# Amicus Curiae Brief — Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0056%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 747

## Text

——-— [ee con 0
FIL D

No. 84-495 ~ JUL 13 1985
ALEXANDER | STEVAG.
IN THE QUERK
ee

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

RICHARD THORNBURGH, H. ARNOLD MULLER, HELLEN B.
O’BANNON, MICHAEL J. BROWNE, WILLIAM R. Davis, LeRoy S.
ZIMMERMAN, personally and in their official capacities, and
JOSEPH A. SMYTH, JR., personally and in his official capacity,
together with all others similarly situated,

Appellants
vs.

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF OBSTETRICIANS AND GYNECOLOGISTS,
PENNSYLVANIA SECTION; HENRY H. FETTERMAN, M.D.,
THOMAS ALLEN, M.D., and FRANCIS L. HUTCHINS, JR., M.D. on
behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated; ALLEN
J. KLINE, D.O., on behalf of himself and all others similarly
situated; BRooKS R. SUSMAN; PAUL WASHINGTON; MORGAN P.
PLANT, on behalf of herself and all others similarly situated;
ELIZABETH BLACKWELL HEALTH CENTER FOR WOMEN;
PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA:
REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH AND COUNSELING CENTER; and
WOMEN’S HEALTH SERVICES, INC.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
NATIONAL RIGHT TO LIFE COMMITTEE,
INC. FOR APPELLANTS RICHARD
THORNBURGH, ET AL.

Steven R. Valentine James Bopp, Jr.
of the Bar of the Brames, Bopp, Haynes & Abe!
Supreme Court of 191 Harding Avenue
Illinois P.O. Box 1583

8029 Edinburgh Drive Terre Haute, IN 47808-1583
Springfield, VA 22153 (812) 238-2421
(703) 455-6125 '

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae QALY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE NOTE ................
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....................
ARGUMENT

I.

Il.

IN REGULATING THE ABORTION OF A
VIABLE FETUS, THE STATE MAY
REQUIRE THAT THE PHYSICIAN
EXCLUDE FROM CONSIDERATION
INSIGNIFICANT PHYSICAL HEALTH
RISKS TO THE WOMAN AND MATERNAL
FEAR OF A LIVE BIRTH IN SELECTING
THE METHOD OF ABORTION...........

A. The Woman's Right of Privacy Does Not

Include the Right to Ensure the Destruction
EE EE ee

B. The State’s Interest in Protecting the Life

of a Viable Fetus is Compelling.........

C. The State’s Compelling Interest in Pro-

tecting the Viable Fetus Supports the
Requirements of Section 3210(b) ........

ROE V. WADE DOES NOT REQUIRE THE
STATES TO ALLOW POST-VIABILITY
ABORTIONS UNDER THE BROAD
DEFINITION OF HEALTH FOUND IN
Se PNY bkccncecduscedectececsecs

A. The Doe vr. Bolton Definition of Health

Applies Only in Early Pregnancy .......

|

B. When Analyzed in Tandem with Roe +.
Wade, the Doe v. Bolton Definition of
Health Does Not Apply to Post-Viability
PER cvne vous cdvesadakeanunusetes 14

C. The Progeny of Roe v. Wade Also Demon-
strates That the Doe v. Bolton Definition of
Health Does Not Apply to Post-Viability
Pukcecuhéntsecddecidantaeesl 20

D. This Court Need Not Define the Post-
Viability Health Exception In Order to

Hold Section 3210(b) Constitutional ..... 21
oe | REITER Ra PEM ta BB Bert ee Regt 2 23
ie oii ie cee eee eee aaa eee A-l
PE Mins cncececesdknwedsnuswdlns eee A-3
)
ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES 3
Cases: Pages:

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists,
Pennsylvania Section v. Thornburgh, 737 F.2d 283

Gee Sit, SE ec ccddcevedcneesuesacauseen ed 4, 5, 12
Bellotti v. Baird I, 428 U.S. 182 (1976) ............. 6
Carey v. Population Services International, 431 U.S.

PED étbédadcdnckca dnb ddbae bias naohenAs 6
Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979) .......... 5, 20
Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179 (1973) ............06- passim
Maher v. Roe, 482 U.S. 464 (1977) ............... 6, 8, 11
McRae v. Califano, No. 76-C-1804 (E.D.N-Y.,

Transcript, August 3, 1977) ..................- 16
Planned Parenthood v. Ashcroft, 462 U.S. 476

Gs pakke vad ives easeeebed vencshentwens 20, 21
Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth,

BE eee See ree y ee 20
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1978)...........0005- passim
United States v. Vuitch, 402 U.S. 62 (1971) ......... 13
Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589 (1977). ............265- 6
Wynn v. Scott, 449 F.Supp. 1302 (1978), aff'd sub nom.

Wynn v. Carey, 599 F.2d 193 (7th Cir. 1979) ... 7
Statute:

18 Pa. Cons. STAT. ANN. §3210(b)....... 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, 21

Other Authorities:

Binkin, et al., Urea-prostaglandin Versus Hypertonic
Saline for Instillation Abortion, 146 Am. J. OB.
Es ST suas Gak tkedinasndchdeccedesdes 10

1 Constitutional Amendments Relating to Abortion,
1981: Hearings on Bills Preposing a Constitutional
Amendment With Respect to Abortion Before the
Subcommittee on the Constitution of the Senate
Committee on the Judiciary, 97th Cong., Ist Sess.
158-59 (1981) (testimony of Irwin M. Cushner).. 16

Grimes, Second-f'rimester Abortions in the United
States, 16 FAM. PLAN. PERSPEC. 260 (1984)..... 9, 10

Grimes and Cates, The Comparative Efficacy and
Safety of Intraamniotic Prostaglandin F’2a and
Hypertonic Saline for Second-Trimester Abortion,

22 J. REPRO. MED. 248 (1979) .................. i)

Haning & Peckham, Evaluation of Intra-Amniotic
Administration of 120 gm of Urea with 5 mg o-
Prostaglandin F2a for Midtrimester Termination
of Pregnancy Between 20 and 24 Weeks Gestation,

151 Am. J. OB. GYN. 92 (1985) ........ 0c eeeees 10

Hausknecht, Free Standing Abortion Clinies: A New
Phenomenon, 49 BULL. N.J. ACADEMY MED. 985
DEES Abies penal el tee eee rok so 17

Henshaw, A Portrait of American Women Who Obtain
Abortions, 17 FAM. PLAN. PERSPECT. 90 (1985)... 10

Rhoden, The New Neonatal Dilemma: Live Births
From Late Abortions, 72 GEORGETOWN LAW J.
EE aie ok Nad ss 00 aa Gi dba aA Ks oheedins 6

Rosen, The Patient's View of the Roie of the Primary
Care Physician in Abortion, 67 Am. J. Pus.

PETER iinstwsisinGdeesseddnabanne ee 17
Tribe, Forward: Toward a Model of Roles in the Due

Process of Life and Law, 87 HARVARD L. REV. 1

SE 4b a cdbav deca cusvascnncucdbnencnnaneenées 7

WARDLE, L., THE ABORTION PRIVACY DocTRINE: A
COMPENDIUM AND CRITIQUE OF FEDERAL COURT
ABORTION CASES (1980) ................20000- i8, 19

iv

Zbaraz, Abortion and the Supreme Court: A Physician's
Fight for Medical Equalitu, 4 SEXUAL MED.
PT IE eden cb0ds be ska avosseesienssces

No. 84-495

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

RICHARD THORNBURGH, H. ARNOLD MULLER, HELLEN B.
O’BANNON, MICHAEL J. BF WNE, WILLIAM R. Davis, LERoy S.
ZIMMERMAN, personally and in their official capacities, and
JOSEPH A. SMYTH, JR., personally and in his official capacity,
together with all others similarly situated,

Appellants
vs.

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF OBSTETRICIANS AND GYNECOLOGISTS,
PENNSYLVANIA SECTION; HENRY H. FETTERMAN, M.D.,
THOMAS ALLEN, M.D., and FRANCIS L. HUTCHINS, JR., M.D. on
behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated; ALLEN
J. KLINE, D.O., on behalf of himself and all others similarly
situated; Brooks R. SUSMAN; PAUL WASHINGTON; MORGAN P.
PLANT, on behalf of herself and all others similarly situated;
ELIZABETH BLACKWELL HEALTH CENTER FOR WOMEN;
PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA;
REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH AND COUNSELING CENTER; and

WOMEN’S HEALTH SERVICES, INC.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

NOTE

This Brief Amicus Curiae is filed with the consent of all
parties to this appeal. A letter from each attorney stating
this consent has been filed herewith with the Clerk of this
Court.

1

2

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS
CURIAE NATIONAL RIGHT TO LIFE
COMMITTEE, INC.

The National Right to Life Committee, Inc. is a non-
profit organization whose purpose is to promote respect for
the worth and dignity of all human life, including the life of
the unborn child from the moment of conception. The Na-
tional Right to Life Committee, Inc. is comprised of a Board
of Directors representing 51 state affiliate organizations
and more than 2,000 local chapters made up of individuals
. from every race, denomination, ethnic background and
political belief. It engages in various political, legislative,
legal and educational activities to protect and promote the
concept of the sanctity of human life.

The members of the National Right to Life Committee,
Inc. have been the prime supporters of laws restricting
abortion on demand to only those instances in which the
mother’s life is in danger. Since Roe r. Wade, 410 U.S. 118
(1973) and Doe +. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179 (1973), the members
of the National Right to Life Committee have supported
legislation to protect unborn human life within these guide-
lines. The Pennsylvania Abortion Control Act is the result
of lobbying, in great part, by the members of the National
Right to Life Committee, Inc. and its affiliate, the
Pennsylvania Pro-Life Federation. By means of this brief,
the National Right to Life Commitee, Inc. seeks to advance
these interests by supporting the Pennsylvania post-
viability abortion regulations herein.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
NOTE

The Questions Presented and The Statement of the Case
are omitted from this Amicus Curiae Brief since they are
amply stated .n the Appellants’ Brief of Richard Thorn-
burgh, et al.

3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The right of a woman to choose to terminate her
pregnancy, while constitutionally guaranteed, is not
absolute, and does not include the right to ensure that an
abortion performed after the point of viability of the fetus
results in delivery of a dead fetus rather than a live child. In
the face of the compelling state interest in protecting
unborn viable human life recognized in Roe v. Wade, 410
U.S. 113 (1973), regulation of abortion practices such as
that enacted in 18 Pa. Cons. STAT. §3210(b) is justified.

Section 3210(b) mandates, in the post-viability abortion
context, that the attending physician use the abortion
procedure most likely to result in a live birth unless that
procedure entails a significantly greater risk to the life or
health of the pregnant woman. In assessing the medical
risk, the physician may not consider the psychological or
emotional effect on the woman if her child is delivered alive
rather than dead. It is a reasonable exercise of
Pennsylvania’s power, pursuant to its compelling interest
in viable unborn life, to require at least a significant
increase in the risk to maternal life or health before allow-
ing the life of the viable fetus to be terminated.

Pennsylvania’s exclusion from the physician’s
consideration of the psychological or emotional impact of
live birth in assessing medical risk is justified by principles
previously articulated by this Court concerning the defini-
tion of maternal “health” in the abortion decision context.
The broad definition of maternal health set forth in Doe v.
Bolton, 410 U.S. 179 (1973), has only been applied by this
Court to first-trimester abortion situations. This Court
made it clear in Roe v. Wade and its progeny that the
maternal! health considerations during the first trimester
of pregnancy, which justify abortions for a broad range of
reasons, are not the same as those at the point of viability.
To reason otherwise would negate the state’s compelling
interest in potential life recognized by this Court at
viability. The employment of the phrase “significantly
greater medical risk” in Section 3210(b) is an appropriate

4

way for Pennsylvania to differentiate between the broad
definition of maternal health in the first trimester and the
markedly different and more grave nature of the post-
viability health exception.

ARGUMENT
I

IN REGULATING THE ABORTION OF A
VIABLE FETUS, THE STATE MAY REQUIRE
THAT THE PHYSICIAN EXCLUDE FROM
CONSIDERATION INSIGNIFICANT PHYSICAL
HEALTH RISKS TO THE WOMAN AND
MATERNAL FEAR OF A LIVE BIRTH IN
SELECTING THE METHOD OF ABORTION.

This amicus curiae brief will address the sole issue of
whether the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit erred in
its determination that 18 Pa. Cons. STAT. ANN. §3210(b)
(hereinafter “Section 3210(b)’) is unconstitutional under
the precedents of this Court. American College of
Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Pennsylvania Section vr.
Thornburgh, 737 F.2d 283, 300 (1984). In its entirety,
Section 3210(b) provides as follows:

Degree of care. — Every person who performs or
induces an abortion after an unborn child has been
determined to be viable shall exercise that degree of
professional skill, care and diligence which such per-
son would be required to exercise in order to preserve
the life and health of any unborn child intended to be
born and not abortea and the abortion technique
employed shall be that which would provide the best
opportunity for the unborn child to be aborted alive
unless, in the good faith judgment of the physician, that
method or technique would present a significantly
greater medical risk to the life or health of the pregnant
woman than would another available method or
technique and the physician reports the basis for this

5

judgment. The potential psychological or emotional
impact on the mother of the unborn child's survival shall
not be deemed a medical risk to the mother. Any person
who intentionally, knowingly or recklessly violates the
provisions of this subsection commits a felony of the
third degree (emphasis added).

Addressing itself to the constitutionality of Section
3210(b), the court below cited Colautti v. Franklin, 439
U.S. 379 (1979), and asserted that in it this “Court held that
the earlier Pennsylvania statute impermissibly required
the doctor to make a ‘trade-off’ between the woman's health
and ... fetal survival.” Thornburgh, 737 F.2d at 300, citing
Colautti, 439 U.S. at 400. Arguing that the “new
Pennsylvania statute, like the old, fails to require that
maternal health be the paramount consideration,” the
court below focused on the legislature’s use of the word
“significantly” and found that the challenged statute “is not
susceptible to a construction that does not require the
mother to bear an increased medical risk in order to save
her viable fetus, and therefore ... (is) unconstitutional.”
Thornburgh, 737 F.2d at 300.

A. The Woman's Right of Privacy Does Not Include
the Right to Ensure the Destruction of a Viable
Fetus

In Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973), this Court held that
the right of personal privacy included the right of a
pregnant woman to decide whether or not to have an abor-
tion. Therefore, this Court invalidated a Texas statute
which prohibited all abortions except those procured for
the purpose of saving the life of a mother. 410 U.S. at 164. In
the companion case of Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179 (1973),
this Court, among other things, struck down Georgia's
abortion statute which required that the abortion must be
performed in a hospital accredited by the Joint Committee
on Accreditation of Hospitals. 410 U.S. at 194. After noting
that such a requirement is not imposed on the performance

6

of nonabortion surgery, id. at 193, the Court found that it
violated the equal protection of laws because it was not
“based on differences that are reasonably related to the
purposes of the act in which it is found.” /d. at 194.

However, in establishing that there are compelling state
interests in potential life and maternal health which allow
the state to regulate abortion, this Court has emphatically
declared that, while there is a constitutionally protected
interest in making certain kinds of important decisions
“free from governmental compulsion,” Whalen v. Roe, 429
U.S. 589 (1977), these protected rights are “not absolute.”
Carey v. Population Services International, 431 U.S. 678
(1977). “As Whalen makes clear, the right in Roe v. Wade,
supra, can be understood only by considering both the
woman’s interest and the nature of the state’s interference
with it. Roe did not declare an unqualified ‘constitutional
right to an abortion....’ Rather, the right protects the
woman from unduly burdensome interferences with her
freedom to decide whether to terminate her pregnancy.”
Maher v. Roe, 432 U.S. 464, 473-74 (1977). In addition, “not
all distinction between abortion and other procedures is
forbidden.” Bellotti v. Baird 1,428 U.S. 132, 145(1976). The
constitutionality of such distinction will depend upon the
degree and the justification for it. /¢d. Abortion, unlike
other medical procedures, involves the termination of po-
tential human life. Maher v. Roe, 432 U.S. at 48u.

The woman’s right recognized in Roe was the right to an
abortion in the sense of a right toempty the womb of the un-
wanted fetus and not in the sense of a right to ensure that
the fetus will die in the process. Professor Rhoden has
recognized this vital distinction. She observes, “Writers on
abortion have generally assumed, reasonably enough, that
removing the fetus from the womb (‘womb-emptying’)
would necessarily result in its destruction (‘feticide’). In the
live birth situation, however, womb-emptying and feticide
have diverged; removing the fetus has unexpectedly failed
to destroy it.” Rhoden, The New Neonatal Dilemma: Live

7

Births From Late Abortions, 72 GEORGETOWN LAW J. 1451,
1453 (1984) (footnote omitted). The same point is made by
Laurence Tribe. “Once the fetus can be severed from the
womb by a process which enables it to survive,” wrote
Professor Tribe, “leaving the abortion decision to private
choice would confer not only a right to remove an unwanted
fetus from one’s body but also an entirely separate right to
ensure its death. Apart from the problematic nature of any
claim in behalf of the latter right, its recognition and
enforcement would be indistinguishable from recognizing
and enforcing a right to commit infanticide....” Tribe,
Forward: Toward a Model of Roles in the Due Process of Life
and Law, 87 HARVARD LAW REV. 1, 27 (1973) (footnote
omitted).

No court has held that the abortion privacy right is a
right to commit feticide. On the contrary, such a notion has
been specifically rejected. In Wynn +. Scott, a state statute
was under consideration which mandated, in the court’s
construction, that “[i}f...there are instances where a physi-
cian has a choice of procedures, both of equal risk to the
woman, the physician must choose the procedure that is
least likely to kill the fetus.” 449 F.Supp. 1302, 1321 (1978),
affd. sub nom. Wynn v. Carey, 599 F.2d 198 (7th Cir. 1979).
“This choice,” Prentice Marshal! wrote for a unanimous
court, “would not interfere with the woman's right to
terminate her pregnancy. /t never could be argued that she
has a constitutionally protected right to kill the fetus. She
does not.” Id. (emphasis added).

B. The State’s Interest in Protecting the Life of a
Viable Fetus is Compelling

This Court has found that the State has a legitimate
interest in potential life. This interest “grows in sub-
stantiality as the woman approaches term and, at a point
during pregnancy ... becomes compelling.” Roe ». Wade,
410 U.S. at 163. “At viability, usually in the third trimester,
the state’s interest in potential life of the fetus justifies

8

prohibition with criminal penalties, except where the life
or health of the mother is threatened.” Maher v. Roe, 432
U.S. at 472.

At viability, the unborn child can live independently out-
side the mother’s womb. Thus, this Court has recognized
that the state interest in protecting the unborn child, at
viability, becomes dominant and the state may go so far as
to proscribe the abortion procedure. Roe vr. Wade, 410 U.S.
at 155. As stated by this Court in Roe vr. Wade, “(tlhe
pregnant woman cannot be isolated in her privacy. She
carries an embryo, and later, a fetus, if one accepts the
medical definitions of the developing young in the human
uterus. The situation therefore is inherently different from
marital intimacy, or bedroom possession of obscene
material, or marriage, or procreation, or education, with
which Fisenstadt and Griswold, Stanley, Loving, Skinner,
and Pierce and Meyer were respectively concerned. As we
have intimated above, it is reasonable and appropriate for a
state to decide that at some point in time another interest,
that of health of the mother or that of potential human life,
becomes significantly involved. The woman’s privacy is no
longer sole and any right of privacy she possesses must be
measured accordingly.” Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at 159
(citation omitted).

C. The State’s Compelling Interest in Protecting the
Viable Fetus Supports the Requirements of Sec-
tion 3210(b)

Section 3210(b) mandates, in the post-viability abortion
context, that the attending physician use the abortion
procedure most likely to result in a live birth unless that
procedure entails a significantly greater medical risk to
the life or health of the pregnant woman. In assessing the
medical risk, the physician may not consider the
psychological or emotional effect on the woman if her child

9

is delivered alive rather than dead.'

Section 3210(b) is not unconstitutional in light of Roe v.
Wade. Pennsylvania's interest in protecting viable unborn
life is compelling. It is a reasonable exercise of the state’s
power pursuant to that interest to require at least a
significant increase in the risk to maternal life or health
before allowing the life of the viable fetus to be terminated.
Significant means “having meaning.” WEBSTER’s NEW
COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY 1071 (1981). Its antonym is
“unimportant.” ROGET’s COLLEGE THESAURUS 326 (1962).
Thus, the State of Pennsylvania rejects only an
“unin: portant” or meaningless increase in the health risk to
a woman as a basis for nullifying its compelling interest in
the life of a fetus with a reasonable likelihood of survival.

After viability, the unborn child could survive outside
the mother’s womb and the state has a compelling interest
in protecting that povential life. If the “compelling interest”
has any meaning, it must support a requirement increasing
the likelihood of fetal survival when there is only an
insignificant and unimportant increase in the health risk to
the mother. Some post-viability abortion methods virtually
always result in fetal death while the live birth rate for
other methods may vary by five to forty times. Grimes,
Second-Trimester Abortions in the United States, 16 FAM.
PLAN. PERSPECT. 260, 264 (1984); Grimes and Cates, The
Comparative Efficacy and Safety of Intraamniotic
Prostaglandin F2a and Hypertonic Saline for Second-
Trimester Abortion, 22 J. REPRO. MED. 248, 252 (1979). In
contrast, the risk of mortality to the woman varies from

' Section 3210(b) could reasonably be construed to mandate only that the
physician may not base his decision to use an abortion procedure other
than the procedure most likely to result in a live birth se/e/y on the
possibility of psychological or emotional harm to the woman if her child
is delivered alive rather than dead. Such a construction would avoid the
claim that the section imposes increased medical risks on the woman.
For the purpose of this brief, however, the construction adopted by the
Third Circuit is used.

10

12.0/100,000 to 14.2/ 100,000 for some of the most common
post-viability abortion methods. Second-Trimester
Abortions, supra, at 263. There is, therefore, a tremendous
increase in the likelihood of fetal survival by use of certain
abortion methods rather than others while the risks to the
mother vary only thousandths of a percent.

The state’s interest in post-viability unborn life is not
theoretical. In 1981, for instance, there were 13,790 abor-
tions after 21 weeks of pregnancy and 49,600 between 16
and 20 weeks. Henshaw, A Portrait of American Women
Who Obtain Abortions, 17 FAM. PLAN. PERSPECT. 90, 92
(1985). In addition, the neonatal survival! rates are steadily
pushing the age of viability well into the second trimester.
See Appendix A. Recently, a modification of a pre-existing
abortion method has been developed purposely to ensure
fetal death and is being used even though it increases the
risk to the health of the mother. See Haning & Peckham,

KRrolwation of lutva-Amniotic Administration of 120 qm of

Ured with 5 mag of Prostaglandin Fo. for Midtrimester
Termination ef Prequancy Between 20 and 24 Weeks
Gestation, 151 Am. J. On. GYN. 92 (1985): Binkin, et al..
U'rea-prostaglandin Versus Hypertonic Saline for
lustllation Abortion, 146 AM. J. OB. GYN, 947, 951 C1983).
There are, therefore, a substantial number of viable un-
born children whose lives are at stake and whom the state
has a compelling interest to protect.

If the state may not protect viable unborn life in the face
of an insignificant and unimportant increase in the health
risk to the woman, its so-called “compelling” interest in
post-viable fetal life is in practice devoid of force and mean-
ing. This view cannot be squared with this Court's careful
search for a compelling interest in Roe which would have
supported a severe criminal sanction for any abortion not
performed to protect the life of the pregnant woman. Roe r.
Weede, 410 U.S. at 156-164. If such a compelling interest
could have been found by this Court in the first trimester,
the Texas statute making abortion a criminal offense

1]

would have been upheld. Maher v. Roe, 432 U.S. at 472. The
existence of such a compelling interest after viability is
suff’ cient to protect the life of the fetus when there is only a
meaningless increase in risk to the woman’s health.

In addition, Section 3210(b) provides that, in assessing
the significance of the increase in the risk to the life or
health of the pregnant woman, the physician may not
consider any alleged psychological or emotional harm to
the woman if her child is delivered alive rather than dead.
As outlined above, Roe does not recognize a constitutional
privacy right to commit feticide. Rather, the pregnant
woman has a privacy right to terminate her pregnancy in
the post-viability period by emptying her womb. Fear of a
live birth, if considered sufficient to allow abortion
procedures which result only in fetal death, would have the
effect of radically altering the Roe right and thereby
vitiating the state’s compelling interest in unborn life.

Roe gave the woman the right to terminate her
pregnancy, not to kill her child. Indeed, Roe gave the states
the right to protect the lives of unborn children beginning
at the very time when live births are possible. It is thus
appropriate that the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

exclude fear of live births as a factor in seeking to favor live
births.

II

ROE V. WADE DOES NOT REQUIRE THE
STATES TO ALLOW POST-VIABILITY
ABORTIONS UNDER THE BROAD DEFINITION
OF HEALTH FOUND IN DOE V. BOLTON.

In selecting the procedures most likely to result in the
live birth of a post-viable fetus, Section 3210(b) excludes
consideration of “the potential psychological or emotional
impact on the mother of the unborn child’s survival.” Thus,
in the exercise of its compelling interest in preserving
viable fetal life, Pennsylvania has excluded consideration

12

of the fear of a live birth in the assessment of the “medical
risk to the life or health of the pregnant woman.”

In recognizing a compelling interest in fetal life, this
Court provided that a state may prohibit abortion after
viability except when an abortion “is necessary to preserve
the life or health of the mother.” Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at
164. In Doe v. Bolton, this Court defined health to include
factors that are “physical, emotional, psychological,
familial, |as well as| the woman’s age.” 410 U.S. at 192. The
court below, however, in a fundamentally erroneous
manner, held that this broad definition of health applied
after viability and thus required the state to allow abortion
for any of these factors. Thornburgh, 737 F.2d at 299. The
court claimed that “the Pennsylvania legislature was hos-
tile to this definition” in its adoption of the limiting
definition in Section 3210(b). /d. The court below relied
“with confidence on the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania to
construe ‘health’ as does the Supreme Court of the United
States [in Doe v. Bolton |.” Id.

A. The Doe v. Bolton Definition of Health Applies
Only in Early Pregnancy

In Dov +. Bolton, appellants argued that the Georgia
statute, as it had been left in the wake of the District Court’s
decision in the case, was unconstitutionally vague. Their
argument was that, even though the specific legal justifica-
tions for abortion in the Georgia statute had been stricken
by the District Court, the state law stil! made it a crime for
a physician vw perform an abortion except when it was
“based upon his best clinical judgment that an abortion is
necessary.” 410 U.S. at 191. The appellants contended that
the word “necessary” did not warn the physician of the
conduct proscribed, that the statute lacked objective
standards and was susceptibie of several constructions, and
that the conduct of doctors would be arbitrary because they
would err on the side of caution. Jd.

This Court upheld the determination of the District

13

Court in Doe rv. Bolton in light of its precedent in United
States vo Vuitch, 402 U.S. 62 (1971). In Vuiteh, the
vagueness issue was raised in relation to a District of
Columbia statute that made abortions criminal unless they
“were done as necessary. for the preservation of the
mother’s life or health.” Since that statute had been
construed to bear upon psychological as well as physical
well-being, the Court concluded that the term “health”
presented no problem of vagueness. 402 U.S. at 72. This
conciusion from Vuitch, according to the Bolton court, was
equally applicable to the Georgia statute. 410 U.S. at 192.
Continued the Court:

We agree with the District Court that the medical
judgment may be exercised in the light of all factors —
physical, emotional, psychological, familial, and the
woman's age — relevant to the well-being of the
patient. All these factors may relate to health. This
allows the attending physician the room he needs to
make his best medical judgment. And it is room that
operates for the benefit, not the disadvantage, of the
pregnant woman.

Id.

The Bolton court did not address the issue of whether the
same liberal definition of health would apply in the context
of abortions done throughout pregnancy. Indeed it did not
need to do so, because plaintiff Mary Doe was denied abor-
tion under the Georgia law at issue when she was eight
weeks pregnant, or well within her first trimester of
pregnancy. /d., at 185-186. Thus, the Bolton definition of
health applied only to early or first trimester abortions and
it is far too expansive a reading of the definition to apply it
to post-viability abortions, when the state has a compelling
interest in the protection of fetal life.

14

B. When Analyzed in Tandem with Roe v. Wade, the
Doe v. Bolton Definition of Health Does Not Apply
to Post-Viability Abortion

Doe v. Bolton should not, indeed must not, be read in isola-
tion. As Justice Blackmun wrote for the Court in Roe +.
Wade, “[t]hat opinion and this one, of course, are to be read
together.” 410 U.S. at 165. When read in tandem with Roe v.
Wade, it is abundantly clear that the Bolton definition of
health does not apply in the context of post-viability abor-
tions.

The Court in Roe v. Wade explicitly rejectvd the notion
that the woman’s right to privacy with respect to her deci-
sion on whether to terminate her pregnancy is unlimited.
“(A ]ppellant and some amic/ argue that the woman’s right
is absolute and that she is entitled to terminate her
pregnancy at whatever time, in whatever way, and for
whatever reason she alone chooses. With this we do not
agree.” 410 U.S. at 153. Instead, the privacy right of the
woman “must be considered against important state
interests in regulation.” /d. at 154. Thus, “a State may
properly assert important interests. in safeguarding health,
in maintaining medical standards, and in protecting poten-
tial life.” Jd. “At some point in pregnancy,” continued the
Court, “these respective interests become sufficiently
compelling to sustain regulation of the factors that govern
the abortion decision.” Jd. “With respect to the State’s
important and legitimate interest in the health of the
mother,” noted the Court, “the compelling point, in light of
present medical knowledge, is at approximately the end of
the first trimester.” /d. at 163. And “with respect to the
State’s important and legitimate interest in potential life,
the ‘compelling’ point is viability.” Jd.

In a passage of Rov that emphasizes the point that at no
time in pregnancy is the woman’s abortion privacy right
absolute or completely personal in nature, the Court noted
that, during the first trimester of pregnancy, “the attending

15

physician, in cousultation with his patient, is free to
determine, without regulation by the state, that, in his
medical judgment, the patient’s pregnancy should be
terminated (emphasis added).” /d. at 163. Thus, it is clear
that in all three stages of the abortion regulatory frame-
work announced in Roc, health considerations, in some
fashion, <.e important.

Lut this emphatically is not to say that the health
considerations recognized by the Court in Roe +. Wade are
the same, or that they must be given equal constitutional
weight, throughout the full nine month term of pregnancy.
In the first trimester, the abortion decision “must be left to
the medical judgment of the pregnant woman’s attending
physician.” /d. at 164. Indeseribing the factors which could
be considered legitimately in exercising this “medical
judgment,” the Court noted:

Specific and direet harm medically diaquosable even
in early pregnancy may be involved. Maternity, or
additional offspring, may force upon the woman a
distressful life and future. Psychological harm may be
imminent. Mental and physical health may be taxed by
child care. There is also the distress, for all concerned,
associated with the unwanted child, and there is the
problem of bringing a child into a family already
nwnable, psychologically and otherwise, to care for it. In
other cases as in this one, the additional difficulties
and continuing stigma of unwed motherhood may be
involved. All these are factors the woman and her
responsible physician necessarily will consider in
consultation.

Id. at 153 (emphasis added).

Thus, under this broad definition of health, very few
abortions are performed for any medical reason. Of the
women seeking abortion, only 4.5% of those seeking second
trimester abortions and 10% of those seeking first trimester
abortions claimed any medical indications. Most seek abor-
tion for social and economic reasons. See Appendix B.

16

Despite the fact that few women have any clinical grounds
for abortion, those who perform abortions are willing to
find medical indications simply because the pregnancy is
early or the patient wants one.” Other physicians feel that
there is a medical indication to abortion in pregnancy if the
woman says, “I can’t cope with this pregnancy.” Zbaraz,
Abortion and the Supreme Court: A Physician's Fight for
Medical Equality, 4 SEXUAL MED. ToDay 43 (1980). In fact,
no more than 2 percent of induced abortions are performed
“for clinically identifiable reasons,” and no more than 1
percent are performed to save the life of the mother — or for
any other purpose related to physical heaith. /
Constitutional Amendments Relating to Abortion, 1981:
Hearings on Bills Proposing a Constitutional Amendment
With Respect to Abortion Before the Subcommittee on the
Constitution of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, 97th
Cong., Ist Sess. 158-59 (1981) (testimony of Irwin M.
Cushner).

This situation is exacerbated by the fact that it is usually
not a physician who is sought out for advice when
pregnancy is suspected. Indeed, in one survey, less than
18% sought the advice of any physician when deciding

* See Testimony of Dr. Hodgson in MeRae rv. Califano, No. 76-C-1804
(E.D.N.Y.), Transcript, August 3, 1977, at pp. 99-101):

A. In my medical judgment every (pregnancy) that is not wanted
by the patient, | feel there is a medical indication to abort a pregnancy
where it is not wanted.

In good faith, I would recommend on a medical basis, you
understand, that, and it would be 100% ... 1 think they are all
medically necessary ...

Occasionally we will advise these women to carry their pregnancy to
term. But most of these are medically necessary because | am consider-
ing the women’s physical, mental, emotional and social and welfare and
family and environment and all that ... I am concerned with the
quality of life not physical existence ... If the words medically
necessary came in | think | could live with it. If | could interpret it in
my own way, however.

Q. It would be a good faith interpretation?

A. I could live with it.

17

whether or not to have an abortion and over 87% reported
that the physician had absolutely no influence on their
decision. Rosen, The Patient's View of the Role of the
Primary Care Physician in Abortion, 67 Am. J. Pus.
HEALTH 863 (1977). Part of the reason for the low influence
rate of physicians is the fact that in abortion clinics the
physician generally does not even see the patient until she is
on the operating table, prepared for the abortion.
Hausknecht, F ee Standing Abortion Clinies: A New
Phenomenon, 49 BULL. N.Y. ACADEMY OF MED. 985 (1973).
The physician does not even diagnose the woman’s condi-
tion before the procedure.

In the second trimester under the Roe v. Wade standard,
the State’s compelling interest in the health of the mother
justifies regulations that “are reasonably related to
maternal health.” 410 U.S. at 164. But the Court suggested
that such regulations must be narrowly confined to such
matters as qualifications and licensing of medical per-
sonnel and facilities involved in the performing of abor-
tions. /d. at 16° d, in the third (post-viability) stage, the
state’s compelliiy interest in protecting “the potentiality of
human life” constitutionally justifies the state in
prohibiting abortion “except where it is necessary, in
appropriate medical judgment, for the preservation of the
life or health of the mother.” /d. at 164, 165.

Thus, the Roe +. Wade model focuses on different “health”
considerations in each of its three stages. The distinctions
between these differing “health” concerns associated with
the three stages of the Roe +. Wade model must be accorded
special importance because they are of constitutional
significance. The mandatory “life or health” exception,
which must be applied by the states to allow legal abortions
even after the fetus has reached the time of viability and the
state has acquired a compelling reason to proscribe abor-
tions, must not be confused with the “health” condition
which may justify a “medical judgment” authorizing abor-
tion in the first trimester.

18

This proposition finds further support in the climactic
conclusion about the Texas abortion statute that this Court
drew in Roe v. Wade:

Measured against these standards, Article 1196 of the
Texas Penal Code, in restricting legal abortions to
those “procured or attempted by medical advice for
the purpose of saving the life or health of the mother,”
sweeps too broadly. The statute ~vwakes no distinction
between abortions performed early in pregnancy and
those performed later, and it limits to a single reasor.,
“saving” the mother’s life, the legai justification for the
procedure. The statute, therefore, cannot survive the
constitutional attack made upon it here.

Id. at 164 (emphasis added).

To apply the first trimester “health” definition to the
mandatory health exception in the post-viability context
also would “sweep too broadly” and would make “no distine-
tion between abortions performed early in pregnancy and
those performed later.” /d. Morever, as this Court noted in
Roe v. Wade, “[s}tate regulation protective of fetal life after
viability thus has both logical and biological justifications.
If the state is interested in protecting fetal life, (f may go so
fav as to proscribe abortion during that period, except when
it is necessary to preserve the life or health of the mother.”
Id. at 163-164 (emphasis added). Thus, it is not logical to
conclude, as the Third Circuit below did, that this Court
would have recognized a state's constitutional power to
prohibit post-viability abortions on the one hand only to
take it away by means of a broad, all-encompassing
“health” exception on the other. As a perceptive analysis of
this aspect of the Roe r. Wade decision by Professor Wardle
has suggested:

The analytical soundness of reading Roe and Doe as
requiring a post-viability “life or health” exception
with an expansive interpretation of “health” is highly
questionable. A broad interpretation of this exception
would be inconsistent with the deliberate balancing of

19

interests that is at the heart of the Roe analysis, and
would disregard the fundamental distinctions
between the “health” concepts associated with the
three stages of the Roe model. The “health” conditions
which constitutionally justify ... [broad, unregulated
access to] abortion during the first trimester are un-
questionably much broader than the “health”
conditions which constitute the mandatory post-
viability “life or health” exception. The fact that Roe
acknowledged that a “compelling” state interest is
thwarted when the post-viability exception is applied
mandates a conservative interpretation of this excep-
tion. Also, the reason for the imposition, as a constitu-
tional requirement, of the mandatory “life or health”
exception to post-viability abortion restrictions has
never been stated by the Court, and this, certainly,
suggests that it was not intended to be a major
exception.

Moreover, if the post-viability “life or health”
exception were read in terms of the Doe or Roe descrip-
tion of the first trimester “health” considerations .. . it
would create a classic “Catch-22” situation.... It
would mean that the Court in Roe laboriously created a
three-part framework for regulating abortion,
emphasized that a woman's right to an abortion is not
absolute, declared that after viability the state has a
“compelling interest” which generally could justify
the prohibition of abortion, and then, sub silentio,
negated it all with an innocuously-appended excep-
tion. In short, an expansive reading of the post-
viability “life or health” exception is logically
indefensible and is analytically inconsistent with the
Roe model of abortion regulation.

L. WARDLE, THE ABORTION Privacy DocTRINE: A
COMPENDIUM AND CRITIQUE OF FEDERAL COURT ABORTION
CASES 14-15 (1980).

20

C. The Progeny of Roe v. Wade also Demonstrate that
the Doe v. Bolton Definition of Health Does Not
Apply to Post-Viability Abortion

The majority opinion in Colautti demonstrates further
that the Doe v. Bolton health definition does not apply tothe
mandatory health exception for post-viability abortion
prohibitions by the states. “Roe stressed repeatedly the
central role of the physician, both in consulting with the
woman about whether or not to have an abortion, and in
determining how any abortion was to be carried out....
We indicated that up to the points where important state
interests provide compelling justifications for intervention,
‘the abortion decision in all its aspects is inherently, and
primarily, a medical decision.’ Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at
166.” Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. at 387 (emphasis
added). Thus, this Court once again drew a clear line
between the first trimester regulation-free physician-
patient abortion privacy right and a drastically more
limited concept of serious physiological health endanger-
ment after the compelling state interest in the protection of
fetal life arises after viability.

The Court returns to this point slightly later in Co/autt:.
“In these three cases |Roe v. Wade, Doe v. Bolton, and

Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth), then,

this Court has stressed viability, has declared its
determination to be a matter for medical judgment, and
has recognized that differing legal consequences ensue upon
the near and far sides of that point in the human gestation
period.” Colautti v ‘ranklin, 439 U.S. at 388 (emphasis
added). “Viability i. ~° critical point.” Jd. at 389.

After Colautti v. + ‘Yin, this Court again made
implicit reference to ti that the Doe v. Bolton
definition of health does . yply to the post-viability
period of pregnancy as re ‘tnized in Roe v. Wade. In
Justice Powell's plurality opin. »n in Planned Parenthood v.
Ashcroft, 462 U.S. 476 (1983), the Court stated that “[m Jany

21

third-trimester abortions in Missouri will be emergency
operations, as the State permits these later abortions only
when they are necessary to preserve the life or health of the
woman.” /d. at 485 (emphasis added). The Court also noted
“those unusual circumstances,” id., and “rare situations
where there are compelling medical reasons for performing
abortions after viability.” /d. at 484 n. 7. Obviously, if this
Court in Planned Parenthood v. Ashcroft understood the
very broad, nearly unlimited first trimester health
standard enunciated in Doe v. Bolton to define the
mandatory post-viability health exception as well, the
Court would not have used the emphasized phrases.

D. This Court Need Not Define the Post-Viability
Health Exception In Order to Hold Section
3210(b) Constitutional

If the court below were correct in applying the Doe +.
Bolton definition of health to the mandatory health excep-
tion for post-viability abortions, then that health exception
would consume, or negate, Pennsylvania’s general rule
against post-viability abortions, as justified by its
compelling interest in the protection of fetal life. What the
court below gives with one hand by upholding
Pennsylvania’s proscription of post-viability abortions, it
takes away with the other hand by misapplying Doe +.
Bolton so as to rob that prohibition of any force or effect.

In order to reverse the erroneous holding of the court
below that Section 3210(b) is unconstitutional, it is not
necessary for this Court to define the precise limited
parameters of the post-viability health exception. Rather it
only is necessary for this Court to determine that the
employment of the phrase “significantly greater medical
risk” in Section 3210(b) is an appropriate way for
Pennsylvania to differentiate between the Doe v. Bolton
definition of maternal health in the first trimester and the
markedly different and more grave nature of the post-
viability health exception. That determination will ensure

that the post-viability health exception does not operate to
deprive Pennsylvania of the power, pursuant to its
compelling interest in the protection of fetal life, to
mandate that the physician use an abortion procedure that
is most likely to produce a live birth, absent a significantly
greater medical risk to the pregnant woman.

23

CONCLUSION

The Pennsylvania statute requiring a physician to
employ a post-viability abortion technique most likely to
result in a live birth, uniess it also entails a significantly
greater medical risk to the pregnant woman, is justified as
a reasonable exercise of state power pursuant to the
compelling interest in viable unborn life. The exclusion
from consideration of the psychological or emotional effect
of a live birth in assessing medical risk appropriately limits
the definition of post-viability maternal health in accord
with this Court's previous decisions. Thus, the Amicus
Curiae respectfully urges this Honorable Court to reverse
the decision below and declare section 3210(b)
constitutional.

Respectfully submitted,

Steven R. Valentine James Bopp, Jr.
of the Bar of the BramMes, Bopp, HAYNES &
Supreme Court of ABEL
Illinois 191 Harding Avenue

8029 Edinburgh Drive P.O. Box 1583
Springfield, VA 22153 Terre Haute, IN 47808-1583
(703) 455-6125 (812) 238-2421

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
National Right to Life Committee, Inc.

Appendices

APPENDIX A

ODBIIY,) ‘AJIT 404 payius) suBdiawy :aounog

‘Y9OM Paje/dWo0d ysaivaU JU}

UO S19YIO "YIOM JSAABIU IY} UO UO!) BULISa [BUOI]BISAZ 1184) paseq SiayoIBased 9WIOG,
UMOU YUN UOTIIULJap [BALAANS ,

SABP QZ 3B OAI[V = [VALAIS ,

[Bi1dsoy Wodj pasieyosip syuejul = [eatauns ,

» s. s. A. A.

. beet ~
$6 pot} ee port i 8z oso | xen | sor = i.
; ' 1861
66 | 26] v6 | 66 16 | 26] 98 Z| us| €s sz |or] s 1 ery} soz | feet | oe
asj9s |6c}ot| o mw | 619 zest | 9 —
" <
7861
cot forforporoo 16 18 | 8} se | eo|ee | ce} o st | set aan te*
. 086 1
66 &6 v8 ss ul oreo} coz | field a?
0861
26 os] m ot | ez ssw | 91 ame 1 ot
0861
91] 19 | ec} 9¢ an | 29 an tet
6
96] 86 | 86] z6 | 26] 92 cles ev}oc | tt] 0 van} coor] Sieh ly ot

a7eIs = jo 8 jzO sree, gA—nas

+(SY99M) DY [BUOIIeISAt) Ag (%) IBY [BVALAING [ByBUOeN

I cenestieenetemneeneneencemmneteneensineeenenenensnennenntemartectnemeenennreeansnert inner tetencertieeemmnnr

A-2

APPENDIX A
1. Philip etal, Neonatal Mortality Risk for the Bighties:
The Importance of Birth Weight/Gestational Age Grou ps, 68
PEDIATRICS 122 (1981).
2. Dillon et al., Aggressive Obstetric Management in
Late Second Trimester Deliveries, 58 OBST. GYN. 685 (1981).

3. Herschel et al., Survival of Infants Born at 24 to 28
Weeks’ Gestation, 60 OBST. GYN. 154 (1982).

4. Koops etal., Neonatal Mortality Risk in Relation to
Birth Weight and Gestational Age: Update, 101 J. PEDIAT.
969 (1982).

5. Worthington et al., Factors Influencing Survival and
Morbidity with Very Low Birth Weight Delivery, 62 OBST.
GYN. 550 (1983).

6. Milner et al., Limit of Fetal Viability, [Letter] 1
(8385) LANCET 1079 (May 1984).

7. Goldenberg et al., Survival of Infants with Low Birth
Weight and Early Gestational Age, 1979 to 1981, 149 AM. J.
OpsT. GYN. 508 (1984).

8. Gilstrap et al., Survival and Short-Term Morbidity of

the Premature Neonate, 65 OBST. GYN. 37 (1985).

A-3

APPENDIX B

MAJOR REASON FOR SEEKING ABORTION
GIVEN BY 400 PATIENTS

Saline Curretage
(%) (%)

School 17.5 7.0
Career, personal freedom 11.5 7.5
Medical complications 4.5 10.0
Financial strain 19.5 15.0
Unmarried 9.0 8.5
Too young 6.0 11.0
Fear of social disgrace 5.0 1.5
Family already completed 3.5 13.5
Shakey relationship with man involved — 8.0 9.0
Children too close in age 2.0 4.0
Possession of own children jeopardized 1.0 1.0
Parental advice 2.0 0.5
Never wants children 0.5 1.0
Not fit to be a mother 1.5 3.0
Unwilling intercourse — 0.5
Plans to marry abandoned 0.5 —

Too early in marriage _ 2.0
Too old _ 1.5
Didn't want to hurt family 4.5 0.5
Other 3.5 3.0

Source: Kerenyi, et al., Reason for Delayed Abortion:
Results of 400 Interviews, 117 AM. J. OBST. GYN. 299, 307
(1973).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0056%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
