# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fierro v. Bowen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2485%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 480 U.S. 945

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S. |
r ‘ ¢ } .

PY 9 52 SS s.
NOV 19 1986

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
ae CLERK

iN WHE
SUPREME COURT Gr Tith UNIT STa tho

OCTOBER TERM LYSO

— eee -——— + —

DANIEL L. FIERRO,
Petitioner,
V.

OTIS R. BOWEN,
Secretary Of Department
OF ttealth and Human Services,

Respondent.

— a a ee ae ee ee

PETITIUN POR wkIT OF CERTLORARL TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
TENTH Cisxculrt

en ee ee

ee

RAY LChEwWtTS FULLER

SOUTHERN NEW MEXICO LEGAL
SERVICES, INC.

3¥0 Norctn Downtown Mail

Las Cruces, New Mexico 3Sddl

COUNSEL OF R&ECORL FOR
PETITIONER

WUOKOLIUN PRESEN CED
i P » ie ‘ ’ , . t : ry A aes
neChet Chi Pia Vi WAL 3 ee MAM NLS CEA 2OG
S b&b ina by 223 OD E@guiation ad dt? ( br yiny
tibet 2NGLCLtOns Ltyidery Wich OWNne-Motilon
, - + ee << - ' . . ,
SViecw of Mb AUGMiNsstcuitive Law Phieaty a
4 ! 2 isc ‘ tli ic LAE at 8
' ’ ’ t . £ t * a-Ft bp ave
ba ay | 4 cabal s fae Ties
I) rn ‘3 i ; z
Ff & takes ear ® & al +
s >> ber ry 34 3
lmarila Rabe & ids se ae oth i - FN
+-i? 6? ? at *
VELOSO IN, pe we |

TAbLe Or CONTENTS
Page
Question Presented ....-..- 1
Miet GE Ail Petties « « « « i
Tanpie Of Contegtse ..« < « « » il
apie Gf Authacities ...« s« « « 4&4:

Opinion Below ...+s+4+e+es e 2

PO

JUEASGICCION « .«s« «

Statutes and Administrative
ROGULECIONS 4s 2 so © 6 © «

INO

Statement of the Case et? ae ae 4

Reasons for Granting writ:

——-

CONFLICT ON THIS
Te a oh wee On 7

1, THE CIRCUITS ARE I}
o

2. UNDER THE _ SOCIAL
SECURITY REGULATIONS, _IT
WAS IMPROPER AS A MATTER
OF LAW FOR THE APPEALS

COUNCIL TO DECIDE TO

REVIEW AND REVERSE THIS
CASE WHERE THE ADMIN-
ISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE'S Ss
DECISION IN FAVOR OE OF

THE THE CLAMIANT WAS aa

BY _ SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENC ° LY

CONCLUSION . . * 7 . . a - _ . 23

atin

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Baker v. Heckler, 7340 F.2d 1147
(sth Cir. i986) .9 3 2 eee
consolidated Edison Co. v. NLRB,
365 U.8. A997 22900 2
VeLony v. Heckler, 721 F.2d 206
(/th Cit. J3G3) soe 0)
Deters v. Secretary, 789 F.2d liél
(Sth Cit. 1930) =o
Ellis v. Heckler, 621 F. Supp.
823 (D.C. Fike See eee
Escalante v. Bowen, 621 Pet. for
Cert., WO. @26. 7000 34.
Gross v. Heckler, 785 F.2d 1163
(4th Cir. 1986) oa ee oe ee
Kellough v. Heckler, 785 F.2d
1147 (4th Cie, oe ee
LOpez-Cordona v. Secretary, 747
F.2d 1981 (lsat Cit, 2908) a «
Newsome v. Secretary, Health and
Human Services, 753 F.2d 44
(6th Cir. £383) 2
Parker v. Bowen, 788 F.2d 1147
(lith Cis. i906).5. 3.
Parris v. Heckler, 733 F.2d 324

(4th Cir. 2308) 0 ae °

Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S.

——

389 (1971) . 7 . . . . . .

Scott v. Heckler, 768 F.2d 172

(7th Cir. iseoe ee a * oo

Shepherd v. Secretary, 758 F.2d
196 (6th Cie. oe
Taylor v. Heckler, 765 F.2d 872

(9th Cie 1985) . . . . . .

W.C. v. Heckler, 629 F. Supp. 791
(W.vD. wasn. 1985) . . . . . .
Ward v. Heckler, 622 F. Supp. 462

(Bats Lis LY85) . . : . . . .
23 U..8.G. Section 1254(i) . . 7 . .
42 U.S.C. Section @85 000 ae

o

16

.
Nh Nh @©

N Us.

IN THE
SUPREMGe CUOUKT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER ‘TERM L9YSo

——— ee

DANIEL L. FILERRO,

Petitioner,

OTIS R. BOWEN,
Secretary of Department
Of Health and Human Services,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
TENTH CIRCULT _

Petitionec respectfully prays that a
Writ of Cectiocari issue to review the
judgment and opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,

entered in the proceeding on August 2l,

L986,

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Ciccuit is
reported as 798 F.2d 1351 (16th Cir.

1980).

JURISDICTION
The United States Court of Appeals
tor the Tenth Circuit entered its opinion
and judgment on August 2l, 1986, The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).
STATUTES AND ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS

42 U.S.C. Section 405(g):
"Any individual, after any final decision

of the Secretary made after a hearing to
which he was a party, irrespective of the
amount in controversy, may obtin a review
of such decision by a civil action
commenced within sixty days after the

Mailing to him of notice of such decision

Or within such furthec time as the
Secretary may allow. Such action shall be
beought in the district court o€f the
United States for the judicial district in
which the plaintiif resides. oo-The
judgment of the court shall be final
except that it shall be subject to review
in the same manner as a judgment in other
Civil actions. Any action instituted in
accordance with this subsection shall
sucvive notwithstanding any chanye in the
person occupying tne office of Secretary or
any Vacancy in such office."
26 C.F.R Section 444.969:
“Appeals Council initiates review.
Anytime witnin 68 days after the date
of a hearing decision or dismissal, the
Appeals Council itself may decide to
review the action tnat was taken. If the
Appeals Council does review the hearing
decision or dismissal, notice of tne

action will be mailed to all parties at
their last known address."

26 C.F.R. Section 464.9740:
"Cases the Appeals Council will review.

a

e « al — * om SS mgt < - hea

(a) The Appeais Council will review a
case if

(1) There appears to be an abuse of
Giscretion oy the administrative law
judge;

(2) here is an error of law;

(3) Tne action, Findings or
conclusions of the administrative law
judge are not supported by substantial
evidence; oc

(4) There is a broad policy or
procedural issue that may affect the
general public interest."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

i. Course of the proceedings

The basis for federal jurisdiction
here was Section 245(g) of the Social
Security Act, 42 U.S.C. Section 485(g),
pusuant to whicn Petitioner initited an
action for judicial review of a final
decision of the Secretary of tae U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services
denying nis claim for Disability Insurance
Benefits under Title II of the Social
Security Act, 42 U.S.C. Section 416(i) and

423, and for Supplemental Security Income

Attias 2 - « = so AD . =

benefits under Title XVI of the Act, 42
U.S.C. <1L38la.

In October 1980, tne Plauintift
filed an application for Disability
Insucance Benercits (TF. 52-55), and an
application for Supplemental Security
Income benefits (Tr. i, 1). On January
19, 1982, the Administrative Law Judye
sitting in this case issued a decision
wholly favorable to this clai sant on both
applications, approving the same,
(Supplemental Tr. 153-54). The Appeals
Council of the Social Security
Administration, sua sponte, on March 12,
1982, vacated the Administcative Law
Judge*s decision, because " ..the Council
believed that a psychiatric evaluation with
psychological testing was necessary in
order to clarify tne sevecity, if any, of

(che claimant*s) impairment." (Tr.18.)

Pollowiny claimant*s supplemental
heariny Of September 21, 1982, the
Administrative Law Judye, on November 38,
1932, issued his “Decision Upon Remand by
Appeals Council,” ayain finding the
Plaintitf disabled and entitled to Social
Security benefits under both applications.
(Tr. 17-24.) On January 6, 1983, the
Appeals Council, on its own motion, dediced
to review the favorable hearing decision of
the Administrative Law Judge. (Tr. 147-
48.) On April 14, 1983, the Appeals
Council reversed the Administrative Law
Judye and issued its own decision denying
tne Plaintirft’'s applications for Social
Security benefits. (Tr. 4-14)

The Plaintitt timely appealed from the
adverse administrative decision of the

Defendant Secretary to the United States

District Court of New Mexico. On September

lo, 1985 the District Court Judye Sitting
on this matter entered an Order affirming
tne adwilnistrative decision of the
DelLendant Secretary and dismissing the
Plaintigteé's comMplaint. Tneceafter on
November /, 1985, Plaintiff timely appealed
in the instant cause to the United States
-Ouct OL Appeals for the Tenth Circuit
wnicn naS here Upheld the iction of the
Social Security Appeals Council in

reviewloj anad reversing tn ravorabdie

Administrative Law Judge's decision.

Ll. The Circults are in conflict on
Tnere is a division of authority
petween, and even within, the Circuit

-OuctsS Of Appeals on the issue Of whethec

t [jc VOClLlAal Secul!t ty regul aC LiONS promulg ited

as 20 C.F.R. Section 4484.97¥(a) limit, to
any degree, the power of Appeals Council to
review the considered decision of an
Administrative Law Judge upon conclusion of
the administrative hearing,

Cases purporting to answer the
proposition affirmateively are represented

by the following: Parcria vy. Heckler, 733

F.2d 324 (4th Cir. 1984)3; Newsome v.

nee el

Secretary of Health and Human Services,

733 F.2G 44 (6th Cir.1L985); Shepard y.

Secretary, 758 F.2d 196 (6th Cir. 1985)

—_—— eee

Scott vv. Beckier, 768 F.2d i772 titan Cit.

1985); Ward v. Heckler, 622 F. Supp. 462

(D.C. Tll, i965); Bliia v. Heckler, 621

P.Sune. 823 Cc. rik. 19895); 8c. ¢,

Heckler, 629 F. Supp. 791 (W.D. Wash.

1985).
Cases appearing to answer the same

proposition negatively are represented by

the Following: Lopez-Cardona v.

Secretary, 747 F.2d 1081 (lst Cir. 1984);

Kellough_v. Heckler, 785 F.2d 1147 (4th

Cir. 1986), Gross _v. Heckler, 785 F.2d

1163 (4th Cir. 1986) (J. Hall dissenting);

Deters v. Secretary, 789 F.2d 1181 (5th

Cir. 1980) DeLong v. Heckler, 771 F.2d 2606

(7th Cir. 1985); Baker v. Heckler, 734
F.20 i147 (@thH Cit. £9804)3 Tavyior vv.

Heckler, 765 £.2d 872 (9th Cir. 1995);

Parker v. Bowen, 788 F.2d 1147 (llth Cic.

1986).

A possible related petition for
certiorari appears to be pending before
the Court, in Escalante v. Bowen, No. 35-
1726.

Such recurring conflict among the
respective federal courts in the
interpretation o£ federal Social Security
law should be resolved definitively by the

Supreme Court.

>

2. Under ___the _ __Social Security
regulations, it was improper as a matter
of law for the Appeals Council to decide
to review and reverse this case, where the
Administrative Law Judges decision _in

favor of the claimant was supported by
substantial evidence.

Upon an initial remand from the Appeals
Council, the Administrative Law Judge
conducted a live, face-to-face
administrative hearing at which the
Plaintiff€é testified and could be observed
and evaluated for veracity and
Symptomology by tne trier-of-fact. (Tr.
40-50.) Based upon that hearing and all
the other evidence of record, the
Administrative Law Judge issued a decision
im favor of tne Plaintiff. (Tr. 17-24.)
The Appeals Council, wa remote place and
time, and upon its own motion, proceeded
to review that hearing decision, on the
purported ground that such decision was

"not supported by substantial evidence ...

ye

1:

pursuant to regulation 494.974 (a)(3)".
(Fe. i148.) Subsequently, the Appeals
Council issued its own decision, reversing
the hearing decision of the Administrative
Law Judge, and denying the Plaintiff
Supplemental Security Income and
Disability Insurance Benefits. (Tr. 14.)
Secial Security regulations, found
at 2@ C.F.R. <404.970(a), svecify the
cases which will be reviewed by the
Appeals Council as follows:
"(1) There appears to be an abuse
of maectetion by the
adininistrative law judge;
(2) There is an error o€ law;
(3) The action, findings or con-
clusions of the administrative law
judge are not supported by
Substantial evidence; or

(4) There is a broad policy or

Ss

procedural issue that may affect
the yeneral mille dopereses
The words of the applicable
regulations seem clear, and purposeful.
The Appeais Council will -- and shouid --
review any Administrative Law Judges
decision which falls into one of the
categories of 28 C.F.R. Section 404.970 (a):
(1) abuse of discretion; (2) error of
law; (3) not supproted by substantial
evidence; or, (4) affecting the general
public interest. And under 26 C.F.R.
Section 464.969, if the Appeals Council
seeks such an Oown-motion review, it is to
do so within 68 days. There is nothing
tortured about such a construction of the
regulations.
However, the Secretary has argued, and
a nuinber of the Courts have decided, that

tne Former reyulation merely states when

-]2-

nS

the Appeals Council "shall" review, while
the lattec regualtion says The Appeals
Council “may" review any ALJ decision for
any reason, without limit, other than time.
The net eftect ot such an interpretation is
to nullify the former regulation: If the
Appeals Council "may" review ALJ decisions
unfettered, then the regulation delineating
four circumstances prompting such review is
superfluous and utterly meaningless.
Wonat’s more, such an interpretation
Suggesting unbcidied authority creates the
danger that actual arbitrariness on the
part of the Appeals Council will be
permitted in initiating such review, ata
place and time far removed from the
claimant’s administrative hearing before
the ALJ. It truly seems difficult to
concieve of situations not covered by 20

C.FP.R. Section 404.970(a), where the

wt tn

Appeals Council should properly, and could
legitimately, substigute den Opinion for
that of the ALJ. While the Social Security
administrative proceedings are but a quasi-
judicial system of justice, tney should
still nominally serve the cause of justice
-- and arbitrariness manifestly does not,
To render 20 C.F.R. Section 404.97@(a) a
leyal nullity does not serve ends of
justice. While it may seem expedient to do
so, it is not just. Petitioner submits
that the regulaory language should be given
its plain and ordinary meaning. To do
otherwise is to engage in the Linguistic
contorctions of which bureaucracies are so
capable, and which lamentably are nothing
new to history, or our literature:

"“When I use a word’, Humpty Dumpty

said, io rather a scornful tone, ‘it

means just what I chvose it to mean--

-i4-

neither more noc less’.
“The question is’, said Alice,
“whether you can make words mean so
many different things~.
“The question is*, said Humpty Dumpty,
“which is to be master--that*s ali*."

Lewis Carroll, Through the Lookiny

Glass (Heritage Press, New York, 1941),
p.il2,

Petitionec argues that the Appeals
Council failed to follow the Defendant
Secretary s own regulations and applied an
improper standard of review here, since
tne decision of the Administrative Law
Judye is supported by substantial

evidence, Such “Substantial evidence" wa

uv

defined in Parris a Heckler, 733 F.2d

324, 326 (4th Cir. 1984):

"...(T)he Appeals Council informed

the claimant, in a communication

which 1s part of the record in this
case, that ‘(t)he administrative
law judge’s ultimate conclusion as
to ‘disability* is not supported by
substantial evidence. cosothia
(“substantial evidence") standard
has been defined as ‘such relevant
evidence as a reasonable mind

miyht accept as adequate to

Support a conclusion, Richardson

v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401, 91

S.Ct. 1420, 1427, 28 L.Ed.2d 842

(1971) gquotiny Consolidated Edison

Co. v. NLRB, 305 U.S. 197, 229, 59
S.Ct. 206, 216, 83 L.Bd. 126
(1938), for purposes of our review
of tne Secretary, and there is no

reason to Suppose that the

Secretacy’ s rceyulations were

thio

dratted with a different meaning

in mind,"
The Administrative Law Judye, in his
Favorable decision of November 8, 1982,
exocessly found that this claimant is
entitled to Social Security Benefits
because, "Based on the evidence of record,
Supported clinically and by x-ray
evidence, claimant is disabled permanently
and unable to do any substantial gainful
activity, even sedentary-type work because
of nis inability to sit and stand
alternately for a period in excess of
three hours and this would preclude
sedentary-type work." (Fe. - 23a) The
Administrative Law Judge found that the
Plaintiff nad the following impairments:
"Claimant has an acute and chronic form of
cervical strain and acute and chronic

Osteoartiritis with degenerative problems

i

involving tne cervical spine and other
problems. Claimant also has a psychogenic
pain syndrome." (Tr. 23.)

The Administrative Law Judge*‘s
evaluation of tne evidence in his decision
is telling, and demonstrates that his
decision is supported by substantial
evidence:

"Claimant alleged disability

beyinning August 38, 1980, Lecause

of a neck injucy and residuals of
an old injury to this left arm.

«+» He iS having problems in the

form of musculoskeletal type

headaches and complains of neck
pain. He is still taking
medications for muscle spasms and

pain. In Kis October 15, 19886

report, Dr. Rodriguez noted that

ai@u

claimant had a permanent
disability which he would have to
deal with foc the rest of his
life, that he would need further
hospitalizations, and that his
incapacity 1S on a permanent and

chronic basis. see Th

1a

medical evidence submitted at the

—— eee

Supplemental hearing, and the

— ee eee ee

that Claimantcan not do any work.

-_-—-— —

Claimant was wearing a collar at
the hearing, carrying a cane,
stating that he has had these
problems since an automobile
accident in 1980, that he has a
cervical disc, that his neck
hucts, being aggravated by the

automobile accident. He cannot

=i@a

Sit Or stand very lony. His hip
had been scraped at the Veteran's
Administration, and his teft
forearm has a metal plate ani he
can’t lift anytninyg heavy. eee
Dr. ROdriguez is his treacing
doctor. He nas trouble bending
Over and he gets dizzy or has
blackouts when he does. He can‘t
turn his neck without pain and had
to give up bowling and baseball,
He couldn’t stand for eight hours,
couldn*t bend over to cut hair, he
can’t support the weight of his
body without pain. ese He can
stand an hour or two without the
cane aad can sit 36 minutes to an
houc before he has to stretch and
jet uy and walk around, He could

sit or stand alternately for maybe

@2-

three hours. Kneeling aygravates
his back, especially when he gets
up. He has cadiation down both
arms and his left hand has been
affected. ... X-rays taken on
Marcn 30, L982, indicate
degenerative osteophytic and
cystic changes present in the
interspaces L4-5 and L5-Sl and
also a bridging osteophyte seen
laterally on the right at Ll and

L2 interspace. The moderate

4

deyenerative cystic changes wer
seen in all the disc spaces and
the deygenerative osteophytic
chanyes were seen extending
anteriorly at L4 and laterally at
all interspaces. Dr. ROdriguez

ese C@iterates tnis in Exhibit No,

j§ and he has the diagnosis, after

-

chronic
strain, also
OsteOarthritis
problems along
and otner bones
s body. His
yradually

advancing. He

$ treatment and

(Emphasis

4
testing, of an acute and
form of cervical
acute and chronic
with degenerative
the cervical spine
in the claimant’
condition is
deteriorating and
sets out claimant
his medication."
added.) (Se. £4628)
There is certainly substantial

evidence

from the testimony and medical Exhivits of

record to sustain the

Administrative Law Judye,

Council’s review and

decision are
Defendant’s own

<444.970 (a) (3).

findings

reversal
improper

regulations,

of the
and the Appeals
of that
under the

26 C.F.R.

If there was substantial evidence
for the Administrative Law Judye’s
determination of disability, then the
reviewing Courts should have reversed the
Appeals Council*s denial of benefits,

according to Newsome v. Secretar

eee aes te

of

Health and Human Services, 7/53 F.2d 44

(6th Cir. 1985), and its progency. "To rule
otherwise would be to render the hearing
before the ALJ essentially without effect,
subject to the unbridled de novo review of
the Appeals Council." Scott _ v. Heckler,
768 &.20 172, 178 (7th Circ. 1985). In this
case, the Appeals Council had no authority
to review the decision o€ the

Administrative Law Judge, contrary to the

decision of the Tenth Circuit here,

CONCLUSION

+ '

For the foregoing reasons, the
petition for writ of certiorari should be

granted,

Respectfully submitted,

ie a

U

RAY LEWIS FULLER
SOUTHERN NM LEGAL
SERVICES, INC.

388 N. Downtown Mall
Las Cruces, NM 88Jdl
(505) 526-4451

COUNSEL OF RECORD FOR
PETITIONER

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 85+2738

DANIEL L. FIERRO,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

OTIS R. BOWEN, M.D., Secretary,

Department of Health and Human
Services,

td

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the District of New Mexico
(D.C. No. CV#+83+0709JB)

Ray Lewis Fuller of Southern New Mexico
Legal Services, Inc., Las Cruces, New
Mexico , for Plaintiff=Appellant.

Karen J. Behner, Assistant Regional
Counsel (Edwin L. Meese, United States
Attorney General, Washington, D.C.;
William L. Lutz, United States Attorney,
District of New Mexico; Gayla Fuller,
Chief Counsel, Region VI; Patrick A.
Hudson, Principal Regional Counsel, Social
Security Disability, Litigation Branch;
with her on the brief), Dallas, Texas, for
Defendant=-Appellee.

Before McKay, TACHA, and McWilliams,
Circuit Judges.

MCWILLIAMS, Circuit Judge.

Daniel L. Fierro appeals from an
order and judgment of the United States
District Court for the District of New
Mexico which attitued a final decision of
the Secretary of the Department of Health
and Human Services. The Secretary's
decision had denied Fierro’s application
for disability insurance benefits and
supplemental security income benefits. On
appeal, Fierro raises two matters (1) The
Appeals Council had no power of authority
to review the two decisions of the
Administrative Law Judge, each of which
found for Fierro and granted him benefits,
and, alternatively (2) the ultimate
decision of the appeals Council, which
became the decision of the Secretary, is
not supported by the record. We are not
persuaded by either argument and therefore

affirm.

Fierro made application for
disability benefits and | supplemental
security income benefits based on a neck
injury Sustained in an automobile accident
and a residual disability from an old
injury to the left arm. Fierro had been a
barber for some 27 years. Fierro’s
application was administratively denied by
both state and federal agencies. Fierro

then asked for a de novo hearing before an

administrative law judge (ALJ). The
latter, after hearing, rendered a decision
in favor of Fierro and granted him the
benefits sought. Thereafter, the Appeals
Council vacated the ALJ*s decision, and
remanded the case to the ALJ with
direction that there be a pshychiatric
evaluation and psychological testing
followed by further hearings on the case.

On rehearing, at which time Fierro and his

rey

attorney appeared, the ALJ, after taking
additional testimony, again found for
Fierro and granted him the requested
benefits. The Appeals Council thereafter
reviewed the ALJ*s second decision in the
matter and then issued its own decision
that Fierro was not disabled within the
meaning of the Social Security Act and,
accordingly, denied the application. The
decision of the Appeals Board became the
final decision of the Secretary from which
Fierro sought judicial review.!

We must first decide whether we

are going to initially review the decision

of the ALJ and determine whether it is

1 The Social Security Act provides that
federal courts may review the “final
decision” of the Secretary. 42 U.S.C.
Section 405(g). Pursuant to the
Secretary s rulemaking authority under 42
U.S.C. Section 405(a), the Appeals Council
has become the final decision-making body.
See 20 C.F.R. Section 404.9088 (1985).

< ill
yy

supported by substantial evidence, or, by*
pass the ALJ*s decison and proceed to a

consideration of whether the Secretary's
decison is supported by substantial
evidence.” In this regard, Fierro, the
appellant, argues that under 28 C.F.R.
Section 404.970(a) the Appeals Council may
only review a decision of an ALJ if it
finds that one the four conditions

3

specified in the regulation exists. In

2 In our view, we are only concerned with
the ALJ*S second decison, which was
rejected by the Appeals Council. The
ALJ*s first decision was merely vacated,
and the case remanded for further hearing,
which was in fact held.

3 20 C.F.R. Section 404.970(a) provides:
The Appeals Council will review
a case if-+
(1) There appears to be an abuse
ofdiscretionbythe administraé
tive law judge;

(2) There is an error of law;
(3) The action, findings or
conclusions of the administra-
tive law judge are not
Supported by substantial
evidence; or

the instant case, says Fierro, the Appeal
Council indicated that it was reviewing
the ALJ*s decision because of a belief
that the ALJ*s action, findings, or
conclusions were not supported by
substantial evidence, and that, such being
the case, a review of the ALJ*s decision
to determine whether it is, in fact,
Supported by substantial evidence is
necessary in order to first determine
whether the Appeals Council had any power
Or authority to review the ALJ*s decision.
In thus arguing, Fierro relies on Scott v.
Heckier, 768 F.2d 172 (7th Cir. 1985);
Shepherd v. Secretary, 758 F.2d 196 (6th
Cir. 1985); and Parker v. Heckler, 763

F.2d 1363 (llth Cir. 1985).4

(4) There is a broad policy or
procedural issue that may affect
the general public interest.

4 We are advised that petitions for

&Oe

rehearing en banc were granted in both
Shepherd and Parker. As-.of the date of
this opinion, Shepherd has not been
decided by the en banc court, but Parker
has been decided and appears at 788 F.2d
1512 (Lith Cir. i986). The Eleventh
Circuit held en banc that where "the
Appeals Council reverses an ALJ*s decision
on its own motion, judicial review is
limited to determining whether the Appeals
Council*s decision is supported by
substantial evidence." 788 F.2d at 1519-
20.

In Scott, the Seventh Circuit held the
Secretary to its choice to exercise review
of the ALJ*s decision under 20 C.F.R.
Section 494.970(a) and therefore
determined that it had to decide as a
threshold matter whether the Secretary's
decision to conduct “own-motion" review
based on the condition that the ALJ award
was not supported by substantial evidence
was correct. 768 F.2d at 179. Ina later
case, Delong v. Heckler,, 771 F.2d 266
(7th Cir. 1985), however, the Seventh
Circuit recognized the broad power fo the
Secretary in making “own*motion"™ review
under Section 464.969. See our note 5
infra, The claimant in DeLong had sought
review under another section, and the
Seventh Circuit held that the Appeals
Council’s review and subsequent reversal
of the ALJ*s award of shortéterm benefits
waS proper even though the Council had not
sought review itself. "TF the Appeals
Council has, as it unquestionably does,
the power to review a grant of benefits on
its own initiative, it must have that

The Secretary argues that the Secretary,
who, unier the statutory scheme, has
delegated his authority in this regard to
the Appeals Council, makes, in a given
case, the “final and reviewable decision,"

and not the ALJ, citing, inter alia,

Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 766
(1975). Further, the Secretary argues

that the provisions of 2@ C.F.R. Section
404.978 (a) spell out when the Appeals
Council will review an ALJ decision, but
that such does not cut back on the
provisions of 20 C.F.R. Section 404.969,
which grants broad authority to the
Appeals Council, under certain time
limitations, to review any action of an

ALJ.> In support of its position, the

power in an appeal initiated by the
Claimant himself." 771 F.2d at 268.

> Section 404.969 provides in pertinent

4
Secretary relies on such cases as Kellough
v. Heckler, 785 F.2d 1147 (4th Cir. 1986);
Howard v. Heckler, 782 F.2d 1484 (9th Cir.
1986); Peylor ¥. Heckler, 765 F.2d 872,
875 (9th Cir. 1985); Lopez*+Cardona v,.
Secretary 747 F.2d 1681 (lst Cir. 1984);
Baker v. Heckler, 730 F.2d 1147 (8th Cir.
1984); and Beavers v. Secretary, 577 F.2d
383, 386 (6th Cir. 1978). The Secretary's
interpretation of its regulations is
reasonable in terms of the words of the
regulation and the purposes of the statute
and is therefore entitled to great
deference. E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co.
ve Collins, 432 U.S. 46, 54+55 (1977);
Baker v. Heckler, 730 F.2d 1147 1149

(1984).

part: Anytime within 6@ days after date
of a hearing decision or dismissal, the
Appeals Council itself may decide to
review the action that was taken.

+9e

We believe the Secretary*s
position on this procedural matter is the
preferable and correct one, and is

6 to

supported by the weight of authority.
hold that our task is to review the ALJ*s
decision and decide whether it is
supported by substantial evidence, and
ignore the Secretary's decision, is, ina
sense, allowing the tail to wag the dog.

A hearing before an ALJ is an intermediate

step, albeit an important one, in the

6 In addition to cases cited in text, see
Deters v. Secretary, 789 F.2d 1181 (5th
Cir. 1986); Lovejoy v. Heckler, 79@ F.2d
1114 (4th Cir. 1986); and Parker v. Bowen,
788 F.2d 1512 (Llth Cir. 1986). In White
v. Schweiker, 725 F.2d 91, 93#94 (10th
Cir. 1984), in a factual situation
different from that of the instant case,
this court recognized the Appeals
Council*s full power to substitute its
judgment for that of the ALJ, citing,
inter alia, Beavers v. Secretary, 577 F.2d
383 (6th Cir. 1978).

=l1¢@*

*
:

overall scheme set up by statute and
implementing regulations for the
disposition of applications for disability
benefits. The Social Security
Administration has hundreds of
administrative law judges deciding in the
aggregate hundreds of thousands of
disability cases a year. Review of ALJ
decisions under Section 404.969 is a means
to achieve critically needed consistency.
DeLong v. Heckler, 771 F.2d 266, 268 (7th

Circ. 1985).

In view of its overriding power to

review any decision of an ALJ, the fact

tnat the Appeals Council initially
assigned as its reason for review 286
C.F.R. Section 404.970 (a) (3) does not
mean that we first examine the ALJ° 5
decision and determine whether it is

Supported by substantial evidence. Si

48
~

-lle

in this regard, Lopez#*Cardona, 747 F.2d at
1683, where the First Circuit, after
noting that the Appeals Council had
initially referred to 20 C.F.R. Section
464.970 (a)(3), i.e., lack of substantial
evidence, as grounds for reviewing the
ALJ*s decision, went on to state that even
though it might later develop, on actual
review, that the ALJ*s decision was
Supported by substantial evidence, the
"Appeals Council did not violate its
regulations by initiating review." In
this same connection, see also Baker v.
Heckler, 730 F.2d at 1150, where the
Eighth Circuit commented as follows:
Secondly, Baker*s argument
overlooks the fact that the
decision by the Appeals Council to
Single out a given case for own-=
motion review necessarily occurs at
the beginning of the Appeals Council
process. The Council may believe

for example, that the case fits one
of the four categories listed in

-]2+

the regulations, but it may turn
out, after full examination, the
at this initial impression was
mistaken. We do not believe that
the Council is then required to
abandon its own review and to allow
the ALJ's decision to stand, even
when it has a definite and firm
conviction that the ALJ was mistaken.

The question of power to review
must, aS a practical matter, be
addressed and decided at a
preliminary state, not after the
review is completed, at a time when
a negative answer to the question
would render the whole review
process nugatory.

(Emphasis added). See also Razey v.

Heckler, 785 F.2d 1426, 1428+29 (9th Cir.

1986).

Being of the firm view that the task
of the judiciary in a situation of the
present sort is to review the decision of
the Secretary, and not that of the ALJ, we
proceed to consider whether the findings
of the Secretary are supported by

substantial evidence, which, if they are,

is, of course, conclusive on the matter.

-13

42 U.S.C. Section 405(g). Substantial

evidence has been defined as “such
relevant evidence as a reasonable mind
might accept as adequate to support a
conclusion.” Richardson v. Perales, 462
U.S. 389, 401 (1971); Teter v. Heckler,
775 F.2d 1104, 1105 (10th Cir. 1985).
However, where the Secretary, acting
through the Appeals Council, overturns a
decision of the ALJ granting benefits, and,
in so doing, differs with the ALJ*‘s
assessment of witness credibility, the
Secretary should fully articulate his
reasons for so doing, and then, with
heightened scrutiny, we must decide
whether such reasons find support in the
record, Webber v. Secretary, 784 F.2d
293, (8th Cir. 1986); Howard v. Heckler,
782 F. 2d at 1487; Lopez*®Cardona, 747 F.2d

at 1084.

+146

Our study of the administrative

record leads us to conclude that the
Secretary fully articulated his reasons
for Ae ee ALJ and that such are
supported by the record. Fierro’s claim
of disability is based on his own
testimony and the testimony of his
personal physician, the latter testifying
that Fierro was totally and permanently
disabled. Fierro’s subjective complaint
of pain is by itself insufficient to
establish disability. See 42 U.S.C.
Section 423 (d) (5) (a); 20 C.F.R. Section
404.1529; Taylor v. Heckler, 765 f.2d 872,
See “eee Ci. 1985). In rejecting the
testimony of Fierro’s doctor, the Appeals
Council, in a commendably detailed
explanation, noted, inter alia, that
clinical testing simply did not

corroborate the doctor’s opinion of total

~15*

AVAILABLE COPY ji)

and permanent disability and that
testimony of an orthopedic surgeon, a
neurologist, a clinical psychologist, and
a caviehi act iat. each of whom personally
examined Fierro, was, essentially, at odds
with the testimony of Fierro and his
doctor. The combined testimony of these
other doctors supports the conclusion that
Fierro was not capable of “at least light
level work activity," which includes
barbering. In this regard, and by way of
example only, the clinical psychologist
testified that if Fierro is compensated
for his claimed disability, it will become
a “way of life."

Judgment affirmed.

~166

ote

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

No. 838&7098JB

DANIEL L. FIERRO,
AT
Plaintiff, ALBUQUERQUE

Ve SEP 18, 1985

MARGARET M. HECKLER, Secretary,
Department of Health and Human
Services,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This is an action pursuant to 42
U.S.C. Section 4085(g) to review the final
decision of the Secretary of Health and
Human Services that plaintiff is not
entitled to disability benefits under
Title II of the Social Security Act, 42
i.8.C. Section €161(1) 2nGg 423, ene
Supplemental security income benefits

based on disability under Title XVI of the

1 Defendant

act, 42 U.S.C. Section 1381la.
filed a Motion to Affirm Administrative
Agency Decision with supporting
memorandum, Plaintiff filed an opposing
memorandum,

Plaintiff applied for disability
benefits on October 6, 19880 alleging he
became disabled on August 36, 1980 because
of a neck injury and an injury to his left
arm. Plaintiffs application was denied
both initially and upon reconsideration at
the administrative level. Plaintiff
requested a de novo hearing before an

Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). A hearing

was held, and on January 19, 1982 the ALJ

lall citations to regulations will be to
the reguiations for disability
determinations under Title i:
Supplemental security income regulations
tract the language of the disability
regulations verbatim, so the parallel
citations will not be given.

21864

rendered a decision finding Plaintiff to
Ebe disabled. (R. 153854.) This decision
was apparently rejected by the Appeals
Council, and the case was remanded to the
ALJ for further consideration. A second
hearing was held, and the ALJ again issued
a favorable decision. (R. 18824). On
April 14, 1983 the Appeals Council
reviewed the decision on its own motion,
see 26 C.F.R. Section 404.969 (1984) and
reversed the ALJ*s decision. Plaintiff
then filed this action seeking judicial
review of the Secretary's decision.
Plaintiff°s first allegation of error
is that the record before the Court is
incomplete, which precluded adequate

judicial review. The following documents

2The Appeals Council’s rejection of that
decision is not in the record before this
ECourt. (R. 182.)

F196

are not inlcuded in the record on appeal:
Plaintiffs application for Supplemental
Security Income, the first notice to
Plaintiff denying disability benefits, two
preliminary disability determinations and
the Appeals Council*s remand order dated
March 1424 :1982. (RsOcy Ax) Plaintiff
contends that the record is inadequate to
determine whether the administrative
proceedings were conducted in accordance
with the applicable regulations, and cites
Bailey v. Heckler, 576 F.Supp. 621 (D.
D.C. 1984) as support for this
proposition. In Bailey the district court
found that judicial review was impossible
because the record was incomplete
regarding a determinative fact,
Plaintiff*\s educational level. The
portion of the hearing transcript where

the claimant discussed his ability to read

820%

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

and write were inaudible. Id. at 6228623.
‘That is not the case in the action before
this Court. The complete hearing
transcript and all of the medical evidence
are in the record. Although several
administrative documents are not in the
record, these are not necessary to the
Court's review. Perhaps the most
important document not included in the
record is the Appeals Council’s remand
order, but even that is not necessary,
because the Court has before it the
Appeals Council*s final decision, and the
ALJ*s decision which was reviewed by the
Appeals Council. Although the Court does
not condone the Secretary's loss of these
documents, in this instance a review on
the merits if not precluded.

The medical evidence can be

Summarized as follows. Plaintiffs

2216

treating physician, Dr. Rodriguez, first

treated Plaintiff in February 19886.

Plaintiff was admitted to a hospital in
September 1988 for back pain, cervical
Strain and migraine headaches. An
examination by Dr. Rodriguez revealed
tenderness and pain in Plaintiff*s neck
and spine. (R. 81481). A lumbar spine
series Yrevealed degenerative disc
narrowing between L445 and L58S1, an old
avulsion fracture at L4, and mild to

moderate spondylosis”

of the lumbar spine.
(R. 86.) Plaintiff was treated
conservatively and did very well.

In October 1980, Dr. Rodriguez

reported that Plaintiff*s condition was

the same, with continued neck and lower

3pegenerative joint disease affecting the
lumber vertebrae and disks, causing pain
and stiffness. Doralnd*s Medical
Dictionary at 1239 (26th ed. 1981)

#226

, itil

» BEST AVAILABLE COPY

spine pain, stress ulcer syndrome,
gastroduodenitis, acute anxiety reaction
and depression. (R. 91892.)

Plaintiff was admitted to the
hospital in April 1981 for migraine

headaches and breast pain. He was treated

| conservatively with good results. (R. 98)

While Plaintiff was hospitalized, a
consultative examination was performed by
Dr. Bieganowski. Plaintiff had a full
range of neck motion without pain,
although there was tenderness in the area.
A motor examination was normal, with full
strength in all muscle groups. Based on
these findings Dr. Bieganowski diagnosed

4

cervical myositis and recommended

electromyograms and nerve conduction

4Inflammation of a voluntary muscle.
Dorland*s Medical Dictionary at 863 (26th
ed. 1981).

e236

studies of the neck. He noted that
Plaintiff had little intention of
returning to work, except possibly part®
time, and Plaintiff*‘s illness was
therefore thought to be difficult to
treat. (R. 1018103.) The day after Dr.
Bieganowski*S consultation, the
recommended electrodiagnostic study of
Plaintiff*s upper extremities, shoulder
girdles and neck was performed, and the
results were normal, (R. 118), as were
motor nerve conduction studies. (R.119826.)

In June 1981, Dr. Rodriguez stated
that Plaintiff‘s medical problems had not
improved, that he had local neck pain and
joint pain, but that there were “no
definite stiff joints or deformed joints
to any degree." Dr. Rodriguez stated that
Plaintiff is totally and permanently

disabled. (R. 96.)

#248

Plaintiff was hospitalized once again
Bin April 1982, complaining of neck and
/ lower back pain, with numbness in his arms
and legs. Plaintiff was found to have
cervical strain and osteoarthritis. He
was given medications and physical therapy
and released after improvement. (R. 121,
132.)

In January 1983 Dr. Rodriguez
reported that Plaintiff has a great deal
of pain and muscle spasm upon flexion and
extension of his trunk. Dr. Rodriguez
Stated that he believes Plaintiff has a
serious illness even though the EMG and X#
rays results have been negative. (R. 149.)

Plaintiff was examined by Dr.
Boggiano, an orthopedic surgeon, in
December 1988. Dr. Boggiano stated that
in answering questions about all of the

Systems of his body, Plaintiff had

e256

complaints of problems with every system.
Dr. Boggiano’s examination revealed that
Plaintiff was not in pain, and that
although he wore a cervical collar to the
office, he didn’t need it. Dr. Boggiano
stated that when Plaintifé undressed and
dressed himself, he moved his spine
perfectly with no signs of pain or
weakness. Plaintiff had an excellent and
asymtomatic range of motion of the
cervical dorsolumbar spine. There was no
tenderness over the spinous processes, and
no paravetebral muscle spasm. Plaintiff
had full range of motion of all of the
joints of his upper body. There were no
signs of atrophy, his grips were strong,
and the motor, sensory and reflex tests
were all normal. Upon examination of the

lower extremities Dr. Boggiano noted a

2268

Yslight genu valgus.” Plaintiff walked
Buitn a normal step, could squat and could
Dies tocn the straight legs raising test.
There were no signs of atrophy. X4rays of
the cervical spine showed spondylophytes
on the anterior borders of the lower
cervical vertebrae, which Dr. Boggiano
feels is “a very common condition at this
age." (R. 89.) The intervertebral discs,
facets, pedicles and vetebral bodies were
all within normal limits. Dr. Boggiano
diagnosed multiple symptoms of functional®
Origin, and an asymptomatic cervical and
lumbar spine which radiologically exhibits

spondylophytes. Dr. Boggiano concluded

that Plaintiff could perform a manual type

>Knock#knee. Dorland*s Medical Dictionary
at 547 (26th ed. 1981).

®saia of disburbaces of function with no
detectable organic cause. Id. at 531.

w278

of work for eight hours a day, including
his past relevant work as a barber. Dr.
Boggiano strongly recommended that
Plaintiff be seen by a psychiatrist. (R.
88689.) Plaintiff was evaluated by a
psychologist and a nauvehtesulin in April
1982. Br. Curtie, a clinical
psychologist, noted that Plaintiff did not
appear depressed or anxious, although his
affect was quite flat generally.
Plaintiff*‘s concentration was poor, his
abstract thinking was impaired, and he had
a generalized perceptual deficit. Dr.
Curtis noted that none of these deficits
are significant handicaps for working.
Regarding Plaintiff*s complaints of pain
Dr. Curtis stated the following:
However, the Rorschach is
essentially normal, and we
certainly cannot confirm the
presence of any type of

mental process disorder in
thinking. He is fairly open

e288

on his Rorschach, and this is
unusual for a man with as
many somatic complaints as he
has. This Rorschack really
raises the question of #* Are
all of these complaints based
upon real pain or it there
some exaggeration or
malingering?

Certainly, I can say with

pretty sound evidence that he

is not disabled by any major

psychological disorder.

Dr. Curtis went on to say that if
‘Plaintiff is not compensated, his pain
‘will become a way of life for him.
Plaintiff was thought to be capable of
doing any number of jobs. Dr. Curtis”

Final diagnosis was psychogenic’

pain
Dr. McCann, a psychiatrist, also

examined Plaintiff in April 1982. Bf.

THaving an emotional or psychologic
Origin, as opposed to an organic basis.
Dorland*s Medical Dictionary at 1091 (26th
ed. 1981).

e296

BEST AVAIL

McCann noted that Plaintiff wore a neck

collar during the interview and appeared
to be in a mild degree of discomfort.
There appeared to be a mild restriction of
Plaintiff*s daily activities. There was
no evidence of jenetiakie depression or a
basic thinking disorder. Dr. McCann
concluded that Plaintiff*s psychiatric
examination was within normal limits,

Plaintiff testified at the hearing
that he can’t move his body suddenly
without dizziness and nausea and that he
has lower back and neck pain. He cant
sit or stand for long periods and he can‘t
litt heavy objects. (R. 45649.)

The limited function of this Court on
judicial review under 42 U.S.C. Section
485(g) is to determine whether there is
substantial evidence in the record, taken

as a whole, to support the findings and

& 30%

ABLE COPY

ecisions of the Secretary. Hedge v.

Richardson, 458 F.2d 1665 (16th Cir.

0 a ae

1972). If supported by substantial
evidence, the Secretary's findings are
conclusive and must be affirmed,
Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389
(1971). Substantial evidence is more than
a scintialla and is relevant evidence
which a reasonable mind might accept as
adequate to support a conclusion, Id.

The burden is on Plaintiff to prove
his disability by establishing an
impairment which lasts at least twelve
months and prevents him from engaging in
Substantial gainful activity. 20 C.F.R.
Section 404.1505 (1984); Valentine v.
Richardson, 468 F.2d 588 (1@th Cir. 1972).
However, once a claimant shows he is not
able to perform his past relevant work,

the burden shifts to the Secretary to show

B31e

the claimant has the residual ability to
do some other types of work. Kelback v.
Harris, 634 F.2d 1304 (10th Cir. 1980).

The Secretary’s conclusion that
Plaintiff is not disabled is based on the
finding that Plaintiff can perform his
past relevant work as a barber, which
requires continuous standing and minimai
lifting. (2. £3, @702 Chee dtice:
contrary to Plaintiff*s assertions, the
burden never shifted to the Secretary, but
remained on the Plaintiff to prove his
disability. If the Secretary*’s conclusion
that Plaintiff can perform the work of a
barber is supported by substantial
evidence this Court is bound by that
Finding. Byron v. Heckler, 1232, 1234
(106th Cir. 1984).

This Court does find substantial

evidence in the record to support the

e328

Cp ee? ee, —

Secretary’ s findings, in spite of the fact

Mthat, as Plaintiff points out, a
" Plaintiff*s treating physician's testimony
“must be accorded substantial weight.
Byron v. Heckler, 742 F.2d at 1235. In

this case the Appeals Council complied

c

3 with the requirement of Byron that “{i}f
~ the opinion of the claimants physician is

- to be disregarded, specific legitimate

reasons for this action must be set
forth." Id. (citation omitted). The
Appeals Council*s opinion contains the
following passage indicating its reasons
for disregarding Dr. Rodriguez opinion.

There is a stark contrast
present in the severity of
the fingings reported by
neurologist Bieganowski and
orthopedist Boggiano with
regard to the claimants
musculoskeletal impairment.
Dr. Rodriguez*s reports,
covering the period from
September 1986 through
January 1983, consistently

2332

mentions the presence of
acute neck pain, severe
muscle spasm and unspecified
amounts of motion loss.
Contrastingly {sic}, Dr.-:
Boggiano, who is a Boardé
certified octhopedist,
diagnosed multiple symptoms
of functional origin and an
asymptomatic cervical and
lumbar spine. Dr. Boggiano’s
report details a very
complete examination of the
claimant, whereas Dr.
Rodriguez’s reports contain
Few clinical findings in
support of the multiple
diagnoses he has rendered.
Dr. Bieganowski, who examined
the claimant at Of «
Rodriguez s request on April
ee 2 Lai reported no
significant motor, sensory,
or reflexive abnormalities.
He did note tenderness upon
palpation of the claimants
cervical occipital region and
some pain upon full extention
of the claimant’s neck,
however, neither Dr.
Bieganowski*s nor Dr.
Boggiano’s reports detail an
impairment nearly as severe
as that described in the
reports from Dr. Rodriguez.

X#®ray examinations have shown
the presence of moderate
osteoarthritis in the
claimant*s cervical and

&34¢

s Sc is ait i i daa a :

! , eke eee Di ie alg Tr : :

Ae aac oo pie oe) Et eg NEN oS RR ge
Ca ~ SAAS. E EZ Ded Whee REE Oe ed ce eee

:

(R.

lumbosacral spine. Electroe
myographic and nerve
conduction velocity studies
have been negative. These
studies corroborate more
closely the findings of Dr.
Boggiano than those of Dr.
Rodriguez. Dr. Rodriguez has
repeatedly stated that the
claimant is permanently
incapable of any work
activity. Said opinion has
not been lightly regarded by
the Council and could be
controlling ina given case,
However, the weight to be
accorded Dr. Rodriguez’s
opinion must be determined by
the extent to which his
opinion is supported by
specific clinical and
laboratory findings. In this
case, Dr. Rodriguez’s reports
are not well documented with
such findings. He describes
an impairment which is much
more severe than that
indicated by laboratory
studies and by other
physician’s of record. The
Appeals Council believes that
the opinion of Dr. Rodriguez
is contraverted by evidence
from other sources which is
more persuaSive as to the
true ability of the claimant
to perform work#trelated
functions,

11#12)

&35¢

This Court must not weigh the
evidence, and can not substitute its
discretion for that of the agency.
Broadbent v. Harris, 698 F.2d 407, 414
(16th Cir. 1983); Cagle v. Califano, 638
F.2d 219 (1@th Cir. 1981). The Appeals
Council properly weighed the conflicting
evidence, giving specific and legitimate
reasons for not according controlling
weight to Dr. Rodriguez opinions, and its
conclusion will not be disturbed by this

Court.8

Splaintifé States in his argument that an
independent, objective medical examination
upon his hospitalization in 1982 showed
that Plaintiff was in chronic distress,
with marked limitation of motion,
Plaintiff's Memorandum at 9, filed June
17, 1985. A review of the record at the
page indicated by Plaintiff reveals that
the examination report quoted by Plaintiff
was completed by Dr, Rodriguez,
Plaintiff*s treating physician, not by an
independent physician as asserted by
Plaintiff.

=368

Plaintiff contends that the Appeals

Council erred by ignoring the physicians

Sreports favorable to Plaintiff and
Plaintiff°s complaints of pain. Plaintiff
also alleges error in the Aogopeals

Council*s rejection of the ALJ*s findings
that Plaintiff°s complaints of pain are

; credible.

! Plaintiff°s contentions are not well

taken. The ALJ did not specifically Find

3 that Plaintiff€*s complaints of pain were

credible. The ALJ stated that Plaintiff*s

psychogenic pain disorder “is not of a

; severe nature and therefore it does not

Significantly affect his maximum sustained

work capability." (R. 23.) The ALJ went

on to find that Plaintiff is unable to

pies ta re.

perform sedentary work because of his
Physical condition only. (Id.) In light

of these findings the Court does not agree

e374

that the Appeals Council rejected the
ALJ*s findings that Plaintiff£*s complaints
of pain were credible.

The Appeals Council did consider the
physician’s reports that were favorable to
Plaintiff, as reflected in the passage
quoted at pp. 9 and 10 of this Opinion,
supra, and also considered Plaintiff*s
complaints of pain, as shown by the
following passage.

In concluding that the
claimant has the residual
capacity for light work
activity, the Appeals Council
does not wish to minimize the
factor of pain and its effect
on the claimant*s ability to
function, The claimant has
consistently alleged dis#®
abling pain, yet on December
2, 1980, he told Dr. Boggiano
that he prepares breakfast
for his children, cuts theirc
hair, works in his yard,
drives his car and shops. He
does jumping*jacks and walks
several miles per day. These
activities are not consistent
with the claimants
allegation of disabling pain

#386

ee

and would not be inconsistent
with the Council*s contention
that the claimant retains the
ability to perform light work
activity. Some pain
medication as detailed in
Exhibit 27 ¢ has been
prescribed by Dr. Rodriguez,
however, the type and dosages
and medications would not be
expected to significantly
interfere with the claimant's
ability to perform work+
related functions, Further,
the claimant has not alleged
any untoward side#fteffects
from his medications, The
report of Dr. Boggian»
indicates that many of the
claimant's complaints may be
functional in nature, Ne.
Curtis” report raises a
distinct possibility that the
" claimant may be exaggerating
his somatic complaints. In
view of the foregoing, the
Council has concluded that
the claimant’s pain does not
Significantly diminish his
Capacity to pecform light
work activity.

NTE ye hy

(R. 12+#13.) These findings are supported
by Substantial evidence.
Plaintiff€*s last assertion of error

is that the Secretary improperly applied

ee

2398

the. “area. The grids are medical

vocational guidelines used by the
Secretary to assist in the determination
of social security claims. The guidelines
are only used, however, if the Secretary
determines that a claimant cannot perform
his past relevant work. 20 C.F.R. Section
404.1426(a) & (e). The Secretary found
that Plaintiff can perform his past
relevant work as a barber, (R. 13.), and
did not apply the grids to Plaintiff*s
claim. Plaintiff€*s contention that the
Secretary improperly applied the grids is
not well taken.

Based upon the record as a whole, the
Court finds that the Secretary's decision
1S supported by substantial evidence, and

will be affirmed,

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

-40#

Mv: Swit? 4,5
—

Ae EA

; attorneys

RAY

Petitioners

cectify

Petition,

CERTIFICATE

States Supreme Court, do hereby
that on this 19th day of November,
served a copy of the foregoing
by mail, postaye prepaid to tne

of record herein for all parties:

Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, DC 205386

Karen J. Behner, Asst. Reg.
Counsel Office of the General
Counsel Dept. of Health & Human
Services

1206 Main Tower, Room 13340
Dallas, TX 75202

SH~(

RAY LEWIS FULLER

LEWIS FULLER, an attorney for

and a member of the Bar of the

CERTIFICATE
I, RAY LEWIS PULLER, an attorney for
Petitioner and a member of the Bar of the
United States Supreme Court, do hereby
certify that on this 5th day of December,
1986, I served a copy of the foregoing
supplemented Petition, by mail, postage
prepaid to the attorneys of record herein
for all parties:
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, DC 26536
Karen J. Behner, Asst. Reg.
Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Dept. of Health & Human
Services

1200 Main Tower, Room 13306
Dallas, TX 75262

RAY LEWIS FULLER

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2485%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
