# Amicus Curiae Brief — Teachers v. Hudson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0312%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 292

## Text

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

Supreme Laat ~
FiLED

ser 2? 0%

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
NO. 84-1503 CLERK

===

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

)

CHICAGO TEACHERS UNION, LOCAL NO. 1, AFT,
AFL-CIO; ROBERT M. HEALEY; JACQUELINE B.
VAUGHN; ROCHELLE D. HART; THOMAS H.
REECE; and GLENDIS HAMBRICK, individually
and as Officers of the Chicago Teachers Union,

Petitioners,

Vv.

ANNIE LEE HUDSON; K. CELESTE CAMPBELL;
YSTHERLENE HOLMES; EDNA ROSE McCOY;
DR. DEBRA ANN PETITAN; WALTER A.
SHERRILL; and BEVERLY F. UNDERWOOD,

Respondents.

t)
UU

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

ray

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF WILLIAM CUMERO
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS,
ANNIE LEE HUDSON, ET AL.

ty)
Vv

RonaLp A. ZUMBRUN
Joun H. FInpiey
Antuony T. Caso
CouNSEL or REcorD
Pacific Legal Foundation
555 Capitol Mall, Suite 350
Sacramento, California 95814
Telephone: (916) 444-0154
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
William J. Cumero

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CoO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

Table Of Authorities Cited
Interest of Amicus
Opinion Below
Statement of the Case
Summary of Argument

Argument .

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. The Court of Appeals Correctly Identified a Due
Process Liberty Interest for the Protection of

Associational Freedoms
A.

Compelled Agency Shop Fees Implicate an
Employee’s Freedom to Associate for the Ad-
vancement of Ideas

The Court of Appeals’ Decision, Far from
Creating an Unprecedented New Liberty In-
terest, Merely Provides Procedural Protec-
tion for the Fundamental Right of Association

Il. A Due Process Liberty Interest Transcends the
‘¢Political’’ or ‘‘Ideological’’ Inquiry, Thus Pro-
viding Better Protection of the First Amendment
and Continuing Adherence to the “Free Rider’’

Rationale
A.

Conclusion

The Appellate Court Decision Better Effectu-
ates an Employee’s First Amendment. I'ree-
doms

The Reasoning of the Court of Appeals Pro-
motes the Purpose of the Agency Shop by
Preventing Nonmembers from Receiving Rep-
resentation Without Payment of the Fees .........

6

9

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases
Page
Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209
(1977) 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15
Adler v. Board of Education, 342 U.S. 485 (1952) ccc 5

Bates v. City of Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516 (1960) nce 4
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976)
DeJonge v. Oregon, 299 U.S. 353 (1937)

Ellis v. Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steam-
ship Clerks, — U.S. —, 104 S. Ct. 1883 (1984).....2, 6, 7, 11,

12, 13, 14, 15

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975) 9
Illinois State Board of Elections v. Socialist Workers

Party, 440 U.S. 173 (1979) i)
International Association of Machinists v. Street,

367 U.S. 740 (1961) 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15
Jibson v. White Cloud Education Association,

— US. —, 105 S. Ct. 236 (1984) 9
Kempner v. Dearborn, Local 2077, — U.S. —, 105

S. Ct. 316 (1984) 9
Law Students Civil Rights Researci. Council, Inc.

v. Wadmond, 401 U.S. 154 (1971) 5
Mandel v. Bradley, 482 U.S. 173 (1977) 9

National Association for the Advancement of
Colored People v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449 (1958).....4, 8, 12

Ohio ex rel. Eaton v. Price, 360 U.S. 246 (1959) cece 9
Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319 (1937) 4

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED—Continued
Page

Roberts v. United States Jaycees, — U.S. —,
104 8. Ct. 3244 (1984) 6

Seay v. McDonnell Douglas Corporation, 371 F. Supp.
754 (C.D. Cal. 1973), rev’d on other grounds,
533 F.2d 1126 (9th Cir. 1976) 10

RuLEs

Supreme Court Rule 36 1

Unirep States Constitution

First Amendment 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15

MISCELLANEOUS
A. Cox, D. Bok, R. Gorman, Labor Law 1184 (1977) ..... 10

D. B. Gaebler, Union Political Activity or Collective
Bargaining? First Amendment Limitations on
the Uses of Union Shop Funds, 14 U. Cal. D. L.
Rev. 591 (1981) . 10

NO. 84-1503

4s.
Vv

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

fy

CHICAGO TEACHERS UNION, LOCAL NO. 1, AFT,
AFL-CIO; ROBERT M. HEALEY; JACQUELINE B.
VAUGHN; ROCHELLE D. HART; THOMAS H.
REECE; and GLENDIS HAMBRICK, individually
and as Officers of the Chicago Teachers Union,

Petitioners,

We

ANNIE LEE HUDSON; K. CELESTE CAMPBELL;
ESTHERLENE HOLMES: EDNA ROSE McCOY;
DR. DEBRA ANN PETITAN: WALTER A.
SHERRILL; and BEVERLY F. UNDERWOOD,

Respondents.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

ray

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF WILLIAM CUMERO
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS,
ANNIE LEE HUDSON, ET AL.

ry
V

INTEREST OF AMICUS

This brief amicus curiae is submitted on behalf of
William Cumero pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 36.
Consent to the filing of this brief has been granted by
counsel for the parties and has been lodged with the clerk
of this Court.

William Cumero is a public school teacher in Califor-
nia who is currently litigating before the California Su-
preme Court, challenging the use of compelled agency shop
fees for political and ideological purposes. His litigation
is based upon this Court’s decisions in Abood v. Detrott
Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209 (1977), and Ellis v. Bro-
therhood of Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks,
— U.S. —, 104 S. Ct. 1883 (1984), which involve substantive
protections directly implicated by the Seventh Circuit's
opinion. As such, Mr. Cumero has a strong interest in the
outcome of this litigation. Due to his posture as a litigant
in a related case, he also brings experience and a knowl-
edge of the issues enabling him to address the importance
of this case and its potential impact on agency fee de-
cisional law.

ray
Vv

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit is reported at 743 F.2d 1187 (1984).

o

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Amicus adopts respondents’ statement of the case.

°o

3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court has recognized that compelled agency shop
fees implicate the First Amendment freedoms of speech
and association. The impact of the agency shop on these
liberty interests, however, has been constitutionally justi-
fied by the governmental interest in labor peace and sta-
bility. But this strong governmental interest is meant only
to prevent ‘‘free riders” from receiving the benefits of
negotiation and administration of collective bargaining
agreements without sharing in their costs. Compelled
agency fees to support expenses unrelated to these teach-
ers’ association activities is an unconstitutional infringe-
ment on the First Amendment.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals recognizes all of
these tenets and, far from creating a new liberty interest,
merely relies on a due process rationale to protect an in-
dividual’s First Amendment rights from a fee deduction
for activities unrelated to collective bargaining. It pro-
vides procedural protection for the substantive rights al-
ready delineated by this Court.

Moreover, the Court of Appeals’ opinion is a step to-
ward greater clarity in the agency shop law developed by
this Court. By formulating a due process analysis based
upon bargaining agent expenses related to collective bar-
gaining contrasted to unrelated expenses, the Seventh Cir-
cuit has avoided the definitional problems of the ‘‘poli-
tical” and ‘‘ideological” inquiry. This provides more
protection for First Amendment freedoms and concomitant
adherence to the ‘‘free rider” rationale upon which the
agency shop is based.

ARGUMENT

I

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY IDENTIFIED
A DUE PROCESS LIBERTY INTEREST FOR THE
PROTECTION OF ASSOCIATIONAL FREEDOMS

This Court has long recognized the fundamental liber-
ties of speech and assembly reposed in the individual by

the First Amendment. De Jonge v. Oregon, 299 U.S. 353,

364 (1937): Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319, 324 (1937).

Moreover, the close nexus between these two basic free-

doms, derived from the important role an informed citizen-

ry plays in our democratic system, led this Court to con-
clude that the ability to associate for the advancing of ideas
and the airing of grievances was a fundamental liberty,
inseparably tied to the First Amendment. National Asso-
ciation for the Advancement of Colored People v. Alabama

(NAACP), 357 U.S. 449, 460 (1958) ; Bates v. City of Little

Rock, 361 U.S. 516, 523 (1960). As such, this right of

association is deserving of due process protection. .\s

Justice Harlan stated in NAACP: ‘‘It is beyond debate

that freedom to engage in association for the advancement

of beliefs and ideas is an inseparable aspect of ‘liberty’ as-
sured-by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment... .” 357 U.S. at 460.

The opinion of the court below is in complete harmony
with these basic tenets. In recognizing the associational
freedom implicated by compelled agency fees and in rely-
ing on a due process rationale to protect this interest, the
decision does not create a new founded right; it steadfastly
protects the liberty recognized by this Court to be at the
core of democratic government.

5

A. Compelled Agency Shop Fees Implicate an Em-
ployee’s Freedom to Associate for the Advance-
ment of Ideas

The liberty interest in association is an expansive
right and thus capable of taking many forms: it is directly
involved in political associations (Adler v. Board of Educa-
tion, 342 U.S. 485 (1952)), restrictions on entry into the
bar (Law Students Civil Rights Research Council, Inc. v.
Wadmond, 401 U.S. 154 (1971)), and campaign financing
(Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976)), to name a few of the
many opinions addressing its numerons manifestations.

The Court in Abood v. Detroit Board of Education,
431 U.S. 209 (1977), recognized that freedom of association
is also implicated by the agency shop. The core of the
constitutional problem concerns forcing an individual to
support an employee association which may espouse posi-
tions contrary to the employee’s ideals and beliefs. While
protecting affiliations of like-minded persons who desire
to pool talent and resources for expressive conduct is a
beneficial aspect of this Court’s First Amendment juris-
prudence, compelled association is only destructive of the
First Amendment liberties. —

“‘The fact that [employees] are compelled to
make, rather than prohibited from making, contribu-
tions for political purposes works no less an infringe-
ment of their constitutional rights. For at the heart
of the First Amendment is the notion that an individ-
ual should be free to believe as he will, and that in a
free society one’s beliefs should be shaped by his mind
and conscience rather than coerced by the State.”
Abood, 431 U.S. at 234-35 (footnote omitted; citations
omitted).

More recently, this Court in Ellis echoed the language
in Abood by noting that ‘‘by allowing the union shop at all,
we have already countenanced a significant impingement
on First Amendment rights.” Jd. at 1896.

Yet associational freedoms are not absolute. Infringe-
ments can be justified by compelling state interests which
are unrelated to the suppression of expressive conduct.
Roberts v. United States Jaycees, — U.S. —, 104 8. Ct. 3244
(1984). Federal and state laws which allow agency
shop formation are based upon the hope of maintaining
labor peace by having all employees finance the exclusive
representative in collective bargaining, thus preventing
labor unrest spawned by ‘‘free riders” — nonmembers
benefiting from representation without contributing to the
bargaining agent’s cost. This interest in labor peace has
been held as compelling; hence the constitutional impinge-
ments recognized in Abood and Ellis were justified by this
strong governmental interest. Ellis, 104 S. Ct. at 1896;
Abood, 431 U.S. at 222.

The opinion below is completely consistent with these
precedents. It merely moves one step beyond the substan-
tive observations of Abood and Ellis and delineates well
reasoned procedural protection.

B. The Court of Appeals’ Decision, Far from Creat-

ing an Unprecedented New Liberty Interest, Mere-

ly Provides Procedural Protection for the Funda-

mental Right of Association

The substantive holdings of Abood and Ellis, which
countenanced the associational impediments in order to
effectuate compelling government interests, were based
upon the ‘‘free rider” rationale. This rationale, however,

7

is not involved with bargaining agent expenses unrelated
to contract negotiation and administration. Fees cannot
be removed from dissenting employees’ paychecks to fin-
ance such activities without violating the First Amend-
ment.' Abood, 431 U.S. at 235-36 (employing ‘‘political
or ideological” language) ; Ellis, 104 S. Ct. at 1892 (refer-
ring to expenses ‘‘necessarily or reasonably incurred” in
bargaining duties). Consequently the freedom of associa-
tion and speech will take precedence over the governmental
interest in labor peace when the ‘‘free rider” rationale is
not applicable.

This dichotomy—governmental interests in labor re-
lations versus protected associational and speech rights—
is the core of Abood and Ellis. And this is the distinction
to which the opinion below is directed. As Judge Posner
states:

‘‘True, freedom of association . . . is no more absolute
than the other liberties [protected by] the due process
clause. . . . But the fact that it enjoys the procedural
protections capsulized in the term ‘due process’ means
that the state cannot deprive an individual of his free-
dom of association by forcing him to support a union,
except in accordance with procedures that reasonably

1 See International Association of Machinists v. Street,
367 U.S. 740, 768 (1961). After acknowledging that Congress’
purpose in allowing the agency fee was to deal with the free
rider, the Court noted that the use of the fee

“to support candidates for public office, and advance
political programs, is not a use which helps defray the ex-
penses of the negotiation or administration of collective
agreements, or the expenses entailed in the adjustment of
rievances and disputes. In other words, it is a use which
alls clearly outside the reasons advanced by the unions
and accepted by Congress why authority to make union-
shop agreements was justified.” .

8

assure that the deprivation will go no further than is
necessary to prevent the individual from taking a free
ride... .” 743 F.2d at 1193.

The court below recognizes that the agency shop fee
was premised on the ‘‘free rider” rationale. The non-
member benefits from negotiation and administration of
collective bargaining contracts—not from employee asso-
ciation activity not related to these functions. Hence, the
appellate court holds, based on Abood, that if dues are
collected for the latter activities, First Amendment free-
doms are implicated, and they are no longer outweighed
by a governmental interest because the ‘‘free rider” justi-
fication is inapplicable. Thus, the opinion develops a line
of reasoning based upon due process—the ultimate object
to distinguish a constitutional infringement on association-
al rights to prevent labor unrest from an exaction of fees
for activities not related to collective bargaining.

The opinion below is thus completely consistent with
earlier case law; it recognizes the constitutionality of the
ager vy shop and the justified impact on First Amendment
rights. Its sole contribution to the agency fee decisional
law is in the context of procedural due process, assuring
that payments will in fact be used to finance a bargaining
agent’s collective bargaining activity and will go no fur-
ther in depriving an employee of First Amendment liber-
ties. As Justice Harlan stated in NAACP, 357 U.S. at 460,
the ‘‘freedom to engage in association for the advancement
of beliefs and ideas is an inseparable aspect of the ‘liberty’
assured by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

2 See Footnote No. 1, supra.

9

Amendment ....” The Seventh Circuit’s opinion acts

to provide this process.’

II

A DUE PROCESS LIBERTY INTEREST TRANSCENDS
THE “POLITICAL” OR “IDEOLOGICAL” INQUIRY,
THUS PROVIDING BETTER PROTECTION OF THE

FIRST AMENDMENT AND CONTINUING
ADHERENCE TO THE ‘‘FREE RIDER” RATIONALE

The dichotomy between compelled agency fees to sup-
port collective bargaining and political activities was ini-
tially delineated in International Association of Machinists
v. Street, 367 U.S. 740, a case based upon statutory inter-
pretation. This dichotomy was elevated to constitutional
status in Abood, 431 U.S. 209. These cases distinguished
proper fee expenditures for collective bargaining from
political uses of the agency fees unrelated to the bargain-
ing representative’s responsibilities.

3. This Court’s summary dismissals of Jibson v. White Cloud
Education Association, — U.S. —, 105 S. Ct. 236 (1984), and
Kempner v. Dearborn, Local 2077, — U.S. —, 105 S. Ct. 316
(1984), are not determinative here. A summary disposition,
while interpreted as a vote by this Court on the merits (Hicks v.
Miranda, 422 U.S. 332, 343-44 (1975); Ohio ex rel. Eaton v. Price,
360 U.S. 246, 247 (1959)), has limited precedential value. It gov-
erns only on the precise issues and particular facts involved in
the case which was summarily disposed. Mandel v. Bradley,
432 U.S. 173, 176 (1977); Illinois State Board of Elections v. So-
cialist Workers Party, 440 U.S. 173, 180-81 (1979). Jibson and.
Kempner involved employees contending they could not con-
stitutionally be required to pay the agency fee prior to an adju-
dication to determine its precise use and amount. The Court
of Appeals’ opinion below, however, never mandates a pre-
seizure hearing. Indeed, it notes that under the current proce-
dure an employee has 30 days after deduction to file an objec-
tion. Judge Posner does not criticize this temporal aspect of
the process; he only condemns the employee association’s con-
trol of the procedure and orders removal of any structural bias.
Jibson and Kempner are thus factually distinct.

10

Yet the Street and Abood decisions, while thoroughly
recognizing the liberty implications of compelled agency
fees, did not attempt to draw a clear line between proper
collective bargaining expenditures and taboo political ac-
tivities. Indeed, Abood recognized that such line drawing
presented ‘‘difficult problems” and would be even more
difficult to define in the public sector. 431 U.S. at 236.

This dichotomy has continued to prove nebulous. One
commentator noted that ‘‘[t]he difficulty with the test
suggested by Abood and Street is that there is no clear
distinction as a practical matter between collective bar-
gaining and political activity. Im many instances, union
political activity is integrally related to the pursuit of
union representational goals.” D. B. Gaebler, Union Polit-
ical Activity or Collective Bargaining? First Amendment
Limitations on the Uses of Union Shop Funds, 14 U. Cal.
D. L. Rev. 591, 601 (1981). Archibald Cox noted in his
labor law text that this issue is ‘‘the elusive problem left
unresolved by the Supreme Court of defining the kinds of
‘political’ expenses which cannot lawfully be taxed against
an unconsenting employee.” A. Cox, D. Bok, R. Gorman,
Labor Law 1184 (1977).

In Seay v. McDonnell Douglas Corporation,
371 F. Supp. 754 (C.D. Cal. 1973), rev’d on other grounds,
533 F.2d 1126 (9th Cir. 1976), the court demonstrated this
uncertainty by drawing the line to prohibit the use of
union shop funds only for partisan political activities.
371 F. Supp. at 761 n.7. Expenses for other political pur-
poses were held proper.

11

In the decision below, however, the court deviates from
this political/collective bargaining intersection. In recog-
nizing the due process protection of the associational lib-
erty interest, Judge Posner notes:

‘‘(T]he procedure must make reasonably sure that

. . employees’ wages will not be used to support any
union activities that are not germane to collective bar-
gaining, whether or not the activities are political or
ideological. ... [T]he agency fee [must] not [be]
used for any unrelated activities.” 743 F.2d at 1194
(emphasis in original).

Thus, the Court of Appeals’ decision transcends the
political/ideological designations that have puzzled lower
courts and commentators alike. This conclusion is a log-
ical extension of Ellis and Abood. Both of these opinions
recognized that compelled agency fees impinged on asso-
ciational freedoms, but such impingement was constitution-
ally justified by the compelling state interest in labor
peace. Yet the free rider rationale only applies to non-
members receiving the benefits of contract negotiation and
administration. International Association of Machinists
v. Street, 367 U.S. at 767-68. The justification is not ap-
plicable to employee association expenses unrelated to col-
lective bargaining—not just political or ideological ex-
penses but all unrelated financing. Hence, compelling an
individual to associate for any reason, other than to pay _
for the benefits of collective bargaining representation,
violates the freedom to associate and does so without a
compelling government interest. This is the line the opin-
ion below attempts to draw. And by avoiding the political,
ideological wording, it strengthens the First Amendment
freedoms while remaining true to the free rider justifica-
tion.

12

A. The Appellate Court Decision Better Effectuates
an Employee’s First Amendment Freedoms

In addressing the freedom to associate in NAACP,
357 U.S. at 460, Justice Harlan noted that ‘‘it is immaterial
whether the beliefs sought to be advanced by association
pertain to political, economic, religious or cultural matters

. .”’ Thus, the freedom to associate for a broad range
of purposes is expressly recognized.

The opinion below, by transcending the political and
ideological phraseology, is consistent with Justice Harlan’s
language. Associating only for political or ideological pur-
poses is not the only protected freedom recognized in the
NAACP case. One must not discount social, cultural, eco-
nomic, or religious purposes; they are equally protected,
but not encompassed within the Abood language. Conse-
quently, the statement by Judge Posner seems more cer-
tain: ‘‘the procedure must make reasonably sure that...
employees’ wages will not be used to support any union ac-
tivities that are not germane to collective bargaining,
whether or not the activities are political or ideological.”
743 F.2d at 1194 (emphasis in original). Not only does
this bypass the uncertainties and the hazy lines encom-
passed within political and ideological activity, but it also
recognizes the liberty of association for many other pur-
poses—not just political—unrelated to collective bargain-
ing. It is wholly consistent and protective of Justice Har-
lan’s declaration in NAACP.

The due process rationale adopted by Judge Posner
is supported by Ellis. There this Court presented the fol-
lowing test to decide if expenses are related to collective
bargaining and labor management relations:

13

‘‘[W]hen employees. . . object to being burdened with
particular union expenditures, the test must be wheth-
er the challenged expenditures are necessarily or reas-
onably incurred for the purpose of performing the
duties of an exclusive representative of the employees
in dealing with the employer on labor-management
issues. Under this standard, objecting employees may
be compelled to pay their fair share of not only the
direct costs of negotiating and administering a col-
lective-bargaining contract and of settling grievances
and disputes, but also the expenses of activities or
undertakings normally or reasonably employed to im-
plement or effectuate the duties of the union as ex-
clusive representative of the employees in the bargain-
ing unit.” 1048. Ct. at 1892.
Moreover, in discussing the expenses there at issue
the Court did not concern itself with the potential political

or ideological ramifications of the costs.

The test developed by Ellis supports the holding below
that expenses must be germane to collective bargaining,
and Ellis explains how a pertinent expense is to be identi-
fied. The next step is to cast aside any inquiry into politi-
cal/ideological expenses, and center the analysis entirely
on fees deducted to subsidize an employee association’s
collective bargaining responsibilities; the use of the com-
pelled dues for any unrelated activities is prohibited and
impinges on speech and associational freedoms.

B. The Reasoning of the Court of Appeals Promotes

the Purpose of the Agency Shop by Preventing
Nonmembers from Receiving Representation
Without Payment of the Fees

Compelled agency shop fees are designed to ensure
labor peace by weeding out the free riders—those who ‘‘re-
fuse to contribute to the union while obtaining benefits of

14

union representation that necessarily accrue to all em-
ployees.” Abood, 431 U.S. at 222. Ellis was most explicit
in stating this Court’s belief ‘‘that Congress’ essential
justification for authorizing the union shop was the desire
to eliminate free riders.” 1048. Ct. at 1892.

The Court of Appeals’ decision remains true to this
justification. By distinguishing expenses related to col-
lective bargaining from unrelated costs, the opinion not
only protects First Amendment freedoms, but it also allows
collection of the fee from employees who receive the ben-
efit of union representation in contract negotiation and
administration. Hence, an individual is not unfairly ben-
efited by the employee association’s representation free
of charge.

Admittedly, perhaps an employee could receive a ‘‘free
ride” from a bargaining agent’s undertakings unrelated to
negotiation and administration. But such a contention
ignores this Court’s language in Street, 367 U.S. at 768:

‘‘(The] use [of the agency fee] to support candidates
for public office, and advance political programs, is
not a use which helps defray the expenses of the nego-
tiation or administration .... In other words, it is
a use which falls clearly outside the reasons advanced
by the unions and accepted by Congress why authority
to make union-shop agreements was justified.”

Moreover, such an argument is also inconsistent with
the Ellts opinion. There, Justice White noted that ‘‘[o]nly
a union that is certified as the exclusive bargaining agent
is authorized to negotiate a contract .... Until such a
contract is executed, no dues or fees may be collected”
from nonmembers. 104 8. Ct. at 1892. The test subse-
quently developed by the Court was intended to aid in the

15

identification of union expenses related to its exclusive
bargaining role. This quoted language and the accom-
panying test indicated that the free rider justification for
the creation of the union shop only applies to nonmembers
benefiting from contract related duties. There is no hitch-
hiking on activities unrelated to collective bargaining un-
dertakings.

Thus, the free rider justification is addressed to the
administrative and negotiating duties of the employee as-
sociation. Street, Abood, and Ellis all concentrate on these
responsibilities when discussing the reasons for adopting
the agency shop. The test developed by the Seventh Cir-
euit is fully consistent with this purpose.

°

CONCLUSION

The liberties of speech and association reposed in
the individual by the First Amendment have long been
recognized by this Court not only as fundamental freedoms,
but also as rights crucial to the functioning of a democracy.
As such, these freedoms are entitled to a due process lib-
erty protection before they are invaded by governmental
action. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is consistent
with these premises. It recognizes that the agency shop is
a justifiable impingement on the freedom of association,
but only insofar as the dues are used for activities related
to collective bargaining. Any other fee exaction violates
the freedoms this Court has so long protected. Conse-
quently, by developing a due process rationale and by dis-
pensing with the political and ideological labels, the opinion

‘

16

below favors fundamental liberties, and merely provides
procedural protection for substantive rights already recog-
nized by this Court.

DATED: September, 1985.
Respectfully submitted,

Ronatp A. ZumMBRUN

Joun H. Frnpiey

Antuony T. Caso
CouNSsEL or Recorp
Pacific Legal Foundation
555 Capitol Mall, Suite 350
Sacramento, California 95814
Telephone: (916) 444-0154

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
William J. Cumero

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0312%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
