# Petitioners Brief — United States v. John Doe, Inc. I

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0104%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 102

## Text

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.

JOHN DOE, INC. I, ET AL.

WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General
DOUGLAS H. GINSBURG

RICHARD K. WILLARD
Assistant Attorneys General

Lou!Is R. COHEN
Deputy Solicitor General

W. STEPHEN CANNON
Deputy Assistant Attorney General

? PAUL J. LARKIN, JR.
Assistant to the Solicitor General

ROBERT B. NICHOLSON
STEVE MAc ISAAC
DOUGLAS N. LETTER
ANNA SWERDEL
CAROLYN G. MARK
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

———————————— Os:
Pe A} A

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether an attorney of the Antitrust Division
of the Department of Justice who has properly had
access to grand jury materials while conducting a
criminal investigation may use the same materials in
preparing for and litigating a related civil case with-
out obtaining a disclosure order pursuant to Rule
6(e) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure.

2. Whether the district court acted within its
discretion when it issued a Rule 6(e) order authoriz-
ing the Antitrust Division to disclose certain grand
jury materials to attorneys in the Civil Division and
the United States Attorney’s Office in order to obtain
their advice and ensure consistent federal enforce-
ment of the False Claims Act, a federal statute as to
which the Civil Division has the primary enforcement

responsibility.

(1)

II

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Respondents here include three corporations—John
Does, Inc. I, II, and III, respectively—that are de-
fendants in United States v. “A” Corp., Civ. No. 85-
2062 (S.D.N.Y.), filed under seal, and five individuals
—John Does I, Il, Ifl, IV, and V, respectively—who

are officers or employees of those corporations.*

* Because of the grand jury secrecy issues involved in this
case, both the district court and the court of appeals ordered
that the civil complaint filed by the government be kept under
seal. J.A. 40-42; Pet. App. 2a, 20a.

Cae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion below

Jurisdiction

Rule involved

Statement

ES ELE
B. The proceedings below

Summary of argument

Argument:

I. The continued use of grand jury materials, in
the civil phase of a dispute, by a government
attorney who participated in the grand jury
proceedings does not constitute a “disclosure” of
matters occurring before the grand jury within
the meaning of Fed. R. Crim. P. 6(e) —................

EO SE
B. The plain text of the Rule —..........................
C. The history of Rule 6{e) —...............................
D. The policies underlying Rule 6(e) —..............
EEE a ee
-2. Integrity of the grand jury .....................

II. The district court did not abuse its discretion by
authorizing the disclosure of grand jury mate-
rials for the limited purpose of ensuring con-
sistent enforcement of federal law -....................

ELE LEELA A ET ES

(m1)

Page

13

17

&®S888 5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Alvarez, In re, 351 F. Supp. 1089 26
American Tobacco Co. Vv. Patterson, 456 U.S. 68... 24
Associated Container Transp. (Australia), Ltd. v.

United States, 705 F.2d 53 85
Bast v. United States, 542 F.2d 893 26
Bianchi, In re, 542 F.2d 98 26
Board of Governors v. Dimension Financial Corp.,

No. 84-1274 (Jan. 22, 1986) 34
Bottari, In re, 453 F.2d 370 26
Burlington Industries v. Exxon Corp., 65 F.R.D.

26 33
Consumer Product Safety Commission v. GTE Syl-

vania, 447 U.S. 102 28
Dennis Vv. United States, 384 U.S. 855 81
Doe, In re, 587 F. Supp. 1038 87
Douglas Oil Co. v. Petrol Stops Northwest, 441

U.S. 211 16, 30, 38, 89, 40, 41
Executive Securities Corp. v. Doe, 702 F.2d 406,

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 818 26
Grand Jury Investigation No. 78-184 (Sells, Inc.),

In re, 642 F.2d 1184, aff’d, 463 U.S. 418 -.......... 25
Grand Jury Proceedings, In re, 73 F.R.D. 647........ 26
Grand Jury Witness Subpoenas, In re, 370 F.

Supp. 1282 26

Illinois vy. Abbott & Associates, Inc., 460 U.S. 557.. 30, 39
Millis Music, Inc. v. Synder, No. 83-1153 (Jan. 8,

1985) 24
Minkoff, In re, 349 F. Supp. 154 26
People v. Williams, 97 Ill. 2d 252, 454 N.E.2d 220.. 33

34
26

Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co. v. United States, 360
U.S. 395
Russo, In re, 58 F.R.D. 564
Schiavone v. Fortune, No. 84-1839 (June 18,
1986) ...... 22
Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., No. 84-648 (July 1,
1985) 22
State v. Krich, 123 N.J.L. 519, 9 A.2d 808 ........... 83
Taylor v. Taylor, 179 Ga. 691, 177 S.E. 582 ............ 33

Cases—Continued : Page

United States v. Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., 785
F.2d 206, petition for cert. pending, No. 85-

ais TEED cncecinrnaidhancentnteteteninebaniteiibatahbtancmanmnannens ..21, 24, 27
United States v. Clavey, 565 F.2d 111, vacated, 578

F.2d 1219, cert. denied, 439 U.S. 954 ~................. 26
United States v. Fitch, 472 F.2d 548, cert. denied,

I I aici ei tte inh acitiseceneiamnies 26
United States v. James, No. 85-434 (July 2, 1986).. 28
United States v. Kovel, 296 F.2d 918 -_.................... 33
United States v. Procter & Gamble Co., 356 U.S.

677 nite ....15, 28, 30
United States v. Rose, 215 F.2d 617 -_....................... 30
United States vy. Sells Engineering, Inc., 463 U.S.

SS ae Cee ote. ee ee Ree passim
United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S.

SERA ee a ee ee $1, 39
United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576 -.............. 22
Valenti v. United States Department of Justice,

SE a ee ee eb a ee 26
Zenith Radio Corp. vy. RCA, 121 F. Supp. 792........ 33

Statutes, regulations and rules:
Antitrust Civil Process Act, 15 U.S.C. 1811-1314... 4, 34,
35, 38
aetna rented 12, 36
15 U.S.C. 1812 (b) (2) ..... se 36
EE LTT AL 36
15 U.S.C. 1812 (b) (4) iteattneiee 36
a cee eeennatintinsil 36
TT ET 36
i EE RET ESTED 40
False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C. (& Supp. II) 8729-
BNE RN A PAS ho OE RS 4,9
31 U.S.C. (& Supp. 11) BP Ritthenichenitteddkpitinics 17
Foreign Assistance Act of 1961, § 640A, 22 U.S.C.

go Sitti eer a a OS ES 9

Jencks Act, 18 U.S.C. 8600 ...................................... 33

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 1 et seq.........................-..0... 8

vi

Statutes, regulations and rules—Continued : Page
15 U.S.C. 1 4,9,17

15 U.S.C. 2 17

15 U.S.C. 3 .... an 17
4g 9 MAE, mallee aaa 4

15 U.S.C. 6 aa 17

15 U.S.C. 8 nds 17
15 U.S.C. 9 ; 17
15 U.S.C. 15a ..... » 49
15 U.S.C. 1264 ‘ sl ‘ 17
15 U.S.C. 1266 ...... , ines 17
AR, OO __———————————————————— 17
15 U.S.C. 1899 (b) we 17
Re CY |)” 17
15 U.S.C. 1607 ne we 17
css irinerentnninemonennenceliih 17
15 U.S.C. 1990b. ie orsenilahicialicatin Macntetiatedl a 17
15 U.S.C. 1990c ..... 17
18 U.S.C. 287 -..... ‘as 17
18 U.S.C. 1001 et seq. EEE ee Ne Sr ae Fe 7
18 U.S.C. (Supp. I) App. at 446-448 _......................... 29
18 U.S.C. App. at 566 .................--.---------00--ceeceenesenens-e= 82
18 U.S.C. App. at 568 ..............-...-..----------0--ceeesserenene-e0- 29
18 US.C. App. at BED -..................--.-2-------------0-neeceeneeeeee 29
18 U.S.C. App. at 569-570 -.........-..------------------0eeceneeee-=+ 32
18 U.S.C. App. at 570-572 ................-..-- as 29
(5 tt ee EE 17
en . cceeenqmapbinpepeneineiapenpapepeapance 17
cece eeepesemmpaapapprergses 18
ETT reT 18
Donna creniarenncergngenesanpenpaperoannses 18
Ft hi le TT TT 17
PR a EE PE RAE dS EE 17
oan aren eeeen 18
P 8 4) ETE SHS ew ene o>ane Reaen 17
a. eteeneneanerennneniiete 18
ID erties ccccecenccesescececesenencencsenssncnsocnnsnetet 18
I ooo pe pserernccreremmerenecpecoorepacsoogaten 18
42 U.S.C. 1973j (c) .......... fae EP IIE AS A 18
a eceecneenposescemscartensterscenmmvesesesesets 18

vil

Statutes, regulations and rule—Continued: Page
42 U.S.C. 1973] (e) Pa 18
42 U.S.C. 3613 i 17
42 U.S.C. 3681 ........ L 17
28 C.F.R.:

FIA To FS 5
Section 0.45 (d) es 5
I I acc cecscntdiscchnstinesisesctncmmmamnebtnlifneat 22
Fed. R. Crim. P.:
Rule 6 . seithilalibaiiceiintianniekin 14, 27
EE Se eae a ee ee 23, 27
EE passim
ne ae 29
TTT TELA LOA REE ACTS 29
REE AS a 29
an rarncnpremmnnemsaiiintaasiitlins 29
TTT TIES TE 29
ss ccnccsnsentnnmneniniie 14, 23, 27, 40
I in sk ctsicclidunleiiibioenses 24, 26
TEESE TIE SIE EEE $1, 32
no ce anadenslieiaiabeaeiiines 38
I i ic cresniistplcieiienindiglsbgdomntnsnan 10
18 U.S.C.A. Rule 6, at 79-80 (West 1986) _.......... 29
Miscellaneous :
123 Cong. Rec. (1977):
ase ccenndaitéciansabbiininnetninensi 29
a eT 29
acter nsncmnteiilthlibetiicinteenae 29

D. Ginsburg, Antitrust Enforcement in the Second
Term (Nov. 8, 1985) (unpublished manuscript

19th New England Antitrust Conference) .......... 42
H.R. Rep. 95-195, 95th Cong. Ist Sess. (1977) ........ 29, 32
2 D. Louisell & C. Mueller, Federal Evidence

ane ee a 33
C. McCormick, Evidence (3d ed. 1984) ..................... 33
S. Rep. 95-354, 95th Cour., Ist Sess. (1977) -....... 29, 32

U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Antitrust Division Manual
I TI atiiintin “cictieeelisschCinldaansitnisente es 22

Vill

Miscellaneous—Continued : Page
24
24

Webster's New Collegiate Dictionary (1975) -.......
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary

(1976) .

2 J. Weinstein & M. Berger, Weinstein’s Evidence
(1985) . 33
8 J. Wigmore, Evidence in Trials at Common Lew
(J. McNaughton rev. ed. 1961) -..............------------- 30, 33

1 C. Wright, Federal Practice and Procedure:
Criminal (2d ed. 1982) ..........----------------------- 26, 30-31

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 85-1613

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER

7

v.

JOHN Dog, INC. I, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1la-
18a) is reported at 774 F.2d 34. The orders of the
district court (Pet. App. 21a-23a) are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on September 24, 1985. A petition for rehearing was
denied on December 2, 1985 (Pet. App. 24a). On
February 25, 1986, Justice Marshall extended the
time within which to file a petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari to and including April 1, 1986. The petition
was filed on March 31, 1986, and was granted on

(1)

2

May 27, 1986. The jurisdiction of this Court rests
on 28 T1.S.C. 1254(1).

RULE INVOLVED

Rule 6(e) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Proce-
dure provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

Recording and Disclosure of Proceedings.

* * * * *

(2) General Rule of Secrecy. A grand juror,
an interpreter, a stenographer, an operator of a
recording device, a typist who transcribes re-
corded testimony, an attorney for the govern-
ment, or any person to whom disclosure is made
under paragraph (3) (A) (ii) of this subdivision
shall not disclose matters occurring before the
grand jury, except as otherwise provided for in
these rules. No obligation of secrecy may be im-
posed on any person except in ae~-rdance with
this rule. * * *

(3) Exceptions.

(A) Disclosure otherwise prohibited by
this rule of matters occurring before the
grand jury, other than its deliberations and
the vote of any grand juror, may be made
to—

(i) an attorney for the government
for use in the performance of such at-
torney’s duty; and

(ii) such government personnel * * *
as are deemed necessary * * * to assist
an attorney for the government in the
performance of such attorney’s duty to
enforce federal criminal law.

(B) Any person to whom matters are dis-
closed under subparagraph (A) (ii) of this
paragraph shall not utilize that grand jury

3

material for any purpose other than assist-
ing the attorney for the government in the
performance of such attorney’s duty to en-
force federal criminal law. An attorney for
the government shall promptly provide the
district court, before which was impaneled
the grand jury * * * with the names of the
persons to whom such disclosure has been
made * * *,

(C) Disclosure otherwise prohibited by
this rule of matters occurring before the
grand jury may also be made—

(i) when so directed by a court pre-
liminarily to or in connection with a ju-
dicial proceeding;

(ii) when permitted by a court at
the request of the defendant, upon a
showing that grounds may exist for a
motion to dismiss the indictment be-
cause of matters occurring before the

grand jury.
STATEMENT

A. Background

1. In November 1981, the Agency for Interna-
tional Development (AID) of the Department of
State notified the Antitrust Division of the Depart-
ment of Justice that the conduct of certain American
companies involved in AID-financed sales of tallow '
to a foreign government might warrant investigation
for possible violations of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.
1 et seg. Attorneys from the Antitrust Division con-

1 Tallow is used in the manufacture of soap, animal feed,
and lubricants.

4

ducted an investigation from March 1982 through
June 1984. In the course of that investigation, a
grand jury in the Southern District of New York
heard testimony from several dozen witnesses and re-
viewed approximately 250,000 pages of subpoenaed
documents (Pet. App. 2a; J.A. 17-18).

Early in June 1984, the Antitrust Division tenta-
tively concluded that the respondents and at least one
other company had violated Section 1 of the Sherman
Act, 15 U.S.C. 1, but also decided that a criminal
prosecution was inappropriate. The grand jury in-
vestigation was therefore promptly terminated wiih-
out an indictment being sought (J.A. 10, 18). At the
same time, however, the Antitrust Division concluded
that a civil action against the corporate respondents
might be appropriate. Accordingly, the Assistant At-
torney General in charge of the Antitrust Division
instructed the attorneys who had conducted the grand
jury investigation to consider a possible suit for in-
junctive relief under the Sherman Act’ and damages
under the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C. (& Supp. IT)
3729-3731 (Pet. App. 2a; J.A. 10, 16, 18).

Late in June 1984, pursuant to the Antitrust Civil
Process Act (ACPA), 15 U.S.C. 1311-1314, the gov-
ernment issued civil investigative demands (CIDs)
for documents to nearly two dozen persons who had
received grand jury subpoenas, including the corpo-
rate respondents here and approximately twenty other
persons. The scope of the CIDs overlapped that of
the earlier grand jury subpoenas, and the Antitrust
Division notified the CID recipients that they could
comply with the CIDs by certifying that they had

2The government may enforce the Sherman Act through
both criminal prosecutions and civil suits. See 15 U.S.C. 1,
4, 15a.

5

produced all requested documents pursuant to the
grand jury subpoenas. Nearly all of the CID recipi-
ents elected to comply in this manner. Two of the
corporate respondents here, however, declined to cer-
tify that they had previously produced the sought-
after documents, although they informally advised the
Division that they had in fact done so. In the course
of the civil investigation, the Antitrust Division at-
torneys also interviewed prospective witnesses and ob-
tained documents from persons on a voluntary basis.
Pet. App. 2a-3a; J.A. 16, 44.

2. The Antitrust Division ultimately concluded
that the conduct at issue violated the Sherman Act
and possibly the False Claims Act, and the Division
considered bringing suit under both statutes. Al-
though the Antitrust Division is authorized to prose-
cute False Claims Acts suits when the conduct in
question also violates the antitrust laws (28 C.F.R.
0.40(a)), the primary responsibility for the enforce-
ment of that statute rests with the Civil Division of
the Department of Justice (28 C.F.R. 0.45(d)). Ac-
cordingly, the Antitrust Division determined that in
order to ensure consistency in the government’s en-
forcement of the False Claims Act, it should seek
the advice of Civil Division attorneys as to the ap-
propriateness of a False Claims Act suit on the facts
of this case. The Antitrust Division also needed to
consult with attorneys in the United States Attor-
ney’s Office for the Southern District of New York,
where a civil suit would be filed. J.A. 11, 13, 14-15,
18.

The Antitrust and Civil Division attorneys entered
into preliminary discussions that did not involve any
disclosure of grand jury materials (Pet. App. 3a;
see J.A. 19). These discussions proved insufficient,

however, because the Civil Division attorneys were
unable fully to advise the Antitrust Division whether
a False Claims Act suit would be appropriate without
reviewing information compiled by the grand jury.
Accordingly, to take advantage of the Civil Division’s
experience, the Antitrust Division attorneys deemed
it necessary to disclose some grand jury materials to
the Civil Division attorneys.

On November 30, 1984, the Antitrust Division
sought an order, pursuant to Rule 6(e) of the Federal
Rules of Criminal Procedure, from the United States
District Court for the Southern District of New York
authorizing the disclosure of information contained
in the grand jury record to four named attorneys in
the Civil Division, two named attorneys in the United
States Attorney’s Office, and their designees. The
government informed the court that the proposed dis-
closure would “include[] a description and analysis
of the evidence * * * uncovered by the grand jury
and excerpts from documents and testimony of wit-
nesses who appeared before the grand jury” (J.A.
12). The Division assured the court that the proposed
disclosure was for consultation only and “not for pur-
poses of further inv-etigation” by the Civil Division
or the United States attorney (id. at 13). The gov-
ernment urged that the need for this limited disclo-
sure to ensure consistent enforcement of federal civil
law outweighed the need for continued secrecy (id.
at 14-15).°

3 As the government explained (J.A. 14-15):

The disclosure of information is necessary to ensure the
proper functioning of the decision-making process of the
U.S. Department of Justice. In order properly to exer-
cise its prosecutorial discretion, review of the memoranda
by the Civil Division is necessary to ensure that the De-

7

3. Following an ex parte hearing, the district court
granted the motion. The court entered a Rule 6(e)
order permitting the Antitrust Division to disclose
matters occurring before the grand jury to the six
specified attorneys (and their designees) in the Civil
Division and the United States Attorney’s Office in
order “to assist in the review of this matter provided
that this information will be treated as confidential
and its use will be limited solely to the purposes of
this order” (Pet. App. 23a).

In the following weeks, the Antitrust Division pro-
vided the specified attorneys with four memoranda
that analyzed and quoted from documents and testi-
mony presented to the grand jury. Some subpoenaed
documents were attached to these memoranda. After
analyzing this information and discussing it with at-
torneys from the Antitrust Division, the Civil Divi-
sion attorneys advised the Antitrust Division that a

partment acts consistently in its enforcement efforts.
The review is also important to ensure that prosecution of
this matter would carry out Department policy regarding
the False Claims Act. Moreover, without disclosure of
this information, the Antitrust Division would not be
able to take full advantage of the Civil Division[’]s ex-
pertise in enforcing cases under he False Claims Act.

Coordination between the Civil Division[] and the
Antitrust Division is necessary to ensure the fair and
even-handed administration of justice. It would be more
difficult for the Department to achieve consistency and
uniformity in its enforcement efforts i[f] its officials
were unable to learn the facts of relevant matters being
investigated by staff attorneys in other divisions. This
uniformity of enforcement is necessary not only to the
Department but to the public as well. Without uniform
enforcement, the public would have difficulty rationally
choosing courses of action which might be affected by the
antitrust and the civil fraud laws.

8

False Claims Act suit would be appropriate. Pet.
App. 4a.
B. The Proceedings Below

1. The Antitrust Division ultimately decided to file
a civil complaint. In March 1985, as a matter of
courtesy, the Division notified the proposed defend-
ants of the upcoming suit (J.A. 44-45). Respondents
immediately moved in the district court to vacate the
Rule 6(e) order. They also sought to prohibit the
government from using any grand jury material in
preparing, filing, or litigating the civil suit (Pet.
App. 4a; J.A. 27-28). After a hearing,* the district
court on March 12, 1985, denied the requested relief
(Pet. App. 21a). The court stated that “[t]he entire
impact of the papers [the government] submitted [at
the hearing on the Rule 6(e) order was] to show
there was a particularized need” and that govern-
ment counsel “went through a great deal of trouble
to indicate why they were necessary” (J.A. 34). The
court also refused to enjoin the government from fil-
ing the complaint, or to disqualify the Antitrust Divi-
sion attorneys who had participated in the grand jury
investigation from participating in the civil suit (Pet.
App. 21a). Shortly thereafter, the United States
filed a civil complaint under seal charging the cor-

¢ Respondents’ motion was originally assigned to Judge
Brieant. He denied the motion without prejudice on the
ground that it snould be presented to Judge Palmieri, who had
issued the Rule 6(e) order (J.A. 29). After a hearing (J.A.
80-42), Judge Palmieri also denied respondent’s motion (Pet.
App. 21a), and it was his ruling that was later set aside by
the court of appeals.

‘The district court’s denial of respondents’ motion was
“without prejudice to [its] renewal before the trial judge
* * * assigned when [the] case is filed” (Pet. App. 21a).

porate respondents and another company with (1)
bid rigging and price fixing, in violation of Section 1
of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 1; (2) conspiring to
defraud the United States in violation of the False
Claims Act, 31 U.S.C. (& Supp. II) 3729-3731; (3)
making false claims against the United States, in vio-
lation of Section 640A of the Foreign Assistance Act
of 1961, 22 U.S.C. 2399b; and (4) unjust enrichment
at common law.*

2. The court of appeals reversed (Pet. App. 1a-
18a). The court ruled that the district court had
abused its discretion in granting a Rule 6(e) order
because the Antitrust Division had not demonstrated
a particularized need for the disclosure of grand jury
materials to the Civil Division. The court also held
that the Antitrust Division attorneys who had access
to grand jury materials during the criminal investi-
gation must obtain a Rule 6(e) order before they

* The complaint was filed under seal. After filing a notice
of appeal, respondents moved in the court of appeals for a
protective order prohibiting the government from using grand
jury materials pending appeal in preparing for, filing, or liti-
gating the proposed civil action and prohibiting the Antitrust
Division from making any further cisclosures to the Civil
Division. The court of appeals refused to prohibit the United
States from filing its complaint but directed that the complaint
be filed under seal pending the resolution of respondents’
appeal. Pet. App. 19a. As the court of appeals found, “the
complaint filed by the government does not quote from or
refer to any grand jury material” (id. at 17a). The court
also prohibited the disclosure of grand jury material to any-
one who was not already privy to the information (id. at 20a).
See also page II note *, supra. A copy of the complaint,
as reprinted in the supplemental appendix filed in the court
of appeals, has been lodged under seal with the Clerk’s Office.

10

themselves could use the same material in this civil
suit.’

a. The court of appeals recognized that under
United States v. Sells Engineering, Inc., 463 U.S. 418
(1983), the district court was “ ‘infused with sub-
stantial discretion’ ” im deciding whether to authorize
disclosure (Pet. App. 6a (citation omitted)). It also
acknowledged that the particularized need standard
“ig a highly flexible one” that accommodates consid-
erations peculiar to the government “ ‘that weigh for
or against disclosure in a given case’” (id. at Ta
(citation omitted) ). Nonetheless, the court of appeals
concluded that the district court’s order was improper
because the Antitrust Division could eventually have
provided the Civil Division with “substantially the
same information” by exercising its discovery powers
under the ACPA (id. at 9a). The Court recognized
that this would require the investment of “a sub-
stantial amount of additional government time and
effort,” but it concluded that, under Sells, “such a
factor can play no part in our analysis” (id. at 10a).
Finally, despite the very narrow purpose for which
disclosure was sought and permitted, the court of ap-
peals stated that it was “influenced” in its assess-
ment of the government’s showing of particularized
need (ibid.) by the fact that neither the government’s
request for disclosure nor the district court’s Rule
6(e) order specified precisely what grand jury ma-
terials were to be disclosed (Pet. App. lla). Accord-
ingly, the court of appeals vacated the Rule 6(e)
order.

™ The court of appeals rejected respondents’ argument that
the district court had erred by granting the order on the
basis of an ex parte hearing pursuant to Fed. R. Crim. P.
6(e) (3) (D) (Pet. App. 5a-6a).

1l

b. The court then turned to the question whether
the Antitrust Division attorneys who had assisted the
grand jury during its investigation could, in prepar-
ing for and litigating the contemplated civil suit, use
grand jury materials to which they had previously
had access without first obtaining a Rule 6(e) order
(Pet. App. 1la-17a). The court recognized that the
“issue presented here is more subtle” than the one
decided in Sells, in which this Court “expressly left
this question unresolved” (Pet. App. lla-12a). The
court of appeals stated that “[t]he threshold question
is whether the continued access to grand jury mate-
rials by the attorneys who conducted the grand jury
investigation—and worked with the materials during
that time—even constitutes ‘disclosure’ ” for purposes
of Rule 6(e) (Pet. App. 12a). The court acknowl-
edged that it “seems fictional at first glance” to char-
acterize as a “disclosure” an attorney’s continued ac-
cess during a civil suit to grand jury materials that
he had reviewed during the grand jury’s investigation
(ibid.). But it concluded that this characterization
was justified in this case because the sizeable volume
of grand jury materials would invite the government
attorneys to refresh their recollection by referring
“repeatedly to the documents and transcripts of which
they have prior knowledge and with which they may
be partially familiar” (ibid.).

The court of appeals then discussed the reasons
given in Sells for limiting access to grand jury ma-
terials. Pet. App. 13a-17a. The court recognized that
one of these concerns—the threat to the integrity of
the grand jury from its potential manipulation as a
civil investigative device (see Sells, 463 U.S. 432-
433)—was “largely absent” given the Antitrust Divi-
sion’s extensive discovery powers under the ACPA

12

(Pet. App. 13a-14a).*° For the same reason, the court
held that a second concern identified in Sells—that
permitting use of grand jury materials in preparing
civil litigation would subvert limitations on discovery
power outside the grand jury setting (see 463 U.S.
at 433)—had little force here (Pet. App. 14a-15a).
Nonetheless, the court of appeals concluded that
the general secrecy concerns discussed in Sells—the
risk of an illegal or inadvertent disclosure, and the
risk that disclosure would inhibit the candor of grand
jury witnesses (see 463 U.S. at 482)—did apply here
(Pet. App. 15a-17a). The court said it was not seri-
ously concerned about the “limited disclosure” result-
ing from the attorneys’ continuing access to the grand
jury materials (id. at 15a). But it noted that “sup-
port employees”—i.e., paralegals and secretaries—
would also presumably have access to grand jury ma-
terials, and that “any such disclosure, even if not in
itself in violation of the statute, would increase the
risk of inadvertent disclosure” (id. at 16a). The
court also believed that allowing continued access un-
der the circumstances of this case would cause grand
jury witnesses to “be less willing to speak candidly
before the grand jury” (ibid.). The court recognized
that “[o]n balance * * * the threat of affirmative
mischief * * * is somewhat less than * * * in Sells,”
and confessed that it was “tempted to conclude that
the [government] need not seek a rule 6(e) order”

® Section 1812(a) (15 U.S.C.) provides that the Attorney
General or Assistant Attorney General for the Antitrust Divi-
sion may, before a civil complaint is filed, require any person
to produce documentary materials, give written answers to
interrogatories, provide oral testimony, or furnish any combi-
nation of the above, whenever he has reason to believe this
information is relevant to a civil antitrust investigation.

18

in this case (Pet. App. 16a). Nevertheless, the court
of appeals felt compelled to rule in respondents’ favor
because of “the reluctance imposed on us from above”
(id. at 16a-17a), despite the “minimal * * * threat
here” to grand jury secrecy (id. at 17a). The court
therefore “prohibit[ed] any further access to or use
of grand jury materials * * * unless and until” the
government obtained a Rule 6(e) order (Pet. App.
17a).°
: SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. The first question in this case was expressly
reserved in United States v. Sells Engineering, Inc.,
463 U.S. 418, 431 n.15 (1983): whether a Depart-
ment of Justice attorney who participated in grand
jury proceedings may make continued use of the
grand jury materials in preparing and litigating an
ensuing civil case without obtaining a Rule 6(e)
order, so long as he does not disclose the materials
to any other person.

The government and the public have a strong in-
terest in an affirmative answer to this question. There
are many cases in which, after a criminal investiga-
tion is completed, it is appropriate for the Depart-
ment to consider civil proceedings in addition to or
instead of criminal prosecution. Requiring the De-
partment to duplicate the grand jury materials
through civil discovery would impose a substantial
additional burden on both the povernment and the
interested private persons. Even more important,
the resulting delay would force many civil cases in

® The court of appeals rejected respondents’ claim that the
mere filing of the government’s civil complaint, which “does
not quote from or refer to any grand jury materials,” was
itself an unauthorized “disclosure of grand jury material”
(Pet. App. 17a).

14

the public interest to be dropped because of staleness
or statutes of limitations.

By its plain terms, Rule 6(e) permits continued
use of grand jury materials, in the civil phase of a
dispute, by the attorneys who participated in the
grand jury proceedings. Rule 6 expressly contem-
plates that certain categories of persons, including
the participating government attorneys, will be privy
to the grand jury proceedings and have access to the
grand jury materials. Rule 6(e)(2) provides that
such attorneys, and certain other persons, “shall not
disclose matters occurring before the grand jury, ex-
cept as otherwise provided for in these rules. No
obligation of secrecy may be imposed on any person
except in accordance with this rule.” Since an attor-
ney’s continued private use of materiais te which he
had prior lawful access is not a “disclosure,” it is
permitted by the plain meaning of the Rule.

The court of appeals, admitting that it “seems fic-
tional” to do so (Pet. App. 12a), ruled that govern-
ment attorneys’ resort to grand jury materials “to
refresh their recollection * * * is tantamount to a
further disclosure” (ibid.). That ruling is contrary
to the plain meaning of the word “disclose,” which
means “expose to view,” not “reexamine.” It is also,
we respectfully submit, contrary to common sense:
an attorney obviously may make “continued use” (for
planning purposes and without further disclosure) of
matters occurring before the grand jury that he is
able to recall from memory; his equally private act
of reviewing the same information in written form
is no more a “disclosure” than his reliance on his
memory.

The history of Rule 6(e) confirms its plain mean-
ing. It has been the Department’s longstanding prac-

15

tice, noted by this Court without criticism in United
States v. Procter & Gamble Co., 356 U.S. 677, 678
(1958), to permit the attorneys who participated in
grand jury proceedings to “us[e] the grand jury
materials to prepare the [civil] case for trial.” Al-
though Rule 6(e) has been amended several times
since 1958, there is not the slightest evidence that
Congress believes that the Department’s well known
practice violates the Rule or threatens grand jury
secrecy.

The court of appeals, after reviewing the policies
underlying Rule 6(e), said “we might be tempted to
conclude that the antitrust division need not seek a
rule 6(e) order to use grand jury material to litigate
this civil action. But, however minimal] the threat
here, the reluctance imposed on us from above [in
Sells] forces” the opposite result’ (Pet. App. 17a).
The court was correct in its view that the threat is
“minimal,” but was incorrect in its reading of Sells.

There is, as the court of appeals recognized, no
threat to secrecy from “continued access by those
antitrust division attorneys who actually carried out
the grand jury investigation here” (Pet. App. 15a).
Ard while paralegal and secretarial personnel may
handle such materials under the atiorney’s super-
vision, that is not a violation of the Rule, and the
risk of disclosure by such a person (which would be
punishable by contempt) is no greater than it would
be if there were a criminal prosecution. Finally, the
court of appeals correctly concluded that the policies,
discussed at length by the Court in Sells, of protect-
ing the integrity of the grand jury and preventing
circumvention of limitations on civil discovery, have
no bearing on this case, because of the Antitrust Divi-
sion’s extensive civil discovery powers. In view of

16

the absence of any incentive to abuse xf the grand
jury process where the only persons who may
see grand jury materials are those who conducted
the proceedings, and the ease with which any abuse
can be remedied in a “continued use” case, we submit
that these concerns have no bearing in other con-
tinued use cases either.

II. The second question presented in this case is
whether the court of appeals correctly decided that
the “substantial amount of additional government
time and effort” required for duplicative civil dis-
covery “can play no part in [the] analysis” of whether
the government has shown a “particularized need”
justifying a Rule 6(e) order. The effect of this rul-
ing, also purportedly based on Sells, is to prevent the
government from obtaining a Rule 6(e) order in any
ease in which grand jury materials are available
from another source, however expensive it may be
and however long it might take to obtain duplicate
materials.

The court’s holding was a misreading of Sells.
This Court there rejected the argument that “saving
time and expense” justifies dispensing entirely with
the requirement of a Rule 6(e) order before dis-
closure to additional lawyers. 463 U.S. at 431. But -
nowhere did the Court suggest that time and expense
“ean play no part” in the district court’s exercise of
its “substantial discretion” to decide whether a Rule
6(e) order is appropriate in a particular case. On
the contrary, Sells expressly endorsed the disclosure
standard previously adopted in Douglas Oil Co. v.
Petrol Stops Northwest, 441 U.S. 211 (1979), which
Sells described as “‘a highly flexible [standard], adapt-
able to different circumstances” (463 U.S. at 445).

17 ~

The court’s holding that no Rule 6(e) order may
issue for materials obtainable, with whatever delay
and expense, from other sources is also wholly illog-
ical. The ruling would flatly prohibit use of grand
jury materials on precisely those occasions when
there is no reason whatever to do so, because neither
the secrecy nor the integrity of the grand jury is at
stake. Its only effect would be to impose a substantial
additional burden on the enforcement of federal law
in civil proceedings.

ARGUMENT

I. THE CONTINUED USE OF GRAND JURY MATE-
RIALS, IN THE CIVIL PHASE OF A DISPUTE, BY
A GOVERNMENT ATTORNEY WHO PARTICI-
PATED IN THE GRAND JURY PROCEEDINGS
DOES NOT CONSTITUTE A “DISCLOSURE” OF
MATTERS OCCURRING BEFORE THE GRAND
JURY WITHIN THE MEANING OF FED. R. CRIM.
P. 6(e)

A. Introduction

Many important federal statutes, including the
Sherman Act, provide for both criminal prosecution
and civil proceedings against violators.” In addition,

Such statutes can be found in the following areas, for
example: (1) false claims: civil, 31 U.S.C. (& Supp. II)
8729; criminal, 18 U.S.C. 287, 1001 et seq.; (2) antitrust
laws: civil, 15 U.S.C. 9, 15a, 6; criminal, 15 U.S.C. 1, 2, 8, 8;
(3) odometer tampering: civil, 15 U.S.C. 1990b; criminal,
15 U.S.C. 1990c; (4) hazardous substances: civil, 15 U.S.C.
1265; criminal, 15 U.S.C. 1264; (5) consumer credit: civil,
15 U.S.C. 1607; criminal, 15 U.S.C. 1611; (6) motor vehicle
standards: civil, 15 U.S.C. 1398(a), 1415(c); criminal, 15
U.S.C. 1399(b) ; (7) adulterated foods, drugs, and cosmetics:
civil, 21 U.S.C. 332; criminal, 21 U.S.C. 333; (8) fair housing
laws: civil, 42 U.S.C. 3613; criminal, 42 U.S.C. 3631; (9)
wage and hour laws: civil, 40 U.S.C. 328; criminal, 40 U.S.C.
332; (10) quarantine rules for ships: civil, 42 U.S.C. 271 (b) ;

18

violations of criminal statutes often give rise to civil
claims for damages owing to the government or to
other victims. As a result, the Department of Justice
must frequently decide, after a grand jury has com-
pleted its investigation of a possible crime, whether
to bring a civil suit based on the same facts. The
first question in this case is whether, when the same
Department of Justice attorneys who participated in
the grand jury proceedings are assigned to consider
and prepare a civil case, they may continue to use
the grand jury materials (without disclosing them
to any additional persons) without a court order
under Rule 6(e) of the Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure.

In United States v. Sells Engineering, Inc., 463
U.S. 18 (1988), the Court held that Rule 6(e) pro-
hibits the disclosure of grand jury materials to De-
partment of Justice attorneys who were not involved
in the grand jury proceedings unless the govern-
ment obtains a court order based on a showing of
particularized need. The Court expressly declined
to address “the continued use of grand jury materi-
als, in the civil phase of a dispute, by an attorney
who himself conducted the criminal prosecution.”
463 U.S. at 431 n.15.”

criminal, 42 U.S.C. 271(a); (11) voting rights: civil, 42
U.S.C. 1973j (d) and (e) ; criminal, 42 U.S.C. 1973i, 1973j (a),
(b) and (c) ; water pollution control: civil, 33 U.S.C. 1319 (b)
and (d); criminal, 33 U:S.C. 1319(c).

11 Chief Justice Burger’s dissent stated that “it is reason-
able to read today’s decision as allowing any Justice Depart-
ment attorney who has participated in the grand jury investi-
gation or prosecution—and thus a:ready has had access to
the grand jury materials—to make further use of those mate-
rials in preparing and litigating a related civil case.” 463
U.S. at 478.

steel

19

In the present case, the court of appeals ruled that
Antitrust Division attorneys who participated in
grand jury proceedings and had lawful access to the
grand jury materials may not review those materials
in preparing a related civil case without a Rule 6(e)
order. The court of appeals acknowledged that it
was “tempted to conclude that the antitrust division
need not seek a rule 6(e) order to use grand jury
material to litigate this civil action” (Pet. App. 16a-
17a). But the court concluded, citing Sells, that “the
reluctance imposed on us from above” (Pet. App.
17a) forced it to deny the Antitrust Division such
continued use. This ruling, we respectfully submit,
misreads both Rule 6(e) and the policy of secrecy,
articulated in Sells, that underlies the rule.”

Rule 6(e) does not, by its plain terms, prohibit
continued use of grand jury materials, in the civil
phase of a dispute, by government attorneys who have
had prior lawful access to them, so long as they make
no disclosure to other persons. Rule 6(e) expressly
contemplates that certain categories of persons, in-
cluding the government attorneys participating in
the proceedings, will be privy to the grand jury mate-
rials. Its “General Rule of Secrecy” prohibits disclo-
sure of matters occurring before the grand jury by

% The court also held, again citing Sells, that the “sub-
stantial amount of additional government time and effort”
required to duplicate grand jury materials through civil dis-
covery “can play no part” (Pet. App. 10a) in the analysis of
whether the government has made the showing of “particu-
larized need” required to obtain a Rule 6(e) order. This sec-
ond holding is discussed below at Point II. The two rulings
would together make it impossible to make any continued use
of the grand jury materials in any case where the materials
are available (with whatever delay and at whatever cost)
from any other source.

20

those persons to other persons. No such disclosure
occurs when an attorney for the government who

has participated in the grand jury proceedings, and

has had access to the grand jury materials, continues ‘
to use them in the investigation and litigation of a |
civil claim. Such continued use of the materials, i

without further disclosure, does not enlarge the num-
ber of people “inside the circle” or otherwise threaten
grand jury secrecy.

On the other hand, the government and the public
have a strong interest in the government’s being able
to make continued use of grand jury materials in the
civil phase of a dispute when the government can do
so without additional disclosure. The expense (not
only to the government and the taxpayers but also
to other parties and witnesses) of duplicating a
grand jury investigation through civil discovery (or
other available means) would often be enormous.”
The lapse of time, if the government were required to
duplicate a completed grand jury investigation
through civil discovery, would mean that both sides
face unnecessarily prolonged uncertainty and that
many important cases in the public interest would
not be brought at all, because of problems of staleness
and statutes of limitations. And if the attorneys
who participated in the grand jury proceedings were
not permitted to use the grand jury materials in the
civil phase of a dispute, in many cases those attor- "

48 Tn this case, for example, the grand jury heard testimony
from dozens of witnesses and obtained approximately 250,000 i
pages of documents before the decision was made not to seek
an indictment. Pet. App. 2a.

14 See Pet. App. 17a (noting that the statute of limitations
apparently barred prosecution of one of the government’s
civil claims).

ee |

21

neys could not, as a practical matter, participate in
the civil phase at all, because they would be vulner-
able to challenges (brought in good faith or other-
wise) alleging their improper reliance on grand jury
materials.”

** Indeed, the question of such total disqualification was
touched on below. The court of appeals said (Pet. App. 17a) :
“Since it would be almost impossible for any attorney in
such a position to compartmentalize his thoughts and liti-
gate a civil case without in some way using his recollection
of facts learned during the grand jury investigation, we
think that the real question [not presented here] is whether
the prosecutor must be disqualified from litigating the civil
case. Since appellants have expressly declined to present that
issue, we are not called upon to address it.” In United States
v. Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., 785 F.2d 206 (8th Cir. 1986),
petition for cert. pending, No. 85-1840, the court addressed
that question and held, “[w]e do not believe that an attor-
ney’s recollection of facts learned from his prior grand jury
participation can be considered disclosure” within the mean-
ing of Rule 6(e). 785 F.2d at 212.

There are, we suggest, four points: (1) Any ruling dis-
qualifying prosecutors from participating in related civil cases
would impose a severe burden on enforcement efforts, particu-
larly in Divisions and Offices of the Department that are smal!
or are organized by subject matter. (2) Reliance by an at-
torney on his recollection of matters occurring before the
grand jury simply is not “disclosure” (unless he discloses his
recollection to another person) and therefore is not prohibited
by Rule 6(e) under any plausible reading. (3) If an attorney
may rely on his recollection of matters occurring before the
grand jury, then no purpose is served by preventing him from
reviewing grand jury materials (in private and without dis-
closure to any other person), and of course such review does
not fall within the plain meaning of “disclosure.” (4) Con-
versely, if any attorney who has had access to grand jury
materials is not permitted to review them in preparing a civil
case, the government may in many cases be well advised not
to use him, lest repeated challenges to his sources of informa-

The Antitrust Division, the Civil Division, and
many United States Attorney’s offices often use the
same attorneys in successive, related criminal and
civil matters. This practice is common, for example,
in the Antitrust Division, because line attorneys are
assigned to sections that are responsible for specific
industry groups."* The Civil Division also has en-
forcement responsibilities with respect to conduct
that may be prosecuted in either a criminal or civil
action, and the same attorneys are, whenever possi-
ble, assigned to work on successive related matters.
Smaller United States Attorneys offices follow this
practice as a matter of necessity, because there are
simply not enough attorneys to permit double staffing.
The major changes in the government’s longstanding
practice that would be required under the court of
appeals’ decision are both unnecessary and unwise.

B. The Plain Text Of The Rule

The starting point in construing a federal rule of
procedure, like the starting point in construing a
statute, is the language employed by Congress. See
Schiavone v. Fortune, No. 84-1839 (June 18, 1986),
slip op. 9 (Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(c)); see also Sedima,
S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., No. 84-648 (July 1, 1985),
slip op. 8; United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576,
580 (1981). As the Court stated in Schiavone, “[w]e
do not have before us a choice between a ‘liberal’
approach toward Rule 15(c), on the one hand, and a

tion (which may be hard to put out of court when the attorney
has been thinking, conversing, making notes, ard collecting
files about the same set of events over a long period of time)
delay and obstruct the civil proceedings.

16 U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Antitrust Division Manual 1-22-23
(rev. 1982) ; see also J.A. 17.

Te

23

‘technical’ interpretation of the Rule, on the other
hand. The choice, instead, is between recognizing or
ignoring what the Rule provides in plain language.
We accept the Rule as meaning what it says.” Slip
op. 9.

Rule 6(e) plainly does not prohibit continued use
of grand jury materials, without disclosure, by gov-
ernment attorneys who participated in the grand
jury proceedings and had lawful access to those ma-
terials in that capacity. The Rule contemplates that
certain persons, including participating government
attorneys, may have access to grand jury materials.”
The “General Rule of Secrecy” in Rule 6(e)(2) then
provides that specified persons, including such attor-
neys, “shall not disclose matters occurring before the
grand jury * * *.” The following sentence states
that “[n]o obligation of secrecy may be imposed on
any person except in accordance with this rule.” By
its terms, therefore, Rule 6(e) prohibits only “dis-
closure” of matters occurring before the grand jury;
it does not forbid the continued use of grand jury
materials by government attorneys who do not dis-
close them to others.

The court of appeals, admitting that it “seems fic-
tional at first glance” (Pet. App. 12a), held that the
attorneys’ review of materials constitutes a “disclo-
sure.” That ruling is contrary to this Court’s instruc-
tion to assume that “the ordinary meaning of the
language that Congress employed ‘accurately ex-

7 Under Rule 6(d), only the attorneys for the government,
the witness under examination, the stenographer or operator
of a recording device, and, when necessary, interpreters are
permitted to be present while the grand jury is in session.
Rule 6(d) forbids anyone other than the grand jurors them-
selves from attending the grand jury’s deliberations or vote.

24

presses the legislative purpose.’” Mills Music, Inc.
v. Snyder, No. 83-1153 (Jan. 8, 1985), slip op. 10
(citation and footnote omitted); see also American
Tobacco Co. v. Patterson, 456 us. 63, 68 (1982).
The ordinary meaning of “disclosure” does not in-
clude review of materials by persons who have had
prior access to them. The word “disclose,” which is
not defined in the Rule, means “to open up[,] to
expose to view[,] * * * [to] open up to general
knowledge” (Webster's Third New International
Dictionary 645 (1976)), and “to make known or
public * * * something previously held close or secret”
(Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary 325 (1975)).
As the Eighth Circuit recently explained, “[f]or
there to be a disclosure [under Rule 6(e)], grand
jury matters must be disclosed to someone” (United
States v. Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., 785 F.2d 206,
212 (8th Cir. 1986) (emphasis in original), petition
for cert. pending, No. 85-1840). When a govern-
ment attorney has participated in grand jury pro-
ceedings and has therefore had lawful prior access
to the grand jury materials, his continued use of
them does not constitute a “disclosure” within the
ordinary meaning of that term, because the materials
are not opened up to the view of any additional indi-
vidual." Nothing is made “known or public” that
was “previously held close or secret.”

18 The initial grant of access to the grand jury materials to
the attorney participating in the grand jury proceedings is a
disclosure within the meaning of Rule 6(e) and is authorized
by paragraph (3) (A) (i) of the Rule. As the Court noted in
Sells, such access is properly granted not only to “those
prosecutors who actually did appear before the grand jury,”
but also to “anyone working on a given prosecution [because
each such person] would clearly be eligible under Rule 6(d)
to enter the grand jury room, even if particular individuals

25

The court of appeals reasoned, however, that, be-
cause the quantity of grand jury materials in this
case was too great for any person to commit to mem-
ory, the attorneys preparing the civil suit would need
to refer to at least some of these materials. The
court then ruled that “any resort to these materials
by the attorneys * * * to refresh their recollection
* * * is tantamount to a further disclosure” (Pet.
App. 12a).

But “disclosure” is the act of exposing materials
to view, not the act of viewing. The Antitrust Divi-

did not have occasion to do so.” 463 U.S. at 429 n.11 (em;
phasis in original). Thus, disclosure—the affording of access
—has been made to any attorney who was part of “the prose-
cution team” (Sells, 468 U.S. at 429 n.11 (emphasis in
original) ).

** The only support the court of appeals cited for its conclu-
sion that continued access amounted to disclosure was the
statement in the Ninth Circuit’s opinion in Sells that “‘ [eJach
day this order remains effective the veil of secrecy is lifted
higher * * * by the continued access of those to whom the
materials have already been disclosed.’” Pet. App. 12a-13a
(asterisks in original) (quoting In re Grand Jury Investiga-
tion No. 78-184 (Sells, Inc.), 642 F.2d 1184, 1188 (9th Cir.
1981), aff'd, 463 U.S. 418 (1983)). But the Ninth Circuit
was making an entirely different, and irrelevant, point. In
Sells, the government attorneys who handled the grand jury
investigation physically handed over grand jury materials to
Civil Division attorneys who had not appeared before the
grand jury. The passage quoted above simply responded to the
government’s mootness argument (which was based on the
fact that the transfer of materials had already occurred) by
pointing out that, to the extent that attorneys who had not
appeared before the grand jury continued to review materials
with which they were unfamiliar, “the veil of secrecy is lifted
higher.” The Ninth Circuit’s words (“have already been
disclosed”) correctly treat the disclosure as having occurred
when the materials were made available to the Civil Division,
not when they were read sometime later.

26

sion attorneys involved in this civil suit participated
in the grand jury proceedings and were given access
at that time to the grand jury materials. The grand
jury materials were therefore “disclosed” to these
- attorneys when they participated in the grand jury’s
proceedings.” Their continued use of these materials
does not involve a “disclosure” unless they reveal
them to someone else. Otherwise, nothing “is made
known or public * * * [that was] previously held close
or secret” because the government attorney was al-
ready a party to the secret.

2 The basis of a government attorney’s right to continue
to use documents in civil proceedings is, of course, his prior
lawful access to those documents under paragraph (3) (A) (i)
of Rule 6(e). We do not mean to suggest that mere knowledge
of information contained in a document entitles anyone to
obtain the document itself without a Rule 6(e) order. The
clearest example of this point is the well settled rule that a
witness is not entitled to a copy of his grand jury testimony
on demand, even though he obviously was present in the grand
jury room during the receipt of evidence, since a rule of
automatic access would expose grand jury witnesses to poten-
tial intimidation. See Executive Securities Corp. v. Doe, 702
F.2d 406, 408-409 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 818
(1983) ; United States v. Clavey, 565 F.2d 111, 114 (7th Cir.
1977), vacated, 578 F.2d 1219 (1978) (en banc), cert. denied,
439 U.S. 954 (1979); In re Bianchi, 542 F.2d 98, 100 (1st
Cir. 1976); Bast v. United States, 542 F.2d 898, 896 (4th
Cir. 1976) ; United States v. Fitch, 472 F.2d 548, 549 & n.6
(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 412 U.S. 954 (1973); In re Bottari,
453 F.2d 370, 371 (1st Cir. 1972); Valenti v. United States
Department of Justice, 5038 F. Supp. 230, 233-234 (E.D. La.
1980) ; In re Grand Jury Witness Subpoenas, 370 F. Supp.
1282 (S.D. Fla. 1974) ; In re Alvarez, 351 F. Supp. 1089 (S.D.
Cal. 1972); In re Grand Jury Proceedings, 73 F.R.D. 647
(M.D. Fla. 1977); 1 C. Wright, Federal Practice and Proce-
dure: Criminal § 106, at 247 (2d ed. 1982). Contra, In re
Minkoff, 349 F. Supp. 154 (D.R.I. 1972); In re Russo, 53
F.R.D. 564, 568-573 (C.D. Cal. 1971).

27

Nor does it make sense to treat an attorney’s re-
view of materials previously disclosed to him as a
“disclosure.” Obviously, an attorney can make “con-
tinued use” of any information that he learned and
committed to memory while participating in grand
jury proceedings, because his later recollection does
not involve a further “disclosure.” It would make
no sense to treat his equally private act of reviewing
the same information in written form as a “disclo-
sure.”

Rule 6 implements the principle that grand jury
proceedings should remain secret in two related ways.
First, Rule 6(d) identifies and limits the persons who
may be present before the grand jury while it is in
session. Second, Rule 6(e)(2) prohibits those per-
sons (except witnesses) and some others from disclos-
ing “matters occurring before the grand jury.” The
text of Rule 6 thus indicates that secrecy is breached
when a disclosure of matters occurring before the
grand jury is made to a person who did not have
lawful access to the grand jury proceedings. That
is not what is involved here. The government attor-
neys who participated in the grand jury investiga-
tion were in the grand jury room and were also
aware of the “matters” that occurred before the grand
jury. Their subsequent review of grand jury docu-
ments and testimony therefore does not expand the
scope of their initial, lawful use of grand jury mate-
rials and thus does not breach the secrecy concerns
underlying Rule 6(e).

*1 See United States v. Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., 785
F.2d at 212: “We do not believe that an attorney’s recollec-
tion of facts learned from his prior grand jury participation
can be considered [a] disclosure” within the meaning of
Rule 6(e).

28

C. The History Of Rule 6(e)

Given the clear meaning of the term “disclosure”
in Rule 6(e), only the most extraordinary showing of
a contrary legislative intent would justify departing
from the “plain meaning” of that term. See United
States v. James, No. 85-434 (July 2, 1986), slip op.
8; Consumer Product Safety Commission v. GTE Syl-
vania, 447 U.S. 102, 108 (1980). The history of Rule
6(e), however, does not contradict the import of its
plain language.

It has been the longstanding position of the Depart-
ment of Justice that if a grand jury investigation is
closed, the attorneys who participated in the grand
jury proceedings may, without obtaining a court or-
der, review grand jury matérials, to which they have
had prior access, when they consider and prepare a
subsequent civil suit.” This Court’s awareness of the
government’s practice was clearly reflected in its opin-
ion in United States v. Procter & Gamble Co., 356
U.S. 677 (1958), in which the Court noted, without
criticism, that “the Government is using the grand
jury transcript to prepare the case for trial.” Jd. at
678.% Since Procter & Gamble, the Rule has been re-
peatedly amended without any indication of congres-

22 See Sells, 463 U.S. at 455-460 (Burger, C.J., dissenting).

2% In Procter & Gamble, the Court held that the defendants
in a civil antitrust suit brought by the government must
demonstrate a particularized need to obtain grand jury mate-
rial for use in the suit. The Court also ruled that the govern-
ment may not initiate grand jury proceedings solely for the
purpose of advancing a civil investigation. 356 U.S. at 683-
684. The Court did not, however, disapprove the government’s
civil.use of grand jury materials where the grand jury was
used “for strictly criminal purposes” (Sells, 463 U.S. at 434
n.19). See Procter & Gamble, 356 U.S. at 6838-684.

sional disagreement with the Department’s practice.
Neither the advisory committee notes to the subse-
quent amendments to Rule 6(e)* nor the legislative
history of the 1977 congressional revisions of the
Rule * indicates any congressional perception that the
Department’s practice threatens grand jury secrecy
or otherwise violates Rule 6(e).

D. The Policies Underlying Rule 6(e)

The court of appeals reviewed the policy considera-
tions underlying this Court’s decision in Sells. Its
overall conclusion’was that “we might be tempted to
conclude that the antitrust division need not seek a
rule 6(e) order to use grand jury material to liitgate
this civil action. But, however minimal the threat
here, * * * the reluctance imposed on us from above
forces us to reinforce the principle of grand jury
secrecy” (Pet. App. 16a-17a). A review of the policy
considerations demonstrates, however, that the threat
posed by continued use of grand jury materials, in
the civil phase of a dispute, by an attorney who par-
ticipated in the grand jury proceedings is indeed

** See Notes of Advisory Committee on Rules (1966 Amend-
ment), 18 U.S.C. App. at 568, Notes of Advisory Committee
on Rules (1977 Amendment), 18 U.S.C. App. at 569; Notes
of Advisory Committee on Rules (1979 Amendment), 18
U.S.C. App. at 570-572; Notes of Advisory Committee (1988
Amendment), 18 U.S.C. (Supp. I) App. at 446-448; Notes of
Advisory Committee (1985 Amendment), 18 U.S.C.A. Rule
6, at 79-80 (West 1986).

*° See S. Rep. 95-354, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977); H.R.
Rep. 95-195, 95th Cong., 1st Sess. (1977) ; 128 Cong. Rec.
11108-11112 (1977) (House debate); id. at 24641-24642

(Senate debate) ; id. at 25193-25196 (House debate on Sen-
ate amendments).

ee

“minimal,” and certainly is not sufficient to overcome
the plain meaning of the rule and the importance of
such continued use to the effective enforcement of
federal law in cases with both criminal and civil
phases.

1. Secrecy

The most important purpose of Rule 6(e) is, of
course, to preserve the secrecy of grand jury proceed-
ings themselves. The Court has often recognized that
Rule 6(e) codifies an important, deeply-rooted policy,
stemming from the common law, that grand jury pro-
ceedings should remain secret in order to enable the
grand jury to perform its integral role in the criminal
process. See Sells, 463 U.S. at 423-425; Illinois v.
Abbott & Associates, Inc., 460 U.S. 557, 566-567 n.11,
572-573 (1983); Douglas Oil Co. v. Petrol Stops
Northwest, 441 U.S. 211, 218-219 & n.9, 222 (1979) ;
United States v. Procter & Gamble Co., 356 U.S. at
681-682 & n.6 (quoting United States v. Rose, 215
F.2d 617, 628-629 (3d Cir. 1954)). Many of the
most important reasons for maintaining grand jury
secrecy are no longer applicable when (as in any case
presenting this question) the grand jury proceedings
are over and the dispute is in its “civil phase,” and
when it is the government, rather than a private
party, that seeks access to the materials.” But secrecy
remains the primary purpose of the Rule.

2¢ In such « ‘es, there is no reason to fear that disclosure
will hamper the operation of the grand jury, aliow a suspect
to flee, or facilitate tampering with grand jury witnesses or
with the grand jurors themselves. Witnesses will also have
no reason to fear that they will be subject to intimidation or
retaliation because of their testimony before the grand jury.
See Abbott, 460 U.S. at 566-567 n.11; Douglas Oil, 441 U.S.
at 222; 8 J. Wigmore, Evidence in Trials at Common Law
§ 2360, at 734-735 (McNaughton rev. ed. 1961) ; 1 C. Wright,

81

The court of appeals was, appropriately, uncon-
cerned about continued use of grand jury materials
by the government attorneys themselves: “ [ijf it
only involved continued access by those antitrust divi-
sion attorneys who actually carried out the grand
jury investigation here, then the disclosure would
admittedly be limited” (Pet. App. 15a). Since such
continued use involves no increase in the number of
persons with access to the materials, even this modest
statement exaggerates the threat. The court of ap-
peals was, however, concerned about the risk of an
illegal or inadvertent disclosure of grand jury ma-
terials by paralegal and clerical support personnel as-
sisting the Antitrust Division’s attorneys in handling
such materials (id. at 15a-16a). The court said that
allowing such personnel to handle grand jury materials
would substantially increase the risk of an illegal or
inadvertent disclosure to others (id. at 16a).”

Federal Practice and Procedure: Criminal § 106, at 244 (2d
ed. 1982) ; see also Dennis v. United States, 384 U.S. 855, 872
n.19 (1966) ; cf. United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310
U.S. 150, 283-234 (1940).

**The court of appeals also believed that under Rule
6(e) (3) (A) (ii) such support personnel could not handle
grand jury materials in connection with a civil case without a
Rule 6(e) order. If the court of appeals were correct, the role
of support personnel would provide no argument whatever
for denying continued use by attorneys: support personnel
could not handle grand jury materials unless authorized by a
court order. We believe, however, that a paralegal or secre-
tary may handle materials that have been disclosed to the
supervising attorney, under his or her supervision, without a
court order, and that paragraph (3) (A) (ii), added in 1977,
addresses quite a different problem.

Rule 6(e) (3) (A) (ii) provides that disclosures otherwise
prohibited by Rule 6(e) may be made to “such government

But the court’s speculation about additional risk of
disclosure by paralegal or clerical personnel is un-
founded. If, as will presumably be the case, the
paralegal or secretary worked with the attorney
in the grand jury proceedings, no disclosure to
any new person occurs when he or she continues to
assist in a later civil investigation. The risk of dis-
closure by such a paralegal or secretary (which would
be punishable as contempt) is no greater than it
would be if there were a criminal prosecution, where
such support personnel are permitted to continue to
handle grand jury materials to which the supervising
attorney has access. And the possibility of an occa-
sional change in the identity of such personnel does
not materially change the practical risk. In the anal-

personnel (including personnel of a state or subdivision of a
state) as are deemed necessary by an attorney for the govern-
ment to assist an attorney for the government in the perform-
ance of such attorney’s duty to enforce federal criminal law.”
See page 2, supra. As this Court noted in Sells, this amend-
ment was necessary “because Justice Department attorneys
found that they often needed advice from outside personnel—
not only investigators from the Federal Bureau of Investiga-
tion, IRS, and other law enforcement agencies, but also
accountants, handwriting experts, and other persons with
special skills.” 463 U.S. at 4836 (emphasis added). The ad-
visory committee notes and congressional reports to Rule
6(e) (3) (A) (ii) show that it was adopted to permit attorneys
to reveal grand jury materials to assistants such as auditors,
investigators, or attorneys from federal agencies. See 18
U.S.C. App. at 566, 569-570; S. Rep. 95-354, supra, at 6-7;
H.R. Rep. 95-195, supra, at 3-4. There is no hint in the legisla-
tive history that this subsection of the Rule was necessary or
designed to allow secretaries, paralegals, or similar support
personnel to handle grand jury materials. The court of
appeals therefore erred in concluding that the disclosure of
grand jury materials to such persons would violate Rule
6 (e) (3) (A) (ii).

33

ogous situation of the attorney-client privilege, a
lawyer’s secretary and support staff are universally
(and sensibly) viewed as a necessary extension of
the attorney, and the communication of a client’s con-
fidences to such persons therefore does not destroy
the privilege.** The need of attorneys to rely on secre-
tarial and paralegal support should not have caused
the court of appeals to abandon the sensible rule that
an attorney to whom materials have been disclosed
may continue to use them in the civil phase of the
dispute.

The court of appeals also mentioned briefly the risk
that the possibility of use of grand jury materials by
the same government attorneys in civil litigation
might have a chilling effect on the willingness ef
grand jury witnesses to testify candidly (Pet. App.
16a; see Sells, 463 U.S. at 432). That risk, however,
seems negligible: a witness not “chilled” by the risk
that his testimony might be disclosed under the
Jencks Act, 18 U.S.C. 3500,” or a Rule 6(e) order,
or the risk that a prosecutor with a good memory
could rely on his recollection of that testimony in

8 See, e.g., United States v. Kovel, 296 F.2d 918, 921 (2d
Cir. 1961) ; Burlington Industries v. Exxon Corp., 65 F.R.D.
26, 40 (D. Md. 1974); Zenith Radio Corp. v. RCA, 121
F. Supp. 792, 794 (D. Del. 1954) ; People v. Williams, 97 Ill.
2d 252, 454 N.E.2d 220 (1988); Taylor v. Taylor, 179 Ga.
691, 177 S.E. 582 (1934); State v. Krich, 128 N.J.L. 519, 9
A.2d 803 (1939) ; 2 D. Louisell & C. Mueller, Federal-Evidence
§ 209, at 754 (1985); C. McCormick, Evidence § 91, at 218
(3d ed. 1984); 2 J. Weinstein & M. Berger, Weinstein’s
Evidence { 503 (a) (3) [01], at 508-524 (1985) ; 8 J. Wigmore,
supra, § 2301, at 583.

* The Jencks Act allows disclosure of the testimony of

witnesses before the grand jury to criminal defendants for
use at trial.

34

preparing a later civil suit, or the risk that the same
testimony could be compelled under the Antitrust
Civil Process Act, 15 U.S.C, 1311-1314, is unlikely to
be chilled by the modest additional risk that the same
attorneys may continue to use grand jury materials
in the civil phase of a dispute. We recognize that, in
Sells, the Court gave some weight to the possible chill-
ing effect of this additional use of the material; we
respectfully suggest that any slight additional risk
of chilM’may be present in a “continued use” case,
where the civil use may only be made by the same
attorneys, simply cannot outweigh the benefits to the
enforcement of federal law in civil proceedings.
Grand jury secrecy is undeniably important, but its
importance does not justify extending the reach of
Rule 6(e) beyond what Congress intended merely to
“reinforce” (Pet. App. 17a) the purposes that the
Rule serves. As this Court recently noted, the “[a]p-
plication of ‘broad purposes’ of legislation at the ex-
pense of specific provisions ignores the complexity of
the problems Congress is called upon to address.”
Board of Governors v. Dimension Financial Corp.,
No. 84-1274 (Jan. 22, 1986), slip op. 12. Sells was
not a mandate to expand the scope of Rule 6(e) to
reinforce in some unspecified way the principle of
grand jury secrecy. This Court has never “exalt[ed]
the principle of secrecy for secrecy’s sake” in grand
jury cases (Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co. v. United
States, 360 U.S. 395, 407 (1959) (Brennan, J., dis-
senting) ). Continuing access by a limited number of

% See 463 U.S. at 482 (noting that if automatic disclosure
were allowed, grand jury testimony would be “routinely avail-
able” for use in civil suits, thus “render[ing] considerably
more concrete the threat to the willingness of witnesses to
come forward and to testify fully and candidly”).

—s es

35

attorneys who assisted a grand jury in its investiga-
tion presents no serious threat to the interests safe-
guarded by grand jury secrecy. In stating that the
“reluctance imposed on us from above forces us to
reinforce the principle of grand jury secrecy” (Pet.
App. 17a) by requiring the Antitrust Division attor-
neys in this case to obtain a Rule 6(e) order, the
court of appeals misread Sells and exalted the prin-
ciple of secrecy for secrecy’s sake.

2. Integrity of the grand jury

In Sells, this Court also identified as policy con-
cerns underlying Rule 6(e) the need to protect the
integrity of the grand jury against misuse as a civil
investigative device and the need to prevent circum-
vention of limitations on civil discovery. See 463
U.S. at 432-434. The court of appeals found that
those considerations were inapplicable in this case,
saying “we do not view either of the last two prob-
lems in Sells as reasons to require a Rule 6(e) order
here.” This ruling was correct.

The premise for allowing the attorneys who par-
ticipated in grand jury proceedings to continue to use
grand jury materials in the civil phase of a dispute
is, of course, that the grand jury was convened and
used solely for bona fide criminal investigative pur-
poses. No one questions the bona fides of the grand
jury investigation in this case.

As the court of appeals recognized (see Pet.
App. 9a), the Antitrust Division has extensive pre-
complaint discovery powers under the Antitrust Civil
Process Act (ACPA), 15 U.S.C. 1311-1314. See As-
sociated Container Transp. (Australia), Ltd. v.
United States, 705 F.2d 53 (2d Cir. 1983). These
powers eliminate any need, and therefore any incen-

36

tive, to abuse the grand jury process to generate evi-
dence for a civil suit. The ACPA empowers the Anti-
trust Division, before a civil complaint is filed, to de-
mand documentary evidence (15 U.S.C. 1312(b) (2)),
answers to written interrogatories (15 U.S.C. 1312
(b) (3)), or oral testimony (15 U.S.C. 1312(b) (4)),
of “any person” who may “have any information[]
relevant to a civil antitrust investigation” (15 U.S.C.
1312(a)). The statute provides for nationwide serv-
ice of process (15 U.S.C. 1312(d)(2)), and recalci-
trant witnesses may be compelled to testify (15 U.S.C.
1312(i) (7) (B)). Conducting a grand jury investiga-
tion, in our experience, involves considerably more ef-
fort and expense than civil discovery under the
ACPA. The court of appeals was therefore correct in
concluding that the Antitrust Division would “gain
little by instigating a grand jury investigation for
the purpose of gathering evidence for a civil proceed-
ing, when it could gather that same information”
under the ACPA (Pet. App. 14a).

Even in cases not involving the Antitrust Division
there is no reason to fear abuse of the grand jury
process." In a “cgntinuing use” case, the fear ex-
pressed in Sells (463 U.S. at 431-432) that one set of
attorneys might use the grand jury to compile “a
storehouse of evidence” so that their “colleagues
would be free to use the materials generated * * *
for a civil cause,” simply does not apply. The attor-
neys participating in the grand proceedings have no
such incentive because any future civil use is limited
to refreshing their own memories (without disclo-
sure) if they happen to be assigned to the civil case.

*1 The Court said in Sells, 463 U.S. at 482, “[wle do not
mean to impugn the professional characters of Justice Depart-
ment lawyers in general.”

37

If the same attorneys do conduct the civil case they
can be held responsible for their own good faith in
conducting the prior grand jury proceedings. And if
there is a basis for challenge to the bona fides of the
grand jury proceedings, the attorneys responsible for
those proceedings are, by hypothesis, immediately
available to be called on to respond in the civil case.”

*2 The question may be asked why Rule 6(e) orders should
be dispensed with in “continued use” cases rather than merely
granted, after hearing, under a standard that takes apnpro-
priate account of the burdens of duplicative discovery. There
are four answers. First, of course, the plain meaning of
Rule 6(e) simply does not require a Rule 6(e) order in these
circumstances. Second, the requirement of a Rule 6(e) order
not only imposes a substantial burden of time and effort but
also (because a case frequently cannot proceed at all until
the matter is resolved) affords defendants the means to im-
pose repeated lengthy delays by litigating the correctness of
Rule 6(e) orders that are granted and the need for Rule 6(e)
orders that are not sought; the present case, which has been
delayed more than a year by this litigation, is an excellent
example. (It should be noted that although the Second Cir-
cuit held in this case that Rule 6(e) hearings can be conducted
ex parte, other courts have said that ex parte proceedings are
disfavored: see In re Doe, 587 F. Supp. 1038, 1042 (D.R.I.
1982).) Third, even if this court were to articulate an appro-
priate standard, lower courts will of course debate, disagree,
and sometimes err in applying that standard, effectively
denying continued use in cases where it should be permitted.
Fourth, and perhaps most important, there is no function for
the Rule 6(e) hearing to perform: the question whether it is
appropriate for attorneys who have conducted grand jury
proceedings to be permitted to review grand jury materials
(without disclosure) in preparing and litigating a related
civil case is one that demands a general answer, provided by
this Court.

38

Il. THE DISTRICT COURT DID NOT ABUSE ITS DIS-
CRETION BY AUTHORIZING THE DISCLOSURE
OF GRAND JURY MATERIALS FOR THE LIMITED
PURPOSE OF ENSURING CONSISTENT EN-
FORCEMENT OF FEDERAL LAW

The court of appeals held that the district court’s
Rule 6(e) order, which permitted the Antitrust Divi-
sion to disclose grand jury materials to specified at-
torneys in the Civil Division and United States Attor-
ney’s office for limited consultative purposes, should
be vacated because the Antitrust Division had not
shown a sufficient “‘particularized need.” The court
of appeals accepted the Antitrust Division’s need to
consult and to provide detailed information in order
to do so (Pet. App. 9a), but it ruled that the Anti-
trust Division did not “need” to use grand jury ma-
terials, because it has broad precomplaint discovery
powers under the ACPA, 15 U.S.C. 1311-1314. The
court acknowledged that “a substantial amount of
additional government time and effort may be re-
quired” (Pet. App. 10a) for this duplicative dis-
covery, but it ruled that, under Sells, “such a factor
can play no part in our analysis” (ibid.). In sum, the
court ruled that whenever the government can dupli-
cate grand jury materials through civil discovery or
some other means, it may not obtain a Rule 6(e)
order. The court thus denied continued use of grand
jury materials in precisely those cases where there is
no reason whatever to do so.

The district court properly exercised its “substan-
tial discretion” (Douglas Oil, 441 U.S. at 223) in
granting the Antitrust Division’s Rule 6(e) motion.”

88 Rule 6(e) (3) (C) (i) authorizes disclosure of grand jury
materia! “preliminarily to or in connection with a judicial
proceeding” upon a s§oysng of particularized need. See

39

It permitted the Antitrust Division to make disclosure
solely for the purpose of obtaining the advice of the
Civil Division and the United States Attorney in or-
der to ensure consistent government enforcement of
the False Claims Act. Ensuring consistency in the
enforcement of federal law is surely a legitimate pur-
pose, as well as a “relevant consideration[], peculiar
to [the] Government * * * that weigh[s] for * * *
disclosure” (Sells, 463 U.S. at 445). See Abbott, 460
U.S. at 567-568 n.15. The court of appeals did not
question the government’s showing that the Civil Di-
vision could not offer the Antitrust Division meaning-
ful advice without first examining some of the grand
jury materials.“ Accordingly, disclosure for this
limited purpose clearly served “the ends of justice”
(Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. at 234).

The limited disclosure allowed by the district court’s
Rule 6(e) order also posed no material threat to any
of the interests that Rule 6(e) is meant to protect.
The grand jury proceedings had been terminated, and
the interests relevant to the protection of an ongoing
investigation, the court of appeals recognized, were
therefore irrelevant (Pet. App. 7a). The court also
recognized that limited purpose disclosure to the at-
torneys in the Civil Division and the United States

Abbott, 460 U.S. at 567 n.14 (disclosure appropriate where it
is necessary to avoid a possible injustice in another judicial
proceeding, need for disclosure outweighs the need for contin-
ued secrecy, and request is structured to cover only material
needed) ; Douglas Oil, 441 U.S. at 222 (same).

* As explained above (pages 5-6), the Antitrust Division
sought the authority to disclose grand jury materials to the
Civil Division only after its discussions with the Civil Divi-
sion not involving the use of grand jury materials had proved
fruitless. See Pet. App. 3a.

40

Attorney’s Office posed relatively little “risk of fur-
ther leakage or improper use” of the materials (ibid.
(quoting Sells, 463 U.S. at 445)). In particular, pro-
viding Civil Division attorneys with grand jury ma-
terials under a Rule 6(e) order involves no greater
risk of subsequent inadvertent or illegal disclosure
than providing the same attorneys with the same ma-
terials obtained under the ACPA. Indeed, while the
attorneys who receive such materials are required to
keep them confidential in either case (compare Rule
6(e) (2) with 15 U.S.C. 1313(c) (4) ), there may well
be less risk of inadvertent or illegal disclosure of
grand jury information than of information gathered
under the ACPA, since violation of a Rule 6(e) order
would be punishable as contempt of court. And the
court of appeals agreed that the disclosure would save
the government the substantial time and expense it
would incur if it had to recreate the materials, par-
ticularly the grand jury testimony, through the
ACPA (Pet. App. 8a). For all these reasons, the
Antitrust Division clearly demonstrated that “the
need for disclosure [was] greater than the need for
continued secrecy” (Douglas Oil, 441 U.S. at 222).

The court of appeals ruled, however, that in view
of the Antitrust Division’s civil discovery powers it
did not “need” to disclose the grand jury materials.
Pet. App. 9a-10a. It recognized the “substantial
amount of additional government time and effort”
involved in duplicating the materials, but ruled that
“such a factor can play no part” in a district court’s
decision whether to authorize the disclosure of grand
jury materials (Pet. App. 10a, citing Sells, 463 U.S.
at 431). That conclusion, however, seriously mis-
reads this Court’s decision in Sells.

41

In Sells, the Court rejected a construction of Rule
6(e) that would have permitted the disclosure of
grand jury materials without a Rule 6(e) order to
any Department of Justice attorney for use in pre-
paring a civil suit. The Court said that “saving time
and expense” did not justify dispensing with the re-
quirement of a Rule 6(e) order. 463 U.S. at 431.
But nowhere in Sells did the Court suggest that the
saving of time and expense “can play no part” (Pet.
App. 10a) in a district court’s analysis of whether a
Rule 6(e) order is appropriate in a particular case.
On the contrary, Sells expressly endorsed the disclo-
sure standard previously adopted in Douglas Oil (463
U.S. at 443-444), which Sells described as “a highly
flexible [standard], adaptable to different circum-
stances and sensitive to the fact that the require-
ments of secrecy are greater in some situations than
in others” (id. at 445). See Douglas Oil, 441 U.S.
at 223. Neither Sells nor Douglas Oil requires the
government to waste its resources in duplicative dis-
covery when the purpose of disclosure is manifestly
legitimate, there is no risk to secrecy, and there is
no other reason for compelling such duplication of
effort.”

There is no sound reason for a per se rule that
whenever the Department of Justice can duplicate
grand jury materials through civil discovery it must
do so, or forgo their use. Such a rule would fre-
quently, as in this case, hamper the government’s

%° The Court in Sells did suggest that district courts may
“take into account any alternative discovery tools available by
statute or regulation to the agency seeking disclosure” (463
U.S. at 445). But the inclusion of this point in a list of pos-
sible considerations hardly suggests a per se rule that what
can be duplicated must be duplicated.

42

efforts to enforce federal law in a consistent manner:
if the Antitrust Division must recreate grand jury
materials under the ACPA whenever it can do so,
resources that should be spent elsewhere will be need-
lessly diverted, and in many cases, resource and
time constraints will simply prevent effective civil
enforcement of the law.** That result would serve no
valid purpose, because it is in those situations where
civil discovery is capable of fully duplicating the
work of the grand jury that the reasons for nondis-
closure are least compelling. It makes no sense to
require the government to follow a roundabout
method of obtaining the same information it could
obtain directly under Rule 6(e). The only effect of
denying the Antitrust Division a Rule 6(e) order in
a case like the present is to burden the government
with needless delay and expense or to foreclose legiti-

% The Civil Division, though expert in the False Claims
Act, lacks the resources to investigate and prosecute all possi-
ble cases of fraud against the government and therefore
must rely on other Divisions and Offices—suitably advised—
for enforcement. It is particularly important, moreover, that
the Antitrust Division be able to consult with the Civil Divi-
sion regarding its enforcement practice under the False Claims
Act, because the Antitrust Division intends to enforce that
statute. vigorously in cases where the federal government
suffers a monetary loss as a result of an antitrust violation.
See D. Ginsburg, Antitrust Enforcement in the Second Term
2-8 (Nov. 8, 1985) (unpublished manuscript 19th New Eng-
land Antitrust Conference). At the same time, there is no
reason to suppose that fostering such consultation will always
result in the filing of additional False Claims Act suits. In-
deed, it may often be in a private party’s interest for the Civil
Division to be able to offer its advice, precisely because the
Civil Division is also in the best position to recommend when,
for policy reasons, a False Claims Act claim should not be
filed.

43

mate consultation and, in some cases, civil enforce-
ment.

The court of appeals stated that its decision to
vacate the Rule 6(e) order was “influenced” by the
fact that the government’s motion and the district
court’s order failed to specify the materials that
would be disclosed (Pet. App. 10a-lla). That con-
cern was misplaced. in the first place, the court of
appeals failed to take account of the inherently lim-
iting effect of the district court’s requirement that
any disclosure of grand jury materials be made solely
for the consultative purposes specified in the govern-
ment’s request.” Since nothing could be disclosed to
the Civil Division and the United States Attorney’s
Office for their: own use, or could be used by the
recipients for any purpose other than providing their
advice to the Antitrust Division, there simply was
no incentive to disclose more than the minimum
necessary for that advice to be given.”

57 The Antitrust Division’s motion made clear that the mate-
rials sought to be disclosed would not be used by the Civil
Division or the United States Attorney’s Office for a “further
investigation” (J.A. 13). The district court also specifically
stated in its order that the Civil Division was required to treat
“this information * * * as confidential” and to limit “its use
* * * solely to the purposes” for which disclosure was re-
quested and authorized (Pet. App. 23a). There is no claim.

that the Civil Division attorneys used this material for any- ~

thing other than the limited consultative purpose authorized
by the district court’s order. ‘

% The Antitrust Division’s motion sought the authority to
disclose only such internal memoranda and transcripts or
exhibits as would set forth the Antitrust Division’s view of
the evidence and enable the Civil Division to give meaningful
guidance on the application of the False Claims Act to the
conduct at issue. That material, the court of appeals seemed

44

The court of appeals also overlooked the fact that
the reason for the disclosure made impossible a com-
plete advance specification of the items to be dis-
closed. The Antitrust Division sought to obtain the
informed opinion of the Civil Division and the United
States Attorney’s office as to whether a False Claims
Act suit would be consistent with federal enforce-
ment policy. Neither the Antitrust Division nor the
district court was in a position to decide, in advance,
precisely what information would need to be disclosed
for this purpose; that would necessarily be deter-
mined, in part, in the consultative process itself. Of
course, the district court could have required the
Antitrust Division to come repeatedly to court to
identify each document or transcript that had to be
disclosed; but that formality would have served little
purpose except to increase the burden on the court
and provide opportunities for delay. Accordingly, in
light of the legitimate and limited purpose of this
disclosure request, the scope of the district court’s
order was altogether appropriate.

to acknowledge (Pet. App. lla), would involve only a smal!
portion of the grand jury materials. Indeed, out of a grand
jury record consisting of ayproximately 250,000 pages of sub-
poenaed documents and testimony by dozens of witnesses (id.
at 12a), the Antitrust Division actually disclosed to the Civil
Division approximately 350 pages of memoranda and ap-
proximately 100 pages of documents.

45

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

DOUGLAS H. GINSBURG
RICHARD K. WILLARD
Assistant Attorneys General

LoulIs R. COHEN
Deputy Solicitor General
W. STEPHEN CANNON
Deputy Assistant Attorney General
PAUL J. LARKIN, JR.
Assistant to the Solicitor General
ROBERT B. NICHOLSON
STEVE MAc ISAAC
DOUGLAS N. LETTER
ANNA SWERDEL
CAROLYN G. MARK
Attorneys

JULY 1986

® ©. 8. covmenmant reimrime orrice, 1906 491807 20265

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0104%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
