# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mays v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1941%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 482 U.S. 913

## Text

mi

86-1454. | FILED

MAR 4 1987
T sciniciieiiibiami

; CLERK
See:

wsctinlioaaie
Supreme Court, U.S...

YOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

In The
Supreme Court of the United States |

October Term, 1986

o

REBEL ANN MAYS and EVERETT F. MAYS,

Petitioners,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

°

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

°

Auan Exuiorr RicHMAN

Patricia ANNE PritcHARD

Breit, Best, RicHMAN
AND Boscu, P.C.

Writer Square, Suite 900

1512 Larimer Street

Denver, CO 80202

(303) 573-7777

Counsel for Petitioners

March 5, 1987

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
or call collect (402) 342- 2831

a

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether medical benefits received by servicemen and
their dependents under the Civilian Health and Medical
Program of the Uniformed Services (CHAMPUS) are a
collateral source for which the United States of America
is not entitled to set-off in awards under the Federal
- Tort Claims Act?

rm
LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners’ children, Michelle Wamboldt, Vickie
Averett and Michael Mays were added as plaintiffs lby
amendment. All other parties herein are named in the

=<

caption.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SR ny: | ccc i
Teen sie iiemeomniniilintabains ii
ee ig 8 5 yy! iv
ERE EE a 2
JURISDICTION 2
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVBD ...... 2
oe ty et | 4
REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 0. 7
CONCLUSION . SF TREN SAI TNC ee EE 14
APPENDIX (Opinion of Court of Appeals and
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and
I UN sscnicnseneleinnnainnentin . la

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Berg v. United States, 806 F.2d 978 (10th Cir. 1986) .. 6,9
Burke v. United States, 605 F. Supp. 981 (D. Md.

| TG Fae A Mtn te, a BY 8
Gomez v. Black, 32 Colo. App. 332, 511 P.2d 531
| | ee 9,10

Haughton v. Blackships, 462 F.2d 788 (Sth Cir. 1972) .. 12
Johnson v. United States, 510 F. Supp. 1039 (D.

Mont. 1981) .. oc
Kistler v. Palsy, 173 Colo. 540, 481 P.2d 722, 724

“2 4 > Yipaantmeseptere errant — a 9
Mooney v: United States, 619 F. — 1525

(D.N.H. 1985) .. ERAT tanta Neato ig oP os
Richards v. United States, 369 U.S. 1, 82 S. Ct.

BL. aaa Easy a Bae Oh Ae 7

Smith v. United States, 487 F.2d 1013 (3d Cir. 1978). 11
Steckler v. United States, 549 F.2d 1372 (10th Cir.

EDEN pcsitdh sia cu scchesduncepesaeeaeiaiaanekaeee aaa adele sasssny 9, 10
United States v. Gaidys, 194 F.2d 762 (10th Cir.

ERE nS ran P NES Patna ge arn wee. ea Grew 7
United States v. Gray, 199 F.2d 239 (10th Cir. 1952) . 9

United States v. Harue Hayashi, 282 F.2d 599
oh fe. toe. Leite ibhitedks teeuad cakes | 11

United States v. Price, 288 F.2d 448 (4th Cir. 1961) 11, 12

Vanderbery v. Carter, 523 F. Supp. 279 (N.D.
eID pra scssecsicts clcaiciceaaerads Suances cee nlbamine atensee aasalinaiaaaneahaentn D

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
STATUTES
10 U.S.C. § 1079 2
10 U.S.C. § 1331 3
28 U.S.C. § 1346(b) 2
28 U.S.C. § 2674 ..... 2,4
32 C.F.R. § 199.7 3,5
32 C.F.R. § 199.9 3,5
38 U.S.C. § 310 ...... 10

38 U.S.C. § 331 10

.£>
a

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1986

REBEL ANN MAYS and EVERETT F. MAYS,

Petitioners,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIGRARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

-)

The Petitioners, Rebel Ann Mays and Everett F. Mays,
respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the Judgment and Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, entered in the above-en-
titled proceeding on December 5, 1986.

°

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit is reported at 806 F.2d 976, and is
reprinted in the Appendix hereto, p. la, infra.

The Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order
of the United States District Court for the District of Colo-
rado (Kane, D.J.) is reported at 608 F. Supp. 1476 (D.
Colo. 1985), and is reprinted in the Appendix hereto, p. 6a,
infra.

Ly
—_—

JURISDICTION

This suit was brought under the Federal Tort Claims
Act, 28 U.S.C.§ 2674. Jurisdiction of the United States
District Court was invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b).
Judgment was entered in Petitioners’ favor in the United
States District Court for the District of Colorado on May
10, 1985. The District Court’s judgment with respect to
the issue of CHAMPUS benefits only was reversed by the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Tenth Circuit, entered on December 5, 1986. This Court’s
jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

1. 10 U.S.C. § 1079. Contracts for medical care for spouses
and children: plans

(a) To assure that medical care is available for
spouses and children of members of the uniformed services
who are on active duty for a period of more than 30 days,

3

the Secretary of Defense, after consulting with the other
administering secretaries shall contract, under the author-
ity of this section, for medical care for those persons under
such insurance, medical service, or health plans as he con-
siders appropriate.

2. 10 U.S.C. § 1331. Age and service requirements

(a) Except as provided in subsection (c), a person
is entitled, upon application, to retired pay computed under °
Section 1401 of this title, if...

(2) he has performed at least 20 years of service
computed under Section 1332 of this title...

3. 32 C.F.R. § 199.7
(e-1) Program funds.

The funds used by the CHAMPUS program are ap-
propriated funds furnished by the Congress through the
annual Appropriations Act for the Department of Defense
and the Department of Health, Education and Welfare.

4. 32 C.F.R. § 199.9
(e-1) Eligibility.
(b) Persons eligible—
(b)(1) Retiree

A member or former member of a Uniformed
Service who is entitled to retired, retainer, or equiva-
lent pay based on duty in a Uniformed Service.

(b)(2) Dependent.

A person who bears one of the following relation-
ships to an active duty member (under a call or order

that does not specify a period of thirty (30) days or
less, to a retiree, to a NATO member who is stationed
in or passing through the United States on official

business, or to a deceased person who, at the time of
death, was an active duty member or a retiree...

(b)(2)(i) Spouse.

A lawful husband or wife regardless of whether
or not dependent upon the active duty member or re-
tiree.

°

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This claim arises under the Federal Tort Claims Act,
°8 U.S.C. § 2674, for the negligent failure of physicians and
employees of Fitzsimons Army Medical Center to di-
agnose and treat Rebel Ann Mays for cancer. Rebel Ann
Mays, who died subsequent to the filing of this action, was
the wife and dependent of Everett Mays, a serviceman who
retired after serving twenty-one years in the United States
Air Foree. Following trial to the disiriet court, Respon-
dent was found negligent and judgment was entered in
Petitioners’ favor on May 10, 1985.

As the dependent of a retired serviceman, a portion
of Rebel Ann Mays’ medical and hospitalization expenses
were paid by the Civilian Health and Medical Program of
the Uniformed Services (CHAMPUS). At trial, the par-
ties stipulated that of the Two Hundred Sixty-six Thou-
sand Three Hundred Dollars ($266,300.00) of medical ex-
penses incurred for Mrs. Mays’ care, One Hundred Ninety-

5)

five Thousand Fifty-five Dollars ($195,055.00) were paid
pursuant to the CHAMPUS program. The award of dam-
ages to the Petitioners included funds paid as medical bene-
fits on behalf of Rebel Ann Mays under the CHAMPUS
program, the district court specifically finding that the
benefits were a collateral source for which the United
States was not entitled to a set-off.

The CHAMPUS program was initially enacted as a
medical insurance program entitling dependents of active
duty members of the Uniformed Services to hospitalization
and medical treatment. In 1966, the program was amended
to expand the beneficiary population entitled to coverage
to include retirees with no less than twenty years of service
in the Uniformed Services, and their dependents. Vander-
berg v. Carter, 523 F. Supp. 279 (N. D. Ga. 1981). 32
C.F.R. § 199.9. Everett F. Mays served twenty-one years
in the United States Air Force. Tr. p. 3,1. 17 to p. 4, 1.
5. By virtue of such service, he had earned entitlement to
retirement benefits. Accordingly, his wife and dependent,
Rebel Ann Mays, was entitled to and received CHAMPUS
benefits. The record establishes that had Mr. Mays served
less than twenty years, neither he nor his dependents would
have been entitled to such retirement benefits. Tr. p. 6, 1.
7 to p. 7, 1. 2.

The CHAMPUS program is funded through a budget-
ary allocation by Congress based upon the potential num-
ber of beneficiaries in a given year. The funds used by
the CHAMPUS program are appropriated by Congress
through the Annual Appropriations Act, for the Depart-
ment of Defense and Department of Health and Human
Services. 32 C.F.R. § 199.7(e-1) (1977). The fund is sep-

arate and apart from funds set aside to satisfy judgments
under the Federal Tort Claims Act.

Following the district court’s determination that the
CHAMPUS benefits paid to Rebel Ann Mays were a col-
lateral source, Respondent appealed to the Tenth Circuit
Court of Appeals on the collateral source issue only. In
short, Respondent argued that the-CHAMPUS benefits of
One Hundred Ninety-five Thousand Fifty-five Dollars
($195,055.00) for past medical expenses were not a colla-
teral source and that such an awatd was erroneous. The
liability portion of the award was not appealed and was,
in fact, summarily affirmed by the Tenth Circuit on June
16, 1986.

In Berg v. United States, decided the same day as this
ease, the Tenth Circuit held that government payments are
collateral if the payments come from ‘‘a special fund that
is separate and distinct from general government rev-
enues’’ and to which the plaintiff has contributed. 806
F.2d 978, 985 (10th Cir. 1986). See p. 3a, fra. In the
view of the Tenth Circuit, where the recipient of the bene-
fits made a monetary contribution to the fund, it will be
deemed a special fund separate and distinct from the gen-
eral revenues. As stated by the Court:

All of the money for the CHAMPUS program comes
from the general treasury of the United States; no
money is paid directly into the fund by the recipients
of CHAMPUS benefits. We cannot view these gen-
eral appropriations to the CHAMPUS program as ‘‘a
special fund that is separate and distinct from gen-
eral government revenues.’’ [citing Berg v. United
States |.

See p. 4a, mfra.

Although the Tenth Circuit recognized that Rebel Ann
Mays’ entitlement to receive CHAMPUS benefits was by
virtue of the fact that Everett Mays had served in excess
of 20 years in the Uniformed Services, the Court refused
to find that contribution in the form of service is the type
of contribution contemplated under Colorado’s collateral
source rule. In the Court’s view, Petitioners’ entitlement
to CHAMPUS benefits was based solely on Everett Mavs’
status, rather than his service contribution. The Tenth
Cireuit accordingly reversed the district court’s holding
that the CHAMPUS benefits were received from a colla-
teral source, and remanded for a modification of the dam-
age award. See p. da, infra.

co)

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

BY IGNORING EVERETT MAYS’ COLLAT-

ERAL CONTRIBUTION TO THE CHAMPUS

FUND, THROUGH HIS TWENTY-ONE YEARS

OF SERVICE IN THE UNIFORMED SER.

VICES, THE TENTH CIRCUIT ERRONEOUS-

LY APPLIED THE COLLATERAL SOURCE

RULE.

In actions brought under the Federal Tort Claims
Act, the plaintiff’s recovery must be measured by the
substantive law of the state in which the tort was com-
mitted; accordingly, state law concerning the collateral
source doctrine is controlling in Federal Tort Claims ac-
tions. Richards v. United States, 369 U.S. 1, 82 S. Ct.
085 (1962); United States v. Gaidys, 194 F.2d 762 (10th
Cir. 1952). Presently, even under similar collateral source

rules, government benefits, including CHAMPUS bene-
fits, are interpreted inconsistently on both the district
court and cireuit court level. For example, both the dis-
trict court below in the present case and the district court
in Mooney v. United States, 619 F. Supp. 1525 (D.N.H.
1985), have found that CHAMPUS benefits are a collateral
source for which the United States is not entitled to set-
off. On the other hand, in Burke v. United States, 605
F. Supp. 981 (D. Md. 1985), it was held that CHAMPUS
benefits were received from a wholly revenue-funded pro-
gram, to which plaintiff did not contribute, and therefore
could not be a collateral source.

While the nature of government payments, including
CHAMPUS benefits, under Federal Tort Claims actions
will necessarily be governed by the particular state’s col-
lateral source rule, it is clear that this Court’s guidance
is needed in interpreting the nature of CHAMPUS bene-
fits, so that they may be correctly analyzed under the
appropriate state’s collateral source rule. Most impor-
tantly, the nature of the beneficiary’s contribution to the
CHAMPUS fund must be addressed, and it must be de-
termined whether contribution in the form of the requi-
site length of service, rather than a purely monetary con-
tribution to the fund, is sufficient for the fund to be
deemed collateral.

The collateral source rule in Colorado, as in many
states, dictates that an injured party’s recoverable dam-
ages cannot be diminished by the value of benefits which
the injured party may have received in the form of medi-
eal care, insurance proceeds, continued wages, welfare,
pension or like benefits she has received from independent
or collateral sources. Steckler v. United States, 549 F.2d

\

1372 (10th Cir. 1977); Kistler v. Palsy, 173 Colo. 540, 481
P.2d 722, 724 (1971). Under Colorado law, the collateral
source rule does not apply to mere gratuitous benefits

received from governmental sources. Gomez v. Black,
32 Colo. App. 332, 511 P.2d 531 (1973).

Prior to its decision in Berg v. United States, 806
F.2d 978 (10th Cir. 1986), there was an obvious conflict
in Tenth Cireuit decisions regarding the application of
the collateral source rule. In United States v. Gray, 199
F.2d 239 (10th Cir. 1952), the court focused on legislative
history and intent to determine that veteran’s hospitaliza-
tion benefits were a collateral source, for which no offset
was allowed. Berg v. United States, 806 F.2d 978, 984
Fn. 4. In comparison, in Steckler v. United States, supra,
the Tenth Circuit focused on the source of the benetit
rather than the legislative intent, and held that Social
Security benefits, funded in part by the beneficiary’s con-
tribution, are ‘‘logically collateral,’’ while veteran’s bene-
fits are ‘‘derived entirely trom government funds and
cannot be claimed to originate in any collateral contribu-
tion.’’ 549 F.2d at 1379.

While to a certain degree, the Berg decision clears up
the confusion left in the wake of Steckler, the J/ays
opinion introduces a new inconsistency. Specifically, Berg
v. Umted States held that government payments are col-
lateral if the payments come from ‘‘a special fund that
is separate and distinct from general government reve-
nues’’ and to which the Plaintiff has contributed. 806
F.2d at 985. Analysis of the source of the benefit, in-
cluding the beneficiary’s contribution thereto is cer-
tainly the better approach and more in line with Colorado

10

law as set forth in Gomez v. Black, supra. However, in
Mays, the Tenth Circuit used an excessively restrictive ap-
proach in analyzing the necessary contribution of the re-
cipient.

The Tenth Circuit summarily dismissed Llverett
Mays’ twenty-one years of service in the Uniformed Ser-
vices as ‘‘not the type of contribution required by the
collateral source rule.’’ p. 4a, infra. However, this in-
terpretation ignores Colorado case law, which requires
only that in order to. be a collateral source, the govern-
mental benefits must not be gratuitous. Certainly, bene-
fits to which one is entitled only after twenty years of
service in the Uniformed Services are not benefits gra-
tuitously bestowed. In fact, eligibility for CHAMPUS
benefits was earned by Everett Mays through the requi-
site twenty years of service in the Uniformed Services.
As such, CHAMPUS benefits are part of a compensation
package offered to servicemen in exchange for their
twenty years of service, and therefore more closely re-
semble the Social Security benefits found in the Steckler
decision to be ‘‘logically collateral.’’ Clearly, without
Mr. Mays’ contribution, in the form of his service in the
U.S. Air Force, CHAMPUS benefits would have been
unavailable to Rebel Ann Mays. The Tenth Circuit’s re-
liance on its previous holding in Steckler v. United States,
that veteran’s benefits are noncollateral, is misplaced.
In order to receive veteran’s benefits, there is no require-
ment regarding length of service. See 388 U.S.C. 64 310
and 331. As such, entitlement to veteran’s benefits is
more properly considered a result of status, rather than
contribution. In contrast, such is not the case with regard
to entitlement under the CHAMPUS program.

——i———+4

11

Several jurisdictions have similarly embraced the rule
that gratuitous governmental benefits paid from unfunded
general revenues are to be deducted from a Federal Tort
Claims Act recovery, while similar benefits conferred oui
of a special fund are not. Smith v. United States, 487
F.2d 1013 (3rd Cir. 1978); United States v. Price, 288
F.2d 448 (4th Cir. 1961); United States v. Harue Hayashi,
282 I'.2d 599 (9th Cir. 1960); Johnson v. United States,
510 F. Supp. 1039 (D. Mont. 1981). In Smith v. United
States, the Third Cirenit held that Social Security sur-
vivor benefits were collateral to a Federal Tort Claims

Act recovery, and should not be deducted. In so holding,

the Smith court cited United States v. Harue Hayashi,
supra, in which the Ninth Cireuit held that Social Security
survivor benefits were a collateral source since the money
came from a special fund supplied by the beneficiary or
a relative upon whom the beneficiary was dependent.
Smith, 587 F.2d 1013, 1015. Similarly, in Johnson v.
United States, veteran’s benefits paid from unfunded
general revenues were held not collateral, while Social
Security disability benefits, paid from a special fund sup-
plied in part by the beneficiary, were held collateral.

In each of these cases, the courts distinguish between
benefits paid by the government out of the general trea-
sury, and benefits paid from a ‘‘special fund’’ created by
the government and supplied in part by contribution of
the beneficiary or one upon whom the beneficiary is de-
pendent. While in each of the three cited cases the con-
tribution to the special fund was through a monetary pay-
ment into the fund, it is likewise clear that contribution
to such a special fund may be made through service. For

12

example, it is generally recognized that the government
often pays its employees less in salary than private em-
ployers but compensates for their lower wages by pro-
viding employees with other incentives, such as fringe
benefits including attractive pension and retirement plans.
Such benefits serve the purpose of attracting and retain-
ing qualified employees who might otherwise be drawn to
private employment. Consequently, the benefits, as part
of the employee’s compensation package, are provided as
a substitute for wages, very similar to a mandatory salary
deduction for henefits.

Such a method of beneficiary contribution to a special
fund has been recognized by the Fourth Cireuit Court of
Appeals in United States v. Price, supra, and by the Fifth
Circuit in Haughton v. Blackships, 462 F.2d 788 (dth
Cir. 1972). In Price, it was held that the benefits received
by plaintiff, as a government employee, under the Civil
Service Retirement Act, were collateral to a Federal Tort
Claims Act recovery. While the disability and retirement
benefit fund was supplied by a mandatory salary deduction
and matched by government contributions, the court noted
that the employee’s contribution to the fund was arguably
greater than the salary deduction, since the portion con-
tributed by the government could be deemed further con-
sideration for the emplovee’s services. 288 F.2d at 451,
Fn. 6. Although it did not involve government benefits,
the same was noted by the Fifth Cireuit in Haughton v.
Blackships, supra, in which the retirement benefits re-
ceived by the plaintiff were funded entirely by employer
contributions. Although the plaintiff made no monetary
contribution to the retirement fund, the court found that

13

such benefits were collateral, holding ‘‘. .. where such pay-
ment by the employer should be considered in ihe nature
of a fringe benefit or deferred compensation, the em-
ployer should rot be entitled to benefit by setting off such

income in mitigation of his responsibility as a tortfeasor.’’

Based upon the foregoing, it is evident that the Tenth
Cireuit’s finding that Rebel Ann Mays received
CHAMPUS benefits because of her husband’s status
rather than a monetary investment, and its holding that
a monetary contribution is required under Colorado’s col-
lateral source rule, ignores economic reality and is overly
restrictive. ‘The district court below made a specific find-
ing that Everett Mays’ contribution in the form of twenty-
one years of service in the Air Force has supplied the
fund trom which Rebel Ann Mays, as his dependent, was
entitled to receive CHAMVUS benetits. Accordingly, her
receipt of CHAMPUS benefits is similar io the receipt
of Social Security survivor benetits or retirement bene-
fits established through a special fund contributed to by
the beneficiary or relative upon whom the beneficiary
was dependent. As demonstrated above, CHUAMVUS is
funded through a separate budgetary allowance by Con-
gress and as such is a separate fund from that which
satisfies judgments under the l’ederal Tort Claims Act.
The CHAMPUS benefits are supplied to dependents oi
retired Uniform Servicemen by virtue of the serviceman’s
twenty years of service. Accordingly, Mr. Mays’ service
clearly supplied the fund out of which Mrs. Mays was
entitled to receive CHAMPUS benefits. Moreover, the
benefits were provided to Everett Mays as compensation
for his years of service, and were not bestowed gra-
tuitously.

‘ l4

As indicated above, a great amount of confusion and —

inconsistency surrounds the issue of CHAMPUS benefits
and government benefits in general. Determination of
the issues involved herein, including the issue of service
contribution as opposed to monetary contribution, will
provide necessary guidance for all courts to properly apply
the collateral source rule as it stands in a particular juris-
diction.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons presented above, this Petition for
Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Atan Exusorr Richman
Patricia Anne Pritcuarp
Breit, Best, RicumMan
anno Boscu, P.C.
Writer Square, Suite 900
1512 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 573-7777

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX
PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

REBEL ANN MAYS and

)
EVERETT F. MAYS, )
)
Plaintiffs-Appellees, )

) No. 85-2029
v. )
)
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )
)
)

Defendant-Appellant.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLORADO

(D.C. No. 80-K-770)

(Filed December 5, 1986)

Nancy E. Rice, Assistant U.S. Attorney (Robert N. Miller,
United States Attorney, with her on the brief), for the
Defendant-Appellant.

Alan E. Richman, of Breit, Best, Richman and Bosch, of
Denver, Colorado (Patricia A. Pritchard, of Breit, Best,
Richman and Bosch, of Denver, Colorado, with him on the
brief), for the Plaintiffs-Appellees.

la

2a

Before HOLLOWAY, Chief Judge, TACHA, Cireuit
Judge, and BROWN,’ District Judge.

TACHA, Cireuit Judge.

This case presents another opportunity to consider
the application of the collateral source rule in Colorado.

In Berg v. United States, No. 85-1969, slip op. (10th Cir.

—, 1986), a suit against the United States under the
Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) decided this day, we
held that Medicare hospital insurance benefits are a col-
lateral source. In the present case we consider whether
benefits received from the Civilian Health and Medical
Program of the Uniformed Services (CHAMPUS) are a
collateral source to a FTCA award.

Rebel Ann Mays, the wife of a retired member of the
United States Air Foree, died from eancer in 1982. This
suit was filed by the Mayses against the United States
claiming that the Fitzsimmons (sic) Army Medical Center
(hospital) failed to diagnose and treat her for cancer. The
district court found that the hospital had acted negligent-
ly and awarded damages of $504,300.' The government
does not challenge the finding of liability. The only ques-
tion raised before this court is whether the $195,055 in
CHAMPUS benefits received by Rebel Ann Mays should
be deducted from the damages awarded to the Mays.

*The Honorable Wesley £. Brown, United States District Judge
for the District of Kansas, sitting by designation.

: The decision of the district court is reported in Mays v.
United States, 608 F. Supp. 1476 (D. Colo. 1985).

3a

In Berg, we recognized that Colorado has adopted
the collateral source rule. Slip op. at —. The Colorado
courts have interpreted the collateral source rule to pro-
vide that ‘‘compensation or indemnity received by an in-
jured party from a collateral source, wholly independent
of the wrongdoer and to which he has not contributed,
will not diminish the damages otherwise recoverable from
the -wrongdoer.’’ Kistler v. Halsey, 173 Colo. 540, 545,
481 P.2d 722, 724 (1971) quoted in Berg, slip op. at —.
A plaintiff in a FTCA suit can recover damaces from
the United States in addition to compensation from a
collateral source. We held in Berg that government pay-
ments are collateral if the payments come from ‘‘a special
fund that is separate and distinet from general vovern-
ment revenues’? and to which the plaintiff has contrib-
uted. Slip op. at —. Our question in this ease, therefore,
is whether CHAMPUS benefits satisfy this test.?

The CHAMPUS program provides medical benefits
to, inter alia, the dependents of certain retired members
of the armed services. 10 U.S.C. § 1079. ‘*The funds used
by the CHAMPUS program are appropriated funds fur-
nished by the Congress through the annual Appropria-
tions Act for the Department of Defense and the Depart-

2 The two federal district courts that have considered wheth-
er CHAMPUS payments are a collateral source have reached
different conclusions. Compare Mooney v. United States, 619
F. Supp. 1525, 1529-30 (D.N.H. 1985) (CHAMPUS payments are
a collateral source) with Burke v. United States, 605 F. Supp.
981, 992 (D. Md. 1985) (CHAMPUS payments for past medical
expenses are not a collateral source). We note only that the
court in Mooney found the payments collateral despite the
court’s belief that “it is unclear whether payments made by
CHAMPUS are from a specially funded source.” 619 F. Supp.
at 1530.

4a

ment of Health, Education, and Welfare [now the Depart-
ment of Health and Human Services].’’ 32 C.F.R. § 199.7
(e-1) (1985). All the money for the CHAMPUS program
comes from the general treasury of the United States; no —
money is paid directly into the fund by the recipients of
CHAMPUS benefits. We cannot view these general ap-
propriations to the CHAMPUS program as ‘‘a special
fund that is separate and distinet from general govern-
ment revenues.’’ Berg, slip op. at —*> CHAMPUS pay-
ments come exclusively from the general revenues of the
United States. Therefore, such payments are not from
a source collateral to the United States.

Everett Mays argues that his contribution to the
CHAMPUS program consists of his twenty-one years of
service in the Air Foree. Rebel Ann Mays would not have
been eligible for CHAMPUS benefits if her husband had
not served at least twenty years in the armed services.
32 C.F.R. § 199.9(b) (1985); 10 U.S.C. § 13381(a)(2). This
service, however, is not the type of contribution required
by the collateral source rule. Rebel Ann Mays received
CHAMPUS benefits because of her husband’s status, not
because of a monetary investment. A showing that one’s
status makes one eligible for government benefits is not
a showing that one has ‘‘contributed to a special fund’’
from which benefits are now being received.

In Steckler v. United States, 549 F.2d 1372 (10th Cir.
1977), we held that veterans disability benefits were not

3 The plaintiffs find it important that Congress allocates a
specitied amount of money to the CHAMPUS fund each year.
The collateral source rule, however, is not one that ‘makes
recovery depend on bookkeeping conventions.” Overton v.
United States, 619 F.2d 1299, 1308 (8th Cir. 1980). Rather, the
focus of the rule is on the source of the funds.

5a

a collateral source in a FTCA suit. The military service
that made the plaintiff eligible for veterans disability bene-
fits was not regarded as a ‘‘contribution’’ in Steckler.
549 F.2d at 1379; see also, Feeley v. United States, 337
I'.2d 924, 933-34 (38d Cir. 1964). Accordingly, we will not
characterize the military service of Everett Mays as a
contribution for the purposes of the collateral source rule
here.

The plaintiffs also suggest that the CHAMPUS pro-
gram provides fringe benefits in lieu of a higher salary
for members of the armed services. The acceptance of a
lower salary, it is argued, ean be characterized as a con-
tribution. This argument, however, is contrary to the re-
sult that we reached in Steckler. Even if the CHAMPUS
benefits at issue in this case could be viewed as fringe
benefits, the veterans disability benefits in Steckler could
also be viewed as fringe benefits. Our conclusion that the
benefits in Steckler did not constitute a contribution de-
mands that we reach a similar result concerning the
CHAMPUS benefits in this ease.

The United States has already paid some compensa-
tion through the CHAMPUS program for the injuries
suffered by Rebel Ann Mays. To award damages for a
loss for which the United States has already compensated
the plaintiffs would be to allow a double recovery. There-
fore, we reverse the decision of the district court that
the CHAMPUS benefits were received from a collateral
source and we remand for a modification of the damage
award consistent with this opinion.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

)

6a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO
CIVIL ACTION NQ,—80-K-770

REBEL ANN MAYS and
EVERETT F. MAYS,

Plaintiffs,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Defendant.

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS
OF LAW AND ORDER

(Filed May 10, 1985)
KANE, J.

Plaintiffs’ complaint was filed pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1346(b) of the Federal Tort Claims Act. It alleged that
physicians and other medical staff at Fitzsimons Army
Medieal Center in Denver, Colorado were negligent in their
eare and treatment of Rebel Ann Mays. Plaintiffs’ orig-
inal complaint alleged the defendant was negligent in:
(1) failing properly to follow up and diagnose the lung
eancer Mrs. Mays manifested in January, 1977; (2) ren-
dering substandard treatment and care to Mrs. Mays in
the administration of a radiation therapy treatment plan;
and (3) failing adequately to inform and disclose to Rebel
Ann Mays the various diagnoses, alternative plans for
treatment and risks involved in the chosen plan of radia-
tion treatment. The original complaint sought damages
for personal injuries and losses sustained by Rebel Ann
Mays and further asserted a claim for loss of consortium
on behalf of Everett Mays, her husband.

Ta

In January 1982, Mrs. Mays died of cancer. In Feb-
ruary 1982, plaintiffs’ first amended complaint was filed
adding a third claim for relief for the wrongful death of
Rebel Ann Mays pursuant to the Colorado Wrongful Death
Statute C.R.S. 13-21-201 and for damages provided for
under the Colorado Survival Statute C.R.S. 13-20-101.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Mays, Michelle Wamboldt,
Vickie Averett and Michael Mays were added as_plain-
tiffs by an additional amendment.

LIABILITY

The following facts were established at trial: Rebel
Ann Mays’ date of birth was January 31, 1982 (sic). She
was 44 years of age in January 1977. Mrs. Mays was mar-
ried on October 31, 1951 to Everett F. Mays. Mr. Mays
joined the United States Air Force in 1951 and retired after
23 years of service. Following Mr. Mays’ retirement, he
and his wife received medical care pursuant to the Civilian
Health and Medical Program of the Uniform Services
(CHAMPUS).

On January 6, 1977, Mrs. Mays was examined and
evaluated at Fitzsimons’ out-patient clinic for complaints
of voice loss, bronchitis and cough. On that date, chest
x-rays were taken which revealed a shagey round lesion-
in the left lower lobe of her lungs which by x-ray was
estimated to be approximately four (4) centimeters in
size. The reviewing radiologist, Major William James
Morrison, M.D., noted on his report that further follow-up
was required in seven to ten days to exclude the possibil-
ity of carcinoma or organizing infaret. Rebel Ann Mays
was neither advised by Fitzsimons personnel of the need
to return for follow-up examination nor notified of the
condition shown on the x-ray. No follow-up examination
was conducted by physicians or other personnel at Fitz-
simons to rule out the possibility of cancer or infarction.

On March 4, 1977, Rebel Ann Mays returned to Fitz-
simonus for evaluation of complaints of right-sided neck
and shoulder pain. At that time x-rays were taken, how-

8a

ever, no action was taken regarding the previous x-ray
finding or recommendation for follow-up in January 1977.
Mrs. Mays was not contacted by Fitzsimons personnel or
medical staff regarding any of the previously noted find-

ines,

On April 14, 1978, Rebel Ann Mays resigned her posi-
tion as a directory assistance operator with Mountain Bell
because she was experiencing persistent fatigue. On April
27, 1978, Rebel Ann Mavs was examined as an out-patient
at Fitzsimons and evalnated for high blood pressure.
Chest x-rays were again requested. The medical records
reflect that chest x-rays were not taken until] May 23, 1978.
These x-rays displayed the same lesion previously evi-
dent in the January 1977 x-rays. The lesion loeated in
the left lower lobe of the lung had markedly increased in
size and now appeared on x-rays to have grown to an ap-
proximate size of five and one-half (5.5) centimeters.
Mrs. Mays was apparently asked to return to Fitzsimons
on June 1, 1978 for evaluation of several problems inelud-
ing the left lower lobe chest lesion. She was seen and ad-
mitted to the pulmonary service on June 1, 1978.

Diagnostie tests to determine if the lung lesion was
eaneer were conducted. A thoracotomy and left lower lo-
bectomy were performed to remove the tumor on June
22, 1978. The surgery demonstrated lymph node involve-
ment on the bronchial and perihilar nodes. The medias-
tinal nodes were clinically negative. The pathology report
from the surgery revealed that three out of four perihilar
nodes were positive for cancer and five out of eight bron-
chial lymph nodes were positive fer cancer. The report
also confirmed the mediastinal nodes were negative. The
cancer was diagnosed as an adnocarcinoma.

As a result of the positive lymph nodes finding, a
course of radiation therapy was recommended. This ra-
diation therapy was a ‘‘split course’’ program in which
Mrs. Mays received two weeks of radiation therapy. Ra-
diation treatments were initiated on .iuly 6, 1978 and con-
cluded on September 8, 1978. Following completion of
the radiation therapy, Mrs. Mays’ initial recuperative pe-

9a

riod progressed well. On November 17, 1978, Mrs. Mays
was seen and reported no complaints, good appetite with
no weight loss and was requested to return by the exam-
ining physician in five months.

In December 1978 and January of 1979, Mrs. Mays
began to experience numbness and tingling in the legs,
loss of sensation and a loss of bladder control. In carly
January 1979, Mrs. Mays found her ability to walk was
progressively decreasing because of loss of sensation and
muscle contro] in the lower extreinities. Mrs. Mavs was
admitted to Fitzsimons on January 12, 1979 for evaluation
of these signs and symptoms. An initial diagnosis of ra-
diation myelitis was made. There was no treatment for
this condition.

She was discharged on January 16, 1979. Her eondi-
tion progressively deteriorated. She was readmitted to
Fitzsimons on March 12, 1979. By this time, she was para-
lyzed below the mid-chest level. The diagnosis was con-
firmed as a radiation induced tranverse myelitis at the
fourth and fifth thoracic vertebral levels. This was an ir-
reversible condition for which there was no treatment.

On March 22, 1979, Mrs. Mays was transferred by
ambulance from Fitzsimons to Craig Rehabilitation Hoe--
pital in Denver, ,Colorado for intensive rehabilitation for
paraplegia. She remained at Craig Rehabilitation Hospi-
tal until June 15, 1978 (sic) when she was discharged to go
home. During the time period from mid-June 1979, until
May 1980, Mrs. Mays was seen on an out-patient and in-
patient basis at Swedish Hospital, Denver, Colorado on
numerous occasions for complications, including thrombo-
phlebitis and bronchial infections. Additionally, she re-
ceived physical therapy during this time.

In the late spring of 1980, Mrs. Mays began to ex-
perience respiratory difficulty and congestive heart fail-
ure. She was admitted to Porter Memorial Hospital in
Denver, Colorado on May 28, 1980 for purposes of eval-
uating her condition. She had fluid build-up in the peri-
cardial sac surrounding the heart. Perieardiocentisis, a

10a

procedure to remove the fluid, was performed on two oc-
casions to attempt to alleviate this condition. These pro-
cedures were unsuccessful. A pericardectomy and de-
bridement of the sterum was performed in June, 1980.
The findings at surgery were totally consistent with ex-
treme radiation damage to the tissues of the chest and
pericardium. Mrs. Mays had numerous complications fol-
lowing this procedure including respiratory distress re-
quiring a trachostomy and debridement of the sternum
and chest tissues. In addition, she developed a decubitis
uleer which had to be surgically corrected.

On July 24, 1980, Mrs. Mays was transferred from
Porter Memorial Hospital to Craig Hospital. During this
hospitalization, Mrs. Mays was subjected to numerous
procedures including surgical debridement of the sternum
and corrections of the decubitis uleer. Mrs. Mays was
discharged from Craig Hospital in November, 1980. She
returned home for a short period of time, but was read-
mitted to Swedish Hospital on January 23, 1981 because
of a recurrent deep-chest tissue infection.

Mrs. Mays was hospitalized at Swedish until April
16, 1981 during which time numerous surgeries were per-
formed for sternum debridement and closure of the in-
fected wound of the chest. Again, the surgical findings
were consistent with extreme radiation damage to the
chest tissues and cavity. In December 1981, Mrs. Mays was
readmitted to Swedish Hospital for evaluation and po-
tential treatment of a recurrence of her cancer. She re-
ceived limited therapy, but the cancer at this time was
determined to be untreatable. Pursuant to Mrs. Mays’
request, she was discharged on January 22, 1982 to re-
turn home. She died on January 27, 1982.

The evidence establishes two distinct acts of medica!
negligence in the care rendered to Mrs. Mays at Fitz-
simons Army Medical Center. The first related to the
failure to follow-up and diagnose the lung cancer in Jan-
uary 1977. All the medical experts and witnesses who
testified agreed that the failure to notify her of the x-ray

= a

findings on January 7, 1977 was below the standard of
care for out-patient clinical practice in the community at
that time. There were multiple failures on the part of
Fitzsimons Army Medical Center, includins not properly
maintaining records, not notifying Mrs. Mays of her con-
dition, and not ensuring appropriate follow-up care of
her condition,

Had care in conformity with the applicable standard
of care been delivered, timely diagnosis and treatment of
the lung eanecer would have occurred at minimal cost in
late January or early February of 1977. Substandard
care was the cause of the delay in the treatment of Rebel
Ann Mays’ cancer. I find that defendant’s care and treat-
ment of Rebel Ann Mays fell below acceptable standards
of medical care and as such defendant’s care and treatment
of plaintiff was negligent. Larsen v. Linpahl, 167 Colo.
409, 450 P.2d 77 (1968); Short v. Downs, 36 Colo. App.
109, 537 P.2d 754 (1975); Caro v. Bumpus, 30 Colo. App.
144, 491 P.2d 606 (1971).

The plaintiff must also establish that the defendant’s
conduct was the cause of her injury. Portner v. Swear-
imgen, 695 F.2d 435 (10th Cir. 1982). To establish proxi-
mate causation, one must prove with ‘‘reasonable prob-
ability’? that the injury was caused by the defendant’s
negligence. In this case the substandard eare was the
cause of the delay in the treatment of Mrs. Mays’ cancer.
However, this case presents an issue which has not been
addressed by Colorado appellate courts. The issue is
whether plaintiffs may recover damages when the de-
fendant’s conduct was not the cause of the medical con-
dition which caused the injury, but rather was the cause
of a substantially increased risk of resulting harm. In
this case, the resulting harm was a substantially reduced
chance of recovery or survival from the cancer. In other
words, are the plaintiffs entitled to reeover damages for
the negligent failure to diagnose the decedent Rebel Ann
Mays’ lune cancer and the resultant loss of a chance of
recovery. The facts of this case present circumstances
for which there is no guidance from Colorado courts.

12a

Historically, the proof of the element of causation in
failure to diagnose cases in the medical negligence setting
did not permit recovery in cases where the defendant’s
negligence either substantially increased the risk of result-
ing harm or substantially reduced the chances for recov-
ery or survival, but the very nature of the disease or ail-
ment precluded testimony based upon ‘‘reasonable medical
probability’’ that ‘‘but for’’ the doctors’ negligence, the
harm would not have resulted. In response to the harsh-
ness of the strict application of reasonable medical prob-
ability and the difficult cases such as the the instant ease,
courts have carved out the ‘‘value of a chance’’ theory of
causation.

The seminal case with respect to the ‘‘loss of a chance
of survival’? theory is Hicks v. United States, 368 F.2d
626 (4th Cir. 1966). In that case the decedent’s estate
filed an action under the Federal Tort Claims Act on the
theory that death was due to the negligence of a treating
physician. The uneontroverted evidence established that
if the decedent had heen operated on promptly, she would
have survived. The defendant’s contention was that the
decedent’s survival, even given appropriate treatment,
was not an absolute certainty. In response, the court in
Hicks stated:

When a defendant’s negligent action or inaction has
effectively terminated a person’s chance of survival,
it does not lie in the defendant’s mouth to raise con-
jectures as to the measure of the chance that he has
put beyond the possibility of realization. If there
was any substantial possibility of survival and the
defendant has destroyed it, he is answerable... The
law_ does not in the existing circumstances require
the plaintiff to show to a certainty that the patient
would have lived had she been hospitalized and op-
erated on promptly.

Hicks v. United States, 368 F.2d at 632. (Emphasis in
original.)

Other courts followed and adopted the reasoning of
Ilicks and permitted the issue of causation in misdiag-

13a

nosis and failure to diagnose cases to go to the fact finder
based on ‘‘diminished chances’’ or ‘‘inereased risk’’ with-
out strict application of the ‘‘but for’’ test. Many of
these cases have involved failures to diagnose cancer and
the diminished chance of survival resulting from the de-
fendant’s conduct. For example, in Jeanes v. Milner, 428
F.2d 598 (8th Cir. 1970), there was a one-month delay in
sending lab slides to a pathologist. The slide, when exam-
ined by the pathologist showed lymphocarcoma. During
that one-month period, the patient progressed from stage
one lymphoearcoma with a 35% chance of survival to a
stage two lymphoeareoma with only a 24% chance of sur-
vival. Because the delay in diagnosis was prejudicial to
the decedent’s recovery, the court ruled that 11% diminu-
tion in chance of survival was compensable. The Hicks
rationale has been adopted in McBride v. United States,
462 F.2d 72 (9th Cir. 1972). Tn that case, the court held
that when a plaintiff’s cause of action rests upon an al-
legedly negligent failure to give necessary treatment, the
absence of positive certainty does not bar recovery if the
negligent failure to provide treatment deprived the patient
of a significant improvement in his chances for recovery.
Daniels v. Hadley Memorial Hospital, 548 F.Supp. 278,
320, 566 F.2d 649 (D.C. Cir. 1977) again cited Hicks with
approval and ruled, in a ease involving a patient who
went into anaphylactic shock and whose chances of sur-
vival were reduced by defendant’s conduct, that the ex-
tent to which the defendant has interfered with these
chances must be taken into account.

Similarly, in James v. United States, 483 F.Supp. 581
(N.D. Cal. 1980) the United States failed to inform plain-
tiffs of suspected cancer found on a chest x-ray during a
pre-employment physical. Two years later when the lung
eancer was finally diagnosed. it was inoperable. There was
a serious question of whether the. tumor was even op-
erable when the diagnosis occurred, but plaintiff’s ex-
pert indicated that the plaintiff had lost a 10% to 15%
chance of survival over 5 years. The court commented
extensively on the lost chance of benefit from earlier
treatment and stated ‘‘no matter how small the chances

l4a

may have been—and its magnitude cannot be ascertained
—no one ean say that the chance of prolonging one’s life
or decreasing one’s suffering is valueless. 483 F.Supp.
at p. 587.

In Herskovits v. Group Health Cooperative of Pucet
Sound, 664 P.2d 474 (Wash. 1983), the court permitted
recovery in a survival action predicated upon the defen-
dant’s failure to make a timely diagnosis of the dece-
dent’s lung cancer. Expert medical testimony established
that if the decedent’s tumor was a ‘‘stage one’’ tumor
in December 1974 and diagnosed as such at that time,
the decedent’s chance for survival would have been 39%.
Assuming this tumor had progressed to stage two in June
1975, the decedent’s chance for survival was 25%. Thus,
according to expert medical testimony, the delay in diag-
nosis reduces the decedent’s chance for survival by 14%.
The court held that the 14% reduction in the decedent’s
chance for survival was sufficient evidence of causation
to allow the jury to consider the question of whether the
failure of timely diagnosis was a proximate cause of
death, regardless of the undisputed fact that the decedent
had less than a 50% chance of survival at all pertinent
times,

The majority of courts which have addressed the loss
of a chance theory has permitted compensation for the
lost chance of survivability. Rebel Ann Mays sustained
just such an injury by virtue of the defendant’s negligent
medical eare. I hold that the plaintiffs have established
proximate cause in this ease. The defendant caused a
substantial reduetion in Mrs. Mays’ chance of survival

All physicians who addressed this issue in their testi-
mony acknowledged that the failure to follow-up on the
initial x-ray finding in .JJlannary 1977 was below appli-
cable standards of care and that had appropriate follow-
up been conducted, proper diagnosis and probable surgi-
eal intervention would have occurred in January or Feb-
ruary of 1977. Further, it has been established that be-
cause of the approximate 15 to 16 month delay occasioned

lida

by defendant’s negligence, Mrs. Mays’ chances of sur-
vival were reduced by the further spread of the tumor
in the lung, bronchial and perihilar nodes and distant
metastasis in other areas of the hody. Defendant’s ex-
perts, although unable to render specific opinions re-
garding survivahility, were of the opinion that in general
principle Rebel Ann Mays’ survivability had been re-
dueed by the delay in treatment.

The plaintiffs’ expert in radiation oneology, Dr.
Theodore Phillips, was of the opinion that had Mrs. Mavs’
lung cancer been promptly diagnosed in January of 1977
and had appropriate surgical intervention occurred at that
time, Mrs. Mays’ chance of survival would have been 40%.
Further, Dr. Phillips stated that in his opinion in January
1977, Mrs. Mavs had a ‘‘stage one’? tnmor with no lymph
node involvement: however, the delav in diagnosis and
treatment, as a result of the substandard eare rendered
by Fitzsimons Army Medieal Center, permitted the tumor
to progress to ‘‘stage two,’’ thereby reducine Mrs. Mays’
chance of survival to 15° or less. Accordingly, if proper
diagnosis and treatment had been made in January 1977,
Mrs. Mays’ chance of survival would have been two or
three times more likely than was the case in Mav of 1978.
IT find that Dr. Phillips’ testimony is persuasive.

I find that as a result of the medical negligence in
the care rendered at Fitzsimons Army Medical Center,
Rebel Ann Mays’ chance of survival beyond five years
was reduced from 40% to 15%. The plaintiff Everett F.
Mays is entitled to reeover damages for the reduetion in
Rebel Ann Mays’ chance of survival.

The second distinct act of medical malpractice oe-
curred with respect to the radiation therapy administered
to Rebel Ann Mays at Fitzsimons Army Medical Center.
The testimony of expert witnesses established that the
radiation therapy administered to Rebel Ann Mays was
helow applicable standards of radiation therapy in the
community. As a result of the substandard care, Mrs.
Mays received radiation doses to the chest, mediastinum,

l6a

heart and spinal cord in excess of known safe total tol-
erance levels of radiation to those tissues.

This excessive radiation was the cause of Mrs. Mays’
paraplegia and injury of the tissues of the chest, sternum
and heart. I conclude that the multiple surgeries, hospi-
talization and medical expenses incurred by Rebel Ann
Mays were caused by the negligence of the defendant. I
find that the cause of death, however, was the presence
of the eancer in the decedent’s brain.

DAMAGES

The measure of damages is governed by Colorado’s
wrongful death statute which employs the principle of net
pecuniary loss. The losses are-as follows:

The parties stipulate that of the $266,300 medical ex-
penses incurred by the Mays family as a result of the de-
fendant’s negligence, $195,055 has been paid by the
CHAMPUS program under the authority of 10 U.S.C.
§ 1079. In January 1977, Rebel Ann Mays was 44 years
of ave and had a life expectancy of 29 years. Mrs. Mays
was employed as a directory assistance operator at Moun-
tain Bell and had a work life expectaney from that date
of 12 vears. Her salary was approximately $183 biweekly.
In addition, she received fringe benefits in various forms
of health insurance, sick benefits, disability pay, life in-
surance and telephone concessions. She left her employ-
ment at Mountain Bell because of fatigue associated with
her lung ecaneer. Had proper treatment occurred she
would have been physieally capable of returning to her
position as a directory assistance operator. In addition,
she provided household services and bookkeeping ser-
vices for her husband’s trucking business. Further, as
a result of her disability and the attendant care rendered
by Mr. Mays, he was unable to devote the same energy
and time to his trucking business, resulting in a substan-
tial reduction in his gross sales and income for the years
in which Mrs. Mays was paralyzed and disabled. Further,
the plaintiffs Vicki Everett (sic) and Michelle Wamboidt,

17a :

sustained losses of income and time during the time they
rendered care and services for their mother. The plaintiffs
presented unrebutted evidence of economic losses by Don-
ald P. Stegall, Ph.D., an expert economist. Dr. Stevall
computed the total past losses, taking into account per-
sonal consumption of Rebel Ann Mays, to be as follows:

Past Loss

Earnings Capacity (Mrs. May) $ 41,000
Fringe Benefits (Mrs. Mays) 5,600
Bookkeeping Services (Mrs. Mays) 9,400
Household Services (Mrs. Mays) 20,600
Income (Mr. Mays) 73,700
Home Care (daughters) 7,600
Medical Expenses 266,300
Medical Transportation 800

TOTAL PAST LOSS $425,000

I hold that beeause of the added negligence involving ex-
cessive radiation the entire amount of past loss is not af-
fected by the lost chance issue.' Dr. Stegall also testified

'The past losses are attributable to defendant's negligence
both in the failure to give prompt treatment which resulted in
the lost chance and in the treatment which caused the para-
plegia and other radiation injuries. It would be practically im-
possible to allocate past losses to the separate instances of neg-
ligence. Additionally, such a distinction would be irrelevant.
To the extent plaintiffs’ past losses are attributable to defen-
dant’s negligent treatment, they should be entirely recovered
and undiminished by Mrs. Mays’ limited life expectancy from
the cancer known to exist in January, 1977. To the extent past
losses derive from the failure to give prompt treatment and
negligent follow-up, plaintiffs’ should also recover in full. Plain-

(Continued on following page)

18a

regarding the future net pecuniary loss from the date of
trial. From his testimony I find that had Mrs. Mays not
lost the change of a normal life expectancy she would have
future losses as follows:

Earning Capacity $ 37,000
Fringe Benefits 5,100
Bookkeeping 24,300
Household Services 106,800

$173,200

The per cent of chance lost was 25. Therefore, the
_ damage related to net pecuniary loss caused by defen-
dant is .25 x 173,200 or $43,300. The total net pecuniary
loss suffered by the decedent was $468,300. I find that the
value of Mr. Mays loss of consortium from January, 1979,
to Mrs. Mays’ death in January, 1982 is $36,000. The to-
tal of damages, therefore, is $504,300.

COLLATERAL SOURCE

In Kistler v. Halsey, 481 P.2d 722, 724 (Colo. 1971)
the Colorado Supreme Court defined the collateral source
rile as follows:

(Continued from previous page)

tiffs have shown that all medical treatment, not necessitated by
defendant’s affirmative misfeasance, derived from the state of
Mrs. Mays’ cancer as it was in June, 1978. The cost of Mrs.
Mays’ treatment in June, 1977, had the original diagnosis and
treatment been timely, would have been minimal. Defendant
has not rebutted this showing nor shown which, if any, medical
expenses would have been incurred irrespective of the distinct
malpractice episodes. Other than the cost of an initial x-ray, |
doubt that such a showing could ever be made. Thus, all past
— losses were proximately caused by defendant's neg-
igence.

Future net pecuniary loss, however, must be diminished
by Mrs. Mays’ chance of dying before the occurrence of any
of the negligent acts of defendant beginning in January, 1977.

19a -

Simply stated, it is that compensation or indem-
nity received by an injured party from a collateral
source, wholly independent of the wrongdoer and to
which he has not contributed, will not diminish the
damages otherwise recoverable from the wrongdoer.

The phrase ‘‘to which he has not contributed’? has an
ambiguous antecedent, but in view of the Colorado Court
of Appeals decision in Powell v. Brady, 496 P.2d 328
(Colo. App. 1972), aff’d 508 P.2d 1254 (Colo. 1973), I
find that the ‘‘he’’ referred to is the wrongdoer. Oth-
erwise, the rule makes no sense.

In Steckler v. United States, 549 F.2d 1372, 1379 (10th
Cir. 1977) when considering whether Social Security dis-
ability payments are to be regarded as income from a col-
lateral source in a suit against a Veterans Administration
Hospital brought under the Federal Tort Claims <Aet,
Judge Doyle said, in dicta, ‘‘The benefit is unquestion-
ably a non-collateral souree which is deductible from an
award in that it is derived entirely from government funds
and cannot be claimed to originate in any collateral con-
tribution.’’ Judge Doyle, too, noted the dearth of au-
thority in this area. Because the case was remanded, it
left unsettled the question of whether the Social Seeur-
ity payments which are contributed to by the employee
and employer but supplemented by the government are
in whole or in part collateral sources.

The henefits furnished to Rebel Ann Mavs were
health benefits earned by virtue of 20 years of uniformed
service by plaintiff Everett F. Mays in the armed forces.
CHAMPUS is funded through a separate budgetary allo-
eation by Congress based upon the potential number of
beneficiaries. This fund is separate and apart from funds
set aside to satisfy judgments under the Federal Tort
Claims Act. The funds used by the CHAMPUS program
are appropriated funds furnished by the Congress throuch
the Annual Appropriations Act for the Department of
Defense and the Department of Health and Human Ser-
vices (formerly Department of Health, Education and

20a

Welfare). 32 C.F.R. § 199.7(e-1) April 14, 1977. Further,
federal regulations provide that absent at least 20 years
of service in the Armed Forces, service retirees and their
dependents do not qualify for CHAMPUS benefits upon
retirement. 32 C.F.R. § 199.9 April 14, 1977. Thus, the
CHAMPUS benefits are furnished under legislation whol-
ly separate and distinet from recovery under the Tort
Claims Act.

United States v. Gray, 199 F.2d 239 (10th Cir. 1952),
precluded an offset for amounts expended by the Vet-
eraus Administration for the plaintiff’s hospitalization
against a recovery under the Federal Tort Claims Act.
There is no provision under the CHAMPUS legislation
which indicates that Congress intended recovery under
the Tort Claims Act to be offset or diminished by amounts
expended in furnishing hospitalization and medical treat-
ment under the CHAMPUS legislation.

As the Court of Appeals said in Gray:

The Veterans Administration furnished to plaintiff
the hospitalization and treatment under legislation
‘wholly separate and distinct from the Tort Claims
Act. Our attention has not been ealled to any pro-
vision in the Tort Claims Act or in the legislation
relating to hospitalization and treatment furnished
by the Veterans Administration which indicates that
Congress intended for recovery under the Tort Claims
Act to be offset or diminished by amounts. expended
in furnishing hospitalization and treatment for dis-
ability. And in the complete absence of an express
or clearly implied intent on the part of Congress
that such an offset or diminution should be made,
it is not the function of this court to effectuate it
by judicial fiat. Since the cost of hospitalization and
treatment furnished plaintiff could not be asserted
by way of offset or diminuation of any amount to
which plaintiff was entitled under the Tort Claims
Act, tendered evidenee was properly excluded.

United States v. Gray, 199 F.2d 239, 244 (1952). Gray
has not been overruled. Its facts are comparable to the

21a

ease at bar. Accordingly, I believe it is ineumbent upon
me to hold that the collateral source rule is not appli-
cable to this case; it is based on the same Colorado law.

IT IS ORDERED that judgment shall enter in favor
of plaintiffs and against defendant in the amount of
$504,300 plus interests and costs herein expended.

DATED at Denver, Colorado this 10th day of May,
1985.

/s/ John L. Kane, Jr.

UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1941%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
