# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Public Utilities Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0160%3A47

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1

## Text

45)
No. 84-1044 JUL 20 98

in the Supreme Tourt
of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY,
Appellant,

Vv.

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA, et.al.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court
of California

Brief of Amicus Curiae State of Oregon
In Support of Appellee Public Utilities
Commission of the State of California

DAVE FROHNMAYER
Attorney General of Oregon
WILLIAM F. GARY
Deputy Attorney General
*JAMES E. MOUNTAIN, JR.
Solicitor General
RICHARD D. WASSERMAN
Assistant Attorney General
400 Justice Building
Salem, Oregon 97310
Phone: (503) 378-4402

*Counsel of Record

.

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Statement of Interest of Amicus Curiae ................0000: 1
Neen ene nn nt od d egeceeeevibeteeces 5
Argument
ee ee ee eke me enensbanns 7
Il. The CPUC’s order does not infringe upon
PGandE’s right to speak to its customers in the
billing envelope and, therefore, does not implicate
First Amendment values. ...................55. 8
Ill. The CPUC’s order does not abridge PGandE’s
rights to refrain from associating with the views
of another or from disassociating itself from
EY Gdcdadeccedsdscwescccesceces 13

CHEE GIR ob ep tet a A ht ng a 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Cited
Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209

COTE) .cccccccceneceencsesenennneneel
Board of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624 (1943) ...

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of U.S., Inc., __. U.S.

—__. , 80 L Ed2d 502 (1984) ........... eee eeees

Consolidated Edison v. Public Serv. Comm’n, 447 U.S.

GSO (RBGR) 2. ccccccccccccccosccscscssscesess

First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765

'. PPT || UC

Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241

CIBVED oc ccccccescoececcensennensnnl
Mills v. Alabama, 384 U.S. 214 (1966) ................

Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins, 447 U.S. 74

(GBD) .. ccccccccccccccccoccvesesscesessssss

U.S. 540 (19GB)... ccrcccdccccccccccccccceses

U.S. Postal Service v. Greenburgh Civic Assns., 453 U.S.

B26 CRBGE) no cccccccccccccccosscoscenaeeeeees
Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977) .........++6+-
Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427 U.S. 50 (1976) ..

Constitutional Provisions

Orv. Comat. ast. TV, § 1 .ncccccccccccccccccccccssccss

Other Authorities

Oregon Official 1984 General Election Voters’ Pam-

BRE. cccccccccescccncssscucouenanneeenne

li

1

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
The State of Oregon, through its Attorney General,
appears as amicus curiae in support of appellee California
Public Utility Commission (CPUC or commission) to protect
the interests of the Oregon electorate. By initiative legislation,
the voters of Oregon have required the state’s privately owned
public utilities to include materials prepared by a simul-
taneously created consumer interest group in their customer
billings. This voter-initiated requirement parallels the CPUC
order that the appellant utility here claims violates its First
Amendment rights. This popular mandate similarly is being
challenged by an association of telephone utilities and by
corporations providing gas and telephone service to Orego-
nians in a federal district court action for declaratory and
injunctive relief (Oregon Independent Telephone Ass’n, et al. v.
Citizens’ Utility Board of Oregon, U.S. Dist. Ct. (Or.), Civil No.
85-875).

Oregon’s voters thus have a significant stake in the proper
resolution of the constitutional question presently before the
Court. A comprehensive legislative program, recently
adopted by the electorate to foster public awareness and
involvement in issues relating to public utility regulation, is at
risk. An essential feature of that program, i.e., limited public
access to utility bill mailings, erroneously has been called into
constitutional question.

On November 6, 1984, the people of the State of Oregon,
exercising the initiative power reserved to them by Or. Const.
art. [V,§ 1, created Oregon’s Citizens’ Utility Board (CUB) to ,

2

serve particular public interests. By this enactment, the

voters expressly found

that utility consumers need an effective advocate to
assure that public policies affecting the quality and
price of utility services reflect their needs and inter-
ests, that utility consumers have the right to form an
organization which will represent their interests
before legislative, administrative and judicial bodies,
and that utility consumers need a convenient manner
of contributing to the funding of such an organization
so that it can advocate forcefully and vigorously on
their behalf concerning all matters of public policy
affecting their health, welfare and economic well-
being.

Oregon Official 1984 General Election Voters’ Pamphlet 9
(1984).
The Oregon CUB was designated an “independent non-

profit public corporation’! possessing

all rights and powers necessary to represent and pro-
tect the interests of utility consumers, including but
not limited to the following powers:

(a) To conduct, fund or contract for research, studies,
plans, investigations, demonstration projects and sur-
veys.

(b) To represent the interests of utility consumers
before legislative, administrative and judicial bodies.

‘Contrary to the contention of amici curiae Pacific Northwest Bell
Telephone Company, Pacific Power & Light, and Oregon Independent
Telephone Association the participation of the Oregon Attorney General in
this proceeding does not suggest “that all CUB actions (unlike TURN
actions) are in fact actions of the state.” See Brief of amici curiae Pacific
Northwest Bell Telephone Company et al. at 2 n. 2. The Attorney General
appears here only on behalf of the State of Oregon to represent the interests
of its citizens as embodied in Oregon’s CUB law. In the above-referenced
local litigation challenging the constitutionality of Oregon’s CUB law, CUB
currently is represented by privately retained counsel.

Id.

The CUB law encourages broad consumer membership
and involvement in the organization. Every Oregon resident
18 years of age or older is eligible for membership in the CUB
upon contribution of at least $5 but no more than $100 per
year to the CUB. The Citizens’ Utility Board of Governors is
directed to establish a method whereby economically disad-
vantaged individuals may become members without full pay-
ment of the yearly contribution. Jd. at 9, 10. Initially, the
Oregon CUB is managed by an interim board of directors
appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the
Oregon State Senate. After membership reaches 5,000, with a
minimum of 100 members in each state congressional district,
the members shall elect a board of governors, who are subject
to recall by the members. /d. at 9, 10.

Under section 10, the most pertinent provision of the
measure passed by Oregon’s voters, each utility is required
upon the CUB’s request to include in its billings to utility
consumers materials prepared and furnished by the CUB that
conform in size to the dimensions of the utility’s customary
billing envelope. No utility may, however, be required to
include CUB materials in its mailings more than six times per
calendar year, or with less than 30 days’ notice from the
CUB. The CUB must reimburse the utility for a pro rata
share of the postage charges for materials submitted by the
CUB that exceed four-tenths of one ounce avoirdupois. The
CUB must also reimburse the utility for other reasonable
costs the utility incurs in complying with the act. Jd. at 10.

4

Oregon’s CUB law does not provide for any comprehen-
sive state review of the materials submitted by the CUB to
utilities. A utility may complain to the Public Utility Com-
missioner of Oregon that the CUB intentionally has made a
material false statement in messages submitted to a utility for
inclusion with a billing. The commissioner’s sole authority in
that circumstance is to review the complaint expeditiously
and, upon determining that the CUB intentionally has made a
material false statement, to notify the Citizens’ Utility Board
of Governors in writing of the false statement and the reasons
why the commissioner determines the statement to be
false. Id.

Utilities and their officers, employees, armi agents are
prohibited from interfering with the distribution of CUB
materials in periodic utility billings, and from interfering with
the right of utility consumers to contribute to the CUB. In
addition, no utility may change its mailing, accounting, or
billing procedures if the change will interfere with the CUB’s
ability to distribute its materials. These prohibitions are
enforceable by criminal sanctions, as well as by equitable
remedies. Jd. at 10, 11.

Correlative to its authority to submit written materials for
inclusion by utilities in periodic billings, the Oregon CUB has
the power to intervene as of right or otherwise to participate in
any agency proceeding whenever its board of governors deter-
mines that the agency proceeding may affect the interests of
utility consumers. The CUB has standing to seek judicial or

administrative review of agency action, and to intervene or
!

5

otherwise to participate in any proceeding for review or
enforcement of an agency action where the board of governors
determines that the action may affect the interests of utility
consumers. /d. at 10, 11.

The voters of Oregon thus created a mechanism whereby,
through an effective advocate with convenient access to con-
sumer funding, utility consumers may participate before legis-
lative, administrative, and judicial bodies in the creation of
public policies affecting the quality and price of utility services
so that those policies reflect their needs and interests. To
forestall legal challenges that impede implementation of this
program, the State of Oregon appears amicus to make a
fundamental point: A state requirement that a public utility
include consumer materials in periodic billings, as provided by
CPUC’s order under review and by Oregon’s CUB law, does
not implicate, much less violate, the utility’s First Amend-
ment freedoms.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The California requirement that its public utilities afford
a certain consumer group periodic access to utility billing
envelopes for dissemination of solicitational and informa-
tional messages does not abridge, in any constitutionally
significant fashion, a public utility’s freedom of
speech. Neither the communicative nor the associational
aspect of that First Amendment guarantee is implicated by
the requirement. Appellant Pacific Gas and Electric’s
(PGandE) claims of speech infringement do not pass thresh-
old analytical hurdles.

6
The CPUC’s order does not detract from PGandE’s free-

»m to communicate with its customers through the monthly
billing envelope, whether or not material of Toward Utility
Rate Normalization (TURN) is inserted in the envelope and
regardless of the weight of TURN’s inserts. The commis-
sion’s order is neutral as to the content, subject matter, and
amount of the utility’s speech. The order merely gives rise to
the possibility that PGandE may be deprived of free postage to
distribute its message through its publication, Progress, a
maximum of four times each year; yet PGandE itself concedes
that this is not a deprivation of constitutional signifi-
cance. Moreover, under its order, the commission will play no
role in selecting, reviewing, or endorsing the content either of
PGandE’s or TURN’s speech that appears in the billing
envelope.

In addition, PGandE’s contention that the commission
indirectly and unconstitutionally will select the content of
speech by selecting the speaker rests on a premature and
ironically self-defeating assumption about the content of the
consumer-oriented materials, and on PGandE’s misin-
terpretation of the CPUC’s order. Contrary to PGandE’s
contention, the CPUC’s order does not conclude that the
content of TURN’s speech is better than that of PGandE’s
speech, or that TURN’s speech should replace PGandE’s
speech in the billing envelope. Rather, by allowing TURN’s
message to appear alongside PGandE’s message, the commis-
sion acted consistently with the First Amendment goal to
encourage the expression of a variety of views, rather than

only a single view, to aid the common search for truth.

7

The CPUC’s order does not limit PGandE’s rights to
abstain from associating with the views of another or to
refrain from disassociating itself from another’s mes-
sage. That order does not compel PGandE to contribute
financial support for the dissemination of ideological views it
finds repugnant. Nor does the order impair PGandE’s free-
dom to hold its beliefs and act in accord with its corporate
views. The commission’s order does not create a possibility
for confusion about the identity of the sponsors of the differ-
ent messages that will appear in the billing envelope, thereby
indirectly inhibiting PGandE’s freedom to speak. The unam-
biguous disclaimer that the CPUC directed TURN to place on
all its materials forecloses that risk. Nor does the commis-
sion’s order, by making a PGandE billing a vehicle for dis-
tributing TURN’s message, control or affect PGandE’s
editorial judgment with respect to the content of Pro-
gress. The order fosters, rather than discourages, the free
discussion of public affairs. PGandE’s simplistic reliance on
dictionary definitions and on merely physical concepts of
association trivializes, rather than vindicates, the commands
of the First Amendment. Those standards are not con-
travened in this case.

ARGUMENT
I. Introduction

Appellant PGandE, supported by several utilities and
others appearing amici curiae, advances an assortment of
arguments to sustain its claim that the CPUC order allowing
TURN to include materials four times a year in PGandE’s
billing envelope violates PGandE’s freedom of speech. This

8

brief does not address the multitude of points and sub-points
raised by PGandE and its supporters because this case can be
resolved more simply. Utility accommodation of state-
required consumer access to utility billing envelopes, under
the circumstances presented here, does not abridge the util-
ity’s freedom of speech in either the communicative or the
associational sense. This case can be resolved against
PGandE at the analytical threshold.

Il. The CPUC’s order does not infringe upon
PGandE’s right to speak to its customers in the
billing envelope and, therefore, does not impli-
cate First Amendment values.

PGandE relies upon the fundamentally insupportable
notion that the CPUC’s order limits its ability to speak to its
customers through its monthly billing envelope. The commis-
sion’s order does not restrict the amount, subject matter, or
content of the utility’s speech.

PGandE wrongly asserts that the amount of its speech is
limited notwithstanding that PGandE obviously remains
_wholly free to communicate with its customers through the
billing envelope each month of the year, whether or not
TURN ’s material is inserted in the envelope and regardless of
the weight of TURN’s inserts. The CPUC’s order merely
means that on those occasions when TURN’s materials,
together with Progress and the legally required billing and
other notices, weigh over one ounce, PGandE would be
required to pay for the cost of mailing Progress to its custom-

ers.

9

PGandE correctly concedes that the First Amendment
does not entitle it to disseminate its message to its customers
for free. Appellant’s Brief at 39. See U.S. Postal Service v.
Greenburgh Civic Assns., 453 U.S. 114, 127 & n. 5 (1981). Cf.
Regan v. Taxation With Representation of Wash., 461 U.S.
540, 545-46 (1983) (rejecting the proposition that First
Amendment rights are not fully realized unless party’s speech
is subsidized by the state). The possibility that PGandE
might lose its “free ride” in the billing envelope is not
constitutionally objectionable; PGandE’s ability to speak is
not otherwise limited. Therefore, PGandE has shown no
constitutionally cognizable restriction on its right to speak.

Nor does the commission’s order affect the subject matter
of PGandE’s speech. PGandE’s claim of communicational
infringement at bottom rests on a distorted reading of this
Court’s decision in Consolidated Edison v. Public Serv.
Comm'n, 447 U.S. 530 (1980). That decision does not support
an argument that PGandE is entitled to monopolize the space
in its billing envelope. In Consolidated Edison, the New York
Public Service Commission had prohibited utilities from
inserting in monthly billing envelopes materials discussing
controversial issues of public policy. The Court observed:

This Court has emphasized that the First Amend-
ment “embraces at the least the liberty to discuss
publicly and truthfully all matters of public con-
cern. .. .” [citations omitted] In the mailing that
triggered the regulation ai issue, Consolidated Edison
advocated the use of nuclear power. The Commission

has limited the means by which Consolidated Edison
mav participate m the public debate on this question

10

and other controversial issues of national interest and
importance. Thus, the Commission’s prohibition of
discussion of controversial issues strikes at the heart
of the freedom to speak.

Consolidated Edison, 447 U.S. at 534-35. In contrast to Con-
solidated Edison, the CPUC’s order here in no manner “lim-
ited the means by which [the utility] may participate in the
public debate on. . . controversiai issues of national interest
and importance.” Jd. at 535. As already noted, the order
leaves PGandE entirely free to communicate to its customers
through its billing envelope as frequently as it desires, without
regard to the subject matter or content of its mes-
sages. Unlike the New York commission’s order in Consoli-
dated Edison, therefore, the CPUC’s order does not restrict
PGandE’s freedom to speak.

Further, PGandE erroneously contends that the commis-
sion’s order strays from its “paramount obligation” to main-
tain government neutrality toward the content of protected
communications. Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427 U.S.
50, 70 (1976). Appellant’s Brief at 22. Appellant acknowl-
edges that its contention concerning the CPUC’s role in
determining the content of the communications in the billing
envelope flies in the face of the express language of the
CPUC’s order. See Appellant’s Brief at 22-23. The order
provides both that “PG&E and TURN shall each determine
the content of its own material,” and “All of TURN’s material
shall clearly identify TURN as its source and state that its
contents have been neither reviewed nor endorsed by PG&E
or this Commission.” Motion to Dismiss of Appellee CPUC

11

(M.D.) at A-38, A-39. Plainly, the CPUC will exercise no
content control over the messages in the billing envelope.
PGandE insists, however, that by granting TURN peri-
odic access to the billing envelope, the CPUC has indirectly
and unconstitutionally chosen the permissible content of the
inserts by choosing the speaker. Appellant, and the utilities
supporting appellant as amici curiae, assume that the views of
TURN will be “hostile to the utilities’ interests.” Brief of
amici curiae Pacific Northwest Bell et al. at 3. The assump-
tion is blatantly premature. It also necessarily requires the
conclusion that the utilities’ interests are unremittingly hos-
tile to those of their customers, an impression that utilities
devote enormous amounts of resources annually to dis-
pel. Further, PGandE’s argument misconstrues the commis-
sion’s goal “to change the present system to one which uses
the extra space more efficiently for the ratepayers’ benefit
[because] [i]t is reasonabie to assume that the ratepayers will
benefit more from exposure to a variety of views than they will
from only that of PG&E.” M.D. at A-22. That statement
does not, as PGandE would have it, “weigh the value of
TURN’s speech against PGandE’s speech, or . . . make [a]
. . . determination that TURN’s messages would be a more
efficient use of the envelope extra space.” Appellant’s Brief at
23. Rather, the CPUC has, without regard to the content of
TURN’s speech, which it will neither review, control, nor
endorse, acted upon the fundamental assumption underlying

the First Amendment that the airing of a variety of views,

12

rather than only one view, is the road to the eventual discov-

ery of the truth:

The First Amendment presupposes that the free-
dom to speak one’s mind is not only an aspect of
individual liberty—and thus a good unto itself—but
also is essential to the common quest for truth and the
vitality of society as a whole. Under our Constitution
“there is no such thing as a false idea. However
pernicious an opinion may seem, we depend for its
correction not on the conscience of judges and juries
but on the competition of other ideas.” Gertz v.
Robert Welch, Inc., supra, 418 US, at 339-340, 41 L Ed
2d 789, 94 S Ct 2997 (footnote omitted).

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of U.S., Inc., _ U.S. —_, 80
L Ed2d 502, 518 (1984). See also Consolidated Edison, 447
U.S. at 326.2

? PGandE warns that by allowing TURN access to PGandE’s billing
envelopes, the CPUC has placed itself in the position of selecting and
licensing speakers to use the billing envelope: A position rife with potential
First Amendment problems. Appellant’s Brief at 23-27. Appellant’s claim is
premature. First, the CPUC chose TURN, not from among competing
applicants for the extra space in the billing envelope, but because TURN “‘is
the only organization which has sought access to the PG&E billing enve-
lope.” M.D. at A-35. Thus, this case does not present the problem PGandE
raises. If the problems foreseen by PGandE arise in the future, the CPUC
may attempt to formulate a constitutionally neutral method for allocating
space in the billing envelope. As the commission stated:

Our action today should not be viewed as restricting access to
TURN. The adoption of this proposal in no way precludes other
proposals from being considered. Should other proposals be
brought before us, we will consider the feasibility and benefits of
each at that time. If we find that these proposals are meritorious,
we could order that extra space be made available for the new
program along with any previously authorized ones. Alternately,
we could modify today’s decision to provide for the implementation
of a checkoff program as discussed above. This is consistent with
the approach adopted in our UCAN decision.

M.D. at A-24. Finally, it seems plain that groups unsuccessfully seeking
access to the billing envelope, not PGandE, would have standing to challenge
such an order by the CPUC.

13

In sum, PGandE’s argument proceeds from a basic distor-
tion of the commission’s order. That order does not, as
appellant maintains, limit PGandE’s speech or substitute
TURN’s speech for twat of PGandE. The order merely places
TURN’s speech side by side with PGandE’s
speech. Appellant’s stance reveals the essence of the problem
here; PGandE, and the other utilities appearing as amici
curiae in support of PGandE, do not explore the core of First
Amendment values. Rather, they seek to be allowed to speak
in the public marketplace of ideas, free from the competition
of other messages. The CPUC’s narrowly drawn order, not
PGandE’s position, embodies the principles at the heart of the
First Amendment.

Ill. The CPUC’s order does not abridge PGandE’s
rights to refrain from associating with the views
of another or from disassociating itself from
another’s message.

PGandE relies on Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431
U.S. 209 (1977), Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977), and
Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241 (1974),
for the proposition that the CPUC’s order unconstitutionally
compels PGandE to spe « and to associate with the speech of
others. Those cases provide no support for appellant’s argu-
ment.

Abood involved the constitutionality of a Michigan state
law concerning union representation of local government
employees. Under that law, through an agency-shop arrange-
ment every employee represented by a union, whether or not a

iN a tl a

14

union member, could be required to pay the union a service fee
equal in amount to union dues. In Abood, this Court held that
the First Amendment bars a state from requiring an indi-
vidual to contribute financially to the support of an ,ueological
cause he may oppose. Abood, 431 U.S. at 234. That holding
was premised on the principle that the freedom of belief is “at
the heart of the First Amendment.” Jd. This case bears no
similarity to Abood. PGandE is not compelled in any fashion
to contribute to the support of ideological causes it finds
repugnant; the CPUC’s order expressly requires TURN to
reimburse PGandE “for all reasonable costs the company
incurs beyond its usual cost of billing that result from the
addition of TURN’s materials.”” M.D. at A-39. Moreover,
even if a corporation may properly be said to hold “beliefs,”
PGandE’s freedom of belief remains unimpaired by the
CPUC’s order.

The “association” with TURN’s views that PGandE finds
so objectionable is merely physical; at most four times each
year PGandE’s Progress may be required to share space with
TURN’s materials. That mere physical proximity is not the
compelled “association” found to violate the First Amend-
ment in Abood. There, it was the compulsion to contribute
financial support to ideological causes one opposes, thereby
preventing individual action based upon individual mind and
conscience, that rendered the Michigan law infirm. Abood,
431 U.S. at 235. PGandE thus misapplies the rationale of
Abood and thereby trivializes the First Amendment principles

announced in that decision.

15

Further, physical sharing of the envelope does not imply
PGandE’s endorsement of TURN’s views. The commission
explained:

[I]n order to protect against the possibility that one

receiving a PG&E billing envelope would assume all its

contents were generated by the utility, we will require
that all of TURN’s bill insert material clearly identify

TURN as its source and state that their contents are
not endorsed by PG&E.

M.D. at A-28. The commission’s recognition of the
efficacious use of disclaimers is supported by this Court’s
decision in Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins, 447 U.S. 74
(1980). In Pruneyard, this Court ruled that state constitu-
tional provisions that permit individuals to exercise free
speech and petition rights on the property of a privately
owned shopping center to which the public is invited do not
violate the owner’s right to free speech under the First and
Fourteenth Amendments. Addressing the possibility that the
views expressed by members of the public passing out peti-
tions on the owner’s property could be identified with those of
the owner, the Court stated:
[A]s far as appears here appellants can expressly
disavow any connection with the message by simply
posting signs in the area where the speakers or hand-
billers stand. Such signs, for example, could disclaim
any sponsorship of the message and could explain that

the persons are communicating their own messages by
virtue of state law.

Pruneyard, 447 U.S. at 87. Hence, contrary to PGandE’s

assertion, it is not “highly likely that the public will receive a

mistaken impression that the State’s selection of TURN to
f

SS ee

16

send its message in the billing envelope is supported by
PGandE.” Appellant’s Brief at 19. PGandE’s contention
that a disclaimer as required by the CPUC would be ineffec-
tive, id., is unfounded. This disclaimer also negates any
potential for dilution of PGandE’s message arising from the
simultaneous presence of TURN’s mailer. See Appellant’s
Brief at 13-14 n. 11.

Moreover, PGandE’s argument that the disclaimer itself
would be unconstitutional is meritless. That argument rests
on PGandE’s mistaken representation that the disclaimer
“would force PGandE to speak even though it prefers to
remain silent,” (Appellant’s Brief at 19), echoing Justice
Powell’s concerns expressed in Pruneyard, 447 U.S. at 99
(Powell, J., concurring). The CPUC’s order to include a
disclaimer was, however, directed at TURN, not at PGandE
(M.D. at A-28, A-39); PGandE is not required to speak at
all. In any event, appellant’s misleadingly selective quotation
of Justice Powell omits the premise for his concern: The
likelihood that listeners will identify the views of the party
granted access with the views of the one forced to grant
access. See Pruneyard, 447 U.S. at 99 (Powell, J., concur-
ring). As already explained, TURN’s mandated disclaimer
removes that potential for confusion. Further, Pruneyard’s
sanction of a disclaimer by the owner of the shopping center to
avoid confusion resolves the First Amendment issue against
PGandE.

Justice Powell also cautioned that those granted access
may “express views that are so objectionable as to require a

response even when listeners will not mistake their

7%

| eng

17

source,” Pruneyard, 447 U.S. at 101 (Powell, J., concurring),
thereby burdening ‘‘the right to control one’s own
speech.” Jd. at 100. PGandE does not allege, however, that
TURN will express views so repugnant to its own as to require
an answer even when its customers will not confuse their
source. Consequently, here as in Pruneyard the facts do not
raise the issue that troubled Justice Powell.

Nor is Wooley v. Maynard helpful. There, the Court ruled
that the State of New Hampshire could not constitutionally
require an individual to display its state motto, “Live Free or
Die,” on an automobile license plate. The law at issue there

was abhorrent to the First Amendment because it

force[d] an individual, as part of his daily life. . . to be
an instrument for fostering public adherence to an
ideological point of view he finds unacceptable. In
doing so, the state “invades the sphere of intellect and
spirit which it is the purpose of the First Amendment
to our Constitution to reserve from all official con-
trol.”

Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. at 715, quoting from Board of
Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 642 (1943). Again, and
contrary to PGandE’s contention, the CPUC’s order does not
force PGandE to advocate or foster public adherence to a
point of view it finds objectionable, and does not invade
PGandE’s “sphere of intellect and spirit,” Wooley v. Maynard,
430 U.S. at 715. PGandE remains at liberty to hold and
advocate whatever views it chooses, and to disassociate itself,
financially and intellectually, from views it finds distasteful.
Finally, nothing in Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tor-
nillo aids appellant. This Court’s decision there invalidated
on First Amendment free press grounds a Florida law that

18

required newspapers to publish the replies of political candi-
dates whom they had criticized. That law violated the First
Amendment because it intruded into the “exercise of editorial
control and judgment.” Tornillo, 418 U.S. at 258. In so doing,
the statute threatened to stifle editorial comment by encour-
aging newspaper editors to steer the safe course and avoid
controversy. That threat struck at a major purpose of the
First Amendment: To “protect the free discussion of govern-
mental affairs.” Id. at 257, quoting from Mills v. Alabama, 384
U.S. 214, 218 (1966).

PGandE’s reliance on Tornillo rests on its simplistic,
mechanistic application of a dictionary definition of the term
“publish.” See Appellant’s Brief at 16 n. 13. Appellant thus
misses the meaning of Tornillo. That case did not involve the
newspaper as “a passive receptacle or conduit” for the dis-
semination of written matter, Tornillo, 418 U.S. at 258, as
PGandE is under the CPUC’s order. Rather, this Court
stressed:

The choice of material to go into a newspaper, and the
decisions made as to limitations on the size and
content of the paper, and treatment of public issues
and public officials—whether fair or unfair
—constitute the exercise of editorial control and judg-
ment.

Id. The commission’s challenged decision here does not pur-
port to control or affect PGandE’s “editorial control and
judgment” over the content of Progress. Nor, plainly, will the
inclusion of TURN’s material in the utility’s billing envelopes
frighten PGandE into silence, thereby limiting debate on

19

issues of public importance; PGandE does not contend other-
wise. Instead, the commission’s order will foster the “First
Amendment’s role ‘in affording the public access to discus-
sion, debate, and the dissemination of information and
ideas.’ ” Consolidated Edison, 447 U.S. at 541, quoting from
First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 783
(1978).
CONCLUSION
Neither Oregon’s voter-initiated Citizens’ Utility Board
legislation, nor CPUC’s order requiring PGandE to allow a
consumer group limited access to its billing envelopes,
abridges a public utility's freedom of speech. The order
appealed from should be affirmed.
Respectfully submitted,
DAVE FROHNMAYER
Attorney General of Oregon
WILLIAM F. GARY
Deputy Attorney General
JAMES E. MOUNTAIN, JR.
Solicitor General
RICHARD D. WASSERMAN
Assistant Attorney General

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

nN Ny FT

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0160%3A47. Public record. Not legal advice.
