# Amicus Curiae Brief — Société Nationale Industrielle Aérospatiale v. United States District Court

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0112%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1168

## Text

—— ————

Sunrame CF
belice re

FILED » ? t

en emma ——_—_

Ir the’ coe oart uf the Butte , » Sinton vf

OcTOBER TERM, 1986

SOCIETE NATIONALE INDUSTRIELLE AEROSPATIALE AND
SociETE.DE CONSTRUCTION D’AVIONS DE TOURISM,
PETITIONERS

v.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA

(DENNIS JONES, JOHN AND ROSA GEORGE,
REAL PARTIES IN INTEREST)

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AND THE
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
AS AMICI CURIAE

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

RICHARD K. WILLARD
Assistant Attorney General

ALBERT G, LAUBER, JR.
Deputy Solicitor General

JAMES M. SPEARS
Deputy Assistant Attorney General

JEFFREY P. MINBAR
Assistant to the Soliciter General

DAVID EPSTEIN
Davip M: SCHLITZ
Attorneys /

Department of Justice
ABRAHAM D. SOFAER Washington, D.C. 20530
Legal Adviser (202) 683-2217
Department of State
Washington, D.C. 20520
DANIEL L. GOBLZER
General Counsel
Securities and Exchange Commission
Washington, D.C. 20549

i =
~? 3 :

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a federal district court, adjudicating a pri-
vate civil suit against a foreign national subject to the
court’s jurisdiction, should employ the procedures set
forth in the Hague Evidence Convention for discovery of
documents and information within the possession of the
foreign national but located abroad.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
LC 1
RTE gh LE ALE ES OS SORES Oe ee 2
nr UII... li cectstentnentenliiciiieahtenitigtatentbnsenes 6
Argument:
The court of appeals erred in concluding that the
Hague Evidence Convention has no application to
the discovery requests at issue here, and the case
should be remanded for a determination whether
resort to the Convention should be required pur-
suant to a particularized comity analysis ............... 7
A. Comity does not require first use of the Hague
Convention in every case where a foreign liti-
gant objects to American discovery procedures.. 11
B. The decision below should be vacated and the
case should be remanded for the application of
@ proper comity analysis ......................--..-...--..-. 19
A A ee 30
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Adidas (Canada) Ltd. v. S.S. Seatrain Bennington,
No. 80 Civ. 1922 (S.D.N.Y. May 30, 1984).......... 25
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., No. 84-1602
PRET ETE A a 20
Anschuetz & Co., GmbH., In re, 754 F.2d 602, pe-
tition for cert. filed, No. 85-98 ............ asseeedy By 9, 26, 29
Banco Nacional v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398 ............ 13
California Motor Transport Co. v. Trucking Un-
TE ee ee 21
Club Mediterranee, S.A. Vv. Dorin, appeal dis-
missed and cert. denied, 469 U.S. 913 —.............. 2

Compagnie Francaise D’Assurance Pour Le Com-
merce Exterieur v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 105
i (EE TT ee Fe

(III)

IV

Cases—Continued : Page
Cooper Industries, Inc. v. British Aerospace, Inc.,

I alienate 9,14

Disconto Gesellschaft v. Umbreit, 208 U.S. 570.... 13

Evidence (Proceedings in Other Jurisdictions)

Act 1975 (Guernsey), In re, Order 1980 (Stat.

ee Te BI, TT cichanctiiacetintanddideinatebabniubiaiianiiaians 17
Evidence (Proceedings in Other Jurisdictions)

Act 1975, In re (Q.B. Feb. 28, 1984), reprinted

in 23 Int’] Legal Materials 511 (1984) -.............. 16
Federal Maritime Commission v. DeSmedt, 366

F.2d 464, cert. denied, 385 U.S. 974 ..................... 8
First National City Bank v. Banco Para el Comer-

F&O, RULE RAG er weet oe 13
Gebr. Eickhoff Maschinenfabrik U nd Eisengieberei

mbH v. Starcher, 328 S.E.2d 492 ....................... 9,14, 18
Graco, Inc. vy. Kremlin, Inc., 101 F.R.D. 508......9, 14, 25
Herbert v. Lando, 441 U.S. 158 .......................... 19, 22, 29
Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 496 ............................. 19, 22
Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 118 ............................. 11, 12, 13
Insurance Corp. of Ireland, Ltd. v. Compagnie des

Bauzites de Guinee, 456 U.S. 694 —........0000......... 8,19
International Society for Krishna Consciousness,

I AS EEE 9,14, 18
Laker Airways, Ltd. v. Pan American World Air-

I Fie I CI ethntiericeineienticiienatindaabiccnnnness 9,14
Laker Airways, Ltd. v. Sabena, Belgian World

Po Se TE EE RES 11, 13
Lowrance Vv. Weinig, 107 F.R.D. 386 ...................... 9,14
Marc Rich & Co., A.G., In re, 707 F.2d 663, cert.

I a hrerletihichiitttneetiiirnditintailiicbenecen x
Messerschmitt Bolkow Blohm, GmbH. v. Walker,

757 F.2d 729, petition for cert. pending, No.

I cctithiicdecadiovabianintbitliiciiiicinticitiihitaliieliitantimnasl 2,9, 14
Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Solem Chrysler-

Plymouth, Inc., No. 83-1569 (July 2, 1985) ........ 21
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415.220.0000. 21
Pain v. United Technologies Corp., 637 F.2d 775

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1128 ........................... ee 18, 22

Perkins v. Benguet Consolidated Mining Co., 342

Cases—Continued : Page

Philadelphia Gear Corp. v. American Pfauter

ER Eee en 14
Pierburg GmbH & Co. KG v. Superior Court, 137

Cal. App. 3d 238, 186 Cal. Rptr. 876 ................. 9,14
Saul v. His Creditors, 5 Mart. (n.s.) 569
SEC v. Banca della Svizzera Italiana, No. 81 Civ.

1836 (S.D.N.Y. filed Mar. 29, 1981) .................. 17
SEC vy. Certain Unknown Purchasers of the Com-

mon Stock of, and Call Options for the Common

Stock of, Santa Fe International Corp., No. 81

Civ. 6553 (S.D.N.Y. filed Oct. 26, 1981) .............. 16
SEC v. Minas de Artemisa, S.A., 105 F.2d 215........ 8
SEC v. Tome, [Current] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH)

hf 8} REE 17
Schlagenhauf v. Holder, 379 U.S. 104 .................... 20
Seattle Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20........ 15, 19, 21,

22, 29-30
Slauenwhite v. Bekum Maschinenfabriken, GmbH,

I a ions 9,14

Societe Internationale v. Rogers, 357 U.S. 197.... 8, 11,
13, 19

Societe National Industrielle Aerospatiale v. U.S.
District Court, 788 F.2d 1408 .......................-....... 9,14

Statement on the Examination of Witnesses as
Requested by a Foreign Letter Rogatory (Pret.
ee 17

Testimony of Constandi Nasser, In re, Trib.
Admin. de Paris, 6eme section—2eme chambre,

No. 51&46/6 (Dec. 17, 1985) .............................--. 16
TH. Goldschmidt A.G. v. Smith, 676 S.W.2d 448.... 14
United States v. First National Bank, 699 F.2d

a 11
United States v. First National City Bank, 396

I enna 8, 13, 21
United States v. Vetco, Inc., 691 F.2d 1281, cert.

a 11
Uranium Antitrust Litigation, In re, 480 F. Supp.

ESE ENS Nach STR te ete ea 9

Vincent v. Ateliers de la Motobecane S.A., 193
N.J. Super. 716, 475 A.2d 686

VI
Cases—Continued : Page
Voikswagenwerk A.G. Vv. Falzon, appeal dismissed,
SE EE. CII ncrinenenpsittecintinntndeenatitimaiunincemibammnegee 2
Volkswagenwerk, A.G. v. Superior Court, 123 Cal.
App. 3d 840, 176 Cal. Rptr. 874 ..........................- 9
Work v. Bier, 106 F.R.D. 46 ...................--222-..---2000- 9, 14,18

Treaty, statutes and rules:

Hague Convention on the Taking of Evidence
Abroad in Civil and Commercial Matters,
opened for signature Mar. 18, 1970, 23 U.S.T.

ERS ET ee 1
Arts. 1-2, 23 U.S.T. 2557-2558 ............................. 3
Arts. 5-13, 23 U.S.T. 2560-2568 ........................... 3
a eeenmesinmcens 3
Arts. 15-16, 23 U.S.T. 2564-2565 ...................... o 3
I a ccepsineninnsttiomieniee 8
ane 15, 17, 27, 28

ee aan 2

a sceliliaeeaiieiadeniiin 19

Fed. R. Civ. P.:
le 28
see er eeeee eerer Seer ee 29
| TNE ee eae ae oS Oe TN 28
RES a ae ene eee ee 29
aici inchs iniatibiemiliinaainial sali 3
ESR Peres eee nee sen 5

Miscellaneous:

Borel & Boyd, Opportunities for and Obstacles
to Obtaining Evidence in France for Use in
Litigation in the United States, 13 Int'l Law.
IIR AES ER NOE aren sor alee er 27
Edwards, Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil or
Commercial Matters, 18 Int’] & Comp. L. Q. 646
RPE SET RTE eee care er See
Fedders, Policing Internationalized U.S. Capital
Markets: Methods to Obtain Evidence Abroad,
ce 8 EEN ree 16
Heck, U.S. Misinterpretation of the Hague Evi-
dence Convention, 24 Colum. J. Transnat’] L.
A 2 en eee 9

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued : Page

Herzog, The 1980 French Law on Documents and
Information, 75 Am. J. Int’] L. 382 (1981) ........ 24

Langbein, The German Advantage in Civil Proce-
dure, 52 U. Chi. L. Rev. 823 (1985).................... 30

Marcus, Myth and Reality in Protective Order
Litigation, 69 Corneil L. Rev. 1 (1983).............. 30

7 Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory (pt. VII)
RUT ie ccetaiasitcieasheiadieth ial odes eel helt ainda tclareaiihapmeitiitibiesinn 15, 27

4 J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice (2d ed.
eae a AN 19

Note, Strict Enforcement of Extraterritorial Dis-
covery, 38 Stan. L. Rev. 841 (1986) ........0000000.. 9, 25

Onkelinx, Conflict of International Jurisdiction:
Ordering the Production of Documents in Vio-
lation of the Law of the Situs, 64 Nw. U. L.
I eee 9

Oxman, The Choice Between Direct Discovery and
Other Means of Obtaining Evidence Abroad:

The Impact of the Hague Evidence Convention,
37 U. Miami L. Rev. 7383 (19838).......................... 15

Reese, The Hague Conference on Private Inter-
national Law: Some Observations, 19 Int'l
i 7

Report of United States Delegation to Eleventh
Session of Hague Conference on Private Inter-
national Law, 8 Int’l Legal Materials 785

REESE EN Sa e es 2 Ne on Ai Rie ee 8
Restatement (Revised) of Foreign Relations Law

of the United States (Tent. Draft No. 7, 1986).. 20
Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws (1971).. 21
Restatement (Second) of Foreign Relation Law

of the United States (1965)... ......B, 9, 20
S. Exec. A, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. (1972) ................... 7

S. Exec. Rep. 92-25, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. (1972)... 7,14
P. Schlosser, Der Justizkonflikt zwischen den
| a 24
Securities Exchange Act Release Nos. 9484, 9485,
[1921-1982] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) { 98,323
I 16
Smit, International Aspects of Federal Civil Pro-
cedure, 61 Colum. L. Rev. (1961) ......................... 9

vilt

J. Story, Commentaries on the Conflicts of Law
eS ewes eee
Struve, Discovery from Foreign Parties in Civil
Cases before U.S. Courts, 16 N.Y.U. J. Int’l L.
3 S 2 ——_ ee ee
Toms, The French Response to the Extraterri-
torial Application of United States Antitrust
Laws, 15 Int’] Law. 585 (1981) .........................-..
8 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and
Procedure, Cloth (1970) .........2....0cccccceccocccccsececeeeese-

—__—

Page

12

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 85-1695

SOCIETE NATIONALE INDUSTRIELLE AEROSPATIALE AND
SOCIETE DE CONSTRUCTION D’AVIONS DE TOURISM,
PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA

(DENNIS JONES, JOHN AND ROSA GEORGE,
REAL PARTIES IN INTEREST )

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AND THE
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
AS AMICI CURIAE

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The United States is a party to the Hague Evidence
Convention * and has a strong interest in promoting inter-
national judicial cooperation consistent with domestic law.
The Securities and Exchange Commission, the agency
charged by Congress with the enforcement of the federal
securities laws, has in the past used the Convention’s
procedures in an effort to obtain evidence abroad and

1 Hague Convention on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil
and Commercial Matters, opened for signature Mar. 18, 1970, 23
U.S.T. 2555 et seq. (entered into force between the United States
and France on Oct. 6, 1974), reprinted at Pet. App. 26a-41a.

(1)

2

thus has actual experience with the practical opera-
tion of its transnational discovery methods. This Court
on three previous occasions has invited the United States
to express its views on the question presented. See U.S.
Amicus Br., Anschuetz & Co. GmbH. v. Mississippi River
Bridge Authority, No. 85-98, and Messerschmitt Bolkow
Blohm, GmbH. v. Walker, No. 85-99, petitions for cert.
pending (U.S. Anschuetz Br.); U.S. Amicus Br., Club
Mediterranee, S.A. Vv. Dorin, appeal dismissed and cert.
denied, 469 U.S. 9138 (1984) (U.S. Club Med. Br.) ; U.S.
Amicus Br., Volkswagenwerk A.G. v. Falzon, appeal dis-
missed, 465 U.S. 1014 (1984) (U.S. Falzon Br.).

STATEMENT

Petitioners are aircraft-manufacturing corporations
organized under the laws of France and owned by the
government of that country (Pet. App. la). Although
petitioners construct their aircraft in France, they adver-
tise and sell them in the United States (ibid.). In 1980,
one of petitioners’ “short take-off and landing” aircraft
was involved in a plane crash in Iowa. Respondents Den-
nis Jones, John George, and Rosa George brought this
tort action against petitioners in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Southern District of Iowa, alleging
that they suffered persunal injury as a result of defects
in the plane (ibid.).

Petitioners and respondents both sought discovery, and
discovery motions were referred by the parties’ consent
to a magistrate under 28 U.S.C. 636(c) (1). Respondents
filed an initial request for production of documents; this
request sought the flight manual, pilot’s handbook, per-
formance data and testing records of the airplane in-
volved in the crash (Pet. App. 12a; J.A. A19-A20). Peti-
tioners apparently complied with this initial discovery
request, and they in turn propounded interrogatories and
requested documents from respondents (Pet. App. 12a).
Respondents then filed a further request for production of
documents, as well as interrogatories and requests for
admissions (J.A. A21-A38). In that second round of dis-

: 3

covery, respondents sought inspection reports and design
specifications for the aircraft (J.A. A27-A29) ; requested
admissions that petitioners had made certain claims about
the aircraft in advertisements published in United States
magazines (J.A. A21-A26; A36-A38); and propounded
questions about the composition of those advertisements
(J.A. A80-A35).

Petitioners declined to comply with the second discovery
request and sought a protective order from the magistrate
(Pet. App. 12a; J.A. Al-All). They contended that the
responsive information and documents could properly be
produced only through the procedures set forth by the
Hague Evidence Convention.? Petitioners also argued
that production by means other than the Convention
would violate a French “blocking statute” prohibiting
transmittal of evidence for use in foreign judicial pro-
ceedings except as provided by international agreement
or French law (J.A. A9-A10).*

2The Hague Evidence Convention provides three alternative
methods for conducting evidence-taking proceedings abroad. Under
the first method, a litigant may request the court where the action
is pending to transmit a “Letter of Request” to the “Central Au-
thority” in the country where the evidence is located. See arts. 1-2,
23 U.S.T. 2557-2558. The Central Authority, selected by the foreign
government, then transmits the request to the appropriate foreign
court, which conducts the evidentiary proceeding. See arts. 5-18,
23 U.S.T. 2560-2563. The foreign court, upon request, will conduct
the evidentiary proceeding under procedures specified by the re-
questing court, unless those procedures are incompatible with
internal law or impracticable. See art. 9, 23 U.S.T. 2561. Under
the second method, the litigant may request that a diplomatic or
consular officer of the country where the action is pending take
evidence in the foreign country to which he is accredited. See arts.
15-16, 23 U.S.T. 2564-2565. Under the third method, the litigant
may request that a specially appointed commissioner take evidence
in the foreign country. See art. 17, 28 U.S.T. 2565. The three
methods are similar to those identified by Fed. R. Civ. F. 28(b).

* The French statute, enacted in 1980, provides (Pet. App. 47a-
48a):

Subject to treaties or international agreements and applicable

laws and regulations, it is prohibited for any party to request,

4

The magistrate denied petitioners’ motion and ordered
compliance with respondents’ discovery request (Pet. App.
lla-25a). The magistrate based his decision primarily
upon his “concern with the impediment to discovery which
the Hague Evidence Convention places on litigation in
American courts and the potential interference with such
proceedings which forcing compliance with foreign court
procedures would cause” (id. at 24a). In response to peti-
tioners’ claim that discovery would violate the French
blocking statute, the magistrate cited evidence that the
statute “ha[s] not been strictly enforced in France” and
noted that in any event “a party who is affected by the
law may seek a waiver of its provisions from the appro-
priate French minister” (id. at 22a). The magistrafe
pointed out that the discovery sought—production of
documents, responses to requests for admissions, and
answers to interrogatories—“does not have to take place
in France” and that the requested discovery was “not
greatly intrusive or abusive” (id. at 25a). He concluded
on balance that the “United States’ interests are stronger
than potential French interests” and ruled that resort to
the Hague Convention was not required (ibid.).

I ‘itioners sought review of the magistrate’s decision
through a petition to the court of appeals for a writ of
mandamus. Although the court of appeals agreed to con-
sider the merits of the petition, it declined to grant the
relief requested (Pet. App. la-10a). The court first con-
cluded that the Hague Convention’s procedures have no

application to the discovery in question, stating (id.
at 4a);

Although a minority of courts have adopted the
position advanced by the Petitioners, in our opinion
the better rule, which has been adopted by the vast

seek or disclose, in writing, orally or otherwise, economic, com-
mercial, industrial, financial or technical documents or infor-
mation leading to the constitution of evidence with a view to
foreign judicial or administrative proceedings or in connection
therewith.

5

majority of courts, is that when the district court
has jurisdiction over a foreign litigant the Hague
Convention does not apply to the production of evi-
dence in that litigant’s possession, even though the
documents and information sought may physically be
located within the territory of a foreign signatory
to the Convention.

The court specifically adopted the Fifth Circuit’s view
that “ ‘matters preparatory to compliance with discovery
orders in the United States, even where the preparatory
acts occur in foreign nations, do not constitute discovery
in the foreign nation as addressed by the Hague Conven-
tion’” (id. at 5a, quoting In re Anschuetz & Co., GmbH.,
754 F.2d 602, 611 (5th Cir. 1985), petition for cert. pend-
ing, No. 85-98). While holding that “the Hague Conven-
tion does not apply to the discovery sought in this case,”
the court suggested that the Convention “will continue to
provide useful, if not mandatory, procedures for dis-
covery abroad from foreign nonparties who are not sub-
ject to an American court’s jurisdiction and compulsory
powers” (Pet. App. 5a, 6a).

The court of appeals next considered whether the
French blocking statute provides an independent ground
for petitioners’ objections to compliance with the dis-
covery orders. The court agreed with the magistrate’s
balancing of the foreign and domestic interests, relying
(Pet. App. 9a) on factors set forth in Section 40 of the
Restatement of Foreign Relations Law of the United
States (1965). The court suggested that petitioners, as
corporations owned by the French government, “stand in
a most advantageous position” to obtain a waiver of the
blocking statute’s requirements, and the court opined that
petitioners’ good faith in seeking a waiver would be rele-
vant in the event the magistrate considered imposing
sanctions for noncompliance with the discovery order
(Pet. App. 10a) .*

* No question of sanctions under Fed. R. Civ. P. 37 is before this
Court at this time.

6

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The court of appeals erred in holding that the Hague
Evidence Convention has no application in the present
ease. The Convention prescribes optional procedures,
preferred by most foreign litigants, for parties to obtain
discovery of documents and information located abroad.
An American court, faced with objections to traditional
American discovery methods on the ground that they
would violate a foreign nation’s law or clearly articulated
policies, should give serious consideration to use of the
Convention even though it has the power to require dis-
covery through the traditional means. Principles of inter-
national comity should guide a court’s decision whether
to use the Convention in any particular case.

Comity is a flexible principle and does not require ini-
tial resort to the Convention whenever a foreign litigant
objects to American discovery procedures. A rigid rule
mandating “first use” of the Convention in all cases finds
no support in the language or ratification history of the
Convention and would fail to respond to the inevitable
complexities of transnational discovery disputes. Rather,
the question whether to employ the Convention should be
based on a case-by-case comity analysis that takes into
account the facts and circumstances surrounding the par-
ticular discovery request and the foreign objections
thereto.

A proper comity analysis must begin with a reasoned
evaluation of the domestic and foreign interests. The
United States’ interest generally will center on its obliga-
tion to assure that domestic litigants are afforded ade-
quate opportunities to adjudicate their claims. Foreign
interests that may merit accommodation from United
States courts include such concerns as preservation of ter-
ritorial integrity, prevention of abusive evidence-gather-
ing, or policies safeguarding substantive liberty, prop-
erty, or privacy interests. In determining whether or not
to utilize the Convention, the court should consider
whether the Convention can provide fair, efficient, and
effective discovery, taking into account such factors as

7

whether the evidence can be obtained through the Con-
vention and the expense, burden, and delays that might
result from its use. The United States has a strong inter-
est in avoiding conflict with foreign nations, and Ameri-
can courts should thus be mindful of the need to refrain,
when feasible, from ordering discovery that would violate
a foreign nation’s laws or policies. Because the district
court is in the best position to apply a proper comity
analysis in the first instance, the decision should be
vacated and the case remanded for that purpose.

ARGUMENT

THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN CONCLUDING
THAT THE HAGUE EVIDENCE CONVENTION HAS
NO APPLICATION TO THE DISCOVERY REQUESTS
AT ISSUE HERE, AND THE CASE SHOULD BE
REMANDED FOR A DETERMINATION WHETHER
RESORT TO THE CONVENTION SHOULD BE RE-
QUIRED PURSUANT TO A _ PARTICULARIZED
COMITY ANALYSIS

The Hague Evidence Convention prescribes procedures
by which litigants involved in civil and commercial trans-
national disputes may obtain evidence from abroad. The
Convention was formulated through the Hague Confer-
ence on Private International Law* and represents an
attempt to encourage evidence-gathering methods that
are both “ ‘tolerable’ in the State of execution and * * *
‘utilizable’ in the forum of the State of origin where the
action is pending.” S. Exec. A, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 11
(1972). The Convention helps bridge the significant pro-
cedural obstacles encountered when litigants seek evi-
dence located in a foreign country that employs a differ-
ent legal system. See id. at VI; S. Exec. Rep. 92-95, 92d
Cong., 2d Sess. 1 (1972); Report of United States Dele-

5 The Hague Conference is an international organization that
promotes cooperation in the development of uniform rules of pri-
vate international law. See Reese, The Hague Conference on Pri-
vate International Law: Some Observations, 19 Int’l] Law. 881
(1985).

————- - — ee —— _ ee

gation to Eleventh Session of Hague Conference on Pri-
vate International Law, 8 Int’] Legal Materials 785, 806
(1969).

Although the Hague Evidence Convention is a sig-
nificant attempt to foster international judicial coopera-
tion, its proper interpretation has become the subject of
increasing litigation. Foreign defendants, who typically
oppose discovery in United States courts, have frequently
asserted that the Convention operates as the exclusive
and mandatory method by which domestic plaintiffs may
obtain discovery abroad. This appears to have been the
thrust of petitioners’ argument below (see Pet. App. 4a,
12a), although they hgve since retreated from that posi-
tion (see Pet. Reply Br. 5-6). Domestic plaintiffs, by
contrast, have objected to use of the Convention, main-
taining that it is an expensive and ineffective method for
conducting discovery. They have urged that the Conven-
tion has no application whatsoever when the foreign de-
fendant is subject to the jurisdiction of a United States
court and where production of the information will occur
in this country. This is the interpretation adopted by the
court of appeals below (Pet. App. 4a-7a).

In our view, both of these extreme interpretations are
incorrect. As we have previously explained at greater
length (see U.S. Anschuetz Br. 8-11; U.S. Club Med. Br.
8, 7-9; U.S. Falzon Br. 4-7), we think it clear that the
Convention provides optional, rather than exclusive,
methods for obtaining discovery from foreign parties.
As a general matter, United States courts have broad
authority to demand that foreign nationals subject to
their jurisdiction produce evidence located abroad.* The

© See, ¢.g., Insurance Corp. of Ireland, Ltd. v. Compagnie des
Bauzites de Guinee, 456 U.S. 694 (1982) ; Societe Internationale v.
Rogers, 357 U.S. 197, 204-206 (1958) ; In re Mare Rich & Co., AG..,
707 F.2d 663, 667 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 463 U.S. 1215 (1983) ;
United States v. First National City Bank, 396 F.2d 897, 900-901
(2d Cir. 1968); Federal Maritime Commission v. DeSmedt, 366
F.2d 464, 468-469 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 974 (1966) ;
SEC v. Minas de Artemisa S.A., 150 F.2d 215, 217 (9th Cir. 1945) ;

9

Hague Evidence Convention influences, but does not con-
trol, the exercise of that power. The Convention’s lan-
guage, history, and purposes alike indicate that it was
not intended to prescribe the exclusive means by which
American plaintiffs might obtain foreign evidence (see
U.S. Anschuetz Br. 8-11). American courts are virtually
unanimous in concluding that the Convention’s proce-
dures are not exclusive.’

Equally erroneous in our view is the court of appeals’
conclusion, at the opposite extreme, that “when the dis-

International Society for Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v. Lee, 105
F.R.D. 435, 441 (S.D.N.Y. 1984) ; In re Uranium Antitrust Litiga-
tion, 480 F. Supp. 1138, 1144-1145 (N.D. Ill. 1979); Volkswagen-
werk, A.G. v. Superior Court, 123 Cal. App. 3d 840, 856-857, 176
Cal. Rptr. 874, 883-884 (1981). See also Onkelinx, Conflict of Inter-
national Jurisdiction: Ordering the Production of Documents in
Violation of the Law of the Situs, 64 Nw. U. L. Rev. 487, 502-504
(1969); Smit, International Aspects of Federal Civil Procedure.
61 Colum. L. Rev. 1031, 1053-1054 (1961) ; Note, Strict Enforcement
of Extraterritorial Discovery, 38 Stan. L. Rev. 841, 843 (1986). Cf.
Restatement (Second) of Foreign Relations Law of the United
States §§ 39, 40 (1965).

T See, e.g., Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v. U.S. Dis-
trict Court, 788 F.2d 1408, 1410-1411 (9th Cir. 1986); In re
Messerschmitt, 7657 F.2d at 731; In re Anschuetz, 754 F.2d at 606-
614; Lowrance v. Weinig, 107 F.R.D. 886, 388-889 (W.D. Tenn.
1985) ; Work v. Bier, 106 F.R.D. 45, 52-58 (D.D.C. 1985); Slauen-
white v. Bekum Maschinenfabriken, GmbH., 104 F.R.D. 616, 618-619
(D. Mass. 1985) ; International Society for Krishna Consciousness,
Ine. v. Lee, 105 F.R.D. at 444-447; Compagnie Francaise D’Assu-
rance Pour Le Commerce Exterieur v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 105
F.R.D. 16, 27-28 (S.D.N.Y. 1984); Laker Airways, Ltd. v. Pan
American World Airways, 108 F.R.D. 42, 48-50 (D.D.C. 1984);
Cooper Industries, Inc. v. British Aerospace, Inc., 102 F.R.D. 918,
919-920 (S.D.N.Y. 1984); Graco, Inc. v. Kremlin, Inc., 101 F.R.D.
508, 519-524 (N.D. Ill. 1984) ; Gebr. Eickhoff Maschinenfabrik Und
EFisengieberei mbH vy. Starcher, 328 S.E.2d 492, 497 (W.Va. 1985);
Pierburg GmbH & Co. KG v. Superior Court, 187 Cal. App. 3d 238,
186 Cal. Rptr. 876, 879-880 (1982). Some foreign commentators
continue to urge that the Convention is exclusive. See, e.g., Heck,
U.S. Misinterpretation of the Hague Evidence Convention, 24 Colum.
J. Transnat’!] L. 231 (1986). However, we are aware of no reported
decisions supporting that position.

10

trict court has jurisdiction over a foreign litigant the
Hague Convention does not apply to the production of
evidence in that litigant’s possession” (Pet. App. 4a).
Nothing in the language or history of the Convention
suggests that its procedures were meant to be confined
to situations where the production of evidence takes
place abroad, and to exclude situations where the gather-
ing of evidence, or other preparatory steps, are to occur
on foreign soil. Neither the United States nor foreign
signatories to the Convention have ever subscribed to the
interpretation adopted by the court below. And the court
of appeals’ narrow interpretation would scarcely serve
the interests of domestic litigants, for it would render
the Convention, an often valuable tool for obtaining in-
formation abroad, unavailable and thus useless in the
most common discovery contexts.

We believe that the Hague Convention is potentially
applicable to discovery requests of the sort involved here
and that principles of international comity should guide
a court’s determination whether the Convention’s proce-
dures should be employed in any particular instance.
Although resort to the Convention is not mandatory, it
offers a promising mechanism for reducing international
friction resulting from transnational application of
American discovery techniques. American courts should
be mindful of the need to refrain, when feasible, from
ordering discovery that would violate the laws or clearly
articulated policies of a foreign government. Trial judges
should thus give serious consideration to use of the Con-
vention where to do so would not unduly infringe upon
the interests of the United States or the rights of its
litigants.

Although it has increasingly come to be recognized that
resort to the Convention should be governed by a comity
analysis, there remains considerable disagreement as to
how that inquiry should be conducted in practice, and as
to what its proper outcome should typically be. In the
pages that follow, we outline our view of the proper
comity analysis, and suggest factors that may be par-

11

ticularly important in light of the specific discovery
requests at issue here.

A. Comity Does Not Require First Use Of The Hague
Convention In Every Case Where A Foreign Litigant
Objects To American Discovery Procedures

This Court has described the concept of international
comity as follows:

“Comity,” in the legal sense, is neither a matter
of absolute obligation, on the one hand, nor of mere
courtesy and good will, upon the other. But it is the
recognition which one nation allows within its terri-
tory to the legislative, executive or judicial acts of
another nation, having due regard both to interna-
tional duty and convenience, and to the rights of its
own citizens or of other persons who are under the
protection of its laws.

Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 118, 163-164 (1895). When
a United States court encounters objections to domestic
discovery from a foreign signatory of the Hague Conven-
tion, it should analyze the interests of the United States
and the foreign country to determine whether the Con-
vention’s procedures should be employed. Absent direct
guidance from Congress, an individualized comity
analysis provides the best—indeed, the only— available
method for resolving conflicts between domestic and for-
eign interests. Properly conducted, a comity analysis
gives the district court the necessary flexibility to con-
sider the multitude-ant various factors that may be rele-
vant in any particular case.

Petitioners seem to agree (Reply Br. 5-6) that resort
to the Hague Convention should be governed by prin-
ciples of comity. They contend, however, that comity
principles, as a general rule, “require that resort be made

8 See, e.g., Laker Airways, Ltd. v. Sabena, Belgian World Airlines,
731 F.2d 909, 937 (D.C. Cir. 1984) ; United States v. First National
Bank, 699 F.2d 341, 345-347 (7th Cir. 1983) ; United States v. Vetco,
Inc., 691 F.2d 1281, 1288-1291 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S.
1098 (1981) ; United States v. First National City Bank, 396 F.2d
at 901-905. Cf. Societe Internationale v. Rogers, 357 U.S. 197.

12

to the Convention in the first instance, at least when the
issue is timely raised” (Pet. 16). Because a comity anal-
ysis is “so flexible and far reaching,” petitioners say,
“trial courts need clear guidelines or presumptions to
apply” lest their findings be “conclusory and result-
oriented” (id. at 17). In petitioners’ view, “[a] rule ordi-
narily requiring resort to the Convention in the first in-
stance” is necessary to ensure “that principles of comity
are given adequate consideration” (ibid.).

We cannot accept petitioners’ submission in this re-
spect. The American concept of international comity
favors an individualized, case-by-case weighing of domes-
tic and foreign interests, not per se rules of the sort peti-
tioners urge. Neither the Convention itself nor its rati-
fication history supports petitioners’ proposed “first use”
rule, and such an inflexible rule would prove unworkable
in practice given the almost infinite variety of trans-
national discovery disputes. And because there remain
some questions about the Convention’s effectiveness as a
general matter in producing needed discovery, we believe
that a “first use” requirement would be unjustified at
this time.

1. The American concept of international comity, from
its earliest origins, has eschewed inflexible rules. See
Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. at 164-165.° This Court has
often stated that comity requires the exercise of judg-

* As this Court noted in Guyot (159 U.S. at 164-165), Justice
Story’s Commentaries on the Conflicts of Law (first published in
1834) stated that “there is indeed great truth” in the observation

“that comity is, and ever must be uncertain; that it must
necessarily depend on a variety of circumstances which cannot
be reduced to any certain rule; that no nation will suffer the
laws of another to interfere with her own to the injury of her
citizens; that whether they do or not must depend on the
condition of the country in which the foreign law is sought to
be enforced, the particular nature of her legislation, her policy,
and the character of her institutions * * *.”

J. Story, Commentaries on the Conflicts of Law § 28, at 28-29 (8th

ed. 1883) (quoting Saul v. His Creditors, 5 Mart. (n.s.) 569, 596
(La. 1827)).

13

ment rather than adherence to mechanical formulae.”
The lower courts agree that “[s]ince comity varies ac-
cording to the factual circumstances surrounding each
claim for its recognition, the absolute boundaries of the
duties it imposes are inherently uncertain.” Lake Air-
ways, Ltd. v. Sabena, Belgian World Airlines, 731 F.2d
909, 987 (D.C. Cir 1984) (footnote omitted). “Mechani-
cal or overbroad rules of thumb are of little value; what
is required is a careful balancing of the interests in-
volved and a precise understanding of the facts and cir-
cumstances of the particular case.” United States v.
First National City Bank, 396 F.2d 897, 901 (2d Cir.
1968).

This Court’s decision in Societe Internationale Vv.
Rogers, 357 U.S. 197 (1958), specifically recognizes that
transnational discovery disputes cannot be _ resolved
through per se rules. A unanimous Court there refused
to hold that a foreign company is excused from produc-
tion of documents whenever foreign law prohibits produc-
tion, noting that a general rule excusing disclosure would
undermine substantive United States interests and en-
courage evasion of domestic law (357 U.S. at 205-206).
The Court noted that discovery under the Federal Rules
“is sufficiently flexible to be adapted to the exigencies of
particular litigation” and that “[t]he propriety of the use
to which it is put depends upon the circumstances of a
given case” (id. at 206).

10 Relying in part on comity principles, this Court recently con-
cluded that foreign government instrumentalities established as
independent juridical entities should normally be treated as distinct
from their sovereigns, but refused to announce a “mechanical for-
mula” for determining when that status should be disregarded. See
First National City Bank v. Banco Para el Comercio, 462 U.S. 611,
626-627, 633 (1983). See also Banco Nacional v. Sabbatino, 376
U.S. 398, 428 (1964) (refusing to establish “an inflexible or all-
encompassing rule” concerning acts of state) ; Disconto Gesellechaft
v. Umbreit, 208 U.S. 570, 579 (1908) (noting that the Guyot deci-
sion “shows that how far foreign creditors will be protected and
their rights enforced depends upon the circumstances of each case’’).

14

2. The fact that this case involves the interpretation
of a treaty provides no reason for the Court to depart
from its traditional reluctance to replace a discriminating
comity analysis with mechanical rules. Petitioners do not
contend that the Hague Evidence Convention itself im-
poses a “first use” requirement, and neither its language
nor its ratification history supports mandatory first use.
Indeed, such a requirement would be inconsistent with
the understanding that the Convention “ ‘makes no ma-
jor changes in United States procedure and requires no
major changes in United States legislation or rules.’ ”
S. Exec. Rep. 92-25, supra, at 5 (quoting Philip Amram,
United States representative and rapporteur at the
Hague Conference). The lower federal courts, adverting
to this ratification history, have generally agreed that the
Convention’s procedures need not necessarily be ex-
hausted.™

A rule dictating mandatory first use of the Convention
would also be unworkable in practice. The Convention

11 The Fifth and Ninth Circuits, like the court of appeals below,
have rejected the first-use requirement. Societe Nationale Indus-
trielle Aerospatiale vy. U.S. District Court, 788 F.2d at 1411;
In re Messerschmitt, 757 F.2d at 731; Pet. App. 7a. Most fed-
eral district court decisions have declined to impose that require-
ment. See, e.g., Lowrance Vv. Weinig, 107 F.R.D. at 388-389;
Work v. Bier, 106 F.R.D. at 54-56; Slawenwhite v. Bekum Maschin-
enfabriken, GmbH., 104 F.R.D. at 618-619; International Society for
Krishna Consciousness vy. Lee, 105 F.R.D. at 449; Compagnie
Francaise D’ Assurance vy. Phillips Petroleum Co., 105 F.R.D. at 32;
Cooper Industries, Inc. v. British Aerospace, Inc., 102 F.R.D. at
919-920; Graco, Inc. v. Kremlin, Inc., 101 F.R.D. at 519-524. How-
ever, a few federal district courts, and a somewhat larger number
of state courts, have required first resort to the Convention, at
least in certain circumstances. See Laker Airways, Ltd. v. Pan
American World Airways, 103 F.R.D. at 51; Philadelphia Gear
Corp. v. American Pfauter Corp., 100 F.R.D. 58, 60 n.3 (E.D. Pa.
1983); Gebr. Eickhoff Maschinenfabrik Und Eisengieberei mbH Vv.
Starcher, 328 S.E.2d at 506; Pierburg GmbH & Co. KG v. Superior
Court, 187 Cal. App. 3d at 243-244, 186 Cal. Rptr. at 879-880;
Vincent vy. Ateliers de la Motobecane S.A., 193 N.J. Super. 716,
721-724, 475 A.2d 686, 689-691 (1984); TH. Goldschmidt A.G. V.
Smith, 676 S.W.2d 448, 445 (Tex. Ct. App. 1984).

15

has been ratified by numerous countries that, in turn,
have markedly different legal systems and varying at-
titudes toward American discovery procedures.” Notably,
12 of the 17 signatory states have executed declarations
under Article 23 of the Convention restricting, in whole
or in part, pretrial discovery of documents.“ The Con-
vention is potentially available for application in a broad
range of civil and commercial litigation—ranging from
antitrust actions to ordinary tort suits—and a foreign
nation’s reaction to a discovery request could well depend
in part on the nature of the underlying action. Most im-
portant, there remain some questions concerning the Con-
vention’s effectiveness as a general matter in producing
needed discovery. Under these circumstances, United
States courts should have discretion to determine whether
the Convention should be utilized in any particular case.
See Seattle Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20, 36
(1984) (“The trial court is in the best position to weigh
fairly the competing needs and interests of parties af-
fected by discovery. The unique character of the dis-
covery process requires that the trial court have substan-
tial latitude to fashion protective orders.”’) .

3. The federal government’s limited experience with
the Convention’s procedures also counsels against adop-
tion of an inflexible first-use rule. On four recent occa-
sions, the Securities and Exchange Commission has at-
tempted to employ the Convention’s procedures to obtain
foreign evidence for use in enforcement actions involving
insider trading in violation of the federal securities

12 Apart from the United States, the Convention is in force in
Barbados, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, the
Federal Republic of Germany, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, the

Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, Sweden, and the United
Kingdom.

18 See 7 Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory (pt. VII) at 15-19
(1986) ; Oxman, The Choice Between Direct Discovery and Other
Means of Obtaining Evidence Abroad: The Impact of the Hague
Evidence Convention, 37 U. Miami L. Rev. 733, 771-777 (1988).

16

laws. The Commission twice employed the Convention’s
procedures to obtain non-party evidence of insider trad-
ing in SEC v. Certain Unknown Purchasers of the Com-
mon Stock of, and Call Options for the Common Stock of,
Santa Fe International Corp., No. 81 Civ. 6553 (WWC)
(S.D.N.Y. filed Oct. 26, 1981). See Securities Exchange
Act Release Nos. 9484, 9485, [1981-1982] Fed. Sec. L.
Rep. (CCH) { 98,323 (Oct. 26, 1981). The Commission
sought to secure documents and testimony from third-
party witnesses residing in England and France. The
English request ultimately yielded useful evidence, al-
though the process consumed nine months and entailed
the expenditure of over $40,000 in foreign counsel fees.**
After two and one-half years of litigation in French
courts, however, the French request failed to produce
the requested testimony.”®

14 The Commission has a particularly keen need to obtain foreign
evidence in carrying out its responsibilities for enforcement of
federal securities laws in internationalized capital markets. See
Fedders, Policing Internationalized U.S. Capital Markets: Methods
to Obtain. Evidence Abroad, 18 Int’] Law. 89 (1984).

15 The Commission sought evidence from a hotel, a credit card
company, and two individuals who had acted as stockbrokers for
purchases of Santa Fe securities shortly before the merger an-
nouncement. The federal district court issued letters of request to
the British Central Authority on July 25, 1988 Upon presentation
of the request, an English Master ordered that the evidence be
given. The credit card company and hotel complied. However, the
two individuals refused to comply, arguing that the Commission’s
requests were improper and would violate bank secrecy laws. On
February 23, 1984, after briefing and four days of oral argument,
the English court ordered the two individuals to testify. In re Evi-
dence (Proceedings in Other Jurisdictions) Act 1975 (Q.B. Feb. 23,
1984) (Drake, J.), reprinted in 23 Int’] Legal Materials 511 (1984).
The witnesses testified two months later.

16 The federal district court issued letters of request in May
1983. The French witnesses contested the request. A French tri-
bunal ultimately granted the Commission’s request for testimony on
December 17, 1985. In re Testimony of Constandi Nasser, Trib.
Admin. de Paris, 6erne section—2eme chambre, No. 51546/6 (Dec.
17, 1985). This victory proved, however, to be pyrrhic. The witness

17

The Commission also employed the Hague Convention
procedures on two occasions to obtain non-party evidence
of insider trading in SEC v. Banca della Svizzera Ital-
iana, et al., No. 81 Civ. 1886 (MP) (S.D.N.Y. filed Mar.
27, 1981). The Commission sought documents and testi-
mony from third-party witnesses residing in Italy and
Guernsey. In both cases, letters of request issued pursu-
ant to the Convention’s procedures failed to provide a sig-
nificant portion of the requested evidence.** The Italian
proceedings consumed two months and $20,000 in court
costs and foreign counsel fees. The Guernsey proceedings

refused to testify and the French court, in response, imposed a
minor fine. The Santa Fe litigation was settled on February 26,
1986.

17 The Italian request, issued by the federal court on Aug. 9,
1985, was directed to an SEC-registered broker-dealer in Milan and
to certain individuals affiliated with him. The Court of Appeals
of Milan, by decree dated September 10, 1985, authorized the letter
of request and directed its execution by October 2, 1985. The
Magistrate’s Court of Milan took testimony from the witnesses but
declined to compel production of documents in light of Italy’s
declaration, under Article 28 of the Convention, that it will not
execute pretrial requests for documents. Statement on the Exami-
nation of Witnesses as Requested by a Foreign Letter Rogatory
(Pret. Milano, Italy Oct. 2, 1985).

The Guernsey request, issued by the federal court on Septem-
ber 20, 1985, was directed to a Guernsey banking institution and
concerned testimony and documents relating to the identity of the
beneficial owners of an account utilized to execute certain question-
able transactions. A Guernsey court ordered two witnesses to
appear and to comply with the letter rogatory. On October 7, 1985,
the witnesses moved in Guernsey to set aside the order, contending
that the requested discovery was forbidden by Guernsey law. On
March 11, 1986, the Deputy Bailiff of Guernsey denied the Com-
mission’s request for assistance on the ground that the testimony
sought was a “search for defendants” and thus “fishing in nature.”
In re Evidence (Proceedings in Other Jurisdictions) Act 1975
(Guernsey) Order 1980 (Stat. Inst. 1980 No. 1956). A Guernsey
appeals court dismissed the Commission’s appeal from that order as
moot following a decision of a United States court resolving other
aspects of the case in the Commission’s favor. See SEC v. Tome,
[Current] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) { 92,762 (S.D.N.Y. June 3,
1986).

18

consumed eight months and over $50,000 in foreign coun-
sel fees.

The Commission’s experience with Hague Convention
procedures, which has not been entirely positive, may well
be atypical. The Commission is a government enforce-
ment agency, whereas requests for discovery under the
Convention are more commonly made by private parties.
The Commission has resorted to the Convention only four
times, each request being directed to a non-party rather
than to a party before the court, and each request being
made in the context of a fraud suit rather than the more
typical negligence or contract action. The State Depart-
ment informs us that private plaintiffs in the latter sorts
of litigation have found resort to the Convention more
successful. The Commission’s experience, however, does
buttress our belief that adoption of any blanket presump-
tion mandating “first use” of the Convention in all cases
would be unwise. A number of courts have expressed con-
cern that resort to the Convention might impose unjusti-
fied hardships on domestic litigants—frequently individ-
ual tort plaintiffs—who may lack the legal and financial
resources needed to pursue their requests in foreign
tribunals.*

18 See, e.g., Pain v. United Technologies Corp., 637 F.2d 775, 788-
790 (D.C. Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1128 (1981) (“there
can be little doubt that the cost to the litigants of employing such
procedures would be exceedingly high”) ; Gebr. Eickhoff Maschinen-
fabrik, mbH. v. Starcher, 328 S.E. 2d at 506 (suggesting that there
may be difficulties inherent in resort to the Convention); Work v.
Bier, 106 F.R.D. 45, 54-55 (D.D.C. 1985) (discussing inadequacies
in German procedures under the Convention, and the problem of
obtaining evidence in admissible form) ; International Society for
Krishna Consciousness vy. Lee, 105 F.R.D. at 450 (suggesting that
Convention procedures are “quite slow and costly’’) ; see also Struve,
Discovery from Foreign Parties in Civil Cases before U.S. Courts,
16 N.Y.U. J. Int’] L. & Pol. 1101, 1111 (1984) (“by comparison with
the means of discovery provided by the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure, the Hague Convention represents a mode of discovery
which is significantly less certain, less effective, more costly and
more burdensome”). A rule mandating presumptive first use of the
Convention could also impose tactical burdens on domestic litigants,

19

In sum, we see no need or justification for a blanket
presumption requiring domestic plaintiffs to resort to the
Hague Convention before employing the domestic dis-
covery methods made available by federal or state rules.
Instead, the question whether to employ the Convention’s
procedures should be based upon an individualized comity
analysis that takes into account the particular facts and
circumstances surrounding the discovery at issue. The
ultimate determination, like the disposition of other dis-
covery matters, should remain within the considered dis-
cretion of this Nation’s trial courts, which are “in the
best position to weigh fairly the competing needs and
interests of parties affected by discovery.” Seattle Times
Co., 467 U.S. at 36.’°

B. The Decision Below Should Be Vacated And The Case
Should Be Remanded For The Application Of A Proper
Comity Analysis

The United States has repeatedly maintained that
American courts should give serious consideration to the
use of the Hague Evidence Convention whenever a for-
eign litigant from a signatory nation (where the evidence
is located) timely and clearly articulates his country’s
objections to the use of American discovery methods (U.S.
Anchuetz Br. 11-12; U.S. Club Med. Br. 9-11). A court

requiring them to pursue discovery through possibly cumbersome
procedures, while the foreign litigant could take full advantage of
this Nation’s liberal discovery methods. The resulting lack of
mutuality in discovery could alter litigants’ judgments about settle-
ment and trial strategy and could otherwise impair the domestic
judicial process. See Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495, 507 (1947)
(“Mutual knowledge of all the relevant facts gathered by both
parties is essential to proper litigation.”); see also 4 J. Moore,
Moore’s Federal Practice {26.52 (2d ed. 1984). Notably, the
United States freely permits litigants in foreign tribunals to use
its liberal discovery methods when they seek evidence located in
this country. See 28 U.S.C. 1782.

19 See, e.g., Insurance Corp. of Ireland, Ltd. vy. Compagnie des
Bauzxites de Guinee, 456 U.S. at 707-709 (discovery sanctions) ;
Herbert v. Lando, 441 U.S. 153, 176-177 (1979) (relevance determi-
nations) ; Societe Internationale v. Rogers, 357 U.S. at 218 (dis-
covery sanctions).

20

should carefully consider the domestic and foreign inter-
ests and provide a reasoned explanation of its decision
to conduct discovery through the Hague Convention,
through American discovery procedures, or through 4
combination of those devices. In the present case, peti-
tioners contended that the discovery sought by respond-
ents would be objectionable to the Republic of France.
Faced with that contention, the court of appeals erred
in failing to apply comity principles in reviewing the
magistrate’s decision to forgo use of the Hague Conven-
tion. This Court, following its normal practice, should
vacate the court of appeals’ decision and remand the case
for application of the correct legal standard. See, ¢.g.,
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., No. 84-1602 (June 25,
1986), slip op. 14. Cf. Schlagenhauf v. Holder, 379 U.S.
104, 111-112 (1964).

Courts and commentators have formulated various tests
to guide comity analyses under international law.” Ulti-

20 Section 40 of the Restatement (Second) of Foreign Relations
Law of the United States (1965) suggests consideration of five
factors to resolve international conflicts of law: (a) the “vital
interests” of each state; (b) the resulting hardships to the af-
fected party; (¢) the extent to which conduct takes place in the
foreign state; (d) the nationality of the person; and (e) the
extent to which either state may be able to achieve compliance with
its rules. In the past, courts have often looked to Section 40 for
guidance in international discovery disputes. See, e.g., Compagnie
Francaise D’Assurance V. Phillips Petroleum Co., 105 F.R.D. at
29-32.

In addition, the American Law Institute’s revised Restatement
includes a specific provision dealing with international conflicts
arising from foreign discovery. See Restatement (Revised) of For-
eign Relations Law of the United States § 437 (Tent. Draft No. 7,
1986) (approved May 14, 1986). The provisions state (id. § 437
(1) (c)) that United States courts

should take into account the importance to the * * * litigation
of the documents or other information requested; the degree of
specificity of the request; whether the information originated
in the United States; the availability of alternative means of
securing the information; and the extent to which non-
compliance with the request would undermine important inter-

—_ ee

a ce a

21

mately, however, “what is required is careful balancing
of the interests involved and a precise understanding of
the facts and circumstances of the particular case.”
United States v. First National City Bank, 396 F.2d at
901. In our view, the essential elements of any comity
analysis must include (1) a reasoned evaluation of the
domestic and foreign interests and (2) an attempt to
accommodate, to the extent feasible, legitimate foreign
concerns.

1. a. The central domestic interest is generally the
same in any international discovery dispute. The United
States has a fundamental obligation to assure that do-
mestic litigants are afforded adequate opportunities to
adjudicate their claims. This Court has often recognized
“the importance of ensuring that potential litigants have
unimpeded access to the courts.” Seattle Times, 467 U.S.
at 36 n.22. See California Motor Tranpsort Co. v. Truck-
ing Unlimited, 404 U.S. 508, 510 (1972); NAACP v.
Button, 371 U.S. 415, 429-481 (1968) ; see also Mitsubishi
Motors Corp. v. Solem Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., No.
83-1569 (July 2, 1985), slip op. 26-27 (Stevens, J., dis-
senting). And it is well settled that a United States liti-
gant is generally entitled to adjudicate his claim in ac-
cordance with the laws of the local forum. See Restate-
ment (Second) of Conflicts of Laws §§ 122, 127 (1971).

ests of the United States, or compliance with the request would
undermine important interests of the state where the informa-
tion is located.

Section 437 and its accompanying comments have proven contro-
versial, particularly insofar as they suggest that foreign discovery
should in all i tances proceed by court order (see Section 487
comment (a) & reporter’s note 2) and that discovery should be
limited to “directly relevant” information (ibid.). See, e.g., Struve,
supra, 16 N.Y.U. J. Int’l L. & Pol. at 1105-1107 (stating that
“in view of the lack of prior authority supporting the Reporter's
position, it is questionable whether the restrictions upon the scope
of discovery contained in [Section 437] accurately represent the
law as it is or the law as it should be”). The Justice Department
has informed the ALI of its objections to several aspects of the
proposed revision.

22

American jurisprudence provides that an important
element of the litigant’s right to judicial access is the
opportunity to discover the pertinent facts surrounding
his claim. That element finds explicit recognition in the
discovery provisions of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-
dure. Those provisions are central to the conduct of
federal judicial proceedings. The “pre-trial deposition-
discovery mechanism established by Rules 26 to 37 is one
of the most significant innovations of the Federal Rules.”
Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495, 500 (1947). Discovery
is the preferred method by which parties may narrow the
basic issues and ascertain the existence of facts germane
to those issues, ensuring that “civil trials in the federal
courts no longer need be carried on in the dark” (id. at
501).

The federal discovery provisions place a high premium
on disclosure. “Under the Rules, the only express limita-
tions are that the information sought is not privileged,
and is relevant to the subject matter of the pending
action. Thus, the Rules often allow extensive intrusion
into the affairs of both litigants and third parties.”
Seattle Times, 467 U.S. at 30 (footnote omitted). “But
the discovery provisions, like all of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure, are subject to the injunction of Rule 1
that they ‘be construed to secure the just, speedy, and
inexpensive determination of every action.’” Herbert v.
Lando, 441 U.S. 153, 177 (1979) (emphasis supplied by
the Court). Thus, the ultimate goal of the Federal Rules
is efficient as well as effective discovery.

b. The precise nature of the foreign interests at stake
in discovery controversies has not been well articulated
by the courts or by foreign litigants in the past. Foreign
parties have typically objected to American discovery
methods on the ground that such devices violate their
home country’s “judicial sovereignty.” But such asser-
tions often have an abstract quality and do little, in and
of themselves, to elucidate the substantive foreign inter-
ests at stake. Courts should understand that assertions
of “judicial sovereignty” often incorporate legitimate
notions of territorial integrity—a reluctance to permit

ee cn

a a ee ee Oa ©

me

23

foreign litigants to invade one’s borders, literally or
figuratively, for the purpose of seizing evidence. Objec-
tions based on “judicial sovereignty” are often advanced
by litigants from nations that employ the civil rather
than the common law, nations in which evidence-gathering
is usually conducted by judicial officers rather than by
private parties. In that context, assertions of “judicial
sovereignty” may reflect an understandable reluctance to
forfeit the moderating effects of judicial supervision and
to expose one’s citizens to unpredictable and potentially
abusive evidentiary demands. On the other hand, asser-
tions of “judicial sovereignty” may simply illustrate a
foreign nation’s desire to protect its nationals from lia-
bility, or reflect a preference for its own mode of dispute
resolution instead of ours.

In our view, assertions of foreign “judicial sovereignty”
must be evaluated in light of the established American
principle (see note 6, supra) that a United States court
may order a foreign national, properly subject to the
court’s jurisdiction, to produce evidence located abroad.
As a general matter, it is not unreasonable in principle
for this Nation’s courts to subject foreign corporations
doing business here to the same judicial procedures that
are applied to domestic corporations. In the instant case,
for example, petitioners, corporations owned by the Re-
public of France, have elected to conduct operations in
the United States and compete in the domestic market.
Petitioners have advertised and sold their aircraft in the
United States and presumably have profited from doing
so. One of petitioners’ aircraft has now unfortunately
crashed in Iowa, and respondents seek to recover for their
loss. Under these circumstances, an abstract claim of
“judicial sovereignty” cannot equate to a right—indeed,
it would be an extraordinary privilege—to have all of the
benefits of access to American markets, yet to be free

from the burdens that American judicial procedures gen-
erally impose.”

21 This Nation’s courts, of course, may exercise jurisdiction over
a foreign party only if the party’s contacts with the forum are

24

Foreign objections to American discovery requests
should also be greeted with caution where it is alleged
that compliance would violate a foreign law in the nature
of a “blocking” statute. Blocking statutes, of which the
French law involved here (Pet. App. 47a-48a, 57a) is an
extreme (and not necessarily typical) example, generally
forbid foreign citizens to produce evidence abroad. The
French blocking statute prohibits French nationals from
disclosing information only when it will be used against
them in a judicial or administrative proceeding, permit-
ting them to divulge information voluntarily to any
entity but a court or an administrative body. A number
of commentators have interpreted the French statute to
express little more than simple hostility to American
law.” In our view, objections founded merely on hostility

sufficient “to make it reasonable and just” for the domestic forum
to adjudicate the dispute. Perkins v. Benguet Consolidated Mining
Co., 342 U.S. 487, 445 (1952). Once jurisdiction over a foreign
party has properly attached, the court may require that party to
produce evidence regardless whether it is located in this country or
abroad. But the United States is “not the only nation to enforce its
laws extraterritorially.” Toms, The French Response to the Extra-
territorial Application of United States Antitrust Laws, 15 Int’!
Law. 585, n.1 (1981) (citing examples). While foreign governments
often urge that any claim for production of evidence violates inter-
national law, it is not clear whether they themselves would decline
to order production of evidence located abroad. A German commen-
tator has suggested that “European courts make a similar claim,
although this claim is hidden behind a different configuration of the
relevant legal institutions and norms.” P. Schlosser, Der Justizkon-
flikt zwischen den USA und Europa 44 (1985) (English Summary).
“One can conclude,” he adds, “that there is no rule in international
public law which limits the authority of national courts and agencies
to require the cooperation of foreign parties in discovery and to
impose sanctions for refusals in so far as this also can be done in
a similar situation to a domestic party” (id. at 45).

22 The French blocking statute has been widely interpreted to
evidence hostility both to this Nation’s antitrust law and to its
judicial procedures. See, e.g., Toms, supra, 15 Int’l Law. at 586;
Herzog, The 1980 French Law on Documents and Information, 75
Am. J. Int’] L. 382 (1981). One commentator, examining the legis-
lative report that accompanied the French blocking statute, agreed
that the law “was ‘never expected or intended to be enforced against

ea

25

to American law should be approached with some skep-
ticism in any proper comity analysis.

On the other hand, foreign nations will often have more
specific and concrete interests that merit accommodation
from United States courts. Foreign laws may provide
particular protection to various liberty, property, and
privacy interests, according business secrets or confidential
communications (for example) special immunity from
disclosure. Foreign nations may also provide testimonial
privileges that are generally absent in this Nation’s
courts. In these instances, a foreign government may
have understandable concerns that unbridled American
discovery will infringe substantive protections provided
to its citizens.

As we have suggested above, moreover, foreign asser-
tions of “judicial sovereignty”—to the extent that they
embody legitimate concerns about territorial integrity
and prevention of evidential extravagance—may also
merit accommodation from United States courts. In
weighing such claims, the nature and scope of the re-“~
quested discovery will often be of central concern. Or-
dering that a foreign citizen be deposed on a foreign
nation’s soil obviously works a greater affront to that
nation’s “territorial integrity” than (to take an example
from the instant case) requiring a foreign corporation
doing business here to make admissions that it has pub-
lished advertisements in American magazines. See J.A.
A21-A26. Indeed, this Nation’s courts, sensitive to the
territorial sovereignty of foreign nations, have generally
required use of the Hague Convention where domestic

French subjects but was intended rather to provide them with tacti-
cal weapons and bargaining chips in foreign courts.’” Note, supra,
88 Stan. L. Rev. at 864 (quoting Adidas (Canada) Ltd. v. S.S.
Seatrain Bennington, No. 80 Civ. 1922 (S.D.N.Y. May 30, 1984) ).
We have lodged an English translation of the French legislative
report, obtained from the Stanford Law Review (see 38 Stan. L.
Rev. at 846 n.22), with the Clerk of this Court. See also Graco,
101 F.R.D. at 514 (noting that the foreign litigant had failed to
identify a single case in which the French blocking statute’s sanc-
tions had been imposed).

26

litigants seek the involuntary deposition of a party abroad
or the production of evidence from persons outside the
court’s jurisdiction. See, ¢.g., Anschuetz, 754 F.2d at 615.
And when a foreign litigant expresses his nation’s con-
cern to prevent excessive and abusive evidence-gathering,
the nature and scope of the discovery sought will again
be of critical importance.

We leave it to foreign litigants and their governments
to elaborate their interests in appropriate cases. The
important point, in our view, is that they clearly identify
the specific interest at stake and explain how that inter-
est would be adversely affected by the particular discovery
sought. It is certainly conceivable that petitioners could
identify more particularized substantive interests than
those illuminated in the prior proceedings. On remand,
the foreign interests in this case should be reexamined.

2. Once a foreign litigant has elaborated his nation’s
concerns, the American court should attempt, to the
extent feasible, to accommodate those concerns in the dis-
covery process. The chief goal of the comity process is,
of course, to prevent international friction. The use of
the Hague Evidence Convention can provide an effective
means of achieving that goal. However, as a central com-
ponent of its comity analysis, the court must critically
consider whether or not the Convention can provide fair,
efficient, and effective discovery, taking into account such
factors as whether the evidence can be obtained through
the Convention mechanisms and the expense, burden, and
delays that might result from its use.

Resort to the Convention will inevitably entail some
measure of added expense and inconvenience, whether in
the form of translator’s costs, foreign legai fees, or the
inability to obtain evidence in precisely the form that one
could secure it in domestic discovery. If these transac-

23 As Judge Wilkey explained in Pain v. United Technologies
Corp., 6837 F.2d at 788-790 (footnotes omitted; emphasis in
original) :

Although the Hague Evidence Convention provides a mecha-
nism whereby the recipient nation’s executing authority is
required to assist an American court with such compulsory

ee em ere ~~

eee Eee eee we a eee

27

tion costs are minor relative to the scope of the underly-
ing litigation and the volume of the evidence sought, they
provide little basis for forgoing use of the Convention.
On the other hand, particular foreign nations may have
erected, formally or informally, more substantial barriers
to successful use of the Convention. Resort to the Con-
vention’s procedures may be demonstrably more cumber-
some in some countries than in others. Most significantly,
some foreign nations may have chosen, as France has
done, to make a reservation under Article 23 of the Con-
vention, refusing to accept letters of request “issued for
the purpose of obtaining pre-trial discovery of documents”
(art. 23, 23 U.S.T. 2568). Although petitioners contend
(Pet. 17 n.36) that France’s Article 23 reservation “was
not intended to preclude United States litigants from
obtaining necessary evidence abroad, but rather to pre-
vent discovery of a ‘fishing expedition’ nature,” we think
that foreign litigarts bear the burden of demonstrating
that such reservations do not mean what they say. A for-
eign nation’s insistence on retention of an absolute reser-
vation under Article 23 necessarily raises serious ques-

force as its own courts can exercise in a pretrial evidentiary
situation, numerous exceptions to the international obligation
exist, which potentially bar this device from being executed at
all. For example, foreign judicial cooperation may he with-
held altogether if the discovery assistance is deemed prejudicial
to state sovereignty.

Furthermore, even when discovery abroad is available, the
breadth of evidence ordinarily expected from a full-fledged
American-style deposition might be constricted for any number
of reasons: the foreign state’s own procedures might limit or
foreclose cross-examination, full participation of counsel might
not be allowed, or a verbatim record might not result, thus
limiting admissibility of the testimony in an American court.
The scope of foreign privilege might prove broader under the
letter rogatory procedure than under either local law or Ameri-
can law, and in some cases, official translators might be re-
quired for each piece of paper involved.

24See 7 Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory (pt. VII) at 16
(1986) ; Borel & Boyd, Opportunities for and Obstacles to Obtaining
Evidence in France for Use in Litigation in the United States, 13
Int’] Law, 35, 43-44 (1979).

28

tions about the likely effectiveness of discovery requests
directed to it under the Convention.”

In our view, the foreign litigant is best situated to
inform the court of his country’s procedures with respect
to the Convention. He need not demonstrate that the
Convention will function as effectively or as efficiently as
the Federal Rules. But he must satisfy the court that,
under the circumstances, resort to the Convention is con-
sistent with the “just, speedy, and inexpensive” determi-
nation of the suit (Fed. R. Civ. P. 1). The district court
should not require resort to the Convention unless it has
reasonable prospects of producing effective and efficient
discovery under the facts and circumstances of the partic-
ular case.

3. We believe that the trial court, with its expertise in
discovery matters, is best situated to conduct the kind of
particularized comity analysis that we have outlined, and
that the case should be remanded for tha purpose. Al-
though we express no view on the proper outcome on
remand, we believe that courts in general should give
careful consideration to use of the Convention in appro-
priate cases. The Convention has major positive attri-
butes—it provides a nonexclusive discovery mechanism
that is free from foreign objections and it can yield evi-
dence that is not otherwise obtainable. Although domestic
litigants may complain that resort to the Convention will
entail added expense and delay, a court can allay such
concerns by careful supervision and wise exercise of its
discretion. A court may require the foreign defendant,
for example, to pledge his full cooperation with the Con-
vention proceedings abroad. Under recent amendments
to the Federal Rules, moreover, a district court generally
must provide a timetable for discovery. See Fed. R. Civ.
P. 16(b). Thus, a court might specify Convention proce-
dures as an initial method for discovery, subject to rea-
sonable time constraints. If those procedures fail ta
produce effective and efficient discovery, or lead to abusive

25 We understand that Germany is now considering domestic
regulations that would limit the scope of its Article 23 reservation.

29

practices, the court can return to traditional American
discovery procedures and, if necessary, impose sanctions
(see e.g., Fed. R. Civ. P. 11).*°

Quite apart from the Hague Evidence Convention,
moreover, federal courts have substantial power to reduce
international friction resulting from overly broad dis-
covery requests. “There have been repeated expressions
of concern about undue and uncontrolled discovery, and
voices from this Court have joined the chorus.” Herbert
v. Lando, 441 U.S. 153, 176 (1979). But Federal Rule
26(b) “emphasizes the complete control that the court
has over the discovery process” (8 C. Wright & A. Miller,
Federal Practice and Procedure, Civil § 2036, at 267 (1970)
(footnote omitted) ), and trial courts have broad author-
ity to enter orders protecting both domestic and foreign
litigants from discovery abuse. As this Court has stated
(Herbert, 441 U.S. at 177):

[T]he requirement of Rule 26(b) (1) that the mate-
rial sought in discovery be “relevant” should be
firmly applied, and the district courts should not
neglect their power to restrict discovery where “jus-
tice requires [protection for] a party or person from
annoyance, embarrassment, oppression, or undue bur-
den or expense. . . .” Rule 26(c). With this author-
ity at hand, judges should not hesitate to exercise
appropriate control over the discovery process.

Moreover, because “pretrial depositions and interroga-
tories are not public components of a civil trial” (Seattle

26 We strongly disagree with the court of appeals’ suggestion
that “ ‘the greatest insult to a civil law country's sovereignty would
be for American courts to invoke the foreign country’s judicial aid
merely as a first resort, subject to the eventual override of their
rulings under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure’” (Pet. App.
7a (quoting Anschuetz, 754 F.2d at 613)). We believe that a for-
eign court would welcome the opportunity to inform its American
counterpart of the foreign perspective on discovery issues, even if
the American court might ultimately disagree. Indeed, the Hague
Convention provides a valuable means for domestic and foreign
courts to engage in constructive discourse. That dialogue will pro-
vide the domestic and foreign courts with invaluable and authorita-
tive insight into each others’ laws.

30

Times, 467 U.S. at 33), litigants may bave reasonable
expectations that sensitive discovery materials will be
shielded from public disclosure. See generally Marcus,
Myth and Reality in Protective Order Litigation, 69
Cornell L. Rev. 1 (1983).

Finally, we note that a United States court, in the exer-
cise of comity, may wish to exercise a particularly active
supervisory role in litigation involving foreign parties.
Foreign litigants are accustomed to close judicial scrutiny
of evidence-gathering in taeir own courts. See, e.g., Lang-
bein, The German Advantage in Civil Procedure, 52 U.
Chi. L. Rev. 823 (1985). Enhanced judicial participation
in the discovery process will provide additional assurance
to foreign litigants of the fairness of American judicial
proceedings.

CONCLUSION

The court of appeals’ decision should be vacated and
the case remanded for further proceedings.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

RICHARD K. WILLARD
Assistant Attorney General

ALBERT G. LAUBER, JR.
Deputy Solicitor General

JAMES M. SPEARS
Deputy Assistant Attorney General

JEFFREY P. MINEAR
Assistant to the Solicitor General

DAVID EPSTEIN
ABRAHAM D.SOFAER DAVID M. SCHLITZ
Legal Adviser Attorneys
Department of State

DANIEL L. GOELZER
General Counsel
Securities and Exchange Commission

AUGUST 1986

* U. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFfrice; 1966 491507 20307

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0112%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
