# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lukhard v. Reed

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0074%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 368

## Text

Supreme Court. U.S.
iL ED

IN THE SEP 30 1986

Supreme Court of the United States ~~

JOSEPH F. SPAR

OCTOBER TERM, 1986 _——_-...

WILLIAM L. LUKHARD, COMMISSIONER,
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES,
. Petitioner,
ONA MAE REED, SALLIE LONG, RUTH WILCHER,

OPAL MAE Cook, STELLA KING, AND ALL

OTHERS SIMILARLY SITUATED,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
LEGAL SERVICES OF NORTH CAROLINA
ON BEHALF OF ITS CLIENTS
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
ONA MAE REED ET AL.

Of Counsel Davin H. HARRIS, JR.

RICHARD M. TAYLOR, JR. SUSAN M. PERRY *
Executive Director — Carolina Legal
Legal Services of North Carolina ervices
112 S. Blount Street a eye
Raleigh, N.C. 27611 ilson, N.C. 27893

C.D (919) 291-6851

WILLIE C. DAWSON ;

; ; Att

Executive Director orneys for Amicus Curiae,

Legal Services of
Pamlico Sound Legal Services — . .
P.O. Box 1167 North Carolina

New Bern, N.C. 28560 * Counsel of Record

Peccy S. LEVIN
Eastern Carolina Legal Services
P.O. Box 2688
Wilson, N.C. 27893

CAMILLA McCLAIN
Pamlico Sound Legal Services
P.O. Box 7283
Greenville, N.C. 27834

EE

WILSON - Eres Printine Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

CONTENTS

Page
po) 8 ER BS, eae ii
STATEMENT OF INTEREST ........ Fee eR Oe 1
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGU-
ntsc deell 6
DN, EE 7
I. CONGRESS INTENDED THE EXCLUSION
OF PERSONAL INJURY AWARDS FROM
THE DEFINITION OF INCOME IN THE
I sc hicnrticinnnsitesitictnistinted bepisaamiosatibemunies 7
Il. THE SECRETARY’S INTERPRETATION OF
THE OBRA LUMP SUM AMENDMENT IS
NOT ENTITLED TO DEFERENCE ................ 11

GRAIG ccnncestcnnnnnntieienniinsin sain senelllalictisaibsianaamiiibits 15

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
American Shipbuilding Co. v. NLRB, 380 U.S.
4 IRARIENI ISSR ear A eee ee 12
Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416 (1977) ............. 12
Bowen v. Fidelity Banks, 209 N.C. 140, 183 S.E.
BR I aki lachlan ilciaiitalideacain 8

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Fire Arms v. Fed-
eral Labor Relations Authority, 104 S.Ct. 439
RRL a TA ee es Ne 12
Carolina Power and Light Company v. Paul, 261

N.C. 710, 136 S.E.2d 108 (1964) ......................... ~
Eisner v. Macomber, 252 U.S. 189 (1919) —............ 8
Finch v. Kirk, No. 86-90-CIV-5 (E.D.N.C. Jan. 21,

Eee ae eee eee Le 2
NLRB v. Amax Coal Co., 453 U.S. 322 (1981) ....... ds)
Heckler v. Turner, 105 §.Ct. 1138 (1986) .............. 9
Reed v. Lukhard, 774 F.2d 1270 (4th Cir. 1985),

aff’g 591 F. Supp. 1247 (W.D. Va. 1984) _.......... 2, 8,9
Richards v. United States, 369 U.S. 1 (1962) _...... 8
Securities Industry Association v. Board of Gov-

ernors, 104 S.Ct. 2979 (1984) ...........00000000 14
Shea v. Vialpando, 416 U.S. 251 (1974) —............... 10
Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134 (1944) ......... 13
St. Martin Evangelical Lutheran Church v. South

I GI i UU CUED cccccccceccenceecesecssccccooes 13
Southeastern Community College v. Davis, 442 U.S.

EES A SR A a 12
Teamsters v. Daniel, 439 U.S. 551 (1979) ............... 12
United States v. Locke, 105 S.Ct. 1785 (1985) ......... 8
Watkins v. Blinzinger, 789 F.2d 474 (7th Cir.

1986), aff’g 610 F. Supp. 1443 (S.D. Ind. 1985) .. 6
Yuckert v. Heckler, 774 F.2d 1365 (9th Cir. 1986) .. 14

STATUTES:
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981, Pub.

L. 97-35, 95 Stat. 358, et seg. (1981) —.......0000..... 7
RS 14
REST As a 9

42 U.S.C. § 601 et seq. (Social Security Act) ............. 14

iii
’

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

a 7,9

eS eee 7,9,12

45 CFR § 233.20 (a) (3) (ii) (F) ......-.-.....-.-......... 5, 11, 13, 15

rr ee, nsssbeonnsontseucvanes 13

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY: Page
S. Rep. No. 139, 97th Cong., Ist Sess. 505 (1981),
reprinted in 1981 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News,

EIS ITC TA A 7

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Blacks Law Dictionary, 352, 687 (5th Ed. 1979)... 8,9

Davis, Administrative Law § 503 (3rd Ed. 1972). 13

Dobbs, Remedies § 3.1 (1978) .....................-...--------- ~

25 C.J.S. Damages § 17 (1966) ...... PE ae Ee 8,9

42 C.J.S. Income § 531 (1944) ..........................-....... 8

IN THE

Siywreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 85-1358

WILLIAM L. LUKHARD, COMMISSIONER,
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES,
a Petitioner,
ONA MAE REED, SALLIE LONG, RUTH WILCHER,

OPAL MAE CooK, STELLA KING, AND ALL

OTHERS SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
LEGAL SERVICES OF NORTH CAROLINA
ON BEHALF OF ITS CLIENTS
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
ONA MAE REED ET AL.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

Amicus, Legal Services of North Carolina (LSNC) in-
cluding two of its affiliate programs, is deeply and inti-
mately concerned about the outcome of this case. LSNC
files this brief on behalf of its clients. Two affiliate pro-
grams of LSNC currently represent AFDC recipients in
an action filed against the North Carolina Department of
Human Resources and the United States Department of

2

Health and Human Services, Finch v. Kirk, No. 86-90-
CIV-5 (E.D.N.C. Jan 21, 1986), challenging state and
federal regulations that treat personal injury awards
as “income” rather than as “resources” in determining
AFDC eligibility. Class certification is pending in that
action.

LSNC is a statewide program responsible for civil
representation of low income persons in eighty-three of
North Carolina’s one hundred counties. Overall, 1.3 mil-
lion persons in North Carolina are governmentally de-
fined as eligible for legal services. Generally, to be eli-
gible, a family’s annual gross income must be less than
125% of the federal poverty line. Legal Services pro-
grams in North Carolina receive more than 35,000 re-
quests for assistance from eligible, low income persons
each year and provide service to approximately 25,000 of
these persons. In North Carolina, 180,000 people receive
AFDC benefits. Many of these AFDC recipients rely
upon LSNC to protect their interest in continued finan-
cial assistance when eligibility criteria are met.

AFDC regulations provide that, when a member. of an
AFDC household receives non-recurring “lump sum”’ in-
come, a period of ineligibility is imposed during which
AFDC benefits are denied to the entire family. The set
period of ineligibility continues even though the lump
sum may be exhausted, leaving the family in desperate
need of AFDC benefits to meet the basic costs of survival.
Although the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit held in Reed v. Lukhard, 774 F.2d 1270
(4th Cir. 1985), aff'g 591 F. Supp. 1247 (W.D. Va.
1984) that “the lump sum rule may not be applied to
personal injury awards to render AFDC recipients in-
eligible for benefits,” the State of North Carolina con-
tinues to deny, reduce, or terminate AFDC benefits on
this basis, thereby depriving many low income families of
resources desperately needed for survival.

3

In the Finch action filed by LSNC, plaintiff Finch
alleged that she and her minor child were receiving
AFDC benefits of $176 per month in June, 1985. She
received her monthly AFDC check on June 1, 1985 and
spent the check for monthly expenses. On June 4, 1985,
Ms. Finch received a $1,200 lump sum insurance settle
ment for bodily injury sustained in an automobile acci-
dent on September 15, 1984. Ms. Finch used part of the
money to repay outstanding loans and bills. She also
spent her award for transportation expenses, clothing
and a few inexpensive toys for her child, and non-Food
Stamp items such as cleaning supplies.

Ms. Finch promptly reported the personal injury
award to Social Services. Social Services then determined
she would be ineligible for June, July and August, 1985
AFDC benefits. It found she would be eligible for partial
benefits in September, 1985. However, before termina-
tion of her benefits, she had expended her award. Dur-
ing the time that Ms. Finch’s AFDC benefits were ter-
minated, she had to pawn part of her furniture in order
to meet her living and medical expenses for July and
August, 1985.

Upon appeal, the State Department of Human Re-
sources affirmed the termination of her AFDC benefits.
It concluded as a matter of law that personal injury
awards are income rather than resource and thus are
subject to the lump-sum rule.

Plaintiff Hardy and her two minor children were re-
ceiving AFDC benefits of $246 per month in November,
1985. The AFDC benefits constituted the family’s only
source of income aside from $50 per month in support
payments from the children’s father. Ms. Hardy received
her monthly AFDC check on November 1, 1985 and spent
the check for monthly expenses. On November 25, 1985,
she received a $1,783 lump sum insurance settlement
for bodily injury sustained in an automobile accident on

d

May 22, 1985. She had received medical treatment for
her injuries from May through October, 1985.

Ms. Hardy received notice in January 1986, that pur-
suant to North Carolina’s lump-sum policies, her AFDC
grant would be reduced from $246 to $184, representing
partial benefits for March, 1986. Additionally, a period
of recoupment, at a minimum of 10% of the monthly
grant, or $24 per month, for approximately the next 40
months, would follow until the AFDC benefits provided
to Ms. Hardy for November and December, 1985, and
January and February, 1986 were fully reimbursed. The
County determined she was ineligible during these
months.

Prior to receiving this notice of ineligibility and the 40
month recoupment, Ms. Hardy had completely expended
the personal injury award. In November, 1985, Ms.
Hardy’s mother, who is disabled, received an eviction
notice from her landlord. Ms. Hardy spent substantial
portions of her personal injury award on moving expenses
for her mother and her family. Ms. Hardy later moved
into her mother’s apartment with her children to reduce
family expenses. Approximately $300 of the money was
spent on the purchase of groceries during November and
December, 1985 for the combined households. Part of the
money was also spent on the repayment of an outstand-
ing loan to her grandmother. Another portion of the
funds was spent on the purchase of necessary items and
basic living expenses such as winter clothing for herself
and her children. By December, 1985, the entire insur-
ance settlement had been exhausted, leaving no money to
pay the winter’s heating and utility bills or non-food
items such as soap, detergent and toilet articles.

Plaintiff Little and her minor child were receiving
AFDC benefits of $214 per month in 1985. She re-
ceived her monthly AFDC checks in December, 1985 and
January, 1986, and spent the checks for monthly ex-

5

penses. On December 4, 1985, she received a $749 lump
sum settlement for bodily injury sustained in a slip and
fall accident at a grocery store on August 15, 1984.

After reporting her personal injury award to Social
Services, she was informed by written notice dated De-
cember 17, 1985, that she was ineligible to receive the
December, 1985 and January, 1986 AFDC checks. She
appealed this decision and the original decision of in-
eligibility was upheld whereby the AFDC benefits for
those two months were ordered recouped. Ms. Little is
dependent on the continued receipt of her AFDC pay-
ments in order to meet her needs and those of her minor
child.

In each of the above situations, the imposition of the
lump sum rule resulted in harsh inequities to the families
involved. An adverse decision in this case would leave
these families and many other families who receive per-
sonal injury awards without the means to obtain food,
clothing and shelter. A principle interest of Amicus is
the protection and preservation of the court decision be-
low to ensure that needy children and their families can
receive financial assistance.

The Secretary of the United States Department of
Health and Human Services has issued a new regulation
which purports to treat all lump sum payments, includ-
ing “windfalls” (which would include personal injury
awards), as “income” to be counted under the lump sum
rule. 52 Fed. Reg. 9191, 96 (March 18, 1986) (to be
codified at 45 C.F.R. § 233.20(a) (3) (ii) (F)). The Sec-
retary has filed a Brief as Respondent Supporting Pe-
titioner in which he argues that the March 18, 1986
final regulation is dispositive of the entire issue and re-
quires reversal of the decision below. The State of North
Carolina has joined in an amicus brief with seven other
states in support of petitioner’s position. Therefore,
LSNC’s interest in this case is considerable and justified.

6

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amicus, Legal Services of North Carolina on behalf
of its clients, urges affirmance of the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.
Petitioner argues that the opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in Watkins v.
Blinzinger, 789 F.2d 474 (7th Cir. 1986), aff'g 610 F.
Supp. 1443 (S.D.Ind. 1985), best construes the AFDC
statute and furthers legislative intent. Respondents and
Amicus, however, strongly urge the Court to hold that
the purpose of the AFDC statute and Congressional in-
tent support the exclusion of personal injury awards
from the definition of “income.”

Amicus argues (Point I) that, given the legislaiive
history and clearly established rules of statutory con-
struction, Congressional intent dictates the exclusion of
personal injury awards from the term “income” under
the lump sum rule. Since Congress did not indicate that
it intended to use a definition of “income” that is broader
than the traditional legal definition, it is clear that Con-
gress did not intend to include personal injury awards
as “income” under the AFDC statute. Amicus further ar-
gues (Point II) that the Court should not give deference
to the Secretary’s interpretation of the lump sum rule,
becausc it is inconsistent with Congressional intent and
his own prior pronouncements, and defeats the very pur-
pose of the AFDC Act. Therefore, the judgment below
should be affirmed.

7

ARGUMENT

I. CONGRESS INTENDED THE EXCLUSION OF PER-
SONAL INJURY AWARDS FROM THE DEFINI-
TION OF INCOME IN THE AFDC STATUTE.

The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit correctly
determined that personal injury awards must be ex-
cluded from the definition of “income” in the AFDC
statute. The Fourth Circuit carefully analyzed the “lump
sum” rule of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of
1981 (OBRA) in making its determination. Congress
passed the lump sum rule to encourage AFDC recipients
to budget large payments of income to meet ongoing
needs of their households.

Before 1981, 42 U.S.C. § 602(a)(7) stated that “...
the State agency shall in determining need take into con-
sideration any other income and resources. .. .” When
Congress implemented OBRA, it did not alter its lan-
guage. Rather, Congress changed the method by which
income would be counted. Under pre-1981 law, “[any]
payments that [met] the definition of income... [were]
counted as income in the month of receipt and any of
the payment that [was] not spent in that month [was]
usually considered as a resource in the months there-
after.” In the 1981 Act, “income received in a month
[would] be considered available as income in the month
it is received and also in future months.” S. Rep. No.
139, 97th Cong., 1st Sess. 505, reprinted in 1981 USS.
Code & Ad. News, 396, 702, 771. See also 42 U.S.C.
§ 602(a) (17) (before and after OBRA).

The court helow correctly reasoned that the 1981
amendment changed the treatment of income, but did
not change the definition of income. In fact, it found
that OBRA did not even define “income.” In the absence
of a definition of income, the court concluded that Con-
gress intended to include as income only those large pay-
ments of money that would ordinarily be considered in-

8

come. Reed, 774 F.2d at 1274-75. This Court set forth
that principle when it stated that “deference to the
supremacy of the legislature, as well as recognition that
congressmen typically vote on the language of a bill,
generally require[s] us to assume that ‘the legislative
purpose is expressed by the ordinary meaning of the
words used.’” United States v. Locke, 105 S.Ct. 1785,
1793 (1985) (quoting Richards v. United States, 369
US. 1, 9 (1962) ).

Based on the ordinary meaning of the term “income,”
personal injury awards should not be included as income
‘under the lump sum rule. As this Court determined,
“where Congress uses terms that have accumulated
settled meaning under either equity or the common law,
a court must infer, unless the statute otherwise dictates,
that Congress means to incorporate the established mean-
ing of these terms.” NLRB v. Amax Coal Co., 453 U.S.
322, 329 (1981) (emphasis added).

The term “income” has accumulated settled meaning.
“Income” represents a “gain or profit,” 42 C.J.S. Income
§ 531 (1944), and is ordinarily understood to be a return
on the investment of labor or capital, thereby increasing
the wealth of the recipient. See Blacks Law Dictionary
687 (5th ed. 1979). See also Eisner v. Macomber, 252
U.S. 189, 207 (1919).

On the other hand, “{pljersonal injury awards serve
to make one whole, in effect, restoring one to the status
quo before the injury was suffered.” See Bowen v. Fi-
delity Banks, 209 N.C. 140, 183 S.E. 266 (1936); Caro-
lina Power and Light Company v. Paul, 261 N.C. 710,
136 S.E. 2d 103 (1964) ; 25 C.J.S. Damages § 17 (1966).
“The damages award is substitutionary relief, that is, it
gives the plaintiff money mainly by way of compensation,
to make up for some loss that was not, originally, a
money loss, but one that ordinarily may be measured in
money.” D. Dobbs, Remedies § 3.1 (1973). See also 25

9

C.J.S. Damages § 17; Black’s Law Dictionary 352 (5th
ed. 1979). Hence, personal injury awards do not represent
a return on investment of labor or capital. See also The
Internal Revenue Code, 26 U.S.C. § 104 which states that
gross income does not include “the amount of any dam-
ages received ... on account of personal injuries or sick-
ness.” Rather, as the Fourth Circuit found, personal in-

jury awards replace losses due to pain and suffering.
See Reed, 774 F.2d at 1275.

Congress was well aware of the common meaning of
“income” when it redrafted 42 U.S.C. § 602(a)(7) and
(17). If Congress had intended to radically change the
definition of “income” to include damages in such a way
as to be repugnant to 200 years of American law, it
would have clearly so stated.

In total contradiction to these established principles,
the Secretary argues that the term “income” refers to the
gross receipts an AFDC family has available to meet its
monthly needs. The Secretary relies upon Heckler v.
Turner, 105 S.Ct. 1188 (1985) to support his theory
that the gross receipts available to an AFDC family for
support are income. Significantly, Heckler v. Turner did
not address personal injury awards. Rather, the opinion
centers on mandatory tax withholdings from wages or
salary. Unlike personal injury awards, mandatory tax
withholdings represent wages and fall within the ordi-
nary meaning of “income.” The Secretary’s reading of
Heckler v. Turner is overly broad. The case cannot be
cited for the proposition that personal injury awards
come within the purview of term “income.” With his
misplaced reliance on Heckler v. Turner, the Secretary,
in effect, seeks to overturn a whole body of tort law.
When he implemented his expansive definition of ‘“‘in-
come,” the Secretary substantially rewrote the statute in
disregard of Congressional intent. These actions are
clearly arbitrary, capricious and repugnant to a whole
body of American jurisprudence.

10

Not only does the Secretary’s contrived definition of
income contradict Congressional intent, but it also frus-
trates the very policy that Congress sought to implement.
The situation the Secretary envisions is far removed from
the financial realities confronting many AFDC families.
The Secretary blinks at reality and blatantly ignores the
fact that often personal injury victims sustain injuries
that result in physical and mental impairments extend-
ing beyond the receipt of the personal injury award.
Although the Secretary discounts prior medical expenses
in determining a disqualification period, he fails to recog-
nize the frequent existence of future expenses relating
to the injury. Contrary to the Secretary’s assumption,
the personal injury award may not be available to meet
the ongoing needs of the AFDC family. When additional
expenses arise, the disqualified AFDC household is often
forced to use its personal injury award to seek proper
medical care, leaving no money for food, shelter and
other survival needs of the family.

The Secretary correctly points out that Congress in-
tended for AFDC benefits to be provided only to needy
families. See Shea v. Vialpando, 416 U.S. 251 (1974).
He then argues that the most sensible reconcilation of the
concepts of “income” and “resources” is “. . . one that
best encourages a family to budget its income and re-
sources to take care of itself. ... [T]he Secretary’s treat-
ment of personal injury . . . awards gives the statutory
language its congressionally intended effect.” See Brief
for the Secretary of Health and Human Services as Re-
spondent Supporting Petitioner at 13. However, his new
regulation utterly fails to achieve this Congressional pur-
pose. Not only does the Secretary refuse to recognize the
ordinary meaning of “income,” but he denies AFDC
recipients the opportunity to budget their personal injury
awards for future expenses.

For example, in the class action pending in North
Carolina, one plaintiff alleged she was forced during her

—

11

period of disqualification to pawn part of her furniture,
and to sleep on the floor with her minor child, in order
to purchase food for her child and to obtain medical care
for herself. See p. 3, supra. Hence, circumstances be-
yond her control dictated that she could not budget her
personal injury award as “income” in the manner the
Secretary contemplates. In this case and many similar
cases, in addition to thwarting the Congressional purpose
of encouraging budgeting by the AFDC recipient, the
application of state and federal regulations purporting to
interpret the lump sum rule utterly defeats the purpose
of the AFDC statute which is to assist needy families.

Both the Secretary’s regulation and his interpretation
of the statute ignore the ordinary meaning of the term
“income,” thereby imposing harsh inequities upon needy
parents and their children. Congress intended that per-
sonal injury awards be excluded from the definition of
income in the AFDC statute. In order to fulfill the Con-
gressional intent to encourage budgeting and to assist
the needy, Health and Human Services’ new regulation
must be declared invalid. Only by affirming the decision
in Reed will these families be afforded the means to meet
their basic needs of survival as Congress intended.

II. THE SECRETARY’S INTERPRETATION OF THE
OBRA LUMP SUM AMENDMENT IS NOT EN-
TITLED TO DEFERENCE.

The Secretary of Health and Human Services, by en-
acting 45 C.F.R. § 223.20(a) (3) (ii) (F), has impermissi-
bly rewritten the OBRA lump sum statute. He now asks
the Court to legitimate his nonconformance with Congres-
sional intent by holding that his interpretation of the
OBRA lump sum rule is “reasonable” and, as such, is
entitled to deference. The Secretary’s interpretation of
OBRA as expressed in his new regulation and in his brief
is not entitled to deference since his interpretation is in-
consistent with Congressional intent and his own prior

12

pronouncements, and defeats the very purpose of the
AFDC Act.

Although it is true that the Secretary’s interpretation
of the Social Security Act would be entitled to deference,
this deference does not abrogate the Court’s duty to in-
terpret the Act in a manner consistent with Congres-
sional intent. Federal courts, not administrative agen-
cies are the final arbiters of statutory construction. This
Court has held that “ ‘deference owed to [agency inter-
pretation of statutes they are empowered to administer ]
cannot be allowed to slip into judicial inertia which
result in the unauthorized assumption by an agency of
major policy decisions properly made by Congress.’ ”
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Fire Arms v. Federal
Labor Relations Authority, 104 S.Ct. 439, 444 (1983)
(quoting American Shipbuilding Co. v. NLRB, 380 U.S.
300, 318 (1965)). This Court further mandates that
courts must not rubber-stamp administrative decisions;
rather, they must insure that these decisions are con-
sistent with the statutory mandate and do not frustrate
Congressional policy underlying the statute. 104 S.Ct. at
444.

Ordinarily, administrative interpretations of statutory
terms are given important—but not controlling—sig-
nificance. Batterton v. Francis, 482 U.S. 416 (1977).
However, deference that the Secretary seeks is con-
strained by this Court’s “obligation to honor the clear
meaning of a statute, as revealed by its language, pur-
pose, and history.” Southeastern Community College v.
Davis, 442 U.S. 397, 411 (1979) (quoting Teamsters v.
Daniel, 439 U.S. 551, 566 (1979) ).

The obvious inconsistency of the new lump sum regula-
tion with Congressional intent can readily be seen from
the legislative history of OBRA. When it revised 42
U.S.C. § 602(a) (17), Congress did not expahd, constrict
or otherwise alter the definition of “income.” See p. 7,
supra. The language of the lump sum rule and the
history surrounding it in no way suggest that Congress

13

intended to change anything other than the treatment of
lump sum “income.”

The weight afforded to agency interpretative regula-
tions “depend[s] upon the thoroughness evident in its
consideration, the validity of its reasoning, its consistency
with earlier and later pronouncements, and all those
factors which give it power to persuade, if lacking power
to control.” Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134, 140
(1944) (emphasis added). See also St. Martin Evan-
gelical Lutheran Church v. South Dakota, 451 U.S. 772,
783, n. 18 (1981); K. Davis, Administrative Law, § 5.03
(3rd Ed. 1972). In this case, there has been a gross lack
of consistency by the Secretary interpretating the OBRA
lump sum rule. Previously, but long after enactment of
OBRA, the Secretary had propounded the policy of treat-
ing as “resource,” not “income,” damage to a “resource”
such as a car. (J.A. 46-47) Now, with the enactment
of the final regulation 45 C.F.R. § 223.20(a) (3) (ii) (F),
the Secretary requires states to treat resource damage
awards as “income” and to be counted under the lump
sum rule. Brief for the Secretary of Health and Human
Services as Respondent Supporting Petitioner at 19.

Furthermore, the Secretary previously permitted the
states to treat personal injury awards as either “income”
or “resource.”’ (J.A. 62) Then, while cases on this issue
were pending throughout the country, the Secretary is-
sued proposed new regulations which would require all
states to treat all “windfalls” as “income” under the
lump sum rule. 49 Fed. Reg. 45558 (November 14,
1984). No mention of personal injury awards was made
in his definition of “windfall.’”’ However, when the final
regulation was issued—after a Third Circuit decision
unfavorable to the Secretary’s position and while this
case was pending before this Court on petition for a
writ of certiorari—the Secretary specifically included
personal injury awards in the definition of “income.”
50 Fed. Reg. 9205 (March 18, 1986) (to be codified at
45 C.F.R. § 233.20(a) (3) (ii) (F). |

14

Not only has the Secretary vacillated in his rulings,
but he has conveniently contrived new versions of the
lump sum rule to meet the objections raised in the
various court cases. This type of blatant manipulation
of agency regulation by the Secretary is not entitled to
deference.

Under the Secretary’s interpretation of OBRA, Con-
gressional intent is badly frustrated. The AFDC pro-
gram was created to encourage “the care of dependent

children in their own homes... . by enabling each State
to furnish financial assistance .. . to needy depending
children . . . to help maintain and strengthen family, life
and ... maximum self support... .” 42 U.S.C. § 601.

Yet, by improper operation of the lump sum rules, this
purpose is thwarted, leaving AFDC families destitute.
See, p. 11, supra.

Therefore, the Secretary’s regulation contradicts the
provisions of the statute and frustrates congressional
intent. Further, the regulation exceeds the Secre-
tary’s statutory authority and is arbitrary and capri-
cious. Therefore, the regulation is not entitled to any
deference whatsoever. Securities Industry Association v.
Board of Governors, 104 S.Ct. 2979 (1984); 5 U.S.C.
§ 706; see also Yuckert v. Heckler 774 F.2d 1365 (9th
Cir. 1986). Where, as in this case, the regulation is in-
valid, it is the intention of Congress as interpreted by
the Court that must prevail. Id.

The Secretary attempts to set a dangerous precedent.
He seeks to insure that the Court will adopt his position
by issuing a regulation at the eleventh hour of this
litigation by arguing that this regulation is “[a] reason-
able interpretation of {the AFDC] statute... .” Brief
for the Secretary of Health and Human Services as Re-
spondent Supporting Petitioner at 10. This backdoor ap-
proach to law making is repugnant to the judiciary’s
role in statutory interpretation. As this Court accurately
noted in Securities Industry Association v. Board of
Governors:

15

[D]eference is not a device that emasculates the
significance of judicial review. Judicial deference to
an agency interpretation of a statute “only sets the
significance of judicial analysis; it does not dispell
it.” A reviewing court “must reject administrative
construction of [a] statute, rather reached by ad-
judication or by rulemaking that [is] inconsistent
with the statutory mandate or that frustrates the
policy that congress sought to implement.”

104 S.Ct. at 2983 (1984) (citations omitted).

The Secretary’s self-serving interpretation of OBRA
is unreasonable and clearly disregards congressional in-
tent as well as judicial power. Therefore, the Court
should not accord any deference to the Secretary’s inter-
pretation of the OBRA lump sum amendment as ex-
pressed in 45 C.F.R. § 233.20(a) (3) (ii) (F).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the Court should affirm
the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel DAVID H. HARRIS, JR.

RICHARD M. TAYLOR, JR. SUSAN M. PERRY *
Executive Director Eastern Carolina Legal

Legal Services of North Carolina Services
112 S. Blount Street P.O. Box 2688
Raleigh, N.C. 27611 Wilson, N.C. 27893

(919) 291-6851

bale nt atl Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
Legal Services of

Pamlico Sound Legal Services :
P.O. Box 1167 North Carolina
New Bern, N.C. 28560 * Counsel of Record

Peccy S. LEVIN
Eastern Carolina Legal Services
P.O. Box 2688
Wilson, N.C. 27893

CAMILLA MCCLAIN
Pamlico Sound Legal Services
P.O. Box 7283
Greenville, N.C. 27884

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0074%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
