# Opposition Brief — Gniotek v. City of Philadelphia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2029%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 1050

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.S,
skh & D
on |
~ \ |; APR 25 1987
No. 86-1563 a
ro JR.
CLERK

ene

In the Supreme Cout
of the Ganited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

LOUIS GNIOTEK, CARMEN CHRISTY, LEONARD
GARRIS, DAVID SOFRONSKI, AUGUSTINE PESCATORE,
and FRATERNAL ORDER OF POLICE, LODGE NO. 5,

Petitioners
v.

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, W. WILSON GOODE, LEO
; BROOKS, GREGORE J. SAMBOR, ANDREAS
HANTWERKER, JOHN STRAUB and BARBARA MATHER,

Respondents

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals For The Third Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SUSAN SHINKMAN
Divisional Deputy City Solicitor
City of Philadelphia Law Department
Counsel for Respondents
1530 Municipal Services Building
Philadelphia, PA 19102-1692

(215) 686-5268
JESSE MILAN, JR.
Chief Assistant City Solicitor
RALPH J. TETI
Chief Deputy City Solicitor
HANDSEL B. MINYARD
City Solicitor

(SEA 6 AO NCCE AON AINE GENRE EN A ARN TE ET IE ee CA EI STIS ET RI TIE SA EAE RMT SEE ES STS
SMITH-EDWARDS-DUNLAP COMPANY, 2867 E. ALLEGHENY AVENUE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19134 (215) 425-8800

TABLE OF CONTENTS

po Be
STAs memes: Gr B8ee CAGE... 6... ic cece eee
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..............:........
a iy Oink 6555 odes wna kdes nis

I.

II.

ITT.

Petitioners Never Raised On Appeal The Ques-
tion Cf Whether The City Failed To Follow
“Standard Procedure” For Confronting And In-
vestigating Officers Accused Of Criminal Mis-
re tens wap eww eS ree eek.

Petitioners Never Raised On Appeal Their The-
ory That The Loudermill Pre-Deprivation Op-
portunity To Respond To The Accusations
Against Them Was In Reality A “Custodial In-
terrogation” Which In And Of Itself Could Net
Satisfy The Loudermill Due Process Require-
as a 3 5 oe he ae a OR xed iss

No Conflict Exists Among The Circuits Regard-
ing The Third Circuit's Interpretation Of Loud-
ermill And Public Employees’ Rights Under The
Pe 5 ok ss eg ee ea

The Facts Of This Matter Are Far Too Narrow To
Warrant Interpretation By This Court ........

The Third Circuit Did Not Create An Unlawful
Distinction Between This Court’s Decisions In
Garrity v. New Jersey, United States v. Rylander,
Ee |

CE eran es eee anus cate eae K Ovtaden

10

TABLE OF CITATIONS

CASES Page
Ashwander v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 297 U.S. 288,
60 L.Ed. GB6 (1O36)...... ... 354555555 eee 9
Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532, 105
. S.Ct. 1487, 84 L.Ed.2d 494 (1985)....... 7, 8, passim
Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 45 L.Ed.2d 26 (1975) ..... 7, 8,9
Gardner v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273, 20 L.Ed.2d 1082
(ROG) sc a eee 12, 13, passim
Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493, 17 L.Ed.2d 562
Ci) Fee eee eer ee 11, 12, passim
Hester v. City of Milledgeville, 777 F.2d 1492 (11th Cir.,
|<) Sper yee er 15
International Union v. Scofield, 382 U.S. 205, 15 L.Ed.2d
S72 (IONS) ica cds ck ee eee i)
Lefkowitz v. Turley, 414 U.S. 70, 38 L.Ed.2d 274
(WBTD) «ooo bp eines eee 13,15
Miree v. DeKalb County, 433 U.S. 25, 53 L.Ed.2d 557
CIGTT) os ccc ces sad oes ee eee 7
Neely v. Eby Construction Co., 386 U.§. 317, 18 L.Ed.2d
TE UCIBSD) occ icon siderite eee 7, 8,9
Rice v. Sioux City Cemetery, 349 U.S. 70, 99 L.Ed. 897
(10GB) . ow oc ccd cedkee eee 9,10
S.S. Montrosa v. Carbon Black Export, Inc., 359 U.S. 180,
31.5436 723 ORS) i. eee 10
Stellos Co. v. Hosiery Motor-Mend Corp., 295 U.S. 237, 79
Léa. 141411) : 2s ee )
Uniformed Sanitation Men Assoc. v. Commissioner, 392
U.S. 280, 20 L.Ed.2d 1089 (1968) ............. 12, 16
United States v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783, 52 L.Ed.2d 752
CWOTT) os cic cena n dors eee 7
United States v. Rylander, 460 U.S. 752, 75 L.Ed.2d 521
4. | rr rr ris: 11, 14, passim
li

fre

TABLE OF CITATIONS—(Continued)

CASES Page
Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78, 26 L.Ed.2d 446
RS at eS ya, Sees ewww v0 11, 14, passim
STATUTES
eel chien eeseuvdassuedss ves 5
ees av ekki 6d 4s Node am sews 5
dacs knee twa cece setaeeacues 5

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

clack awe cue xd p0cees 4, 5, passim
lace nedewesbnevecn 5

ill

In the Supreme Court
of the Guited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

LOUIS GNIOTEK, CARMEN CHRISTY, LEONARD
GARRIS, DAVID SOFRONSKI, AUGUSTINE PESCATORE,
and FRATERNAL ORDER OF POLICE, LODGE NO. 5,

Petitioners
v.

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, W. WILSON GOODE, LEO
BROOKS, GREGORE J. SAMBOR, ANDREAS
HANTWERKER, JOHN STRAUB and BARBARA MATHER,

Respondents

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals For The Third Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1984, some fifteen police officers in the City of Phila-
delphia Police Department (hereinafter, the “City” or the “De-
partment”) were indicted on federal charges of bribery and
corruption under the R.I.C.O. Act in connection with the
performance of their police duties. The crirninal trials for
those officers were bifurcated into two proceedings, U.S. v.
Martin and U.S. v. Volkmar, Cr. No. 84-106 (E.D. Pa.). During
‘the lengthy hearings in those matters, Petitioners Gniotek, et
al. (hereinafter, “Petitioners” or “Gniotek, et al.”) were identi-

fied by fellow officers, or others appearing under oath as
witnesses for the prosecution, as also the recipients of un-
lawful bribes. Those witnesses testified that each Petitioner
had received bribes from them or other known vice operators
in Philadelphia for several years. The witnesses further testi-
fied that Petitioners had accepted this money in return for
their promise not to enforce various vice laws of the Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania. Though these witnesses appeared
under a grant of immunity from the United States Attorney's
Office, that immunity did not protect them against prosecu-
tion for perjury. At the trial, their testimony was credited by
the jury which convicted all of the police defendants in that
matter.

During the Martin proceedings, prosecution witness Eu-
gene Boris, a former police officer, testified that while as-
signed to the Fifth Police District, Petitioner Louis Gniotek
regularly accepted money from him to protect illegal numbers
writers from arrest. Petitioners Garris, Christy and Pescatore
were similarly identified as the regular recipients of bribes
from Albert Ricci, a defendant in that case, who pleaded
guilty to the charges against him. Former Police Lieutenant
Joseph Alvaro corroborated those allegations against Garris,
Christy and Pescatore by testifying that he knew each to have
been the recipient of payments from vice figures while he
worked with them in the Philadelphia Northwest Police Divi-
sion Vice Squad. Petitioner Sofronski was identified by Robert
Sadowl, an admitted vice figure. Sadowl testified that he made
payments directly to Sofronski to permit the operation of
illegal poker machines within Sofronski’s assigned district.

The proceedings in the Martin trial were monitored daily
by officers from the Police Department. When testimony was
offered stating that a current police officer had engaged in
corrupt conduct, his name and the facts regarding his activi-
ties were transcribed and brought to the immediate attention
of the Police Commissioner by those officers assigned to the
courtroom.

The Commissioner considered the testimony of the afore-
mentioned witnesses very reliable because it was offered un-

der oath, in open court, by witnesses on behalf of the federal
government. He further believed the United States Attorney's
Office acted in good faith in presenting testimony about of-
ficers who were not indicted as part of the government's case,
that the testimony was truthful and, most importantly, that it
was accepted as truthful by the court.

Following the Commissioner's review of the testimony,
each Petitioner was instructed to report with his Command-
ing Officer to Inspector Andreas Hantwerker, Chief of the
Department's Ethics and Accountability Division (E.A.D.).!
Each reported individually with his attorney at a designated
time. At their E.A.D. interview, each was immediately notified
by Inspector Hantwerker and Deputy City Solicitor John P.
Straub? that he had been identified in federal court testimony
as the recipient of illegal bribes in connection with the perfor-
mance of his duties. They were further advised that as a result
of that testimony they were now the subjects of a criminal
investigation. Each Petitioner was immediately given his Mi-
randa warnings by Inspector Hantwerker. Next, each was
asked whether he desired to give a statement concerning the
departmental and criminal charges pending against him. In
response to that question, Petitioners chose to remain silent
on advice of counsel. Each Petitioner then signed a statement
confirming his understanding of the Miranda warnings and
his corresponding decision to remain silent. After signing
their statements, Petitioners received a written Notice of Sus-
pension with Intent to Dismiss for the conduct described
above. Petitioners were then placed immediately on suspen-
sion. (Petitioners’ Appendix B at 15a).

1. The Ethics and Accountability Division acts as the Department's
own check on the ethics of all officers’ activities and on the general pro-
priety of police conduct. It is charged with the receipt of complaints regard-
ing officers and the investigation of improper conduct. It is not related to the
Philadelphia District Attorney or any other prosecutorial agency.

2. The Philadelphia City Solicitor’s Office is not a prosecutorial agency.
Rather, it represents the City in civil matters, and provides legal advice to
the City’s departments and agencies, including the Police Department.
Philadelphia Home Rule Charter §§4-400, 8-410.

Several days later, Petitioners each received a Notice of
Intent to Dismiss which outlined again the facts relating to
the trial court testimony and specified the various depart-
mental directives and policies which they violated. The
Notices included a statement advising the recipient of his
right under the Philadelphia Civil Service Regulations to no-
tify the Police Commissioner in writing within ten (TO) days
of receipt of the Notice of any reason which in his belief
indicated that his intended dismissal was unjustified. No
such letter was received by the Commissioner or the depart-
ment’s personnel director from any of the Petitioners within
that ten day period. Consequently, Petitioners were dismissed
from the Department for the reasons set forth in the Notice of
Intent to Dismiss.

In depositions taken during discovery, each Petitioner
testified that he believed the exclusive reasons for his dis-
missal to be the reasons enumerated in the Notices of Intent
to Dismiss and Notices of Dismissal relating to violation of
department policies. Petitioners further admitted that they
did not believe that their dismissals were in any way related to
Miranda warnings or their invocation of their Fifth Amend-
ment rights. (Petitioners’ Appendix B at 23a).

Through their collective bargaining representative, the
Fraternal Order of Police (hereinafter, the “FOP”), Petitioners
initiated separate grievances challenging their dismissals
from the Department. The grievances were filed pursuant to
the FOP Collective Bargaining Agreement with the City. Un-
der that Agreement, Petitioners had the right to request a
first-level hearing before the Police Commissioner himself. Aili
Petitioners waived that right in favor of submitting their griev-
ances to binding arbitration with the American Arbitration
Association, an option also available under the FOP Agree-
ment. Hearings for all the individual grievants were consoli-
dated before Arbitrator Eli Rock.

At the arbitration proceeding, the City produced former
Officer Albert Ricci, who testified that he had passed bribe
monies from various vice figures to Petitioners Garris,
Christy and Pescatore. (Petitioners’ Appendix C at 62a). The

City also produced the testimony of former Vice Lieutenant
Joseph Alvaro, who corroborated Ricci’s testimony. Id.

On November 25, 1986, Arbitrator Rock issued an Opin-
ion and Award sustaining the dismissal of Petitioners Garris,
Christy and Pescatore, tabling the grievances of Officers
Gioffre, Sullivan, Schwartz and Stansfield* and ordering the
conditional reinstatement of petitioners Sofronski and
Gniotek. The FOP subsequently appealed the portion of the
Arbitrator’s Award denying the grievances of Garris, Christy
and Pescatore to the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas.
Similarly, the City appealed that portion of the Award requir-
ing the conditional reinstatement of Sofronski and Gniotek to
Common Pleas Court. Those appeals are currently pending.

In April 1985, Petitioners filed the instant action in the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of Penn-
sylvania pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §§1983, 1985, 2201, the Fifth
and Fourteenth Amendments, and various sections of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Gonstitution. In their Com-
plaint, Petitioners alleged that the City of Philadelphia and
several City officials violated their rights to due process of law
regarding their dismissals from their positions with the Phila-
delphia Police Department and denial of pensions benefits.
On May 13, 1985, the City filed a Motion to Dismiss or in the
Alternative for Summary Judgment on nine different
grounds. A Cross-Motion for Summary Judgment was then
filed by Petitioners, with an amicus curiae appearance by the
American Civil Liberties Foundation (hereinafter, “ACLF”),
and a Reply Brief by the City. On March 6, 1986, Judge
Raymond J. Broderick granted the City’s Motion by:

1) dismissing Petitioners’ §1985 claim,

2) dismissing Petitioners’ claim regarding pension
benefits,

3. Officers Gioffre, Sullivan, Schwartz and Stansfield were parties to
the instant litigation in the District Court, but not to the present appeal.
Prior to their appeal to the Third Circuit, Gioffre, Sullivan and Schwartz
were indicted and convicted of similar R.I.C.O. charges. (Petitioners’ Ap-
pendix B at 17a).

3) granting summary judgment against Petitioners’ pro-
cedural due process claims,

4) granting summary judgment against Petitioners’ Fifth
Amendment claim,

5) granting summary judgment against Petitioners’ State
law claim that they were not dismissed from their jobs for
“just cause.”

(Petitioners’ Appendix B).

After entry of the District Court's decision, Petitioners
perfected an appeal to the Third Circuit Court of Appeals
raising only the procedural due process and the Fifth Amend-
ment issues. (Petitioners’ Appendix A at 4a).

After receipt of Briefs by Petitioners, the City, and the
ACLF as amicus curiae and oral argument, the Third Circuit
issued an Opinion on December 24, 1986 affirming the Dis-
trict Court's grant of the City’s Motion for Summary Judgment
and held that the City provided Gniotek, et al. with adequate
pre-deprivation due process.‘ (Petitioners’ Appendix A). Peti-
tioners now seek the instant Writ of Certiorari in the United
States Supreme Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The instant Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be de-
nied because Petitioners never raised before the Court of
Appeals their argument that the City did not follow its “stan-
dard procedure” with regard to them. Further, Petitioners
never raised on appeal their argument that the pre-depriva-
tion opportunity to respond afforded them was a “custodial
interrogation” which did not satisfy the due process require-
ment of Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. Loudermill. In addition, the

4. The District Court made no specific ruling in its Opinion regarding
Gniotek, et al’s pre-suspension due process rights vis-a-vis their termina-
tion due process. The Third Circuit specifically held that Gniotek, et al.
were entitled to notice and an opportunity to respond prior to suspension as
well as termination, but held that the procedure described herein was ade-
quate and constitutional for both the suspension and termination of
Petitioners.

instant Petiuon should be denied because no conflict among
the Circuit Courts exists regarding the Third Circuit's inter-
pretation of Loudermill, and the facts of this case are too
narrow to warrant a constitutional analysis by this Court.
Finally, the Petition should be denied because the Third Cir-
cuit did not misapply this Court’s prior holdings in United
States v. Rylander and Williams v. Florida.

ARGUMENT

I. Petitioners Never Raised On Appeal The Question Of
Whether The City Failed To Follow “Standard Proce-
dure” For Confronting And Investigating Officers Ac-
cused Of Criminal Misconduct.

The long established policy of this Court is to refuse to
hear or decide issues which petitioners have failed to raise
before in the Court of Appeals. Neely v. Eby Construction Co.,
386 U.S. 317, 330, 18 L.Ed.2d 75, 85 (1967). This practice
has been defined by the Court itself as “our normal policy of
not considering issues which have not been presented to the
Court of Appeals,” id., and has been applied many times over
to arguments and theories raised on appeal to the Supreme
Court but not in the courts below. Neely, supra; Cort v. Ash,
422 U.S. 66, 73, n.6, 45 L.Ed.2d 34, n.6 (1975). See Miree v.
DeKalb County, 433 U.S. 25, 34, 53 L.Ed.2d 557, 566 (1977);
United States v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783, 788, n.7, 52 L.Ed.2d
752, 758, n.7 (1977).

In their Petition for Certiorari, at pages 11-14, Petitioners
argue that the City’s Police Department failed to follow, with
regard to Petitioners, its “standard investigative procedures”
when officers are accused for disciplinary purposes of crimi-
nal misconduct. Such a theory includes far more than the
self-incrimination and Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. Loudermill,
470 U.S. 532, 105 S.Ct. 1487, 84 L.Ed.2d 494 (1985), pro-
cedural due process issues described by the Third Circuit as
the only issues raised by Petitioners for review. (Petitioners’
Appendix A at 4a). Indeed, the Third Circuit's entire Opinion
is predicated upon those narrowly defined issues and no

other. Nowhere in their briefs to that Court or in oral argu-
ments did Petitioners attempt to focus the Court on the issue
of whether the District Court erred by not finding that the
City failed to apply “standard procedure” in investigating the
allegations of criminal misconduct proffered against them.
(Petitioners’ Appendix A). Had such an issue been raised, the
court below might have been required to make an equal
protection analysis; or at the very least, remand to the District
Court for additional findings of fact. However, in the absence
of Petitioners raising that issue, the Third Circuit could not
and did not determine the merits of that issue.

Therefore, because Petitioners have newly raised an is-
sue not presented by them for review before the Court of
Appeals, this Court should follow its normal practice of reject-
ing Petitioners’ request that this matter be reviewed by this
Court. See Neely, supra; Cort v. Ash, supra.

II. Petitioners Never Raised On Appeal Their Theory
That The Loudermill Pre-Deprivation Opportunity
To Respond To The Accusations Against Them Was
In Reality A “Custodial Interrogaticn” Which In
And Of Itself Could Not Satisfy The Loudermill Due
Process Requirements.

In their Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Petitioners ex-
pound at great lengths their theory that the E.A.D. interview
with the Police Inspector was in reality a criminal “custodial
interrogation” which, arguendo, could not be a meaningful
administrative pre-deprivation opportunity to respond under
Loudermill. This theory, however, goes beyond any of the
arguments preserved by Petitioners before the Court of Ap-
peals. (Petitioners’ Appendix A).

In its Opinion, the Third Circuit took note of the only two
issues pressed by Petitioners regarding the sufficiency of the
E.A.D. interview as a pre-deprivation opportunity to respond
under Loudermill. The Court summarized those issues as (1)
whether a meaningful opportunity to respond was afforded
Petitioners where their responses might have been used
against them because they were the subjects of a criminal

investigation, and (2) whether the City unconstitutionally
burdened their right against self-incrimination by forcing
them to choose between responding to the charges or losing
their job. (Petitioners’ Appendix A at 9a). Nowhere did the
Third Circuit indicate that it had been asked to review the
question now posed of whether the E.A.D. interview was in
reality a criminal “custodial interrogation” which by its very
nature could not be an administrative disciplinary pre-depri-
vation opportunity to respond.° As a result of Petitioners’
failure to raise this theory, the Third Circuit's Opinion ad-
dresses only the self-incrimination aspects of the E.A.D. inter-
view, and not the newer question raised in the instant Petition
that a “custodial interrogation” could not “serve as an employ-
ment termination hearing.” (Petition for Writ of Certiorari at
15).

Therefore, because Petitioners raise a new issue on ap-
peal which was not raised before the Court of Appeals, this
Court should reject that issue from the instant matter. Neely,
supra; Cort v. Ash, supra.

III. No Conflict Exists Among The Circuits Regarding
The Third Circuit’s Interpretation Of Loudermill
And Public Employees’ Rights Under The Fifth
Amendment.

Historically, the Supreme Court has obligated itself to
avoid deciding constitutional issues except where “avoidance
becomes evasion.” Rice v. Sioux City Cemetery, 349 U.S. 70,
74, 99 L.Ed. 897, 901 (1954). See Ashwander v. Tennessee
Valley Authority, 297 U.S. 288, 341, 80 L.Ed. 688, 707 (1936).
This Court has noted, however, that it will grant certiorari
where a particular case would allow it to resolve decisions
among the Courts of Appeals which are in conflict. Stellos Co.
v. Hosiery Motor-Mend Corp., 295 U.S. 237, 238-39, 79 L.Ed.

5. The ACLF in their brief before the Third Circuit did argue the above
theory. However, as amicus curiae, the ACLF was not a party to the pro-
ceedings or appeals below. International Union v. Scofield, 382 U.S. 205, 15
L.Ed.2d 272 (1965).

ica

10

1414, 1416 (1935); International Union v. Scofield, 382 U.S.
205, 15 L.Ed.2d 272 (1965).

In the instant Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Petitioners
have nowhere alleged that the decision of the Third Circuit is
in any way inconsistent with decisions among the other Cir-
cuits regarding procedural due process under Loudermill or
the right against self-incrimination in pre-deprivation hear-
ings. Quite the contrary, the Third Circuit’s decision is the
first among the Circuits concerning these issues since this
Court's decision in Loudermill in 1985. In the absence of such
conflict, this matter does not warrant the expenditure of this
Court's resources. Therefore, the instant Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be denied. See S.S. Montrosa v. Carbon Black
Export, Inc., 359 U.S. 180, 3 L.Ed.2d 723 (1959).

IV. The Facts Of This Matter Are Far Too Narrow To
Warrant Interpretation By This Court.

This Court has cautioned that it should avoid deciding
federal questions which arise merely in an “episodic” context.
Rice v. Sioux City Cemetery, 349 U.S. at 74, 99 L.Ed. at 901.
The facts of this matter are clearly so singular as to have little
or no potential impact on other Circuits should this Court
render a full opinion. As set forth fully in both Petitioners’ and
the City’s Statements of the Case, this matter involves the >
unusual situation where police officers were named by live
witnesses in a court proceeding, to which they were not
parties, as the recipients of illegal bribes. More particularly,
this case concerns police officers charged in an administrative
context by their employer, a law enforcement agency, with
misconduct of a criminal nature. This unfortunate situation
was generated only by the unique nature of the Police Depart-
ment’s role as the employer of persons charged with high
ethical standards and enforcing the law.

This Court’s Opinion in Loudermill acts as a guide for all
government employers, including Police Departments, on the
necessity of providing pre-deprivation notice and an opportu-
nity to respond. The Third Circuit clearly evaluated the in-
stant E.A.D. interview under the guidelines of Loudermill and

1]

determined that the constitutional rights of Petitioners were
protected. An additional decision by this Court, addressing
solely the unique facts of this case would simply duplicate this
Court's efforts in articulating the due process rights of public
employees already stated in Loudermill and add little in the
way of insight for the Circuit and District Courts.

Therefore, because the factual situation in this matter is
s0 unique, this Court should avoid employing its judicial
resources in reviewing a matter of narrow scope and
significance.

V. The Third Circuit Did Not Create An Unlawful Dis-
tinction Between This Court’s Decisions In Garrity
v. New Jersey, United States v. Rylander, Or Williams
v. Florida.

Petitioners contend that the Third Circuit has created an
impermissible distinction in its Opinion between Garrity v.
New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493, 17 L.Ed.2d 562 (1967) and United
States v. Rylander, 460 U.S. 752, 75 L.Ed.2d 521 (1983) and
Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78, 26 L.Ed.2d 446 (1970). This
theory, however, is not supported by the record from the
courts below or by a correct interpretation of the Third Cir-
cuit’s Opinion in this matter.

In Garrity, supra, police officers were accused of criminal
misconduct with regard to matters occurring in New Jersey
Municipal Courts. During the Attorney General's investiga-
tion, the officers were advised that they had the right to
remain silent, that anything they said could be used against
them, and that if they refused to answer questions they would
be subject to removal from office. Id. at 494, 17 L.Ed.2d at
564. The officers answered the questions, but with no specific
grant of immunity. Their statements were subsequently used
by the prosecution in the criminal trial against them. On
appeal, this Court considered only the question of whether
those statements were properly admissible as evidence
against them in that criminal proceeding. The Court held
that:

12

... the protection of the individual under the Fourteenth
Amendment against coerced statements prohibits use in
subsequent criminal proceedings of statements obtained
under threat of removal from office, and that it extends to
all, whether they are policemen or other members of our
body politic.

Id. at 500, 17 L.Ed.2d at 567.

The Garrity decision prohibited the use of coerced state-
ments as evidence against a public employee in a criminal
matter regarding his official duties. The Court, however, fo-
cused more directly on a public employer's right to know what
his employees have done in performing their duties in two
subsequent Opinions. Gardner v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273, 20
L.Ed.2d 1082 (1968), analyzed the public employer's rights
vis-a-vis its employee's right against self-incrimination. In
that case, a New York City policeman was dismissed when he
refused to waive his privilege against self-incrimination upon
being summoned to appear before a Grand Jury investigating
police bribery and corruption. On appeal, this Court reviewed
the specific question of whether a State may discharge an
employee for refusing to waive his Fifth Amendment rights.
In its Opinion, this Court readily held that a coerced waiver of
immunity unlawfully infringed on the patrolman’s right
against self-incrimination. Id.

In a companion decision to Gardner, Uniformed Sanita-
tion Men Assoc. v. Commissioner, 392 U.S. 280, 20 L.Ed.2d
1089 (1968), this Court further described the unconstitu-
tionality of dismissing employees for refusing to waive their
right against self-incrimination. In that matter, public em-
ployees were similarly summoned to give testimony before a
Grand Jury. At that time, they were asked to sign waivers of
immunity, but refused to do so. On review, this Court stated
that the employees were dismissed, not merely for refusing to
answer questions regarding their conduct as public employ-
ees, but for refusing to waive their constitutional right against
self-incrimination. Id. at 283, 20 L.Ed.2d at 1092. Again, this
Court held that such a coercive waiver of immunity was
unconstitutional. Id. at 285, 20 L.Ed.2d at 1093.

13

In both Gardner, supra, and Uniformed Sanitation Men,
supra, this Court noted that an employee's refusal to answer
questions specifically related to charges of misconduct, with-
out a requirement that he waive his immunity against self-
incrimination, could alone be sufficient reason for discharge
from public employment. Specifically, in Gardner this Court
noted that:

If appellant, a police officer, had refused to answer ques-
tions specifically, directly, and narrowly relating to the
performance of his official duties, without being required
to waive his immunity with respect to the use of his
answers or the fruits thereof in a criminal prosecution of
himself, Garrity v. New Jersey, supra, the privilege
against self-incrimination would not have been a bar to
his dismissal.

(Emphasis added).

Id. at 287, 20 L.Ed.2d at 1086-87.
Again, in Uniformed Sanitation Men, this Court held that:

If [the State] had demanded that Petitioners answer
questions specifically, directly, and narrowly relating to
the performance of their official duties on pain of dis-
missal from public employment without requiring relin-
quishment of the benefit of the constitutional privilege
[against self-incrimination], and if they had refused to do
so, this case would be entirely different—|for] petitioners
being public employees subject themselves to disriissal if
they refuse to account for their performance of their
nublic trust ...

(Emphasis added).

Id. at 284-85, 20 L.Ed.2d at 1093. Accord, Lefkowitz v. Huriey,
414 US. 70, 38 L.Ed. 2d 274 (1973).

In its decision, the Third Circuit was fully cognizant of
the restrictions under Garrity and the impermissible request
under Gardner, that an employee waive his right against self-
incrimination. At footnote 7, the Court correctly noted that in
Gardner and Garrity, the public employers unlawfully trod on

14

their employees’ constitutional rights by dismissing them for
asserting that privilege. (Petitioners’ Appendix A at 10a).
However, such could not have been the case of Gniotek, et al.,
for Judge Broderick in his Opinion at the District Court found
as a matter of fact that:

... there is nothing in this record indicating that the
plaintiff officers were dismissed because they asserted
their fifth amendment privilege. Seven of the nine plain-
tiff officers have stated in depositions that they do not
believe that they were dismissed for asserting their fifth
amendment privilege.

(Petitioners’ Appendix B at 23a).

In addition, the Notices of Intent to Dismiss stated only
that the reasons for their dismissal related to the charges of
bribery and other illegal conduct. (Petitioners’ Appendix B at
47a-49a). Further, Judge Broderick noted that the Police Com-
missioner stated in deposition that Gniotek, et al. were termi-
nated only because of the evidence of bribery. Id.

With no evidence in the record to show that plaintiffs
were in fact discharged for asserting their Fifth Amendment
privilege, and with no evidence that they were coerced into
waiving that privilege, the Third Circuit correctly analyzed
this matter as one in which Petitioners were unwilling to
rebut the evidence offered at their E.A.D. interviews of their
receipt of bribes. (Petitioners’ Appendix A at 8a, 10a, n.7).

Though not arising in the context of employee relations
or disciplinary hearings under Loudermill, this Court’s Opin-
ions in Williams v. Florida, supra, and Rylander, supra, state
the important principle that the Fifth Amendment is not a
substitute for concrete evidence in one’s defense. In Rylander,
supra, this Court specifically held that where a defendant has
the burden of production with regard to his defense, a claim of
privilege under the Fifth Amendment “is not a substitute for
relevant evidence” to meet that burden. Id. at 761, 75 L.Ed.2d
at 530-31.

Similarly, in Williams v. Florida, supra, this Court held
that in the criminal context, a State law requiring that a

15

criminal defendant give notice to the prosecution of an alibi
defense is not unconstitutional under the Fifth Amendment.
This Court notably held that:

. a dilemma demanding a choice between complete
silence and presenting a defense has never been thought
an invasion of the privilege against compelled self-
incrimination.

Id. at 84, 26 L.Ed.2d at 451.

Both Williams v. Florida, supra, and Rylander, supra, are
consistent with the dicta of this Court in Gardner and Uni-
formed Sanitation Men that a public employer may dismiss an
employee who refuses to answer to charges against him re-
lated to the performance of their official duties. Gardner, 392
U.S. at 278, 20 L.Ed.2d at 1086-87; Uniformed Sanitation
Men, 392 U.S. 284-85, 20 L.Ed.2d at 1093. Accord, Lefkowitz,
414 US. at 84, 38 L.Ed.2d at 285-86. In the case of Gniotek,
et al., each chose to remain silent and offer no rebuttal in the
face of the heinous charges of bribery. With absolutely no
rebuttal from their own lips regarding those charges, the City
of Philadelphia had no choice but to discharge them from
their duties.®

Furthermore, even if Petitioners were incorrectly given
their Miranda rights in the context of their Loudermill oppor-
tunity to respond, their rights against self-incrimination were
not abridged, for this Court’s decisions in Garrity, and
Gardner, stand for the clear proposition that any statements
which they might have offered could not have been used
against them in later criminal proceedings. Thus, immunity
for statements which they might have offered to rebut the
charges for bribery existed whether or not the City actually
offered it. See Hester v. City of Milledgeville, 777 F.2d 1492
(11th Cir., 1985). Had Petitioners responded to save their jobs,

6. As discussed above, Petitioners assert that the E.A.D. interview was
not a Loudermill opportunity to respond, but a “custodial interrogation”.
However, as discussed supra, that issue was not raised before the Court of
Appeals.

16

those statements could not have been used against them in
any criminal proceeding. Garrity, supra.

Therefore, the Third Circuit did not carve an unlawful
distinction between the instant matter and Garrity and
Rylander, supra. Quite the contrary, the Third Circuit ana-
lyzed those decisions correctly by holding that Petitioners had
the absolute right to remain silent in the face of the in-
criminating evidence of bribery brought against them. Their
decision to remain silent resulted in them offering no evi-
dence which could be weighed in their favor in the face of
those serious charges of bribery. In that holding, the Third
Circuit consistently and accurately construed this Court's pre-
cedent regarding the right against self-incrimination, Garrity,
supra, the consequences of the failure to offer contrary evi-
dence, Williams v. Florida, United States v. Rylander, and the
authority of the public employer to terminate employees who
fail to respond to evidence of misconduct, Gardner, supra,
Uniformed Sanitation Men, supra. In view of the Third Cir-
cuit’s well reasoned interpretations of this Court's Opinions,
the instant Petition should be denied.

17

CONCLUSION

Therefore, because Petitioners have raised issues on ap-
peal which they did not raise before the appellate court below,
because they have proffered no evidence that the decision of
the Third Circuit is inconsistent with other Circuit Courts,
because the facts of this matter are too narrow to warrant
broad review by this Court, and because the Third Circuit did
not incorrectly apply this Court's prior decisions in Garrity,
Rylander and Williams v. Florida, Respondents respectfully
request the instant Petition for Writ for Certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

BY: whoo 4

~~ SUSAN SHINKMAN
Divisional Deputy City Solicitor
Counsel for Respondents

JESSE MILAN, JR.
Chief Assistant City Solicitor

RALPH J. TETI
Chief Deputy City Solicitor

HANDSEL B. MINYARD
City Solicitor

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_2029%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
