# Opposition Brief — Tinley Park Community Consolidated School District No. 146 v. Jennings

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1913%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 1017

## Text

(»,) Supreme Court, U.S,
0 FILED

No. 86-1423 MAR 27 98T
NiOL, JR,
CLERK
In THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octoser TERM, 1986

TINLEY PARK COMMUNITY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL
DISTRICT NO. 146; ROBERT W. PROCUNIER, Superintendent
of Community Consolidated School District No. 146;
and THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF COMMUNITY
CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 146,

Petitioners,

Vv.

KATHRYN M. JENNINGS,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court Of Appeals For The Seventa Circuit

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

DIANE I. JENNINGS
Couiisel of Record

LORD, BISSELL & BROOK

115 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 443-0694

Counsel for Respondent

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

.
,
/
i
see
‘
=
s
&
"
:
ee
:
*
£m,
% x
voi

e

%
a
a
"
$

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Should the Circuit Court of Appeals assume the role
of fact-finder when the District Court fails to make the
written findings of fact and conclusions of law required
by Federal Rule 52, and the District Court’s minimal oral
findings are so conflicting as to make it impossible to dis-
cern the basis for that court’s decision?

II. May an employer unilaterally declare an employee
outside the protection afforded by Title VII by claiming
that her lawful participation in activities opposing sex dis-
crimination caused the employer to “lose trust and con-
fidence” allegedly necessary to the employee’s position?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .................. i
TABLE.OF AUTHORITIES «ins ccccces canes iii
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............... 1

REASONS WHY THE WRIT
SHOULD BE DENIED:

A.

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S REMAND OF
THE INSTANT CASE BECAUSE THE DIS-
TRICT COURT’S CONFLICTING AND CON-
FUSING ORAL FINDINGS OF FACT AND
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW NEED CLARIFICA-
TION IS NOT A MOMENTOUS LEGAL ISSUE
WORTHY OF THIS COURT’S REVIEW .... 9

B.

THE PROTECTION OF TITLE VII IS AF-
FORDED TO ALL EMPLOYEES WITHIN THE
PROTECTED CLASS, NOT LIMITED TO
THOSE OCCUPYING MENIAL POSITIONS .. 12

CAVING 00k Sh cnc levees ees aaa ees 15

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE
Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983) ........ 18, 14
E.E.0.C. v. Crown Zellerbach Corp., 720 F.2d 1008
I I a tg id dala «ew s's Ss Rig nid cae 13
Hochstadt v. Worcester Foundation, 545 F.2d 222
ye che ra ks eascdnssedbesvess 14, 15
McDonald v. United Air Lanes, Inc., 745 F.2d 1081
CPR MS RMD Sees 8 eh SW dcccssccvescass 11
Pickering v. Board of Education, 391 U.S. 563
Oe ia ea ncnas saves yp bss 13, 14
Texas Department of Community Affairs v. Bur-
Ge Ae ae. BOS CIBBD). on ccc cccccesccee 12
Statutes

Section 704(a) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
US.C.A. $2000e-Ma) (1961) ...:............ 1, 12

ar.

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OctosEer Term, 1986

TINLEY PARK COMMUNITY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL
DISTRICT NO. 146; ROBERT W. PROCUNIER, Superintendent
of Community Consolidated School District No. 146;
and THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF COMMUNITY
CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 146,

Petitioners,
Vv.

KATHRYN M. JENNINGS,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action, brought pursuant to Title VII of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seg., involves al-
legations of sex discrimination in employment and Plaintiff-
Respondent Kathryn M. Jennings’ wrongful discharge in
retaliation for her activities in opposition thereto. Mrs.
Jennings’ First Amended Complaint alleged in pertinent

gullies

part that the ali-female secretaries employed by Defendant-
Petitioner Tinley Park Community Consolidated School
District No. 146 were discriminated against in the terms
and conditions of their employment, including the denial
of premium overtime wages when such wages were paid
to the all-male custodians employed by District 146. It
was further alleged that Mrs. Jennings engaged in activ-
ities opposing these perceived discriminatory practices on
June 1, 1979, and was thereafter subjected to repeated
harassment by her supervisor, Defendant-Petitioner Robert
W. Procunier, culminating in her discharge on June 15,
1979. (R. 11.)

The issues were tried before Judge Thomas R. McMillen
of the United States District Court for the Northern Dis-
trict of Illinois, Eastern Division, on May 1-3, 1985. At
the close of all the evidence, the District Court entered
judgment for Defendants (R. 115), but failed to make the
written findings of fact and conclusions of law required
by Rule 52 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Mrs.
Jennings appealed that decision to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

On appeal, the Seventh Circuit rioted that the District
Court’s minimal oral findings ~ a regard to the alleged
sex discrimination in Defendants’ admitted policy of refus-
ing to pay the all-female secretaries overtime wages were
“not as clear as they might be.” Nevertheless, after “‘in-
terpreting and restating” the District Court’s findings, the
Seventh Circuit affirmed the ruling that Defendants had
established a legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for pay-
ing custodians for overtime but not secretaries. (Slip Op.
at 4-7.)

On the issue of retaliation, however, the lack of proper
findings of fact and conclusions of law left the Seventh
Circuit in doubt as to whether the District Court had em-

allen

ployed the proper standard of law, and unable to discern
the factual basis for the District Court’s ruling because
of the conflicting findings stated orally. (Slip Op. at 9-10.)
Accordingly, the Court vacated the judgment in favor of
Defendants and remanded the case for further findings
rather than attempting to decide the case on the inade-
quate record generated by the District Court. (Slip Op.
at 11-12.) The majority declined to follow the dissent’s sug-
gestion that the Court of Appeals presume that the Dis-
trict Court applied the correct standard of law and make
the findings of fact that the District Court failed to make.
(Slip Op. at 12-19.)

Defendants’ Petition for Rehearing and for Rehearing
en banc was denied when no judge in active service re-
quested a vote thereon, and all of the judges on the original
panel, including the dissenting justice, voted to deny a
rehearing.

The facts which led the Seventh Circuit to question
whether Defendants had presented a legitimate, nondis-
criminatory reason for firing Mrs. Jennings are set forth
in the Court’s opinion. Defendants’ recital of ‘additional
facts” at pages 4 to 7 of their Petition are not taken from
any findings of the District Court, because no proper find-
ings were made; nor do they represent findings of the
Seventh Circuit, because that Court declined Defendants’
invitation to act as fact-finder. Instead, the “facts” stated
are nothing more than Defendants’ argumentative inter-
pretation of some of the evidence presented. In order to
balance Defendants’ one-sided recital, and to illustrate why
the Seventh Circuit questioned the District Court’s deci-
sion, Mrs. Jennings presents the following statement of un-
disputed facts established at trial which Defendants have
completely omitted from their statement to this Court:

ih

Defendant School District 146 employed two groups desig-
nated as Class I employees, secretaries and custodians.
(R. 122, Pl. Ex. 13 at 3.) The “secretarial”? employees
were all female, and performed such varied duties as sec-
retary, bookkeeper, switchboard operator, and printing
press operator. (R. 91; Tr. 274, 185, 379-80.) The “‘cus-
todial’’ employees were all male, and performed cleaning,
snow removal, landscape maintenance, and furniture in-
stallation. (R. 91.) During her term of employment, from
November 15, 1973 to June 15, 1979, Mrs. Jennings was
classified as a secretary, and worked as Defendant Pro-
cunier’s secretary, in addition to serving as recording sec-
retary of the Defendant Board of Education for separate
compensation. (Tr. 21, 23.)

As early as February, 1978, Procunier, chief administra-
tive officer of the District, was informed that the secre-
taries were concerned about the disparate treatment ac-
corded them in relation to the custodians, but his sole re-
sponse was: “That’s what the Board [of Education] wants.
C’est la guerre.”’ (Tr. 169-70.) When conditions did not
change, in 1979 the secretaries began a series of unproduc-
tive meetings with a member of the School District’s ad-
ministrative staff, Assistant Superintendent Noel Swin-
ford, to express their concerns regarding the disparity in
pay and working conditions between secretaries and cus-
todians, including the School District’s repeated refusal
to compensate secretaries at all for overtime worked,
while paying custodians for overtime at a rate of 142 times
their hourly rate of pay. (R. 91, 122; Tr. 58-60.)

An express procedure in the District’s employee hand-
book provided that, if employees were not satisfied with
the responses to their grievances, they had a right to ad-
dress their concerns to the next higher authority until the
matter was resolved. (Pl. Ex. 13 at 12.) Nevertheless, al-

—§—

though Mrs. Jennings told Procunier of the secretaries’
dissatisfaction with Swinford’s responses (R. 91; Tr. 110),
Procunier refused her repeated requests that he meet
with the secretaries and address their concerns. (Tr. 69.)

In May, 1979, Procunier promulgated a salary schedule
for the 1979-1980 fiscal year which continued the perceived
disparity between secretaries and custodians. (R. 122, PI.
Ex. 2 at 2.) He was informed of the secretaries’ opposi-
tion, but again refused to meet with them. (Tr. 69.) Ac-
cordingly, because the administrative staff through the
highest level failed to respond to their grievances, on the
date that Procunier’s proposed salary schedule was to be
presented to the Board a group of secretaries attended
the Board meeting and expressed their concerns. (R. 91;
Tr. 73-74, 404.) The Board did not respond, but instead
went into executive session with Procunier, then returned
to open meeting and passed his salary schedule without
comment. (Tr. 74-76, 404.) After the meeting, the secre-
taries decided to prepare a salary study and further ex-
plain their concerns to the Board in writing. (Tr. 224, 226,
259.) Mrs. Jennings also tried to make her individual feel-
ings known to the Board by resigning as recording secre-
tary, but Procunier would not accept her resignation and
withheld her letter of protest from the Board until he de-
cided to fire her. (Tr. 181-182, 105.)

The secretaries prepared a document entitled “P.S.:
Salary Study” which contained a detailed comparison of
the salaries paid to secretaries and custodians (R. 122,
Pl. Ex. 4) and attached thereto the minutes of their meet-
ings with Swinford regarding the lack of overtime pay.
(R. 91.) The study was delivered simultaneously to Pro-
cunier and the members of the Board of Education on
June 1, 1979. (R. 186-8.) Defendants now concede that
there was no policy prohibiting staff members from com-

- =

municating directly with the Board in this manner, and
the District Court found that they had every right to do
so. (Tr. 368, 456.) Defendants further admitted that de-
livery of the salary study in no way disrupted the School
District’s business. (Tr. 419.)

When Procunier received his copy of the salary study,
he was upset by its contents and became extremely agitated
when he learned that it had been given to the Board. (Tr.
81-83, 282.) At a meeting with the secretaries four days
later, he berated them for not giving him the study, and
accused them of giving it to the Board “to hurt him”’ (Tr.
87-88), threatening that “now no one would get anything.”
(Tr. 90-91, 247-50.) Procunier also gave the secretaries his
own salary study which attempted to justify the salaries
he had recommended to the Board, and admitted that, had
he received the secretaries’ study in advance, he probably
would not have given it to the Board. (Tr. 91-93, 246.)
It was not unusual for Procunier to withhold information
from the Board (Tr. 249, 257), as he did Mrs. Jennings’
letter of resignation.

It was stipulated that Mrs. Jennings possessed and uti-
lized outstanding skills and performed her work well both
before and after the June 1, 1979 salary study, and that
Defendants had no reason to fire her based on her job
performance. (R. 91; Tr. 433.) Further, despite his claimed
loss of trust and confidence, Procunier admitted at trial
that he had no reason to believe at any time during her
employment that Mrs. Jennings would ever disseminate
confidential material from his office (Tr. 424-427), and
acknowledged that she was not required or expected to
tell him everything, and that it was not her habit to de
so. (Tr. 319, 427-29.)

Nevertheless, after June 1, 1979, Procunier’s attitude
toward Mrs. Jennings changed completely. Whereas before

Po

that date, he had her open his mail and bring it in so
that they could go through it together, after June 1 he
had her just leave the mail, and even removed a chair
from his office so that she would have no place to sit.
(Tr. 100.) However, he still had her open the mail. (Tr.
100, 316.) He instructed her not to answer incoming calls
on his personal telephone line, although she continued
to handle all business calls. (Tr. 100.) Previously, Mrs.
Jennings had brought business related problems in the
office to Procunier’s attention, such as the practice of pay-
ing salaries out of the imprest fund without deducting
federal taxes, in contravention of an express Board direc-
tive. (Tr. 122, 127, 140.) After June 1, Procunier was
resentful of such things and implied that Mrs. Jennings
was being a “tattle-tale.” (Tr. 100.) Throughout the period
from June 1 until Mrs. Jennings was fired on June 15,
Procunier continued to harp on the theme that delivery
of the salary schedule to the Board was done to hurt him.
(Tr. 101.)

On June 13, 1979, Procunier called Mrs. Jennings into
his office and told her that he no longer trusted her, and
that he felt that by permitting her to attend the secre-
taries’ meetings, he had given them the erroneous impres-
sion that he approved of their meetings. (Tr. 103.) After
Mrs. Jennings’ discharge, those meetings ceased. (Tr. 331,
412.) Further, Mrs. Jennings informed Procunier on June
13 that one reason the secretaries had not given him the
salary study in advance was their concern that he would
not give it to the Board. (Tr. 196, 313.) Despite being re-
minded of his statement on June 5 that he probably would
not have permitted the study to go to the Board, Pro-
cunier indicated that he expected Mrs. Jennings to tell
the secretaries that he would have done so. (Tr. 313-14.)

af

Finally, on June 15, 1979, Procunier again called Mrs.
Jennings into his office at the end of the day, told her
he felt that she was not “loyal and supportive,” and
stated that he would recommend to the Board that she
be terminated. (Tr. 105.) At trial, Procunier stated that
he did not fire Mrs. Jennings because she disagreed with
his policies, but acknowledged that he fired her when she
did something about that disagreement. (Tr. 283-284.) He
further testified that Mrs. Jennings was fired because she
did not inform him that the secretaries were taking their
salary study to the Board (Tr. 314), and “partially” be-
cause he lost trust in her. (Tr. 427.)

The District Court found that Mrs. Jennings at all times
acted in good faith and reasonably believed that Defen-
dants’ policies were discriminatory (Tr. 372), and that she
had established a strong prima facie case of retaliatory
discharge. (Tr. 452.) The court further found that the ac-
' tivities in question violated no rule or policy of her em-
ployer (Tr. 368, 456), and Defendants admitted that those
activities did not disrupt their business. (Tr. 419.)

It was unclear, however, what legitimate nondiscrimina-
tory reason for her discharge the District Court found had
been articulated in ruling in favor of Defendants. As noted
by the Seventh Circuit:

“The district court stated that the reason she was
‘was that she went over his head. . . and
thereby lost his trust and confidence.’ Tr. at 368. Yet
at another point the court stated that ‘he was not op-
ager ga pr eal ory Aan Board... .’
at 456. At sill another point the court refers to
a ‘personality conflict that developed rather _.
triggere red, perhaps, by the fact that he felt s
ot ing fair with him and taking this matter direct-
ly to the Board without discussing it with him or ask-
ing him to submit it to the Board.’ Tr. at 457.” (Slip
Op. at 9, n.3.)

San

Accordingly, the Seventh Circuit remanded the case for
further findings, stating as follows:

“Further, we think that there is some reason to
doubt whether defendant presented a legitimate, non-
discriminatory reason for the discharge. As the Ninth
Circuit has noted, almost every form of opposition
to an employment practice is in some sense disloyal.
See EEOC v. Crown Zellerbach Corporation, 720
F.2d 1008, 1014 (9th Cir. 1983). If mere ‘disloyal’ con-
duct could provide a legitimate basis for discharge,
the protection extended by section 2000e-3 would be
severely limited.
* * *

It is entirely possible that under all the circumstances
Procunier showed a ‘legitimate’ reason for the dis-
charge. But, because a sense of ‘disloyalty’ is inherent
in almost any assertion of Title VII rights, we think
it essential to determine whether the alleged disloyal-
ty here constituted a legitimate business reason under
the Crown Zellerbach test or was of a sort that is
not izable as a defensé to a retaliatory discharge
claim.” (Slip Op. at 10-12.)

REASONS WHY THE WRIT
SHOULD BE DENIED

A.

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S REMAND OF THE INSTANT
CASE BECAUSE THE DISTRICT COURT’S CONFLICT-
ING AND CONFUSING ORAL FINDINGS OF FACT AND
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW NEED CLARIFICATION IS NOT
A MOMENTOUS LEGAL ISSUE WORTHY OF THIS
COURT'S REVIEW.

Defendants’ vehement assertions to the contrary not-
withstanding, the Seventh Circuit has not created any
new standard of proof in a Title VII action, nor did it

iil

shift the burden of persuasion to the Defendants. All that
the Court definitively decided was that it could not de-
cide at this point if the District Court’s ruling was right
or wrong because that court did not make the written
findings of fact and conclusions of law required by Rule
52, and its oral findings and conclusions left the Seventh
Circuit unable to determine what the basis for the rul-
ing was, because the District Court’s findings kept chang-
ing depending on its then prevailing view of the law.

The Seventh Circuit had every reason to believe that
Mrs. Jennings was discharged for a reason prohibited by
Title VII, namely, because she went over Procunier’s head
and took her complaints regarding discriminatory prac-
tices directly to the Board, thereby incurring Procunier’s
enmity. Indeed, the following undisputed evidence com-
pelled such a finding:

1. Taking the salary study directly to the Board was
perfectly proper and in keeping with District 146’s
own internal guidelines for taking grievances to the
next higher authority if an employee was dissatisfied
pi response at lower levels in the chain of com-
mand;

2. Far from showing that he had any legitimate ex-
pectation, or had even asked that Mrs. Jennings act
as a spy and inform him of the secretaries’ planned
protest, Procunier himself testified that Mrs. Jennings
was not in the habit of telling him everything, and
it was not a requirement of her job that she do so;

3. Procunier was in fact iniurmed of the existence
and delivery of the salary study (just not in time to
stop it), and in any event was well aware of its con-
tent since he had already heard and not only refused
to redress each of the complaints therein, but also
refused to even meet with the secretaries in con-
travention of the District’s own policy for handling
grievances;

="

4. During a lengthy diatribe berating their action,
Procunier told the secretaries that, had he been in-
formed of its existence in advance, their salary study
would never have reached the Board, and now “none
of them would get anything’;

5. The study opposed the precise practices which
Procunier advocated;

6. Procunier coi.uplained that the secretaries’ action
was done to “hurt” him and “make him look bad,”
and that, by “permitting” Mrs. Jennings to partici-
pate in their meetings, he might have given the sec-
retaries the erroneous impression that he approved
of their activities;

7. Contrary to his claimed loss of trust and con-
fidence, Procunier acknowledged that he did not be-
lieve, either before or after the salary study, that
Mrs. Jennings would violate her position and dissemi-
nate confidential information; and

8. Mrs. Jennings’ discharge effectively put an end
to meetings among the secretaries to discuss and
seek redress of their grievances.

Thus, it appeared to the Seventh Circuit that the Dis-
trict Court’s decision was based on a legally insufficient
excuse for firing Mrs. Jennings and amounted to retali-
atory discharge. Nevertheless, it exercised restraint and
declined to engage in the type of fact finding which De-
fendants would have this Court indulge in—a function
more properly left to the District Court. See McDonald
v. United Air Lines, Inc., 745 F.2d 1081 (7th Cir. 1984)
(remand appropriate where District Court fails to provide
adequate findings of fact or conclusions of law).

The standard applied by the Seventh Circuit in remand-
ing this case for further findings is precisely that man-
dated by this Court, namely, that Defendants must articu-
late a legitimate nondiscriminatory reason for Mrs. Jennings’

=

discharge, i.e., one which is legally sufficient to justify
a verdict for Defendants if unrebutted. (Texas Department
of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 254-55
(1981).) Based on that standard, the Seventh Circuit de-
cided that the District Court’s decision might be wrong
as a matter of law, but Defendants should be given the
benefit of the doubt in light of the poor record generated
by the District Court. There is nothing in that decision
deserving of review by this Court.

B.

THE PROTECTION OF TITLE VII IS AFFORDED TO
ALL EMPLOYEES WITHIN THE PROTECTED CLASS,
NOT LIMITED TO THOSE OCCUPYING MENIAL POSI-
TIONS.

What Defendants are really seeking in this case is ap-
parent at pages 12-14 of their Petition. Under the guise
of complaining of an “improper standard” created by the
Seventh Circuit, Defendants are asking this Court to en-
graft an exception onto Title VII and hold, not only that
some conduct in opposition to discriminatory practices is
not protected by section 2000e-3 (42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e-3
(1981) (i.e., conduct that disrupts the employer’s business),
but also that some persons otherwise within the class pro-
tected by Title VII nonetheless may be discharged for
engaging in protected activities.

Defendants do not now dispute that the activity engaged
in was one protected by Title VII. Instead, they urge that
they could lawfully discharge Mrs. Jennings for her par-
ticipation therein because she allegedly held a position re-
quiring “trust and confidence,” and her involvement in
the protected activity caused her employer to lose its
“trust and confidence.” However, they do not cite any
case hold'ng that the protection afforded by Title VII is

ae

limited to low level positions. There are none, because
their theory is the antithesis of Title VII.

Title VII is designed to allow employees to advance in
the marketplace unhandicapped by discrimination based
on race, religion or sex. But under Defendants’ theory,
once employees make any gains and move beyond the
most menial positions, they are stripped of Title VII’s pro-
tection, doomed thereafter to suffer discrimination im
silence because the very positions they attained under the
aegis of Title VII have now made them fatally vulnerabie
to claims that their “disloyalty” in opposing their em-
ployers’ discrimination caused a “loss of trust and con- -
fidence.”’ Title VII contains no such restrictions, nor is
there any case which would support Defendants’ astound-
ing view that its protection does not extend equally to
employees who occupy positions of “trust and confidence.”
Mrs. Jennings is no more required to tolerate unlawful
practices than were the “factory line workers and manu-
facturing employees” in E.E.0.C. v. Crown Zellerbach
Corporation, 720 F.2d 1008 (9th Cir. 1983).

Faced with a lack of Title VII case law to support their
unique theory of law, Defendants suggest that this Court
apply two First Amendment/Freedom of Speech cases,
Pickering v. Board of Education, 391 U.S. 5638 (1968) and
Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983) to their version
of the “facts.” Those cases, however, are clearly inap-
posite. Governmental bodies suffer a unique handicap in
their role as employers because of the First Amendment
prohibition against abridging any person’s right of free
speech. Private employers suffer no such restrictions, and
tension inevitably arises between the government’s rights
as an employer, and the employee’s rights as a citizen.
The cases cited by Defendants involve an attempt to bal-
ance those interests and decide what type of speech is
protected and in what context.

ath...

Under Title VII, however, Congress has prescribed pre-
cisely what “speech” is to be protected, namely that in
opposition to discriminatory employment practices, and it
applies to all employers, private and governmental alike,
and it applies to all employees, menial as well as those
in “positions of trust and confidence.” This was not a
First Amendment case (as Defendants repeatedly reminded
the Seventh Circuit in their brief and argument before
that Court, even conceding that, if it were, they would
lose), and neither Pickering nor Connick protects Defen-
dants from their violation of the express mandate of Title
VII.

Defendants also rely on Hochstadt v. Worcester Founda-
tion, 545 F.2d 222 (1st Cir. 1976) as a case involving “dif-
ferent treatment of protectable interest for employees who
enjoy a confidential, close-working relationship with their
employer.” (Def. Pet. at 13.) Hochstadt, however, was con-
cerned with what conduct is protected by Title VII, not
what employees are protected. That case merely stands
for the proposition that Title VII does not give any em-
ployee carte blanche to engage in any activity she chooses
under the guise of opposing discriminatory practices. An
employee cannot allow her opposition activities to interfere
with her work, and in Hochstadt the plaintiff's conduct
was simply “beyond the pale” (545 F.2d at 230) in that
she disrupted meetings, engaged in personal confronta-
tions with supervisors, spread false rumors which drove
employees away, and in every way became totally ob-
sessed with her discrimination claims to the point where
it disrupted the work of an entire institution. Here, in
contrast, it has been stipulated that Mrs. Jennings was
an outstanding employee, that there was no reason to dis-
charge her based on her job performance, and that tak-
ing her complaints of sex discrimination direetly to the

it~

School Board was perfectly proper under the School Dis-
trict’s own guidelines regarding handling of employee
grievances and in no way disrupted the School District’s
business.

In effect, what Defendants propose is that they had a
legitimate reason to fire Mrs. Jennings because Procwnier
disrupted her work; that Mrs. Jennings, who continued
throughout to perform in an outstanding manner, was right-
fully disciplined because of Procunier’s irrational behavior
in disrupting his office routine because the secretaries
“went over his head” to the Board of Education. Pro-
cunier may have been guilty of the type of excessive be-
havior found to justify discharge in Hochstadt, but it has
been stipulated that Mrs. Jennings was not. Indeed, there
is no case which even suggests that the hapless victim
should be discharged because her lawful activities pro-
voked retaliation by an out-of-control supervisor.

CONCLUSION

Se

There is nothing in the instant case worthy of this
Court’s review, because the only ruling made thus far is
that the District Court’s conflicting findings of fact and
unclear but seemingly infirm conclusions of law are in-
adequate for purposes of review. Defendants’ assertions
that the Seventh Circuit fashioned some new standard for
Title VII cases, or somehow shifted the burden of proof
to them is plainly unfounded, and is no more than an ex-
cuse to ask this Court to do what the Seventh Circuit
‘refused to do, namely, assume the role of fact-finder. In-
deed, what Defendants are seeking in the instant case is

~1-

to carve out an exception to Title VII which would allow
them to deny some employees the protection clearly af-
forded by that law. There is nothing in the cases cited,
nor in the purposes of Title VII, which would support
Defendants’ request for such a radical change in the law.
To the contrary, the rule proposed by Defendants would
virtually destroy Title VII’s ban on retaliation against
employees who engage in lawful activities designed to
secure the rights promised by that statute, and simply
cannot be the law.

Respectfully submitted,

DIANE I. JENNINGS
Counsel of Record
LORD, BISSELL & BROOK
115 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603
(312) 443-0694
Counsel for Respondent

%

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1913%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
