# Amicus Curiae Brief — Mobil Oil Corp. v. Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund of Florida

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2378%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 1065

## Text

[~ Supreme Court, U.S,
| FILED
ir |
A | JAN 6 1987
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
CLERK
No. 86-823

In THE
Suprene Court of the Hnited States
OcTOBER TERM, 1986

Mosit O1 CoRPoRATION,
Petitioner,

v.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE INTERNAL IMPROVEMENT
Trust FUND OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE,
FLORIDA LAND TITLE ASSOCIATION, INC.,
IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME
COURT OF FLORIDA

RICHARD A. EPSTEIN
University of Chicago
School of Law

1111 East 60th Street
Chicago, Illinois 60637
(312) 962-9563

WILLIAM H. Apams, III
MAHONEY ADAMS MILAM

SURFACE & GRIMSLEY, P.A.
Post Office Box 4099
Jacksonville, Florida 32201
(904) 354-1100

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Florida Land Title
Association, Inc.

Muwee Pees J acksorvirce PloslDA 904) 296-0500

re

>
i
;
o
: }
"
;
i
id}
‘ey
>
is!
. Tey
hy as
Wits art
. ly
ree
sie
vy

iw

TABLE OF CONTENTS

age

eee er CO ce cn pan trots eee ne eee i
ee PIR ore a ce oe ee awe eee il, il
Amicus Curiae’s Interest in This Case ................. l
Tne Comvoyancing Gyatem .............0. cesses l
Recording Laws and Land Records ................ 2
Marketable Record Title Laws .................... 3

The Role of Title Insurance ...................... 3

ee ee ee eee ete See 4
Threat to Industry Survival ...................... 6
PI eR ee er eee Oe ee ee ee 6
i I et ate aa een wie 6

1. The Florida Marketable Record Title Act .... 7

2. Decisions of Florida Lower Courts .......... s

3. Decision of the Florida Supreme Court ...... 8

B. The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the
United States Constitution Apply to State
SE ey eee tr er ea g

C. The Decision of the Florida Supreme Court
has Taken Petitioner’s Property by
Overruling or Ignoring the Applicable
Precedents Under Which Its Rights
Had Become Fully Vested ...................0.. 13

1. The general principles of taking law do not
allow the state to place an owner's vested
rights at ;isk without any compensation
or police power justification ................. 13

2. The Florida Supreme Court's reinterpretation
of the Marketable Record Title Act amounts
to an unconstitutional taking of vested
MURINE occ Se rane ecce chia hs rok eek us 14

ei | Se eae Cer een ry ery CPT T ee 19

il

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Page

Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement

Trust Fund v. Mobil Oil Corporation,

455 So.2d 412 (Fla. 2d DCA 1984) ................. 8
Coastal Petroleum Co. v. American Cyanamid Co.,

454 So.2d 6 (Fla. 2d DCA, 1984) ................... 8
Coastal Petroleum Co. v. American Cyanamid Co.,

4038 So.28 33D (Fin. 19GB) i665 e eee 14, 15
Dartmouth College v. Woodward,

17 US. (4 Whee.) GES (AGTR) oc ccc ee eeeeee 13
Fletcher v. Peck,

16 U.S. (6 Cranch.) G7 (IBIG) | co ckkscavcns use eee 13
Hughes v. Washington,

Bae UB. BOO (IOS7) <.. .osancecncuueeuceeae 10, 11, 12, 14
Mobil Oil Corporation v. Coastal Petroleum Co.,

2 Fla. Supp. 2d 12 (Fla. 10th Cir. 1982) .............. 2,8
Muhlker v. Harlem Railroad Co.,

167 US. S86 (IGOR : ..kccaalic. see eee 9,14
N.Y. Times v. Sullivan,

S706 U.S. BG (IBS) oon os kcckecaneeeeeee eee 12
Odom v. Deltona Corp.,

S41 So.38 OFF (Pek. B90G) i oes 2, 15, 16, 17, 18
Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York City,

G8 US. 106 C8GTS) 6 kc hee ee 14
Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon,

SO Cee. ee Chee 66 KO ee eee 14
Robinson v. Ariyoshi,

753 F.2d 1468 (9th Cir. 1985)

vacated and remanded on other grounds,

__U.S. —, 106 S.Ct. $269 (1966) .......... 10, 11, 12, 14

ill

Page

FLORIDA STATUTES
| 7
a a, 7
ED 7, 15
Ey a 8

LAW REVIEW ARTICLES

Barnett, Marketable Title Acts—
Panacea or Pandemonium,
ES ES 0 ye 3

Danzon, Tort Reform and the Role of
Government in Private Insurance Markets,
OL | 5

Reichman, Toward a Unified Concept
of Servitudes,
ee EO PETE (E9G2) cic ke ec eves 1

Cl Aas
eed
al

:

s- qe

ee
La

cepa

1
AMICUS CURIAE’S INTEREST IN THIS CASE

Florida Land Title Association, Inc. (“FLTA”) is a nonprofit
membership corporation composed of more than 350 abstrac-
ters, title insurance companies and title insurance agents doing
business in Florida. The services rendered by FLTA members
are designed to facilitate title transactions and assure real estate
transferees that their interests will be secure from third party
claims.

FLTA has an interest in this case because of the drastic
adverse effect the Florida Supreme Court’s decision will have
on (1) FLTA’s members and the title industry generally, (2) own-
ers of two-thirds of all privately held real property in the state
of Florida, (3) the continued viability of the conveyancing sys-
tem, and (4) the marketability and market value of all real
property.

The decision below ravages the security of public deeds and
the rules of law upon which the structure of private conveyanc-
ing depends. If aliowed to stand, it will throw Florida convey-
ancing into massive turmoil and necessarily subject title
insurance companies to incessant claims upon their resources
and possible bankruptcy—and this by exposing them to the
very kind of risks against which Florida’s marketable record
title act had promised them protection.

The Conveyancing System

The system of conveyancing in the United States efficiently
protects transferees of interests in real property against losses
from title defects. It is so effective that litigation involving sub-
stantive legal issues relating to title has become rare.'

' Reichman, Toward a Unified Concept of Servitudes, 55 S. Cal. L. Rev.
1177 (1982).

2
Although the system producing this dramatic result is com-
plex in detail, the essential components are (1) recording laws,
(2) public land records implementing those laws, (3) curative
statutes, (4) a tradition of sound and unambiguous property
laws on which sellers and purchasers have been able to rely, and
(5) the specialized services provided by title insurance companies.

Recording Laws and Land Records

Recording laws cut off most interests in real property that
are not evidenced by or inferable from recorded instruments.
Under these laws, a system of public land records has evolved
that permits determining with a high degree of accuracy whether
the title of a transferee will be free from third party claims.

At common law, the title history of any parcel of land had
to be traced to its origin, but this system proved manifestly
unworkable because few titles can be traced that far. Old breaks
in the chain are common. Without recording and curative stat-
utes any break in a chain of title, however minute, could cast
a perpetual shadow over all future land transfers. Breaks become
harder to cure as time passes. Possible claimants who might
sign quit claims become impossible to locate, the physical con-
dition of the property changes,” memories of witnesses fade, and
other available evidence decays. Curative statutes eliminate most

* This Court is in a poor posture to evaluate the work of those sur-
veyors of many decades past. It can only be accepted that they did
their job as instructed and recorded what they found then, which
may or may not be what appears now. Fre: *. »ater lakes and ponds
do change rather significantly because of botn natural and artificial
alterations in the areas involved. It is to be observed that. govern-
mental conveyances were made in re!:«nce on them and the grantees
of such conveyances had the right to assume the U.S. Government
and the Trustees were acting lawfully.

Mobil Oil Corporation v. Coastal Petroleum Company, 2 Fla. Supp. 2d 12
(Fla. 10th Cir. 1982), citing, Odom v. Deltona Corp., 341 So.2d 977, 984
(Fla. 1977}.

3

of these risks and the complex and pointless title litigation that
would be generated in their absence.

Marketable Record Title Laws

One key to an efficient system of conveyancing is the mar-
ketable record title act. The basis of marketable title acts is
described by Professor Barnett* as follows:

Marketable title acts are intended to operate in conjunction

with, rather than as a substitute for, the recording Acts.

They seek to extinguish old title defects automatically with |

the passage of time. The Acts provide that if a person has

an unbroken chain of title from the present back to his

“root of title,” then he has the sort of title in favor of which

their extinguishment feature will operate. His “root of title”

is the most recent transaction in his chain of title that has
been of record at least forty years.*

The effectiveness of marketable record title acts depends
on the scope of their coverage. In a state like Florida, where
huge portions of the land are traced to sovereign grants, they
would be of no effect whatsoever if they did not cut off govern-
mental as well as private interests. It is scarcely of any comfort
to a prospective buyer that the challenger to his or her title is
a well-financed public official instead of an ordinary private

party.

The Role of Title Insurance

A sound system of conveyancing requires more than well
conceived recordation and marketable record title acts. It also
depends upon the expertise of the private parties who operate

3 Barnett, Marketable Titie Acts—Panacea or Pandemonium, 53 Cornell
L. Rev. 45, 52-53 (1967).

* The 40-year period is most common and is the one used for illustrative
purposes throughout this article. |Florida has a 30-year period, Fla. Stat.
§ 712.02 (1985)] (Footnote in original)

4

the system. The mission of title insurance companies and allied
firms is to provide the services needed to ascertain the state of
titles from the public records. The key to understanding the
industry is the recognition that insurance is sold primarily to °
bond the services the industry provides. The individual buyer
or seller knows little about the intricacies of title examination,
and cares less. What he or she desires is an assurance that title
work done by professionals is correctly done. As private owners
cannot inspect or supervise the work themselves, title insurance
companies provide them with a guarantee in the form of insur-
ance about the state of title. Title companies provide information
as to clouds on titles, which can be cured before a transaction
goes forward. Title companies bond the effectiveness of their
services by agreeing to pay money if a further defect in title
emerges.

The Instant Case

The system of title insurance, the level of premiums col-
lected, and the services title companies provide, depend totally
upon the integrity of the recordation system and the marketable
record title acts. The decision of the Florida Supreme Court, if
allowed to stand, will throw the entire mechanism into total
disarray. Under it, the state will be able to challenge its own
conveyances made 100 years ago or more because it will no
longer be bound either by its own classification system or by
deeds made by Trustees of its Internal Improvement Fund. The
confusion will be statewide. More than 20 million acres of val-
uable land were sold by the state as swamp and overflow lands
in the years between 1850 and 1918. The state’s own Depart- ;
ment of Natural Resources estimates that 11,900 miles of river
and 3736 lakes are subject to these belated state sovereignty
claims. Yet the evidence of navigability on which every single
claim rests is not ascertainable by metes and bounds. Quite the

5

opposite, it depends on one hundred year old history, on the
physical condition of the property in 1845 when Florida came
into the Union. The evidence needed to adjudicate these claims
decayed at a rapid rate, spurred on by each flood and storm,
and by each expansion or contraction of river course or channel.
The administrative costs of redetermining the condition of any
particular parcel 140 years ago will be high, and the reliability
of any such determination is certain to be low. The decision
below maximizes uncertainty for uncertainty’s sake.

Virtually all of these cases involve land for which title insur-
ance has been issued, so that FLTA members will be required
to foot a large part of the bill for a set of risks from which they
(and their insureds) had been promised protection by the MRTA.*
The state of Florida estimates that it will spend as much as
$900 million dollars to establish its claims if only 25 percent
of the affected landowners decided to mount a defense. That
money will have to be raised by taxation, much of it from the
same individuals who will be forced to spend (as a first approx-
imation) $900 million dollars of their own money to defend these
claims.® Much of this money will come from title insurance
companies, who may well be saddled with extensive indemnity
payments in cases they lose.

Nor do matters rest here, for the incentive effects of the
decision must be taken into account as well. Until these matters

‘It is well understood today that no system of insurance can function in
the face of common mode failures, which make it impossible for insurers
to diversify the risks of their policyholders. See Danzon, Tort Reform and
the Role of Government in Private Insurance Markets, 13 J. Legal Stud.
517, 534-539 (1984). Here there is a high correlation of insurer risks
because all of these lawsuits stem from the same retroactive reinterpre-
tation of the state’s marketable title acts.

* The likely estimate would be more if only because each individual owner
would have high start up costs because of the need to engage separate
counsel.

6

of title are resolved on a case by case basis, the sale of real
estate will come to a grinding halt as buyers and sellers find
themselves unable to agree on how to allocate the ever-present
risk of government suit. Trade and commerce will! be paralyzed
while the state of Florida continues its quixotic effort to right
wrongs which in all probability never occurred. In the process,
these claims will threaten the lifeblood of commerce and the
financial viability of the title industry. The industry's only crime
has been to rely on the state’s promise that MRTA meant what
it said. No company has charged a penny in premiums to cover
the risk of the state's illegally reneging on its own conveyances

Threat to Industry Survival

It is not an overstatement to suggest that the Florida Supreme
Court's dramatic reversal of prior decisions promising security
of titles threatens the economic survival of title insurance com-
panies in Florida whose aggregate reserves and capital are far
less than the amount Florida expects to spend in prosecuting
claims against persons title companies have insured. The deci-
sion of the court has created a madcap situation in which every-
one but lawyers and bureaucrats will lose. The time to set the
matter aright is before more wasteful and destructive litigation
takes place. That time is now.

ARGUMENT
A. Introduction

Petitioner's brief discusses the three drastic changes in state
law wrought by the decision of the Florida Supreme Court.

The changes made by the decision (1) permit the state to reclassify land
conveyed over 100 years ago as swamp and overflow land, (2) abrogate the
doctrine of estoppel which was formerly available to prevent the state from
reneging on its deeds, and (3) re-interpret the MRTA as never having
applied to sovereignty land

Petitioner has focused primarily on the court's refusal to rec
ognize the conclusiveness of the classification decisions made by
the Secretary of the Interior and the State of Florida when the
land was originally sold. We agree with petitioner that, by open-
ing the door to reclassification, the Florida court has “taken”
petitioner's property. But we focus our argument primarily on
the court’s cavalier abrogation of the security of titles that the
state guaranteed through the MRTA, as it had been construed

in earlier Florida Supreme Court decisions

1. The Florida Marketable Record Title Act

One question before the Florida Court was whether the
MRTA, as enacted in 1963", applied to state grants. The issue
arose when the Trustees contended that, 100 years ago when
most of these deeds were made, they had authority to convey
only Swamp Lands but were then without power to convey sov-
ereignty lands. Ifthe MRTA applied, the Trustees are foreclosed
from attacking the validity of their prior deeds on any ground
not specifically reserved in the deeds themselves. If MRTA did
not apply, Florida will be able to attack a// previous grants made

by the Trustees

Section 712.02 of the MRTA provides-that any person whose
claim of title is based on a title transaction that has been of
record over thirty years has a marketable record title free of
all but enumerated claims. Section 712.04 extinguishes all claims
not specifically excepted (including “governmental” claims) that
pre-date the thirty-vear period. One exception is made for inter
ests of the state or federal government “reserved” in the patent
or deed by which the state or federal government parted with

title

Fla. Stat... Ch. 712 (1963

8

This case involves state claims to interests that were not
reserved in the deeds by which the state parted with title.

In 1978, the MRTA was amended to except for the first time
the state's claim of title to lands beneath navigable waters that
the state had acquired when it was admitted to the Union.” The
Trustees have asserted that the lands at issue in this case are
sovereignty lands and that the state's claim was not extin-

guished by the MRTA.

2. Decisions of Florida Lower Courts

The trial court" and the district court of appeal'' deter-
mined, as a matter of law, that the lands in this case could not
be regarded as sovereignt y lands; consequently, the 1978 exemp-
tion could not apply. They went on to hold that, even if the lands
were sovereignty lands, the 1978 sovereignty lands exemption
could not be retroactive because a retroactive application would
unconstitutionally deprive property owners of rights that vested
when the MRTA became effective in 1963.' Thus, the lower
courts concluded that, even if the lands were sovereignty lands,
the MRTA extinguished the state's claim

3. Decision of the Florida Supreme Court

The Florida Supreme Court reversed the lower court deci-
sions and held that the MRTA never applied to sovereignty
lands. In a strangely casual opinion, over a strong dissent. the
majority sub silentio found that the MRTA. as originally enacted.

‘See 1978 Fla. Laws, Ch. 78-288

Mobil Oil Corporation + Coastal Petroleum Co.. 2 Fla Supp. 2d 12
(Fla. 10th Cir. 1982)

Coastal Petroleum Co. v. American Cyanamid Co., 454 So.2d 6 (Fla
2d DCA 1984) and Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust
Fund v. Mobil Oil Corporation. 455 So 2d 412 ‘Fla. 2d DCA 1984

See 454 So.2d at 9

9

did not apply to state grants. In arriving at this result, the
court overruled its own precedents, changed its interpretation
of Florida Statutes, and. by judicial fiat, took private property
without just compensation in violation of the Fifth and Four-
teenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

B. The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United
States Constitution Apply to State Judicial Acts

This case raises the fundamental question of whether, even
though a state is prevented by the Constitution from taking
private property by action of its legislature or executive, it may
achieve the same result, free of constitutional restraint, by act-
ing through its courts. The Fifth Amendment command “nor
shall private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation” has long been held applicable to states through
the Fourteenth Amendment. On its face, the Fourteenth Amend-
ment imposes a general prohibition, binding on all branches of
state government, not only the executive and the legislative.

What scant precedents exist support the basic proposition
that any state judicial action which takes private property is
subject to the same constitutional limitations that apply to other
state agencies.

An early application of the taking and due process clauses
to judicial action is in Muhlker v. Harlem Railroad Co., 197
U.S. 544 (1905). Plaintiff in that case claimed an easement of
light and air over a public street under an 1827 deed. Prior
decisions of the New York Court of Appeals had held that similar
deeds prevented railroads from building their tracks above grade
without paying compensation to holders of the easements. When
the New York court tried to distinguish its own precedents, this
Court examined the soundness of the court's reasoning. Finding

10

that the purported grounds of distinction were frivolous, it inter-
vened and held that vested rights are explicitly protected from
judicial as well as from legislative confiscation.

The same logic underlies Justice Stewart's concurrence in
Hughes v. Washington, 389 U.S. 290 (1967), where a private
landowner brought an action to establish his ownership of accre-
tions on oceanfront property. The Washington Supreme Court,
holding that state law controlled, found for the state. Eight mem-
bers of the Court resolved the issue in favor of the private owner
on the ground that federal law governed. Only Justice Stewart's
concurrence addressed the issue which this case puts squarely
before the Court. In Justice Stewart's view, even if state law did
apply, the Washington court's prior judicial decision had vested
title in the landowner exactly as a statute would have done.
Justice Stewart observed that the state could not abrogate the
landowner'’s title by judicial action:

(T|he Constitution measures a taking of property not by

what a State says, or by what it intends, but by what it

does. Although the State in this case made no attempt to
take the accreted lands by eminent domain, it achieved the
same result by effecting a retroactive transformation of
private into public property—without paying for the priv-
ilege of doing so. Because the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment forbids such confiscation by a State,

no less through its courts than through its legislature, and

less when a taking is unintended than when it is deliberate,

I join in reversing the judgment.

Id. at 297-298.

Justice Stewart's concurrence in Hughes was followed by
the Ninth Circuit decision, Robinson v. Ariyoshi, 753 F.2d 1468
(9th Cir. 1985), vacated and remanded on other grounds,

____ U.S. ___., 106 S.Ct. 3269 (1986). Robinson involved own-
ership of water rights to certain “normal daily surplus water”

Sr

ll

which had been obtained under a land grant. In the course of
litigation during the 1920s and 1930s, Robinson’s title to the
water rights had been established by authoritative decisions of
the Hawaii courts. Long after those decisions, the Hawaii Supreme
Court sua sponte overruled all prior water law cases, adopted
the English view of riparian rights and held that there was no
category of normal daily surplus water of the kind Robinson
claimed. The Ninth Circuit was faced with the question of whether
the state could validly revoke Robinson's water rights by a judi-
cial decision that negated the entire general property rights
regime under which his rights had been fully and lawfully vested.
The Ninth Circuit found the Hawaii court's decision constitu-
tionally repugnant:

The state conceded at oral argument that the Four-
teenth Amendment would require it to pay just compen-
sation if it attempted to take vested property rights. The
substantive question, therefore, is whether the state can

declare, by court decision, that the water rights in this case
have not vested. The short answer is no.

Id. at 1473.

The long answer is every bit as instructive.

The parties concede that the State of Hawaii has the
sovereign power to change its laws from time to time as its
legislature may see fit, and may, by changing its law, rad-
ically change the definitions of property rights and the man-
ner in which property rights can be controlled or transferred.

The state may also change its laws by judicial decision
as well as by legislative action. Insofar as judicial changes
in the law operate prospectively to affect property rights
vesting after the law is changed, no specific federal question
is preseated by the state's choice of implement in changing
state law. See Hughes v. Washington. 389 U.S. 290, 295
(1967) (Stewart J. concurring).

We assume, therefore, for the purposes of this case, that
the Supreme Court of Hawaii was acting well within its

12
judicial power under the state constitution when it over-
ruled earlier cases and declared for the first time, after
more than a century of a different law, that the common
law doctrine of riparian ownership was the law of Hawaii.
This declaration of a change in the water law of Hawaii
may be effective with respect to the real property rights
created in Hawaii after the McBryde I decision became
final. New law, however, cannot divest rights that were vested

before the court announced the new law. See Hughes, 389
U.S. 295-98.

Id. at 1474."

As a matter of constitutional principle, the law must be as
Justice Stewart and the Ninth Circuit have described it. Con-
sider the law of adverse possession. Suppose that an authori-
tative judicial decision has established that an adverse possessor
can obtain perfect title even when he knows that his own claim
is made in bad faith. A bona fide purchaser takes title in reliance
on the rule. The highest state court wishes to change that rule
to provide that only good faith possessors can perfect title. This
leaves the bona fide purchaser in the position of having to litigate
the issue of whether his predecessor acted in good faith. The
court may surely change the rule prospectively. But, consistent
with the requirements of the due process and just compensation
clauses, it cannot do so retroactively where the effect would be
to plunge into uncertainty the very titles that it own laws had
vested.'*

'' See also N.Y. Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) (First and Four-
teenth Amendments limit the state’s common law of defamation).

'* We recognize that the State of Florida could insert a term in its grants
reserving the right to challenge the title of the grantee or his assignee.
even in perpetuity. Yet there is a tremendous functional difference between
the prospective and retroactive adoption of this practice. In the prospective
case, powerful economic constraints would discipline state practice. It would
have to find a buyer, willing to pay a decent price, despite so onerous a
constraint. But this economic restraint on public behavior would be wholly
inoperative if Florida could repudiate its grants after the deeds are signed,
sealed and delivered. If set free from constitutional constraint, Florida
would no longer need to fear the price of its own political decisions. It could
impose the costs upon innocent grantees by conduct which is every bit as

13

This case presents this stark issue of coastitutional prin-
ciple in relation to a judicial abrogation of titles vested under
the MRTA. To date, an unanswerable concurrence by Justice
Stewart and an unanimous decision by the Ninth Circuit are
the only judicial opinions which support the indubitable prop-
osition that the state cannot so alter its general rules of property
law to defeat rights vested under a prior rule. This case offers
the Court the opportunity to remove any lingering doubts on
what should be an incontrovertible proposition of constitutional
law. It remains only to demonstrate that Florida has overruled
its decisive precedents holding that MRTA does apply to state
grants.

C. The Decision of the Florida Supreme Court has Taken
Petitioner's Property by Overruling or Ignoring the
Applicable Precedents Under Which Its Rights Had
Become Fully Vested.

1. The general principles of taking law do not allow the
state to place an owner's vested rights at risk without
any compensation or police power justification.

This Court has stressed repeatedly that it has not been
able “to develop any ‘set formula’ for determining when com-
pensation should be paid,” and has relied on essentially “ad hoc

outrageous as the behavior of the State of Georgia, condemned in Fletcher
v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch.) 87 (1810) (holding under the contracts clause
that the legislature without compensation could not rescind its prior grants
after the subject property had been conveyed to third parties who took in
good faith) and of New Hampshire, condemned in Dartmouth College v.
Woodward, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 518 (1819) (contracts clause prohibits state
from revoking or modifying its charter without compensation). While both
Dartmouth College and Fletcher were decided under the contracts clause,
the principles involved in those cases are identical to those applicable here.
If a state can acquire vested rights by demand, it diminishes the rights
of the individuals whom it oppresses and destroys the productive capacities
of our people generally. Land grabs offer the paramount abuse against
which the taking and due process clause guards. The need for vigilence
does not cease because the source of oppression is state judicial action.

14

factual inquiries” to resolve this difficult issue. Penn Central
Transportation Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 124 (1978).
In essence, modern taking doctrine has been a delicate coun-
terpoint in which the degree of restriction imposed on an owner's
rights is balanced against the strength of the justification the
state offers for its action. No such need for balancing infects
this case which lies at the extreme end of the legal spectrum:
if Florida and Coastal prevail, petitioner’s entire interest is
destroyed. This case does not involve any comprehensive scheme
of social or environmental control, such as the historical land-
mark designation statutes upheld in Penn Central. Petitioner
has not contested the state’s right to impose necessary regu-
lations to protect its wetlands or the environment. Quite the
contrary, all that is at stake in this case is ownership of mineral
interests of the very sort that received emphatic constitutional
protection in Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922).
What Florida and Coastal seek is money'® for minerals previ-
ously mined.

2. The Florida Supreme Court’s reinterpretation of the

Marketable Record Title Act amounts to an unconsti-
tutional taking of vested property rights.

Amicus recognizes that this Court cannot superintend every
detail of state law to determine whether a decision has deprived
litigants of property rights secured by the Constitution. Yet, by
the same token, state courts cannot be subject to constitutional
scrutiny only where, as in Robinson and Hughes (but not
Muhlker), they have expressly admitted to abandoning previous
systems of property rights. A state court that overrules its prior
decision sub silentio should be subject to the same standards of

'° “Contrary to the various suggestions that the present cases pertain to
issues of environmental protection, it should be made known that what
these cases involve is money.” Coastal Petrol. um Co. v. American Cyanamid
Co., 492 So.2d 339, 349 (Fla. 1986) (Boyd, C. J., dissenting).

15

review as courts that have acted openly. There is no reason to
encourage states to obscure the basis of their decisions in order
to immunize their actions from review. This Court can surely
review state decisions for impermissible retroactive takings when
they have no colorable basis in law or in fact.

The most obvious illustration of that principle is here, where
the Florida court has falsely dismissed its own binding prece-
dent as “irrelevant dicta.” The dispositive case is Odom v. Del-
tona Corp., 341 So.2d 977 (Fla. 1976), there the Florida Supreme
Court construed the 1963 MRTA which had been passed in
response to the great uncertainty that existed with respect to
land titles in Florida. MRTA’s provisions expressly applied to
all conveyances, private or governmental.'* In Odom the court
held that “the claims of the Trustees to beds underlying navig-
able waters previously conveyed [were] extinguished by the Act.”
Id. at 989. Here the Florida Supreme Court offered no reason
to distinguish Odom. It characterized Odom in the following
statement:

The ground on which Odom rests is this factual determi-

nation that small lakes and ponds at issue were non-navig-

able, non-sovereignty lands. Unfortunately, even though this
factual determination controlled and resolved the case, we
went on to answer irrelevant arguments put to us by the
parties and in answering one such argument concluded that

MRTA was applicable to sovereignty lands encompassed

within conveyances of swamp and overflowed lands and that

the claims of trustees “to beds underlying navigable waters
previously conveyed are extinguished by the Act.”!”

‘"“|M|arketable record title shall be free and clear of all estates, inter-
ests, claims or charges whatsoever ... held or asserted by a person ...
whether such person is natural or corporate, or is private or governmental
... except any right, title or interest reserved ...” Fla. Stat., 712.04 (1985)
(emphasis added).

'" Coastal Petroleum Co. v. American Cyanamid Co., 492 So.2d 339, 344
(Fla. 1986), citing, 341 So.2d at 989.

16

This passage grossly misstates not only the facts found in
Odom, but also the principles of law the Odom court applied to

those facts.

(1) Facts: The Florida Supreme Court's description of the
facts in Odom is manifestly false. In Odom, the court had taken
the unusual step of reprinting the entire opinion of the trial
court because of its “clarity.” The trial court had granted a
motion for summary judgment against the state because there
was “no genuine issue of fact” 341 So.2d at 349. In this case,
the Florida court writes as though summary judgment had been
awarded because Odom clearly involved lands known to be non-
sovereignty and non-navigable. But in Odom the findings were
diametrically opposite to the facts in the revisionist description
of them contained in the opinion below. The trial court’s Finding
Number 2 notes that the disputed lands were “certain non-
meandered lakes and ponds.” The rival claims of title were then
noted by the trial court as follows:

Deltona claims to own the lakes in question under various

chains of title originating either in U.S. Patents or deeds

of the Trustees of land acquired by the state under the

Swamp and Overflow Lands Grant Act of September 28,

1950 |sic]. The Trustees claim that the lakes were the waters,

beds and shores of navigable water which are held by the

state in trust for the public by virtue of state sovereignty.

Id. at 979.

The entire point of Odom is that the court was able to grant
Deltona its summary judgment without having to resolve the
factual question of whether the lands acquired from the state
were sovereignty or swamp lands. Deltona won either because
it had good title to “#amp land or because MRTA blocked the
state’s claim to retain sovereignty land. Mobil’s position is indis-
tinguishable from Deltona’s. Accordingly, under Odom, the entire

dispute in the instant case should have been resolved on the

nae iil

17
face of the pleadings. Nothing could be clearer. Even the Trust-
ees recognized the factual record that the Florida Supreme Court
later denied: “It is also clear that the Circuit Court in Odom
made no factual determination of the navigability of the lakes
in issue.” (Trustees’ brief, Fla. Sup. Ct., at page 26.)

(2) Law: In Odom, after an extensive review of the rele-
vant authorities, the Florida Supreme Court wrote:

It seems logical to this Court that, when the Legislature
enacts a Marketable Title Act, as found at Chapter 712,
Florida Statutes, clearing any title having been in existence
thirty years or more, the state should conform to the same
standard as it requires of its citizens; the claims of the
Trustees to beds underlying navigable waters previously
conveyed are extinguished by the Act. Stability of titles
expressly requires that when lawfully executed land con-
veyances are made by public officials to private citizens
without reservation of public rights in and to the waters
located thereon, a change of personnel among elected state
officials should not authorize the government to take from
the grantee the rights which have been conveyed previously
without appropriate justification and compensation.

Id. at 989 (emphasis added).

The nature of the court’s decision in this case is revealed,
not only by the court’s disingenuous reasoning, but by the polit-
ical context in which the decision was rendered. The decision
was in fact a belated response to eight years of supplication by
the executive branch of the state government. In 1978, reacting
to the court’s Odom decision, the Governor called a special ses-
sion of the legislature to amend the MRTA in order to exempt
sovereignty lands from its operation. This 1978 episode is in
itself well nigh conclusive evidence that the 1963 legislature
meant what it said: the 1963 Act applies to sovereignty lands.
Why else introduce the 1978 bill at all? Following well settled
Florida precedent, the trial and intermediate appellate courts

uniformly refused to give the 1978 amendment retroactive effect.

18

Political pressures continued to build.'* In the spring of
1986, a concerted movement again developed to have the leg-
islature “declare” that the MRTA had never applied to land
under navigable waters previously conveyed by the state. That
legislation was strenuously opposed on the very ground that the
FLTA urges here: that such an amendment would constitute a
taking of private property for public use without just compen-
sation. The Florida Supreme Court’s decision spared the legis-
lature the necessity of voting at all on this issue. But the fact
that the state acted through its courts rather than its legislature
does not lift the large constitutional cloud that hangs over the
decision. No verbal legerdemain can conceal the gross mis-
reading that the Florida Supreme Court made first of MRTA
and then of its own dispositive precedent in Odom. Its assault
on vested rights cannot be corrected by the political process,

'* A news item in the Florida Times-Union on May 22, 1985, sixteen days
after oral argument before the Florida Supreme Court in the instant case,
explains the situation:

“The state will never abandon these lands” !Governor| Graham said.
“It is time for the Legislature to tell the courts, in no uncertain terms,
that we intend to keep our sovereign lands, that we never gave them
up and that we will not tolerate this abuse of the law.”

Florida Times Union, May 22, 1985.

The following news item appeared in the same paper the day after the
Florida Supreme Court rendered its decision:

The ruling came down just thirty minutes before Senate President,
Harry Johnston, D-West Palm Beach, was to meet some of those groups
to hammer out compromise legislation on MRTA - the compromise in
which the state would have relinquished much of the land which the
court ruling lets the public keep.

"I think we are all extricated from a tough political decision to
make, and I’m very glad they made it for us,” said Johnston who is
running for governor.

He said he doubted even if the Senate compromise would have passed
the House. House leaders were supporting a mors . onservative approach
by Representative Fred Dudley, R-Ft. Myers, that would have left the
land in private hands but codified the state's right to regulate the use
of the waters.

Florida Times Union, May 16, 1986.

19

much less by the Florida Supreme Court. This Court is the only
forum in which this grievous wrong may be redressed.

CONCLUSION

This case demonstrates in sharp and uncompromising form
the need to define the constitutional limits on the power of a
state court to alter and amend its own common law of property
and to give its decisions retroactive effect. Amicus recognizes
that it would be wholly inappropriate to adopt a constitutional
principle that would preclude natural development of the com-
mon law. But this is not that kind of case. Here the Florida court,
by’sheer fiat, has changed the rules of the game in midcourse
for the benefit of the state. By misreading and ignoring its own
unambiguous precedents, the court has retroactively decreed a
wholesale confiscation of longheld vested rights. If it is allowed
to succeed in this effort, other courts will be tempted to follow
in its footsteps. A writ of certiorari should issue so that this
Court can make it clear that constitutional prohibitions against
state confiscation remain firm. The cloud this decision places
on the title to nearly two-thirds of the privately-owned land in
Florida must be lifted.

For the reasons stated, certiorari should be granted to review
the decision of the Florida Supreme Court.

Respectfully submitted.

RICHARD A. EPSTEIN

WILLIAM H. Abas, III

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

Florida Land Title

Association, Inc.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2378%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
