# Amicus Curiae Brief — Witters v. Washington Department of Services for the Blind

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0164%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 481

## Text

Office - Supreme Court, US$
FILEDN

1985

No. 84-1070

ALBXANVER (. STEVAS

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

LARRY WITTERS,

Petitioner,
V.

STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR THE BLIND,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Washington

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS

Marc D. Srern
Counsel of Record
Lois C. WaLpMAN
Ronautp A. Krauss
AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS
15 East 84th Street
New York, New York 10028
(212) 879-4500

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of Authorities
Interest of the Amicus
Facts

Summary of Argument
Argument

I. This Case Solidly Implicates
Establishment Clause Values

II. In the Circumstances of This
Case, The Payments Witters Seeks
Do Not Establish Religion

A. Washington's Vocational
Rehabilitation Statute and
Its Application to This Case
Lack a Religious Purpose

B. The Challenged Statute,
Either on its Face or as
Applied, Does Not Have the
Effect of Advancing Religion
III. Free Exercise

IV. The Free Exercise Issue Need
Not Be Reached

Conclusion

vi

14

14

18

30

41

42

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Americans United v. Blanton,
433 F. Supp. 97 (M.D. Tenn.),
(3 judge court) aff'd, 434 U.S.
Din a. hk 6 6 «6 «6 6«€ © «© ee eo ce 48

Americans United v. Bubb, 379
F. Supp. 872 (D. Kan. 1974) ..... 24

Bender v. Williamsport Area School
District, 741 F.2d 538 (3d Cir.
1984), cert. granted, 53 U.S.L.W.
UZ se he Ee « 6 6 6« «€ «© «© «© OF

Bd. of Educ. v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236
(~~~ ThE cs « «¢ « «6 ¢ « «© e 9

Bob Jones University v. U.S., 103
S.Ct. 2017 (1985) . 2. 2. 2 © © © © © e 9S

Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296
(1940). 7 > .* . . . . * i = * .* 2 . o 31

D'Errico v. Lesmeister, 570
we ue Bee Giemebe 1963). . - « « « 24

Durham v. McLeod, 192 So.2d 202 (S.C.
(1972), aff'd, 413 U.S. 902 (1973). . 23

Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962). 8, 9

Everson v. Bd. of Educ., 330 U.S. 1
(1947). 2. 2 2 © © © © ow ew ew «8 9, 13, 27,
34, 35

F.C.C. v. Pacifica Foundation, 438
DUE "2. « « 6 «© ¢ « o ec e 44

Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968)... 8

Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S.
eee ae. ot eg ig eg pg « OE

Hunt v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734 (1973) .. 13

Lane v. Wilson, 307 U.S. 268 (1939) .. 18

Larkin v. Grendel's Den, 459 U.S.
pe i a aa a

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602
i. | Pl Ea a oe a P

Luetkemeyer v. Kaufmann, 364
F. Supp. 376 (Mo.), aff'd,
a ae ee eee os 6 «ee oe we OS

Lynch v. Donnelly, 104 S.Ct. 1355
(aed 6 + « wie ane -« 0 © Be BB. B8e 166
18, 28

Marsh v. Chambers, 103 S.ct. 3330
SOG a ae

McDaniel v. Paty, 435 U.S. 618
| Sa a a ee 7) Mey

Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349
fio > ara a a ae ae a ee ee ee

Minnick v. California Dep't of
Corrections, 452 U.S. 105
(1981). >. . . . . * . 7 . . . . . 7 . 41

Moore v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd.
Oe Deen, GOS Uclbe GF ChEPElc wc eo ew ew 4!

Mueller v. Allen, 103 S.Ct. 3062
inant: « ¢ s+ « «2 ¢ « « ¢-e os aes ae 2s
Y > ae

- iii -

Norwood v. Harrison, 413 U.S. 455
(1973). ° . ° e ° ° ° ° ° e e ° ° 336 40

NYCTA v. Beazer, 440 U.S. 568 (1979). . 41

PEARL v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756
Tee 6 « 6 6s 6s « 2.6 6 « Be B32 86;

Rescue Army v. Municipal Court, 331
Dee eee Ge 6 6 & &€ OS ee ee ee |

Reynolds v. U.S., 98 U.S. 145 (1878). . 10

Sacks v. Ga., 401 U.S. 144 (1971) ... 41

School District of Abington Twshp.
v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 305
(1963). _ @ . * * eo oe 7 oe 7 e ee eo a Ve 30

Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398
tn + £6 Ss + & + * 6 62 oe 6 ee 6
BBe Bae 330
35

Thomas v. Rev. Bd., 450 U.S. 707
[ones & a 6 & 6 & 6 ew Bee Be eee 29, MM.
33, 34, 35

Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672
eeenee & b- 06 & 6 eS ere ee ee el «CD

Tony and Susan Alamo Foundation v.
Secretary of Labor, 105 S.Ct. 1953
(1985). . oe oe @ . oe oe J * — oe _ — oe oe 15

Walz v. Tax Comm'n, 397 U.S. 664
en ce “koe se 6 ote & « © ote Oe 39

W. E. B. Dubois Clubs of America v.
Clark, 389 U.S. 309 (1967). ..... 41

Ww. Va. Bd. of Educ. v. Barnette, 319
* ie Bo Pa eee

Wheeler v. Barrera, 417 U.S. 402
(1974). e o o o _ o J _ o a oo _ o

Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263
(1981). _ oe oe * * s* — a oe o 21, 22,

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205
(1972). ° ° . . . 6 ° . . . . 10, 20,

Wolman v. Essex, 342 F. Supp. 399
(S.D. Ohio), aff'd, 409 U.S. 808
ts + 6.4 + hoe 6 6 ee ewe we oe GB

Wolman v. Walter, 433 U.S. 229
(1977). ° ° * . ° . « . ° ° ° . ° o 8,

Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306
(1952). o * oe a — — J o o e eo J eo Las

Other Authorities:

C. J. Antieau, P. M. Marks, & T. C.
Burke, Religion Under the State
Constitutions 23 ne « «¢.¢ «

Gianella, Religious Liberty,
Nonestablishment and Doctrinal
Development: Part I. The Religious
Liberty Guarantee, 80 Harv. L. Rev.
Ce Bey eee ee ee

W. G. Katz, Religion and American
Constitutions 22 (1964)

J. Madison, Memorial and
Remonstrance Against Religious
Assessments, Appendix to
Everson v. Bd. of Educ.,
7a wae See 6s et ee ll

18

38

31

23

26

20

32

40

27

- Veo

Statutes:

Rev. C. Wash. § 74.16.181 (1985)...

Washington State Constitution, Art. IX,
§ 4 . . > * . _ . * . . . . . . 7 .

Washington State Constitution, Art. I
§ bw . 7 . . . . . > . o . . . . *.

Interest of the Amicus

The American Jewish Congress is an
organization of American Jews, founded in
1918, dedicated to the protection of the
religious, political, civil and economic
liberties of all Americans, but particularly
those of American Jews. No liberty enjoyed
by Americans is more important to American
Jews than religious liberty. For this
reason, the American Jewish Congress has
filed many briefs in this Court and else-
where in cases raising religious liberty
issues.

The principle of non-establishment,
enshrined in the First Amendment, is an
indispensable element of religious liberty.
Hence, AJCongress has repeatedly urged that
the Establishment Clause be given a generous
construction. It has appeared repeatedly
before this Court urging the invalidation of
statutes intended to provide subsidies for
religious education. But the Establishment

Clause, more so perhaps than other

- vii -

constitutional principles, must not be
expanded indefinitely, for to do so inevi-
tably leads to clashes with that other
guarantee of religious liberty, the Free
Exercise Clause.

After careful study, AJCongress
believes that the Supreme Court of
Washington has interpreted the Establishment
Clause too expansively in this case. It is
filing this brief both to express those
views, and to propose an analysis of this
case which leaves intact this Court's
Establishment Clause jurisprudence.

The brief is filed with the consent

of the parties.

FACTS

The facts of this case are simple.
Petitioner Larry Witters, who is blind, has
been found eligible for vocational rehabili-
tation under a Washington statute, Rev. C.
Wash. § 74.16.181 (1985), providing for
funding to blind persons “so that they can
be trained to engage in gainful employment
and become self-supporting" (Decision of
Office of Hearings, Washington Department of
Social and Health Services, App. F-2).

Witters' application was denied by
the Washington State Department of Social
and Health Services* (hereafter
"Department") on the sole ground that he
intended to use the funds to pay for
ministerial training at a school of
theology. The Department found that

payments under these circumstances would

* The Department has since been renamed the
Department of Services for the Blind, Brief
in Opposition to the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari at l, n.l.

violate the Washington State Constitution,
Art. IX, § 4; Art. I, § ll. (App. F-2].
That decision was in turn upheld by both an
administrative law judge, [App. E-l], and
the trial court [App. C-l and D-1].

The Washington Supreme Court refused
to pass on the state constitutional issues
[App. A-2]. Instead, it held that granting
Witters' request would violate the Estab-
lishment Clause of the First Amendment to
the United States Constitution. It also
held that Witters' Free Exercise Clause
rights were not violated by the denial of
benefits on the sole ground that he wished
to use them at a school of theology [App.
1A-2]). One judge dissented [App. B-l].

This Court granted certiorari, 53

U.S.L.W. 3702 (1985).

Summary of Argument

1. Both the Establishment and Free

Exercise Clauses are indispensible for the

protection of religious liberty, and they
must be understood as part of a whole, so
that one does not dominate the other, and
distort the American notion of religious
liberty.

2. Non-establishment, as manifest
particularly in the prohibition on financial
aid to religious institutions, is an
essential element of religious liberty. So
is the guarantee of free exercise which
protects not only the right to believe but
the right to practice one's faith without
penalty.

3. Where these principles clash, as
will happen not infrequently in a 20th
century government, the Court should balance
the interests protected by each Clause to |
determine which of the two religion clauses
is more strongly ifplicated.

4. Because the Establishment Clause
was drafted, in large part, to prevent

government from taxing citizens to support

churches, any direct payment to a church or
religious educational institution raises
Establishment Clause concerns. Since
payment of Witters' tuition is such a
payment, it follows that the Establishment
Clause is solidly implicated in this case.

5. Nevertheless the significance of
that fact is mitigated by several factors
which gain significance in light of current
conditions.

a) Only those practices which
substantially advance religion are
unconstitutional. In comparison with other
practices upheld or invalidated by this
Court, Witters' case falls on the
permissible side, particularly since it does
not enhance the role of religion vis-a-vis
other social forces.

b) The benefit conferred on Witters
is available for a “broad spectrum" of
vocational programs, and only as the result

of private choice. There is thus little

risk that any of the four dangers the
Establishment Clause was designed to
forestall will occur. There is here no
i. evidence (or even
likelihood) of religious coercion;

ii. likelihood that religious
institutions will become overly dependent on
government because available funds may be
used in a wide variety of institutions,
solely as the result of independent choices
of a non-self-selecting class.

iii. parallel to the use of the
taxing power for the regular support of
churches which was the historical motivation
for the Establishment Clause.

iv. hint that granting Witter's
request will make religion “relevant to
one's standing in the political community."

6. The Free Exercise Clause is
applicable to a wide variety of cases. It
has been held to require government to allow

religious individuals to participate in

social welfare programs where only their
religious beliefs stand in the way of
eligibility. The Clause, whether or not
requiring the state to pay Witters' tuition,
does create “room in the joints" for such
payment.

7. Given the weakness of the
Establishment Clause claim in this case, the
Free Exercise Clause pulls this case over
the line. There is, however, no need for
the Court to now determine whether the Free
Exercise Clause mandates that Witters be
allowed to participate in the vocational
rehabilitation program, for constitutional
questions should not be decided absent
strict necessity to do so.

Argument

The sometimes conflicting demands of
the Establishment and Free Exercise Clauses,
particularly as applied to the varied
activities of the modern state, have forced

this court to struggle:

«= »

; ; 0) La1a fa ki Vet GIRS Sry Foe
et \— =
se ae é j

| | o “ites seh Ok ee Rio saints as
ian : ; “ r a - y

to find a neutral course between the
two Religion Clauses, both of which
are cast in absolute terms, and
either of which, if expanded to a
logical extreme, would tend to clash
with the other.

Walz v. Tax Comm'n, supra, 397 U.S. 664, 668

(1970). See also Thomas v. Review Board,

450 U.S. 707, 720-22 (1981) (Rehnquist, J.,
dissenting).

This neutral course requires that
neither clause may be sacrificed entirely in
favor of the other. Each must be understood
and applied with reference to the other,
always with an eye towards achieving the
ultimate goal of the clauses viewed as a
whole: the protection of religious liberty

in a pluralistic society, School District of

Abington Twshp. v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203,

305 (1963) (Goldberg, J., concurring).
Such religious liberty, as understood
in both federal and state constitutional

law, mandates that religion be a voluntary

enterprise, without government sanction or

support, Larkin v. Grendel's Den, 459 U.S.

116 (1982); Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421

(1962); Everson v. Bd. of Educ., 330 U.S. l

(1947). This means stringent restrictions
on governmental assistance to religious

institutions. See, e.g., Mueller v. Allen,

103 S.Ct. 3062 (1983); Flast v. Cohen, 392

U.S. 83 (1968); Everson v. Bd. of Educ., 330

U.S. 1, 16 (1947).*
The decisions of this Court, see,

e.g., Wolman v. Walter, 433 U.S. 229 (1977),

PEARL v. Nyquist, 4:3 U.S. 756 (1973); Lemon

v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) reflect

this understanding.
The prohibition on financial aid to

religious institutions is not merely

* All but a few state constitutions mirror
this understanding, and embody rigorous and
explicit restrictions on aid to religious
education. See C. J. Antieau, P. M. Marks,
& T. C. Burke, Religion under the State
Constitutions 23 C1365)

"technical," or ancillary to other, more
significant, purposes of the religion
clauses. It is, rather, at the very core of
that Amendment. "({Fljlor the men who wrote
the Religion Clauses of the First Amendment
the ‘establishment' of a religion connoted
sponsorship, financial support and active
involvement of the sovereign in religious

activity," Walz v. Tax Comm'n, supra, 397

U.S. at 668.
Government assistance not only
unfairly compels persons to support churches

not of their own choosing, Everson v. Bd. of

Educ., supra, 330 U.S. at 12-13, but also

poses significant risks to the independence
and autonomy of religious institutions,

Lynch v. Donnelly, 104 S.Ct. 1355, 1366

(1984) (O'Connor, J., concurring); Lemon v.

Kurtzman, supra, 403 U.S. at 620, the

political and religious neutrality of

government, Engel v. Vitale, supra, and

threatens to make religion relevant to one's

« 36 =

standing in the political community, Lynch

v. Donnelly, supra, 104 S.Ct. at 1366

(O'Connor, J., concurring).

Just as the Establishment Clause
protects against governmental support for
religion, so the Free Exercise Clause
protects against unnecessary government
interference with religion. Particularly
with the growth of the welfare and
regulatory state, religious liberty, as
guaranteed by the Free Exercise Clause, has
come to mean more than the right to hold and
teach beliefs at variance with those cf the

majority, cf. Reynolds v. U.S., 98 U.S. 145

(1878).

It guarantees, for example, that
individuals will not be penalized by
government for putting those beliefs into

practice, Thomas v. Rev. bd., supra,

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972);

Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398 (1963),

even if, as in Thomas and Sherbert, the

*

7 a a, £

LJ ‘
i

ae * —
ben
> a

i “oo 5 -

7 haa i he .

%, 7 :
xd " : fi ie

: a
Le
' 1?
a | ee a ee
—_ - ¢
1
:
+
* y** '
‘ a
1) *
.
mm Z +
*
a - ee a
\ ; ‘ cet 2 ee sd . ae >) ni ‘ d at ‘ J

« i ee
- a)
= : .
" 7 a

— ta

result is what might argvably be termed an
indirect subsidy of religion.

In view of these now well settled
principles in cases such as this, both free
exercise and non-estabdlishment values are
implicated. The single-minded application
or either one leads to diametrically
opposite conclusions wholly at variance with
the constitutional policy of not showing
“partiality to any one group” and of
allowing religious groups to “flourish
according to the zeal of its adherents and

the appeal of its dogma," Zorach v. Clauson,

343 U.S. 306, 313 (1952).

One could, of course, simply label
this an Establishment or Free Exercise
Clause case, and decide it accordingly.
Such an approach is both simple minded and
sterile. It fails to acknowledge the
existence of the sometimes competitive
nature of the values which safeguard

religious liberty.

» 13 «

The courts must therefore determine
which of the two religion clauses is more
strongly implicated here -- a process which
in our view calls for a balancing approach
sensitive to each clause.

On the narrow facts of this case,
that balance tios in favor of a finding that
the Establishment Clause would not be
violated if Witters' application were
granted. Since the only basis for denying
Witters' application was the federal
Constitution's Establishment Clause, this
conclusion is sufficient to dispose of this
case at this time.

I. This Case Solidly Implicates
Establishment Clause Values

The history of the Establishment
Clause begins with challenges to the
authority of government to utilize its
taxing power to raise funds for the support

of religious institutions, PEARL v. Nyquist,

supra; Lemon v. Kurtzman, supra. "(A state]

cannot consistently with the ‘estab’ 1shment

# 13 «

of religion' clause of the First Amendment
contribute tax raised funds to the support
of an institution which teaches the tenets

and faith of any church." Everson v. Bd. of

Educ., supra, 330 U.S. at 16.

Inland Empire School of the Bible,
which Witters attended as a candidate for
ordination, and for which he sought funds
under the Washington statute, is no doubt
such an institution. Petitioner himself
describes it as “a private religious
institution." [Petition for Certiorari at
6).

Aid to a “pervasively sectarian
institution" such as Inland Empire is

ordinarily impermissible, Mueller v. Allen,

supra, 103 S.Ct. at 3069; Hunt v. McNair,

413 U.S. 734, 743 (1973); Tilton v.

Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971);

particularly where it takes the form of an
undifferentiated grant tc the institution
which can be used at the institution's

discretion.

- 14 - S

Viewed solely in terms of the
institution's budget, there is little to
distinguish general operating subsidies,
paid directly to the institution, and the
state's agreement to pay the tuition of one
or many students. Under the principles
discussed above, the judgment of the Supreme
Court of Washington is therefore
understandable. There can be no question
that the governmental expenditures that
Witters seeks, and the state resists,
solidly implicate traditional Establishment
Clause concerns.

II. In the Circumstances of This

Case, The Payments Witters Seeks
Do Not Establish Religion

A. Washington's Vocational Rehabilitation
Statute and Its Application to This
Case Lack a Religious Purpose

This case, however, should not be
disposed of so mechanically. Several
significant factors mitigate the
constitutional significance of government
payments to the Inland Empire School of the

Bible. We analyze these in light of the

yy

oe 16 «

three part test first laid down in Lemon v.

Kurtzman, supra, and restated most recently

in Tony and Susan Alamo Foundation v.

Secretary of Labor, 105 S.Ct. 1953, 1964

n.30, (1985).

These tests should not be applied
here in the abstract, but must be judged in
light of overall societal conditions, Lynch

v. Donnelly, supra.

The Washington state legislature and
its Department of Services for the Blind
have only the remotest and most indirect
connection with the fact that Witters would
be paying his seminary tuition with state
funds. Washington's program was not created
with the purpose of aiding religion. The
vocational rehabilitation program embodied
in Wash. Rev. Code § 74.16.181 (1985) cannot
plausibly be treated as if it were intended
to subsidize religion, or, as if it were
even reasonably foreseeable that it would do

so. Its secular purpose is self-evident and

e 16 «

beyond challenge -- aiding those blind
persons with the potential to be
self-sufficient.

This rehabilitative goal is a valid
secular purpose. And because rehabilitation
cannot take place without the assistance of
the person to be rehabilitated, the state
must enlist his support to achieve its end.
Of necessity, this requires that the state
defer to all reasonable career goals. fThus,
this is not a case where a more secular
means is available to carry out the state's

secular purposes, Lynch v. Donnelly, supra,

104 S.Ct. at 1372 n.4 (Brennan, J.,
dissenting).

This is also not a case, such as that
hypothesized by the Chief Justice, dissent-

ing in part in PEARL v. Nyquist, supra, 413

U.S. at 801-02, where an ostensibly secular
statute is merely a subterfuge for fundirg
churches or religious education. It is not

even a case like Mueller v. Allen, supra.

« $9 «

There, statistical evidence suggested not
only that the legislative purpose of a
tuition tax deduction was to encourage
parochial school attendance, but that the
overwhelming bulk of the benefits of the
deduction flowed directly or indirectly to
religious institutions. Nevertheless, this
Court held -- AJCongress thinks incorrectly
-- that these factors were irrelevant to
constitutional analysis.

No more persuasive on this record is
the argument that a decision by the Depart-
ment to grant Witters' application has such
a religious purpose. As far as appears, it
matters not at all to the Department whether
Witters receives vocational training in law,
theology or baking. Of course, if there
were proof that the Department routinely
urged the visually handicapped to use their
benefits to attend seminaries, a different,
and far easier, case would be presented.
This, however, does not appear to be that

case.

e 36 «

B. The Challenged Statute, Either on its
Face or as Applied, Does Not Have the Effect
of Advancing Religion

When viewed from Witters'
perspective, granting his application has
the effect of advancing religion. Absent
these funds, Witters may be unable to attend
school. Granting him these tax-raised funds
thus enables him to obtain a religious
education, a state of affairs ordinarily

proscribed by the Constitution. *

* This effect cannot, and should not, be
ignored by the Court. If the fact that
religion is benefitted becomes irrelevant as
a matter of law -- as broad and unfortunate
dicta in both Lynch v. Donnelly, supra, 104
S.Ct. at 1363, and Mueller v. Allen, supra,
103 S.Ct. at 3069-70 suggest -- then almost
any statute which does not explicitly call
for aid to pervasively religious institv-
tions will pass constitutional muster, no
matter how it in fact operates. That would
be a departure from this Court's settled
rule that the Constitution "“nullifies
sophisticated as well as simple-minded"
schemes to circumvent its guarantees, cf.
Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339, 342
(1960), citing, Lane v. Wilson, 307 U.S.
268, 275 (1939); Meek v. Pittenger, supra,
421 U.S. at 374-75 (Brennan, J., concurring
in part, and dissenting in part). It would
also undermine a direct holding in the
parochial school aid context that a statute
constitutional on its face may violate the
Establishment Clause as applied, Wheeler v.
Barrera, 417 U.S. 402 (1974).

@ 19 «

Religious education is an integral
part of the mission of every church and is
for Establishment Clause purposes no less
religious than prayer or Bible reading, as
this Court has repeacedly held, e.g., PEARL

v. Nyquist, supra; Lemon v. Kurtzman, supra,

Bd. of Educ. v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (1968).

However, this Court's decisions make
clear that not every incidental benefit to
religion is sufficient to amount to a

constitutional violation, PEARL v. Nyquist,

supra, at 783, n.39. If an unconstitutional
"effect" were to be equated with the simple
and unvarnished fact that a government
action facilitates religious practice or
observance, then, as Justice Rehnquist

argued in Thomas v. Rev. Bd, supra, 450 U.S.

at 720-22, all accommodation of religion
would be unconstitutional.

Just as not every accommodation
purportedly made under the Free Exercise

Clause can escape condemnation as an

—

establishment by talismanic invocation of

the Free Exercise Clause, Wisconsin v.

Yoder, supra, 406 U.S. at 220-21, so, too,

not every practice which in fact aids

religion is unconstitutional, Zorach v.

Clauson, 343 U.S. 306 (1952). Some simply

have too remote an impact on both religion
and society to rise to the level of an
establishment.

This Court's decisions embody
objective criteria for judging whether the
effect of a particular statute or practice
has the direct and immediate effect of
advancing religion. Under these standards,
enabling Witters to pursue the career of his

choice would have only on a de minimis

impact on religion and society.

First and foremost among this Court's
criteria is the availability of the benefit
for a wide variety of vocational and
educational purposes. This Court has twice

noted in its recent cases that the

- 21-

“provision of benefits to so broad a
spectrum of groups is an important index of

secular effect," Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S.

263, 274 (1981); Mueller v. Allen, supra,

103 S.Ct. at 3068, if only because a statute
which submerges religion into a larger group
of beneficiaries sends an entirely different
message about religion's role in society
than one that singles out religion
explicitly for special treatment.

The Washington vocational
rehabilitation statute under which Witters
seeks assistance provides that persons
eligible for assistance under the statute
may use the funds for a wide variety of
vocational or educational programs.

Religion is aided only as and if individuals
seek to use it for religious training. As
far as appears on the record, Witters is the

only person in Washington to have ever

«» 22 «

sought to do so;* it cannot therefore be
said that the benefits to religion as a
social institution are anything but "remote"

and “incidental" Mueller v. Allen, supra,

103 S.Ct. at 3069.

Further, here, the state has no
interest in, and has apparently not urged,
the blind to use their benefits for
religious education. Religion as a whole is
not advanced under this program. The state
has merely agreed to provide the blind, who
would otherwise be at risk of becoming
charges on society, the means to become
self-sufficient. That in this case funds go
to a seminary is no more chargeable to the
state than if a church were the winner of a
state-run lottery.

This Court has invoked the principle

that religion is not impermissibly advanced

* Cf. Widmar v. Vincent, supra, 454 U.S. at
275 (noting absence of proof that religious
speakers would dominate limited public
forum).

» 23 «

when benefits go to a broad spectrum of
groups (and pursuant to individual choices)
in upholding state student loan schemes
under which those attending even pervasively
sectarian institutions are eligible for

loans, Americans United v. Blanton, 433 F.

Supp. 97 (M.D. Tenn.), aff'd, 434 U.S. 803

(1977); Durham v. McLeod, 182 So.2d 202

(S.C. 1972), aff'd, 413 U.S. 902 (1973).

These results were explained in PEARL v.

Nyquist, supra, 413 U.S. at 782, n.38:

[we] need not decide whether the
significantly religious character of
the statute's beneficiaries might
differentiate the present cases from
a case involving some form of public
assistance (e.g., scholarships) made
available generally without regard to
the sectarian-nonsectarian, or
public-nonpublic nature of the insti-
tution benefited. See Wolman v.
Essex, 342 F. Supp. 399, 412-413
(S.D. Ohio), aff'd, 409 U.S. 808
(1972). Thus, our decision today
does not compel, as appellees have
contended, the conclusion that the
educational assistance provisions of
the "G. I. Bill,” 38 U.S.C. § 1651,
impermissibly advance religion in
violation of the Establishment

oe 94 «

Clause. See also n. 32, supra.*

Those decisions are controlling here.

The effect of advancing religion is
further diluted because the aid is
“available only as a result of numerous

private random choices," Mueller v. Allen,

supra, 103 S.Ct. at 3069.**

These principles are not just post
hoc rationalizations of a pre-ordained
result. Rather, properly applied, they can
assist a court in determining whether a
particular practice poses the dangers the
Establishment Clause was designed to
forestall. Those dangers as applied to this

case are four-fold:

* However, Americans United v. Bubb, 379 F.
Supp. 872 (D. Kan. 1974) and D'Errico v.
Lesmeister, 570 F. Supp. 158 (D.N.D. 1983),
held that students at pervasively sectarian
colleges could not participate in student
loan programs in view of the Establishment
Clause.

** To be sure, it is not alone determina-
tive, PEARL v. Nyquist, supra, 413 U.S. at
782, n.38.

- 25 -

1) Non-coercion, so that persons not

be pressured into participation in religious
practices by government. Witters was not

coerced into using his vocational funds for
theological training. This is clearly not a

coercion case. Marsh v. Chambers, 103 S.Ct.

3330, 3335 (1983).

2) Structural separation, so that

religion and government not become too
dependent on one another. Where the state
designs a program intended to subsidize
religious institutions, there is a
substantial risk that that institution will
become addicted to government funding for
continued financial support. A symbiotic
relationship inhospitable to religious
liberty and governmeni.al neutrality is the

likely result, Larkin v. Grendel's Den,

supra.* For the reasors stated above, this

* The likelihood of dependence on govern-
ment is here further reduced by the fact
that only a limited class of persons -- who
have almost no controi over their own eligi-
bility, and no independent incentive to
become eligible -- is eligible for the aid.

» 26 «

is not a case where this is a likely
possibility.

This is not a case -- as Mueller v.

Allen was -- where the foreseeable impact of
a statute or practice is to provide sums
that in absolute terms are sufficiently
significant as to induce dependence on
government, and to make it likely that
government will in effect gain control, cf.

Wolman v. Walter, 433 U.S. 229, 256 (1977)

(Brennan, J., concurring and dissenting)
(sheer size of aid to parcchial schools
makes such aid programs suspect). Nor is it
a program which provides funds on such a
regular periodic basis that the religious
institution can come to rely on such funds
in budgeting.

3) The unfairness of using the

taxing power to support religion, for it is

unjust to use government's taxing power to
compel a person to support a religious faith

other than his own. Allowing the state to

o 29 «

pay the costs of Witters' theological
training in one sense does just that.
Madison's Remonstrance, perhaps the
most eloquent expression of opposition to
such taxes, was written to counter a tax
levied for the support of ministers of the

gospel, Everson v. Bd. of Educ., supra.

There is, therefore, a close parallel
between the taxes Madison objected to in the
Remonstrance and aid to parochial school
schemes. For this reason, the Court has
properly invalidated most such legislation.

There is, however, simply no parallel
between such a use of tax funds and paying
for Witters' vocational rehabilitation even
though it entails paying for advanced
theology training.

4) A breach of governmental

neutrality, in Justice O"Connor's phrase,

makes “adherence to a religion relevant in
any way to a person's standing in the

political community," or would "foster the

» 26 «

creation of political constituencies defined

along religious lines," Lynch v. Donnelly,

supra, 104 S.Ct. at 1366; Larkin v.

Grendel's Den, supra.

That fear is particularly relevant
where government sponsors a religious
exercise, as in the case of school prayer or
religious symbols, or, perhaps, delivers
social services exclusively through
sectarian social service agencies. It has
no relevance here.

Neither Witters or anyone else gains
or loses social standing by allowing the
state to pay his tuition at Inland Empire.
Nor would such a decision create any
realistic likelihood that political
constituencies will divide along religious
lines. Allowing Witters to participate
would not require other blind citizens to
identify with some religion in order to

participate in a government funded program.

= 29 <-

In sum, while the payment of tuition
to a theological seminary does have the
effect of advancing religion, the impact of
that payment is greatly attenuated in this
case. Still, were this case to be
evaluated solely in terms of the
Establishment Clause, it would be a close
case, perhaps tilting in favor of an

affirmance.*

* The final branch of the tripartite test
for determining whether a practice violates
the Establishment Clause is whether the
statute or practice unduly entangles
government with religion.

There is nothing in this record arguably to
suggest that the grant Witters seeks in fact
did create any political controversy.

Because the funds for Witters' grant come
from a lump sum appropriation to the State
Department of Services for the Blind, there
is no likelihood that the legislature will
annually become embroiled in a dispute over
particular uses of these funds, Mueller yv.
Allen, supra, 103 S.Ct. at 3071, n.1ll.

Moreover, there is nothing in either the
statute or the record which would indicate
any greater need for supervision than in the
case of college student loan programs,
which, as noted, have been upheld by this
Court.

—

III. Free Exercise

Had the Founding Fathers determined
to protect religious liberty only by
including a prohibition on religious
establishments in the Bill of Rights, this
would be a difficult and close case,
notwithstanding the existence of factors
which tend to mitigate the "establishing"
effect. The political concerns which gave
rise to the First Amendment were not so
limited.

The Founders apparently recognized
that non-establishment could not alone
guarantee religious liberty. Taken as the
sole guarantor of religious liberty it would
“partake not simply of that noninterference
and noninvolvement with the religious which
the Constitution commands, but of a
brooding and pervasive devotion to the
secular and a passive, or even active,

hostility to the religious," School Dist. of

Abington Twshp. v. Schempp, supra, 374 U.S.

at 306 (Goldberg, J., concurring).

Bethewres

» 31 <-

Government cannot interfere with
religious liberty by outlawing a particular
belief or by punishing persons merely for
holding or expressing those beliefs. Such
actions are absolutely foreclosed by the

Free Exercise Clause, Sherbert v. Verner,

supra, 374 U.S. at 402; W. Va. Bd. of Educ.

v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 642 (1943);

Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296

(1940).

Religious liberty is also denied when
government compels persons to act in
violation of their religious values,

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972).

Religious liberty is also denied, under this
Court's cases, if government denies
participation in its social welfare programs
to otherwise eligible persons who are unable
to participate because of their religious

practices, Thomas v. Rev. Bd., supra;

Sherbert v. Verner, supra, notwithstanding

the fact that government does not directly

regulate religious practice as such.

» 32 -

The constitutiona’? values represented
by these different strands of free exercise
doctrine reflect an attitude of hospitality
towards religion. They embody society's
recognition that it ought not -- indeed
cannot properly -- interfere with deeply
held beliefs, absent the most compelling

justification. See Gianella, Religious

Liberty, Nonestablishment and Doctrinai

Development: Part I. The Religious Liberty

Guarantee, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 1381, 1411-14

(1967). The Free Exercise Clause is the
constitutional policy which more than any
other recognizes the worth of the individual
and the sacredness of individual conscience,
of the right to march to one's own drummer,
to make judgments about ultimate values.
Religious commitments vary in
intensity. How a person choses to manifest
his religious faith is protected from
government interference by the Free Exercise

Clause. t is not the role of government to

= 33 «-

evaluate or regulate the validity or extent

of one's religious commitment, Thomas v.

Rev. Bd., supra, 450 U.S. at 715-16.

McDaniel v. Paty, 435 U.S. 618

(1978), recognizes that the call to act as a
minister is protected from unjustified state
interference by the Free Exercise Clause.

Tennessee ... acknowledges the right
of its adult citizens generally to
seek and hold office as legislators
or delegates to the state
constitutional convention.... Yet
under the clergy disqualification
provision, McDaniel cannot exercise
both rights simultaneously because
the State has conditioned the
exercise of one on the surrender of
the other.... In so doing,
Tennessee has encroached upon
McDaniel's right to the free exercise
of religion. "[{T]o condition the
availability of benefits [including
access tc the ballot] upon this
appellant's willingness to violate a
cardinal principle of [his] religious
faith [by surrendering his
religiously impelled ministry]
effectively penalizes the free
exercise of [his] constitutional
liberties." Sherbert v. Verner, 374
U.S. 398, 406 (1963).

435 U.S. at 626.
The parallels between this case and

McDaniel (as well as to Sherbert and Thomas)

- 34 -

are obvious. The Free Exercise Clause was
implicated in those cases because the First
Amendment "does not require the state to be
[the] adversary [of religion]. State power
is no more to be used so as to handicap
religions, than it is to favor them,"

Everson v. Bd. of Educ., supra, 330 U.S. at

18.

When “individual Catholics ... or
the members of any other faith, because of
their faith, or lack of it, ... [are denied
receipt of] the benefits of public welfare

legislation," Thomas v. Rev. Bd., supra, 450

U.S. at 716, quoting, Everson v. Bd. of

Educ., supra, 330 U.S. at 16 (1947)

(emphasis deleted), the Free Exercise Clause
is implicated.

The denial of vocati’ al rehabilita-
tion benefits to Witters, based solely on
the fact that he has chosen to attend
theological seminary, touches epee the

values protected by the Free Exercise Clause

tht pel EAN pee Pei gg 2

= 3§ -

just as surely as did Tennessee's
restriction on public office holding by
ministers.

Without regard to whether the Free
Exercise Clause is sufficient of its own
force to require a state to make vocational
training funds available for eligible
persons seeking to pursue a religious

career,* it is sufficient to counterbalance

* This Court has repeatedly rejected free
exercise claims that the state must fund
otherwise eligible religious institutions if
there is no constitutional bar to such
funding under the Establishment Clause, Bob
Jones University v. U. S., 103 S.Ct. 2017
(1983); Norwood v. Harrison, 413 U.S. 455
(1973); Luetkemeyer v. Kaufmann, 364 F.
Supp. 376 (Mo.), aff'd , 419 U.S. 888
(1974); Everson v. Bd. of Educ., supra.

Whether this case is closer to cases such as
Thomas v. Rev. Bd., supra, or Sherbert v.
Verner, supra, is a _ifficult question.
Indeed in Everson v. Bd. of Educ., supra,
the Court's opinion contains language both
suggesting that the state cannot deny funds
to a religious institution simply because it
is such, 330 U.S. at 16, and other language
suggesting that it has discretion not to
fund such institution, Id. The Court need
not resolve this issue in this case for
reasons we explain below.

e 36 <-

the relatively minimal “establishment" which
results when a state does so. As noted
above, this is at best a weak sstablishment
Clause case on the merits. Whatever little
strength there was in the establishment
argument is more than outweighed by the free
exercise value to be vindicated by not
obstructing Witters' efforts to become
ordained.

The balancing approach urged here is
not appropriate for every case. In some
cases, a challenged practice is clearly
contrary to the purposes of one or the other
clauses. Thus, the prohibition on direct,
unrestricted aid to churches or parochial
schools is so central to the Establishment
Clause as to call for no inquiry under the
Free Exercise Clause, much less any
balancing process.

Requiring states to allow Sabbath
observers to participate in unemployment

insurance programs even if they turn down

- 37 «-

work on their Sabbath, or excusing the Amish
from some portion of the compulsory
education laws, pose no threat whatsoever to
Establishment Clause values. There, too, no
balancing is called for.

On the other hand, in McDaniel v.

Paty, supra, where Tennessee defended a
provision excluding clergymen from public
office on the ground that the exclusion was
necessary to preserve the separation of
church and state, this Court, after finding
that this prohibition violated the Free
Exercise rights of clergymen, turned to
Tennessee's Establishment Clause argument.

It rejected Tennessee's argument not
because it found that the Establishment
Clause was not a defense to a free exercise
claim, but because there was simply no
adequate factual basis for the Establishment
Clause claim:

Tennessee has failed to demonstrate

that its views of the dangers of
clergy participation in the political

« 36 «-

process have not lost whatever
validity they may once have enjoyed.
The essence of the rationale
underlying the Tennessee restriction
on ministers is that if elected to
public office they will necessarily
exercise their powers and influence
to promote the interests of one sect
or thwart the interests of another,
thus pitting one against the others,
contrary to the anti-establishment
principle with its command of
neutrality. ... [T]he American
experience provides no persuasive
support for [that] fear....
(citations and footnote omitted)

435 U.S. at 628-29.
Had there been a factual predicate for the
state's claim, the Court would have been
forced to engage in a balancing process.

A similar process was undertaken by

this Court in Widmar v. Vincent, supra,

where the Free Speech and Establishment
Clauses came into conflict. The Court there
determined that college students' free
speech rights had been violated by a rule
barring student religious clubs from using
empty classrooms for its meetings, a right

conferred on other student groups. It then

« 39 -

assessed the significance of the
university's claim that allowing the clubs
to meet would place it in the position of
establishing religion. Again, this Court
found that the Establishment Clause
arguments were not sufficiently strong on
the record before it to justify the denial
of free speech. Following a similar
analysis, but on a different factual record,
the Third Circuit reached an opposite result

in the high school setting, Bender v.

Williamsport Area School District, 741 F.2d

538 (3d Cir. 1984), cert. granted, 53

U.S.L.W. 3585 (1985).

The balancing method of analysis is
consistent with this Court's description of
its First Amendment decisions, under which
"short of [governmentally established
religion or governmental interference with
religion] there is room for play in the

joints...." Walz v. Tax Comm'n, supra, 397

U.S. at 669. Even more to the point is

» 46 «

Professor Wilber Katz' statement that the
First Amendment insures "a secular state --
but a secular state which does not give
preference to secularism and is actively
concerned for religious freedom," W. G.

Katz, Religion and American Constitutions 22

(1964).

The balance in this case tips
decidedly in favor of Witters. This is a
marginal claim under the Establishment
Clause. Although the Free Exercise Clause
may not mandate that Witters be declared
eligible for participation in such programs,
it surely implies that “the transcendent
value of free religious exercise in our
constitutional scheme leaves room for "play
in the joints .. [for] cautiously delineated

secular ... assistance...." Norwood v.

Harrison, supra, 413 U.S. at 469. This is a

case in which that value should at least
allow the state the option of paying for

Witters' vocational training as a minister.

- 41 -

IV. The Free Exercise Issue
Need Not Be Reached

The Washington Supreme Court held
that the Establishment Clause was a bar to
Witters' participation in the state's voca-
tional rehabilitation program. That judg-
ment, as we have shown, is erroneous.
Should this Court agree, Witters' applica-
tion will be granted unless and until the
state constitution is held to bar it.

Only if the Washington courts so hold
will there be any need for this Court to
reach the federal Free Exercise Clause issue
raised by petitioner. In view of the rule
confining constitutional decisions to cases
of "strict necessity," this Court should not

now pass on this issue, Rescue Army v. Muni-

Cipal Court, 331 U.S. 549, 568 (1947).*

* Accord, Minnick v. California Dep't. of
Corrections, 452 U.S. 105 (1981); NYCTA v.
Beazer, 440 U S. 568 (1979); F.C.C. Vv.
Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726 (1978);
Moore v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ.,
402 U.S. 47 (1971); Sacks v. Ga., 401 U.S.
144 (1971); W. E. B. Dubois Clubs of America

v. Clark, 389 U.S. 309 (1967).

@ 42 «

Conclusion

The judgment should be reversed and

remanded to the state court for further

proceedings.

June,

1985

Respectfully submitted,

Marc D. Stern
Counsel of Record

Lois C. Waldman

Ronaid A. Krauss

American Jewish Congress

15 East 84th Street

New York, New York 10028
(212) 879-4500

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0164%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
