# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pennsylvania v. Bruder

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0237%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 9

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1988

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,
Petitioner
vs.

THOMAS A. BRUDER, JR.,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Joseph J. Mittleman
: Assistant District
> Attorney

(Counsel of Record)

Sandra L. Elias
Deputy District Attorney
Chief, Law and Appeals
Unit

’
William H. Ryan, Jr.
District Attorney

Court House
Media, PA 19063

(215) 891-421C

KY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth,
and Fourteenth Amendments to the United
States Constitution require that a field
sobriety test consisting of the recitation of
the alphabet be preceded by warnings of the
individual's rights against self-incrimination.

2. Whether the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth,
and Fourteenth Amendments to the United
States Constitution require that brief
questioning at a routine traffic stop be
preceded by warnings of the individual's

rights against self-incrimination.

Page
TABLE OF CONTENTS

) Appendix B: Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law of the
Pp Suppression Court of
ae . Delaware County,
Opinions Below 2 Pennsylvania 24a
i edict . Appendix C: Opinion of the Court of
RS ee . . Conmon Pleas of Delaware
) 3la
Constitutional Provisions Involved 4 . County, Pennsylvania
Appendix D: Judgment and Opinion of
Statement of the Case 6 | a Sueecier Court of
; Pennsylvania, dated March
Reasons for Granting the Writ . 30, 1987 46a
" peusneee Pace mg Png | Appendix E: Order of the Superior Court
United States Constitution do ) = ne dated June ete
not require that a field ’
meee piney Sha i ae | Appendix F: Order of the Supreme Court
preceded by warnings of the | re — dated May she
individual's rights against self- .
incrimination. 12-15

B. The Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and
Fourteen Amendments to the :
United States Constitution i
do not require that brief :
questioning at a routine
traffic stop be preceded by ;
warnings of the individual's :
rights against self-
incrimination. 16-17

Conclusion _ 18

APPENDICES

Appendix A: Judgment and Opinion of
the Superior Court of
Pennsylvania dated July
21, 1987 la

iii
ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Berkemer v. McCarty,
468 U.S. 427, 104 S.Ct 3138, 82
L.Ed.2d 317 (1984) e . ° - o ° . .

Butler v. Commissioner of Public
Saftey,
348 N.W.2d. 827 (Minn. App. 1984) .

Commonwealth v. Bruder,
365 Pa.Super.Ct. 106, 110-12, 528
A.2d 1385, 1387-88 (1987) .....

Commonwealth v. Meyer,
488 Pa. 297, 412 A.2d 517 (1980). .

Delaware v. Van Arsdall,
475 U.S 673, 106 S.Ct. 1431, 89
L.Ed.2d 674 (1986). e ° ° ° ° ° ° .

McAvoy v. State,
70 Md.App. 661, 523 A.2da 518 (1987)

Miranda v. Arizona,
384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 16
L.Ed.2d 694 (1966) — _ _ 7 . . * *

Montgomery v. State,

174 Ga.App 95, 329 S.E.2da 166
(1985) . . o ° e ° e o ° @ °

Oxholm v. District of Columbia,
464 A.2d 113 (D.C.App.i983)....

People v. Burhans,
421 N.W.2d 285 (Mich.App. 1988) ..

People v. Helm,
633 P.2d 1071 (Colo. 1981) e¢e¢es

iv

Page

16,17

15

10

16

12

15

8,12

15

15

15

15

People v. Saturday,

482 N.E.2d 1124 (111.App.2 Dist.
1985) eo oe @ oe eo e eo eo _* oe _ * 7 . oe
Schmerber v. California,

384 U.S. 757, 86 S.Ct. 1826, 16
8.26. 906 (1066) . - ec ec ee ee

State v. Hartwig,
li2 Idaho 370, 732 P.2da 339 (1978)

State v. Medenbach,
48 Ore.App. 133, 616 P.2d 543
(1980) eo _ e oo @ — — . o J J . . *

State v. Roadifer,

346 N.W.2d. 438 (S.D. 1984) ....

State v. Theriault,
144 Ariz. 166, 696 P.2d 718 (1984).

United States v. Dionisio,
410 U.S. 1, 93 S.Ct. 764, 35
L.Ed.2d 67 (1973) « «© © «© © © #© « «

United States v. Wade,
388 U.S. 218, 87 S.Ct 1926, 18
L.Ed.2d@ 1149 (1967) ~. « « « © © @ «

Constitutional Authorities

United States Constitution,
Amendment Four - « & £.6 ¢ @ €.8

United States Constitution,
Amendment Five ...+«-+«« « «© « « «

United States Constitution,
Amendement Six ..« « « «© «© «© « « «

United States Constitution,
Amendment Fourteen, Section One. .

15

14

15

15

15

15

13

13

4,8,
12,16

4,8,
12,16

4,8,
12,16

5,8,
12,16

ee ae

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

NO.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,
Petitioner

VS.

THOMAS A. BRUDER, JR.,
Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Petitioner, the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, respectfully requests that a Writ
of Certiorari issue to review the Judgment
and Opinion of the Superior Court of

Pennsylvania entered in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Superior Court of
Pennsylvania has been reported at 365
Pa.Super.Ct. 106, 528 A.2d 1385 (1987) and is
set forth in full in Appendix A of this
Petition.

The opinion of the Court of Common
Pleas of Delaware County is reported at 73
Del.Co.Rptr. 485 (1986), and is set forth in

full in Appendix C of this Petition.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Pennsylvania
Superior Court was entered on July 21, 1987.
The Pennsylvania Supreme Court refused
review of this matter by an Order dated May
19, 1988. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 81257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment Four,
which provides:

The right of the people to be secure in
their persons, houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches and seizures,
shall not be violated, and no warrants shail
issue, but upon probable cause, supported by
oath or affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched, and the
persons or things to be seized.

United States Constitution, Amendment Five,
which provides:

No person shall be held to answer for a
Capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless
on a presentment or indictment of a grand
jury, except in cases arising in the land or
naval forces, or in the militia, when in actual
service in time of war or public danger; nor
shall any person be subject for the same
offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life or
limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal
case to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without
due process of law; nor shall private property
be taken for public use, without just
compensation.

United States Constitution, Amendment Six,
which provides:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused
shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public
trial, by an impartial jury of the state and
district wherein the crime shall have been
committed, which district shall have been

4

previously ascertained by law, and to be
informed of the nature and cause of the
accusation; to be confronted with the
witnesses against him; to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses in his favor,
and to have the assistance of counsel for his

defense.

United States Constitution, Amendment
Fourteen, Section One, which provides:

All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction
thereof, are citizens of the United States and
of the state wherein they reside. No state
shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of
citizens of the United States; nor shall any
state deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

At approximately 12:50 A.M. on
January 19, 1985, Officer Steve Shallis of the
Newtown Township Police Department
observed Thomas A. Bruder, Jr., driving a
motor vehicle which was stopped at a green
light for ten to fifteen (10-15) seconds. (N.T.
December 17, 1985 p. 8). Bruder's vehicle
then proceeded at approximately tento
twenty (10-20) miles per hour on a four-lane
divided highway where the speed limit was
forty (40) miles per hour, swerving back and
forth across the highway with high beams on,
despite warnings from oncoming traffic.
Bruder drove on and made a right turn at a
red light without coming to a stop, turning so
widely he was travelling eastbound inthe
westbound lane. (Id. at 9-11). Officer
Shallis then stopped Bruder's vehicle. Before
the officer had stopped his police car, Bruder
exited his vehicle and was unsteady on his
feet, having a difficult time keeping his

6

ee) ea ae cae

balance. He also had difficulty removing his
wallet from his pocket, looking for his
driver's license, and finding his registration
and insurance cards in the glove compartment.
(Id. at 1214). He had a strong odor of
alcohol on his breath, his eyes were bloodshot
and his face was flushed. In response to
questioning, Bruder admitted to the officer
that he had had a couple of drinks. Bruder,
a local businessman, then blurted to Officer
Shallis, “You don't knowwholam". (Id. at
16). Officer Shallis administered several field
sobriety tests to Bruder. Officer Shallis first
asked himto recite the alphabet,and then
requested that he walk a straight line, heel-
to-toe. After Bruder performed poorly on
both tests, Officer Shallis placed him under
arrest for Driving Under the2 Influence of
Alcohol. Bruder refused to undergo any
chemical tests to determine his blood alcohol
level, despite being advised of the
consequences of sucha refusal. (Id. at17).

7

Bruder filed Omnibus Pre-trial
Motions seeking the suppression of evidence,
alleging, inter alia, that certain field sobriety
tests were administered without advising him
of his Fifth Amendment rights as provided in

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct.

1602, 16 L.Ed.2d. 694 (1966), and that
statements elicited from himwithout first
advising himof his rights against self-
incrimination and to tounsel violated the
Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States
Constitution. On June 25, 1985 a hearing was
held on the pre-trial motions, at which
Bruder raised the above federal constitutional
Claims. (N.T. June 25, 1985 p. 10-11). On
July 26, 1985 the Court denied the pre-trial
motions and filed Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law, which are attached
hereto as Appendix B.

On December 17, 1985, Bruder was found
guilty of Driving Under the Influence of

8

Alcohol following a non-jury trial before the
Honorable Rita E. Prescott. Bruder filed
post-trial motions raising, inter alia, the
federal constitutional claims he raised in his
pre-trial motions. By an Order dated May 9,
1986 the Court dismissed the post-trial
motions, and filed an opinion on May 14,
1986. A copy of that Opinion is attached
hereto as Appendix C. On July 23, 1986, he
was sentenced to aterm of imprisonment of
forty-eight (48) hours to six (6) months.
Bruder took a direct appeal to the Superior
Court of Pennsylvania, which reversed the
judgment of sentence and remanded for a new
trial in an opinion by a divided panel dated
March 30, 1987. A copy of that Opinion is
attached hereto as Appendix D. President
Judge Cirillo, writing for himself and Senior
Judge Hoffman, held (1) the roadside
questioning of Bruder was constitutionally

infirm due to a lack of Miranda warnings,

Appendix at 6a-lla; Sla-56a and
9

Commonwealth v. Bruder, 365 Pa.Super.Ct.

106, 110-12, 528 A.2d 1385, 1387-88 (1987),
and (2) a field sobriety test consisting of the
recitation of the alphabet constituted
testimonial evidence, which also required

Miranda warnings. Appendix at 12a-l4a; 57a-

59a, and Commonwealth v. Bruder, Supra. at

113-14, 528 A.2d at 1388. Judge Rowley filed
a concurring and dissenting opinion, voting to
affirm the Judgment of Sentence. The
Commonwealth filed an Application for
Reargument from this determination. The
Superior Court, by Order dated June 8, 1987,
denied reargument, but took the unusual

action of sua sponte ordering panel

reconsideration limited to the issue of the
sufficiency of the evidence. A copy of that
Order is attached hereto as Appendix E. On
July 21, 1987 the panel found the evidence
presented at trial sufficient to support the
verdict, but again reversed the judgment of
sentence, Judge Rowley again dissenting. A

10

copy of that Opinion is attached hereto as
Appendix A. The Commonwealth filed a
Petition for Allowance of Appeal inthe
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. By an Order
dated May 19, 1988, the Supreme Court denied
the Commonwealth's Petition. A copy of that
Order is attached hereto as Appendix F. The
Commonwealth now seeks this Court's review

of the Superior Court's Opinion and Order.

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. THE FOURTH, FIFTH, SIXTH, AND

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE

UNITED STATE CONSTITUTION DO NOT

REQUIRE THAT A FIELD SOBRIETY TEST

CONSISTING OF THE RECITATION OF THE

ALPHABET BE PRECEDED BY WARNINGS OF

THE INDIVDUAL'S RIGHTS AGAINST SELF-

INCRIMINATION.

The Pennsylvania Superior Court has
decided a question of federal law! in conflict
with the applicable decisions of this Court by
holding that a field sobriety test consisting of
the recitation of the alphabet must be

preceded by Miranda? warnings. The

1 The Superior Court opinion did not
base its decision upon the Pennsylvania
Constitution, nor did it make a plain
Statement that its decision was based on
independent state grounds. The decision is
thus presumed to be based on federal]
constitutional grounds. Delaware v. Van
Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 106 S.ct. 1431, 69
L.Ed.2d. 674 (1986).

2 Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86
S.Ct. 1602, 16 L.Ed.2a 694 (1966).

12

ten le

Superior Court's opinion is based on its
holding that the recitation of the alphabet is
testimonial in nature. This holding is in
direct conflict with the prior decisions of this

Court.

In United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218,

87 S.Ct. 1926, 18 L.Ed.2d 1149 (1967), this
Court held that requiring a defendant to
participate in a line-up and speak the words
spoken by the perpetrator of the crime did
not violate the defendant's right against self-
incrimination. The Court concluded that
Wade's voice was being used to identify
physical characteristics and that he was not
being compelled to utter statements of a

testimonial nature. In United States v.

Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1, 93 S.Ct. 764, 35 L.Ed.2d

67 (1973), the Court held that compelling
voice exemplars does not violate a defendant's
privilege against self-incrimination since the
voice exemplars were used solely to measure
the physical properties of the witness's voice,

13

not for the testimonial or communicative
content of what was to be said.

The Pennsylvania Superior Court, in
direct conflict with the holdings of this
Court, based its decision solely on the fact
the evidence in question came from the
defendant's mouth. The Superior Court used
an improper analysis. The mere fact that the
evidence originated from the defendant's
mouth is not the end of the analysis. Self-
incrimination protections are only implicated
when the evidence is testimonial or

communicative. Schmerber v. California, 384

U.S. 757, 86 S.Ct 1826, 16 L.Ed.2d. 908 (1966),
and it is the testimonial or communicative
nature of the evidence which is the proper
inquiry. Since the recitation of the alphabet
is designed to test the degree to which a
suspect's faculties are impaired, itisa
physical test. No communicative value exists
at all in the substantive sounds being uttered
by the individual. In view of the applicable

14

a ee

Poe ae vee ere

decisions of this Court, the Pennsylvania
Superior Court erred in concluding otherwise.

The instant matter is an appropriate
case for this Court to review inasmuch as the
precise issue presented has never been
directly addressed by this Court, yet is
important, in view of the large number of

drunk driving cases occurring nationwide.?

3 This issue has not been directly
addressed by most state courts, but all which
have done so have held the recitation of the
alphabet to be non-testimonial and not wi thin
the purview of the constitutional protections
against self-incrimination. State v. Theriault,
144 Ariz. 166, 696 P.2d 718 (1984); Peoplev.
Helm, 633 P.2da 1071 (Colo. 1981); Oxholm v.
District of Columbia, 464 A.2d 113 (D.C.App.
1983); Montgomery v. State, 174 we.Rap. aoe
329 S.E.2d ise LOE State v. Hartwig,
Idaho 370, 732 P.2d 339 (1987); Beopl ev.

Saturda 482 N.E.2d 1124 (111.App.2 Dist.
1985); MCAVo v. State, 70 Md.App. 661, 523

A.2a 618 (1 y; People v. Burhans, 421
N.W.2d 285 (Mich.App. 1968); Butlerv.
Commissioner of Public Safety, 348 N.W.

(Minn. App. l ; State v. Medenbach, 48

Ore. App. 133, 616 P.2d 543 (1980); Statev.
Roadifer, 346 N.W.2d. 438 (S.D. 1984).

15

B. THE FOURTH, FIFTH, SIXTH, AND

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION DO NOT

REQUIRE THAT BRIEF QUESTIONING AT A

ROUTINE TRAFFIC STOP BE PRECEDED BY

WARNINGS OF THE INDIVIDUAL'S RIGHTS

AGAINST SELF-INCRIMINATION.

The Pennsylvania Superior Court's
holding that brief roadside questioning of a
driver during a routine traffic stop must be

preceded by Miranda warnings is in direct

conflict with this Court's holding in Berkemer

v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 427, 104 S.Ct. 3138, 82

L.Ed.2d 317 (1984), which held that Miranda

warnings are not required in such
circumstances. The Superior Court relied

upon Commonwealth v. Meyer, 488 Pa. 297,

412 A.2da 517 (1980) in holding that the police

should have given Bruder Miranda warings

prior to asking him questions during the
traffic stop. This Court, however, specifically

-rejected Commonwealth v. Meyer and its

16

ee et | i a oe ae

at a Ae

reasoning Berkemer v. McCarty, supra. at nn.7

and 8.
Since the Pennsylvania Superior Court

has ignored the plain holding of Berkemer v.

McCarty and instead followed federal law4

which this Court rejected, it is respectfully
submitted that the instant case is appropriate

for review by this Court.

4 See Footnote 1, supra.

17

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania respectfully
requests that a Writ of Certiorari issue to

review the decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph J. Mittleman
Assistant District
Attorney

(Counsel of Record)

Sandra L. Elias
Deputy District Attorney
Chief, Law and Appeals
Unit

William H. Ryan, Jr.
District Attorney

Court House
Media, PA 19063
(215) 891-4210

18

oe eee

an Nl ce EO.

|
)
;
|
:
;
!
.
|

APPENODI X

la

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
Vv.

THOMAS A BRUDER, JR.,
Appellant

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF
PENNSYLVANIA

NO. 02176 Philadelphia 1986

JUDGMENT
ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is
now here ordered and adjudged by this Court
that the judgment of the Court of Common
Pleas of Delaware County be, and the same is
hereby Reversed and Remanded for Further
Proceedings. Jurisdiction Relinquished.

BY THE COURT:

David A. Szewczak

Prothonotary

Dated: July 21, 1987

APPENDIx "A"

2a

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
Vv.

THOMAS A. BRUDER, JR.,
Appellant

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF
PENNSYLVANIA

NO. 02176 Philadelphia 1986

Appeal from the Judgment of Sentence July
23, 1986 in the Court of Common Pleas of
Delaware County, Criminal No. 303 of 1985

BEFORE: CIRILLO, P.J-, ROWLEY AND
HOFFMAN, JJ.

OPINION BY CIRILLO, P.J.:

This is an appeal froma judgment
of sentence, following a non-jury trial, for
driving under the influence of alcohol and
related offenses. We reverse and remand.

The issues presented for our review
are: (1) whether the criminal complaint should
have been dismissed due to its defects; (2)
whether certain evidence was properly
admitted at trial; and (3) whether the verdict
was supported by sufficient evidence.

A patrolman stopped appellant

Bruder's car after the officer saw him pass a

3a

red light. The patrolman also witnessed what
he described as Bruder's erratic driving
behavior. When the policeman approached
Bruder, he noticed indicia of intoxication.
The patrolman testified that Bruder was
unable to walk in a straight line, heel to toe,
or recite the complete alphabet. Appellant
was then arrested for driving under the
influence of alcohol, and informed of his

rights as required by Miranda v. Arizona, 384

U.S. 436, 467-73 (1966).
I

Appellant argues that the complaint
filed against him was defective and,
therefore, should have been dismissed. More
specifically, appellant asserts that the
complaint violated Pennsylvania Rules of
Criminal Procedure 132 and 134.

The alleged violation by the
Commonwealth of Rule 132 was its failure to
include a verification with the complaint.
Rule 132(9) requires that every complaint

include a “verification by the affiant that the

4a

facts set forth in the complaint are true and
correct to the affiant's personal knowledge or
information and belief, and that any false
statements therein are made subject to the
penalties .. . relating to unsworn falsification

to authorities .« « -«

In the case at bar, the arresting
officer, in filing the complaint, used an old
form which was designed to conform to an
older version of Rule 132. The complaint did
not conform to the current version of Rule
132 because it did not contain the required
clause that false statements were subject to
the penalties of unsworn falsification.

The trial court found that based on
Pa. R. Crim P. 150, the defect in the
complaint did not warrant dismissal of the
charges. Pa. R. CrimP. 150 provides that a
"defendant shall not be discharged nor shall a
case be dismissed because of a defect in the
form or content of a complaint, summons or
warrant, or a defect in the procedures of this

chapter, unless the defendant raises the

5a

defect before the conclusion of the
preliminary hearing and the defect is
prejudicial to the rights of the defendant."

The trial court noted that the
defect concerning the absence of a
verification was not raised in this case until
after the preliminary hearing and suppression
hearing. The trial court also observed, and
we agree, that the appellant was aware of the
charges against him and was not prejudiced
by the defect in the complaint.

We express displeasure with the
failure of the police to fully comply with the
requisite formof acomplaint. The plain
language of Rule 150, however, does not
permit us to discharge the complaint inthis
particular case because the defect was
neither timely raised nor was it prejudicial to
the appellant.

Appellant also contends that Pa. R.
Crim. P. 134 was violated. Rule 134 provides
that in any proceeding initiated by a

complaint, the issuing authority shall

6a

ascertain and certify on the complaint that
there is probable cause, inthe formof an
affidavit, for the issuance of process.

Notwithstanding appellant's
assertion tothe contrary, we discern no
language in the rule, or in the comments to
the rule, which require the police to
personally appear and verify the complaint
before the district justice involved in the
case. Because we find no violation of Rule
134, we cannot dismiss the complaint on this
basis.

Appellant also argues that the
defective complaint was a violation of Pa. R.
Crim. P. 130(d). We need not a“ dress this
argument due to our holding that there were
no fatal defects in the instant complaint.

Il

Bruder argues that certain
statements that he made after he was
stopped, as well as the results of the field

sobriety test, should have been suppressed.

When appellant's car was stopped,

Ja

appellant stepped out and approached the
police vehicle. The police officer asked
appellant for his driver's license, registration
and insurance card. Appellant returned to his
car to obtain the requested information.
After appellant had provided this information,
the police officer asked appellant whether he
had been drinking and appellant responded
that he had. The police officer also asked
appellant where he was going. Appellant
responded that he was going home. Bruder
argues that these responses should be
Suppressed because they were made before he

was advised of his rights pur -uant to Miranda

v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 479 (1966).

Miranda warnings need be given

only when one is subjected to custodial

interrogation. Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S.

436, 444 (1966); Berkemer v. McCarty, 468

U.S. 420, 428-29 (1984). In order to
determine whether the responses made by

appellant before he received his Miranda

warnings should have been suppressed, we

must decide whether they were elicited during

curtodial interrogation.

In Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S.

420 (1984), the United States Supreme Court
ruled that a motorist was not in custody
when he was stopped by a police officer who
asked "a modest number of questions and
requested him to perform a simple balancing
test visible to passing motorists.” 468 U.S. at
442. As inthe case at bar, the driver in

McCarty, was stopped after being suspected

of driving under the influence of alcohol,
admitted that he had had a few drinks, and
failed a balancing test before being advised of

his Miranda rights. The Court in McCarty,

however, refused to adopt a bright line test
which would have definitively answered the

question of whether Miranda applies to all

traffic stops or whether a suspect need be
adivsed of his rights only when he is formally
placed under arrest. 468 U.S. at 441. Thus,
we are afforded a measure of flexibility in

deciding exactly when a suspect has been

oe met Ol:

9a

taken into custody.

}

In Pennsylvania, "custodial
interrogation does not require that police
make a formal arrest, nor that the police
intend to make an arrest... Rather, the
test of custodial interrogation is whether the
individual being interrogated reasonably
believes his freedom of action is being

restricted." Commonwealth v. Meyer, 488 Pa.

297, 307, 412 A.2d 517, 521 (1980) (quoting

Commonwealth v. Brown, 473 Pa. 562, 570, 375

A.2d 1260, 1264 (1977). Interrogation in this
context is defined as questioning "“expected
to elicit a confession or other incriminating

statements.'" Commonwealth v. Bracey, 501

Pa. 356, 367, 461 A.2d 775, 780 (1983)

(quoting Commonwealth v. Sero, 478 Pa. 440,

453, 387 A.2d 63, 70 (1978)).

In Commonwealth v. Meyer, the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled that the
driver of a car involved in an accident who
was suspected of driving under the influence

of alcohol and who was told by police to wait

1%a

at the scene until additional police arrived

was in custody for purposes of Miranda. The

Meyer court reasoned that because the
defendant had a reasonable belief that his
freedom of action had been restricted,
statements elicited before he received his

Miranda warnings should have been

suppressed. 488 Pa. at 307, 412 A.2d at 522.

See generally Annotation, Right of Motorist

Stopped by Police Officers To Be Informed at

That Time of His Federal Constitutional

Rights Under Miranda v. Arizona, 25 A.L.R.

3d 1076 (1969) (cases collected).
We rely on Meyer in finding that
Bruder reasonably believed that his freedom
of action had been restricted. Undoubtedly,
he was not free to leave when he made the
statements elicited. That the policeman's
questions were intended to elicit incriminating
statements remains obvious. We cannot
readily accept an alternative reason why
Bruder was asked if he had been drinking.

Thus, based on the reasoning in the Meyer,

lla

case, we conclude that Bruder's response that
he had been drinking shoulé have been
excluded as a statement made during custodial

interrogation without the benefit of Miranda

warnings. See generally McCarty, 468 U.S. at

441 n.34 (United States Supreme Court cites
Meyer in connection with discussion which
intimates that duration of and circumstances
Surrounding traffic stop impact on the
determination of whether there was a
custodial interrogation for purposes of

providing Miranda warnings). As we have

established that custodial interrogation existed
at the point that Bruder was asked whether
he had been drinking, the subsequent response
concerning his destination should also have
been excluded.

Bruder's statement, “You don't
know who I am," was admitted into evidence
over the objection of counsel. Although this
Statement was made before Bruder received

his Miranda warnings, it was a spontaneous

utterance not made in response to a question

12a

by the police officer. In Commonwealth v.
Bracey, 501 Pa. 356, 461 A.2da 775 (1983), the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled that a
statement is admissible notwithstanding the

lack of Miranda warnaings if it was not given

in response to police conduct which evoked
an admission, or if it was freely given
without compelling influences. Id. at 367, 461

A.2da at 780 (quoting Commonwealth v. Sero,

478 Pa. 440, 453, 387 A.2d 63, 70 (1978)). It
is clear from the record that this particular
statement by Bruder was freely made in the
absence of evocative police conduct.
Therefore, it was properly admitted.

After appellant informed the police
officer that he had had a few drinks, the
police officer asked the appellant to recite
the alphabet and to walk ina straight line,
heel to toe. Appellant argues that these field
sobriety tests should be suppressed. It is
settled in Pennsylvania that "(r)equiring a

driver to perform physical tests . . .does not

violate the privilege against self-incrimination

13a

because the evidence procured is of a
physical nature rather than testimonial, and
therefore, no Miranda warnings are required."
Commonwealth v. Benson, 280 Pa. Super. 20,
29, 421 A.2d 383, 387 (1980).
Although requiring Bruder to walk
in a straight line was a physical test which
need not have been preceded by Miranda
warnings, we cannot readily reach the same
conclusion regarding Bruder's recitation of
the alphabet. Whereas the constitutional
protection against self-incrimination which

Miranda was designed to protect does not

encompass physical evidence, it does refer to
testimonial evidence. Benson, 280 Pa. Super.
at 29, 421 A.2d at 387. “Testimonial evidence
is communicative evidence as distinguished
from demonstrative or physical evidence."

Commonwealth v. Fernandez, 333 Pa. Super.

279, 284, 482 A.2d 567, 569 (1984).
We view the recitation of the
alphabet as essentially communicative in

nature. Therefore, because the recitation was

l4a

elicited before Bruder received his Miranda
warnings, it should have been excluded as
evidence. Benson, 280, Pa. Super. at 29, 421
A.2d at 387 (citing United Stated v. Wade,
388 U.S. 218 (1967); Schmerber v. California,
384 U.S. 757 (1966)). See Miranda, 384 U.S.

at 479.

In order to reverse on the basis of
the introduction of inadmissible evidence, we
must find an abuse of discretion as well asa
showing of actual prejudice resulting from the
tainted evidence. Commonwealth v. Sweger,
351 Pa. Super. 188, 195, 505 A.2d 331, 334
(1986) (citing Lewis v. Prewitt, 337 Pa. Super.

419, 487 A.~2da 16 (1985))3 see also

Commonwealthy v. Smoyer, 505 Pa. 83, 88, 476

A.2da 1304, 1307 (1984) (effect of tainted

evidence); Commonwealth v. Johnson, 227 Pa.

Super. 96, 102-03, 323 A.2d 813, 816 (1974)
(same).

Based on our analysis which
determined that evidence obtained during

Bruder's custodial interrogation was

15a

inadmissible, wehold that it was an abuse of
discretion to admit such evidence.
Introduction of the tainted evidence was
clear!y prejudicial to Bruder because the
absence of such evidence might very well
have ledtoa different verdict. Thus, we
must reverse and remand for proceedings
consistent with this opinion.
III

The last issue presented is whether
there was sufficient evidence to find
appellant guilty of driving under the
influence of alcohol, 75 Pa. C.S. 83731.

Our standard of review for this
issue is limited. We must “view the evidence
in the light most favorable to the
Commonwealth (as verdict winner) and,
drawing all reasonable inferences therefrom
favorable to the Commonwealth, determine if
there is sufficient evidence to enable the
trier of fact to find every element of the
Crime beyond a reasonable doubt.”

Commonwealth v. Stoyke, 504 Pa. 455, 462,

l6a

475 A.2da 714, 718 (1984) (citing

Commonwealth v. Hudson, 489 Pa. 620, 414

A.2d 1381 (1980).

Even though we have determined in
part II of this opinion that certain evidence
should not have been admitted, we also
recognize that when reviewing the sufficiency
of the evidence, the “entire record with all
evidence actually received must be considered,
whether or not the lower court's rulings
thereon were correct." Commonwealth v.
Minnis, 312 Pa. Super. 53, 55, 458 A.2d 231,
232 (1983). See Commonwealth v. Manhart,
349 Pa. Super. 552, 556, 503 A.2d 986, 988
(1986); see also Commonwealth v. Nelson, 320
Pa. Super. 488, 494, 467 A.2d 638, 641 (1983)
(In passing upon the sufficiency of the
evidence, we evaluate all of the evidence,
whether erroneously received or not. The
proper remedy for prejudicial error due to
inadmissible evidence is grant of a new trial
with such evidence excluded). In Minnis, we

found that the record as a whole indicated

17a

that the evidence was sufficient, but we
reversed and remanded because we ruled that
certain out-of-court identifications should
have been suppressed.

We have the benefit of a recent
consideration of the sufficiency of evidence
in connection with 75 Pa. C.S. $3731, by the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court in Commonwealth

v. Griscavage, 512 Pa. 540, 517 A.2d 1256

(1986). The sole issue in Griscavage was
whether there was sufficient evidence to
establish guilt beyond a reasonable doubt on
the charge of driving while under the
influence of alcohol.

The Court stated that in order to
establish the defendant's guilt, "the
Commonwealth had to prove: (1) that he was
operating a motor vehicle, (2) while under the
influence of alcohol to a degree which
rendered him incapable of safe driving."
Griscavage, 512 Pa. at __, 517 A.2d at 1258;
75 Pa. C.S. §3731(a) (1) (citations omitted). As

in the case before us, there was no dispute in

18a

Griscavage regarding the first element. With

respect to the second element, the Court
quoted an interpretation of the phrase “under
the influence of alcohol,” which, though based
ona prior statute, is applicable to the
current version of 8$3731(a)(1).

The statute does not
require that a person be
drunk, or intoxicated, or
unable to drive his
automobile safely in
traffic, but merely that
the Commonwealth prove
beyond a reasonable
doubt that the defendant
was operating his
automobile under the
influence of intoxicating
liquor _—

The statutory expression
"under the influence of
intoxicating liquor”
includes not only all the
well known and easily
recognized conditions and
degrees of intoxication,
but also any mental or
physical condition which
is the result of drinking
alcoholic beverages and
(a)which makes one unfit
to drive an automobile,

or (b)which substantiall
ciearness O or
any of the normal
acuities

Sate ° eration of an
automo e.

19a

Commonwealth v. Dougherty, 351 Pa. Super.

603, 609, 506 A.2d 936, 939 (1986) (Cirillo, J.,
now P.J.), we held that the evidence was
sufficient to support a conviction under 75
Pa. C.S. 83731 where the defendant was
observed operating a motor vehicle that was
swerving from side to side. Upon stopping
the vehicle in Dougherty, the police noticed
the odor of alcohol and an accumulation of
alcoholic beverages inside the vehicle. The
driver in Dougherty did not perform well in
field sobriety tests and had difficulty walking
and standing upright without placing his
hands on his vehicle. Although in the case
before us there was no evidence of an
accumulation of alcoholic beverages inside the

vehicle, we find that the Dougherty case is

substantially similar to the case at bar and
we rely on it as a basis for our decision.
Based on our application of

Griscavage and Dougherty, and viewing the

evidence as a whole in the light most

favorable to the Commonwealth, we conclude

29a

Griscavage, 512 Pa. at , 517 A.2d at 1258

(emphasis in original) (quoting Commonwealth

v. Horn, 395 Pa. 585, 590-91, 150 A.2d 872,

875 (1959)).

In the instant case, the record
indicates that appellant had been drinking,
had been driving erratically, and had
performed poorly in field sobriety tests.
The trier of fact concluded that those
faculties essential to the safe operation of an
automobile were substantially impaired by
appellant's drinking.

The Griscavage, case instructs us

to consider indicia of intoxication together
with the other circumstances surrounding the
traffic stop. Based onall the evidence
presented in the trial court, these indicia and
circumstances support an inference of
substantial impairment of faculties sufficient
to satisfy the test in Horn.,

We recently upheld a conviction for
driving under the influence in a case that

was factually similar to the instant case. In

- Oe ee lh le ee

2la

that there was adequate support for finding
the appellant guilty of driving under the
influence of alcohol. As we discussed earlier,

however, and as we did no Minnis, we must

still reverse and remand. See Nelson.

Reversed and remanded for
proceedings consistent with this opinion.
Jurisdiction is relinquished.

ROWLEY, J. files a Concurring and

Dissenting Statement.

22a

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
Vv.

THOMAS A. BRUDER, JR.,
Appellant

I N THE SUPERIOR
PENNSYLVANIA

COURT OF

NO. 2176 Philadelphia 1986

Appeal from the Judgment of Sentence July
23; 1986, inthe Court of Common Pleas of
Delaware County, Criminal Division, No. 303
of 1985.

BEFORE: CIRILLO, P.J.-, ROWLEY, and
HOFFMAN, JJ.

CONCURRING AND DISSENTING STATEMENT
BY ROWLEY, J:

While I agree with the majority's
disposition of the first and third issues
concerning dismissal of the criminal complaint
and sufficiency of the evidence, I respectfully
disagree with the conclusion that appellant's
statements should have been suppresssed

under Commonwealth v. Meyer, 488 Pa. 297,

412 A.2d 517 (1980). I think that Meyer is
distinguishable on its facts and that the facts

in this case closely parallel those in Berkemer

v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420 (1984). Considering

23a

also that the U.S. Supreme Court cited Meyer
as an example of the confusion among various

jurisdictions in applying Miranda v. Arizona,

384 U.s. 436 (1966) to situations involving
motorists stopped for traffic violations, I

think that Berkemer is controlling inthis

case. I would affirm the judgment of

sentence.

24a

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF
DELAWARE COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA
CRIMINAL DIVISION
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA :
THOMAS A BRUDER, JR. :
Jana Nestlerode, Esquire-Assistant District
Attorney

Court House

Media, PA 19063

Carmen Belefonte, Esquire-Attorney for
Defendant
Lawyers Title Building, 214 N. Jackson St.
Media, PA 19063
PRESCOTT, J.
CRIMINAL DIVISION
ORDER

AND NOW, towit, this 26th day of July,
1985, a hearing having been held in open
Court, pursuant to a Petition to Suppress
filed on behalf of the Defendant, at which
hearing the Defendant was present with his
attorney, and an opportunity having been
given the Defendant and his counsel to cross-
examine Commonwealth witnesses, and an
opportunity having been given to the

Defendant to present witnesses and the

APPENDIX “"B"

25a

Defendant not having taken advantage of this
opportunity to either take the witness stand,
or to present witnesses in his own behalf
which facts do not prejudice his legal rights
in any way, the court makes the following:

I. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On January 19, 1985, at i2:50 A.M.
Patrolman Steve Shallis of the Newtown
Township Police Department observed a blue
over silver Lincoln Continental in the right
hand operating lane of Route 252. The
vehicle was facing a green traffic signal at
the intersection of Routes 252 and 3. It was
stationary and remained so for 10-15 seconds
before proceeding through the intersection.

2. Officer Shallis followed the subject
vehicle as it proceeded north on Route 252 at
25 M.P.H. ina 40M.P.H. zone. He observed
the vehicle swerve into the left hand passing
lane, almost going into the medial strip, and
then back, onto the right hand shoulder. The
operator of the Lincoln activated his high

beams, despite visual warnings from vehicles

26a

proceeding inthe opposite direction and
continued to drive on the shoulder for
approximately 100 feet before reentering the
highway.

3. As the vehicle approached the
intersection of Route 252 and Goshen Road
the traffic signal at the intersection displayed
a steady red signal. The vehicle continued
toward this intersection and, as it began
entering the intersection, the operator made
an abrupt right hand turn onto Goshen Road,
without stopping for the red signal. This
turn was made in such a wide manner that
the Lincoln was now proceeding eastbound in
the west bound lane, and continued to do so
for 150 feet.

4. Officer Shallis activated the red
lights on his unmarked police vehicle and
stopped the Lincoln at Goshen and
Brookhaven Roads.

5S. The operator of the vehicle exited
it, stumbling as he did so, and walked very

rapidly to the police vehicle.

27a

6. Officer Shallis advised the operator
to produce a driver's license and registration
card for the vehicle. The operator turned
and walked back toward his vehicle with
Officer Shallis fo] lowing him. The operator
had difficulty removing his wallet from his
pocket, however he handed Officer Shallisa
Florida driver's license which identified him
as Thomas A. Bruder, the Defendant.

7. Mr. Bruder informed Officer Shallis
that he was going to his home in Springfield.
The Officer detected a Strong odor of an
alcoholic beverage on mr. Bruder's breath,
and observed that his eyes were blood shot
and his face was flushed.

8. Officer Shallis asked the Defendant
if he could produce a registration card for
the vehicle. Mr. Bruder went into the
vehicle, opened the glove compartment,
removed a large stack of papers and began
fumbling through them, Passing the

registration card several times.

9. Officer Shallis requested that the

28a

Defendant step out of the vehicle and
repeated this request three times before the
Defendant did so. He asked Mr. Bruder to
walk a straight line, heel to toe, six steps
forward, and then six steps back. The
Defendant was unable to place one foot in
front of the other and continued to walk
forward for 15 steps until he walked into the
police vehicle. As he walked back, Defendant
continued to sway from side to side.

10. Officer Shallis asked the Defendant
to recite the alphabet out loud. Defendant
recited it by stating five or six letters at a
time and hesitating before starting again.

ll. Officer Shallis advised the Defendant
that he was under arrest for operating a
vehicle under the influence of alcohol. The
defendant was placed in the rear of a police
vehicle and was advised of his Miranda rights.
Mr. Bruder responded by stating that he
understood his rights.

12. The Defendant was transported to

the Newtown Township Police Station for

29a

Processing. At the Police Station he was
again advised of his Miranda rights. Officer
Shallis requested Defendant to submit toa
chemice test of his breath, blood, or urine to
determine the alcohol content of his blood.
He advised Mr. Bruder that he had the right
to refuse, but that a refusal would result ina
12 months suspension of his operating
privilege and that a refusal to submit toa
chemical test would be used against Defendant
in acourt of law. The Defendant refused to
submit to any chemical tests, Stating that he
understood the consequences of such a

refusal.

II. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The observations made by Officer
Shallis as he followed the Defendant's vehicle
on January 19, 1985 established sufficient
probable cause to stop and administer field
sobriety tests to the Defendant.

2. The field sobriety tests administered

to the Defendant did not violate any of the

Defendant's Constitutional Rights.

3%

3. The statements and responses given
by the Defendant were obtained pursuant to
lawful inquiries and did not violate any
Constitional Rights of the Defendant.

4. The statements and responses given
by the Defendant further established probable
cause to arrest him.

5. The statements and responses elicited
from the Defendant pursuant to the subject
sobriety tests and inquiries are legally
admissible at his trial subject to relevancy
and other laws of evidence.

6. The nature and purpose of the
suppression hearing and this Order shall not
be disclosed by anyone to anyone, except the
Court, the Defendant and Defendant's counsel.

7. The record made at the Suppression
hearing shall be impounded until after final

judgment.
BY THE COURT:

Rita E. Prescott, J.

3la

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF
DELAWARE COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

CRIMINAL DIVISION
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA :
303-85

vs. :
THOMAS A BRUDER, JR. :
Joseph J. Mittleman, Esquire-Assistant District

Attorney
Court House

Media, PA 19063

Carmen P. Belefonte, Esquire-Attorney for
Defendant

214 N. Jackson Street

Media, PA 19063

PRESCOTT, J. Piled:Mayl14,1986

Defendant, Thomas A. Bruder, Jr., was
convicted by a judge sitting without a jury
for the charges of Driving Under the
Influence of Alcohol, Reckless Driving and
Driving on Roadways Laned for Traffic.
Defendant filed a Motion for New Trial andaA
Motion in Arrest of Judgment. The issues
raised by said motions are:

1) Whether the verdict was against the
evidence and the weight of the evidence;

APPENDIx "c"

32a

2) Whether the criminal complaint
lodged against Defendant was so legally
defective as to require a dismissal of the
charges;

3) Whether certain statements made by
Defendant and the results of certain field
sobriety tests should have been suppressed
where seid statements and tests preceded the

Miranda warnings given to Defendant.

This opinion is written in disposition of
Defendant's post-trial motions and the issues
raised therein.

The facts of the case established by
testimony and other evidence are as follows:

On January 19, 1985, at or about 12:50
A.M., Patrolman Steve Shallis of the Newtown
Township Police DEpartment coserved a blue
and silver Lincoln Continental in the right
hand operating lane of Route 252 at the
intersection with West Chester Pike. The
vehicle was facing a green traffic signal at
said intersection, however, the vehicle was

stationary and remained so for about ten to

33a

fifteen seconds before proceeding through the
intersection. Officer Shallis followed the
subject vehicle as it proceeded north on
Route 252. The vehicle was travelling ata
speed of 25 m.p.h. ina 40m.p.h. zone and it
swerved into the left hand passing lane,
almost hit the medial strip and then went
back across onto the right hand shoulder of
the road. The operator of the subject vehicle
activated his high beams despite visual
warnings from vehicles proceeding inthe
opposite direction and the said vehicle
continued to travel on the shoulder of the
road for approximately 100 feet before
reentering the highway. As the subject
vehicle approached the intersection of Route
252 and Goshen Road, the traffic signal at
said intersection displayed a steady red signal.
The vehicle continued toward the intersection
and, as it began entering the intersection, the
vehicle made an abrupt right hand turn onto
Goshen Road, without stopping for the red

Signal. The turn was made in such a wide

34a

manner that the subject vehicle was
proceeding eastbound in the westbound lane
and continued to do so for approximately 150
feet.

At this point, Officer Shallis activated
the red lights on his police vehicle and
stopped the subject Lincoln at Goshen and
Brookhaven Roads. The operator of the
Lincoln exited from it, stumbling as he did
so, and walked very rapidly toward the police
car. Officer Shallis asked the operator to
produce a driver's license and a registration
card for the Lincoln. Defendant then went
into his vehicle, opened the glove
compartment, removed a large stack of papers
and began fumbling through them, passing the
registration card several times.

Defendant was then asked to step out of
the vehicle and this request was repeated
three times before Defendant complied.
Officer Shallis asked Defendant to walk a
straight line, heel to toe, six steps forward,

and then six steps back. Defendant was

35a

unable to place one foot in front of the other
and continued to walk forward for 15 steps
until he walked into the police vehicle. As
he walked back, Defendant swerved from side
to side.

Officer Shallis then requested Defendant
to recite the alphabet out loud. Defendant
recited it by stating five or six letters ata
time and hesitated before starting again.
Officer Shallis then advised Defendant that he
was under arrest for operating a vehicle
under the influence of alcohol. Defendant
was placed in the rear of the police vehicle

and was given his Miranda rights. Defendant

responded by stating that he understood his
rights.

Defendant was transported to the
Newtown Township police station for
processing. While at the station, Defendant

was again advised of his Miranda rights.

Officer Shallis requested Defendant to submit
to a chemical test of his breath, blood or

urine to determine the alcoholic content of

36a

his blood. He advised Defendant that he
could refuse atest, but that a refusal would
result in a twelve month suspension of his
operator's license and that a refusal to submit
to a chemical test would be used against him
in acourt of law. Defendant refusal to
submit to any chemical test, stating that he
understood the consequences of such a
refusal.

The first issue raised by Defendant's
post-trial motions is: Whether the verdict was
against the evidence and the weight of the
evidence.

In support of the contention that the
verdict was against the evidence, Defendant
argues that the trial judge did not take into
consideration defense expert testimony that
Defendant had taken certaincold tablets,
which alone could cause a person to exhibit
symptoms of intoxication, and that such was
the case here.

This court considered the expert

testimony presented by Defendant. However,

37a

this Court rejected such testimony as it was
based upon testimony adduced from Defendant
which testimony this Court did not find to

be credible. Comm. v. Shaver, 501 PA. 167,

460 A.2dad 742 (1983).

In addition to all the facts as
hereinbefore set forth, this Court relied upon
certain other evidence in rejecting
Defendant's version of what occurred on the
night in question. When taken to the police
station, Defendant told the police that he had
not beendrinking. At trial, Defendant
admitted that he had been drinking. (N.T. pp.
25, 75-76). On the night in question,
Defendant told the police he was going home,
but at trial, Defendant testified that he was
going to acountryclub. (N.T. pp. 24, 79).
At the time of his arrest, Defendant told the
police that he was not ill, yet attrial,
Defendant testified that he was ill that night
and felt dizzy. (N.T. pp. 26, 128).
Purthermore, Defendant's behavior on the day

of his arrest is not consistent with his

ee

38a

testimony that he was feeling ill on the day
inquestion. He had spent six hours ata
country club, had several drinks, danced and
Played cards - after a full day of work.

In light of the Commonwealth's
overwhelming evidence as set forth above and
viewing said evidence inthe light most

favorable tothe Commonwealth, Comm. vs.

Macolino, 503 PA. 201 469 A.24 132 (1983),

this Court is of the opinion that there is
legally sufficient evidence on the record to
Sustain Defendant's guilt beyond a reasonable
doubt.

The second issue raised by Defendant is:
Whether the criminal complaint lodged against
Defendant was so legally defective as to
require a dismissal of the charges.

Defendant contends that the criminal
complaint filed against him did not contain a
verification by the arresting officer that the
facts set forth inthe complaint were true
and correct according tothe arresting

officer's knowledge, information and belief

39a

and that any false Statements in the
complaint would be subject to the penalties of
Section 4904 of the Crimes Code relating to
unsworn falsification. Asa result, Defendant
contends that the instant complaintis
violative of Pa. R. Crim. Proc. 132 and, thus,
null and void.

Defendant also contends that since the
averments contained inthe complaint were
not sworn to and subscribed by the arresting
officer in the presence of the district justice
involved, the complaint is null and void since
it is violative of Pa. R. Crim. Proc. 134.

Before proceeding to review the merits
of Defendant's contentions, the fol lowing
factual background is set forth:

Defendant was arrested without a
Warrant January 19, 1985, at or about 12:50
A.M., and was released from custody ator
about 3:00 A.M. On January 24, 1985, the
arresting officer Prepared and signed a
Criminal complaint for the issuance of a

Summons against Defendant. Said criminal

4%a

complaint was left at the office of a district
justice on the same day, for the district
justice's signature. The district justice
executed the complaint on the same day
sometime between 1:00 P.M. and 4:30 P.M.
The arresting officer did not personally
appear, sign or swear to the complaint in the
presence of the district justice.
With regard to the vérification
procedures set forth in Pa. R. Crim. Proc.
132, the subject rule provides as follows:
"Every complaint shall contain:
(9) a verification by the affiant that the
facts set forth in the complaint are
true and correct to the affiant's
personal knowledge or information and
belief, and that any false statements
therein are made subject to the penalties
of Section 4904 of the Crimes Code (18
P.C.S. $4904), relating to unsworn
falsification tothe authorities.”
The above-cited rule became effective on
January 2, 1985. Prior to said date, an
affiant was reguired to appear before the
,.
district justice and to swear to the averments

in the complaint.

In the case at hand, the arresting

Gla

officer, in drawing up the complaint, used the
only form available to him, towit, the old
form which was designed to comply with Rule
132 prior to the amendment of said rule. As
a result, the form used in the instant case
did not contain a statement that any false
Statements were subject to the penalties of
84904.

As discussed hereinafter, Pa. R. Crim.
Proc. 134 was also amended effective January
2, 1985, and eliminated the requirement that
an affiant personally appear and swear to the
averments of a complaint before the district
justice involwed in the case. In light of the
aforesaid amendment(s) it is the Opinion of
this Court that the absence of the
verification statement inthe subject
complaint constitutes a procedural defect
where it appears that all other provisions of
the rules of criminal procedure have been
compliedwith. In this case, the subject
defect in no way affected the purpose of the

rules regarding the issuance of a summons

4’%a

which is to put a defendant on notice of the
charges lodged against him.

In support of this conclusion, this Court
relies upon Pa. R. Crim. Proc. 150 which
provides as follows:

“a defendant shall not be discharged nor

shall a case be dismissed because of a

defect in the form or content of a

complaint, summons or warrant, or a

defect in the procedures of this Chapter,

unless the defendant raises the defect
before the conclusion of the preliminary
hearing and the defect is prejudicial to
the rights of the defendant.”

The alleged defect was not raised in this
case until after both the preliminary hearing
and suppression hearing. Defendant was
always well aware of the nature of the
charges against him and he has not
demonstrated any prejudice against him
resulting from the complaint lodged in this
case. In tne opinion of this Court,
Defendant's contention on this point was not
timely raised and lacks sufficient merit to
warrant a dismissal of the charges.

Defendant also contends that the

complaint is null and void because the

43a

averments contained in the complaint were
not sworn to and subscribed by the arresting
officer in the presence of the district justice.

As noted above, Pa. R. Crim. Proc. 134
was amended, effective Senuecy 2, 1985, and
the requirement that an arresting officer
personally appear before a district justice to
Swear to and subscribe his name to the
averments in the complaint was entirely
eliminated. As aresult, this Court finds no
merit in Defendant's contention on this point.

The third issue raised by Defendant's
post-trial motions is: Whether certain
Statements made by Defendant and the results
of the field sobriety tests should have been
suppressed where said statements and tests
preceded the Miranda warnings given top
defendant.

Subsequent to Defendant's car being
stopped, Officer Shallis asked Defendant
where he was going. Defendant responded
that he was going home. When stopped,

Defendant was asked whether he had been

44a

drinking to which he responded that he had.
Defendant's contention that these
Statements should have been suppressed

because they were made prior to any Miranda

warnings is not well-founded. The questions
asked by Officer Shallis were not intended to
nor expected to elicit incriminating
information nor did they constitute custodial
interrogation. Instead, the officer was merely
seeking preliminary information after seeing
Defendant's erratic driving. Such questions

do not require any prior Miranda warnings.

Comm. v. Davis, 460 PA. 37, 331 A.2da 406

(1975).

Defendant's statement, “You don't know
who Il am.” was admitted into evidence over
objection of counsel. This statement was not
made in response to a question, but was a
spontaneous utterance by Defendant. As
such, the admission of the statement into
evidence did not violate Defendant's right

against self-incrimination. Comm. v. Bracey,

501 PA. 356, 461 A.~2a@ 775 (1983).

45a

With regard to the results of the field
sobriety tests, the law is clear in
Pennsylvania that Miranda warnings are not
required before the administration of field
sobriety tests because such tests are physical
in nature rather than testimonial and,
therefore, do not violate the right against

self-incrimination. Comm v. Benson, 280 PA.

Super. 20, 421 A.2d4 383 (1980); Comm v.

Kloch, 230 PA. Super. 563, 327 A.24a 375
(1974).

In light of all the foregoing facts and
legal authorities cited, this Court has entered
an Order dated the 9th day of May, 1986,
dismissing Defendant's post-trial motions.

BY THE COURT:

Rita E. Prescott...

46a

J. 01010/87

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
V-«

THOMAS A. BRUDER, JR.,

Appellant

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

PENNSYLVANIA

NO. 02176 PHILADELPHIA 1986

JUDGMENT

On Consideration Whereof, it is now
here ordered and adjudged by this Court that

the judgment of the Court of Common Pleas
of Delaware County be, and the same is
hereby reversed and remanded. Jurisdiction
relinquished.

BY THE COURT:

David A. Szewczak
Prothonotary

Dated March 30, 198?

APPENDIx “Dd”

47a

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

V.
THOMAS A BRUDER, JR.,
Appellant
IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF
PENNSYLVANIA
NO. 02176 PHILADELPHIA 19386

Appeal from the Judgment of Sentence July
23, 1986 in the Court of Common Pleas of
Delaware County, Criminal No. 303 of 1985.

BEFORE:
HOFFMAN,

CIRILLO,
JJ.

P.J.-, ROWLEY AND

OPINION BY CIRILLO, P.J.:

This is an appeal froma judgment
of sentence, following a non-jury trial, for
driving under the influence of alcohol and
related offenses. We reverse and remand.

The issues presented for our review
are: (1) whether the criminal complaint should
have been dismissed due to its defects; (2)
whether certain evidence was properly
admitted at trial; and (3) whether the verdict
was supported by sufficient evidence.
indicates that a

The record

patrolman stopped appellant Bruder's car after

48a

the officer saw him pass ared light. The
patrolman also witnessed what he described as
Bruder's erratic driving behavior. When the
policeman approached Bruder, he noticed
indicia of intoxication. The patrolman
testified that Bruder was unable to walk ina
straight line, heel to toe, or recite the
complete alphahet. Appellant was then
arrested for driving under the influence of
alcohol, and informed of his rights as

required by Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S.1 436,

467-73 (1966).
I

Appellant argues that the complaint
filed against him was defective and,
therefore, should have been dismissed. More
specifically, appellant asserts that the
complaint filed in the instant case violated
Pennsylvania Rules of Criminal Procedure 132
and 134.

The alleged violation by the
Commonwealth of Rule 132 was its failure to

include a verification with the complaint.

49a

Rule 132(9) requires that every complaint
include a “verification by the affiant that the
facts set forth in the complaint are true and
correct to the affiant's personal knowledge or

information and belief, and that any false

statements therein are made subject to the

penalties... relating to unsworn falsification
to authorities .. ."

In the case at bar, the arresting
officer, in filing the complaint, used an old
form which was designed to conform to an
older version of Rule 132. The complaint
filed in the instant case did not conform to
the current version of Rule 132 because it did
not contain the required clause that false
statements were subject to the penalties of
unsworn falsification.

The trial court found that based on
Pa. R. Crim. P. 150, the defect in the
complaint did not warrant dismissal of the
charges. Pa. R. Crim. P. 150 provides that a
"defendant shall not be discharged nor shall a

case be dismissed because of a defect inthe

59a

form or content of a complaint, summons or
warrant, or a defect in the procedures of this
chapter, unless the defendant raises the
defect before the conclusion of the
preliminary hearing and the defect is
prejudicial to the rights of the defendant.”

The trial court noted that the
defect concerning the absence of a
verification was not raised in this case until
after the preliminary hearing and suppression
hearing. The trial court also observed, and
we agree, that the appellant was aware of the
charges against him and was not prejudiced
by the defect in the complaint.

We express displeasure with the
failure of the police to fully comply with the
requisite formof a complaint. The plain
language of Rule 150, however, does not
permit us to discharge the complaint inthis
particular case because the defect was neither
timely raised nor was it prejudicial to the
appellant.

Appellant also contends that Pa.

5la

R. Crim. 134 was violated. Rule 134 provides
that in any proceeding initiated by an
complaint, the issuing authority shall
ascertain and certify on the complaint that
there is probable cause, inthe form of an
afficavit, for the issuance of process.

Notwithstanding appellant's
assertion tothe contrary, we discern no
language inthe rule, or in the comments to
the rule, which require the police to
personally appear and verify the complaint
before the district justice involved in the
case. Because we find no violation of Rule
134, we cannot dismiss the complaint on this
basis.

Appellant also argues that the
defective complaint was a violation of Pa. R.
Crim. P. 130(d). We need not address this
argument due to our holding that there were
no fatal defects in the instant complaint.

Il
Bruder argues that certain

Statements that he made after he was

5’a

stopped, as well as the results of the field
sobriety test, should have been suppressed.

When appellant's car was stopped,
appellant stepped out and approached the
police vehicle. The police officer asked
appellant for his driver's license, registration
and insurance card. Appellant returned to his
car to obtain the requested information.
After appellant hed provided this information,
the police officer asked appellant whether he
had been drinking and appellant responded
that he had. The police officer also asked
appellant where he was going. Appellant
responded that he was going home. Bruder
argues that these responses should be
suppressed because they were made before he
was advised of his rights pursuant to Miranda

v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 444 (1966); Berkemer

v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420, 428-29 (1984). In

order to determine whether the responses
made by appellant before he received his

Miranda warnings should have been

suppressed, we must decide whether they were

53a

elicited during custodial interrogation.
In Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S.
420 (1984), the United States Supreme Court
ruled that a motorist was not in custody
when he was stopped by a police officer who
asked “a modest number of questions and
requested himtc perform a simple balancing
test visible to passing motorists." 468 U.S. at
442. As inthe case at bar, the driver in
McCarty was stopped after being suspected of
driving under the influence of alcohol,
admitted that he had a few drinks, and failed
a balancing test before being advised of his
Miranda rights. The Court in McCarty,
however,a refused to adopt a bright line test
which would have definitively answered the
question of whether Miranda applies of his
rights only when he is formally placed under
arrest. 468 U.S. at 441. Thus, we are
afforded a measure of flexibility in deciding
exactly when a suspect has been taken into

custody.

In Pennsylvania, “custodial

54a

interrogation does not require that police
make a formal arrest, nor that the police
intend to make an arrest... Rather, the
test of custodial interrogation is whether the
individual being interrogated reasonable
believes his freedom of action is being

restricted." Commonwealth v. Meyer, 488 Pa.

297, 307, 412 A.2da 517, 521 (1980) (quoting

Commonwealth v. Brown, 473 Pa. 562, 570, 375

A.2da 1260, 1264 (1977). Interrogation in this
context is defined as questioning "expected
to elicit a confession or other incriminating

statements.'". Commonwealth v. Bracey, 501

Pa. 356, 367, 461 A.2da 775, 780 (1983)

(quoting Commonwealth v. Sero, 478 Pa. 440,

453, 387 A.2d 63, 70 (1978)).

In Commonwealth v. Meyer, supra,

the Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled that
the driver of a car involved in an accident
who was suspected of driving under the
influence of alcohol and who was told by
police to wait at the scene until additional

police arrived, was in custody for purposes of

55a

Miranda. The Meyer court reasoned that

because the defendant had a reasonable belief
that his freedom of action had been
restricted, statements elicited before he

received his Miranda warnings should have

been suppressed. 488 Pa. at 307, 412 A.2dat

522. See generally Annotation, Right of

Motorist Stopped by Police Officers To Be

Informed at That Time of His Federal

Constitutional Rights Under Miranda v.

Arizona, 25 A.L.R. 3d 1076 (1969) (cases

collected).

We rely on Meyer in finding that
Bruder reasonably believed that his freedom
of action had been restricted. Undoubtedly,
he was not free to leave when he made the
Statements elicited. That the policeman's
questions were intended to elicit incriminating
Statements remains obvious. We cannot
readily accept an alternative reason why
Bruder was asked if he had been drinking.
Thus, based on the reasoning inthe Meyer

case, we conclude that Bruder's response that

56a

he had been drinking should have been
excluded as a statement made during custodial

interrogation without the benefit of Miranda

warnings. Meyer, 488 Pa. at 307, 412 A.2d at

522. See generally McCarty, 468 U.S. at 441

n.34 (United States Supreme Court cites
Meyer in connection with discussion which
intimates that duration of and circumstances
surrounding traffic stop impact on the
determination of whether there was a
custodial interrogation for purposes of

providing Miranda warnings.) As we have

established that custodial interrogation existed
at the point Bruder was asked whether he
had been drinking, the subsequent response
concerning his destination should also have
been excluded.

Bruder's statement, "You don't
know who I am," was admitted into evidence
over the objection of counsel. Although this
statement was made before Bruder received

his Miranda warnings, it was a spontaneous

utterance not made in response to a question

57a

by the police officer. In Commonwealth v.

Bracey, 501 Pa. 356, 461 A.2d 775 (1983) , the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled that a
Statement is admissible notwithstanding the

lack of Miranda warnings if it was not given

in response to police conduct which evoked
an admission, or if it was freely given
without compelling influences. Id. at 367, 461

A.2d at 780 (quoting Commonwealth v. Sero,

478 Pa. 440, 453, 387 A.2d 63, 70 (1978). It is
clear fromthe record that this particular
statement by Bruder was freely made in the
absence of evocative police conduct.
Therefore, it was Properly admitted,

After appellant informed the police
officer that he had had a few drinks, the
police officer asked the appellant to recite
the alphabet and to walkina Straight line,
heel to toe. Appellant argues that these field
sobriety tests should be Suppressed. Itis
settled in Pennsylvania that " (r)equiringa
driver to perform physical tests ... does not

violate the Privilege against self-

58a

incrimination because the evidence procured is
of a physical nature rather than testimonial,

and therefore, no Miranda warnings are

required." Commonwealth va. Benson, 280 Pa.

Super. 20, 29, 421 A.2d 383, 387 (1980).
Although requiring Bruder to walk
in a straight line was a physical test which

need not have been preceded by Miranda

warnings, we cannot readily reach the same
conclusion regarding Bruder's recitation of
the alphabet. Whereas the constitutional
protection against self-incrimination which

Miranda was designed to protect does not

encompass physical evidence, it does refer to
testimonial evidence. Benson, 280 Pa. Super.
at 29, 421 A.2d at 387. "Testimonial evidence
is communicative evidence as distinguished
from demonstrative or physical evidence."

Commonwealth v. Fernandez, 333 Pa. Super.

279, 284, 482 A.2d 567, 569 (1984).

We view the recitation of the
alphabet as essentially communicative in

nature. Therefore, because the recitation was

59a

elicited before Bruder received his Miranda

warnings, it should have been excluded as
evidence. Benson, 280 Pa. Super. at 29, 421

A.2d at 387 (citing United States v. Wade, 388

U.S. 218 (1967); Schmerber v. California, 384

U.S. 757 (1966)). See Miranda, 384 U.S. at

479.

In order to reverse on the basis of
the introduction of inadmissible evidence, we
must find an abuse of discretion as well asa
showing of actual prejudice resulting from the

tainted evidence. Commonwealth v. Sweger,

351 Pa. Super. 188, 195, 505 A.24d 331, 334

(1986) (citing Lewis v. Prewitt, 337 Pa. Super.

419, 487 A.2d 16 (1985)). See also

Commonwealth v. Smoyer, 505 Pa. 83, 88, 476

A.2d 1304, 1307 (1984) (effect of tainted

evidence) ; Commonwealth v. Johnson, 227 Pa.

Super. 96, 102-03, 323 A.2d 813, 816 (1974)
(same).

Based on our analysis which
determined that evidence obtained during

Bruder's custodial interrogation was

60a

inadmissible, we hold that it was an abuse of
discretion to admit such evidence.
Introduction of the tainted evidence was
clearly prejudicial to Bruder because the
absence of such evidence might very well
have led toa different verdict. Thus, we
must reverse and remand for proceedings
consistent with this opinion. 1
Reversed and remanded.
Jurisdiction relinquished.

ROWLEY, J. FILES A CONCURRING AND

DISSENTING STATEMENT

1 This disposition precludes the need to

address the remaining issue.

61la

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
V-

THOMAS A. BRUDER, JR.,
Appellant

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF
PENNSYLVANIA

NO. 2176 Philadelphia, 1986

Appeal fromthe Judgment of Sentence July
23, 1986, inthe Court of Common Pleas of
Delaware County, Criminal Division, No. 303
of 1985.

BEFORE: CIRILLO, P.M., ROWLEY, and
HOFFMAN, JJ.

CONCURRING AND DISSENTING STATEMENT

BY ROWLEY, J.:

While I agree with the majority's
disposition of the issue concerning dismissal
of the criminal complaint, I respectfully
disagree with the conclusion that appellant's
statements should have been suppressed under

Commonwealth v. Meyer, 488 Pa. 297, 412

A.2d 517 (1980). I think that Meyer is
distinguishable on its facts and that the facts

in this case closely parallel those in Berkemer

v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420 (1984). Considering

62a

also that the U.S. Supreme Court cited Meyer,
as an example of the confusion among various

jurisdictions in applying Miranda v. Arizona,

384 U.S. 436 (1966) to situations involving
motorists stopped for traffic violations, I

think that Berkemer is controlling in this

case.

Because I think that the trial court
has also adequately discussed and correctly
decided appellant's issue concerning the
sufficiency of the evidence, i would affirm

the judgment of sentence.

63a

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
Ve

THOMAS A. BRUDER, JR.,
Appellant

I N THE SUPERIOR COURT
PENNSYLVANIA -

NO. 2176 Philadelphia, 1986

ORDER OF COURT

AND NOW, this 8th day of June,
1987, the petition for reargument is denied.
However, panel reconsideration is granted on
the limited issue of the sufficiency of the

evidence.

APPENDIx '"F"

4a '

Supreme Cont of Permsylwnia

MAP ENE F LACHMAN. Eso . . 466 CITY HALL
Eastern istrict
PROTHONMOTARY PHEADELPHIA. PA 18107
PATRICK TASSOS IG BRADSEALE

May 19, 1988 (215) 560-6370

Joseph J. Mittleman, Esquire
John A. Reilly, Esquire
Sandra L. Elias, Esquire
DISTRICT ATTORNEY'S OFFICP.
Delaware County Court House
Media, Pa. 19063

RE: Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Petitioner v.
Thomas A. Bruder, Jr.

No. 650 E.D. Allocatur Docket 1987

Dear Counsel:

This is to advise you that the following Order has been endorsed on
your Petition for Allowance of Appeal, filed in the above captioned matter:

“May 19, 1988.
DENIED.
Per Curiam".
Very truly yours,

fateh Tovou

PATRICK TASSOS
Deputy Prothonovary

/ma

cc: Stuart Suss, Esquire
Carmen P. Belefonte, Esquire

APPFNDIX "F"

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0237%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
