# Opposition — LESKO v. PENNSYLVANIA (Nos. 83-6266, 83-6260)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1770%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983

## Text

MAY 29

ALEXANDER L
CUERK

| -FILED

1964

STEVAS,

|

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1983
No. 83-6266

JOHN CHARLES LESKO, Petitioner,
Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA and

LeROY S. ZIMMERMAN, ATTORNEY GENERAL
OF PENNSYLVANIA, Respondents

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

JOHN J. DRISCOLL. District Attorney
201 Courthouse Square

Greensburg, PA 15601
(412) 834-2191, Ext. 3665

*TIMOTHY J. GEARY, Esquire
158 Grant Avenue

Vandergrift, PA 15690
(412) 568-3694

*Special Counsel to District Attorney

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee ee ee eo a 2 2 2

i ME Me ae See Ee ee ee ee ee Se oe ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Case Cited: Page:
Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1977)............ hie Ce
Patterson v. New York, 423 U.S. 198, 53 L.Ed.2d

38 ECLSTI) SMa kas oe ae ke Ca CeCe CTT eee 7

Roberts v. Louisiana, 428 U.S. 906, 49 L.Ed.2d
1213, 96 §.Ct. 3214 reh. den. 429 U.S.

890, 50 L.Ed.2d 174, 97 S.Ct. 248 (1976)......... 6
Roberts v. Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633, 52 L.Ed.2d 637,

OF SiGks LOE CARTED a ccc ives avs butane eusenys 6
Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280,

SF L.86.20 948, 96 S.Ct. 29768 (1976)... ccecceces 6
Keith Zettlemoyer v. The Commonwea’th of
PORMOVILVEREE, SE°CSE8 ccs rye cunes vee ee sess Os ot e¥s 6
Statute Cited:
42 Pa. C.S.A. $9711... eee eee Ke Rakes he ee s.0 Sane ewe 2

wits

t

So

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF ISSUES

SYMPATHY IS NOT A MITIGATING FACTOR UNDER THE
PENNSYLVANIA DEATH PENALTY STATUTE NOR DOES
LOCKETT V. OHIO, 438 U.S. 586 REQUIRE OR EVEN
SUGGEST SUCH A RESULT.

NEITHER THE REQUIREMENT THAT THE DEFENDANT PROVE
MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES BY A PREPONDERANCE OF

THE EVIDENCE NOR THE REQUIREMENT THAT THE JURY

MUST SENTENCE THE DEFENDANT TO DEATH UPON A FINDING
OF ONE AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCE ANN NO MITIGATING
CIRCUMSTANCES IS IN VIOLATION OF LOCKETT V. OHIO,
438 U.S. 586 (1977).

# SYMPATHY IS NOT A MITIGATING FACTOR UNDER THE
PENNSYLVANIA DEATH PENALTY STATUTE NOR DOES
LOCKETT V. OHIO, 438 U.S. 5&6 REQUIRE OR EVEN
SUGGEST SUCH A RESULT.
The defendant has redefined sympathy to be a
mitigating factor which it is not. (See 42 Pa. C.S.A.
§9711). At no time did the prosecutor or the trial court
allude to Lesko's evidence about his troubled vouth when they

refered to sympathy. Clearly the evidence offered by Lesko that

(1) he had never known a person he
could call father [N.T. 1653];

(2) when he was about five years old,
some older kids set him on fire
[N.T. 1652], and;

(3) “he lived in hell from day one"
[N.T. 1649).

was an attempt to establish the existance of mitigating factor
No. 8 under the Pennsylvania Death Penalty Statute viz.

any other evidence of mitigation concerning the character

and record of the defendant and the circumstances of his offense.
See Pa. C.S.A. §9711. This is required by Lockett v. Ohio,
438 U.S. 586 (1977).

The trial court's charge about sympathy

Your decision should not he based on
sympathy, because sympathy could
improperly sway you into one decision
-- into a decision imposing the

death sentence, or could improperly
sway you against the decision imposing
the death sentence. .. . Sympathy

is not an aggravating circumstance;

it is not a mitigating circumstance.
[N.T. 1706].

and the reference in prosecutor's closing argument about
sympathy

"But I have a problem. Each one of
you promised me, promised the judge,
Mrs. Ambrose, Mr. Bertani, Mr.
McCormick, Mr. Marsh and the defen-
dants, when we started, that you would
follow the law. You all promised

that you wouldn't become a social
activist. But I can't stop that.

I can't stop you from walking out into
that deliberation room after the

judge charges you and saying to
yourself, The Commonwealth has

proved one or more agrravating,
circumstances, and there's no

oie

mitigating circumstances here at

all, and the law savs I must find
these defendants and sentence them

to death, but I won't do that, because
I feel sympathy. And I also can't
stop you from saying, well, I found
one or more aggravating circumstances
that have been proven beyond a reasonable
doubt, and alttough I found mitiga-
ting circumstances, the agrravating
circumstances outweigh them, and

the law says that I must return a
death penalty, but I won't, I'm

going to show sympathy. I just
can't stop you from doing that.”
[N.T. 1701]

were designed to take out of the case what the defendants
had improperly put into it. This was a joint trial and both
the defendant (John Charles Lesko) and his co-defendant
(Michael Jay Travaglia) had been found guilty of murder in the
first degree and the jury was hearing evidence in both cases.
Specifically the defendants themselves had attempted to
cloud the issues by the following: Bernard Travaglia and
Judith Travaglia, the parents of the co-defendant Michael Jay
Travaglia both testified [N.T. 1594-1597] and both cried and
sobbed in front of the jury; the final statement from Mrs.
Travaglia being ". . . He's my son. I don't want him to die."
{[N.T. 1597] Mrs. Travaglia was extremely emotional, almost
hysterical, at this point and that fact is reflected in the

prosecutor's closing argument:

"You saw something vesterday afternoon
which visibly shook every one of you.
And if it hadn't, would have surprised
me. And I feel that every one of you
were filled with compassion. I

was. But you're not here to decide
this issue on sympathy. Sympathy is
not a mitigating circumstance. When
you think about sympathy, you have

to feel and know that there are other
people whose hearts have been

heavy for a long time, since January
3, 1980. Consider the law, consider
the evidence, and make a decision.
(N.T. 1690).

__Also the defendant's closing arguments made reference
to subjects that were not part of the jury's function as
did the closing argument of his co-defendant. Both of these

closing arguments relied on two basic premises: (1) the

mm

death penalty is inherently wrong and (2) the arousal of
the jury's sympathy by inflamming them as to the nature of the
death penalty as it is carried out:

EG. Defendant Lesko's Closing:

‘ It's a death that is planned

by the state for months, and its the
kind of death that the conderned

man waits for months to endure.

Usually in terror. . ." [N.T. at 1665)
". . . And consider, with your
knowledge of history, whether or not
the death penalty was an instrument
for the cure, the alleged cure of

the social ills of the time

which were many. That is expediency,
not the law. .. " (emphasis

added) [N.T. at 1666]

Lal

Now, something else cured
those social ills of the seventeenth
and eighteenth centuries; it was

not the death sentence. =

[N.T. at 1667]

ue ee if you return a verdict of
death against John, you'll be saying
the equivalent that we don't buy

the doctrine that there is some

good in every one of us that should
be preserved, and if there is some
good in someone it shouldn't make

any difference. .." [N.T. at 1672]

Defendant Travaglia's Closing:

". . . If the killing of Michael
Travaglia can bring back those
people, then there would be a
legitimate reason for killing
Michael Travaglia. .." [N.T. at
1677}
% . two wrongs don't make a right
" [N.T.at 1697)

wrvak” other states don't have a
death penalty - have they found out
something more than we know. .

[N.T. at 1680]

*. . . Chom shelt not REIL... *
[N.T. at 1683]

: some glorious day we re

going to take Ifichael Travaglia

out, and we're going to shave his
head, we're going to put grease

on his arms, we're going to strap

him into an electric chair, and

we're going to send all those wolts
through his body until his feet split
open and his fingers split opem, and
he dies, and he's electrocuted.

{u.T. at 1678)

elke

The testimony set forth above and the defendants" closing
arguments were designed to arouse sympathy not to prove

a mitigating circumstance. They have nothing, whatsoever to
do with the character and record of the defendant nor the
circumstances of his offense. This evidence of mitigation
was offered and admitted into evidence and was not short-
circuited in any way by the court's instruction concerning

sympathy. The Petition for Certiorari should be denied.

Il. NEITHER THE REQUIREMENT THAT THE DEFENDANT PROVE
MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES BY A PREPONDERANCE OF
THE EVIDENCE NOR THE REQUIREMENT THAT THE JURY
MUST SENTENCE THE DEFENDANT TO DEATH UPON A FINDING
OF ONE AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCE AND NO MITIGATING
CIRCUMSTANCES IS IN VIOLATION OF LOCKETT V. OHIO,
438 U.S. 586 (1977).

a.) The specific issue raised by the defendant
was addressed by the Supreme Court of the United States in the

case of Keith Zettlemoyer v. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,

82-6514 and on May 31, 1983 the Court denied Certiorari.

b.) The Pennsylvania Death Penalty Statute 42 Pa.
C.S.A. §9711 does require that the jury's "verdict must be
a sentence of death if the jury unanimously finds at least
one aggravating circumstance. .. and no mitigating circum-
stances, or one or more aggravating circumstances which
outweigh any mitigating circumstances". This is clearly a
mandatory rule, but it in no way prevents the jury from giving

independent mitigating weight to @pects of the defendant's

character and record and to circumstances of the offense

offered in mitigation. Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586,

57 LEd.2d 973 98 S.Ct. 2954 (1978). The Court in Lockett v.
Ohic, supra. found the Ohio Death Penalty Statute infirm

under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments of the Federal
Constitution because the Ohio Statute did not permit evidence
relative to the defendant's character and record, and to
circumstances of the offense (e.g. the fact that the
defendant's participation in the homicidal act was relatively
minor) unless they were in some way directly related to one of

three enumerated mitigating circumstances. Lockett v. Ohio,

at 438 U.S. 608. All of the cases cited by the defendant involved
situations where mandatory death penalty statutes have been

stricken down by the Supreme Court. Woodson v. North Carolina,

428 U.S. 280, 49 L.Ed.2d 944, 96 S.Ct. 2978 (1976); Roberts v.
Lousiana, 428 U.S. 906, 49 L.Ed.2d 1213, 96 S.Ct. 3214 reh.
den. 429 U.S. 890, 50 L.Ed.2d 174, 97 S.Ct. 248 (1976);
Roberts v. Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633, 52 L.Ed.2d 637, 97 S.Ct.

a

1993 (1977). Each of the Statutes set forth in the cases
cited above merely define a specific crime or crimes and then
made the death sentence mandatory. These statutes did not
provide any standards or guidelines for the jury to follow in
arriving at a proper sentence. There is no case which says
any mandatory death sentence is unconstitutional, certainly

Lockett v. Ohio, supra., does not so hold.

It is the province of the Legislature to determine
what circumstances may be considered in mitigation during a

sentencing hearing. Patterson v. New York, 423 U.S. 198,

53 L.Ed.2d 284 (1977); Lockett v. Ohio, supra. In Pennsylvania,

the Legislature has set forth in detail various mitigating
factors and it is these factors which make the Pennsvlvania
death penalty statute entirely different from those statutes
which have been declared unconstitutional. The challenged
Pennsylvania statute lists the following mitigating circum-
stances:

1. The defendant has no significant history
of prior criminal convictions.

2. The defendant was under the influence
of extreme mental or emotional
disturbance.

3. The capacity of the defendant to
appreciate the criminality of his
conduct or to conform his conduct to
the requirements of the law was
substantially impaired.

4. The age of the defendant at the time
of the crime.

5. The defendant acted under extreme duress,
although not such duress as to constitute
a defense to prosecution under §309
(relating to duress), or acted under the
substantial domination of another person.

6. The victim was a participant in the
defendant's homicidal conduct or
consented to the homicidal acts.

7. The defendant's participation in the
homicidal acts was relatively minor.

8. Any other evidence of mitigation concerning
the character and record of the defendant
in circumstances of his offense. See 42
Pa..€.3.a. 997i.

- =

"Not only does the Pennsylvania statute permit the
jury to consider circumstances of the type which the Ohio
statute made no provision for, (see Lockett, supra.) the
Pennsylvania statute leaves within the sole province of the
jury the weight to be given the mitigating circumstances,
once they have been offered by the defendant. A Pennsylvania
jury cannot impose the death sentence without first considering
the aggravating and mitigating circumstances, including those
which relate to the character and record of the defendant and
the circumstances of the offense in question. Even more
important, a Pennsylvania jury cannot impose a death sentence
even under the mandatory aspects of the Pennsylvania statute
without first finding that there were no mitigating circum-
stances. No death penalty statute similar to the current
Pennsylvania statute has ever been determined to be violative
of either the Eighth or Fourteenth Amendments of the Federal
Constitution or the Pennsylvania Constitution, nor does the

defendant cite any case so holding.

CONCLUSION

istrict Attorney
Westmoreland County

TIMOTHY

a ee ee.

Special

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1770%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
