# Reply Brief — Moran v. Burbine

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0309%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1098

## Text

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

Supreme Court, US.
2 ae ae:

NOV 5 185

No. 84-1485

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

JOHN MORAN,

Petitioner,

BRIAN K. BURBINE,

Respondent.

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

O

ARLENE VIOLET
Attorney General of the
State of Rhode Island

Constance L. Messore

Special Assistant

Attorney General

72 Pine Street

Providence, Rhode Island 02903
(401) 274-4400

Attorne Us jor the Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pages
yy) PF Te Btig se i gy Fo
ARGUMENTS:

I. THE RESPONDENT’S ARGUMENT THAT

Tl.

IV.

HIS THREE CONFESSIONS SHOULD BE
SUPPRESSED SOLELY ON THE
GROUND THAT THE POLICE LIED TO
OR DECEIVED HIS LAWYER HAS NO
FACTUAL OR LEGAL BASIS. WWW...

RESPONDENT IMPROPERLY ARGUES
THAT HE IS ENTITLED TO MORE IN-
FORMATION THAN THAT PRESCRIBED
BY THE COURT IN MIRANDA v. ARI-
ZONA, IN ORDER TO VALIDLY WAIVE
HIS MIRANDA RIGHTS. .........

RESPONDENT MISCONCEIVES HIS
FIFTH AND SIXTH AMENDMENT
RIGHT TO COUNSEL. .......... wen

RESPONDENT WAS NOT DENIED THE
FUNDAMENTAL FAIRNESS GUARAN-
TEED HIM BY THE DUE PROCESS
CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH
Sc EE TE ities

GUT UUEII sxihadcnnciiiadentacienencetonnmaensdaaialaiaiaaaalehadiaie

8

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Pages
Brewer v. Williams, 430 U.S. B87 (1977) eccccccccecccecnceeneene «= 8
Brows v. Tilaseots, 422 U.S. SIO (VGTD) nanan cane caeemecssnnnee 2
Darwin v. Connecticut, 391 U.S. 346 (1968) 00D
Escobedo v. [llimots, 378 U.S. ATS (VIG) nance 6
Fare v. Michael C., 442 U.S. TOT (1979) cnc aneecececececonenesvvensosenenee 3
Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 483 (1974) — 4

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6,8
North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369 (1979) 0 8
Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980) 00 8
United States v. Gouveia, 104 S.Ct 2292 (1984) 6,7,8

CONSTITUTION

U.S. Constitution

ss FT passim
Amendment VI _.. Sir ne uty 5, 6, 7,8
Amendment XIV (Due Process) 0000 8

MISCELLANEOUS

Kamisar, *‘Brewer v. Williams, Massiah and Miranda:
What is Interrogation? When does it matter?

in Police Interrogation and Confessions

I. THE RESPONDENT’S ARGUMENT THAT
HIS THREE CONFESSIONS SHOULD BE
SUPPRESSED SOLELY ON THE GROUND
THAT THE POLICE LIED TO OR DECEIVED
HIS LAWYER HAS NO FACTUAL OR LEGAL
BASIS.

Respondent’s first argument (Respondent’s Brief
[hereinafter R.B.] 11-21) is that this Court need not re-
solve the question presented in the petition for writ of
certiorari because respondent’s confession should be sup-
pressed on the ground that ‘‘the police lied [to] or de-
ceived [respondent's] lawyer’’ (R.B. 9). This argument
lacks both factual and legal support.

First, notwithstanding respondent’s repeated asser-
tions that the police officers acted dishonestly (see, e.g.,
R.B. 9, 15, 20), there is no finding below that the police
intentionally deceived respondent’s attorney. The Su-
preme Court of Rhode Island observed that the state trial

>?

justice found ‘‘no collusion or conspiracy’? among the
police to conceal respondent trom his attorney (Pet. App.
50). Even the court of appeals concluded only that the
police acted ‘‘deliberate[ly| or reckless{ly]’’ (td. at 15

(emphasis added) ).

But, assuming arguendo, that the police officers did
intentionally deceive respondent’s attorney, that fact by
itself does not establish a violation of respondent’s con-
stitutional rights. This Court never has held that the
Constitution supplies a remedy whenever the police act
in subjective bad faith. It is elementary that government
conduct must infringe a right protected by the Constitu-
tion before that conduct can be held to violate the Consti-
tution, and respondent does not oint to any authority

1

supporting his view that a misrepresentation by a govern-
ment officer amounts to a per se constitutional violation
requiring the suppression of lawfully-obtained evidence.'
He bases his position solely upon the fact that a defense
attorney is an officer of the court, but that truism pro-
vides absolutely no support for the conclusion that any
misrepresentation by a police officer to a defense attorney
constitutes a constitutional violation.2 Moreover, as dis-
cussed below, the police officers were not required to al-
low the attorney to talk to respondent. The officers’ sub-
jective intent therefore is completely irrelevant.

1 Respondent relies upon this Court’s decision in Brown v.
Ilinois, 422 U.S. 590 (1975), but in that case the Court held that
the administration of Miranda warnings did not render admis-
sible the statement of a defendant who previously had been
arrested in violation of the Fourth Amendment. The flaw in
respondent's analogy is that respondent cannot show a prior
constitutional violation equivalent to the arrest of the defend-
ant in Brown. There accordingly is no basis for suppressing
the confessions here.

Even amicus American Bar Association acknowledges in
its brief supporting respondent (R.B. 9 n.5) that the subjective
intent of the police is not revelant in determining whether re-
spondent’s confessions should be suppressed.

2 The lawyer, of course, is not a party to the proceeding, and
any right she might have had not to be deceived is not in issue.

3 Respondent cites (R.B. 20-21) Kamisar, ‘Brewer v. Williams,
Massiah and Miranda: What is ‘Interrogation’? When Does It
Matter?,” in Police Interrogation and Confessions, (1980), but
he fails to note that the author rejects the rule espoused by
respondent (id. at 220-224).

II. RESPONDENT IMPROPERLY ARGUES
THAT HE IS ENTITLED TO MORE INFOR-
MATION THAN THAT PRESCRIBED BY
THE COURT IN MIRANDA v. ARIZONA IN
ORDER TO VALIDLY WAIVE HIS MIRANDA
RIGHTS.

Respondent does not dispute that the police read him
the warnings prescribed by this Court in Miranda v.
Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), and he does not contend
that he failed to understand those warnings.* He asserts
instead (R.B. 21-26) that the waivers of his Miranda
rights were invalid because he was not supplied with in-
formation relevant to his decision whether to waive his
rights. However, the inquiry in assessing the validity
of a Miranda waiver is whether the suspect understood
that he had a right to refuse to answer the officer’s ques-
tions and a right to counsel. /’are v. Michael C., 442 U.S.
707, 725 (1979); North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369,
374-375 (1979). It simply is immaterial that some addi-
tional piece of information might make a suspect more or
less willing to waive his rights. Indeed, if the police were
required to supply suspects with all such information,
police interrogation would be climinated as a weapon in
the fight against crime. A_ police officer would almost
never be able to obtain a valid waiver because it would
be virtually impossible for the officer to ascertain which
information he would be required to provide to the suspect.

4 Respondent refers to his lack of education and unfamiliarity
with the criminal justice system (R.B. 22, 23-24), but he nowhere
claims that he did not understand. the warnings.

4

III. RESPONDENT MISCONCEIVES HIS FIFTH
AND SIXTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO COUN-
SEL.

Respondent and amici also argue that the confes-
sions should be suppressed on the somewhat different
theory that the police officers’ actions violated respon-
dent’s right to counsel under the Fifth and Sixth Amend-
ments because the officers interfered with the relation-
ship between respondent and h'‘s attorney. These argu-
ments are found upon a complete misconception of the
relevant Fifth and Sixth Amendment rights. In fact, de-
fense counsel has no constitutionally-guaranteed right of
access to a suspect prior to the commencement of judicial
proceedings against the suspect.

a. The ‘right to counsel’? announced in Miranda
does not flow directly from the Fifth Amendment; it is a
‘*procedural safeguard’? designed to protect a suspect’s
Fifth Amendment privilege against compelled self-inerim-
ination. See Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433, 444 (1974).
The scope of the ‘‘right’’ accordingly must be deter-
mined by reference to the privilege against self-incrimina-
tion that is its only souree. The Miranda Court stated
that a suspect ‘‘has the right to consult with a lawyer and
to have the lawyer with him during interrogation under
the system for protecting the privilege [against self-
incrimination]|*’ established in that case (384 U.S. at 471).
Equally significant, however, is the principle that a sus-
pect may waive his Miranda rights without consulting an
attorney (Jd. at 475, 479). Indeed Miranda plainly does
not guarantee a suspect the right to consult with counsel
in all circumstances, but recognizes the right only in the
context of custodial interrogation. Accordingly, a suspect

5)

who requests counsel need not be provided with an attor-
ney if the police decide to terminate the interrogation
(id. at 474). Thus, the Fifth Amendment ‘‘right to coun-
sel’’ is limited to the circumstance where a suspect re-
quests the assistance of counsel in connection with police
interrogation and the police elect to continue the interro-
gation.°

The argument that respondent should have been per-
mitted to consult with counsel or should have been in-
formed of the attorney’s inquiry is grounded in the notion
that the Fifth Amendment right to counsel during police
interrogation is as broad as the Sixth Amendment right
to counsel that attaches only upon the commencement of
adversary proceedings (United States v. Gouveia, 104
S. Ct. 2292 (1984)). HLlowever, as discussed above, the
Fifth Amendment right is quite limited, applying only
where needed to protect the privilege against self-inerim-
ination. The justification for requiring the police to per-

5 Here, respondent was informed that he had a right to remain
silent and a right to consult with counsel and decided that he
did not want the assistance of an attorney. Amicus argues that
the attorney’s inquiry should be construed as an assertion of
respondent's Miranda rights (see ABA R.B. 12-13). However,
Miranda leaves to the suspect, not the lawyer, the decision
whether to assert these rights, and it is plainly correct in doing
so, since the purpose of requiring warning and waiver regard-
ing counsel is to facilitate assurance that the suspect’s will has
not been overborne—A matter as to which his attorney’s wish-
es are entirely irrelevant.

6 The broad Fifth Amendment right to counsel advocated by
respondent and amici appears to be an attempt to avoid this
Court’s previous decisions construing the Sixth Amendment
right to counsel. However, it is difficuit to see why a Fifth
Amendment right to counsel divorced from the privilege
against self-incrimination would be any broader in scope than

(Continued on following page)

6

mit an attorney to consult with a suspect prior to police
interrogation appears to be that the suspect is entitled to
the advice of the attorney in deciding whether to waive
his Miranda rights. Yet a suspect who has a lawyer on
retainer or whose family has the presence of mind to
retain an attorney probably is less likely than an unrepre-
sented suspect to need such assistance of counsel; the
fortuitous intervention of an attorney is thus an irra-
tional dividing line for determining whether the assist-
ance of counsel is needed to protect the privilege against
self-incrimination. If consultation with an attorney is
warranted to protect the privilege in this context, it is
difficult to see why the advice of counsel should not be a
prerequisite to obtaining a waiver of Miranda rights in
all situations. Since Miranda itself indicates that consul-
tation with an attorney is wot necessary, there is no basis
for imposing such a requirement in the present context.

This result does not mean that a suspect can be
involuntarily subjected to prolonged incommunicado in-
terrogation; it simply places suspects who happen to have
lawyers on the same footing as suspects without lawvers.
The suspect retains the authority to end an interrogation

(Continued from previous page)

the Sixth Amendment right to counsel set forth in the text of
the Constitution.

Relying on a footnote in Miranda (see 384 U.S. at 465
n.35), that in turn refers to Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478
(1964), amicus American Bar Association asserts that “the Mi-
randa Court viewed police interference with communications
between the suspect and counsel as unconstitutional” (R.B.
13). However, this Court has held that Escobeclo in fact rested
upon the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination
(United States v. Gouveia, 104 S.Ct. at 2298) and the ABA’s
contention thus cannot be supported on the rational it ad-
vances.

7

at any time simply by invoking his Fifth Amendment
rights. Moreover, the Federal Government, the States,
and local government entities remain free to adopt rules
governing attorney-client access during the pre-indictment
‘period.

b. Despite this Court’s determination in United
States v. Gouveia, 104 8S. Ct. at 2296, that ‘‘the [Sixth
Amendment] right to counsel attaches only at or after
the initiation of adversary judicial proceedings,’’ respon-
dent and amici argue that the police officers’ actions vio-
lated respondent’s Sixth Amendment rights. They assert
that Gouveia concerned only appointed counsel and that
where a suspect has an existing attorney-client relation-
ship, the Sixth Amendment protects that relationship at
all stages of a criminal proceeding.’

Although this Court’s decisions concerning the Sixth
Amendment principally relate to the right to appointed
counsel, the Court has not distinguished between ap-
pointed and retained counsel. Aside from their asser-
tions that the Sixth Amendment should provide some addi-
tional protection for existing attorney-client relationships,
respondent and amici never articulate any justification
for their position. This Court has concluded that ‘‘the
‘core purpose’ of the counsel guarantee is to assure aid
at trial’’ or at certain ‘‘ ‘critical’ pre-trial proceedings”’
(United States v. Gouveia, 104 S. Ct. at 2298). The
Amendment thus does not provide any generalized pro-
tection for the attorney-client relationship so as to confer

7 Amicus American Bar Association recognizes that under this
Court’s decision in Gouveia the Sixth Amendment right to coun-
sel does not apply to pre-indictment interrogations such as the
interrogations at issue here (see R.B. 13).

8

special benefits upon suspects who happen to have an
ongoing relationship with an attorney.®

IV. RESPONDENT WAS NOT DENIED THE
FUNDAMENTAL FAIRNESS GUARANTEED
HIM BY THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF
THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT.

Finally, respondent asserts (R.B. 36-40) that the po-
lice officers’ conduct deprived him of the fundamental
fairness guaranteed by the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment. He argues that even if his con
fessions were voluntary and even if the police officers did
not violate Miranda’s prophylactic rules, the admission of
the confessions into evidence was unfair. However, the
rules set forth in Miranda were designed to ensure fair-

8 Respondent at first appears to argue (R.B. 30-32) that the
Sixth Amendment right to counsel applies because an interro-
gation constitutes a critical stage of the criminal proceedings,
but he later states that he “is not asking this Court to hold that
the Sixth Amendment right to counsel attaches when the police
subject a defendaiit to custodial interrogation” (R.B. 32). In
any event, Gouveia makes clear that the right does not attach
to preindictment interrogations such as the interrogations in
the present case because respondent was not confronted with
“ ‘the prosecutorial forces of organized society, and immersed
in the intricacies of substantive and procedural criminal law’ ”
(104 S.Ct. 2298 (citation omitted)).

Respondent asserts (R.B. 32-33) that this Court’s finding
of a Sixth Amendment violation in Brewer v. Williams, 430 U.S.
387 (1977), rested in part on the fact that the police had rep-
resented to tne defendant's !awyer that the defendant would
not be interrogated. However, the Court several times noted
that the defendant's Sixth Amendment right to counsel had at-
tached because judicial proceedings nad been initiated (see
430 U.S. at 398-399, 401). The inapplicability of the Sixth
Amendment right to counsel in circumstances like the instant
case was clearly recognized in Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S.
291, 300 n.4 (1980), and nothing in the Court's later jurispru-
dence provides any ground for altering that conciusion.

9

ness in police interrogations; it seems most unlikely that
the officers’ conduct could be fundamentally unfair if the
confession was obtained in compliance with Miranda.

Respondent relies upon Darwin v. Connecticut, 391
U.S. 346 (1968). However, the defendant in that case was
questioned for two entire days and ‘‘on three separate
occasions sought and was denied permission to communi-
cate with the outside world’’ (391 U.S. at 349). The
Court reversed the conviction on the ground that the de-
fendant’s confession was not voluntary (ibid.). Here, by
contrast, the courts below specifically found that respon-
dent.’s confession was voluntary (Pet. App. 116, 67, 37).
Darwin accordingly supplies no basis for finding a due
process violation in this case.

ray

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and for such other rea-

sons as appear in his Brief, the Petitioner prays that the
judgment of the First Cireuit Court of Appeals should be
reversed. j

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN MORAN

sv His Attorneys
ARLENE VIOLET
Attorney General of the
State of Rhode Island

Constance L. Mrssore

Special Assistant

Attorney General

72 Pine Street

Providence, Rhode Island 02905
(401) 274-4400

lttorneys for the Petitioner
November 4, 1985

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0309%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
