# Opposition Brief — Cuomo v. Koehler

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2570%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 480 U.S. 910

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FIiILeD
7, |
\2 FEB 9 987
ai JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1986

MARIO M. CUOMO, Governor of the State of
New York, and THOMAS A. COUGHLIN III,
Commissioner of the New York State
Department of Correctional Services,
Petitioners,
vs.
RICHARD J. KOEHLER, Commissioner of the
New York City Department of Corrections;
HARVEY PIERCE, JR., Warden, New York
City House of Detention for Men; D.
MICHAEL PEPE, CLAYTON JEMMOTT and
JOHN KIERNON, Deputy Wardens, New York
City House of Detention for Men;
Respondents,
(captioned continued on next page)

MUNICIPAL RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN
OPPOSITION TO A PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETER ZIMROTH,
Corporation Counsel
of the City of New York,
_Attorney for Municipal
Respondents,
100 Church Street,
New York, New York 10007.
(212) 566-4338 or 4339
LEONARD J. KOERNER*,
PAUL T. REPHEN,
of Counsel.
February 9, 1987
*Attorney of Record

and EDWARD I. KOCH, Mayor of the City of
New York, individually and in their official
capacities,

-and-

JAMES BENJAMIN, MIGUEL CALINDEZ,
BRUCE HAYES, JOSE SALDANA and
ROBERT ESCHERT, detainees of the New
York City House of Detention for Men,
individually and on behalf of all other
persons similarly situated,

Respondents.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. In view of the finding by the Court
of Appeals that the failure of petitioners to
expeditiously accept from New York City
persons sentenced to terms of imprisonment
in State correctional facilities may contribute
to unconstitutional overcrowding in New York
City's jails and make it impossible for the
City to comply with prior District Court
judgments establishing acceptable conditions
of confinement in those jails, was the
* decision of the Court of Appeals affirming an
order of the District Court granting a
preliminary injunction requiring petitioners
to accept custody of all "State ready"
inmates within forty-eight hours of their
processing inconsistent with the decision of

this Court in Pennhurst State School and

Hospital v. Halderman, 465 U.S. 89 (1984)?

2. Was the Court of Appeals correct in

holding that the District Court had authority

under the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C.

§165i(a), to issue the preliminary injunction,
where that Court found that the District
Court was faced with the necessity of acting
immediately to relieve unconstitutional
conditions of confinement in City jails which

might be attributed to petitioners?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........

STATEMENT OF THE CASE........

REASONS FOR DENYING PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ARGUMENT

IN VIEW OF THE FINDING BY
THE COURT OF APPEALS
THAT THE FAILURE OF
PETITIONERS . TO
EXPEDITIOUSLY ACCEPT
FROM NEW YORK CITY
PERSONS SENTENCED TO
TERMS OF IMPRISONMENT IN

STATE CORRECTIONAL
FACILITIES MAY
CONTRIBUTE TO UNCON-
STITUTIONAL OVER-

CROWDING IN NEW YORK
CITY'S JAILS AND MAKE IT
IMPOSSIBLE FOR THE CITY
TO COMPLY WITH PRIOR
DISTRICT COURT
JUDGMENTS ESTABLISHING
ACCEPTABLE CONDITIONS
OF CONFINEMENT IN THOSE
JAILS, THE DECISION OF
THE COURT OF APPEALS
AFFIRMING AN ORDER OF
THE DISTRICT COURT
GRANTING A PRELIMINARY
INJUNCTION REQUIRING
PETITIONERS TO ACCEPT

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CUSTODY OF ALL "STATE
READY" INMATES WITHIN
FORTY-EIGHT HOURS OF
THEIR PROCESSING WAS NOT
INCONSISTENT WITH THE
DECISION OF THIS COURT
IN PENNHURST STATE
SCHOOL AND HOSPITAL V.
HALDERMAN, 465 U.S. 8:9
(1984). .

THE COURT OF APPEALS

CORRECTLY HELD THAT THE

DISTRICT COURT HAD

AUTHORITY UNDER THE ALL

WRITS ACT, 28 U.S.C.

§1651(a), TO ISSUE THE

PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION........ 30

CONCLUSION —«s__ cccccccccccccccces 38

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Page

Atascadero State Hospital

v. Scanlon, 473 U.S.
105 S. Ct. 3142 (1985

Benjamin v. Malcolm,
495 F. Supp. 1357
(S.D.N.Y., 1980)

Benjamin v. Malcolm,
528 F. Supp. 925
(S.D.N.Y., 1981)

B.K. Instrument,
Inv. v. United
States, 715 F.2d
713 (2d Cir., 1983)

Doe v. Blum, 729 F.2d
186 (2d Cir., 1984)

Doran v. Salem Inn,
Inc., 422 U.S. 922
0 oe eee

Edelman v. Jordan,
415 U.S. 651 (1974)

Ex Parte Young, 209
U.S. 123 (1908)

General Building
Contractors Assn.,

Inc. v. Pennsylvania,
458 U.S. 375 (1982)

er eine 50

occcccceces 53

cescccecoes 31

ecccces 51

rors ae 51

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:

Hanson Trust PLC
v. SCM Corporation,
774 F.2d 47 (2d Cir.,
ccc ccc ccc ccccs 56

In Re Baldwin-United
770 F.2d 328 (2d
SPURT TESST ee 56

Mitchell v. Guomo,
748 F.2d 804 (2d
CS ee ica oo oe

National Coalition

to Ban Hardguns v.
Bureau of Alcohol,
Tabacco & Firearms,

715 F.2d 632 (2d Cir.,
MN Bee a dees sesccscccecs 51

Pennhurst State
School and Hospital
v. Halderman, 465
ln occ tees oe. 2
34, 43-45

Tate v. Frey, 735
F.2d 986 (6th Cir.,
ee eee eee psec cence. 41

United States v.

New York Telephone
Co., 434 U.S. 159

cc ccccccs 45, 46

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases:

Warth v. Seldin, 422
OR ME > are 51

Other Authorities:

United States Constitution
Pe = weecavecccccs passim

28 U.S.C. $1651(a)
Ce I tee eeeee 45

42 U.S.C. 6001 et seq.

(Federal Developmentally

Disabled Assistance and

Bill of Rights Act) _............ 32

No. 86-1064

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1986

MARIO M. CUOMO, Governor of the State of
New York, and THOMAS A. COUGHLIN III,
Commissioner of the New York State
Department of Correctional Services,

Petitioners,
vs.

RICHARD J. KOEHLER, Commissioner of the
New York City Department of Corrections;
HARVEY PIERCE, JR., Warden, New York
City House of Detention for Men; D.
MICHAEL PEPE, CLAYTON JEMMOTT and
JOHN KIERNON, Deputy Wardens, New York
City House of Detention for Men; and
EDWARD I. KOCH, Mayor of the City of New
York, individually and in their official
capacities,

Respondents,

(captioned continued on next page)

~

-and-
JAMES BENJAMIN, MIGUEL CALINDEZ,
BRUCE HAYES, JOSE SALDANA and

-ROBERT ESCHERT, detainees of the New

York City House of Detention for Men,
individually and on behalf of all other
persons similarly situated,

Respondents.

MUNICIPAL RESPONDENTS' BRIEF IN
OPPOSITION TO A PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
- STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
(1)
Petitioner seeks to have this . Court
review by writ of eatin an opinion of the

Second Circuit dated September 25, 1986

‘which unanimously affirmed an order of the

United States District Court for the Southern
District of New York dated March 27, 1986 |
which had joined the pecitioners’ = as

third-party defendants in Benjamin v.

Malcolm, 75 Civ. 3073 pending a

determination whether they should _ be

a ee ee SO ee ED ome - i ee o— ™ . _

retained permanently as defendants and
granted a preliminary injunction compelling
them to accept custody of each sentenced
male, adult person (State ready) housed in
New York City correctional facilities within
forty-eight hours after the papers necessary
for transfer have been completed.

Since the decision sought to be
reviewed here is the culmination of a long
history of litigation between the State and
the City, it is necessary to set forth the
proceedings in detail.

(2)
Benjamin v. Malcolm was commenced by

the Legal Aid Society in 1975 on behalf of all
pre-trial detainees housed in the New York
City House of Detention. for Men on Rikers
Island ("HDM"). The plaintiffs alleged that
they were being subjected to conditions of
confinement which violated their

constitutional rights. A trial was begun

ste he.

:
:
.
é
:
:

BEST AVAI

before Judge Lasker in the fall of 1976 and
completed in the spring of 1977.

In 1978 the City and the plaintiffs
commenced negotiations in an attempt to
resolve some of the outstanding issues which
resulted in consent decrees relating to
conditions of confinement.

In September 1979 the parties entered
into a stipulation in which it was agreed that
the record in the case established, inter
alia, that at the time of trial, the housing
blocks at HDM were overpopulated and that —
such overpopulation resulted in an

"... atmosphere of tension and

hostility, a strain on all of the

institution's facilities , and
interference with supervision,
protection and provision of
services to the plaintiff class."

The stipulation reserved to the plaintiffs the

right to litigate the issue of the appropriate

remedy.

In August 1980, in response to a motion

by the plaintiffs to impose a population cap
on HDM, Judge Lasker issued an order
limiting the population at that facility to
1200. In opposing the plaintiffs' application,
the City maintained that overcrowding at
HDM was being substantially affected by the
presence of large numbers of State readies.
In his opinion granting the relief (which is
set forth at 495 F. Supp. 1357), Judge
Lasker observed at 495 F. Supp. 1362:

"On July 17, 1980, there were 657
such convicted prisoners and 140
alleged {parole ] violators in
custody at the HDM complex. So
serious is this aspect of the
problem that on April 2, 1980 the
City Commissioner of Correction
discontinued acceptance of
‘technical parole violators' only to
find that the State responded by
increasing the number of newly
convicted prisoners which it
assigns to HDM.

The City is entitled to
understanding on account of the
aggravation of its burden caused
by the injection into its

correctional facilities of such a
large number of State prisoners."

At the time Judge Lasker made _ these
comments, the number of State ready inmates
housed by the City had been steadily
increasing for several years. In 1977 the
average daily number of State readies housed
by the City at HDM was 189. This number
increased to 226 in 1978, 287 in 1979 and, as
noted in Judge Lasker's opinion, had climbed
to 650 by August of 1980 (63-64).2

As a result of the severe impact which
the presence of large numbers of State
‘readies had on the ability of the City to
provide services to inmates housed at HDM,

the City moved in August 1980 to join then

lUnless otherwise indicated, numbers in
parentheses preceded by a letter refer to
the Appendix to the Petition for Certiorari.
All other references are to the pages of the
Joint Appendix submitted to the Second
Circuit.

ILABLE COPY

Governor Carey and his Commissioner of
Correctional Services as defendants. in
Benjamin, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 19
and 21. In its moving papers, the City
noted that the State is required under New
York Criminal Procedure Law, $8430.30 to
assume custody of State ready inmates
"forthwith" (68). The City also contended
that the overpopulation of HDM and the
difficulties in providing services to persons
housed there were attributable to the policies
of the State and that the State, along with
the City, should be held responsible for any
deprivation of the inmates' constitutional
rights which resulted from overcrowding
(69). The City maintained (70):
"... the State Commissioner of
Correctional Services and _ the
Governor should bear part of the
responsibility for remedying any
unacceptable conditions of

confinement at HDM which result
from overcrowding.

The State has the ability to render
ineffective any population ceiling
which this Court may establish by
simply ceasing to accept State
readies for a period of time or by
further slowing the rate at which
it accepts such individuals for
confinement in State institutions."

On November 19, 1980, Judge Lasker
ruled that the City's motion was meritorious.

Benjamin v. Malcolm, (E2). Reported at 88

F.R.D. 333. The Court held (E2-3):

"... it is obvious that the impact
of the presence of State prisoners
in such large numbers constituted

- an insurmountable roadblock to the
fulfillment of the City's
obligations. There is no doubt,
therefore, that the City's motion
under Rule 19 was appropriately
brought.

* + *

{[cJomplete relief [cannot] be
granted to the parties in the
absence of the State officers, since
without some assurance as to the
number of State prisoners who may
be housed at HDM, the City cannot
exercise control of its own
compliance with this Court's
orders.

Judge Lasker did not formally order the
joinder of the State officials at that time |

8

Commissioner of Correctional Services
(58-59). After a non-jury trial, the Court
granted the relief sought by the City.
Judge Lasker stated (58):

",.. a court can't possibly solve

problems of this magnitude, even

in part, without having before it

all of the parties whose actions

contribute to the problem itself."
The District Court directed the State
defendants to accept State ready inmates
‘from HDM within forty-eight hours after
their transfer papers have been completed,
and issued an ie to that effect on August
20, 1981 (F7-8).

In the fall of 1981 the State defendants
moved pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)
for relief from the August 20, 1981 order, so
as to permit them to accept State readies
from the City only when the State
correctional system had space available for

them. In denying that motion (Benjamin v.

10

Malcolm, (G2, Reported at 528 F. Supp.
925), Judge Lasker noted (G10):

"... in the last analysis what the
State proposes here is to equalize
unconstitutionality by requiring
the City to share the burden of
impermissible overcrowding with
the State. The remedy does not
lie in equalizing unconstitutionality
but in eliminating it."

The State complied with the forty-eight

hour order until the summer of 1984, when

the State Commissioner of Correctional
Services requested that the City voluntarily
relieve him for a limited period of the
obligation to accept State readies within
forty-eight hours (59). | The City agreed to
his request and entered into a stipulation
with the State which provided that until
November 1, 1984, the State could delay
accepting State readies until ninety-six
hours after processing (79-80). On
November 1, 1984 the parties were to
reevaluate the agreement, but it was to

terminate no later than January 1, 1985

11

(80). Commencing January 1, 1985 the State
agreed to accept State readies within
forty-eight hours (80).

The City was able to accommodate the
State because it had embarked upon an
aggressive construction program. The City
has increased its correctional capacity by
almost fifty percent since 1979 (51). In 1986
the City expected to add approximately 975
additional beds (51). In 1987 and 1988 the
City intends to add approximately 800 and
160 beds respectively (51). In early 1989,
it plans to add an additional 500 beds (51).

In recent years, the State has also
added to its correctional capacity (120).
However, in 1984, the State decided to close
the 1000 bed Long Island Correctional
Facility ("LICF"), which had been opened in

1982. The granting of a preliminary

injunction against the closing of that facility

was affirmed by the Second Circuit in

Mitchell v. Cuomo, 748 F.2d 804 (1984).

Notwithstanding that its correctional
system was allegedly filled to 116 percent of
capacity at that time, the State based its
cecision to close LICF on the ground that it
had not afforded an "adequate opportunity
for community participation in the planning
process" of that facility Id. at 805. The
State argued that although the closure of
LICF would reduce its housing capacity by
1000 beds:

"... an expected increase from

new construction of 1900 beds by

the end of this year [1984] would

allow the [State] system to safely

absorb the LICF inmates and all
other inmates entering the system

during that period" Id. at 807.

The Second Circuit had affirmed the
granting of the preliminary injunction
barring the closure of LICF pending a trial

on the merits. On February 5, 1985, the

parties in Mitchell v. Cuomo entered into a

13

stipulation permitting the State to close that
facility (60).

As noted above, the State had agreed
to resume accepting State ready inmates
within forty-eight hours of processing when
its stipulation with the City expired on
January 1, 1985. However, it did not
comply with that term of the stipulation.
Subsequent to the expiration of the
stipulation, the State did not even continue
to accept State readies within ninety-six
hours of processing (59-60).

Instead, .in February 1985 the State
defendants moved to vacate the August 20,
1981 order requiring them to accept State
readies within forty-eight hours (50, 57).
They based their application upon the

decision of the this Court in Pennhurst State

School and Hospital v. Halderman, 465 U.S.

89 (1984) (Pennhurst II), in which it was

held that the Eleventh Amendment deprives a

14

federal court of jurisdiction of a suit for
injunctive relief against State officials based
on State law.

The average daily number of State
readies for the month of February 1985 was
approximately 130 (50). When the State's
motion to vacate was argued on May 13,
1985, the number of State readies had
declined to 57 (50). Immediately after the
oral argument, however, the numbers of
State readies housed by the City began to
increase significantly. By June of 1985, the
average daily neaee of State readies in
City correctional facilities had risen to 284
(48-49). That number increased to 423 in
August 1985 and to approximately 500 in
January 1986 (49).

In a decision dated January 30, 1986,
Judge Lasker granted the State's motion
(D1-14). Reported at 626 F. Supp. 1264.

He noted that his 1981 determination to join

15

the State defendants was based upon their
obligation under Criminal Procedure Law,
$430.30 to accept State readies from the City
(D3). Judge Lasker concluded that the

Pennhurst II decision dictated that the

State's motion be granted because of his
"reliance upon State law as providing the
legal basis for granting the relief" (D7).

The Court, however, left open the
question whether the State officials could be
joined on the basis of a finding that their
failure to expeditiously accept State readies
significantly contributed to the violation of
plaintiffs' constitutional rights or that their
"actions are so inexorably tied to the
constitutional violation that the Court has
jurisdiction to order relief" (D9-10). Such
findings, Judge Lasker observed, "[are] the
minimum that Pennhurst II requires" (D10).

In this connection, he observed (D11):

"Throughout the litigation we have
stated that it is not apparent that

16

the City will be able to fulfill its
obligations without an order from
the court directing the State
defendants to take some action.
Our decision should not be
construed as abandoning that
sentiment or as expressing the
opinion that all means through
which the City may obtain relief
are foreclosed. We have not held,
nor do we now, that acts or
omissions which frustrate’ the
vindication of a federal right can
never be significant enough to
create a sufficient basis for
jurisdiction over state officials."

The Court deferred vacating the August 1981
order for a period of thirty days, "pending
a determination of the parties’ further
intentions" (D11). Notwithstanding the fact
that Judge Lasker specifically stayed the
vacatur of the forty-eight hour order, the
State officials continued their failure to abide
by its terms (61).

On February 20, 1986, the City moved
pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. 2. 19, 20 and 21
to join the State officials as defendants in

Benjamin v. Malcolm on the ground that the

presence of large numbers of State prisoners

17

in City correctional facilities made it
difficult, if not impossible, to comply with
the District Court's orders on conditions of
confinement and population control (41-43,
56-61).

In support of the motion, Jacqueline
McMickens, the City Commissioner of
Correction, submitted an affidavit in which
she stated that the State Commissioner of
Correctional Services did not advise her on a
weekly or monthly basis as to his plans for
accepting State prisoners (51). As a
consequence, the City's ability to plan for
its short-term and long-term population
meeds are adversely affected (51-52).
Commissioner McMickens observed that the
City, constrained by time-consuming and
complex budgetary and planning processes,
lacks the ability to modify its ambitious
building program to take into account

constant and liarge fluctuations in the

18

numbers of State prisoners which the City
must house (52).

It is Commissioner McMickens' view that
the State prisoners which the City holds
require high security detention facilities and
should occuvy cells rather than dormitories
(52). As a consequence, the City has been
required to devote a disproportionate amount
of its limited cell space to State prisoners,
while relegating its pre-trial detainees to
less desirable dormitories (52-53). She
noted that since June 1985, the City has
devoted approximately fifty percent of its
newly added capacity to house State inmates
(51).

"(Tjhe lack of control over _ a

large and unpredictable _ population",

Commissioner McMickens observed, "has a
direct impact on the City's ability to fulfill
its obligations under [the] Court's orders"

(51). She stated that the presence of the |

19

eOoOoO

large numbers of State inmates made the
City's maintenance program more difficult »
(53) and had exacerbated the task of
"providing adequate security and. other
essential services such as visiting,
recreation, medical care, food and
educational programs" (53).

It was Commissioner McMickens'
conclusion that the "effect of the State's
action is to make the City virtually an annex
of the State correctional system", and that
the ability of the State to control the number
of State prisoners in City jails would
"neutralize anything the City may have done
to properly manage its system ..." (51, 53).

In response to the City's moving
papers, the State continued to maintain that
the Eleventh Amendment bars federal subject
matter jurisdiction of this case. Moreover,
the State contended that they have accepted

custody of inmates from New York City

20

correctional facilities in a reasonably timely
manner. The State also alleged that New
York City receives a preference over other
localities with respect to the acceptance of
prisoners (J6). Commissioner Coughlin
acknowledged, however, that (J6):

"At times , including recent

months, starting in about October,

1985, the pressure of the number

of new inmates in counties outside

New York City has been such that

it has been necessary to take new

inmates from other counties before

accepting all State ready inmates

in New York City."

The State Commissioner of Correctional
Service maintained that the City's statistics
on the numbers of State readies which it
houses are inaccurate (J8). He also argued
that the. fluctuation in the State ready
population are traditional seasonal trends
(J8-9).

(3)

In granting the City's request for

preliminary relief, Judge Lasker concluded

that Pennhurst II did not prohibit a federal

21

INCE SP 5

court from ordering relief against State
officials whose actions may be necessary to
implement, or to avoid the frustration of, a
judgment which = rectifies a constitutional

violation (C1, 4). He stated (C5):

",... in the case at hand the City
is the party which would suffer
contempt penalties for
noncompliance with Court orders
limiting inmate population in the
event those limits were exceeded.
Thus, the City has standing to
request relief from being held
accountable for actions by the
State defendants over which it has
no control but which allegedly
cause or contribute to violations of
the Court's orders."

Judge Lasker concluded that, although the
State's duty to take custody of State ready
inmates arises under. State law, the
jurisdiction of the federal court was not
defeated in this case (C5-6). He noted that
there are "numerous _ situations" where
"obligations under State law may give rise to

a federal claim" (C5-7).

22

In finding a basis for jurisdiction over
the State officials under the provisions of
the All-Writs Act (28 U.S.C. $§165l[a}),
Judge Lasker relied on this Court's decision

in United States v. New York Telephone

Co., 434 U.S. 159 (1977), which held that
the power conferred by the All-Writs Act
extends to nonparties who are in a position
to frustrate the implementation of a court
order (C5-6). He noted (C6):

"... if it is concluded that the
presence of State -officials is
necessary for the full satisfaction
of constitutional rights, joining
them in the litigation is, in our
view, not only consistent with the
purpose of the All Writs Act, but
also with the reasoning
underlying the exception to the
Eleventh Amendment which was
created in Ex Parte Young, 209
U.S. 123 (1908), namely, _ ‘to.
promote the vindication of federal
rights' and ‘hold State officials
responsible to the supreme
authority of the United States.'
Pennhurst +1, 104 S. Ct. at 910."

Having found that the Court had

jurisdiction to make the State officials parties

23

to this case, Judge Lasker next considered
whether the City had satisfied the criteria
for obtaining preliminary injunctive relief
(C7-13). He concluded (1) that the City
would be irreparably harmed without such
relief (C7-9), (2) that the City's application
raised sufficiently serious questions going to
the merits to make them fair grounds for
litigation (C9-11), and (3) that the balance
of hardship tipped decidedly in the City's
favor (C11-13).

With respect to the showing of
irreparable injury, the District Court found
(C8)):

"The claim that such varying
numbers [of State readies] wreak
havoc with a municipality's ability
to manage its. facilities and
interfere with the on-going
planning and building process in
which the City is currently
engaged is persuasive, and
monetary damages cannot
adequately compensate the City
(nor the plaintiff class) for the
continuing injury. In short, the
City has met its burden of showing
irreparable harm.

24

In this connection it is worthy of
note that the City only seeks a
continuation of the status quo:
that is, the continuance of an
order that has been in effect in
this case for almost five years."

In holding a”at the balance of hardship
tipped decidedly in the City's favor, Judge
Lasker reaffirmed the conclusions which he
previously reached when he initially joined
the State officials as defendants in 1981. At
that time he found that State correctional
facilities were more secure and remote from
peneiintion centers than City correctional
facilities and that the State correctional
system, being nearly three times the size of
the City system, could more readily absorb
the State readies (C13). Judge Lasker was
also of the view at that time that the State
prison population was more stable and
manageable than the population found in a

pre-trial detention facility (C13). He stated

25

that these conclusions "remain valid today"
(C12).
In addition, he noted (C13):

"Finally, while an _ injunction \
continuing the requirement that .*
the State accept state inmates
within forty-eight hours will
continue the State's burden, it

does not, in the present posture

of the case, increase it, while
denying the injunction would leave

the City vulnerable to the
possibility, if not probability, of a

very significant increase in its
inmate population."

Based upon these findings, Judge
Lasker found that the City's motion was
“appropriately brought" (C13). He stated
that any final decision to retain the State
officials in the case would await (C13):

"... the disposition of the dispute

as to whether the State's actions

or. proposed actions do -or would’

hereafter place the City in a

position of noncompliance with the

court's decrees."

This opinion is reported at 629 F.

Supp. 713.

26

i Pe “ 2 — .
<q» 5 Siti AE a lit ss dain as Set tate Iodine alld 2c Gta lint Metall

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR
HARD COPY AT THE TIME OF FILMING.
IF AND WHEN A BETTER COPY CAN BE
OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE WILL BE
ISSUED.

In affirming the order of the District
Court, the Court of Appeals, after reviewing
the history of the lawsuit, noted that,
during the long period of litigation (A115):

"Ti]jt does not appear that the

State was ever denied the

opportunity to challenge the

federal constitutional basis of the
underlying consent order or the
findings of unconstitutionality made

by Judge Lasker in 1983."

The Court further noted that the State
at the time of the appeal did not offer any
proof to contradict. the findings. Moreover,
‘since the relief was preliminary, the State
could rebut the findings at the trial on the
permanent injunction (Al15).

With respect to this Court's decision in

Pennhurst State School & Hospital ov.

Halderman, 465 U.S. 89 (1984) (Pennhurst

II), the Court of Appeals rejected the
State's claim that it should be dismissed
because its argument "ignores the district

court's finding that the refusal of State

27

Pre ne ee

officials promptly to accept state-ready
prisoners also violates a federal interest in
vindicating the already-adjudicated
constitutional rights of prisoners housed at
the City's HDM" (AQ).

The Court also found that jurisdiction
over the State was appropriate under the All
Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. §1651l(a). The
circumstances were an exception because the
District Court "was faced with the necessity
of acting immediately to relieve
already-adjudicated unconstitutional
conditions which might be attributed in part
to the State and of avoiding the delay that
could be entailed in the relitigation of those
conditions" (Al3). Since full relief against
the ednenatiintional saniiiionn could not be
obtained through an order only applicable to
New York City, the joinder of the State was

appropriate (Al4).

28

oie uniabinneiila Itdr Sk Nave ane eecwlhtoda fe

aii ty

Ei ti able:

pagan aise

POISE SON Ee Sa OO ASS Beh Tbe

Aas RD ERL

i NEE Aa AAR I NE EE eA ROBE PRIN EAR BREE 0 BH

™n concluding the Court observed that
the record supported the granting of the
preliminary injunction. It noted that the
preliminary injunction "simply preserves a
status quo that existed for years after the
district court's August 1981 order" (A116).

The opinion is reported at 803 F.2d 46.

29

a

Reasons For Denying Petition

For a Writ of Certiorari

ARGUMENT

IN VIEW OF THE FINDING BY
THE COURT OF APPEALS THAT
THE FAILURE OF PETITIONERS
TO EXPEDITIOUSLY ACCEPT
FROM NEW YORK CITY PERSONS
SENTENCED TO TERMS OF

IMPRISONMENT IN STATE
CORRECTIONAL FACILITIES MAY
CONTRIBUTE TO UNCON-

STITUTIONAL OVERCROWDING IN
NEW YORK CITY'S JAILS AND
MAKE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR THE
CITY TO COMPLY WITH PRIOR
DISTRICT COURT JUDGMENTS
ESTABLISHING ACCEPTABLE
CONDITIONS OF CONFINEMENT IN
THOSE JAILS, THE DECISION OF.
THE COURT OF APPEALS
AFFIRMING AN ORDER OF THE
DISTRICT COURT GRANTING A
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION
REQUIRING PETITIONERS TO
ACCEPT CUSTODY OF ALL
"STATE READY" INMATES WITHIN
FORTY-EIGHT HOURS OF THEIR
PROCESSING WAS NOT
INCONSISTENT WITH THE
DECISION OF THIS COURT IN
PENNHURST STATE SCHOOL AND
HOSPITAL V. HALDERMAN, 465
U.S. 89 (1984).

30

THE COURT OF APPEALS
CORRECTLY HELD THAT THE
DISTRICT COURT HAD
AUTHORITY UNDER THE ALL
WRITS ACT, 28 U.S.C. §165i(a),
TO ISSUE THE PRELIMINARY
INJUNCTION.

(1)
The only possible argument that
petitioners have to challenge the preliminary

injunction is that Pennhurst_II, supra,

denies the District Court the jurisdiction to
join them in this’ case. Indeed, when the

District Court granted the City's motion to

join petitioners in 1981, no appeal was taken

from that determination. Nor did they
appeal from the District Court's denial of
their 1981 motion to vacate the forty-eight
hour order. Benjamin v. Malcolm, 528 F.

Supp. 925. However, both the District

Court, in granting this preliminary.
injunction, and the Court of Appeals, in
affirming it, acted consistently with the

principles enunciated in Pennhurst II.

31

That case concerned conditions of
confinement at a Pennsylvania institution for
the care of the retarded. In an earlier
decision involving that institution, this Court
had reversed the Third Circuit and held that
the Federal Developmentally Disabled
Assistance and Bill of Rights Act, 42 USC
6001 et seq., did not create a substantive
cause of action. As a result, the matter was
remanded to the Court of Appeals to
determine whether a remedy could be
granted on the basis of the state law, the
United States Constitution or other federal
statutes. On remand the Court of Appeals
again upheld a remedy, finding that a
specific state statute fully supported its

prior judgment. The latest Pennhurst appeal

was from this judgment of the Court of
Appeals.
In this Court the State argued, inter

alia, that the Eleventh Amendment prohibited

32

a federal court from ordering State officials
to implement a remedy based upon a pendent
state claim. In reversing the Court of
Appeals, the Supreme Court held that the
Eleventh Amendment barred a federal court
from joining State officials except in those
instances where their presence was needed
to promote the vindication of federal rights.
465 U.S. at 105-106. The Court contrasted
the facts presented in Pennhurst II with

those in parte Young, 209 U.S. 123

(1908), the seminal case on Eleventh

Amendment immunity of State officials. In
Ex parte Young the Court held that the
Eleventh Amendment does not bar a federal
court from granting injunctive relief when a
State official engages in action which violates
the Constitution. Subsequently, in Edelman
v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974), the Court
limited Ex parte Young by holding that when
there is a violation of federal law, the Court

33

can award injunctive relief but not

retroactive monetary relief.

In harmonizing the State's immunity
under the Eleventh Amendment and a party's
right to obtain a remedy for a violation of

federal law, this Court stated in Pennhurst

II (465 U.S. at p. 106):

"This need to reconcile competing
interests is wholly absent,
howevgggivhen a plaintiff alleges
that e official has violated
state law. In such a case the
entire basis for the doctrine of
Young and Edelman disappears. A
federal court's grant of relief
against state officials on the basis
of state law, whether prospective
or retroactive, does not vindicate
the supreme authority of federal
law." (Emphasis the Court's.)

Pennhurst II is readily distinguishable

from the instant case. As the Court of
Appeals and the District Couns noted, the
previous determinations to join the State
defendants and to impose a remedy against
them was designed to effectuate’ the

constitutional rights of the plaintiffs (A10,

34

C5). Both the Court of Appeals and the
District Court emphasized that the State's
expeditious acceptance of State readies was a
significant component oof the remedy
necessary to satisfy the plaintiffs'
constitutional claims. Benjamin v. Malcolm,

(AS, 13), 803 F.2d 46, 51, 53 (2d Cir.,
1986), (C5-6), 629 F. Supp. 713, 715-716
(1986). In effect, the presence of large
numbers of State readies in City correctional
facilities contributed to a violation of the
plaintiffs' constitutional rights, and
interfered with the City's ability to comply
with federal Court orders.

The history of this case overwhelmingly
supports the conclusion of the Courts below.
Beginning in the late 1970's and continuing
to the present time, the State has controlled
the rate of acceptance of the State ready
population to redress population problems in

State facilities. The result has been an
intolerable situation for the City of New
35

York. During this same period, the City
had entered against it a series of orders
establishing population caps on HDM and
other facilities. In addition, consent orders
relating to conditions of confinement placing
substantial demands on the City's ability to
manage it facilities were entered into over
the last decade.

By its past actions, the State has
indicated that it will act to assume custody
of State . readies expeditiously only when
ordered to do so by a court or when court
action is imminent. Prior to our initial
motion to join the State officials in August,
1980, the population of State readies had
risen to 650. In the three months during
which that motion mil vieulinaie, the State
reduced the population so that by November
1980, the State ready population declined to
32. Indeed, Judge Lasker noted that the
filing of the motion in 1980:

36

—e ne ee in

"... appears to have spurred

constructive responses on the part

of the Governor and the

Commissioner ..." 88 F.R.D. 333,

335.

Following the dismissal without prejudice
of the City's motion to join, the State again
began to back-up the State readies. Within
seven months after Judge Lasker's
determination, the population of State readies
had again grown to approximately 600... At
that point, the District Court first joined
then Governor Carey and Commissioner
Coughlin and ordered them to accept State
readies within forty-eight hours.

In the summer of 1984 the City granted
the State permission for the rest of that
year to delay accepting State readies for up
to ninety-six hours after their processing
had been completed. The State agreed to
resume accepting State readies within

forty-eight hours on January 1, 1985.

However, as noted above, the State never

37

fulfilled its promise to resume _ the
expeditious acceptance of State readies and
did not even continue to accept them within
ninety-six hours. In 1985 and early part of
1986 the State slowed the acceptance of State
readies to an extent that, at the time the
City again moved to join the State officials in
February, 1986 the City was housing
approximately 500 State readies.

The State officials view of the City as
an annex to the State correctional system
renders difficult, if mot impossible, our
ability to comply with the District Court's
prior orders concerning conditions of
confinement. The City has two fundamental
responsibilities with respect to correction.
First, it must provide adequate space feo all
detainees, and, second, it must provide them
with appropriate conditions of confinement.
In order to meet our obligations, the City
has adopted an_ extraordinary building

38

program which will have increased its
capacity by more than fifty percent since
1979. This building program was based on
an assumption that the State would not use
the City jail system as its safety valve.
The presence of these large numbers of
State readies, in addition to adversely
affecting the capital construction program,
seriously impedes our ability to provide
security and services to the pretrial
detainees who are the City's proper
responsibility.

It is noteworthy that shortly before the
State began delaying acceptance of State
readies in 1985, it closed the 1000 bed Long
Island Correctional Facility. Within four
months after entering into a_ stipulation
permitting them to close that prison, the
numbers of State readies held by the City
had risen dramatically. This increase

occurred notwithstanding the statements to

39

the Court of Appeals in Mitchell v. Cuomo,
748 F.2d 804 (2d Cir., 1984) that the State
would be able to "safely absorb" all inmates
entering the State correctional system
despite the closure of LICF Id. at 807.

The State's position in Mitchell v.

Cuomo totally undermines their position to
this Court in the instant case that its
back-up of State readies in City facilities is
necessitated by its responsibility to accept
all State readies throughout the State
(Petition, pps. 7-8). The State's deciston to
close a structurally sound facility shortly
before it began to back-up State readies was
not reasonable. The State ought not to be
able to close a prison oun at the same time
maintain that it cannot expeditiously accept
State readies where it is undisputed that the

back-up of State readies in City facilities

has a direct impact on the City's ability to
comply with prior Court orders.

40

The analysis applied by the Court of
Appeals here was also followed by the Sixth
Circuit when considering whether to join the
State of Kentucky in Tate v. Frey, 735 F.2d

986 (1984), a case concerning conditions in
one of its county's jails.

This ability of the State to frustrate a
municipality's efforts to provide acceptable
' conditions of confinement in its detention
facilities was the ground adopted by the
Sixth Circuit in Tate v. Frey, 735 F.2d 986

(1984) to join the State of Kentucky in a
case concerning conditions in one of its
county's jail.

In Tate the inmates of a county jail in
Kentucky brought a _ civil rights action
against the superintendent of that institution
alleging unconstitutional conditions of
confinement. The county officials sought to
join State correction officials in a third-party
complaint which sought money damages and a

41

preliminary injunction enjoining State
correction officials from refusing to timely
accept felons incarcerated in the county jail
awaiting transfer to State facilities. The
District Court permitted the State to be
joined and directed a hearing on the
application for ‘a preliminary injunction. At
the conclusion of the hearing, the beswt
found certain violations concerning conditions
of confinement and requested that all the
parties join in a program designed to reduce
the overcrowding “in the jail. After the
parties reported that they were unable to
reach an agreement, the District Court
issued an order compelling the State officials
_to immediately accept all State readies in
excess of thirty. The cota portion of the
injunction enjoined Kentucky from permitting
any State ready inmates to remain
incarcerated at the county jail for more than

thirty days after the imposition of sentence.

42

The Kentucky Statute cited by the
Court placed the responsibility for housing
convicted felons upon the State. It was
silent, however, on the amount of. time that
a State correctional official has to accept
custody of a person held in a local facility
who is sentenced io serve a term of
imprisonment with the State. As a
consequence of overcrowding in _ State
facilities, . Kentucky had adopted a
"controlled intake policy", whereby it only
accepted State readies when it had space in
State facilities (735 F.2d at 988, n. 1).

The State appealed on the ground that
the county had failed to allege any
substantive basis to support a claim for
relief against it. Subsequent to the filing of
the appeal but before the decision of the

Sixth Circuit, this Court decided Pennhurst

Il. Based on that decision, the State also

urged that the injunction was granted in

43

error because it was merely "... requiring
the state to conform its actions to state law
.-". (739 F.2d at 989).

In affirming the order of the District
Court, the Sixth Circuit cited a number of
factors particularly applicable to the instant

case. In distinguishing Pennhurst II the

Court noted that the District Court had made
a determination that the controlled intake
procedure had contributed to the
overcrowding of the county jail and (735
F.2d at 989):
"... complete relief would be
elusive, if not impossible, to
achieve absent joinder of the State
as a third party to this action."
In addition, the Court of Appeals found that
the District -Court opinion was based on a
finding that the unconstitutional conditions
of confinement were directly attributable to
overcrowding (735 F.2d 990). This

overcrowding was in part due to the actions

of the State defendants. Since the actions

44

of the State defendants affected the
constitutional rights of wae plaintiffs, the
presence of the State officials as defendants
was based on federal, not state law, and,

therefore, Pennhurst II was inapplicable.

735 F.2d at 989-990.
(2)

The Court of Appeals also properly
found a basis for jurisdiction over the State
defendants under the provisions of the
All-Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. §165la. This
provision authorizes a federal court to issue
such commands as may be necessary or
appropriate to effectuate and prevent the
frustration of orders previously issued in
the exercise of jurisdiction otherwise

obtained. In United States v. New York

Telephone Co., 434 U.S. 159 (1977), this

Court upheld the use of the All-Writs Act
to compel a non-party, the New York

Telephone Company, to furnish facilities and

45

a ee ee

technical assistance to the F.B.I. with
respect to the installation of a device which
records the numbers dialed on a particular

telephone. In so holding, this Court stated
at 434 U.S. 174:

"The power conferred by the Act
extends, under appropriate
circumstances, to persons who,

though not parties to the original
action or engaged in wrongdoing,
are in a position to frustrate the
implementation of a court order or
the proper administration of
justice, and encompasses even
those who have not taken any
affirmative action to hinder justice
(citations omitted)."

The next case following New York

Telephone in which this Court interpreted

the All-Writs Act was General Building

Contractors Assn., Inc. v. Pennsylvania,

458 U.S. 375 (1982). In General Contractors

the plaintiffs attempted to use the All-Writs
Act in support of a determination of the
District Court which had imposed a remedy
upon contractors and trade associations

against whom there had not been any finding

46

_ anwinasan leans Ci

of liability. The District Court subjected
the contractors and trade associations to
injunctive relief requiring them to take steps
to ensure that union hiring hall procedures
were non-discriminatory and allocated to
them a portion of the costs for implementing
the remedial decree. Id. at 397.

In finding that the All-Writs Act could
not be used to impose a remedy against the

petitioners, the Court observed that the
All-Writs Act could not "support. the

extensive liability imposed upon petitioners
by the District Court." Id. at 401.
Further, the Court held (at 458 U.S. 401):

"There was no need for the
District Court to treat petitioners
as strangers to this lawsuit, and
therefore to rely upon some
extraordinary form of process or
writ to bring them before the
court. Petitioners had been named
as defendants by respondents in
their complaint, and they litigated
the injunctive liability phase of the
action before the District Court.
Petitioners were parties to the
action in every sense of the word,
and subject to the jurisdiction of

47

7
fi
3
wt
j

the District Court both as to the
imposition of liability and as to the
framing of the remedial decree."

In contrast to General Contractors, in

the instant case, the State officials were not
parties during the protracted litigation
leading up to determinations of liability and
stipulations contained in consent decrees.
The State officials were only brought into
the litigation when their actions began to
substantially interfere with the City's ability
to comply with these orders. Moreover, the
command of Judge Lasker dves not impose
"extensive liability". It only requires the
State to promptly carry out its responsibility
to assume custody of persons sentenced to
terms of imprisonment in State correctional
facilities. |
Nothing contained in this Court's

decision in Pennsylvania Bureau of

Correction v. United States Marshals, 474

U.S. __, 106 S. Ct. 355 (1985) precludes

48

the use of the All-Writs Act in the instant

case. Pennsylvania Bureau of Correction

concerned the validity of an order issued
under the All-Writs Act requiring United
States Marshals to transport state prisoners
to federal court. This Court held that the
use of that act was inappropriate under
those circumstances because the _ district
court had available to it the authority to

issue a writ ad testificandum to produce a

prisoner in state custody.
The Court of Appeals found that

Pennsylvania Bureau of Correction was

distinguishable. It noted that the facts of :
this case necessitated reliance on the
All-Writs Acts because (A13):

The district court was faced with
the necessity of acting immediately
to relieve already -adjudicated
unconstitutional conditions which
might be attributed in part to the
State and avoiding the delay that
would be entailed in the
relitigation of those conditions.

49

at BT

Petitioners reliance on Atascadero State

Hospital _v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. __, 105 S.

Ct. 3142, (1985) is misplaced (Petition, p.
20). In that case the Court held that a
state may not be made a defendant in an
action brought under §504 oof the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 in the absence of

any intent by Congress to require states to

waive their Eleventh Amendment immunity as
a condition for participation in the program.
Here, following the principles set forth in Ex

parte Young, supra, we joined the

appropriate State | officials because their
actions were having a direct effect on our
ability to provide constitutionally acceptable
conditions of confinement to persons held in
our jails. |
(3)

The State urges that the City

defendants do not have standing to raise the

question of noncompliance because it may not

50

"rest (its) claim to relief on the legal rights
or interests of others" and the City's
interest do not come within the "zone of
interests to be protected by the
constitutional guarantee in question."
Petition, pps. 23-25. This argument is
meritless.

The City has standing to seek to join
the State in the instant proceedimg because

it has suffered an actual injury in fact as a

result of the State's action. See Warth v.
Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 498-499 (1975); Doe v.
Blum, 729 F.2a 186, 189 (2nd Cir., 1984);

B.K. Instrument, Inc. v. United States, 715

F.2d 713, 718-719 (2nd Cir., 1983); National

Coalition to Ban Handguns v. Bureau of

-

Alcohol Tobacco & Firearms, 715 F.2d 632,

633-634 (2nd Cir., 1983). The City is
obviously directly injured by the action of
the State because it adversely impacts on the

City's ability to fulfill its obligations under

51

the Court's orders. In making this motion

to join the State officials, the City seeks to
protect its own interests. We are not
asserting the rights of the plaintiffs.
Rather the City has a responsibility to
administer its jails in a manner which is
consistent with the Constitution and Judge
Lasker's decrees.

In support of its argument that the
City defendants do- not have standing, the
State gratuitously concludes that = Se.
actions caused noncompliance with the detanel
_ court orders, the City could not be cited for
contempt because it did not cause the
problem. . eee oe While we are
thankful for the legal opinion proffered by
the State in its brief, we know of no
authority that would allow the City to escape
responsibility for conditions in its jails on
the ground that the State caused the

violation. To the contrary, at the outset of

32

ee ee ee

a TO

ein ace Dt ae at ano

this controversy between the City and the

State, Judge Lasker made it clear that such
was not the case. With respect to the
State's aggravation of overcrowding in City

jails, Judge Lasker commented in Benjamin

v. Malcolm, supra, 495 F. Supp. 1357, 1362

as follows:

"The City is entitled to
understanding on account of the
aggravation of its burden caused
by the injection into its
correctional facilities of such a
large number of State prisoners.
Yet the ultimate fact of
unconstitutional overcrowding
remains the same whether it is
caused entirely or partly by the
presence of City detainees. It is
the City's obligation to provide
minimally acceptable population
levels for those in its custody,
and even the City does not argue
that it can be freed of that
obligation because the present
condition is significantly affected
by the necessity to house State
prisoners."

The State assumes that the only
interest that the City has _ in_ the
administration of its correctional system is

the avoidance of a citation for contempt.

53

sacs iC a ita tl

“s Se nd a se eee

Apart from any litigation challenging
cenditions of confinement, the City officials
charged with this responsibility have a
desire to perform their duties in a
professional manner and to avoid depriving
persons held in their custody of any
constitutional rights.

In another part of its brief, the State

suggests that all that is involved in the

- instant case is a "fiscal claim" arising from

the fact that (Pet., p. 23):

"... the more inmates the City has

to house, the more money it will

have to spend in order to provide

adequate housing and _= support
services."

This argument is nonsense. In fact the
City over the last eight years has increased
its capacity by over fifty percent - (51). As
a result of the back-up of State readies
since June of 1985, it has been necessary

for the City to devote approximately fifty

percent of our newly added capacity to

34

house State inmates (51). It is difficult for

the City to implement a long term capital
program with the knowledge that, when such
construction is completed, the State would
then absorb the additional capacity by
further backing up the State ready
prisoners. The State's argument is
particularly meritless when viewed in the
context of its action to close the one
thousand bed Long Island Correctional
Facility.
(4)

The Courts below properly applied the
applicable standards in issuing the
preliminary injunction requiring the State
officials to accept custody of State readies
during the pendency of the City's application
within forty-eight hours of processing. A
preliminary injunction will be overturned
only when it is demonstrated that the

District Court has abused its discretion.

95

See Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S. 922,

931-932 (1975); Hanson Trust PLC v. SCM

Corporation, 774 F.2d 47, 54 (2nd Cir.,

1985); In Re Baldwin-United, 770 F.2d 328,

334 (2d Cir., 1985); Mitchell v. Cuomo,

supra 748 F.2d at 806. An abuse of
discretion may be found if the Court makes
clearly erroneous findings of fact or commits
an error of law in issuing the injunction.

For all of the reasons stated in this
brief, the City has established that its
application eresents sufficiently serious
questions going to the merits to make them a
fair ground of litigation. In addition, the
City would be irreparably injured if the
injunction were vacated. As has_ been
observed above, the State has bed the City
system as an annex to hold their overflow
until the State system can accommodate the
newly sentenced prisoners. This constant

fluctuation of the population affects the

56

City's ability to manage its institutions. The
injunction merely preserves the status quo
which has existed since August 1981,
during the pendency of. the motion to join
the State. In this context, the District
Court noted that the determination as_ to
whether the State will be retained
permanently in the lawsuit would have to
await the end of the "dispute as to whether
the State's actions or proposed actions do or
would hereafter place the City in a position
of noncompliance with the Court's Po

(C13).

37

CONCLUSION

THE PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED.

February 9, 1987.
Respectfully submitted,

PETER ZIMROTH,
Corporation Counsel

of the City of New York,
Attorney for Municipal Respondents.

LEONARD J. KOERNER,

PAUL T. REPHEN,
of Counsel.

28

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2570%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
