# Amicus Curiae Brief — CTS Corp. v. Dynamics Corp. of America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0294%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 69

## Text

Nos. 86-71 & 86-97

IN THI

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

>

CTS CORPORATION,
Appellant,

—V- =

DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA,
Appellee.
STATE OF INDIANA,

Intervenor-Appellant,
Vv.

DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA,
Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES INDUSTRY
ASSOCIATION, INC. IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEE

WILLIAM J. FITZPATRICK MARC P. CHERNO
GERARD J. QUINN Counsel of Record
IRWIN BLUM
ol
FRIED, FRANK, HARRIS, SHRIVER
AND JACOBSON
One New York Plaza
Of Counsel New York, New York 10004
(212) 820-8000

The Securities Industry
Association, Inc.

120 Broadway

New York, New York 1027]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGI

CARE GID FAP PORE UE so ve cc ccccccccscsesves i]
INTEREST OF THE SECURITIES INDUSTRY ASSO-

SE SNOin 60:2 60 eb ub vase bub ees eeteeeduesns 2

EPO PAI Se CIR ARGININE cc ccc cccccvccscecccess 5

TEE o 00 54.05040006hbsb000400cadeunewentens 9
I. THE INDIANA STATUTE IS PREEMPTED BY

ee WOR FU Bo oc knceceesesecccsevecces Y

A. Under Mite, State Statutes Must Not Delay Or
ED TOE GINUED ccc cccvccccencccvcess )

B. The Second Generation Statutes Violate The
Williams Act’s Policy Of Neutrality......... 12

C. The Second Generation Statutes Violate The
Williams Act’s Policy Of Investor Autonomy 14

Il. THE INDIANA STATUTE VIOLATES THE

COMMERCE CLAUSE OF THE CONSTITU-
NN a ah a al a cS a TE ae Ose a 17

A. The Indiana Statute Is Unconstitutional Per Se
As A Direct Burden on Interstate Commerce . 18
B. No Significant Local Benefits Exist Which
Outweigh The Indiana Statute’s Substantial
Interference With Interstate Commerce...... 23

EET ne4 SS o8éécadevekhnaunecneseeesoetens 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

APL Ltd. Partnership v. Van Dusen Air, Inc., 622 F.

Sump. 1206 Gd. RE. TG oc ccecssiececsccuseesns 9
Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State
Liquor Authority, 106 S.Ct. 2080 (1986)..... 17, 18, 22, 26
Dynamics Corporation of America v. CTS Corp., 794
PP. ty tte ee 8, 21, 22
Edgar v. MITE, 457 U.S. 624 (1982) ................ passim
Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S. 117
(ISTE . cc ccccccécdoesecnseeeneueennnateee 23

Fleet. Aerospace Corp. v. Holderman, 796 F.2d 135 (6th
Cir. 1986), aff’g, 637 F. Supp. 742 (S.D. Ohio) .. .9, 15, 21

Gelco Corp. v. Coniston Partners, C.A. No. 3-86-847
(D. Minn. Nov. 10, 1986)

v)
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941).............. y
Icahn v. Blunt, 612 F. Supp. 1400 (W.D. Mo. 1985) .9, 15, 21

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519 (1977)....... 9
Schreiber v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 105 S.Ct. 2458
(IDES)... no cccccccevensecdecéeeeseseenae 1]
Shafer v. Farmers Grain Co., 268 U.S. 189 (1925)..... 19
Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325 U.S. 761 (1945).. 22

Terry v. Yamashita, 643 F. Supp. 161 (D. Hawaii 1986) .9, 21

ili
Statutes and Regulations:
Federal:

17 C.F.R. § 240.14d-2 (1985)...
17 C.F.R. § 240.14e-1(a) (1986)

State:

Ind. Code

§ 23-1-42-7(a) (1986). ...............
Ind. Code § 2

3-1-43-1 ef seg. (1986) ..

Other Authorities:

113 Cong. Rec. 24,665-6 (1967)

Exchange Act Release No. 16384, 44 Fed. Reg.
70,326 (1979)

Governor’s Program Memorandum, 1985 N.Y.
Laws Chap. 915

6

IN THI

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

——_ << —_________
CTS CORPORATION,
Appellant,
DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA,
Appellee.

STATE OF INDIANA,
Intervenor-Appellant,
—_—VY—
DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES
INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION, INC. IN SUPPORT
OF APPELLEE

Pursuant to Rule 36.2 of this Court, and with the consent of!
the parties, The Securities Industry Association, Inc., submits
this brief as amicus curiae in support of appellee Dynamics
Corporation of America.

Nw

THE INTEREST OF THE SECURITIES INDUSTRY
ASSOCIATION, INC.

The Securities Industry Association, Inc. (“SIA”) is a trade
association comprised of approximately 500 securities brokers
and dealers transacting business both nationally and interna-
tionally. Its membership is responsible for over ninety percent
of the securities brokerage business conducted in this country
and includes members of every national securities exchange as
well as securities firms that are not members of any exchanges.

SIA’s members service securities investors of every size and
type and perform a complete spectrum of professional securi-
ties activities, including retail and institutional brokerage,
over-the-counter market making, underwriting and other in-
vestment banking activities, various exchange floor functions,
and money management and investment advisory services. As
a consequence, SIA 1s generally recognized as a spokesman for
the securities industry in general and the broker-dealer commu-
nity in particular.

The issues in this case involve the constitutionality of the
so-called “second generation” of state takeover statutes, which
are designed to regulate, and in most instances discourage,
tender offers for corporate control other than those favored by
incumbent management. These statutes purport to replace an
earlier series of state tender offer statutes whose unconstitu-
tionality was determined by this Court in Edgar v. MITE, 457
U.S. 624 (1982) (“MITE”). In fact, however, the efforts under-
taken by the states since MITE to accommodate their takeover
legislation to the concerns articulated by this Court in that case
have been largely cosmetic. The primary purpose and effect of
the state takeover statutes, to delay and deter unsolicited
control acquisitions, has remained unaltered in the transition
from the pre-M/TE statutes to the more modern variety, of
which the statute under review is a typical example.

As a recognized spokesman and representative of the securi-
ties industry on legislative and policy matters, SIA has re-

garded with growing concern the spectre of renewed efforts at
local regulation of the national securities market by means of
State takeover statutes. There are few economic phenomena
less local and more national in character than tender offers for
corporate ccntrol. Tender offers are offered on a non-dis-
criminatory nationwide basis to all shareholders of a target
corporation. Where large public corporations are involved,
these shareholders will generally be found in nearly every state
in the Union. Indeed, because the shares of such corporations
are generally traded on a daily basis on one or another of the
nationwide securities exchanges it is generally impossible to
pinpoint, On a geographic basis, where all shareholders are
located.

Shareholders who choose to accept an offer will generally
send their acceptances and, eventually, their stock certificates,
to the bidder’s depository, whose offices will usually be located
in one of the nation’s major financial centers, outside the state
of residence of most target shareholders and, more often than
not, outside the state of domicile of either the bidder or the
target corporation. Other shareholders, rather than awaiting
completion of an offer which might be withdrawn or defeated,
often choose to seek an immediate cash premium by selling
their shares on the open market at a price that will have risen
significantly in the wake of the tender offer announcement.
Such trading, which guarantees many shareholders a profit
even when an offer is withdrawn, usually takes place on the
floor of a national exchange, which again is usually located in
a State unrelated to the domicile of shareholder, target o1
bidder.

In the above ways and others, tender offers impact directly
and substantially on the national securities market. The market
factors and processes underlying these tender offers are conse-
quently nationwide in character and—save for the impact of
the local state statutes under review—are affected only slightly,
if at all, by considerations specific to any single locality.

State attempts to regulate, and, in most cases, burden,
nationwide tender offers occasion several negative results for

4

shareholders. In the first place, by discouraging and deterring
tender offers, they deny to shareholders the premium values
characteristic of such offers. Additionally, the threat, theoreti-
cal or actual, of a tender offer often forces an inefficient or
insensitive management to respond more directly to sharehold-
ers’ concerns with a consequential improvement in the market
position of the corporation’s stock. The removal of such threat
is likely to have a depressing effect on the shares of such
corporations and ultimately on the securities market as a
whole. MITE, 457 U.S. at 643.

Furthermore, even where local statutes do not ultimately
thwart a tender offer, they inevitably add a high level of
confusion and uncertainty to the tender offer process. Under
the federal scheme, set up by the Williams Act, the rules and
processes for tender offers are clear, uniform, and straight-
forward. Brokers, dealers, investment advisors and the other
members of the securities industry are generally conversant
with their details. The superimposition upon this interstate
framework of a variety of state regulatory schemes differing in
their particulars cannot help but confuse shareholders and
their investment advisors in reaching the economic decisions
they must make with respect to their shares.

It is the position of SIA that tender offers, for all the
controversy focused on them in recent years, are on the whole
a beneficial influence on the national economy and on the
national securities market. Even if additional regulation were
thought to be necessary to deal with any abuses in the tender
offer process, such regulation would be ultimately dysfunc-
tional and detrimental to securities holders unless it were
national in scope and operation. Through promulgation of the
Williams Act, and through frequent consideration of addi-
tional legislation, Congress has shown itself equal to the task
of providing the necessary regulation.

Conversely, local legislation, impacting upon and burdening
nationwide tender offers, clearly interferes with the interstate
commerce in corporate securities. Such legislation disturbs the
existent federal regulatory framework established by Congress

with respect to tender offers and complicates any additional
steps Congress may take with respect to regulating this inter-
state phenomenon. These considerations underlay this Court’s
decision in MITE, which effectively eliminated the first genera-
tion of state takeover legislation. It is respectfully submitted
that these same considerations mandate a similar conclusion
with respect to the statute under review, as well as with respect
to all local statutes similarly devised to evade the effects of the
MITE ruling.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

During the 1960s, tender offers arose as an increasingly
common method for the achievement of corporate control.
Pursuant to this method of control acquisition, potential
acquirors, by-passing the sometimes hostile managements of
target corporations, placed their offers to purchase controlling
interests in corporations directly before the target’s share-
holders. Although tender offers generally offered substantial
premiums to shareholders, and, additionally, conferred
economic benefits to the economy as a whole, M/TE, 457 U.S.
at 633, Congressional concern increased over the fact that, at
the time, tender offers operated in a regulatory vacuum,
outside the disclosure requirements of the federal securities
laws, end with no specified time period in which they were
required to remain open.

The legislative reaction was the Williams Act, whose under-
lying purpose was to regulate tender offers for the protection
and benefit of shareholders faced with a request to tender their
shares. While, in its formative stages, the proposed Williams
Act legislation was infused with an avowedly pro-management
viewpoint, Congress’ Increasing realization of the substantial
economic benefits conferred by tender offers led it to adopt,
instead, a regulatory scheme designed not to inhibit tender
offers, but rather characterized by a strict neutrality between
the interests of incumbent target management, on the one

6

hand, and those of the offeror on the other. See MITE, 457
U.S. at 633.' The Williams Act legislation, as ultimately
adopted, provided that shareholders receive full and timely
disclosure with respect to matters material to their investment
decisions and that tender offers proceed within a time frame
carefully calibrated to benefit neither bidder nor management.

In the years since the promulgation of the Williams Act,
tender offers have become an increasingly significant phenom-
enon in our nation’s economic life. While Congress has often
been requested by groups responsive to existing corporate
management to enact legislation more restrictive of hostile
takeovers, it has consistently declined to upset the delicate
neutral balance embodied in the Williams Act.

These efforts, however, have often found more sympathetic
ears in the state legislatures, which bodies are, in any case,
more easily subject to the influences and pressures of local
corporations. Thus, although at the time of the promulgation
of the Williams Act there existed virtually no state legislation
purporting to regulate acquisitions of corporate control,’ in the
years following a large number of states adopted statutes
specifically designed to regulate tender offers. In most in-
Stances these state takeover statutes imposed requirements
more burdensome on offerors than those provided for in the
federal statute. These sometimes took the form of additional
disclosure obligations and requirements for prior administra-
tive review and approval of tender offers. Almost universally,
such statutes established time frames which virtually assured
that tender offers could not be consummated during the time

I The legislative history amply reveals that the promulgators of the
Williams Act had no intention to inhibit tender offers and even
believed that the act “might encourage them.” Nor did Congress intend
to deny to shareholders “the opportunities which result from the
competitive bidding for a block of stock of a given company,” 113
Cong. Rec. 24,665-6 (1967) (remarks of Sens. Williams and Javits)

~ In 1968, when the Williams Act was enacted, Virginia was the only
state which had a takeover statute and its law had been recently passed
and never enforced

periods established under the Williams Act. While the constitu-
tionality of such statutes was consistently challenged, these
takeover statutes often provided target managements with
effective tools to at least delay a hostile offer until a more
secure defensive device could be implemented.

Finally, this Court, in M/TE, addressed head-on the question
of the constitutionality of the state takeover statutes. A clear
majority of the Court held that the Illinois takeover statute
violated the Commerce Clause of the Constitution by the
impermissible restrictions it imposed upon interstate securities
transactions. A plurality of the Court, additionally, held that
the statute violated the Supremacy Clause of the Constitution
by obstructing the regulatory scheme established by Congress
in the Williams Act. With respect to each of these constitu-
tional bases the operative impermissible characteristic of the
Statute was the same—that it operated to delay and impede
nationwide tender offers for corporate control.

Following this Court’s ruling in MITE, the state takeover
Statutes then extant were consistently struck down by the
courts, or their enforcement abandoned by state regulatory
commissions. Very recently, however, the investment commu-
nity has witnessed the resurrection of the state takeover stat-
utes in a different garb. Under the prodding of local corporate
managements, states have increasingly adopted “second
generation” takeover statutes variously labelled as “control
share” statutes or “business combination” statutes. These
Statutes purport to regulate not the tender offer process itself,
but rather the purchase of shares pursuant to such offers o- the
exercise of the essential rights of such shares following the
purchase of corporate control.’ While the statutes may vary in
their particulars, their purpose and effect is identical—to delay,

“Control share” statutes generally provide that one seeking
purchase more than a specified percentage (often 20%) of a cory
tion’s stock cannot complete such purchase absent the approva
majority of the shareholders of the corporation. The potential acquir
is generally excluded from participating in such vote. The Indiana

Statute under review technically permits a Sale transact

impede and ultimately thwart nationwide tender offers and
corporate control acauisitions.

+

Any differences between these “second generation” statutes
and the pre-M/TE legislation they replaced are more apparent
than real. As the Court of Appeals in the instant case noted,
while such statutes are “[c]leverly drafted . . . to skirt judicial
holdings that forbid states to delay tender offers beyond the
period required by the Williams Act, the cleverness is fairly
transparent.” 794 F.2d at 261 (emphasis supplied). Where the
purpose of a local statute is to delay and discourage hostile
tender offers and where the direct effect of the statute is the
Same, the particular form and method utilized to achieve this
result should not immunize the statute from constitutional
attack. To hold otherwise would be to permit form to rule

prior to sharehoider approval but biocks the transfer of any voting
rights absent such approval.

“Busin ~; combination” statutes operate to block an acquiror’s
ability to undertake a wide series of corporate transactions for an
extended period of time even if he has purchased most or all of the
shares in a target corporation. Thus, Indiana’s business combination
statute, Ind. Code, § 23-1-43-1 ef seq. (1986), which is not the subject
of the instant appeal, limits the acquiror’s ability to cause the corpora-
tion to engage in a wide number of corporate transactions, including
mergers, liquidations and the sale, lease, exchange, mortgage, pledge,
transfer or other disposition of assets or the issuance of dividends
beyond stated percentages and stated amounts. These restrictions,
however, apply only in the case of a hostile acquiror

The purpose and effect of both types of statutes is to deter and
discourage anyone from purchasing a control interest in a corporation
Thus, for example, while the State of New York in its amicus briet (at
p. 9) seeks to characterize its own business combination statute as
more neutral than the Indiana statute under review, the Governor's
Program Memorandum, 1985 N.Y. Laws Chap. 915, accompanying
the New York statute, candidly acknowledged that “the effect of the
legislation” was “to encourage a potential acquiror to negotiate 1s
proposed acquisition with the board of directors and to discourage
unilateral takeovers that depend on the assets of the target.” /d. at p. 8
(emphasis added)

We suggest that the Court, if it invalidates the Indiana control share
statute, make it clear in its opinion that other statutes such as business
combination statutes which similarly attempt to evade the MI/TI

holding and impede takeovers will also not pass constitutional m

9

substance, and to open the door to facile evasions of the
Court’s constitutional ruling.’

It is respectfully submitted that M/TE and its progeny are
fully dispositive with respect to the Indiana statute and to the
generality of “second generation” takeover statutes of which it
is representative. The continued attempt to use these statutes to
undermine federal policies and overstep constitutional bounda-
ries can only be prevented by this Court’s declaration, in
unambiguous terms, of the plain unconstitutionality of any
State legislation’ which obstructs the nationwide securities
market by setting up delays and impediments to nationwide
tender offers and other control acquisitions.

ARGUMENT

I. THE INDIANA STATUTE IS PREEMPTED BY THE
WILLIAMS ACT

A. Under Mite, State Statutes Must Not Delay Or Impede
Tender Offers

Under the preemption doctrine, which is founded upon the
Supremacy Clause of the Constitution, a state law will be
deemed unconstitutiona! where such law “stands as an obstacle
to the accomplishment and execution of the full purposes and
objectives of Congress.” Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67
(1941); Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 526, 540-41
(1977). In MITE, a plurality of this Court held that a state
Statute whose terms operated to impede and delay nationwide
tender offers was unconstitutional in that it constituted an

4 Not surprisingly, the courts which have considered the “second
generation” state control acquisition statutes have, following M/TE,
ruled such statutes unconstitutional under ether the Commerce or
Supremacy Clauses of the Constitution or both. See, e.g., in addition
to the decision under review, Fleet Aerospace Corp. v. Hoiderman,
796 F.2d 135 (6th Cir. 1986); Gelco Corp. v. Coniston Partners, C.A
No. 3-86-847 (D. Minn. Nov. 10, 1986); /cahn v. Blunt, 612 F. Supp
1400 (W.D. Mo. 1985); APL Lid. Partnership v. Van Dusen Air, Inc
622 F. Supp. 1216 (D. Minn. 1985); Jerry v. Yamashita, 643 F. Supp
161 (D. Hawaii 1986)

10

obstacle to the purposes and objectives of Congress in enacting
the Williams Act which regulates the making and, in particular,
the timing of such tender offers.

It is respectfully submitted that the plurality opinion in
MITE was correct and that the same grounds anc reasons
which led the plurality to apply the preemption doctrine in
MITE clearly mandate a finding of unconstitutionality with
respect to the Indiana statute at issue here.

The »lurality opinion in MITE held that the Illinois statute
at issue in that case conflicted impermissibly with the Williams
Act in that, in its pro-management leanings, it disturbed the
balance of strict neutrality between management and offeror
which Congress, in enacting the Williams Act, had determined
to provide the best protection for shareholders in corporate
control contests.

There is no question that in imposing these requirements,
Congress intended to protect investors. But it is also
crystal clear that a major aspect of the effort to protect
the investor was to avoid favoring either management or
the takeover bidder. . . . As Senator Williams explained:

“We have taken extreme care to avoid tipping the
scales either in favor of management or in favor of
the person making the takeover bids.”

113 Cong. Rec. 24,664 (1967). This policy of “evenhand-
edness” represented a conviction that neither side in the
contest should be extended additional advantages vis-a-vis
the investor, who, if furnished with adequate information,
would be in a position to make his own informed choice.
We, therefore, agree with the Court of Appeals that
Congress sought to protect the investor not only by
furnishing him with the necessary information but also b)
withholding from management or the bidder any undue
advantage that could frustrate the exercise of an informed

choice.

1]

457 U.S. at 633-34 (emphasis supplied) (citations omitted).

A particular element of this carefully balanced approach
adopted by Congress with respect to tender offers involved
granting to the target’s shareholders sufficient time to receive
and digest the informational materials required to be distrib-
uted under the Williams Act while, at the same time, not
permitting tender offers to be so delayed as to impede their
consummation or grant to target management an undue advan-
tage in resisting takeover attempts.

. Congress intended to strike a balance between the
investor, management and the takeover bidder. The bidder
was to furnish the investor and the target company with
adequate information but there was no “inten[tion] to do

. more than give incumbent management an opportu-
nity to express and explain its position.” Once that oppor-
tunity was extended, Congress anticipated that the
investor, if he so chose, and the takeover bidder should be
free to move forward within the time frame provided by
Congress.

Id. at 634 (emphasis added) (citations omitted).

Noting that “[dJelay has been characterized as the most
potent weapon in a tender offer fight” (id. at 637 n.12), the
plurality of this Court concluded, on the basis of the legislative
history of the Williams Act as well as subsequent Congres-
sional expressions of policy, that timing was an integral ele-
ment of the legislative scheme inherent in the Williams Act.
Indeed the plurality in M/TE concluded, correctly we submit,
that the Illinois statute violated the Supremacy Clause precisely

) The clear intendment of Congress to adhere to a policy of strict
neutrality in corporate control contests was recently reaffirmed by the

unanimous opinion of this Court

The expressed legislative intent [of the Williams Act] was to
preserve a neutral setting in which the contenders could fully

present their arguments

Schreiber v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 105 S. Ct. 2458, 2463 (1985)

12
by reason of the fact that the provisions of such statute
contained the potential for delays greater than that provided in
the time framework mandated under the Williams Act. /d. at
639.°

B. The Second Generation Statutes Violate The Williams
Act’s Policy Of Neutrality

In the instant case the shareholder vote provisions of the
Indiana statute similarly offend against the time-frame manda-
ted by the Williams Act by virtually assuring that any tender
offer conducted pursuant to the Indiana statute will be subject
to delays greater than those established by the Williams Act.
The statute further provides that the ability to engender such
delays shall lie exclusively in the hands of target management.
In this manner the careful neutral balance which this Court has
recognized to be the essential policy of the Williams Act is
overthrown

Appellants’ attempts to reconcile the Indiana statute with
the Williams Act are unavailing. Thus, they argue that the
potential fifty-day delay imposed on bidders under the statute
is no greater a burden upon tender offers than the delays
imposed when bidders must leave their offers open due to the
necessity of obtaining prior state or federal regulatory ap-
provals, such as those required, for example, under the Hart-
Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act. Appellants’
analogy could not be more inapposite. There is no meaningful
similarity between delays necessarily imposed by external and
neutral regulatory requirements and delays operating at the
option and for the benefit of a hostile target management. The
extent of any delays created by the need to secure anti-trust
approvals will not depend on whether a proposed acquisition is
friendly or not. Conversely, the maximum delays permissible
under the Indiana statute will occur only when target manage-

6 Securities and Exchange Commission (“S.E.C.”) regulations pro
mulgated pursuant to the Williams Act piovide that the bidder is not
required to keep his tender offer open for more than twenty business
days. See 17 C.F.R. § 240. 14e-1(a) (1986)

ment wants them to and will serve no separate regulatory
function.

Appellants further argue that, unlike the statute deemed
unconstitutional in MITE, the Indiana statute does not delay
commencement or even consummation of the tender offer.
Under the statute, they claim, a bidder is free to close his offer
within the Williams Act time frame and only his subsequent
voting rights are affected. To the objection that no rational
tender offeror will purchase shares when he doesn’t know if he
will ever be able to vote them, appellants offer a “practical
alternative” (Brief of Intervenor-Appellant State of Indiana
(“Indiana Brief”) at pp. 62-73). They claim a purchaser can
close an offer within the Williams Act’s time frame but make
his purchases of target’s stock conditional on subsequent
shareholder approval of his voting rights.

,

However, appellants’ ‘‘practical alternative’’—in itself,
complex, burdensome, and unprecedented—ignores the basic
negative qualities of delay in tender offer situations which have
caused it to be termed ‘‘the most potent weapon’”’ against
hostile takeovers. Delay permits target management time to set
up a wide array of defensive measures—ranging from corpo-
rate restructuring, to poison pills, to self-tenders, to defensive
acquisitions—designed to irrevocably biock and impede the
takeover even if the shares already have been tendered. See
MITE, 457 U.S. at 638 n.13. Such defensive actions can be as
easily undertaken during the fifty-day delay prior to a share-
holder vote under the Indiana statute as during a delay prior to
the commencement or closing of a tender offer. The ‘‘practical
alternative’ offered by appellants therefore does nothing to
cure the negative effects of the delays which this Court con-
demned in MITE but which the Indiana statute still permits
target management to effect.

Furthermore, by excessively extending the period between
the announcement of an intention to make a bid and the actual
successful completion of the offer, the Indiana statute pro-

14

motes the very uncertainty and market volatility which the
Williams Act was intended to minimize.

C. The Second Generation Statutes Violate The Williams
Act’s Policy Of Investor Autonomy

The Indiana statute, moreover, conflicts with the Williams
Act in an even more fundamental way. Thus, the Indiana
Statute clearly establishes as a practical matter that no tender
offer can be consummated by any rational bidder absent a
shareholder vote that will grant him the voting rights that are
the reason for the offer in the first instance. This, in effect,
requires the bidder to conduct and win a proxy contest with
target management before he can purchase shares from any
shareholders. Yet the Williams Act clearly intended that the
decision to tender one’s shares be one that rested with the
individual shareholder alone and that it was not to be made
subject, by statute, to another’s control or veto.

Thus, one of the vices of the Illinois statute, as found by the
plurality opinion in MITE, was that it made the individual
shareholder’s ability to accept a tender offer subject to the
judgment of others—in that case, the Illinois Secretary of
State:

The Court of Appeals understood the Williams Act and
its legislative history to indicate that Congress intended
for investors to be free to make their own decisions. We
agree. Both the House and Senate Reports observed that
the Act was “designed to make the relevant facts known
so that shareholders have a fair opportunity to make their
decision.” H.R. Rep. No. 1711, 90th Cong., 2d Sess., 4

Rule 14d-2, 17 C.F.R. § 240.14d-2 (1985), promulgated pursuant to
the Williams ..ct, which requires a tender offer to commence not more
than five days after public announcement of a bid, was adopted on the
basis that longer delays would encourage excessive market and arbi
trage activity and thereby “deny security holders the protect.ons which
that Act was intended by Congress to provide,” Exchange Act Release
No. 16384, 44 Fed. Reg. 70,326 (1979), at 70,329. In adopting Rule
14d-2, the S.E.C. stated an express intention to pre-empt state take
over statutes tnen existent which, by permitting longer delays, operated
to “frustrate the operation and purposes of the Williams Act.” /d. at

70.330

15
(1968); Senate Report, at 3. Thus, as the Court of Ap-
peals said, “[t]he state thus offers investor protection at
the expense of investor autonomy—an approach quite in
conflict with that adopted by Congress.”

Id. at 639-40 (emphasis supplied).

The individual shareholder’s autonomy with respect to his
investment decision is no less restricted by being made subject
to the veto of other shareholders. This indeed has been the
holding of the courts which, since M/TE, have considered
control share statutes similar to the Indiana statute. E.g., Fleet
Aerospace Corp. v. Holderman, 637 F. Supp. 742, 756 (S.D.
Ohio), aff’d, 796 F.2d 135 (6th Cir. 1986) (Ohio Control Shares
Acquisition Act unconstitutional on preemption grounds be-
cause “it prevents the individual investor from deciding
whether to sell his or her stock . . . and places the decision in
the hands of other shareholders of the target company.”);
Icahn v. Blunt, 612 F. Supp. 1400, 1420 (W.D. Mo. 1985)
(Missouri statute unconstitutional where decision of “whether
to buy or to sell [control shares] would be taken out of the
hands of the shareholder and the purchaser and placed in the
hands of management and other shareholders”).

Appellants argue that whatever its purpose or impact, the
Indiana statute is constitutionally acceptable because it pur-
ports technically to deal with the internal governance of cor-
porate affairs, an area that is the exclusive domain of the
States, rather than with the sale or acquisition of securities in a
tender offer. Such an elevation of form over substance would,
however, be an absurd constitutional principle: if it were
accepted, a state could simply provide that a hostile offeror
could never merge with the target company, never receive
dividends, never have representation on its Board of Directors,
or never be allowed to choose corporate officers, all matters
which similarly can be said to be matters of “internal govern-
ance.” The purpose and impact of a statute, and not its title or
placement in the state statute book, obviously should deter-
mine its constitutional merits.

16

Indeed, even if viewed mechanistically, the Indiana statute
still would not pass constitutional muster, since it is directed
not to corporate activity, but rather to the purchase and sale of
shares among shareholders. Unlike staggered boards, cumula-
ive voting, Or supermajority provisions (corporate governance
devices cited by appellants as within the state’s power to
legislate), which protect minority rights within a corporation
by regulating the circumstances pursuant to which the corpora-
tion can undertake certain actions, the control share statutes
operate to directly regulate and discourage transactions among
individual shareholders.

Furthermore, unlike the control share statutes, the tradi-
tional corporate governance provisions cited by appellants do
not operate primarily or exclusively against an acquiror seeking
corporate control.” The Indiana statute however operates
solely and punitively against a bidder for corporate control.
Rather than incidentally affecting his ability to influence the
operations of the corporation, it immediately and instantly—
upon purchase of the control shares—eliminates the voting
rights of his stock and his ability to exercise influence, let alone
control, over the company. It is clear, in short, that “internal
corporate affairs” is a mere facade for regulation designed
directly to deter and delay hostile tender offers.

The State of Indiana does not, in fact, seriously dispute that
this is the statute’s purpose and effect. Thus, it concedes
(Indiana Brief at pp. 91-95) that one effect of the Indiana
legislation will be to substantially deter partial tender offers
although such tender offers have been consistently recognized

8 Indeed, the effects of these common corporate governance provi-
sions apply even where corporate ownership is diffused. A supermajor
ity provision may Operate just as well to prevent a merger favored by a
majority of individual shareholders of a corporation as to prevent a
merger favored by a single controlling shareholder. Indeed, such
provisions can even benefit a potential acquiror. Thus, a potential
acquiror holding 20% of a corporation’s voting stock can benefit from
an 80% supermajority merger requirement by being able to block a
defensive merger undertaken by management. Similarly, cumulative
voting guarantees him representation on the board even prior to his
achieving a majority position. It is only the takeover statutes, such as
the one at issue, which cut but one way—in favor of incumbent
management

17

as permissible under the Williams Act. And it admits further
that the intent and “practical effect” of the statute is to replace
the federal securities law policies of the Williams Act with the
securities policies of the United Kingdom:

[T]he Indiana Statute will have a practical effect analo-
gous to that of legislation in the United Kingdom which
requires majority shareholder approval of tender offers.
The British regulations allow shareholders to simulta-
neously tender their shares and vote for or against the
offer.

Indiana Brief at 95.

While economists might profitably argue the merits of the
British approach versus the informed free-market policy em-
bodied in federal law, it is respectfully submitted that the issue
of the right of any state to make this choice was settled long
ago in our federal Constitution. It is difficult to imagine a
clearer violation of the Supremacy Clause than for a state, in a
matter broadly affecting the national economy, to choose to
adopt the legislative approach of a foreign power over that of
the Congress of the United States.

In short, the clear legislative intent of the Williams Act and
the reasoning underlying the plurality opinion in M/TE man-
date a finding that the Indiana statute upsets the balance struck
by the Williams Act, and is, hence, unconstitutional.

Il. THE INDIANA STATUTE VIOLATES THE COM-
MERCE CLAUSE OF THE CONSTITUTION

In Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State Liquor
Authority, 106 S. Ct. 2080 (1986), this Court, relying inter alia
on its plurality opinion in MITE, recently reaffirmed the
“two-tiered approach” traditionally followed in determining
the constitutionality of state economic regulation under the
Commerce Clause:

When a state statute directly regulates or discriminates
against interstate commerce, or when its effect is to favor

18

in-state economic interests over out-of-state interests, we
have generally struck down the statute without further
inquiry. When, however, a statute has only indirect effects
on interstate commerce and regulates evenhandedly, we
have examined whether the State’s interest is legitimate
and whether the burden on interstate commerce clearly
exceeds the local benefits.

106 S. Ct. at 2084 (citations omitted). Under either of the two
tests applied “the critical consideration is the overall effect of
the statute on both local and interstate activity.” Jd.

In MITE, a majority of this Court determined that a state
Statute that regulated and restricted the purchase and sale of
securities pursuant to a nationwide tender offer violated the
Commerce Clause in that the substantial burdens it imposed
upon interstate commerce outweighed the putative local bene-
fits intended to be served by the legislation. This Court, by a
plurality of four justices, additionally held that, irrespective of
the balance of national and local interests, the state takeover
Statute violated the Commerce Clause, because such legislation
constituted a direct, rather than incidental, regulation of inter-
State tender offers, a vehicle of interstate commerce.

As has been noted, the second generation post-MI/TE state
takeover statutes, of which the Indiana statute is a fair exam-
ple, differ only in form from the statute struck down in MITE;
their intended and operative effects remain the same. The
identical reasoning and constitutional considerations which
impelled the overturning of the Illinois statute in M/TE conse-
quently mandate a similar determination with respect to the
Indiana statute under review.

A. The Indiana Statute Is Unconstitutional Per Se As A
Direct Burden on Interstate Commerce

[A] state statute which by its necessary operation directly
interferes with or burdens [interstate] commerce is a
prohibited regulation and invalid, regardless of the pur-
pose with which it was enacted.

19

MITE, 457 U.S. at 642 (plurality opinion), citing and quoting
this Court’s decision in Shafer v. Farmers Grain Co., 268 U.S.
189, 199 (1925).

The Indiana statute constitutes a direct burden upon inter-
State commerce in that the practical effect of the statute is to
burden, regulate, and restrict interstate securities transactions
outside the territorial jurisdiction of the state. That nationwide
tender offers constitute interstate commerce was clearly deter-
mined by this Court’s decision in MITE and cannot be dis-
puted by appellants. 457 U.S. at 641-42 (plurality opinion).

Indeed, in the sheer multitude of its myriad securities trans-
actions carried out across state lines and national boundaries,
few business phenomena exhibit more of the characteristics of
interstate and international commerce and less of the iridicia of
localized transactions than does the modern tender offer. The
commerce in control shares generally does not involve discus-
sions Or negotiations in any particular locality. Buyers and
sellers rarely if ever meet. The operative transfers of securities
involved occur anonymously and often simultaneously on the
floor of a national exchange or by mail or wire receipt of a
transmitta! form at the central offices of a designated deposi-
tory. The transactions of this nature involved in even a single
modeiate-sized tender offer may account for hundreds of
millions of dollars in interstate commerce, and tender offers
generate transactions involving many billions of dollars of
interstate commerce yearly in the United States.

The drastic impact of contro: share statutes such as In-
diana’s on such interstate securities transaciions simply cannot
be questioned. The Indiana statute plainly restricts and bur-
dens the ability of a bidder to purchase and the shareholder to
sell, by means of a tender offer or other control share acquisi-
tion, securities of a target company. The Indiana legislation so

? In nationwide tender offers, generaily, the consummation of all sale
and purchase transactions with respect to the shares tendered pursuant
to the offer occur at a single moment, upon the expiration of the offer
At that moment, under the customary terms of the offer, the shares are
deemed “accepted” for payment. Actual payment, usually by mail or

wire transmittal, occurs shortly afterwards

20

operates even though neither the bidder nor the majority of
target’s shareholders may reside in Indiana and although no
operative act of the tender offer will occur in that state.

The Indiana statute accomplishes its burdensome and intru-
sive effect by granting to entities other than the bidder or the
individual investor the ability to delay and thwart, as a practi-
cal matter, the tender offer or proposed stock transaction.
Thus, as discussed above, under the statute, target manage-
ment is given the power to delay consummation of the tender
offer sufficiently beyond the periods mandated by federal law
so as to facilitate defensive mechanisms that may permanently
defeat the bid. The shareholder approval provisions further
deter tender offers by denuding shares purchased pursuant to
such offers of any voting rights, making the regaining of such
rights subject to a subsequent vote by a majority of the other
shareholders. At best, such provisions force the bidder to
follow up his offer with an expensive and time-consuming
proxy contest. At worst, it may leave him, having already
paid premium value, with “control” shares which give him no
influence, let alone control, over the corporation.

The plain effect of these provisions, in most cases, will be
that tender offers for target corporations subject to such
statutes will simply not be made unless favored and approved
mn advance by incumbent management. In the rare event that
an unsolicited tender offer is conducted, it will be made subject

the condition of subsequent shareholder approval, a condi-

that management, using the time provided by the statute’s
built-in delay, will seek to assure will never be met. The
attendant difficulties and uncertainties created for the bidder
will, in any case, virtually guarantee that, even where tender
offers do proceed under the Indiana statute, a much lesser cash
premium will be extended to shareholders in the offering price.

Although the Indiana statute’s restrictive effect on na-
tionwide tender offers is especially apparent, the statute’s

1V Indeed, under the Indiana Statute not only must the bidder bear his
own expenses in such a contest but he must also give “an undertaking
to pay the corporation's expenses” in calling and holding the required

stockholders meeting. Ind. Code § 23-1-42-7(a) (1986) (emphasis sur

plied)

2]
burdensome effect on interstate commerce is not restricted to
its effect on tender offers alone. The Indiana statute would
substantially deter any unsolicited acquiror from purchasing—
on the open market, by privately negotiated transaction, or
otherwise—any shares that would bring his total shareholdings
in the corporation to over 20%. Yet the vast majority of
transactions thus affected would clearly not involve Indiana
residents or acts taking place in Indiana. The Williams Act, by
contrast, only requires that full disclosure as to intentions and
background of a holder of over 5% of an issuer’s shares be
made prior to any additional purchases. The substantial bur-
dens added on by the Indiana statute clearly restrict, in a major
fashion, the freedom of non-resident shareholders to engage in
interstate commerce.

As the plurality in this Court determined in MITE, the
imposition by a state of such extraterritorial burdens on a
nationwide tender offer directly regulates and restricts inter-
State commerce and constitutes a per se violation of the
Commerce Clause.

[T}he Illinois law, unless complied with, sought to prevent
MITE from making its offer and concluding interstate
transactions not only with Chicago Rivet’s stockholders
living in Illinois, but also with those living in other States
and having no connection with Illinois. . . . It is there-
fore apparent that the Illinois statute is a direct restraint
On interstate commerce and that it has a sweeping extra-
territorial effect.

MITE, 457 U.S. at 642.

The conclusions reached in MITE, it is submitted, apply
equally to the ‘second generation’ statutes enacted to avoid
MITE’s clear impact. Such, at least, has been .he consensus of
the courts which since MITE have considered control share
acquisition laws such as the Indiana statute. See Fleet Aero-
space Corp. v. Holderman, 637 F. Supp. at 760-61; /cahn y.
Blunt, 612 F. Supp. at 1415-16; Dynamics Corporation of
America v. CTS Corp., 794 F.2d at 264; Jerry v. Yamashita,
643 F. Supp. at 165

9
sf

Appellants’ contention that the Indiana statute does not
regulate interstate commerce because it achieves its deterrent
effect through elimination of voting rights rather than through
a technical prohibition on the purchase or sale of the target’s
securities argues on behalf of a formalism which has long since
been rejected by this Court. As this Court has made clear, it is
not form but practical effect that will be determinative on the
issue of whether a state’s economic regulation impermissibly
intrudes on interstate commerce. E.g., Southern Pacific Co. vy.
Arizona, 325 U.S. 761. 775 (1945) (state law overturned on
Commerce Clause grounds where “practical effect of such
regulation is to control [conduct]. . . beyond the boundaries
of the state. . . .”); Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New
York State Liquor A uthority, 106 S. Ct. 2080 at 2086 (fact that
New York law “is addressed Only to sales of liquor in New York
is irrelevant if the ‘Practical effect’ of the law is to control
liquor prices in other States.”); MITE, 457 U.S. at 643 (plural-
ity Opinion).

In short, the Seventh Circuit’s observation on the effect and
operation of the Indiana statute is fully accurate:

[I]n this case thé effect on the interstate market in securi-
ties and corporate contro] is direct, intended, and sub-
Stantial; it is not merely the incidental effect of a general
regulation of internal corporate governance. The law in
question is an explicit regulation of tender offers: that the
mode of regulation involves jiggering with voting rights
cannot take it Outside the scope of judicial review under
the commerce clause. Any other conclusion would invite
facile evasions of the clause.

794 F.2d at 264. The Indiana statute, as a direct State attempt
to regulate interstate commerce, is thus unconstitutional per
se.

I] Appellants’ recurrent emphasis that the Indiana statute must be
constitutional because it is ‘non-discriminatory’ is merely a red her
ring. The Indiana statute is olfensive to the Commerce Clause not
because it discriminates against other states but because it Operates to
burden and regulate interstate commerce, which alone is sufficient to

violate the Commerce ( lause. Lack of discrimination onl, becomes an

nN
w

B. No Significant Local Benefits Exist Which Outweigh The
Indiana Statute’s Substantial Interference With Interstate
Commerce

In MITE this Court determined that no local benefits pur-
portedly conferred by “first generation” takeover statutes,
such as the Illinois law overturned in that case, were commen-
Surate with the statutes’ “substantial” adverse effects on inter-
State commerce. These adverse effects were, in the Court’s
view, drastic in impact and national in scope, affecting both
target shareholders and the national economy as a whole:

The effects of allowing the [state regulatory authority]
to block a nationwide tender offer are substantial. Share-
holders are deprived of the opportunity to sell their shares
at a premium. The reallocation of economic resources to
their highest valued use, a process which can improve
efficiency and competition, is hindered. The incentive the
tender offer mechanism provides incumbent management
to perform well so that stock prices remain high is
reduced.

457 U.S. at 643.

Such negative impact on non-resident shareholders, non-
resident bidders and the United States economy were, this
Court observed, offset by no substantial countervailing local
benefits conferred on the state or its residents: “Insofar as the
Illinois law burdens out-of-state transactions, there is nothing
to be weighed in the balance to sustain the law.” Id. at 644
(emphasis supplied).

The burdensome impact on interstate commerce created by
control share statutes such as Indiana’s is identical to, if not
greater than, those arising out of the “first generation” pre-
MITE statutes. Indeed, appellants do not seriously contend
that the national market in control shares will continue undis-

—

issue where, as in Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S. 11
(1978), the statute is designed to affect transactions occurring solely
within a state’s own borders and thus, absent a discriminatory effect

would pose no constitutional problem

ew

turbed in the face of these ‘‘second generation’

24

,

Statutes. Nor,

indeed, do they set against this substantial interference with
interstate commerce any substantive local benefits allegedly
accruing from the Indiana legislation. Appellants rather re-
spond with a talismanic formula—the ‘‘internal affairs’’ doc-
trine—the mere invocation of which they suppose sullicient to
dissipate all constitutional concerns like so much mist.

1?

Indiana, while not seriously claiming that its legislation will leave
tender offers unaffected, puts forward the unique suggestion that the
Indiana statute will facilitate rather than impede corporate takeover
acquisitions. Making the Indiana statute sound like nothing so muc!. as
a Hostile Bidders’ Bill of Rights, the State stresses that the law allows
offerors an “immediate shareholder vote on the merits of their offers,”
and that the moral suasion flowing from a favorable vote in this
plebiscite will make it more difficult for management to “wage war”
against a hostile bid. (Indiana Brief at pp. 75-76). Indeed, Indiana
Suggests that, by mandating a shareholder vote on voting rights, within
“only” SO days, the “months-long” duration of “bitterly fought
takeover battles” will be truncated (Indiana Brief at p. 102).

This prognosis is not only disingenuous in concept, but also flies in
the face of logic and experience. Under the federal regulatory scheme
tender offers are not required to remain open longer than t-venty
business days, approximately half the time span provided for by
Indiana’s provision for an ‘‘immediate’’ shareholder vote. If some
tender offers now extend beyond the Williams Act’s twenty day period
it is primarily because (a) other bidders have arisen and a prolonged
auctioning process has ensued; (b) legal deficiencies, such as securities
or anti-trust violations, have been found to exist in the bidder’s offer;
Or, most commonly, (c) target management has put in place defensive
Strategies, in the form of poison pills, self-tenders, or the like, and
consummation of the tender offer is made to await judicial determina-
tions as to the propriety of these entrenchment measures designed ‘‘to
wage war’’ against the oller. Statutes such as Indiana’s obviously do
nothing to eliminate the first two of these causes of delay and would
contribute to the final cause by giving target management more time to
implement defensive tactics, generating even further delay

In sum, the argument that the statu.e is intended to confer benefits
on hostile acquirors is as much of a facade as the statute itself. Far
better the candor of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, which
participated in the formulation and drafting of the statute, and whic
concedes in its amicus brief (at p. 18 n.9) that one of the purposes ol
the statute was “protecting the quality of corporate governance in
Indiana by granting certain protections to corporate directors” (em

phasis supplied)

25

Thus, appellants contend that because the Indiana statute on
its face deals with voting rights of shareholders, which appel-
lants claim, under the “internal affairs” doctrine, to be the
province of the states, the practical effect of the statute to
deter and burden extraterritorial interstate securities trans-
actions may be conveniently ignored. Appellants’ argument
proves too little, too much, and, ultimately, nothing at all.

As this Court observed in MITE, when faced with the
identical argument, the internal affairs doctrine is not a con-
cept relevant to constitutional law but a principle of the
conflict of laws. Such principle apportions the power to regu-
late corporations between the States so as to avoid inconsistent
rulings or legislation:

The internal affairs doctrine is a conflict of laws principle
which recognizes that only one State should have the
authority to regulate a corporation’s internal affairs—
matters peculiar to the relationships among or between
the corporation and its current officers, directors, and
shareholders—because otherwise a corporation could be
faced with conflicting demands. See Restatement (Sec-
ond) of Conflicts of Laws § 302, Comment b, pp. 307-308
(1971). That doctrine is of little use to the State in this
context. Tender offers contemplate transfers of stock by
stockholders to a third party and do not themselves
implicate the internal affairs of the target company.

457 U.S. at 645.

There is no basis for attaching to this doctrine constitutional
implications. That courts will apply Delaware law to Delaware
corporations anu Indiana law to Indiana corporations does not
mean that either Delaware or Indiana is permitted to enact,
under an “internal affairs” rubric, corporate laws that, in
violation of the national Constitution, impermissibly intrude
upon interstate commerce. The danger of inconsistent rulings
which the internal affairs doctrine was intended to minimize is
simply not implicated where an area is determined by the
Commerce Clause to be the province of federal jurisdiction to
the exclusion of that of any of the states

26

Thus, even were the instant statute predicated on a good
faith concern with respect to the internal affairs of Indiana
corporations, this would, nevertheless, still not provide the
Indiana legislature with carte blanche to ignore constitutional
limitations and intrude upon interstate commerce.’? In the
instant case, however, appellants’ attempts to justify the Indi-
ana statute under the pretext of the internal affairs doctrine are
in any event a mere charade. Even the enacters and enforcers
of second generation statutes such as Indiana’s do not pretend
that their statutes are not designed to regulate and restrict
hostile tender offers. As noted above, Indiana itself admits
that the practical effect of its legislation is to substantially
deter otherwise legitimate partial tender offers and to imple-
ment a British approach to tender offers by requiring majority
approval of shareholders for the sale of control shares.

Similarly, the State of Minnesota, which has enacted a
second generation control share statute of its own, admits in its
amicus brief to this Court (“Minn. Brief”) that the purpose
and effect of such statutes is to “inhibit the abusive use of
takeover tactics” and to mitigate the supposedly “coercive
nature of control share acquisitions” (Minn. Brief at 11). The
State of New York, as notcd, has similarly admitted, for its
own part, that the effect of its legislation is to “discourage
unilateral takeovers” (supra at p. 8 n. 3). It is thus clear that
the states themselves do not deny the fully-intended impact of
their control share statutes on tender offers.

That the State of Indiana effects such regulation of tendet
offers through in terrorem provisions respecting essential vot-
ing rights rather than by directly prohibiting purchases of the
tendered shares themselves makes, as has been noted, no

See, tor examy Brown-Forman Distillers, where, despite the
“wide latitud git the States under the Twenty-First Amendment
regulate the importation and distribution of liquor w.thin then
Court overturned provisions of a New York law
reguiating the sa f liquor on the basis of the stat ite’s “practi
106 S. Ct. at 2086

27

practical or legal difference. It is as if a state rather than
prohibiting the rental of automobiles permitted their rental—
but with their engines removed. As the State of Minnesota has
stated in the amicus brief it has filed on behalf of Indiana’s
position (id. at 15), to attempt any distinction of ithe Indiana
statute on this basis ‘‘elevates form over substance’”’:

Although the [Indiana statute] does not actually require
shareholder approval prior to the control share acquisi-
tion, the practical effect of the Indiana statute may be just
that.

Id. at 15 n.15.

If the practical effect of a state statute is to regulate and
restrict tender offers, the nature of the particular device effect-
ing such regulation, or the chapter heading of the corporate
Statute pursuant to which it takes place, cannot be of any
constitutional significance. To accept otherwise is to open the
door to wholesale regulation of interstate commerce by any
state willing to cloak its economic regulation under an appro-
priate facade. A state, under such a theory, would presumably
have the constitutional authority to permanently strip control
shareholders of voting rights upon a vote, not of the majority
of shareholders, but simply of the incumbent board of direc-
tors. For that matter the rights could be removed without
recourse to any vote at all, if the state determined that this
were an appropriate policy. Nor would a state’s regulation be
limited to removal of voting rights; it could choose to strip the
bidder of dividend rights or of any of the other indicia of
ownership as well.

Appellants’ invocation of such traditional state corporate
governance rules as supermajorities and cumulative voting, as
examples of permissible internal governance statutes which
impact on interstate commerce, does nothing to support their
contentions. As has been noted, such true corporate govern-
ance statutes, which genuinely seek to regulate the internal
operations of the corporation, bear no reation to the Indiana
statute’s direct attempt to influence the purchase and sale of

28

securities between shareholders of the corporation and other
shareholders or third parties. Indeed, these statutes demon-
strate the power of the states to adequately legislate interna!
corporate governance to protect minority shareholders without
recourse to legislation designed to obstruct the interstate se-
curities market or national tender offers."

Similarly, it adds nothing to appellants’ arguments to point
out that the voting rights stripped away by the Indiana statute
in control share transactions are themselves creatures of state
corporate law. Such an argument proves too much, since the
same could be said with respect to any of the rights attached to
corporate securities. Indeed, such securities themselves, as an
ultimate matter, are nothing more or less than an agglomera-
tion of various contract and property rights, all created and
sustained under state law. This meta-legal truth, however, has
never caused this Court or Congress any hesitation in consider-
ing transactions involving the sale or purchase of these bundles
of rights as interstate commerce. Indeed, the extensive federal
regulation of the securities markets, including the Williams
Act, is based squarely on the assumption that such transactions
do constitute interstate commerce.

In sum, the balancing test required under the Commerce
Clause for the Indiana statute is no different than that which

was undertaken by this Court in MITE. As in MITE, the
Statute here is clearly unconstitutional.

14 The attempt to support the Indiana statute as an exercise in “share
holder democracy” (see, e.g., Minn. Brief at p. 11) Is particular
disingenuous, especially in view of the act's direct effect and intent t

4

disenfranchise shareholders who would otherwise possess over 20°

the shareholder vote, a singularly undemocratic provision

CONCLUSION
This Court should affirm the judgment below.

Dated: January 20, 1987

Respectfully submitted,

MARC P. CHERNO
Counsel of Record

IRWIN BLUM
of

FRIED, FRANK, HAKRIS, SHRIVER
AND JACOBSON

One New York Plaza

New York, New York 10004

(212) 820-8000

WILLIAM J. FITZPATRICK
GERARD J. QUINN

The Securities Industry Association, Inc.
120 Broadway
New York, New York 10271

Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0294%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
