But the sole remedy the Act provides is termination of
federal funds to state child neglect and abuse agencies that
fail to pursue such instances of abuse. Unless Section 504
applies to discriminatory medical practices, the federal
government would be compelled to continue funding such
discriminatory medical treatment regimens, but be
required to terminate funding to state child protection
agencies that fail to pursue such instances of child abuse —
an absurd and anomolous result.

The federal government must have the power to
investigate and remedy allegations of discriminatory
medical practices in order to protect both disabled infants
and their parents; Section 504 must be available to parents
and disabled children to provide them a federal remedy for

5

medical discrimination. Children like Carlton Johnson are
in obvious need of the protection of federal civil rights law.
A decision by this Court that Section 504 does not apply to
discriminatory medical practices would unjustly deprive
the federal government, disabled children, and their
parents of this remedy.

ARGUMENT
I. INTRODUCTION

This amicus curiae brief is submitted on behalf of
Carlton Johnson, a child who has been subjected to dis-
criminatory medical treatment because of his disability, in
support of the position of the United States that Section 504
of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. §794 (1982),
applies to discriminatory medical practices.

The compelling need for the application of Section 504 to
discriminatory medical practices shall be demonstrated by
description of a selection process, implemented at
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital, a state institu-
tion, designed to sort out infants for treatment or nontreat-
ment based on projected intellectual status, their ability to
walk, and social and economic factors. This selection
process has been fully described and discussed in an article
authored by several of the health care professionals who
participated in it. Twenty-four disabled children subjected
to this process died after they were selected for the non-
treatment on the basis of criteria that clearly violate the
plain language of Section 504. The personal tragedy of
Carlton Johnson, who has been subjected to two separate
and distinct violations of Section 504 as a patient at
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital, will also be
described.

By holding that Section 504 does not apply to
discriminatory medical practices, the Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit in American Hospital Association v.
Heckler, No. 84-6211 (2d Cir. Dec. 27, 1984), cert. granted,
105 S.Ct. 3475 (1985), effectively forbade the United States

6

from undertaking any investigative or enforcement action
to stop such blatant discriminatory conduct; it foreclosed
children with disabilities or their parents from invoking
the protection of Section 504 in the face of past or
continuing discriminatory medical practices.

If the Second Circuit decision is affirmed by this Court,
then Carlton Johnson and and other young disabled
children will not have the remedies afforded by Section 504
available to them; the federal government will be impotent
to intercede on behalf of these vulnerable infants even in
the face of egregiously discriminatory medical practices.
Such an absurd and unjust result must be rejected by this
Court.

II. THE SELECTION PROCESS AT OKLAHOMA
CHILDREN’S MEMORIAL HOSPITAL
ILLUSTRATES THE COMPELLING NECESSITY
THAT SECTION 504 APPLY TO
DISCRIMINATORY MEDICAL PRACTICES.

In October, 1983, a program of early selection for
treatment or nontreatment of infants born with
myelomeningocele was described in the medical journal
Pediatrics. Gross, Cox, Tatyrek, Pollay & Barnes, Karly
Management and Decision Making for the Treatment of
Myelomeningocele, 72 Pediatrics 450 (1983) (hereinafter
cited as “Gross”). The program was developed at the Uni-
versity of Oklahoma Health Services Center in 1977, and
the report encompassed the five year period from 1977
through 1982.

During this five year period, sixty-nine infants were
screened; thirty-three were recommended for “supportive
care” — an euphemism for denial of beneficial medical
treatment — on the basis of intellectual, social, and
economic criteria. The twenty-four infants who in fact
received “supportive care” all died within 189 days of birth.
Id. at 452-53.

7

A. The Selection Process Discriminated Against
Infants with Congenital Disabilities.

The selection process applied to infants born with
myelomeningocele. A congenital disability,
myelomeningocele is characterized by an opening in the
spine at which a “sac” protrudes from the body of the child.
This sac contains cerebrospinal fluid and nerve roots that
would normally be contained within the spinal column.
Depending on various factors, including the level of the
myelomeningocele on the spine and the extent of nerve
involvement, an affected infant might experience loss of
lower extremity function and, perhaps, loss of bowel and
bladder control. “Optimal treatment [of the
myelomeningocele] consists of prompt surgical closure of
the skin defect, preferably within 48 hours after birth, to
prevent meningeal infection.” Nelson, Behrmar and
Vaughan, Textbook of Pediatrics 1562 (12th ed. 1983). “It
{myelomeningocele] is one of the most common develop-
mental anomalies of the nervous system; the incidence
ranges from 0.2-0.4/1000 births in different population
groups.... Little is known about the etiology of
myelomeningocele.” /d. at 1561. If treated, almost all
children with myelomeningocele will be ambulatory —
they may walk with braces or crutches, or may use a wheel-
chair. Mental retardation is not directly associated with
myelomeningocele if it is properly treated.

Hydrocephalus, a potentially serious anomoly often
associated with myelomeningocele, occurs when too much
cerebrospinal fluid accumulates within the cranium. If
untreated, this condition causes the head to greatly enlarge
and damages the developing brain. Treatment of
hydrocephalus involves placement of a shunt that drains
the excess fluid into another body cavity, most commonly
the abdomen. /d. at 1568. Mental retardation sometimes
occurs in infants with hydrocephalus; however, “[t ]he mere
presence of hydrocephalus does not necessarily imply a
poor intellectual prognosis and does not preclude

8

independent existence.” Mapstone, Rekate, Nulsen, Dixon,
Glaser and Jaffe, Relationship of CSF Shunting and IQ in
Children with Myelomeningocele: A Retrospective Analysis,
11 Child’s Brain 112, 117 (1984). See also McLone,
Czyzewski, Raimondi and Sommers, Central Nervous
System Infections as a Limiting Factor in the Intelligence of
Children with Myelomeningocele, 70 Pediatrics 338 (1982).
If achild is treated with a shunt, then there is no necessary
intellectual impairment.

It was the co-existence of hydrocephalus, the possibility
of mental retardation, and the various other problems
sometimes associated with myelomeningocele that led to
the development of the discriminatory selection process at
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital that was used to
determine which infants were to receive only the
“supportive care,” which involved denial of beneficial
medical treatment leading predictably to death.

B. Social, Intellectual, and Other Nonmedical Criteria
Were Considered in Determining Whether an
Infant Should Be Denied Beneficial Medical Treat-
ment.

When an infant with myelomeningocele presented at
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital, a “team” —
consisting of a physician’s assistant, a pediatrician, an
orthopaedist, a neurosurgeon, an urologist, a nurse
clinician, a social worker, physical and occupational
therapists, and a psychologist — screened the child and the
child’s family; various diagnostic tests were performed. “If
the child is found to have a lower lumbar or sacral lesion
and no severe hydrocephalus or if there are no associated
anomalies present, sac closure is recommended within a
few days. If the lesion is at a high lumbar or thoracic level,
severe hydrocephalus or other brain malformation is
present, and/or other associated anomalies are noted, a

9

more formal meeting of the team is scheduled within 48
hours of admission.” Gross at 452. Greater degrees of phy-
sical disability are associated with higher level lesions. The
existence of a brain malformation indicates a greater
possibility of mental retardation.

This formal “team meeting” to determine whether or not
to provide an infant access to medical treatment occurred
despite the fact, as the lead author of the report describing
the selection process later conceded, that “/b/abies
considered to have a poor prognosis have a survival equal to
that of babies with a good prognosis, if they receive early sur-
gical treatment.” Gross, Newborns with Myelodysplasia —
The Rest of the Story, 312 New Eng. J. Med. 1632, 1633
(1985) (emphasis added). Thus, the initial determination
that some children ought to be considered for nontreatment
bore no relation to whether or not treatment would enable
the child to survive. It was based on the premise that some
children ought not survive, even though they could if
treated.

At the formal meeting “factors considered significant by
Shurtleff et al (and to a lesser extent those considered
significant by Lorber) were reviewed” by the team. Gross
at 452.

Under Lorber’s criteria, an infant would receive treat-
ment unless he or she had a high level lesion, “gross
enlargement of the head”, “severe paraplegia”, or some
other severe congenital defect. Jd. at 450 (citing Lorber,
Early Results of Selection Treatment of Spina Bifida
Cystica, 4 Br. Med. J. 201 (1973) (emphasis added) ). The
presence of a high level lesion indicates a likelihood of a
greater degree of physical disability; “gross enlargment of
the head” might indicate a greater possibility of intellec-
tual impairment. The use of “severe paraplegia” as a
selection criterion certainly indicates that a prediction
about the ability of a child to walk unaided would be a
factor in deciding whether to provide the child with life-
saving treatment.

10

Shurtleffs criteria differed from Lorber’s “in that
aggressive treatment was recommended for any infant,
regardless of the level of the lesion, if a good intellectual
prognosis was noted.” Gross at 451 (emphasis added).
Shurtleff’s criteria also included such factors as the
existence of any major malformations that would preclude
self-care as an adult, the economic and _ intellectual
resources of the family, the distance the family lived from
an appropriate facility, and commitments by social
agencies to provide resources (such as a foster home or
medical care costs) in determining whether or not a child
would be treated. /d. (citing Shurtleff, Hayden and Lowser,
Myelodyspiasia: Decision for Death or Disability, 291 New
Eng. J. of Med. 1005 (1974)).

In the selection process, the myelomeningocele team was
also “influenced” by a pseudo-algebraic formula — QL =
NE x (H + S) — published by Shaw in Defining the Quality
of Life, 7 Hastings Center Rep. 11 (1977): “In the formula,
QL is quality of life, NE represents the patient’s natural
endowment, both physical and intellectual, H is the
contribution from home and family and §S is the contribu-
tion from society.” Gross at 456. It was the
myelomeningocele team’s view “that external cir-
cumstances are crucially important in the outlook for the
newborn with myelomeningocele. Thus, the treatment for
babies with identical ‘selection criteria’ could be quite dif-
ferent, depending on the contribution from home and
society.” Id.

Following an evaluation of a child and the child’s family
under these intellectual, social, and economic criteria, the
myelomeningocele team made a recommendation for
either “vigorous treatment” or “supportive care.” /d.

“Vigorous treatment” consisted of prompt sac closure
(and thus prevention of infection), the insertion of ashunt if
hydrocephalus were present, and all other indicated
therapies.

11

“Supportive care” consisted of keeping the infant
comfortable until death occurred. There was no surgery to
close the opening in the infant’s back. When hydrocephalus
was present, the cerebrospinal fluid was allowed to
accumulate causing gross enlargement of the infant’s head
and compression of the brain. “Antibiotics are not given for
infection and sedation is not prescribed.” Jd. at 452. Thus,
raging infections would spread throughout the central ner-
vous system, gaining access through the opening in the
spine, and would go untreated; a child would not be sedated
for relief of pain. The predictable result was death, which
occurred in every case in the reported program in which
only “supportive care” was provided.

The authors of the article that described the program
stated that the final decision between “vigorous treatment”
or “supportive care” was left to the parents; and if the child
is deemed unworthy of treatment, but the parents still want
their child treated, then “their wishes are followed
unless the operative risk is considered a direct threat to the
baby’s life.” Jd. There is no indication, however, that the
parents were informed of the nonmedical, intellectual,
social, and economic factors that entered into the
recommendation. Moreover, it is “unrealistic for a
physician to expect a father (mother is generally still
hospitalized) to make such a difficult decision at a time of
terrible emotional trauma. Invariably, in these cir-
cumstances, families make a decision based on information
that is given to them by the pediatrician, pediatric
neurologist or neurosurgeon. The great likelihood is that
any one of these physicians will have his/her philosophy
concerning what should be done and, therefore, whether
intentional or unintentional, the information will be
skewed. It is, therefore, the physician that is responsible for
the immediate decision for or against treatment.” Epstein,
Meningomyelocele: “Pitfalls” in Early and Late
Management, 30 Clinical Neurosurgery 366, 366-67 (1983).
See also Homer, Selective Treatment, 87 Am. J. Nursing 309

12

(1984). Indeed, Dr. Gross, lead author of the report
describing the selection process, admitted that “it takes a
great deal of courage on the amount of parents to say, in the
face of a recommendaticn from a physician, that they wish
to go counter to that. They certainly do not have the back-
ground at the time the child is born to really know what is
expected.” Sherwood, “Who Lives, Who Dies?” — Part II,
Cable News Network Documentary (February 22, 1984).
See generally H. Turnbull & A. Turnbull, Parents Speak
Out: Then and Now (1984).

Even though the authors asserted that the “final
decision” was made by the parents, it is therefore unreason-
able to presume that the parents could have made an
intelligent and informed decision at the time of the child’s
birth. Parents would almost always rely on the expertise of
the myelomeningocele team and follow their reeommenda-
tion. And there is no evidence that the team informed the
parents of the various nonmedical criteria — including
criteria that related to the parents’ social and economic
status, geographical location, their presumed ability to
cope with a disabled child, and the projected impact of the
child on family life — that formed part of the basis for their
recommendation. The members of the myelomeningocele
team were the true decisionmakers at Oklahoma
Children’s Memorial Hospital, not the parents.

In sum, the selection process at Oklahoma Children’s
Memorial Hospital involved conjecture and the use of a
number of nonmedical criteria — intellectual capacity,
degree of paraplegia, family wealth and resources,
geographical location — that had nothing to do with
whether beneficial medical treatment was available to
preserve the child’s life or to correct an impairment. Tothe
extent that such nonmedical criteria were employed, the
participants played judge, jury, and seer for the children
they evaluated, in effect recommending death for those
they deemed unworthy of life.

13

C. Recommendations for Denial of Beneficial Medical
Treatment Led to the Death of Twenty-four
Infants.

Sixty-nine infants with myelomeningocele were seen at
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital during the five
years that the reported study was in progress. Only thirty-
six (52%) of these infants were recommended for “vigorous
treatment.” ' The remaining thirty-three (48%) were
recommended for “supportive care”.?

' When screening an infant and making a recommendation, the
myelomeningocele team considered the criteria first published by Dr.
Shurtleff as significant. Gross at 451. However, during the same
period, 87% of the infants with myelomeningocele who presented to
Dr. Shurtleff at Children’s Orthopaedic Hospital and Medical Center
in Seattle, Washington, received surgical (vigorous) treatment.
Shurtleff, Letters to the Editor: Care of Infants with
Myelomeningocele, 74 Pediatrics 164, 164 (1984).

* The nature and results of this selection program were subsequently
criticized in the medical literature. “(T]he Oklahoma team is not
ambivalent about giving only supportive care to 48% of the
children.... They were not even ambivalent about not treating five
children with L-5 sacral lesions: children who will walk with minimal
bracing.” Freeman, Early Management and Decision Making for the
Treatment of Myelomeningocele: A Critique, 73 Pediatrics 564, 565
(1984). “Do the authors seriously contend that the child with a high
thoracolumbar lesion does not have the potential for human relation-
ships? If so, I would suggest that they attend some of the youth
programs at the national Spina Bifida Association of America
meeting and educate themselves further in this regard.” Venes,
Letters to the Editor: Care of Infants with Myelomeningocele, 74
Pediatrics 162, 162 (1984). .... “The reader unfamiliar with children
who have myelomeningocele would believe, after reading this paper,
that half of these children (48%) can be expected to have such a
wretched existence that they should not be allowed to live.... In the
past five years, we have treated all newborns who have
myelomeningocele with full therapy. ... None of our patients are ina
vegetative state: all appear to enjoy life; and all interact well
socially.... A review of the school performance of our older children
reveals that 53% are at grade level or above, and 33% are at grade level
but with special help.” Liptak, Masiulis, Letters to the Editor: Care of
Infants with Myelomeningocele, 74 Pediatrics 165, 165 (1984).

(Footnote continued on following page)

14

Five of the infants recommended for nontreatment by
the myelomeningocele team at Oklahoma Children’s
Memorial Hospital nevertheless eventually received
vigorous medical attention®. Although two of these five
children died at nine and seventy-two days of age
respectively, the other three are alive and well. “One
preschool aged boy with a thoracolumbar level lesion is
able to stand and is considered to be doing well for his age.
Another has microcephaly and is developmentally delayed,
but is healthy. ... The third child has moved to another
state, the child’s name has been changed, and we have no
current information.” Gross, Jn Reply, 74 Pediatrics 166,
167 (1984). When treated, therefore, the children
recommended for nontreatment were indeed capable of
survival.

(Footnote continued from preceeding page)

“I read with disbelief the article by Gross et al. .... In our hands
prompt treatment of unselected patients with myelomeningocele
ensures that 85% survive, and of the surviving children, 73% have
normal intelligence, 74.5% are community ambulators, and 85% are
continent of urine on clean intermittent catherization.... The
published opinion of the Spina Bifida Association of America, an or-
ganization composed principally of parents of children born with
myelomeningocele, is dramatically opposed to the management put
forth by Gross et al. The documented suffering appears to be of lessor
[sic] concern to these families while education, access to transporta-
tion, and eventual employment are major concerns.” McLone, Letters
to the Editor: Care of Infants with Myelomeningocele, 74 Pediatrics
162, 163 (1984). “The OCMH doctors quoted the writings of the Rev.
Richard A. McCormick, Rose F. Kennedy professor of Christian
ethics of Georgetown University, to support their selection method.
But McCormick ... told Newsday that the OCMH rate of not
operating on children with spina bifida is abusively high. They’re
abusing what I have said.’” Kerr, Computing the Cost of Life, News-
day, June 2, 1985 at 4, col. 1. “We would agrue that it is moral and
ethically correct to treat all children born with a myelomeningocele
and that no valid criteria exists for the selection of infants for
nontreatment. McLone, Results of Treatment of Children Born with a
Myelomeningocele, 30 Clinical Neurosurgery 407, 407 (1983).

* Of the remaining four infants recommended for “supportive care,”
three received delayed treatment and one moved to California at one
month of age and was lost to follow-up. Gross at 453.

15

The twenty-four (35%) infants who were in fact denied
medically indicated treatment during the five year period
of the study all died within 189 days of birth. Gross at 453.

III. SECTION 504 WAS VIOLATED WHEN
HANDICAPPED INFANTS WERE DENIED
ACCESS TO MEDICAL CARE AT OKLAHOMA
CHILDREN’S MEMORIAL HOSPITAL.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C.
§794 (1982), provides in relevant part:

No otherwise qualified handicapped individual in
the United States, as defined in Section 706(7) of this
title, shall, solely by reason of his handicap, be
excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits
of, or be subjected to discrimination under any
program or activity receiving Federal financial
assistance.

A “handicapped” individual is defined in 29 U.S.C. §706
(7B) 1982), as “any person who(i) has a physical or mental
impairment which substantially limits one or more of such
person’s major life activities, (ii) has a record of such
impairment, or (iii) is regarded as having such impair-
ment.” “An otherwise qualified handicapped person is one
who is able to meet all of a program’s requirements in spite
of his handicap.” Southeastern Community College v. Davis,
442 U.S. 397, 406 (1979).

Under the plain language of the Rehabilitation Act,
therefore, the children subjected to the selection process
were “handicapped individuals.” See United States v.
University Hospital, State University of New York at Stony
Brook, 729 F.2d 144, 155 (2d Cir. 1984). They were
“otherwise qualified handicapped individuals” because
they were able to meet all the “requirements” of a medical
program or activity — they could benefit from appropriate
medical care, despite their handicaps. Moreoever, the
selection process and treatment regimen that these

16

children were subjected to constituted discrimination in
violation of the plain language of Section 504 of the Act.

A. Discrimination Between Infants with “Significant
Handicaps” and Infants with “Minimal Handicaps”
in the Initial Selection Process Violated the Plain
Language of Section 504.

The first violation of Section 504 by Oklahoma Children’s
Memorial Hospital was the application of a selection
process that permitted infants with a prognosis for a
minimal handicap automatic access to medical treatment,
while infants with a prognosis for a more significant
handicap were placed in a formal selection process —
despite the fact that “[bJabies considered to have a poor
prognosis have asurvival equal to that of babies with a good
prognosis, if they receive early surgical treatment.” Gross,
Newborns with Myelodysplasia — The Rest of the Story, 312
New Eng. J. of Med. 1632, 1633 (1985) (emphasis added).

This distinction drawn between an infant predicted to
have a “significant handicap” and an infant predicted to
have a “minimal handicap” — evidentially based on
differing degrees of intellectual capacity and physical dis-
ability — clearly violated Section 504: It excluded an infant
with a “significant handicap” from the participation in,
and denied the infant the benefits of, the automatic medical
treatment regimen accorded the infant with a “minimal
handicap” for reasons based solely on the projected handi-
caps of the infant. See generally L. Kamin, The Science and
Politics of I.Q. (1974).

B. Discrimination Among Infants with “Significant
Handicaps” on the Basis of Inteilectual, Social,
Economic, and Other Nonmedical Criteria Violated
the Plain Language of Section 504.

Infants with a prognosis for survival with a significant
handicap were compelled to meet other additional dis-
criminatory criteria before they might be recommended

17

for access to medical treatment. These criteria included
such factors as the predicted intelligence quotient (I.Q.) of
the child, the degree of physical disability, the economic
and intellectual resources of the child and family, the geo-
graphical proximity of the family to a medical facility, and
the expected contributions to the child’s care from home
and society. Gross at 451, 456.

Using Lorber’s criteria, the infant would receive only
supportive care if “severe paraplegia” existed. Gross at 450;
see also this brief at 9. This clearly discriminated solely on
the basis of physical handicap, which is plainly contrary to
the express purpose of Section 504.

Using Shurtieff’s criteria, children with a good
intellectual prognosis were recommended for vigorous
treatment regardless of the level of the lesion. Shurtleff
also considered the intellectual ability of the infant’s
parents in making a recommendation for or against treat-
ment. Gross at 451; see also this brief at 10. The use of these
factors clearly discriminated on the basis of mental
handicap, contrary to Section 504.

Using Shaw’s formula, the “natural endowment” of the
infant is significant. Gross at 456; see also this brief at 10.
“Natural endowment” would include both the projected
intellectual capacity and the physical ability of the infant;
both factors discriminated solely on the basis of handicap,
in violation of Section 504.

The application of these criteria in the second phase of
the selection process resulted in the discriminatory denial
of treatment to infants based solely on the basis of their
handicaps: The children who were recommended for and
received only “supportive care” — food, water, and little
more — were denied the benefits of, and participation in,
the medical treatment regimen that was accorded those

18

children who were deemed worthy of care.‘ As a result,
they died.

IV. CARLTON JOHNSON, AN INFANT WITH
CONGENITAL DISABILITIES, WAS DENIED
MEDICAL TREATMENT ON TWO SEPARATE
AND DISTINCT OCCASIONS AT OKLAHOMA
CHILDREN’S MEMORIAL HOSPITAL IN
VIOLATION OF SECTION 504.

Carlton Johnson, now almost 3 years of age, was born on
September 12, 1982. Carlton, a black male infant, exper-
ienced respiratory distress at birth and was found to have
myelomeningocele with hydrocephalus, microcephaly, and
anemia.

Progress notes made by myelomeningocele team
members in Carlton’s medical record stated that he was

4 The Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
interpreted Section 504 to prevent just this sort of discriminatory
medical practice:

In the case of an infant born with myelomeningocele, for
example, the treatment which must be considered is surgery to
close the protruding sac to prevent infection and other potentially
fatal consequences. The “handicap” is the physical and/or mental
impairment the infant is regarded as likely to have in future life.
To the exteni the myelomeningocele itself or other complications
(such as respiratory problems, infection, anesthetic risk, or other
factors) present, in the exercise of reasonable medical judgment,
contraindications to the surgery, the infant is not able to benefit, in
spite of his or her handicap, froia the surgery. However, if the
surgery would be medically beneficial, in that it would be likely, in
the exercise of reasonable medical judgment, to bring about its
intended result of avoiding infection or other fatal consequences,
then failure to perform the surgery because of the anticipated
impairments in future life offends section 504, as the withholding
of surgery is because of the handicap and in spite of the infant’s
being qualified to receive the surgery.

Dep’t of Health and Human Services, Office of the Sec’y, Non-
discrimination on the Basis of Handicap: Procedures and Guidelines
Relating to Health Care for Handicapped Infants, 49 Fed. Reg. 1621,
1637 (1984).

19

“not a good baby” and that “neurosurgery [was] not en-
thusiastic about shunting the child and closing the defect.”
The medical records state that information was given to his
mother, Sharon Johnson, and that she would make the final
decision. Mrs. Johnson, however, said that “the only thing
they told me was about a shunt, and this, you know, after
they told me about six months, that he would live six
months without it, and then with it, a year, and I just
figured, what’s the sense in — he already suffers, so why
should he suffer anymore?” Sherwood, “Who Lives, Who
Dies?“ — Part 1, Cable News Network Documentary
(February 21, 1984). This statement indicated that Mrs.
Johnson was not given adequate information to make a
reasoned and informed decision.

Once it was determined that Carlton would be denied
medical treatment, he was transferred to a nursing care
facility for custodial care. His medical expenses at the
hospital and the nursing home were paid by Medicaid.

Section 504 was violated when Carlton was denied access
to beneficial medical treatment and was instead
transferred to the nursing home. Carlton is a handicapped
individual within the definition of 29 U.S.C. §706
(7(B)(1982). He was “otherwise qualified” because he was
capable of benefiting from medical treatment. Therefore,
Carlton was discriminatorily denied medical treatment
solely by reason of his handicap, in violation of the plain
language of Section 504.

On October 17, 1982, Carlton returned to Oklahoma
Children’s Memorial Hospital with severe but treatable
problems. His medical records show that Carlton was now
experiencing severe respiratory distress and periods of
apnea (cessation of breathing). On admission Carlton was
cyanotic (bluish), and his condition was listed as guarded.
Further clinical examination revealed bilateral otitis
media (ear infection) and dehydration. Physician’s orders
stated that there were to be no laboratory tests to monitor

20

his condition; there were to be no intravenous fluids to
correct the dehydration; there were to be no antibiotics for
the ear infection. If Carlton were to suffer a cardio-
pulmonary arrest, he was not to be put on a respirator and
no drugs were to be used. The only intervention that was to
be allowed in this life-threatening situation was suctioning,
giving of oxygen, and cardiac compressions.

Fortunately, Carlton did not experience a cardio-
pulmonary arrest. The only medical care that Carlton re-
ceived during his hospitalization was oral-gastric tube
feedings. He received no antibiotics for his ear infection.
His dehydration was not treated with intravenous fluids
and routine laboratory tests to monitor his condition were
not performed. Despite this lack of ordinary medical treat-
ment, Carlton’s condition improved after he was
rehydrated through the tube feedings. His ear infection
cleared on its own.

This outrageous conduct clearly violated the plain
language of Section 504. Carlton was denied beneficial
treatment for his severe dehydration and ear infection —
conditions totally unrelated to his handicap — solely
because of his handicap. There is no question that a non-
handicapped infant would have been aggressively treated
in this life-threatening situation. This is an obvious and
clear example of exactly the discriminatory conduct that
Section 504 was enacted to prevent.

Carlton’s medical records indicate that, with the
exception of an emergency room visit at which time a
hernia was diagnosed, he was not seen again at Oklahoma
Children’s Memorial Hospital until a year later in October,
1983. At that time it was becoming increasingly clear that
he was not going to die. Both his head and the “sac” on his
back had become grossly enlarged before Carlton was
referred to neurosurgery for closure of the spine and place-
ment of a shunt to treat his hydrocephalus.

21

It was not until January 30, 1984, however, that his spine
was finally closed. A shunt was placed on February 7, 1984,
and his hernias were repaired on February 17, 1984. As a
result of delay, Carlton’s head remains greatly enlarged.
Further evaluation is needed to determine the loss of
intellectual capacity and loss of ambulation — and the
greater educational and rehabilitative services he will need
— that occurred as a result of the delays in appropriate
treatment.

V. THIS COURT SHOULD ACKNOWLEDGE
THE AUTHORITY OF FEDERAL LAW TO
PROTECT BOTH INFANTS WITH DISABILITIES
AND THEIR PARENTS.

For children with disabilities and their parents to invoke
the authority of Section 504 in the face of such dis-
criminatory treatment, and in order that the federal
government should have the power to investigate and
protect both infants with disabilities and their parents
from such discrimination, this Court must recognize that
Section 504 applies to discriminatory medical practices.

A. The Injunction Currently in Force Has Prevented
the Federal Government from Investigating the
Selection Process at Oklahoma Children’s
Memorial Hospital.

On February 24, 1984, The Association for Retarded
Citizens of the United States, The Association for Persons
with Severe Handicaps, The Spina Bifida Association of
America, The Down’s Syndrome Congress, Nat Hentoff,
and Martin Gerry® filed a formal complaint with the

* Mr. Nat Hentoff is a columnist for the Village Voice and a former
member of the Executive Committee of the New York Civil Liberties
Union; Mr. Martin Gerry is former Director of the Office for Civil
Rights of the United States Department of Health, Education and
Welfare (1975-1977), and is presently counsel to Wednesday Group of
United States House of Representatives and to several national
parents and disabilities rights organizations.

22

United States Department of Health and Human Services
and the Department of Justice that alleged the selection
process at Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital
violated Section 504. The complaint requested that the
program be investigated and enforcement action taken.

On June 29, 1984, however, the Director of the Office for
Civil Rights of the Department of Health and Human
Services notified the complainants that the Department of
Health and Human Services was precluded from taking ac-
tion under Section 504 due to the injunction issued by the
district court in American Hospital Association v. Heckler,
585 F. Supp. 541 (S.D.N.Y. 1984). See Gerry, The Civil
Rights of Handicapped Infants: An Oklahoma
“Experiment”, 1 Issues in L. & Med. 15, 38-39 (1985).
Consequently, no investigation of the selection process has
been undertaken by the federal government.

Any similar decision by this Court holding that Section
504 does not apply to medical practices would permanently
render the federal government powerless to investigate
and to correct egregious forms of discriminatory conduct
— even when performed by state actors in state institutions
that receive federal funds, such as Oklahoma Children’s
Memorial Hospital.

There would be no question that the federal government
could appropriately investigate and take measures to
correct discriminatory medical decisionmaking based on
the race of children in state-run, federally funded institu-
tions. See Jones, Bad Blood: The Tuskegee Syphilis
Experiments (1981). To hold that the federal government
may not take similar steps for medical discrimination
based on disability would be contrary to the intent of
Congress and the plain language of Section 504.

B. Section 504 Must Apply to Discriminatory Medical

Practices to Protect Parental Rights.

“This Court’s decisions have by now made plain beyond
the need for multiple citation that a parent’s desire for and

23

right to ‘the companionship, care, custody, and manage-
ment of his or her children’ is an important interest that
‘undeniably warrants deference and, absent a powerful
countervailing interest, protection.’” Lassiter v. Depart-
ment of Social Services, 452 U.S. 18, 27 (1981) (citing
Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651 (1972)).

At Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital, the
myelomeningocele team purported to leave the final choice
between supportive care or vigorous treatment to the
parents: “If a pessimistic evaluation and prognosis has been
offered the family but they stil’ wish treatment, their
wishes are followed unless the operative risk is considered a
direct threat to the baby’s life. (The reverse situation,
refusal to consent to recommended surgery, did not occur.)”
Gross at 452. But it is utterly unreasonable to expect the
vast majority of parents to overrule the team’s
recommendation at a time soon after the traumatic birth of
their disabled child. There is no indication that the parents
were ever informed of the nonmedical intellectual, social,
and economic criteria that formed the recommendation.
See this brief at 12. The decision for treatment. or
“supportive care” was in fact made by the members of the
myelomeningocele team in the form of a “recommendation”
that almost all parents — in shock and without the emo-
tional or informational resources to contest the
“recommendation” — mechanically followed.

The recommendation of the team was based on criteria
that violated the plain language of Section 504. When the
infant was denied access to medical treatment in this
manner, the parents’ right to the care, custody, and
management of their child was violated: The children who
received only “supportive care” all died, completely
severing the parent-child relationship. In this fashion,
parental rights were denied on the basis of discrimination
against their children with disabilities. Yet if Section 504
were held not to apply to such discriminatory medical

24

practices, then parents in such circumstances will be
unable to claim the support of federal law to vindicate their
rights and interests.

C. The Federal Government Must Have the Power to
Investigate Allegations of Discriminatory Conduct
in All Federally Funded Programs.

The Child Abuse Amendments of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-
457, tit. 1, §§121-28, 98 Stat. 1749, 1752-55 (codified as
amended at 42 U.S.C. §§5101-5103 (Supp. 1985)), treat the
withholding of medically indicated treatment from dis-
abled infants with life threatening conditions as child
abuse. As a condition of receiving state grants under the
Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act, the State must
have a procedure in its child protective service system to
respond to reports of such abuse. If the state agency does
not investigate incidents like the selection process at
Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital, then it may be
denied federal funds.®

The selection program at Oklahoma Children’s
Memorial Hospital, a state institution, was itself funded by
federal funds insofar as the hospital and physicians were
paid through Medicaid for services rendered to Cariton
Johnson and other children subject to the selec ‘ion process.
Yet if Section 504 does not apply to discriminatory medical
practices, then the federal government will not have the
authority to stop the use of its funds to reimburse hospitals
and physicians engaged in such discriminatory neglect. At
the same time, it would be required to stop funding child

6 It should be noted that there is no indication that the Oklahoma
Children and Youth Services had even investigated the abusive prac-
tices at Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital, although they were
a matter of public record. The Oklahoma Children and Youth
Services and Oklahoma Children’s Memorial Hospital are both under
the authority of the Director and the Board of Commissioners of the
Oklahoma Department of Human Services — the individuals
ultimately accountable for the abusive practices at the hospital.

25

protection agencies that fail to pursue such instances of
discriminatory child abuse. Such an absurd and
inconsistent result can only be avoided by recognizing that
Section 504 applies to discriminatory medical practices.

CONCLUSION

It is submitted that Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act
of 1973 should be held to apply to discriminatory medical
practices and that the holding of the Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit to the contrary should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

James Bopp, Jr.

Thomas J. Marzen*

Thomas J. Balch

Sharon M. Paulus

The National Legal Center for
the Medically Dependent
and Disabled, Inc.

P.O. Box 441069

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 632-6245

*Counsel of record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0316%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
