# Amicus Curiae Brief — CTS Corp. v. Dynamics Corp. of America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0299%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 810

## Text

= =
Ss) \o Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

No. 86-71 & 86-7

IN THE

Supreme Court of the hnited Bates

Octoser TERM, 1986

CTS CORPORATION,
Appellant,
—vs. —

DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA,
Appellee.

STATE OF INDIANA,
Intervenor-Appellant.
— vs. —

DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA,
Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE STATE
OF NEW YORK IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANTS

O. Perer SHERWOOD RosBerT ABRAMS
Solicitor General of the Attorney General of the
State of New York State of New York
Counsel of Record 120 Broadway
New York, New York 10271
Mary ELLEN Burns (212) 341-2020

Deputy Chief Assistant
ttorney General

Cotvin W. GRANNUM
Assistant Attorney General

TABLE OF CONTENTS

py a Oy a ) ere er
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ..............
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..................
EE o's abs Se4o 7000 0enseterasacnierens

I. The Preemption Holding Of The Courts Below
Finds Little Support In The Williams Act Or
Edgar v. MITE Corp., And Unnecessarily Casts
Doubt On State Laws That Do Not Conflict
With The Williams Act.....................

II. State Statutes, Like Indiana’s, That Adjust The
Various Interests Effected By Corporate
Takeovers Are Constitutional For They Are
Nondiscriminatory And Have Only Incidental
Effects On InterstateCommerce .............

CAI ooo ke vnc tecuheve cess eeeae aren’

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Agency-Rent-A-Car, Inc. v. Connolly, 686 F.2d

1029, 1038 (Ist Cir. 1982)................... 8
APL Limited Partnership v. Van Dusen Air, Inc.,

622 F. Supp. 1216, 1223 (D.C. Minn. 1985) ... 15
Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State

Liquor Authority, 106 S. Ct. 2080 (1986) ..... 12
Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471, 479-80 (1979) .... 7

City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal Inc.,
411 U.S. 624, 633, 643 (1973) (Rehnquist, J.,

EN Ge GLGteC ake kkdardeesenesena 6
City of Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S.

STII 5 5 564064 debe eseedececesceesceeesvsnes 12
Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 84 (1975) ............ 7, 14

Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.)
PEE 6 6.5345 Ckceeaeercneesnvceetaseia 12

Dynamics Corp. of America v. CTS Corp., 794
F.2d 250, 262, 264 (7th Cir. 1986) ........... 5, 9, 10

Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. 624, 632, 646,
a passim

Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S.
117, 127 (1978) .............. 0000.00.00, 1]

Fleet Aerospace Corp. v. Holderman, 796 F.2d
135 (6th Cir. 1986)....................00... 9

Florida Lime and Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul,
373 U.S. 132, 142-43 (1963) ................. 6

Hillsborough County, Florida v. Automated
Medical Laboratories, Inc., 471 U.S. 707 (1985)

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941).....

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 525
Perr r re a Pore rer cr

Leroy v. Great Western United Corp., 443 U.S.
ef ores Seer errr

Lewis v. B.T. Investment Managers, Inc., 447
fe £ Seer rr rrr eer. cee

Martin-Marietta Corp. v. Bendix Corp., 690 F.2d
Fe rrr rrr ey

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc. v.
Ware, 414 U.S. 117, 127 (1973)..............

Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co., 449
ee ED coe eveceve ness sane pads cee

National City Lines, Inc. v. LLC Corp., 687
eR: FO Le Pere ree eee

Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy

Resources Conservation and Development
Commission, 461 U.S. 190 (1983) ............

~

12

Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137 (1970) . 12,13, 14

Piper v. Chris-Craft Industries, Inc., 430 U.S. 1,
Oe rere rrr re

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218,
SPE 5 on dae cud ssdcksw re eapepan nears;

Rondeau v. Mosinee Paper Corp., 422 U.S. 49, 58
RRR Rare er tac et) Rar hre Mapai Senta

iv

Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462,
ire, aor A ee

Securities and Exchange Commission v. Carter

Hawley Hale Stores, Inc., 760 F.2d 945 (9th
RR err err ie eee

Federal Statutes:

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. §§78a
aS ok oe kde Cas oxo obs chee etennek.

Section 28(a), 15 U.S.C. §78bb(a)(1982).......

The Williams Act, 15 U.S.C., § §78m/(d)-(e),
WUD ooo edb ne bos. cum

State Statutes:

IND. CODE ANN. §§23-1-42-1 to 1] (Burns
GO ID 5 ooo ns vc cco cee rece

KY. REV. STAT. §271A.397-99 (1984)..........

MD. CORPS. & ASS’NS CODE ANN. §§3-601 et
Ws SN Gi sg hene Laceesice lee ls ce

MICH. COMP. LAWS §§450.177 et seq. (Supp.
PUY disso k $d a orn ee eg aewdeeetee Pico...

N.Y. BUS. CORP. LAW §912 (McKinney 1986) ..

Page

~]

12

passim

10

passim

PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 15, §1910 (Purdon Supp.

ETDS AMES TS ane

WISC. STAT. §§180.25(9), 180.725 (1986) ......

Law Review Articles:

Coffee, Regulating the Market for Corporate
Control: A Critical Assessment of the Tender

Offer’s Role in Corporate Governance, 84 Col.
Ri, Sc ee Sc saa we oa usu 6 a B07

Lipton, Takeover Bids In The Target’s Board

Room, 35 Bus. Law 101 (1979) ..............

Note, State Regulation of Tender Offers:
Legislating Within The Constitutional

Framework, 54 Fordham L. Rev. 885 (1986) ..

Sargent, Do The Second Generation State
Takeover Statutes Violate The Commerce

Clause?, 8 Corp. L. Rev. 3 (1985)............

Tushnet, Rethinking The Dormant Commerce

Clause, 1979 Wisc. L. Rev. 125..............

Miscellaneous:

113 Cong. Rec. 24664 (1967) ..................

S. Rep. No. 550, 90th Cong., Ist Sess. (1967)

is Grd 4p Sh E46 bk ea nae 28

Governor's Program Memorandum, 1985 N.Y.

OE oe eine eee cu a sex kes 3

Page

10

10

18

18

13

15

18

16

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Amicus, State of New York, by Robert Abrams, Attorney
General of the State of New York, respectfully submits this brief
in support of appellants pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 36.4.
Amicus urges this Court to reverse the judgment of the court
of appeals and to affirm the power of a state to enact legisla-
tion that adjusts the variety of interests effected by takeovers
of local corporations.

New York has an interest in the issues presented by this ap-
peal because this Court’s decision may affect the validity of a
recent amendment to the New York Business Corporation Law
(“NYBCL”). The amendment, N.Y. BUS. CORP. LAW §912
(McKinney 1986), and the Indiana law challenged in this litiga-
tion, The Control Share Acquisitions Chapter of the Indiana
Business Corporation Law, IND. CODE ANN. §§23-1-42-1 to
11 (Burns Cum. Supp. 1986), operate quite differently, but they
advance common legitimate state interests. As amicus, New York
seeks to protect those interests. New York emphasizes the power
of states to enact legislation, consistent with Edgar v. MITE
Corp., 457 U.S. 624 (1982), that apportions the local interests
and rights affected by changes in corporate cc: trol and fun-
damental corporate events even though the legislation inciden-
tally impacts on interstate commerce. The challenged Indiana
act, Section 912 and numerous other state laws represent the
best efforts of many states to exercise their traditional authori-
ty over such matters while complying with the limited guidelines
articulated in Edgar v. MITE, Corp.

This Court's response to Indiana’s attempt to prescribe rules
governing the exercise of the voting rights associated with newly-
acquired control shares may eventually guide lower courts’
assessment of New York’s statute. Like Indiana’s law, Section
912 governs internal corporate matters; it does so by setting re-
quirements for certain business combinations between New York

' The State of New York also participated as amicus curiae in Edgar v. MITE
Corp., and supported the constitutionality of the Illinois law challenged there.

resident domestic corporations and certain shareholders of 20
percent or more of the outstanding voting stock (“interested
shareholders”) of resident domestic corporations. Authority to
regulate the voting rights of shares and prescribe requirements
for business combinations traditionally has resided with the state
under whose laws the corporation is organized. For example,
section 912 restricts interested shareholders’ access to corporate
assets by prescribing requirements for mergers, consolidations,
dissolutions and other dispositions of significant corporate assets.
Its goal is to promote the long-term well-being of New York
resident domestic corporations.

The type of business combination affected by section 912
usually accompanies highly-leveraged unilateral takeovers.
These combinations frequently change the financial structure,
character, investment and employment policies, and earnings
of the local corporation. Too often such changes are initiated
in order to fund the takeover itself and operate to the long-term
detriment of the corporation. These combinations may also alter
the legal relationships and expectations among and between
shareholders of the resident domestic corporation. Interests out-
side the corporation may also be significantly affected, par-
ticularly those of suppliers and employees of the corporation
and other local businesses. Choosing from several approaches,
32 states have enacted statutes that protect and balance the
variety of interests implicated by transactions conceived to force
major internal corporate changes in corporations deeply rooted
in those states.’

Lastly, the State of New York is the home of thousands of
corporations and corporate investors of every variety. The New
York and American Stock Exchanges are located in New York
and are pillars of the State’s economy. As the site of a stagger-
ing volume of transactions involving corporate securities, assets
and control, the State’s interest in the Court’s decision is

* Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana,
Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts,
Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New
Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South
Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

keen: the decision may impact on the economy of the State, how
people do business within it, and the development of its com-
mercial law.

In sum, the State of New York has an interest in protecting
the power of states to enact statutes which, by constitutionally
permissible means, adjust the variety of local interests affected
by corporate takeovers. We believe that the Indiana statute
satisfies the requirements of the Commerce and Supremacy
clauses. Likewise, we are satisfied that the New York statute
is fully compatible with the provisions of tne United States Con-
stitution, although we recognize that the Court's decision in this
case is not an occasion — and should not be the occasion —
to resolve this question.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Acting pursuant to powers granted to it under the Supremacy
and Commerce Clauses of the Constitution, Congress enacted
the Williams Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 78m(d)-(e), 78n(d)-(f)(1982),
which brought a measure of protection to shareholders of cor-
porations that were the targets of takeover efforts. In so doing,
Congress did not evince an intention to preempt state statutes
covering the same subject matter. It neither sought to impose
a national governmental policy regarding corporate takeover
contests nor to preclude the states from enacting laws that strike
a different balance.

Recently, in Edgar v. MITE Corp. this Court considered the
effect of the Williams Act on an Illinois statute which regulated
certain takeover contests and declined to hold that the Williams
Act preempts state regulation in this area or otherwise imposes
an overriding national policy respecting takeovers. Nevertheless,
the court of appeals devined the existence of such a policy and
invalidated the Indiana statute which sought to regulate the
exercise of voting rights in connection with takeovers of cor-
porations having substantial contacts with that state. In so
doing, the lower court cast grave doubt on the traditional power
of a state to enact legislation that affects transactions designed
to capture corporate control, alter corporate governance and

reallocate substantial assets of corporations firmly connected
to that state. Its decision should be reversed.

Absent express preemption of state power by Congress, a
federal law preempts only state laws that cannot be reconciled
with it. The purpose and scope of the Williams Act are limited
to protecting shareholders through full and fair disclosure of
information pertinent to securities transactions. State laws that
provide other benefits to shareholders, regulate local corpora-
tions, accord rights to their employees and aid the surrounding
economies are not affected by the Williams Act. Rather than
regulating the purchase and sale of securities, such laws usual-
ly operate to limit an individual’s exercise of control over a cor-
poration or his ability to reallocate significant corprate assets.
Miscunstruing the reach of the Williams Act, the courts below
erroneously struck down the Indiana act even though the pur-
poses and provisions of the two statutes do not conflict and could
easily have been reconciled. Contrary to the holdings of the
courts below, the Indiana act need not cause any delay that
conflicts with the provisions of the Williams Act.

The Commerce Clause itself imposes restraints on the power
of states to enact laws that directly burden interstate commerce
or discriminate against it. This Court has consistently
acknowledged the authority of the several states to implement
nondiscriminatory laws that are intended to carry out legitimate
state purposes.

The corporation is a creature of state law and regulation of
the internal affairs of resident corporations is manifestly a
legitimate state concern. In striking down the Indiana act on
Commerce Clause grounds, the court of appeals accorded only
lip service to Indiana’s substantial concern in apportioning rights
affected by changes in control and asset deployment of corpora-
tions that incorporate in Indiana and otherwise are strongly tied
to the state. The interests of states in those internal corporate
matters are legitimate and substantial, and if a state statute is
drawn to further them it should withstand challenges based on
the Commerce Clause.

Indiana’s statute is constitutional because it only regulates
post-acquisition voting rights for control share acquisitions. It
does not directly regulate interstate transactions; nor does it
discriminate against acquisitions commenced by out-of-state
residents. Despite the holdings of the courts below, the extent
of the Indiana statute’s burden on interstate commerce is
speculative. The record contains no evidence that the statute
will adversely affect interstate commerce. On the other hand,
the Indiana act benefits local shareholders by granting them
a voice in proposed material changes in voting control, permit-
ting them to consider a tender offer without fear of a shareholder
stampede, and promoting fair treatment of non-tendering
shareholders.

The Indiana act is only one of a variety of measures enacted
by states that bear on the subject of corporate takeovers. The
constitutionality of each such measure should be assessed in-
dividually given differences in the degree of local contact re-
quired, the particular state interest intended to be addressed
and other factors. The court of appeals’ decision appears to have
a broad sweep. It draws into question any state law which a
court may view as slowing “the important commerce of cor-
porate control,” see Dynamics Corp. of America v. CTS Corp..,
794 F.2d 250, 264 (7th Cir. 1986). This Court should reject the
lower court’s effort to override state laws and impose a national
policy without the benefit of clear Congressioial guidance.

ARGUMENT

I. The Preemption Holding Of The Courts Below Finds
Little Support In The Williams Act Or Edgar v.
MITE Corp., And Unnecessarily Casts Doubt On
State Laws That Do Not Conflict With The Williams
Act

Absent explicit preemptive language in a federal statute,
courts should not declare a state statute invalid under the
Supremacy Clause, U.S. Const. art. VI, cl.2, unless the federal
and state laws are irreconcilable. Hillsborough County, Florida
v. Automated Medical Laboratories, Inc. , 471 U.S. 707 (1985);
Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy Resources Conser-
vation and Development Commission, 461 U.S. 190 (1983); see
Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 525 (1977). The
preemption analysis starts with the assumption that in fields
traditionally occupied by the states, “the historic police powers
of the States were not to be superceded by the Federal Act unless
that was the clear and manifest purpose of Congress.” Rice v.
Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947). See City
of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal Inc., 411 U.S. 624, 643
(1973) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

Aside from express preemptive language, the clear and
manifest purpose of Congress to preempt all state law may be
found where: the nature of the subject matter regulated per-
mits no other conclusion, Florida Lime and Avocado Growers,
Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132 (1963); a pervasive scheme of federal
regulation leaves no room for supplementary state regulation,
City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal Inc., 411 U.S. at
633; “compliance with both federal and state regulations is a
physical impossibility,” Florida Lime and Avocado Growers.
Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. at 142-43; or state law “stands as an
obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full pur-
poses and objectives of Congress.” Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457
U.S. at 631 quoting Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941).

States have traditionally occupied the field of corporate law.
Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471, 479-80 (1979). “Corporations
are creatures of state law, and ... state law will govern the in-
ternal affairs of the corporation.” Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 84
(1975); Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S. 462, 478-79
(1977). In this appeal, the presumption against preemption is
entitled to great weight due to the absence of any contentions
that the Williams Act contains express preemptive language,
evinces an intent to occupy the entire field or that it would be
impossible to comply with the provisions of the Williams Act
and the significantly different provisions of the Indiana law.
See Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner ¢> Smith, Inc. v. Ware, 414
U.S. 117, 127 (1973). Here, as in Edgar v. MITE Corp., the
sole issue is whether the Indiana law frustrates the objectives
of the Williams Act in “some substantial way.” Edgar v. MITE
Corp., 457 U.S. at 632 (White, J.).

Resolution of this issue requires that operation of the challeng-
ed state law be measured against the purpose of the federal
statute. The Williams Act, passed in 1968, sought to close the
regulatory gap caused by the increased use of cash tender of-
fers in corporate acquisitions, “a device that had ‘removed a
substantial number of corporate control contests from the reach
of existing disclosure requirements of the federal securities law.’ ”
Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. at 632, quoting Piper v. Chris-
Craft Industries, Inc., 430 U.S. 1, 22 (1977). The Williams Act
is primarily a full disclosure law which furnishes important in-
formation to all target shareholders, and provides certain pro-
tections to target shareholders who elect to tender their stock.’

* Under the Williams Act, disclosure is required of persons who acquire more
than five percent of certain classes of securities or commence a tender offer
which would give them ownership of more than five percent of certain classes
of securities. 15 U.S.C. §§78m(d)(1), 78n(d)(1). The information that must
be disclosed includes: the background and identity of the acquiror; the source
of the funds to be used in making the purchase; the purpose of the purchase,
including any plans to liquidate the company or make major changes in cor-
porate structure; and the extent of the acquiror’s holdings in the target

(Footnote continued)

When Congress amended the Securities Exchange Act of 1934
(“1934 Act”), 15 U.S.C. §§78a et seq. by enacting the Williams
Act, the amendment did not disturb section 28(a) of the 1934
Act, 15 U.S.C. §78bb(a). In pertinent part, Section 28(a) pro-
vides as follows:

Nothing in this title shall affect the jurisdiction of the
securities commission (or any agency or officer per-
forming like functions) of any State over any securi-
ty or any person insofar as it does not conflict with
the provisions of this title or the rules and regulations
thereunder.

Section 28(a) clearly expresses Congress’ intent to limit the
preemptive effect of the federal securities laws. This intent is
graited onto the Williams Act. Thus, any inquiry into the
preemptive effect of the Williams Act must be illuminated by
the unmistakeable fact that section 28(a) is intended to “pro-
tect, rather than limit, state authority.” Leroy v. Great Western
United Corp. 443 U.S. 173, 182 (1979); see Agency-Rent-A-Car,
Inc. v. Connolly, 686 F.2d 1029, 1038 (1st Cir. 1982).

The Indiana control share acquisitions law does not conflict
with the Williams Act or frustrate its objectives in a substan-
tial way. The statutes operate in related, but separate arenas.
The Indiana law defines the post-acquisition voting rights of
certain controlling shares while the sole purpose of the Williams
Act is to provide investors with full and fair disclosure regard-
ing tender offers. Piper v. Chris-Craft Industries, Inc. , 430 U.S.
at 35; Rondeau v. Mosinee Paper Corp., 422 U.S. 49, 58

(Footnote continued)

company. 15 U.S.C. §78m(d)(1). With respect to tender offers: (1) stockholders
who tender their shares may withdraw them during the first 7 days of a tender
offer and if the offeror has not yet purchased their shares, at any time after
60 days from the commencement of the offer, 15 U.S.C. §78n(d)(5); and (2)
all shares tendered must be purchased for the same price; if an offering price
is increased, those who have already tendered receive the benefit of the in-
crease. 15 U.S.C. §78n(d)(7). See Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. at 632.

(1975); 113 Cong. Rec. 24664 (1967)(Comments of sponsor,
Senator Williams); S. Rep. No. 550, 90th Cong., Ist Sess.
(1967)(Senate Report). Moreover, the Indiana law protects a
broader range of interests than those protected by the Williams
Act, including local economic and social interests likely to be
affected by transfers of corporate control. See Edgar v. MITE
Corp., 457 U.S. at 647 (Powell, J., concurring in part).

The court of appeals swept aside the Indiana law on the
ground that it frustrated an objective of the Williams Act —
the “delicate balance” struck between the tender offeror and
incumbent management. Dynamics Corp. of America v. CTS
Corp., 794 F.2d 250, 262 (7th Cir. 1986). However, in Piper
v. Chris-Craft Industries, Inc., this Court stated:

Congress was indeed committed to a policy of
neutrality in contests of control, but its policy of
evenhandedness does not go to either the purpose of
the legislation or to whether a private cause of ac-
tion is implicit in the statute. Neutrality, is, rather,
but one characteristic of legislation directed toward
a different purpose— the protection of investors.

430 U.S. at 29. Moreover, in Edgar v. MITE Corp., Justice
White’s conclusion that the policy of neutrality underlying the
Williams Act should be accorded preemptive effect failed to
command a majority of this Court.* See Edgar v. MITE Corp.,
457 U.S. at 646 (Powell, J., concurring); Id. at 655 (Stevens,
J., concurring). In brief, the decision to strike down the Indiana
act was supported neither by this Court’s case law nor the

* Justice White's opinion has been accorded great weight by several courts
of appeals, Fleet Aerospace Corp. v. Holderman, 796 F.2d 135 (6th Cir. 1986):
Securities and Exchange Commission v. Carter Hawley Hale Stores, Inc., 760
F.2d 945 (9th Cir. 1985); Martin-Marietta Corp. v. Bendix Corp., 690 F.2d
558 (6th Cir. 1982); National City Lines, Inc. v. LLC Corp., 687 F.2d 1122
(8th Cir. 1982), but none of the statutes reviewed by those courts was anologous
to Indiana's law.

10

legislative history of the Williams Act. Tacitly conceding that
it had found no clear and manifest intent of Congress to preempt
state laws like the one challenged here, the court of appeals
nevertheless took the required “big leap,” and toppled the In-
diana law. Dynamics Corp. of America v. CTS Corp., 794 F.2d
at 262.

The court of appeals’ “delicate balance” analysis also casts
doubt on a variety of other state statutes which amicus believes
do not frustrate the full and fair disclosure purpose of the
Williams Act or upset that act’s policy of neutrality. General-
ly, these statutes protect interests far broader than those ad-
dressed in the Williams Act. These statutes reflect a variety of
approaches. Control share acquisitions statutes, like that of In-
diana, allow shareholders or their duly elected directors to deter-
mine voting rights for control share acquisitions. Business com-
bination statutes generally require similar approval for business
combinations, broadly defined to include a wide range of tran-
sactions involving substantial corporate assets.’ Fair value
statutes grant non-tendering minority shareholders the right to
receive a statutorily prescribed fair price to protect them from
being “freezed out” by the controlling shares.®* Still other statutes
combine features of each of the above laws.’ The delicate
balance reasoning adopted by the court of appeals implies that
it would invalidate all of these statutes because they may make
acquisition of control of a corporation or access to its assets more

* New York, N.Y. BUS. CORP. LAW §912 (McKinney 1986), New Jersey,
1986 N.J. Sess. Law Serv. Chap. 74 (West), and Kentucky, KY. REV. STAT.
§271A.397 (1984) have enacted different versions of business combination
statutes.

* Pennsylvania, PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 15, §1910 (Purdon Supp. 1986), has
enacted a fair value statute.

’ Hybrid statutes have been enacted by Wisconsin, WIS. STAT. §§180.25(9),
180.725 (1986); Maryland, MD. CORPS. & ASS’NS CODE ANN. §§3-601
et seq. (1985); Kentucky, KY. REV. STAT. §271A.397-99 (1984); Michigan,
MICH. COMP. LAWS §§450.177 et seq. (Supp. 1986); and other states.

11

difficult to accomplish.* As demonstrated earlier, the Williams
Act should not be construed to have such an intrusive impact
on traditional state authority.

In sum, read in light of settled principles of federalism, sec-
tion 28(a) of the 1934 Act, the legislative history of the Williams
Act and the broad traditional role of the states in regulating
corporations, no basis exists for concluding that Congress in-
tended to preempt state laws pertaining to the exercise of voting
rights, use of corporate assets, transfer of corporate control or
treatment of minority interest shareholders. All of these tran-
sactions impact on internal corporate matters and implicate in-
terests beyond those sought to be protected by the Williams Act.

In addition, no policy or objective of the Williams Act is
frustrated by these state laws. Lower court decisions that find
preemption appear to be based upon the mistaken belief that
since interstate securities transactions are used to accomplish
these major corporate changes, no state can enact legislation
which affects these transactions. Cf. Exxon Corp. v. Governor
of Maryland, 437 U.S. 117, 127 (1978) (Court rejected the “novel
suggestion that because the economic market for petroleum pro-
ducts is nationwide, no state has the power to regulate the retail
marketing of gas.”) But Congress has not addressed the impact
of these major corporate changes, and until it does so, this Court
should leave the states free to serve as laboratories for finding
effective ways of regulating takeovers. Accordingly, th‘.

* The business combinations regulated by Section 912, including mergers, con-
solidations, dissolutions and other reallocations of substantial corporate assets,
have long been regulated by New York law in some fashion. Measuring sec-
tion 912 against the Williams Act reveals that it does not: interfere with the
disclosure requirements of the Williams Act; purport to regulate the purchase
and sale of securities; impose time limits inconsistent with the Williams Act
(§912(b)); effect voting rights; restrict the acquiror’s ability to oust incum-
bent management; or permit a state official to usurp shareholders’ decisions
to sell their shares. The New York act only restricts the freedom of resident
domestic corporations to execute a business combination that will redirect
substantial corporate assets principally for the benefit of the newly-acquired
controlling interest.

12

Court should hold that Indiana’s control share acquisitions
statute is not preempted by the Williams Act. See Hillsborough
County, Florida v. Automated Medical Laboratories, Inc.;
Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy Resources Conser-
vation and Development Commission.

Il. State Statutes, Like Indiana’s, That Adjust The
Various Interests Effected By Corporate Takeovers
Are Constitutional For They Are Nondiscriminatory
And Have Only Incidental Effects On Interstate
Commerce

The Commerce Clause provides that “Congress shall have
Power... to regulate Commerce... among the several States.”
U.S. Const. art I, §8, cl. 3. While it is well settled that the dor-
mant Commerce Clause is a limitation on the power of the states
to affect interstate commerce, Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53
U.S. (12 How.) 299 (1852), it is also clear that states are not
precluded from enforcing local laws that incidentally burden
interstate commerce. Lewis v. B.T. Investment Managers, Inc..,
447 U.S. 27 (1980); Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co..,
449 U.S. 456 (1961). Direct burdens on interstate commerce
are prohibited, but the Commerce Clause permits states to im-
plement laws which affect interstate commerce if the state in-
terest is legitimate, and the state regulation is nondiscriminatory.
Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State Liquor
Authority (“NYSLA”), 106 S. Ct. 2080 (1986); Pike v. Bruce
Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137 (1970).

Minimal inquiry is required to recognize the constitutional
_ infirmity in state statutes that directly regulate or discriminate
against interstate commerce. See, e.g., Brown-Forman Distillers
Corp. v. NYSLA, 106 S. Ct. at 2080; City of Philadelphia v.
New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617 (1978). In contrast, when a state
statute has only indirect effects on interstate commerce and
regulates evenhandedly, courts must examine whether the state's
interest is legitimate and whether the burden on commerce is
outweighed by the local benefits. Brown-Forman Distillers

13

Corp. v. NYSLA, 106 S. Ct. at 2080; Edgar v. MITE Corp..,
457 U.S. at 640; Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. at 142.
Where, as here, the challenged state statute furthers weighty,
legitimate state interests it does not offend the constitution.

Citing Edgar ». MITE Corp., the courts below held that In-
diana’s control share acquisitions statute violated the Commerce
Clause. However, the majority opinion in Edgar v. MITE Corp.
supports neither the holding nor reasoning of the courts below.
First, the characteristics of the Indiana control share acquisi-
tions statute bear no resemblance to the provisions of the II-
linois Business Takeover Act which this Court invalidated.® Fur-
thermore, the Court acknowledged the legitimacy of Illinois’
interest in protecting local investors, but concluded that the
means used unnecessarily burdened interstate commerce and
did not plainly further the interests asserted by Illinois. Id. at
643-46. Ignoring the limited reach of this Court’s holding in
Edgar v. MITE Corp., the courts below invalidated the Indiana
law without giving proper weight to the legitimate interests of
Indiana or the variety of benefits derived from its statute. In
fact, the court of appeals went so far as to suggest that general-
ly states have limited interests in regulating the effects of cor-
porate takeovers. Of course, several weighty interests support
state legislation that adjusts the variety of local interests likely
to be directly effected by corporate takeovers. Note, State
Regulation of Tender Offers: Legislating Within The Constitu-
tional Framework, 54 Fordham L. Rev. 885, 901 (1986).
Takeovers are designed to have a direct impact on the fun-
damental internal affairs of target corporations, specifically cor-
porate control and the allocation of assets. For example, they
implicate interests of employees, minority shareholders and in-
cumbent management as well as businesses located in the area
where the corporation does substantial business. Thus, while
takeovers may be accomplished by interstate transactions, local
interests traditionally regulated by the states are frequently im-
pacted directly.

* The Illinois act allowed the Illinois Secretary of State to block indefinitely
a nationwide tender offer. The Indiana act, on the other hand, assigns no
role to the state in takeover contests, and does not regulate the transfer of stock.

14

Corporations and corporate shares are creatures of state law.
Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. at 84. Despite increased trading of cor-
porate shares in interstate and international commerce, shares
remain items over which the states have significant authority.
The initial features of corporate stock, including voting rights,
were created by states, and states retain the authority to modify
or amend those features. That authority includes the power to
define the circumstances under which shares may be used to
gain control over a corporation or to reallocate corporate assets.
Thus, contrary to the court of appeals’ belief, the federal govern-
ment and states share a joint interest in the “commerce of cor-
porate control.” Dynamics Corp. of America v. CTS Corp., 794
F.2d at 264.

Some of the specific goals states seek to achieve by enacting
various forms of takeover legislation include: (1) protecting local
non-tendering shareholders from the effects of two-tier “freeze-
out” transactions; (2) permitting shareholders to participate in
decisions regarding fundamental corporate events such as
mergers, consolidations, and sales and pledges of assets; (3) en-
couraging certain types of investment strategies considered good
for the economy of the state; and (4) eliminating the need for
incumbent management to focus upon certain defensive
strategies considered unhealthy for the state’s economy. Each
of these interests is important to the states and in assessing the
validity of a state statute under the Commerce Clause, courts
should accord these interests great weight.

The court of appeals’ failure to accord proper weight to In-
diana’s stated interests renders its Pike analysis defective."® Unlike
the statute considered in Edgar v. MITE Corp., Indiana has
a strong interest in the corporations covered by its control share
acquisitions act. The Indiana act applies only to corporations
organized under the laws of Indiana with 100 or more

Application of the Pike balancing test is appropriate because the Indiana
act does not directly regulate interstate transactions. Instead, once the stock
acquisition is completed, the statute allows shareholders to determine whether
voting rights will be accorded to an acquiror of a controlling interest.

15

shareholders which have their principal place of business, prin-
cipal offices or substantial assets within Indiana, and more than
ten percent of their shares owned by Indiana residents. Thus.
the Indiana act covers corporations that were incorporated in
the state and in which Indiana residents have a substantial
ownership interest and which do substantial business in the state
or maintain substantial assets there.

These firm ties between the covered corporations and Indiana
permit the state to pursue several permissible objectives: pro-
tecting resident shareholders and local economies, and
regulating internal corporate affairs. Sargent, Do The Second
Generation State Takeover Statutes Violate The Commerce
Clause?, 8 Corp. L. Rev. 3 (1985). Because the Indiana law
is directed at local matters, its effect on interstate commerce
is incidental and its burden on interstate commerce is modest.
Additionally, the Indiana law regulates evenhandedly inasmuch
as it makes no distinction between acquisitions initiated by out-
of-state residents and those initiated by state residents.

The Indiana law advances the legitimate state interests iden-
tified. It benefits Indiana shareholders because it only applies
to Indiana corporations in which Indiana residents have a
substantial ownership interest. It protects shareholders by per-
mitting a majority of disinterested shareholders to determine
whether a material change in voting control is in their best in-
terests. Because it requires express shareholder approval of a
transfer of controlling voting rights in a corporation, the statute
allows resident shareholders to discount the possibility of a
shareholder stampede and permits them to focus on factors.
including the probable local economic and social impact of a
takeover, which they might not otherwise evaluate.

The Indiana act also advances the state’s interest in regulating
the internal affirs of corporations organized under the laws
of Indiana. The statute is drawn to further this interest. It ap-
plies to voting rights, manifestly an internal matter, of corpora-
tions organized under the laws of Indiana. APL Limited Part-
nership v. Van Dusen Air, Inc. , 622 F. Supp. 1216, 1223 (D.C.

16

Minn. 1985). It does not apply to foreign corporations as did
the statute examined in Edgar v. MITE Corp.

We are especially troubled by the aspect of the court of ap-
peals’ opinion that suggests that the Commerce Clause condemns
state statutes that require shareholder or board of director ap-
proval of fundamental internal corporate changes initiated
through interstate stock transactions. This notion implicates
statutes like the one enacted by New York even though they
plainly advance legitimate state interests without excessively
burdening interstate commerce.

In this regard, Section 912, furthers several legitimate state
interests. As a threshhold matter, the “resident domestic cor-
porations” covered by section 912 are closely connected to New
York so as to achieve the State’s permissible purposes.'' Secondly,
Section 912 furthers several important state objectives, chief
among them is promoting the long-term well-being of New York
resident domestic corporations. See Governor's Program
Memorandum, 1985 N.Y. Laws Chap. 915. The New York law
accomplishes this goal by forbidding resident domestic corpora-
tions from engaging in business combinations with an interested
shareholder for five years unless the business combination or
controlling share acquisition was approved by the board of direc-
tors prior to the interested shareholder’s stock acquisition date.
Section §912(b). Five or more years after the interested
shareholder’s stock acquisition date, the resident domestic cor-
poration may engage in a business combination with the in-
terested shareholder if it obtains the affirmative vote of the
holders of a majority of the outstanding stock not beneficially
owned by such interested shareholder or pays the shareholders,
other than the interested shareholder, a statutorily prescribed
formula price designed to ensure that all holders of shares of

" The jurisdictional predicate required to trigger Section 912 is more strict
than under Indiana law. Section 912 only covers corporations organized under
the laws of New York and which have (1) their principal offices and (2) signifi-
cant business operations and (3) at least 10 percent of the ownership of its
voting stock located in New York. NYBCL §912(a)(13).

17

voting stock will receive at least the highest price per share paid
by the interested shareholder, determined as of the date such
business combination was first proposed in its final, definitive
form. NYBCL §912(c)."

Thus, section 912 has the following effects: (1) it encourages
takeovers that the acquiror and target management agree are
in the best interests of New York corporations, their employees
and shareholders; (2) it discourages unilateral takeovers which
depend on immediate access to significant . ets of the corpora-
tion; (3) it encourages long-term in,estment commitment by
interested shareholders who acquired their controlling interest
without the approval of the board of directors; and (4) it pro-
tects resident non-tendering shareholders from “freeze-out” tran-
sactions.'* Achieving each of these benefits is important to the
economic and social well-being of New York.

On the other side of the scale, section 912 does not excessive-
ly burden interstate commerce. It has a limited impact on the
interstate commerce of corporate stock and control. In contrast
to the statutes struck down in Edgar v. MITE Corp., and by
various other federal courts, section 912 does not: (1) regulate
the sale of shares; (2) protect incumbent management from
replacement by an interested shareholder; (3) limit the voting
rights of newly-acquired shares; (4) require approval of the ac-
quisition of controlling interests; (5) prohibit a change of the
corporation's line of business; (6) grant the State a role in deter-
mining whether an interstate acquisition will proceed; or (7)
deprive shareholders of the right to sell their shares at a
premium.

* A related provision of New York law, NYBCL §513, restricts the use of
“greenmail” by resident domestic corporations by requiring board of direc-
tor and shareholder approval of such purchase or agreement to purchase.

Two corollary benefits are discouraging excessive corporate debt and en-
couraging long-term interests, especially research and development and
business diversification.

18

The court of appeals’ opinion nonetheless calls statutes like
Section 912 into question apparently on the ground that the
Commerce Clause bars states from sanctioning any activity that
slows “the important commerce in corporate control.” Dynamics
Corp. of America v. CTS Corp., 794 F.2d at 264. Implicit in
the court’s opinion is its belief that tender offers benefit
shareholders and, therefore, the Commerce Clause should pro-
tect tender offers. In other words, under the guise of a Com-
merce Clause analysis, the court of appeals imposed its economic
judgment regarding the value of tender offers. Such economic
policy judgments, however, are reserved for the Congress or
state legislatures. In the absence of a national policy regarding
corporate takeovers, it is not appropriate for federal courts to
attempt to fill the void by judicial interpretations of the Com-
merce Clause. This is especially so in light of Congress’
disinclination, to date, to formulate an approach to the issue
and the disputed economic data regarding the value of
takeovers, particularly highly-leveraged hostile ones. Coffee,
Regulating the Market for Corporate Control: A Critical Assess-
ment of the Tender Offer’s Role In Corporate Governance, 84
Col. L. Rev. 1145 (1984); see Tushnet, Rethinking the Dormant
Commerce Clause, 1979 Wisc. L. Rev. 125, 156; Lipton,
Takeover Bids in the Target's Board Room, 35 Bus. Law.
101 (1979).

19

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the decision below should be
reversed.

Dated: New York, New York
December 4, 1986

O. PETER SHERWOOD ROBERT ABRAMS

Solicitor General of the Attorney General of the
State of New York State of New York
120 Broadway
Counsel of Record New York, New York 10271

Tel. No. (212) 341-2020
MARY ELLEN BURNS
Deputy Chief Assistant
Attorney General

COLVIN W. GRANNUM
Assistant Attorney General

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0299%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
