# Amicus Curiae Brief — CTS Corp. v. Dynamics Corp. of America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0294%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 69

## Text

~

+ Supreme Court, U.S,
“ELRED

987
|
In the Supreme Court of the Unites Spates. seo, we.

CLERK

an, * -
\ J

Nos. 86-71 and 86-97

OCTOBER TERM, 1986 -

CTS CORPORATION, APPELLANT
Vv.
DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA, ET AL.

STATE OF INDIANA, APPELLANT
Vv.
DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON APPEALS FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
AND THE UNITED STATES AS AMICI CURIAE

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

LouIS R. COHEN
Deputy Solicitor General

Roy T. ENGLERT, JR.
DANIEL L. GOELZER Assistant to the Solicitor General
Generel Counsel Department of Justice
PAUL GONSON Washington, D.C. 20530

Solicitor (202) 633-2217

DIANE SANGER
Assistant General Counsel

CATHERINE DIXON
JOAN E. MCKOWN
Attorneys
Securities and Exchange
Commission
Washington, D.C. 20549
LE A NE ARERR EE Rn RN EN RN

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Control Share Acquisitions Chapter of the
Indiana Business Corporation Law is unconstitutional
under the Supremacy Clause or the Commerce Clause of
the United States Constitution.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Interest of the Securities and Exchange Commission
I leas 1
TT siseiaaiihpehiiei 2
Introduction and summary of argument ........................... 8
Argument:
The Indiana Control Share Acquisitions Chapter
is invalid under the Commerce Clause .................... 13
ESE IE a ACR A eS oO NER 13
A. The Indiana Chapter can only be understood
as a restraint on transactions in voting rights
and the shares that embody them ...................... 15
B. The broad power of a chartering state to gov-
ern the internal affairs and protect the share-
holders of its corporations does not save the
I ee 20
kta acataianiaailins iii abit 29
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
APL Ltd. Partnership v. Van Dusen Air, Inc.,
622 F. Supp. 1216 (D. Minn. 1985), vacated as
moot, No. 85-5285 (8th Cir. Nov. 26, 1985). 15
Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. v. Arkansas
Public Service Commission, 461 U.S. 375 (1983) 20

Baldwin vy. G.A.F. Seelig, Inc., 294 U.S. 511
ita ia aa cidaauenbhiidiaieibdasadianen: 24
Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York
State Liquor Authority, No. 84-2030 (June 3,

1986) .......... PRS PES IR Any Aen RE sisdhietnadambeddaiatiads —— fF >
Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471 (1979) .............. — &
Caldwell v. Sioux Falls Stock Yards Co., 242 U.S.

RELIES Sian ea ne ey ete 21
Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.)

I ei a 17

-

IV

Cases—Continued: Page
Cort ¥. Mal, BB UB. GE CIGTS) .ncerececeececceccscncccseccapees 24
Davidge v. White, 377 F. Supp. 1084 (S.D.N.Y.

TOUTED cnsconsnnnsebeinciabianatneinaitiinnettiniiiiaaiaetiaess citdiibasiatititiiinate 24
Dean Milk Co. vy. City of Madison, 340 U.S. 349

| TEETER RR yee Te eT TEE NS mT 19
Diamond vy. Oreamuno, 24 N.Y.2d 494, 248 N.E.2d

& Fae) § fs Fee 24
Dirks v. SEC, 463 U.S. 646 (1983) ............................. 24
Doieman V. Meiji Mutual Life Insurance Co., 727

f 8 FF ERE RN ereeE Enna 24
Dynamics Corp. of America Vv. CTS Corp., 635

We ME, TEU Gi cer Bile BUTE cccccvecesccsensessscosese 6
Dynamics Corp. of America Vv. CTS Corp., 805 F.2d

re de 23
Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. 624 (1982) ............ passim
Exxon Corp. Vv. Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S.

kh RE ee eee ee ee ree ee 21

First National City Bank vy. Banco Para El
Comercio Exterior de Cuba, 462 U.S. 611
I TUED -ctesiciectcenicalitans aati bai hecbamedadnadindela tach 24
Fleet Aerospace Corp. v. Holderman, 637 F. Supp.
742 (S.D. Ohio), aff’d, 796 F.2d 135 (6th Cir.
1986), appeal pending sub nom. Ohio v. Fleet

POV OGMOG, FeO. DOGG cncccccsncecsccccetnecesesveccnceveosece: 15, 25
Freeman Y. Decio, 584 F.2d 186 (7th Cir. 1978).. 24
Freeman V. Hewit, 329 U.S. 249 (1946) _.......... ae 17-18
Gelco Corp. v. Coniston Partners, Civ. No. 3-86-847

Cy § % % eeceeeeen ees een 15, 25
Gerdes Vv. Reynolds, 28 N.Y.S.2d 622 (Sup. Ct.

___ |) ARERR Unne ee reese one OTT ar ene 25
Glass v. Glass, 228 Va. 39, 321 S.E.2d 69 (1984). 25
Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Cottrell, 424

Ue 17

Great Western United Corp. v. Kidwell, 577 F.2d
1256 (5th Cir. 1978), rev’d on venue grounds
sub nom. Leroy v. Great Western United Corp.,

GD Tote Oe COD cecccenccneccccecttanecstunsienentansasesssessen - 26
H.P. Hood & Sons v. Du Mond, 336 U.S. 525
SII icaiisesecatinenieaitatnsinla tbe iene Ee nee oe 17

Hall v. Geiger-Jones Co., 242 U.S. 539 (1917)... 21

Cases—Continued : Page
Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Corp., 426 U.S. 794

EERIE AIS SS Pane Pan ae NT eS ON 18
Hughes v. Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322 (1979) ................ 17,19
Icahn vy. Blunt, 612 F. Supp. 1400 (W.D. Mo.

a aaah A eek aladdin 15
Insuranshares Corp. V. Northern Fiscal Corp.,

Fe Fs 8 BG een 25
Lewis v. BT Investment Managers, Inc., 447 U.S.

SIRE Serre ee eo 19
MITE Corp. v. Dixon, 633 F.2d 486 (7th Cir.

1980), aff’d sub nom. Edgar v. MITE Corp.,

I 7
Maine v. Taylor, No. 85-62 (June 23, 1986) ........ 18, 20-21
McDaniel v. Painter, 418 F.2d 545 (10th Cir.

a 24-25
Merrick v. N.W. Halsey & Co. 242 U.S. 568

: , PRI IA a APRON SS ee DLO TSOP 21

| Northeast Bancorp, Inc. v. Board of Governors of

the Federal Reserve System, 472 U.S. 159

ESSE Ray err Cee ae yn NO Oe, 17
Panter Vv. Marshall Field & Co., 646 F.2d 271 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1092 (1981)........ 23
Perlman v. Feldmann, 219 F.2d 173 (2d Cir.

SID cceihcedeccueclc haere hdnlecicta die aati cadet chaadcceainatoanetiaamiia iia 25
Piper v. Chris-Craft Industries, 430 U.S. 1 (1977). 9
Polin v. Conductron Corp., 552 F.2d 797 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 857 (1977)........ 24
Raymond Motor Transportation, Inc. v. Rice, 434

3 EERE ayers Sav eee ner arene 20
Ritchie v. McGrath, 1 Kan. App. 2d 481, 571 P.2d

OT iecriint i aia hea 25
Santa Fe Industries v. Green, 430 U.S. 462 (1977) 23
Schein v. Chasen, 313 So. 2d 739 (Fla. 1975)........ 24
Schreiber Vv. Burlington Northern Inc., 472 U.S. 1

i RL TERLES ALR PTR KR Le OO PNM CN Pd | 23
Shafer v. Farmers Grain Co., 268 U.S. 189

(1925). 20

South- Central Timber Development, Inc. V. Ww un-
nicke, 467 U.S. 82 (1981) ............

VI

Cases—Continued : Page
Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325 U.S. 761
RISE SEA A at re WENT ETS Om 19
State Tax Commission Vv. Aldrich, 316 U.S. 174
| eee FT Oe PRT ECE LAE Ge ST 18
Terry V. Yamashita, [Current] Fed. Sec. L. Rep.
(CCH) {92,845 (D. Hawaii June 13, 1986)...... 15
Thomas Vv. Roblin Industries, 520 F.2d 1393 (3d
a a a, 24
Thompson VV. Hambrick, 508 S.W.2d 949 (Tex.
IEE eer ernsot coarse re ne 25
Constitution and statutes:
U.S. Const. :
Art. I, § 8, Cl. 3 (Commerce Clause) .................. passim
Art. IV, Cl. 2 (Supremacy Clause) .......... eiedaioe 6,14
Amend. XIV (Due Process Clause) aie 18
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. (&
I iets ceaeinnenatetn 2
I cael 2
BP Re BE PS ee ee 3
Williams Act, Pub. L. No. 90-439, 82 Stat. 454
a ll Sal aliceicetaiiaaal 3, 6, 7, 8, 9
Ind. Code Ann. (Burns Supp. 1986) :
4 SEV Be bs 3 SS ee 3
Ga CRETE, Oe a Or eee 8
bone 4
§ 23-1-20-5 ............... 4
§ 28-1.20-28 ea ne 6
ern eee ee 5
5 EE ae a ne ee 25
FRR Ee ene rae 25
> NS S eee ee ee 4
§§ 23-1-42-1 to 23 42. Ln 3
i a 4
& 23-1-42-2 (b)..........................-. 4
SE». (| a 4
BD PID GOOD oncececeectsecsccrccseanoceesnrsenscveonreseanen 4
§ 23-1-42-2 (@) ooo. 4
§ 25-1- as 5
Ee ae a REE EN 4

Vil

Constitution and statutes—Continued : Page
CS RO re a8 arte 3, 4
§ 23-1-42-6 5
§ 23-1-42-7 dali c i el ee 5
SE SC.) a Ft BOON 4
REE Ear eee PP he fy OR EE 4
§ 93.1-42-9(b) (1) 5
Se, | eee 5
teynsoay sadcadabiaaiaiensdaaelaienasunacadiniaiiaeniaaiae aaa 5, 16
a a ee 25

Miscellanecus:

E. Aranow, H. Einhorn & G. Berlstein, Develop-
pee in Tender Offers for Corporate Control
(1977 Ee NN 7 RT TE RON a F
E. Seenoa & H. Einhorn, Te nder Offers for Cor-
porate Control (1973) ..
Bebchuk, The Case for Facilitati ng Competing
Tender Offers, 95 Harv. L. Rev. 1028 (1982) 27
Bebchuk, The Case for Faciiitating Competing
Tender Offers: A Reply and Extension, 35
Stan. L. Rev. 23 (1982).. | m 27
Block, Barton & Roth, State Takeover Statutes:
The “Second Generation”, 13 Sec. Reg. L.J. 332

(1986) caleeiiiniaaiadinatadanidetiiadadedcamatanteetahdaatel : 14
Bradley & Rosenzweig, Defensive Stock Repur-

chases, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 1377 (1986) 27
Buxbaum, Federalism and Company Law, 82

Mich. L. Rev. 1163 (1984) .... an S|

Carnev, Shareholder Coordination Costs, Shark
Repellents, and Takeover Mergers: The Case
Against Fiduciary Duties, 1983 Am. B. Found.

Res. J. 341. aie sas a 27-28
Easterbrook & F ischel. Auctions and Sunk Costs

in Tender Offers, 25 Stan. L. Rev. 1 (1982)... 27
Easterbrook & Fischel, Corporate Control Trans-

actions, 91 Yale L.J. 698 (1982) oa 27

Easterbrook & Fischel, The Proper Role of a
Target's Management in Responding to a Ten-
der Offer, 94 Harv. L. Rev. 1161 (1981) 27

Vill

Miscellaneous—Continued:

Eule, Laying the Dormant Commerce Clause to
OS BD RO 2 GS
Gilson, A Structural Approach to Corporations:
The Case Against Defensive Tactics in Tender
Offers, 33 Stan. L. Rev. 819 (1981) .....................
Gilson, Seeking Competitive Bids Versus Pure
Passivity in Tender Offer Defense, 35 Stan. L.
I a en eieninneion
Kozyris, Corporate Wars and Choice of Law,
I ts
Langevoort, State Tender-Offer Legislation: In-
terests, Effects, and Political Competency, 62
oe RF na
Levmore, Interstate Exploitation and Judicial
Intervention, 69 Va. L. Rev. 563 (1983) ................
Lipton, Takeover Bids in the Target's Board-
room, 35 Bus. Law. 101 (1979)................................
Lipton, Takeover Bids in the Target’s Board-
room: A Response to Professors Easterbrook
and Fischel, 55 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1231 (1980)...
Lipton, Takeover Bids in the Target’s Board-
room: An Update After One Year, 36 Bus.
I
1 M. Lipton & E. Steinberger, Takeovers &
gS TE a eas ne
Loss, Foreword to Symposium, Controlling Cor-
porate Takeover Bids: State Regulation and
the Ohio Approach, 21 Case W. Res. L. Rev.
RSE ee an a ee
L. Loss, Fundamentals of Securities Regulation
5 ee oe an
Loss, The Conflict of Lews and the Blue Sky
Laws, 71 Harv. L. Rev. 209 (1957)......................
Lowenstein, Pruning Deadwood in Hostile Take-
overs: A Proposal for Legislation, 83 Colum.
Ia ccteeionion
Manne, Mergers and the Market for Corporate
Control, 73 J. Pol. Econ. 110 (1965) ....00.0000..

Page

17

27

27

21, 25

28

28

14

28
13, 14

21

27

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

Newlin & Gilmer, The Pennsylvania Shareholder
Protection Act: A New State Approach to De-
flecting Corporate Takeover Bids, 40 Bus. Law.

111 (1984) -.... SEER NO Seto Cae Eero oe 15

Note, Common Law Corporate Recovery for
Trading on Non-Public Information, 74 Colum.

i I i a a 24

Note, Securities Law and the Constitution: State
Tender Offer Statutes Reconsidered, 88 Yale
RE er a ORC 13, 22

Oldham, Regulating the Regulators: Limitations
upon a State’s Ability to Regulate Corporations
with Multistate Contacts, 5 Del. J. Corp. L. 181

(1980) ........ SRE Iie Raed Be ae OO ee 21
Restatement (Second) of Conflicts of Laws
a a 26

Ruback, Assessing Competition in the Market for
Corporate Acquisitions, 11 J. Fin. Econ. 141
(1985) ......... selina iain 27
Sargent, Do the Second- Generation State Take-
over Statutes Violate the Commerce Clause?,
RS EE ee 14, 22

Warren, Developments in State Takeover Regu-
lation: MITE and its Aftermath, 40 Bus. Law.
RSE Ss i nae oe eee 14, 15

Wilner & Landy, The Tender Trap: Siate Take-
over Statutes and Their Constitutionality, 45
Ee 26

Winter, State Law, Shareholder Protection, and
the Theory of the Corporation, 6 J. Legal Stu-
Ae eT eee eT ee 28

R. Winter, Government and the Corporation
ERT es Ae Ne eae RA . 20

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 86-71
CTS CORPORATION, APPELLANT
Vv.

DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA, ET AL.

No. 86-97
STATE OF INDIANA, APPELLANT
Vv.

DYNAMICS CORPORATION OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON APPEALS FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
AND THE UNITED STATES AS AMICI CURIAE

INTEREST OF THE SECURITIES AND
EXCHANGE COMMISSION AND THE UNITED STATES

These appeals present the question whether the Control
Share Acquisitions Chapter of the Indiana Business Cor-
poration Law is constitutional as applied to “control share
acquisitions” occurring in interstate commerce. The Secu-
rities and Exchange Commission and the United States
submit this brief primarily to address the constitutional-
ity of the Indiana statute under the Commerce Clause.

The Commission is responsible for the administration
and enforcement of the federal securities laws, including

(1)

2

the regulation of national securities exchanges and other
securities markets and the regulation of tender offers in
interstate commerce. See generally Securities Exchange
Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 78a et seg. As the
federal agency primarily responsible for regulating the
national securities marketplace in the public interest and
for the protection of investors, the Commission has a
substantial interest in the question whether a state law
regulating “control share acquisitions” unconstitutionally
burdens the national securities marketplace, which is an
important part of interstate commerce.

The United States has an interest in proper interpreta-
tion of the role of the Commerce Clause in our federal
system. The United States has an interest in both the
free flow of commerce among the states and proper con-
sideration of the prerogatives of the states.

STATEMENT

1. Appellant CTS Corporation (CTS) is an Indiana
corporation with its principal place of business and sub-
stantial assets in Indiana (CTS J.S. App. A5). The com-
mon stock of CTS is listed for trading on the New York
Stock Exchange (ibid.).1 This case arises out of efforts
of Dynamics Corporation of America (Dynamics), a pub-
licly held corporation organized under the laws of New
York, with its principal place of business in Connecticut,
to acquire additional shares of stock in CTS by means of
a tender offer (ibid.).

As of March 10, 1986, Dynamics was the beneficial
owner of approximately 9.6% of the common stock of
CTS, which was then selling at approximately $36 per
share (CTS J.S. App. Al, A6, A183). On that date,
Dynamics initiated a cash tender offer for another 1 mil-
lion shares of CTS stock at $48 per share (id. at Al,
A5). The addition of 1 million shares to the stock it
already owned would give Dynamics a total of approxi-

1The common stock of CTS is registered with the “ommission
pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934,
15 U.S.C. 781(b) (CTS J.S. App. A&B).

3

mately 27.5% of the common stock of CTS (id. at Al).
As required by the Williams Act, Pub. L. No. 90-439, 82
Stat. 454 (1968) (codified at 15 U.S.C. 78m(d)-(e) and
78n(d)-(f)), Dynamics and CTS made certain filings
with the Commission in connection with this tender offer.

Also on March 10, Dynamics announced its intention
to elect a full slate of nominees tu the CTS board of di-
rectors at the annual shareholders meeting scheduled for
the following month (CTS J.S. App. A31-A32; CTS Br.
2; Dynamics Mot. to Aff. 2). On the same day, Dynamics
filed suit in the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Illinois challenging CTS’s proxy
solicitations for the uncoming meeting (CTS J.S. App.
A2).? The issues raised in the initial complaint are not
before this Court.

2. Several «iays before the commencement of Dynamics’
tender offer, the Governor of Indiana had signed into law
a revised Indiana Business Corporation Law (Ind. Code
Ann. §§ 23-1-17-1 to 23-1-54-2 (Burns Supp. 1986)),
which included the Control Share Acquisitions Chapter
(id. §§ 23-1-42-1 to -11).° Starting August 1, 1987, the
new Business Corporation Law will apply to all Indiana
corporations (Ind. Code Ann. § 23-1-17-3(a)), but cor-
porations will be allowed to amend their articles of in-
corporation or bylaws to opt out of the Control Share
Chapter (id. § 23-1-42-5). Before August 1, 1987, the
statute is not automatically applicable but allows cor-
porations to opt into the new Business Corporation Law,
including its Control Share Acquisitions Chapter, by res-

2In its complaint, Dynamics sought to enjoin CTS’s proxy solici-
tations as violative of Section 14(a) of the Securities Exchange
Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. 78n(a), and the Commission’s rules there-
under (CTS J.S. App. A29-A30).

3 The new law was signed on March 4, 1986. Hereafter, all cita-
tions to the Business Corporation Law and its Control Share
Acquisitions Chapter will be to the version appearing in the 1986
Cumulative Supplement to Burns Indiana Statutes Annotated, Code
Edition. The Control Share Acquisitions Chapter is reprinted in
CTS J.S. App. A167-A188.

4

olution of the board of directors and without any share-
holder action (id. § 23-1-17-3(b)). On March 27, 1986,
the CTS board of directors by resolution opted into the
new statute as of April 1, 1986 (CTS J.8S. App. A2, A33).

Pursuant to the new law, shares acquired in an “issu-
ing public corporation” * in excess of certain prescribed
levels of voting power, termed “control shares,”° are
stripped of all voting rights unless the shareholders of
the corporation, in the manner described below, vote to
restore voting power to the control shares (Ind. Code
Ann. §§ 23-1-42-5, -9). The shareholders decide whether
to restore voting power to the control shares either at tlie
next special or annual meeting (id. § 23-1-42-7(c)) or at
a special meeting called at the request of the person who
vroposes to make or has made a control share acquisition.
Management of the subject company must schedule a
special shareholders meeting within 50 days after the
acquiror (1) delivers an “acquiring person statement”
setting forth specified information; (2) requests such a
meeting; and (3) provides an undertaking to pay the

*An “issuing public corporation” is defined as an Indiana cor-
poration that has (1) 100 or more shareholders; (2) its principal
place of business, its principal office, or substantial assets in In-
diana; and (8) more than 10% of its shareholders resident in
Indiana, or more than 10% of its shares owned by Indiana resi-
dents, or more than 10,000 of its shareholders resident in Indiana.
Ind. Code Ann. §§ 23-1-20-5, 23-1-42-4 (a).

°A “control share acquisition” is an acquisition of shares that
causes the acqui:or to cross the 20%, 3314%, or 50% threshold
of voting power in an issuing public corporation. Ind. Code Ann.
§§ 23-1-42-1, -2(a). “Control shares” are those acquired in such a
transaction and any other shares acquired within 90 days or pur-
suant to a plan to make a control share acquisition. Jd. §§ 23-1-42-1,
-2(b). Dynamics’ proposed acquisition would have crossed the 20%
threshold. Certain acquisitions, such as acquisitions pursuant to
the laws of descent and distribution, are excepted from the defini-
tion of “control share acquisition.” Jd. § 23-1-42-2(d) and (e).
Acquisitions pursuant to an agreement of merger or plan of share
exchange to which the corporation is a party are also excepted
from the definition. Jd. § 23-1-42-2(d) (5).

5

expenses of the meeting. Jd. §§ 23-1-42-6 and -7. If the
acquiror does not submit an acquiring person statement,
or if the control shares are not given voting rights by the
shareholders, then after a specified period the acquiror’s
shares may be redeemed by the subject company, if its
articles of incorporation or bylaws permit (id. § 23-1-
42-10).

In order for the control shares to get back their voting
rights, the acquiror must prevail on two votes.° Under
Ind. Code Ann. § 23-1-42-9(b) (1), there is a vote in
which all shareholders of record are entitled to vote.’
Under Ind. Code Ann. § 23-1-42-9(b) (2), there is a vote
in which “interested shares” are disqualified from voting.*®
The acquiror will prevail only if, in each vote, the grant

® This appears to be the reasonable construction of the statute.
The State, however, argues (Indiana Br. 29 n.*) that the new law
requires two votes only “if the proposed control share acquisition
would, if fully carried out, result in any of the changes described
in IC 23-1-38-4(a),” relating to changes in the capital structure of
the company.

T Section 23-1-42-9(b) (1) provides:

To be approved under this section, the resolution must be
approved by: * * * Each voting group entitled to vote sepa-
rately on the proposal by a majority of all the votes entitled
to be cast by that voting group, with the holders of the out-
standing shares of a class being entitled to vote as a separate
voting group if the proposed control share acqvisition would,
if fully carried out, result in any of the changes described in
IC 23-1-38-4(a) * * *

8 “Interested shares” are defined in Ind. Code Ann. § 23-1-42-3
as shares owned by the acquiror, any officer of the issuing public
corporation, or any employee of the issuing public corporation who
is also a director. Shares held by directors who are not employees

are not “interested shares” and may be voted in both votes. The
requirement of a double victory poses a special problem for the
acquiror: if it seeks to offset management-controlled shares in the
“all-share” vote by buying tendered shares, these shares (which
presumably would have been likely to vote in favor of the acquiror
will not be counted in the “disinterested share” vote.

6

of voting rights to the control shares is approved by a
majority of the votes entitled to be cast.°

8. After the CTS board elected to be governed by the
Control Share Acquisitions Chapter, Dynamics did not
comply with the provisions of the Chapter but instead
inimediately amended its complaint in this action. Dyna-
mics sought injunctive relief and a declaration that the
Control Share Acquisitions Chapter was preempted by the
Williams Act and imposed an unconstitutional burden on
interstate commerce in violation of the Commerce Clause.
CTS J.S. App. A2, A33-A34.

The district court entered an order on April 9, 1986,
invalidating the Chapter as violative of the Supremacy
Clause (CTS J.S. App. A87). In a second opinion, issued
April 16, 1986, the district court ruled for Dynamics and
against CTS on the additional ground that the statute
impermissibly burdens interstate commerce (id. at A124,
A139).

In an expedited appeal, the court of appeals affirmed
both rulings of the district court (CTS J.S. App. A2,
A28)."° The court noted the dual-vote feature of the Con-
trol Share Chapter, i.e., that “[a] decision in favor of
awarding voting rights requires a majority both of all
shares and of all ‘disinterested’ shares” and that, “[w]ith-
out these two majorities, the acquirer’s shares remain
nonvotinge shares” (id. at A20). The court found it
“fairly transparent” that the Chapter was drafted “to
skirt judicial holdings that forbid states to delay tender
offers beyond the period required by the Williams Act”

®In corporations with more than one class of stock, the approval
must be given by a majority of the v tes entitled to be cast in each
“voting group,” as defined in Ind. Code Ann. § 23-1-20-28. In the
present case, because CTS has only one class of voting stock, there
would be only one “voting group” for purposes of each of the two
required votes.

10 After the ruling of the court of appeals, Dynamics acquired
tendered shares, increasing its ownership position in CTS to more
than 27%. Dynamics Corp. of America v. CTS Corp., 635 F. Supp.

1174, 1178 (N.D. Ill. 1986).

7

(ibid.), because an acquiror who is not interested in
acquiring nonvoting shares is in effect forced to await
the shareholders meeting before accepting tendered
shares. “So he must hold the tender offer open for 50
days, rather than the 28 days required (on average) by
the SEC’s regulations under the Williams Act. * * *
And he can have no great confidence in being able to win
the vote on voting rights, since he cannot vote his own
shares.” Ibid.

The court of appeals explored the legislative history of
the Williams Act and the substantial body of precedent
interpreting it to forbid state legislation that adds delay
to tender offers or otherwise upsets the balance that Con-
gress struck between target management and tender
offeror (CTS J.S. App. A21-A23). Despite admitting
“doubts” about that precedent (id. at A23, A24), the
court felt bound to follow it in light of MITE Corp. Vv.
Dixon, 683 F.2d 486, 490-499 (7th Cir. 1980), aff’d on
other grounds sub nom. Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S.
624 (1982)."' The court found it a “straightforward”
matter to apply that precedent to invalidate the Chapter,
since both the delay imposed by the Control Share Chapter
and its shareholder-vote provisions were inimical to ten-
der offers (CTS J.S. App. A23).

In deciding the Commerce Clause issue, the court
weighed the local benefits provided by the Control Share
Chapter against the burden that it places on interstate
commerce (CTS J.S. App. A24-A27). The court found
a burden on interstate commerce because “we can assume
that the vast majority of both [CTS’s] shareholders and
Dynamics’ shareholders are nonresidents [of Indiana, and
t]he statute gravely impairs Dynamics’ ability to do busi-

‘4 Justice White’s opinion in MITE reached the Williams Act
issue and agreed with the Seventh Circuit (457 U.S. at 630-640).
but that portion of the opinion was joined by only three Justices.
The other two Justices who addressed the issue disagreed (id. at
646-647 (opinion of Powell, J.); id. at 655 (opinion of Stevens,
J.)). See note 12, infra.

8

ness with any of CTS’s shareholders” (id. at A25); be-
cause “the Indiana statute is calculated to impede trans-
actions between residents of other states” (ibid.}; and
because “the efficiency with which [corporate assets] are
employed * * * depends on the market for corporate
control—an interstate, indeed international, market that
the State of Indiana is not authorized to opt out of, as in
effect it has done in this statute” (id. at A26 (citing
Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. at 463 (opinion of the
Court) )). The court found no sufficient countervailing
local benefit because “Indiana has no interest in protect-
ing residents of Connecticut from being stampeded to
tender their shares to Dynamics at $43” (CTS J.S. App.
A25 (citing MITE, 457 U.S. at 642-643 (opinion of the
Court))) and because residents of Indiana _ receive
“trivial or even negative benefits” from the Control Share
Chapter (CTS J.S. App. A25). The court rejected a
claim that the “internal affairs” doctrine could save the
statute, since “in this case the effect on the interstate
market in securities and corporate control is direct, in-
tended, and substantial; it is not merely the incidental
effect of a general regulation of internal corporate gov-
ernance” (id. at A27). Thus, the court held that the
Control Share Chapter is invalid under the Commerce
Clause.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Commission and the United States believe that the
judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed. This
brief argues for affirmance only on the ground that the
Chapter violates the Commerce Clause for a more specific
reason than the reasons offered by the court of appeals.

The United States believes that the Indiana Chapter
is not preempted by the Williams Act. As stated by ap-
pellant CTS (Br. 16-17), there is no conflict between any
provision of the Williams Act and any provision of the
Indiana Chapter that makes it impossible to comply with

9

both statutes. As also stated by appellant CTS (Br. 21-
22), there is no preemptive federal statutory policy that
the Indiana Chapter violates: the Williams Act was
designed to favor neither the takeover bidder nor target
management, see Piper v. Chris-Craft Industries, 430
U.S. 1, 29 (1977), but it does not prohibit states from
adopting laws that operate to favor one side or the other,
unless those laws conflict with the Williams Act or the
Commission’s regulations under that Act. Cf. ibid.

The Indiana Chapter does offend the Commerce Clause.
It applies to “public” corporations, a category defined so
as to consist, in substantial part, of corporations whose
shares have been offered and sold in interstate commerce.
CTS is such a corporation: its common stock is listed
on the New York Stock Exchange. The central feature
of the Indiana Chapter is an express restraint on cer-
tain transfers of the voting rights of such shares: the ap-
proval of “disinterested” shareholders is required before
a willing seller may sell his voting rights to a willing
purchaser in a transaction that meets the definition of
“control share acquisition.”” As a practical matter, in all
cases in which the buyer’s objective is in fact “control,”
the Indiana Chapter makes that approval a precondition
to the sale of the shares themselves.

A chartering state does not violate the Commerce
Clause when it exercises its broad power to define, mod-
ify from time to time, and enforce the rights represented
by shares of stock of the corporations it charters. In
particular, a state may, in the exercise of its chartering
function, require or permit voting rights to be distrib-
uted in a virtually limitless variety of ways: for ex-
ample, a chartering state may provide (should it for
some reason wish to do so) for a class of corporations
in which no person may own more than 20% of the
voting shares. A state performing its chartering func-
tions does not offend the Commerce Clause, notwith-
standing the obvious effects of the state’s actions on the

10

value and transferability of shares of the corporations
it charters, because the chartering state is responsible
for the very existence of the corporation and its shares,
and it may define the latter as it wishes notwithstand-
ing effects on their transferability.

Indiana has done something different. The Indiana
Chapter does not define (or permit the corporate drafts-
man to define) voting rights in a manner (however com-
mon or uncommon) equally applicable to whoever holds or
acquires shares. It is written as a restraint on the trans-
ferability of voting rights in certain transactions, and
it could not be written in any other way without chang-
ing its meaning. Its effect is to tend to preserve what-
ever pattern of voting rights (and, consequently, share
ownership) exists in a given corporation at a given time
against transactions that weuld alter the pattern.

The Indiana Chapter provides that whatever voting
rights the corporate charter grants to shares, and what-
ever the pattern of ownership of those shares may now
be, no share transaction in which the buyer crosses one
of the three specified thresholds of share ownership will
be effective to transfer voting rights without the consent
of disinterested shareholders. For example, Shareholder
A, who today owns 20.1% of the common stock of an
Indiana corporation whose shares are listed on the New
York Stock Exchange, may vote all of the shares, and
may freely buy more (up to 3314%, the next thresh-
old); but no person B who today holds less than 20%
of the shares can freely cross the 20% threshold and
catch up with A, because the transfer of voting rights
to B in a threshold-cressing transaction is prohibited
unless approved in a shareholder vote that will not in-
clude B but will (unless A is an officer or a director-
employee of the corporation) include A. It is impossible
to state the rule that produces this result as a rule of
general applicability to both A and B: the positions of
A and B are separated by a burden, imposed by Indiana,
on the transfer from third parties to B of the voting

11

rights (and the shares that embody them) necessary to
put B in the same position as A. Indiana is regulating
not voting rights but transactions in interstate com-
merce.

In Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. 624, 643-644
(1982), the Court invalidated an [Illinois statute that
regulated interstate tender offers on the ground that the
statute imposed a burden on interstate commerce for
which (even as applied to Illinois corporations) there
was no valid offsetting “legitimate local interest.” In
MITE, the Court rejected the two principal arguments
offered by appellants in defense of the Indiana Chapter:
the right of a chartering state to prescribe rules govern-
ing the internal affairs of the corporations it charters,
and the right of a chartering state to protect the share-
holders of such corporations. The Court said that the
“internal affairs doctrine” is a “conflict of laws princi-
ple” of “little use to the State in [the tender offer] con-
text. Tender offers contemplate transfers of stock by
stockholders to a third party and do not themselves im-
plicate the internal affairs of the target company.” Jd.
at 645. The Court also rejected the protection-of-share-
holders argument on the ground that “the State has no
legitimate interest in protecting nonresident sharehold-
ers. Insofar as the Illinois law burdens out-of-state trans-
actions, there is nothing to be weighed in the balance to
sustain the law.” Id. at 644.

The United States believes that the language with
which the Court in M/TE rejected these two arguments
was too broad. Prescribing rules governing corporate
“internal affairs” and protecting the rights of sharehold-
ers are both valid and important activities of a charter-
ing state. A corporation’s chartering state is respon-
sible for, inter alia, defining and enforcing the rights of
all shareholders, both resident and nonresident, against
the corporation, its directors and officers, and each other.
Carrying out these responsibilities is an entirely legiti-

12

mate state function even though the state is necessarily
projecting its law into interstate commerce whenever
shares of a corporation it chartered are sold in the na-
tional marketplace.

Once it has defined the bundles of rights represented
by shares and allowed the shares to enter interstate com-
merce, however, the chartering state does not have ple-
nary power to define the circumstances under which the
shares may be transferred. Such subsequent transfers,
as this Court said in MITE, 457 U.S. at 645, “do not
themselves implicate the internal affairs” of the corpora-
tion, and they therefore do not implicate the shareholder
rights that the state is responsible for protecting.

Appellants seek to defend the Indiana Chapter on the
ground that it merely deprives certain shares of voting
rights under certain conditions and does not prohibit the
transfer of anything. But as stated above the Indiana
Chapter cannot be understood as a regulation of voting
rights; it can only be coherently explained as a restraint
on their transferability (and therefore on the transfer-
ability of the shares that embody them) in specified
transactions. As the district court said, the Indiana
Chapter “deprives the [contro] share] transaction of all
value and therefore blocks the transaction in practical
terms as much as would a direct prohibition on control
acquisitions.” CTS J.S. App. A79.

Appellants seek to distinguish MITE on the ground
that the Illinois statute conferred power to block trans-
actions on a state regulator, whereas the Indiana Chap-
ter can be characterized as conferring a right on “dis-
interested” shareholders to participate in determining
whether there will be an increase in the concentration
of share ownership. We agree that this argument is not
without substantial force. We nevertheless urge the
Court to reject it on the ground that a state may not
confer on shareholders a right that, inherently, is not a
power to govern the corporation but a right to restrain
interstate commerce.

13

ARGUMENT

THE INDIANA CONTROL SHARE ACQUISITIONS
CHAPTER IS INVALID UNDER THE COMMERCE
CLAUSE
INTRODUCTION
State regulation of takeovers and tender offers began
with a Virginia statute passed in 1968. See L. Loss,
Fundamentals of Securities Regulation 601 (1983). The
impetus for the Virginia legislation and legislation that
followed in other states was generally said to be “|f]ears
that established local concerns might be taken over by
outside interests which in turn would close down plants
and leave local residents jobless.” E. Aranow & H. Ein-
horn, Tender Offers for Corporate Control 153 (1973);
accord L. Loss, supra, at 601. By 1977, a substantial
majority of the states had enacted tender-offer legisla-
tion. See E. Aranow, H. Einhorn & G. Berlstein, Devel-
opments in Tende r Offe rs for Corporate Control 207
(1977); see also L. Loss, supra, at 601-602 & n.120;
Note, Securities Law and the Constitution: State Tender
Offer Statutes Reconsidered, 88 Yale L.J. 510. 510
(1979). After one cf these “first-generation” state take-
over statutes failed to pass constitutional muster in Ed-
gar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. 624 (1982), courts applied
the Court’s reasoning to invalidate similar statutes. See

12In MITE, this Court held the Illinois Business Take-over Act
unconstitutional on Commerce Clause grounds. The Illinois Act
required a tender offeror to notify the Secretary of State of
Illinois 20 business days before commencement of a tender offer.
The Secretary of State was empowered to convene a hearing, and
the tender offer could not proceed until that hearing was com-
pleted. One function of the hearing was to permit the Secretary
to review the substantive fairness of the tender offer; if an offer
was found “unfair,” it could be permanently blocked.

The Court’s Commerce Clause opinion, written by Justice White,
had two branches. One branch stands as the opinion of the Court,
joined by five Justices (Chief Justice Burger and Justices White,
Powell, Stevens, and O’Connor). It held that the Illinois Act was
invalid under the Commerce Clause because it placed a substantial

14

cases cited in 1 M. Lipton & E. Steinberger, Takeovers
& Freezeouts § 5.02[4] (1984); L. Loss, Fundamentals
of Securities Regulation 603 (1983 & Supp. 1986) ; Block,
Barton & Roth, State Takeover Statutes: The “Second
Generation”, 13 Sec. Reg. L.J. 332, 337-339 (1986) ;
Warren, Developments in State Takeover Regulation:
MITE and its Aftermath, 40 Bus. Law. 571, 686-694
(1985).

Since MITE and the lower court decisions following it,
several state legislatures have reconstructed their regu-
latory schemes in an attempt to regulate takeovers in
ways that will survive constitutional scrutiny.“ A com-
mon theme of these statutes is that, instead of purport-
ing to regulate takeover bidders’ activities as such, they
invoke the state’s authority to regulate corporate struc-
ture and shareholders’ rights. See L. Loss, supra, at 100
& n.129¢e (Supp. 1986). Some commentators still seek

burden on interstate commerce that outweighed any local benefits.
457 U.S. at 643-646.

In the other Commerce Clause branch of the opinion, joined
by only four Justices (Chief Justice Burger and Justices White,
Stevens, and O’Connor), the plurality concluded that the statute
regulated interstate transactions taking place wholly outside of
Illinois. Thus, the statute constituted a “direct” restraint on inter-
state commerce and was void even without an inquiry into the
state interests involved. 457 U.S. at 641-643.

Three Justices (Chief Justice Burger and Justices White and
Blackmun) found that the Illinois Act was invalid under the
Supremacy Clause. 457 U.S. at 630-640. Two Justices (Justices
Powell and Stevens) declined to join that helding. Three Justices
(Justices Brennan, Marshall, and Rehnquist) believed that the
case was moot and did not discuss the merits. Jd. at 655-667.
Justice Powell agreed that the case was moot but nevertheless
joined the part of Justice White’s opinion that constituted the
opinion of the Court. Jd. at 646-647.

13 For a detailed discussion of these “second-generation” statutes,
see 1 M. Lipton & E. Steinberger, supra, §§ 5.02-5.07; L. Loss,
supra, at 99-101 (Supp. 1986); Block, Barton & Roth, supra, 13
Sec. Reg. L.J. at 339-354; Warren, supra, 40 Bus. Law. at 694-
700; Sargent, Do the Second-Generation State Takeover Statutes
Violate the Commerce Clause?, 8 Corp. L. Rev. 3, 5-6, 8-12 (1985).

15

to defend these statutes on the ground that they serve
a legitimate local interest in preventing emigration of
corporations and their assets. See, e.g., Warren, supra,
40 Bus. Law. at 673 n.15; Newlin & Gilmer, The Penn-
sylvania Shareholder Protection Act: A New State Ap-
proach to Deflecting Corporate Takeover Bids, 40 Bus.
Law. 111, 111-112 (1984). Others, however, defend
them on the ground that they are merely a legitimate
extension of more traditional forms of state corporation
law. See, e.g., Buxbaum, Federalism and Company Law,
82 Mich. L. Rev. 1163, 1175 (1984). Most courts that
have ruled on the constitutionality of second-generation
statutes have found them constitutionally infirm.’* This
case presents this Court with its first opportunity to
pass on the constitutionality of a second-generation stat-
ute designed to avoid some of the problems thatthe MITE
Court found with the first-generation statutes.

A. The Indiana Chapter Can Only Be Understood As A
Restraint On Transactions In Voting Rights And The
Shares That Embody Them

The Indiana Control Share Acquisitions Chapter pre-
vents a shareholder of an Indiana “issuing public cor-
poration,” who may be situated anywhere in the nation,
from conveying his voting rights to a buyer, wherever
situated, in a “control share acquisition,” unless two
shareholder votes approve the conveyance. The category
“issuing public corporation” is defined so as to include
virtually every Indiana corporation that has offered and
sold shares in interstate commerce (including appellant
CTS). Most “control share acyuisitions” would take

14 See Fleet Aerospace Corp. Vv. Holderman, 796 F.2d 135 (6th
Cir. 1986), appeal pending sub nom. Ohio v. Fleet Aerospace, No.
86-344; Gelco Corp. V. Coniston Partners, Civ. No. 3-86-847 (D.
Minn. Nov. 10, 1986); Terry v. Yamashita, [Current] Fed. Sec. L.
Rep. (CCH) { 92,845 (D. Hawaii June 13, 1986); APL Ltd. Part-
nership v. Van Dusen Air, Inc., 622 F. Supp. 1216 (D. Minn. 1985),
vacated as moot, No. 85-5285 (8th Cir. Nov. 26, 1985); Icahn Vv.
Blunt, 612 F. Supp. 1400 (W.D. Mo. 1985).

16

place in interstate commerce. The Indiana Chapter ex-
pressly restrains the transfer of voting rights in such
transactions, and its obvious practical consequence is to
restrain the transfer of the shares as well.

Appellants contend that the Indiana Chapter merely
defines voting rights in certain shares in certain situa-
tions, as the chartering state has plenary authority to
do, and does not restrain interstate commerce except in
the same incidental manner as many other state statutes
defining shareholder rights. Although chartering states
have broad authority to define shareholder voting rights,’
that is not what Indiana has done in this case. The In-
diana Chapter expressly restrains the transfer of what-
ever voting rights do attach to shares of an Indiana
“issuing public corporation,” and it could not, without
changing its meaning, be written in any other way.

The Indiana Chapter expressly restrains only the
transfer of voting rights, but the obvious practical effect
of the Control Share Chapter, in every case with which
it is concerned,"* is to delay the sale of the shares them-

15 A chartering state may define, create, and limit corporate
voting rights in ways that affect the attractiveness of shares
without triggering any question under the Commerce Clause. The
Commerce Clause does not require a state to define in any par-
ticular way the bundle of rights that will be put into interstate
commerce as corporate shares. To the contrary, a corporation is a
mere “ ‘creature!] of state law’” (Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471,
478 (1979) (citations omitied)), and a share of stock has no
inherent rights except those that state law and the relevant corpo-
rate documents give it. The district court’s statement (CTS J.S.
App. A79) that “[vloting rights * * * [must be] an integral part
of the ownership interest purchased along with a stock certificate”
was quite wrong to the extent it meant that a state may not, for
example, authorize nonvoting or restricted-vote stock.

18 There can, of course, be share purchases that meet the defi-
nition of “control share acquisition” where the buyer is not inter-
ested in voting rights and thus will not be deterred by the share-
holder approval provisions of the Chapter. But see Ind. Code Ann.
§ 23-1-42-10. The Chapter, however, is by its very terms aimed at
transactions whose objective is “control.” The fact that it also
has an incidental impact on some transactions where the buyer is
not seeking control does not alter the analysis.

17

selves for up to 50 days, and bar it altogether unless
the “disinterested” shareholders approve it. It is en-
tirely incorrect to say that tue Control Share Chapter
“has utterly no effect on any shareholder’s ability to
sell his shares” (CTS Br. 39). As the district court said,
“bly limiting the rights that a tender offeror [or, of
course, any other acquiror] can purchase in a control
[share] acquisition, the Indiana Act deprives the trans-
action of all value and therefore blocks the transaction
in practical terms as much as would a direct prohibition
on control [share] acquisition[s]” (CTS J.S. App. A79).

The Commerce Clause, of its own force, prohibits state-
imposed restraints on transactions in interstate com-
merce in the absence of a substantial state interest
served by the statute. At least since this Court’s decision
in Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.) 298
(1851), it has been clear that the Commerce Clause
not only authorizes “ ‘Congress to enact laws for the
protection and encouragement of commerce among the
states, but by its own force create[s] an area of trade
free from interference by the States.’” Great Atlantic
& Pacific Tea Co. v. Cottrell, 424 U.S. 366, 370-371
(1976) (quoting Freeman v. Hewit, 329 U.S. 249, 252

17 Congress is empowered, under the Commerce Clause of the
Constitution, “[t]o regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and
among the several States.” Art. I, §8, Cl. 3. As the Court ex-
plained in Hughes v. Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322, 325-326 (1979),

[t]he few simple words of the Commerce Clause * * * reflected
a central concern of the Framers that was an immeciate
reason for calling the Constitutional Convention: the convic-
tion that in order to succeed, the new Union would have to
avoid the tendencies toward economic Balkanization that had
plagued relations among the Colonies and later among the
States under the Articles of Confederation.

See Northeast Bancorp, Inc. v. Board of Governors of the Federal
Reserve System, 472 U.S. 159, 174 (1985); South-Central Timber
Development, Inc. v. Wunnicke, 467 U.S. 82, 92 (1984); H.P. Hood
& Sons v. Du Mond. 336 U.S. 525, 533 (1949); see also Eule,
Laying the Dormant Commerce Clause to Rest, 91 Yale L.J. 425,
434-435 (1982).

18

(1946) ): accord Maine v. Taylor, No. 85-62 (June 23,
1986), slip op. 6. There is a strong constitutional bias
against direct state regulation of interstate markets.
Interstate markets are generally to be left unregulated
except to the extent that Congress chooses to regulate
them. See Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Corp., 426 U.S.
794, 806 (1976) (dormant Commerce Clause protects
“natural functioning of the interstate market” against
state “prohibition or * * * burdensome regulation”) ."
The Indiana Chapter is not saved by the fact that it
expressly restrains cnly the transfer of voting rights and
not the transfer of shares. Direct restraints obviously
must be judged by the items they reach, not merely the
items they name: a direct restraint on transfers of
steering wheels directly restrains transfers of automo-
biles as well. Cf. Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New
York State Liquor Authority, No. 84-2030 (June 3,
1986), slip op. 9 (“[t]hat the ABC Law is addressed
only to sales of liquor in New York is irrelevant if the
‘practical effect’ of the law is to control liquor prices in

18 The force of these Commerce Clause principles is not, as CTS
asserts (CTS Br. 35), limited to situations in which a state has
discriminated against interstate commerce or has imposed burdens
on interstate commerce that may be duplicative of or inconsistent
with burdens placed by other states. The argument that the Com-
merce Clause reaches only discriminatory state action was rejected
in Freeman v. Hewit, 329 U.S. at 252, 254, and the argument that
state action must pose a risk of multiple and inconsistent burdens
was rejected in id. at 256-257. in that same case, the Court made
clear that the Commerce Clause applies to the sale of shares of
stock, even though shares of stock are only intangible property (id.
at 258-259). On the other hand, as we suggest below, regulation
by the state of incorporation of the sale of shares of stock (which
was not at issue in Freeman v. Hewit) cannot be subjected to the
same Commerce Clause analysis as state regulation of sales of
tangible goods. As this Court has strongly indicated in a related
context, the state as creator of the corporation has powers over the
movement of its stock that it would not have over the movement
of tangible goods. See State Tax Commission V. Aldrich, 316 U.S.
174, 180 (1942) (upholding against Due Process Clause challenge
Utah tax on transfer at death of shares of stock in Utah cor-
poration).

19

other States”); Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325
U.S. 761, 775 (1945).

Indiana has broad authority to define the rights rep-
resented by the shares of its corporations and to define
such rights in ways that may affect the value of the
shares or the ease with which they may be transferred.
But the Indiana Chapter does not provide that all
shares, or some class of shares, of some or all Indiana
corporations shall be without voting rights. Instead,
Indiana has declared that whatever voting rights the cor-
porate articles and bylaws confer may not be transferred
in a “control share acquisition” except under specified con-
ditions. The meaning of the Indiana Chapter cannot be
explained without reference to the transactions that it
restrains, and its effect is not to provide a general rule
applicable to whatever persons hold or acquire shares but
to protect whatever pattern of voting power (and, con-
sequently, share ownership) exists in a given corporation
at a given time against transactions that would alter the
pattern. When a share of stock defined under Indiana
law to represent certain rights has lawfully entered the
national marketplace in securities, Indiana may not, un-
der the Commerce Clause, directly restrain its further
transfer in the absence of a substantial state interest.*°
The Indiana Chapter is such a direct restraint.

19 The Court has repeatedly stated that “[t]he principal focus of
inq’ -y [under the Commerce Clause] must be the practical oper-
ation of the [state] statute, since the validity of state laws must
be judged chiefly in terms of their probable effects.” Lewis v. BT
Investment Managers, Inc.. 447 U.S. 27, 37 (1980); see Hughes
v. Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322, 336 (1979): Dean Milk Co. v. City of
Madison, 340 U.S. 349, 354 (1951). This is not to say that every
statute with an impact on a shareholder’s ability to sell his shares
is unconstitutional, or even requires any particular Commerce
Clause scrutiny. But where a statute directly restrains the transfer
of voting rights and the obvious practical effect of that bar is to
restrain transfers of shares as well, the statute must be judged
by its practical as well as its literal effects.

2° This point does nct depend on an assessment of the impact of
the Control Share Chapter on economic efficiency. In MITE (457
U.S. at 648-644), the Court observed that economic efficiency is

20

B. The Broad Power Of A Chartering State To Govern
The Internal Affairs And Protect The Shareholders
Of Its Corporations Does Not Save The Indiana

Chapter

While some of this Court’s opinions have suggested
that “direct” regulation of interstate commerce is un-
constitutional without further inquiry (see, e.g., Brown-
Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York State Liquor Au-
thority, No. 84-2030 (June 3, 1986), slip op. 5; MITE,
457 U.S. at 640 (plurality opinion); Shafer v. Farmers
Grain Co., 268 U.S. 189, 199 (1925)), the Court has in
other cases suggested that the label “direct” does not
always end the inquiry but instead exposes a statute to
“more demanding scrutiny.” Maine v. Taylor, No. 85-62
(June 23, 1986), slip op. 7. See Arkansas Electric Co-
operative Corp. v. Arkansas Public Service Commission,
461 U.S. 375, 390 (1983). At bottom, “the critical con-
sideration is the overall effect of the statute on both
local and interstate activity” (Brown-Forman, slip op. 5
(citing Raymond Motor Transportation, Inc. v. Rice,
134 U.S. 429, 440-441 (1978))). Just last Term, for
example, in Maine v. Taylor, supra, the Court upheld
a ban on fish importation that discriminates on its face
against interstate commerce on the ground that importa-
poorly served by regulation that impedes takeovers. In the present
case, the court of appeals (CTS J.S. App. A25) ruled that the
Indiana statute is vulnerable to economic aitack on the same
grounds as the Illinois statute struck down in MITE. Cf. R. Winter,
Government and the Corporation 42-44 (1978) (although economic
efficiency is generally best served by allowing states broad latitud:
to enact corporation legislation, including even legislation that
seems in isolation to run counter to the interests of efficiency,
antitakeover legislation is an exception to that general rule). On

the other hand. there are economic arguments that might be
thought to support the Indiana legislation from an efficiency stand-
point (see Indiana Br. 91-97, 100-101 The Constitution does not

dictate that states, when acting within their proper spheres, act
in accordance with any particular theory of economic efficiency,
or that they pursue economic efficiency at all. The question

this case is whether the State of Indiana has acted within a proper

sphere.

21

tion posed “significant threats to Maine’s unique and
fragile fisheries” that could not be otherwise countered.
Slip op. 9-10 (footnote omitted).

An older example of a permissible state restraint on
commerce is state blue sky laws, which typically prohibit
the sale of securities into the regulating state or to its
residents except on specified conditions. These statutes
have been upheld as valid measures to protect a state’s
residents against fraud and other evils in the sale of
securities, notwithstanding what the Court saw as an
incidental effect on interstate commerce. Hall v. Geiger-
Jones Co., 242 U.S. 539, 554-556 (1917); Merrick v.
N.W. Halsey & Co., 242 U.S. 568, 590 (1917); Caldwell
v. Sioux Falls Stock Yards Co., 242 U.S. 559, 564-566
(1917). See MITE, 457 U.S. at 641 (plurality opinion) ;
see also Loss, The Conflict of Laws and the Blue Sky
Laws, 71 Harv. L. Rev. 209, 241-253 (1957) .**

21 While blue sky laws plainly affect interstate commerce, they
differ from statutes like the Indiana Chapter in that they seek
to protect state residents from a palpable harm to them from
transactions with them that take place within the enacting state.
One commentator points out that, “[ul/nlike blue-sky laws, * * *
which cover only intrastate transactions, takeover statutes reach
tender offers, wherever made, if the target corporation, not the

transaction, h certain contacts with the state.”’ Kozyris, Cor-
porate Wars and Ch f Law, 1985 Duke L.J. 1, 36 (footnote
omitted): see Oldham, Regulating the Regulators: Limitations

pon a State@® A ty to Reau'ate Corporation vith Multistate
Contacts, 5 Del. J. Corp. L. 18!, 242 (1980 state tender-offer
statutes, which “purport to govern offers made to shareholders
regardless where domiciled,” are “obviously more expansive than
normal blue sky laws. which are limited to offers made to share-
| lers wl I ne f

Contrary to CTS’s contention (Br. 11-12, 34, 47), it is the blue

I ses rather I : resemble Exrron Corp. V.
Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S. 1.7 (1978 ipholding Maryland’s
prohibition of vnership of retail service stations by gasoline
producers and refiners Like the law upheld in Exron and unlike
he Control Share Chapter in this case, blue sky laws reguiate
transactions that occur in the regulating state, and their inter-

tate repercussions, although they indisputably exist, are indirect

This case, unlike Exxon and the blue sky cases, involves out-of-state
transactions.

22

Appellants advance two reasons why the Control Share
Chapter should be considered a legitimate form of state
regulation.” First, the State asserts a general interest
in regulating the “internal affairs” or “corporate govern-
ance” of Indiana corporations, and CTS appears to agree
(Indiana Br. 81-86; see CTS Br. 39-40 & n.19). Second,
both appellants argue that “(t]he Chapter serves the
legitimate State interest of protecting non-dominant
shareholders in Indiana corporations by allowing them to
vote on a fundamental change in the corporation—its
transformation from a company owned by scattered
shareholders to one controlled by a single dominant
shareholder” (CTS Br. 11; accord id. at 25, 37-38; In-
diana Br. 88).

A chartering state does have a legitimate and substan-
tial interest in governing the “internal affairs” of its
corporations, including the rights of shareholders vis-d-
vis the corporation itself, its directors and officers, and
fellow shareholders. And having defined the rights of
shareholders, a chartering state has an important and
legitimate interest in protecting those rights with respect
to all shareholders, resident and nonresident alike. A
nonresident who buys shares in an Indiana corporation
accepts that state’s definition of his rights and buys that
state’s protection. See generally Buxbaum, Federalism

22 The state alone suggests a third interest, a “strong interest
in the welfare of employees of Indiana corporations with head-
quarters, factories or other operations in the State”; it argues that
shareholders accordingly should be able to block a control share
acquisition on the basis of “possible removal [of the corporation
or its assets] from the State” (Indiana Br. 89-90). This asserted
interest requires no extended discussion. If the dormant Commerce
Clause means anything at all, it means that a state may not justify
legislation on the ground that an impairment of commerce is
necessary to prevent economic forces from moving resources out of
that state and into another. See Levmore, /nterstate Exploitation
and Judicial Intervention, 69 Va. L. Rev. 568, 623-624 & n.240
(1983); Sargent, Do the Second-Generation State Takeover Stat-
utes Violate the Commerce Clause?, 8 Corp. L. Rev. 3, 31 (1985) ;
Note, Securities Laws and the Constitution: State Tender Offer
Statutes Reconsidered, 88 Yale L.J. 510, 528 (1979).

23

and Company Law, 82 Mich. L. Rev. 1163, 1167 (1984) ;
Levmore, supra, 69 Va. L. Rev. at 624.”

A chartering state’s governance of the internal affairs
of its corporations, including its definition of the rights
of shareholders, obviously affects interstate commerce.
Indeed, whenever the corporation then sells shares in
interstate commerce, the chartering state may be said
to be projecting its law beyond its borders.” Accord-
ingly, much of corporation law properly comes within an

23in particular, in the absence of congressional action, it is a
task for the state to define and enforce the fiduciary obligations of
directors, officers, and controlling shareholders in connection with
a tender offer. See Schreiber v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 472 U.S.
1 (1985); cf. Santa Fe Industries v. Green, 430 U.S. 462 (1977);
see also Panter v. Marshall Field & Co., 646 F.2d 271 (7th Cir.),
cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1092 (1981). See generally Burks v. Lasker,
441 U.S. 471 (1979). The Commerce Clause plainly does not require
a state to enact legislation (or interpret its common law or legisla-
tion) to force corporate management to exercise its fiduciary duties
in any particular way, a point the court of appeals made in a later
chapter of this case. Dynamics Corp. of America v. CTS Corp.,
805 F.2d 705, 718 (7th Cir. 1986); see also CTS J.S. App. A10
(validity of “poison pills” is “a matter committed to the author-
ity of the states”). The dormant Commerce Clause is a reservation
to Congress of the exclusive right to legislate in certain ways
affecting interstate commerce; it is not a command to states to leg-
islate or adjudicate in any particular way.

24 The traditional state-law provisions that appellants claim are
threatened by the decision below all clearly relate to internal affairs
and are clearly constitutional notwithstanding the fact that they are
projected beyond the state’s borders whenever the corporation sells
shares in interstate commerce. For example, “the scheduling and
voting methods for electing directors” and “restrictions on freeze-
out or back-end mergers that may injure minority shareholders”
(CTS Br. 49) relate, respectively, to corporate governance and to
merger transactions to which the corporation itself is a party.
These are legitimate matters of state regulation notwithstanding
effects on the attractiveness of shares and consequent effects on
transactions in those shares in interstate commerce. Similarly, a
state statute that authorizes cumulative voting or staggered terms
for directors of corporations incorporated in that state relates
directly to corporate governance and raises no question under the
Commerce Clause merely because it may make the shares more or
less attractive.

24

exception to the principle that a state may not “project
its legislation into” other states (Baldwin v. G.A.F. See-
lig, Inc., 294 U.S. 511, 521 (1935); Brown-Forman,
slip op. 8-9), for the very placement of a security into
interstate commerce is a projection of legislation into the
home states of those who choose to buy the security.*
Moreover, the “internal affairs” of a corporation, in-
cluding the rights of shareholders, of course comprise
many matters that may bear on transactions in its
shares. A few states have imposed on insiders a state-
law fiduciary duty to the corporation or its shareholders
not to sell or buy shares on the basis of undisclosed
“inside information.” *° Controlling shareholders have a
duty, at least in some states, not to sell control to a
buyer who could be expected to loot the corporation.”
“° Indeed, the application of a single state’s law to the rights
associated with a share of stock, wherever situated, contributes
to the free flow of commerce in shares of stock. See MITE, 457
U.S. at 645 (opinion of the Court) (noting that “internal affairs
doctrine,” as a conflict-of-laws principle, fosters certainty in cor-
porate relationships). This Court has observed that,
as a general matter, the law of the state of incorporation nor-
mally determines issues relating to the internal affairs of a
corporation. Application of that body of law achieves the need
for certainty and predictability of result while generally pro
tecting the justified expectations of parties with interests in
the corporation.

First National City Bank vy. Banco Para El Comercio Exterior de

Cuba, 462 U.S. 611, 621 (1983); see also Cort v. Ask, 422 U.S.

66 (1975).

“6 See Polin v. Conductron Corp., 552 F.2d 797, 810-811 (8th Cir.)
(Delaware law), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 857 (1977): Thomas Vv.
Roblin Industries, 520 F.2d 1393, 1397 (3d Cir. 1975) (Delaware
law); Davidge v. White, 377 F. Supp. 1084, 1089 (S.D.N.Y. 1974)
(Delaware law); Diamond v. Oreamuno, 24 N.Y.2d 494, 248
N.E.2d 910, 301 N.Y.S.2d 78 (1969); see also Dirks vy. SEC, 463
U.S. 646, 672 (1983) (Blackmun, J., dissenting). But see Freeman
Vv. Decio, 584 F.2d 186 (7th Cir. 1978) (Indiana law); Schein v.
Chasen, 313 So. 2d 739, 746 (Fla. 1975). See generally Note,
Common Law Corporate Recovery for Trading on Non-Public Infor-
mation, 74 Colum. L. Rev. 269 (1974).

“7 See, e.g., Doleman v. Meiji Mutual Life Insurance Co., 727
F.2d 1480, 1483-1484 (9th Cir. 1984); McDaniel v. Painter, 418

25

And of course “internal affairs” also include the roles
played by directors, shareholders, and others in approv-
ing or disapproving transactions between the corporation
itself and other persons, including merger and acquisi-
tion transactions to which the corporation is a party.”

The question in this case is whether the Indiana Chap-
ter does constitute regulation of “internal affairs.” In
MITE, the Court said that stock transactions between
corporate shareholders and third parties do not “them-
selves” come under the heading “internal affairs.” See

F.2d 545, 547-548 (10th Cir. 1969); Insuranshares Corp. v. North-
ern Fiscal Corp., 35 F. Supp. 22 (E.D. Pa. 1940); Ritchie V.
McGrath, 1 Kan. App. 2d 481, 486-488, 571 P.2d 17, 22 (1977);
Gerdes v. Reynolds, 28 N.Y.S.2d 622, 652 (Sup. Ct. 1941);
Thompson v. Hambrick, 508 S.W.2d 949, 953 (Tex. Civ. App. 1974),
vrit ref’d n.r.e; Glass v. Glass, 228 Va. 39, 47-48, 321 S.E.2d 69,
74 (1984). The chartering state can, of course, prohibit looting,
and these cases impose liability on a shareholder who has abetted
the looter. Cf. Perlman v. Feldmann, 219 F.2d 173, 179 (2d Cir.
1955) (Swan, J., dissenting) (knowledge or reasonable suspicion
that buyer will loot the corporation “will terminate the dominant
shareholder’s privilege to sell and will create a duty not to transfer
the power of management to such purchaser. The duty seems to me
to resemble the obligation which everyone is under not to assist
another to commit a tort rather than the obligation of a fiduciary.” ).

’

28 Mergers and other “fundamental changes” that generally re-
quire shareholder approval are changes in the very structure of
the corporation, and are accordingly an “internal” matter of legiti-
mate interest to the state under the internal affairs doctrine. See
Fleet Aerospace Corp. ¥. Holderman, 637 F. Supp. 742, 746 (S.D.
Ohio), aff’d, 796 F.2d 185 (6th Cir. 1986), appeal pending sub nom.
Ohio v. Fleet Aerospace, No. 86-344; Gelco Corp. v. Coniston Part-
ners, Civ. No. 3-86-847 (D. Minn. Nov. 10, 1986). As one commenta-
tor has noted, “acquisitions of stock under a tender offer do not in
themselves alter the corporate structure, procedures, and relation-
ships, nor do they necessarily lead to a structural change; the
acquirer may be content with contro] at the shareholder level.
Furthermore, the tender offeror need not be a shareholder and the
accepting offeree ceases to be one.” Kozyris, supra note 21, 1985
Duke L.J. at 36-37 (footnote omitted). Any changes that an offeror
making a control share acquisition does seek to make in the struc-
ture of the corporation are matters of internal affairs, and the
state can require that shareholdcr approval be sought. See Ind.
Code Ann. §§ 23-1-40-3, 23-1-41-2, 23-1-45-2.

26

MITE, 457 U.S. at 645 (opinion of the Court) (“Tender
offers contemplate transfers of stock by stockholders to
a third party and do not themselves implicate the in-
ternal affairs of the target company.”).” Illinois could
not, the Court held, treat interstate commerce in shares
of a public corporation as an internal matter and impose
restraints on transactions between shareholders and third
parties in the national securities marketplace. But, it is
argued, the Illinois statute at issue in MITE was con-
cededly a restraint on a class of interstate transactions
—tender offers—whereas the Indiana Chapter, while it
refers to a class of transactions (control share acqui-
sitions) does not purport to bar transactions in shares
but only to govern voting rights (normally an internal
matter) in light of them. The Indiana Act cannot, how-
ever, be understood as an act merely defining voting
rights. It is written as a restraint on the transferability
of voting rights in specified transactions, and it could
not be written in any other way without changing its
meaning. Since the restraint on the transfer of voting
rights is a restraint on the transfer of shares, the In-
diana Chapter, like the Illinois Act, restrains “transfers
of stock by stockholders to a third party.”

Indiana argues that, by conferring the right to block
the transfer on the shareholders themselves, rather than

29 Accord Great Western United Corp. v. Kidwell, 577 F.2d 1256,
1280 n.53 (5th Cir. 1978), rev’d on venue grounds sub nom. Leroy
v. Great Western United Corp., 443 U.S. 173 (1979); see also
Restatement (Second) of Conflicts of Laws § 302 comment e, at
810 (1971) (citing the transfer of stock as an example of matters
that are not within the scope of “internal affairs regulation”) ;
E. Aranow, H. Einhorn & G. Berlstein, supra, at 230; Wilner &
Landy, The Tender Trap: State Takeover Statutes and Their Con-
stitutionality, 45 Fordham L. Rev. 1, 17 (1976) (footnote omitted)
(“[A] multistate tender offer has nothing to do with internal cor-
porate procedures. Although transfer of control is the goal * * * it
is accomplished in a tender offer without reference to the legal
attributes of the domestic corporation. Hence, regardless of pur-
pose, state regulation of an offer aimed at a domestic target is argu-
ably unjustifiable, at least under the ‘internal affairs’ doctrine.”).

27

a state official, it has created a scheme that is valid
notwithstanding MITE. To put the argument in what
we think is its strongest form, Indiana says that what
it has done is to confer on all shareholders the right to
participate in deciding whether the corporation in which
they have invested goes from having (to use the current
ease as an example) a 9.6% shareholder to having a
27.5% shareholder. This argument is not without force,
particularly since Indiana is quite correct that other
shareholders may have a genuine interest in that trans-
action.*®

80 Shareholders may, of course, also benefit from transactions
meeting the definition of “contro! share acquisition,” and the pro-
cedures Indiana has required may deter bidders from entering into
transactions that shareholders would favor. There has been a
lively debate about whether measures that make takeover bids
harder to accomplish harm shareholders in all cases. See, ¢.g.,
Easterbrook & Fischel, Auctions and Sunk Costs in Tender Offers,
35 Stan. L. Rev. 1 (1982); Easterbrook & Fischel, Corporate Con-
trol Transactions, 91 Yale L.J. 698 (1982); Easterbrook & Fischel,
The Proper Role of a Target’s Management in Respending to a
Tender Offer, 94 Harv. L. Rev. 1161 (1981); Manne, Mergers and
the Market for Corporate Control, 73 J. Pol. Econ. 110 (1965) ;
Ruback, Assessing Competition in the Market for Corporate Acqui-
sitions, 11 J. Fin. Econ. 141 (1985) (all critical of defensive
tactics); Bebchuk, The Case for Facilitating Competing Tender
Offers, 95 Harv. L. Rev. 1028 (1982); Bebchuk, The Case for
Facilitating Competing Tender Offers: A Reply and Extension, 35
Stan. L. Rev. 23 (1982) (some defensive tactics that lead to
“auctions” are desirable. although author is generally in agree-
ment with Easterbrook/Fischel objections to defensive tactics) ;
Gilson, A Structural Approach to Corporations: The Case Against
Defensive Tactics in Tender Offers, 33 Stan. L. Rev. 819 (1981
Gilson, Seeking Competitive Bids Versus Pure Passivity in Tender
Offer Defense, 35 Stan. L. Rev. 51 (1982) (same); Bradley &
Rosenzweig, Defensive Stock Repurchases, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 1377
(1986) (some properly regulated defensive stock repurchases pro-
mote shareholder welfare); Lowenstein, Pruning Deadwood in
Hostile Takeovers: A Proposal for Legislation, 83 Colum. L. Rev.
249 (1983) (arguing that both improper defensive tactics and
coercive takeover tactics require legislative correction); Carney,
Shareholder Coordination Costs, Shark Repellents, and Takeout
Mergers: The Case Against Fiduciary Duties, 1983 Am. B. Found.

RD
Res. J. 341 (arcuing that t-nder offers are often used by raiders

28

We think the Court should nevertheless reject this
argument, on the ground that a state may not give share-
holders of a public corporaticn the right to preserve the
present pattern of share ownership against the operation
of interstate commerce. An Indiana corporation whose
shares are traded in the national securities marketplace
remains a creature of Indiana law: many of its impor-
tant attributes are determined by state law and are sub-
ject to modification by the state. But one of its impor-
tant attributes, the identity of its shareowners and the
size of their holdings, is (by virtue of the interstate sale
of shares that Indiana allowed in the first place) a func-
tion of interstate commerce. An Indiana “public” cor-
poration has, virtually by definition, raised capital by

Raising capital in that manner is possible in part because
that national marketplace enables shareowners to resell.
and generally to trade in securities, in transactions de-
termined by market forces, subject only to such regula-
tion as Congress chooses to impose. Protecting that na-
tional market from intrusive state regulation is close to
the heart of what the Commerce Clause is about.

to expropriate the wealth of target shareholders): Lipton. Tale-
over Bids in the Target’s Boardroom, 35 Bus. Law. 101 (1979
Lipton, Takeover Bids in the Target’s Boardroom: A Response to
Professors Easterbrook and Fischel, 55 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1231 (1980
Lipton, Takeover Bids in the Target’s Boardroom: An Update After
One Year, 36 Bus. Law. 1017 (1981) (same). It has also been sug-
gested that state antitakeover measures are more likely to have
been enacted in order to protect incumbent management than to
protect shareholders. See, e.g., Winter, State Law. Shareholde:
Protection. and the Theory of the Corporation, 6 J. Legal Studies
251, 268 1977); Langevoort, State Tender-Offer Leqislation:
Interests, Effects, and Political Competency, 62 Cornell L. Rev. 213.
238-240 (1977); Loss, Foreword to Symposium, Controlling Cor-
porate Takeover Bids: State Regulation and the Ohio Approach,
21 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 605, 609, 611 (1970). The court of appeals
in this case engaged in second-guessing of the Indiana legislature
on these issues. We think that was not the appropriate course,
and that this Court’s decision snould not rest on a substitution of
its judgment for that of the State of Indiana on where the best
interests of shareholders lie.

29
CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be af-
firmed insofar as it rests on the ground that the Controi
Share Chapter is invalid under the Commerce Clause.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

DANIEL L. GOELZER LOUIS R. COHEN
General Counsel Deputy Solicitor General
PAUL GONSON Roy T. ENGLERT, JR.
Solicitor Assistant to the Solicitor General

DIANE SANGER
Assistant General Counsel

CATHERINE DIXON
JOAN E. MCKOWN
Attorneys

Securities and Exchange
Commission

JANUARY 1987

ty U. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE; 1987 181483 40186

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0294%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
