# Opposition Brief — Graham v. Teledyne-Continental Motors

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2077%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 815

## Text

| BILLED
>) | MAY 11 wer
No. 86-1614 ‘HOSEPH E. SPANIOL, JR,
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM. 1986

DOROTHY A. GRAHAM, as The Executrix of
The Estate of James M. Graham, Deceased,
Petitioner,

vs.

TELEDYNE-CONTINENTAL MOTORS, a Division

of TELEDYNE INDUSTRIES, INC., and THE

NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD,
Respondents.

ON PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JACQUES E. SOIRET’
MICHAEL L. KELLY
BRUCE G. SHANAHAN

KIRTLAND & PACKARD
Tenth Floor
626 Wilshire Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90017
(213) 624-0931
Attorneys for Respondents

“Counsel of Record

Lawyers Brief Service / Legal Publishers / (213) 383-4457 / (714) 720-1510
ry

T

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit’s
affirmation of the district court’s denial of plaintiff’s/
petitioner’s injunction barring the National Transportation
Safety Board from conducting an aircraft accident
investigation is in conflict with other jurisdictions or of such
importance as to require this Court’s review.

2. Whether the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit’s
interpretation of 49 C.F.R. Subsection 831.9(a) and
Subsection 831.10(a) as permitting the National Transpor-
tation Safety Board to exclude from participating or
observing aircraft accident investigations, those who are
neither authorized nor who would add to the investigation is
in conformance with the National Transportation Safety
Board’s congressional safety mandate.

3. Whether the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
appropriately determined that a civil litigant’s right to
indemnification and/or contribution are not significantly
impacted by the discretionary exclusion of its retained
expert by the National Transportation Safety Board from
the Board’s investigation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented
Neen ee nooo eescnsesubinenesssabacsssecihhsneenness i
cscs cupneminnducenspennosanesonsonnencass iv
Brief in opposition to petition for writ of certiorari ............ 1
Constitutional, statutory, and regulatory provisions
io cna cinasnsvnsannapransecuionncnsosavinevades 2
a ssndenavnsneensanssessanseausnesvnns 2
I I ON osc nsnnncrscssanstnassecenssevensssaasecsoues 5
I The issues involved in this matter do not meet
the criteria for this Courts review. ..................ssssseseseees 5
A. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit’s decision does not conflict with
prior federal court of appeals decisions. ............... 5

1. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit has properly interpreted the
discretionary provisions of 49 C.F.R.
Section 831.9(a) and Section
isin cal cgisi cahgniesekiaengeahincanceisnvecsouns 5

ae oe

Page

B. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit’s decision is in conformity with the
safety mission, purpose and requirements
of the National Transportation Safety
Board and does not require intervention by
this court to produce settled law on an
issue of national importance. ..............c::ceseceeeeeeeeees 7

1. The pertinent NTSB regulations were
properly promulgated to promote the
investigation of the facts, conditions,
circumstances and causes of any
IIE Is Gikcicniteescetiipinntmantennatnnieds 8

2. Fulfillment of the above mission
precludes participation in NTSB acci-
dent investigations by personnel who
cannot add unique, specialized knowl-
UR GE CIE. srseesrsinipicrnncsiiccenisiioncgniotinenavnces 9

II Petitioner has failed to demonstrate any
constitutional right that should override the
NTSB’s safety function or mission. ..................00000008 12

A. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit’s decision appropriately determines
that there is no significant detriment to
petitioner’s right to contribution or indem-
SIs. sinscatiaek lass pansnsncdecadianninbecsiadenestiadiininiacddele 12

—1li—

Page

B. The Tucker Act provides Petitioner with

an appropriate remedy should there be a
resultant taking of property. .............ccccccceeeeeeee 14
CIO tesiiersssatcachstnamndnaiaintianebecuiaiensinckeasnacsenaniietieciaan 16

—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases

Aerospace Mianagement International v. National —
Transportation Safety Board
$5-108D (D.C.Cir., Feb. 13, 1985) ...cccccrccccccescceceseee 7

Aerospace Milanagement International v. National
Transportation Safety
85-1428 (D.C.Cir., July 25, 1985) oe 7

Air East, Inc.,, v. NTSB
512 F.2d. 1227, 1231 (3d. Cir.),
cert. denied, 96 S.Ct. 122,
423 U.S. 863, 46 L.Ed.2d 92 (1975) ........... 12

American Airlines, Inc. v. United States
418 F.2d 180 (Sth Cir., 1959) oo... sssiciinid 13

Berguido v. E:astern Airlines, Inc.
317 F.2d 628, 631 (3rd Cir., 1962),
cert. denied, 84 S.Ct. 170, 375 US. 895,
OR ie CO CID eevssctssrsnstrcesannssectinessapnnaninaes 13

Exxon Corp. w. Wisconsin Dept. of Revenue
100 S.Ct. 2109, 2118, 447 U.S. 207,
i SE CRIME scinerscrsnecncvexenntnncsnactinnvetinpnentets 7

Kline v. Martin
345 F.Supp. 31 (E.D. VA, 1972) oo... 13

Page

Lobel v. American Airline, Inc.
> 2 Biv ie Ae, | ;) eee 13

McGowan v. Maryland
81 S.Ct. 1101, 366 U.S. 420,
eee: Ue ED Steapictcessscsintisenciniecentansenestons 12

Miami Herald Publishing Company v. City of
Hallandale
Oe ee Oe ne ee 13

Parker v. Flood
98 S.Ct. 2522, 2524, 437 U.S. 584,

Pe ee. PR OUD cecennestsnccninesacssnnsmerantnnnsiabsaieninin 7

Tanner v. McCall
441 F.Supp. 503 (1977) modified in part
ee a PUI heciresessenineeeceneicebvciesinsiteceonsaeeniennsioe 12

United States v. Dickens
I) rc © i cseciuniuendaueeiaiiies 12

United States v. Lynch
ge om Te eS ol OD. : Reena 10

United States v. Martorano
620 F.2d. 912 (ist Cir., 1980),
cert. denied, 101 S.Ct. 356, 449 U.S. 952,
Bh ee a: hy. jee 10

a ve

Page
United Steel Workers of America v. Sadlawski
102 S.Ct. 2339, 437 U.S. 102,
Se S fee ipbinseideataliata 12
Statutes and Regulations
49 C.F.R:
RIE SITTIN “cischvessihnnsnieinctnsepicitindinideniasiiemnemvniaeesionn 2, 5
i a 3
I 2, 13
IRC cen ONC eR Se 2, 13
49 U'S.C.:
I a 2
RE SR nates AAR NR Te Se MT 2
NE FI a caeinauanaiacead 2, 9
UE TLD CEGIED ccceescciccccccccsncccenncsecansnn 2, 10
UNIT TRI Setar aeinetens cao oe 2
Other Authorities
NTSB’s Investigation Manual, NTSB Order 6200.1
A, Investigation Manual-Aircraft Accidents,
FT SEE ar HORT De ee 10

United States Supreme Court Ruie 17(a) ....000..000000ccccceeeeee 7

No. 86-1614

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term 1986

DOROTHY A. GRAHAM, as The Executrix of
The Estate of James M. Graham, Deceased,
Petitioner,

vs.

TELEDYNE-CONTINENTAL MOTORS, a Division

of TELEDYNE INDUSTRIES, INC., and THE

NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD,
Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO: The Honorable Chief Justice and Associate Justices of
the Supreme Court of the United States

Respondent, Teledyne Continental Motors, aircraft
products division, a division of Teledyne Industries, Inc.,
respectfully requests that this court deny the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari seeking review of the judgment and
opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit, decided and entered on December 10, 1986, and as
amended on denial of rehearing and rehearing en banc on
February 11, 1987.

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND
REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of the Constitution, statutes, and
regulations involved are set forth in this brief, infra. The
provisions involved are: 49 U.S.C. Section 1903(a)(1); 49
U.S.C. Section 1903(b)(2); 49 U.S.C. Section 701; 49 U.S.C.
Section 1441(a); 49 U.S.C. Section 1441(c); 49 C.F.R.
Sections 831.9(a), 831.10(a), 835.3 and 8445.50.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

At approximately 8:30 p.m. on December 23, 1985, a twin
engine Beechcraft Baron, number N1494G, purportedly
piloted by James Graham crashed into the Sun Valley Mall
in Concord, California. There were numerous injuries,
fatalities and extensive property damage as a result of this
accident.

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) is
investigating this accident. On orders from the National
Transportation Safety Board, specifically those of the
investigator in charge, the engines of this aircraft were sent
to Teledyne Continental Motors, Aircraft Products
Division’s, (Teledyne) facility in Mobile, Alabama. Said
engines arrived at the facility on approximately January 7,
1986. The engines were transported to this facility in order
to utilize the expertise and specialized facilities of the
engine manufacturer in an NTSB directed tear down of the
engines.

Petitioner, Estate of Graham, (Graham) sought to have
their retained expert Mr. James Jensen present at various
aspects of the engine tear down and investigation of this
crash. The NTSB pursuant to their discretionary authority

denied participation of Graham’s expert during the
investigative phase of this incident.

On January 8, 1986 Petitioner Graham filed a complaint
for injunctive relief in the United States District Court for
the Northern District of California seeking, inter alia, a
temporary restraining order prohibiting the tear down and
analysis of the engines unless their retained expert was
present. A hearing on Petitioner’s motion for a temporary
restraining order was conducted on January 9, 1986 before
the Honorable Marilyn H. Patel, United States District
Judge for the Northern District of California. After oral
argument by all parties, the District Court denied the Estate
of Graham’s Application for a _ Restraining Order.
(Appendix A-10-11)!

Following the denial of the above application, Graham
sought a temporary restraining order in the Superior Court
of the State of California, County of Contra Costa and in
addition, filed a Notice of Appeal in the District Court and
an Emergency Motion for an Order Granting Injunction
during pendency of Appeal or Writ of Mandate in the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. The
Complaint in the Superior Court of the State of California
was removed by the NTSB and Teledyne to the United
States District Court, Northern District of California and
was later referred to Judge Marilyn H. Patel as a related
action. On January 21, 1986, the Court of Appeals granted
Petitioner’s Emergency Motion enjoining Respondents from
certain testing pending briefing and oral argument. The
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit issued
its opinion denying Graham’s appeal and affirming the

' References to Appendix A refer to the appendix attached to
Petitioner’s brief.

district court’s denial of the restraining order on
December 10, 1986 and amended its opinion upon denial of
rehearing and rehearing en banc on February 11, 1987.
Subsequent thereto, Graham filed an Emergency Motion
for Stay of Mandate and Stay of Enforcement of Judgment
with the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit which was
denied on March 4, 1987. Petitioner also filed a Motion for
Reconsideration of Order re Stay of Enforcement of
Judgment which was denied and mandate has issued by the
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Subsequently, Petitioner sought a Stay of Enforcement of
Judgment and Writ of Injunction pending Petition for Writ
of Certiorari before the Honorable Sandra D. O’Connor
which was denied on February 27, 1987 and renewed this
Motion before the Honorable William H. Rehnquist, Chief
Justice for the United States Supreme Court which was
denied on March 9, 1987.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I,

THE ISSUES INVOLVED IN THIS MATTER
DO NOT MEET THE CRITERIA FOR THIS
COURT?’S REVIEW.

A. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit’s
decision does not conflict with prior federal
court of appeals decisions.

1. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit has properly interpreted the
discretionary provisions of 49 C.F.R.
Section 831.9(a) and Section 831.10(a).

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit determined
that 49 C.F.R. Sections 831.9(a)? and 831.10(a) > govern

249 C.F.R. Section 831.9(a) Parties to the field investigation.

(a) The investigator-in-charge may, on behalf of the Director, Bureau
of Accident Investigation, or the Director, Bureau of Field Operations,
designate parties to participate in the field investigation. Parties to the
field investigation shall be limited to those persons, government agencies,
companies, and associations whose employees, functions, activities, or
products were involved in the accident or incident and who can provide
suitable qualified technical personnel to actively assist in the field
investigation. (44 F.R. 34418, June 14, 1979 as Amended at 49 F.R.
32852, August 17, 1984).

3 49 C.F.R. Section 831.10(a) Access to and release of aircraft
wreckage, records, mail and cargo.

(a) Only the Board's accident investigation personnel and persons
authorized by the investigator-in-charge, the Director, Bureau of
Accident Investigation, or the Director, Bureau of Field Operations to
participate in any particular investigation, examination or testing shall be

who will participate in the investiga_ion and who will have
access to aircraft wreckage. The above sections were found
to be permissive in authorizing the investigator-in-charge to
designate certain parties to the investigation. The Court
found that the NTSB had not abused its discretion by
deputizing Teledyne and refusing to accord the Estate of
Graham’s representative that same status. The Court
further found that:

“The use of Teledyne’s facilities and expertise in
disassembling its own engines could be indispens-
able in enabling the NTSB to carry out its
mission.”, (A-6)

which is:
‘to investigate or cause to be investigated (in
such detail as it shall prescribe) and determine the
facts, conditions, and circumstances and the cause
or probable cause or causes of any — (A) aircraft
accident .. ..49 U.S.C. Section 1903(a)(1)(1982).”
(A-6)

In similar proceedings in 1984 before the D.C. Circuit a
nonmanufacturer, engaged in representing aircraft manu-
facturers in NTSB accident investigations asserted a right
under the agency’s regulations and a purported property
interest protected by the due process clause entitling it to
serve as the agent for parties in NTSB investigations. In
each instance, the D.C. Circuit denied the stay motions. Its
orders stated that the Petitioners had failed to show a
likelihood of success on the merits. Thereafter, the NTSB
successfully moved for dismissal of the appeals as moot.

permitted access td aircraft wreckage, records, mail, or cargo which is in
the Board’s custody. (44 F.R. 34418, June 14, 1979, as amended at 49
F.R. 32853, August 17, 1984).

Aerospace Management International v. National Trans-
portation Safety Board, 85-1080 (D.C.Cir., Feb. 13, 1985)
(order denying stay pending judicial review) and Aerospace
Management International v. National Transportation
Safety, 85-1428 (D.C.Cir., July 25, 1985) (order denying
stay pending judicial review.) Petitioner’s have completely
failed to demonstrate the existence of circuit conflicts
requiring this court’s review under United States Supreme
Court Rule 17(a).

B. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit’s
Decision is in conformity with the safety
mission, purpose and requirements of the
National Transportation Safety Board and
does not require intervention by this Court to
produce settled law on an issue of national
importance.

Petitioner has failed to demonstrate that the issues
involved are of such national importance as to require this
Court’s intervention. Whereas certiorari was granted in
Parker v. Flood, 98 S.Ct. 2522, 2524, 473 U.S. 584, 57 L.Ed.
2d 451 (1978) in which the lower court’s ruling had a
potentially debilitating impact on the rapidly expanding
national computer “software” industry and in Exxon Corp.
v. Wisconsin Dept. of Revenue, 100 S.Ct. 2109, 2118, 447
U.S. 207, 65 L.Ed. 2d 66 (1980) which involved questions of
whether a state could impose its own apportionment
formula on a vertically integrated national company despite
the Due Process Clause and Commerce Clause, it should
not be granted in the instant matter.

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit’s decision
that a governmental agency’s safety mission takes
precedence over a litigant’s desire to participate in the

investigation of the accident promotes safety, governmental
efficiency, and fairness. It neither negatively impacts an
industry nor conflicts with the purposes of the agency’s
enabling act.

1. The pertinent NTSB regulations were
properly promulgated to promote the
investigation of the facts, conditions,
circumstances and causes of any air-
craft accident.

Title 7 governs the investigation of accidents involving
civil aircraft. Specifically,

“Section 701.[72 stat. 781, as amended by 76 stat. 921, 49
U.S.C. Section 1441](a) It shall be the duty of the National
Transportation Safety Board to -

(1) Make rules and _ regulations governing
notification and report of accidents involving civil
aircraft;

(2) Investigate such accidents and report the
facts, conditions, and circumstances relating to
each accident and the probable cause thereof;

(3) Make such recommendations to the secretary
of transportation as, in its opinion, will tend to
prevent similar accidents in the future;

(4) Make such reports public in such form and
manner as may be deemed by it to be in the public
interest; and

(5) Ascertain what will best tend to reduce or
eliminate the possibility of, or recurrence of,
accidents by conducting special studies and
investigations on matters pertaining to safety in

air navigation and the prevention of accidents.”
[Emphasis added]

Title 7 further permits the NTSB to conduct whatever
investigation is necessary to fulfill its duties. [49 U.S.C.
Section 144 1(c).]

In carrying out its duties under this
subchapter, the National Transportation Safety
Board is authorized to examine and test to the
extent necessary any civil aircraft, aircraft
engine, propeller, appliance, or property aboard an
aircraft involved in an accident in air

9?

commerce....

The plain meaning of this language is that the NTSB
must investigate all crashes and test any part to any degree
necessary, to insure the prevention of similar accidents in
the future.

2. Fulfillment of the above mission pre-
cludes participation in NTSB accident
investigations by personnel who cannot
add unique, specialized knowledge or
expertise.

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit concurred
that the NTSB’s mission and duty were safety related (A-6):

Appellants attempt to impose upon the NTSB
investigation rules of procedural fairness reflects
a misconception of the Board’s mission. The
NTSB’s authorizing statute provides that the
Board shall “investigate or cause to be investi-
gated (in such detail as it shall prescribe), and
determine the facts, conditions, and circumstances
and the cause or probable causes of any...

— a

aircraft accident.” 49 U.S.C. Section 1903(a)(1)
(1982).

Petitioner’s have failed to demonstrate how the question
of excluding a single litigant’s retained expert is of such
unusual importance as to require a hearing by this Court.
United States v. Martorano, 620 F.2d. 912 (1st Cir. 1980)
cert. denied, 101 S.Ct. 356, 449 U.S. 952, 66 L.Ed. 2d 216
(1980); United States v. Lynch, 690 F.2. 213 (D.C. Cir.
1982). The NTSB has and continues to investigate civil
aircraft accidents in an attempt to promote aviation safety.
Petitioners have not and cannot demonstrate that the
exclusion of a single litigant’s retained technical expert on
the basis that he does not add to the safety investigation
requires this Court’s immediate review.

Petitioner’s interpretation of the NTSB’s Investigation
Manual, NTSB Order 6200.1 A, Investigation Manual-
Aircraft Accidents, (April 25, 1980) is erroneous. This
manual specifically states:

“The categories of parties [to the field investiga-
tion} should be interpreted as permitting an
owner/operator to participate... If they request
participation, they or their qualified representative
should be permitted participation.

We should always deal with the owner/operator.
If he is deceased talk to the legal representative of
his estate. When talking to the party repre-
sentatives, the investigator in charge should bear
in mind his obligation to make a decision as to
what type of expertise should be provided.

The decision must be free of prejudice and not
appear capricious. If a nominated consultant is
persona non grata because of the views of other
parties (manufacturer, FAA, etc.) or disliked by

a

the investigator-in-charge, good cause does not
exist for his exclusion. However, if an individual
or a private investigator has demonstrated in the
past an inability to follow board direction or
makes no contribution to the board’s investigative
efforts, the investigator in charge should seek the
designation of someone else.[Emphasis Added].”

Contrary to Petitioner’s assertion, the above specifically
provides the investigator-in-charge with the instruction not
to include any individual who makes no contribution to the
investigative effort. The Court of Appeal for the Ninth
Circuit found that the NTSB had made such a rational
decision when it stated therein:

“By contrast, there is nothing unique Appellant’s
expert could add to the investigation, or so the
NTSB could rationally decide.” (A-6)

The NTSB’s exclusion of Petitioner’s representative from
participating in certain phases of the investigative effort by
the NTSB is neither arbitrary nor capricious as there is a
demonstrable rational basis to support it, as shown above by
the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit’s understanding
that the manufacturer of certain technical components
provides technical insight, specialized knowledge and
specialized facilities geared specifically for that product
which reduces the government’s and the NTSB’s require-
ments to maintain analytical and testing facilities and
personnel. In the instant action, Teledyne’s knowledge of its
own product could obviously assist the NTSB’s staff in the
disassembly, testing and analysis of the engines and would
indeed reduce the risk that someone from the NTSB’s staff
might accidentally and needlessly alter or destroy certain
components.

— [Fu

Il

PETITIONER HAS FAILED TO DEMON-
STRATE ANY CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT
THAT SHOULD OVERRIDE THE NTSB’S
SAFETY FUNCTION OR MISSION

A. The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit’s
decision appropriately determines that there
is no significant detriment to Petitioner’s
right to contribution or indemnification.

The standard for determining whether governmental
regulation or action in an area where public safety is
involved is whether or not said regulation or action bears a
rational relationship to a legitimate governmental objective.
McGowan y. Maryland, 81 S.Ct. 1101, 366 U.S. 420, 6i
L.Ed. 2d 356 (1961). Air East, Inc. v. NTSB, 512 F.2d.
1227, 1231 (3d. Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 96 S.Ct. 122, 423
US. 863, 46 L.Ed. 2d 92 (1975).

NTSB activities minimally infringe upon any and all
litigants’ and potential litigants’ right to indemnification
and contribution. Even assuming arguendo that Petitioner
enjoys a constitutional right to have its tort liability reduced
by indemnification or contribution such a right would
extend to every péiiy and entity involved in any civil
aircraft accident litigation. By setting forth the specific
regulations involved, by publishing the regulations, by
providing for access to factual information, the NTSB
provides for notice and imparts all technical factual
information such that there is a minimal impact on all
parties. Tanner v. McCall, 441 F.Supp. 503 (1977) modified
in part 625 F.2d 1183 (1980); United States v. Dickens, 695
F.2d 765 (1982); United Steel Workers of America vy.

-~

aan | aie

Sadlawski, 102 S.Ct. 2339, 437 U.S. 102, 72 L.Ed. 707
(1982); Miami Herald Publishing Company yv. City of
Hallandale, 734 F.2d 666 (1984).

Contrary to Petitioner’s assertion, there has been no
destruction of physical evidence nor have or would
Petitioners, or any potential litigant in this instance be
deprived of any physical evidence of the cause of this
particular incident. Petitioner, as will all litigants who come
forward as a result of this tragic incident, will have access
to the NTSB’s factual reports in which it records the factual
results from the disassembly and testing. 49 C.F.R. Section
8445.50. Further, Petitioner as well as all litigants, may
secure the testimony of the investigator who conducted the
tests as to the factual evidence they yielded, the procedures
utilized and the results thereof. 49 C.F.R. Section 835.3.
American Airlines, Inc. v. United States, 418 F.2d 180 (Sth
Circuit, 1959); Kline v. Martin, 345 F.Supp. 31 (E.D. VA,
1972); Berguido v. Eastern Airlines, Inc. 317 F.2d 628, 631
(3rd Circuit, 1962) cert. denied,84 S.Ct. 170, 375 U.S. 895,
11 L.Ed. 2d 124 (1963); Lobel v. American Airline, Inc., 192
F.2d 217 (2nd Circuit, 1951).

The availability of these factual reports generated by the
NTSB and its investigators to all parties involved in the civil
litigation which arises from such an incident is well known.
However, Petitioner’s brief fails to establish that such
reports exist and further fails to explain why such reports
and access to all physical evidence does not meet
Petitioner’s requirements for evidentiary concerns as well as
all other litigants who have the identical vested interest as
Petitioner. The ability of the NTSB to complete the safety
mission entrusted to it by Congress without concerns
extraneous and inconsistent with said mission is adequately

=r

addressed in footnote 10 of the decision by the Ninth
Circuit.4 (A-9).

B. The Tucker Act provides Petitioner with an
appropriate remedy should there be a
resultant taking of property.

Contrary to Petitioner’s assertion that the NTSB and
Teledyne have asserted a right to test and destroy evidence
with immunity, neither party has ever asserted such.
Rather, this Respondent asserts that as an agent of the
NTSB, duly appointed to assist the NTSB in its safety
investigation, it may assist the NTSB in their search and

* Footnote 10 of the Court's opinion is:

“Appellant is not the only who can claim a legitimate
interest in the NTSB’s investigation; presumably the estates
of others killed in the Sun Valley Mall crash, as well as those
who were injured or suffered property damage, could assert
that their rights will be impaired if their representatives are
not allowed to observe the teardown. If appellant’s claim
were sustained on constitutional grounds, it would be
difficult to exclude these others. The problem would be
infinitely multiplied in a crash involving an airliner where
literally hundreds of interested parties may be in the position
of having some interest potentially affected by the NTSB’s
investigation. The NTSB would be renderés entirely
ineffective in carrying out its mission if it were required to
allow all of these parties access to every critical step of the
investigation. The government must be allowed to carry out
its responsibilities; if private property is taken in the process,
the appropriate remedy is a suit for compensation.
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 1019-20, 104
S.Ct. 2862, 2882, 81 L.Ed.2d 815 (1984); Dames & Moore v.
Regan, 453 US. 654, 688-90, 101 S.Ct. 2972, 2991-92, 69
L.Ed.2d 918 (1981).”

a

investigation for a cause of this incident. The Court of
Appeals for the 9th Circuit adequately addresses the
retention, possession, and maintenance of key elements of
proof in footnote 9 of its opinion.* (A-8)

> Footnote 9 of the Court’s opinion is:

“Appellant has expressed concern that Teledyne may
alter or destroy vital eivdence. This case, however, is not
much different from those where an adverse party retains
possession of key elements of proof, e.g., purloined trade
secrets, documents proving fraud, or machinery involved in
persoanl injury accidents. The presumptions and sanctions
available to punish those who alter or destroy evidence must
be considered sufficient to deter any misconduct and
Teledyne is no doubt aware that its handling of the materials
may come under intense scrutiny. See, e.g., Fed.R..Civ.P. 37;
Alexander v. National Farmers’ Org., 687 F.2d 1173, 1205-
06 (8th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 461 U.S. 937, 103 S.Ct. 2108,
77 L.Ed.2d 313 (1983) (inference may be drawn against
party destroying documents); Bowrmar Instrument Corp. v.
Texas Instruments, Inc., 25 Fed.R.Serv.2d 423, 427
(N.D.Ind. 1977) (sanctions appropriate where party de-
stroyed evidence it should have known would be relevant in
future litigation). In any case, as we understand the NTSB’s
procedures, the engines will be handled by Teledyne
employees only under the supervision of NTSB
investigators.”

CC

a ome

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
JACQUES E. SOIRET

MICHAEL L. KELLY
BRUCE G. SHANAHAN

Law Offices of
KIRTLAND & PACKARD
626 Wilshire Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90017
(213) 624-0931

Attorneys for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2077%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
