# Opposition Brief — Jenkins v. Missouri

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2163%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 816

## Text

In the Supreme Court of the United/S

OCTOBER TERM, 19386

Supreme Court, U.S.

iw ws
Nos. 86-1717 and 86-1718 FILED
JUN 24 1987

F. SPANIOL, J&R
CLERK

KALIMA JENKINS, et al., Petitioners,
vs

STATE OF MISSOURI, et al., Respondents.

On PETITION FOR Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE
Untrep States Court or APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

JOINT AND CONSOLIDATED BRIEF IN OPPOSI-
TION FOR NORTH KANSAS CITY SCHOOL DIS-
TRICT, GRANDVIEW CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL
DISTRICT C-4, LEE’S SUMMIT REORGANIZED
SCHOOL DISTRICT R-7, SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE
CITY OF INDEPENDENCE, FORT OSAGE SCHOOL
DISTRICT R-1, BLUE SPRINGS REORGANIZED
SCHOOL DISTRICT, SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE
CITY OF LIBERTY, HICKMAN MILLS CONSOLI-
DATED SCHOOL DISTRICT C-1, CENTER SCHOOL
DISTRICT, RAYTOWN CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL
DISTRICT C-2 and PARK HILL REORGANIZED
SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. V OF PLATTE COUNTY

Georce E. FELDMILLER*
CuarRLes W. GERMAN
Kirx T. May
DantEL D. CRABTREE
Stinson, Mac & FIZzELu
920 Main Street
Post Office Box 19251
Kansas City, Missouri 64141
816-842-8600
Liaison Counsel for Respondent
School Districts (counsel for
individual districts listed on

the signature page)
*Counsel of Record

E. L. Mewvewmate, Inc., 026 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, (816) 421-3030

XY”

REPLY TO QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The questions posed to the Court by the two petitions
are not actually presented by the unappealed factual find-
ings and holdings below. Indeed, the questions are prem-
ised upon factual assumptions that are contrary to the dis-
trict court’s actual and unappealed findings which specifi-
cally established that there were no violations of an inter-
district nature and no violations which had any current
significant interdistrict effect. Because of the long-settled
and established law in interdistrict school desegregation
cases, the factual nature of the decisions below, and the
lack of any conflict among the Circuit Courts of Appeals,
there is no question worthy of certiorari.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The plaintiff Jenkins class was a plaintiff/appellant
below and is a petitioner here. Petitioner Kansas City,
Missouri School District (“KCMSD”) was a defendant.
cross-claimant/appellant below.

Petitioner KCMSD filed no cross-claims against any
of the respondent school districts described below. Thus,
KCMSD, having never made a claim against such respon-
dents, has no standing or legal basis on which to present
the question it states in its petition, assuming the opinions
below actually present the question. KCMSD was found
to be a constitutional violator and a nonunitary district.

Respondents North Kansas City School District, Grand-
view Consolidated School District C-4, Lee’s Summit Re-
organized School District R-7, School District of the City
of Independence, Fort Osage School District R-1, Blue

II

Springs Reorganized School District, School District of
‘the City of Liberty, Hickman Mills Consolidated School
District C-1, Center School District, Raytown Consolidated
School District C-2 and Park Hill Reorganized School Dis-
trict No. V of Platte County were all defendants/appellees
below. Each of these districts was found to be a unitary
district. They are hereinafter referred to as the “respon-
dent districts,” and in the decisions below they were often
referred to as the “SSDs.”*

Respondent United States Department of Housing and
Urban Development (“HUD”) was a defendant/appelléee
below.

Respondent State of Missouri (hereinafter some-
times referred to as the “State”) was a defendant/appellee-
cross-appellant below.

*As the district court found, “‘each of the schoo] districts is
a locally autonomous and independent entity [and] .. . each
defendant district is independent and autonomous from the State
of Missouri, and from all other school districts.” 300a; See also
285a-300. Despite the individual interests of each respondent
district, to lessen the Court’s burden of reviewing the rather
long petitions, these respondents are filing this joint and con-
solidated opposition brief. In the event of any briefs on the
merits, separate briefs may well be filed because of the presence
of many individual fact findings and differences among the dis-
tricts.

Ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

REPLY TO QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......0.000.00.00......
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ............0.0.00.. es
pe ge 8 | yy | >.
ADDITIONAL OPINIONS BELOW ....W0000000002.......
pe yy 1. i @) ie e | OF) Se
REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED ....

I.

II.

THIS CASE, DECIDED ON UNAPPEALED
FACTUAL FINDINGS APPLICABLE ONLY
TO THESE RESPONDENT DISTRICTS, HAS
NO NATIONAL SIGNIFICANCE AND THE
QUESTIONS POSED ARE NOT PRESENTED
Be eee Ce Pasar ..............................

THE LEGAL ISSUES ARE SETTLED AND
THE RESULT IN ANY GIVEN INTERDIS-
TRICT CASE SIMPLY DEPENDS UPON
THE FACTUAL FINDINGS MADE IN THAT
CASE; THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG
THE CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS ........

ec las rsdn svaiinencesstestdingnacnetencaasionnonse
COUNSEL FOR INDIVIDUAL RESPONDENT

IN ME oan cass cscnencsnveusoorsessasnsinnsnsnanenes

13

14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564 (1985) 19
Armour v. Nix, No. 16708 (N.D. Ga. September 24,
1979), afy'd, 466 US. SO (2008). 2... 23
Bell v. Board of Education, Akron Public Schools, 491
F. Supp. 916 (N.D. Ohio 1980), aff'd, 683 F.2d 963
CURIE SR UMD acticin is celstcomnedatdeessnnicas Dharcucsiniisdeacancaieas 23, 26
Berry v. School District of Benton Harbor, 698 F.2d
813 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 892 (1983) _..23, 26
Bronson v. Board of Education, 578 F. Supp. 1091 (S.D.
ITU :scnce ster cusouapstcnedipiesicmmatinancdcataipnicptacaedieonsabpeeecadiones 23
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954) ....16, 24
Evans v. Buchanan, 393 F. Supp. 428 (D. Del.), aff’d,
eS a ee 24, 25, 26
Goldsboro City Board of Education v. Wayne County
Board of Education, 745 F.2d 324 (4th Cir. 1984) ...... 23,

25, 27

Hills v. Gautreaux, 425 U.S. 284 (1976) 2.2... 21, 22
Hoots v. Pennsylvania, 672 F.2d 1107 (3rd Cir.), cert.

pees, Ge Gi, Gre CRED onsen. 26
Lee v. Lee County Board of Education, 639 F.2d 1243

SR Mts SREP Gactagetasbisntaccaresepiemeiadecacte tise can canubeeS nei 23
Lidde!! v. State, 731 F.2d 1294 (8th Cir. 1984), cert.

eeaeeG, Ge We. Gee Cibee) oc... 23

Little Rock School District v. Pulaski County Special
School District, 778 F.2d 404 (8th Cir. 1985), cert.
Gemed, 106 &. Ct. 2028 (1968) —.......................... 23

Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S. 717 (1974) 0.00. passim

Newburg Area Council, Inc. v. Bd. of Educ., 510 F.2d
1358 (6th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 931 (1975) 26

Vv

Tasby v. Estes, 572 F.2d 1010 (5th Cir. 1978), cert.
dismissed sub nom. Estes v. Metro Branches of
Dallas NAACP, 444 U.S. 437 (1980) .......000000000... 23

Taylor v. Ouachita Parish School Board, 648 F.2d 959
Pe My SIE Disses. Cacecastasnadigdaiesheninnesinsbahriedineenigiatdinnesmiiautiantints 23

The Monrosa v. Carbon Black Export, Inc., 359 U.S.

SE TD iakcnisncssbscinnhensnaesiéclidenensiaipinanscilcinginiteabamniiionmiatanes 14

United States v. Board of School Commissioners of
Indianapolis, 456 F. Supp. 183 (S.D. Ind. 1978), aff'd
in part and vacated in part, 637 F.2d 1101 (7th Cir.
1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 838 (1980) ............ 24, 25, 26

United States v. Board of Commissioners of Indianap-
olis, 503 F.2d 68, (7th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 421

CE Te ED Seciesittntcedececcccccicnseinscnsietinsamnmmeniincnenit 25, 26
Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing
Development Corp., 429 U.S. 252 (1977) .................--. 16
Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 (1976) ............... 16, 25
Rules
ey ee Se Bs NN iciccincccsemiccespereeevenns renee 2,13
te MIE snesincscsanecensaxapatcteannsentiatananenniaaneiesaninnta 19

POR, Te, TOG: SD iis ncnnsniesnenicisisactnnnidninnscinanniaaieninnsiineneasnantinatie 18

Nos. 86-1717 and 86-1718

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

KALIMA JENKINS, et al., Petitioners,
vs.
STATE OF MISSOURI, et al., Respondents.

On PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
Unrrep STaTes Court oF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

JOINT AND CONSOLIDATED BRIEF FOR
RESPONDENT DISTRICTS

The respondent districts respectfully pray that this
Court deny the two petitions for a writ of certiorari seeking
review of the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit.

ADDITIONAL OPINIONS BELOW

The petitioners omitted from their description of opin-
ions that may be relevant the unpublished July 16, 1984;
January 25, 1985; and May 11, 1987 district court orders.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners’ statements and factual arguments attempt
to rewrite, on a piecemeal and selective basis, some but
not all of the district court’s orders and unappealed find-
ings.’

Petitioners alleged claims of both interdistrict and
intradistrict school desegregation violations. These re-
spondent districts were dismissed at the close of peti-
tioners’ case on April 2, 1984, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P.
41(b). On April 18, 1984, the district court also dismissed
the United States Department of Health, Education and
Welfare (“HEW”). The district court denied Rule 41(b)
motions filed by HUD and the State. Thus, the trial con-
tinued on claims of housing-related violations against HUD
and intradistrict violations against KCMSD and the State.
On June 5, 1984, the district court issued 105 pages of
detailed and comprehensive findings in support of the
April 2, 1984 dismissal of the respondent districts. On
July 16, 1984, the district court issued a comprehensive
order in support of HEW’s dismissal.

The district court, after completion of the intradistrict
trial, issued its September 17, 1984 intradistrict order. It
found no housing-related violations by HUD or the State
but it did find intradistrict liability against both KCMSD
and the State on other grounds, namely the failure to
remove all vestiges of a dual system in KCMSD.

Petitioners then presented a remedial plan to force
consolidation of the previously dismissed respondent dis-

1. Most frustrating of all, petitioners argue their evidence
without acknowledging that they failed to prove their factual
theories. To concoct their questions, the petitions retry their
failed evidence on the interdistrict issues as reflected in the
June 5, 1984 findings and, at the same time, use that rejected
evidence to rewrite some of the findings in the subsequent
September 17, 1984 intradistrict order.

a

3

tricts. Petitioners theorized that the State had supposedly
been found in the September 17, 1984 intradistrict order
to have committed interdistrict violations having current
significant segregative effects in the respondent districts.
On January 25, 1985, the district court rejected petitione= 3’
construction of the September 17, 1984 intradistrict order
and required petitioners to submit a remedial plan to re-
move the dual school vestiges found to exist only in
KCMSD. Thereafter, a comprehensive and substantial
intradistrict remedial plan for KCMSD was approved.”

2. The petitions suggest that the decisions below resulted
in a limited remedy of “compensatory programs” that left rights
in “legal limbo.” Plaintiffs’ Pet. at 9. In seeking attorney fees
from the district court, plaintiffs’ counsel argued to the con-
trary. In response to an argument that fees should be reduced
because the interdistrict issues were lost, plaintiffs’ counsel
rejoined:

[The remedy] included the vindication of the constitutional
rights of all blacks in this community and the enhanced
opportunities of all present and future children within
KCMSD to experience significant educational enhancements.

[T]he relief plaintiffs obtained is exceptional by any measure,
qualitative or monetary, meriting not only a fully ceompen-
satory award but an enhanced award as well. Failure to
obtain an interdistrict consolidation order in no way de-
tracts from the extraordinary relief obtained.

In cold monetary terms ... the present “limited” remedy
will result in annual expenditures of at least $30 million
per year for educational programs. An additional $49 mil-
lion to $200 million will be spent over several years to
provide improved facilities and additional tens of millions
of dollars will be spent each year to provide for magnet
schools and voluntary transfers among cooperating school
districts. For a program that surely will last for at least
a generation, between one-half and one billion dollars will
be invested in the education of the children of this com-
munity as a result of this litigation. Limited, indeed!

See Suggestions in Support of Motion for Partial Award of
Attorney Fees and Expenses at 20 filed February 5, 1986, and
Plaintiffs’ Reply to State Defendants’ Response at 6-7 and 10,
filed September 19, 1986.

4

After the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit rendered its December 5, 1986 opinion, the
same district court issued its May 11, 1987 order awarding
attorney fees to plaintiffs but denying any fee award to
KCMSD because it was not a prevailing party against the
State.

Plaintiffs spent months of trial trying to prove inter-
district violations by the respondent districts. The thrust
of plaintiffs’ case was that -pre-1954 dual schools caused
KCMSD’s current student-body racial composition. Plain-
tiffs concentrated on alleged historical facts to try to show
that a so-called “regionalized interdistrict dual system”
existed which forced blacks to live only in KCMSD.
Plaintiffs also tried to show that school district boundary
lines were drawn for impermissible racial reasons; that
the respondent districts were not locally autonomous; and
that blacks were constrained in residential choices by in-
tentionally impermissible government conduct such as
pre-1948 enforcement of restrictive covenants, highway
location, urban renewal and the location of public hous-
ing. Plaintiffs thus presented a standard interdistrici
case that attempted to prove interdistrict violations by the
various respondent districts and other government au-
thorities. They also tried to establish that current sig-
nificant interdistrict effects existed in KCMSD or the
respondent districts from the alleged violations. The di-
trict court’s findings establish that the plaintiffs failed to
prove any of those interdistrict violations or current sig-
nificant effect allegations.

The district court carefully applied the criteria of
Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S. 717 (1974), to determine
whether intentional interdistrict violations or current sig-
nificant interdistrict effects existed. In applying Milliken,
the district court assumed petitioners’ argument that in-

5

nocent parties could be coerced into mandatory interdistrict
remedies if current significant iv.cerdistrict effects existed
from the violation of some other party. The district
court’s June 5, 1984 findings described accurately the
petitioners’ trial theories, which are the same theories
adopted in the petitions’ questions:

[F]irst, that the SSDs, as agents of the state, were
guilty of operating a regional system of segregated
schools that centered on and impacted Kansas City
with blacks and made the suburbs whiter before 1954;
second, that the SSDs failed in their affirmative duty
to eliminate the vestiges of the dual school system;
and third, that the SSDs are liable for the effects of
actions by the KCMSD and other defendants and can
therefore be included in an interdistrict remedy... .

284a (emphasis supplied). “{W)hen considered in light of
the evidence,” 284a-85 (emphasis supplied), the district
court rejected the factual predicates necessary to support
those theories. Indeed, the district court found that plain-
tiffs’ evidence was not only blurred as to cause and effect,
but there also was no “careful delineation of the extent
of the effect.” 496a. In sum, plaintiffs did not prove a
constitutional violation in one district that produced a
current significant segregative effect in another district.

The following review of the district court’s 105 pages
of factual findings establishes, as noted above, that the
district court found no intentional interdistrict violation
by these respondent cistricts or by any other entity. More-
over, that court found no current significant interdistrict
effects in KCMSD or any respondent district resulting
from actions by KCMSD or other defendants.

In regard to the absence of the required showing of
an intentional interdistrict violation, the district court

found that “[w]Jitness after witness, including witnesses
who had been actively involved in the promotion of civil
rights, testified they knew of no acts by [the respondent
districts] that were done with a discriminatory intent.”
278a-79. Those witnesses included the editor of the lead-
ing black newspaper, long-time black KCMSD admin-
istrators, a former KCMSD board president and a former
black KCMSD superintendent. Id.

In regard to whether the respondent districts were
the product of a violation, the district court found that
there was “no credible evidence that any boundaries .. .
were established or maintained with any racially discrim-
inatory intent.” 294a. These districts were autonomous
and not mere agents of the State. 300a. The district court
also found that there was a higher degree of local autonomy
for school districts in Missouri than any other state hav-
ing prior interdistrict school cases. 290a-95.

In regard to plaintiffs’ historical evidence, the district
court found that no “regional black interdistrict system”
caused blacks to leave the respondent districts. 306a-07.
It also found that “[t}he manner in which blacks in any
defendant district were educated [prior to 1954] was
solely a matter of local control and within the discretion
of the local school district.” 307a. The district court found
that no “vestiges or significant effects of the pre-1954
dual school system remain in any of the SSDs.” 315a.
Indeed, the district court found that “transferring blacks
to the KCMSD under the prior segregated school system
is not a cause of the present racial distribution of the
population in the three-county area.” 314a. Plaintiff's
proof on the issue of transfers was “weak, speculative and
de minimis.” 30la. The increase in black population in
KCMSD was due to “unusual economic and employment
ramifications of the World Wars and the Depression.”

7

313a. The district court added that “jobs and economic
opportunity were primary motivators for blacks . . . mov-
ing to Kansas City and elsewhere... .” 314a.

In reviewing the plaintiffs’ evidence of effects of sup-
posed violations, the district court found that the theories
of plaintiffs’ experts either had “intradistrict implications,”
were related to effects only “within the KCMSD,” or did
not otherwise implicate any respondent district. 353a,
354a, 367a.

In reference to arguments concerning the extent of
black residential dispersion, the district court found that
no “ethnic group is racially balanced residentially and no
one in this field of study apparently advocates a random
dispersal of ethnic groups.” 354a. The district court added
that “blacks are not constrained within the KCMSD,”
and “black enrollments in each of the defendant districts
have increased fairly steadily since 1968.” 357a. An “in-
crease from 1970 of 14,645 blacks” in the area around
KCMSD refuted the “barrier theory to black movement.”
358a. Further, urban renewal or highway displacement
type relocations “had no significant effect on the racial
compositions of the enrollment in any SSD.” Id.

The district court also made findings that no inter-
district effect resulted from racial transition within
KCMSD or from KCMSD’s own actions. For example, the
district court found:

Actions of the KCMSD in assigning children to par-
ticular schools may have had an intradistrict effect
_. . [but] those actions [did not] have any significant
effect in the enrollment of any ... SSD.

360a.

The district court reviewed the number of former
KCMSD students attending schools in the respondent dis-

8

tricts, which was the plaintiffs’ only attempt to quantify
supposed interdistrict effects, and found that even “as-
suming they all moved to the SSDs because of racial tran-
sition within the KCMSD schools, plaintiffs’ argument still
fails [because] regardless of the impetus behind the moves,
the numbers involved are too insignificant to have had a
segregative impact on the KCMSD or the SSD.” 362a.

The district court found that there was “no evidence
[that restrictive covenants]. were enforced by the state
courts following Shelley v. Kraemer” and that “tremendous
housing growth in many suburban areas occurred after
1948 when such covenants were a nullity.” 363a. There
were few covenants in the respondent districts and there
were none in some. 363a, 371la-493. Restrictive covenants
did not have any significant effect on the racial makeup
of any SSD. 363a.

In regard to other housing-related issues, the district
court found that “people moved for a variety of reasons,
including a desire to be with people of like religious and
ricial characteristics’ and the personal choice of living
near middle class persons. 368a. It also found that many
housing related issues involved “private” real estate con-
cerns. 368a-69. These respondent districts were not in-
volved in any type of housing violations. Further, in
regard to public housing, the district court found that
“such housing is available in significant amounts in every
defendant district.” 365a. These findings are the oppo-
site of and inconsistent with the emotional argument that
blacks are “locked in” to KCMSD. KCMSD Pet. at 23.

The district court’s July 16, 1984 order dismissing
HEW made similar findings of no interdistrict effect.’

3. It was claimed that HEW should have mandated a
metropolitan plan in its previous civil rights investigations of
KCMSD. HEW concluded that a metropolitan plan was neither
required nor necessary for a viable KCMSD intradistrict plan.

9

The district court found that the “total testimony plain-
tiffs elicited concerning the current effect” had no cred-
ibility because the witnesses conceded that “the process
of resegregation [would have cortinued] and [a KCMSD
unitary system] would not have solved the problem in
any kind of a permanent or stable way.” See Order,
July 16, 1984 at 13 (petitioners omitted this order from
their Appendix). The district court also found that
“planned integration in the 1960’s would not have signif-
icantly affected white flight.” Id.

In the later September 17, 1984 intradistrict order, no
housing-related violation was found against any party.
Thus, HUD was dismissed. Because of other, more “sa-
lient” reasons, 602a, KCMSD and the State were found
liable for intradistrict violations. The district court, how-
ever, found no State violations in urban renewal and re-
location policies, highway location or public housing loca-
tion. This intradistrict order reiterated the earlier inter-
district finding that “there has not been a lack of balance
between federally assisted housing within KCMSD and
the suburban areas,” 579a, and, with respect to State-spon-
sored projects, it “clearly appears that the majority of the
units in which [the State] was involved were located out-
side the KCMSD.” 597a.

Having found no interdistrict liability, on the intra-
district issue of how to deal with the “anatomy of KCMSD,”
539a, the district court rejected plaintiffs’ attempt to retry
“the cause of blacks settling ... within KCMSD.” 537a.
The court focused on the intradistrict responsibility of
KCMSD and the State “regardless of why [blacks] settled
in the school district.” -538a. It is, therefore, clear that
the district court’s prior findings of no interdistrict effect
or violations were reiterated and confirmed in the Sep-
tember 17, 1984 intradistrict order.

10

In the intradistrict remedial phase, the district court’s
January 25, 1985 order (which petitioners omitted from
their Appendix although it was in the Appendix in the
Court of Appeals) rejected petitioners’ plan to consoli-
date the respondent districts based upon the September
17, 1984 intradistrict order. The district court rejected an
interdistrict order because it:

goes far beyond the nature and extent of the con-
stitutional violation this Court found existed... .
Clearly a plan which would require the consolidation
of suburban school districts, ones in which no con-
stitutional violation or significant segregative effect
has been found, results in a restructuring and coercion
of local government which is prohibited under Milli-
ken. I.

Id. at 2 (emphasis supplied). Thus, all that was neces-
sary was a plan to remove “the vestiges of the dual school
system as it presently exists in the KCMSD.” Id. at 3
(emphasis supplied).

Petitioners’ factual arguments that significant inter-
district effects existed from the State’s supposed, but
never specified, interdistrict violation is wrong. The same
district court’s May 11, 1987 order rejected an award of
attorney fees to petitioner KCMSD and held:

Finally, the KCMSD alleges in its crossclaim, as did
the plaintiffs in their complaint, that the State is
liable for interdistrict violations. It is undisputed
that the KCMSD and the plaintiffs failed in their
attempt to prove an interdistrict liability against the
State of Missouri.

Id. at 13 (emphasis supplied).

11

In reviewing the district court’s findings,t the Court
of Appeals’ majority opinion noted that the district court
found that all respondent districts were unitary, 47a;
there was no barrier to movement of blacks into the re-
spondent districts, 48a; that any pre-Brown acts had neg-
ligible present effects, 48a; there were no interdistrict
violations from intradistrict factors, 49a; the dissents’
factual argument “flies in the face” of the district court’s
findings that were “not clearly erroneous;” and the “dis-
sent does not establish what the Jenkins class and KCMSD
did not argue, that these findings of fact are clearly er-
roneous,” 49a, 5la. Petitioners’ arguments were “con-
trary to” or undermined by the district court findings
petitioners did not attack as clearly erroneous. 52a-55.

The majority did not agree with petitioners’ appel-
late argument that the district court had not applied peti-
tioners’ legal theory, “[C]Jontrary to the argument of the
class that the court looked only to the culpability of the
SSD’s, the scope of the order is far broader.” 65a. See also,
59a; 72a. The opinion also noted that the district court
compared plaintiffs’ theories to Milliken and that the
district court made specific findings that “negate current
significant interdistrict effects.” 65a-66a. Moreover, the
majority correctly observed that there was no finding
of a current significant effect from any violation. Thus,
after reviewing mony findings that no boundaries were

4. The Court of Appeals’ majority preferred the district
court’s findings over the unproven and unpreserved factual
arguments petitioners presented on appeal. The majority ob-
served:

The broad scope of these arguments is considerably nar-
rowed when viewed in light of significant factual findings
of the district court. These findings are not challenged as
clearly erroneous.

47a {emphasis supplied).

12

racially motivated, that the districts were autonomous,
and that no housing violations were found, the court
stated that “these findings pose an insuperable burden
to granting interdistrict relief.” 74a.

The majority also analyzed the district court’s find-
ings that boundaries had not constrained black movement
in any way, 74a; pre-Brown schools did not prevent
blacks from living in the respondent districts, 75a; black
enrollment in these districts’ had steadily increased, 75a;
KCMSD’s increases in black population were due to the
unusual economic and employment ramifications of the
World Wars and intervening depression, 75a; personal
choice in housing decisions played an important role in
residential patterns, 76a; no current effect of restrictive
covenants existed, especially in light of the fact that
suburban growth occurred after 1948, 77a; there was “no
lack of balance” in location of public housing, 81-82a;
and facts in other interdistrict cases relied upon by peti-
tioners were “directly contrary to those found here.” 83a.
Similarly, the court added that the findings made in
reference to HUD “belie the possibility of interdistrict
effect,” 87a, and that the district court’s later opinions
“certainly make no finding of any interdistrict effect,”
90a.5 Thus, the court concluded:

[T]he factual findings of the district court effectively
foreclose findings of interdistrict effect in the SSDs

5. In considering the dissenting arguments, Judge Gibson
observed, “The dissent embarks upon fact findings of its own
... This is contrary to the finding of the district court ... and
the dissent makes no effort to consider these statements in a
proper Rule 52(a) analysis.” 88a. Judge Gibson added that
“there simply is no evidence in the record in this case that
official housing discrimination caused school segregation and
the findings of the district court as we have outlined above so
demonstrate.” 92a.

13

flowing from constitutional violations with respect
to housing that may have occurred in KCMSD.

4 * a

To consider isolated bits of evidence, de minimis
in nature, and to mix this with speculation is in-
sufficient ... The findings made were adequate to
dispel the conclusion required by Milliken that there
be significant segregative effects in the SSDs caused
by actions of a constitutional violator in KCMSD.

9la, 93a.

Judge Arnold disagreed with the majority only on
housing-related issues because he was unsure whether
there were “private” housing violations encouraged by the
State and, if so, whether any such violation had current
significant interdistrict effects. He suggested a remand
to reconsider the findings based on the recor: at the time
of the Rule 41(b) motions. If the district court could not
then dismiss the districts, Judge Arnold suggested that
the districts produce evidence to show no current sig-
nificant interdistrict effects of any housing related vio-
lations. He, of course, did not have the benefit of the
May 11, 1987 order which reiterated the finding that no
interdistrict liability against the State had been found.

REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

The two petitions present questions that, whatever
significance they may have in the abstract or in an appro-
priate case, are not presented here. Both the district
court and the Court of Appeals agreed that the facts
necessary to establish petitioners’ legal theories were not

14

proved. This Court, of course, sits to decide cases, not
abstract or hypothetical questions.* The facts of this case
—found by a trial judge who saw hundreds of witnesses
in many months of trial and affirmed by the Court of
Appeals—preclude reaching the abstract questions pre-
sented.’ Petitioners also ignore recent decisions by this
Court which compel support of the factual determinations
made below. Moreover, there is no conflict among the
Circuit Courts of Appeals in the well-settled area of inter-
district school desegregation law. The petitions should,
therefore, be denied.

I. THIS CASE, DECIDED ON UNAPPEALED
FACTUAL FINDINGS APPLICABLE ONLY TO
THESE RESPONDENT DISTRICTS, HAS NO
NATIONAL SIGNIFICANCE AND THE QUES.-
TIONS STATED ARE NOT PRESENTED BY
THE FACTUAL FINDINGS.

Petitioners assert that the district court and the Court
of Appeals’ majority have “misread” Milliken in regard to

6. For example, in The Monrosa v. Carbon Black Export,
Inc., 359 U.S. 180 (1959), the Court was compelled to dismiss
a writ of certiorari as improvidently granted when the question
in the petition turned out not to be presented on the record.
As Justice Brennan noted:

While this Court decides questions of public importance,
it decides them in the context of meaningful litigation.
Its function in resolving conflicts among the Courts of
Appeals is judicial, not simply administrative or managerial.
Resolution here of [the conflict] can await a day when the
issue is posed less abstractly.

Id. at 184.

7. The petitions are obviously designed to create the illu-
sion that the district court found an interdistrict liability, albeit
an unspecified one, against the State in its September 17, 1984
intradistrict order. That illusion is contrary to findings in the
prior June 5, 1984 findings, the July 16, 1984 HEW Order
and the subsequent orders of January 25, 1985 and May 11, 1987.

15

whether proof of interdistrict effects of constitutional vio-
lations by the State or KCMSD would be sufficient to
warrant inclusion of the respondent districts in a manda-
tory interdistrict remedy even if they were themselves
innocent of any wrongdoing. Petitioners further assert
that because of this misreading of Milliken, the lower
courts did not undertake an analysis of whether the vio-
lations found by the district court had substantial seg-
regative effects in the respondent districts. Petitioners’
assertions are wrong. What the petitioners are really
complaining about is that the findings showed there were
no interdistrict effects.

The liability of the State and KCMSD in the intra-
district proceeding was based on their failure to remove
the vestiges of the pre-1954 school system in KCMSD.
603-605a. The intradistrict liability was derived from
this failure, not from supposed housing violations or an
impermissibly vague notion of encouragement of private
discrimination. 602a. The district court specifically found
that “plaintiffs have not persuaded the Court that any
vestiges or significant effects of the pre-1954 dual school
system remain in any of the SSDs.” 315a. Thus, there
was no effect in the respondent districts of the source of
the State’s intradistrict liability—the pre-1954 dual school
system that was not totally eradicated in KCMSD. This
and the other unappealed fact findings discussed above
undermine petitioners’ arguments that a supposed mis-
reading of Milliken affected the outcome of this case. The
respondent districts prevail under any reading of Milliken
because the district court found, and the Court of Appeals
concurred, that no significant interdistrict effect resulted
from any violation by any entity.

Cutting through the petitions’ chaff, this is a fact
bound case which the plaintiffs lost at trial and on appeal.

16

Neither the district court nor the Court of Appeals re-
treated from longstanding precedent or extended pre-
viously settled legal principles. The result merely turned
on fact findings that are germane and relevant only to

The district court conducted a thorough and exhaustive
inquiry into the circumstantial and direct evidence adduced
on the issue of discriminatory intent. See Village of
Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development
Corp., 429 U.S. 252 (1977); Washington v. Davis, 426 US.
229 (1976). No illegal intent was found. Moreover, unlike
every other reported interdistrict case, each respondent
district took prompt action to comply with Brown v. Board
of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954).

The district court found that no boundary lines were
ever drawn for racial reasons. The respondent districts
have essentially the same boundaries now as they had
before 1930. Further, at least as far back as 1910, KCMSD’s
boundary, as is common in the North, has not been coter-
minous with any city’s boundaries. Indeed, one of
KCMSD’s largest areas of white enrollment is located
outside the City of Kansas City.

In regard to boundary issues, both petitions strive
to make this case analogous to cases involving gerryman-
dering or racially motivated state legislation by mischar-
acterizing a 1957 legislative amendment. See, for ex-
ample, Plaintiffs’ Pet. at 52-53. That amendment dealt
with population levels which affected the permissible size
of city school districts. The district court found that
the bill, which was known as House Bill No. 171 (“H.B.
171”), had no “racial reasons” when it was first passed in
1897 or later amended upon several occasions. 335a-36.
The district court’s unapp.aled fact finding was that the
legislation was intended to “avoid administrative con-

17

fusion and problems” and that the actions of state leg-
islators “were not motivated by racial concerns.” 337a--
338. As the district court also found, “H.B. 171 was not
enacted with the intent to concentrate black students
within the KCMSD” and there were no current significant
effects from its enactment. 339a. Moreover, as the dis-
trict court found, KCMSD was never prevented from
making any annexation outside of Kansas City as evi-
denced by its subsequent annexations of white areas.
338a-39.5 Given these findings, it is undisputed that these
respondent aistricts are not the product of any violation.

The district court found that there was no region-
alized interdistrict dual school system and that the de
minimis number of pre-1954 transfers of black students
to KCMSD were not a significant cause of KCMSD’s
present racial composition. The district court also re-
jected plaintiffs’ expert witness who tried to develop a
“depopulation” theory which hypothesized that blacks
were gradually forced out of all areas except KCMSD.
305a-316. In its September 17, 1984 intradistrict order,
the court reiterated that it rejected that expert opinion
“as contrary to the weight of the evidence and as being
without sufficient foundation.” 532a-33.

The respondent districts did not lure any white stu-
dents from KCMSD. This simply is not a case involving
illegal transfers of white students. See, for example, 426a.
Moreover, the district court found that these districts did
not involve themselves in any housing discrimination.
Unlike most other interdistrict cases, a substantial amount
of subsidized and public housing exists in these districts.

8. The district court also found that no illega? racial intent
existed in regard to a commission report known as the Spain-
hower Commission which was never enacted into law. The
district court found “no credible evidence .. . to support their
allegation that racial concerns led to the defeat of the Spain-
hower recommendations.” 340a.

es

18

KCMSD was not racially indentifiable in 1954. Only
18% of its students were black. Because of hundreds of
thousands of moves and demographic changes over the
past 30 years, KCMSD’s black percentage increased. The
district court observed that our society was quite dynamic.
50la. The Court of Appeals also observed that one of
plaintiffs’ experts conceded that the forces at work in
central cities after 1954 would have caused KCMSD to
become majority black and that many nongovernment-
caused factors affected residential choices. 76a.

Plaintiffs’ only attempt to quantify any interdistrict
effects (regardless of cause) was rejected by the district
court because the numbers, whether aggregated or dis-
aggregated, showed at most only a dé minimis impact
on enrollments. 36la-62. Moreover, KCMSD’s black en-
rollment actually decreased by more than 10,000 from 1970
to 1984. At the same time, no “whitening” effects were
shown in the respondent districts because, as the district
court found, substantial numbers of black families moved
there during the late 1960’s, the 1970’s and even more
so in the last few years, some from neighborhoods within
KCMSD. 369a. As of 1980, over 23,000 blacks resided
outside of what one of plaintiffs’ experts called the “prin-
cipal contiguous area,” an increase of 14,645 since 1970.
357a-58. The district court found that this fact refuted
any notion of barriers to black moves. 358a. While
KCMSD’s black enrollment decreased by more than 10,000,
black enrollment in these districts increased by more
than 3,000 students.*

9. Plaintiffs’ Pet. at 28-29, resorts to a non-record argu-
ment. That argument violates Fed. R. Evid. 408 with respect
to use of a supposed offer of compromise and is highly im-
proper. It also presents an incomplete picture. Unfortu-

(Continued on following page)

19

As the district court found, and the Court of Appeals
affirmed, this is a case which deals with demographic
trends unrelated to acts of wrongdoing by governmental
entities. There is no showing of any current significant
interdistrict effects caused by any violation. Thus, the
questions presented in the petitions are not presented
by the findings here. This Court recently emphasized
the importance of recognizing the trial court’s role in
making factual determinations under Fed. R. Civ. P. 52.
Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564 (1985).

For obvious reasons, the petitions never mention
Anderson. Instead, they attempt to obscure the factual
theories petitioners lost by focusing on racial balance dis-
parities and renewing still unproven assertions that were
found not to constitute intentional violations. Petitioners
imply failed to prove their own trial theories. Two courts
below reviewed the evidence and reached the same con-
clusion; petitioners’ dissatisfaction with that reading does
not justify denying deference to the fact finding court.
In the circumstances here, Anderson could not be more
applicable.

II. THE LEGAL ISSUES ARE SETTLED AND THE
RESULT IN ANY INTERDISTRICT CASE
SIMPLY DEPENDS UPON THE FACTUAL
FINDINGS MADE IN THAT CASE; THERE IS
NO CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUIT COURTS
OF APPEALS.

Milliken is an established case that has, over the past
13 years, provided good and sufficient guidelines for adju-

Footnote continued—

nately, petitioners have used any response to voluntary plan
participation in ways to achieve a perceived litigation advantage.
The districts thus concluded that only upon the complete ter-
mination of litigation could a proper atmosphere for meaningful
consideration of such plans exist.

20

dicating interdistrict cases. Basically, Milliken held that
“without an interdistrict violation and interdistrict effect,
there is no constitutional wrong calling for an interdistrict
remedy”, 418 U.S. at 744. The Court recognized, in setting
forth the relevant interdistrict standards, that principles
of autonomy and local contro] are firmly rooted in our
tradition of government and play a particularly important
role in encouraging “educational excellence.”

[The] notion that school district lines may be casually
ignored or treated as a mere administrative conven-
ience is contrary to the history of public education in
our country. No single tradition in public education
is more deeply rooted than local control over the
operation of schools; local autonomy has long been
thought essential both to the maintenance of com-
munity concern and support for public schools and to
quality of the education process. See Wright v. Coun-
cil of the City of Emporia, 407 U.S. at 469. Thus, in
San Antonio School District v. Rodriquez, 411 U.S. 1,
50 (1973), we observed that local control over the
educational process affords citizens an opportunity
to participate in decision making, permits the struc-
turing of school programs to fit local needs, and en-
courages “experimentation, innovation, and healthy
competition for educational excellence.”

418 U.S. at 741-42. Due to the importance of such local
institutions, interdistrict relief was refused, in part, be-
cause:

[t]o approve the [interdistrict] remedy ordered by
the [district] court would impose on the outlying dis-
tricts, not shown to have committed any constitutional
violation, a wholly impermissible remedy based on a
standard not hinted at in Brown I and II or any holding
of this Court.

21

418 U.S. at 745 (emphasis supplied). Here, each respon-
dent district is an exemplary and important public insti-
tution that is crucial to the communities it serves. More-
over, there is no finding of a current significant inter-
district effect resulting from any interdistrict violation.

Despite Milliken’s standards and holding, petitioners
assert the respondent districts can be coerced into a man-
datory interdistrict remedy merely for alleged wrongs of
others. It may well be that petitioners’ confusion stems
from an erroneous belief that an interdistrict remedy must
follow anytime a State is found liable for intradistrict
violations. That is not correct because the ultimate rem-
edy in Milliken was an intradistrict remedy funded in
large part by the State of Michigan.

Milliken set forth the type of discriminatory acts
which will constitute interdistrict violations for purposes
of determining the availability of an interdistrict remedy.

Thus an interdistrict remedy might be in order where
the racially discriminatory acts of one or more school
districts caused racial segregation in an adjacent dis-
trict or where district lines have been deliberately
drawn on the basis of race.

418 U.S. at 745. Neither circumstance exists here and
no current significant interdistrict effects were found in
any event. There is certainly no other circumstance pre-
sented here to compel coercive or mandatory interdistrict
remedies.

Milliken’s principles were reaffirmed in Hills v. Gaut-
reaux, 425 U.S. 284 (1976). Hills considered Milliken’s
prohibition against “judicial decree[s] restructuring the
operation of local governmental entities that were not
implicated in any constitutional violation.” Id. at 196.

22

The Court upheld the concerned order in Hills, but only
after concluding that the remedial order would not con-
solidate, restructure or impair the rights of the local
governmental units. 425 U.S. at 305-06. In discussing
Milliken, the Court emphasized the needless judicial in-
terference with the operation of the suburban districts in
that case:

[T]he District court’s desegregation order in Milliken
was held to be an impermissible remedy not because
it envisioned relief against a wrongdoer extending
beyond the city in which the violation occurred but
because it contemplated a judicial decree restructuring
the operation of local governmental entities that were
not implicated in any constitutional violation.

425 U.S. at 297 (emphasis supplied). The Court held that
the “crucial distinction between HUD and the suburban
school districts in Milliken is that HUD has been found
to have violated the Constitution,’ Id. at 297, and the
remedy for its wrongs was fashioned so as not to impair
the rights of local units of government. The Hills court
declared that the proposed remedy in Milliken was im-
permissible due to:

the limits on the federal judicial power to interfere
with the operation of the state political entities that
were not implicated in unconstitutional conduct.
Here, unlike the desegregation remedy found errone-
ous in Milliken, a judicial order directing relief be-
yond the boundary lines of Chicago will not necessar-
ily entail coercion of uninvolved governmental units.

425 U.S. at 298 (emphasis supplied).

Certainly, neither Milliken nor Hills holds that an
interdistrict remedy can be ordered in the absence of a

aw a rela

23

current significant interdistrict effect from an interdistrict
violation. Here, the findings precluded any current sig-
nificant interdistrict effect or violation. In these circum-
stances, no court has ever required «a mandatory inter-
district order. Nor has any court imposed a mandatory
interdistrict remedy upon innocent school districts that
were not the product of a gerrymandering-type violation.
Thus, there is no basis for granting certiorari because of
some alleged conflict among the Circuit Courts of Appeals.

Moreover, the decisions below, as conceded by both
petitions, are fully in accord and consistent with Armour
v. Nix, No. 16708 (N.D. Ga. September 24, 1979), aff’d,
446 U.S. 930 (1980); Goldsboro City Board of Education
v. Wayne County Board of Education, 745 F.2d 324 (4th
Cir. 1984); Tasby v. Estes, 572 F.2d 1010 (5th Cir. 1978);
Taylor v. Ouachita Parish School Board, 648 F.2d 959 (5th
Cir. 1981); Lee v. Lee County Board of Education, 639 F.2d
1243 (5th Cir. 1981); Berry v. School District of Benton
Harbor, 698 F.2d 813 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 US.
892 (1983); Liddell v. State, 731 F.2d 1294 (8th Cir. 1984),
cert. denied, 469 U.S. 21F (1984); and Little Rock School
District v. Pulaski County Special School District, 778 F.2d
404 (8th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 2926 (1986).
See also, Bronson v. Board of Education, 578 F. Supp. 1091
(S.D. Ohio 1984), aff'd, 687 F.2d 836 (6th Cir. 1982) and
Bell v. Board of Education, Akron Public Schools, 491 F.
Supp. 916 (N.D. Ohio 1980), aff'd, 683 F.2d 963 (6th Cir.
1982).

The Eighth Circuit’s majority recognized that such
cases had “great force” and that Goldsboro, for example,
presented “‘many similarities to the case before us.” 100a-
101. Indeed, in those cases, just as here, the trial courts
made findings that no boundaries had been drawn or

24

maintained on the basis of race; that pre-1954 transfers
(which, unlike here, did not stop immediately after
Brown) had no current effect; that the outlying districts
were either unitary or being operated in accordance with
a court plan; and that there was no district cooperation
with other governmental bodies to maintain racially iden-
tifiable schools. Here, there also was no imbalance in
public housing location.

The petitions are wrong in asserting that a conflict
exists with decisions from the Third or Seventh Circuits.
See Evans v. Buchanan, 393 F. Supp. 428 (D. Del.), aff'd,
423 U.S. 963 (1975) and United States v. Board of School
Commissioners of Indianapolis, 456 F. Supp. 185 (S.D.
Ind. 1978) (Indianapolis interdistrict case), aff'd in part
and vacated in part, 637 F.2d 1101 (7th Cir. 1980), cert.
denied, 449 U.S. 838 (1980). These cases involve no
more than intentional illegal gerrymandering coupled with
imbalances in public housing location. They are also
cases in which current significant effects of violations
were found. Thus, what exists are differences in the
controlling and important facts. When a boundary is
created with discriminatory intent, as in the cases peti-
tioners cite, the resulting districts are implicated in the
violation and thus no deference to local government
structure is required. Here, no such interdistrict viola-
tion or “interdistrict regionalized dual system” existed.
Thus, no interdistrict presumption of failure to satisfy
any affirmative duty to merge existed.

Neither the district court nor the Court of Appeals
found any conflict with the decisions petitioners cite.
Indeed, as the majority noted:

These cases all involve governmental action fixing or
ignoring boundaries with discriminatory intent. The

25

findings in the case before us are to the contrary.
These cases are therefore distinguishable as are the
boundary cases such as Morrilton, considered by this
court. See Part IV, supra. These decisions upon
which the Jenkins class so heavily relies, when viewed
in light of the findings made by the district court,
plainly have no applicability to the present case... .

99a (emphasis supplied); see also 95a.

In Evans, a pre-Washington v. Davis case, school
districts except for the predominantly black Wilmington
district were consolidated under a 1968 state law. That
law allowed, for a one-year period, district reorganiza-
tions except for the Wilmington district. In concluding
that such gerrymandering legislation was a violation, a pure
disparate impact rationale was applied. Evans was, how-
ever, limited by the intent requirement announced later
in Washington v. Davis. See, Goldsboro, supra at 330-332.
Here, no intentional violation was found. Further, unlike
here, interdistrict effects were found to exist. Thus, no
conflict exists; far differing facts apply.’®

Nor is the Indianapolis case in conflict. Once again,
far different facts existed. All area governmental opera-
tions except school districts were consolidated in a State-
passed legislative Uni-Gov concept. Illegal racial intent
was found to exist in the passage of that 1970’s Uni-Gov
legislation. The opposite is true here. Indeed, a complex
multiplicity of State and local governmental entities exists
here. No illegal intentional racial legislation was found
to exist. The vital and long established unitary districts

10. The dissent acknowledged that “proof of disparate im-
pact on the SSDs is not enough to hold the SSDs liable and
provide the basis of interdistrict relief,” 262a. Significantly, the
dissent also conceded that the absence of violations by these dis-
tricts had significance. 178a and 266a.

26

here are not the “product of a violation” as was the case
in Indianapolis.‘ Further, unlike here, there was a lack
of balance in public housing location in the Indianapolis
case.

Missouri school district boundaries are established by
local votes and not by a State Board of Education. More-
over, the district court found that in Missouri there is
a great amount of local autonomy in school districts.
Indeed, the degree of autonédmy was greater than in Mil-
liken, Evans v. Buchanan or the Indianapolis case. The
lack of local control was, of course, important to the
decisions in both Evans and Indianapolis.

11. Like Evans and Indianapolis, cases such as Hoots v.
Pennsylvania, 672 F.2d 1107 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 877
(1982), and Newburg Area Council, Inc. v. Bd. of Educ., 510 F.2d
1358 (6th Cir. 1974) (Louisville interdistrict case), cert. denied,
421 U.S. 931 (1975), involve gerrymandering. Newburg also
involved illegal white transfers to the suburbs. Moreover, both
Pennsylvania and Kentucky had far different educational sys-
tems with little local autonomy. Here, the finding established
just the opposite. Interestingly, the subsequent Berry, 698 F.2d
813, and Bell, 683 F.2d 963, cases from the Sixth Circuit show
that no conflict could possibly exist in this area. Those cases
show that results just depend upon the locally relevant factual
findings and the varying State approaches to local educational
autonomy. The Bell court did not find any conflict with previous
decisions. Bell, 683 F.2d at 968.

In the Indianapolis case, the Seventh Circuit also rejected
evidence of realtor practices and other forms of private dis-
crimination. 637 F.2d at 1109 n.15. Violations by the city
housing authority were cited but, unlike here where no housing
authority was a party except HUD which was dismissed, it was
a party against whom relief was sought and, unlike here, there
was an imbalance in public housing location. Id. at 1117. Dis-
tricts not involved in significant violations were dismissed. United
States v. Board of Commissioners of Indianapolis, 503 F.2d 68,
73-74, 78-80, 86 (7th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 929 (1975).

Parenthetically, it can be noted in regard to housing-related
issues, Judge Arnold, recognized the factual nature of the rel-
evant inquiry. He also observed that the opinion “does not
make law for this Circuit... .” 180a. Thus, no possible con-
flict among Circuit Courts of Appeals could exist in any event.

27

This is not a situation where any of the Courts of
Appeals have recognized or stated that a conflict exists.
To the contrary, any difference among the cases is not
the legal principles applied but simply the result of dif-
fering and meaningful underlying factual findings. See,
for example, Goldsboro, supra at 330-332.

The absence of intentional violations, the findings of
no current significant interdistrict effect, the differing
structure of the educational organization in the State,
the lack of any gerrymandering and many other unique
local facts such as the lack of imbalance in public
housing location makes this case far stronger than any
other interdistrict case, including Milliken. Thus, there is
no reason to review settled issues which have not troubled
this Court for the past 13 years. Any subsequent inter-
district case that may occur elsewhere will depend upon
the local facts developed at trial.

28

CONCLUSION

The petitions should be denied. The questions stated
are not presented. Moreover, the case is so fact sensitive
on local matters that no purpose would be served by
certiorari. The law is well settled and no conflict among
the Courts of Appeals exists. The result in any case is
dependent largely upon the locally governing facts as
found by the trial judge.

June 24, 1987
Respectfully submitted,

GeorGE E. FELDMILLER
CHARLES W. GERMAN
Kirk T. May

DANIEL D. CRABTREE
Strnson, Mac & Fizze.i

2000 Boatmen’s Center
920 Main Street
Post Office Box 19251
Kansas City, Missouri 64141
$16-842-8600
Liaison Counsel for Respondent
School Dist: *s

ee

COUNSEL FOR INDIVIDUAL RESPONDENT
SCHOOL DISTRICTS

Stinson, Mac & Fizze.u
Georce E. FELDMILLER
CHARLES W. GERMAN
Kirk T. May
Danie D. CRABTREE
920 Main Street
Post Office Box 192%
Kansas City, Missouri 64141
816-842-8600
Counsel for North Kansas City
School District, Grandview Con-
solidated School District C-4,
Lee’s Summit Reorganized School
District R-7, School District of
the City of Independence and
Fort Osage School District R-1
and their superintendents

CocHRAN, TYREE, OSWALD, BARTON &
McDonaLp
Rospert McDona.p
JuLius OSWALD
P.O. Box 550
Blue Springs, Missouri 64015
816-836-8000
Counsel for Blue Springs Reorgan-
ized School District and its
superintendent

° fi -

Dona.p C. EARNSHAW

23 East 3rd Street

Lee’s Summit, Missouri 64063

816-524-3428

Counsel for Grandview Consoli-

dated School District C-4 and
Lee’s Summit Reorganized
School District and their
superintendents

Law Orrices or TrMoTHy BosLer
TimotHuy Bos_Ler
Tom Capps

800 Westowne VII
152 Highway & 291 Highway
Liberty, Missouri 64068
816-781-8171
Counsel for the School District
of the City of Liberty and its
superintendent

Humpurey & FARRINGTON
NorMAN HuMPHREY, JR.
KENNETH B. McCtain
123 West Kansas Street
Independence, Missouri 64050
816-836-5050

Counsel for the School District of

the City of Independence and
Fort Osage School District R-1
and their superintendents

ee EE ee eNEN

- ill -

Kuraner & SCHWEGLER
Jerrrey L. Lucas
500 Commerce Trust Bldg.
922 Walnut
Kansas City, Missouri 64106
816-221-3443
Counsel for Hickman Mills Con-
solidated School District C-1
and its superintendent

PoPpHAM, CONWAY, SWEENEY, FREMONT
& BuNDSCHU
Houuis H. HANOVER
1300 Commerce Trust Bldg.
922 Walnut
Kansas City, Missouri 64106
816-221-2288
Counsel for Center School District
and its superintendent

SHOOK, Harpy & BAcon
Gene E. Voticts
Gary L. WHITTIER
1101 Walnut
Mercantile Tower - 20th F1.
Kansas City, Missouri 64106
816-474-6550
Counsel for Raytown Consolidated
School District C-2 and its
superintendent

- 1¥ e«

SWANSON, MipGLey, GANGWERE,
CLARKE & KITCHIN
JAMES H. McLARNEY
LAWRENCE M. MAHER
1500 Commerce Trust Bldg.
922 Walnut
Kansas City, Missouri 64106
816-842-9692
Counsel for Park Hill Reorganized
School District No. V of Platte
County and its superintendent

:
|
:
|

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2163%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
