# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cameron v. Fogarty

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1897%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 1016

## Text

86.1402

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED

MAR 2 \987

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

IN THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the United a

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

> —

KENNETH S. CAMERON,

—_V.—

MATTHEW FOGARTY and JOHN HALBIG,

Petitioner,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SECOND CIRCUIT

STUART ROBINOWITZ
1285 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10019

(212) 373-3000

Attorney for Petitioner
Kenneth S. Cameron

Of Counsel:

AUDREY S. FEINBERG
DIANA HASSEL
PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND,
WHARTON & GARRISON
—and—

STEVEN R. POPOFSKY

“
;
<

Question Presented

Whether the common law principle in some states barring a
tort action for false arrest by a person subsequently convicted
should be incorporated into 42 U.S.C. § 1983, thereby denying
a remedy for an egregious violation of a fundamental constitu-
tional right?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
EG AES i
Se eee ee aaa |
ee Ce eb keee ee eeeees l
Ne ee eu aes beveuseeee 2
Reemoes Sor Cormntine the Writ 2... ccc cc cc ce csccnes 3

I. The Decision Below Thwarts the Objectives of
Me eS gs a Shed nidseeeaae des 3
Deterrence of Police Abuse.................... 5
oo 7

II. The Decision Below Conflicts With This Court’s
Opinion in Haring v. Prosise ............00005: 9

Ill. The Decision Below Conflicts with Decisions of
Other Circuit Courts and State Courts.......... i)

ee De eden cet en evnee 12

Table of Authorities

Cases: PAGE
ee Oe Ok OT ene 6
Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 (1946) .............cc0eee 8
Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Federal
Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971)........... 7,8
Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S. 478 (1980) .... 3

Broughton v. State of New York, 37 N.Y.2d 451, 335
N.E.2d 310, 373 N.Y.S.2d 87 (1975), cert. denied, 423

Fs a TINS i oo ie ls ta av ob os ce a beans 1]
Brown v. Edwards, 721 F.2d 1442 (Sth Cir. 1984)...... 9, 10
Burnett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 42 (1984) ............... 3, 8
Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247 (1978) ................ 4
City of Newport v. Fact Concerns, Inc., 453 U.S. 247

GEOR nn esa cada nad Deena ee esk bee naks Pekbke uk 4
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979) ..........
Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975)................ 6
Greer v. Turner, 603 F.2d 521 (Sth Cir. Ss saad oon. 10
Guerro v. Mulhearn, 498 F.2d 1249 (ist Cir. 1974)..... 10
Haring v. Prosise, 462 Se ME 3: )
Henry v. United States, 361 U.S. 98 (1959) ........... 7

Jackson v. Official Representatives and Employees of
the Los Angeles Police Dep’t, 487 F.2d 885 (9th Cir.

tg EE oe ee epi Une rea REE 11
Mastracchio v. Ricci, 498 F.2d 1257 (1st Cir. 1974), cert.

SII, Ee OP, FU TN ww hn oooh kb bo voeecdeecs 1]
Malley v. Briggs, 106 S. Ct. 1092 (1986).............. 7

ROU ins fear arin cm std © mrt

PAGE
McClam v. Barry, 697 F.2d 366 (D.C. Cir. 1983), over

ruled on other grounds, Brown v. United States, 742

F.2d 1498 (D.C. Cir. 1984), (en banc), cert. denied,

Poi Gite. we oki, -) err rr errrrrrrr rr errr )
Morgan v. New York Central R.R. Co., 56 A.D. 177, 9

N.Y.S.2d 339 (Ist Dept. 1939) ........- eee eee ee eens 1]
Mulligan v. Schlachter, 389 F.2d 231 (6th Cir. 1968).... 9
Owen v. City of Independence, 445 U.S. 622 (1980).... 8
Raysor v. Port Authority of New York and New Jersey,

768 F.2d 34, (2d Cir. 1985) cert. denied 106 S.Ct. 1227

(RODD icdcncasccdccennccdndeassveeneases finetass 8
Singleton v. Perry, 45 Cal. 2d 489, 289 P. 2d 794 (1955) 5, 11
Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1974) .........-565: 5
Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261 (1985). .......-0-0005- 7
Statutes:
42 U.S.C. § 1983 (1981)... 2... cece eee e rere ee eceee passim

Other Authorities:
1 Harper & James, The Law of Torts (1956).......--. passim

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986
No. 86-_

>_>

KENNETH S. CAMERON,
Petitioner,
—
MATTHEW FOGARTY and JOHN HALBIG,

Respondents.

>

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner Kenneth S. Cameron asks that a writ of certiorari
issue to review the decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, entered on December 1, 1986.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 806 F.2d
380 and is annexed to this petition as Appendix A. The
unreported opinion of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of New York is annexed as Appendix B.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
December 1, 1986. Petitioner invokes this Court’s jurisdiction
under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Statutory and Constitutional Provisions Involved

The Civil Rights Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C. § 1983, provides:

Every person who, under order of any statute, ordi-
nance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any state or
territory, or the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes
to be subjected, any citizen of the United States or other
person within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation
of any rights, privileges or immunities secured by the
Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured
in an action at law, suit in equity, or other proper
proceeding for redress.

Statement of the Case

On February 13, 1980, respondents Fogarty and Halbig, two
New York City police officers, observed petitioner Cameron, a
black man, make an illegal turn in a car with a broken vent
window. The officers stopped Cameron for questioning. After
he exited from the car, Cameron produced a facially valid
driver’s license and Hertz rental agreement. The officers
sought information over the radio as to whether the car had
been reported stolen, but received no such information. None-
theless, the officers arrested Cameron and brought him to the
station house for further investigation.

Based on evidence gathered after he was brought to the
station house, Cameron was convicted of possession of stolen
property, namely the Hertz rental car.

Cameron filed a civil rights complaint for damages under 42
U.S.C. § 1983 alleging that he was arrested without probable
cause. The court below, affirming the district court, ruled that
because Cameron had been convicted, he could not bring a
§ 1983 suit alleging unconstitutional arrest. The Second Circuit
denied Cameron his federal remedy by incorporating into
§ 1983 a common law rule that those convicted are precluded
from bringing tort actions for false arrest.

also aati ee

Despite § 1983’s salutary goals of protecting civil rights and
preventing misuse of police power, the court below applied a
narrow common law rule embodying notions such as: an
arrested person deserves no redress because “he got exactly
what was coming to him,” and the “success” of the officer’s
conduct “justifies the law in ignoring the means of its accom-
plishment.” 1 Harper & James, The Law of Torts, 281, 346-47
(1956). Those tort notions flatly contradict § 1983’s objectives
of protecting our citizens and curbing misuse of state power,
and, accordingly, should not be incorporated into our nation’s
fundamental civil rights law.

In addition, the decision below is inconsistent with an
opinion of this Court and also conflicts with the rulings of
several other circuits.

Reasons for Granting the Writ

I.
The Decision Below Thwarts the Objectives of § 1983

Under the decision below, an individual who is unlawfully
swept off the street into custody because of a police officer’s
unfounded hunch, but who is eventually convicted on evidence
developed days or weeks after the arrest, is left without any
remedy for the unconstitutional arrest. Sanctioning this “end
justifies the means” police method encourages the police to
arrest anyone who looks suspicious—because he or she is
black, or young, or simply different. The Court should grant
the writ to consider this serious erosion of protection under
§ 1983.

The principal purposes of § 1983 are twofold: to prevent
abuse of state power, and to compensate persons whose civil
rights have been violated. Burnett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 42, 53
(1984); Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S. 478, 488
(1980). The decision below thwarts both statutory goals.

The court below incorporated into § 1983 the so-called
“common law bar” to tort claims for false arrest by a plaintiff
previously convicted. But state tort law should only be incor-
porated into § 1983 when it harmonizes with the overriding
purposes of § 1983. As this Court recognized:

The purpose of § 1983 would be defeated if injuries
caused by the deprivation of constitutional rights went
uncompensated simply because the common law does not
recognize an analogous cause of action.

Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247, 258 (1978).

This Court has also determined that “it would defeat the
promise of [§ 1983] to recognize any pre-existing immunity [or
defense] without determining both the policies that it serves
and its compatibility with the purposes of § 1983.” City of
Newport v. Fact Concerns, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 259 (1981).

By incorporating the “common law bar” to false arrest
claims into § 1983 actions, the court below failed to recognize
the clear conflict between state tort law and a federal statute
designed to protect constitutional rights.

The common law bar to a tort action for false arrest is not
concerned with the constitutional policies underlying § 1983.
Nor is the state tort law based on the theory that probable
cause for the arrest was actually or implicitly determined by
the criminal conviction. Rather, the state tort principle em-
bodies the policy that a damage award is not justified from the
standpoint of either actor: plaintiff, being a guilty person, is
morally undeserving of a recovery, while the arresting officer,
having done his job of catching a criminal, should not be
punished for his success. As a leading treatise explains, “the
plaintiff got exactly what was coming to him,” and “[r]Jegard-
less of the general questionable or even unjustifiable nature of
his conduct, the defendant has done a good turn in the
particular case.” 1 Harper & James, The Law of Torts 281, 347
(1956). The treatise concludes: “The law is practical business.
No need for going into such questions as reasonableness or

4
Ri
4
:
‘
3

Cant he ET Ca i AM Ie tri EP eer

probable cause.” /d. at 347. This may have been valid state tort
law in the nineteenth century. But it surely is not a principled
statement of federal constitutional law today.

The decision below incorporated the common law bar, as
adhered to by New York courts, by wrongly assuming that the
common law bar is uniformly followed. But adherence to the
common law bar is not universal, as pointed out by the Harper
& James treatise cited above. Supra, at 280. California tort
law, for example, does not foreclose a false arrest claim after
conviction. The Supreme Court of that state explained:

No one can recover damages for a legal arrest and
conviction; therefore, in cases of malicious prosecution it
becomes necessary to await the final determination of the
action. But the same principle does not apply to an action
for false imprisonment, as the form of action is based on
an illegal arrest and no matter ex post facto can legalize
an act which was illegal at the time it was done.

Singleton v. Perry, 45 Cal. 2d 489, 495, 289 P.2d 794, 798 (Cal.
1955) (emphasis added).

The decision below, by immunizing police officers whose
“gut” feelings turn out to be correct, represents approval of
police activity predicated upon hunches rather than upon
probable cause. As discussed below, such approval is anath-
ema to the two purposes of the federal civil rights laws: to
prevent abuse of state power, and to compensate those injured
by violations of their civil rights.

Deterrence of Police Abuse

The state tort rule allows police officers who arrest without
probable cause to escape liability if their guesses turn out to be
correct. In contrast, § 1983 was enacted to discourage police
from overstepping the boundaries of lawful power. Scheuer v.
Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 243 (1974). Such boundaries prohibit
making warrantless arrests unless there is probable cause—

6

unless there are “facts and circumstances ‘sufficient to warrant
a prudent man in believing that the [suspect] had committed or
was committing an offense.’ ” Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103,
111-12 (1975) (quoting Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 91 (1964)).

Deterrence of unconstitutional police behavior requires de-
parture from the state tort rule in federal civil rights cases.
There must be widespread police awareness that arrests made
without probable cause will provide the basis for subsequent
civil litigation—regardless of the ultimate fate of the individual
arrested.

The decision below found that the exclusionary rule (i.e., the
rule that excludes from admission at criminal trials evidence
unlawfully obtained) is sufficient to deter law enforcement
officers from making improper arrests. False arrests cften
constitute more onerous civil rights violations than improper
searches. Moreover, the exclusionary rule provides no remedy
at all for a person falsely arrested but from whom no evidence
is seized pursuant to the arrest. Finally, courts are increasingly
unwilling to exclude evidence due to the social cost of failing to
convict those correctly accused of crimes. A civil remedy that
does not prevent conviction provides for deterrence without
exacting the same social cost.

This Court has recently reiterated its belief in the usefulness
of civil remedies for constitutional violations as compared to
the cost of excluding evidence obtained because of the wrong-
ful act:

While we believe the exclusionary rule serves a necessary
purpose, it obviously does so at a considerable cost to
society as a whole, because it excludes evidence probative
of guilt. On the other hand, a damages remedy for an
arrest following an objectively unreasonable request for a
warrant imposes a cost directly on the officer responsible
for the unreasonable request, without the side effect of
hampering a criminal prosecution. ‘

Malley v. Briggs, 106 S. Ct. 1092, 1098 (1986); see also Bivens
v. Six Unknown Agents of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics,
403 U.S. 388, 411-27 (1971) (dissenting opinion of Burger,
C.J., advocating damage remedy in lieu of exclusionary rule
for violating Fourth Amendment rights).

In sharp contrast to the constitutional safeguards embodied
in § 1983, state tort law is not concerned about deterring false
arrests—indeed, quite the opposite. The state tort rule reflects
a barely-veiled bias in favor of encouraging illegal, but success-
ful, police behavior. This policy flouts the deterrent objective
of the federal civil rights law, and has no place in § 1983
jurisprudence.

Protection of Civil Rights

In addition to deterring police abuse, § 1983 is designed to
protect the civil rights of all our citizens and to provide a
remedy for those injured by violation of their civil rights.

By requiring probable cause for arrests, our society has
made a judgment: that an individual need not fear being
arbitrarily picked up by the police merely because he or she
looks suspicious or different to a police officer. Dunaway v.
New York, 442 U.S. 200, 213-14 (1979); Henry v. United
States, 361 U.S. 98, 100-02 (1959). That liberty, guaranteed by
the Fourteenth Amendment, is enforceable under § 1983.
Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 278 (1985).

This Court has emphasized the importance of providing a
remedy to victims of unconstitutional official action:

A damages remedy against the offending party is a vital
component of any scheme for vindicating cherished con-
stitutional guarantees. . . . [M]Jany victims of municipal
malfeasance would be left remediless if [municipalities]
were . . . allowed to assert a good-faith defense. Unless
countervailing considerations counsel otherwise, the in-
justice of such a result should not be tolerated.

Owen v. City of Independence, 445 U.S. 622, 651 (1980)
(denying municipalities a qualified immunity for good-faith
constitutional violations).

The same refusal to deny a remedy to victims of constitu-
tional deprivation was repeated by the Court in Bivens. There,
the Court relied on the absence of an adequate state tort
remedy in allowing a cause of action for damages grounded
directly in the Constitution:

[W]here federally protected rights have been invaded, it
has been the rule from the beginning that courts will be
alert to adjust their remedies so as to grant the necessary
relief. . . . [It is] well settled that where legal rights have
been invaded, and a federal statute provides for a general
right to sue for such invasion, federal courts may use any
available remedy to make good the wrong done.

403 U.S. at 392, 396, (quoting Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 684
(1946)). See also Burnett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 42, 55 (1984)
(“the central objective of the Reconstruction-era civil rights
statutes [is] to ensure that individuals whose federal Constitu-
tional or statutory rights are abridged may recover damages or
secure injunctive relief”).

The court below was mistaken in dismissing an arrest with-
out probable cause as insubstantial. Any deprivation of
liberty—no less an arrest on a hunch—is a significant intrusion
and deserves a remedy. Unlawful detentions, of even short
periods of time, have been found to justify damage awards.
See, e.g., Raysor v. Port Authority of New York and New
Jersey, 768 F.2d 34, 39 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct.
1227 (1986). An unlawfui arrest followed by detention for
hours, or potentially days, while the police gather evidence to
justify the arrest and ultimately to convict, is an egregious
deprivation of constitutional rights and should not be counte-
nanced under § 1983.

Il.

The Decision Below Conflicts With This Court’s
Opinion in Haring v. Prosise

In Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S. 306 (1983), this Court
unanimously upheld a § 1983 damage action for an allegedly
illegal search that led to a guilty plea. This Court expressly
rejected the defendant’s argument that plaintiff’s guilty plea
precluded a § 1983 action based on the illegal search, even
though the search had uncovered the evidence that formed the
basis of plaintiff’s conviction. /d. at 317-23.

The logic of Haring applies squarely to this case. If a guilty
plaintiff may sue under § 1983 for an illegal search, he should
a fortiori be permitted to sue for an illegal arrest. See Brown v.
Edwards, 721 F.2d 1442, 1449 n.8 (Sth Cir. 1984) (Supreme
Court’s refusal to preclude suit in Haring “arguably points
awa:; ._om the [common law tort rule as to false arrests]”).

7

IIl.

The Decision Below Conflicts with Decisions of Other
Circuit Courts and State Courts

The decision below, along with a similar ruling by the
District of Columbia Circuit,' conflicts with decisions and
reasoning by the First, Fifth, Sixth and Ninth Circuits, as well
as a decision of the Supreme Court of California.

In contrast to the decision below, the Sixth Circuit refused to
dismiss a § 1983 complaint of false arrest merely because the
plaintiff was later convicted. Mulligan v. Schlacter, 389 F.2d
231 (6th Cir. 1968) (per curiam). While the court went on to
dismiss the case on statute of limitation grounds, it first ruled
that a criminal conviction did not mandate dismissal, stating,

l McClam v. Barry, 697 F.2d 366 (D.C. Cir. 1983), overruled on other
grounds, Brown v. United States, 742 F.2d 1498 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (en
banc), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1073 (1985).

10

“the simple fact of an unreversed state conviction cannot by
itself require dismissal [of a civil rights action].” Jd. at 233.

The Fifth Circuit, like the Sixth Circuit, contradicts the
decision below. The Fifth Circuit reversed and remanded a
dismissal of a § 1983 complaint for false arrest and detention,
despite the plaintiff’s criminal conviction, writing, “our dispo-
sition of Greer’s appeal [affirming his criminal conviction] did
not resolve the false arrest and detention argument against
Greer.” Greer v. Turner, 603 F.2d 521, 522 (Sth Cir. 1979), after
remand, 639 F.2d 229 (Sth Cir. 1981) (ger curiam) (dismissing
complaint because plaintiff failed to prove lack of probable
cause for arrest). See Brown v. Edwards, 721 F.2d 1442, 1449
n.8 (Sth Cir. 1984) (“the resu/t in cases such as Greer...
appears inconsistent with such a bar [based on a conviction] as
to section 1983 complaints respecting the arrest”).

Similarly, the First Circuit in an analogous situation also
contradicts the decision below. Guerro v. Mulhearn, 498 F.2d
1249 (1st Cir. 1974). The First Circuit declared:

A denial of constitutionally protected rights may have
occurred in the course of the events leading up to trial, yet
may only be marginally relevant, or may even be entirely
irrelevant, to the trial and appeal. For example, a false
arrest, or an illegal search and seizure, or wiretap, may
constitute a compensable wrong while not undergirding
the validity of the criminal conviction to which it might be
related. In such a situation, both the right infringed and
the measure of the compensable damage may be assayed
wholly apart from the question of whether conviction was
proper.

Id. at 1254 (emphasis added). The First Circuit, while dismiss-
ing part of the complaint, remanded the § 1983 damage claim
for an illegal wiretap, refusing to dismiss this part of the claim
even though a state proceeding for review of plaintiff’s crimi-
nal conviction was pending. See also Mastracchio v. Ricci, 498

11

F.2d 1257, 1261 n.3 (1st Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 909
(1975) (“For example, it might be claimed that . . . freedom
from pretrial incarceration ha[s] been infringed, and thlis]
could constitute compensable wrongs wholly apart from the
question of the constitutional validity of conviction.”).

Similarly, the rationale of the Ninth Circuit in Jackson v.
Official Representatives and Employees of the Los Angeles
Police Dep’t, 487 F.2d 885 (9th Cir. 1973) (per curiam), cannot
be reconciled with the decision below. There, the Ninth Circuit
remanded a § 1983 claim of illegal search of a home for further
fact-finding, while dismissing claims of false arrest and illegal
search of an automobile because facts showed there was
probable cause.

There is thus a conflict among the circuits on an important
issue of federal civil rights law.

Moreover, there is also a conflict under § 1983 because of
different state laws. For example, in New York, once con-
victed, a plaintiff is not permitted to bring a tort suit for false
arrest. See Broughton v. State, 37 N.Y.2d 451, 355 N.E.2d 310,
373 N.Y.S.2d 87 (1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 929 (1978);
Morgan v. New York Central R.R. Co., 256 A.D. 177, 9
N.Y.S.2d 339 (Ist Dept. 1939). In California, exactly the
opposite rule holds—a conviction does not prevent a plaintiff
from suing for false arrest. Singleton v. Perry, 45 Cal. 2d 489,
289 P.2d 794 (1955) (“the form of action is based upon an
illegal arrest and no matter ex post facto can legalize an act
which was illegal at the time it was done”). Federal constitu-
tional rights should not be allowed to vary from state to state.

12

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner respectfully requests
the issuance of a writ of certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

March 2, 1987
Respectfully submitted,

STUART ROBINOWITZ

1285 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10019
(212) 373-3000

Attorney for Petitioner
Kenneth S. Cameron
Of Counsel:

Audrey S. Feinberg

Diana Hassel

PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND,
WHARTON & GARRISON

—and—

STEVEN R. POPOFSKY

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

+>

No. 684—August Term, 1985
(Argued January 29, 1986 Decided December |, 1986)
Docket No. 85-2297

+>

KENNETH S. CAMERON,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

a= Y, «um

MATTHEW FOGARTY and JOHN HALBIG,
Defendants-Appellees.

+

Before:

NEWMAN, KEARSE, and MINER,
Circuit Judges.

+

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of New York, Edward R.

2a

Neaher, Judge, dismissing complaint under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 for unlawful arrest without probable cause, on the
ground that suit is barred by plaintiffs conviction of
offense for which he was arrested.

Affirmed.

+>

STEVEN R. POPOFSKY, New York, New York,
(Diana Hassel, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind,
Wharton & Garrison, New York, New
York, on the brief), for Plainiiff-Appellant.

ELIZABETH DVORKIN, New York, New York
(Frederick A.O. Schwarz, Jr., Corporation
Counsel of the City of New York, June A.
Witterschein, New York, New York, on
the brief), for Defendants-Appellees.

~~

KEARSE, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff Kenneth S. Cameron, who was convicted in
1980 in New York State Supreme Court of possession of
stolen “roperty following his arrest by defendant police
officers Matthew Fogarty and John Haibig, appeals from
a judgment of the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of New York, Edward R. Neaher, Judge,
dismissing his amended complaint (“complaint”), brought
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (1982), seeking damages from
defendants on the ground that they had arrested him
without probable cause, in violation of his federal consti-
tutional rights. The district court granted defendants’
motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint,

a al

er

3a

ruling that New York law bars a civil action for arrest
without probable cause if the claimant has been convicted
of the crime for which he was arrested. On appeal, Cam-
eron argues that New York law should not have been
applied, since its application frustrates the purpose of
§ 1983. Defendants urge that we affirm the dismissal,
either on the ground adopted by the district court or on
the ground that the claim was barred by principles of col-
lateral estoppel. We conclude that although principles of
collateral estoppel do not apply, the judgment should be
affirmed because common-law principles incorporated in
§ 1983 bar the present suit.

I. BACKGROUND

Insofar as it is pertinent to Cameron’s claim of false
arrest and the propriety of the district court’s dismissal of
the complaint, the trial record in state court reveals the
following events and proceedings.

A. The Events

On February 13, 1980, New York City Police Officers
Fogarty and Halbig observed Cameron, driving a car with
Illinois license plates and a broken left rear vent window,
make an illegal right turn through a red light on 111th
Street in Manhattan and park illegally at a bus stop on
Eighth Avenue. Cameron and his passenger, Anthony
Wilson, left the car and began to walk away from it.
Because of the illegal right turn and because the broken
vent window caused them to suspect that the car might
have been stolen, the officers pulled alongside the car and
hailed Cameron, identifying themselves as police officers.

When asked for identification of himself and his vehi-
cle, Cameron produced a Virginia driver’s license bearing

4a

his photograph and the name Sammy Davis, Jr., and a
carbon copy of a Hertz Corporation (“Hertz”) car rental
agreement made out to Jenne M. Currie, whom Cameron
identified as his aunt. The agreement indicated that the
car was to have been returned to Hertz on February 3.
Cameron told the officers that the car window had been
broken recently, that he had reported it to Hertz at New-
ark Airport, and that he had there been added to the
rental agreement as a driver. The copy of the rental agree-
ment bore handwritten notations in ink that Sammy
Davis, Jr., was an authorized additional driver and that
an accident report had been filed at Newark Airport.

In the minute or two between noticing Cameron’s car
and stopping alongside it, the officers had radioed police
headquarters for information as to whether the car had
been reported stolen, but had received no response. After
questioning Cameron they remained suspicious because
of the broken window, the notations inked in on the rental
agreement, and the apparent overdue return of the car,
and they decided to go to the police station to investigate
further. Cameron and Wilson rode with Fogarty in the
police car; Halbig drove the rental car.

At the station house, Cameron identified himself as
Kenneth Cameron and showed Fogarty a passport in that
name. He also produced an airline ticket to Barbados
made out to K. Cameron, a social security card bearing
the name Sammy Davis, Jr., and four state child support
checks made out to Giovanni Stanislaus, who he said was
his child.

Halbig telephoned Hertz to inquire about the car. Hertz
employees informed both Halbig and Fogarty that the car
was stolen, having been fraudulently rented at O’Hare
Airport in Chicago. The employees also stated that Hertz

Sa

did not authorize additional drivers in the manner indi-
cated on Cameron’s rental agreement and that no acci-
dent report had been filed.

Cameron was then placed under arrest and charged
with several offenses including grand larceny, criminal
impersonation, and criminal possession of stolen prop-
erty.

B. The Criminal Trial

At trial, the state’s evidence included Fogarty’s testi-
mony describing the events as set forth above. When
Fogarty was asked what statements Cameron had made
about the license and the rental agreement when he pro-
duced those documents on the street, Cameron’s counsel
requested a sidebar conference, which included the fol-
lowing colloquy:

MR. DOCKRY [counsel for Cameron]: I would
call to the Court’s attention statements are now being
proffered, statements allegedly made by the defen-
dant. oe

It woud [sic] seem I am going to run into the area
of rights.

I would just ask the District Attorney to clarify the
rights issue and the Miranda issue.

I am relatively certain it is all quite proper, but
nonetheless.

THE COURT: Number one, I assume that the con-
tention is that this is not a custodial interrogation.

MR. DOCKRY: At this stage.

MR. BARBER [the prosecutor]: That is entirely
correct.

6a

(Tr. 184-85.) The Sammy Davis, Jr. driver’s license was
then introduced into evidence without objection by Cam-
eron. The rental agreement had been received in evidence
earlier, also without objection by Cameron.

The social security card, the child-support checks, and
the airline ticket were received in evidence subject to
Cameron’s counsel’s “reserv[ation of an] objection” as to
those documents. The reserved objections were overruled
when, during Cameron’s cross-examination of Fogarty,
they were renewed in the following colloquy:

MR. DOCKRY: I hate to bother the Court with
what may be a trifling matter.

You recall in a brief bench conference this mroning
[sic], in the course of the officer’s testimony who is
about to resume the stand, I asked to make very sure
that the search which was to follow at the police sta-
tion and the statements then taken, and all these
things, that those would be probably [sic—properly?]
structured.

The Court permitted me to wait until it became
more timely.

Thereafter when these things were introduced into
evidence I took objection and I also asked the Court
to give me permission to renew an objection on a
later date after cross examination.

But at this point it must be clear that the items that
were introduced have not been properly foundationed
with respect to the propriety of such a thing as admis-
sible evidence in this case.

I would therefore ask—

7a

THE COURT: Based on the evidence I heard from
this officer, the specific exhibits, driver’s license, air-
line ticket, other property were the incidents of a law-
ful arrest.

Under the circumstances they were properly admis-
sible.

There were no pretrial motions to suppress. I don’t
know what the basis would have been in making one,
under the circumstances of this case.

It is clear, after the defendant had been arrested, I
assume he was searched, and those properties were
the consequence of an arrest.

-MR. DOCKRY: Thank you, sir. Now I am ready to
proceed.

(Tr. 214-16.)

Cameron was convicted of first degree criminal posses-
sion of stolen property, in violation of N.Y. Penal Law
§ 165.50 (McKinney 1975). He appealed the conviction,
but did not challenge the admissibility of any evidence
against him. His conviction was affirmed without opinion.
People v. Cameron, 86 A.D.2d 783 (1st Dept). leave to
appeal denied, 56 N.Y.2d 595 (1982).

C. The Present Amended Complaint

In February 1982, Cameron commenced the present
action pro se, alleging that the defendants had arrested
him in violation of his constitutional rights and seeking
damages under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. The district court’s
eariy dismissal of the action was reversed by this Court as
premature, Cameron vy. Fogarty, 705 F.2d 676 (2d Cir.
1983), and on remand, counsel was assigned and filed the

8a

complaint that is the focus of this appeal. Cameron
alleged that his arrest took place on Eighth Avenue when
he was required to accompany the officers to the police
station, and that the arrest violated his constitutional
rights because at that time the officers lacked probable
cause to believe that a crime had occurred or that he had
committed it and lacked any good faith belief that proba-
ble, cause existed for his arrest.

Defendants answered and moved for summary judg-
ment on the ground that the state court’s ruling that the
evidence was admissible at Cameron’s criminal trial
because it had been obtained in a search incident to a law-
ful arrest necessarily included a finding that there had
been probable cause to make the arrest, and that Camer-
on’s claim was therefore barred by principles of collateral
estoppel.

In a Memorandum Order dated August 19, 1985
(“Decision”), the district court granted defendants’
motion for summary judgment on the ground that, even
if the issue of probable cause to arrest had not been raised
and rejected at the criminal trial, under New York com-
mon law Cameron’s conviction barred his subsequent
civil suit for arrest without probable cause. Reasoning
that a claim under New York law for false arrest or false
imprisonment would be barred by a conviction of the
offense for which the arrest or imprisonment occurred,
Decision at 6 (citing Broughton v. State, 37 N.Y.2d 451,
458, 373 N.Y.S.2d 87, 95, cer’. denied, 423 U.S. 929
(1975)), and that a § 1983 claim alleging an arrest without
probable cause is similar to a state law claim for false
arrest, Decision at 6 (citing Raysor v. Port Authority, 768
F.2d 34 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 1227
(1986)), the court concluded that

9a

[gliven the similarities in the state and federal claims
here, logic would dictate that plaintiff's state convic-
tion would also bar a federal claim asserting the
absence of probable cause to arrest....

... Although the court’s ruling that plaintiffs con-
viction bars the instant suit is not based upon collat-
eral estoppel per se, see Pouncey v. Ryan, 396 F.
Supp. 126, 128 n. 2 (D.Conn. 1975), “* * * the preclu-
sion mandated for state court judgments by section
1738 is not expressly restricted to that achieved under
the ‘res judicata’ or ‘collateral estoppel’ labels; * * *.”
Brown v. Edwards, 721 F.2d 1442, 1449 n.8 (Sth Cir.
1984) (emphasis in original). Thus, although a finding
of probable cause to arrest was not necessary to sus-
tain plaintiff's conviction, see United States v. Crews,
445 US. 463, 474 (1980), under the law of New York,
that conviction, sustained on appeal, necessarily
includes a finding that there was probable cause to
arrest and thereby bars a subsequent civil suit chal-
lenging the existence of probable cause for the arrest.

Decision at 7-8.

Accordingly, the court dismissed the complaint. This
appeal followed.

II. DISCUSSION

On appeal, defendants urge us to uphold the dismissal
of the action either on the ground of collateral estoppel or
on the state-law-bar ground adopted by the district court.
Cameron argues that the conditions for application of
principles of collateral estoppel are not met and that the
state-law-bar ground is contrary to federal policy. We

10a

agree with Cameron that litigation of the issue raised here
as to probable cause is not barred by principles of collat-
eral estoppel, but we conclude that under common-law
principles, as properly incorporated into § 1983 actions of
this type, Cameron’s present lawsuit is defeated by his
prior conviction.

A. Collateral Estoppel

Section 1738 of 28 U.S.C., known as the “full faith and
credit statute,” provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

The records and judicial proceedings of any court
of any ... State [of the United States] ... shall have
the same full faith and credit in every court within the
United States ... as they have by law or usage in the
courts of such State ....

28 U.S.C. § 1738 (1982). This section requires that a fed-
eral court give effect to at least the res judicata and collat-
eral estoppel rules of the state when a state-court
judgment is in question. See Marrese v. American Acad-
emy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, 105 S. Ct. 1327, 1331-33
(1985). The state-court judgment must be given “the same
preclusive effect as would be given that judgment under
the law of the State in which the judgment was rendered,”
Migra v. Warren City School District Board of Education,
465 U.S. 75, 81 (1984), whether that preclusive effect
stems from the actual litigation and resolution of the issue
in a prior state court proceeding, Haring v. Prosise, 462
U.S. 306, 313-16 (1983); Kremer v. Chemical Construc-
tion Corp., 456 U.S. 461, 481-83 (1982); Allen v. McCurry,
449 U.S. 90, 97-99, 101 (1980), or from the fact that the
issue could have been litigated in the state court proceed-
ing, Migra v. Warren County School District Board of Edu-
cation, 465 U.S. at 83-85.

nA i ca Ah Sc tli Me AM dees ae

lla

Under New York law, a party is collaterally estopped
from relitigating an issue in a second proceeding if (1)
“the issue as to which preclusion is sought [is] identical
with the issue decided in the prior proceeding,” (2) “the
issue [was] necessarily decided in the prior proceeding,”
and (3) “the litigant who will be held precluded in the
present proceeding ... had a full and fair opportunity to
litigate the issue in the prior proceeding.” Capital Tele-
phone Co. v. Pattersonville Telephone Co., 56 N.Y.2d 11,
17, 451 N.Y.S.2d 11, 13 (1982). Defendants argue that
the issue of probable cause for Cameron’s arrest was
decided at his criminal trial because the trial court ruled
that various pieces of evidence were admissible because
they were seized as incident to a lawful arrest. Since the
arrest was made without a warrant and hence was not law-
ful unless there was probable cause, see, e.g., Dunaway v.
New York, 442 U.S. 200, 208 & n.9 (1979), they argue that
the trial court decided there had been probable cause for
the arrest. We conclude that the issue decided at the crim-
inal trial is not the issue presented here.

The testimony at trial revealed that some of the docu-
mentary evidence introduced against Cameron had been
taken from him on the street, and some had been taken
later. The Sammy Davis, Jr. driver’s license and the rental
agreement were produced by Cameron when he was
accosted by the officers on the street. These two docu-
ments were received in evidence without objection from
Cameron. Cameron did not argue at the criminal trial, as
he does in the present action, that his arrest occurred on
Eighth Avenue. At the trial, Fogarty testified that Cam-
eron was placed under arrest at the station house after the
officers had received the information from Hertz indicat-
ing that the car had been stolen, and Cameron took no
issue with Fogarty’s characterization of when the arrest

12a

occurred, apparently embracing the view that the circum-
stances on the street were “not ... custodial.” (Tr. 185.)

In contrast, the social security card in the name Sammy
Davis, Jr., the airline ticket for K. Cameron, and the state
child support checks for Giovanni Stanislaus were not
produced by Cameron until after he and the officers
arrived at the station house. Cameron objected to the
introduction of “these things,” focusing on “the search . . .
at the police station.” (Tr. 215.) As we read the trial
record, therefore, the trial court was never called upon to
determine either the moment at which the arrest occurred
or whether an arrest of Cameron on Eighth Avenue was
made with or without probable cause. Give the apparently
undisputed trial testimony that Cameron was not placed
under arrest until after he arrived at the station house,
and the fact that Cameron objected only with respect to
the documents seized at the police station, the trial court’s
ruling that the documents were the incidents of a lawful
arrest cannot reasonably be construed as a ruling that
Cameron was lawfully arrested on Eighth Avenue.

It is true that in overruling the objections the trial court
included the driver's license, which had been taken from
Cameron on the street, in its listing of the items that were
seized incident to a lawful arrest. However, given the facts
that no objection had been made to the introduction of
the license and that the court had earlier assumed and
been reassured by the parties that the street confrontation
was not custodial, we conclude that the court’s mention of
the license simply reflects a lapse of memory as to what
counsel’s phrase “these things” encompassed, rather than
any intent to rule that the arrest had occurred on the
street or that probable cause existed for Cameron’s arrest
on the street.

te ee el aa

;
|
|
;
:
|
;

l3a

Accordingly, we conclude that the issue raised in the
present lawsuit, i.e., the existence of probable cause to
arrest Cameron on Eighth Avenue, was neither decided by
the court at the criminal trial nor necessary to its ruling
that the documents to which Cameron’s objection was
addressed had been seized in connection with an arrest
made on probable cause. Thus, litigation in the present
lawsuit of the existence of probable cause to arrest Cam-
eron on Eighth Avenue is not barred by principles of col-
lateral estoppel.

B. The Common-Law Defense

The district court dismissed Cameron’s complaint on
the basis that even if New York principles of collateral
estoppel did not warrant the dismissal of the complaint,
§ 1738 required it to apply that aspect of New York law
that would give preclusive effect to the judgment of con-
viction in any subsequent civil challenge to the legality of
the arrest. While there are dicta supporting the view that
the reach of § 1738 is not limited to principles of res judi-
cata and collateral estoppel, see, e.g., Allen v. McCurry,
449 U.S. at 96 (“Congress has specifically required all fed-
eral courts to give preclusive effect to state-court judg-
ments whenever the courts of the State from which the
judgments emerged would do so”) (emphasis added), we
need not reach the question of whether § 1738 requires
the recognition of state-law preclusionary rules other than
res judicata and collateral estoppel in order to decide the
present case, for we conclude that Cameron’s complaint
was properly dismissed because under long-established
common-law principles, Cameron’s conviction gives the
defendant police officers a complete defense to the present
claim.

l4a

In determining whether an asserted defense is available
to defeat liability in an action brought under § 1983, the
courts have generally been guided in large part by whether
the defense was available at common law. In Pierson v.
Ray, 386 U.S. 547 (1967), for example, the Supreme
Court, stating that “§ 1983 ‘should be read against the
background of tort liability that makes a man responsible
for the natural consequences of his actions,’” id. at 556
(quoting Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 187 (1961)),
reviewed traditional principles with respect to the immu-
nity of judges and law enforcement officials from suits for
damages resulting from arrests, noted that the legislative
history of § 1983 gave no clear indication that Congress
intended any wholesale abolition of common-law immu-
nities that might bar suits under that section, and con-
cluded that those common-law defenses were available.
Id. at 553-56. Similar analyses were made in, e.g., City of
Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 258-68
(1901) (immunity of municipal corporation from punitive
damages); Procunier v. Navarette, 434 U.S. 555, 561-63
(1978) (immunity of prision officials for good faith
actions); Jmbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409, 431 (1976)
(immunity of prosecutors in initiating or prosecuting the
state’s case); and Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 247-48
(1974) (immunity of state executive officials for discre-
tionary acts). Thus, in Owen v. City of Independence, 445
U.S. 622 (1980), the Supreme Court cited many of these
cases and others, and noted that

[i]Jn each of these cases, our finding of § 1983 immu-
nity “was predicated upon a considered inquiry into
the immunity historically accorded the relevant offi-
cial at common law and the interests behind it.”
Imbler v. Pachtman, supra, at 421. Where the immu-
nity claimed by the defendant was well established at

ON ee ee

_—eeeeeee ee

1Sa

common law at the time § 1983 was enacted, and
where its rationale was compatible with the purposes
of the Civil Rights Act, we have construed the statute
to incorporate that immunity.

Id. at 638.

Our review of common-law principles with respect to
arrest reveals that an action for arrest without probable
cause, sometimes colloquially called an action for “false
arrest,” would be analyzed as a claim either for false
imprisonment or for malicious prosecution. See, ¢.g.,
Broughton v. State, 37 N.Y.2d at 457-58, 373 N.Y.S.2d at
94; | Harper & James, The Law of Torts § 4.11, at 337-39
(1965) (“Harper & James”). Though the elements of these
two traditional torts differ, see, e.g., Broughton v. State, 37
N.Y.2d at 456-57, 373 N.Y.S.2d at 93-94; Harper &
James § 3.18 (false imprisonment); id. §§ 4.1-4.6 (mali-
cious prosecution); Restatement (Second) of Torts §§ 35,
653 (1965 & 1977) (“Restatement”), there is substantial
overlap. Civil liability for false imprisonment following
an arrest is governed by many of the same principles that
govern a claim of malicious prosecution, see Restatement
§ 37, comment b; see also Harper & James § 4.11; id.
§ 4.12, and, as discussed below, it is clear that with respect
to either claim, a person who has been convicted of the
crime for which he was arrested is barred from recover-
ing.

In an action for malicious prosecution, in which the
plaintiff must show the absence of probable cause to
arrest, see Restatement § 653; Broughton v. State, 37
N.Y.2d at 457, 373 N.Y.S.2d at 94; Harper & James § 4.5,
at 311, he must also show, inter alia, that the proceedings
previously commenced against him terminated in his
favor, see, e.g, Broughton v. State, 37 N.Y.2d at 457, 373

l6a

N.Y.S.2d at 94; Singleton v. City of New York, 632 F.2d
185, 195 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 920 (1981);
Harper & James § 4.4, at 307. Thus, “[t]he fact that the
person against whom criminal proceedings are instituted
is guilty of the crime charged against him, is a complete
defense against liability for malicious prosecution.”
Restatement § 657; see generally Annot., “Unreversed
Conviction as Conclusive in Action for Malicious
Prosecution,” 69 A.L.R. 1062 (1930) (citing cases dating
back to 1793); see also Annot., “Conclusiveness, as Evi-
dence of Probable Cause in Malicious Prosecution
Action, of Conviction as Affected by the Fact that it Was
Reversed or Set Aside,” 86 A.L.R.2d 1090 (1962).

In an action for false imprisonment, the plaintiff need
not show that the prior proceedings against him termi-
nated in his favor, but the defendant is entitled to prevail
if he can establish that there was probable cause for the
arrest, see Broughton vy. State, 37 N.Y.2d at 458, 373
N.Y.S.2d at 95; Restatement § 37, comment 5; id. § 653,
and a conviction of the plaintiff following the arrest is
viewed as establishing the existence of probable cause. See
Broughton v. State, 37 N.Y.2d at 458, 373 N.Y.S.2d at 95
(“a conviction which survives appeal would be conclusive
evidence of probable cause”); Menard v. Mitchell, 430
F.2d 486, 491 n.26 (D.C. Cir. 1970) (“even if no probable
cause existed at the time of arrest, .... a suit for false
arrest may not normally be maintained if the arrest was
followed by conviction, regardless of the validity of the
arrest at the time it was made”); Pouncey v. Ryan, 396 F.
Supp. 126, 127 (D. Conn. 1975) (Newman, J.) (in neither
an action for “false arrest” nor an action for “false impris-
onment ... is a plaintiff permitted to challenge probable
cause in the face of a valid judgment of conviction”);
Restatement § 667(1) (“conviction of the accused . . . con-

17a

clusively establishes the existence of probable cause,
unless the -onviction was obtained by fraud, perjury or
other coirupt means”); see id. § 37, comment b; id. § 653.

Thus, the common-law rule, equally applicable to
actions asserting false arrest, false imprisonment, or mali-
cious prosecution, was and is that the plaintiff can under
no circumstances recover if he was convicted of the
offense for which he was arrested. Broughton v. State, 37
N.Y.2d at 458, 373 N.Y.S.2d at 95; Harper & James
§ 4.11, at 345; id. § 4.12, at 346. This rule “represents the
compromise between two conflicting interests of the high-
est order—the interest in personal liberty and the interest
in apprehension of criminals,” id. § 3.18, at 275, and con-
stitutes a refusal as a matter of principle to permit any
inference that the arrest of a person thereafter adjudged
guilty had no reasonable basis. The law enforcement off-
cer is given this protection because he “has a duty to the
public to prevent crime and arrest criminals; the perfor-
mance of these duties would be seriously impaired unless
peace officers were given considerable discretion in their
performance and protected from liability for the conse-
quences of honest and reasonable mistakes.” Restatement
§ 121, comment g.

The parties have given us no basis for inferring that
Congress intended that § 1983 not incorporate the
common-law rule, and our own efforts have turned up no
such evidence. We note the Supreme Court’s “assumption
... that members of the 42d Congress were familiar with
common-law principles, including defenses previously
recognized in ordinary tort litigation, and that they likely
intended these common-law principles to obtain, absent
specific provisions to the contrary,” City of Newport v.
Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. at 258, and we see no reason

18a

to believe Congress intended that the common-law
defense of conviction not be equally applicable to § 1983
claims for arrest without probable cause.

Where the civil rights plaintiff has been convicted of the
offense for which he was arrested, we have in effect
accepted the fact of that conviction as conclusive evi-
dence of the good faith and reasonableness of the officer’s
belief in the lawfulness of the arrest. See, e.g., Singleton v.
City of New York, 632 F.2d at 195 (“common law rule
that termination of the earlier proceedings in favor of the
accused is an essential element of a malicious prosecution
claim has generally been adopted and applied by federal
courts” in actions under § 1983). Thus, in Pouncey v.
Ryan, 396 F. Supp. at 127, the court summarily dismissed
a § 1983 action based on an arrest without probable cause,
concluding that the common-law principle barring post-
conviction suits for false arrest and false imprisonment
was applicable to this type of action under § 1983.

The availability of this defense in constitutional litiga-
tion does not undermine the goals of § 1983. Provision for
the right to bring suit under § 1983 is designed both to
allow an injured person to obtain compensation for the
loss of his civil rights and to deter public officials from
further violation of such rights. E.g., Owen v. City of Inde-
pendence, 445 U.S. at 651; Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247,
254-57 (1978). Neither interest is more than minimally
implicated where the person arrested was convicted. The
fact of conviction means that the plaintiff was not entitled
to escape arrest entirely and that the arrest was simply
premature. Though the right to be free from arrest with-
out probable cause is substantial, the injury caused solely
by prematurity of arrest is, of itself, insubstantial. It is of
course possible that, incident to the premature arrest, the

19a

officers will have seized evidence that incriminates the
person arrested, and that this could result in more than
negligible injury. But the law seeks to forestall the possi-
bility of real injury by forbidding the use of any such evi-
dence against the accused at his criminal trial. See, e.g.,
Florida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491, 507-08 (1983); Brown v.
Illinois, 422 U.S. 590, 599 (1975). Thus, the exclusionary
rule minimizes the injury resulting from an unlawful
arrest.

The exclusionary rule also lessens the need for § 1983
actions as a deterrent to the making of arrests on less than
probable cause. The primary goal of law enforcement off-
cers is to see to it that persons who have committed
crimes are punished for those crimes, and we think off-
cers seek to avoid making flawed arrests in order to avoid
the exclusion of evidence that could lead to conviction.
We are thus persuaded that the incremental deterrence
value of imposing on the officer liability for the minimal
amount of damages likely recoverable by the person con-
victed after an unlawful arrest would be small.

In sum, we conclude that the proper accommodation
between the individual’s interest in preventing unwar-
ranted intrusions into his liberty and society’s interest in
encouraging the apprehension of criminals requires that
§ 1983 doctrine be deemed, in the absence of any indica-
tion that Congress intended otherwise, to incorporate the
common-law principle that, where law enforcement off-
cers have made an arrest, the resulting conviction is a
defense to a § 1983 action asserting that the arrest was
made without probable cause.

Application of this principle to the present action
makes it plain that the dismissal of the complaint was
proper. Cameron concedes, as he must, that he was con-

20a

victed of criminal possession of siolen property, the
offense for which he was arrested. The conviction was
affirmed on appeal, and there has been no suggestion that
it was in any way procured by fraud or perjury. Whether
or not the facts surrounding the officers’ encounter with
Cameron on Eighth Avenue amounted to probable cause
for his arrest, the conviction of Cameron of the offense for
which he was arrested gives the officers a complete
defense to the present suit.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment dismissing the
complaint is affirmed.

2la

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

82 CV 457
(ERN)

KENNETH S. CAMERON,
Plaintiff,
—against—

MATTHEW FOGARTY and JOHN HALBIG,
Defendants.

MEMORANDUM ORDER

Plaintiff invokes this Court’s jurisdiction pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1343 to seek redress under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for an
arrest allegedly made by two New York City police officers
without probable cause. The case is before the Court upon
defendants’ motion to amend the answer to assert the defense
of collateral estoppel and coincident motion for summary
judgment upon that defense.

The transcript of a state criminal trial, in which plaintiff was
convicted of possession of stolen property, provides the basis
for defendants’ motion. They contend that the existence of
probable cause to arrest plaintiff was determined in that trial
and bars the instant suit.

The trial record reveals that plaintiff was convicted of
possessing a stolen automobile, which had been rented by his
girlfriend from a Hertz facility at Chicago’s O’Hare airport,
using a false identification. Plaintiff was later apprehended by
defendant police officers in Manhattan after he failed to stop
for a red light and then parked the stolen vehicle in a bus stop.
At trial the following colloquy occurred regarding the arrest of
the plaintiff and the search of his person for evidentiary items.

22a

“MR. DOCKERY: I hate to bother the Court with what
may be a trifling matter.

“You recall in a brief bench conference this morning, in
the course of the officer’s [Fogarty’s] testimony who is
about to resume the stand, I asked to make very sure that
the search which was to follow at the police station and
the statements then taken, and all these things, that those
would be probably [sic] structured.

“The Court permitted me to wait until it became more
timely.

“Thereafter when these things were introduced into
evidence I took objection and I also asked the Court to
give me permission to renew an objection on a later date
after cross-examination.

“But at this point it must be clear that the items that
were introduced have not been properly foundationed
with respect to the propriety of such a thing as admissible
evidence in this case.

“I would therefore askk—

“THE COURT: Based on the evidence I heard from this
officer, the specific exhibits, driver’s license, airline ticket,
other property were the incidents of a lawful arrest.

“Under the circumstances they were properly admissi-
bie.

“There were no pretrial motions to suppress. I don’t
know what the basis would have been in making one,
under the circumstances of this case.

“It is clear, after the defendant had been arrested, I
assume he was searched, and those properties were the
consequence of an arrest.”

“MR. DOCKERY: Thank you sir. Now I am ready to
proceed.”

Tr. at 214-16 (emphasis added).

23a

On the basis of that ruling, defendants contend that the issue
of the existence of probable cause to arrest plaintiff was
determined adversely to him, noting that

“* * * “New York has now reached the point where there
are but two necessary requirements for the invocation of
the doctrine of collateral estoppel. There must be an
identity of issue which has necessarily been decided in the
prior action and is decisive of the present action, and,
second, there must have been a full and fair opportunity
to contest the decision now said to be controlling.” ”

See Gilberg v. Barbieri, 53 N.Y.2d 285, 291 (1981) (quoting
Schwartz v. Public Administrator, etc., 24 N.Y.2d 65, 71
(1969)); accord Murphy v. Gallagher, 761 F.2d 878, 882 (2d
Cir. 1985).

In Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980), however, the
Supreme Court had recognized that determinations and judg-
ments rendered upon matters in issue in state criminal proceed-
ings may have collateral consequences in a subsequent civil suit
brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Thereafter, in Haring v.
Prosise, 103 S. Ct. 2368 (1983), which concerned a claim that
Virginia police officers had searched the accused’s apartment
without probable cause, and seized materials used to manufac-
ture a controlled substance, phencyclidine, the Court disposed
of the officers’ contention that the accused’s (plaintiff’s) guilty
plea to one count of manufacturing a controlled substance
collaterally estopped his § 1983 suit. The Court stated,

“We begin by reviewing the principles governing our
determination whether a § 1983 claimant will be collater-
ally estopped from litigating an issue on the basis of a
prior state-court judgment. Section 28 U.S.C. § 1738
generally requires ‘federal courts to give preclusive effect
to state-court judgments whenever the courts of the State
from which the judgments emerged would do so.’ In
federal actions including § 1983 actions, a state-court
judgment will not be given collateral estoppel effect,
however, where ‘the party against whom an earlier court

24a

decision is asserted did not have a full and fair opportu-
nity to litigate the claim or issue decided by the first
court.’ Moreover, additional exceptions to collateral es-
toppel may be warranted in § 1983 actions in light of the
‘understanding of § 1983’ that ‘the federal courts could
step in where the state courts were unable or unwilling to
protect federal rights.’

“The threshold question is whether under the rules of
collateral estoppel applied by the Virginia courts, the
judgment of conviction based upon Prosise’s guilty plea
would foreclose him in a later civil action from challeng-
ing the legality of a search which had produced inculpa-
tory evidence.”

The teaching of Prosise supra, however, which is derived
from the mandate of 28 U.S.C. § 1738 and thus stems from the
law of Virginia, suggests a different basis for judgment in this
case. Unlike New York, in the courts of Virginia, with one
exception not relevent to this case, “criminal judgments,
whether by guilty plea or adjudicated guilt, have no preclusive
effect in subsequent civil litigation.” Prosise v. Haring, 667
F.2d 1133, 1139 (4th Cir. 1981), aff’d 103 S. Ct. 2368 (dis-
cussed therein). As the Court of Appeals noted, Virginia’s rule
against preclusion by criminal judgments rests upon the mutu-
ality requirement, id. at 1139 n. 5, which is no longer part of
New York’s law of collateral estoppel. Gilberg, supra, 53
N.Y.2d at 291-92. (“The rejection of the mutuality principle in
civil actions also undermined the rule, which had long pre-
vailed in this State, that a conviction in a criminal case could
not be given conclusive effect in a subsequent civil suit. That
rule was abandoned in 1973.” (citations omitted)).

Under the law of New York, in an action for false arrest or
false imprisonment, a conviction which survives appeal is
conclusive evidence of probable cause. Broughton v. State, 37
N.Y.2d 451, 458 (1975), cert. denied sub. nom. Schanbarger v.
Kellogg, 423 U.S. 829 (1975). While § 1983 creates a federal
cause of action, Allen, supra, 449 U.S. at 98, the allegation of

25a

an arrest without probable cause under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, see
amended complaint 4 24, has been found similar, if not identi-
cal to a state law claim for false arrest. See Raysor v. Port
Authority, etc., F.2d ‘ (2d Cir. July 15, 1985).

In this case, the amended complaint contains no state claim
and specifically alleges:

“25. Plaintiff has no remedy for the violation by
defendants of his rights guaranteed by the Fourth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitu-
tion under the laws of the State of New York.”

That allegation implicitly acknowledges that plaintiff’s con-
viction and unsuccessful appeals to the Appellate Division and
the New York Court of Appeals, see amended complaint § 22,
bar a state law action for false arrest. In such an action,
because the arrest is warrantless, the defendants bear the
burden of demonstrating reasonable cause for the arrest,
Broughton, supra, 37 N.Y.2d at 457-58, which is the equivalent
of probable cause. Raysor, supra. This same rule applies to a
§ 1983 action predicated upon a warrantless arrest. Gilker v.
Baker, 576 F.2d 245, 246 (9th Cir. 1978). Given the similarities
in the state and federal claims here, logic would dictate that
plaintiff’s state conviction would also bar a federal claim
asserting the absence of probable cause to arrest. See McCalm
v. Barry, 697 F.2d 366, 370-71 (D.C.Cir. 1983) (discussion
therein); Martin v. Delcambre, 578 F.2d 1164, 1165 (Sth Cir.
1978) (per curiam); see also Alexander v. City of Peekskill, 80
A.D.2d 626, 436 N.Y.S.2d 327, 328 (2d Dept. 1981).

In reversing this Court’s prior dismissal of this case, the
Court of Appeals stated,

“[W]e do not address the issue whether a conviction bars
a subsequent civil rights claim based on lack of probable
cause to arrest, or whether under the principles of Allen v.
McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 103-04 (1980), appellant may be
barred by collateral estoppel.”

Cameron vy. Fogarty, 705 F.2d 676, 678-79 (2d Cir. 1983).

26a

With the benefit of the amended complaint drafted by a
court-appointed attorney and the teaching of Haring, supra,
the Court has addressed this issue. Although the court’s ruling
that plaintiff’s conviction bars the instant suit is not based
upon collateral estoppel per se, see Pouncey v. Ryan, 396 F.
Supp., 126, 128 n. 2 (D.Conn 1975), “* * * the preclusion
mandated for state court judgments by section 1738 is not
expressly restricted to that achieved under the ‘res judicata’ or
‘collateral estoppel’ labels; * * *.” Brown v. Edwards, 721
F.2d 1442, 1449 n. 8 (Sth Cir. 1984) (emphasis in original).
Thus, although a finding of probable cause to arrest was not
necessary to sustain plaintiff’s conviction, see United States v.
Crews, 445 U.S. 463, 474 (1980), under the law of New York,
that conviction, sustained on appeal, necessarily includes a
finding that there was probable cause to arrest and thereby
bars a subsequent civil suit challenging the existence of proba-
ble cause for the arrest.

Accordingly, defendants’ motion to amend the answer is
granted, defendants’ motion for summary judgment is
granted, and the complaint is dismissed.

SO ORDERED.

Copies of this Memorandum Order are being forwarded to
counsel for the parties.

/s/ EDWARD R. NEAHER
U.S.D.J.

Dated: Brooklyn, N.Y.
August 19, 1985

Filed: August 20, 1985

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1897%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
