# Amicus Curiae Brief — Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension Fund v. Central Transport, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0016%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 472 U.S. 559

## Text

| —
¢
a 5 Vy 7 Bupreme Court. ft a

CORRECTED copy » ».

ALEXANDE ;

In the Supreme Court of the Anited CLERK

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

SPE V4

i

CENTRAL STATES. SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWEST AREAS
PENSION FUND. ET AL.. PETITIONERS

i

CENTRAL TRANSPORT. INC.. ET AL

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

Rex E. Lee

Solicitor General

KENNETH 5S. GELLER
Deputy Solicitor General
JOSHUA |. SCHWARTZ
Assistant to the Solicitor (;,enera
Department of Justice
Washington, DC. 20531
(902?) 633-2217
FRANCIS X. LILLY
Solicitor of Labor
KAREN |. WARD
Associate Solicitor
MARY-HELEN MAUTNER
Counsel for Appellate Litigation

BARBARA J. JOHNSON
Attorney
Department of Labor
Washington, D.C. 20210

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the Employee Retirement Income Security Act
of 1974, 29 U.S.C. 1001 et seg., permits the trustees of a
multiemployer employee benefit plan to audit records of an
employer participating in the plan to verify that the em
ployer is making contributions on behalf of all employees
for whom they are due

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Interest of the United States ..................... l
inde ee eee bedeebeseceesscees 2
re oe ete duceeseesesedsoceces 8
Argument:

I. ERISA recognizes the authority of employee
benefit plan trustees to audit a participating
employer’s payroll records to verify that the
employer is making all contributions that are
le weenesese< iii eibeakeeShesedbececee se ll

A. ERISA requires trustees to employ prudent
and appropriate means to collect and pre-
nn cts cect i cecegeedeseees ll
B. An audit of a participating employer’s com-
plete payroll records is an appropriate
means for trustees to ensure that the em-
ployer is contributing on behalf of all cov-
rn boesessdesesescecooces 13

C. Other provisions of ERISA demonstrate
that Congress intended that plan trustees
be permitted to audit a participating em-

ployer’s payroll records .................. 22
D. The court of appeals’ decision is inimical to
the objectives of ERISA ................. 24

Il. The trust agreements authorize petitioners’
trustees to audit respondents’ payroll records
to ensure that all required employee benefit
plan contributions have been made .......... 26

RE SE 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Audit Services Inc. v. Rolfson, 641 F.2d 757.... 15

(IIT)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page
Bugher v. Consolidated X-Ray Service Corp., 705

F.2d 1426, petition for cert. pending, No.

83-421 (filed Sept. 12, 1983) .................. 15
Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas

Pension Fund v. CRST, Inc., 641 F.2d 616... 7
Donovan v. Lone Steer, No. 82-1684 (Jan. 17,

itntn060660006040500nsesnneehesnsenet 20
Donovan v. National Bank of Alaska, 696 F. od

GaP nuconéeceaschdsebensunedetesnesedeeneens 20
Donovan v. Shaw, 668 F.2d 985...............4. 20
Home for Destitute Crippled Children v.

Boomer, 320 Ill. App. 541, 51 N.E.2d 830..... 13
Jim McNeff, Inc. v. Todd, 461 U.S. 260 ........ 15
Laborers Health & Welfare Trust Fund v.

We PEED chuucdcdvcosceceseses 14, 15
Miniard v. Lewis, 387 F.2d 864................ 28
NLRB v. Acme Industrial Co., 385 U.S. 482.... 29
NLRB v. Amazx Coal Co., 453 U.S. 322 ..... 12, 14, 29
Nachman Corp. v. Pension Benefit Guaranty

Cag Ge Ge EP 6:00 60040606.0680686066- 11, 12, 21
Nedd v. United Mine Workers of America, 556

Pall EP Sanecncecéscutcdocibbednedseneetens 14
Nichols v. Trustees of Asbestos Workers Pension

Plan, 3 Empl. Ben. Cas. (BNA) 1726 ......... 14
Nixon v. Administrator of General Services, 433

es GP’ ecdbbl den chdbdensddceuddeadssoest« 19
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. R.A. Gray &

Co., No. 83-245 (June 18, 1984)............ ll, 24-25
Roark v. Lewis, 401 F.2d 425 .... 2... cece eee 28
Rosen v. Hotel & Restaurant Employees & Bar-

tenders Union, 637 F.2d 592, cert. denied, 454

Sees GE Sdbsubadodddndetescéedeaebudeeedese 13, 14
Schneider Moving & Storage Co. v. Robbins, No.

82-1860 (Apr. 18, 1964) ......ccceccccccess 4, 28, 29

Spooner v. Dunlop, 87 N.H. 384, 180 A. 256 .... 13

Cases—Continued:

Page

United States v. S & Vee Cartage Co., 704 F.2d
914, cert. denied, No. 83-228 (Oct. 31, 1983). 15, 24

United States v. Sells Engineering, Inc., No.
81-1032 (June 30, 1983) .... 6.2... eee eee eee

Upham v. Plankinton, 152 Wis. 275, 140 N.W.

Van Gunten v. Central States, 672 F.2d 586 ..

Statutes and rule:

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of

1974, 29 U.S.C.
ZO U.S.C. 1OOMe) ..... cc ccccccvccccccsveces ll,

i Pere l, 2,

29 U.S.C. 100la(a(3) ... 6... eee eee eee ee
29 U.S.C. 100206) ..... 2 ccc ec eee eeseeceees
29 U.S.C. 1023(aN3MA) .. «6. eee eee
29 U.S.C. LOZB(CM1) . 0... eee e eee eee eee ees 23,
29 U.S.C. 1024(a)(4)(B) .. 2... ee cee eee ees
29 U.S.C. 1024(aXS)(A) .. 6... eee eee eee
29 U.S.C. 1024(a(S5MC) .. 2. eee eee

29 U.S.C. 1059

29 U.S.C. 10GQ(aM 1)... cece cece cece ee eees
29 U.S.C. 105Q a2)... cece eee ee eee eee
29 U.S.C. 10GB) 2... nce cccccccccccccscccees

29 U.S.C. 1082

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeveeeee ee#eneneeeee

29 U.S.C. 110B(a) ... 2... cee ee cece ences: bone
29 U.S.C. 110B(CM1) «1... cee eee eee eens
29 U.S.C. 110B(cM2MA) .. «2. ee eee eee ees

29 U.S.C. 1104

29 U.S.C. 1104(aX1)..........cccccecceeee- 6. 12.

29 U.S.C. 1104(a1I MA) .. 2. 6 ee cece eee

29 U.S.C. 1104(a)1(D) .. «2.6 ee ee eee 12, 19,

29 U.S.C. 1106(a)1MB) .. 2... eee eee ee

29 U.S.C. 1110
29 U.S.C. 1132

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

29 U.S.C. LIB2(DM2)... 1. eee eee eee eee eee
29 U.S.C. 1184(a(1) .. 6... eee eee eee ewes
29 U.S.C. 11B4(aNZ) ... 6. cece eee eee eee

29 U.S.C. 1145

eeeeeveeeeveeeeeeeeeeveeeeeveeeeene?

21

13
26

Vi

Statutes and rule—Continued: Page
Labor Management Relations Act of 1947
§ 301(a), 29 U.S.C. 185(a) ......... cece eeee 5
Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of
1980, Pub. L. No. 96-364, 94 Stat. 1208 et seq. l
i ih Mi ctiecébbodeceuiebhedesstaenatacs 24
Dorit UE covstiwsdueeddebestebdsucsnee 21
Miscellaneous:

American Institute of Certified Public
Accountants:
Audits of Employee Benefit Plans (1983) 16, 21, 23
Audits of Employee Health and Welfare

EE GPE Cs ccccccunesassaceees 16
Statement on Auditing Standards No. 1
See 690660606000 bendencdende’sdeeees 16
Statement on Auditing Standards No. 9
DU 6 6oncqeedseseeeenneanssonsenceons 16
Statement on Auditing Standards No. 39
Di etetbietinataemeenetenaasesucences 16
G.G. Bogert & G.T. Bogert, The Law of Trusts
and Trustees (rev. 2d ed. 1980)............... 12, 13
126 Cong. Rec. 23039 (1980) ................056. 25
Dep't of Labor Advisory Op. No. 76-89 (Aug. 31,
PTT eT ee TTT ere 26
H.R. Conf. Rep. 93-1280, 98d Cong., 2d Sess.
SEE uudeésncenennseesenense seeeneeceecens« 18, 19

H.R. Rep. 93-533, 98d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) ... 11, 12,
17, 18, 19, 20, 22
Private Welfare and Pension Plan Legislation:
Hearings on H.R. 1045, H.R. 1046 and H.R.
16462 Before the General Subcomm. on Labor
of the House Comm. on Education and Labor,
91st Cong., lst & 2d Sess. (1969-1970) ........ 12

Prohibited Transaction Exemption 76-1, 41 Fed.
Reg. (1976):

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page
Restatement (Second) of Trusts (1959) .......... 13
S. Rep. 93-127, 938d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973).... 11, 12,

17, 18, 19, 20, 22
A. Seott, The Law of Trusts (3d ed. 1967):

Staff of the Senate Comm. on Labor and Human
Resources, 96th Cong., 2d Sess., The
Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act
of 1980, S. 1076: Summary and Analysis of
Consideration (Comm. Print 1980)............ 25

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTCBER TERM, 1984

No. 82-2157

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWEST
AREAS PENSION FUND, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

CENTRAL TRANSPORT, INC., ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case will clarify the authority of trustees of a
multiemployer employee benefit plan that is subject to the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
(ERISA), 29 U.S.C. 1001 et seg., as amended by the
Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980
(Multiemployer Act), Pub. L. No. 96-364, 94 Stat. 1208 et
seq., to verify, by appropriate audits of the records of em-
ployers participating in the plan, that the employers are
remitting contributions on behalf of all employees for whom
they are due. The United States has a substantial interest
in the proper resolution of this issue.

The Secretary of Labor is charged with administering the
employee benefit rights protection provisions (Title I)

(1)

2

of ERISA. Failure to recognize auditing authority in em-
ployee benefit plan trustees sufficient to enable them to en-
force employer contribution and funding obligations would
shift to the Secretary the burden of detecting contribution
delinquencies—a burden that Congress intended to be
borne by plan trustees. It would also threaten the integrity
of the plans that the Secretary has been directed to pro-
tect. In addition, the court of appeals’ decision, by
undermining the efficacy of fiduciary safeguards for as-
suring that all required employer contributions are made,
has the potential to impose financial burdens upon the em-
ployee benefit plan termination insurance fund established
pursuant to Title IV cf ERISA, and to impose administra-
tive burdens upon the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corpora-
tion, a wholly owned government corporation that adminis-
ters the insurance program.

This Court recognized the substantial interest of the
United States in the question presented by inviting the So-
licitor General to express the government’s views at the pe-
tition stage. The United States filed a brief as amicus cu-
riae in support of the Petition.

S”ATEMENT

1. Petitioners are multiemployer e1iployee benefit plans
subject to ERISA and the Multiemployer Act (29 U.S.C
1001 et seq.). Petitioners provide health, welfare and pen-
sion benefits to certain persons whose employers are en-
gaged in interstate trucking. Respondents are 16 interstate
trucking companies. Each of the petitioner benefit plans
was created by a trust agreement entered into by
multiemployer associations to which respondents belong
and various local affiliates of the International Brotherhood
of Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of
America.' By the terms of the National Master Freight
Agreement, a collective bargaining agreement to which the

' The trust agree ments covering the Pension Fund and the Health
and Welfare Fund are identical in all material respects. References
hereinaft>r are to the provisions of the Pension Fund trust agreement
which is reproduced at Pet. App. A43-A49

3

union and respondents are signatories, respondents are re-
quired to make weekly contributions to petitioners for each
employee “covered by the agreement.” An employee is
“covered,” irrespective of union membership, if he or she is
employed in a particular job classification described in the
collective bargaining agreement.? Respondents have ex-
pressly agreed to be bound by the trust agreements gov-
erning the petitioner funds. Pet. App. Al-A5, Al6. Under
the trust agreements, covered employees are entitled to
certain benefits providing that they satisfy stated
preconditions.

The trust agreements require each participating em-
ployer to make “continuing and prompt payments to the
Trust Fund as required by the applicable collective bar-
gaining agreement” (Art. III, § 1 (Pet. App. A44)). The
agreements establish boards of trustees to administer the
Funds and require the trustees “to demand and collect the
contributions of the Employers to the Fund” and to “take
such steps, including the institution and prosecution of
* * * any legal proceedings as the[y| * * * in their discre-
tion deem in the best interest of the Fund to effectuate the
collection or preservation of (employer! contributions * * *
owed to the Trust Fund” (Art. III, § 4 (Pet. App. A45)).

In order to facilitate the trustees’ performance of their
collection and enforcement responsibilities, Article III,
Section 5 of the trust agreements provides (Pet. App. A46):

Each Employer shall promptly furnish to the Trust-
ees, upon reasonable demand the names and current
addresses of its Employees, their Social Security num-
bers, the hours worked by each Employee and past in-
dustry employment history in its files * * *.

In addition, each employer is required to supply (ibid.):
such other information as the Trustees may reasonably
require in connection with the administration of the
Trust.

Article II1, Section 5 of the trust agreements provides as

well that (Pet. App. A46):

2 Respondents allege that 60% of their employees are not covered
Pet App A® AG4)

4

The Trustees may, by their representatives, examine
the pertinent records of each Employer at the Employ-
ers place of business whenever such examination is
deemed necessary or advisable by the Trustees in con-
nection with the proper administration of the Trust.

The trust agreements provide that Fund trustees may
construe the provisions of the trust agreements; any con-
struction adopted by the trustees in good faith is binding on
employers, the union and employees (Art. IV, § 17 (Pet.
App. A27, A48)). Furthermore, by the terms of the collect-
ive bargaining agreement and implementing agreements
providing for respondents’ participation in the Pension and
Health and Welfare Funds, respondents agreed to be bound
by all actions of the Funds’ trustees (Pet. App. A3-A4).
Finally, the trustees are empowered by the trust agree-
ments “(tjo do all acts, whether or not expressly authorized
herein, which the Trustees may deem necessary or proper
for the protection of the property held hereunder” (Art.
IV, § 14(e) (emphasis added) (Pet. App. A27, A45, A47)).
See generally Schneider Moving & Storage Co. v. Robbins.
No. 82-1860 (Apr. 18, 1984), slip op. 4-5.

2. In late 1979, petitioners contacted respondents to
arrange a “periodic review(| of participating employer con-
tributions for the benefit of Plan Participants and their
Beneficiaries,” including a “(djetermination of eligible Plan
Participants covered by Collective Bargaining Agree-
ments” (Pet. App. A6-A7). During the course of this audit,
in February and March 1980, respondents furnished peti-
tioners’ audit staff with only part of the information they
requested. Respondents provided payroll registers for
those employees whom respondents deemed covered by the
collective bargaining agreement. In addition, respondents
produced insurance exception listings, which are documents
prepared monthly listing the individuals and time periods
for which respondents acknowledged an obligation to make
contributions to the trust funds. /d. at A85-A86.

* The trust agreements involved in this case are the same ones inter
preted by the Court in Schneider Moving & Storage Co

5

Based on the limited information provided, petitioners’
auditors discovered substantial reporting and contribution
deficiencies, including respondents’ failure to pay sums
owed to the Funds totalling in excess of $268,000. Specifi-
cally, the auditors found that respondents had failed
promptly to report newly-hired employees, had reported
premature termination dates for departing employees, had
failed to contribute for employees who worked part of a
week during a strike, and had failed to contribute for em-
ployees who were on sick leave. The auditors also discov-
ered four instances in which respondents had made contri-
butions for an individual not listed on the various
documents that purportedly contained the names of all cov-
ered employees. Pet. App. A7, A83-A84, A87. Despite pe-
titioners’ request, however, respondents refused to provide
tax forms and complete payroll ledgers that included infor-
mation regarding employees who respondents claimed were
not covered (id. at A7, A86). At respondents’ direction, the
auditors left respondents’ premises on March 28, 1980 with-
out completing their audit (id. at A7, A88).

8. Petitioners commenced this action in the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan
pursuant to Section 301(a) of the Labor Management Rela-
tions Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C. 185(a), and Section 502 of
ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1132, alleging that respondents failed
accurately to report, and to remit benefit fund contribu-
tions for, all employees covered by the collective bargaining
agreement (Pet. App. Al-A2). The relief sought by the plan
trustees included an injunction directing respondents to al-
low a complete audit of their payroll records in order to en-
able the trustees to verify that respondents had correctly
reported all covered employees and had made all required
contributions. Petitioners maintained that, without such an
independent audit, they would be unable to ensure the fi-
nancial integrity of the benefit funds or to fulfill their fidu-
ciary obligations to the plans’ participants and their tenefi-
ciaries. Pet. App. A2. The district court agreed, and held
(id. at AS-Al4) that petitioners had both a contractual
right under various provisions of the trust agreements and
a statutory obligation under ERISA to audit respondents’

6

payroll records “to independently verify the status and du-
ties of all individuals employed by [respondents] in order to
insure that proper benefit contributions are being made”
(id. at A3).

4. The court of appeals reversed (Pet. App. Al5- A34).
The court initially held (id. at A18-A20) that ERISA does
not itself afford petitioners any authority to audit respon-
dents’ records “to independently verify whether any given
employee is covered by the collective bargaining agree-
ments” (id. at Al9). The court of appeals acknowledged
that ERISA imposes broad fiduciary duties on benefit plan
trustees. 29 U.S.C. 1104. The court reasoned, however,
that because the Act also specifies that fiduciaries must act
“solely in the interest of [p.an] participants and beneficia-
ries,” and must act “in accordance with the documents and
instruments governing the plan insofar as such documents
and instruments are consistent with” the Act (Pet. App
Al% (quoting 29 U.S.C. 1104(a\(1)), ERISA does not sanc-
tion exercise of auditing authority by the trustees. The
court of appeals stated (Pet. App. A19-A20):

[Tjhe provisions of ERISA require reference to the
terms of the collective bargaining agreements and the
trust agreements to determine who are the partici-
pants and beneficiaries to whom statutorily imposed
duties are owed and to the terms of the trust agree-
ments to determine what the precise nature of those
duties are.

The court of appeals held, moreover, that the trust
agreements did not authorize the trustees to undertake the
audit contemplated, either. The court of appeals initially
concluded that the trust agreements define the term “em-
ployees” to include only workers covered under the benefit
plans and that the trustees’ right under Article III, Section
5 to demand pertinent information on “employees” accord-
ingly did not extend to persons other than those covered by
the plans (Pet. App. A20-A26). Additional language in Arti-
cle III, Section 5 that requires an employer to furnish other
information reasonably required by the trustees, and to
produce pertinent records for the trustees’ examination
(see pages 3-4, supra), was also dismissed as insufficient to

afford the trustees the audit authority claimed (Pet. App
A26). The court reasoned that this language “ ‘can only re-
fer to information reasonably required as to “covered” em-
ployees additional tv the records specifically listed’” (ibid.,
quoting Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pen
sion Fund v. CRST. Inc... 641 F.2d 616. 619 (8th Cir
1981))

The court of appeals did recognize a contractual basis for
the trustees’ exercise of a tightly circumscribed auditing
authority extending beyond records on persons conceded
by an employer to be covered by the employee benefit plan
(Pet. App. A27-A3'). The court inferred that language in
the trust agreements expressly mandating that trustees
collect contributions owed by employers (see Art. IV, § 2
(Pet. App. A47)) and granting them power to protect trust
assets by taking acts not otherwise explicitly authorized
(see Art. IV, § 14(e) (Pet. App. 47)) required the trustees
to “ensure that contributions to the Funds correlate with
disbursement of benefits from them” (id. at A29). The
court premised this conclusion in part upon the common law
principle that “|plowers may be inferred or implied from
the terms of the governing instruments read as a whole,
from an express directive to accomplish a particular goal
unaccompanied by express directives on the ordinary and
natural means of obtaining that result, and from the pur
poses of the trust” (id. at A28)

Notwithstanding this analysis, the court of appeals held
that the trustees’ auditing authority is “confined to factual
situations in which the trustees have reasonable cause to
believe that a particular person is covered by a collective
bargaining agreement but has not been * * * classified
* * * as a covered employee” (Pet. App. A29). The court of
appeals explained that the trustees’ authority under the
trust agreement is “limited * * * by ERISA” (id. at A27)
The court believed that the trustees’ statutory duties to ad-
minister the Fund exclusively in the interest of participants
and other beneficiaries precluded them from reviewing em-
ployment records of non-covered employees (id. at A29)
The court of appeals’ conclusion appears to rest upon the
view that it would be “arbitrary and capricious” —and thus

8

an imprudent expenditure of plan assets inconsistent with a
fiduciary’s obligations under ERISA—to undertake an au-
dit designed to ferret out underpayments, absent reason-
able cause to suspect that an employer has failed to make
required payments in the case of a particular employee (id
at A29-A30).

The court of appeals also concluded that limiting the
trustees’ auditing authority to instances in which there is
cause to believe that required contributions have not been
made for an identified employee was consistent with tradi-
tional labor relations principles (Pet. App. A30-A31). The
court observed that “[cjoverage under the terms of a col-
lective bargaining agreement has traditionally been within
the province of the employer and union” (id. at A30). The
court of appeals believed that limiting the trustees’ audit
authority “preserves the privacy (sic) and integrity of the
grievance ard irbitration provisions agreed to by [respon-
dents} and the Union as a means of resolving questions of
employee coverage” (id. at A31).

Applying the limited auditing right it had recognized, the
court of appeals concluded that petitioners were entitled to
review only respondents’ records covering the four individ-
uals as to whom respondents had made trust fund contribu-
tions without listing the incividuals as covered (along with
the records covering those employees respondents con-
ceded to be covered). Any broader audit was deemed “out-
side of [the trustees’) statutorily and contractually imposed
duties, express or implied, as a matter of law” (Pet. App.
A32)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I

A. The court of appeals improperly limited petitioners’
authority to conduct an audit of contributing employers’
payroll records to assure that all contributions owed to the
employee benefit plan are being paid. Recognizing the im-
portance of pension and welfare plan benefits to the finan-
cial well-being of millions of persons, Congress required in
ERISA that employee benefit plan assets be held in trust.
Invoking established trust law doctrine, Congress sub-

9

jected plan officials to strict fiduciary standards of conduct.
Among the implied fiduciary duties recognized under the
law of trusts is the trustees’ fundamental obligation to col-
lect trust assets. This obligation, like those expressly es-
tablished by the pertinent trust agreement, may be carried
out both through powers explicitly conferred upon the fidu-
ciary and through the trustees’ inherent authority to use
ordinary and natural means to obtain the results mai dated
by the trust.

B. An audit of a participating employer’s payroll records
is a reasonable and appropriate means of carrying out the
trustees’ obligation to collect all contributions due to the
plan. Indeed, in light of the substantial opportunities that
exist for misclassification or underpayment by employers,
especially in multiemployer plans, such an independent
check on the accuracy and completeness of an employer's
coverage determinations must be available to plan trustees
if they are to provide meaningful protection for plan partic-
ipants. Generally accepted auditing standards and commvun
sense support the view that an employer’s omissions in list-
ing covered employees and making contributions on their
behalf can only be detected by audit procedures that look
beyond records on those employees the employer concedes
to be covered.

The legislative history of ERISA confirms the impor-
tance of plan trustees’ auditing authority. Ensuring full
funding of pension plan benefits through timely payment of
employer contributions was one of the Act’s principal objec-
tives. Moreover, Congress recognized that special features
of employee benefit plans—including the large number of
participants and the inability of individual participants ard
beneficiaries effectively to guard their own interests—
mandate that plan fiduciaries act vigilantly and vigorously
to guard plans’ financial soundness.

The court of appeals’ justifications for departing from
these principles are insubstantial. Review of payroll rec-
ords necessary to detect covered employees whom a partic-
ipating employer has failed to acknowledge is not inconsist-
ent with the statutory requirement that fiduciaries act on
behalf of beneficiaries and participants. Nor is a limitation

10

of auditing authority to employer payroll records on indi-
viduals as to whom there is already reasonable cause to
suspect employer delinquencies consistent with, much less
required by, fundamental notions of prudence. Audits that
are carefully staged in conformity with generally recog-
nized accounting procedures enhance, rather than threaten,
plan assets.

C. The reporting and disclosure requirements of ERISA
offer further evidence that plan trustees are vested with
authority to independentl; verify the accuracy and com-
pleteness of employer contributions. Financial statements
and schedules in annual reports that plan trustees are re-
quired to file with the Secretary must be certified as sound
and accurate under generally accepted auditing standards.
Those standards require assurance that a plan has disclosed
all contributions due. The annual reports must also disclose
the number of plan participants. Congress plainly under-
stood that plan officials had the authority to verify data
needed to meei these requirements. Indeed, 29 U.S.C.
1059 directly requires employers to provide trustees of
multiemployer plans with information necessary to ascer-
tain which of the employers’ workers is covered by the ben-
efit plan.

D. The court of appeals’ decision frustrates ERISA’s
overriding objective: to assure the financial security of em-
ployee benefit plans. By design or mistake, participating
employers sometimes fail to remit full contributions due on
behalf of all participants. If these contribution deficiencies
go undetected they can lead to inadequate funding of the
plans involvea. The court of appeals’ ruling undercuts ef-
forts to ensure proper funding by encouraging employers to
refuse to cooperate with trustees performing their fiduciary
duties.

Contrary to the conclusion of the court of appeals, the
trust agreements in this case plainly grant petitioners the
auditing authority they seek. The agreements provide that
contributing employers must furnish the trustees with any
information reasonably required in their administration of

1]

the trust and must afford access to employer records when
examination is deemed advisable by the trustees. Trustees
may also undertake any action necessary to protect trust
assets. Petitioners’ interpretation of these provisions as
providing for their exercise of audit authority is reasonable
and should be sustained.

ARGUMENT
I. ERISA RECOGNIZES THE AUTHORITY OF EM-
rLOYEE BENEFIT PLAN TRUSTEES TO AUDIT A
PARTICIPATING EMPLOYER'S PAYROLL REC-

ORDS TO VERIFY THAT THE EMPLOYER IS
MAKING ALL CONTRIBUTIONS Ti" AT ARE DUE

A. ERISA Requires Trustees To Employ Prudent And
Appropriate Means To Collect And Preserve Plan
Assets

After extensive study of the operation and failings of pri-
vate employee pension and welfare benefit plans, Congress
enacted the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of
1974, 29 U.S.C. 1001 et seg. ERISA was designed to re-
dress major deficiencies in plan functioning found to impli-
cate “the continued well-being and security of millions of
employees and their dependents” by establishing “minimum
standards * * * assuring the equitable character of such
plans and their financial soundness” (29 U.S.C. 1001(a)).
Congress wished to “mak[e] sure that if a worker has been
promised a defined pension benefit upon retirement —and if
he has fulfilled whatever conditions a.e required to obtain a
vested benefit—he actually will receive it.” Nachman
Corp. v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp., 446 U.S. 359
375 (1980). Accord, Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v.
R.A. Gray & Co., No. 83-245 (June 18, 1984), slip op. 2. To
achieve this end, Congress required that “all assets of an
employee benefit plan shall be held in trust” (29 U.S.C.
1103(a)). See S. Rep. 93-127, 93d Cong., !st Sess. 29-30
(1973); H.R. Rep. 93-533, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. 11-13 (1973).
In order “to make as certain as possible that pension fund
assets would be adequate” to pay benefits due, Congress

12

also “prescribed standards of conduct for plan” fiduciaries
(Nachman Corp., 446 U.S. at 375).

The fundamental standards of conduct for trustees are
set forth in Section 404 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1104. Con-
gress required employee benefit plan fiduciaries to dis-
charge their duties with respect to the plan “solely in the
interest of the participants and beneficiaries” and with the
“care, skill, prudence and diligence” that a prudent person
“familiar with such matters” would employ if acting under
similar circumstances. 29 U.S.C. 1104(a)(1). Congress also
required fiduciaries to discharge their duties “in accordance
with the documents and instruments governing the plan in-
sofar as [they] are consistent with [ERISA].” 29 U.S.C.
1104(a)(1)(D).

In outlining the responsibilities of bene™ plan fiducia-
ries, Congress deliberately declined to enumerate the pow-
ers and duties of trustees, choosing instead to invoke the
common law of trusts. The House and Senate Reports each
explain: “The fiduciary responsibility section, in essence,
codifies and makes applicable to these fiduciaries certain
principles developed in the evolution of the law of trusts”
(S. Rep. 93-127, supra, at 29; H.R. Rep. 93-533, supra, at
11). See NLRB v. Amazx Coal Co., 453 U.S. 322, 332-333
(1981). Thus, the trustees’ statutory obligations to act in a
prudent manner and with utmost fidelity to the interests of
participants and beneficiaries are defined by reference to
the duties and powers of trustees recognized in the common
law.

The law of trusts recognizes fundamental fiduciary duties
that arise by virtue of the trust relationship. Trustees have
a common law duty to take necessary steps to preserve and
maintain trust assets. G.G. Bogert & G.T. Bogert, The
Law of Trusts and Trustees § 582 (rev. 2d ed. 1980) |here-
inafter cited as Bogert}; 2 A. Scott, The Law of Trusts

* Congress was equally concerned that welfare benefit plans, which
frequently pay benefits out of current contributions, be able to deliver
promised benefits. See Private Welfare and Pension Plan Legislation
Hearings on H.R. 1045, H.R. 1046 and H.R. 16462 Before the General
Subcomm. on Labor of the House Comm. on Education and Labor
Yist Cong., Ist & 2d Sess. 471-472 (1969-1970)

13

$ 175 (3d ed. 1967). Acts traditionally deemed necessary to
preserve trust assets include identifying the trust assets,
holding the settlor to his obligation to deliver the assets,
and asserting control over the assets. Bogert § 583, at
348-350, 355-356. Trustees also have a duty to investigate
the identity of beneficiaries for the purpose of notifying
them of gifts made for their benefit. Bogert § 583, at 348;
see Rosen v. Hote! & Restaurant Employees & Bartenders
Union, 637 F.2d 592, 600 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S
898 (1981).

Moreover, under the law of trusts made applicable to em-
ployee benefit plans by ERISA, the authority available to
trustees to carry out their fiduciary duties includes not only
the fiduciaries’ express powers, defined by the instrument
creating the trust, but also powers implied from the terms
and purposes of the trust. Bogert § 551, at 3, 41. Among
those implied powers is the trustee’s authority to “use the
ordinary and natural means” for obtaining the resuit dic-
lated by the settlor. /d. § 551, at 41; Restatement (Second)
of Trusts § 186 (1959); 3 A. Scott, supra, § 186, at 1496.5

B. An Audit Of A Participating Employer's Complete
Payroll Records Is An Appropriate Means For Trust-
ees To Ensure That The Employer Is Contributing
On Behalf Of All Covered Employees

1. In order to fulfill their express statutory duty to act
with fidelity to the interests of plan participants and benefi-
ciaries, and their implied duties to collect trust assets and
identify the beneficiaries, trustees must ensure that an em-
ployer is making appropriate contribucions for all covered

> A trustee's duty to maintain trust property by ordinary and natu
ral means gives rise to manifold diverse powers, each appropriate to
particular circumstances confronted by the trustee. For instanc:
trustees have been held to possess authority to repair or improve prop
erty to preserve its value, to mortgage or lease real estate to raise
needed revenue, and to maintain suit against the settlor or others to
secure possession of the assets. See, ¢.g., Spooner v. Dunlop, 87 N.H
384, 180 A. 256 (1985); Upham v. Plankinton, 152 Wis. 275, 140 N.W
5 (1913); Home for Destitute Crippled Children v. Boomer, 320 Ii
App. 541, 51 N.E.2d 830 (1944)

14

employees. Trustees of an empiovee benefit plan have an
obligation to safe:7uard not only the interests of those em-
pioyees who the employer acknowledges are covered, but
also the interests of unidentified, but covered, employees
for whom the employer is not making contributions. In ad-
dition, in a multiemployer plan, the trustees not only pro-
tect the interests of all participants, but effectively protect
participating employers generally against liability for
underfunding resulting from deficiencies in the contribu-
tions of any particular employer. In sum, benefit plan trust-
ees have an unqualified “obligation to enforce the terms of
the collective-bargaining agreement regarding employee
fund contributions against the employer.” NLRB v. Amaz
Coal Co., 453 U S. at 332, 337 (emphasis in original).* Ac-
cord, Nedd v. United Mine Workers of America, 556 F.2d
190, 212 (3d Cir. 1977); Laborers Health & Welfare Trust
Fund v. Kaufman, 707 F.2d 412, 416 (9th Cir. 1983).

To fulfill these obligations, and to avoid effecting a pro-
hibited extension of credit to an employer who is delinquent
in his contributions (see 29 U.S.C. 1106(a)(1(B)), trustees
must develop “reasonable, diligent and systematic methods
for the review of employer contribution accounts [including]
field audits.” Prohibited Transaction Exemption 76-1, 4!
Fed. Reg. 12740, 12741 (1976). Accord, Nichols v. Trustees
of Asbestos Workers Pension Plan, 3 Empl. Ben. Cas.
(BNA) 1726, 1732 (D.D.C. 1982). Ultimately, trustees must
“take action against employers who fail to contribute to the
fund as required by the plan” (Rosen v. Hotel & Restau-
rant Employees & Bartenders Union, 637 F.2d at 600)

An audit of a participating employer's payroll records is
an ordinary and natural means for trustees to enforce the
employer's obligation to contribute for each covered em-
ployee. See Prohibited Transaction Exemption 76-1, supra
Unless an employer's records disclosing the identity of em-
ployees and the nature of their employment are available
for the trustee’s examination, the trustees will be obliged
to rely upon the good faith and the correctness of unilateral

* As the Court emphasized in Amer Coal Co., trustees may not
“compromise the claims of the union or the employer with regard to
the latter's contributions” (453 U.S. at 336)

|
)
)

15

employer determinations as to coverage under the collect-
tive bargaining agreement. Such unquestioning reliance is
inconsistent with the fundame.ial statutory requirement
that an employee benefit plan fiduciary act “solely in the in-
terest of [plan] participants and beneficiaries” with the
“care, skill, prudence and diligence” that a prudent persor
“familiar with such matters” would employ in the circum
stances (29 U.S.C. 1104(a\(1)).’

One “familiar with such matters” wouid guide his per
formance of a trustee’s fiduciary obligations with the
knowledge that contributing employers, through inadvert-
ence, mistaken legal interpretation or fraud, do not always
remit complete and accurate contributions on behalf of all
covered employees. See, e.g., Jim McNeff, Inc. v. Todd
46 | U S 260 ' 1983): Bughe rv. ¢{ onsolidated x Ray Service
Corp., 705 F.2d 1426 (5th Cir. 1983), petition for cert
pending, No. 85-421 (filed Sept. 12, 1983); United States
S & Vee Cartage Co., 704 F.2d 914 (6th Cir. 1983), cert
denied, No. 83-228 (Oct. 21, 1983). Moreover, a knowledge-
able trustee would appreciate that general payroll audits
ean facilitate recovery of significant contribution delinquen-
cies undetectable by any other means. See, e.g., /i”
McNeff, Inc. v. Todd, supra (audit revealed that employer

wed more than $5,000 on behalf of five employees that em
ployer had never reported as covered); Laborers Health &
Welfare Trust Fund v. Kaufman, supra (audit indicated a
discrepancy exceeding $130,000 due to contruversy regara
ing covered or non-covered status of particular non-unior
labor); Bugher v. Consolidated X-Ray Service Cor}
supra (audit uncovered more than $100,000 due on behalf of
covered employees who employer erroneously believed
were not covered): Audit Services I me \ Rolfso p41
F.2d 757 (9th Cir. 1981) (audit revealed deficiency of more
than $25,000 due to employers’ failure to contribute on be
half of non-union covered employees). Accordingly, a pru
dent employee benefit plan fiduciary would not unquestior

16

ingly accept the accuracy of an employer's coverage
determinations.

Generally accepted auditing standards confirm that fail-
ure to recognize the audit authority of trustees of a
multiemployer pension or welfare benefit plan cripples
trustees’ ability to identify and collect all assets owed to the
plan in a manner consistent with fiduciary standards of
care. For instance, completion of an independent audit of
such a benefit plan requires that the auditor investigate
and be assured of the accuracy of the plan’s data on the
number and identity of participants. Such assurance may
be gained in part from an independent check of the emphvy-
er’s records, and in part from an assessment of the plar's
own internal safeguards to make sure that all contributior s
due are paid. American Institute of Certified Public Ac-
countants (AICPA), Audits of Employee Benefit Plans
§§ 8.4, 10.6 (1983); AICPA, Audits of Employee Health
and Welfare Benefit Funds 20-21 (1972); AICPA, State-
ment on Auditing Standards No. i, at AU 520.01 (1972);
AICPA, Statement on Auditing Standards No. 9, at AU
322 & AU 322.02 (1975). These professional auditing proce-
dures reflect an elementary —but critical —auditing princi-
ple based, at root, upon common sense:

The auditor should determine that the population [ex-
amined] is appropriate for the specific audit objective.
For example, an auditor would not be able to detect
understatements of an account due to omitic items by
sampling the recorded items. An appropriate sampling
plan for detecting such understatements would involve
selecting fron: a source in which the omitted items are
included.
AICPA, Statement on Auditing Standards No. 39 *17, at
AU 350.17 (1981) (emphasis added). There is no reason to
impute to Congress the intent to defy this common sense
principle by rendering employee benefit plan fiduciaries ac-
countable for collection of trust assets while denying them
the authority needed to carry out that obligation.*

* In fact. as explained below (see pages 22-23, infra), Congress gen
erally required employee benefit plans to conform to the norms of the
accounting profession in the conduct of their affairs

2. The legislat.ve history of ERISA provides additional
evidence that the Act should be interpreted to recogniz
the authority of employee benefit plan trustees independ
ently to verify that participating employers have made all
contributions required of them under applicable trust
agreements Recognition of trustee auditing authority ef
fe< tuates two of the maior Policy onectives that ‘ ongress
ing ERISA: reform of pre

,

intended to accomplish by ena
vailing pension and welfare plan funding practices anc
maintenance of uniform and high standards of fiduciary re
sponsibility for plan officials, employing the latter to aa
vance the former. See Rep 93-127 supra, at Y, ii H.R
tep. 93 Doo, Supra, al 7
The House and Senaté Reports explain Congress § I
ern with assuring full plan funding (H.R. Rep. 93-562
epra, at 7; S. Rep. 93-127, supra, at 9-10
The pension plan which offers full protection to its

employees is one which is funded with accumulated

ets which at least are equal to the accrued labpiiities
al iW itr a Cor trid it MOT rat ~ iffix lel - Tidil Lal! tr at

> , ’

_ a s™ a aii Limes

‘ ngress according!) req lired tna aii iTTe?T | at ' rua
f benefits based o1 iwrent service ~*~ * * De paid ior im
mediately” (H.R. Rep. 93-533, supra, at 14). See 29 U.5.'

’

itm ongress recog! ized. moreover pased IPO) LS SLUG

f pension pian failures, that one | the tw eading cause
I ss of individual benefit rignts | tne manner in whic!
pian|s are| executed with respect | tnew ntra
jal requirements of * * * funding 5. Rey 93.177
upra, at 5: H R. Rep. 93-533, supra, at 5). In additior
(‘ongress understood that iedividual employees are unabi
as a practical matter, to sefeguard their own pension and
benefit rights (S. Rep. 93-127, supra, a. 4; H.R. Re
io-Do0, supra, al : hus T tle fu protectiol ngre
niended | pr aL s ts be achieved are, =e errTiaing
goal of making “the private pension promise * * * rea
ratner (nal ijusory attained (id. at 10 benefit plat
fiduciaries—the only actors who ar harged faithfu and
singel naediy t protect participants niterest j ’ ‘

1s

effective means to verify the completeness and accuracy of
employer contributions.®

The legislative history of ERISA also demonstrates that
Congress was cognizant of the special attributes of em
ployee benefit plans that distinguish them from typical!
trusts governed by state lav The Senate and House Re
ports observe that “conventional trust law” was “developed
in the context of testamentary and inter vivos trusts (usu
ally designed to pass designated property to an individual
or small group of persons),” whereas “the typical employee
benefit plan, covering hundreds or even thousands of par
ticipants, is quite different from the testamentary trust
both in purpose and in nature” (S. Rep. 93-127, supra, at
29: H.R. Rep. 93-533, supra, at 12). Because of the large
number of participants in a typical employee benefit plan
and the fact that the trust is intended to receive a continu
ous stream of contributions keyed to the number and iden
tity of its employees and their functions, employee benefit
plans predictably experience specia difficulty in assuring
timely receipt of all of the assets to wich they are entitled

This is especially true of multiemployer plans because of
the fluid structure of employment in many industries in
which such plans are characteristically found. In industries
such as construction and trucking, variability, brevity and
uncertainty of job duration and the multiplicity of employ
ers for some workers over the course of a year greatly mul
tiply the opportunities for honest errors, mistaken judg
ments and outright fraud. See Bricklayers Fringe Benefit
Funds Am. Brief in Support of the Petition 4-5. Congress's
instruction that the “courts * * * interpret the prudent

A yr Th. pr iow) that auniect t arefu iT neated ex ey
a. " ' « : Na rye ry nure fT he henefit fany en

plover.” 29 U.S.t 3 See H.R. Conf. Rep. 98-1280, 98d
i Z i) : j rf rae Ne rustees exer “e aud

4 : » ‘ ior the returt at

: wy TT " atanKe t fact ’ a

; Appea le ’ mn tr ane
" ‘ 4 " g? rry ‘ whether ar ry

19

man rule and other fiduciary standards bearing in mind Une
special nature and purposes of employee benefit plans
Rep 93-127 supra, al 29 H_R Rep 93.4533 supra. at iz
H.R. Conf. Rep. 93-1280, 98d Cong., 2d Sess. se 1974
thus dictates that the trustees of muitiempioyer pians im
afforded auditing authority sufficient to enable them to ver

ifv the accuracy and completeness of employe! yntt
butions

ta (Contrary to the view if the court of appeais Pet
App. Al9, A29), checking an employers re ords to verity
that required contributions have beet made for all covered

employees whether or not identified as such Dy the «
ployer, is entirely consistent with the statutory directi\
that fiduciaries act solely In the interest of pial participal Ls
and beneficiaries. 29 LS. 1104(aX LNA such an aud
necessarily encompasses review of payroll records of per
eons who are not acknow dged by the employer! to
ered. and will, a8 a@ practical matte! often entall examina
tion of records of some persons who are not in fact covert a
Still. the essential purpose of such an audit is to protect
interests of plan participants hoth those who Nave erro
wsiy Deen excluded by the en ployer i making ‘ mtriou
’

tions. am. those who Nave Deen accurate! identified as

ered but whose interests are threatened Dy ul dertunding

the plan because of an employers failure to mak« ntribu
rons il respect of all covered re raons See Niror \ :
yniafrator fti,enera or ea 23 CI ~ VAS hs) i
’ f os :
‘ : “4 '
: ‘ : | al ire " ’
‘ " y r : "
al ; :
ERISA | App. Al® ey 29 ia
: ‘ i Day . , | *
: 1s ») ne a x * .
B ne ippea . iy
rT ‘ ue . . “~—
bis sal . : y a Vi
‘ ia es pla : , ,
: ‘ ‘ Day ; :
it

a”)

-

b Equally ineorrect is the court of appeals categorical
judgment (Pet. App. A29-A30) that a prudent fiduciary is
prohibited from undertaking an audit extending 6 yond the
records of those individuals eonceded to be covered and
those other identifiable individuals the trustees have rea
sonable cause to believe are covered.'' This limitation robs

j ‘ al ; ai fT ’ ‘ re : nana
re 4 . I he eyisia " nia ’ nponas » « ha hie ata
ery 1¢ ‘aa if a gy ’ : Dp? wi ne ha ¥ s Tou ar 2 her
. apy atié ae a * Ret 44 eu 7 4 Hi ; Ret 44 .
ij “e 4ia toe 2uUDD at
appeais Na ERISA te : % . nor
at es
! | appea ate nha ’ ~ etal | : re kl '
ya ar acTided tf ‘ eas atic aUSsS¢
ane, sree ’ hat beneT und rustees sf a t be afforded a
sreater latitude than the Secretary (Pet. App. A30 & The
Appea ‘rea ne sla ' : gr he Sec’ \ eeds reas
4 : A “ ’ ne i “et | a Dia ré¢ | : | re . ;
. ia ' ~ ' ar Nas re jalified a r ’
: ~ 4 4 re ar aur ae ; P rt « . L« 4
ie " : 4 es va ’ sere , ;
\ K if A L A068 F 9d 678. 6R4-OR or ™
, HAR F | os ya) (Reh Ce GR. The ry
ne \ ee Dia are erchangeabi :
\ hs4 4 ae | : : ’
. | ' . ew Nat aracd 5 4 re ' 1. a .
“ae ‘ Na ne ’ ' : oon for wl y wb :
‘ »! ac 7. ‘ acl lat prote ect ft re a! ’ at
' ADI AS Ait? ig? ane 4 ’ ace? rw ' re ~~ ry aT
yal ‘ ’ na re appeais ‘ ‘ ag
ne ‘ le Na r secretal estiga autnor
; re ’ ar “a? ¥ rhe ’ ~ ~ rf
. | rit . leed gt ae ¥ aw
, ry ’ “~ ’ ar aut? ’ ali y 6 ‘
' rut tue a. tremi eT Dia .
’ 4 he 4 se au r ’ raiie au) 1¢
e dis ered. res with pla rustees a unlike ha
gre witnne pierre ar aud ge authori ron ate
: ‘ etal Nas formed us hat approximate HH) OOO bene!
: hile a ‘ eportea with ? Het wee OO) a “wy hy
ploys it is sw rea Suge ha
ra ya aud y a Nor ne eta ‘ Dr te
‘ | " al De aradie ha aft '

the trustees auditing authority | the apility t 7 ver
previousiy unsuspected delinquencies i mntributions.'* It
would reward neeaiment | suct lé naouvuetl Ps and
would, contrary to fundamental precepts of fiduciary r
sponsibility, force trustees to rely heavily upon the proor
ang accurac\ if determinations made b\ ntriputing en
ployers. The court of appeals’ decision thus ts irreconcilabDk
with Congress 8 desire t ie Gulies and standaras cerive
from tin mmon law of trusts “to make a@8 certain a8 poss
bie that pensior fund assets would be adequate DAY D
fits due (Nachman Con 446 U.S. at 375). It nstrains
Dial trustees from emp Vile Treas aDiIe MeA! inal ar’
¥ suited | ae. pert rrTial ' 1 tre r fidu al ULlles
>
:
- _
, , , ‘ ‘ " "
ws \
; : al : "
" " ; "
" " ‘
va
: R
'
. ~ ~ :
: o .
" "
eu "
. . ~ : :
" ga " " ;
’ . : ‘
i a : R "
a : . P :

2»
4. The tension between the critical role that Congress ex-
pecied plan fiduciaries to play in assuring the financial
sou xdness of benefit plans and the restricted scope of the
aud ting authority recognized by the court of appeals is ex-
acerbated by the court's extremely restrictive application
of the “reasonable cause” standard it announced (see page
7, expra). Surely, when an audit limited to payroll records
of concededly covered employees uncovers significant em-
ployer contribution deficiencies, as it did in this case, pru-
dence dictates that further auditing be undertaken to verify
whether contributions are being made for all covered em-
plovyees. Even if particularized suspicion were required, pe-
titioners’ trustees had ample reason to investigate further
here

(C. Other Provisions Of ERISA Demonstrate That Con-
gress Intended That Plan Trustees Se Permitted To
Audit A Participating Employer's Payroll Records

Under ERISA Congress imposed stringent reporting re-

quirements on employee benefit plan trustees in order to
enable participants and beneficiaries, as well as the Secre-
tary of Labor, to ensure that trustees fulfill their duties
“(Tihe safeguarding effect of the fiduciary responsibility
section will operate efficiently only if fiduciaries are aware
that the details of their dealings will be open to inspection.”
S. Rep. 93-127, supra, at 27; H.R. Rep. 93-555, supra, at
11. Several of the specific reporting and disclosure require-
ments imposed upon employee benefit plans independently
confirm that Congress expected such trustees to be able to
audit employer payroll records to verify the accuracy of
employer identification of covered employees

First, in order to permit “better assessment of * * *

planis’| financial soundness by administrators and partict-
pants alike” (S. Rep. 93-127, supra, at 28), ERISA re-
yuires that the annual reports of employee benefit plans
filed with the Secretary of Labor include the opinion of an
independent public accountant as to whether the financial
statements contained in the report are accurate and pre-

yvincally resuits from meticulous enforcement f employer cent mbut ton

ire ™Ments “ee DacrSs o i> supra

23

sented “in conformity with generally accepted accounting
principles.” 29 U.S.C. 1023(aX5)A). To provide a founda-
tion for rendering such an opinion, the independent auditor
is to undertake “such tests of the books and records of the
plan as are considered necessary” under “generally ac-
cepted auditing standards” (ibid. ). If the independent ac-
countant presents a materially qualified opinion, the Secre-
tary may reject the annual report and order a second audit
or bring an enforcement action against the plan. 29 U.S.C
1024(a)(4)(B), (5A) and (C).

As explained above (page 16, supra), generally accepted
auditing standards require that employer records be avail-
able to confirm the accuracy of coverage determinations
and the adequacy of plan funding, particularly in the case of
an audit of a multiemployer plan,'* If neither the employee
benefit plan’s internal auditor nor the independent auditor
has access to employer payroll data, the independent audi-
tor generally will be obliged to express a qualified opinion
or to disclaim an opinion (AICPA, Audits of Employee
Benefit Plans, supra, § 12.17), thereby rendering the
plan’s annual report subject to rejection by the Secretary.
It is thus essential for plan operation under ERISA that
employer records needed to verify the completeness of the
employer's contributions be available for audit. Plainly
Congress expected that plan fiduciaries and their auditors
would be able to undertake such examinations.

The same conclusion follows from 29 U.S.C. 1023(c)(1)
Under that section, the annual report required to be filed
with the Secretary of Labor by the plan adrainistrator must

‘4 In preparing an opinion for a plans annual report, an i depender
accountant must determine whether the plan has properly assessed 4!
employer contributions due. In doing 80 the accountant considers
“Iwihether covered employees have been properly in luded” in em
ployers’ contribution reports AICPA. Audit of Employee Benefit
Plans, supra, $§ 8.2.2), 10.2(a) In assessing a multiempl«,.. plans
identification of coverea employees, “the (independent) audit-r ma)
need to make special arra:gements to examine employer recores (1d
§ 8.4) including “testing whether the data maintained |in the funds

files correspond to the cle ta maintained in employer payrol end pe r
sonnel files” (id. § 10.500)

24

reflect the number of employees covered by the plan. Ccen-
gress unquestionably understood that plan fiduciaries
would have access to the information and records necessary
to determine that figure reliably and independently.
Finally, 29 U.S.C. 1059 mandates that such employer
records be open to plan fiduciaries. Under Section
1059(a)(1) and (2) (emphasis added), an employer par-
ticipating in a multiemployer plan is required to “furnish to
the plan administrator the information necessary for the
administrator to maintain” records “with respect to each
(of the employer’s] employees sufficient to determine the
benefits due or which may become due to such employees.”
This requirement obviously would not be satisfied if the in-
formation provided by an employer—or the records main-
tained by the plan—were limited to persons an employer
concedes to be covered.'® In addition, Section 105%a)(1)
and (2) requires each employer to “furnish to the plan ad-
ministrator the information necessary” to enable the admin-
istrator to render a report “to each employee who is a par-
ticipant under the plan” stating the extent of his accrued
benefits thereunder, whenever such a report is requested
or in certain other circumstances. Like Section 1023(c)(1),
Section 1059 necessarily assumes that plan fiduciaries will
have access to information necessary to enable them cor-
rectly to determine the identity of plan participants. '®

D. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Inimical To The
Objectives Of ERISA

In enacting ERISA, Congress sought to assure that
participating employees and their beneficiaries would have
fiscally sound benefit plans available to them. See Pension

‘Ss The term “employee” as used in ERISA is defined to include all
persons working for an employe:. 29 U.S.C 1002(6)

16 Employers that falsify informaticn that plans must use in meeting
their reporting requirements may ircu” criminal penalties under 18
U.S.C. 1027. See United States v. S & Vee Cartage Co., supra. In ad-
dition, a civil penalty of $10 is payable to the Secretary for “each em-
ployee” with respect to whom an empl vyer fails to furnish information
required to be supplied under Section ‘05%a). 29 U.S.C 1059%(b). Plan
fiduciaries’ exercise of auditing authority assists in the enforcement of
these penalty provisions

ee ee ee

Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. R.A. Gray & Co., slip op. 1-2.
Congress recognized that employer contribution delinquen-
cies pose a serious threat to the fiiancial soundness of
multiemployer plans. See, e.g., 126 Cong. Rec. 23039
(1980) (statement of Rep. Thompson).'? Audits of employer
records by plan fiduciaries to verify that all contributions
due have been remitted are an invaluable tool for detecting
employer delinquencies before plan soundness is substan-
tially undermined.

Accordingly, the decision below, if affirmed, will have a
substantial deleterious impact upon the administration of
employee benefit trust funds and will create substantial un-
certainty for fiduciaries as to the scope of their obligations.
As indicated above, the court of appeals’ decision sharply
restricts the tools available to employee benefit plan trust-
ees to carry out their responsibilities —responsibilities Con-
gress deemed essential to the “continued well-being and se-
curity of millions of employees” (29 U.S.C. 1001(a); see also
29 U.S.C. 100la(a)3)).

The court of appeals’ decision also will exacerbate the fis
cal problems that affect multiemployer plans because of em-
ployer contribution delinquencies by hindering trustees’ ef-

‘7 Representative Thompson, one of the floor managers of the
Multiemployer Act, described the various kinds of problems presented
by such delinquencies (126 Cong Rec. 23039 (1980))

Failure of employers to make promised contributions in a time!)
fashion imposes a variety of costs on plans While contributions
remain unpaid, the plan loses the benefit of investment income
that could have been earned if the past due amounts had been re
ceived and invested on time. Moreover, additional administrative
eosts are incurred in detecting and collecting delinquencies
* > >
These costs detract from the ability of plans to formulate or
meet funding standards and adversely affect the financial health
of plans. Participants and beneficiaries of plans as well as em
ployers who honor their obligation to contribute in a timely fash
ion bear the heavy cost of delinquencies in the form of lower ben
efits and higher contribution rates Moreover, * * * uncollected
delinquencies can add to the unfunded liability for all employers
Accord. Staff of the Senate Comm. on Labor and Human Resources
96th Cong., 2d Sess., The Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments
Act of 1980. S. 1076: Summary and Anaiysis of ¢ onsideration 43-44
(Comm. Print 1980)

26

forts to assure that such plans receive all contributions due.
Pension. plans must pay benefits to eligible participants and
beneficiaries whether or not the employer has made re-
quired contributions to the plan on behalf of the particular
employees. Van Gunten v. Central States, 672 F.2d 586,
589 (6th Cir. 1982)."* Accordingly, undetected contribution
deficiencies, however caused, can result in underfunding of
plans and threaten the interests of those who depend on
them.

Finally, the court of appeals’ decision inevitably will en-
courage employer resistance to audits and will make fund-
ing delinquencies substantially harder to detect —especially
before they have ripened into serious financial difficulty for
a plan. Trustees who lack authority to audit general payroll
records must depend on the employer voluntarily to pro-
vide the information needed to assure that contributions
are being made for all eligible employees. The decision be-
low thus will frustrate the efforts of plan trustees to fulfill
their fiduciary duties, create confusion as to the extent of
their obligations, and breed litigation. The decisiun may
also discourage trustees from exercising the utmost dili-
gence in protecting the interests of all persons entitled to
benefits under employee benefit plans.

il. THE TRUST AGREEMENTS AUTHORIZE PETI-
TIONERS’ TRUSTEES TO AUDIT RESPONDENTS’
PAYROLL RECORDS TO ENSURE THAT ALL RE
QUIRED EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLAN CONTRI-
BUTIONS HAVE BEEN MADE

1. Based on the foregoing considerations, we conclude
that Congress contemplated that employee benefit plan
trustees have the authority to verify the sufficiency of em-

'1® See also Dep't of Labor Advisory Op. No 76-89 (Aug. 31, 1976)
(Pet. App. A70-A71). We know of no support for the court of appeals’
speculation (Pet. App. A33-A34) that a covered employee on whose be
half no contributions were made might be estopped from claiming ben
efits under a plan. The legislative history of ERISA makes clear that
Congress rejected any suggestion that individuals should lose their
benefits because of their neglect to uncover an employer's failure to
make required contributions on their behalf. See page 17, supra

ployer contributions. But even if there were doubt as to
whether ERISA itself should be read to confer authority
upon benefit plan trustees to undertake such audits, the
court of appeals’ view that provisions of ERISA should be
read to limit the contractual grant of authority contained in
the trust agreements in this case would be wholly
untenable. As we have indicated above, verification of an
employer's coverage determinations is not inconsistent with
either the prudent person standard of care or the statutory
requirement of fidelity to the interests of covered persons
Thus, ERISA requires at a minimum that the provisions of
a trust agreement that authorize trustees to enforce the
contribution obligations of the employer be given a liberal,
commonsense interpretation that will enable the trustees to
fulfill their role as guardians of all participants’ interests

Read in this manner (or, indeed, read literally), the
access-to-records provisions of the trust agreements, Arti
cle III, Section 5 (see pages 3-4, supra), make clear that
the trustees are not limited to examination of records of
employees either who are acknowledged by the employer to
be covered or who the trustees have reasonable cause to
believe have been erroneously excluded. The trust agree-
ments expressly require participating employers to provide
the trustees not only with information on covered employ-
ees, but also with “such other information as the Trustees
may reasonably require in connection with the administra
tion of the Trust.” The agreements further authorize the
trustees to examine “the pertinent records of each Em
ployer at the Empioyer’s place of business whenever such
examination is deemed necessary or advisable by the Trust
ees in connection with the proper administration of the
Trust” (Pet. App. A46)

This contractual language is sweeping and unqualified;
trustees’ access to employer records turns simply upon the
trustees’ assessment that examination thereof would be
“advisable” in connection with the performance of their du
ties. In light of the breadth and the structure of the con
tractual language, and the fact that uncertainty and dis
putes as to coverage of particular individuals are a fixture
of pension plan operation, this language can only be fairly

28

read to authorize the trustees to review employer docu-
ments necessary to confirm independently that all contribu-
tions due have been made. Certainly, the trustees’ inter-
pretation of the trust agreements as conferring auditing
authority upon them is neither arbitrary nor unreasonable
and is plainly consistent with the language of the agree-
ments. Accordingly, under Article IV, Section 17 of the
trust agreements (see page 4, supra), that interpretation is
binding upon respondents. See Roark v. Lewis, 401 F.2d
425 (D.C. Cir, 1968); Miniard v. Lewis, 387 F.2d 864 (D.C.
Cir. 1967), see also Art. III, § 4 & Art. IV, § 14(e) (quoted
at pages 3-4, supra). :

In Schneider Moving & Storage Co. v. Robbins, No.
&2- 1860 (Apr. 18, 1984), this Court read Article III, Sect_on
5 of the trust agreements at issue here in precisely the
manner we advocate (slip op. 5 (footnote omitted) ):

To ensure compliance with the contribution require-
ments, the trust agreements gave ‘he trustees the au-
thority to examine [the employers’) payroll records. If
the trustees determined that [the employers] were not
complying with their contrivution requirements, they
had the authority under the trust agreements to ini-
tiate legal proceedings to enforce those requirements
* * *
The Court thus indicated that, contrary to the view of the
court of appeals in this case, the trustees’ audit authority is
available for the purpose of uncovering an employer's fail-
ure to make required contributions, and not merely to con-
firm suspected delinquencies.

2. The court of appeals’ decision conflicts with Schnetder
Moving & Storage Co. in another significant respect as
well. Contrary to the court of appeals’ analysis (see page 8,
supra), this Court squarely rejected the premise that peti-
tioners’ trustees are obliged to rely upon the union or the
arbitration mechanism provided in the collective bargaining
agreement to enforce the contribution obligations of
participating employers (slip op. 8-12). To be sure, the
court of appeals did not completely subordinate the trust-
ees’ enforcement responsibilities to the labor-management
arbitral process here. But the court of appeals’ reason:ng
that the auditing authority of trustees should be limited so

an

rocess =e Pet ADI AS30 a3) is !

+7 that
" sa? 1 : '
' ourt - rex ognivio!r Silt ; i i a
' ’ nor
trustees and the union are no wru
ne « ffect of limi ng the trustees au
ere a mcre te ntroversy eXISts as |
: ; X .
identified « mpioyee is quixotic. o
4 ¥ + ‘ » *
audit authority alioras no prove
»* . ta Yr) \ mn ne pected 16 .
nveres : COVE ge U US} iG
> 7 > . . rs
is lupix ate ne mion & Tor

: ™ %i ‘4
ider Moving & Storage Co., slip of
. : +h . > + h - . et
| r¢ rT 1 na est mar its : ;
- > : hha , hr oo : " .
agree subordinate he trustees
yA Ff
P : : ’ P a "
1 the procedures spe iid TOF i
, ™ : s - ~ :
I 1sputes inaer tie ve Valk @ “
" : ios
TY D yers ar : re in) ’ \ ‘ \ ‘
, : ° Fa: | ad
as | al i : :
~ : 1
. ag
:
‘\ , ;
>
~ 4
La 4 1 _ % >
2 2 ‘ 1
4
‘
> >
. = >
: 4
\ : a =
s : 1 .
4 ~
‘
.
‘
4% ” \
4 ~ a . & “
- :
: ‘ ss :
:
. 4 ~
: ; : ary 4 1

30

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted.
Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

KENNETH S. GELLER
Deputy Solicitor General

JOSHUA I. SCHWARTZ
Assistant to the Solicitor General

FRANCIS X. LILLY
Solicitor of Labor

KAREN I. WARD
Associate Solicitor

MARY-HELEN MAUTNER
Counsel for Appellate Litigation

BARBARA J. JOHNSON
Attorney
Department of Labor

AUGUST 1984

which grants access to records only “in connection with the proper ad-
ministration of the Trust” (Pet. App. A46).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385012_0016%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
