# Opposition Brief — Hayes v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2398%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 1086

## Text

FILED

(6) Supreme Court, U.S, 4
o :

In the Supreme Court of the

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

JUDE R. HAYES, PETITIONER -
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

WILLIAM F. WELD
Assistant Attorney General

DEBORAH WATSON
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(212) 633-2217

\WA

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether warrants that authorized the search of peti-
tioner’s medical offices for records documenting the pur-
chasing, dispensing and prescribing of controlled
substances were overbroad under the Fourth Amendment.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ers ee win G's bun wd ¥ bas nea nd ew aes an l
ee a gen wc ke suls hucssesesess l
EO, Gt ea l
eT aah ad wk Wig nde bks ¢av 5344 6456 > 6 34 0 7
ee Des cg odes ban aeavesbass 12
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES:

Cases:

Andresen v. Maryland, 427 U.S. 463 (1976) ............ 44-81

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971) ....... 7

Grand Jury Proceedings, In re, 716 F.2d 493 (1983) ..... 2

Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983) .................. oi:

National City Trading Corp. v. United States, 635 F.2d

re ee ay wrk x die ane cus 8
United States v. Abrams, 615 F.2d 541 (1st Cir. 1980) .... 10
United States v. Brien, 617 F.2d 299 (1st Cir.), cert.

OT 8,9
United States v. Bright, 630 F.2d 804 (Sth Cir. 1980) ..... 7
United States v. Cardwell, 680 F.2d 75 (9th Cir. 1982) ... 1}
United States v. Ellison, 793 F.2d 942 (8th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, No. 86-5484 (Nov. 3, 1986) ............. 9
United States v. Faul, 748 F.2d 1204 (8th Cir. 1984),

Geen, anes, @ 72 Um. Wes C1985) .................. 11
United States v. Hillyard, 677 F.2d 1336 (9th Cir. 1982) .. 8
United States v. Kail, 804 F.2d 441 (8th Cir. 1986) ....... 7
United States v. Lamport, 787 F.2d 474 (10th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, No. 85-7219 (Oct. 6, 1986) ............. y
United States v. McClintock, 748 F.2d 1278 (9th Cir.

1984), cert. denied, No. 84-1883 (Oct. 7, 1985) ........ 8
United States v. McQuisten, 795 F.2d 858 (9th Cir.

Ne Reh ee ek ke gb Ke y
United States v. Offices Known as 50 State Distributing

Co., 708 F.2d 1371 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465

re why pig ely b-ad wa 4 es os 8
United States v. Sawyer, 799 F.2d 1494 (11th Cir.

Sota dra MIRE CR ea 8

IV

Cases — Continued:
United States v. Travisano, 724 F.2d 341 (2d Cir. 1983) ..
United States v. Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102 (1965) .........
Voss v. Bergsgaard, 774 F.2d 402 (10th Cir. 1985) ......

Constitution and statute:

Bhs ME POCO Son ccs lt acs coh a ee ate ok
Be rc Ie ss he aoc os a cee oe ee

Page

OO O

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 86-848
JUDE R. HAYES, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 79-116)
is reported at 794 F.2d 1348. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 28-78) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 9, 1986. A petition for rehearing was denied on Oc-
tober 1, 1986 (Pet. App. 117-118). The petition for a writ
of certiorari was filed on November 24, 1986. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida, petitioner was con-
victed on 281 counts of unlawfully dispensing controlled
substances, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1).' Petitioner

' Petitioner was charged with 640 counts of unlawful distribution of
controlled substances. The jury acquitted petitioner on eight counts,

(1)

2

was sentenced to three years’ imprisonment, a $100,000
fine, a special parole term of three years, and a con-
secutive term of three years’ probation. The court of ap-
peals affirmed (Pet. App. 79-116).

1. On July 28, 1982, the government secured warrants
to search petitioner’s medical offices in Farmersville,
Ivanhoe, and Porterville, California. In support of the
warrants, the government submitted the affidavit of Craig
C. Winstead, a Special Agent with the California Bureau
of Narcotic Enforcement, together with several at-
-tachments. Agent Winstead’s affidavit recited, at the
outset, that one of petitioner’s patients had told a Bureau
of Narcotics Enforcement agent that petitioner had
prescribed Dilaudid, Percodan, and Demerol for him
without a prior physical examination. As a result of the
prescriptions, the affidavit stated, the patient had become
addicted to Percodan. An examination of triplicate
prescriptions filed with the Bureau of Narcotics Enforce-
ment confirmed that petitioner had prescribed those drugs
for the patient (Winstead Aff. at 1).

Thereafter, the affidavit reported, a deputy from the
Tulare County Sheriff's Department, acting in an under-
cover capacity, went five separate times to petitioner’s
Porterville office and requested prescriptions for Per-
codan. On the first visit, petitioner issued a prescription
for another drug, Vicodin, without performing a physical
examination and in the absence of any medical indication
for the drug. Later the same month, and on three separate
occasions thereafter, the undercover deputy again re-
quested Percodan prescript: «s. Each time petitioner
issued the requested prescription without performing a

and it was unable to reach a verdict on 274 counts. Prior to trial, the
government moved to dismiss 77 of the counts. Following trial, the
government moved to dismiss the 274 counts on which the jury could
not reach a verdict.

physical examination, and in the absence of any indicated
medical need for the drug. Winstead Aff. at 1-3.?

According to the affidavit, the California Bureau of
Narcotic Enforcement subsequently gathered from its files
copies of prescriptions for Schedule II drugs issued by
petitioner and filled by pharmacies between February and
September 1981. Authorities also secured from 15 phar-
macies in Tulare County an additional 5,211 prescriptions
issued by petitioner for controlled substances. Froin inose
records, investigators developed 75 patient profiles. For
each profiled patient, the investigators indicated the quan-
tities of drugs prescribed and the frequency with which
prescriptions had been issued. The investigators then sent .
the profiles to a medical consultant. The consultant con-
cluded that it was “highly probable” that in 58 of the 75
profiled cases petitioner had “caused, abetted, or pro-
longed addi[cjtion or habituation to controlled sub-
stances.” Winstead Aff. at 3-4.

The affidavit further recited that federal agents had
learned from petitioner’s Porterville receptionist that half
of petitioner’s patients were either present or former
heroin addicts; that petitioner had in the past run a
methadone clinic in Tulare County and was presently
treating some of his former patients from that clinic; and
that petitioner operated offices in Ivanhoe and Farmers-

2 During the deputy’s visit to petitioner’s office in October 1981,
petitioner inquired whether she had located her X-rays. When she said
that she had not, petitioner said that he did not need them. He then
filled out a prescription for Percodan while at the same time taking a
phone call from his bookkeeper. The next month, petitioner pre-
scribed more Percodan after inquiring whether the deputy had any
“serious problems” and learning that she had none. Finally, in
December 1981, the deputy told petitioner that she could not afford to
have X-rays taken. Petitioner said that this was “okay” but that the
deputy would have to get some X-rays because petitioner needed
documentation to justify to state authorities his prescription of
Schedule II narcotics. See Exhs. C, D, and E to the Winstead af-
fidavit.

4

ville, as well as Porterville, and that he employed other
doctors at those offices. The affidavit also noted that
while agents were checking prescriptions written by peti-
tioner, they discovered several prescriptions for Schedule
II drugs that had been issued by doctors working for peti-
tioner at his various offices; the medical consultant con-
cluded that some of those prescriptions had been written
for patients whom the consultant determined to be ad-
dicted to controlled substances. Winstead Aff. at 4-5.

Based on the affidavit, the magistrate issued warrants to
search each of petitioner’s offices. The warrants author-
ized the agents to search for and seize the following items
(Pet. App. 99 (footnote omitted)):

(1) demerol (mependine), morphine sulfate and other
controlled substance[s]; (2) all records which docu-
ment the purchasing, dispensing and prescribing of
controlled substances, including, but not limited to,
records contained in patient charts and all relevant
records required to be maintained by Title 21 of the
Code of Federal Regulations, Part 1300 to end and
Sections 11190 and 11191 of the California Health and
Safety Code; (3) patient logs, appointment books and
other records and ledgers reflecting distribution of
controlled substances[]; (4) correspondence concern-
ing the procuring, transferring, administering,
prescribing or dispensing of controlled substances by
[petitioner]; all of which constitute evidence of possi-
ble violations of 21 USC. 84l{a)(1) and 21 USC
843(a)(3).

On July 29, 1982, agents and other officers executed the

three warrants (Pet. App. 29).

3 In two of the warrants, that provision read: “patient logs, ap-
pointment books and other records and ledgers reflecting patient visits
to [petitioner] or his employees, constituting evidence of illegal
distribution of controlled substance.”

2. Petitioner thereafter instituted a civil action for the
return of the records, claiming, inter alia, that the search
warrants were unconstitutionally overbroad. The district
court held that while there was probable cause to issue a
search warrant, the warrants issued here were too broad
(Pet. App. 23). The court therefore ordered that the seized
records be returned unless petitioner was indicted by
February 1, 1983 (Pet. App. 27).

Petitioner was indicted on January 28, 1983 (Pet. App.
81). Prior to trial he moved, before a different district
judge, to suppress the evidence seized on July 29. The
district court held an extensive suppression hearing, and
on September 28, 1983, the court denied petitioner’s mo-
tion (Pet. App. 28-78).* The court held, first, that the war-
rants did not, as petitioner contended, authorize the
seizure of all patient records, but rather limited the agents
to records reflecting the prescription or distribution of
controlled substances (Pet. App. 53-54). The court further
held that it was not necessary to confine the warrants, as
petitioner contended (Pet. App. 53), to the 58 profiles
specified in the affidavit (Pet. App. 54). To the contrary,
the court agreed (ibid.) that “[t]he affidavit establishes
probable cause to believe that files other than those set
_forth in the affidavit would contain evidence of unlawful
prescriptions of controlled substances.” The court also
observed (ibid.) that “[i]t would defy common sense to
conclude that probable cause was limited solely to the
records specifically referred to in the search warrant af-
fidavit because of the inferences which may be drawn that
defendant was prescribing controlled substances in viola-
tion of law over a period of several months at least and to
many people.” Finally, the district court concluded (Pet.

* Petitioner did not contend at the hearing that the judgment in the
prior civil action estopped the government from contesting his motion
to suppress (Pet. App. 81-82).

6

App. 55-64) that any lack of particularity in the warrants
was cured by the affidavits submitted in support of the
warrants and, in any event, that a more precise description
of the items to be seized was not possible.

3. The court of appeals affirmed by a divided vote
(Pet. App. 79-104). The court agreed with petitioner that
because the affidavit had not been attached to the war-
rants, it could not be considered in determining whether
the warrants were overbroad (Pet. App. 97-98). The court
concluded, however, that the affidavit established suffi-
cient probable cause to justify the search and seizure of a
large volume of records (Pet. App. 99-101). In particular,
the court held (Pet. App. 102-103) that the warrants need
not have been limited to the 58 profiled patients identified
by the medical examiner. “Such a conclusion,” the court
observed (Pet. App. 103), “ignores the magistrate’s find-
ing, unchallenged on appeal, of probable cause to seize all
documents concerning controlled substances.” Finally, the
court rejected (Pet. App. 101-102) petitioner’s claim that
the warrants failed to provide standards for determining
which files could properly be seized. The court noted (Pet.
App. 101) that the warrants limited the seizure solely to
those documents that reflected the distribution of con-
trolled substances.°®

Judge Pregerson dissented (Pet. App. 105-116). In his
view, the warrant should have been restricted to the 58 pa-
tients and drugs expressly identified in the affidavits (Pet.
App. 110-111). Judge Pregerson also believed that the
warrants covering the Farmersville and Porterville offices

> The court also rejected several other challenges to the search and
seizure, which are not presented by the petition. Pet. App. 32-53,
65-78.

© The court also rejected various challenges to the tria’ court’s in-
Structions to the jury (Pet. App. 82-95). Petitioner does not renew
these challenges in the petition.

| 7

were improper, in that they purportedly required the
agents to determine whether an item was evidence of a nar-
cotics violation before the item could be seized (Pet. App.
107-109).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 8-13) that the warrants
were overbroad and should have been limited to the files
of the 58 patients whom the medical consultant found to
have received excessive prescriptions of Schedule II drugs.
The court of appeals properly rejected this claim.

The Fourth Amendment particularity requirement is
designed to prevent “ ‘general, e®ploratory rummaging in
a person’s belongings.’ ” Andresen v. Maryland, 427 U.S.
463, 480 (1976) (quoting Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403
U.S. 443, 467 (1971)). But where the underlying affidavit
establishes sufficiently broad probable cause, the warrant
may authorize a comparably broad search and seizure. For
example, in United States v. Bright, 630 F.2d 804 (Sth Cir.
1980), the defendant contended that a search warrant
should have been limited to currency bearing particular
serial numbers, in view of the fact that the government
knew before the search that currency with those serial
numbers would be found in the defendant’s house. Reject-
ing that contention, the Fifth Circuit held that because the
government had established probable cause to search for
more than those specific bills, the warrant was entitled to
encompass all currency in the defendant’s possession. 630
F.2d at 811-812.

More recently, the Eighth Circuit made the same point
in United States v. Kail, 804 F.2d 441 (1986). There, the
court upheld a warrant that permitted the seizure of
“almost all of the [defendant’s}] business records.” The
court reasoned that “there was probable cause to believe
that fraud permeated the entire business operation.” 804
F.2d at 445.

a

8

The First Circuit took the same view in United States v.
Brien, 617 F.2d 299, cert. denied, 446 U.S. 919 (1980). In
that case the court of appeals approved a warrant that
concededly covered most of the defendant’s business
records (617 F.2d at 306). The court determined that the
affidavit in support of the warrants showed that the de-
fendant’s fraud was “so extensive as to justify a belief by
the magistrate that all these documents were likely to con-
stitute evidence of the crimes under investigation” (ibid.).
Like petitioner, the defendant in Brien contended that the
warrant should have been limited to the particular
customers about whom the authorities had specific infor-
mation. The First Circuit rejected that claim, noting (id. at
307-308) that there was a sufficient basis to believe that the
defendant had engaged in similar practices with his other
customers. Accord United States v. Sawyer, 799 F.2d
1494, 1508 (11th Cir. 1986) (holding that evidence of per-
vasive fraud justified a warrant that was not limited to the
25 transactions specified in the affidavit); United States v.
McClintock, 748 F.2d 1278 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,
No. 84-1883 (Oct. 7, 1985); United States v. Offices
Known as 50 State Distributing Co., 708 F.2d 1371 (9th
Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1021 (1984); United
States v. Hillyard, 677 F.2d 1336 (9th Cir. 1982); National
City Trading Corp. v. United States, 635 F.2d 1020 (2d
Cir. 1980).

Here, the warrant (Pet. App. 99) confined the agents to
searching for and seizing only “documents dealing with the
distribution of controlled substances” (Pet. App. 101
(footnote omitted)). The court of appeals’ fact-bound
determination (Pet. App. 100-101, 102-103) that there was
ample probable cause to justify such a search is correct.’

” In assessing the sufficiency of probable cause this Court has made
it clear that the issuing magistrate is to “make a practical, com-
monsense decision whether, given all the circumstances set forth in the
affidavit before him, * * * there is a fair probability that contraband

ee

9

The affidavit did not simply disclose 58 discrete cases of
unwarranted narcotics distribution. Rather, the affidavit
showed — particularly in its description of the experience
of the undercover police officer —that petitioner routinely
dispensed controlled substances to patients on demand, in
the absence of the slightest indication of medical necessity.
Thus, the issuing magistrate was entitled to infer, as the
district court found (Pet. App. 54), that the 58 profiled
cases of illegal dispensing of controlled substances
represented merely “the tip of the iceberg” (United States
v. Brien, 617 F.2d at 308).

The court of appeals’ decision in this case is not in con-
flict with the decision of the Tenth Circuit in Voss v.
Bergsgaard, 774 F.2d 402 (1985). There, the affidavit sup-
porting the warrant alleged a scheme of tax fraud. The
bulk of the warrant, however, was not restricted to
evidence of tax fraud. Rather, it permitted the agents to
search for evidence of “any federal crime” (774 F.2d at
404-405). Thus, while the court agreed that a search may
properly embrace “all of an organization’s records,” the
evidence in Voss did not justify so broad a warrant (id. at
406). In the present case, by contrast, the warrant
authorized the seizure only of documents relating to the

or evidence of a crime will be found in a particular place.” //linois v.
Gates, 462 U.S. 213, 238 (1983). A reviewing court need only ensure
that the magistrate had a “substantial basis” for finding that probable
cause existed (id. at 238-239), bearing in mind that affidavits are to be
reviewed “in a commonsense and realistic fashion” (United States v.
Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102, 108-109 (1965)), and that the judgment of
the issuing magistrate is entitled to considerable deference (Ventresca,
380 U.S. at 109; United States v. McQuisten, 795 F.2d 858, 861 (9th
Cir. 1986); United States v. Ellison, 793 F.2d 942, 946 (8th Cir. 1986),
cert. denied, No. 86-5484 (Nov. 3, 1986); United States vy. Lamport,
787 F.2d 474, 476-477 (10th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, No. 85-7219
(Oct. 6, 1986); United States v. Travisano, 724 F.2d 341, 345 (2d Cir.
1983)).

10

purchasing, dispensing, and prescribing of controlled
substances — for which both of the lower courts concluded
that ample probable cause had been established.

Petitioner’s. reliance (Pet. 12-13) on United States v.
Abrams, 615 F.2d 541 (1st Cir. 1980), is equally mis-
placed. The court of appeals in that case held that a search
warrant that authorized the seizure of all of a doctor’s
medical records was overbroad. The court noted that the
warrant provided utterly “no description as to what
specific records are to be seized” (615 F.2d at 543). The
agents were thus free to seize all of the records on the
premises, and they did so (id. at 544). The court in Abrams
acknowledged that an affidavit that establishes that
“fraudulent practices were regularly pursued” could sup-
port “the seizure of all records of Medicare and Medicaid
services billed” (id. at 545). The court concluded, however,
that the affidavit at issue in that case did not provide prob-
able cause for such a broad search (id. at 544 & n.7). The
present case is distinguishable from Abrams on two
grounds. First, as both courts below found, the probable
cause in this case justified a broad warrant. Second, unlike
the warrant in the Abrams case, the warrants in this case
limited the search to a particular category of records —
those that reflected the dispensing 4f controlled
substances. The court of appeals’ determination that the
evidence recited in the affidavit justified the scope of the
warrants in this case merits no further review.°

8 Petitioner relies (Pet. 8, 12) on the purported concessions of the
prosecutor at oral argument in the court of appeals that the warrants
should have been limited solely to Schedule II drugs and that the
failure to limit them was a “mistake.” Petitioner’s reliance is mis-
placed. First, as the court of appeals observed (Pet. App. 103 n.2), the
prosecutor conceded only that he had failed to review the fina/ draft
of the affidavits and warrants; he made clear that he had assisted in
preparing the initial drafts. Moreover, the prosecutor did not agree
that the warrants were legally overbroad; to the contrary, he insisted

;
{
|
}
’
|
:
j

1]

2. Petitioner is likewise mistaken in his contention
(Pet. 13-17) that the warrants were not sufficiently par-
ticularized to satisfy the requirements of the Fourth
Amendment. Petitioner reasons, first (Pet. 14), that
because two of the warrants permitted the agents to seize
documents that “constitut[ed] evidence of illegal distribu-
tion of controlled substances,” the agents were forced to
“distinguish between legal and illegal distribution” and
thus were left without sufficient guidance from the face of
the warrants. But petitioner overlooks the fact, noted by
the court of appeals (Pet. App. 104 n.3), that every docu-
ment embraced by this allegedly improper category was
also covered by the perfectly proper category, contained in
each of the warrants, which called for all records reflecting
the dispensing of narcotics. The law is clear that even if a
portion of a warrant is overbroad, the overbroad portion
may be severed and the evidence that was seized under the
valid remainder may be admitted at trial. See Andresen v.
Maryland, 427 U.S. 463, 482 n.11 (1976); United States v.
Faul, 748 F.2d 1204, 1219 (8th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,
472 U.S. 1027 (1985); United States v. Cardwell, 680 F.2d
75, 78 (9th Cir. 1982). Thus, even if two of the warrants
contained an overbroad clause, the valid remainder of
those warrants entitled the agents to search for and law-
fully seize the very same documents.

Petitioner is also mistaken in claiming that the warrants
did not require a nexus between the items to be seized and
probable violations of law. The affidavit established that
petitioner was routinely dispensing narcotics to patients,
regardless of any medical need and in the absence of any
medical evaluation. Detailed profiles of some 75 of these
patients confirmed that petitioner or his employees had
prescribed excessive narcotics in more than three-quarters

at oral argument (Pet. App. 104 n.4) that the affidavit established suf-
ficient probable cause to justify warrants that covered all documents
reflecting narcotics transactions.

12

of the profiled cases. In making the “practical, common-
sense decision” entrusted to him (J/linois v. Gates, 462
U.S. 213, 238 (1983)), the magistrate was entitled to con-
clude that all of petitioner’s documents relating to the
dispensing of narcotics were likely to be evidence of viola-
tions of the narcotics law.®

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

WILLIAM F. WELD
Assistant Attorney General

DEBORAH WATSON
Attorney

JANUARY 1987

% The Eighth Circuit’s decision in Jn re Grand Jury Proceedings, 716
F.2d 493 (1983), on which petitioner relies (Pet. 16-17), is easily
distinguishable. In that case the court of appeals held unconstitutional
a warrant that authorized the seizure of all of the records of the ap-
pellant’s bail bonding business. The court noted (716 F.2d at 497) that
the warrant was not limited to any category of documents and did not
even identify “the offenses on which evidence was sought.” Moreover,
the court held (id. at 499-502) that the underlying affidavit did not
provide sufficient probable cause for any search at all. Here, by con-
trast, the warrants limited the search and seizure to documents reflect-
ing narcotics transactions; they specified the crimes for which the
evidence was sought; and, as the courts below concluded, they were
amply supported by probable cause.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2398%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
