# Amicus Curiae Brief — Duckworth v. Eagan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0246%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 492 U.S. 195

## Text

No. 88-317

In the Supreme Court of the Gni

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

JACK R. DUCKWORTH, PETITIONER
Vv.
GARY JAMES EAGAN

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

EDWARD S.G. DENNIS, JR
Assistant Attorney General

WILLIAM C. BRYSON

Deputy Solicitor General
MICHAEL R. LAZERWITZ

Assisiant to the Solicitor General

JOEL M. GERSHOWITZ
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QULESTION PRESENTED

The United States will address the following question:

Whether the warnings given to respondent, which in-
cluded advising him that a lawyer will be appointed “if and
When you go to court,” complied with the requirements of
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ake eeaasececs |
EE SE We 2
Nene es cs ss caskets eenceccces 8

Argument:
Respondent was adequately informed of his rights before
Ne wade cececccccccs 9
A. Advising a suspect that a lawyer will be appointed if
and when he goes to court does not invalidate other-
wise proper Miranda warnings .................. y
B. Advising respondent that a lawyer would be ap-
pointed if and when he went to court does not link the
right to counsel to an event Occurring after question-
Ee ehs bess deers sceecccvces: 17

EL 2)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
California \. Beheler, 463 U.S. 1121 (1983) ............ 11
California vy. Prysock, 453 U.S. 355 (1981) .... 2... .. 10, 16, 17
Colorado v. Connelly, 479 U.S. 157 (1986)... .......... 20
Commonwealth \. Johnson, 484 Pa. 349, 399 A.2d 111
Ne cece esc eeeancce 16
Covote \. United States, 380 F.2d 305 (10th Cir.), cert.
denied, 389 U.S. 992 (1967) ........................ 15
De La Rosa y. Texas, 743 F.2d 299 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert.
I 15
Eagan. State, 480 N.E.2d 946 (Ind. 1985) ............. 5
Emler \. State, 259 Ind. 241, 286 N.E.2d 408 (1972) .... 15
Gilpin y. United States, 415 F.2d 638 (Sth Cir. 1969)... .. 16
Harrell. State, 357 So. 2d 643 (Miss. 1978) ............ 15
Jones \. State, 69 Wis. 2d 337, 230 N.W.2d 677 (1975)... 15
Alingler \. United States, 409 F.2d 299 (8th Cir.), cert.
I, PD gg cee teens 1§
Lathers,. United States, 396 F.2d $24 (Sth Cir. 1968)... 16
Miuassimo \. United States, 463 F.2d 1171 (2d Cir. 1972),
cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1117 (1973)... .0 00... oe oo

(11)

lV

Cases — Continued: Page
Mayzak v. United States, 402 F.2d 152 (Sth Cir. 1968)... 12
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) .............. 1, 5, 8,
9, 10, 12, 14
Moore v. State, 251 Ark. 436, 472 S.W.2d 940 (1971) .... 16
Moran v. Burbine, 475 U.S. 412 (1986)... 2... 0000..... y
Oregon v. Elstad, 470 U.S. 298 (1985) .........0.0.0.... 20
Oregon v. Mathiason, 429 U.S. 492 (1977)... 0.000000... 11

People vy. Bolinski, 260 Cal. App. 2d 336, 67 Cal. Rptr.

ee MEE ccendveakuwsnadeeetenentetesatenseses. 17-18
People v. Campbeil, 26 Mich. App. 196, 182 N.W.2d 4

(1970), cert. denied, 401 U.S. 945 (1971)... .......... 15
People v. Swift, 32 A.D.2d 183, 300 N.Y.S.2d 639 (1969),

cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1018 (1970) .................. 15
Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980) ............. 10
Rowbotham v. State, 542 P.2d 610 (Okla. Crim. App.

SED 2c. caucgs RAas Sue b eh ed can adee sues keene 15
Schade v. State, 512 P.2d 907 (Alaska 1973) ............ 15
Square v. State, 283 Ala. 548, 219 So. 2d 377 (1969) ..... 16
State v. Creach, 77 Wash. 2d 194, 461 P.2d 329 (1969) ... 16
State v. Maluia, 56 Haw. 428, 539 P.2d 1200 (1975) ..... 15
Tasby v. United States, 451 F.2d 394 (8th Cir. 1971),

— - Fee |. ere ree 15
United States v. Cassell, 452 F.2d 533 (7th Cir. 1971) ....
United States v. Contreras, 667 F.2d 976 (lith Cir.),

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 849 (1962) ..... 0... cee eee, 7, 15
United States v. Garcia, 43) F.2d 1349 (9th Cir. 1970) ... 17

United States v. Lacy, 446 F.2d 511 (Sth Cir. 1971) ....7, 15, 16

United States v. Lamia, 429 F.2d 373 (2d Cir.), cert.
CK eee eee ee 15

United States v. Sanchez, No. 88-1706 (7th Cir. Sept. 30,

SD eke et ucg heen

United States ex rel. Placek v. Illinois, 546 F.2d 1298

(7th Cir. 1976)

United States ex rel. William v. Twoomey, 467 F.2d 1248

(7th Cir. 1972)

Wright v. North Carolina, 483 F.2d 405 (4th Cir. 1973),
cert. denied, 415 U.S. 936 (197M)... oe. 7, 15

Constitution, statutes and rules: Page
U.S. Const.:
Amend. Vv... i)
| aS | i)
28 U.S.C. 2254(d) 6... cc cc ce cece eee S
Ind. Code Ann. (Burns 1985):
DB PPO TONED ccc bbe cecccdoccocesecweeees 14
PN. °» 5.4645 +b a awe 0% Kee 6.0 mhhrbibwknn 12, 14
Fed. R. Crim. P.:
REE et ee A oe ee ee Shae 14
YY AN SED FOP mn a Ol Ie Bee bg oll 12, 14
Miscellaneous:
FBI/DOJ Form FD-395 (Rev. 6-22-77) ................ 1-2

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-317
JACK R. DUCKWORTH, PETITIONER
Vv.

GARY JAMES EAGAN

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case presents the question whether warnings given
to a suspect, which include advising him that a lawyer will
be appointed “if and when you go to court,” comply with
the requirements of Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436
(1966). As a matter of practice, federal law enforcement
agents do not include such advice when issuing Miranda
warnings.' Nevertheless, inadvertent departures from

' For, example, the standard Miranda warnings issued by the
Federal Bureau of Investigation provide in pertinent part (FBI/DOJ
Form FD-395 (Rev. 6-22-77)):

Before we ask you any questions, you must understand your
rights.

You have the right to remain silent.

Anything you say can be used against you in court.

(1)

2

routine practice occur from time to time, especially when
suspects -cqguest an elaboration of the warnings.
Moreover, the federal government often accepts for pros-
ecution cases referred by state and local authorities, in
which suspects have already been interrogaied. The
Court’s analysis and resolution of this question are
theretore likely to have a significant effect upon the ad-
muissibility of defendant’s statements in federal prosecu-
tiOMNs.

STATEMENT

|. Late on the evening of May 16, 1982, respondent
stabbed a woman nine times after she refused to have sex-
ual relations with him. Respondent left the woman lying
naked along the shores of Lake Michigan outside of Ham-
mond, Indiana. After returning to Chicago that night, re-
spondent called a Chicago police officer he knew and
reported seeing the naked body of a dead woman. Re-
spondent then led Chicago police officers to the woman,
who was crying for help. On seeing respondent accompa-
nying the police, the woman asked respondent why he had
stabbed her. Respondent explained to the officers that he
had been with the woman earlier that evening but that they
had been attacked by several men who had then abducted
the woman. Pet. App. A4, Al10-A12.

You have the right to talk to a lawyer for advice before we ask
you any questions and to have a lawyer with you during ques-
uioning.

It you cannot afford a lawyer, one will be appointed for you
betore any questioning if you wish.

It you decide to answer questions now without a lawyer pres-
ent, you will still have the right to stop answering at any time.
You also have the right to stop answering at any time until you
talk to a lawyer.

By 7:30 the following morning, the Chicago police of-
ficers realized that the crime had been committed in In-
diana.? They therefore turned the investigation over to the
Hammond, Indiana, Police Department, which im-
mediately dispatched two detectives to the lakefront.
When respondent told the Hammond detectives that he
had been attacked, the detectives took respondent to a
police station so that he could file a complaint. After
respondent had filled out his report, the detectives asxed
him to accompany them to police headquarters for further
questioning. Pet. App. A4, Al2-Al13.

At about 11 a.m., Hammond detectives questioned re-
spondent. Before the questioning, the detectives read a
waiver form to respondent and asked him if he would sign
it. The form provided (Pet. App. Al3 n.2; see id. at AS):

VOLUNTARY APPEARANCE; ADVICE OF RIGHTS
YOUR RIGHTS

Before we ask you any questions, you must under-
stand your rights. You have the right to remain silent.
Anything you say can be used against you in court.
You have the right to talk to a lawyer for advice
before we ask you any questions, and to have him
with you during questioning. You have this right to
the advice and presence of a lawyer even if you cannot
afford to hire one. We have no way of giving you a
lawyer, but one will be appointed for you, if you
wish, if and when you go to court. If you wish to
answer questions now without a lawyer present, you
have the right to stop answering questions al any

2 In the meantime, respondent had accompanied police officers to
the hospital where the woman was taken and then had returned with
them to the crime site (Pet. App. Al2).

4

time. You also have the right to stop answering at any
time until you talk to a lawyer.

Respondent signed the form and gave the detectives an ex-
culpatory statement (Pet. App. A5).°

At roughly 4 p.m. the following day, Hammond detec-
lives again interviewed respondent. Before answering
questions, respondent signed another waiver form that
provided (Pet. App. Al5 n. 3; see id. at A6):

WAIVER AND STATEMENT

1. Betore making this statement, | was advised
that | have the right to remain silent and that anything
| might say may or will be used against me in a court
of law.

2. That | have the right to consult with an at-

torney of my own choice before saying arjthing, and
that an attorney may be present while | am making
any statement or throughout the course of any con-
versation with any police officer if | so choose.

* The remainder of the form signed by respondent provided (Pet.
App. Al3 n.2 (brackets in original)):

WAIVER

1, [Gary Eagan) have come to the Detective Bureau of the
Hammond, Indiana Police Department, of my own choice to talk
with Otticers * * * In [sic] regard to an investigation they are con-
ducting. | know that | am not under arrest and that | can leave
this Office if I wish to do so.

Prior to any questioning, | was furnished the above statement
of my nghts * * *. | have (read) (had read to me) this statement
ot my rights. | understand what my rights are. | am willing to
answer questions and make a statement. | do not want a lawyer. |
understand and know what | am doing. No promises or threats
have been made to me and no pressure of any kind has been used
against me.

3. That I can stop and request an attorney at any
time during the course of the taking of any statement
or during the course of any such conversation.

4. That in the course of any conversation | can
refuse to answer any further questions and remain
silent, thereby terminating the conversation.

5. That if | cannot hire an attorney, one will be
provided for me.

After reading and signing that form, respondent confessed
to stabbing the woman. The following day respondent led
the police to the area near Lake Michigan where he had
discarded the knife he had used as well as several items of
clothing. The knife and clothing were recovered at that
location. Pet. App. A6, Al?7.

2. At trial, respondent sought to exclude testimony
relating to the substance of his two statements to the Ham-
mond police as well as the knife and clothing that were
recovered. After conducting a suppression hearing, the
trial court denied the motion. The statements and the
physical evidence were admitted at trial, and respondent
was convicted of attempted murder.* Respondent was
sentenced to a term of 35 years’ imprisonment. Pet. App.
A6. The Supreme Court of Indiana affirmed respondent's
conviction on direct appeal. Eagan v. State, 480 N.E.2d
946 (Ind. 1985).

3. Respondent thereafter filed a petition for a writ of
habeas corpus in the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Indiana. Respondent claimed, among
other things, that his confession was inadmissible because
the first waiver form he signed did not comply with the re-
quirements of Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).
The court denied the petition, concluding that the record
“clearly manifests adherence to Miranda * * * especially
as to the so-called second statement” (Pet. App. A52).

* The jury acquitted respondent of rape (Pet. App. A6).

6

4. A divided panel of the court of appeals reversed
(Pet. App. A3-A48). The majority relied on United States
ex rel. William v. Twoomey, 467 F.2d 1248, 1250 (7th Cir.
1972), which had condemned, as “ ‘misleading and confus-
ing,’ ” a warning identical to the one given prior to re-
spondent’s first statement, i.e., the advice that a lawyer
will be appointed “ ‘if and when you go to court’ ” (Pet.
App. A7 (citations omitted)). The court explained (Pet.
App. A&) that

[t]he warning suggests erroneously that only those ac-
cused who can afford an attorney have the right to
have one present before answering any questions;
those who are not so fortunate must wait. This
language further implies that if the accused does not
“go to court,” i.e.[,] the government does not file
charges, the accused is not entitled to an attorney at
all.

The court concluded that the warning was “defective
because it denies an accused indigent a clear and un-
equivocal warning of the right to appointed counsel before
any interrogation” (Pet. App. A8 (citation omitted)), and
that the warning’s “confusing linkage of an indigent’s right
to counsel before interrogation with a future event * * *
violates Miranda” (Pet. App. A8).

Turning to whether respondent’s inadmissible first state-
ment tainted his later confession, the court surmised that
“[ajs a result of the first warning, [respondent] arguably
believed that he could not secure a lawyer during inter-
rogation” and that the second warning “did not explicitly
correct this misinformation” (Pet. App. A9). Accordingly,
the court remanded the case for a determination whether
respondent had knowingly and intelligently waived his
right to the presence of an attorney at the second police in-
terview (/bid.).

Judge Coffey dissented. Agreeing with those courts of
appeals that have upheld warnings identical or similar to
the first set of warnings given to respondent,’ Judgg
Coffey rejected the majority’s “technical and unrealistic
application of Miranda” and concluded that the initial
warnings were constitutionally adequate (Pet. App. Al9).
Since respondent was told explicitly that he had the right
to consult with an attorney before questioning, and to
have an attorney present during questioning even if he
could not afford to hire an attorney, the fact that an at-
torney could not be provided on the spot necessarily in-
formed respondent that he need not submit to immediate
questioning (Pet. App. Al9-A27). “[A]fter evaluating the
totality of the information given [respondent],” Judge
Coffey concluded (Pet. App. A35) that respondent

was clearly informed that he had the right to talk to

an attorney before the police questioned him, even if

he couldn’t personally afford to retain one and was
specifically advised of his right to appointed counsel.
Even assuming respondent’s first statement was inad-
missible under Miranda, Judge Coffey concluded that a
remand was unnecessary because the record showed that
respondent's confession was properly received into
evidence.* Respondent's first statement had been made
voluntarily and the warnings he received before his second
interview cured any misunderstanding that may have
arisen from the first set. Finally, Judge Coffey contended

> See, e.g., United States \. Contreras, 667 F.2d 976 (llth Cir.),
cert. denied, 459 U.S. 849 (1982); Wright v. North Carolina, 483 F.2d
405 (4th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S 936 (1974); Massimo v.
United States, 463 F.2d 1171 (2d Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S
1117 (1973); United States \. Lacy, 446 F.2d S11 (Sth Cir. 1971).

* Judge Coffey concluded that any error in admitting respondent's
initial exculpatory statement was harmless (Pet. App. A46).

that the state trial court had implicitly found that respond-
ent had knowingly and voluntarily waived his Miranda
rights before confessing and that that factual finding,
which the record amply supported, was entitled to a
presumption of correctness under 28 U.S.C. 2254(d). Pet.
App. A41-A46.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The warnings given to respondent before his first inter-
view with the Hammond police satisfied the requirements
of Miranda vy. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). The warnings
contained all the advice the Miranda Court required. The
only ground for objection was that in addition to the
warnings required by Miranda, the Hammond police ad-
vised respondent that a lawyer would be appointed for him
“if and when you go to court.” That additional statement
did not undermine the effect of the other warnings. The
Statement about the appointment of counsel was entirely
accurate and did not in any way suggest that only those
suspects able to retain counsel had the right to consult
counsel before questioning. As most federal and state
courts have concluded, informing a suspect that an at-
torney cannot be appointed for him until he appears in
court does not render Miranda warnings inadequate as
long as the suspect is also told that he has the right to
speak with an attorney before questioning and to have him
present during questioning.

Advising respondent that a lawyer will be appointed “if
and when you go to court,” in the context of otherwise
complete warnings, did not impermissibly suggest that
counsel would not be »ppointed until after questioning.
The advice avout the timing of the appointment linked the
appointment of counsel with a future event — respondent’s
initial appearance in court —but the warnings as a whole
made clear that questioning would not occur before re-

y

spondent had an opportunity to consult with counsel
unless respondent chose to waive that right. Contrary to
the court of appeals’ view, we submit that informing a
suspect that a lawyer will be appointed “if and when you
go to court” is not misleading as long as the suspect is et-
fectively told, as was respondent, that he need not submit
to any questioning until he has an attorney appointed for
him and has had an opportunity to consult with that at-
torney.

ARGUMENT

RESPONDENT WAS ADEQUATELY INFORMED OF
His RIGHTS BEFORE QUESTIONING

A. Advising A Suspect That A Lawyer Will Be Appointed If
And When He Goes To Court Does Not invalidate Other-
wise Proper Miranda Warnings

1. In Miranda y. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), the
Court established certain procedural safeguards to protect
the right of an individual, under the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments, to be free from compelled self-incrimina-
tion during custodial interrogation. The Court in Miranda
concluded that “the process of in-custody interrogation of
persons suspected or accused of crime contains inherently
compelling pressures which work to undermine the in-
dividual’s will to resist and to compel him to speak where
he would not otherwise do so freely” (384 U.S. at 467; see
Moran v. Burbine, 475 U.S. 412, 420 (1986)). The require-
ment that police give suspects the now-familiar Miranda
warnings betore interrogation was intended “[t]o combat
this inherent compulsion” (Moran, 475 U.S. at 420) by en-
suring that suspects are “effectively apprised of [their]
rights,” and thus are “permit{ted] a full opportunity to ex-
ercise the privilege against self-incrimination” (Miranda,
384 U.S. at 467). Accordingly, the Court held, a suspect
must be informed that “he has the right to remain silent,

10

that anything he says can be used against him in a court of
law, that he has the right to the presence of an attorney,
and that if he cannot afford an attorney one will be ap-
pointed tor him prior to any questioning if he so desires”
(id. at 479).

2. This Court has never required that the Miranda
warnings be given in the precise form enunciated in the
Miranda opinion. To the contrary, in Miranda itself the
Court stated that “[t}he warnings required and the waiver
necessary in accordance with our opinion today are, in the
ubsence of a fully effective equivalent, prerequisites to the
admissibility of any statement made by a defendant” (384
U.S. at 476 (emphasis added); see also id. at 479).
Thereafter, in Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980),
the Court reterred to “the now familiar Miranda warnings
** * or their equivalent” (id. at 297 (emphasis added)).
And, in California v. Prysock, 453 U.S. 355 (1981), the
Court, in upholding the adequacy of warnings that were
not given in the exact manner prescribed in the Miranda
opinion, made clear that “the ‘rigidity’ of Miranda (does
not} extend[] to the precise formulation of the warnings
given a criminal detendant” (id. at 359 (citation omitted)),
and that “no talismanic incantation [is] required to satisfy
its strictures” (/bid.). Rather than requiring a “verbatim
recital of the words of the Miranda opinion,” the Court
has looked to whether the particular words used “fully
conveyed to [a suspect] his rights as required by Miranda”
(id. at 360, 361).

3. The initial set of warnings given to respondent
touched all the points required by the Miranda decision.’

’ Miranda «armngs may not have been required at all, as 4 ts not
apparent trom the record that respondent was “im custody” at the tome
he first answered questions. The record shows that respondent was in-
terrogated at 4 poluwe station and had been im the contimuous presence

The Hammond detectives told respondent that he had the
right to remain silent, that anything he said could be used
against him in court, that he had the right to speak with an
attorney before questioning and to have the attorney pres-
ent during any interrogation, and that he had “this right to
the advice and presence of a lawyer even if [he could] not
afford to hire one” (Pet. App. AS). If the detectives had
stopped at that point, no objection could possibly be made
regarding the adequacy of the warnings. Nevertheless, the
court of appeals held that these compiete and nearly ver-
batim Miranda warnings were defective because the detec-
tives also explained to respondent that they could not pro-
vide him with a lawyer but that one would be appointed “if
and when you go to court” (/bid.). The court reasoned that
by linking an indigent’s right to counsel to a future, condi-
tional event, the statement about the appointment of
counsel erroneously suggested that “only those accused
who can afford an attorney have the right to have one

of police officers since he first accompanied the Chicago police to the
lakefront earlier that morning. Respondent, however, first requested
to go to the Hammond police station in order to lodge a formal com-
plaint, an action consistent with his initial exculpatory statement, and
he apparently agreed to go to police headquarters for an interview.
Moreover, the waiver respondent signed before that interview express-
ly stated that he was not under arrest and was free to leave at any time,
and respondent was not placed in custody until after he gave his first
statement. Pet. App. A4, Al2-Al3, Al3 n.2, AlS. Under these cir-
cumstances, it is not at all clear that, at the time he submitted to the
initial interrogation, respondent was subject to a “ ‘formal arrest or
restraint on freedom of movement’ of the degree associated with for-
mal arrest.” California \. Beheler, 463 U.S. 1121, 1125 (1983)
(quoting Oregon \. Mathiason, 429 U.S. 492, 495 (1977)). Never-
theless, the State has not argued at any stage of the proceedings that
respondent Was not in custody, so we do not present that issue as an
alternative basis tor upholding the admission of respondent's first
Statement. :

12

present before answering any questions” (id. at A8). The
court also considered that the statement “implie[d] that if
the accused does not ‘go to court,’ i.e.[,] the government
does not file charges, the accused is not entitled to [a
lawyer] at all” (ibid.). The court thus concluded that the
warnings failed adequately to inform respondent of the
right to appointed counsel before interrogation.

a. In reaching that conclusion, the court of appeals
misjudged the effect of the statement about the timing of
the appointment of counsel, particularly in the context of
the information conveyed by the entire set of warnings.
First, the statement about the appointment of counsel was
entirely accurate. A police officer typically has no authori-
ty to appoint counsel for a suspect; only a judicial officer
can do so at that individual’s initial appearance. See Ind.
Code Ann. § 35-33-7-6 (Burns 1985); Fed. R. Crim. P.
5(c). Miranda “does not require that attorneys be produci-
ble on call, or that a Miranda warning include a time table
for an attorney’s arrival.” Mayzak v. United States, 402
F.2d 152, 155 (Sth Cir. 1968). Nor does Miranda require
that “the officer conducting the interview declare his per-
sonal and immediate power to summon an attorney”
(ibid.). In Miranda itself, the Court made clear that it was
not suggesting that “each police station must have a ‘sta-
tion house lawyer’ present at all times to advise prisoners”
(384 U.S. at 474). All that Miranda requires is that the
suspect be advised that he has the right not to be ques-
tioned without a prior opportunity to consult with counsel
and an opportunity to have counsel present during ques-
tioning. If the police have no authority to provide an ap-
pointed counsel — or if they choose not to provide one — all
that Miranda requires is that the police not interrogate the
suspect unless he waives his right to counsel.

13

If an indigent suspect seeks any clarification or
amplification of the Miranda warnings at all, it seems like-
ly that his first question will be when a lawyer will be ap-
ynointed tor him. Surely, it cannot be the case that the of-
ficers are not permitted to answer that question, or that an
accurate answer will result in the suppression of any
Statements the suspect may make. Here, the detectives an-
ticipated that question and answered it truthfully as part
of the warnings themselves. The inclusion of that informa-
tion as part of the warnings —rather than as a response to
a question by the suspect —should not make a difference
for purposes of determining whether the suspect’s state-
ment should be admitted at trial.

Contrary to the view taken by the court of appeals, the
Statement about the ming of the appointment of counsel
did not suggest that only those suspect able to retain
counsel have the right to have counsel present before ques-
tioning. The statement itself merely explained the
mechanics of appointing counsel. The previous two warn-
ings —that respondent had the right to talk to a lawyer for
advice betore questioning, and that he had that right to the
advice and presence of a lawyer before questioning even if
he could not aftord to hire one (Pet. App. AS)—made
clear that whether he could hire an attorney or not,
respondent had the right to the advice and presence of an
attorney betore the police could question him. That right
to consult with counsel before questioning was recon-
firmed when respondent was told that if he chose to
answer questions “without a lawyer present” he could stop
the interview “at any time until [he has] talked to a lawyer”
(ibid.). Telling a suspect that an attorney cannot be ap-
pointed tor him until he goes to court does not vitiate the
effectiveness of a warning that he has a right not to be
questioned without an attorney being present. It simply

14

makes clear that until the indigent suspect goes to court
and an attorney is appointed for him, the police may not
question him unless he waives his right to counsel.*

The challenged statement about the appointment of
- counsel did not suggest that respondent’s rights under
Miranda were somehow conditional. The detective’s state-
ment that an attorney would be appointed for respondent
“if and when you go to court” meant only that, if respond-
ent requested an attorney before questioning, one would
be appointed by the court unless charges were not filed, in
which case respondent would be released and not brought
to court at all.’ In other words, the warnings made clear
that if respondent chose not to waive his right to consult
with counsel before questioning, one of two series of
events would occur: either the police would defer ques-
tioning until charges were filed, the court appointed an at-
torney, and that attorney conferred with respondent; or,
the police would defer questioning, choose not to file
charges, and thus release respondent from custody
without questioning him at all. Contrary to the court of
appeals’ view (Pet. App. A8), nothing in the detective’s use

* Indeed, the Miranda Court acknowledged that the practice of the
Federal Bureau of Investigation, at that time, of informing suspects
“of a right to free counsel if they are unable to pay, and the availabili-
ty of such counsel from the Judge” (384 U.S. at 486 (emphasis in
Original) (internal quotations omitted)), was “consistent with the pro-
cedure [the Court} delineate[d]” (id. at 484).

* Under Indiana law, counsel is appointed at the defendant’s initial
hearing in court, Ind. Code Ann. § 35-33-7-6 (Burns 1985), and for-
mal charges must be filed at or before that hearing, id. § 35-33-7-3(a).
In the federal system, the defendant’s initial hearing, at which counsel
is appointed, can occur before the filing of any indictment or informa-
tion, Fed. R. Crim. P. S(a), (c).

15

of the word “if” undercut the plain message of the warn-
ings —that respondent had the right not to answer ques-
tions until an attorney, whether retained or appointed,
could be present.

b. Most state and federal courts agree that informing a
Suspect that an attorney cannot be appointed for him until
he appears in court (or that an attorney will be appointed
at another time) does not render Miranda warnings inade-
quate, as long as the suspect is also told that he has the
right to speak with an attorney before questioning and to
have him present during questioning.'® Taken together,
the two statements explain to the suspect that “he [has] the
right to put off answering any questions until the time

'* See, e.g., De La Rosay. Texas, 743 F.2d 299, 302 (Sth Cir. 1984),
cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1065 (1985); United States v. Contreras, 667
F.2d 976, 979 (1ith Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 849 (1982); United
States ex rel. Placek \. Illinois, 546 F.2d 1298, 1300-1301 (7th Cir.
1976); Wright ». North Carolina, 483 F.2d 405, 406-407 (4th Cir.
1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 936 (197); Massimo v. United States,
463 F.2d 1171, 1174 (2d Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1117 (1973);
Tasby v. United States, 451 F.2d 394, 398-399 (8th Cir. 1971), cert.
denied, 405 U.S. 992 (1972); United States v. Lacy, 446 F.2d $11, 513
(Sth Cir. 1971) (per curiam); United States v. Lamia, 429 F.2d 373,
376-377 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 907 (1970); Klingler v. United
States, 409 F.2d 299, 308 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 859 (1969);
Coyote y. United States, 380 F.2d 305, 308 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,
389 U.S. 992 (1967); Schade v. State, 512 P.2d 907, 915-916 (Alaska
1973); State \. Maluia, 56 Haw. 428, 431-435, 529 P.2d 1200,
1205-1207 (1975); Emiler \. State, 259 Ind. 241, 243-244, 286 N.E.2d
408, 410-411 (1972); People». Campbell, 26 Mich. App. 196, 201-202,
182 N.W.2d 4, 6-7 (1970), cert. denied, 401 U.S. 945 (1971); Harrell v.
State, 357 So. 2d 643, 645-646 (Miss. 1978); People v. Swift, 32
A.D.2d 183, 186-187, 300 N.Y.S.2d 639, 643-644 (1969), cert. denied,
396 U.S. 1018 (1970); Rowbotham \. State, $42 P.2d 610, 618-619
(Okla. Crim. App. 1975); Jones \. State, 69 Wis. 2d 337, 343-345, 230
N.W 2d 677, 682-683 (1975)

16

when he [does] have an appointed attorney.” United States
v. Lacy, 446 F.2d 511, 513 (Sth Cir. 1971) (per curiam). As
the Second Circuit explained under identical circum-
stances, “[t]he only conclusion [the suspect] would have
been justified in reaching on the basis of the warning was
that, since he was clearly entitled to have a lawyer present
during questioning, and since no lawyer could now be pro-
vided, he could not now be questioned.” Massimo v.
United States, 463 F.2d 1171, 1174 (2d Cir. 1972), cert.
denied, 409 U.S. 1117 (1973).

A minority of federal and state courts, including the
court of appeals in this case, have held such warnings in-
adequate.'' Those courts have disapproved the departure
from the formulation sanctioned in Miranda and have
generally reasoned, as did the court of appeals in this case,
that inserting conditional language into Miranda warnings
undercuts the advice that the suspect has the right to ap-
pointed counsel before any questioning. The insistence on
Strict adherence to the language of the Miranda warnings,
however, cannot be squared with this Court’s admonition
in Prysock that “the ‘rigidity’ of Miranda [does not] ex-
tend[] to the precise formulation of the warnings given to
a criminal defendant” (453 U.S. at 359). Small variations
in the language used “are far less important than whether
the differences threaten achievement of the purpose of the
warnings.” United States v. Sanchez, No. 88-1706 (7th
Cir. Sept. 30, 1988), slip op. 4. And, as we have discussed
above, the minority view is not only unjustifiably rigid, it
ignores the more sensible and straightforward interpreta-
tion of the warnings taken as a whole.

'' See, e.g., Gilpin. United States, 415 F.2d 638, 640-641 (Sth Cir.
1969); Lathers \. United States, 396 F.2d 524, 535-536 (Sth Cir. 1968);
Square \. State, 283 Ala. $48, 550, 219 So. 2d 377, 378-379 (1969);
Moore \. State, 251 Ark. 436, 442-443, 472 S.\W_2d 940, 944 (1971);
Commonwealth ». Johnson, 484 Pa. 349, 352-357, 399 A.2d I11,
112-114 (1979); State v. Creach, 77 Wash. 2d 194, 199-200, 461 P.2d
329, 332-333 (1969).

17

B. Advising Respondent That A Lawyer Would Be Appointed
lf And When He Went To Court Does Not Link The Right
To Counsel To An Event Occurring After Questioning

1. In California v. Prysock, supra, the Court sug-
gested that Miranda warnings would be inadequate “if the
reference to the right to appointed counsel was linked [to
a] future point in time after the police interrogation” (453
U.S. at 360). The court of appeals relied on that statement
from Prysock in finding fault with the advice given by the
police in this case. But there is a critical difference between
the warning at issue in this case and the warning that the
Court in Prysock said would be improper. Prysock
criticized a suggestion that counsel would be appointed
“after police questioning.” In this case, there was no sug-
gestion that the appointment of counsel would occur after
questioning. To the contrary, the warning made clear that,
absent a waiver, an indigent suspect had the right to con-
sult with counsel before questioning, regardless of when
the appointment occurred.

A review of the cases cited by the Prysock Court —
United States v. Garcia, 431 F.2d 134 (9th Cir. 1970) (per
curiam), and People v. Bolinski, 260 Cal. App. 2d 705, 67
Cal. Rptr. 347 (1968) — makes it clear that the court of ap-
peals was mistaken in relying on Prysock as support for its
decision. In Garcia, the defendant had been advised that
she could “have an attorney appointed to represent you
when you first appear before the U.S. Commissioner or
the Court” (431 F.2d at 134). The court concluded that the
warnings were inadequate because they informed the
defendant only of her right to the presence of counsel
“when she answered any questions,” and not “of her right
to counsel before she said [a word]” (/bid.). In Bolinski,
one set of warnings advised the accused that counsel
would be appointed “if he was charged” (260 Cal. App. 2d

18

at 718, 67 Cal Rptr. at 355), and the other set of warnings
informed the defendant that an attorney would be ap-
pointed after he was transferred to California from his
present location in Illinois (260 Cal. App. 2d at 723, 67
Cal. Rptr. at 358). Both sets of warnings were held inade-
quate because they failed to explain that the accused was
entitled to have a lawyer present at the interrogation, let
alone that counsel could be appointed for that purpose
(260 Cal. App. 2d at 718, 720, 67 Cal. Rptr. at 355, 356).

The flaw in the Miranda warnings at issue in Garcia and
Bolinski, therefore, was linking the appointment of
counsel to a future event occurring after interrogation.
The warnings in those cases tended to mislead the indigent
suspect by failing to make clear that he could postpone
questioning until he had a lawyer. Prysock thus casts
doubt on the validity only of those warnings that link the
appointment of counsel to a future event occuiring after
interrogation. It does not condemn warnings that simply
link the appointment of counsel to some future event.

2. Here, respondent was told that he had the right to
talk to a lawyer before any questioning and to have a
lawyer present during questioning. He was told that he
had this “right to the advice and presence of a lawyer” even
if he could not afford one. And he was informed that a
lawyer would be appointed for him, if he wished, when he
appeared in court. That warning certainly linked the ap-
pointment of counsel to a future event —respondent’s ini-
tial appearance in court—but that statement, taken
together with the entire set of warnings, made clear that,
absent a waiver, the future event would occur before any
questioning. Read as a whole, the warnings did not sug-
gest, let alone state, that respondent would enjoy the right
to the advice and presence u. a lawyer only after he sub-

19

mitted to questioning. The warnings given to respondent
therefore satisfied the requirements of this Court’s deci-
sion in Miranda.

One problem with any close analysis of the language
used in pre-interrogation warnings is that focusing on the
precise wording used in the warnings tends to obscure the
basic point of Miranda: to ensure that a suspect does not
waive his right to remain silent either because of the
pressures inherent in custodial interrogation or because he
does not understand that his words can be used against
him in court. The Miranda warnings are not prescribed by
statute or rule, nor are they mandated by the Constitution.
The warnings have constitutional significance only
because this Court has held that giving a suspect those
warnings is one effective way to ensure that the suspect’s
waiver of his right to remain silent is valid. Therefore,
rather than measuring particular warnings against the
words of the Miranda opinion, the Court should deter-
mine whether the warnings in each case provide the
suspect with the information he needs to make a constitu-
tionally binding decision to speak with the police. Viewed
in that way, the warnings given to respondent were
unimpeachable. They advised him, in the clearest possible
language, of his right to remain silent; the consequences of
waiving that right; the right to consult with counsel before
questioning and to have counsel present during-question-
ing if respondent chose to speak with the police; the right
to the advice and presence of counsel even if respondent
could not afford to hire a lawyer; and the right to stop
answering questions at any time. It is hard to credit the
claim that, armed with all that information, respondent's
waiver of his right to remain silent was nonetheless
rendered involuntary because he was told, accurately, that

20

the police were not authorized to appoint a lawyer for
him.'?

'2? Even assuming the first warnings given to respondent were inade-
quate under Miranda, the court of appeals erred in remanding the case
for a determination whether respondent had waived the right to the
presence of counsel before confessing to the detectives. In our view,
the record shows that respondent had waived that right after receiving
proper Miranda warnings. First, as even the court of appeals con-
cluded, respondent's confession “was made voluntarily” (Pet. App.
A9), and there is no evidence in the record that the detectives acted
coercively. See Colorado v. Connelly, 479 U.S. 157, 167 (1986). Sec-
ond, respondent confessed after receiving complete and accurate
Miranda warnings. See Oregon v. Elstad, 470 U.S. 298, 318 (1985).
Third, even if there was a flaw in the first warnings, there was no such
flaw in the second set, which made clear that respondent had the right
to the advice and presence of an attorney before questioning, and that
“if [respondent could not] hire an attorney, one will be provided for
{him]” (Pet. App. AIS n.3). Under these circumstances, respondent
clearly waived the right to the presence of counsel before confessing
and thus a remand was unnecessary.

—~—-

21

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be re-
versed.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General
EDWARD S.G. DENNIS, JR
Assistant Attorney General
WitttaM C. BRYSON
Deputy Solicitor General
NCHAEL R. LAZERWITZ
Assistant to the Soliciior General

Jott M. GeresHowirs
Attorney

DEC E\MIBER 1YSS

piVERNMENT Peitatitos OFFICE m6 6 4! O99 OO/ 92

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0246%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
