# Respondents Brief — Midlantic Nat. Bank v. New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0142%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 494

## Text

Vice Supreme C 7. US
Nos. 84-801 and 84-805 RIL Ss Db
IN THE wn @ | 5

Supreme Court of the United States 6°”

OctosBer TERM, 1984 7

THOMAS J. O'NEILL, TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY OF QUANTA
RESOURCES CORPORATION, Debtor,

Petitioner,
y.
THE CITY OF NEW YORK and STATE OF NEW YORK and THE NEW
JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,

Respondents.
MIDLANTIC NATIONAL BANK,
Petitioner,
v.
THE NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT
OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,
Respondent.

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT
BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS STATE OF NEW YORK
AND CITY OF NEW YORK

RoBerT ABRAMS

Attorney General of the State
of New York

Attorney for State of New York

Rospert HERMANN
Solicitor General of the
State of New York

NANCY STEARNS Department of Law
Assistant Attorney General Two World Trade Center
Counsel of Record for the Room 4724
State of New York New York, New York 10047
NorRMAN SPIEGEL (212) 488-3710
CHRISTOPHER KeivH HALL Freperick A.O. SCHWARZ, JR.
Assistant Attorneys Genera. Corporation Counsel of the
Of Counsel City of New York
LEONARD KOERNER Attorney for City of New York
Assistant Corporation Counsel 100 Church Street
Counsel of Record for the New York, New York 10007
City of New York (212) 566-3377

une 7, 1985

Questions Presented

1. Does section 554(a) of the Bankruptcy Code authorize a
trustee in bankruptcy to abandon a toxic waste facility which
constitutes a present hazard to public health, safety and the en-
vironment, in violation of federal, stave and local laws?

2. Would an order of the bankruptcy court limiting the trustee's
authority to abandon the facility under these circumstances con-
stitute an unlawful taking of the secured creditors’ interests
(assuming that this issue is ripe for decision)?

INDEX

Questions Presented ..................000 eee:
Table of Authorities ....................00055.
Statement of the Case ....................055.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..................
ARGUMENT

I. A BANKRUPTCY TRUSTEE MAY NOT
ENDANGER THE HEALTH AND SAFETY
OF MILLIONS OF CITY RESIDENTS BY
ABANDONING A STORAGE FACILITY
LEAKING TOXIC WASTES, IN VIOLA-
TION OF FEDERAL, STATE AND LOCAL
ENVIRONMENTAL STANDARDS.........

A. Federal Environmental and Bankruptcy
Laws Should Be Read in Harmony to
Protect the Public Safety and the
ES

B. The Trustee’s Power to Abandon Under
Section 554(a) Is Limited by
Requirements of Public Safety ..........

i. The Trustee’s Authority to
Abandon Is Subject to Health and
Ee

ii. Requiring the Trustee to Manage
the Estate in Compliance with
Federal and State Environmental
Laws Is Consistent with Ohio v.
EE

Page

13

14

17

Page

iii. Section 959(b) Requires the
Trustee to Comply with Public
Safety Requirements When
Managing and Abandoning

a . .. err ean es 19

iv. To Deprive State and Local
Governments of the Ability to
Prevent Threatened Disposals of
Dangerous Hazardous Wastes Is
Inconsistent with Congressional
WE NG aGaucetseticos.. 24

v. The Trustee’s Expenditure of
Funds to Prevent Violations of
Federal and State Environmental
Laws Is a Necessary Cost of
Preserving the Estate ........... 28

C. The Trustee May Not Abandon Property
in Violation of State and Local Health,
Safety and Environmental Requirements. . 30

II. LIMITING THE TRUSTEE’S POWER TO
ABANDON PROPERTY IN VIOLATION
OF FEDERAL AND STATE
ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS IS NOT A
“TAKING” UNDER THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT ......................... 35
A. The Fifth Amendment Takings Issue Is
Not Ripe for Adjudication by this Court . . 35

B. Valid Government Regulations which
Cause Significant Economic Loss Do Not
Violate the “Takings Clause” of the Fifth
Rie a ea 36

C. Neither United States v. Security,
Industrial Bank nor the “Erosion Taking”
Doctrine Permits Abandonment Here .... 39

i ie eee oe 40

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1970) ... 35,37
Alfred L. Snapp & Son, Inc. v. Puerto Rico ex

rel. Baez, 102 S. Ct. 3260 (1982)........----- 13
In re Briarcliff, 15 Bankr. 864 (D.N.J. 1981)..... 19,21,22
In re Canarico Quarries, Inc., 466 F.Supp. 1333

(D.P.R. 1979) ......-- eee eects 22
In re Charles George Land Reclamation Trust, 30

Bankr. 918 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1983).......---- 21,29,30
Colonial Tavern, Inc. v. Byrne, 420 F.Supp. 44

(D. Mass. 1976).......-.-+202eee errr 22
Commodities Futures Trading Commission v.

Incomco, Inc., 649 F.2d 128 (2d Cir. 1981) ... 18
Commonwealth Edison Co. v. Montana, 453 U.S.

G09 (1981)... 2... cece eee eee eee nett 31,33
Commonwealth v. Peggs Run Coal Co., 55 Pa.

Commw. 312, 423 A.2d 765 (1980)........--. 22
Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22 (1932) .......... 39
In re D.H. Overmeyer Telecasting Co., Inc., 35

Bankr. 400 (N.D. Ohio 1983) ....---.---+---: 19
In re Dolly Madison Industries, 504 F.2d 499 (3d

Clie. IDFA)... ccc ccc cccctesccececceneceeees 22
Florida Lime ¢ Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul,

373 U.S. 132 (1963) .....----- cece eee? 31,33
Georgia v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 324 U.S. 439

(IDEB) oo nce cece cence nccccerccccscnccees: 13
Gillis v. California, 293 U.S. 62 (1934) ....-.--. 21

Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590 (1962) .... 36

Cases: Page
In re Grand Spaulding Dodge, Inc., 5 Bankr. 481

Nea te Seal. 8 22
Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394 (1915) .... 37
Hanover National Bank v. Moyses, 186 U.S. 181

sath bud Pee ee yt ovis toa be «ese a 38
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) ........ 34
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164

PE GRA EVATGd bee 635-300 KE ic ke bd wis 36
In re Kennise Diversified Corp., 34 Bankr. 237

(Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1983)... ................. 14,19,22
In re Kish, 41 Bankr. 620 (Bankr. E.D. Mich.

Us gd a dsb hSe wed de occ Maid Sekt és ees 14
Kothe v. R.C. Taylor Trust, 280 U.S. 224 (1930) . 9
In re Lewis Jones, Inc., 1 Bankr. Ct. Dec. 277

(Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1974) ..................... 14,16,

17,33
McGreavey v. Shaw, 90 N.H. 130, 5 A.2d 270

No sac cob uadlan Gateioeuwed r+ cbdek ys os 22

Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981) ..... 13,30,31

Midlantic National Bank v. New Jersey
Department of Environmental Protection, No.

BETS RRR SE ev) ee a ae 35,38
Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623 (1887).......... 37
National Labor Relations Board v. Amax Coal

Co., 453 U.S. 322, 329 Ea ee 15
National Labor Relations Board v. Bildisco, 104

Be GA, Bi ID 5 cc nccncvccvceckesccc, 14,15

In re Nitec Paper Corp., 43 Bankr. 492 (S.D.N.Y.
ROR eo ae Ls aan tele op et 14,22

Cases: Page
Ohio v. Kovacs, 105 S. Ct. 705 | ee. ee 17,18,
19,25

Oitenheimer v. Whitaker, 198 F.2d 289 (4th Cir.
De pancburseavkacassscuspundvensde rae 14,15,
16,29,33

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York
City, 438 U.S. 104 (1978) .......---- 6. eee ees 37

Penn Terra, Ltd. v. Department of
Environmental Resources, 733 F.2d 267 (3d

UE Ts dc vin so secaspesievedsscenncecsurs 18
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393

(eso ooo 36
Pepper v. Litton, 308 U.S. 295 (1939) .......-.. 30
People by Abrams v. 11 Cornwell Company, 695

F.2d 34 (2d Cir. 1982)...........---- eee eee 13
In re Quanta Resources Corp., 739 F.2d 912 (3d

Ce, BEG. occ ccc cccccccccesscerceuscess passim
In re Quanta Resources Corp., 739 F.2d 927 (3d

i) SP errrrer retro eT l
Reading v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968) ........- 30
Regional Railroad Reorganization Act Cases, 419

U.S. 208 (1074)... ccc ccc eres cece ccvcevces 40
Roe v. Wade, 40 U.S. 113 (1973) ..........-.-- 28

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto, 104 S. Ct. 2862 (1984). 9,36,38

Securities and Exchange Commission v. United
States Realty ¢¢ Improvement Co., 310 U.S.

Ty) errr rrr rer ee eee ee 17
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 104 S. Ct. 615
Se con cnnvsendvevecsescscuneveweserss 33

Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. Interstate
Commerce Commission, 219 U.S. 498 (1911) .. 28

vii

Cases: Page

State of Missouri v. United States Bankruptcy
Court, 647 F.2d 768 (8th Cir. 1981), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 1162 (1982) ................ 23
State of New York v. General Electric, 592 F.

Supp. 291 (N.D.N.Y. 1984)..... eee aoe 12
State of New York v. Shore Realty Corp., No.

84-7925 (2d Cir. Apr. 4, i985)............... 13,20
In re 30 Hill Top Street Corp., 42 Bankr. 517

(Bankr. D. Mass. 1984) ..................... 17,20,

22,29,30

In re Thomassen, 15 Bankr. 907 (Bankr. 9th Cir.

HENS Che ah eeua lun alti eas xs 4 3 18
In re T.P. Long Chemical, Inc., 45 Bankr. 278

(Benkr. N.D. Oblo 19GB)... ............000.. 11,17,38
United States v. Reilly Tar & Chemicai Corp.,

546 F.Supp. 1100 (D. Minn. 1982) ........... 12
United States v. Security Industrial Bank, 459

Ie eins dC Ged ce es ua eee 35,37 ,39
United States v. Waste Industries, Inc., 734 F.2d

PI cas x re wera veo Daviwkde ceo 26
In re Vermont Real Estate Investment Trust, 25

Bankr. 804 (Bankr. D. Vt. 1982)............. 29
Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S.

Sa ee eaters eee CR. tos cosas oe 37
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions:
as Ws MW cnn ecnnscdsccucevciacecs passim
11 U.S.C. § 362(a) (1982) ..................... 18
11 U.S.C. § 362(b) (4) (1982) .................. passim
11 U.S.C. § 503(b) (1) (A) (1982) .............. 28
11 U.S.C. § S03(c) (1982) ..................... 6

11 U.S.C. § 522(f) (2) (1982) .................. 39

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions: Page
11 U.S.C. § 554(a) (1982) .....---- +e eee ere passim
11 U.S.C. § 721 (1982) ....----- seer errr 20,21
11 U.S.C. § 727 (1982) .....---- sree eer 27
15 U.S.C. § 2601 et seq. (1982) (most recently

amended 1984) ......-----:seecerttrttrttt 10
15 U.S.C. § 2601(b) (1982) .....----- eee eee 10
15 U.S.C. § 2605(e) (1982) .....---- eee ee ree 15
98 U.S.C. § 959(a) (1982) ......--- eee eres 19,21,22
98 U.S.C. § 959(b) (1982) .....---- eee e errr passim
98 U.S.C.A. § 1452 (West Supp. 1985)........-- 25
33 U.S.C. § 409 (1982) (Act of Mar. 3, 1899) .... 16
33 U.S.C. § 1251 et seq. (enacted 1948, most

recently amended 1984)......-------ss+s0005 10
33 U.S.C. § 1251(a) (3) (1982) ...------- ee: 10
33 U.S.C. § 1321(b) (3) (1982) ....------ eee: ll
33 U.S.C. § 1321(f). (g) (1982)...------ +e eee 11
42 U.S.C. § 6901 et seq. (enacted 1976, most

recently amended 1984)......-----+-sss00005 10
42 U.S.C.A. § 6972 (West Supp. 1985)........-- ll

42 U.S.C. § 6973 (1982) ...... J algae re 11,26

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions:

42 U.S.C. § 7401 et seg. (enacted 1955, most
recently amended 1982).....................

42 U.S.C. § 8301(b) (3) (1982) .......... 000000.

42 U.S.C. § 9601 et seq. (enacted 1980, most
recently amended 1984).....................

42 U.S.C. § 9601(9) (1982) ........ 0.0...
42 U.S.C. § 9601(21) (1982) ......... ip pie
42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (1982) ............. 0.00 ee,
42 U.S.C. § 9607(b) (1982) ............0 2.0
42 U.S.C. § 9607(e) (1) (1982) ...........00000.

N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. Law § 27-0701
ss oEb spree nine sa ceases

N.Y. E.nvtl. Conserv. Law § 27-0914
0 ee eee

N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. Law § 71-2711
RS

N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. Law § 71-2712
ede Chu Whee s bn k a tees

N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. Law § 71-2713
i et on hanks nse keh On 4a e's

Regulations:

SP Gers SF PI CEs fice eiccccuceivcceces
40 C.F.R. § 761.60 et seq. (1984) ..............
Other Authorities:

Blumenthal. Accused Polluter Was Paid to Clean
Up Sites, N.Y. Times, May 7, 1982, B 20 at
RR cry ce ee Ne he eho ee ae oU

Chavez, Toxic Waster Entrepreneur, N.Y. Times,
Dia Gir, Bi, BP 0 OO GM. E nn ones cee evens.

Editorial Commentary and Analysis, Bankr. Serv.
se ee Be eet ee ree

15

Other Authorities:

L. King, 4A Coilier or Bankruptcy,

(14th ed. 1978) .......0c0eeeeeeee seer eee

L. King, 3 Collier on Bankruptcy,

(15th ed. 1983) ........0.0eeee reeset eres

L. King, 4 Collier on Bankruptcy

(15th ed. 1985) ........eeeeeeeeeeee eer

H.R. Rep. No. 198, Part 1, 98th Cong., 2d Sess.,
reprinted in 1984 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.

News SB76 ........csceeceeee scence ese ees

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., lst Sess..,
reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.

See OE. concen cece sectwsesecreseressss

H.R. Rep. No. 1016, Part 1, 96th Cong., 2d
Sess., reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code Cong. &

Ad. News G11O .......--sccrecerecersereee®

J. Moore, 7-Pt. 2 Moore’s Federal Practice

(Od od. 1984)... 0. sc cece ec eeeeeeeee ence ees

S. Rep. No. 414, 92d Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted

in 1972 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 3668 ...

S. Rep. No. 698, 94th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted

in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 4491...

S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted

in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News S787 ...

N. Singer, 2A Sutherland Statutory Construction

(ath ed. 1984) .....-...ecceerec eee ee eee ere es

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary

GIDE cons snes sivecssaesnegesesenseneonss

Page

15

29

15

13

27,32

10

10

15,20

Statement of the Case

This case involves a bankruptcy trustee's negligent post-petition
management of a hazardous waste facility in the heart of the
nation’s largest city. The bankruptcy trustee managing this pro-
perty took virtually no steps during his administration of the estate
to protect the public from leaking chemicals or possible fires; then,
after nearly eight months of neglect, he simply decided to aban-
don the property. New York opposed this effort.

This case also involves the harmonization of important federal
and state policies: on the one hand, to protect the health and
safety of the American public from the toxic effect of dangerous
chemicals by preventing their uncontrolled discharge into the en-
vironment, and on the other, by means of federal bankruptcy
policy, to provide a fair distribution of a debtor’s assets among
creditors. The court below carefully accommodated these policies
in order to protect the public. This Court should reject the peti-
tioner’s attempt to upset that careful balance.

eee eee eS

Quanta Resources Corporation (“Quanta” or the “debtor”) was
in the business of collecting, transporting, processing and stor-
ing waste oils. In re Quanta Resources Corp., 739 F.2d 912, 913
(3d Cir. 1984) (“Quanta”) (App. A, la, 3a )! Quanta owned and
operated facilities in Edgewater, New Jersey and in Long Island
City in New York City. Id. at 913 (App. A, 3a); In re Quanta
Resources Corp., 739 F.2d 927, 928 (3d Cir. 1984) (App. B, 37a).’

| References to pages in the appendices to the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
are indicated as App. __, References to pages in the joint appendix
in the court below are indicated as J.A. —_.

? Before their sale to Quanta, these facilities were operated by companies
reportedly controlled by Russell W. Mahler, President of the former Hudson
Oil Refining Company, who was convicted of illegal dumping of toxic wastes
into abandoned mines in Pennsylvania and sentenced to serve one year in prison
and pay a $750,000 fine. Chavez, Toxic Waste Entrepreneur, N.Y. Times, May
27, 1982, D 1 at col. 1; Blumenthal, Accused Polluter Was Paid to Clean Up
Sites, N.Y. Times, May 7, 1982, B 20 at col. 1.

The Long Island City toxic waste facility is located at the

_ geographic center of New York City, Quanta, 739 F.2d at 913
(App. A, 3a), and is approximately 450 feet from Newtown Creek,
a tributary of the East River, a navigable waterway. More than
500,000 gallons of waste oil, sludge and hazardous waste were
being stored on the property; more than 70,000 gallons of these
were contaminated with polychlorinated biphenyls (PCB’s), an
extremely hazardous substance. Id. (App. A, 4a); Affidavit of
James Reid (J.A. 17-18).

‘
:
iM
5

On October 6, 1981, Quanta filed a voluntary petition for
reorganization under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code. Id.
(App. A, 3a). After filing its petition for reorganization, Quanta
continued in the operation of its business and in possession of
its property as debtor-in-possession until November 12, 1981. Id.
At that time, Quanta’s reorganization case was converted to a
Chapter 7 liquidation case and Thomas J. O'Neill, the petitioner
(“trustee”), was appointed trustee. Jd.

In June of 1982, after nearly eight months of neglect by the
trustee, the facility was in a dangerous state of disrepair. See Af-
fidavit of Richard Docyk (J.A. 11-13). Some of the storage tanks
had holes in them, and some were leaking. Id. The system needed
by the Fire Department to put out a fire was not in operation,
and some of the equipment necessary to make the system effec-
tive was missing. Had a fire broken out, the burning waste oil
would have generated smoke-laden PCB’s, and possibly dioxin,
threatening the lives of fire fighters and millions of New York
City residents.’ Affidavit of Dan Levy (“Levy Aff.”) (J.A. 19-22).

’ When PCB's are burned, heated to high temperatures, or exposed to sunlight,
they are oxidized. Oxidized PCB’s are much more toxic than the PCB’s
themselves. Oxidation products include the polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins
(commonly called dioxins) and polychlorinated dibenzofurans. Theve are many
isotopes (varieties) of these compounds containing four chlorine atoms which
are common oxidation products of PCB’s. These tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxins
(TCDD’s) and tetrachlorodibenzofurans (TCBF’s) include some of the most toxic
compounds known. They are among the most potent carcinogens, teratogens,
and liver toxins. Oral doses on the order of a few micrograms (a millionth of
a gram) can be lethai. Levy Aff. (J.A. 21).

iain iclaiiali diem iaee iaiael

By notice dated May 25, 1982, the trustee proposed to aban-
don the Long Island City toxic waste facility on the grounds that
the property is “burdensome to the estate, or . . . is of inconse-
quential value to the estate” ll U.S.C. § 554(a) (1982). See Quanta,
739 F.2d at 913 (App. A, 4a). Assuredly, the facility was not be-
ing properly operated when the trustee took over possession and
management. Nonetheless, as the City and the State of New York
(hereinafter, when referred to collectively, “New York”) argued,
what the trustee proposed to do by abandonment, after having
neglected the facility, created dangers to the public safety and
the environment which would not have otherwise existed. Im-
plicitly, by requesting approval to abandon, the trustee was re-
questing the court to approve the removal of guards and other
supervisory personnel who had been placed there because of the
dangerous condition of the facility. Previously, the trustee sought
to sell components of the partially inoperable fire suppression
system. (Notice of Proposed Private Sale by the Trustee, dated
May 3, 1982). Additionally, the trustee sought to abandon the
half-million gallons of flammable liquids contaminated with
highly dangerous PCB's.

Permitting the trustee to abandon the Long Island City facility
meant, in the view of New York officals, the further deteriora-
tion of the untended facility and the possibility of vandalism.
This would substantially increase the possibility of fire or leakage
and would seriously endanger the lives and property of New York
residents. In addition to the public health problems that would
be created, abandonment of the Long Island City facility by the
trustee would effectively cc stitute final disposal of the PCB-
contaminated oil and other hazardous wastes on the property
because the debtor had been left without any assets.

New York consequently opposed abandonment of the toxic
waste facility on the grounds that abandonment would endanger
the safety of the public in violation of both federal and state law.
See Objections to Proposed Abandonment, dated June 4, 1982
(J.A. 3). It asked the bankruptcy court instead to order that assets
of the estate be used to bring the facility into compliance with

federal and state public safety and environmental laws.* Jd. (J.A.
7). In the alternative, New York requested that any funds it ex-
pended to clean up the site constitute a first lien, taking priority
over any other mortgages or liens on the property. Id.

On June 22, 1982, United States Bankruptcy Judge D. Joseph
DeVito ruled that the trustee could abandon the Long Island City
facility, stating:

The City and State of New York are the proper par-
ties to safeguard the health and safety of their citizens.
The duty of the Trustee is to serve as representative
of the estate, and the duty of this Court is to protect
the assets of the estate in custodia legis.

The City and State are in a better position in every
respect than either the Trustee or debtor's creditors to
do what needs to be done to protect the public against
the dangers posed by the PCB-contaminated facility.
But it is not the estate or debtor’s creditors who should
finance the requisite clean-up, given the decision of the
Trustee to abandon the property.

Oral Decision (App. K, 73a). Judge DeVito also denied New York’s
motion to designate governmental funds spent on such a cleanup
as constituting a first lien on the property.’ Id. (App. K, 74a).

Notices of Appeal to the District Court of New Jersey were
filed on July 16, 1982. Although Judge Lacey affirmed the order

* The trustee's allegation that there were no funds in the estate either to con-
tinue the security service at the Long Island City facility or otherwise to bring
the site into compliance with government regulations, Brief for Petitioner
Thomas J. O’Neill, Trustee (“T. Br.”) at 5, is misleading. The estate in fact had
significant assets which could have been converted into cash. For example, a
portion of the waste oil inventory not contaminated with PCB’s was sold,
generating approximately $288,000.00. Brief of Petitioner, Midlantic National
Bank (“Midlantic Br.”) at 7.

* At the time of the petition to abandon, the Equitable Life Assurance Cor-
poration and Portland Holding Corporation held mortgages on the property.
Subsequently, both Equitable Life and Portland relinquished their mortgage
interests. Quanta, 739 F.2d at 914 n.3 (App. A, 5a n.3). This issue of lien priori-
ty is therefore not before this Court.

of the bankruptcy court, he found that “the question is a close
one” Memorandum Opinion, January 24, 1983, at 5 (App. G,
56a).°

New York filed a notice of appeal on February 17, 1983, and
oral argument took place on October 24, 1983. On July 20, 1984,
the court'of appeals reversed the decisions of the bankruptcy and
district courts. Quanta, 739 F.2d 912 (App. A, 1a). The court of

appeals reasoned:

If trustees in bankruptcy are to be permitted to dispose
of hazardous wastes under the cloak of the abandon-
ment power, compliance with environmental protec-
tion laws will be transformed into governmental
cleanup by default. It cannot be said that the
bankruptcy laws were intended to work such a radical
change in the nature of local public health and safety
regulation — the substitution of government action for
citizen compliance — without indication that Congress
so intended.

Id. at 921-22 (App. A, 22a). The court of appeals, however, made
no specific ruling as to what assets of the estate should be used
for compliance purposes. That issue “can properly be resolved
only by the bankruptcy court, since the issue was not treated in
the proceedings below and so the record on appeal does not in-
clude findings of relevant fact.” Id. at 923 (App. A, 25a).

* Because the Long Island City facility constituted such a grave threat to the
safety and health of the residents of New York City, after the bankruptcy court
authorized abandonment, a cleanup of the tanks and their contents was under-
taken at public expense. That cleanup has now been completed. It did not,
however, include removal of subsoil contamination. Quanta, 739 F.2d at 914
(App. A, 6a).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Section 554(a) of the Bankruptcy Code does not authorize a
bankruptcy trustee to abandon a toxic waste facility where to
do so imminently and substantially endangers the environment
and public health and safety in violation of federal, state and
local laws.

The court below held that the Bankruptcy Code did not
preempt state and local public health and safety laws, without
addressing whether the proposed abandonment also contraven-
ed federal laws. This Court, however, can avoid reaching this
constitutional question of preemption by harmonizing two federal
policies expressed in recent statutes: to protect the health and
safety of the American public from toxic wastes, and to provide
a fair distribution of debtors’ assets among creditors.

Various provisions of the Bankruptcy Code demonstrate that
Congress intended bankruptcy trustees as a general matter to
comply with federal, state and local public safety laws. Section
554(a) codifies pre-Code law which authorized abandonment on-
ly when it does not endanger public safety. This section must
also be read together with other provisions of the Code and federal
statutes governing trustees. Section 959(b) of the Judicial Code
requires a trustee in any cause to comply with valid state laws.
Section 362(b)(4) of the Bankruptcy Code exempts post-petition
state regulatory enforcement of public safety laws from the
automatic stay of all legal proceedings against the debtor even
when the grounds for enforcement are rooted in pre-petition con-
duct. In addition, under section 503(c) of the Bankruptcy Code,
expenditure of funds to protect the public from the dangers pos-
ed by the toxic waste site is a necessary administrative cost of
preserving the estate.

Nothing in the text, legislative history or policy expressed in
several statutes passed by Congress in the last decade to protect
our environment against hazardous waste products suggests any
intention to allow a trustee in bankruptcy to ignore strict
regulatory requirements by abandoning a burdensome proper-
ty. Consequently, state and local laws paralleling these federal

‘
oO ey He ng Oe ele “~ se

enactments cannot be said to frustrate Congress’ objectives in the
Bankruptcy Code. Section 554(a) therefore does not preempt
otherwise applicable state and local laws for the protection of
public health and safety and the environment.

This Court has consistently rejected challenges to legitimate
government regulations under the takings clause of the fifth
amendmen: even when the practical effect of compliance would
result in complete destruction of the value of the property. The
court below properly concluded that limiting the trustee’s power
to abandon a toxic waste site that was in violation of public safety
laws of general applicability, which were in effect at the time
the loans were made, did not constitute a taking. The creditors
did not have a reasonable, investment-backed expectation that
those who operated this toxic waste storage facility would not
be required to devote some of their resources to complying with
environmental laws.

ARGUMENT

I. A BANKRUPTCY TRUSTEE MAY NOT EN-
DANGER THE HEALTH AND SAFETY OF
MILLIONS OF CITY RESIDENTS BY ABANDONING
A STORAGE FACILITY LEAKING TOXIC WASTES,
IN VIOLATION OF FEDERAL, STATE AND LOCAL
ENVIRONMENTAL STANDARDS.

Federal and state law clearly prohibit what the trustee in
bankruptcy here proposed to do: walk away from a dangerous
toxic waste facility in the midst of a major metropolitan area,
placing large numbers of people in imminent peril of the conse-
quences of leaking PCB's and possible fires. See Point I(A),
1(B)(iii), post. The trustee, however, contends that he is em-
powered by Congress to endanger the public in this way, even
if others are n6ét, because the polluters responsible for the
dangerous condition have taken refuge in bankruptcy.

Chiefly, the trustee relies on section 554(a) of the Bankruptcy
Code, 11 U.S.C. 554(a) (1982), which provides that:

[a]fter notice and a hearing, the trustee may abandon
any property of the estate that is burdensome to the
estate or that is of inconsequential value to the estate.

The trustee argues that under this provision the bankruptcy court’s
inquiry is expressly restricted to whether the property is of in-
consequential value or is burdensome to the estate. If the answer
is yes, the court must approve abandonment. (T. Br. 13-16). Ac-
cording to the trustee’s reading of section 554(a), any violation
of a federal, state or local law designed to protect the public safety
and the environment, as well as any danger to the public which
would occur as a result of abandonment, is of no legal concern
to the bankruptcy court.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit flatly
rejected this argument, finding no support for such a drastic con-
struction of the abandonment provision. Instead, the court of
appeals remanded the matter to the bankruptcy court with direc-
tions to fashion a solution consistent with the public interest and
the requirements of federal and state laws concerning public safe-
ty and environmental protection. The State of New York and the
City of New York submit that this decision is the only resolution
of the matter that is fully consistent with and supported by the
various federal and state public safety and environmental laws,
the Bankruptcy Code, principles of statutory construction and
prior judicial decisions.

A. Federal Environmental and Bankruptcy Laws Should
Be Read in Harmony to Protect the Public Safety and
the Environment.

In interpreting the limits on the trustee’s abandonment power,
the court below correctly found that the Bankruptcy Code, taken
as a whole, does not preempt state and local laws concerning
hazardous waste and designed to protect public health and safety,
as we argue more fully below (Point I{B]). This Court, however,
need not reach the constitutional preemption question because,
we argue below, the abandonment of a facility containing hun-
dreds of thousands of gallons of hazardous wastes violates a broad

range of federal environmental protection statutes, as well as
parallel state and local laws.’

The need to accommodate the directives of different federal
laws, of course, does not present supremacy clause questions.
Rather, it presents a question of harmonization. The basic rule
of statutory construction is that:

[Where two statutes are “ ‘capable of co-existence, it
is the duty of the courts, absent a clearly expressed con-
gressional intention to the contrary, to regard each as
effective’ ” Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases,
419 US., at 133-134, 95 S.Ct. at 353-354, quoting Mor-
ton v. Mancari, 417 USS. 535, 551, 94 S.Ct. 2474, 2483,
41 L.Ed.2d 290 (1974).

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto, 104 S. Ct. 2862, 2881 (1984).

Here, no evidence has been produced of any congressional in-
tent that the abandonment power of a trustee in bankruptcy
under section 554(a) overrides the requirement of compliance
with federal environmental laws, particularly those comprehen-
sive laws that were passed or substantially amended since the
Bankruptcy Code was enacted in 1978. Moreover, the purposes
of the Bankruptcy Code and the purposes of the federal en-
vironmental protection laws are not mutually exclusive or an-
tagonistic. As is discussed more fully below, Congress intended
these two purposes to be harmonized.

Broadly viewed, the historic purpose of the federal bankrupt-
cy statues is to bring about an equitable distribution of the
bankrupt’s estate among creditors “holding just demands based
upon adequate consideration.” Kothe v. R.C. Taylor Trust, 280
US. 224, 227 (1930). Environmental regulation is a more recent
concern of the federal government. Reflecting a growing anxie-
ty about the grave threat hazardous chemicals pose to the public

’ The State of New York argued in the cuurts below that the trustee’s actions
violated federal as well as state and local laws. See, ¢.g., Brief of Appellants
in the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at 5, 7-10, 12, 14, 23. The court
of appeals did not directly address this point.

10

health and the environment, Congress in the past ten years has
enacted several new statutes and amended existing statutes in
order better to control this toxic threat.’

* During the past decade, Congress has enacted or amended the following en-
vironmental protection laws:

a. Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), 15 U.S.C. § 2601 et seq. (enacted
1976, most recently amended 1984). In enacting TSCA, Congress declared that
it was “the policy of the United States that . . . adequate authority should exist
to regulate chemical substances and mixtures which present an unreasonable
risk of injury to health or the environment, and to take action with respect
to chemical substances and mixtures which are imminent hazards. . . ” 15 U.S.C.
§ 2601(b) (1982). As the Senate Report makes clear, Congress intended TSCA
to be “a comprehensive measure ‘o protect the public and the environment from
exposure to hazardous chemicals.” S.Rep. No. 698, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 3,
reprinted in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 4491, 4493. The Senate Report
demonstrates that Congress was particularly concerned about the dangers of
PCB's, id. at 3-4, 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News at 4493-94, and that Con-
gress considered “controlling toxic chemicals in the environment is one of the
crucial health requirements facing this nation.” Jd. at 4, 1976 U.S. Code Cong.
& Ad. News at 4494.

b. Comprehensive Environmental Response. Compensation and Liability Act
(CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. § 9601 et seq. (enacted 1986, most recently amended 1984).
In passing this “Superfund” legslation known as CERCLA, Congress sought
in part to address the problem of inactive hazardous waste sites which in the
past “have forced state and local governments to bear the costs” of cleanup.
H.R. Rep. No. 1016, Part I, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 20, reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code
Cong. & Ad. News 6119, 6123.

c. Federal Water Pollution Control Act (Clean Water Act), 33 U.S.C. § 1251
et seq. (enacted 1948, most recently amended 1984). In passing the Clean Water
Act, Congress announced a strong “national policy that discharge of toxic
pollutants in toxic amounts be prohibited.” 33 U.S.C. 125l(a)(3) (1982). The
Senate Committee on Public Works conducted a two-year study of the existing
federal water control program and concluded that “the national effort to abate
and control water pollution has been inadequate in every vital aspect,” S.Rep.
No. 414, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 7, reprinted in 1972 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News
3668, 3674, and proposed a major change in the enforcement mechanism to
increase the federal role. /d., 1972 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News at 3675.

d. Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), 42 U.S.C. § 6901 et seq.
(enacted 1976, most recently amended 1984).

e. Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7401 et seq. (enacted 1955, most recently amend-
ed 1982).

at eg neh Soul ae Rae al demand, RR

11

The Long Island City toxic waste site is a facility governed
by the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation
and Liability Act of 1980, 42 US.C. 8 9601(9)(1982). Under
CERCLA, any person who disposes of isazardous waste at such
a facility is liable for cleanup costs and damages. 42 U.S.C. §
9607(a) (1982). The debtor's estate and the trustee in his represen-
tative copacity are such “persons” under CERCLA. 42 U.S.C §
9601 (2i)(1982). See also In re T.P Long Chemical, Inc., 45 Bankr.
278 (Bankr. N.D. Ohio 1985). The trustee cannot shift the liability
of the estate to a third party. 42 U.S.C. § 9607(e)(1) (1982).

Abandonment of PCB-contaminated waste oil would also
violate the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) and regulations
which explicitly prescribe the proper disposal of PCB's.’ Pursuant
to regulations, PCB-contaminated materials, depending on their
concentration levels, must either be disposed of in special land-
fills or destroyed in approved incinerators. 40 C.F.R. § 761.60
et seq. (1984). The Environmental Protection Administration
(“EPA”) promulgated these comprehensive regulations after deter-
mining that “the mar.ufacture, processing, and distribution in
commerce of PCB’s . . . presents an unreasonable risk of injury
to health within the United States... . based upon the well-
documented human health and environmental hazard of PCB
exposure.” 40 C.F.R. § 761.20 (1984). Abandoning such highly
toxic substances in the heart of New York City is clearly prohibited
under TSCA.

In addition, abandonment of the Long Island City facility
violated the imminent hazard provisions of the Resource Con-
servation and Recovery Act (RCRA) in effect at the time of the
bankruptcy court’s order, 42 US.C. § 6973 (1982), as well as those
added in the 1984 amendments to the Act. 42 U.S.C.A. § 6972
(West Supp. 1985). Finally, the trustee’s actions implicated the
Clean Water Act’s prohibition against discharges of hazardous
substances into navigable waters. 33 US.C. § 1321(b)(3) (19%2).

* Because of the particular dangers posed to the public health and the environ-
ment by PCB's, they are the only class of chemicals which Congress has
specifically addressed in a statute, rather than leaving them for regulation by
EPA under its general authority to regulate toxic substances. See 15 U.S.C.
§2605(e) (1982).

12

Under the Clean Water Act, the trustee cannot shift liability te
a third party not responsible for the discharge. 33 U.S.C. §
1321(f),(g) (1982).

None of these comprehensive federal enactments expressly ex-
empts from its requirements a trustee in bankruptcy seeking to
abandon burdensome property. Legislative history fails to disclose
any such congressional intention. Logic, too, suggests that the
poisoning of our environment would not be considered benign
or acceptable to Congress because it was done in order to preserve
the assets of creditors. Congress was surely aware that requiring
facilities which stored deadly substances to be maintained and
monitored might diminish or even eliminate the creditor's security.
It nonetheless gave higher priority to avoiding the costs and per-
manent consequences to the environment and public health and
safety which would result from the dumping of indefinitely life-
endangering substances.

Congress has not held the view, shared by the bankruptcy court
below and the trustee, that cities and states should bear the finan-
cial responsibility for disposal and cleanup of hazardous chemicals
generated by private parties. At the time of CERCLA'’s passage,
Congress was aware that “EPA estimated that as many as 30,000
to 50,000 inactive and uncontrolled hazardous waste sites existed
in the United States, and estimated that cleanup of the 1200 to
2000 most dangerous sites alone would cost between $13.1 and
$22 billion. H.R. Rep. No. 1016, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 18, 20 (1980),
reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 6120, 6123.” State
of New York v. General Electric, 592 F. Supp. 291, 302 n.21
(N.D.N.Y. 1984). Because Congress believed existing hazardous
waste sites should not be cleaned up by public funds alone, it
decreed that generators and transporters of hazardous chemicals,
as well as owners and operators of property in which hazardous
kemicals were stored or disposed of, were liable for cleanup costs,
irrespective of the “Superfund” created by CERCLA. State of
New York v. General Electric, 592 F Supp. at 302; United States
v. Reilly Tar & Chemical Corp., 546 F.Supp 1100, 1112 (D. Minn.
1982).

Similarly, in broadening the citizens suit provision in RCRA in
the 1984 arnendments to that Act, Congress expressly recognized

13

that the government cannot be expected to be responsible to clean
up all hazardous waste sites. In the report accompanying the
amendments, the House Energy and Commerce Committee
stated:

The Committee believes this expansion of the citizens
suit provision will complement, rather than conflict
with, the Administrator's efforts to eliminate threats
as to the public health and the environment, particular-
ly where the Government is unable to take action
because of inadequate resources.

H.R. Rep. No. 198, Part I, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. 53 , reprinted
in 1984 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 5576, 5612 (emphasis sup-
plied). Surely, therefore, Congress did not intend government to
step in and finance remediation of additional hazardous waste
sites created by newly bankrupt companies when responsible par-
ties were on the scene.

New York has been vigorous in enforcing these federal statutes.”
Indeed, the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit has recent-
ly affirmed the State’s authority to obtain injunctive relief under
state law and “response costs” under CERCLA for cleaning up
a hazardous waste storage facility. State of New York v. Shore
Realty Corp., No. 84-7925, slip op. at 3065 (2d Cir. Apr. 4, 1985).
New York was here seeking to remedy similar violations of both
federal and state law. See n.7, ante.

B. The Trustees Power to Abandon Under Section 554(a)
Is Limited by Requirements of Public Safety.

The trustee points to the seemingly unqualified language of
section 554(a) as authorizing him to abandon the Quanta facility

© New York has additional authority to enforce federal environmental laws under
its parens patriae power. It has frequently done so because it has “a quasi-
sovereign interest in the health and well-being — both physical and economic — of
its residents in general.” Alfred L. Snapp & Son, Inc. v. Puerto Rico ex rel. Baez,
102 S. Ct. 3260, 3269 (1982); People by Abrams v. L] Cornwell Company, 695
F.2d 34, 38 (2d Cir. 1982). In addition, the environmental laws create benefits
and alleviate hardships which the “state will obviously wish to have accrue to
its residents.” Snapp, 102 S. Ct. at 3269; 11 Cornwell, 695 F.2d at 39. See also
Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981); Georgia v. Pennsylvania R. Co.,
324 U.S. 439 (1945).

14

without regard to the requirements of recently enacted en-
vironmental safeguards. Whenever the policies of the Bankruptcy
Code come into possible conflict with other federal policies, this
Court has made clear the judiciary’s function is to harmonize
them. See, e.g., National Labor Relations Board v. Bildisco, 104
S. Ct. 1188, 1197 (1984); see also In re Nitec Paper Corp., 43 Bankr.
492, 499 (S.D.N.Y. 1984); In re Kish, 41 Bankr. 620, 626 n.6
(Bankr. E.D. Mich. 1984); In re Kennise Diversified Corp., 34
Bankr. 237, 245 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1983). A trustee’s abandonment
power has never been so broadly construed as to sanction over-
riding of laws enacted for public health and safety, as a review
of the case law leading to enactment of 11 U.S.C. § 554(a) (1982)
indicates.

The provisions of the Code, read together, demonstrate a con-
gressional intent that trustees in bankruptcy are to comply with
laws designed to protect public health, safety and the environ-
ment. For example, section 554(a) is properly seen as having
codified the “public endangerment” exception judicially developed
prior to its enactment. Furthermore, the trustee's authority to
abandon is subject to his duty to manage and operate the pro-
perty in accordance with state law. 28 U.S.C. § 959(b) (1982).
Likewise, there is an exception in ll U.S.C. § 362(b)(4) (1982)
to the automatic stay of all proceedings against the bankrupt for
governmental enforcement actions. All evidence a clear congres-
sional intention that bankruptcy concerns be accomodated with
other important societal interests.

i. The Trustee's Authority to Abandon Is Subject to Health
and Safety Laws.

Cases decided prior to the 1978 enactment of section 554(a)
plainly recognize that a trustee's ability to abandon property has
historically been subject to the requirements of public health and
safety. Absent some indication of a contrary intent — and the
legislative history of section 554(a) is silent on this — the proper
conclusion to be drawn is that section 554(a) codifies the rule
established in such cases as Ottenheimer v. Whitaker, 198 F.2d
289 (4th Cir. 1952), and In re Lewis Jones, Inc., 1 Bankr. Ct.
Dec. 277 (Bankr. E.D.Pa. 1974), that a trustee may not abandon

15

property where doing so would endanger public health and safe-
ty" L. King, 4 Collier on Bankruptcy $554.01 at 554-5 (15th ed.
1985) (“This section [554(a)] makes few substantive changes in
prior law, but seeks to clarify certain ambiguities and to codify
cases resulting from legislative silence on the matter.”); accord,
Editorial Commentary and Analysis, Bankr. Serv. L. Ed. § 23:111
(1979). The judge-made law which section 554 codifies
demonstrates quite plainly that although a trustee's power to
abandon burdensome or worthless property was recognized by
the courts long before the codification at 11 U.S.C. § 554(a) in
1978, “the exercise of the power to abandon is subject to the ap-
plication of general regulations of a police nature.’ L. King, 4A
Collier on Bankruptcy {70.42(2) at 502-04 (14th ed. 1978).

In Ottenheimer v. Whitaker, the trustee in bankruptcy peti-
tioned the court for leave to abandon, as burdensome to the estate,

" Because the legislative history is silent, it is appropriate to consult these deci-
sions in the interpretation of the codification in section 554(a). N. Singer, 2A
Sutherland Statutory Construction § 48.03 at 291 (4th ed. 1984). See alse Na-
tional Labor Relations Board v. Amax Coal Co., 453 U.S. 322, 329 (1980).

® The trustee argues that because Congress did not write into the section 554(a)
abandonment power a “public endangerment” rule, it therefore intended to
reject the judge-made rule, citing National Labor Relations Board v. Bildisco,
104 S. Ct. 1188 (1984) (T. Br. 15-16). The short answer is that there was no need
to reiterate such a rule because, as we demonstrate below, 28 U.S.C. § 959(b)
and ll U.S.C. § 362(b)(4) limit the trustee's authority to abandon under sec-
tion 554(a) and, in combination, mandate a “public endangerment” rule.
Nonetheless, the Court's statement in that case that “Congress knew how to
draft an exclusion . . . when it wanted to,” 104 S. Ct. at 1195, here undermines
the trustee's position. When Congress directed bankruptcy trustees in section
959(b) to manage and operate the property in accordance with state law, it
provided an exemption for railroad reorganizations but none that would apply
to the present case. When Congress decided not to stay automatically govern-
mental enforcement proceedings once a petition is filed, it did not specify an
exception for proposed abandonment by a trustee. 11 U.S.C. § 362(b)(4). When
Congress wrote the numerous environmental laws discussed above, it could have
excepted trustees in bankruptcy, either in general or only when they propose
to abandon property, but did not do so, even though it did enumerate other
exceptions to the coverage of those laws. See, e.g., 42 U.S.C. § 9607(b) (1982)
(defenses to CERCLA).

16

certain floating barges. The abandonment was opposed by the
Harbor Engineer of Baltimore and the United States Army Corps
of Engineers on the ground that the proposed abandonment
would violate 33 U.S.C. § 409 (1982) (Act of Mar. 3, 1899), which
made it unlawful to sink vessels in navigable channels. Testimony
had shown that the barges were in dilapidated condition and,
if abandoned, would sink at anchorage. The court not only denied
the trustee permission to abandon the barges but directed him
to remove them from the anchorage and mandated that the cost
of removal be borne by the bankrupt estate as a cost of administra-
tion. The court of appeals declared that the well-settled rule that
a trustee can refuse to accept property of an onerous or un-
profitable nature would have applied were it not for the unusual
consequences that would follow:

There can be no doubt that the property not only has
no value, but also that the care and disposition of it
will involve the expenditure of a substantial sum of
money. But it is equaily true that if the trustee aban-
dons the barges and at the same time holds on to the
valuable assets of the estate, the title to the barges will
revert to the bankrupt and he will be left without
means to care for or dispose of them in the manner
prescribed by the statute.

198 F.2d at 290 (emphasis added).

The Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania
reached a similar result in In re Lewis Jones, Inc., 1 Bankr. Ct.
Dec. 277 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1974). In that case, the trustees of three
bankrupt utility companies sought instructions from the court
concerning certain underground manholes, vents and steam pipes
which could become hazardous to public health and safety if
abandoned in their existing condition. These structures could be
made safe by repaving, filling and sealing but only at a very
substantial cost. In Lewis Jones, unlike in Ottenheimer o: the
present case, no federal or state statute would have been violated
had the trustee not spent the money to remove the potential
hazard. Nevertheless, despite the cost involved for the estate, the
court ordered the trustees to remedy the potentially hazardous

17

condition, finding that “even absent the violation of a state or
federal act, the public interest must be protected by the Bankrupt-
cy Court.” Lewis Jones, 1 Bankr. Ct. Dec. at 280. The Lewis Jones
court relied, as did the court below, upon the principle announced
in Securities and Exchange Commission v. United States Realty
i> Improvement Co., 310 U.S. 434, 455 (1940):

A bankruptcy court is a court of equity and is guided
by equitable doctrines and principles except as they are
inconsistent with the Act. A court of equity may in its
discretion in the exercise of the jurisdiction commit-
ted to it grant or deny relief upon performance of a
condition which will safeguard the public interest.
(citations omitted).

There is no indication that in codifying the abandonment
power, Congress intended to eliminate the judicially evolved
“public endangerment” exception. Indeed, it was recently reaf-
firmed in In re T.P. Long Chemical Co., 45 Bankr. 278 (Bankr.
N.D. Ohio 1985). Adopting the same reasoning as the court below,
the bankruptcy court held that section 554(a) did not authorize
a trustee to abandon barrels of hazardous materials. The court
stated that “the congressional policy underlying CERCLA is that
those who generate, use, or transport hazardous materials should
be required to pay the cost of damages caused by the hazardous
materials” and that “the estate cannot avoid the liability impos-
ed by CERCLA.” 45 Bankr. at 286. Similarly, in In re 30 Hill
Top Street Corp., 42 Bankr. 517, 519-520 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1984),
the court denied the trustee's motion to abandon a nursing home
in a Chapter 7 case where the proposed abandonment would
return the property to the debtor, who was in no position to cor-
rect the deficiencies in health care services which threatened the
health and safety of the patients.

ii. Requiring the Trustee to Manage the Estate in Com-
pliance with Federal and State Environmental Laws Is
Consistent with Ohio v. Kovacs.

In Ohio v. Kovacs, 105 S.Ct. 705 (1985), this Court held that
the obligation of an individual debtor to comply with a state

18

court injunction, which was issued prior to the filing of a
bankruptcy petition and required him to clean up a toxic waste
dump, had been converted into an obligation to pay money
dischargeable .n bankruptcy when the individual debtor had been
relieved of his property by a receiver prior to the bankruptcy.
Kovacs was therefore unable to satisfy the obligation to clean up
the site other than by a payment of money, even before the
bankruptcy petition was filed. 105 S. Ct. at 710-711. Here, by
contrast, the state is seeking to enforce the post-petition obliga-
tion of the trustee in charge of the site not to take steps which
violate federal and state environmental laws designed to protect
the public. (The trustee concedes that “[t]he states are free to
direct future conduct of debtors and debtors-in-possession. . . .”
(T. Br. 35).).

This Court, in reaching the decision in Kovacs, was careful
to limit its holding to the narrow issue presented. It declared that
it did not question that anyone in possession of the site, including
a trustee in bankruptcy, must comply with the state’s environmen-
tal laws. 105 S. Ct. at 711-12. Likewise, the Court further stated
in Kovacs that it was not holding that “the injunction against
bringing further toxic wastes on the premises or against any con-
duct that will contribute to the pollution of the site or the State’s
waters is dischargeable in bankruptcy,” 105 S.Ct. at 711 (emphasis
supplied), and, citing Penn Terra, Ltd. v. Department of En-
vironmental Resources, 733 F.2d 267 (3d Cir. 1984), noted that
the automatic stay provision of section 362(a) “does not apply
to suits to enforce the regulatory statutes of the State.” Kovacs,
105 S.Ct. at 711 n.11.® Thus, Kovacs did not relieve the trustee,

° This conclusion is consistent with other lower court decisions refusing to stay
regulatory injunctions and license revocations regulating future conduct of the
debtor, even when the grounds for such enforcement arose before bankruptcy.
See, e.g., In re Thomassen, 15 Bankr. 907 (Bankr. 9th Cir. 1981) (permitting
administrative proceedings which could have resulted in revocation of debtor
physician's license on the basis of pre-bankruptcy professional negligence); Com-
modities Futures Trading Commission v. Incomco, Inc., 649 F.2d 128 (2d Cir.
1981) (permitting regulatory enforcement proceeding seeki.ig to enjoin activities
in the commodities market on the basis of pre-bankruptcy violations); In re D.H.

(Footnote Continued)

19

as the person in possession of the hazardous waste dump for nearly
eight months, of an obligation to manage the site without risk-
ing harm to the public and not to endanger the public further
by abandoning it in violation of federal or state law."

iii. Section 959(b) Requires the Trustee to Comply with
Public Health and Safety Requirements When Manag-
ing and Abandoning Property.

Section 959(b) of the Jucicial Code requires the trustee to
“manage and operate the property” according to state law. The
trustee argues that because of section 554(a) he could jettison
any obligation to obey state laws by abandoning the property.
New York contends, to the contrary, that in view of the history
of judicially established limitations on the trustee's power to aban-
don, section 554(a)’s conferral of that power is to be read in pari
materia with the basic obligation of the trustee under federal
law to manage and operate the property consistently with state
law requirements. 28 U.S.C. § 959(b).*

(Footnote Continued)

Overmeyer Telecasting Co., Inc., 35 Bankr. 400 (N.D. Ohio 1983) (permitting
FCC proceedings to suspend debtor's broadcasting license); In re Kennise Diver-
sified Corp., 34 Bankr. 237, 243 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1983) (permitting housing
authority to correct serious housing code violations endangering tenants although
debtor landlord’s conduct was rooted in pre-petition period).

“ This Court never addressed in Kovacs whether the trustee could simply aban-
don a currently dangerous toxic dump to an insolvent debtor without making
provisions to protect the public. In dicta, this Court merely noted that section
554(a) authorizes abandonment of valueless property, but it did not have occa-
sion to determine the scope of the public endangerment exception codified in
that section. 105 S.Ct. at 711 n.12. There was no finding in Kovacs that the
toxic dump at the time of bankruptcy posed the imminent danger presented here.

S In re Kennise Diversified Corp., 34 Bankr. 237, 243 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1983),
provides support for this analysis. In that case, the court declared that “Bankrupt-
cy Code § 362(b)(4) and 28 U.S.C. § 959 form a smooth continuum and make
it apparent that Kennise as debtor in possession must operate its building ac-
cording to the dictates of non-bankruptcy law that would apply if there were
no Chapter LI case.” See also In re Briarcliff, 15 Bankr. 864, 868 (D.N.J. 1981)
(holding that the exemption from the automatic stay provision in section
362(b)(4) must be read together with section 959).

20

There is no question that the abandonment of half a million
gallons of flammable liquids, much of it contaminated with
dangerous PCB’s, in the middle of New York City violates New
York law. In fact, it is a felony. N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. Law (“ECL’)
71-2713 (McKinney 1984). See also ECL §§27-0701, 0914; 71-2711.
2712 (McKinney 1984); State of New York v. Shore Realty Corp.,
slip op. at 3099 (public nuisance). In effect, the trustee
acknowledges that by virtue of section 959(b) he would be bound
by New York’s environmental laws if Quanta were in reorganiza-
tion (T. Br. 23), but he maintains that section 959(b) applies on-
ly in a reorganization, not in a liquidation." There is no support
for this narrow reading in the text of section 959(b), its legislative
history, judicial interpretation or logic.

First, on its face section 959(b) applies to a trustee “appointed
in any cause pending in any court of the United States.” 28 U.S.C.
§959(b) (1982) (emphasis supplied). The only exception is “as pro-
vided in section 1166,” id., which governs railroad reorganiza-
tion proceedings and is inapplicable here; under well-settled prin-
ciples of statutory construction, “[t]he enumeration of exclusions
from the operation of a statute indicates that the statute should
apply to all cases not specifically excluded.” N. Singer, 2A
Sutherland Statutory Construction §47.23 at 194 (4th ed. 1984).
No distinction is made in the language of the statute between
managing a reorganization and managing an orderly liquida-
tion. In fact, Congress clearly envisioned the trustee managing
and operating a business under Chapter 7 because ll U.S.C. §
721 (1982) authorizes such activity by the trustee.

There is, likewise, nothing in the legislative history indicating
that section 959(b) applies only in a reorganization. Courts other
than the court below have held section 959(b) applicable to
trustees managing property in liquidations. For example, in Jn
re 30 Hill Top Street Cor. the court held that a trustee operating

* The court of appeals determined that even if section 959(b) does not by itself
require compliance with state and local law governing hazardous waste facilities,
as New York believes it does, section 959(b) assuredly does provide more evidence
that Congress did not intend the Bankruptcy Code to preempt state and local
police power governing safety and health. 739 F.2d at 919 (App. A, 17a).

21

-

a nursing home in a Chapter 7 case pursuant to the trustee's sec-
tion 721 power to operate a business during liquidation was
obligated under section 959 to comply with -tate law. Similarly,
the court in In re Charles George Land Reclamation Trust, 30
Bankr. 918 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1983), held that a trustee in a Chapter
7 liquidation case must manage a hazardous waste site in com-
pliance with state law and protect the public from leaking toxic
wastes. Sze also In re Briarcliff, 15 Bankr. 864, 868 (D.N.J. 1981)
(dictum that trustees in any case are obligated under section 959
as officers of the court “to comply with applicable State and local
law while they carry on their activities”).

Likewise, there is not the slightest support in policy or logic
for the anomalous interpretation advanced by the trustee. Adop-
tion of the trustee’s reasoning would lead to the peculiar result
that a trustee is required to comply with state environmental laws
while administering the estate under a Chapter ll reorganiza-
tion case, but is free from such restrictions if the estate is con-
verted to a Chapter 7 case. This would provide an obvious in-
centive for unscrupulous debtors and creditors to seek to con-
vert reorganization cases to Chapter 7 cases. Encouraging such
hazardous enterprises to go into liquidation in order to avoid com-
pliance with environmental laws is precisely the opposite of what
Congress intended.

Moreover, the logic of the cases discussed below, applying sec-
tion 959(b) to require trustees in reorganization cases to comply
with state laws regardless of financial consequences, is equally
compelling in a Chapter 7 liquidation case where no hope re-
mains of salvaging a business. In each of these cases, where the
actions of the debtor in possession, trustee or receiver would or
could have caused injury to the public or the environment, the
court held that the police and regulatory powers of the state took
precedence, even where such regulations might affect the
rehabilitation of the debtor and result in significant reduction
of its assets.

In Gillis v. California, 293 U.S. 62 (1934), this Court rejected
the receiver’s request to be relieved of compliance with a Califor-
nia licensing law, even though without such relief the

22

reorganization would fail. In In re Dolly Madison Industries, 504
F.2d 49. (3d Cir. 1974), the court upheld the revocation of a cer-
tificate to do business by the State of Virginia for failure of a
business in reorganization to pay a registration fee and file an-
nual reports. In In re Nitec Paper Corp., 43 Bankr. 492 (S.D.N.Y.
1984), the court held that under section 959, “[a] reorganization
must be formulated within the bounds of existing state and federal
law.” Id. at 499 (footnote omitted). The courts in Jn re Briarcliff
and In re Kennise Diversified Corp. reached similar results. The
court in In re Canarico Quarries, Inc., 466 F.Supp. 1333 (D.P.R.
1979), required a corporation in Chapter XI to comply with the
requirements of the Puerto Rican Environmental Quality Board,
by ceasing emissions in violation of the Federal Clean Air Act,
even if such compliance required the closing of the business,
thereby defeating the purposes of the attempted arrangement.
See also Colonial Tavern, Inc. v. Byrne, 420 F.Supp. 44 (ID. Mass.
}976) (suspension of liquor license upheld for repeated v lations
of midnight closing hour regulations); In re Grand Spaulding
Dodge, Inc., 5 Bankr. 481 (N.D. Ill. 1981) (suspension of
automobile dealer:hip license due to fraud upheld, citing in part
28 U.S.C. § 959(b)); Commonwealth v. Peggs Run Coal Co., 55
Pa. Commw. 312, 423 A.2d 765 (1980) (permitting the state to
close a coal production facility which was violating local en-
vironmental! laws).”

'’ This analysis of section 959(b) is consistent with the interpretation given
by some courts to the narrower limitation in section 959(a) providing that
trustees “may be sued . . . with respect to any of their acts or transactions
in carrying on business connected with such property.” 28 U.S.C.
§959(a)(1982). These courts have permitted suits against trustees under sec-
tion 959(a) for tortious acts committed by trustees during liquidation or
reorganization which have harmed members of the public, while carefully
distinguishing such suits, which do not affect the title, possession, control,
liquidation or distribution of the assets, from those which directly interfere
with administration of the estate. See, e.g., In re 30 Hill Top Street Corp.
(trustee in Chapter 7 liquidation operating nursing home obligated under sec-
tion 959(a) to comply with state public safety laws); McGreavey v. Straw,
90 N.H. 130, 138, 5 A.2d 270, 276 (1939).

23

The sole authority cited by the trustee before this Court (T.
Br. 22-23)" in support of his contention that section 959(b) does
not govern the activities of trustees in liquidation cases is a state-
ment in J. Moore, 7-Pt. 2 Moore’s Federal Practice, 466.04(4) at
1913 ‘2d ed. 1984), concerning whether state laws regulating
distribution of funds in receivership must be followed:

§959(b) applies only to the receiver in the operation
of property in his possession. It does not apply to the
distribution of the estate, and does not require the
federal receivership court to comply with state laws
regulating distribution of funds in receivership,
although Erie R. Co v. Tompkins should now require
it to do so in cases involving only non-federal matters.
(footnotes omitted).

Clearly, the treatise does not address whether state health and
safety or other police regulations must be followed in a liquida-
tion case. Rather, it is discussing whether state or federal laws
would govern when the only question concerns the distribution
of assets. As the last clause of the quoted language indicates, Prof.
Moore's treatise is not authority for the proposition that the trustee
need not comply with state environmental laws in a liquidation
case.

Given that section 959(b) “is a clear indication that in general

the congressional scheme was not intended to subjugate state and
local regulatory laws,” Quanta, 739 F.2d at 919 (App. A, 17a),
there is simply no justification to limit artificially the broad term

* The trustee has properly abandoned his reliance on dicta in a footnote in
State of Missouri v. United States Bankruptcy Court, 647 F.2d 768, 778 n.18
(8th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1162 (1982). In that case, the court in-
dicated a “doubt” that the trustee would have to obtain a state license to sell
grain if the company were liquidating rather than reorganizing. The court cites
no authority for this proposition. Moreover, as the court below indicated, Quan-
ta, 739 F.2d at 920 (App. A, 18a), had the trustee proposed to enhance the estate
by selling contaminated grain in violation of state law, regardless of threats to
health and safety, it is unlikely the Eighth Circuit would have entertained doubts.

24

“management” in section 959(b) to exclude the trustee’s proposed
abandonment of burdensome property. Abandonment of burden-
some property is plainly an act undertaken by the trustee to
“manage and operate the property” of the estate.” Under sec-
tion 959(b), it must therefore be done in conformity with state
law. This obvious reading permits the trustee's authority to aban-
don property under 11 U.S.C. § 554(a) to be readily harmonized
with the strictures of both federal and state environmental laws.
It also makes evident sense. There is no reason to believe that
Congress wished to allow terminally ill businesses, unlike those
on the critical list, to expire in derogation of state law. Finally,
this construction of section 959(b) is compelling because it ob- .
viates the need for a constitutional determination as to whether
section 554(a) preempts state and local environmental laws.

iv. To Deprive State and Local Governments of the Ability
to Prevent Threatened Disposals of Dangerous Hazardous
Waste Is Inconsistent with Congressional Intent.

State and local governments must always have, under their
police powers, the ability to forestall imminent peril to their
general populace by doing what New York here sought to do:
obtain a remedial court order addressed to a demonstrable threat
in the near term to public health, safety and the environment.
To hold otherwise is, we fear, to imperil the public, despite the
plain intent of Congress to lessen the perils posed by toxic waste
facilities. It also is to extend an open invitation to the unscrupulous
to use the bankruptcy courts to avoid the stringent requirements
of recently enacted environmental laws.

* Webster's Third New International Dictionary (1976) defines management
as “the act or art of managing . . . the conducting or supervising of something
. . . directing, controlling, and supervising any industrial or business project
or activity with responsibility for results . . . judicious use of means to accomplish
anend.. . skillful... treatment... .”

* Although the court of appeals indicated it believed this construction of sec-
tion 959(b) “would seem open to question,” it stated further that “i]t would
not strain the language to construe ‘management of the property’ to include
abandonment of a facility.” Quanta, 739 F.2d at 919 (App. A, 17a).

25

This obvious concern must have been what prompted this
Court in Ohio v. Kovacs to caution what it was not declaring:
that the filing of a petition in bankruptcy excuses a pre-existing
duty not to dispose of toxic wastes improperly, or relieves the
trustee of the need to comply with environmental laws. 105 S.Ct.
at 7ll. In the present proceeding, this Court ought not render
local authorities impotent to protect health and safety against
a palpably awesome menace, such as was posed by the Quanta
site, absent the clearest indication that Congress intended such
an extensive evisceration of traditional local regulatory authori-
ty. Plainly, no such indication has been provided.

Rather, as the court of appeals found, 739 F.2d at 918 (App.
A, 15a), the contrary intent appears from Congress’ enactment
of an exception to the automatic stay provision of the Bankrupt-
cy Code for “the commencement or continuation of an action
or proceeding by a governmental unit to enforce such govern-
mental unit’s police or regulatory power.” 11 U.S.C. § 362(b)(4);
see also 28 U.S.C.A. § 1452 (West Supp. 1985) (limiting removal
of actions by governmental units to enforce police or regulatory
authority). The Senate's Report on this provision expressly con-
templated its application to suits concerning environmental pro-
tection laws. S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 52, reprinted
in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 5787, 5838. This excep-
tion to the general rule staying legal proceedings against the deb-
tor is persuasive evidence that Congress did not envision state
and local governments being powerless to use their “police or
regulatory power” to protect public safety, health and the en-
vironment when those are threatened by such proposed actions
of a trustee as abandonment of a toxic waste facility.

The trustee argues, however, that in abandoning Quanta’s
storage facility containing hazardous, flammable liquids he has
taken no affirmative act, but has merely divested the estate of
title to the property so that it is revested in the debtor corpora-
tion. (T. Br. 24). In short, he argues, abandonment is not veally
disposal. The trustee's argument is factually and legally incorrect.

First, as shown above, by removing guards and supervisory per-
sonnel, shutting down the fire suppression system and leaving

26

hazardous wastes leaking from an unattended facility, the trustee
created a new, highly dangerous situation which cannot be at-
tributed to the acts of the debtor. The trustee's analysis of the
import of his activities in abandoning this property may apply
to inmocuous, static property posing no public risk; it is, however,
woefully deficient where federal, state and local laws recognize
that the proper maintenance and handling of such property is
perpetually a matter of grave public concern. To abandon or fail
to maintain a dangerous waste facility is to create a hazard to
the community, for hazardous waste which is separated from the
equipment, supervision and resources necessary to control its
destructive potential is radically different from hazardous waste
which is stored, supervised and disposed of properly.

If the property of the estate included not a toxic waste facility
but rather a zoo full of sick animals which, because of their diseas-
ed condition, could not be sold, the trustee would surely not be
empowered to sell the cages, fire the caretakers and abandon those
dangerous animals, separating them from the personnel, equip-
ment and other resources necessary to control them. By the same
token, a trustee surely would not be permitted to strip a nuclear
power plant of its salable items of equipment, dismis. the per-
sonnel and abandon the uncontrolled reactor, with the excuse
that it was the debtor who had started the chain reaction many
years earlier. It is the very act of removing the assets necessary
to control the hazardous waste that creates the danger to the
community.

The trustee's argument is legally flawed as well. The United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit rejected such an
active-passive distinction in interpreting disposal of hazardous
wastes pursuant to RCRA, 42 U.S.C. § 6973 (1982). In United
States v. Waste Industries, Inc., 734 F.2d 159, 164 (4th Cir. 1984),
the court stated:

[A] strained reading of that term [“disposal” limiting
its section 7003 meaning to active conduct would so
frustrate the remedial purpose of the Act as to make
it meaningless. Section 7003, unlike the provisions of
the Act’s subtitle C, does not regulate conduct but

27

regulates and mitigates endangerments. The Ad-
ministrator’s intervention authorized by section 7003
is triggered by evidence that the “disposal of ... hazar-
dous waste may present an imminent and substantial
endangerment.” (emphasis supplied by court).

The trustee's argument that the only consequence of his ac-
tion is that the hazardous waste reverts to the debtor sidesteps
the critical fact that he has removed all assets from the debtor.
The Third Circuit properly recognized that an act which separates
hazardous waste from the assets necessary to check its destruc-
tive potential constituted final disposal of the hazardous waste
which “clearly contravened applicable law, and did so not merely
technically, but with severely deleterious implications for the
public safety.” Quanta, 739 F.2d at 921 (App. A, 2la). To say,
as the trustee does, that the debtor corporation is now responsi-
ble for the hazardous waste is to engage in dangerous fiction
because the debtor has been reduced to a paper entity without
assets.”

Finally, the trustee makes a fundamental error in characterizing
New York as a creditor seeking to obtain a priority status not
otherwise provided for in the Bankruptcy Code. In June of 1981,
when the City and State of New York appeared in bankruptcy
court to oppose the trustee's effort to abandon the Long Island
City facility, they did so not as creditors, for in fact nothing was
owed financially by the debtor to New York. Rather, the City
and State appeared in order to inform the court that abandon-
ment of hazardous wastes, the act for which the trustee sought
court approval, would create a grave danger to the health and
safety of the public and violate federal. state and local en-
vironmental laws. It was only as a result of the bankruptcy court's

Indeed, a further distinction between Kovacs and this case is that debts of
individual debtors such as Kovacs are dischargeable in bankruptcy, Ll U.S.C.
§ 727 (1982), whereas those of a corporate debtor such as Quanta are not. Id.
Congress eliminated dischargeability of corporations because it assumed that
corporations would be empty shells and it wanted to “avoid trafficking in cor-
porate shells.” H.R.Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong,, Ist Sess. 384, 1978 U.S. Code Cong,
& Ad. News 5787, 6340.

28

erroneous determination to permit abandonment that New York
was compelled to expend monies in an effort to safeguard the
public. That initial determination is what the court below pro-
perly rejected.” New York’s right to recover those monies is not
at issue in this proceeding, as the court of appeals found. Quan-
ta, 739 F.2d at 923 (App. A, 25a).

v. The Trustee's Expenditure of Funds to Prevent Viola-
tions of Federal and State Environmental Laws Is a
Necessary Cost of Preserving the Estate.

To hold that the trustee cannot abandon the property in viola-
tion of federal and state environmental laws is concededly to re-
quire the trustee to continue to expend funds to assure compliance
with those laws. That, the court of appeals noted, is what Con-
gress intended generally, i.e., to prevent government from assum-
ing all the costs of toxic waste dumping. 739 F.2d at 922 n.10
(App. A, 22a n.10). The issue now before this Court, however,
is not whether in a distribution of assets the secured creditors’
claims can be subordinated to government’s claims for expen-
ditures for a complete cleanup. It is whether the trustee can be
compelled to expend estate funds to maintain the property until
government or the trustee or both have taken necessary steps to
assure that the property can be disposed of in compliance with
federal and state environmental, health and safety laws.

The specific authorization for this action by the trustee, we
submit, is the provision of 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A) (1982) allow-
ing the trustee to pay the “actual, necessary costs of preserving

* The issue of the trustee's obligation to clean up the site is not, as he contends
(T. Br. 7), moot. First, as the court below found, the cleanup was only partial
and the subsoil at the hazardous waste site remains contaminated. Quanta, 739
F.2d at 914 (App. A, 6a). Second, even if the cleanup had been completed, the
trustee's approach would preclude appellate review of this question of critical
public concern whenever the court declined to stay an order of abandonment
pending appeal. Under long-settled principles, cases such as this which are
“capable of repetition, yet evading review,” Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 125 (1973)
(quoting Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. Interstate Commerce Commission,
219 U.S. 498, 515 (1911)), are not moot.

29

the estate.” It does no violence to the language of the Bankrupt-
cy Code to find that maintaining guard service, retaining fire-
fighting equipment and patching leaky tanks are necessary costs
of preserving the estate until such time as the property can be
abandoned or otherwise disposed of lawfully. Ottenheimer v.
Whitaker, 198 F.2d at 290.

Surely, as a matter of economic preference, secured creditors
would wish that the costs of compliance with environmental laws
be borne not by their debtor but by the public generally, whether
or not the debtor is in bankruptcy. Congress, however, has ex-
pressed a different intent. Insuring that private parties with com-
merical interests at stake do not literally dump their problems
on the general public provides the rationale for treating costs of
at least maintaining the status quo as necessary administrative
expenses. In re T.P. Long Chemical, Inc., 45 Bankr. at 286-87;
In re Vermont Real Estate Investment Trust, 25 Bankr. 804
(Bankr. D. Vt. 1982); see L. King, 3 Collier on Bankruptcy,
4503.04 at 503-515 (15th ed. 1983).”

Concededly, there may come a point at which requiring the
trustee over a lengthy period to exhaust all available assets of the
estate to prevent or remedy violations of the law can no longer
be characterized as benefiting the dwindling estate. See In re T.P.
Long Chemical, Inc., 45 Bankr. at 287-90. That, however, is
not the situation posed by New York to the bankruptcy court.
Here, and in general, New York was concerned with a short-term
necessity: preventing an abandonment that threatened public
safety, by having the court direct that the trustee expend whatever
funds were necessary to maintain the status quo until appropriate
corrective measures could be undertaken. That, we have argued,

® Although the bankruptcy court reached a different conclusion in Jn re Charles
George Land Reclamation Trust, 30 Bankr. 918, 922 n.6 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1983),
it ignored the contrary decisions in Ottenheimer and Vermont Real Estate In-
vestment Trust. The only support cited for its unprecedented decision was the
failure of Congress to take any action on a bill introduced before the decisions
in Vermont Real Estate Investment Trust and T. P. Long Chemical which would
expressly ratify the Ottenheimer interpretation of the Code. Legislative history
such as this, however, is entitled to little weight. In any event, the proposed
armendment became unnecessary in light of subsequent decisions.

30

is compelled by section 959(b) and case law delimiting the trustee's
power to abandon dangerous property. Requiring the trustee to
continue to undertake such administrative expenses was well
within the general equitable powers of a bankruptcy court. See,
generally, Pepper v. Litton, 308 U.S. 295 (1939); see also Reading
Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968) (Harlan, J.) (holding, in view
of general purposes of administrative expense provision and the
Bankruptcy Act as a whole, as well as principles of equity, that
tort claims against a receiver under Chapter XI prior to bankrupt-
cy were entitled to status of administrative expenses). At such
time as the purposes of the Bankruptcy Code would no longer
be served by indefinitely maintaining such a state of affairs, the
bankruptcv court could, as an alternative to permitting aban-
donment, dismiss the Chapter 7 proceedings, as in the case of
In re Charles George Land Reclamation Trust relied upon by
the trustee (T. Br. 18-19),* so that a receiver might be appointed
by the state courts. See In re 30 Hill Top Street Corp., 42 Bankr.
at 522.

C. The Trustee May Not Abandon Property in Violation
of State and Local Health, Safety and Environmental
Requirements.

We have argued above that this case does not present for deci-
sion the issue of whether the abandonment provisions of the
Bankruptcy Code preempt state and local environmental laws.
However, to the extent New York here was enforcing its own laws
as well as parallel federal laws, application of New York’s laws
was not preempted by section 554(a).

Consideration of whether a state provision violates the
supremacy clause “starts with the basic assumption that Con-
gress does not intend to displace state law.” Maryland v. Loui-
siana, 451 U.S. 725, 746 (1981).

Here, there is no question of express preemption. Indeed, Con-
gress, we have argued, expressly mandated in 28 U.S.C. § 959(b)

* The court there noted that dismissal “would allow the EPA and the [state
environmental agency] to assert their full panoply of powers under the Federal
and State Superfund statutes.” 30 Bankr. at 925.

31

that there be no preemption of state laws when it directed the
trustee to manage and operate the estate consistently with such
laws. By simply construing section 959(b) of the Judicial Code
and section 362(b)(4) of the Bankruptcy Code as governing sec-
tion 554(a) of the Bankruptcy Code, we have contended, the
Court obviates the need to reach any preemption issue.

The only question remaining is whether requiring the trustee
to take elementary steps to protect the public from harm, which
are required by state and local laws governing hazardous wastes,
would frustrate the purpose of the Bankruptcy Code. See
Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. at 746-47 and cases there cited.
In New York’s view, it clearly would not.

In Commonwealth Edison Co. v. Montana, 453 U.S. 609,
633-36 (1981), this Court rejected an effort to suppress a state
severance tax because it purportedly frustrated national energy
policies established in the Powerplant and Industrial Fuel Use
Act of 1978, 42 U.S.C. § 8301(b)(3) (1982). Citing the preemption
standards enunciated in Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc.
v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 142 (1963) (“[p]re-emption of state law by
federal statute or regulation is not favored ‘in the absence of per-
suasive reasons — either that the nature of the regulated subject
matter permits no other conclusion, or that the Congress has un-
mistakably so ordained”), this Court rejected the suggestion that
“general statements demonstrate a congressional intent to preempt
all state legislation that may have an adverse impact. . . ” 453
USS. at 634, 633. By looking at the energy legislation as a whole,
the Commonwealth Edison Court found clear indication that
the statute contemplated the continued existence of state severance
taxes.

‘Similarly, the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, when viewed
as a whole, indicates a clear congressional desire that the state's
public health and safety regulations should continue to exist har-
moniously with the requirements of the bankruptcy laws. It is
difficult to imagine why Congress would direct a trustee to
“manage and operate” the estate in compliance with state laws,
28 U.S.C. § 959(b), but yet intend, without so stating, to displace

32

those same laws under section 554(a) if abandonment were con-
templated. Likewise, the court of appeals cited the decision not
to stay government enforcement proceedings automatically upon
the filing of a bankruptcy petition as additional evidence of Con-
gress’ intent not to displace state laws. Quanta, 739 F.2d at 918
(App. A, 15a). ll U.S.C. 362(b)(4) authorizes New York to con-
tinue proceedings brought under its “police or regulatory power”
notwithstanding the filing of a petition in bankruptcy.”

Moreover, by its enactment of TSCA, CERCLA and the Clean
Water Act, Congress expressed in no uncertain terms a national
policy requiring careful, proper disposal of hazardous wastes.
Nowhere did it preempt state and local laws directed toward the
same end. There is, therefore, every reason to conclude that Con-
gress did not intend to suppress the vital public interest contain-
ed in these state and local laws controlling the disposal of hazar-
dous waste when, in the Bankruptcy Reform Act, it provided for
the orderly liquidation of a debtor’s estate and its expeditious
distribution to creditors. Certainly, had such an exception been
intended, it could have been written into the Bankruptcy Code’s
provision on abandonment, section 554(a), or into section 959(b)
of the Judicial Code.

* In enacting the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, Congress was concerned that
bankruptcy courts not use their authority to disrupt the enforcement of statutes
adopted pursuant to the states’ police power to protect public health and safe-
ty and the environment. The House Report makes it clear that the interests
of the state in protecting its citizens and its environment are to be carefully
balanced against the competing interests of creditors by the Bankruptcy Court:

Under present law, there has been overuse of the stay in the area
of governmental regulation. For example, in one Texas bankrupt-
cy court, the stay was applied to prevent the State of Maine from
closing down one of the debtor's plants that was polluting a Maine
river in violation of Maine's environmental protection laws. . . .
The bill excepts these kinds of actions from the automatic stay. . . .
The court will [ aow] be required to examine the State actions more
carefully and with a view to protecting the legitimate interests of
the State as well as of the estate . . .

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 174-75, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code
Cong. & Ad. News 5787, 6135 (footnote omitted).

33

In Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 104 S.Ct. 615 (1984), this
Court, in support of its holding that federal law does not preempt
state standards for damages due to radiation injuries, observed
that there was no indication that Congress ever seriously con-
sidered precluding the use of state remedies. This silence was “par-
ticularly significant” since it “is difficult to believe that Congress
would, without comment, remove all means of judicial recourse
for those injured by illegal conduct.” 104 S.Ct. at 623. Similarly,
given the silence that accompanied the enactment of section
554(a), it is difficult to believe that Congress intended, without
comment, to work so drastic a change of previously developed
judicial doctrine and recently enacted statutes as to permit a
trustee to disregard public health, safety and environmental laws.
Applying the reasoning of such cases as Commonwealth Edison
Co. v. Montana and Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee, the court below
properly refused to infer “such a radical change in the nature
of local public health and safety regulations — the substitution
of governmental action for citizen compliance without an indica-
tion that Congress so intended.” Quanta, 739 F.2d at 921-22 (App.
A, 22a).

The trustee contends nonetheless that the supremacy clause
requires the suspension of the states’ public health and hazar-
dous waste laws as to him because operation of these state laws
frustrates the purpose of the Bankruptcy Code. (T. Br. 17.) The
preceding discussion, however, demonstrates that federal laws
themselves seek to assure that valid governmental regulations are
obeyed during the orderly liquidation of assets and their distribu-
tion to creditors. Congress, therefore, has determined that
bankruptcy policy is not by its nature antagonistic to or irrecon-
cilable with public health and safety laws, nor is there an “im-
possibility of dual compliance,” Florida Lime ¢ Avocado Growers
v. Paul, 373 U.S. at 143. Certainly the courts have not viewed
these statutory schemes as mutually exclusive. Cases such as Ot-
tenheimer v. Whitaker and Lewis Jones, taken together with the
directives of 28 U.S.C. § 959(b) and ll U.S.C. § 362(b)(4), make
clear that the trustee’: power under the bankruptcy laws and the
public health and safety concerns expressed in state law not on-
ly can be reconciled but, in Congress’ view, must be reconciled.

34

Thus, it cannot be said that state and local environmental law
“stands as an obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of
the full purposes and objectives of Congress,” Hines v. Davidowitz,
312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941), where Congress itself has required what
New York also demands: the safe, proper disposal of hazardous
substances.

35

Il. LIMITING THE TRUSTEE’S POWER TO ABAN-
DON PROPERTY IN VIOLATION OF FEDERAL
AND STATE ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS IS NOT A
“TAKING” UNDER THE FIFTH AMENDMENT.

The court below correctly determined, based on a long line
of decisions by this Court, that state enforcement of environmen-
tal laws, even when it causes financial expenditure or economic
loss, is not a “taking” under the fifth amendment. Quanta, 739
F.2d at 922 n.ll (App. A, 23a n.11). Nevertheless, the trustee claims
that limiting his power to abandon pursuant to section 554(a)
is inconsistent with this Court’s decision in United States v. Securi-
ty Industrial Bank, 459 U.S. 70 (1982), and violates the takings
clause of the fifth amendment. (T. Br. 20-22).”* As demonstrated
below, these contentions lack merit for at least three reasons. First,
the issue is not ripe. Second, as this Court has long recognized,
a state’s enforcement of its environmental laws is not a “taking”
even if it results in total destruction of the value of the property.
Third, neither Security Industrial Bank nor any of the limited
exceptions to this long-settled rule is applicable here.

A. The Fifth Amendment Takings Issue Is Not Ripe for
Adjudication by this Court.

The court below did not reach the question of what, if any,
estate funds should now be devoted to reimbursing New York for
the Quanta cleanup, but rather remanded that question to the
bankruptcy court to make appropriate findings of fact. Quanta,
739 F.2d at 923 (App. A, 25a). The bankruptcy court has made
no findings of fact as to what assets are available, to what extent
claims are secured or unsecured, what types of secured claims
exist, how the secured claims were created and what were the
secured creditors’ reasonable expectations. It is, therefore,
premature for this Court to examine that question at this stage
of the proveedings since “there is as yet no concrete contioversy
regarding the application” of the court of appeals decision. Agins
v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260 (1979).

* The petitioner in the companion case, Midlantic National Bank v. New Jersey
Department of Environmental Protection, No. 84-801, advances the same argu-
ment. (Midlantic Br. 11-16).

36

This conclusion is particularly compelling in the present con-
text because this Court has often observed that no “set formula”
has been developed “for determining when justice and fairness
require that economic injuries caused by public action must be
deemed a compensable taking,” and therefore “the inquiry into
whether a taking has occurred is essentially an ‘ad hoc, factual’
inquiry.” Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 104 S. Ct. at 2874, citing
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 175 (1979).

B. Valid Government Regulations which Cause Signifi-
cant Economic Loss Do Not Violate the “Takings Clause”
of the Fifth Amendment.

This Court has consistently rejected challenges to legitimate
government regulations under the takings clause, even where com-
pliance would result in the complete destruction of the value of
the company’s property. Moreover, this Court has done so in cases
that by no stretch of the imagination involve the potentially
catastrophic consequences to public health and safety involved
here.

In Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto, the manufacturer of pesticides
argued that federal reguiations that could result in the public
disclosure of trade secrets, thus completely destroying the value
of the company’s property, violated the takings clause of the fifth
amendment This Court rejected Monsanto’s argument and
declared that the burdens of government regulation were par-
ticularly justified in the sale and use of pesticides, which had
long been the subject of public concern and governmental regula-
tion. The economic burdens that accompany government regula-
tion are the price we pay for “the advantage of living and doing
business in a civilized community.” 104 S. Ct. at 2875 (quoting
Pennsylvania Coal Cu. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 422 (1922)
(Brandeis, J., dissenting)).

Similarly, in Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590 (1962), this
Court upheld a local safety ordinance which prohibited a sand

and gravel company from excavating below the water table, a
level it had previously reached. This Court did so even though

37

compliance with the ordinance would result in a complete pro-
hibition of the beneficial use to which the property had been
devoted for the preceding thirty-five years and meant the total
destruction of the business enterprise. In rejecting the company’s
“takings clause” argument, this Court quoted Mugler v. Kansas,
123 U.S. 623, 669 (1887), as authority for the proposition that

(t]he power which the States have of prohibiting such
use by individuals of their property as will be pre-
judicial to the health, the morals, or the safety of the
public, is not — and, consistently with the existence
and safety of organized society, cannot be — burden-
ed with the condition that the State must compensate
such individual owners for pecuniary losses they may
sustain, by reason of their not being permitted, by a
noxious use of their property, to inflict injury upon the
community.

Goldblatt, 369 U.S. at 593.”

The trustee’s suggestion that requiring the estate to comply
with federal and state public health and environmental laws
would violate the takings clause with respect to the creditors’ pro-
perty interest in the estate does not withstand scrutiny. Contrary
to the trustee's contention, compliance with the federal and state
regulations which are at issue here does not necessarily extinguish
any property right held by the creditors. Under the ruling of the
court below, unsecured creditors (who of course have no protected
interest in the estate) can still look to the general assets remain-
ing in an estate and secured creditors can still look to specific
property that secures their claim. Therefore, this case is unlike
United States v. Security Industrial Bank, where the very lienhold
interest would have been retroactively extinguished.

* This Court has routinely rejected similar challenges to generally applicable
state regulation which caused expenditure of funds or severe economic loss. See,
e.g., Agins v. City of Tiburon (municipal zoning ordinances restricting the type
and density of buildings held not a taking); Penn Central Transportation Co.
v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104 (1978) (landmark preservation ordinance); Village
of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926) (industrial zoning regula-
tion); Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394 (1915) (municipal ordinance pro-
hibiting brickmaking).

38

The creditors’ real concern in this matter is not with the issue
of compliance with legitimate government regulations per se, or
with the actual extinguishing of a property right; rather, they
are concerned, in practical terms, that after compliance with the
law there will be significantly less value in the general assets of
the estate and less value in the secured property, possibly none
at all, to satisfy their claims.* Creditors, however, advance funds
with the hope of a profitable return but with full knowledge that
the business enterprise they are underwriting may fail for any
one of a number of reasons, including the cost of their debtor’s
compliance with public health and environmental regulations.
See also In re T.P. Long Chemical Inc., 45 Bankr. at 287
(“Creditors must generally bear the risks of any enterprise”). That
is the risk that every creditor voluntarily undertakes in extending
credit, i.e., that its debtor may need to expend some of its resources
to obey laws governing its business. Any creditor of a business
such as Quanta’s assuredly had a “reasonabie investment-backed
expectation,” Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 104 S. Ct. at 2875,
that Quanta might need to spend money to comply with generally
applicable environmental laws in effect at the time of the bor-
rowing which plainly regulated the very essence of Quanta’s
business.

What the court below held, in effect, was that the creditors’
security interests simply do not require the public to underwrite
the risks those creditors knew of and must have assumed. In other
words, government is not obligated to expend public funds to

* It is well established that unsecured creditors may only look to the unen-
cumbered assets of the estate, if there are any, to satisfy their claims. See Hanover
National Bank v. Moyses, 186 U.S. 181 (1902). Without the benefit of factual
findings it is more difficult to address the issue of secured creditors. The status
of Midlantic National Bank, the petitioner in the companion case, Midlantic
National Bank v. New Jersey, No. 84-801, is illustrative. Although Midlantic
asserts the status of a secured creditor, its secured interest does not reside in
any definable piece of property but rather consists of the debtor’s “inventory,”
i.e., salable waste oil to the extent that any exists and in “accounts receivable”
to the extent that such accounts may exist. See Midlantic Br. 6-7. Compliance
with government regulations does not destroy Midlantic’s rights as a secured
creditor. It only diminishes the value of that property.

39

meet the regulatory obligations of private parties (here, the estate
and the trustee in his representative capacity) in order to cushion
the creditors’ foreseable risk on their investments. That, in general
terms, parallels the very conclusion Congress reached in enac-
ting numerous environmental laws during the past decade.

C. Neither United States v. Security Industrial Bank nor
the “Erosion Taking” Doctrine Permits Abandonment
Here.

As demonstrated above, state enforcement of federal and state
environmental laws, even when it causes the complete destruc-
tion of the value of the property, is not a “taking” under the fifth
amendment. Neither United States v. Security Industrial Bank
nor the “erosion taking” doctrine alters this conclusion.

In Security Industrial Bank, this Court considered a challenge
under the takings clause to the retrospective application of sec-
tion 522(f)(2) of the Bankruptcy Code to invalidate liens acquired
before the effective date of the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978.
It held that when there is “substantial doubt whether the retroac-
tive destruction of the appellees’ liens in this case comports with
the Fifth Amendment.” 459 U.S. at 78, it would consider as a
matter of statutory construction whether section 522(f)(2) must
necessarily be applied in that manner. Id. It considered the
statutory question first under the basic principle set forth in
Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22, 62 (1932), that “this Court will
first ascertain whether a construction of the statute is fairly possi-
ble by which the constitutional question may be avoided.”

Here, however, the trustee has failed to demonstrate “substan-
tial doubt” that enforcement of federal and state environmental
laws raises a taking question. The only cases cited by the trustee
or the dissent in the court below in support of their contention
that limiting the power of the trustee to manage or abandon the
property where it would harm the public interest are the “ero-
sion taking” cases. (T. Br. 21 n.5); Quanta, 739 F.2d at 924-26
(Gibbons, J., dissenting) (App. A, 28a-32a). As the court below
recognized, however, this doctrine is limited to railroad
reorganization cases and requires a balancing of losses to the estate

40

against the public interest. Quanta, 739 F.2d at 922 n.11 (App.
A, 23a n.11). The trustee has failed to show that any potential
losses to the estate necessitated by protecting the public from leak-
ing chemicals and possible fires would cause “losses unreasonable
even in light of the public ir. erest.” Regional Railroad Reorganiza-
tion Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102, 124 (1974).

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, this Court should affirm the order
of the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

Dated: June 7, 1985
New York, New York

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT ABRAMS

Attorney General of the
State of New York

FREDERICK A.O. SCHWARZ, JR.
Corporation Counsel of
the City of New York

Rosert HERMANN
Solicitor General of the
State of New York

Nancy STEARNS
Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record for the State of New York
NorRMAN SPIEGEL
CHRISTOPHER KEITH HALL
Assistant Attorneys General
of Counsel

LEONARD KOERNER
Assistant Corporation Counsel
Counsel of Record for the City of New York

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0142%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
