# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pope v. Illinois

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0126%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 497

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

ELLED

NO¥ 20 1986

| =. SPANIOL, JR.

No. 85-1973

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1986

RICHARD POPE and CHARLES G. MORRISON,
Petitioners,
V.

STATE OF ILLINOIS,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION,
ACLU OF ILLINOIS AND PHE, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

HARVEY GROSSMAN K1T ADELMAN-PIERSON
JANE M. WHICHER BRUCE J. ENNIS, JR.
ACLU OF ILLINOIS (Counsel of Record)
220 South State Street DAVID W. OGDEN
Suite 816 ENNIS, FRIEDMAN &
Chicago, Illinois 60604 BERSOFF
(312) 427-7330 1200 17th Street, N.W.

JACK NOVIK Suite 400
DAVID GOLDSTEIN Washington, D.C. 20036
AMERICAN CIVIL (202) 775-8100
LIBERTIES UNION Attorneys for Amici Curiae
132 W. 43rd Street
New York, New York 10036
(212) 944-9800

November 20, 1986

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-O096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
INTEREST OF AMICI! CURIAE ...... ]
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGU-
MENT 2
I ot 7
I. THE LOWER COURTS’ USE OF A COMMU-
NITY STANDARD IN APPLYING THE
VALUE TEST VIOLATED THE FIRST
AMENDMENT .............. SAE Ee elee TELE Ne 7
A. The First Amendment’s Protection of
Speech Cannot Be Conditioned on the Ma-
jority’s Judgment That the Speech Has
, MLC LAER ena neater cee Sea 7
B. Although Community Interests in Suppress-
ing “Offensive” and “Prurient’” Speech May
Vary From Community to Community, the
Individual’s First Amendment Interest in
Disseminating or Receiving Valuable Speech
is the Same in Every Community ................. 1]
C. The Lower Courts’ Ruling Would Prevent
Meaningful Judicial Review of the Jury’s
Content-Based Determination That the
Speech Lacks Value and is Therefore Un-
protected by the First Amendment............. 14

D. Applying the Value Test by Reference to
Varying Community Standards Would Sub-
stantially Chill Speech That Has Serious
Literary, Artistic, Political or Scientific
Value

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Il. THE COURT SHOULD LIMIT ITS HOLDING
TO THE PRECISE ISSUE RAISED BY THIS
CASE, BUT IF IT ADDRESSES OTHER AS-
PECTS OF THE VALUE TEST IT SHOULD
RULE THAT BECAUSE THE VALUE RE-
QUIREMENT IS AN EXCEPTION TO THE
GENERAL RULE THAT SPEECH IS PRO-
TECTED REGARDLESS OF ITS VALUE,
THAT REQUIREMENT MUST BE NAR-
ROWLY CONSTRUED ...

CONCLUSION

Page

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
A Quantity of Copies of Books v. Kansas, 378
U.S. 205 (1964) ; - 18
Associated Press v. United States, 326 U.S. 1
TT ' - 21
Bantam Books v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58 (1963)-..14, 18, 19
Blount v. Rizzi, 400 U.S. 410 (1971) .. 18
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States,
166 U.S. 486 (1984) 14,17
Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 105 8. Ct. 2794
| - oe 1]
Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S. 455 (1980) ee 17
Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. v. Public
Service Commission, 447 U.S. 557 (1980) 17
Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568
| EO rae passim
City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc., 54
SS | 17
Cohen v. California. 403 U.S. 15 (1971) .. 9,11
Court v. State, 63 Wis.2d 570, 217 N.W.2d 676
EE EET Te 20
Edwards v. South Carolina, 372 U.S. 229 (1963) 9
Erznoznik v. Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975) 3
Garcia v. Texas, 633 S.W.2d 611 (Tex. Ct. App.

4
5
Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974)...... 15, 20
Hannegan v. Esquire, 327 U.S. 146 (1946) 9

Holden v. Hardy, 169 U.S. 366 (1898) ~............ 7 14
Hudgens v. NLRB, 424 U.S. 507 (1976) ..... 17
Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184 (1964) ......0000... 14
Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153 (1974) . 15, 20
Kaplan v. California, 413 U.S. 115 (1973 ; 15
Kingsley International Pictures Corp. v. Regents,

360 U.S. 684 (1959) a 8
Kois v. Wisconsin, 408 U.S. 229 (1972) .--eee-.PASSiM

Marcus v. Search Warrants of Property, 367 U.S.
Tr 19
Memoirs v. Massachusetts, 383 U.S. 413 (1966)... 26

-—

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES d
Page
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1978) ..............-...pass1m
Mishkin v. New York, 383 U.S. 502 (1966) .......... 12
Monitor Patriot Co. v. Roy, 401 U.S. 265 (1971).. 17
Mozert v. Hawkins County Public Schools,
F. Supp. —— (E.D. Tenn., No. Civ-2-83-401,

Oct. 24, 1986), 55 U.S.L.W. 2243 (Nov. 4,

BITES... ccucudscenssdsassedeosbesiontapunranenssessnnesnenanenniimenntns 22
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) .................. 8,11
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

(1964) .... OR En A Ree nore oe MTD passim
Paris Adult Theatre v. Slayton, 413 U.S. 49

0 ) aaa nee ; 15, 16
Pennekamp v. Florida, 328 U.S. 331 (1945) -........ 14
Penthouse Int'l, Ltd. v. " Mehalite 610 F.2d 1353

(5th Cir. 1980), cert. dismissed, 447 U.S. 931

OID os siccivisosscctiseanssnnsintineageaninananssantnnpinmianaemaatinee 4
Police De partment of Cc hicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S.

92 (1972) 2 eR alae ae 17
Rosenblatt v. Baer, 383 U.S. 75 | ae 14
Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957) ..........passim
Schaefer v. United States, 251 U.S. 466 (1920) 9
Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147 (1959).............. 19
Smith v. United States, 431 U.S. 291 (1977) passim
Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S.

546 (1975) SE ROE, Pete EN SSIS SIR Oe AT 18
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U Ss. 513 (19! 58) .. mmmnipaledinnts 19
State v. Princess Cinema, 292 N.W.2d 807 (Wis.

i ae emia A. 5

State v. Regan, 640 P.2d 725 (Wash. 1982). < 4
Tennessee v. Summers, 692 S.W.2d 435 (Tenn.
Cr. App. 1985)

Terminiello v. Chicago, 337 U.S. 1 (1948)........... 10
Time v. Pape, 401 U.S 979 ). ; ) x 14
United States v. 2,206 Paper Back Books, 565 F. 24

RR Rs 5 ee renee 16
United States v. Bagqnell, 679 F.2d 06 (11th Cir.

1982) | IIIT OEE. ace aT Sonne TNT 4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

We st Virgin al State Board OT Rd ication y. Bar-
nette, 319 U.S. 624 (1943) 8, 10
Vinte TS ). Ne ii) } (>?) k. Derded oe 507 ( 19 17) 1]
Wool yy v. Maynard, 130 U.S. 7TO5 (1977) 8

MISCELLANEOUS

sell, Determining Community Standards, 63
A.B.A.J. 1202 (1977) 20
Hunsaker, The 19723 Obscenity-Pornography De-
cisions: Analysis, Impact, and Legislative AIl-
ternatives, 11 SAN Dieco L. Rev. 906 (1974)..4, 11, 25
Lockhart & McClure, Censorship Of Obscenity:
The Developing Constitutional Standards, 45
MINN. L. REv. 1 (1960) 16
Lockhart, Escape from the Chill of Uncertainty:
Ewplicit Sex and the First Amendment. 9 GA.

L. REv. 533 (1975) 1, 22, 25

Note, Community Standards. Class Actions, and
Oh (6 nity lI nde } Mille - oe. California. > HARV.

L. REV. 1838 (1975) passim
Note. Communitu Standards in Ohsece nity Adjudi-

cation, 66 CAL. L. REV. 1277 (1978) 4,16
F. Schauer, THE LAW OF OBSCENITY (1976) passim

Schauer, Reflections on “Conte mporary Commu-
nity Standards”: The Pz rpetuation of an ITr-
relevant Cones pt in the Law of Obscen ty, 56
N.C. L. REv. 1 (1978) 4,11
Wash. Post, Nov. 10, 1986, at Al 22

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 85-1973

RICHARD POPE and CHARLES G. MORRISON,
Petitioners,
Vv.

STATE OF ILLINOIS,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION,
ACLU OF ILLINOIS AND PHE, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF AMICI

The American Civil Liberties Union is a non-partisan
organization of over 250,000 members, dedicated to de-
fending the fundamental liberties guaranteed in the
Bill of Rights. The ACLU of Illinois is one of its state
affiliates, with more than 12,000 members. The ACLU
and its affiliates are devoted to defending freedom of
expression under the First Amendment. They actively
oppose laws and other official actions which limit the
flow of information and the freedom of self-expression
which the First Amendment guarantees.

The ACLU opposes all restrictions on the availability
of books, films and other media based on their content.

2

So long as courts permit any such restrictions, the ACLU
will oppose all efforts to expand the scope of such re-
strictions. The argument in this brief, however, is not
based on the ACLU’s opposition to all content-based re-
strictions on speech, but on currently recognizable legal
principles.

PHE, Inc., is a corporation organized under the laws
of North Carolina. It is engaged in the business of mail-
ing various materials it believes are protected by the
First Amendment, including sexually explicit magazines
and videotapes, throughout the United States. PHE, Inc.
only mails such materials to adults, and only upon re-
quest. PHE, Inc. does not have any way of ascertain-
ing the community standards concerning “offensiveness,”
“prurience,” or “value” of the countless communities to
which it mails materials. Accordingly, unless the judg-
ment below is reversed, it will be forced to cease dis-
tribution of a wide range of materials it genuinely be-
lieves would not be found offensive, prurient, or lacking
value in the vast majority of all American communities,
simply because these materials might be found lacking
in value in a particular, but unknown, community.

Petitioners and respondent have both consented to the
filing of this brief. Their letters of consent are being
filed with the Clerk of this Court.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Although the First Amendment protects almost all
speech, regardless of its “value,” this Court has held that
“obscenity” is one of the very rare, “well-defined and
narrowly limited” exceptions to this rule.’ In creating

1 Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568, 571 (1942). In
Chaplinsky, the Court indicated that “fighting words” and libelous
speech are also not protected by the First Amendment. In New
York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964), the Court nar-
rowed the latter exception, holding that only maliciously false

this exception, the Court has reasoned that society has
a legitimate but qualified interest in prohibiting “ot-
fensive” and “prurient” sexual speech. Except in the
context of “‘obscene’”’ speech, offensiveness and prurience
are not sufficient grounds to overcome First Amendment
protection for speech.* But the Court has also found that
the individual’s interest in disseminating or receiving
“obscene” speech is de minimis because its “value” is
minimal.* Consequently, the Court has reasoned, the
First Amendment does not shield a speaker of “value-
less” obscenity from punishment for offending social
norms of “offensiveness” and “prurience.” Consistent
with this reasoning, however, the Court has long held
that if speech does have serious literary, artistic, politi-
cal, or scientific value it is protected by the First Amend-
ment even if the “average person” considers this valuable
speech to be “offensive” and “prurient’’.*

This fundamental “value” principle is incorporated in
the third prong of the obscenity test established in Miller
v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 24 (1973). Under Miller,
factfinders must look to the “average person, applying
community standards” in applying the first two prongs
to determine whether speech is offensive and appeals to
prurient interests. But Miller does not require factfind-
ers to use community standards when applying the value
test. To the contrary, both Miller and subsequent de-
cisions of this Court strongly suggest that Miller’s value
test is not applied by reference to varying community

defamatory speech is outside the protection of the First Amend-
ment.

2 See Erznoznik v. Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975)

3 Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476, 484-85 (1957) ; Chaplinsky,
315 U.S. at 571-72.

* Miller v. California, 418 U.S. 15, 24 (1978).

4

standards.’ The view that the value test should not be
applied by reference to community standards has over-
whelmingly been adopted by lower courts and commen-
tators.°

5 The Court’s discussion of community standards in Miller,
strongly suggested that those standards were relevant only in
determining “what appeals to the ‘prurient interest’ or is ‘patently
offensive.’” 413 U.S. at 30. Subsequently, in Smith v. United
States, 431 U.S. 291 (1977), the Court again indicated that pru-
rience and offensiveness were to be determined by reference to com-
munity standards, but indicated that “[l]iterary, artistic, political,
or scientific value, on the other hand, is not discussed in Miller in
terms of contemporary community standards.” 431 U.S. at 301.
In support of this distinction, the Court cited Professor Schauer’s
treatise, THE LAW OF OBSCENITY 123-124 (1976), where he explains
that “[t]here has never been any indication by the Court that the
merit of the material itself, as embodied in [the third prong of the
Miller test], should or can vary from community to community. ...
Whether a work has literary, artistic, political, or scientific value,

. unlike the prurient-interest and patent-offensiveness require-
ments, is not subject to the community-standards factor and is not
affected by the change to local standards.” See 431 U.S. at 301.

6 United Siates v. Bagnell, 679 F.2d 826, 835 (llth Cir. 1982),
cert. denied, 460 U.S. 1047 (1983); Penthouse Int'l, Ltd. v. Me-
Auliffe, 610 F.2d 1353, 1363 (5th Cir. 1980), cert. dismissed, 447
U.S. 931 (1980); United States v. Heyman, 562 F.2d 316, 318
(4th Cir. 1977); Tennessee v. Summers, 692 S.W.2d 439 (Tenn.
Cr. App. 1985); Garcia v. Texas, 633 S.W.2d 611, 613 (Tex. Ct.
App. 1982), overruled on other grounds, Davis v. State, 658 S.W.2d
572 (Tex. Cr. App. 1983) ; State v. Regan, 640 P.2d 725, 731 (Wash.
1982) (Utter, J., concurring) ; State v. Princess Cinema, 292 N.W.2d
807, 811 (Wis. 1980); F. Schauer, THE LAW OF OBSCENITY 123-24
(1976); Hunsaker, The 1973 Obscenity-Pornography Decisions:
Analysis, Impact, and Legislative Alternatives, 11 SAN DiEGO L.
REV. 906, 916-17 (1974) (hereafter “Hunsaker’’) ; Lockhart, Escape
from the Chill of Uncertainty: Explicit Sex and the First Amend-
ment, 9 GA. L. REV. 533, 553-55 (1975) (hereafter “Lockhart”) ;
Schauer, Reflections on “Contemporary Community Standards”:
The Perpetuation of an Irrelevant Concept in the Law of Obscenity,
56 N.G. L. Rev. 1, 21 (1978) (hereafter “Schauer”); Note, Com-
munity Standards, Class Actions, and Obscenity Under Miller v.
California, 88 Harv. L. REV. 1838, 1854 (1975) (hereafter “Com-

5

Standing alone among all of the state and federal
courts that have expressly resolved this issue,’ the courts
below held that Illinois’ variant of Miuller’s value test
can constitutionally be applied by reference to community
standards.* As amici will show in Point I, this departure
from an otherwise unanimous body of case law does not
adequately safeguard valuable speech and therefore vio-
lates the First Amendment.

Milier’s value test performs a special and crucial func-
tion in protecting First Amendment interests, a function
to which community standards are both irrelevant and
inimical. The Court has authorized the use of community
standards when applying Miller’s first two prongs be-
cause those prongs are aimed at determining whether
there is a societal interest in prohibiting the speech at
issue. Unlike the first two prongs, Miller’s value test
is not designed to identify societal interests in prohibit-

munity Standards’); Note, Community Standards in Obscenity
Adjudication, 66 CAL. L. REV. 1277, 1286 & n.62 (1978) (hereafter
“Obscenity Adjudication”).

7 At one time, the Wisconsin Supreme Court also took the view
that Miller’s third prong was to be applied by reference to com-
munity standards. That Court has now expressly repudiated that
position. State v. Princess Cinema, 292 N.W.2d 807, 811 (Wis.
1980).

® The value test adopted in Illinois’ obscenity statute has been in-
terpreted to require that material be “utterly without redeeming
social value,” in order to be found obscene. Although this language
is different from that employed in Miller’s third prong, this differ-
ence does not make the use of community standards in the applica-
tion of Illinois’ test any less constitutionally infirm. The constitu-
tional problems posed by the use of community standards in a test
focusing on the value of speech stem from the majoritarian nature
and inherent uncertainty and variability of community standards.
Consequently, if this Court agrees with the overwhelmingly accepted
view that Miller’s value test cannot constitutionally be applied by
reference to community standards, Illinois’ reference to community
standards in applying the Illinois variant of that value test is
equally unconstitutional.

6

ing speech, but instead is intended to measure and pro-
tect the individual’s First Amendment interest in dis-
seminating or receiving valuable speech. Community
standards are not relevant to this interest, which is the
individual’s and arises from the federal Constitution. In-
deed, because community standards are majoritarian in
nature and necessarily vary among the thousands of
communities in the United States, their use would com-
pletely undermine the function of Miller’s third prong,
which is meant to safeguard interests that exist without
reference to local majoritarian judgments. Moreover,
the importance of applying the third prong on an objec-
tive basis is heightened by the application of community
standards in Miller’s first two prongs; it is essential
that the First Amendment protection afforded by Miller
not be entirely dependent on the judgments and values
of local majorities.

As amici will show, the decisions below are funda-
mentally at odds with four of the most basic principles
of First Amendment law. First, by limiting the third
prong’s protection to speech that the average members
of a particular community would find valuable, the [-
linois courts have disregarded the central purpose of the
First Amendment, which is to protect speech regardless
of whether it is valued by the majority. Second, by mak-
ing the basic values protected by the First Amendment
a matter of local definition, the Illinois rule vitiates the
concept of a “national Constitution” in which “funda-
mental First Amendment limitations . . . do not vary
from community to community.” Miller v. California,
413 U.S. at 30. Third, the Illinois rule completely under-
mines the third prong’s critical role in safeguarding
speech, by preventing meaningful judicial review of the
jury’s content-based determination of whether the speech
has value. Fourth, the Illinois rule undermines the pro-
tection the third prong has afforded speakers who be-
lieve their speech has value by making that protection

7

dependent on compliance with thousands of varying and
unarticulated community standards. Because speakers
outside those communities cannot possibly ascertain those
standards before speaking, the Illinois rule has a sub-
stantial chilling effect on speech that many individuals—
including the average person in many or even most com-
munities—would find valuable. For all of these reasons,
the Constitution does not permit Miller’s third prong to
be applied by reference to a patchwork of varying com-
munity standards.

In Point II, amici will urge the Court to limit its
holding to the precise issue raised by this case, and to
refrain from attempting further definition of the term
“serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific value.”
That course is particularly appropriate in this case be-
cause these aspects of the value test are not even raised
by the statutory variant of that test at issue here. If
the Court does choose to address this issue, however, it
should rule that because requiring sexually explicit
speech to have value is itself an exception to the general
rule that speech is protected regardless of its value, the
value requirement must be narrowly construed.

ARGUMENT

I. THE LOWER COURTS’ USE OF A COMMUNITY
STANDARD IN APPLYING THE VALUE TEST
VIOLATED THE FIRST AMENDMENT.

A. The First Amendment’s Protection of Speech Can-
not Be Conditioned on the Majority’s Judgment
That the Speech Has Value.

An instruction telling the jury to decide whether the
“average person, applying contemporary community
standards” ® would find that the speech at issue had
serious literary, artistic, political or scientific value, ef-
fectively requires the jury to evaluate the speech from

® See Miller, 4138 U.S. at 24.

8

the perspective of the majority in its community. Thus,
as construed and applied by the courts below, Miller’s
value test does not protect speech that even a substantial
minority of the community considers valuable.

That ruling is contrary to basic First Amendment
principles that this Court has repeatedly reaffirmed. As
the Court emphasized in West Virginia State Board of
Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 6388 (1943), “[t]he
very purpose of a Bill of Rights” was to place certain
subjects “beyond the reach of majorities and officials
and to establish them as legal principles to be applied
by the courts.” Indeed, in Miller the Court expressly
stated that “[t]he First Amendment protects works
which, taken as a whole, have serious literary, artistic,
political, or scientific value, regardless of whether ...a
majority of the people approve of the ideas these works
represent.” 413 U.S. at 34 (emphasis added). Miller
itself therefore envisions that although offensiveness or
prurience may be dependent on local majoritarian senti-
ment, valuable speech does not lose its constitutional pro-
tection simply because its value is recognized only by a
minority.

In a wide range of contexts the Court has held that
speech must be protected from majoritarian hostility.
For example, in Kingsley International Pictures Corp.
v. Regents, 360 U.S. 684 (1959), the Court rejected the
contention that a state obscenity statute was constitu-
tional because it only proscribed speech that was con-
trary to the “moral standards, the religious precepts and
the legal code” of the majority. The Court emphasized
that the First Amendment’s guarantee “is not confined
to the expression of ideas that are conventional or shared
by a majority.” 360 U.S. at 688-89 (emphasis added).

10 Accord Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705, 715 (1977) (“The
First Amendment protects the rights of individuals to hold a point
of view different from the majority.”); NAACP v. Button 371
U.S. 415, 445 (1963) (Constitution protects expression without

9

At least two rationales underlie these cases. Initially,
as Justice Harlan explained in Cohen v. California, 403
U.S. 15 (1971), in a “society as diverse and populous as
ours,” the decision whether speech is valuable and
worthy of consideration is left largely in “the hands of
each of us, in the hope that use of such freedom will
ultimately produce a more capable citizenry and more
perfect polity and in the belief that no other approach
would comport with the premise of individual dignity and
choice upon which our political system rests.” 403 U.S.
at 24. Thus, in Hannegan v. Esquire, 327 U.S. 146
(1946), the Court held that the Postmaster General could
not deny lower mailing rates to a publication because of
its allegedly poor taste, and explained that individuals
should be free to judge for themselves whether speech is
“trash” or has “enduring values”:

Under our system of government there is an accom-
modation for the widest varieties of tastes and ideas.
What is good literature, what has educational value,
what is refined public information, what is good art,
varies with individuals as it does from one genera-
tion to another. There doubtless would be a contra-
riety of views concerning Cervantes’ Don Quixote,
Shakespeare’s Venus & Adonis, or Zola’s Nana.

From the multitude of competing offerings the public
will pick and choose. What seems to one to be trash
may have for others fleeting or even enduring values.

327 U.S. at 157. Justice Frankfurter, concurring in the
judgment, observed that “the right of expression beyond

regard to “the truth, popularity or social utility of the ideas and
beliefs which are offered’); Edwards v. South Carolina, 372 U.S.
229, 237 (1963) (reversing conviction for breach of peace where
the evidence “showed no more than that the opinions which [the de-
fendants] were peaceably expressing were sufficiently opposed to
the views of the majority of the community to attract a crowd and
necessitate police protection”) ; Schaefer v. United States, 251 U.S.
466, 482 (1920) (Brandeis, J., dissenting) (discussing the need to
“preserve the right of free speech” from suppression by “well-
meaning majorities”).

10

the conventions of the day” is “the very basis of a free
society.” 327 U.S. at 160. See also Terminiello v. Chi-
cago, 337 U.S. 1, 4 (1949) (the “right to speak freely
and to promote diversity of ideas and programs is. .
one of the chief distinctions that sets us apart from totali-
tarian regimes”). The protection afforded expression
that may not be valued by the majority is also essential
because “[wle can have intellectual individualism and
the rich cultural diversities that we owe to exceptional
minds only at the price of occasional eccentricity and
abnormal attitudes.” West Virginia State Board of Edu-
cation v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 641-42 (1943).

The lower courts’ ruling abandons these basic First
Amendment principles. By restricting the protection of
Miller’s value test to speech that the majority of citizens
in a particular community would find valuable, the Illi
nois rule has improperly denied that protection to a vast
amount of speech that does have “serious literary, artis-
tic, political, or scientific value.” That result is neither
required by, nor consistent with, Miller’s value test.
As Professor Schauer has observed, “the purpose of the
obscenity laws is not to ‘level’ the available reading mat-
ter to the majority or lowest common denominator of the
population. . . . It is obvious that neither Ulysses nor
Lady Chatterley’s Lover would have literary appeal to the
majority of the population.” F. Schauer, THE LAW OF
OBSCENITY 144 (1976) .™

11 As the history of obscenity regulation bears out, permitting
the evaluation of speech to rely on contemporary community stand-
ards, poses particular dangers for speech that may be “ahead of its
time.” Professor Schauer notes that “[d]etermining which are
the serious or important or valuable works of today ... would be
a simpler task if we could be sure that citizens of the future would
not look back and criticize the suppression of great literature in
1975 in the same way that we in 1975 look back at 1925. But stand-
ards and values do change, and one of the great difficulties with
obscenity laws lies in trying to locate and protect from regulation
not only those works which are fully accepted by society today, but

11

The protection of the First Amendment clearly extends
to speech the majority does not find to have value, and
even to speech that is positively abhorrent to the major-
ity. Accordingly, Miller’s third prong cannot constitu-
tionally be applied by reference to “community stand-
ards.”

B. Although Community Interests in Suppressing Of-
fensive” and “Prurient” Speech May Vary From
Community to Community, the Individual’s First
Amendment Interest in Disseminating or Receiving
Valuable Speech is the Same in Every Community.

As noted, it has long been established that except for
certain “well-defined and narrowly limited classes of
speech,” Chaplinsky, 315 U.S. at 571-72, speech is con-
stitutionally protected regardless of its “value.” ** These
narrow classes, which include obscenity, are exceptions to
this rule because the Court has found that such speech
is almost completely lacking in value (rendering the indi-
vidual’s interest in the speech de minimis), and there is
a strong societal interest in prohibiting such speech.*

The first two prongs of the Miller test, which ask
whether the speech is “patently offensive” and appeals to
shameful or morbid interests in sex,’* are aimed at deter-

also those which might be fully accepted in 10 years.” F. Schauer,
THE LAW OF OBSCENITY 136 (1976).

12 See, e.g., Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15, 25 (1971); New
York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 271 (1964); NAACP
v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 445 (1963) ; Winters v. New York, 333 U.S.
507, 510 (1948).

13 See Miller, 413 U.S. at 20-21; Roth, 354 U.S. at 484-85; Chap-
linsky, 315 U.S. at 571, 572.

144[n Miller, the Court used the term “prurient interest.” 413
U.S. at 24. The Court has recently explained that this refers to a
shameful or morbid interest, not a “normal” or “healthy” interest
in sex. Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 105 8S. Ct. 2794,
(1985).

9709

—

12

mining whether there is a legitimate societal interest in
prohibiting the speech at issue. Not surprisingly, the
Court has indicated that community considerations may
be relevant to these inquiries.’* Thus, in deciding whether
speech is “patently offensive,” reference to community
standards permits the jury to determine whether the
speech implicates the relevant interests of the affected
community. By allowing the offensiveness issue to be
judged in this manner, the Court has been able to accom-
modate the varying interests that different communities
may have in regulating sexually explicit speech.’® Simi-
larly, use of community standards in deciding whether
the speech appeals to a “shameful” or “morbid” interest
in sex, allows the jury to focus on what the affected com-
munity considers shameful or morbid, and also to focus
on the particular audience the speech was designed to
reach.**

15 However, many commentators have questioned the use of com-
munity standards in applying any of Miller’s three prongs. See, e.g.,
Schauer, supra note 4; Hunsaker, supra note 4, at 933.

16Jn explaining why state community standards can be used to
determine whether speech is patently offensive and appeals to pru-
rient interests, the Court in Miller emphasized the importance of
accommodating these diverse interests. Miller, 413 U.S. at 32 (“It
is neither realistic nor constitutionally sound to read the First
Amendment as requiring that the people of Maine or Mississippi
accept public depiction of conduct found tolerable in Las Vegas or
New York City.”). In Smith, the Court again indicated that there
are local interests in the regulation of offensive and prurient
sexually explicit speech, and explained that these interests are “fully
satisfie|d]” by “‘the jurors’ application of contemporary community
standards.” 431 U.S. at 304 n.10.

17 See Mishkin v. New York, 383 U.S. 502, 509 (1966). The Court
has indicated that reference to “community” standards is also de-
signed to prevent jurors from imposing their personal views or the
views of an unusually sevsitive person. Roth, 354 U.S. at 489; see
Miller, 413 U.S. at 33. To that extent, the use of “community”
standards, rather than the jurors’ own personal standards, might
be viewed as safeguarding protected speech. This view is neces-
sarily based on the questionable assumptions that “community”

BEST AVA

a

13

The Court has never suggested, however, that com-
munity standards have any relevance to the value test in
Miller’s third prong. That test requires the court to
determine whether certain basic and fundamentally im-
portant First Amendment interests—the right to speak
and receive speech that has serious literary, artistic, po-
litical, or scientific value—are implicated by the speech
in question. If these paramount individual interests are

implicated, that speech is protected by the First Amend-
ment.

The lower courts’ ruling would make this central
constitutional inquiry dependent on varying community
standards.. As a consequence, the individual’s basic First
Amendment interest would depend largely on the com-
munity in which the individual speaks or receives speech,
varying widely and unpredictably among the thousands
of diverse communities across the United States.

Although such variation may be a regrettable but
necessary concomitant of the first two prongs (because
they measure the different interests that communities
have in prohibiting speech), variation is clearly imper-
missible in determining whether the basic First Amend-
ment interests protected by the third prong are impli-
vated. In Miller, for example, the Court expressly stated

.

that “[u]nder a national Constitution, fundamental First
standards are more protective of speech than the “personal” stand-
ards of jurors, and that an instruction can succeed in preventing
jurors from applying their personal standards. Even if these
assumptions were correct, it is clear that whatever protective value
use of community standards may have is overwhelmingly out-
weighed by the host of problems that it creates. First Amendment
values would be far better served by directly instructing jurors not
to rely on their personal opinions (or the opinions of unusually
sensitive persons), and also to consider other evidence such as the
judgment of experts. In short, use of community standards in the
first two prongs cannot be justified as serving First Amendment
goals, but only, as explained above, as identifying majoritarian in-
terests in the suppression of speech.

ABLE COPY

14

Amendment limitations on the powers of the States do
not vary from community to community.” Miller, 413
U.S. at 30. See also Rosenblatt v. Baer, 383 U.S. 75, 84
(1966); Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, 194 (1964) ;
Pennekamp v. Florida, 328 U.S. 331, 335 (1946)." As
the Court has long recognized:
While the people of the state may doubtless adopt
such systems of laws as best conform to their own
traditions and customs, the people of the entire coun-
try have laid down in the Constitution of the United
States certain fundamental principles to which each
member of the Union is bound to accede... .

Holden v. Hardy, 169 U.S. 366, 389 (1898).

Because the First and Fourteenth Amendments do not
envision that those “fundamental principles” will vary
according to the importance attached to them by thou-
sands of local communities, the lower courts’ ruling
should be reversed.

C. The Lower Courts’ Ruling Would Prevent Mean-
ingful Judicial Review of the Jury’s Content-Based
Determination That the Speech Lacks Value and is
Therefore Unprotected by the First Amendment.

In First Amendment speech cases, it is well-established
that appellate courts, including this Court, must inde-
pendently review jury findings of constitutional fact.”
This requirement “reflects a deeply held conviction that
judges—and particularly members of this Court—must
exercise such review in order to preserve the precious
liberties established and ordained by the Constitution.”
Bose Corp v. Consumers Union of United States, 466
U.S. 486, 510-511 (1984). The Court has consistently re-
affirmed this rule in obscenity cases, where the line be-
tween constitutionally protected speech and obscenity is
“dim and uncertain,’ Bantam Books v. Sullivan, 372

18 Accord F. Schauer, THE LAW OF OBSCENITY 124 (1976).

19 See, e.g., Time v. Pape, 401 U.S. 279, 284 (1971); New York
Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 285 (1964).

15

U.S. 58, 66 (1963), and therefore the need for effective
review of findings of constitutional fact is particularly
acute. See Miller, 413 U.S. at 25 (recognizing “the ulti-
mate power of appellate courts” to protect First Amend-
ment values in obscenity cases).”° In particular, the
Court has emphasized the role of appellate courts in as-
suring the proper application of Miller’s value test, in-
structing that “courts must always remain sensitive to
any infringement of genuinely serious, literary, artistic,
political or scientific expression.” Miller, 413 U.S. at 23
(emphasis added). See also Smith v. United States, 431
U.S. 291, 305 (1977).

Because of the special role of juries in identifying
“community standards” in a particular locale, the use of
community standards in Miller’s value test would almost
totally disable courts from reviewing a jury finding that
speech does not have value. The Court has held that in
determining the “community standard”, the jury is per-
mitted to rely on its own knowledge of the community.
It has suggested that because of this knowledge juries
may reject any and all evidence in the record pertaining
to community standards.*”* Because the most critical “evi-

*° Accord Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 158, 160 (1974); Kois v.
Wisconsin, 408 U.S. 229 (1972) (per curiam).

*1In determining the community standard the “juror is en-
titled to draw on his own knowledge of the views of the average
person in the community or vicinage from which he comes for
making the required determination . . . .” Hamling v. United
States, 418 U.S. 87, 104-05 (1974); Smith v. United States, 431
U.S. at 302. Even though the allegedly obscene material itself
provides no evidence of the community’s standard, if that material
is placed into evidence no additional proof is required for the jury
to find that the material is obscene. Kaplan v. California, 413 U.S.
115, 121 (1973); Paris Adult Theatre v. Slayton, 413 U.S. 49, 56
(1973).

*2 See, e.g., Smith v. United States, 431 U.S. 291, 297 (1977)
(upholding jury finding that material was patently offensive and
appealed to prurient interests in sex even though jury rejected
undisputed evidence pertaining to community standards).

16

dence” of community standards (the jury’s own knowl-
edge) is not a part of the record, because whatever evi-
dence is in the record often provides little basis for dis-
cerning the community standard,** and because juries
need not articulate how they identified the standard they
applied, appellate courts cannot meaningfully review jury
determinations of community standards. Moreover, be-
cause juries are not required to articulate the community
standard they have applied, appellate courts cannot even
know which community standard was applied by the jury,
and consequently have no way to determine whether that
standard was properly applied to the speech at issue.”

Although any rule that prevents judicial review of the
jury’s findings of constitutional fact in speech cases
would violate the First Amendment, such a rule is espe-
cially troublesome when the jury is making a content-
based judgment about speech. Content-based distinctions

23 See Paris Adult Theatre, 413 U.S. at 56 n.6.

24 See Smith v. United States, 431 U.S. at 315-16 (Stevens, J.,
dissenting) (“[BJjecause the record never discloses the obscenity
standards which the jurors actually apply, their decisions in these
cases are effectively unreviewable by an appellate court.”) ; United
States v. 2,200 Paper Back Books, 565 F.2d 566, 570 n.7 (9th Cir.
1977) ; Community Standards, supra note 6, at 1844; Lockhart &
McClure, Censorship Of Obscenity: The Developing Constitutional
Standards, 45 MINN. L. REV. 1, 112-13 (1960) ; Obscenity Adjudica-
tion, supra note 6, at 1290.

Hence, if community standards were employed in all three of
Miller’s prongs, judicial review of the jury’s application of those
prongs would be limited to determining whether the speech depicted
“hard core” sexual conduct. If it did, the jury’s application of the
Miller prongs could only be reversed if the reviewing court were to
disregard the jury’s determination and application of the com-
munity standard and decide that no community could constitu-
tionally find that the speech at issue was patently offensive, appealed
to prurient interests, and lacked serious value. Review on this very
limited and ad hoc basis neither adequately safeguards First
Amendment rights nor contributes to the evolution of workable
legal principles.

17

have always been presumptively unconstitutional and sub-
ject to this Court’s closest scrutiny.*®» Moreover, because
juries may not be sufficiently sensitive to the values pro-
tected by the First Amendment (and in particular may
punish speech simply because it is unpopular), the Court
has rejected otherwise constitutional legal rules because
they posed an undue risk that jury findings would be in-
fluenced by the content of speech. See Monitor Patriot
Co. v. Roy, 401 U.S. 265, 277 (1971); Bose Corp. v.
Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 486, 510 (1984).

The value test incorporated in Miller’s third prong,
however, not only makes it possible, but explicitly re-
quires the jury to assess the content of speech. The
Court’s longstanding recognition that content-based judg-
ments create grave risks to First Amendment liberties
compels the conclusion that the jury’s application of this
test must be subject to meaningful judicial review. The
lower courts’ use of a community standard in the appli-
cation of the value test, however, would have precisely the
opposite result, rendering the jury’s content-based deter-
mination effectively unreviewable.

Although the problem of unreviewability is also posed
by the use of community standards in Miller’s first two
prongs, this makes it even more essential that the third
prong be applied in a manner that permits effective ap-
pellate review. Indeed in Smith, after observing that
Miller had not discussed the third prong “in terms of
contemporary community standards,” 431 U.S. at 301,
the Court rejected the contention that the jury’s obscenity
finding was not reviewable, relying in significant part

*° City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres Inc., 54 U.S.L.W. 41°90,
4161 (1986); Police Department of Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92,
95 (1972); Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S. 455, 462-63 & n.7 (1980):
Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. v. Public Service Commission,
447 U.S. 557, 563 n.6 (1980); Hudgens v. NLRB, 424 U.S. 507,
520 (1976).

18

on the rationale that the third prong “is particularly
amenable to appellate review.” 401 U.S. at 305.

Moreover, although appellate review of the application
of all three prongs is important, the abrogation of appel-
late review with respect to the third prong’s value test
has the most serious consequences, because it is that test
which assures protection of valuable speech, deemed by
Miller to be of transcendent First Amendment impor-
tance. If the jury mistakenly determines that the speech
at issue does not have value, then speech which should be
protected by the First Amendment will be suppressed and
the speaker punished, with far-reaching chilling effects on
the dissemination of other valuable speech. If, on the
other hand, the value test is correctly applied, an error
in the application of the first two prongs that results in
an incorrect finding that speech is obscene will not sup-
press speech that does have value. Careful judicial re-
view to minimize the risk of erroneous factual findings is
therefore critically important in the context of Miller’s
third prong.

D. Applying the Value Test by Reference to Varying
Community Standards Would Substantially Chill
Speech That Has Serious Literary, Artistic, Politi-
cal or Scientific Value.

In the many cases in which it has confronted prob-
lems raised by the regulation of obscenity, this Court
has consistently ruled that the standards and procedures
for distinguishing between protected and unprotected
speech must be carefully drawn in order to assure that
laws aimed at suppressing obscene speech will not also
punish or chill speech protected by the First Amend-
ment.*° As we will show, the lower courts’ adoption of

26 See Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476, 488 (1957); Miller,
413 U.S. at 23-24: Bantam Books v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58, 66
(1963); Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S. 546,
561 (1975); Blount v. Rizzi, 400 U.S. 410, 416 (1971); A Quantity

19

a community standard for determining whether speech
has value is inconsistent with that rule, and will as-
suredly have a substantial chilling effect on speech that
has serious literary, artistic, political or scientific value.

If laws authorizing criminal punishment for individ-
uals engaging in unprotected speech do not provide ade-
quate notice of the speech proscribed and ailow a sig-
nificant margin for error, then speakers will steer a
very wide course away from the “unlawful zone.”
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 518, 526 (1958). This self-
censorship is “a censorship affecting the whole public

Through it, the distribution of all books, both
obscene and not obscene, would be impeded.” Smith v.
California, 361 U.S. 147, 153-54 (1959). See New York
Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 279-80.

The Court has long recognized the serious danger of
self-censorship in the obscenity context, where the line
between unlawful “obscenity” and constitutionally pro-
tected speech is unavoidably “dim and uncertain.” Ban-
tam Books, 372 U.S. at 66. That danger would be greatly
aggravated if the value test were applied by reference
to unarticulated and varying community standards.

For all speakers, but particularly those who live out-
side the relevant community, and national speakers who
communicate in thousands of communities, the use of
community standards makes it extraordinarily difficult,
and in many cases impossible, to ascertain the “unlawful
zone’ of obscene speech. In discussing community stand-
ards, this Court’s decisions have emphasized the great
diversity of communities across this Nation ** and have
acknowledged that in identifying a particular commu-
nity’s standards each jury must “draw on knowledge of
of Copies of Books v. Kansas, 378 U.S. 205, 212 (1964); Marcus v.
Search Warrants of Property, 367 U.S. 717, 731 (1961); Smith v.
California, 361 U.S. 147, 155 (1959).

“7 Miller, 413 U.S. at 30.

20

the community or vicinage from which [it] comes.” *
This knowledge obviously is not possessed by speakers
outside the community and cannot practically be ob-
tained. Indeed, the relevant community is not even speci-
fied in many state obscenity statutes.” Even in states
that do specify a geographic community, those communi-
ties inevitably include countless subcommunities, and the
speaker cannot know which of those subcommunities the
jury may look to for guidance.”

In deciding whether or how to speak in a particu-
lar community, the speaker knows that a single mistake
in ascertaining the standards of that community will
subject the speaker to criminal penalties. To minimize
that risk, speakers must steer a wide course away from
the “dim and uncertain” line separating obscenity and
protected speech in the many communities in which they
are uncertain about the “community standard.” In those
communities, the speaker must operate under a pre
sumption of community intolerance, limiting speech to

28 Hamling, 418 U.S. at 105; see note 21 supra.

29 See Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153, 157 (1974) (states may
refer to community standards “without further specification”’).

30 See, e.g., Bell, Determining Community Standards, 63 A.B.A.J.
1202, 1206 (1977) (This analysis of community standards polls
“found that attitudes regarding the depiction of sexual matters
vary markedly from one location in a city to another. For exam-
ple, in one city there were residential areas where 90 per cent of
the respondents felt that standards had changed in the past few
years in the direction of greater acceptability regarding explicit
sexual depictions in films. In the same city there were areas where
only 20 per cent of the respondents noticed a change toward greater
tolerance. Indeed, half of those respondents thought the changes
were in the opposite direction.”); Court v. State, 683 Wis.2d 570,
217 N.W.2d 676, 679 (1974) (“The Appleton area where this case
originated as well as the obvious example of Milwaukee are areas
where portions of what clearly are recognizahle as integrated local
communities would be governed by different standards. What
would not be obscene on one side of the street might be obscene
on the other.’”’).

21

that which is accepted in the least tolerant communities
—in other words, the lowest common denominator.
Rather than accommodating the interests of diverse com-
munities, the use of community standards effectively im-

poses on all communities the standards of the least
tolerant.

These difficulties acutely affect the practices of na-
tional speakers, such as national publishers and dis-
tributors of books. By entering the national marketplace
of ideas, these speakers play a critical role in fostering
the exchange of ideas between diverse communities.”
But when confronted with the risk of criminal penalties
for violating any of the thousands of unarticulated and
varying community standards, they are forced to engage
in self-censorship, avoiding speech in all communities

31 See Community Standards, supra note 6, at 1859 n.91 (“taken
to extremes, least common denominator distributions create a uni-
form national standard—the standard defined by the attitudes of
the least tolerant jurisdiction”). In addition to subjecting speak-
ers to thousands of different standards, the use of community
standards has a chilling effect on protected speech for other rea-
sons. First, it creates a strong incentive for prosecutors to “forum
shop” by commencing prosecutions in those areas with the least
tolerant “community standards.” Consequently, unless an objective
standard is used speakers must assume that the value of their
speech will be judged by the most parochial standards. Second, the
use of community standards in the third prong would mean that
an acquittal based on a finding of “value” in one community would
have no collateral estoppel effect in a prosecution commenced in an-
other community. Community standards thus increase the risk that
a speaker will be subjected to multiple prosecutions. Because speak-
ers cannot assume that no prosecutors will take advantage of these
opportunities, the pressure to self-censor any speech that might be
found obscene anywhere becomes even greater.

82 See Roth, 354 U.S. at 484; Associated Press v. United States,
326 U.S. 1, 20 (1944); New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254,
269 (1964).

22

that might approach the “dim line” between obscenity and
constitutionally protected speech in any community.”

This chilling of constitutionally protected speech is
caused by the use of community standards in deciding
any of Miller’s three prongs. However, use of an ob-
jective standard in applying the third prong affords
significant protection to speakers. If they can conclude
that their speech clearly has “value” of the type speci-
fied in Miller—based on their own judgment, consulta-
tion with experts or law enforcement officials, or an
examination of case law involving the same or similar
speech—they can have some assurance that their speech
will be constitutionally protected, no matter how idiosyn-
cratic a particular community’s standards concerning the
“prurient interests” and “patently offensive” prongs may
be. This limits, somewhat, the chilling effect on “valu-
able” speech of varying community standards.

Because the lower courts’ ruling removes this protection,
even those who engage in sexually explicit speech which
they honestly believe has value cannot safely speak any-
where they are uncertain of the community’s standards.
The courts below have not provided the slightest justi-
fication, much less a compelling or overriding justifica-
tion, for adopting a rule that predictably will lead to
substantial self-censorship of protected—indeed of valu-
able—speech. That rule is fundamentally at odds with
the First Amendment.

33 The recent decision in Mozeri v. Hawkins County Public
Schools, —— F. Supp. ——— (E.D. Tenn., No. Civ-2-83-401, Oct. 24,
1986), 55 U.S.L.W. 2243 (Nov. 4, 1986) (permitting children to be
excused from reading textbooks they and their parents find objec-
tionable on religious grounds) has focused attention on the pres-
sure to self-censor experienced by publishers in a national market.
Even in textbook publication, where deviations from what is “val-
ued” in diverse communities are not subject to criminal penalties,
there has been widespread concern that textbooks are being “wa-
tered down” because they are “aimed at satisfying many and of-
fending none.” Wash. Post, Nov. 10, 1986, at Al.

23

Il. THE COURT SHOULD LIMIT ITS HOLDING TO
THE PRECISE ISSUE RAISED BY THIS CASE,
BUT IF IT ADDRESSES OTHER ASPECTS OF
THE VALUE TEST IT SHOULD RULE THAT
BECAUSE THE VALUE REQUIREMENT IS AN
EXCEPTION TO THE GENERAL RULE THAT
SPEECH IS PROTECTED REGARDLESS OF ITS
VALUE, THAT REQUIREMENT MUST BE NAR-
ROWLY CONSTRUED.

Amici respectfully submit that it would be unneces-
sary and inappropriate for the Court to address the
precise meaning of “serious literary, artistic, political, or
scientific value,” in this case because that issue is not
before the Court. If, however, the Court does address
that issue, it should rule that because requiring sexually
explicit speech to have value is itself an exception to the
general rule that speech is protected regardless of its
value, the value requirement must be narrowly construed.

The precise meaning of “serious literary, artistic, po-
litical, and scientific value,” was not at issue below and
is not raised in these appeals. Indeed, the Miller lan-
guage is not even used in the Illinois test that is at
issue. Hence, elaboration of that language would pro-
vide no guidance to the courts below if this case is re-
manded for further proceedings.

In these circumstances, it is axiomatic that the Court
should not elaborate the meaning of “serious literary,
artistic, political, and scientific value” in this case. The
importance and complexity of constitutional adjudication
require that the Court limit its decision to those issues
properly and necessarily before it. Perhaps nowhere is
this more evident than in obscenity cases, where the dif-
ficulty of the issues has frequently resulted in sharp
divisions among the members of this Court. Issues raised
by the phrase “serious literary, artistic, political and

24

scientific value” are no exception. They must be resolved
on a case-by-case basis in the context of specific dis-
putes, rather than through broad rules formulated in
the abstract, without the benefit of briefing by the parties
or resolution in the first instance by lower courts. Hence,
the Court’s holding should be limited to requiring that
the value test (or variants of that test) must be applied
using an objective standard, and the Court should await
a more appropriate case before addressing other sub-
stantive aspects of that test.

If the Court does decide to provide further instruc-
tion concerning the interpretation and application of the
“serious literary, artistic, political, and scientific value”
test, however, it should rule that because this require-
ment is an exception to the general rule that speech is
protected regardless of its value, the value requirement
must be narrowly construed. The history of speech reg-
ulation teaches that any effort to identify speech that
is not “valuable” should proceed with an awareness that
it is extraordinarily difficult to make this determination
using neutral principles, and that the principal victims
of such efforts are often the speaker and recipient of un-
conventional or unpopular ideas. These lessons are deeply
rooted in the Court’s First Amendment jurisprudence,
and are of paramount importance in the rare cases—
such as obscenity—where the First Amendment has been
construed to allow criminal punishment of speech based
on its content and lack of “value.”

In view of these principles, if the Court addresses the
substance of the value test, amici urge it to do so in the
following manner:

First, the Court should indicate that the four cate-
gories of “valuable speech” enumerated in Miller are not
exhaustive, and should be construed flexibly.“ Any at-

~-—-—

*4 See Lockhart, supra note 6, at 555 (The four categories enu-
merated in Miller are “artificially limited in scope, apparently ex-

25

tempt to rigidly define “core” categories of speech pro-
tected by the First Amendment is ultimately doomed to
failure. The interests protected by the Amendment are
too broad, and the contexts in which they arise too
varied, to allow such compartmentalization.” For ex-
ample, a significant amount of educational speech, in-
cluding sex education of an informational rather than
scientific nature, would not easily fall within any of
Miller’s four categories (and clearly would not be in-
cluded if they are rigidly construed).** The Miller test,

cluding important first amendment values .... [T]he <sinission
of educational value, and some general expression such s ‘other
social value’ to include genuine serious values that do not readily
fit into the specified categories, is a critical deficiency in the
[ Miller) opinion.” ).

35 Thus, in some cases, courts may need to consider a variety
of contextual factors to determine whether speech is valuable. See
Kois v. Wisconsin, 408 U.S. 229, 231 (1972) (per curiam) (in de
ciding whether speech is obscene, “[a] reviewing court must. .
look at the context of the mate , as well as its content”); Ginz-
burg v. United States, 383 U.S. 463 (1966) (same). In a close
case, for example, the fact that the material was expressly re-
quested by the recipient, and paid for, would provide some indi-
cation of its value, and conversely the fact that it had been “thrust
by aggressive sales action upon unwilling recipients who had in
no way indicated any desire to receive such materials,” Miller, 413
U.S. at 19. might provide some evidence that it was not valuable.

36 See Lockhart, supra note 6, at 555 (“[E]|ducational value
fis] one of the prime first amendment values served by explicit
sexual materials, which are now widely used in the more advanced
types of sex education in private schools and churches, and in the
training of sex counselors, doctors, and others.”’). In assessing the
value of the material at issue in Ginzberg v. United States, 383
U.S. 463, 472 (1966), the Court emphasized that the material was
not being distributed because of its “therapeutic or educational
value,” and noted that “[t|he Government does not seriously con-
test the claim that the book [would have] worth in such a con-
trolled, or even neutral, environment.” See Hunsaker, supra note

therefore, should leave lower courts some room to ac-
commodate other important values protected by the First
Amendment in appropriate cases.

Second, the Court should reaffirm the statement in
Roth that sexually explicit speech is not per se lacking
in value simply because its content pertains exclusively
to sex. See Roth, 354 U.S. at 487 (“Sex, a great and
mysterious motive force in human life, has indisputably
been a subject of absorbing interest to mankind through
the ages; it is one of the vital problems of human in-
terest and public concern.’’).

Third, the Court should make clear that the word
“serious” as used in Miller’s third prong does not re-
quire a quantitative judgment about the value of speech,
but requires instead the judgment whether the speech
genuinely has literary, artistic, political, or scientific
value. See Miller, 413 U.S. at 23 (“courts must always
remain sensitive to any infringement of genuinely seri-
ous, literary, artistic, political or scientific expression’)
(emphasis added).*’ In rejecting as not embodying the
views of the Court’s majority in any prior case the “ut-
terly without redeeming social value” test of Memoirs
v. Massachusetts, 383 U.S. 413 (1966) (plurality opin-
ion), and substituting its “serious . . . value” test, the
Miller Court relied upon Kois v. Wisconsin, 408 U-S.
229 (1972) (per curiam), for the proposition that “ ‘[a]
quotation from Voltaire in the flyleaf of a book will not
constitutionally redeem an otherwise obscene publica-
tion.’” 413 U.S. at 25 n.7 (quoting 408 U.S. at 231).
Thus, Miller’s insertion of the word “serious” and rejec-

6, at 916 (suggesting that material, otherwise obscene. may have
“serious ‘therapeutic’ value in psychiatric treatment or in mar-
riage counseling.’’).

37 See Community Standards, supra note 6, at 1855 (advocating
this interpretation of Miller).

tion of the plurality’s test in Memoirs reaffirmed and
embodied the principle of Kois that courts may find a
work obscene only if any and all portions having value
are merely a sham, lacking any rational relationship to
the remainder of the work.* It does not, however, invite
juries or judges who have found, for example, that
material has genuine political value to adjudge further
whether that political value exceeds some artificially es-
tablished (and meaningless) quantum before it merits
First Amendment protection. A quantitative rule would
unduly risk the worst sorts of content- and viewpoint-
based discrimination by the jury.

Fourth, for reasons indicated earlier, the Court should
reaffirm the critical role played by judges in determining
whether material has “serious literary, artistic, poiitical
or scientific value.” *°

CONCLUSION

In contrast to the many difficult and divisive issues
that arise in the obscenity context, the issue now before
the Court has been resolved with virtual unanimity by
the lower courts. The Illinois courts departure from
that otherwise unanimous view is inconsistent with the
very design of the Miller test and violates four of the
most fundamental principles of First Amendment juris-
prudence, each of which requires the conclusion that
Miller’s value test cannot constitutionally be applied by
reference to community standards. Considered together,

8 See Kois v. Wisconsin, 408 U.S. at 231 (publication of sexually
explicit photographs was constitutionally protected because it was
“rationally related to an article that itself was clearly entitled to

the protection of the Fourteenth Amendment” )

» See Smit} United States, 431 U.S. 291, 305 (1977); F.

Schauer, THE LAW OF OBSCENITY 151 (1976

28

those principles overwhelmingly justify that conclusion
and require reversal of the judgment below.

Respectfully submitted,

HARVEY GROSSMAN KIT ADELMAN-PIERSON
JANE M. WHICHER BRUCE J. ENNIS, JR.
ACLU OF ILLINOIS (Counsel of Record)
220 South State Street DAVID W. OGDEN
Suite 816 ENNIS, FRIEDMAN &
Chicago, Illinois 60604 BERSOFF
(312) 427-7330 1200 17th Street, N.W.
Suite 400

JACK NOVIK
DAVID GOLDSTEIN Washington, D.C. 20036

AMERICAN CIVIL (202) 775-8100
LIBERTIES UNION Attorneys for Amici Curiae

132 W. 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

(212) 944-9800

November 20, 1986

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0126%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
