# Amicus Curiae Brief — Arkansas Writers' Project, Inc. v. Ragland

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0077%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 221

## Text

-Z | Supreme Court, U.S,
\0/ FILED
No. 85-1370 AUG 2 1986
JOSEPH F. SPANTOL, JR
CLERK
IN THE . =

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM 1985

ARKANSAS WRITERS PROJECT. INC.,

Appellant,
VS.
CHARLES D. RAGLAND, COMMISSIONER
OF REVENUE OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS.
Appellee.
On Appeal from
The Supreme Court of Arkansas
Motion for Leave to File Brief of Amici Curiae
and Brief of Amici Curiae The Miami Herald
Publishing Company and The American
Newspaper Publishers Association
RICHARD J. OVELMEN Epwarpb Soto
One Herald Plaza COUNSEL OF RECORD
Miami, Florida 33101 Southeast Financial Center
(305) 376-2868 Suite 4350
Miami, Florida 33131-2355
(305) 372-3304
LAURA BESVINICK Geracp B. Cope, Jr.
SHARPSTEIN & SHARPSTEIN, P.A. Greer, Homer, Cope & BONNER, P.A.
3043 Grand Avenue, PH | Southeast Financial Center
Coconut Grove, Florida 33133 Suite 4360
(305) 442-8100 Miami, Florida 33131
(305) 579-0060
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
[ List of counsel continued on inside cover |
i)
M.\ ‘\

Of Counsel:

W. Terry MAGUIRE
GENERAL COUNSEL

THE AMERICAN NEWSPAPER
PUBLISHERS ASSOCIATION

The Newspaper Center

11600 Sunnse Valley Drive

Reston Virginia 22091

(703) 648-1055

PARKER THOMSON

THOMSON ZEDER BOHRER WERTH
ADORNO & RAZOOK

4900 Southeast Financial Center

Miami, Florida 33131

(305) 350-7200

ATTORNEY FOR THE MIAMI HERALD
PUBLISHING COMPANY

No. 85-1370
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term 1985

ARKANSAS WRITERS PROJECT. INC..,
Appellant,

VS.

CHARLES D. RAGLAND, COMMISSIONER
OF REVENUE OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS,
Appellee.

On Appeal from
The Supreme Court of Arkansas

Motion for Leave to File
Brief of Amici Curiae

The Miami Herald Publishing Company, an unincorpo-
rated division of Knight-Ridder Inc.. and The American News-
paper Publishers Association (the “amici”) hereby respectfully
move for leave to file the attached brief of amici curiae in this
case. The consent of counsel for the appellant has been
obtained. The consent of counsel for the appellee was re-
quested but refused.

The Miami Herald Publishing Company is an unincorpo-
rated division of Knight-Ridder Inc. which publishes The
Miami Herald, a daily newspaper of general circulation
throughout the State of Florida. (Knight-Ridder Inc. is a
nationwide communications company engaging in the publica-
tion of magazines, books, and 28 daily newspapers.

ANPA is a non-profit membership corporation organized
under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. its member-
ship consists of more than 1,400 newspapers, with an aggregate

2

circulation exceeding 90% of the national total for daily and
Sunday newspapers.

The amici wouid be adversely affected if the Court upheld
the Arkansas statute at issue in this case. The amici are
particularly concerned about the suggestion made by the
Supreme Court of Arkansas that a sales tax of general appii-
cability could be imposed on newspapers.

The appellant in this case argues primarily that the Ar-
kansas statute is unconstitutional because it singles out certain
periodicals for taxation and exempts others. The appellant
makes no historical argument regarding the relationship be-
tween taxation and the First Amendment. In comparison, the
brief which the amici are requesting permission to file will
argue that a sales tax of general applicability imposed on
newspapers would violate the First Amendment. The brief of
amici will focus on the historical background and the intent of
the Framers in drafting the First Amendment.

Respectfully submitted,

Ebwarpb Soto

COUNSEL oF REcorRD
Southeast Financial Center
Suite 4350
Miami, Florida 33131-2355
(305) 372-3304

No. 85-1370

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctTosper Term 1985

ARKANSAS WRITERS PROJECT. INC.,

Appellant,
vs.
CHARLES D. RAGLAND, COMMISSIONER
OF REVENUE OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS,
Appellee.
On Appeal from
The Supreme Court of Arkansas
Brief of Amici Curiae The Miami Herald
Publishing Company and The American
Newspaper Publishers Association

RIcHARD J. OVELMEN Epwarp Soto
One Herald Plaza CouNSEL oF RecorD
Miami, Florida 33101 Southeast Financial Center
(305) 376-2868 Suite 4350

Miami, Florida 33131-2355

(305) 372-3304
Laura BeSVINICK Geraco B. Cope, Jr.
SHARPSTEIN & SHARPSTEIN, P.A. Greer, Homer, Cope & Bonner, P.A.
3043 Grand Avenue, PH |! Southeast Financial Center
Coconut Grove, Florida 33133 Suite 4360
(305) 442-8100 Miami, Florida 33131

(305) 579-0060

Attorneys for Amici Curiae
[ List of counsel continued on inside cover]

Of Counsel:

W. Terry MaGumre
Generat COUNSEL

THE AMERICAN NEWSPAPEP
PUBLISHERS ASSOCIATION

The Newspaper Center

11600 Sunrise Valley Drive

Reston, Virginia 22091

(703) 648-1055

PARKER THOMSON

THOMSON ZEDER BOHRER WERTH
Aporano & Razook

4900 Southeast Financial Center

Miami, Florida 33131

(305) 350-7200

ATTORNEY FOR THE MIAMI HERALD
PUBLISHING COMPANY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SEE EEE EEE EEE EE EEE EE EEE EEE EEE EERE EEE EEE EEE EERE EEE EEE

I. The Imposition Of Any Sales Tax On The Press
Would Be Contrary To The Intent Of The Framers
Of The First Amendment ..................ccccc0csceceeeeeeeeeeee--

The Framers Intended to Preclude Taxation
Of The Press Imposed At The Point Of Sale ...

A.

CONCLUSION

The Infamous English Stamp Acts Were
General Revenue-Raising Measures
Which Taxed Ne And Other
Goods At The Point Se Ea

The American Colonies Vehemently Op-
posed The Newspaper Tax Included In

The Stamp Act of 1765 ...............00000+. settee

The American Colonies So Opposed
Taxes On Newspaper Sales That They
Repealed All Such Duties By The Time
The Bill Of Rights Was Enacted .............
The Debates Over The Ratification Of
The Constitution Demonstrate The Fra-

mers Did Not Intend Government To
Levy Sales Taxes on Newspapers ...........

The Framers Intended The First Amendment
To Bar Any Tax Which Acted as a “Knowl-
edge Tax” Because They Considered The
— For Abusive Consequences Too

OP iid ee Re a EEE EOS.

10

12

14

"
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Branzburg v. Hayes, 408 U.S. 665 (1972) ...............
Breard v. Alexandria, 341 U.S. 622 (1951) ............
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) ................
Follett v. McCormick, 321 U.S. 573 (1944) .00.........

Giragi v. Moore, 64 P.2d 819 (Ariz.) (on re-
oo a appeal dismissed, 301 U.S. 670
€ FVD Wah caeth eeecttlbentdinletinhiinsess lichnonthadondlttinalinasints

Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 US. 233
| eatin 5 AG See aT OR ITT RTT TO Oe

Martin v. Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 (1943) ...............

Memphis Steam Laundry Cleaner, Inc. v. Stone,
S42 UB SOB GIGGR) sth ccdaccteciecstisccdsescalccaciciecceee

Minneapolis Star and Tribune Co. v. Minnesota
Commissioner of Revenue, 460 U.S. 575 ( 1983)

Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105 (1943) ......
Police Department v. hiosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972) ..
Ragland v. Arkansas Writers Project, lac., 287
Ark. 155, 697 S.W.2d 94, supplementary opin-
ion on rehearing, 287 Ark. 155, 698 S.W.2d 802
Qi OR Ra OS Re Se
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513 (1958) .................
Steinbeck v. Gerosa, 4.N.Y.2d 302, 151 N.E.2d
170, appeal dismissed, 358 U.S. 39 (1958) .........
Tampa Times Co. v. Tampa, 158 Fla. 589, 29
1047 watt appeal dismissed, 332 U.S. 749

Tully v. Griffin, Inc., 429 U.S. 68 (1976) ..........-.
Village of Scha v. Citizens for a Better

Environment, 444 U.S. 620 (1980) .....................

iW
Books:

B. Bailyn & J. Hench (eds.), The Press and the
American Revolution (1980) ......0......ccccccceccceeee
« iserye Free Speech in the United States
C. (1999) History of the Taxes on Knowledge
C. Duniway, The Development of Freedom of the
Press in Massachusetts (1906) 00.0...0........cecessesees
J. Elliot (ed.), The Debates in the Several State
Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal
IIT tistiliinsciectininiensiinsccseenthensenicseteneocsesesces
M. Farrand, The Framing of the Constitution of
the United States (1913) oo... cece cccccceceeeceees
M. Farrand, The Records of the Federal Con-
vention .......... ni atibdialadinddiaeideunbbthneraunstinshedtencleriesase
J. Gerald, The British Press Under Government
Economic Controls (1956) ..........cccccccccssceeseseocese
F. Hudson, Journalism in the United States
] TREES RO ST MONS Ll Ine,
M. Jensen, The Founding of a Nation (1968) ........
J. Levy, Judgments: Essays on American Con-
stitutional History (1972) ooo... eccceccceeceeeceee
J. Lofton, The Press as Guardian of the First
Amendment (1980) o.........cccccccccececcseeesececeeeeeeceee
J. Main, The Antifederalists (1961) ........................
T. May, Constitutional History of England (1891)
C. Miller, The Supreme Court and the Uses of
SEEDER TEEPT SER 2 caer eae een ene
D. Morgan, Retail Sales Tax (1964) ....0..0..0...........

R. Rutland, The Birth of the Bill of Rights ( 1955)

B. Schwartz (ed. ), The Bill of Rights: A Documen-
tary History (1971) 0... eeeecccseeeseeseseneeeeeeneeees

F. 1952) Freedom of the Press in England

-, iene (ed.), The Complete Antifederalist

7 ene What the Antifederalists Were For
J.B. Williams, History of English Journalism
eS GES as CR RM ce

11,12

12
8,9,10,20
12, 13

7,14,15
14
14

16

8,9,10,19
8,14,15,
16,17,18,
19

12,14,
15,18

14

iv

PERIODICALS:
Page
Schlesinger, The Colonial Newspapers and the
Stamp Act, 8 N.E.Q. 66 (1935) .o..ccccccecceeeeceeee i]

Stewart, John Lennox and the Greenock News-
clout: A Fight Against the Taxes on Knowledge,

15 Scot. Hist. Rev. 332 (1918) occ 9,10
Thompson, Massachusetts and New York Stamp

Acts, 26 Wm. & Mary Q. 257 (1969) o.oo... 12
CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES:
Laws of Florida, ch. 86-166 00...000.0.cccccccccccccececeeeeee 2
aa eta li Sil AIC 9
ae a. a ame ee .. °5,10,12
SP caee RN Bo cevinitinisnitdetili Rccentiataieidsihitenad 2, passim
MISCELLANEOUS:
All-State Sales Tax Reporter (CCH ) 9 7-025 ......... 2
State Tax Guide (CCH ) 9 60-000 00... 10

\

No. 85-1370

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term 1985

ARKANSAS WRITERS PROJECT, INC.,
Appellant,

vs.

CHARLES D. RAGLAND, COMMISSIONER
OF REVENUE OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS,
Appellee.

On Appeal from
The Supreme Court of Arkansas

Brief of Amici Curiae The Miami Herald
Publishing Company and The American
Newspaper Publishers Association

The Miami Herald Publishing Company, an unincorpo-
rated division of Knight-Ridder Inc. (““The Miami Herald”),
and The American Newspaper Publishers Association
(“ANPA”) respectfully submit this brief as amici curiae. The
amici support Appellant Arkansas Writers Project, Inc. and
urge the Court to reverse the decision of the Arkansas Supreme
Court."

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI

The Miami Herald Publishing Company is an unincorpo-
rated division of Knight-Ridder Inc. which publishes The
Miami Herald, a daily newspaper of general circulation

1 The decisions below are reported as Ragland v. Arkansas Writers
Project, Inc., 287 Ark. 155, 697 S.W.2d 94, supplementary opinion on
rehearing, 287 Ark. 155, 698 S.W.2d 802 (1985).

2

throughout the State of Florida. Knight-Ridder Inc. is a
nationwide communications company engaging in the publica-
tion of magazines, books, and 28 daily newspapers.

ANPA is a non-profit membership corporation organized
under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Its member-
ship consists of more than 1,400 newspapers, with an aggregate
circulation exceeding 90% of the national total for daily and
Sunday newspapers.

The amici would be adversely affected were the Court to
uphold a state statute which imposes a discriminatory tax
burden on certain elements of the press, or discriminates in its
incidence based on the content of the expression published.

Of special concern to the amici is the suggestion by the
Supreme Court of Arkansas that a sales tax of general appli-
cability could be imposed on newspapers.2 The Miami Herald
and ANPA have a substantial interest in explaining why sales
taxes ON newspapers are unconstitutional and why the Framers
of the First Amendment viewed them with particular alarm.?

2 The states have largely avoided attempts to raise tax revenues from
newspaper advertising and circulation sales. Only New Mexico and Hawaii
currently tax newspaper advertising sales. All-State Sales Tax Reporter
(CCH) 494 7-025.16, 7-025.36. At the time of this Court’s opinion in
Minneapolis Star and Tribune Co. v. Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue,
460 U.S. 575 ( 1983) only six states provided newspapers no exemption of any
kind from their sales taxes. Eight states presently apply their sales taxes
without modification to newspapers. All-State Sales Tax Reporter (CCH)
q 7-025.

3 At least in part due to dictum in Minneapolis Star, supra at 588 1.9,
Florida has enacted “Sunset” legislation which would automatically repeal
press-related sales tax exemptions, as wel! as other sales tax exemptions,
unless they are reenacted at the 1987 session of the Florida legislature. Ch.
86-166, Laws of Florida, 1986 Fla. Law Weekly Sess. Law Reporter 822. If
this taxation occurs, Florida newspapers would in a single year suffer a
devastating increase in their tax burden amounting to millions of dollars.

3

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Arkansas sales tax is unconstitutional as applied to
magazines or periodicals of general interest because it “singles
out a few members of the press” for taxation, and no interest
“can justify the scheme.” Minneapolis Star and Tribune Co. v.
Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue, 460 U.S. 575, 592 ( opin-
ion of the Court); id. at 593-94 ( White, J.. concurring). That
this discriminatory classification is predicated on the magazines’
content only renders it the more constitutionally infirm. See
Police Department v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 95-96 (1972);
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 518 (1958).

This Court need do no more than apply these two
fundamental constitutional principles to decide this case. The
rehearing decision of the Arkansas court, however, invites
adjudication of the larger question regarding the con-
stitutionality of a general sales tax as applied to all of the press.
This Court has suggested on several occasions, most recently in
Minneapolis Star, that “nondiscriminatory taxes on the receipts
or income of newspapers would be permissible.” /d. at 588 n.9,
589 n.12.4 However, the Court has never had this issue before
it on the merits in a case which required its resolution, nor has it

* Conceding that it relied on dictum, the Court stated, ““[O]ur cases have
consistently recognized that nondiscriminatory taxes on the receipts or income
of newspapers would be permissible,” 460 U.S. at 588 n.9, citing Branzburg v.
Hayes, 408 U.S. 665, 683 (1972); Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S.
233, 250 (1936); Follett v. McCormick, 321 U.S. 573, 578 (1944); Murdock v.
Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105, 112 (1943).

The cited cases do not address the issue of a general sales tax on
newspapers, nor is the nondiscriminatory nature of a tax controlling. To the
contrary, the Court said in Murdock, “The fact that the ordinance is
‘nondiscriminatory’ is immaterial.” 319 U.S. at 115. Murdock invalidated a
flat license tax on the exercise of rights protected by the First Amendment,
while suggesting that income or property taxation on the person who engages
in First Amendment activity would be proper. Accord, Follett v. McCormick,
321 U.S. at 577-78; see Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. at 245-50
( First Amendment bars “taxes on knowledge” whether imposed as stamp tax
on sale of newspapers, or on advertisements; owners of newspapers not
otherwise immune from ordinary forms of taxation). Finally, Branzburg, in
dictum, said “a newspaper may be subjected to nondiscriminatory forms of
general taxation,” 408 U.S. at 683, citing Grosjean and Murdock. Not only
did Branzburg not address the issue of saies taxation, but Branzburg’s reliance
on Grosjean and Murdock as authority necessarily carries the qualifications
described above.

4

decided such a case involving a sales tax on newspapers.5
More to the point, this Court has stated clearly that it would not
hesitate to invalidate any tax contrary to the imtent of the
Framers of the First Amendment “on that ground alone.” 460
U.S. at 584 n.6.

In Minneapolis Star, the Court invalidated a state use tax
which singled out for taxation components used in the produc-
tion of the state’s larger newspapers. Components used in other
industries were not subject to the use tax and small newspapers
were effectively exempted. The Court held that “[dJifferential
taxation of the press” so burdens First Amendment interests
that it is permitted only when “the State asserts a counter-
balancing interest of compelling importance that it cannot
achieve without differential taxation.” 460 U.S. at 585 (foot-
note omitted ). The Court based its holding at least in part on
the “substantial evidence that differential taxation of the press
would have troubled the Framers of the First Amendment.” /d.
at 583 (footnote omitted). While any fair reading of the
historical materials supports the Court’s conclusion, it does noi
follow that the Framers were concerned only with, or even
primarily with, differential taxation of the press. Likewise, the
simple truth that business regulations of general applicability
are usually less threatening to First Amendment interests than
discriminatory taxes does not mean the Framers believed any
or all nondiscriminatory taxes could be levied on the press.

In fact, the historical evidence reveals the Framers in-
tended the First Amendment to bar more than mere. dis-
crimination in taxation. It shows the Framers would have
found at least equally troubling any application of a general

5 The Court has on several occasions dismissed appeals from state courts
upholding state taxes on the gross receipts of businesses which did not exempt
authors or newspapers from the tax. Steinbeck v. Gerosa, 4 N.Y.2d 302, 15!
N.E.2d 170, appeal dismissed, 358 U.S. 39 (1958) (but newspapers ex-
empted); Tampa Times Co. v. Tampa, 158 Fla. 589, 29 So.2d 368, appeal
dismissed, 332 U.S. 749 ( 1947) (but legislatively overruled ); Giragi v. Moore,
64 P.2d 819 ( Ariz.) (on rehearing), appeal dismissed, 301 U.S. 670 (1937)
( gross receipts tax, not sales). Although such decisions have some preceden-
tial weight, they are not of the same force as an opinion of the Court
addressing the merits of the question. Tully v. Griffin, Inc., 429 U.S. 68, 74-75
(1976); Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651, 671 (1974). That no such holding
was required in deciding the Minneapolis Star case is shown infra at 6-7 &
n.6.

5

sales tax to newspapers. The state sales tax, as applied to
newspapers, is the contemporary analogue of the odious
eighteenth-century stamp taxes, or “knowledge taxes.” These
taxes imposed a duty on newspapers and other goods at the
point of retail sale. They were opposed not only because they
were intended to suppress expression or because they singled
out the press for discrimination. Indeed, the Stamp Act of 1765
did neither; it was a revenue-raising tax of broad applicability.
Even the first Stamp Act applied to goods other than news-
papers and served revenue-raising, as well as other, purposes.
In part, these Acts were opposed simply because they taxed the
sale of newspapers to the public. A general sales tax on
newspapers is unconstitutional because it, like the Stamp Act
taxes, is precisely the type of “knowledge tax” the Framers
intended the First Amendment to preclude.

The Framers’ opposition to direct taxes on newspaper sales
is complex and historically rooted in their deep antipathy
toward the English knowledge taxes. Their posture is not
reducible to simple abstract principles, but it may in part be
attributable to the combination of characteristics unique to such
taxes which the Framers believed rendered them too dangerous
to trust government to fairly administer.

The Framers feared the Stamp Acts because they directly
taxed the exercise of a fundamental right, the dissemination
and acquisition of knowledge. The Framers believed that just
as government may not tax prayers or speeches, it may not tax
the dissemination or acquisition of news. This is, in fact, the
central meaning of several of this Court’s more venerable First
Amendment decisions. See, e.g., Follett v. McCormick, 321
U.S. 573 (1944). |

The Framers recognized the Stamp Acts were unrelated to
the profitability of the newspapers to which they applied. Since
the tax had to be paid even when a publisher made no money,
the effect on a marginally profitable publication was to put it
out of business. This was indeed the effect of the infamous
Stamp Acts, and the Framers well knew it. They believed
government should not be granted the power to levy such taxes
because their consequence was an evil irrespective of their
intent.

oe

6

The Framers also feared stamp taxes on the press because,
in the English experience, they often served to place news-
papers beyond the means of the poor. Whether they dis-
criminated or not, flat taxes on the acquisition of news kept
newspapers out of the hands of the English lower classes. The
Framers intended to give the government no such power.

By the time the First Amendment was adopted, no state
imposed a tax on the sale of newspapers. Both Massachusetts
and New York, the only states to place taxes on newspapers,
had repealed them. This Court should adhere to the intent of
the Framers of the First Amendment by declaring that the
exemption of the press from sales taxation is constitutionally
required.

ARGUMENT

1. The Imposition Of Any Sales Tax On The Press Would
Be Contrary To The Intent Of The Framers Of The First
Amendment

There can be no doubt, and the amici express none, that
“the States and the Federal Government can subject news-
papers to generally applicable economic regulations without
creating constitutional problems.” 460 U.S. at 581 (citations
omitted). But it is equally established that when this Court
does “have evidence that a particular law would have offended
the Framers, we have not hesitated to invalidate it on that
ground alone.” /d. at 584 n.6. It is the burden of this brief to
show that the Framers of the First Amendment disapproved of
the imposition of taxes on newspapers at the point of sale.

That this historical conclusion can be generally harmo-
nized with the Court’s prior teachings on the matter, and is
certainly not foreclosed by them, can be shown by a careful
reading of the relevant cases. This Court has noted “differ-
ential taxation of the press would have troubled the Framers of
the First Amendment,” 460 U.S. at 583 ( footnote omitted ), but
it has never stated that only differentia! taxation would have
offended them or that a general tax of any kind applied to the
press would have received their approval. And, although the

7

Court has suggested that a generally applicable tax presents
“little cause for concern” because government will not “destroy
a selected group of taxpayers by burdensome taxation if it must
impose the same burden on the rest of its constituency,” 460
U.S. at 585 (citation omitted ), it has not held that general taxes
are never cause for concern. It is therefore entirely consistent
with this Court’s historical understanding and holdings that the
Framers were vigorously opposed to any taxation of the press at
the point of sale, discriminatory or otherwise. —

A. The Framers Intended to Preclude Taxation Of The

Press Imposed At The Point Of Sale

This Court has observed that “[w]hen the Constitution
was proposed without an explicit guarantee of freedom of the
press, the Antifederalists objected.” 460 U.S. at 584. The
Federalists argued “that such a guarantee was unnecessary
because the Constitution granted Congress no power to control
the press.” Jd. The Antifederalists responded that without
express protection for the press, the “necessary and proper”
clause in combination with the taxing power could be used to
abridge its freedom in much the way that power had been used
in England. 3 J. Elliot (ed.), The Debates in the Several State
Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution 441-42
(George Mason); J. Main, The Antifederalists 154-55 (1961)

® In reaching its decision in Minneapolis Star this Court held only that a
differential tax on the press must be justified by an overriding state interest
and that the Minnesota tax also was invalid because it discriminated against
certain members of the press. The case did not involve the constitutionality of
any sales tax, and neither of these holdings requires any finding that sales
taxes of general applicability need not exempt newspapers. {t may be
objected that the Court did opine that Minnesota had an available alternative
to differential taxation of the press, in that “the State could raise the revenue
by taxing businesses generally ....” Jd. at $86 (footnote omitted). But a
general tax need not be a sales tax. And the Court found two “fatal flaws” in
Minnesota's claim that its use tax was a “substitute” for its sales tax. Jd. at
587.. First, Minnesota offered no explanation of why it imposed the use tax
instead of the sales tax and since the tax fell on components and not ultimate
sales, it probably was not a substitute for the sales tax. Id. at 588. Second,
“courts as institutions are poorly equipped to evaluate with precision the
relative burdens of various methods of taxation,” so the courts could not
administer a rule allowing differential taxation of the press even if the burden
would be the same or less as that imposed by other taxes on other taxpayers.
Id. at 589 (footnote omitted ).

8

(quoting “Timoleon” in N.Y. Journal, Nov. 1, 1787); Lee,
“Letters from the Federal Farmer” IV, in H. Storing (ed. ), The
Antifederalist 59 (1985). As the Court noted in Minneapolis
Star, “[t}he concerns voiced by the Antifederalists led to the
. adoption of the Bill of Rights.” 460 U.S. at 584 (citation
omitted). Because the “framers of the First Amendment were
familiar with the English struggle,” Grosjean v. American Press
Co., 297 US. 233, 248 (1936), it is necessary to view the
Antifederalists’ position against the backdrop of the English
experience with the infamous Stamp Acts or “knowledge taxes”
to understand precisely their “concerns.”

1. The Infamous English Stamp Acts Were General
Revenue-Raising Measures Which Taxed News-
papers And Other Goods At The Point of Sale

By the end of the seventeenth century, as the popular
demand for easily accessible information grew, the English
Crown found it propitious to develop more subtle means to
retain some control. of the press. Public sentiment began to play
a greater role in the conduct of governmental affairs, especially
as competing factions of power sought public support for their
respective positions. Laws which created and supported the
licensing system were regarded as ineffective and unworkable
and by 1694 were allowed to lapse. F. Siebert, Freedom of the
Press in England, 1476-1776, 244, 305-06 (1952).

Despite the fact that the value of a free press was
acknowledged by prominent government officials at the turn of
the century, publications which commented on political affairs
were still viewed with suspicion by government regulators. F.
Siebert, supra, at 305-06. It was in this light that Parliament
first considered taxing the press in order to regulate printed
matter indirectly. F. Siebert, supra, at 306-10; 1 C. D. Collett,
History of the Taxes on Knowledge 7 (1899). Parliament had
just passed its first tax on printed matter (calendars and
almanacs) in 1710, and in 1711 a report had circulated
suggesting that taxation of “weekly newspapers and pam-
phiets . .. would probably reduce the circulation of newspapers
from 45,000 to not above 30,000.” F. Siebert, supra, at 309
(footnote omitted). On January 17, 1712, at the request of the

9

Ecclesiastical Convocation. Queen Anne addressed Parliament
and deplored the

great license .. . taken in publishing false and scandalous
Libels such as are a reproach to any government. This Evil
seems too strong for the Laws now 1m force: it is therefore
recommended to you to find a Remedy equal to the
Mischief.

F. Siebert, supra, at 309; C. D. Collett, supra, at 8.

But suppression was not the only purpose of the tax. Of at
least equal concern to the Crown was the need to raise money
to fight the War of the Spanish Succession. Stewart, John
Lennox and The Greenock Newsclout: A Fight Against the
Taxes on Knowledge, 15 Scot. Hist. Rev. 322, 326-27 (1918);
J. B. Williams, History of English Journalism (1908); F. Sie- -
bert, supra, at 309. The newspaper stamp duty and the special
tax on advertising in England “were a part of ordinary revenue
measures; the position of the government was that the press, as
a business, should pay its fair share of taxes.” J. Gerald, The
British Press Under Government Economic Controls 6 (1956).

Parliament responded on May 16, 1712 by passing the first
general revenue tax which included a tax on newspapers. This
enactment (10 Anne, c. 19), known as the Stamp Act of 1712,
placed a tax on imported linen; soaps; several kinds of agree-
ments written on vellum, parchment, or paper; and printed
papers, pamphlets, and advertisements. The Act earned its
name because it required a stamp to be affixed on all docu-
‘ments, including newspapers at the point of sale. C. D. Collett,
supra, at 8. The law also provided certain “exemptions” or |
“discounts”. For example, there was a one-third “drawback” —
on soap used in making clothes or serges, since the wool
industry had had a long history of favorable treatment by the
government. There was also a “drawback” for paper used by
the universities at Oxford and Cambridge and in Scotland, as
well as for any books printed in Latin, Greek, Oriental, or
Northern languages for the “encouragement of learning.” C. D.
Collett, supra, at 8-9. Thus, the early Stamp Act was directly

10

analogous to the broad contemporary sales tax, even including
a disparate array of exemptions.’

Whatever the intent of the English stamp tax, its effects
were clear. The immediate consequence of the Stamp Act was
the demise of several newspapers. F. Siebert, supra, at 312. As
Sir Richard Steele, editor of the Spectator explained the day
before the Stamp Tax went into effect: “This is the day on
which many eniinent authors will publish their last words.”
C. D. Collett, supra, at 12. The tax likewise retarded the
establishment of mass-circulation newspapers. /d. at 5-6;
Stewart, supra, at 326.

Parliament passed a second Stamp Tax Act in March 1765.
This Act taxed legal documents (including contracts, court
pleas, land grants, college diplomas, and liquor licenses),
publications and advertisements, and gambling items (dice and
playing cards). The stated purpose of the law was to defray
“the expense of defending, protecting, and securing” the co-
lonies. This purpose was real. A large public debt had been
incurred during the Seven Years War, and the Stamp Act was
only one of several measures designed to increase British
egy C. Miller, The Supretie Court and the Uses of History

).

2. The American Colonies Vehemently Opposed The
Newspaper Tax Included in The Stamp Act of 1765

The Stamp Act of 1765 so outraged the colonists that
Parliament repealed it within a year. In passing this Stamp Act,
Prime Minister George Grenville had touched “each nerve
center in American life at which either economic or intellectual
activity was registered.” J. Pole, Foundations of American
Independence, 1763-1815 42 (1973). “No group in America

7 The contemporary form taken by state sales taxes is of relatively recent
vintage, the first modern sales tax law was enacted by West Virginia in 1921,
followed by Georgia in 1929. Morgan, Retail Sales Tax 3 (1964). Today
some 45 states have a sales tax; only Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New
Hampshire, and Oregon do not. St. Tax Guide (CCH) 4 60-000 at p. 6021 fn.
In general. these sales taxes are peppered with exemptions which serve a
variety of purposes—from ameliorating the regressive character of the tax to
om das ak: i aed C. Oster, State Retail Sales Taxation 114

was more directly affected than the publishers of the twenty-
four newspapers in the mainland colonies.” M. Jensen, The
Founding of a Nation 126 (1968). Benjamin Franklin, who
was serving as a colonial agent in London when the Stamp Act
was adopted, wrote to America. “I think it will affect the
Printers more than anybody .. . as a Sterling Halfpenny Stamp
on every Half Sheet of a Newspaper, and Two shillings Sterling
on every Advertisement, will go near to knock up one Half of
both.” Botein, “Printers and the American Revolution,” in The
Press and the American Revolution \1, 23 (B. Bailyn & J.
Hench, eds., 1980). Foreign-language pub'ications had to pay
twice the normal rates, a severe blow to the German-language
press around Philadelphia, leading Henrich Miller, a German-
language publisher, to call the Stamp Act “the most uncon-
stitutional law imaginable.” Schlesinger, The Colonial News-
papers and the Stamp Act, 8 N.E.Q. 66, 70 (1935).

Some newspapers set off their columns with heavy black
mourning margins the day before the tax went into effect. while
others printed silhouetted skulls and crossed bones to symbolize
a dead free press. J. Lofton, The Press as Guardian of the First
Amendment 2 (1980); M. Jensen, supra, at 127. The New
Hampshire Gazette represented itself as gasping, “/ must Die,
or submit to that which is worse than Death, be Stamped, and
lose my Freedom.” Schlesinger, supra, at 74 (emphasis in
original). Many publishers defied the law, printing their
newspapers on unstamped paper. In New York, Holt’s Gazette
added to its title the motto, “The United Voice of all His
Majesty’s free and loyal Subjects in America—LiIBERTY,
PROPERTY and no STAMPS.” Jd. at 75 (emphasis in
original ).

“The newspapers played a tremendous role in political life
from the Stamp Act onward.” M. Jensen, supra, at 127.
Newspapers reprinted liberally from each other, thus helping to
unite the colonies. They appealed to the masses, stirred their
emotions and urged them to action. /d. at 128. When stamped
copies of newspapers from Barbados and Nova Scotia were
found in Philadelphia, they were publicly burned. Schlesinger,
supra, at 79 n.33. Thus the British themselves helped to make
the American press an instrument of revolution. J. Lofton,
supra, at 2; J. Pole, supra, at 423.

12

In 1765, an assembly of delegates from nine of the colonies
met as the “Stamp Act Congress” to protest the tax. A formal
_ complaint was issued, entitled “A Declaration of Rights and
Grievances,” the basic principles of which were later in-
corporated into the Declaration of Independence. Because of
this opposition, the American stamp tax was repealed less than
a year after its enactment. Z. Chafee, Free Speech in the United
States 321 (1967). In 1787, a leading Antifederalist, Samuel
Bryan, wrote in the Philadelphia Independent Gazette and
Freeman’s Journal that “[i]t was not the mere amount of the
duty on stamps, or tea that America opposed, they were
considered as signals of approaching despotism, as precedents
whereon the superstructure of arbitrary sway was to be reared.”
2H. Storing (ed. ), The Complete Antifederalist 176-77 (9981)
(emphasis in original ).

3. The American Colonies So Opposed Taxes on News-
paper Sales That They Repealed All Such Duties By
The Time The Bill of Rights Was Enacted

The English were surprised by the colonists’ reaction to the
Stamp Act of 1765, but the history of precursor taxes in both
New York and Massachusetts foreshadowed the reception
awaiting the tax. In New York, a tax was imposed on paper in
1756. It met with strong opposition which led to its demise in
1760. L. Levy, Judgments: Essays on American Constitutional
History 128 (1972). James Parker, printer of the New York
Gazette, called the tax “like to a killing Frost,” and complained
in particular that New York’s stamp tax disadvantaged him in
competition with printers in nearby colonies. Thompson,
Massachusetts and New York Stamp Acts, 26 Wm. & Mary Q.
257 (1969); Botein, supra, at 24.

in Massachusetts, a halfpenny newspaper tax was passed
in 1755. As a result of this tax, one newspaper discontinued
publication, while another voiced its opposition to the tax by
printing articles on the freedom of the press extracted f.om
contemporary London newspapers. C. Duniway, The Devel-
opment of Freedom of the Press in Massachusetts 120 (1906).

13

By 1780, after the Declaration of Independence, nine of
the newly-formed state governments included specific press
clauses in their state constitutions. By the time the Constitution
was ratified, every state guaranteed the freedom of the press.
These clauses were couched in terms similar to the eventual
wording of the First Amendment to the Constitution. C.
Duniway, supra, at 132-36. Nevertheless, in 1785 and 1786,
Massachusetts enacted taxes on both newspaper sales and
advertisements. Opposition to these measures was e~>licitly
based on the view that the taxes violated the grrrantee of the
liberty of the press in the Massachusetts constitution:

A series of articles in the Massachusetts Centinel for
Apni and May, 1785, are typical of the feeling against the
tax. It was denounced as “‘the first Stone in the fabrick of
Tyranny”; if the principle of such a tax were once admit-
ted, it might be made prohibitory by a venal House of
Representatives and thus “end the liberty of the press.” It
was contrary to the constitution, because it was a stab at
the freedom of the press, and “whatever tends in the
——smallest degree to deprive the péople of political informa-
tion, is inimical to the principles of Republicanism.”
C. Duniway, supra, at 136 n.2. This is further evidenced by
contemporary articles in the Boston Gazette:

The sixteenth article on our Bill of Rights says: ““The
Liberty of the Press is essential to the security of Freedom

- in a State: It ought not therefore to be restrained in this
commonwealth.”

The duty on advertisements also prevents our publishing
that we have lately reprinted an excellent moral Discourse,
entitled “the Shortness and Affliction of Human Life
illustrated”... .

F. Hudson, Journalism in the United States 164 (1873).

As a result of this opposition, the taxes on newspapers and
advertisements were repealed by 1788. At the time the Bill of
Rights was adopted, no state thought it proper to impose a sales
tax On newspapers, and none did.

14

4. The Debates Over The Ratification Of The Con-
stitutien Demonstrate The Framers Did Not Intend
Government To Levy Sales Taxes On Newspapers

The Constitution originally contained no Bill of Rights and
no guarantee of the liberty of the press. At the Constitutional
Convention, the Federalists had successfully argued that none
was necessary. The immediate public reaction to the proposed
Constitution, however, proved them wrong. The greatest single
objection to the new Constitution was the lack of any explicit
protection for individual rights, and specifically the liberty of
the press. J. Main, supra, at 255; R. Rutland, The Birth of the
Bill of Rights 218 (1955); H. Storing, What the Antifederalists
Were For 64 (1981). The debate between the Antifederalists
and the Federalists over the ratification of the Constitution
centered on this objection. Antifederalists argued that without
an explicit guarantee, the power to tax for the “general
welfare” could be perverted and used to restrict the press. E.g.,
3 J. Elliot, supra, at 441-42 (George Mason); J. Main, supra, at
154-55 (quoting “Timoleon” in N.Y. Journal, Nov. |, 1787).
They further argued that because the power to tax was not
limited, it would extend to everything, including the press,
unless a guarantee of press freedom was added. E.g., Lee,
“Letters from the Federal Farmer” IV, XVI, in H. Storing
(ed.), The Antifederalist 49, 85-86; 4 H. Storing (ed.), The
Complete Antifederalist 206-07 (Thomas Cogswell). The
Antifederalists explicitly stated that a Bill of Rights was needed
to prevent the government from imposing stamp taxes on
newspapers. As one pamphleteer wrote:

Congress have power to lay all duties of whatever kind,
and although they could not perhaps directly bar the
freedom of the Press, yet they can do it in the exercise of
the powers that are expressly decreed to them. Remember

® Late in the Convention, E!bridge Gerry and Charlies Pinckney moved
that a clause be added to the proposed constitution guarantéeing “that the
liberty of the Press should be inviolably observed—.” 2 M. Farrand (ed.},
The Records of the Federal Convention 617 (Madison). Roger Sherman
responded, “It is unnecessary—The Power of Congress does not extend to the
Press,” and the motion was voted down 6-5. Id. at 618. See M. Farrand, The
Framing of the Constitution of the United States 124 (1913). -

15

there are such things as stamp duties and that these will as
effectually abolish the freedom of the press as any express
declaration.

3 H. Storing (ed.), The Complete Antifedevalist 81-82 (empha-
sis in original). The Federalists argued primarily that no
guarantee of the liberty of the press was necessary because
nothing in the Constitution gave Congress the power to tax the
press. E.g, 2 J. Elliot, supra, at 435-36, 453-54 (James
Wilson ); 3 J. Elliot, supra, at 469 (Edmund Randolph); 4 J.
Elliot, supra, at 208-09 ( Richurd Spaight).

In the end, the Antifederalists prevailed. The Constitution
was ratified, but only on the understanding that a Bill of Rights,
including a guarantee of the liberty of the press, would follow
immediately. An analysis of the arguments of the prevailing
parties—the Antifederalists—is therefore essential to an under-
standing of the intent of the Framers of the First Amendment.
460 US. at 584-85.

The Antifederalists were concerned that the proposed
Constitution could be abused by the new federal government
and employed against the press. Richard Henry Lee, one of the
most widely read and respected of the Antifederalists, wrote in
his “Letters From the Federal Farmer” of the danger to the
press posed by the taxing power. Lee feared that, in the
absence of an explicit constitutional guarantee, Congress could
properly consider itself free to employ the taxing power against
the press, just as it would against any other industry. And,
because of the supremacy clause, state constitutional guarantees
would be powerless to bar federal taxation of the press:

Should the printer say, the freedom of the press was
secured by the constitution of the State in which he lived,
congress might, and perhaps, with great propriety, answer,
that...in exercising the powers assigned them, and in
making laws to carry them into execution Congress are
restrained by nothing beside the federal constitution.

Lee, “Letters From the Federal Farmer” IV, in H. Storing

(ed.), The Antifederalist 59.

16

Lee expanded on this argument in Federal Farmer XVI.
He initially noted the widespread belief that the freedom of the
press “ought not to be restrained by any taxes.” Then he
warned the press is provided no protection by the fact that the
Constitution does not expressly give the Congress the power to
tax it. The danger, Lee notes, is that the power to tax is
unlimited:

But, say the advocates, all powers not given are re-
served:—true; but the great question is, are not powers
given, in the exercise of which this mght may be de-
stroyed?.... [T]he question is, what laws will congress
have a right to make by the constitution of the union, and
particularly touching the press? By art. I, sect. 8, congress
will have the power to lay and collect taxes, duties, imposts
and excise. By this congress will clearly have power to lay
and collect all kind of taxes whatever—taxes on houses,
lands, polls, industry, merchandize, &c.—taxes on deeds,
bonds, and all written instruments—on writs, pleas, and all
judicial proceedings, on licenses, naval officers papers. &c.
on newspapers, advertisements, &c.... Printing, like all
other businesses, must cease when taxed beyond its profits;
and it appears to me, that a power to tax the press at
discretion, is a power to destroy or restrain the freedom of it.

Lee, “Letters From_the Federal Farmer” XVI, in H. Storing
(ed.), The Antifederalist 85-86 (emphasis added ).

Lee’s fear regarding the taxing power and the press was
voiced by many Antifederalists. In New York, Melancton
Smith explained why the Constitution needed a press clause:
“We contend, that by the indefinite powers granted to the
gereral government, the liberty of the press may be restricted by
duties, &c. and therefore the constitution ought to have stipu-
lated for its freedom.” 1 B. Schwartz (ed.), The Bill of Rights:
A Documentary History 576 (1971).

The Antifederalists did not distinguish between taxes
levied specifically on the press for purposes of suppression and
general taxation of the press. A constitutional guarantee of the
freedom of the press was understood to bar both equally. Thus,

17

in Federal Farmer IV, Lee notes that, without an explicit
guarantee, Congress would be free both to lay “any duties
whatever on printing” and to lay “duties particularly heavy on
certain pieces printed.” Likewise in Federal Farmer XVI, Lee
explains that left unrestricted the taxing power will reach
“newspapers [and] advertisements,” just as it does “industry
{and} merchandize.” In the minds of the Antifederalists, a
guarantee of the liberty of the press was essential to stop
Congress from laying amy duties at the point of sale on the
press.

The important lesson taught by the history of the Framers’
opposition to the stamp taxes is they were deeply offended by
any tax on the sale of newspapers to the general public. Even
where stamp taxes were enacted for revenue-raising purposes
and had a broad applicability, they were anathema to the
Framers. An important purpose of the First Amendment was
to ban taxation of the press at the point of sale, which
necessarily precludes imposition of a general sales tax. It
follows that the exemption sought by the Arkansas Writers
Project must be granted.

B. The Framers Intended the First Amendment to Bar Any
Tax Which Acted as a “Knowledge Tax” Because They
Considered The Potential for Abusive Consequences Too
Great

The unrelenting antipathy of the Framers toward any tax
on knowledge, whether in the form of the Stamp Act of the
colonial era or the contemporary sales tax on newspapers,
reflects most profoundly the Framers’ reading of English and
colonial history and the socio-political world of eighteenth
century A’ .erica. The complexity of the Framers’ rationale
does no’ .end itself to any reductionist explanation, but several
powerful themes run through the Framers’ writings on those
matters which help in part to explain their view.

First, the Stamp Act, like the sales tax, directly burdened
the exercise of a right: the acquisition of news and information.
As New Hampshire Chief Justice Thomas Cogswell, wrote:

The liberty of the Press is essential to a free people, it
ought therefore to be inviolably preserved and secured in

the Bill of Rights, and no duty or tax to be imposed
thereon, of what name or nature soever.

4H. Storing (ed.), The Complete Antifederalist 206-07. Sim-
ilarly Lee, in his “Letters from the Federal Farmer” noted:

All parties apparently agree, that the freedom of the press
is a fundamental right, and ought not to be restrained by
any taxes, duties, or in any manner whatever.

Lee, “Letters From the Federal Farmer” XVI, in H. Storing
(ed.), The Antifederalist 85.

This Court has long recognized the danger of allowing
states to tax the exercise of constitutional rights. Follett v.
McCormick, 321 US. at 578 (no requirement “to pay a tax for
the exercise of that which the First Amendment has made a
high constitutional privilege”); Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 315
U.S. 105, 113 (1943) (“A state may not impose a charge for
the enjoyment of a right granted by the federal constitution.” ).®

Second, the Framers were deeply concerned by the fact
that the stamp tax (like the sales taxes) imposed a burden on
newspapers unrelated to their profitability. Richard Henry Lee
expressed this fear most clearly: “Printing, like’ all other busi-

91In Minneapolis Star, the Court suggested in dicta that Breard v.
Alexandria, 341 U.S. 622 (1951), “substantially undercut” this line of cases
. which began with Martin v. Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 (1943), 460 US. at 586
n.9. But neither Martin nor Breard addressed the question of whether a direct
tax may be placed on the exercise of a right since neither involved taxation.
The Beard decision held only that any First Amendment interest in soliciting
periodical subscriptions door-to-door at private homes, in the absence of an
invitation from the homeowner, must give way to the privacy rights of the
tromeowner. That Breard did not disturb Murdock and Follett regarding the
rule of law prohibiting direct taxation of rights is evident from the restatement
of that position by the Court in the term immediately following the Breard
decision. Memphis Steam Laundry Cleaner, Inc. v. Stone, 342 US. 389
( 1952).

Whether Breard itself remains good law in any respect is open to serious
doubt. Compare Breard with Village of Schaumburg v. Citizens for a Better
Environment, 444 U.S. 620, 632 n.7 (1980) (“To the extent that any of the
Court’s past decisions discussed in Part IT [including Beard] hold or indicate
that commercial speech is excluded from First Amendment protection, those
decisions, to that extent, are no longer good law.”).

19

nesses, must cease when taxed beyond its profits.” Lee, “‘ Letters
From the Federal Farmer” XVI, in H. Storing (ed.), The
Antifederalist 85-86 (emphasis added ).

The Framers knew that marginally profitable newspapers,
whether large or small, often did not survive a tax imposed at
the point of sale. They knew this because the English and
Massachusetts experience demonstrated it. As Professor Siebert
starkly observed: “A sizable number of newspapers were
immediately killed by the Act.” F. Siebert, supra, at 312.
Jonathan Swift noted the draconian effect of the Stamp Act on
the English “penny press” with typical, yet telling, hyperbole:

Do you know that all Grub-street is dead and gone
last week? ... [N]Jow every single half-sheet pays a
halfpenny to the queen. The Observator is fallen; the
Medleys are jumbled together with the Flying Post; the
Examiner is deadly sick; the Spectator keeps up and
doubles its price.

Id. at 313. Because they knew the potential danger of direct
sales taxes to economically weak publications, the Framers
greatly feared them. It was no solace to them that a sales tax
which applied to a variety of goods would drive marginally
profitable non-press companies out of business as effectively as
it killed the profitless members of the press.

Third, perhaps the Framers’ greatest concern was the
effect of a stamp tax on newspaper sales, particularly the less
affluent populace. They understood that the English Crown
had used such taxes to place acquisition of the news beyond the
reach of many members of the public. As noted above, the
intent of the first stamp tax was in part to reduce newspaper
circulation by one-third. F. Seibert, supra, at 308-09. The
primary victims of the tax were the inexpensive publications
which had formerly circulated widely among the general
public:

Was there no way by which, without the necessity of
constant contention, private men might be prevented from
using the Press to make their opinions public? The pam-
phleteers were not rich, but they were often persons of

20

education, and not penniless. When only a few copies of
their writings were wanted they could pay for them, but
now that reading was become more common, and that
great numbers of copies were printed, the cost had, to a
great extent, to be paid by the readers. If these sheets
could be taxed their distribution might become difficult,
and when any one attempted to evade the tax he could be
punished, not as a libeller, but as a smuggler, and the
character of what was printed would not come under
discussion, as it generally would in a trial for libel.

C.D. Collett, supra, at 7.1

Whether these concerns of the Framers retain all of their
’ vitality today is beyond the issue and the record of this case. It
is enough that a law imposing taxes on the retail sale of
newspapers “would have offended the Framers”; the Court
should not “[hesitate] to invalidate it on that ground alone.”
460 US. at 584 n. 6.

10 “Cheapness and expansion were evidently becoming the characteristics
of the periodical press; to which every tax, however light, was an impediment.
Hence a new movement for the repeal of all ‘Taxes on knowledge’ led by Mr.
Milner Gibson, with admirable ability, address, and persistence. In 1853, the
advertisement duty was swept away; and in 1855, the last penny of newspaper
stamp was relinquished. Nothing was now left but the duty on paper; and
this was assailed with no less vigor. Denounced by penny newspapers, which
the repeal of the stamp duty had called into existence; complained of by
publishers of cheap books; and deplored by the friends of popular education,
it fell, six years later, after a parliamentary contest memorable in history. And
now the press was free alike from legal oppression and fiscal impediments.”
2 T. May, Constitutional History of England 215 (1891).

21
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the First Amendment precludes
imposition of a sales tax on the press. Accordingly, the
judgment below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

EpwarbD Soto
COUNSEL OF RECORD
Southeast Financial Center
Suite 4350
6 Miami, FL 33131-2355
(305) 372-3304

August 1986

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0077%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
