# Amicus Curiae Brief — Laborers Health & Welfare Trust Fund v. Advanced Lightweight Concrete Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0210%3A17

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 539

## Text

AN No. 85-2079

ar

, wr® In THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OctToBer Term, 1986

LABORERS, HEALTH AND WELFARE
Trust FUND FOR NORTHERN
CALIFORNIA, ef ai.,
Petitioners,
v.

ADVANCED LIGHTWEIGHT CONCRETE
COMPANY, INC..,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

MOTION OF THE ASSOCIATED GENERAL
CONTRACTORS OF AMERICA, INC., FOR LEAVE
TO FILE A BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF THE RESPONDENT

AND -

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE ASSOCIATED
GENERAL CONTRACTORS OF AMERICA, INC.

A. J. Harrer Il
Counsel of Record
T. J. Wray

David M. Thomas

1301 McKinney Street
Houston, Texas 77010
(713) 651-5151

Attorneys for Associated
General Contractors of
America, Inc.

——-
_

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1986

No. 85-2079

LABORERS, HEALTH AND WELFARE
Trust FUND FOR NORTHERN
CALIFORNIA, ef al,
Petitioners,

Vv.

ADVANCED LIGHTWEIGHT CONCRETE
COMPANY, INC.,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

MOTION OF THE ASSOCIATED GENERAL
CONTRACTORS OF AMERICA, INC., FOR LEAVE
TO FILE A BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

To the Honorable Chief Justice and Associate Justices of the
Supreme Court of the United States:

Pursuant to Rule 36 of the Rules of this Court, the
Associated General Contractors of America, Inc. (“AGC”)
respectfuily moves for leave to file the accompany _— Brief as
amicus curiae urging that the decision below be affirmed.
Respondent has consented to the filing of this Brief; the
Petitioners have not. In support of this Motion AGC shows as
follows:

1. This Motion is necessitated by the failure, upon request,
of the Laborers, Health and Welfare Trust Fund for Northern

California, et al., Petitioners, to give written consent to the filing
of a Brief by AGC as amicus curiae.

2. AGC is a national trade association engaged in the
construction industry. Its approximately 32,000 members in-
clude approximately 8,000 leading general construction con-
tractors. Over 80% of all commercial, industrial, highway, and
bridge construction in the United States is performed by its
members. Through 106 chapters located throughout the
United States, the AGC acts for and on behalf of individual
contractors in matters which include the negotiation and admin-
istration of collective bargaining agreements with various buil-
ding and construction trade unions. AGC, through its chapters.
has also participated in the formation of vanous multiemployer
fringe benefit trust funds under § 302(c) of the Labor Manage-
ment Relations Act (“LMRA”™), 29 U.S.C. § 186(c), and its
members frequently serve as the statutorily required empioyer
trustees on muluemployer fringe benefit trust funds. ,

3. AGC regularly represents general contractor members
in important matters vitally affecting their interests before the
courts, the United States Congress, the Executive Branch and
independent regulatory agencies of the federal government.
This includes rendering assistance to the courts in their deliber-
ations on significant decisions concerning labor-management
relations in the construction industry.

4. The question presented by this case is whether a federal
district court has jurisdiction under §§ 502 and 515 of the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
(“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1132 and 1145, over an action by the
trustees of a muluemployer employee benefit plan to collect
contributions from an allegedly delinquent employer where the
employer's alleged obligation to contnbute arses from its duty
under §8(a)(5) of the National Labor Relations Act
(“NLRA”), 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(5), to refrain from unilater-
ally changing the terms and conditions of employment dunng
collective bargaining following contract expiration. The United
States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in
Laborers Health & Welfare Trust v. Advanced Lightweight
Concrete, 779 F.2d 497 (%h Cir. 1985), cert. granted,
US. __, 107 S.Ct. 1283 ( 1987), heid that the decision in this

case was dependent upon an underlying labor law issue within
the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Labor Relations
Board and therefore affirmed the district court’s grant of
summary judgment to Respondent based on lack of subject
matter jurisdiction.

5. AGC addresses in the accompanying Brief the practical
effects on the collective bargaining process and the uncer-
tainties, inconsistencies, delays and expenses which would result
from a reversal of the court below. Based on conversations with
attorneys for Advanced Lightweight Concrete Company it is
the belief of AGC that these questions will not be addressed in
other Briefs submitted on behalf of the Respondent. AGC
respectfully submits that it is in a unique position to present
argument and analysis on behaif of the construction industry in
assisting this Court in its consideration of these issues.

WHEREFORE, AGC respectfully moves that it be granted
leave to file the accompanying Bnef as amicus curiae.

Respectfully submitted.

Lf abpase

Counsel of Record
T. J. Wray
David M. Thomas

FULBRIGHT & JAWORSKI
1301 McKinney Street
Houston, Texas 77010
(713) 651-5151

COUNSEL FOR AMICUS CURIAE

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. THE COLLECTIVE BARGAINING PRO-
CESS WOULD BE ADVERSELY AF-
FECTED BY LITIGATION OF UNFAIR
LABOR PRACTICES IN ACTIONS UN-
I IN ctincetiisrinsentctcnticussctesernsesenmesseecess

Il. THE NLRB CAN EFFECTIVELY AND
PROMPTLY REMEDY THE ALLEGED
UNLAWFUL CONDUCT ..000 eee.

(il. BENEFIT PLANS SHOULD BE RE-
QUIRED TO RESORT TO THE NLRB
AND GIVE BINDING EFFECT TO ITS
et icetaticnntinscncatinnnictantenennsinenenentennne

Se Ee ctactnctiantennctsnesessenentermocssnsentsnstenneasatonsectenese
Se Ce POs Ie UO GE cecsceccccesccscccsssnssescssecsncnseees

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
AFTRA v. NLRB, 395 F.2d 622 (D.C. Cir. 1968) ......
American Lubricants Co., 136 N.L.R.B. 946 ( 1962)...

Atlas Tack Corp., 226 N.L.R.B. 222 (1976), enf‘d,
559 F.2d 1201 ( Ist Cir, 1977) ee cccececeseeseeeeeeeees

Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge 735, 390 U.S. 557 ( 1968) ...

Byrnes v. Debolt Transfer, Inc., 741 F.2d 620 (3d Cir.
FUP aP ccassanisnsassnecensnsesunsennssannenssccemisustenbieititinnephtusanscsene

Cement Masons Trust Fund v. Kirwood-Bly, 520
F.Supp. 942 (N.D. Cal. 1981), aff'd, 692 F.2d 641
TERI ere ee De eo Se

Central States Pension Fund v. Kraftco, Inc., 799
F.2d 1098 ( 6th Cir. 1986) (en banc) 00000...

Cooper v. General Motors Corp., 651 F.2d 249 (Sth
re CIvTe a iicinicininntiiteiiniariniinnndnitniniiieataatinaiiaataiaaiaaaataess

Czyz v. General Pension Bd., Bethlehem Steel Corp.,
578 F. Supp. 126 (W.D. Pa. 1983)... ccc

Del Costello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983) ..0.......
Exco Contracting Lid., 261 N.L.R.B. 1120 ( 1982) .....
Farmers v. Carpenters, 430 US. 290 (1977) ooo.

Fibreboard Paper Prods. Corp. v. NLRB, 379 US.
REE IE er eee

Garner v. Teamsters, 346 U.S. 485 (1953)...

Golden State Transit Corp. v. City of Los Angeles,
com Gab 106 S.Ct. 1395 (1986) on.

Heck’s, Inc., 191 N.L.R.B. 886 (1971) oo.
Huck Mfg. v. NLRB, 693 F.2d 1176 ( Sth Cir. 1982)...
Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335 (1964) ..0.00000.. ee.

IBEW Local 22 v. Nanco Elec. Co., 790 F.2d 59 ( 8th
IE) SOE itsieneputeatincernsctiennbavesitnedensanadenitomnecninbenesinnieemmases

International Harvester Co., 169 N.L.R.B. 787

10
passim

3, 8
11
5
8

4

1

International Union of Electrical, Radio & Machine
Workers, AFL-CIO (Tiidee Products, Inc.) Vv.
NLRB, 426 F.2d 1243 (D.C. Cir. 1970), reh’g
denied, 431 F.2d 1206 (1970), cert. denied, 400
U.S. 950 (1970), on remand, 194 N.L.R.B. 1234
6 FEF ceccnciarticmnaniininmnsnenaneteetmsinetinenmnmsemtascnstemenseanee

International Wire v. IBEW Local 38, 475 F.2d 1078
(6th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 867 (1973)..

J.D. Lunsford Plumbing, Heating & Air Condi-
tioning, Inc., 254 N.L.R.B. 1360 (1981), aff'd sub
nom. Sheetmetal Workers v. N.L.R.B., 684 F.2d
ae

J.P. Stevens & Co., 244 N.L.R.B. 406 (1979),
enforced and remanded, 668 F.2d 767 (4th Cir.
1982), vacated and remanded, 458 U.S. 1118
Ar Tir ccebtnesieticenctinbineninicinepacininnataiamnsianenseenaprenesmumeansnes

Jackman v. NLRB, 784 F.2d 759 ( 6th Cir. 1986) .......
Jim McNeff Inc. v. Todd, 461 U.S. 260 ( 1983)............
Kaiser Steel Co. v. Mullins, 455 U.S. 72 (1982)..........

Kaynard v. Palby Lingerie, Inc., 625 F.2d 1047 (2d
Sr ST icicicchai nb sceinsebialbahhleiaadiidesdhdngnindniadeotnbemeniumnonsens

Knickerbocker Plastic Co., 104 N.L.R.B. 514 (1953),
enf'd, 218 F.2d 917 (9th Cir. 1955) oo. eee

Lewis v. NLRB, 357 US. 10 (1958) oo... ceteees

Local 290, Teamsters v. I. E. Schilling Co., 340 F.2d
286 (Sth Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 382 US. 972
STITT iceoiiachihiicincsiniatepnettsinemetecdeidaiasiasiltdhiataslaingatnsigieianninenans

Machinists v. Lubbers, 681 F.2d 598 (9th Cir. 1982),
cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1201 (1983) ............ eee

Marriott In-Flite Servs., Div. of Marriott Corp., 258
N.L.R.B. 755 (1981), enfd, 729 F.2d 1441 (2d
Cir. 1983) cert. denied, 464 U.S. 824 ( 1983)...........

Mary Ann’s Bakery, 267 N.L.R.B. 992 (1983) ............
Meat Cutters v. Fairlawn Meats, 353 U.S. 20 ( 1957)..

Meyers v. Bethlehem Shipbuilding Company, 303 U.S.
Be Oe cinticiatctninciisentaptasiccetncenmetunenemnnesinlenniuntatniiiiannents

iH

12

5, 6

14

14

IV

Morco, Inc. d/b/a Town Plaza Hotel, 258 N.L.R.B.
Se ener ee ee ee

fF Oe ereneninticcmnenscanenieteinepsectientetvenetsiitnenesssmmmenteeneanese

SN bagaaelinatie for eae Dae

NLRB v. Food Store Employees Local 347 (Heck’s
Eg ES ere

NLRB v. Heyman, 541 F.2d 796 ( 9th Cir. 1986).........

NLRB v. ITT Telecommunications, 415 F.2d 768
a ee

NLRB v. Katz, 369 U.S. 736 (1962) .2......c-ceccceeseeseneees

NLRB v. Martins Ferry Hosp. Ass’n., 649 F.2d 445
(6th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1083 ( 1981)

NLRB v. Playskool, Inc., 431 F.2d 518 (7th Cir.
oP i Pceneinnetnicarectunessamuatetanibientestnsiescsentamnineseumeteantevetomeess

NLRB v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 421 U.S. 132 (1975).

O’Hare v. General Marine Transp. Corp., 740 F.2d
160 (2d Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1212
Er ee a ee ae

Palino v. Casey, 664 F.2d 854 ( ist Cir. 1981) 000000...

Pantex Towing Corp. v. Glidenwell, 763 F.2d 124)
SEI cinncinteninensactintisintdeencnnatiummensentesdnenene:

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. R. A. Gray & Co.,
AE TE ae

Phelps Dodge Corp. v. NLRB, 313 U.S. 177 (1941)...

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, ___. U.S. ____. 107
ESE eae oe ee

Presto Casting Co., 262 N.L.R.B. 346 (1982), enf'd
in part, 708 F.2d 495 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied,
RS re

Quinn v. DiGiulian, 739 F.2d 637 ( D.C. Cir. 1984)....
Richard W. Kaase Co., 162 N.L.R.B. 1320 ( 1967).....

San Diego Bidg. & Constr. Trades Council v. Garmon,
359 US. 236 (1959) inuninigiicnaeiancasittepieniieatnianieencenitiieceniens

14

10, 11
12

13
il

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Carpenters, 436 U.S. 180
|

Smith v. Evening News Ass’n., 371 U.S. 195 (1962)....
Servis Equipment Co., 198 N.L.R.B. 266 (1972) ........
Sheetmetal Workers v. NLRB, 684 F.2d 1033 (D.C.

Southern Newspapers, Inc. d/b/a The Baytown Sun,
255 N.L.R.B. 154 (1981)............ sdectieniameininmenmee

Stone Boat Yard, 276 N.L.R.B. No. 130 (June 14,

Summit Valley Indus. v. Leoal 112 Carpenters, 456
U.S. 717 ( 1982)................ sinasmemiiamngammmednremseen

Switchmen’s Union v. NMB, 343 U.S. 297 (1943).......

Taft Broadcasting Co., 163 N.L.R.B. 475 (1967)
aff'd sub nom., AFTRA v. NLRB, 395 F.2d 622
J)

Teamsters Local 174 v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 US. 95

Teamsters Local 807 v. Brinks, Inc., 744 F.2d 283
ee eee

UAW v. Atlas Tack Corp., 590 F.2d 384 (ist Cir.
eee

UMW v. Allied Corp., 735 F.2d 121 (4th Cir. 1984),
cert. denied, 473 U.S. 905 (1985)...

United Brick & Clay Workers v. Deena Artware, Inc.,
198 F.2d 637 (6th Cir. 1952), cert. denied, 344
ee

United Brick & Clay Workers v. Deena Artware, Inc.,
198 F.2d 645 ( 6th Cir. 1952 ) .000.2.....eeeceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerees

United Parcel Service, Inc. v. Mitchell, 451 U.S. 56

United Shoe Mach. Corp., 96 N.L.R.B. 1309 (1951) ..

United States v. Utah Constr. & Mining Co., 384 US.
OS

i

os

Page
Statutes
Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. sac P
CE cciticiaacorntiainniinnneapenmaniinsiniilieaiinaion
BR ED Eee 4
Kk ee Li, 12
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 151 ef
SE een ee a a passim
Section 8(a)( 5), 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)( 5) 00... 5
Section 8(b)( 4), 29 U.S.C. § 158(b)( 4)... 12
Section 8( f), 29 U.S.C. § 158(f) oc 4
Section 10(b), 29 U.S.C. § 160( Bb). passim
Section 10(j), 29 U.S.C. § 1606j) ce. 10
Section 11(2), 29 U.S.C. § 161(2) oc. 9
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 1001 ef seg. ooo. passim
Section 404, 29 U.S.C. § 110400. 15
EE od | re 4.13, 15
Section 502( g), 29 U.S.C. § 1132 g) nnn. 7
Section 502( g){ 2), 29 U.S.C. § 1132 g)( 2)... 8
Section 514, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(d) oo. 4
Section $15, 29 U.S.C. § 1145 000. 4.6
EE ee 4
ae 4
CR ERC ee ene 6
Miscellaneous
NLRB General Counsel's Report Summarizing Oper-
ations in Fiscal 1986, Daily Labor Report ( BNA)
Fe Ee re 10
The Lawyer's Aimanac, 1987 0000.0. = 10
The Lawyer’s Almanac, 1984 20000 id

8 Martindale Hubbell eestthnannesmatitaiiniesinations
SR a cae ee , 8

In THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octoper TERM, 1986

No. 85-2079

LABORERS, HEALTH AND WELFARE
Trust FUND FOR NORTHERN
CALiFoRNIA, ef al.,
Petitioners,
v.

ADVANCED LIGHTWEIGHT CONCRETE
ComPaANy, INC..,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE ASSOCIATED
GENERAL CONTRACTORS OF AMERICA, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF THE RESPONDENT

The Associated General Contractors of America, Inc.
(“AGC”) hereby submits this brief in support of the Respond-
ent in No. 85-2079 on a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit entered in this case on December 26, 1985.

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE
A statement describing the AGC and its interest in this case
is set forth in the preceding Motion requesting leave to file this
amicus curiae brief.

2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The National Labor Relations Board (“NLRB” or
“Board”) has, with limited exceptions which do not extend to
resolution of core unfair labor practice disputes, exclusive
primary jurisdiction to resolve unfair labor practices. This
exclusive jurisdiction is necessary to ensure uniformity and
consistency in national labor policy. Congress, in passing the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as
amended, 29 U.S.C. § 1001 ef seg. (“ERISA”), did not create a
second forum to resolve unfair labor practice disputes or
otherwise preempt the NLRB’s exclusive jurisdiction under the
National Labor Relations Act, 29 US.C. § 151 ef seg.
(“NLRA” or “Act”).

Exclusive NLRB jurisdiction in such matters is necessary to
promote the collective bargaining process. To permit the
district courts to utilize ERISA to determine in the first instance
whether unfair labor practices have occurred would create
uncertainty as to the rights and duties of the parties to collective
bargaining agreements and would result in delays in the
resolution of disputes because of longer ERISA statutes of
limitation and loss of Board efficiency. Such uncertainty would
result in resistance to inclusion of benefit funds in collective
bargaining agreements thereby frustrating the purposes of
ERISA and the NLRA.

Such a vesuit is unnecessary because the interests of benefit
trust funds can be adequately protected by utilization of the
Board to address situations where allegations of unfair labor
practices are the core issues of alleged failures to contribute to
benefit funds. The NLRB can utilize subpoenas to investigate
the unfair labor practice allegations and can fashion full relief
in the event that it finds a violation. Moreover, it can do so
more rapidly and efficiently than can the district courts without
the risk of inconsistent adjudications.

The decision below therefore should be affirmed. How-
ever, if this Court should reverse, it should require the trusts to
initially resort to the NLRB and abide by its decision. The
Court should also hold that in event of administrative dismissal!
of a charge, trustees satisfy their fiduciary responsibilities under
ERISA by electing to rely upon such dismissal.

3

ARGUMENT
L.

THE COLLECTIVE BARGAINING PROCESS
WOULD BE ADVERSELY AFFECTED BY
LITIGATION OF UNFAIR LABOR PRACTICES
I~ ACTIONS UNDER ERISA.

At this date there can be little dispute that as a general rule
the NLRB has exclusive primary jurisdiction to determine
unfair labor practices. See Meyers v. Bethlehem Shipbuilding
Company, 303 U.S. 41, 48-49 (1938). Federal as well as state
courts generaily must defer to the NLRB’s jurisdiction and
competence. See Golden State Transit Corp. v. City of Los
Angeles, __. US. ___, 106 S.Ct. 1395, 1398 and n.8 ( 1986);
Kaiser Steel Co. v. Mullins, 455 U.S. 72, 83 (1982); San Diego
Bidg. & Constr. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 246
(1959); Garner v. Teamsters, 346 U.S. 485, 490-91 (1953).'

The exceptions to this doctrine have been limited, and
have not extended to circumstances in which an alleged unfair
labor practice is at the core of the dispute and the dispute does
not involve issues of contract interpretation or application. The
collective bargaining process and the framework in which
collective bargaining negotiations take place are a central
concern of the NLRA, and the NLRB is the agency designated
to provide the necessary safeguards and rules to govern that
process. See Golden State Transit Corp. v. City of Los Angeles,
106 S.Ct. at 1401; Sears. Roebuck & Co. v. Carpenters, 436 US.
180, 191 ( 1978):2 Garner v. Teamsters, 346 U.S. at 490.

The principal rationale for exclusivity is to assure uniform-
ity in the development and administration of national labor
policy. See Sears, Roebuck & Co., 436 US. at 191. Congress in
passing ERISA did not change this, but carefully provided

' Exclusive, primary jurisdiction as used herein refers to this
Court’s use of these terms in cases such as San Diego Bidg. & Consir.
Trades Council v. Garmon, rather than the administrative law use of
the terms “primary jurisdiction.” See, ¢.g., Sears, Roebuck & Co. ¥.
Carpenters, 436 U.S. 180, 199 .29 (1978).

2“(W]hen the same controversy may be presented to the ...
court or the NLRB, it rust be presented to the Board.” /d at 202
( Emphasis added )

4

ERISA was not to preempt other federal laws. 29 US.C.
§ 1144(d) (1982).

The importance of the collective bargaining process and
the risks inherent to that process from a lack of uniform
regulation led this Court to its decision in Teamsters Local | 74
v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95 (1962), where it held that the
possibilities of conflicting rulings would impede the collective
bargaining process, prolong disputes and tend to lead to
resistance to the inclusion of provisions in contracts favored by
national labor policy. /d. at 103-04. The Court was dealing
with arbitration provisions under a collective bargaining agree-
ment and federal law under Section 301 of the Labor Manage-
ment Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 141 ef seg. (“LMRA”).? The
nsks to the collective bargaining process and to the inclusion of
provisions relating to pension, health and welfare or similar
benefits are no less great in this case.

?The Court had created an exception to exclusive NLRB
jurisdiction under § 301. See Smith v. Evening News Ass’n., 371 US.
195 (1962). That exception, however, should not be extended so as
to swallow the principle. The Court has recognized that under § 301.
the NLRB has concurrent junsdiction: however, § 301 jurisdiction is
dependent on the existence of a contract. 29 U.S.C. § 185. See, ez.
IBEW Local 22 v. Nanco Elec. Co, 7) F.2d $9 (8th Cir. 1986):
Teamsters Local 807 v. Brinks, Inc., 744 F.2d 283 (2d Cir. 1984).
UMW v. Allied Corp., 735 F.2d 121 ( 4th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 473
U.S. 905 (1985); Cooper v. General Motors Corp., 651 F.2d 249 ( Sth
Cir. 1981); UAW v. Atlas Tack Corp., $90 F.2d 384 ( ist Cir. 1979).
Cement Masons Trust Fund v. Kirwood-Bly, $20 F. Supp. 942 (N_D
Cal. 1981), aff'd for the reasons stated in the distnct court’s opinion.
692 F.2d 641 (9h Cir. 1982). See also, Jim McNeff Inc. v. Todd, 46|
U.S. 260 (1983) (§ 301 jurisdiction exists to enforce § 8(f) pre-hure
agreement only prior to its repudiation). ERISA’s terms in §§ $15
and $02 are entirely consistent with this doctnne. Congress clearly
relied on § 301 in developing ERISA’s § 502 scheme. See Pilot Life
Inc. Co. v. Dedeaux, _.. US. —__.. 107 S.Ct 1549 (1987).
Congress was aware of the possible expiration of collective bargaining
agreements and the existence of a hiatus period Where such
situations occurred. Congress carefully provided that no withdrawal
liability would anse where a continuing duty to contribute eusted
under the NLRA. 29 USC. §§ 1383, 1392 (1982). Congress also
was careful to exclude the obligation “two pay delinquent contribu-
uuions” from this provision. /d.

5

If Petitioners’ position is adopted, the district courts of the
United States will acquire concurrent jurisdiction with the
NLRB, not to interpret contracts but to address and decide
fundamental, core issues arising under Section 8(a)(5) of the
Act.* The core dispute in this case is whether Respondent
violated Section 8(a)(5) of the Act by unilaterally ceasing
contributions to the funds in violation of its § 8(a)(5) duty to
maintain the status quo ante after expiration of the collective
bargaining agreements requiring the contributions. Under the
NLRA, no such duty exists if an impasse in negotiations, waiver
or some other circumstance justifies unilateral action. E£.g.,
NLRB v. Katz, 369 US. 736 (1962).

A determination of whether an impasse has occurred is
highly subjective and a matter particularly sued to NLRB
determination. Huck Mfg. v. NLRB, 693 F.2d 1176, 1186 (Sth
Cir. 1982). In evaluating whether impasse exists, the Board has
considered factors such as the existence of a stnke ot whether
the union has approached its membership concerning a stnke
possibility, Presto Casting Co., 262 N.L.R.B. 346 ( 1982), enf'd
in part, 708 F.2d 495 ( 9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 994
(1983), the statements or understandings of the parties as to
whether impasse exists, J. D. Lunsford Plumbing, Heating & Air
Conditioning, Inc., 254 N.L.R.B. 1360 (1981), aff'd sub nom.
Sheetmetal Workers v. NLRB, 684 F.2d 1033 (D.C. Cir. 1982),
whether bargaining is continuing, Huck Mfg. Co. v. NLRB, 693
F.2d at 1186, the firmness of the parties’ positions, Morco, Inc.
d/b/a Town Plaza Hotel, 258 N.L.R.B. 69 (1981), the bargain.
ing history between the parties, Marriott In-Flite Servs., Div. 0”
Marriott Corp., 258 N.L.R.B. 755 (1981), enfd, 729 F.2d 1441
(2d Cir. 1983). cert. denied, 464 U.S. 824 (1983), whether anu-
union animus was evidenced by the employer, /d, the ume
between bargaining meetings, Southern Newspapers, Inc. d/b/a

4 Indeed, in those cases where this Court has allowed exceptions
to NLRB exclusive jursdiction, the Court has been careful to deciare
that the issues upon which courts can exercise jumsdiction involve
matters of only “peripheral” or “collateral” concern under the NLRB
See, ¢.g.. Farmers v. Carpenters, 430 US. 290, 304 (1977); Motor
Coach Employees v. Lockridge, 403 US. 274, 276 (1971), San Diego
Bidg. & Constr. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 US. at 243-44.

6

The Baytown Sun, 255 N.L.R.B. 154 (1981), and various other
circumstances. See, e.g, J. D. Lunsford Plumbing, Heating &
Air Conditioning, Inc., 254 N.L.R.B. at 1360 (“most favored
nations” clause militated in favor of finding impasse). The
Board, with its special expertise and over fifty years of ex-
has recognized that the question of whether an
exists is often elusive and involves the exercise of
judgment in each case. Eg, Taft Broadcasting Co. 163

N.L.R.B. 475, 478 (1967), aff'd sub nom.. AFTRA v. NLRB.
395 F.2d 622 (D.C. Cir. 1968); Servis Equipment Co., 198
N.L.R.B. 266, 269 (1972).

“under the terms of the plan or under the terms of a collectively
bargained agreement.” 29 US.C. § 1145.

By granting jurisdiction to the district courts in cases arising
“under collective bargauming agreements” while recognizing as it did
in 29 US.C. § 1392(a) that withdrawal liability may be imposed
when the duty to contribute as a result of collective bargaining
agreements or a. a result of the operanon of labor-management
relauons law ceases, it is apparent, that in situations such as the one
before this Court, Congress did not intend that the district courts
exercise junsdicnon. See Switchmen’s Union v. NMB. 343 US. 297

:
:

7

Natioml! Labor Relations Board which has its own procedures,
specialized knowledge and experience. Meat Cutters v. Fair-
lawn Meats, 353 U.S. 20 (1957); Garner v. Teamsters, 346 US.
at 490

Tiere can be little doubt that the NLRB is better able to
resolve disputes arising under the labor policy of the United
States han are the various district courts. To submit cases such
as theone at hand to the district courts for resolution would
requir: them to exercise authority in an area where they lack
the ewerience of the NLRB and would create potential for
conflic in the administration of national labor policy.®

Firther, should the district courts be permitted to exercise
jurisdction, the Congressional desire for expeditious resolution
of thee unfair labor practice issues will be at severe risk.
Unde: the Act, charges of an unfair labor practice must be
preseted within six months of their occurrence. 29 U.S.C.
§ 160). Collection suits under § 502(g) of ERISA may be
brougit at any time within the applicable limitations penods
govening contract or collection actions in the various states.
See, «g., Central States Pension Fund v. Kraftco, Inc., 799 F.2d
1098. 1107 (6th Cir. 1986) (en banc); Byrnes v. DeBolt
Tranfer, Inc., 741 F.2d 620 (3d Cir. 1984). In most states the

6 This Court has noted that in the field of labor law,

““ongress did not merely lay down a substantive rule of law

» be enforced by any tribunal competent to apply law

enerally to the parties. It went on to provide primary

wterpretation and application of its rules to a specifically

onstituted tribunal and prescribed a particular procedure

fr investigation, complaint and notice, and hearng and

ecision including judicial relief pending a final adminuis-

tative order. Congress evidently considered that centralized

dministration of specially designed procedures was neces-

ary to obtain uniform application of its substantive rules

ad to avoid those diversities likely to resuit from a vanety

€ local procedures and attitudes toward labor con-

‘oversies.”
Garnr v. Teamsters, 346 U.S. at 490.

though specifically addressing state court activity, the court
earlic noted, “The power and duty of primary decision lies with the
Boar, not with us.” Garner v. Teamsters, 346 U.S. at 489. It is
appeent that this court recognized, as did Congress, the necessity, in
the iterest of uniformity, that the NLRB exercise initial jurisdiction in
unfx labor practice matters. See also San Diego Bidg. & Constr.
Traes Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. at 244-45.

8

limitations periods for violations of a contract are three or more
years.” In short, if Petitioners’ position is sustained, a dispute
which is solely based upon an asserted unfair labor practice
could become stale ( and indeed time barred under the NLRA)
before it was ever presented for adjudication under ERISA.

This Court in a similar context has recognized and empha-
sized the importance of rapid resolution of and uniformity in
the deciding of issues involving the collective bargaining pro-
cess. Del Costello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983). Where
the collective bargaining process is at issue, not only is unifor-
mity essential, but so is the rapid resolution of disputes. “‘[I]t is
of the utmost importance that the law reflect the realities of
industrial life and the nature of the collective bargaining
process.” /d. at 172 (Quoting Justice Goldberg, concurring, in
Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335, 358 (1964) ).8

Uncertainty and the potential for long-delayed challenges
to positions taken in collective bargaining would have a dele-
terious impact on that process. De/ Costello v. Teamsters, 462
U.S. at 169 (longer statutes of limitations have a major impact
on the collective bargaining process where a decision made
could be called into question “as much as [three] years later”
(quoting United Parcel Service, Inc. v. Mitchell, 451 U.S. 56. 64
(1981))). The longer time limitations for filing complaints
would tend to prolong disputes arising in bargaining and the
risks associated therewith.? Moreover, the risks of inconsistent.
widely divergent rulings by the various district courts would not
only defeat one of the central concerns of national labor policy
under the Act,'® but would also impede and detract from one of

” See, e.g., 8 Martindale Hubbell Law Directory pt. I ( 119th ed.
& Supp. 1987).

® This Court could. of course, adopt § 10(b) as the period of
limitations for suits under ERISA. This would alleviate one of the
concerns expressed herein as to the impact on the coilective bargain-
ing process of a reversal of the decision below. Such a course of
action would, however, raise other possible concerns under ERISA.
See, e.g., Central States Pension Fund v. Kraftco, Inc.. 799 F.2d 1098
(6th Cir. 1986) (en banc).

*In an ERISA collection action under § 502(g)(2), time is
money.

"© See, e.g., Golden State Transit Co. v. City of Los Angeles, 106
S.Ct. at 1401; Garner v. Teamsters, 346 US. at 490-91.

9

the very purposes of ERISA—to provide pension and other
funds for the benefit of employees. See Pension Benefit
Guaranty Corp. v. R. A. Gray & Co., 467 U.S. 717 (1984). This
result would surely follow from a decision which would allow
an adverse impact on the collective bargaining process, for it is
through the collective bargaining process that employer partici-
pation in jointly administered trust funds is established and
maintained. If employers are confronted, as they will be if the
decision below is reversed, with the potential risks and delays,
the multiple forums and possible inconsistency of results, then
the natural tendency of employers will be to avoid such risks
and delays by refusing to include ERISA-covered benefits in
collective bargaining agreements. Extending jurisdiction to the
courts to resolve unfair labor practices in ERISA collection
actions would thus disserve the purposes of both the NLRA
and ERISA.

THE NLRB CAN EFFECTIVELY AND PROMPTLY
REMEDY THE ALLEGED UNLAWFUL CONDUCT

The NLRB has had over fifty years of experience in
investigating unfair labor practice charges. None of the parties
have suggested or should suggest that the NLRB will not
adequately fulfill its obligations under the Act to promptly and
fully investigate alleged violations involving delinquent pension
contributions. The Act clearly gives it the authority and tools to
do so. The Board has utilized its subpoena power, and the
courts have enforced such subpoenas, under § | 1( 2) of the Act,
which contains an express grant of authority to courts to enforce
subpoenas issued in connection “with any matter under in-
vestigation. . .” See, e.g., Lewis v. NLRB, 357 U.S. 10 | 1958):
NLRB v. Martins Ferry Hosp. Ass’n., 649 F.2d 445 (6th Cir.
1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1083 (1981); NLRB v. Playskool,
Inc.. 431 F.2d 518 (7th Cir. 1970); NLRB v. ITT Tele-
communications, 415 F.2d 768 (6th Cir. 1969).

If, after investigation, the NLRB determines to issue a
complaint, it is clear that the NLRB has available to it
injunctive authority pending resolution of the underlying dis-

10

pute pursuant to Section 10(j) of the Act. See, e.g. Kaynard v.
Palby Lingerie, Inc., 625 F.2d 1047, 1051, (2d Cir. 1980)
(when considering a request for interim relief under § 10(j), a
district court must evaluate two principal issues—whether there
is reasonable cause to believe an unfair labor practice was
committed and whether the requested relief is “just and
proper”). This tool may be used by the NLRB to require
continuation of payments to funds such as Petitioners pending
the outcome of an unfair labor practice complaint proceeding.

Even if § 10(j) relief is not sought by the NLRB, the
Board is a far more expeditious forum in which to resolve unfair
labor practice charges than are the district courts. For example,
in fiscal year 1986, 9,312 cases, or 91.7% of meritorious unfair
labor practice cases, were resolved through voluntary settle-
ment. NLRB General Counsel’s Report Summarizing Oper-
ations in Fiscal 1986, Daily Labor Report (BNA) No. 38, at D-
| (February 27, 1987).'' The district courts, on the other hand.
are overburdened. As of June 30, 1985, 254,114 civil cases
were pending in the federal district courts. The Lawyer's
Almanac, 1987, at 799 (1987). On June 30, 1982, 200.885 civil
cases were pending of which 13,979 were over three years old.
The Lawyer’s Almanac, 1984. at 645 (1984). The number of
cases pending before the district courts renders them an ex-
tremely time consuming forum and less suitable for resolution
of unfair labor practice disputes than is the NLRB. '2

If the NLRB after a hearing determines that a violation
has occurred, it is well equipped by statute and practice to
provide a complete and adequate remedy.'3 In addition to
cease and desist authority, the Board possesses broad make-
whole power. Exercising that power, it has required payment,

'' This is not to suggest that suits under ERISA are not also
compromised and settled. They are. Settlements under the auspices
of the NLRB occur more promptly and with less expense to the funds,
however.

‘2 When the length of the statutes of limitations is added to the
time it may take to reach trial, the contrast between the administrative
and judicial forums is even more acute.

'3 See, e.g. NLRB v. Food Store Employees Local 347 (Heck’s
Inc.), 417 U.S. 1 (1974); Fibreboard Paper Prods. Corp. v. NLRB,
379 U.S. 203, 215 (1964).

11

including liquidated damages or interest, to benefit funds. See,
e.g., Mary Ann’s Bakery, 267 N.L.R.B. 992 (1983) (awarding
payments plus interest); Stone Boat Yard, 276 N.L.R.B. No.
130 (June 14, 1985) (awarding payments and liquidated
damages); Exco Contracting Lid., 261 N.L.R.B. 1120 (1982)
(awarding payments and liquidated damages). It has also
awarded health and medical benefits, Knickerbocker Plastic
Co., 104 N.L.R.B. 514 (1953), enf'd, 218 F.2d 917 (9th Cir.
1955), bonuses, United Shoe Mach. Corp., 96 N.L.R.B. 1309
(1951), shares in profit sharing programs, J/nternational
Harvester Co., 169 N.L.R.B. 787 (1968), and vacation benefits,
Richard W. Kaase Co., 162 N.L.R.B. 1320 (1967).

In addressing unilateral changes in the terms and condi-
tions of employment, the Board will, if a violation is found,
generally order restoration of the status quo ante and require
that employees be made whole for any benefits which have
unilaterally been discontinued. See, e.g. Atlas Tack Corp., 226
N.L.R.B. 222 (1976), enf’d, 559 F.2d 1201 (Ist Cir. 1977);
American Lubricants Co., 136 N.L.R.B. 946 (1962). In
contrast to a court in an ERISA action, the Board can remedy in
a single proceeding all manifestations of an unfair labor
practice, not solely the failure to make benefit fund contnbu-
tions. Additionally, the Board has in certain circumstances
ordered employers to reimburse the charging party and the
NLRB for litigation costs. /nternational Union of Electrical,
Radio & Machine Workers, AFL-CIO ( Tiidee Products, Inc.) v.
NLRB, 426 F.2d 1243 (D.C. Cir. 1970). reh'g denied, 431 F.2d
1206 ( 1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 950 (1970), on remand, 194
N.L.R.B. 1234 (1972). See also J.P. Stevens & Co., 244
N.L.R.B. 406 (1979), enforced and remanded. 668 F.2d 767
(4th Cir. 1982), vacated and remanded, 458 U.S. 1118 (1982)
(in light of Summit Valley Indus. v. Local 112 Carpenters, 456
U.S. 717 (1982) (applying the “American Rule” in an action
under § 303 of LMRA, but recognizing exceptions “where
necessary to further the interests of justice”) )."

14In NLRB v. Food Store Employees Local 347 (Heck’s Inc.),
417 US. at 8-9, this Court approved a distinction between “frivolous”
and “debatable” defenses addressed by the Board in Tiidee Products,
Inc., 194 N.L.R.B. 1234 (1972), and Heck’s, Inc., 191 N.L.R.B. 886
(1971).

1

In sum, it is clear that the NLRB is equipped to, can, and
has addressed the issues raised by Petitioners in this litigation
and can provide and has provided effective remedial relief for
violations such as those alleged in this case. '5

IT.

BENEFIT PLANS SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO
RESORT TO THE NLRB AND GIVE BINDING
EFFECT TO ITS DECISIONS.

Where the NLRB has issued a complaint and, after
hearing, either dismisses the complaint, finding no violation, or
finds a violation, the matter should end. Trustees and their
funds should not have any fiduciary obligations or right to
relitigate the issues in an ERISA suit. If not precluded,
relitigation would risk inconsistent adjudications and drain the
resources of the funds. ERISA's fiduciary obligations should
mot require, and conservation of judicial resources should
preclude, such risks. See e.g., United States v. Utah Constr. &
Mining Co., 384 U.S. 394, 422 (1966); NLRB v. Heyman, 541
F.2d 796 (9th Cir. 1986); International Wire v. IBEW Local
38, 475 F.2d 1079 (6th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 867
(1973) (involving § 303 of Act). The risks absent application
of res judicata or collateral estoppel or other limitation on
relitigation are clearly present. Compare United Brick & Clay
Workers v. Deena Artware, Inc., 198 F.2d 637 (6th Cir. 1952),
cert. denied, 344 U.S. 897 (1953) (hereinafter Deena I], with
United Brick & Clay Workers v. Deena Artware, Inc., 198 F.2d
645 (6th Cir 1952) [hereinafter Deena //|. In Deena I, 198
F.2d at 637, the court of appeals upheld a district court
judgment in a suit brought against a union under § 303 of the
LMRA for secondary activity in violation of Section 8(b)( 4) of

'S NLRB’s remedial authority is limited two the extent that its
remedies cannot be punitive in nature. Phelps Dodge Corp. v. NLRB.
313 US. 177 (1941). Insofar as it might be argued that this
limitation would preclude the NLRB from giving the same scope of
relief as is available under ERISA, this Court has long held that
differences in relief available are not relevant to the jumsdictional issue
vel mon. See, Avco Corp v. Aero Lodge 735, 390 US. 557. 561
( 1968); Garner v. Teamsters, 346 US. at 489-99.

13

the NLRA. In Deena II, 198 F.2d at 645, which involved the
same events, the court affirmed an NLRB trial examiner’s
finding that the union had not engaged in secondary activity.
The court stated:

Under our existing system of courts, juries, administrative
agencies and appellate review, such findings, even though
inconsistent, are not invalid and one does not destroy the
other. The two proceedings even though arising out of the
same labor dispute were heard by separate fact finding
agencies. The witnesses in the two proceedings were not
the same, the cross-examinations of some witnesses who
testified in both were not by the same attorney. Neces-
sarily, the evidence produced in the different proceedings
by such testimony was not identical. Each fact finding
agency was entitled tc make its own decision upon the
evidence before it.

United Brick & Clay Workers v. Deena Artware, Inc., \98 F.2d
at 642. See also, Pantex Towing Corp. v. Glidenwell, 763 F.2d
1241 (llth Cir. 1985); O'Hare v. General Marine Transp.
Corp., 740 F.2d 160 (2d Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1212
(1985) (addressing the separate status of trust funds from
unions and finding no privity between them. thus obviating any
res judicata effect to Board proceedings); Quinn v. DiGiulian,
739 F.2d 637 (D.C. Cir. 1984)."¢

While inconsistencies may be unavoidable in certain cir-
cumstances as a result of Congress’ decision to confer jurisdic-
tion on both the district courts and the NLRB in certain
matters, they are not conducive to a unified and coherent
national labor policy. Inconsistencies should not be allowed to
multiply as a result of the unnecessary exercise of jumsdiction by
the district courts over only discrete parts of core unfair labor
practices. This is especially so where. as here, Congress clearly
intended to confer jurisdiction in the distmc: courts under § 502
of ERISA only where an employer’s conduct violated the terms

6 The O’Hare case highlights the impact and uncertainty created
in the collective bargaining process by longer limitations penods
under ERISA. The Court had previously heid an NLRB complaint
case time barred under § 10(b) of the Act and allowed suit under
ERISA on the same operative facts.

14

of an existing collective bargaining agreement ( or of a pension
plan incorporated or adopted therein).

Requiring exclusive resort by the funds to the NLRB in
cases such as this eliminates the risks of inconsistent adjudica-
tions and any probiems of the applicability of res judicata.
Giving res judicata effect to a final decision of the NLRB, after
a full opportunity for hearing, brings the matter to an end
(subject to 4i Is) wid aan Rdnndt :
not only the assets of trust funds such as Petitioners but also
conserving judicial resources

The remaining issue its the General Counsel’s almost
absolute, unreviewable discretion under the Act. subject to
certain possible limited exceptions, to dismiss an unfair labor
practice charge after investigation. See, NLRB v. Sears,
Roebuck & Co., 421 US. 132. 138-39 (1975): Jackman v.
NLRB, 784 F.2d 759 ( 6th Cir. 1986); Machinists v. Lubbers,
68! F.2d 598 (%h Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 US. 1201
(1983). There appears to be no basis for the application of res
judicata t© an administrative investigation without a hearing on
the merits. See VLAB v. Denver Bidg. Trades Council. 34\ US.
675 (1951): Local 290, Teamsters v. LE. Schilling Co., 340
F.2d 286 (Sth Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 972 ( 1976).

15

If this Court determines to reverse the decision below and
hold court jurisdiction under ERISA exists to consider and
decide core unfair labor practice issues under the Act in the
absence of a collective bargaining agreement, the Court should
also require prior resort to the NLRB and declare that trustees
may rely on an administrative determination dismissing a
charge without fear that failure to file suit will constitute breach
of their fiduciary duties.‘? No reason exists in law or in fact,
given NLRB expertise, to argue that reliance on an adminis-
trative determination of no violation is somehow insufficient to
satisfy the fiduciary obligations of trustees. The Court should
also consider declaring that the principles and rationale of De/
Costello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. at 151, are equally applicable to
cases arising under ERISA and that § 10( b) of the Act is to be
applied in actions arising under § 502 of ERISA.

'T ERISA requires plan fiduciaries wo discharge their duties as
would a prudent man acting in like capacity. § 404 of ERISA. Palino
v. Casey. 664 F.2d 854 ( ist Cir. 1981). When, as here. the obligation
to contribute to benefit funds rests solely on an underlying unfair
labor practice, referral of the matter to the NLRB via an unfair labor
practice charge is prudent conduct because the Board ts the most
efficient and least expensive vehicle for the resolution of such disputes.
Should the General Counsel, after investigation. dismiss the charge it
would be prudent to rely on his determination. See, Czyz v. General
Pension Bd. Bethlehem Sieel Corp.. 578 F Supp. 126 (WD Pa
1983), where the court found that trustees’ referral to an independent
expert on issue of “good health” in order to conserve plan assets was a
sound basis for fiduciary action.

For this Court to declare that a decision by the trustees to rely on
a decision of tne General Counsel dismissing the unfair |abor practices
charge upon which the alleged duty to contribute rests would preserve
the judgment of the trustees, eliminate a risk of challenge to their
judgment, and enhance the probability that fund assets will be
conserved.

Dated: July 10. 1987

T. J. Wray
David M. Thomas

Counsei for the Associated
General Contractors of
Amenica. Inc.

17

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, A.J. Harper Il, Counsel of Record for Associated
General Contractors of America, Inc., do hereby certify that
pursuant to Rules 28.3 and 28.5(b) of the Rules of the
Supreme Court of the United States, true and correct copies of
the foregoing Motion for Leave to File a Brief Amicus Curiae in
Support of the Respondent and Brief of the Associated Genera!
Contractors of America, Inc., as Amicus Curiae were served
upon the following individuals on this the 10th day of July,
1987, by placing same in the United States mail, certified,

Blythe Mickelson. Esq.

Van Bourg, Weinberg, Roger & Rosenfeld
875 Battery Street

San Francisco, California 94111

COUNSEL OF RECORD FOR PETITIONERS
LABORERS HEALTH AND WELFARE TRUST
FUND FOR NORTHERN CALIFORNIA, ET AL.

Mark S. Ross, Esq.

Schachter, Kristoff, Ross, Sprague & Curiale
101 California Street. Suite 2900

San Francisco, Califorma 94111

COUNSEL OF RECORD FOR RESPONDENT
ADVANCED LIGHTWEIGHT CONCRETE CO..
INC.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0210%3A17. Public record. Not legal advice.
