# Opposition Brief — Raymark Industries, Inc. v. Bath Iron Works Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0061%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1126

## Text

FILED

! Supreme Court, U.S.
| i MAR 22 1986

Y J
No. 85-1246 if JOSEPH F. SPANIOL. UR.

CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Hnited States

October Term, 1985

MILDRED V. DRAKE

Vv.

RAYMARK INDUSTRIES, INC., et al.,
Petitioners

Vv.

BATH IRON WORKS CORPORATION,
Respondent

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Counsel for Respondent:

Robert F. Hanson, Counsel of Record
James D. Poliquin

NORMAN & HANSON

P.O. Box 4600 DTS

Portland, ME 04112

(207) 772-8352

No. 85-1246

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

MILDRED V. DRAKE

Vv.

RAYMARK INDUSTRIES, INC.., et al.,
Petitioners

Ve

BATH IRON WORKS CORPORATION,
Respondent

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Counsel for Respondent:

Robert F. Hanson, Counsel of Record
James D. Poliquin

NORMAN & HANSON

P.O. Box 4600 DTS

Portland, ME 04112

(207) 772-8352

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented ....... 1
Index to Appendices ....... iii
Table of Authorities ...... iv
ee ee ee ee ee ee ee eee
Statement of the Case ....... 3

Mme Bmeemesee ce eveeeee 3

B. First Circuit Decision .. 4
Reasons for Denying the Writ. ... 6

I. This Court Should Not Address the
Interrelationship of Maritime
Jurisdiction and Section 905(b) in
this Case Because BIW’s Status as
Neither an Owner nor Owner Pro Hac
Vice of the Vessels Makes
Resolution of the Section 905(b)
Issue Irrelevant to the Outcome of
DPE a) « © «6 «© «© «© eo o

II. A Conflict Among the Circuits Does
Not Exist on the Question of
Whether Section 905(b) Applies Only
to Those Claims Within the
Admiralty Jurisdiction of the
Federal Courts. ...... 8

III. The First Circuit Correctly
Interpreted and Applied the
Executive Jet “Nexus”
Requirement ........ 19

IV. This Court Should Not Address at
this Time the Question of Whether
Section 905(a) Bars Contribution
Actions Against Employers Because
No Conflict Exists Among the
Circuits and the First Circuit’s
Decision is Consistent with Supreme
Court Cases Interpreting the LHWCA
*s & &@ @ € 6S &@ @ 6 8 6 « 26

V. The Issue of What Employer Immunity
Provisions Apply in Cases Within
the Concurrent Coverage of the
LHWCA and State Compensation Act
Does Not Pose a Substantial Federal
Question Worthy of Supreme Court
MOV scene e eee 43

VI. No Conflict Among the Circuits
Exists on the Question of What
Employer Immunity Provision Applies
in Cases Within the Concurrent
Coverage of the LHWCA and a State
Compensation Act ..... 48

ND a ee ee ae 52

Certificate of Service ...... 53

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Page
Appendix A
Memorandum and Order of the District
Court dated August 9, 1982. ... la
Appendix B

Memorandum and Order of the
District Court dated July 4, 1984 . 29a

/-=JI111<-
i> die de

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Allied Towing Corp. v. Taten,
580 F.2d 702 (4th Cir. 1978) 11

American Mutual Liability Insurance Co.
v. Matthews, 182 F.2d 322 (2nd Cir. 1950)
32

Austin v. Unarco Industries, Inc.,
705 F.2d 1 (lst Cir.), cert. dismissed,

463 U.S. 1247 (1983) 23, 24
Baird v. John McShane Inc.,
108 F.Supp. 553 (D.D.Cc. 1952) 33
Bernier v. Johns Manville Sales Corp.,
78-98 P(D. Me. August 9, 1982)
2

Brown v. American-Hawaiian S.S. Co.,
211 F.2d 16 (3rd Cir. 1954) 32

Bynum v. Patterson Truck Lines, Inc.,
655 F.2d 643 (5th Cir. 1981)

13, 15, 16

Coates v. Potomac Electric Power Co.,
95 F.Supp 779 (D.D.C. 1951) 33

Cooper Stevedoring Inc., v. Fritz Kopke,
Inc., 417 U.S. 106 (1974)

29, 30

-iv-

Executive Jet Aviation Inc., v. City of
Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249 (1972)
4, 8, 9
12, 14, 16
A9,e Bh, 24
Halcyon Lines v. Haenn Ship Ceiling
and Refitting Corp., 342 U.S. 282 (1951)
29, 30
Hall v. Hvide Hull No. 3,
746 F.Supp. 294 (5th Cir. 1984), cert.
denied 106 ® ct. 69 (1985).
9, a3, AS
16, 17
Harrelson v. United States,
420 F.Supp. 788 (S.D. Ga. 1976),
affirmed, 548 F.2d 353 (5th Cir. 1977)
10
Hill v. Texaco Inc., 674 F.2d 447 (5th
Cir. 1982) 11
Hollister v. Luke Construction Co.,
517 F.2d 920 (5th Cir. 1975) 17
Jenkins v. McDermot Inc.,
734 F.2d 229 (5th Cir. 1984)
48, 49, 50
Kalogeros v. Brasileiro ,
446 F. Supp. 1975 (S.D.N.Y. 1978) 9
Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States,
460 U.S. 190 (1983) 5, 26, 27
26, 29," 32
76, Ste oe

—

Lowe v. Ingalls Shipbuilding,
723 F 24 1173 (5th Cir. 1974) 13. 239

Lundy v. Litton Systems Inc.,
624 F.2a 590 (5th Cir.),
cert. denied, 450 U.S. 913 (1981) 13

McCarthy v. The Bark Peking,
716 F.2d 130 (2nd Cir. 1983) 11

McKellar v. Clark Equipment Co.,
472 A.2d 411 (Me. 1984) 44

Murray v. United States,
405 F.2d 1361, 1364 (p.¢. Car. 1968)

32
Ocean Drilling and Exploration Co.
v. Berry Brothers Oil Field Service,
377 F.2d 511 (5th Cir. 1967) 32

Parker v. South Louisiana Contractors,
Inc.,
537 F.2d 113 (5th Cir. 1976)

Bog S29, 36

Roberts v. American Chain & Cable Co.,
259 A.2ad 43 (Me. 1969)

41

Russell v. Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores,
625 F.2d 71 (5th Cir. 1980)

13, 15, 16

Ryan Stevedoring Co., v. Pan-Atlantic
S.S. Corp., 350 #4U.S. 120 (1956)
31, 34

-vi-

Savoy v. United States,

469 F.Supp. 301 (E.D. La. 1978) 10

Seas Shipping Co., v. Sieracki,
328 U.S. 85 (1946)
31, 34

Simpson Timber Co., v. Partes,
390 F.2d 353 (9th Cir. 1968) 32
Stass v. American Commercial Lines Inc.,
720 F.2d 879 (5th Cir. 1983)
9

Weyerhaeuser SS Co. v. United States,
372 U.S. 597 (1963) 26, 28

STATUTES AND TREATISES

33 U.S.C. §905(a) 5, 18, 19,
26, 28, 30
31, 33, 35
37, 38, 39
41, 42, 43
44

33 U.S.C. §905(b) 6, 7, 8,
9, 14, 15

33 U.S.C. §933 50
28 U.S.C. §1331(1) 15
5 U.S.C. §8116(c) 27, 28
36 D.C. Code §501 (1973) 33
2 A. Larson, The Law of Workmen’s
Compensation §65.14 at 12-9 (1983) 45

-vii-

MISCELLANEOUS

Cong. Rec. S11621 (Sept. 20, 1984)
35

Cong. Rec. S11623 (Sept. 29, 1984)
36

S. Rep. No. 98-81 (98th Cong. list Sess.)
37

Il.

Iil.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

DID THE LOWER COURT ERR IN
HOLDING THAT CLAIMS BY SHIPYARD
WORKERS FOR INJURIES CAUSED BY
ASBESTOS EXPOSURE IN THE COURSE
OF SHIPBUILDING AND SHIP REPAIR
ARE NON-MARITIME, AND THEREFORE
OUTSIDE THE SCOPE OF SECTION
905(b) ?

DID THE LOWER COURT ERR IN
HOLDING THAT THE IMMUNITY
PROVIDED BY SECTION 905(a) AND
SECTION 933 BARS CONTRIBUTION
ACTIONS BROUGHT BY THIRD-PARTY
TORTFEASORS AGAINST AN EMPLOYER
UNDER THE LONGSHORE AND
HARBOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ACT?

WHEN THE LONGSHORE AND HARBOR
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ACT AND A
STATE COMPENSATION ACT PROVIDE
CONCURRENT COVERAGE FOR AN
EMPLOYEE’S INJURY, SHOULD THE
EMPLOYEE’S INITIAL ELECTION OF
COMPENSATION UNDER THE LONGSHORE
AND HARBOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
ACT CONTROL THE EMPLOYER’S
LIABILITY TO THIRD-PARTY
TORTFEASORS UNDER STATE LAW?

OPINIONS BELOW
Raymark reprints in it’s Petition the
decision of the First Circuit below and
the District Court’s Memorandum and Order
from which appeal was taken. In granting
summary judgment in Drake, the District
Court incorporated the reasoning of two
earlier decisions on issues’ significant

to the Petition. In Bernier v. Johns

Manville Sales Corp., 78-98 P(D.Me.

August 9, 1982), the District Court held
that Bath Iron Works Corporation
(hereinafter ”“BIW”) was not the owner or

owner pro hac vice cf the vessels at its

shipyard upon which employees were
exposed to asbestos. This Memorandun,
Opinion and Order is reprinted as
Appendix A. The District Court also held

that section 4 of the Maine Workers

Compensation Act (hereinafter “”MWCA”)

could bar contribution actions against
BIW even if the employee initially filed
a claim only under the LHWCA. See In re

All Maine Asbestos Litigation (BIW cases)

(D. Me., July 4, 1984) (reprinted as
Appendix 8B). Raymark Petitions for
Certiorari on this latter issue, but not
on the question of vessel ownership.

STATEMENT OF CASE

The Respondent BIW adopts the
Statement of the Case in the Petition
with the exceptions and additions noted
below.

A. FACTS

Many of the approximately 300
asbestos cases do not involve exposure
solely while on vessels in navigable

waters. Employees were exposed to

asbestos on land and/or while working on

vessels in navigable waters. Forest
Drake allegedly was exposed to asbestos
in both places.

While neither Forest Drake nor his
widow ever applied for or received
benefits under the MWCA, BIW’s status as
an “assenting” employer meant that
compensation benefits were available
under that Act throughout the relevant
period of time.

B. FIRST CIRCUIT DECISION

The First Circuit disposed of all
claims against BIW by resolving two legal
issues. First, the Court held that
section 905(b) had no application to the

asbestos cases because the Executive Jet

requirement of a nexus to traditional

maritime activity was not satisfied.
According to the Court, the scope of
section 905(b) is co-extensive with the

prevailing contours of maritime
jurisdiction. Secondly, the Court
concluded that section 905(a) barred
contribution actions against employers.
The Court rejected Raymark’s contention

that the decision in Lockheed v. United

States, 460 U.S. 190 (1983) warranted a

reversal of consistent Supreme Court and
lower court decisions construing section
905(a) as a bar to contribution actions.
The First Circuit did not disturb
the District Court’s conclusions that BIW

was not an owner or owner pro hac vice of

vessels and that section 4 of the MWCA
operated to bar contribution actions
against BIW regardless of whether the
employee in question initially filed a

compensation case under the LHWCA or the

MWCA.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I. THIS COURT SHOULD NOT ADDRESS THE
INTERRELATIONSHIP OF MARITIME
JURISDICTION AND SECTION 905(b) IN THIS
CASE BECAUSE BIW’S STATUS AS NEITHER AN
OWNER NOR OWNER PRO HAC VICE OF THE
VESSELS MAKES RESOLUTION OF THE SECTION
905(b) ISSUE IRRELEVANT TO THE OUTCOME OF
THIS CASE.

Raymark requests certiorari on only
one of several interdependent
prerequisites to liability under
section 905(b). Raymark asserts that
section 905(b) forms the necessary
predicate for a contribution claim by
giving BIW employees a direct cause of
action against their employer under
certain circumstances. Section 905(b)
on its' face eddreases only claims by
employees under the Act, not claims of

third parties such as Raymark. Raymark’s

interest in section 905(b) flows from an

understanding that a contribution claim

conceivably may exist against BIW if BIW
employees possess a direct claim against
their employer.

BIW cannot be held liable to its
employees under section 905(b) unless all
of the following propositions are true:
(1) At material times, BIW was an owner

pro hac vice of vessels under

construction and repair at the shipyard;
(2) the injuries to BIW employees caused
by asbestos exposure are within general
maritime jurisdiction; and (3) the
injuries to BIW employees were not caused
by “persons engaged in providing
shipbuilding or repair services to the
vessel” (33 U.S.C. §905(b)).

After a thorough review of the
record, the District Court held that BIW

was not an owner or owner pro hac vice

because any control by BIW over the

vessels under construction and repair at
its shipyard was merely incidental to
construction and repair operations.
Raymark does not seek review of this
determination, but requests certiorari on
another prerequisite to section 905(b)
liability of absolutely no relevance

unless BIW was an owner or owner pro hac

vice of the vessels.

Il. A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS DOES
NOT EXIST ON THE QUESTION OF WHETHER
SECTION 905(b) APPLIES ONLY TO THOSE
CLAIMS WITHIN THE ADMIRALTY JURISDICTION
OF THE FEDERAL COURTS.

The Petition of Raymark cites
several cases in support of the
contention that the Circuit Courts of
Appeal are in conflict onthe issue of

whether the test of Executive Jet

Aviation Inc., v. City of Cleveland, 409

U.S. 249 (1972), applies to section

905(b) claims. With the possible

exception of Hall v. Hvide Hull No.3, 746

F.2d 294 (5th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

106 S. Ct. 69 (1985), none of those cases
directly address the jurisdictional
issue, particularly the interrelationship
of section 905(b) and traditional
maritime jurisdiction. In fact, the
cases cited by Raymark as implicitly

inconsistent with Drake involve distinct

factual scenarios probably within the
scope of maritime Jurisdiction as

delineated by Executive Jet.

In Stass v. American Commercial

Lines Inc., 720 F.2d 879 (5th Cir. 1983)

the employee fell through an open hatch
when he slipped on soybeans left on the

ship’s deck. The employee in Kalogeros

v. Brasileiro 446 F. Supp. 1975 (S.D.N.Y.

1978) alleged that he slipped on oily

stairs when descending to the engine
room. The regular ship’s crew was in
charge of the vessel and engine roon.

The case of Savoy v. United States, 469

F. Supp. 301 (E.D. La. 1978) also
involved an employee who fell while
descending stairs. The employee claimed

that the stairs were hazardous because of
an excessive incline. The employee in

DiLorenzo v. Robert E£. Lee, Inc., 412 F.

Supp. 1012 (E.D. La. 1976) asserted a
claim based on the negligence of the
vessel’s captain in throwing fuel oil on

the deck. In Harrelson v. United States,

420 F.Supp. 788 ($.D. Ga. 1976),
affirmed 548 F.2d 353 (5th Cir. 1977), an
employee testing cargo tanks for leaks
was struck by an unidentified object
allegedly left by the ship’s crew ona

set of grated stairs. The employee in

-10-

Hill v. Texaco Inc., 674 F.2d 447 (5th

Cir. 1982) Slipped and fell while
inspecting a gasoline storage tank for

rust. The barge owner in Allied Towing

Corp. v. Tatem, 580 F.2d 702 (4th Cir.

1978) was negligent in carrying a grade
of fuel for which it was not certified.
The barge exploded when welders began
repairs on a leak. Finally, the employee

in McCarthy v. The Bark Peking, 716 F.2d

130 (2nd Cir. 1983) fell while painting
the upper mainmast and spars of the
vessel.

None of those cases involved a
hazard comparable to asbestos exposure
during the construction and major
overhaul of vessels. The employees in
those cases were faced with hazards
normally associated with the use of

vessels. On the other hand, the hazard

-li-

of inhaling asbestos dust is created
during the construction or rip out of the
vessels by the work of the shipbuilders
themselves, and cannot be analogized to
hazards in existence at the time the

vessel is made available to others for

unloading or repair. All of the
authorities offered by Raymark as
evidence of an intercircuit conflict
involve factual situations arguably

bringing the cases within the scope of
maritime jurisdiction as defined by

Executive Jet. None of the cases make

express holdings contrary to the First
Circuit decision in Drake and Raymark’s

observations regarding implicit holdings

are wide of the mark.

The case law in the Fifth Circuit is
not sufficiently settled to warrant the
conclusion that a conflict exists between
the Fifth and First Circuits.

The Fifth Circuit in Hall v. Hvide Hull,

746 F.2d 294, was forced to grapple with
what it perceived as its own, prior

inconsistent decisions. Compare Lundy v.

Litton Systems Inc., 624 F.2d 590 (5th

Cir.) cert. denied, 450 U.S. 913 (1981)

with Lowe v. Ingalls Ship Building, 723

F.2d 1173 (5th Cir. 1984). See also

Bynum v. Patterson Truck Lines Inc., 655

F.2d 643 (5th Cir. 1981); Russell v.

Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores, 625 F.2d 71

(5th car. 1980); Parker v. South

Louisiana Contractors Inc., 537 F.2d 113

(Sth Cir. 1976). Analysis of these Fifth
Circuit cases reveals three distinct

issues: (1) whether a certain claim

-13-

satisfies the pre-Executive Jet test for

maritime jurisdiction; (2) whether a

certain claim satisfies the Executive Jet

test of maritime jurisdiction; and (3)
what tests should be employed in
determining whether a claim is stated
under section 905(b). The First Circuit
in Drake held that the scope of section

905(b) was governed by the Executive Jet

test and that maritime jurisdiction did
not exist.

The issue of whether section 905(b)
can provide an independent basis for
federal question jurisdiction is related
to the issue of whether a claim under

section 905(b) must satisfy the Executive

Jet test for maritime jurisdiction. The
Fifth Circuit held unequivocally that
section 905(b) did not create a federal

statutory cause of action and therefore

-14=

could not form an independent basis for
federal question jurisdiction. See

Parker v. South Louisiana Contractors

Inc., 537 F.2dd at 116-17; Bynum vv.
Patterson Truck Lines Inc., 655 F.2d at
644; Russell v. Atlantic and Gulf

Stevedores, 625 F.2d at 72. The Court in

Bynum explained that “federal
jurisdiction of section 905(b) claims is
based upon general maritime law, 28
U.S.C. section 1331(1), not independentl,

upon Section 905(b) statutory recognition

of the right to recovery. . .” Id. at
654. Section 905(b) is merely a
restatement of the negligence claim

already recognized under maritime law.

In Hall v. Hvide Hull, the Court

maintained that Congress, in enacting
section 905(b), intended to freeze in

time the prevailing concepts of maritime

—— a

de

08 6 eG:

jurisdiction and incorporate them into
the statute, thereby insulating section
905(b) from the evolving common law of
maritime jurisdiction. By locking into

pre-Executive Jet admiralty concepts, the

Court in Hall apparently sanctioned the
assertion of section 905(b) claims
without requiring the satisfaction of
prevailing rules of maritime
jurisdiction. The severing of section
905(b) from the confines of present day
maritime jurisdiction is the equivalent
of establishing a new statutory claim
capable of forming the basis for federal
question jurisdiction, a result disavowed

in Parker, Bynum and Russell. The Hall

case also may conflict with other Fifth
Circuit decisions interpreting the scope
of general maritime jurisdiction. See

Lowe v. Ingalls Ship Building, 723 F.2d

-16-

1173 (5th Cir. 1974); Hollister v. Luke

Construction Co., 517 F.2d 920 (5th Cir.

1975).
The only confusion concerning the
interrelationship of section 905(b) and
the law of maritime jurisdiction is
within conflicting Fifth Circuit
decisions, not conflicting decisions
among the circuits. Even the Fifth
Circuit in Hall noted that the apparent
inconsistency in its decisions presented
an issue of “bancworthy dimension.” 746
F.2d at 295. The Fifth Circuit. however,
declined the Hall panel’s invitaticn for
en. banc review. As this Court
demonstrated in denying the petition for
certiorari in Hall, review should not be
granted on the _ section 905(b) issue
solely because of a possible intracircuit

conflict in the Fifth Circuit.

”

wer

ll

> ~ *' oe

-'

Neither should the Petition be
granted because of an alleged deprivation
of protection for workers. See Raymark
Petition at 26-28. Confining the scope of
section 905(b) to claims within general
maritime jurisdiction does not deprive
workers of remedies intended by Congress.
A lack of amaritime claim is not the
equivalent of no claim at all. If
maritime law does not apply, owners or
occupiers of property, including vessels
under construction or major overhaul, are
responsible for tortious conduct under
state law. Raymark’s motivation in
apparently rallying for employee’s rights
springs from a need to overcome the
employer immunity of section 905(a).
That explains why Raymark is not content
with the employees having state law

negligence claims rather than maritime

-18=-

claims. If the employer is ae vessel
owner, only the pre-1984 version of
section 905(b) penetrates the employer
immunity of section 905(a).

Iil. THE FIRST CIRCUIT CORRECTLY

INTERPRETED AND APPLIED THE EXECUTIVE JET
“NEXUS” REQUIREMENT.

Raymark misconstrues both

Executive Jet and the First Circuit

interpretation of that decision. Raymark
avoids entirely an analysis of the nature

of the employee’s work and the cause of

injury, preferring to latch onto
generalities and labels. According to
Raymark, maritime jurisdiction is
satisfied per se with the simple

allegation that the employee was injured
by the negligence of a “vessel.”

The scope of maritime jurisdiction
depends upon the interaction of the

federal need for uniformity in matters of

-19=-

maritime commerce and navigation and a
due regard for the independence and
jurisdiction of state governments.
Although Raymark recognizes the need for
uniformity as a key variable, no attempt
is made in the Petition to articulate a
federal interest ina uniform tort law
applicable to cases of asbestos exposure.
Raymark notes that “the duties of the
vessel owner .. ., whose activities take
him from port to port, historically have
been the sole province of the maritime
TP ee Raymark Petition at 33.
Unlike most legal issues arising out of
the activities of a vessel, ship
construction and major overhaul do not
take a vessel owner “from port to port.”
Significantly, BIW’s .‘tleged status as an
Owner pro hac vice springs solely from

the “control” exercised by BIW incidental

-20-

to its ship building and overhaul
operations. Since none of BIW’s
activities, even those as an alleged
vessel owner, take it from “port to
port,” state law is as capable as federal
law of treating BIW uniformly in all its
activities.

The federal need for uniformity
applies to matters of maritime navigation
and commerce, matters arising from the
use of a vessel as ae vessel. As

explained by this Court in Executive Jet:

The law of admiralty has
evolved over many centuries,
designed and molded to handle
problems of vessels relegated
to ply the waterways of the
world, beyond whose shores they
cannot go. That law deals with
navigational laws --- rules
that govern the manner and
direction those vessels may
rightly move upon the waters.
When a collision occurs or a
ship founders at sea, the law
of admiralty looks to those
rules to determine fault,
liability and all other

-21-

questions that may arise from
such a catastrophe. Through
long experience, the law of the
sea knows how to determine
whether a particular ship is
seaworthy, and it knows the
nature of maintenance and cure.
It is concerned with maritime
liens, the general average,
captures and prizes, limitation
of liability, cargo damage and
claims of salvage.

409 U.S. at 269-70. The construction or

major overhaul of a vessel is a
stationary, long term project. Maritime
commerce and navigation are not

negatively affected by a lack of
uniformity flowing from the application
of state tort law to claims for exposure
to asbestos during construction and major
overhaul of vessels. The law of the sea
can claim no expertise on legal and
factual matters related to claims of

exposure to asbestos in the work place.

-22-

The asbestos manufacturers have
fought successfully against the
invocation of admiralty jurisdiction in
the claims against then, yet
simultaneously argue that admiralty
jurisdiction applies to claims employees

allegedly have against BIW. See Austin

v. Unarco Industries, Inc., 705 F.2d 1

(lst Cir.), cert dismissed, 463 U.S. 1247

(1983). Raymark professes to “see no
hint of inconsistency in its position.”
Raymark Petition at 34. The First
Circuit in Austin summarized and adopted
the argument of the asbestos
manufacturers on the jurisdictional
question:

It argues, however, that the

decedent’s work was not
significantly related to
traditional maritime activity
involving navigation and

commerce, as required by the
Court in Executive Jet; that
injuries to shipyard workers
are not a traditional concern

Ne ne A Oe erie sll Ge aN OE Rul ueeeh Ine teers sine a blLeencuaa Whe uaa,

of admiralty; and that the

policy justifications for a

uniform maritime law do not

support admiralty jurisdiction

in this case. After much

reflection, we agree.
705 F.2d at 10-11. Raymark offers to
this Court the exact opposite: that
Drake’s work was significantly related to
traditional maritime activity involving
navigation and commerce; that injuries to
shipyard workers are a traditional
concern of admiralty law; and that the
policy justifications for a uniform
maritime law do support admiralty
jurisdiction. The absence of admiraity
jurisdiction in Austin was not the result
of Raymark’s status as a manufacturer as
opposed to a shipyard, but rather the

result of a determination that “the

hazards faced by a shipyard worker

-24-

4
¢t
.
?
?
1
:
y
3

Pt A A ae

installing asbestos are scarcely
traditional concerns of admiralty . . .”
705 F.2d at 12-13.

The First Circuit’s decision in
Drake does not “constitute a dangerous
and unwarranted erosion of the admiralty
jurisdiction . . .” Raymark Petition at
34. In so characterizing the Drake
decision, Raymark completely ignores the
Court’s emphasis on the employee’s job
activities and circumstances surrounding

the injury. No reasonable reading of the

Drake opinion supports Raymark’s

observation that the First Circuit held
that “whether a vessel poses an
unreasonable danger to those legitimately
on board is better left to state tort
law.” Petition at 34. The First Circuit
unquestionably would find admiralty

jurisdiction in a wide range of cases

-25-

involving injury to those on board
vessels caused by vessel owner
negligence. Those exposed to the work-
place hazard of asbestos during ship
construction and major overhaul are

appropriately excluded from that group.

IV. THIS COURT SHOULD NOT ADDRESS AT
THIS TIME THE QUESTION OF WHETHER SECTION
905(a) BARS CONTRIBUTION ACTIONS AGAINST
EMPLOYERS BECAUSE NO CONFLICT EXISTS
AMONG THE CIRCUITS AND THE FIRST
CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS CONSISTENT WITH
SUPREME COURT CASES INTERPRETING THE
LHWCA.

A. The case of Lockheed Aircraft Corp.,
v. United States, 460 U.S. 190 (1983),
does not suggest or compel an

interpretation of section 905(a) contrary
to the First Circuit’s decision in
Drake.

Raymark’s attack on section 905(a)
rests solely upon the Supreme Court

decision in Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v.

United States, 460 U.S. 190 (1983). The

Court in Lockheed permitted an indemnity

action against the United States despite

-26-

5
|
.
']
|
y
;
i
;
;

the exclusive liability provision at 5
U.S.C. §8116(c). The Court held “only
that FECA’s exclusive liability
provision, 5 U.S.C. §8116(c), does not
directly bar a third-party indemnity
action against the United States.” Id.
at 199.

The Lockheed decision has little or

no persuasive value in the LHWCA context

for two major reasons: (1) the Lockheed

Court relied upon Weyerhaeuser SS Co., v.

United States, 372 U.S. 597 (1963), a

decision with no counterpart in the
LHWCA, and (2) the Congressional silence
on the immunity issue in the FECA context
is in sharp contrast to the substantial
leglislative history of the 1972 and 1984

LHWCA amendments.

-27-

Sy yt eee ee ee ee ee

The Court’s conclusions in Lockheed

regarding congressional intent do not

apply to the LHWCA. The Lockheed Court

noted that “in the 20 years since

Weyerhaeuser was decided, Congress has

not modified FECA’s exclusive-liability
provision to include third parties.” Id.
at 196. This congressional inactivity
was considered “particularly significant
in view of the 1966 codification of FECA
which included amendments to the new
section 8116 (c).” Id. 196.

The same aid to construction

utilized by the Court in Lockheed, when

applied to the interaction of case law
and congressional activity under the
LHWCA, mandates the conclusion that
section 905 (a) prevents contribution
actions against employers. Not only has

Congress been content to leave the rule

-28-

of no contribution intact, Congress has
amended the LHWCA to close whatever
loopholes have arisen in the employer’s
exclusive liability under the Act.

Hence, utilization of the Lockheed

Court’s construction principles for
discovering legislative intent generates
a stronger case for disallowing
contribution under the LHWCA than for
allowing contribution under FECA.

In Halcyon Lines v. Haenn Ship

Ceiling and Refitting Corp., 342 U.S. 282

(1951), the Court prohibited contribution
against an employer under the LHWCA. The

Court in Cooper Stevedoring [Inc., Vv.

Fritz Kopke Inc., 417 U.S. 106 (1974),

devoted the majority of its opinion to an

anaysis of Halcyon Lines in an effort to

resolve the issue of whether contribution

between joint tortfeasors exists in

-29°-

maritime actions for personal injuries.
The Cooper Court held that maritime law
recognizes contribution between joint
tortfeasors and that “our decision in

Halycon was, and still is, good law on

its own facts.” Id. at 115. The only

fact differentiating Halycon from Cooper

was that the contribution defendant in

Halycon was an employer protected by the

LHWCA. One who maintains that Halycon

Lines does not stand for the proposition
that section 905(a) bars contribution
actions against employers must explain

the meaning of Halycon in the post-Cooper

era. The Court in Edmonds v. Compagnie

Generale Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 255,

261 (1975) cited Halycon Lines for the

proposition that "the ship owner could

-30-

not circumvent the exclusive-remedy
provision by obtaining contribution from
the concurrent tortfeasor employer.”

A review of the legislative history
of the 1972 amendments to the LHWCA and
pre-1972 case law leaves no doubt that
Congress intended section 905(a) to bas
standard contribution actions against
employers. The 1972 amendments to the
LHWCA were primarily a response toa
series of Supreme Court decisions through
the 1940’s and the 1950’s that
effectively circumvented the exclusive
liability provisions of section 905. See

Seas Shipping Co., v. Sieracki, 328 U.S.

85 (1946); Ryan Stevedoring Co., v. Pan-

Atlantic S.S. Corp. 350 U.S. 120 (1956).

Although Ryan and Sieracki produced a

system in which stevedores effectively

lost their immunity from suit whenever a

-3l-

longshoreman sued a vessel owner for
unseaworthiness, during this same pre-
1972 period section 905 was consistently
interpreted to preclude contribution
actions against employers. See, e.g.

Murray v. United States, 405 F.2d 1361,

1364 (D.C. Cir. 1968)? Simpson Timber

Co., V. Partes, 390 F.2d 353 (9th Cir.

1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 858. Ocean

Drilling and Exploration Co., v. Berry

Brothers Oil Field Service, 377 F.2d 511

(5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 389 U.S.

849; Brown v. American-Hawaiian S.S. Co.,

211 F.2d 16 (3rd Cir., 954); American

Mutual Liability Insurance Ce. . Vv.

Matthews, 182 F.2d 322 (2nd Cir. 1950);

The prevailing if not universal approach
prior to the 1972 amendments was to

prohibit contribution because of the

employer immunity provided by section

-32-

905, regardless of whether the
contribution-plaintiff was a vessel-
owner. In fact, the largest block of
employees covered by the LHWCA prior to
1972 were private employees in the
District of Columbia. The LHWCA had
served as the compensation act for
private employees in the District of
Columbia since 1928. See 36 D.C. Code
§501 (1973), repealed by D.C. Law 3-77,
27 D.C. Reg. 2503 (1980). The District
of Columbia cases before 1972
consistently held that section 905 barred
contribution actions against employers

under the Act. See Coates v. Potomac

Electric Power Co., 95 F.Supp. 779

(D.D.C. 1951); Baird v. John McShane

Inc., 108 F.Supp. 553 (D.D.C. 1952).

-33-

Congress was cognizant of this
universal judicial interpretation of
section 905(a) at the time of the 1972
amendments. Congress in 1972 not only
refrained from altering this consensus,
but also added specific language to
section 905 for the express purpose of
eliminating the exception to employer
immunity that the Supreme Court had

developed in the Sieracki/Ryan line of

cases.

The policy reasons behind the 1972
amendments apply to contribution actions
in general. Congress specifically noted
the importance of diverting resources
from legal expenses to greater
compensation benefits. The gradual
liberalization of tort law and the
landward extension of the LHWCA in 1972

substantially increased the potential for

-34-

employee third party suits against
tortfeasors other than vessel owners, and
correspondingly increased the volume of
possible contribution claims against
employers. Allowing standard
contribution actions in all such cases in
which the employer is potentially
negligent unquestionably thwarts the
objective of Congress in enacting the

1972 amendments. Lockheed has not been a

source of confusion to Congress as
alleged by Raymark. Senator Nichols
explained that no amendment was made to
section 905 (a) because “the plain
meaning of the existing language
indicated that there should be no third-

party liability.” Cong. Rec. S$11621

(Sept. 20, 1984). Senator Nichols noted
that the 1972 amendments were for the

purpose of eliminating the problem of

-—35-

circular suits whereby employers would
pay workers’ compensation and then become
liable for additional amounts to third
parties. Id. Although Senator Hatch
noted that the 1984 legislation did not
specifically address the impact of

Lockheed, Senator Hatch explained that he

personally doubted whether Lockheed posed

a serious threat to longshore employers
because “the Courts have long recognized
that a longshore employer whose
concurring negligence contributed to an
employees injury cannot be sued as a
joint tortfeasor by the third party

seeking contribution.” Cong. Rec. S11623

(Sept. 20, 1984). Finally, the Senate
report on the legislation eventually

passed as the 1984 amendments’ stated

-36-

unambiguously that vessel owner liability

of shipyards should be eliminated because

the LHWCA should adhere closely
to the principle that an
employer should be responsible
for worker’s compensation
exclusive of any other recovery
against the employer...

S. Rep. No. 98-81 at 31 (98th Cong. list

Sess.).
As demonstrated above, the
legislative history and judicial

interpretation of the LHWCA is completely
distinct from FECA. While those acts may
be similar in language and in origin,
they have taken completely different
paths since their inception. The

decision in Lockheed does not render

appropriate a complete reversal of
everything that Congress and the courts
have done to protect employers under the

LHWCA over the last thirty-five years.

-37-

B. Maine law does not recognize an
equitable right of contribution when the
exercise of that right would frustrate
the public policies at the foundation of
both section 4 or section 905(a).

Raymark criticizes the First
Circuit’s conclusion that section 905(a)
bars contribution actions against

employers. As noted in Lockheed, the

question of whether or not an employer
may be liable for contribution to third-
party tortfeasors involves an assessment
of the applicable immunity provision and
the law of contribution. The parties in

Lockheed stipulated that a valid tort

indemnity claim existed against the
United States. Maine law, however, does
not recognize an equitable right of
contribution when the equities either are
not present or are outweighed by other

policy considerations.

-38-

An immunity provision such as
section 905 (a) can operate to bar
contribution on three distinct grounds:
(1) the employer’s direct immunity from

suit by employees eliminates the joint or

common liability necessary to
contribution actions; (2) either the
express language of the immunity

provision or clear legislative intent
bars contribution actions by third-
parties; or (3) allowing contribution
would dilute the protection afforded
employers from direct suit and the policy
reasons behind the basic trade-off in the
compensation act outweigh the policies in
favor of. contribution. Although many
courts tend to rely upon either the first
or second grounds for denying
contribution, section 9305(a) should be

interpreted as a bar to contribution

-39-

actions under Maine law on the third
basis without regard to the applicability
of other grounds. Significantly, section
4 of the MWCA bars’ contribution actions
because of the underlying public policy
and not because of a literal
interpretation of the express language of
section 4 or the absence of “common
liability”.

In barring contribution actions
against employers, the Maine Supreme
Judicial Court concluded that the
policies in support of contribution are
weaker than the policies behind the
employer immunity from direct suit:

We rule that the Legislature, in

imposing absolute liability on an

assenting employer without reference
to fault in return for the
employee’s speedy recovery of fixed
but limited benefits for any

industrial injury, has established a

comprehensive scheme for the

distribution of loss by industrial

accidents to the ultimate benefit of
the employer, employee and the

-40-

public at large. Under such
circumstances, for this Court to
shift part of the third-party
tortfeasor’s liability onto the
assenting employer merely on the
basis of the equitable doctrine that
parties whose concurrent negligence
has caused an injury should bear a
like burden in redressing the same,
would tend to frustrate pro tanto
the purposes of the Act. .. . This
statutory policy providing the
employer with a definitive liability
for payment of benefits predictable
with some degree of accuracy in all
industrial accidents and resting
upon the employer’s immunity from
further damages beyond the call of
the compensation act transcends any

counteracting judicial
considerations of equitable
principles.

Roberts v. American Chain & Cable Co, 259

A.2d 43,49-50 (Me. 1969). Since
contribution in Maine is based upon
equitable principles and the equities do
not warrant frustration cf the purposes
of the MWCA, the right of contribution
does not exist against assenting
employers under the MWCA. Whether the

same result obtains under the LHWCA

-—4 1l-

depends upon a comparison of the policy
reasons behind section 905(a) and section
4.

The strength of the policies
favoring contribution in Maine is not
enhanced merely because the immunity
relied upon derives from section 905(a)
rather than section 4. The right to
contribution under Maine law cannot
overcome section 905(a) for the same
reasons it could not overcome section 4.
The LHWCA and MWCA both impose absolute
liability on an assenting employer
without reference to fault in return for
established benefits. The essence of the

employer’s quid pro quo is “absolute but

limited and determinate liability.” Id
at 49. Holding an assenting employer
answerable in contribution “would tend to

frustrate pro tanto” the purposes of the

-42-

LHWCA to the same extent as the MWCA. If
Maine assigns greater significance to the
public policy underlying the MWCA than to
its own right of contribution, federal
courts should not hesitate to elevate the
policies underlying section 905(a) above
that same right of contribution. As
demonstrated above, the absence of
contribution against MWCA employers flows
not from the technical common liability
rule or express statutory language, but
rather from the weight of the policies
supporting section 4, the very same
policies at the foundation of section
905(a).

V. THE ISSUE OF WHAT EMPLOYER IMMUNITY
PROVISIONS APPLY IN CASES WITHIN THE
CONCURRENT COVERAGE OF THE LHWCA AND A
STATE COMPENSATION ACT DOES NOT POSE A

SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTION WORTHY OF ©
SUPREME COURT REVIEW.

-43-

Since the asbestos cases involve the
concurrent coverage of the LHWCA and the
MWCA, the employer immunity provided by
Maine compensation law bars contribution
actions against BIW regardless of the
interpretation given to section 905(a) of
the LHWCA. Section 4 of the MWCA
prohibits non-contractual actions for
contribution or indemnity against
assenting employers under the Act. See

McKellar v. Clark Equipment Co., 472 A.2d

411,416 (Me. 1984). Despite the
concurrent coverage of the state and
federal compensation acts, Raymark
maintains that an employee’s election of
benefits under the LHWCA precludes
utilization of the employer immunity
provision of a state act for the purpose
of barring contribution actions. That

proposition is inconsistent with

-44-

generally accepted principles of worker’s
compensation law. Raymark finds the
invocation of Section 4 of the MWCA
“troublesome” because Drake did not apply
for or receive MWCA benefits. BIW,
however, was an assenting employer under
the MWCA as well as the LHWCA. As with
all compensation acts, the immunity
provided by section 4 is not triggered by
a particular employee’s decision to
pursue compensation benefits: See 2 A.

Larson, The Law of Workmen’s Compensation

§65.14 at 12-9 (1983). Just as section 4
protects the employer regardless of
whether a compensation claim is filed at
all, that protection does not evaporate

simply because the employee seeks

compensation under the LHWCA.

-45-

Raymark r var? oly asserts that the
application of section 4 in the Drake

case violates the quid pro quo at the

foundation of compensation acts. As
explained above, the employer immunity
does not depend upon the filing of a
compensation claim. For example, a
covered employee under the LHWCA who
voluntarily foregoes his compensation
remedy has no right to bring a direct
tort action against his employer.
Consistency requires Raymark to take the
untenable position that any covered
employee who voluntarily decides not to
file a compensation claim for a covered

injury has thereby lost his quid pro quo

and therefore may recover in tort against
his employer. Since Drake or his widow

could have brought a compensation claim

-46-

under the MWCA, BIW may avail itself of
the protection from suit afforded by that
Act.

The approach advocated by Raymark
requires an interpretation of the 1972
Amendments exactly opposite of that
intended by Congress. In 1972, Congress
eliminated every form of contribution
action against employers that had been
recognized by the Courts up to that point
in time. As noted by Raymark, the 1972
Amendments also expanded coverage of the

LHWCA shoreward to create a “broad zone

{
of concurrent jurisdiction.” Raymark
Petition at 42. A vast number of
compensation cases previously covered

only by the state act are now covered by
both state and federal compensation acts.
In every case covered by only the state

act prior to 1972, BIW was’ entitled to

-47=-

full immunity from contribution claims by
third-party tortfeasors. According to
Raymark, the 1972 Amendments effectively
overruled this state law protection of
employers in every case within the zone
of concurrent coverage in which the
employee initially elects compensation
under the federal act. When analyzed in
conjunction with the landward extension
of the LHWCA, Raymark’s proposal that an
employee’s compensation election control
third-party contribution rights recasts
the 1972 Amendments as a vitiator of
employer immunity, a remarkable feat of
transformation for legislation designed

to eliminate claims against employers and

channel resources to compensation
benefits.
VI. NO CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS

EXISTS ON THE QUESTION OF WHAT EMPLOYER
IMMUNITY PROVISION APPLIES IN CASES
WITHIN THE CONCURRENT COVERAGE OF THE
LHWCA AND A STATE COMPENSATION ACT.

-48-

Contrary to Raymark’s assertions, no
conflict exists among the Circuits on

this issue. The Fifth Circuit in Jenkins

v. McDermot Inc., 734 F.2d 229 (5th Cir.

1984) addressed an entirely different
issue. The employee of a subcontractor
was injured by the negligence of a
general contractor under circumstances
giving rise to the concurrent coverage of
the Louisiana Compensation Act and the
LHWCA. The Louisiana Act would have
provided immunity to the non-employer,
general contractor, whereas the the LHWCA
protected only the actual employer. The
employee sought compensation benefits
under the LHWCA. The Court held that the
employee could sue the general contractor

because he elected federal benefits.

-49-

A key distinction exists between

Jenkins and Drake. The issue in Jenkins

was the recovery rights of the employee.
The issue in Drake is the contribution
rights of a third party against an
employer. As concerns limitations on the
recovery rights of an employee, the
employee’s election of one compensation
act or another plays a legitimate role.
Raymark, however, attempts to assign
significance to the election of the
employee even though the issue allegedly
dependent upon the election, that is the
employer’s liability to third-parties,
has absolutely nothing to do with the
benefits or recovery available to the
employee. Section 933 of the LHWCA
expressly preserves an employee’s claims
against non-employer third parties. Once

the employee elects federal benefits,

-50-

thereby obtaining’ the rights provided by
section 933, state law provisions
directly contrary to section 933 are
preempted. Not a single aspect of the

Jenkins decision conflicts with the First

Circuit’s decision in Drake.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, BIW
respectfully submits’ that this Court
should deny Raymark’s Petition for A Writ
of Certiorari to review any aspect of the
decision of the Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

NORMAN & HANSON

i : ny

—,

‘ As ‘ j ;
. ,
> eke y™ 4 \ ; ’ a,

— —

James D. Poliquin
Attorneys for Respondent
Bath Iron Works Corp.

mY rt oe one c 7S RE Te

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, James D. Poliquin, Esq., certify
that on or before the 22nd day of March,
1986, I mailed, postage prepaid, forty
(40) copies of the Respondent’s Brief In
Opposition to the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari tc the Clerk of the Supreme
Court of the United States, One First
Street N.E., Washington, D.C. 20543, and
mailed three (3) copies to Benjamin
Thompson, Esq., Thompson, McNaboe &
Ashley, P.O. Box 447, Portland, ME
04112, counsel for Petitioner, Raymark
Industries, Inc., and mailed three (3)

copies, postage prepaid, to Peter J.

Rubin, Esq., Bernstein, Shur, Sawyer &
Nelson, One Monument Square, Portland,
Maine 04101, counsel for Owens-Illinois,
Inc., Celotex Corporation, Pittsburgh

Corning Corporation, H. K. Porter
Company, Inc. Southern Textile
Corporation, Inc. , Keene Building
Products corporation and Owens-Corning

Fiberglas Corporation.

\ —

a oe |
++ | '(/ i< » FF . TVR An—~_

wv y VY

James D. Poliquin~

\

STATE OF MAINE
CUMBERLAND, ss.

Personally appeared the above-named
James D. Poliquin, who subscribed and
swore to this instrument this 20th day of
March, 1986.

Before me,

A

Notary Public

' wi. =
AY Aba VSTON COTES OST S, a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MAINE

Civil No. 78-98 P

ROLAND J. BERNIER and DESNEIGE L.
BERNIER, Plaintiffs

Vv.
JOHNS-MANSVILLE SALES CORP., et al.,
Defendants
ELLIS M. MOORE and CELIA MOORE,
Plaintiffs
Civil Nos. 79-55 P
and
831-0045P
(Consolidated)
RAYMOND E. JONES and FRANCES JONES,
Plaintiffs
Vv.

Civil No. 79-73 P
JOHNS-MANVILLE SALES CORP., et al.,
Defendants
RAYBESTOS~MANHATTAN, INC.,
Defendant and Third-Party
Plaintiff,
Vv.
BATH IRON WORKS CORPORATION
Third-Party Defendant

i ee ee ee ee oe

MEMORANDUM OF OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

COURT

-1 a-

GIGNOUX, C.J.

Plaintiffs in these three actions
have brought suit against various
manufacturers and supplers of asbestos-
containing products for injuries
allegedly sustained from exposure to
their products while employed at Bath
Iron Works (BIW), a privately-owned
shipyard in Bath, Maine. Plaintiffs seek
recovery of compensatory and punitive
damages on theories cf negligence, breach
of warranty, and strict liability.
Jurisdiction is predicated on diversity
of citizenship. 28 U.S.C §1332(a).

One of the defendants, Raybestos-
Manhattan, Inc. (R-M), has filed in each
action -a third-party complaint against

BIW seeking contribution and indemnity.

Presently before the Court is a motion

for summary judgment filed by BIW
pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56, in
support of which BIW asserts that the
third-party action is’ barred by the
exclusive liability provision of Section
905(a), 33 U.S.C. §905(a), of the
Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act (LHWCA), 33 U.S.C. §901
1

et seq. The record consists of the
pleadings, affidavits, answers to

interrogatories, deposition excerpts, and
admissions on file.

Each of the third-party complaints,
which are identical, contains six counts.
The theories of recovery against BIW
asserted by R-M in the first five counts

have previously been rejected by this

1yt is undisputed that the plaintiff
employees were covered by LHWCA and have
received workers compensation benefits
under the Act.

-3 ar

:
:

Court. See Austin v. Johns-Manville

Sales Corporation, 508 F. Supp. 313 (D.

Me. 1981). Undaunted by the cCourt’s
prior ruling, R-M in Count VI of the
present third-party complaint seeks
contribution and indemnity by BIW on the

theory that BIW was the owner pro hac

vice of the vessels under construction or
undergoing repair in its yard on which
plaintiffs worked, and is therefore
subject to liability for negligence under
Section 905(b) of the LWHCA, 33 U.S.C.
§905(b).

For the reasons to be stated, the
Court has concluded that BIW was not
during the relevant periods the owner pro
hac vice of vessels being constructed or
repaired in its yard and that the cause
of action asserted in Count VI of R-M’s

third-party complaints is therefore

—4 a-

barred by Section 905(a) of the LHWCA*.

BIW’s motion for summary judgment is
therefore granted.
I.

The Facts

The record presently before the
Court discloses that plaintiff Roland
Bernier, now deceased, worked for BIW as
a boiler assembler from 1942 to 1945;
plaintiff Ellis Moore worked as a pipe
coverer from 1955 to the present time.
The record does not indicate specifically
on which vessels these employees worked.

Generally, during the period of their

employment, however, BIW constructed new
vessels and repaired or overhauled
2

In light of the Court’s determination
that BIW was not an owner pro hac vice of
the vessels upon which the plaintiff
employees may have worked, it is
unnecessary to consider the other grounds
asserted by BIW in support of its summary
judgment motion.

additional vessels for the United States
Navy and for commercial shipowners. The
record shows the following with respect
to the control assumed by BIW over
vessels being constructed cr overhauled
in its yard.

A. U.S. Navy Vessels

When BIW undertakes to construct or
overhaul a ship for the U.S. Navy, the
parties enter into a detailed contract
which sets forth procedures and schedules
to be followed during all phases of the
work, and which defines the rights and
duties of both parties. Generally, the
contracts provide that BIW is responsible
for adopting and enforcing adequate
health and safety regulations (at a

minium meeting OSHA regulations) and that

Navy personnel have access to the vessels

undergoing construction or repair.° BIW
does not hold legal title to any newly
constructed or overhauled naval vessel at
tas “+
is facility.

To oversee and administer the
contract, the Navy maintains a permanent
office at BIW. The Supervisor of

Shipbuilding with a staff of over 200

closely monitors the work under the
contracts. The Supervisor may
unilaterally order changes in the
: pinaunetbatsenaenans

See R-M Exhibit E at art. 17, 20;
Exhibit J. at art. J-38, J-42. A 1948
contract to construct an experimental
Motor Torpedo Boat also required BIW to
purchase collision insurance to cover
operation of the vessel during the test
runs. See R-M Exhibit K at art. 14.
This requirement has not appeared,
however, in more recent construction or
repair contracts.

“Affidavit of William F. Mussenden, 44 3,

* ED Oe ee oe

contracts, or stop

of the ships at the

work. > Any movement
yard requires advance

of

notification and approval the
Supervisor. ° The Supervisor and his
staff inspect work regularly; attend all
tests performed pursuant to the
contracts; determine whether and when
trial runs of the vessels will take
place; and closely monitor the trial
runs.’ The Supervisor also acts as
Squadron commander of all ships in the
yard.
1. New Construction

>See Supplemental Affidavit of William F.

Mussenden, 44 2, 3.

See Affidavit of W

"see Affidavit of

13-16; Third-Party
at 2002-09.

Ts TV«4 ~
William
Defen

59 2 : “
liam Rich, 46.

Rich, 4 6-10,
lant’s Exhibit C,

Construction of a new vessel begins
in the BIW yard with fabrication of the
hull, laying of the keel, and
installation of the propulsion
machinery. ® When the hull is launched,
the various combat and operation systems
are installed.” BIW workcrews are, of
course, in control of the launched hull
while work is in progress. Navy
personnel, however, have unlimited access
and closely supervise the progress of the
work. Asbestos insulation is done after

the hull is Launchea. *°

Ssee Third-Party Plaintiffs’ Exhibit J,
at art. J-49.

°r4.; Deposition of John R. Newell, at
54-55.

“neposition of John R. Newell, at 54-55.

aaa — SPD NYS PERE ET TT SO RUN OEE EINE EE A Coe RR Ee ean moms : anieabeabliess

If any ship must be moved from berth
to berth within the yard during the
course of construciton, BIW must notify
the Supervisor and obtain his permission.
Tugs hired by BIW, sometimes assisted by
a small BIW boat, do the principal
moving. *+

Subsequent phases of construction
specified in the contract call for
testing of the vessel, which requires
that it be operated. Two types of
builder’s trials are performed: “dock”
trials and “sea” trials.

Dock trials involve testing the
ship’s systems while it is secured to the
dock. BIW draws up a proposed agenda and
submits it to the Supervisor for his
approval. The proposed agenda outlines

in detail the specific tests to be

14

iL + . . . —
ry + £ TA a AT ors + r
VeEposition Of JOnNN KR. Newell, av 59.

Py Oe

*. =r
¢ a . nies athe he CET NP oT > Pa RCE oes

Seon el : ss

performed, and the manner and schedule of
implementation. ?? The Supervisor reviews
the proposed agenda, determines whether a
dock trial is appropriate at that time,
and then makes any modifications in the
proposed agenda deemed necessary.*> BIW
personnel conduct the trial in strict
accordance with the final agenda while
the Supervisor’s representatives closely

monitor the trial.

Sea trials involve taking the new

vessel to sea for several days to
detemrine whether the contract
specifications have been met. Again, BIW

draws up a proposed trial agenda and

submits it to the Supervisor for comment

— :
12a efidavit of Cecil Fullerton, 49 7,

©

L354.

-1l1a-

Ie ey meee now . . we

and approval. +4 These agenda schedule in
minute detail the tests to be performed
as well as all vessel manuevers. +? BIW
employees drawn from the various
departments comprise the vessel’s crew,
and BIW’s yard captain, William Rich
serves as the captain. The Supervisor
reviews and approves’ the crew list.
Although the BIW captain and crew
actually operate the vessel during a
trial, they follow strictly the schedule
of the agenda which even prescribes the
order of firing engines and vessel

speea.+® The Navy representatives aboard

_—
14, ¢fidavit of William Rich, 999, 10;
Affidavit of Cecil Fullerton, 497, 8.

toa ffidavit of William Rich, at appendix
B and C.

See Affidavit of William Rich, at 16,
appendix B and C.

-12 a-

VEE NEC TNA NOE PND TN NDE TG

the vessel during these trials have
authority to modify a trial in progress,
and even to terminate a trial.

Upon successful completion of the
builder’s trials, the contracts call for
a “preliminary acceptance” trial. This
trial essentially repeats the sea trial
and serves as the final trial run before
delivery of the vessel to the Navy. BIW
submits a proposed trial agenda to both
the Supervisor andto the Navy Board of
Inspection and Survey (INSURV) in advance
of the trial. INSURV determines whether
a trial is appropriate; makes desired
modifications in the agenda; and finally
approves the trial.?’ As with the
earlier sea trial, BIW submits for

approval a list of crew members.

Representatives of the Supervisor and

17 See Affidavit of Cecil Fullerton, 4 9.

GALOIS POY IS Fe SEA AD a

INSURV monitor operation of the ship, and
have authority to modify or terminate the
trial.

Delivery is the final stage of BIW
responsibility under a contract.
Although at the present time, the Navy
accepts vessels at BIW’s facility, prior
to 1969 BIW delivered the vessels to the
Boston Naval Shipyard. Again, approved
BIW employees comprised the crew and Rich
was the captain; representatives of the
Supervisor and other naval personnel,
including some of the vessel’s
prospective officers were aboard during

the trips to Boston. 7+®

18the record also indicates that prior to
its acquisition of drydock facilities in
1980 BIW subcontracted sub-waterline
painting work to other shipyards along
the East coast. Trips to these
facilities were conducted in the same
manner as the sea trials discussed above.
Permission to make the trip was secured
in advance from the Supervisor. Rich was

MIP CAD MARYAR ae) CE lg ARE a ETT ITY

IVI ODN IEE TY PONY OL TT RYE ON ODS ES Peay Neh ey ee

2. Repair and Overhaul

Navy ships that are brought to Bath
for repair and overhaul fall into one of
two categories. Some vessels remain
commissioned during the repair period.
The officers and crew of these vessels
stay with the ship during the period.
The Navy crew controls access to the ship
and is responsible for security. Regular
watches are maintained, as are the ship
logs. The Navy crew mans the vessel
during all trials, and may assist in some
of the repair work. R-M concedes that

BIW is not the owner pro hac vice of Navy

vessels which remain commissioned.

(footnote continued from previous page)
the captain; approved BIW employees were
the crew; Supervisor personnel attended
and tested the ship’s' systems. Navy
representatives approved of the drydock
facilities before docking. See Affidavit
of William Rich, at 9 19.

“15 a-

Vessels which require more extensive
overhaul customarily are “decommissioned”
shortly after arrival at the yard. When
the vessels arrive, they are delivered
over to the custody of the Navy
Supervisor. The crew is gradually
dismissed in phases and reassigned to
duty on other. ships. The logs are
removed. When the contract work is ready
to proceed, the Supervisor turns the
vessel over to BIW in accordance with the
contract. Six months before completion
of the contract work, a nucleus crew of
officers returns to the shipyard; one
month before completion, a skeleton
enlisted crew arrives. The ship is
recommissioned after completion of the

contract work and delivery to the Navy.

-16 a-

>, eet Oe

“«

The contracts require BIW make
adequate provisions for security and for
the health and safety of workers during
the repair period, and that Navy
personnel at all times have access to
vessels undergoing repair. Once the
overhaul and repair work nears the
appropriate stage, the same dock, sea and
preliminary acceptance trials described
above with respect to newly constructed
vessels are performed on the overhauled
vessels.

B. Commercial Vessels

The procedure for construction and
overhaul of commercial vessels parallels
closely that for naval vessels. BIW
negotiates a contract with the owner that
prescribes in similar detail the work to
be done, the manner in which it is to be

done, and the schedule for completing the

Oe ee

various stages of the work. The owner
maintains a representative at the
shipyard during all phases of the
contract work. This so-called owner’s
representative and his assistants monitor
BIW’s performance under the contract in
the same manner that the Navy Supervisor
and his staff monitor Navy Contracts. ??
When required to move vessels in the yard
from berth to berth, BIW notifies and
obtains permisssion from the owner’s
representative. ~°

Dock and sea trials are conducted in
the same manner for newly constructed
commercial vessels as for naval

21

vessels. Rich is the captain; BIW

19, efidavit of William Rich, ¢ 22.

2074. at q 23.

elsea trials were not conducted on the

few commercial vessels which BIW

-18 a-

employees are the crew. Although the BIW
employees actually man and operate the
vessel during all phases of a trial, they
do so strictly in accordance with the
trial agenda, which sets out fully and
precisely all manuevers to be undertaken.
The owner’s representative and his staff
must approve all agendas; are present
during the trials; and have authority to
modify a trial while in progress or to
terminate the trial and order a return to
port. 7

Upon completion of the new

construction or overhaul, the vessel is

delivered to the owner at the BIW

(footnote continued from previous page)

overhauled from 1950 to the present time.
Most of BIW’s commercial work involved
new construction. See Deposition of

William F. Mussenden, 9 2.

e2affidavit of William Rich, 44 24-26;
Affidavit of Edward Atkinson, 44 3-6.

“19 a-

"7 — eee a ae oA Se A eee eee a ee ee oe se oe, oe Ne ant

shipyard. BIW does not hold legal title

to any newly constructed or overhauled

commercial vessel at any time.*>

Ii.

The Law

Under Section 905(b) of the LHWCA,
an employee may sue a “vessel” for its
negligence. 74 The term “vessel” is

defined by Section 902(21) of the Act to

include “said vessel’s owner, owner pro

23a ffidavit of William F. Mussenden, 4]
4,5.

24 section 905(b) aprovies in relevant
part as follows:

(b) In the event of injury to a
person covered under this chapter caused
by the negligence of a vessel, then such
person, or anyone otherwise entitled to
recover damages by reason thereof, may
bring an action against such a vessel as
a third party in accordance with the
provisions of section 933 of this titled,
and the employer shall not be liable to
the vessel for such damages directly or
indirectly and any agreements or
warranties to the contrary shall be void.

33 U.S.C. § 905(b) (emphasis added).

-20 a-

hac vice, agent, operator, charter or

bare boat charterer, master, officer, or
crew member.” 33 U.S.C. §902 (21)
(emphasis added) .°> R-M contends that
BIW, although concededly not the owner of

vessels undergoing construction or repair

in it’s shipyard, is the owner pro hac

vice of such vessels; is a vessel as
defined by Section 902(21); and
therefore, in its capactity as a vessel,
is subject to liability to its employees
for negligence under Section 905(b).

See, e.g., Reed v. Yaka, 373 U.S. 410

2 > section 902(21) reads as follows:

(21) The term “vessel” means any
vessel upon which or in connection with
which any person entitled to benefits
under this chapter suffers injury or
death arising out of or in the course of
his employment, and said vessel’s owner,
owner pro hac vice, agent, operator,
charter or bare boat charterer, master,
officer, or crew member.

33 U.S.C. §902(21) (emphasis added).

-21 a-

ee

eee ae ee eS ee Sl lee ee ee ee a eee eee ee ee Se OP ee

(1963); Griffith v. Wheeling Pittsburg

Steel Corp., 521 F.2d 31 (3rd Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1054 (1976).

There is no question that as a
compensation-paying employer, BIW is
immune, by reason of Section 905(a) of
the LHWCA, from third-party claims for
contribution, at least to the _. extent
that, as an employer, it is immune from
common law liability to its employees.

Halcyon Lines v. Haenn -Ship Ceiling and

Refitting Corp., 342 U.S. 282, 285-86

(1952); Austin v. Johns-Manville Sales

Corp., supra, 508 F. Supp. at 315. Thus,

the parties agree that BIW may be found
liable for contribution to R-M only if
BIW, as a “vessel,” could be found liable
to the plaintiff employees. See

Griffith v. Wheeling Pittsburgh Steel

Corp., supra, 521 F.2d at 44.

-22 a-

Although the LHWCA does not define

“owner pro hac vice,” the governing legal

principles are well settled. An owner

pro hac vice is one who assumes by

charter or otherwise “exclusive
possession, control, command and
naviagation” of a vessel for a specific

period of time. Stephenson v. Star-Kist

Caribe, Inc., 598 F.2d 676, 679 (1st Cir.

1979); Guzman v. Pichirilo, 369 U.S.

698, 699, 700 (1962); G. Gilmore and C.

Black, Jr., The Law of Admiralty, 239-43

(2d ed. 1975). An owner pro hac vice

“has complete--though perhaps only
temporary--dominion over the vessel
entrusted to him. He commands her
navigation and is entitled to avail

himself fully of her services.” Olsen v.

Todd Shipyards cCorp., 435 F. Supp. 568,

571 (W.D. Wash. 1977). “It is therefore

-23 a-

tantamount to, though just’ short of, an
outright transfer of ownership.” Guzman

v. Pichirilo, supra, 369 U.S. at 700.

It is clear onthe instant record
that BIW did not assume the kind of
exclusive control over vessels being
constructed or repaired in its yard to

have made it the pro hac vice owner

thereof. BIW’s dominion over these
vessels are confined to the narrow sphere
of carrying out its obligations under its
construction or repair contracts.
Control of the vessel clearly remained
with the United States Navy or the
private shipowner. BIW could not, for
example, use a vessel for its own
commercial ventures or for any other
purpose normally within the prerogative

of an owner. Compare Olsen v. Todd

Shipyards Corp., supra, 521 F.2d 31 and

-24 a-

Blair v. United States Steei Corp., 444

F.2G€ 1390 (3rd Cir. 1971) (per curiam),

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1018 (1972).

BIW’s' control over the vessels was
tightly circumscribed by the contracts
and was subject to the owner’s ultimate
authority. BIW could not move vessels
within the yard without first obtaining
approval from either the United States
Navy Supervisor or the private owner’s
representative. Although BIW crews
manned the vessels during the dock, sea
and acceptance trials, operation of the
vessels during these trials was mandated
by contract and was strictly in
accordance with agendas approved by the
Supervisor of the owner’s representative.
In short, the full-time presence of the
Navy Supervisor or private owner’s

representative; and the authority of the

-25 a-

Supervisor or owner’s representative; the
constant inspection and supervision of
the work by the Supervisor or owner’s
representative; and the authority of the
Supervisor owner’s representative to
order changes in the work or to stop work
entirely plainly establish that BIW did
not have the type of exclusive “control”
over these vessels which is required for

pro hac vice ownership. Accord, Bossard

v. Port Allen Marine Service, Inc., 624

F.2d 673, 674 (5th Cir. 1980) (per
curiam) ; Rao Vv. Hillman Barge x
Construction Co., 467 F.2d 1276, 1277

(3rd Cir. 1972) (per curiam); Bailey v.

Johns-Manville Sales Corp., Civ. No. 76-

155-NN, slip op. at 5 (E.D. Va. Feb. 12,

1982); Olsen v. Todd Shipyards Corp.,

supra, 435 F. Supp. at 571-72, 572 n.15.

But see Simko v. C & C Marine Maintenance

-26 a-

Co., 484 F. Supp. 401, 403-04 (W.D. Pa.),
aff’d, 639 F.2d 772, 775 (3rd Cir. 1980).
The Court holds that BIW was not the

owner pro hac vice of vessels being

constructed or repaired in its yard
during the periods of time these
plaintiffs were employed by BIW; that BIW
was not a “vessel” within the meaning of
Section 902(21) of the LHWCA; and that
therefore BIW is not subject to liability
to R-M for contribution and indemnity
under Section 905(b) of the Act.
III.
ORDER
The Court being persudaded that the
pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on file,
together with the affidavits, show that

there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that BIW is entitled to

-2/ a-

tae ee a

a judgment as a matter of law, Fed. R.
Civ. P. 56(c), BIW’s motion for summary
judgment dismissing R-M’s third-part
complaints in the above-entitled actions
is granted and the Clerk of this Court is
directed to enter judgment forthwith
dismissing said third-party complaints
with prejudice.

Dated at Portland, Maine this 9th

day of August 1982.

United States District Judge

-28 a-

a a _— a ye

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MAINE

In re ALL MAINE ASBESTOS LITIGATION )

(BIW Cases) )

MEMORANDUM OF OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

COURT

GIGNOUX, Senior District Judge

Presently pending in this Court are
approximately fifty actions which have
been brought by present and former
employees, and the representatives of
deceased employees, of Bath Iron Works

(BIW), a private shipyard in Bath, Maine,

against various manufacturers and
suppliers of asbestos-containing
products. Plaintiffs seek recovery of

compensatory and punitive damages for

-29 a-

injuries the employees allegedly
sustained from exposure to defendants’
products during the course of their
employment at BIW. The complaints assert
causes of action based on negligence,
strict liability, and breach of express
and implied warranties. Jurisdiction is
predicated upon diversity of citizenship.

28 U.S.C. §1332(a); Austin v. Unarco

Industries, Inc., 705 F.2d 1.3 (tist

Cir.), cert. dismissed, 104 S. Ct. 34

(1983).

In addition to denying any liability
to the plaintiffs, certain defendants
have filed third-party actions against
BIW seeking contribution and indemnity.
With the Court’s approval, a model
third-party complaint has been filed in
each plaintiff’s action. The model

third-party complaint contains six

-30 a-

counts. In the first four counts,
defendants allege that BIW “willfully,
wantonly, recklessly and negligently”
failed to exercise due care in the
discharge of its duty to protect the
health and safety of its employees by
failing to warn them of the dangers from
exposure to asbestos products and by
failing to protect them from its dangers.

In Count I, defendants seek pro tanto

relief, asserting that they are entitled
to have any judgment for compensatory
damages recovered against them by a
plaintiff reduced by the amount of BIW’s
worker’s compensation lien, or,
alternatively, that they are entitled to
a judgment against BIW in the amount of
that lien. Count II seeks contribution
or indemnity by BIW for any punitive

damages recovered by a plaintiff against

-31 a-

defendants. Count III seeks indemnity by
BIW to the extent of any judgment
recovered by a plaintiff against

defendants for loss of consortium or

consequential or punitive damages. In

Count V, defendants allege that BIW’s
medical care of its employees was
negligent and seek contribution and
indemnity by BIW on that basis. In Count
VI, defendants seek contribution and

indemnity by BIW as the owner pro hac

vice of the vessels in its shipyard on
which the employees worked.

This is the “third round” of an
ongoing dispute between defendancs and
BIW concerning BIW’s third-party
liability for its employees’ asbestos-
related injuries. In the “first round,”
the Court granted BIW’s motion for

summary judgment and dimissed defendants’

third-party claims as barred by the
excluive liability provision of the
Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’
Compensation Act (LHWCA), 33_—«U«.8.C.

905(a). Austin v. Johns-Manville Sales

Corp., 508 F. Supp. 313 (D. Me. 1981).?
The “second round” was precipitated by
the subsequent holding of the United

States Supreme Court in Lockheed Aircraft

Corp. v. United States, U.S. ,103 S.

Ct. 1033, 51 U.S.L.W. 4206 (U.S. Feb. 23,
1983), that the exclusive liability
provision of the Federal Employees
Compensation Act (FECA), 5 0.8.€.
§8116(c), does not bar an indemnity
action by an unrelated third party

against the United States. Being

it is undisputed that the BIW employees
and deceased employees in thes? cases
were covered by the LHWCA, 33 U.S.v. §901

et seq.

persuaded that the analysis in Austin was
inconsistent with the teaching of

Lockheed, this Court granted a motion for

reconsideration of its Austin ruling,
vacated its prior order, and denied BIW’s

motion for summary judgment. All Maine

Asbestos Litigation (BIW Cases), Bench

Ruling (D. Me. Mar. 9, 1984) .? At the

same time, the Court reserved ruling on
BIW’s newly-raised defense that it was
protected from third-party claims against
it as barred by section 4 of the Maine
Act. The record before the Court
consists of the pleadings and three
affidavits filed by BIW in support of its
motion. The issues have been

comprehensively briefed and argued.

“A copy of the cCourt’s March 9, 1984
Bench Ruling is attached as Appendix A.

For the reasons to be stated, the
Court has concluded that so much of BIW’s
motion as seeks dismissal of defendants’
claims for contribution and indemnity
must be granted, but that so much of the
motion as seeks dismissal of the claims

for pro tanto relief must be denied.

Le
The Court must begin its analysis

with the Supreme Court’s Lockheed

opinion. In Lockheed, the Court held

only that "”FECA’s exclusive liability
provision, 5 U.S.C. §8116(c), does not
directly bar a third-party indemnity
action against the United States.”

U.S. , 203 Ss. ct. at , 51
U.S.L.W. at 4208. Relying on its review
of the legislative history, it found that
"“(t)here is no evidence whatever that

Congress was concerned with the rights of

-35 a-

unrelated third parties,’” and concluded
that section 8116(c) “had been intended
to govern only the relationship ‘between
the Government on the one hand and its
employees and their representatives or
dependents on the .other.’” Id. at

Ct. at , 51 U.S.L.W.

at 4207 (quoting Weyerhauser S.S. Co. v.

United States, 372 U.S. 597 1601 (1963)).

Thus, contrary to defendants’ contention,

Lockheed did not affirmatively confer

upon Lockheed a substantive indemnity

claim against the United States. Indeed,
the Court expressly stated that the

validity of Lockheed’s underlying claim

for indemnity was not before it. Id. at

, 403 8S. CE. at , 51 U.S.L.W. at
4208 n.8. Rather, to determine that

question, the Court made clear that

recourse must be had to the “governing
substantive law.” Id. at , 51 U~.S.L.W.
at 4208.

In its March 9, 1984 ruling, this

Court held that the Lockheed

interpretation of FECA’s exclusive
liability provision applied with equal

force to the “nearly identical” LHWCA

provision, 33 U.S.C. §905(a)). See

Lockheed, U.S. at

at ,51 U.S.L.W. at 4207. This
Court also concluded that "there is no
evidence either inthe language of the
statute or in the congressional history
that Congress addressed itself to, or was
in any way concerned with, the rights of
non-vessel owner third parties.” All

Maine Asbestos Litigation (BIW Cases),

Bench Ruling, see infra Appendix A_ to

Decision of July 5, 1984 at A-61. It

follows that, as in Lockheed, it is to

the governing substantive law that the
Court must look to determine the
availability to defendants of a third-
party claim for indemnity or
contribution against BIW. Since
jurisdiction of these cases is based upon

diversity of citizenship, Austin v.

Unarco Industries, ° F.2d at 3,

the governing substantive law is that
which a Maine court would apply. Erie

Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64

(1938).

3although in Lockheed the Supreme Court
was concerned only with a third-party
indemnity claim, it is clear that the
holding is equally applicable to a
third-party contribution clain. See
Johnns-Manville Sales Corp. v. United
States, No. C-81-4561, slip op. at 10
(N.D. Cal. Jan. 6, 1984), reprinted in
Asbestos Litigation Reporter 7, 721, 7,
724 (Jan. 20, 1984); see also Prather v.
The Upjohn Co., MCA No. 81-0211, slip op.
at 3 (N.D. Fla. Feb. 15, 1984).

Il.

It is undisputed that BIW is a
compensation-paying employer covered by
the Maine Act, 39 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. §1
et seq (1978 & Supp. 1983-84). Section 4
of the Maine Act provides that employers
who provide workers’ compensation “shall
be exempt from civil actions because of
such injuries either at common law or
under sections 141 to 148, under Title
14, sections 8101 to 8118 or under Title
18-A, section 2-804.” 30 Me. Rev. State.
Ann. §4 (Supp. 1983-84). The Supreme
Judicial Court of Maine has held
unequivocally that the employer’s

immunity granted by this section “extends

to all non-contractual rights of

4 The statutes referred to relate to
employers’ liability in the absence of
workers’ compensation, actions under the
Maine Tort Claims Act, and actions for
wrongful death.

contribution and indemnity.” McKellar v.

Clark Equipment Co., 472 A.2d 411, 416

(Me. 1984); Roberts v. American Chain &

Cable Co., 259 A.2d 43, 51 (Me. 1969).

Thus, section 4 of the Maine Act, as
interpreted by the Maine Court, provides
BIW with immunity from third-party claims
for contribution or indemnity arising
from work-related injuries to its
employees.

Iit.

Defendants advance two grounds in
support of their argument that Section 4
of the Maine Act cannot be applied in
these cases to immunize BIW from

liability on their third-party claims.

First, they contend that the federally-

enacted LHWCA has preempted section 4 of
the Maine Act. Second, they argue that

where plaintiffs have elected to receive

compensation under the LHWCA, rather than
under the Maine Act, section 4 of the
Maine Act does not =) : The Court

finds no merit in either argument.

A. Preemption

In Sun Ship, Inc. v. Pennsylvania,

447 U.S. 715, 719, 722 (1980), the
Supreme Court clearly enunciated the
three jurisdictional spheres within which
marine-related injuries fall. At the
seaward extreme, nonlocal maritime
injuries fall under the LHWCA, and

Southern Pacific Co. v. Jensen, 244 U.S.

205 (1917), places a constitutional bar

on States applying their compensation

laws. Sun Ship, 447 U.S. at 719; see

e.g., Anderson Vv. Alaska Packers

>The affidavits submitted by BIW in

support of its motion disclose that the
vast majority of plaintiffs have chosen
to receive compensation under the LHWCA.

Association, 635 P.2d 1182, 1184-85

(Alaska 1981). At the other extreme,
beyond the landward extension of the
LHWCA, see 33 U.S.C. §903(a), state
compensation laws alone control. Sun
Ship, 447 U.S. at 719. In the “twilight
zone” between the Jensen line and the
inland limit of the landward extension of
the LHWCA “maritime but local” injuries

can be compensated under either state or

federal law, id., and “federal
jurisdiction . .. coexist(s) with state
compensation laws.” Id. at 722; see

Calbeck v. Travelers Insurance Co., 370

U.S. 114, 128-29 (1962); Davis v.

Department of Labor, 317 U.S. 249, 256

(1942). Concurrent federal and state
jurisdiction in the “twilight zone” is
now too well established to be disputed.

Director Vv. Perini North River

-42 a-

Associates, U.S. » Be CG.

’ , 51 U.S.L.W. 4074, 4080-81

(U.S. Jan. 11, 1983); Landry v. Carlson

Mooring Service, 643 F.2d 1080, 1087-88

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied 454 U.S. 1123

(1981); Newport News Shipbuilding &

Drydock Co. v. Director, 583 F.2d 1273,

£
1276-78 (4th Cir. 1978), cert. denied,

440 U.S. 915 (1979); Thompson Vv.

Teledynbe Movable Offshore, Inc., 419

So.2d 822, 826 (La. Sup. Ct. 1982);

American Original Foods, Inc. vv. Ford,

272 S.E.2d 187, 188-90 (Va. Sup. Ct.

1980); Ward Vv. State Workmen’s

Compensation Commissioner, 301 S.E. 2d

592, 594 (W.Va. Sup. Ct. App. 1983); see

Murray v. City of Augusta, 394 A.2d 1171,

1173 (Me. 1978); 4 A. Larson, The Law of

Workmen’s Compensation §§ 89.70-89.73

(1983).

Within the "twilight zone” of
concurrent jurisdiction, the LHWCA
“supplements, rather than supplants,

state compensation law.” Sun Ship, 447

U.S. at 720; see 1A e. Jhirad, Benedict

on Admiralty § 23a at 2-18.2-2.19 (7th

ed. 1983). The LHWCA would only preempt

a conflicting provision of a state

compensation act. See Sun Ship, 447

U.S.at 724 n.6; Murphy v. Woods Hole,

Martha’s Vineyard & Nantucket s.S.

Authority, 545 F.2d 235, 241 (1st Cir.

1976) } see also Askew v. American

Waterways Operators, ° -S. 325,

341 (1973). Preemption will not be
presumed absent a clear conflict between
federal and state legislation “in a field

which the states have traditionally

occupied.” Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator

Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947); see

Askew v. ASmerican Waterways Operators,

Inc., 411 U.S. at 341; Murray v. City of

Augusta, 394 A.2d at 1173; 4 A. Larson,

The Law of Workmen’s Compensation §89.71

at 16-286.45 (1983).

%efendants can point to no presently
relevant provision of the LHWCA which
conflicts with Section 4 of the Maine
Act. They suggest that section 905(a)

may create such a conflict. But, as

previously observed, see ante at 5,

Congress, in enacting section 905(a) of
the LHWCA, left undisturbed existing law
regarding the rights of unrelated third
parties against covered employers.
Moreover, since the outcome of the
third-party litigation does not directly
affect any award to the employee, the
Court cannot see any conflict between the

immunity provision of the Maine Act and

Congress’ policy objective of providing

adequate benefits to maritime workers.

See Sun Ship, 447 U.S. at 723.°

B. Election

It is undisputed that, with only a
few exceptions, plaintiffs have chosen to
receive workers’ compensation benefits
under the LHWCA, rather than under the

Maine Act. Defendants argue that

°rhe only provision of the LHWCA arguably
in conflict with section 4 of the Maine
Act is section 905(b), 33 U.S.C. §905(b),
which permits a covered employee to
recover damages for injuries caused by
the negligence of a vessel owned by his
employer. See Jones & Laughlin Steel
Corp. v. Pfeiffer, U.S. ‘—' BP
Ct. 2541, 51 U.S.L.W. 4795 (U.S. June 15,
1983); In re All Maine Asbestos
Litigation, 581 F.Supp. 963, 975-77 (D.
Me. 1984). Plaintiffs in these actions,
however, can have no such claim against
BIW because, as the Court has previously
held, BIW was neither the owner nor the
owner pro hac vice, see 33. «CY. 8. 6.
§902(21), of the vessels upon which the
employees worked. See Bernier v. Johns-
Manville Sales Corp., Civ. No. 78-98 P
(D. Me. Aug. 9, 1982).

plaintiffs’ acceptance of LHWCA benefits
constitutes an election of the remedy
under federal law, precluding the
application of state law in these cases.
They cite Professor Larson’s discussion
of conflicts between state workers’
compensation acts. See 4 A. Larson The

Law of Workmen’s Compensation §88. The

short answer to this contention is that
“(e)lection of remedies involves a choice

between inconsistent remedies,” whereas

“(s)tate and Longshore benefits are not

inconsistent but complementary.” Id.

§89.74 at 16-286.50-.51 (emphasis in
original). The courts have thus
overwhelmingly rejected the

remedies argument as between LHWCA and a

state workers’ compensation act. Calbeck

v. Travelers Insurance Co., 370 U.S. at

131-32; Simpson v. Director, 681 F.2d 81,

91 (lst Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 103 S.

Ct. 762 (1983); Landry v. Carlson Mooring

Service, 643 F.2d at 1087-88; Newport

News Shipbuilding & Drydock Se. Ws

Director, 583 F.2d at 1276-77; Murray v.

City of Augusta, 394 A.2d at 1173. But

see Poche v. Avondale, Inc., 339 S.E.2d

1212, 1221 (La. 1976) .’ In sum, as

‘professor Larson suggests that Poche was
decided as it was because Louisiana is a
civil law state and the election doctrine
has its ‘roots in Roman Law. See 4A.
Larson, The Law of Workmen’s Compensation
§89.74 at 16-286.51.

Defendants argue that the Supreme
Court recognized an election of remedies
in Hahn v. Ross Island Sand & Gravel Co.
358 U.S. 272 (1959) (per curiam). Hahn
was based upon a clause in section 903(a)
of the LHWCA which provided that the
LHWCA did not apply “if recovery :
. through workmen’s compensation
proceedings may. . .validly be provided
by State law.” See Hahn, 358 U.S. at
272. The meaning of that language was
substantially narrowed as the Supreme
Court developed the doctrine of
concurrent jurisdiction. See, eé.g.,
Calbeck v. Travelers Insurance Co., 370
U.S. 114 (1962). In any event, Congress
eliminated the language upon which Hahn

ad

Professor Larson has observed, “the
doctrine of election of remedies is

completely out of place as between state

and Longshore remedies.” 4A. Larson, The

Law of Workmen’s Compensation §89.74 at

16-286.50.
IV.
There remains for consideration only

the prayer for pro tanto relief in Count

I of defendants’ third-party complaint.
The question of whether section 4 of the
Maine Act immunizes a compensation-paying

employer from pro tanto claims presents a

question of Maine law on which the
Supreme Judicial court of Maine has not
spoken. Moreover, the justices of the

Maine Superior Court, courts in other

(footnote continued from previous page)
was based when it amended the LHWCA in
1972. Pub. L. 92-576, § 2(c), 86 Stat.
1251 (Oct. 27, 1972).

jurisdictions construing similar
compensation statutes, and the
commentators are split on this issue.

Compare Burnell Vv. West Oxford

Agricultural Society, Docket No. CV 81-

151 (Oxford, June 28, 1983) (Bradford,

J.) (permitting pro tanto recovery);

Associated Construction & Engineering Co.

v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board,

587 P.2d 684, 150 Cal. Rptr. 888 (Cal.

1978) (Mosk, J.) (permitting pro _ tanto

recovery in California); Witt v. Jackson,

17 Cal. Rptr. 369, 366 P.2d 641 (1961)

(Traynor J.) (permitting pro tanto

recovery in California); Note, Exceptions

to the Exclusive Remedy Requirements of

Workers’ Compensation Statutes, 96 Harv.

L. Rev. 1641 1660-61 (1983) (arguing for

pro tanto recovery in California) .Note,

New Policies Bearing on the Negligent

Employer’s Immunity from Loss-Sharing, 29

Me. L. Rev. 243 (1978) (arguing for pro

tanto relief), with Wacome v. Blue Rock

Industries, Docket No. CV-82-270

(Kennebec, Mar. 16, 1983) (McCarthy, J.)

(denying pro tanto recovery); Shorey v.

Boulter & Son, Inc., Docket No. 77-475

(Penobscot, May 3, 1979) (Brown, J.)

(denying pro tanto recovery); Schweizer

v. Elox Division of Colt Industries, 70

N.J. 280, 359 A.2d 857 (1976) (holding
courts in New Jersey do not have the

authority to grant pro tanto recovery);

2A A. Larson, The Law of Workmen’s

Compensation §§ 76.20 et seq. (1982)

(arguing aginst pro tanto relief); see

also Kimball v. Lyons Machine Works, Civ.

No. 75-119 SD (D. Me. July 22,

1976) (allowing a pro tanto claim to

survive a motion to dismiss).

-51 a-

The issue presented here raises a
question of Maine law as to which there
is no clear controlling precedent in the
decisions of the Supreme Judicial Court.
In these circumstances, especially in
view of the division among the Maine
Superior Court justices and authorities
elsewhere, the prudent course for this
Court to follow is to deny BIW’s motion
for summary judgment insofar as it seeks

dismissal of the claims for pro _ tanto

relief, and, upon its own motion or upon

request of a party at the close of trial,

to consider certifying the question to
the Supreme Judicial Court of Maine
pursuant to Me. R. Civ. P. 76B. Such
certification should be made only on a

complete record. See Hiram Ricker & Sons

v. Students International Meditation

Society, 342 A.2d 262 (Me. 1975); White

v. Edgar, 320 A.2d 668 (Me. 1974); In re

Richards, 223 A.2d 827 (Me. 1966).

V.

In accordance with the foregoing, it
is ORDERED as follows:

(1) So much of BIW’s motion for
summary judgment as seeks dismissal of
the claims for contribution and indemnity
in defendants’ Model Third-Party
Complaint is GRANTED;

(2) So much of BIW’s' motion for

summary judgment as seeks dismissal of

the claims for pro_ tanto relief in

defendants’ Model Third-Party Complaint

is DENIED.

Dated at Portland, Maine this 5th day of
July 1984.

U.S. District Judge

APPENDIX A TO DECISION OF JULY 5, 1984
The motion before the Court is the
motion filed by Raymark Industries,
Incorporated, On September 13, 1983,
requesting that this Court reconsider its
decision and order in the case of Austin

v. Johns-Manville Sales Corporation, 508

F. Supp. 313 (D. Me. 1981). In that case
this Court ruled, on the basis of then
authoritative Supreme Court cases, that
the third-party claims for contribution
and/or indemnity asserted by the
defendant Armstrong Cork against Bath
Iron Works were barred by the exclusive
liability provision of the Longshoremen’s
and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, 33
U.S.C. §905(a). The Court therefore
granted BIW’s motion for a summary

judgment dismissing the amended third-

party complaint of Armstrong Cork.

Subsequently, the Court entered similar
orders, without further argument, in
three other asbestos actions, the so-

called Bernier, Moore and Jones cases,

Civil Nos. 78-98, 79-55 and 81-00145
(Consolidated) and Civil No. 79-73,
granting BIW’s motions for summary
judgment dismissing third-party
complaints filed against BIW by defendant
Raybestos~-Manhattan (now Raymark

Industries, Incorporated). The Raymark

motion presently before the Court seeks

reconsideration of all these and any
similar rulings by this Court.

The basis of the motion for
reconsideration is the subsequent opinion
of the United States Supreme Court in

Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States,

decided February 23, 1983. In Lockheed,

the Supreme Court held that the exclusive

liability provision of the Federal
Employees’ Compensation Act, 5 U.S.C.
§8116(c), did not bar a third-party
indemnity action by an unrelated third
party against the United States. Having
thoroughly analyzed the Supreme Court’s

opinion in Lockheed, the briefs submitted

by counsel on the present motion, and the
earlier Supreme Court cases referred to
in those briefs, this Court is persuaded
that the rationale of the Supreme Court

in Lockheed compels the conclusion that

this cCourt’s ruling in Austin cannot

survive.

The language of the exclusivity
provision of the LHWCA, Section 905(a),
is in all material respects identical to
the language of the exclusive liability
provision of the FECA, §8116(c). In

Lockheed, the Supreme Court construed

this language as not barring third-party
indemnity actions against the United
States, the employer covered by the FECA,
by unrelated third parties. The basis of

the Supreme cCourt’s decision in Lockheed

was both the language of § 8116(c) and
the legislative history of the FECA. As
to the latter, the Supreme Court
concluded that there is no evidence that
Congress was concerned with the rights of
unrelated third parties. In this
connection, the Court pointed out that §
8116(c) was intended to govern only the
rights of employees, their relatives, and
persons claiming through or on behalf of
them, these being the only parties who
benefit from the “quid pro quo”

compromise of the FECA.

-57 a-

Applying the Supreme Court’s

analysis in Lockheed to § 905(a) of the

LHWCA, the language of § 905(a) is in all
material respects identical to the
language of § 8116(c), and the Supreme
Court’s construction of that language in
FECA would appear to be equally
applicable to the corresponding LHWCA
language. Moreover, a review of the
legislative history of the LHWCA,
including the 1972 amendments, persudades
this Court that it is equally
unpersuasive to establish that Congress
was concerned with the rights of
unrelated non-vessel owner third parties.
Insofar as unrelated non-vessel owner

third parties are concerned, the 1972

amendments involved no "quid pro quo”

compromise Similar to that which

benefited vessel owners. In short, there

is no evidence either in the language of
the statute or in the congressional
history that Congress addressed itself
to, Or was in any way concerned with, the
rights of non-vessel owner third parties.

The Court has concluded that

Lockheed’s analysis of the exclusivity

provision of the FECA is equally
applicable to the exclusivity provision
of the LHWCA. It follows that the ruling
of this Court in Austin is inconsistent

with Lockheed and cannot stand.

Raymark’s motion for reconsideration
of the Austin ruling is granted. The
order granting BIW’s motion for summary
judgment dismissing the third party
complaint of Armstrong Cork in that case,
and the further orders of this Court
granting BIW’s motion for summary

Judgment dismissing the third party

-59 a-

complaints of Raybestos-Manhattan in
three other cases, are vacated. The
Court will enter an order denying BIW’s
motions for summary judgment.

The denial of these motions is
without prejudice to the right of BIW to
file an appropriate motion based on its
newly-raised defense that the substantive
law which this Court must apply, quite
apart from Section 905(a), bars the third
party claims for contribution and

indemnity asserted against BIW in these

cases.

-60 a-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0061%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
