# Amicus Curiae Brief — Transcontinental Pipe Line Corp. v. State Oil & Gas Bd.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0165%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 409

## Text

)
No. 84-1076 | FEB a 1985

Ce 3TEVAS.

CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

rte “Su y me + US. |

TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE CORPORATION,
Appellant,

V.

THE STATE OIL AND GAS BOARD OF MISSISSIPPI AND
COASTAL EXPLORATION, INC., et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Mississippi

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
ASSOCIATED GAS DISTRIBUTORS IN SUPPORT
OF APPELLANT’S JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

FREDERICK MORING
Counsel of Record

M. LISANNE CROWLEY
CROWELL & MORING
1100 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 452-5800

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Associated Gas Distribut: rs

February 1, 1985

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

ASSOCIATED GAS DISTRIBUTORS
MEMBER COMPANIES

Atlanta Gas Light Co.

Baltimore Gas & Electric Co.

Bay State Gas Co.

The Berkshire Gas Co.

Boston Gas Co.

The Brooklyn Union Gas Co.

Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp.
Chesapeake Utilities Corp.

City of Holyoke, Mass., Gas & Electric Dept.
City of Norwich, Dept. of Public Utilities
City of Westfield Gas & Electric Light Dept.
Colonial Gas Co.

Commonwealth Gas Co.

Concord Natural Gas Corp.

Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.
Delmarva Power & Light Co.
Elizabethtown Gas Co.

EnergyNorth, Inc.

Essex County Gas Co.

Fitchburg Gas & Electric Light Co.
Lynchburg Gas Co.

New Jersey Natural Gas Co.

New York State Electric & Gas Corp.

North Carolina Natural Gas Corp.
Northeast Georgia Municipal Gas Utilities
Northeast Utilities

Northern Utilities, Inc.

Pennsylvania Gas & Water Co.

Pequot Gas Co.

Philadelphia Electric Co.

Philadelphia Gas Works

Providence Gas Co.

Public Service Company of North Carolina, Inc.
Public Service Electric & Gas Co.

South County Gas Co.

South Jersey Gas Co.

The Southern Connecticut Gas Co.

UGI Corporation

Valley Gas Co.

Washington Gas Light Co.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........................--..-------0--00+-

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE .........................--.--

CONSENT OF THE PARTIES ...............-----.----0--00-20---+

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...................-.----------------

a cccsseIDRIONONENOS eenesenncenmonets

I.

Il.

Ill.

IV.

THE QUESTION OF WHETHER THIS
COURT’S DECISION IN THE NORTHERN
NATURAL CASE WAS OVERRULED BY
THE NATURAL GAS POLICY ACT OF 1978
S| yg FS SEE NEEE

REGULATION OF INTERSTATE GAS PIPE-
LINES, AS MANDATED BY THE NATURAL
GAS ACT, CONTINUES TO BE THE RE-
SPONSIBILITY OF THE FEDERAL GOV-
IIIT seniansinisnsssnannndeinsistectnsniasastmnemmecnenennsessaceanes

PROCEEDINGS CURRENTLY PENDING IN
THE FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY
COMMISSION ARE ON A_ COLLISION
COURSE WITH THE MISSISSIPPI RATA-
Fe Ss BE | + ee

THE GROWTH OF DIVERGENT STATE
REGULATION OF INTERSTATE PIPELINE
PURCHASING PRACTICES STANDS AS A
SIGNIFICANT THREAT TO THE INTER-
ESTS OF THE NATION’S GAS CONSUM-
tiene dessansehindaninignttiningninneneemesmesesmmnemmatesenmssamneatanes

11

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. v. Arkansas
Public Service Commission, US. , 103
2 Se Ff) |

Atlantic Refining Co. v. Public Service Commission
of New York, 360 U.S. 378 (1959) ..........--.--------

Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, 411 U.S. 624
CITT ccctanensecsiscctnsceneesassnconenanitansnninnnteinnenmnnmestitiiont

Exxon Corp. v. Eagerton,
GE CRG) nnn eannn snes nen nn nn nvnsesenennsensceoscesnosnere

Federal Power Commission v. Hope Natural Gas
Co., 820 U.S. 591 (1944) 2222.2......--..-.----000----cneecneee

Federal Power Commission v. Texaco, Inc., 417
ie SS ) | Ranssnrnseeereene

Federal Power Commission v. Transcontinental
Gas Pipe Line Corporation, 365 U.S. 1 (1961) ..

Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul,
A yyy

Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981).........

Missouri ex. rel. Barrett v. Kansas Nutural Gas
Co., 265 U.S. 298 (192A) .........-......-...---ecceeceeeceeeses

Mobil Oil Corp. v. Federal Power Commission, 417
of 8 er Seen

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. State Corporation
Commission, 372 U.S. 84 (1963) ........-.....----------

Pacific Gas and Electric Co. v. State Energy Re-
sources Conservation and Development Com-
mission, —— U.S. ——, 103 S.Ct. 1713 (1983)...

Decisions and Orders of the Federal Energy Regula-
tory Commission:

Columbia Gas Transmission Corporation, Docket
No. TA81-1-21, et al., Opinion No. 204, 26
FERC {61,034 (January 16, 1984), appeal

8, 16

13

docketed, No. 84-1099, et al. (D.C. Cir.) -......... 9,10, 13

El Paso Natural Gas Company, Docket No. RP82-
38, et al., Order on Rehearing Modifying Prior
Orders, Consolidating Cases, and Setiing Hear-
ing, 26 FERC { 61,8366 (March 21, 1984) .......

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

MIGC, Inc., Docket No. RP84-15-000, et al., Or-

der Accepting Filing, Consolidating Proceedings

and Setting Matters for Hearing, 26 FERC

61,369 (March 21, 1984) .........----------------------- 10
Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Company, Docket

No. TA84-1-23-002, Order Establishing Hearing

Procedures, 26 FERC { 61,339 (March 16,

TODA) occa enecnn noe -eanecncsiseenesevemnenaresvecnenasinoemenesnerucsecees 10
Southern Natural Gas Company, Docket No.

TA&4-1-7-000, et al., Order Consolidating Pro-

ceedings and Setting Matters for Hearing, 26

FERC { 61,371 (March 21, 1984) .............------------ 10
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., Docket No.

TA83-2-29-001, et al., Order Establishing Hear-

ing Procedures on Deferred Purchasing Prac-

tices Issues, 26 FERC { 61,361 (March 21,

BODE) -..0----n.2neev-eveceeneenesanocvenenesnvsesenamvenctenenesossesoonees 10
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., Docket Nos.

TA&5-1-27-000 and TA85-1-29-001, Order Ac-

cepting and Suspending Proposed Tariff Sheets

Subject to Refund and Conditions (October 31,

| oo 12
Trunkline Gas Company, Docket No. TA83-1-30-

002, et al., Order Setting Matter for Hearing

and Consolidating Proceedings, 26 FERC

§ 61,363 (March 21, 1984) .............--------------------- 10

United States Constitution:

Article I, Section 8, clause 3 (“Commerce
Cm) nnaene—n.2nneon-neoe-snasacsraoanonsecoesoeennnsenesnacensosoes 5,8

United States Statutes:
Natural Gas Act of 1938, 15 U.S.C. § 717 (1982) ..passim

Section 1(b), 15 U.S.C. § 717 ........-.--.--------------- 9
Section 4, 15 U.S.C. § 717(c) ......-.-.---------------- 9, 11,13
Section 5, 15 U.S.C. § 717 (d) ..........-.-------------- 9,11, 13
Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978, 15 U.S.C. § 3301
et Seq. (1982) ........-...--------ce-neeecerenennsenesene saneesnesnees passim

Section 601(c), 15 U.S.C. § 3431 (c) -..........---- 1l

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-1076

TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE CORPORATION,
Appellant,
Vv.

THE STATE OIL AND GAS BOARD OF MISSISSIPPI AND
COASTAL EXPLORATION, INC., et al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of Mississippi

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
ASSOCIATED GAS DISTRIBUTORS IN SUPPORT
OF APPELLANT’S JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Associated Gas Distributors (AGD) is an unincorpo-
rated association whose members (listed on the inside
cover of this brief) are gas distribution companies located
along the eastern seaboard of the United States from
New England through Georgia. Together, the AGD com-
panies serve over eleven million customers, and their an-
nual sales comprise approximately 25 percent of the gas
sold through the nation’s interstate gas supply network.

2

Each AGD member purchases its natural gas for resale
from one or more of the major, regulated interstate gas
pipeline companies, including the Transcontinental Gas
Pipe Line Corporation (Transco), Appellant in this pro-
ceeding. A number of AGD members purchase a substan-
tial portion of their gas supply from Transco; these AGD
companies are directly affected by any increase in Trans-
co’s rates.

The purpose of the present brief amicus curiae is two-
fold. First, AGD seeks to emphasize the substantiality of
the constitutional questions raised in this appeal by de-
scribing the historical and continuous federal preemption
of the regulation of interstate gas pipeline companies. In
particular, we note that at this very point in time, there
exists an imminent possibility of collision between the
Mississippi “ratable take” order, as affirmed by the Mis-
sissippi Supreme Court in its enforcement against Appel-
lant, Transco, and a proceeding pending in the Federal
Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC or Commission)
to investigate that pipeline’s purchasing practices.

The second purpose of AGD in submitting the present
brief is to apprise the Court of the critical nature of this
issue for consumers of natural gas nationwide who de-
pend upon a comprehensive federal system of regulation
of our nation’s interstate gas pipeline network. As other
states, including the larger, gas-producing states, begin to
enforce “ratable-take” schemes against pipelines as does
the Mississippi order challenged here, the consequences
for the ultimate consumers, who absorb the increased
costs and uncertainties that result therefrom, will be
severe.

As public utilities, the members of AGD have an obli-
gation to protect their customers agains® she peyment of
excessive and unlawful natural gas prices. Therefore,
AGD has a substantial and direct interest in the outcome
of this appeal. For this reason, AGD submits this brief
amicus curiae in support of the Appellant.

3

CONSENT OF THE PARTIES

AGD has obtained the written consent of all the parties
to this appeal for its filing of the present brief amicus
curiae. The consent statements are attached to the origi-
nal signed copy hereof filed with the Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. In upholding the Mississippi Oil & Gas Board’s or-
der directing Transco to take gas ratably, the Mississippi
Supreme Court held, in effect, that this Court’s decision in
Northern Natural is no longer good law as to purchases
by interstate pipelines of gas whose price at the wellhead
was deregulated by the Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978
(NGPA). Given that this Court rejected state regulation
in this area even before the enactment of federal legisla-
tion governing interstate sales of natural gas, and that
this Court relied specifically on the precedential value of
Northern Natural in a case decided after the passage of
the NGPA, the question of whether the court below mis-
interpreted the rationale of Northern Natural, in other
words, whether state regulation of purchasing practices
of interstate gas pipelines remains preempted by federal
law, is substantial.

Il. Under the Natural Gas Act of 1938 (NGA), the
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC or Com-
mission) (formerly the Federal Power Commission) was
given the responsibility to regulate the purchasing prac-
tices of interstate pipeline companies. The Commission’s
exclusive jurisdiction over interstate p.pelines was unaf-
fected by passage of the NGPA. Proceedings to investi-
gate the purchasing practices of pipelines which cur-
rently pend at the FERC demonstrate that the Commis-
sion is continuing to regulate in this area and, therefore,

the intrusion of state regulatory agencies would be un-
lawful.

III. An illustration of the conflict, and potential for
inconsistency, that would result from state regulation of

4

interstate pipeline purchasing practices is the pendency of
a proceeding at the FERC to investigate the purchasing
practices of Transco. It is conceivable that the Commis-
sion, pursuant to its NGA authority, will find Transco’s
compliance with the Mississippi ratable take order to be
an unlawful purchasing practice under federal law.
There exists the imminent possibility of collision between
federal and state law; therefore, under this Court’s inter-
pretation of the doctrine of federal preemption, the state
law must fall.

IV. In enacting the NGA and the NGPA, Congress
charged the FERC with the fundamental responsibility
of protecting the interests of the nation’s gas consumers.
Diverse, perhaps conflicting state regulation of the inter-
state pipeline network will ignure nationwide energy con-
cerns, and will inhibit the ability of the FERC to fulfill
its federal regulatory role.

ARGUMENT

I. THE QUESTION OF WHETHER THIS COURT'S
DECISION IN THE NORTHERN NATURAL CASE
WAS OVERRULED BY THE NATURAL GAS POL-
ICY ACT OF 1978 IS SUBSTANTIAL.

In Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation v. The
State Oil & Gas Board of Mississippi and Coastal Explo-
ration, Inc., et al., Brief for Appellant at Appendix A, the
Mississippi Supreme Court was faced with the same issue
that was decided by this Court in Northern Natural Gas
Co. v. State Corporation Commission, 372 U.S. 84 (1963).
Yet, in upholding the validity of the Mississippi Oil &
Gas Board’s “ratable take” order, the Mississippi court
made the opposite decision. Whether the Mississippi Su-
preme Court’s holding flouted a Supreme Court decision
that continues to be good law after passage of the Nat-
ural Gas Policy Act of 1978, 15 U.S.C. § 3301 et seg.
(1982) is a substantial question which requires a deter-
mination by this Court.

5

Prior to any federal regulation of sales for resale, or
“wholesale sales,” of natural gas in interstate commerce,
this Court refused to permit state regulation in the field
on the ground that it imposed a direct burden on inter-
state commerce in violation of the Commerce Clause of
the Constitution. See, i.e., Missouri ex rel. Barrett v.
Kansas Natural Gas Co., 265 U.S. 298 (1924). In enact-
ing the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717 (1982), the
Congressional committee reports noted that such sales

. . . have been considered to be not local in character
and, even in the absence of Congressional action, not
subject to State regulation. The basic nurpose of the
present legislation is to occupy this field in which the
Supreme Court has held that the States may not
act.” H.R. Rep. No. 709, 75th Cong., Ist Sess. 1-2;
S. Rep. No. 1162, 75th Cong., 1st Sess. 1-2 (citations
omitted) (emphasis added).

Quoted in Exxon Corp. v. Eagerton, US. ——, 103
S. Ct. 2296, 2302-03 (1983). Thus, prior to any federal
regulation—or deregulation—of the field, state regulation
was considered inappropriate with regard to interstate
sales of natural gas. The Natural Gas Act then was en-
acted to explicitly authorize federal regulation of the rates
which a producer and a pipeline could charge their inter-
state customers on a standard of justness and reason-
ableness.

In 1963, this Court was presented with the question
whether the State of Kansas was entitled to force an
interstate pipeline company which purchased gas within
the State to take ratably from all Kansas producers con-
nected to its system. After first rejecting the State’s
argument that its ratable take order was directed to the
“production and gathering” of natural gas, which is ex-
empt from federal regulation under the NGA, the Court
held the Kansas ratable take order invalid on the ground
that it “invade[d] the exclusive jurisdiction which the
Natural Gas Act has conferred upon the Federal Power
Commission over the sale and transportation of natural
gas in interstate commerce for resale.” Northern Natu-

6

ral, 372 U.S. at 89. The Court stated that the federal
regulatory scheme left no room for either direct or in-
direct state regulation of the prices of interstate whole-
sale sales of gas, id. at 91, and, more importantly for
the purpose of these proceedings, that

[t]he danger of interference with the federal regu-
latory scheme arises because these orders are unmis-
takably and unambiguously directed at purchasers
who take gas in Kansas for resale after transporta-
tion in interstate commerce. In effect, these orders
shift to the shoulders of interstate purchasers the
burden of performing the complex task of balancing
the output of thousands of natural gas wells within
the State, cf. Miller Bros. Co. v. Maryland, 347 U.S.
340—a task which would otherwise presumably be
the State Commission’s. Moreover, any readjust-
ment of purchasing patterns which such orders might
require of purchasers who previously took unratably
could seriously impair the Federal Commission’s au-
thority to regulate the intricate relationship between
the purchasers’ cost structures and eventual costs to
wholesale customers who sell to consumers in other
States. This relationship is a matter with respect to
which Congress has given the Federal Power Com-
mission paramount and exclusive authority. See Fed-
eral Power Comm’n v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320
U.S. 591, 610.

Id. at 92. The language of this passage clearly indicates
that the Court’s basis for finding a federal regulatory
scheme which preempted the state order was the federal
regulation not simply of wellhead prices but of interstate
pipeline-purchasers and their purchasing patterns, the
readjustment of which could “seriously impair” the Com-
mission’s ability to regulate the pipelines’ cost structures
and sales to wholesale customers, i.e., distributors.

In 1978, Congress passed the Natural Gas Policy Act,
15 U.S.C. § 3301 et seg. (1982) (NGPA). The NGPA
removed from FERC jurisdiction the regulation of well-

7

head prices of certain categories of gas, and restructured
wellhead price regulation for the remaining categories.
The NGPA did not affect the ongoing regulation of pipe-
lines under the Natural Gas Act’s just and reasonable
standard.

In the present case, the Mississippi Supreme Court
upheld the order of its State Oil & Gas Board directing
Transco to take gas ratably from all producers in a com-
mon source of supply. The court acknowledged that if
this case had been brought prior to 1978, it would have
been bound by this Court’s decision in Northern Natural,
but that the key distinction between the two cases was
the passage of the NGPA and the fact that the state
ratable take order affected “deregulated gas.” That its
order was directed against an interstate pipeline which
was not deregulated by the NGPA was not discussed.

Neither did the court acknowledge that in Maryland
v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981), decided after the pas-
sage of the NGPA, this Court indicated that Northern
Natural was still considered good law. In Maryland, the
Court determined that a Louisiana “First Use” Tax on
natural gas brought into the state, primarily, from the
Outer Continental Shelf, which was borne by pipelines
and then passed through to the ultimate consumer, “like
the state Commission’s order in Northern Natural,” was
“inconsistent with the federal scheme and must give
way.” Id. at 751. The Court relied heavily on Northern
Natural for this determination, quoting the passage that
described the state requirement as liable to “ ‘seriously
impair the Federal Commission’s authority to regulate
the intricate relationship between the purchaser’s cost
structures and eventual costs to wholesale customers who
sell to consumers in other states.’” Jd. at 750, quoting
Northern Natural, 372 U.S. at 92.

Ironically, the Mississippi Supreme Court itself recog-
nized that the fact that Congress had withdrawn federal
regulation of wellhead pricing control did not end the

8

inquiry, for it quoted this Court’s statement in Arkansas
Electric Cooperative Corp. v. Arkansas Public Service
Commission that

a federal decision to forego regulation in a given
area may imply an authoritative federal determina-
tion that the area is best left unregulated, and in
that event would have as much preemptive force as
a decision to regulate.

U.S. ——, 103 S. Ct. 1905, 1912 (1983) (emphasis
in original). Despite this statement, the court below
gave no explanation, nor did it cite to a single specific
authority or indicate that the legislative history was even
consulted, for its conclusion that “what, and all, the Con-
gress has done insofar as we are concerned is strip away
federal regulatory authority thus leaving in effect and
wholly exercisable such state regulatory authority as
otherwise exists.” Brief for Appellant, Appendix A at
29a. Neither did the court, in rejecting the argument
that the ratable-take order violated the Commerce Clause,
address the fact that this type of state regulation had
been invalidated by the Supreme Court prior to any
federal regulation in the area.

State authority to regulate interstate pipeline purchas-
ing practices through measures such as ratable take or-
ders has never existed, was specifically rejected by the
Court in Northern Natural on grounds independent from
those aspects of federal jurisdiction which were removed
by the NGPA, and cannot exist today given the FERC’s
pervasive regulatory authority over the purchasing prac-
tices of interstate pipelines.

II. REGULATION OF INTERSTATE GAS PIPELINES,
AS MANDATED BY THE NATURAL GAS ACT,
CONTINUES TO BE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF
THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT.

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission derives
its authority to oversee and regulate the purchasing prac-
tices of the nation’s interstate gas pipelines from several

9

sources in the Natural Gas Act of 1938 (NGA), 15
U.S.C. $717 (1982). Furthermore, the Commission’s
responsibilities in this area were unaffected by passage
of the NGPA in 1978.

The broadest basis of FERC jurisdiction over interstate
pipelines is found in Section 1(b) of the NGA. 15 U.S.C.
§ 717. There, the Commission is given general authority
over (a) the transportation of natural gas in interstate
commerce, (b) the sale in interstate commerce of natural
gas for resale, and (c) companies engaged in such trans-
portation or sale.

Several substantive provisions of the NGA specifically
authorize the federal regulation of pipeline purchasing
practices. Section 4 of the NGA, 15 U.S.C. § 717(c),
governs pipeline rate increase proceedings, during which
“interested” parties (gas producers supplying the pipe-
line, pipeline customers and consumer representatives)
may raise questions concerning the “justness and reason-
ableness” of the purchasing pattern under which that
pipeline either acquired its gas supply in a past period
or proposes to acquire gas in the future. The Commis-
sion may then respond to these complaints by making
appropriate adjustments in the pipeline’s approved cost
of service.’

Under NGA Section 5, 15 U.S.C. § 717(d), the Com-
mission has authority to adjudicate the justness and rea-
sonableness of any pipeline “practice” which reflects the
rates and charges of that pipeline. If any such practice
is found to be unjust, unreasonable or unduly discrimina-
tory, the Commission is required by Section 5 to “fix”
the practice “to be thereafter observed.” Presumably,
this section could provide the basis for Commission action
affecting a pipeline’s gas purchasing practice in a man-
ner inconsistent with state ratable take schemes.

1 See, e.g., Columbia Gas Transmission Corp., Docket Nos. TA81-
1-21, et al., Opinion No. 204, 26 FERC { 61,034 at 61,096 (January
16, 1984), appeal docketed, No. 84-1099 et al. (D.C. Cir.).

10

The continued vitality of the Commission’s regulatory
authority over the purchasing practices of interstate pipe-
lines is evident in a series of cases currently pending at
FERC which involve inquiries into the past purchasing
practices of interstate pipelines. See Panhandle Eastern
Pipe Line Company, Docket No. TA84-1-28-002, Order
Establishing Hearing Procedures, 26 FERC { 61,339
(March 16, 1984); El Paso Natural Gas Company,
Docket No. RP82-33 et al., Order on Rehearing Modify-
ing Prior Orders, Consolidating Cases, and Setting Hear-
ing, 26 FERC { 61,366 (March 21, 1984); MIGC, Ine.,
Docket No. RP84-15-000, Order Accepting Filing, Con-
solidating Proceedings and Setting Matters for Hearing,
26 FERC { 61,369 (March 21, 1984); Trunkline Gas
Company, Docket No. TA83-1-30-002 et al., Order Set-
ting Matter for Hearing and Consolidating Proceedings,
26 FERC { 61,363 (March 21, 1984); Southern Natural
Gas Company, Docket No. TA84-1-7-000 et al., Order
Consolidating Proceedings and Setting Matters for Hear-
ing, 26 FERC {61,371 (March 21, 1984); Transcon-
tinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., Docket No. TA83-2-29-001
et al., Order Establishing Hearing Procedures on De-
ferred Purchasing Practices Issues, 26 FERC { 61,361
(March 21, 1984). Under the Commission’s new hear-
ing procedures for rate proceedings established in Opin-
ion Nos. 204 and 204-A, Columbia Gas Transmission Cor-
poration, Docket Nos. TA81-i-21, et al., 26 FERC
7 61,034 (January 16, 1984), appeal docketed, No. 84-
1099 et al. (D.C. Cir.), not only will the lawfulness of
a pipeline’s charged rates be judged by the NGPA con-
siderations of fraud and abuse,? but parties will also be

2 Prior to the NGPA’s passage, the pipelines’ ability to pass
through costs of gas to the distributors was a function of the
Commission’s determination as to the justness and reasonableness
of the proposed rates. Because the NGPA replaced the Commis-
sion’s authority to determine wellhead prices as to certain gas with
statutory “maximum lawful prices,” the Commission was directed
to deny passthrough of the wellhead cost of gas only where it

11

permitted to raise issues of “prudence,” the traditional
NGA Sections 4 and 5 measure of lawfulness, with re-
gard to a pipeline’s proposed rate increase. This opens
up the possibility for a pipeline’s purchase in conformity
with a state ratable take scheme, and its resulting in-
creased price of gas, to be deemed imprudent under fed-
eral standards and, therefore, unlawful.*

III. PROCEEDINGS CURRENTLY PENDING IN THE
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
ARE ON A COLLISION COURSE WITH THE MIS-
SISSIPPI RATABLE-TAKE RULING.

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission is cur-
rently conducting an investigation of the purchasing pat-
terns and practices of Transco, the disposition of which
could be directly contrary to, or inconsistent with
Transco’s obligation under the Mississippi ratable-take
mandate.

On September 28, 1984, Transco tendered for filing its
tariff sheets with the Commission seeking, among other
things, a revision of the Purchased Gas Adjustment
Clause contained in its FERC Gas Tariff. Transcon-
tinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation, Docket Nos. TA85-
1-27-000 and TA85-1-29-001. On October 12, 1984, AGD
filed a Motion to Intervene and Protest in this proceed-
ing, asserting that Transco had not demonstrated the
justness and reasonableness of its proposed rate in-
crease. AGD also raised several other important issues
with regard to the purchasing practices of Transco.
Specifically, AGD’s motion stated that:

AGD is aware that certain of Transco’s gas supply
agreements contain high percentage take-or-pay pro-

“determines that the amount paid [by the pipeline] was excessive
due to fraud, abuse or similar grounds.” 15 U.S.C. § 3431(c) (2).

3 The responsibility of the FERC to determine the legality of
pipeline purchasing practices after passage of the NGPA was
explained by FERC Chairman Raymond J. O’Connor in his letter
of December 13, 1984 to Senator John Heinz.

12

visions substantially identical to those contracts
found “unjust and unreasonable” by the Commis-
sion’s Opinion No. 204. AGD is particularly inter-
ested in the manner in which higher-priced contracts
with high percentage take-or-pay provisions have af-
fected, and will continue to affect, Transco’s purchas-
ing practices and cost of gas supply. Similarly, AGD
is aware that Transco’s November 1984-April 1985
purchase pattern will be influenced by a ruling of
the Mississippi Oil & Gas Board in which Transco is
required to accept deliveries on a “ratable take”
basis from certain Mississippi supply sources. It is
not clear that this pattern of Mississippi purchases
satisfied the just and reasonable standard applicable
to Transco’s purchase pattern under Sections 4 and
5 of the Natural Gas Act nor is it clear that pro
rata purchases of uncontrolled wellhead purchases are
consistent with the lowest reasonable cost standard.

Motion of AGD to Intervene and Protest at 7.

In its Order Accepting and Suspending Proposed Tariff
Sheets Subject to Refund and Conditions, issued in the
Transco rate proceeding on October 31, 1984, the Com-
mission responded to AGD’s concerns by ordering a pub-
lic hearing “concerning the lawfulness of Transco’s pro-
posed rates, including purchasing practices issues.”
(Emphasis added.) Although the Commission did not
specify, it is reasonable to infer that the “purchasing
practices issues” to be explored in the public hearing will
include, inter alia, the justness and reasonableness of
Transco’s purchasing practices as they have been directed
by the Mississippi Oil & Gas Board’s ratable take order.
The Commission stated that it was entitled to make this
inquiry pursuant to its authority under the Natura! Gas
Act, “particularly sections 4, 5, 8 and 15 thereof... .”
Id.

If, after the public hearing and investigation, the Com-
mission finds that Transco’s compliance with the Missis-

13

sippi ratable-take order is unjust and unreasonable,‘
the pipeline will be in the position of necessarily violat-
ing either state or federal law. The FERC would have
authority, furthermore, under the Natural Gas Act Sec-
tions 4 and 5 to order Transco to adhere in the future
to a particular purchasing pattern which is inconsistent
with the state ratable take scheme. As this Court reiter-
ated in the post-NGPA Maryland v. Louisiana case,
“(t]he FERC need not adjust its ruling to accommodate”
the state statute. 451 U.S. at 725. The case law clearly
directs that in such a situation of actual federal-state
conflict, where “compliance with both federal and state
regulations is a physical impossibility,” the Supremacy
Clause requires the state law to fall to the federal law.
Pacific Gas and Electric Company v. State Energy Re-
sources Conservation and Development Commission, ——
U.S. ——, 103 S. Ct. 1713, 1722 (1983), citing Florida
Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 1382,
142-43 (1963).

Importantly, the doctrine of federal preemption does
not apply only in cases of actual conflict between state
and federal law. The attempted state regulation must
fall in a situation where, “[a]t the very least, there is
an imminent possibility of collision.” Maryland v. Lou-
isiana, 451 U.S. at 725, citing Northern Natural, 372
U.S. at 92. Therefore, given the “imminent possibility”
of a FERC order directing Transco to change its pur-
chasing pattern in a manner inconsistent with the Mis-
sissippi ratable-take scheme, this state regulation is
preempted.

*It is conceivable that the FERC will rule that Transco’s pur-
chases of Mississippi gas were “imprudent,” i.e. that such pur-
chases were inconsistent with Transco’s duty to acquire gas at the
lowest reasonable cost and that its purchase pattern should be
adjusted to exclude some portion of the Mississippi production
required to be taken under that state’s Oil & Gas Board’s order.
See Columbia Gas Transmission Corp., supra, 26 FERC at 61,112.

14

IV. THE GROWTH OF DIVERGENT STATE REGU-
LATION OF INTERSTATE PIPELINE PURCHAS-
ING PRACTICES STANDS AS A SIGNIFICANT
THREAT TO THE INTERESTS OF THE NATION’S
GAS CONSUMERS.

The fundamental responsibility of the Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission is to protect the nation’s gas
consuming public against excessive rates and charges and
to set policies which provide natural gas “at the lowest
reasonable rate consistent with the maintenance of ade-
quate service.” Atlantic Refining Co. v. Public Service
Commission of New York, 360 U.S. 378, 388 (1959).
This protection is exactly what would be lost if the states
were permitted to enter individually into the field of
interstate pipeline regulation.

The Mississippi Supreme Court recognized the prob-
lem for consumers and described it thus:

Transco has the right to pass the costs it incurs in
purchasing natural gas through to the consumer. 15
U.S.C. § 3481(c). In this sense, it is not Transco
who experiences a burden, it is the consumer. If
higher purchasing prices at the wellhead lead to
higher prices to the consumer and a loss of markets,
this is simply one inevitable consequence of the free
market policies of the era of dereguiation with re-
spect to which Transco is vested by the negative
Commerce Clause with no right to complain.

Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation, Brief for
Appellant, Appendix A at 38a. What the court did not
mention, however, is that out-of-state consumers who are
burdened by the additional costs of pipelines’ compliance
with state ratable take orders have no recourse against
the producing state’s regulations. The Mississippi Oil &
Gas Board has neither the interest nor the responsibility
to assess the impact of its ratable take order on the
ultimate consumers in New York and New England of
the gas purchased originally from its state’s producers.

15

In fact, as Appellant noted, the Board expressly refused
to consider evidence submitted on the interstate impact
of its action. Brief for Appellant at 17. This is why
comprehensive federal regulation is important. The ques-
tion, put by this Court, is “whether state authority can
practicably regulate a given area,” Northern Natural,
372 U.S. at 84, citing Federal Power Commission v.
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation, 365 U.S. 1,
19-20 (1961). In this situation, the states can not and
will not consider national needs in regulation.

This problem takes on enormous proportions in light
of the fact that other gas-producing states, including
such heavy nationwide gas supply sources as Oklahoma
and Texas, are following the lead of Mississippi and
proposing to enforce ratable take obligations against
interstate pipeline companies.® In addition to the uni-
versal insensitivity to national energy needs that would
inevitably result, such state-by-state regulation over pipe-
line purchasing patterns would put impossible burdens
on the FERC’s ability to carry out its regulatory respon-
sibilities. In a closely analogous case, this Court struck
down a local airport anti-noise ordinance on federal pre-
emption grounds, noting, inter alia, that if other locali-
ties followed with ordinances of their own, “it is obvious
that fractionalized control of the timing of take-offs and
landings would severely limit the flexibility of the FAA
in controlling air flow.” Burbank v. Lockheed Air Ter-
minal, 411 U.S. 624, 639 (1973). Likewise, with con-
flicting state demands on a pipeline’s purchasing pattern,
the Commission would be unable to undertake any mean-
ingful supervision of the pipelines, as it is statutorily
bound to do.

This Court stated recently that

the production and transmission of energy is an ac-
tivity particularly likely to affect more than one

5 See Brief for Appellant at Appendices H, at 130a-135a, and I, at
136a-152a.

16

State, and its effect on interstate commerce is often
significant enough that uncontrolled regulation by
States can patently interfere with broader national
interests.

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. v. Arkansas Public
Commission, —— USS. , 103 S. Ct. 1905, 1908-09
(1983). In deciding for the state regulatory scheme over
the federal regulatory program. the Mississippi Supreme
Court went so far as to assert that “the economic con-
sequences of today’s decision for one or more of the
parties is of no significance, except insofar as the law
has provided otherwise.” Brief for Appellant, Appendix
A at 17a. The law has provided otherwise by recognizing
that as natural monopolies, interstate pipeline companies
must be regulated, and that the Federal Energy Regula-
tory Commission, charged with this responsibility, is al-
ways bound to consider the economic consequences of its
actions. See, e.g., FPC v. Texaco, Inc., 417 U.S. 380, 399
(1974); Mobil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 417 U.S. 283, 318
(1974); FPC v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591,
602 (1944).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, AGD urges the Court to
note probable jurisdiction in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

FREDERICK MORING
Counsel of Record

M. LISANNE CROWLEY
CROWELL & MORING
1100 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 452-5800

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Associated Gas Distributors

February 1, 1985

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0165%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
