# Amicus Curiae Brief — Solorio v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0101%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 483 U.S. 435

## Text

No. 85-1581

IN THE

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED

JUL 31 1986

ANIOL, JR.
CLERK

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

RICHARD SOLORIO

Yeoman First Class, U.S. Coast Guard.
Petitioner.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

Re

On Writ Of Certiorari To The

spondent.

United States Court Of Military Appeals

BRIEF OF THE APPELLATE DEFENSE DIVISION
UNITED STATES NAVY-MARINE CORPS

APPELLATE REVIEW ACTIVITY

AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

DAVID C. LARSON
Captain, Judge
Advocate General’s
Corps (JAGC), U.S

Attorney of Record
for Amicus Curiae

SUSAN R. CORNELL

Lieutenant, JAGC

U.S. Naval Reserve

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202)

347-8203

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the United States Court of Military
Appeals has slowly expanded court-martial jurisdiction
thereby eroding the constitutional principle announced
in O'Callahan v. Parker?

2. Whether, in light of the changes in the military
justice system, the constitutional principle announced
in O’Callahan v. Parker is still valid?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......scsssssessssseresseeeeesennsnensenens i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES _ ......ccccccssccccccccsccccscssessscceses ili, IV
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS .......:cccccccccssseeceeeeseeesserenss 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......csccccssesceecesscecesccessenees 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ......cccccsecsceeseeereeeeeeees stiles 3
Lt 3

1. THE UNITED STATES COURT OF MILI-
TARY APPEALS HAS SLOWLY ERODED
THE CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLE AN-
NOUNCED IN O’CALLAHAN V. PARKER .. 3

II. THE CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLE AN-
NOUNCED IN O’CALLAHAN V. PARKER
IS STILL VALID ........ccccccseceereerereeeeeenenennenees 8

A. THE MILITARY JUSTICE SYSTEM
STILL DOES NOT PROVIDE SUFFI-
CIENT SAFEGUARDS TO WARRANT
AN EXPANSION OF COURT-MARTIAL
JURISDICTION ..........ccceeeeeseeeseeerenenenneeees 12

B. THE SACRIFICE OF OTHER CONSTI-
TUTIONAL AND STATUTORY RIGHTS
HAS ALWAYS BEEN JUSTIFIED BY
THE MILITARY’S NEED FOR DISCI-
PLINE AND ORDER. ............::scceeeeeeeeeeees 14

CORICLAIIBORE cccccococcccccsecccsccsossscssnsenenes RT ON Ra se 17

Cf eee ES la

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 304 (19838) ............ 14, 16
Goldman v. Weinberger, _. U.S. ___, 106 S.Ct.
EE 16
Murray v. Haldeman, 16 M.J. 74 (C.M.A. 1983) _... 6
O’Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258 (1969) ........ passim
Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S. 733 (1974) occ 14, 15
Relford v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355 (1971) ..... passim
Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11 (1955) eee cece lu

United States v. Alef, 3 M.J. 414 (C.M.A. 1977) .. 4

United States v. Brace, 11 M.J. 795 (C.M.A.
se ssctennsocseccees 6

United States v. Conn, 6 M.J. 351 (C.M.A. 1979) .. 5
United States v. Henderson, 18 U.S.C.M.A. 601, 40

i ccssucnsococee 5
United States v. Lockwood, 15 M.J. 1 (C.M.A.
I csecwees 6, 7
United States v. McArthur, Misc. Dkt. No. 85-11
(N.M.C.M.R. 29 Nov. 1985) oo. eeeeeeeceees 13
United States v. McCarthy, 2 M.J. 26 (C.M.A.
ES SST LT 4
United States v. McGonigal, 19 U.S.C.M.A. 94, 41
a ssecncceosocceees 5
United States v. Moore, 1 M.J. 448 (C.M.A.
IESE TOOL 4
United States v. Rojas, 15 M.J. 902 (N.M.C.M.R.
1983), aff'd, 20 M.J. 330 (C.M.A. 1985) _........ 11
United States v. Scott, 21 M.J. 345 (C.M.A.
I sceeuceceevecee 7

United States v. Shockley, 18 U.S.C.M.A. 610, 40
I sss scccnccencvcccccoce

United States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 251 (C.M.A.
Ey Ee 3,7

qr

iV

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

United States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 512 (C.G.C.M.R.

BOE vccetceececsesscsselishsbaliianbennnemnesntntaminssbnncomencnss 2
United States v. Strangstalien, 7 M.J. 255 (C.M.A.

BOTY ccececocceccnsscssncenevnsdbetnbosnnecscnsacnneatocesssooocoses 5
United States v. Trottier, 9 M.J. 337 (C.M.A.

BID ceviccccececsccccosvesncnsccnsnangncsnpnsncnmmnscsosesnensscosees 5, 6
United States v. Williams, 2 M.J. 81 (C.M.A.

TOT. cnccnscesscccictncsensncrvecscctiocisnnniensuinianbetepncesqnes 5
CONSTITUTION, STATUTES, AND RULES:
U.S. Const.:

Age, 1 OG, U6 ccccccccccccccsccccccssccccssscsvecesesessess )

ee. Fs pccciciesinnatnnnindismmnianmianetinenditns 9

De | WE... ccsccacticeertninnsttiinainsenbbisetinnnianiempiiee 9
U.S. Code:

10 U.S.C. § 801 et seg. (1982) — ........cecceceeeeeeeees 9

CB tomes F: eee 14

10 UBC. 8 GBB CIDER) — cccoccsccscesccccesccocccocsescosee 13

10 U.S.C. § 862 (Supp. II 1984) ........ceeeeeeeeeees 2

10 U.S.C. § 870 (Supp. II 1984) ..........e eee eeeeees

CRs toe) 7) | || 15

TR tm! F: 15

Rules for Courts-Martial, Manual for Courts-Martial,
United States (1984):

EE: I acinar nmananennecbnonnien seiabah ieee i3
ft i fees i a 13
Tek Se Geter Pe a Se en eT ae 14

MISCELLANEOUS:

Saltzburg, Schinasi & Schleuter, Military Rules
of Evidence Manwal (1981) ........sseeeeseeeees 13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1986

—__- ——

No. 85-1581

RICHARD SOLORIO
Yeoman First Class, U.S. Coast Guard,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States
Court Of Military Appeals

BRIEF OF THE APPELLATE DEFENSE DIVISION
UNITED STATES NAVY-MARINE CORPS
APPELLATE REVIEW ACTIVITY
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Petitioner and Respondent have consented to the sub-
mission of this amicus curiae brief by the Appellate
Defense Division. Copies of the consents have been
filed with the Court.

INTEREST OF THE APPELLATE DEFENSE
DIVISION

The Appellate Defense Division represents con-
victed members of the Naval Service before the U.S.

Navy-Marine Corps Court of Military Review, the US.
Court of Military Appeals and the U.S. Supreme
Court. This representation is provided for by Article
70, Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. § 870
(Supp. IIT 1984).

The Appellate Defense Division is the principal
source of representation for all Navy and Marine
Corps members convicted by court-martial and sen-
tenced to a punitive discharge or more than one year’s
confinement. The decision of the court below is an
unprecedented and unconstitutional expansion of
court-martial jurisdiction. If allowed to stand, that
decision will have an adverse impact on Navy and
Marine Corps personnel by depriving them of the fun-
damental rights available in civilian courts.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts are cogently and completely set out in
the petition. Essentially, petitioner was charged with
committing various sex offenses with two young girls.
Some of the alleged offenses occurred while petitioner
was stationed in Juneau, Alaska, while the others
allegedly occurred after petitioner was transferred to
Governors Island, New York. The court-martial was
convened at Governors Island. At trial the defense
successfully moved to dismiss the Alaska based
charges for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. The
Government appealed pursuant to Article 62, Jniform
Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. § 862 (Supp. II
1984). The U.S. Coast Guard Court of Military Review
reversed the military judge’s ruling. United States v.
Solorio, 21 M.J. 512 (C.G.C.M.R. 1985). Petitioner
appealed to the U.S. Court of Military Appeals which
affirmed the lower court’s decision. United States v.

— — A ee
— —_— —_——

Solorio, 21 M.J. 251 (C.M.A. 1986). Petitioner was
subsequently convicted of eight offenses committed in
Alaska.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In O'Callahan v. Parker the Court announced the
constitutional principle that court-martial jurisdiction
must be limited to those cases which are service-con-
nected. In recent years, the U.S. Court of Military
Appeals has eroded that principle by basing jurisdic-
tion on the type of offense involved, rather than on
a case by case analysis. Because the sacrifice of con-
stitutional rights can only be justified by an overriding
interest in maintaining discipline and order, the mil-
itary should still be required to show that each in-
dividual case is service-connected before exercising
jurisdiction.

ARGUMENT

I. THE UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY
APPEALS HAS SLOWLY ERODED THE CONSTI-
TUTIONAL PRINCIPLE ANNOUNCED IN O’CAL-
LAHAN V. PARKER.

In O'Callahan v. Parker, 395 U.S. 258 (1969), this
Court first set forth the service-connection test for
determining court-martial jurisdiction. The Court bal-
anced the constitutional rights of trial by jury and
indictment by grand jury with the military’s need for
discipline and obedience. Because courts-martial do
not provide those constitutional safeguards, their ju-

risdiction can extend only to those offenses which are
service-connected. Jd. at 261.’

In Relford v. Commandant, 401 U.S. 355 (1971),
this Court applied the service-connection test. The
Relford Court applied several factors to the facts and
determined that the offenses were service-connected.’

Following the O’Callahan and Relford decisions, the
U.S. Court of Military Appeals began a strict appli-
cation of the service-connection test. United States v.
Moore, 1 M.J. 448 (C.M.A. 1976). The court frequently
relied upon the factors enunciated in O’Callahan and
Relford in ruling on subject-matter jurisdiction issues.
United States v. Alef, 3 M.J. 414 (C.M.A. 1977); United
States v. McCarthy, 2 M.J. 26 (C.M.A. 1976). Appli-

!The O'Callahan Court considered the following factors in
determining whether O’Callahan’s offenses were service-con-
nected: his proper absence from the base, the commission of the
offenses off base, the civilian status of the victim, the absence
of military control over the location of the offenses and the
availability of civilian courts to prosecute. O'Callahan at 273.

2 The Relford Court enunciated the following factors: 1) the
serviceman’s proper absence from the base; 2) the crime’s com-
mission away from the base; 3) its commission at a place not
under military control; 4) its commission within our territorial
limits and not in an occupied zone of a foreign country; 5) its
commission in peacetime and its being unrelated to authority
stemming from the war power; 6) the absence of any connection
between the defendant’s military duties and the crime; 7) the
victim’s not being engaged in the performance of any duty re-
lating to the military; 8) the presence and availability of a civilian
court in which the case can be prosecuted; 9) the absence of
any flouting of military authority; 10) the absence of any threat
to a military post; 11) the absence of any violation of military
property; 12) the offense’s being among those traditionally pros-
ecuted in civilian courts. Relford at 356.

cations of those factors resulted in determinations that
many offenses were not service-connected.*

In United States v. Trottier, 9 M.J. 337 (C.M.A.
1980), the Court of Military Appeals departed from
its strict adherence to the O’Callahan-Relford factors.
Instead of applying the principle announced in O’Cal-
lahan to the specific facts of the case, the court based
its ruling on the type of offense involved. Trottier
was convicted of three offenses involving the sale of
narcotics. Two of the offenses took place off base.
Trottier at 337. In ruling that all of the offenses were
service-connected the court concentrated on the mil-
itary’s drug problems and the need for maintaining
a drug free military environment. Jd. at 345-350. That
need is so great, the court concluded, that ‘‘very few
drug involvements of a service person will not be
service-connected.”” Jd. at 351. The court identified
two drug related offenses which might not be service-
connected:

[I]t would not appear that use of marijuana
by a service person on a lengthy period of
leave away from the military community

* 3. See United States v. Strangstalien, 2 M.J. 81 (C.M.A. 1979)
and United States v. Williams, 2 M.J. 81 (C.M.A. 1976) (off base
drug offenses held not service-connected after application of
O’Callahan-Relford factors); United States v. Conn, 6 M.J. 351
(C.M.A. 1979) (off base use of marijuana by an officer, in the
presence of enlisted members under his command, not service-
connected). See also United States v. McGonigal, 19 U.S.C.M.A.
94, 41 C.M.R. 94 (1969); United States v. Shockley, 18 U.S.C.M.A.
610, 40 C.M.R. 322 (1969); United States v. Henderson, 18
U.S.C.M.A. 601, 40 C.M.R. 313 (1969) (all holding that off base
sex offenses against military dependents were not service-con-
nected).

would have such an effect on the military as
to warrant the invocation of a claim of spe-
cial military interest and significance ade-
quate to support court-martial jurisdiction
under O’Callahan. Similarly, the interest of
the military in the sale of a smail amount of
a contraband substance by a military person
to a civilian for the latter’s personal use
seems attenuated.

Trottier at 350 n.28 (citations omitted).

The U.S. Court of Military Appeals subsequently
expanded court-martial jurisdiction to include the first
of the above situations. In United States v. Brace, 11
M.J. 795 (C.M.A. 1981), the court again concentrated
on the nature of the offense and held that court-
martial jurisdiction existed over an accused’s off base
use of marijuana 275 miles from his duty station.
Finally, in Murray ~ Yaldeman, 16 M.J. 74 (C.M.A.
1983), the court held that if a servicemember returns
to a military installation subject to any physiological
or psychological effects of a controlled substance, then
the use of that drug, regardless of the duration of
the absence or the location of the use, is service-
connected. Thus, the lower court has essentially made
any drug offense punishable by court-martial, in total
disregard of the O’Callahan-Relford mandate to de-
termine military jurisdiction based on the specific facts
of each case.

In United States v. Lockwood, 15 M.J. 1 (C.M.A.
1983), the court once again departed from a strict
application of the O’Callahan-Relford test. Rather, the
Lockwood court created its own factors in determining

2A

ee
$$

that an off base forgery and larceny were service-
connected.‘

In United States v. Scott, 21 M.J. 345 (C.M.A. 1986),
the court included the accused’s status as an officer
as a factor in determining that an off base offense
was service-connected. While Chief Judge Everett,
writing for the court, stopped short of holding that
all officer misconduct is service-connected, Judge Cox
in his concurring opinion stated that officer miscon-
duct is always service-connected. Jd. at 347 and 350.
Just as Trottier created a nearly per se rule regarding
drug offenses, the Scott decision creates nearly au-
tomatic subject matter jurisdiction if the accused is
an officer.

Finally, in United States v. Solorio, 21 M.J. 251
(C.M.A. 1986), the court has created automatic subject
matter jurisdiction for a third category of cases: sex
offenses against dependent children. Solorio at 256.
This continuing trend of the lower court to make the
service-connection test applicable to ‘‘types’’ of offen-
ses rather than applying the O’Caliahan-Relford anal-
ysis must stop. By categorizing military cases and
creating per se rules of subject matter jurisdiction the
lower court has slowly circumvented the O’Callahan
Court’s constitutional principle that military jurisdic-
tion should be limited to only those offenses that are
service-connected. Furthermore, the Lockwood court’s
reliance on damage to the military’s reputation has

‘The Lockwood court considered such factors as: the adverse
impact off base crimes have on morale, readiness and the mil-
itary’s reputation in the civilian community, the use of a Gov-
ernment identification card during the offenses and the military’s
policy of trying all known offenses at a single trial. Lockwood
at 9-10.

the potential to make any offense service-connected.
Theoretically, any offense committed by a service-
member off base lowers the military’s esteem. The
lesson of O’Callahan and Relford is that the deter-
mination of what cases may or may not be service-
connected must be made on a case by case analysis.
By holding that drug offenses, sex offenses against
dependent children, offenses committed by officers
and offenses that lower the military’s esteem are au-
tomatically service-connected, the lower court has ac-
tually expanded court-martial jurisdiction, thereby
eroding the constitutional principle that military ju-
risdiction must be limited to that which is absolutely
necessary to maintain discipline and order.

Il. THE CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLE AN-
NOUNCED IN O’CALLAHAN V. PARKER IS
§..LL VALID.

The fifth amendment of the Constitution provides:

No person shall be held to answer for a
capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless
on a presentment or indictment of a Grand
Jury, except in cases arising in the land er
naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual
service in time of War or public danger; nor
shall any person be subject for the same off-
ence to be twice put in jeopardy of l'fe or
limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal
ease to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without
due process of law; nor shall privace property
be taken for public use, without just com-
pensation.

a

emenns ee ae ee nt a

U.S. Const. amend. V. In addition, the sixth amend-
ment provides that “In all criminal prosecutions, the
accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public
trial, by an impartial jury of the state and district
wherein the crime shall have been committed... .”
U.S. Const. amend. VI. The Constitution gives Con-
gress the power “to make Rules for the Government
and Regulation of the land and naval Forces.’”’ U.S.
Const. art. I, §8, cl. 14. Pursuant to that authority,
Congress has enacted the Uniform Code of Military
Justice, 10 U.S.C. § 801 et seg. (1982), which estab-
lishes a system of courts-martial. This system, how-
ever, does not provide the constitutional protections
available in civilian courts. O’Callahan v. Parker, 395
U.S. 258, 262 (1969).

O’Callahan was an Army corporal convicted by
court-martial of various sex offenses committed off
base in a leave status. The victim was a civilian with
no military connections. O’Callahan filed a petition
for a writ of habeas corpus arguing that the court-
martial iacked jurisdiction to try him. In holding that
the military was without jurisdiction, the O’Callahan
Court balanced the constitutional rights protected by
civilian courts with the exclusion of military cases
from the fifth amendment and Congress’ authority
under article I, section 8.5 The Court concluded that
in order for the military to have jurisdiction the ac-
cused must not only be a service-member but the
offense must also be service-connected. O’Callahan at
272.

° Significantly, the framers did not exclude “persons in the
land and naval forces” from the fifth amendment’s protections
but ‘“‘cases.”’

10

In reaching its holding the Court restated what it
said in Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11 (1955), that:

We find nothing in the history or consti-
tutional treatment of military tribunals which
entitles them to rank along with Article IT]
courts as adjudicators of the guilt or inno-
cence of people charged with offenses for
which they can be deprived of their life, lib-
erty or property. Unlike courts, it 1s the pri-
mary business of armies and navies to fight
or be ready to fight wars should the occasion
arise. But trial of soldiers to maintain dis-
cipline is merely incidental to an army’s pri-
mary fighting function. To the extent that

those responsible for performance of this pri-
' mary function are diverted from it by the
necessity of trying cases, the basic fighting
purpose of armies is not served. And con-
ceding to military personnel that high degree
of honesty and sense of justice which nearly
all of them undoubtedly have, it still remains
true that military tribunals have not been
and probably never can be constituted in such
way that they can have the same kind of qual-
ifications that the Constitution has deemed
essential to fair trials of civilians in federal
courts.

Id. at 262 (emphasis added) (quoting Toth v. Quarles,
350 U.S. 11, 17 (1955)). The Court further recognized
the limitations of military courts in that:

A court-martial is tried, not by a jury of
the defendant’s peers which must decide
unanimously, but by a panel of officers em-
powered to act by a two-thirds vote.

ee

11

The presiding officer at a court-martial is
not a judge whose objectivity and independ-
ence are protected by tenure and undimin-
ishable salary and nurtured by the judicial
tradition, but is a military law officer. Sub-
stantially different rules of evidence and pro-
cedure apply in military trials. Apart from
those differences, the suggestion of the pos-
sibility of influence on the actions of the
court-martial by the officer who convenes it.
selects its members and the counsel on both
sides, and who usually has direct command
authority over its members is a pervasive one
in military law, despite strenuous efforts to
eliminate the danger.

A court-martial is not yet an independent
instrument of justice but remains to a sig-
nificant degree a specialized part of the over-
all mechanism by which military discipline is
preserved.

Id. at 263-65 (footnote omitted). Because of those
limitations and the absence of important constitutional
protections, the O'Callahan Court held that the ju-
risdiction of courts-martial must be limited to that
necessary to fulfill the military’s purpose—the main-
tenance of military readiness and discipline. Jd. at
272.

* The provision authorizing a conviction by a two-thirds vote
has recently been upheld. United States v. Rojas, 15 M.J. 902
(N.M.C.M.R. 1983), aff'd, 20 M.J. 330 (C.M.A. 1985).

12

A. THE MILITARY JUSTICE SYSTEM STILL DOES NOT
PROVIDE SUFFICIENT SAFEGUARDS TO WAR-
RANT AN EXPANSION OF COURT-MARTIAL JURIS-
DICTION.

The O’Callahan Court enumerated many deficien-
cies in the military justice system:

For instance, the Constitution does not pro-
vide life tenure for those performing judicial
functions in military trials. They are ap-
pointed by military commanders and may be
removed at will. Nor does the Constitution
protect their salaries as it does judicial sa-
laries.

O’Callahan at 263. The Court also recognized that
there is in the military system:

[T]he suggestion of possible influence on the
actions of the court-martial by the officer who
convenes it, selects its members and the
counsel on both sides, and who usually has
direct command authority over its mem-
bers. ...

Id. at 264. Although many changes have occurred in
the military justice system in the 17 years since
O’Callahan, most of the conditions set forth above
remain the same.

In 1980, the Military Rules of Evidence were pro-
mulgated. The military rules were taken in large part
from the Federal Rules of Evidence with only minor
changes.’ In addition, improvements have been made

7 The Military Rules of Evidence were adopted by the Pres-
ident on 1 September 1980. The drafter’s analysis of many of
the rules indicates that they were taken without change or mu-

13

in the quality of representation an accused receives.
The accused is entitled to an appointed licensed
attorney and may also retain a civilian attorney to
represent him. Uniform Code of Military Justice, art.
38, 10 U.S.C. § 838 (1982). In the U.S. Marine Corps,
however, the appointed counsel as well as the pros-
ecutor are assigned to the staff of the convening au-
thority. In the U.S. Navy, the defense counsel and
the prosecutor do not work for the convening au-
thority but both do work for the same person, a senior
officer in the Judge Advocate General’s Corps.* Thus,
the prosecutor and the defense counsel in the U:S.
Navy ultimately have their evaluations written by the
same person.

Military judges still do not serve under the protec-
tion of life tenure. They are appointed by and serve
at the discretion of the Judge Advocates General.
Their salaries are controlled by Congress just as are
the salaries of all military personnel.

The accused’s commanding officer, the convening
authority, is responsible for referring the charges to
court. R.C.M. 306 and 404. He also selects officers
(or at the accused’s request senior enlisted personnel)
from his own command to sit in judgment of the

tatis mutandis, from the Federal Rules of Evidence. In addition,
the Military Rules of Evidence include subjects not within the
compass of the Federal Rules. See generally Saltzburg, Schinasi
& Schleuter, Military Rules of Evidence Manual, Foreward
(1981).

* Because in the U.S. Navy trial counsel and defense counsel
work for the same command, attorneys can change roles every
several months. That creates the potential for a conflict of in-
terest. See United States v. McArthur, Misc. Dkt. No 85-11
(N.M.C.M.R. 29 Nov. 1985), Appendix A.

14

accused. R.C.M. 503. Therefore, the individuals who
compose the panel have their evaluations prepared by
the same person who originally decided that the ac-
cused should be court-martialed.°

Changes in the military justice system have resulted
in improvements in the quality of military justice.
However, many of the basic deficiencies recognized
in O’Callahan have not been improved. Furthermore,
regardless of the quantity or quality of improvements,
the court-martial system will always be fundamentally
and systemically different from the civilian criminal
justice system. For those reasons, the exercise of
court-martial jurisdiction should still be reserved for
those cases having service-connection.

B. THE SACRIFICE OF OTHER CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY RIGHTS BY SERVICE-MEMBERS HAS
ALWAYS BEEN JUSTIFIED BY THE MILITARY’S
NEED FOR DISCIPLINE AND ORDER.

Military servicemembers ‘“‘may not be stripped of
basic rights simply because they have doffed their
civilian clothes.” Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 304
(1983) (quoting Warren, The Bill of Rights and the
Military, 37 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 181, 188 (1962)). Only
when the military’s need for discipiine and order out-
weighs the interest protected, must a servicemember
surrender the right.

In Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S. 733 (1974), the Court
balanced the due process rights of the fifth amend-
ment and che first amendment’s protections of free
expression with the military’s special needs to main-

® But see Uniform Code of Military Justice, art. 37, 10 U.S.C.
§ 837 (1982) (a commanding officer is prohibited from basing a
member’s evaluation on his court-martial performance).

°
.
"
¥
:
:
i
t

-

shaiesh alla rattle ta

15

tain discipline and order. Levy, an Army captain,
challenged his conviction for violating Articles 133
and 134, Uniform Code of Military Justice,’ on the
grounds that they were unconstitutionally vague and
that they prohibited protected speech. In denying
petitioner’s claim, the Court stated that the standard
for determining constitutional vagueness is less strin-
gent when a military criminal statute is involved. Par-
ker v. Levy at 756. The Court based its holding on
the recognition that, as opposed to the goals of a
civilian community, it is the primary purpose of the
military to prepare for and fight wars. Jd. at 743.
Because of this special purpose, the military must
have the tools necessary to enforce discipline and
duty. Consequently, the individual rights of due proc-
ess must fall in light of those overriding concerns.
Id. at 744. The Court concluded that Congress may
‘legislate with greater breadth and with greater flex-
ibility when prescribing rules which govern the mil-
itary.”’ Id. at 756.

In denying Levy’s first amendment challenge, the
Court again balanced a basic constitutional right
against the military’s special needs and interests. The
Court justified the military’s suppression of Levy’s
constitutional right with the military’s “fundamental
necessity for the imposition of discipline... .” Id. at
758. Because the military must be able to command
obedience, servicemembers may not speak as freely
as civilians.

10 U.S.C. § 933 and 934 (1982). Article 133 prohibits ‘‘con-
duct unbecoming an officer and a gentleman’ while Article 134
prohibits all conduct prejudicial to good order and discipline or
of a nature to bring discredit upon the armed forces.

16

Similarly in Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296
(1983), the Court held that military members may not
sue their commanding officers for violations of con-
stitutional rights. In denying servicemembers this
right, the Court again concentrated on the military’s
mission and the need for strict obedience and disci-
pline to accomplish that mission. The Court concluded
that the “unique disciplinary structure’’ of the mili-
tary justified denying servicemembers legal recourse
for the deprivation of constitutional rights.

Most recently, in Goldman v. Weinberger, —— U.S.
___ , 106 S.Ct. 1310 (1986), the Court upheld a U.S.
Air Force regulation prohibiting the wearing of any
headgear while indoors. Goldman challenged the reg-
ulation, arguing that it prohibited religiously moti-
vated conduct protected by the first amendment. The
Court held that ‘‘to accomplish its mission the military
must foster instinctive obedience, unity, commitment,
and esprit de corps.”’ Goldman, 106 S.Ct. at 1313.
Therefore, because the regulation was necessary to
the needs of the military for discipline and order, the
first amendment right had to be sacrificed.

These precedents are consistent with O'Callahan.
They all require the armed services to point to a
legitimate military interest that must be protected in
order to justify depriving a servicemember of a basic
constitutional right. Absent that interest, there is no
justification. The legitimate military interest common
to these precedents is the need to maintain obedience,
order and discipline.

Therefore, before a servicemember can be deprived
of those rights he loses in trial by court-martial, the
military must demonstrate that trial by court-martial
is necessary to protect obedience, order and discipline,

OM

f
H

17

i.e., that the offense is truly service-connected. Fur-
thermore, O’Callahan and Relford make clear that
this demonstration of service-connection must be
based on an analysis of the facts of a specific case.
The O’Callahan Court found that placing those lim-
itations on the exercise of military jurisdiction was
fully consistent with the fifth amendment’s exclusion
of “cases arising in the land or naval forces... .”
Thus, the O’Callahan Court’s holding that cases must
be “service-connected’”’ is consistent with the fifth
amendment’s language.

CONCLUSION

The lower court has slowly eroded the constitutional
principle announced in O’Callahan. Military jurisdic-
tion is now based on the type of offense involved
rather than an analysis of the specific facts of each
individual case. The military, however, still does not
provide the basic procedural safeguards and consti-
tutional rights provided by civilian courts. This Court
should reaffirm the constitutional principle that the
military cannot force servicemembers to sacrifice their
basic constitutional rights unless the military can
demonstrate that the offense is service-connected.

18

Respectfully submitted,

Davip C. LARSON
Captain, Judge

Advocate General’s
Corps (JAGC), U.S. Navy

Attorney of Record
for Amicus Curiae

SUSAN R. CORNELL
Lieutenant, JAGC
U.S. Naval Reserve

APPENDIX

ENS IE ence pte Pek Dy ee

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES NAVY-MARINE CORPS COURT
OF MILITARY REVIEW

Mise. Dkt. No. 85-11

UNITED STATEs,

Appellant,
v.

JAMIE L. MCARTHUR
464 82 9661 Radioman Third Class (E-4) U.S. Navy,

Appellee.

GENERAL COURT-MARTIAL

OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES NAVY-
MARINE CORPS COURT OF MILITARY REVIEW
ON THE APPEAL BY THE UNITED STATES

Decided 29 November 1985

LTCOL STEPHEN MITCHELL, USMCR. Appellate Gov-
ernment Counsel

LT STEVEN P. BENSON. JAGC, USNR, Appellate Gov-
ernment Counsel

MAJ MICHAEL E. CANODE, USMC. Appellate Defense
Counsel

LT GARY K. VAN METER. JAGC, USNR, Appellate De-
fense Counsel

PER CURIAM:

This case is now before us on appeal by the Government.
A brief recitation of the proceedings to date will suffice
at this stage to provide a frame of reference; additional

2a

information will be added at the proper points in our anal-
ysis. In the course of preparing this case for trial Lieu-
tenant S, the trial defense counsel, consulted his immediate
superior, the Senior Defense Counsel (Lieutenant Com-
mander M) regarding several particular aspects of defense
strategy and problems, receiving specific advice in re-
sponse. Later, Lieutenant Commander M’s duties were
changed to Senior Trial Counsel at the same Naval Legal
Service Office. Lieutenant S, when he discussed this case
with Lieutenant Commander M, was not aware that this
reassignment would occur, and the record does not reveal
whether Lieutenant Commander M had such knowledge.
Lieutenant Commander M then performed the duties of
trial counsel in this case from its earliest stages, accu-
mulating evidence, advising the convening authority on the
charges, serving the accused, representing the Government
at the Article 32 (UCMJ) pretrial investigation, and acting
as prosecutor during ‘initial stages of the trial. Prior to
pleading the appellant moved to dismiss the Charge or, in
the alternative, to remove Lieutenant Commander M from
trial counsel duties due to disqualification resulting from
his earlier connection with the case. The military judge
denied the motion to dismiss but granted the motion to
disquality Lieutenant Commander M as trial counsel. Lieu-
tenant M then assumed duties as trial counsel. Subse-
quentlv, >owever, after further presentation of evidence
and a:yruent, the military judge announced that he was
reconsidering the earlier motion to dismiss and granted
the motion. The trial counsei then obtained a continuance
and filed the instant appeal. We have determined that this
case is within our jurisdiction as its resolution involves a
question of law. Article 62(b), UCMJ.

We see two issues for resolution: (1) Was Lieutenant
Commander M disqualified from acting as trial counsel and
(2) is dismissal warranted? In regard to grounds for dis-
qualification of counsel, Article 27(aX2) points out.
nor may any person who has acted for the defense act

‘é

3a

later in the same case for the prosecution.’’ The meaning
of the phrase “person who has acted for the defense’’ is
vital. Restricting application of the phrase to the conven-
tional attorney-client relationship appears unwarranted, as
the drafters could easily have so specified if that was their
intent; the use of a more expansive phrase instead con-
vinces us that the drafters intended to allow for a broad
range of eventualities. This less-restrictive interpretation
is echoed in the Discussion of R.C.M. 901(d), which ex-
plains that disqualification of an attorney may result merely
from “duties or actions which are inconsistent with the
role of counsel.”’

The Government has protested that liberality in con-
struction of the phrase “acted for the defense” will tor-
pedo the Naval Legal Service Office fleet. We are not
inclined to accept the Government’s alarmist assertions
that the fate of the Naval Legal Service Office concept is
at stake in this case. Such establishments have been in
operation for a lengthy period with few problems of the
present nature called to our attention, probably because
an appreciation of the potential for conflict and the ap-
plication of common sense have resulted in sound plans to
avoid the type of conflict we see here. But, this very
potential for conflict still cannot be ignored and instead
neccessitates scrupulous attention:

In the delicately bala ed system of military jus-
tice, where potential ror such situations is always
present due to regular office assignment rotation,
counsel sensitivity to this issue is particularly im-
portant. It is not enough, however, for the mil-
itary lawyer to avoid any actual conflicts of
interests, but also to avoid even the slightest ap-
pearance of impropriety.

United States v. Hannon, 19 M.J. 726, 728 (NMCMR 1984).

It is precisely this “appearance of impropriety” which
is so vividly evident in the case at hand. Although the

4a

appellant and appellee differ over many aspects of the
case, they do agree that substantial matters bearing on
the defense of appellee were discussed between Lieutenant
Commander M, as senior defense counsel, and Lieutenant
S. These included the appellee’s denial of the allegations
against her, the existence of blood in her room and a
bloody towel, steps to obtain full discovery of Naval In-
vestigative Service reports, methods to force a speedy trial,
and drug-induced hypnosis to elicit information possibly
repressed in the appellee’s memory. They further agree
that no privileged communications were revealed to Lieu-
tenant Commander M and that he did not act in bad faith
or out of improper motive in assuming as trial counsel
after conferring while Senior Defense Counsel with the
detailed defense counsel. Based on these facts we find that
Lieutenant S committed no impropriety in discussing de-
fense-related matters with Lieutenant Commander M, a
fellow defense counsel, that Lieutenant S could reasonably
believe that the information about appellee’s case shared
with Lieutenant Commander M would not be used ad-
versely to appellee, and that Lieutenant Commander M,
through these discussions, gained this information solely
by reason of his status as senior defense counsel. Once in
possession of this information Lieutenant Commander M
could not reasonably be expected to expunge it from his
memory, so he was under an obligation not to place himself
in a position of apparent conflict. Although we have found
no attorney-client relationship between Lieutenant Com-
mander M and the appellee in the normal sense, no com-
munication of privileged information from Lieutenant S to
Lieutenant Commander M, and no apparent bad faith on
the part of Lieutenant Commander M, we still have a set
of circumstances which graphically raises the potential for
conflict of interest, where an attorney comes into posses-
sion of substantial information about the defense case by
virtue of his official position and consultation with the
defense counsel, but then switches sides to prosecute the

5a

case from its outset. Moreover, we cannot ignore the ex-
hortations of United States v. Green, 5 U.S.C.M.A. 610,
18 C.M.R. 234 (1955), to resolve doubts in favor of the
accused and of United States v. Stringer, 4 U.S.C.M.A.
494, 16 C.M.R. 68 (1954), to disquality the trial counsel
where the possibility of prejudice exists, without resorting
to refined calculations as to the precise quantity of prej-
udice or its probable effect on the results of trial. See also
Discussion to R.C.M. 901(d), Manual for Courts-Martial,
1984. For these reasons we find that Lieutenant Com-
mander M “acted for the defense” and was therefore dis-
qualified from service as trial counsel.

Next we examine the military judge’s decision to dismiss
the charge. In their briefs the appellant and the appellee
have argued the doctrines of general versus specific prej-
udice. We see no need to enter this murky area of the
law. See United States v. Jerasi, 20 M.J. 719 (NMCMR
1985) (en banc); compare United States v. Green, 5
U.S.C.M.A. 610, 18 C.M.R. 234 (1955) with United States
v. Brooks, 2 M.J. 102 (C.M.A. 1977). Instead, we are con-
vinced that, as a matter of law, the military judge abused
his discretion by imposing the draconian remedy of dis-
missal, when a less drastic means of relief was available.
The issue before the military judge was not of the type
that demanded dismissal as exclusive relief, see R.C.M.
907(bX1), and the circumstances, even though serious, were
not of the egregious sort which cry out for terminal dis-
position. Rather than dismissal, the proper remedy would
balance the equities by allowing the government to con-
tinue with the proceedings but protect the appellee from
any improper influence of Lieutenant Commander M’s par-
ticipation, and the exact nature of such protection would
be determined by Lieutenant Commander M’s involvement.
Moving from general to specific, it logically follows from
Lieutenant Commander M’s disqualification at the trial it-
self that he is disqualified from participation at earlier
Stages of the case as well. This derives from the language

6a

of Article 27(aX2) which warns that someone who acts for
the defense may not ‘‘act later in the same case,’ (not
just at trial), thus imposing a flexible standard dependent
on the exact circumstances. Based on the extensive in-
volvement by Lieutenant Commander M from the earliest
stages of this case we cannot discount the possibility that
the information gleaned from his consultations with the
trial defense counsel influenced his actions, even if sub-
consciously and unintentionally. Furthermore, the same ap-
pearance of impropriety results from Lieutenant
Commander M’s involvement at whatever stage.

We therefore reverse the decision of the military judge
dismissing the charge and order that this case be returned
to the convening authority, who may either (1) dismiss the
Charge, or (2) forward the Charge to another convening
authority who shall determine if further action on the
Charge is appropriate. If alternative (2) is followed, the
following constraints shall apply: (a) The transferee con-
vening authority shall be neutral and have no prior knowl-
edge of the case; (b) The transferee convening authority
shall make an independent determination, completely free
of influence from prior proceedngs and any new proceed-
ings must commence with a new preferral of charges; (c)
The transferee convening authority may, in arriving at his
disposition, consider only matters of factual/evidentiary na-
ture and not the opinions/conclusions/work product of any
prior trial counsel in the case; (d) Any new trial counsel
shall have no access to this record, other earlier proceed-
ings in the case, or work product of the prior trial counsels
and the prior trial counsels in the case shall have abso-
lutely no further involvement with it; (e) Our intent is that
this case be treated as a new case, developed from its
earliest stages without any taint whatsoever from the prior
proceedings—all further proceedings must be governed by
this intent and doubts shall be resolved by referring to
this intent. We are aware from comments in the record
that the statute of limitations may constrain further pro-

Ta

ceedings, presenting us with the option of dismissing the
charges as a matter of judicial economy. As this matter
was not fully expounded in the record we consider the
convening authority in the best position to weigh the avail-
able alternatives and choose the fairest disposition.

/s/ John W. Kercheval IT
John W. Kercheval II, Senior
Judge

/s/Michael D. Rapp, Judge
Michael D. Rapp, Judge

See Concurring/Dissenting Opinion)

John E. Grant, Jr., Judge

8a

GRANT, Judge (concurring/dissenting):

I disagree with the majority that the relevant issues in
this case can be resolved without squarely addressing the
matter of specific versus general prejudice, and I will ad-
dress such matters below after expanding on the sum-
marization of evidence set forth in the majority opinion.

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

The original trial counsel, Lieutenant Commander M, in
his previous capacity as Senior Defense Counsel, was con-
sulted by Lieutenant S, the appellee’s former defense
counsel, in regard to the proper defense strategy to be
employed in the defense of the appellee. Lieutenant Com-
mander M did not enter into an attorney-client relationship
with the appellee, but did discuss with Lieutenant S, before
preferral of charges, the Article 32 Investigation, and re-
ferral of charges to trial, matters which included the ap-
pellee’s denial of wrongdoing and the advisability of
subjecting the appellee to hypnosis. It was conceded by
the appellee that no confidential communications related
to Lieutenant S by the appellee were disclosed to Lieu-
tenant Commander M, who subsequently was transferred
to prosecution and specifically assigned as trial counsel at
appellee’s Article 32 investigation and court-martial. The
trial judge initially denied appellee’s motion to dismiss
charges because of Lieutenant Commander M’s prior par-
ticipation as a defense consultant, but did disqualify Lieu-
tenant Commander M from acting in a prosecutorial role,
believing that any prejudice to appellee as the result of
Lieutenant Commander M’s prior relationship with Lieu-
tenant S could be headed off by removing the source of
prejudice.

Lieutenant M, was duly assigned to replace Lieutenant
Commander M as trial counsel, and the matter might have
ended there except that Lieutenant Commander M con-
tinued to operate in the background in support of the

9a

prosecution of appellee. Lieutenant M admittedly utilized
Lieutenant Commander M in an administrative capacity in
preparing for trial, although Lieutenant M denied con-
sulting with Lieutenant Commander M on strategy or in
regard to any previous discussion between Lieutenant
Commander M and Lieutenant S. To further complicate
matters, Lieutenant M was alleged to have engaged in an
ex parte conversation with the trial judge following the
relief of Lieutenant Commander M and after having sought
Lieutenant Commander M’s counsel, in regard to matters
involving the statute of limitations and the effect thereof
Should the trial judge require preferral of new charges
pursuant to a defense motion; Lieutenant Commander M
delivered a document to trial defense counsel, after his
relief, denying the defense a material witness and allegedly
misrepresented that the requested defense witness would
no longer support the defense’s position, which document
Lieutenant Commander M prepared apparently before he
was relieved as trial counsel; and finally, Lieutenant Com-
mander M, after his relief, approached the defense counsel
and requested that he agree to dispose a prospective wit-
ness.

Given these new revelations, the trial judge reconsidered
and granted appellee’s motion to dismiss. In dismissing
the charges, however, the trial judge did not address the
effect of Lieutenant Commander M’s continued partici-
pation in the trial of appellee subsequent to his relief from
duties as trial counsel, apparently because the trial judge
was content to premise his decision on general rather than
specific prejudice, citing United States v. Green, 5
U.S.C.M.A. 610, 18 C.M.R. 234 (1955), and the third prong
of Judge Fletcher’s concurring opinion, in United States
v. Brooks, 2 M.J. 102 (C.M.A. 1977). The trial judge simply
found that trial strategy was discussed in Lieutenant Com-
mander M’s conversation with Lieutenant S, when the for-
mer was a Senior Defense Counsel and the latter
represented the appellee, and as it was impossible to de-

10a

termine what subconscious use may have been made of
such conversations by the prosecution in the pretrial stages
of the court-martial, any doubt must be resolved in favor
of the appellee by dismissing the charges.

I

I do not share with the trial judge his interpretation of
the Green case, nor do I believe that the facts in the case
sub judice rise to the levei of Judge Fletcher’s third prong
application of general prejudice in Brooks. Green involved
a flagrant breach of the attorney-client relationship where
the duly assigned defense counsel provided the staff judge
advocate confidential information detrimental to his client’s
interest. In the case sub judice, Lieutenant S admittedly
did not disclose any confidential communications of the
appellee, but rather discussed trial strategy with the Sen-
ior Defense Counsel, and therefore, the extreme remedy
of dismissal based on general prejudice is not mandated
by Green. Secondly, Brooks generally stands for the prop-
osition that where privileged communications are made to
third persons outside the attorney-client relationship (The
trial defense counsel made disclosures of a confidential
nature to the military justice officer, who traditionally is
a government representative), the test to be applied for
dismissal is specific, not general, prejudice, and where an
accused is convicted, under such circumstances, the con-
viction can be affirmed if the record demonstrates that
the use made of the communication was harmless to the
accused and that the conviction was otherwise valid. Judge
Fletcher, in concurring in the result, would apply the doc-
trine of general prejudice only in three situations, namely,
(1) where the defense counsel abandons his client; (2) where
the government initiates the breach in a manner outside
permissible legal confines; and (3) where the actions of the
attorney so impregnate the proceedings as to make an
appellate determination of extent of prejudiced impossible.
In each of the three situations, according to Judge Fletcher,

lla

“the very integrity of our judicial system and the concept
of a fair trial are so violated as require this Court to
dispose with a search for prejudice.” In the case sub judice,
the trial judge makes no specific factual determinations to
support his conclusion that the actions of Lieutenant Com-
mander M were so pervasive in nature as to inherently
taint the entire proceedings and constitute prejudicial error
per se. On the contrary, the trial judge failed to assess
such actions and particularly declined to address the ef-
fects of Lieutenant Commander M’s post-relief activities
in this regard.

I cannot agree, as a matter of law, with the trial judge
that it is impossible to assess the effects of Lieutenant
Commander M’s participation in pretrial proceedings for
specific prejudice. The case file turned over to Lieutenant
M by Lieutenant Commander M could have been reviewed
and assessed for taint, and both Lieutenant Commander
M and Lieutenant M were available to testify. Lieutenant
Commander M’s subsequent activities after being relieved
as trial counsel also may be assessed for specific prejudice,
as well as his prejudicial influence, if any, in the preferral
of charges, the Article 32 investigation, and the referral
of charges to trial, upon the proper presentment of evi-
dence. The trial judge failed to address the issue of specific
prejudice, although the competent evidence of record in-
dicates that either on the motion or during the course of
the trial, there was or would have been ample opportunity
to assess the impact of Lieutenant Commander M’s artiv-
ities on the appellee’s right to confidentiality in an |
attorney-client relationship and to determine whether any |
error in this regard prejudiced the rights of the appellee
to a fair trial. The trial judge’s reliance upon the unproven,
subconscious thought processes of members of the trial
team effectively emasculates the majority opinion in United
States v. Brooks, supra, and goes far beyond Judge Fletch-
er’s third prong invoking geueral prejudice, where, re-
spectively, the trial judge did not pursue the search for

12a

specific prejudice in Lieutenant Commander M’s conduct
and the record of trial does not contain such evidence to
sustain a finding, as a matter of law, that Lieutenant
Commander M’s conduct so impregnated the proceedings
as to make impossible appellate review on the extent of
the prejudice. The teachings of Brooks would effectively
be reduced to an assessment of specific prejudice by sup-
position, unfounded in fact, in sanctioning the trial judge’s
rationale.

Accordingly, I join with the majority in reversing the
trial judge’s dismissal of the charges, where the trial judge
failed to address the issue of specific prejudice. Although
I concur with the majority that Lieutenant Commander M
was properly relieved by the trial judge from further par-
ticipation as trial counsel for the reasons indicated in the
majority opinion, I decline to adopt the further position
of the majority: (1) requiring the convening authority to
either dismiss the charges or defer to a new convening
authority for action; (2) mandating the preferral of new
charges should the new convening authority elect to pro-
ceed; and (3) imposing restrictions on the turnover of case
records to the new trial counsel which go beyond obviating
any taint occasioned by Lieutenant Commander M’s past
association with Lieutenant S and make any subsequent
prosecution of the appellee extremely difficult. I would
return the record of trial for further proceedings, where
the matter of specific prejudice may be fully assessed and
evidence of specific prejudice, if any, introduced on all
matters relating thereto, including but not necessarily lim-
ited to the circumstances under which the original charges
were preferred and referred to trial.

/s/ John E. Grant, Jr.

John E. Grant, Jr.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0101%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
