# Opposition — Evans v. Texas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1728%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 465 U.S. 1109

## Text

— _s _ —— |

FFR 27 1984
ALEXANDER L. STEVAS
CLERK
NO. 83-5965
IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1983
MICHAEL WAYNE EVANS,
Petitioner
V.
THE STATE OF TEXAS,
Respondent
On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Texas Court Of Criminal Appeals
RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
JIM MATTOX LESLIE A. BENITEZ2*
Attorney General of Texas Assistant Attorney General

Chief, Enforcement Division

DAVID R. RICHARDS PAULA C. OFFENHAUSER
Executive Assistant Assistant Attorney General
Attorney General

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
(512) 475-3281

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

* Attorney of Record .

IIl.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

WHETHER THIS COURT SHOULD CONSIDER GROUNDS
NOT PRESENTED TO THE COURT BELOW?

WHETHER THE STATE SYSTEMATICALLY EXCLUDED
BLACKS, MEXICAN-AMERICANS AND PERSONS BETWEEN
THE AGES OF EIGHTEEN AND TWENTY-ONE FROM
SERVING AS GRAND JURY COMMISSIONERS?

WHETHER THE STATE SYSTEMATICALLY EXCLUDED
BLACKS FROM SERVING ON THE GRAND JURY?

WHETHER THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN REFUSING TO
PERMIT PETITIONER TO IMPEACH HIS OWN WITNESS
WITH EVIDENCE OF BAD CHARACTER?

WHETHER THE TRIAL COURT'S DENIAL OF
PETITIONER'S REQUEST AT THE PUNISHMENT PHASE
TO PUT INTO EVIDENCE THE FACT THAT PETITIONER
WAS CONVICTED AND SENTENCED TO LIFE
IMPRISONMENT IN A SEPARATE CAPITAL MURDER
CHARGE PRECLUDED PETITIONER FROM PRESENTING
MITIGATING EVIDENCE?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
DERE BPUEGIENUEED « «© oc ec eo ee eee eet hhehlUl tl i
OPINION BELOW . . .* . . . . . . . . . . . . . . o . . . l
JURISDICTION, . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .* . . . . .* l
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES INVOLVED .... 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT . . . . . . . . . . . . * . . . . . 2
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT. .. +. © © © e ee we ee 4
Es THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
ARE UNWORTHY OF THIS COURT'S
ATTENTION * . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
II. THIS COURT IS WITHOUT JURISDICTION TO
CONSIDER PETITIONER'S PROPORTIONALITY
CLAIM AND HIS CLAIM THAT THE DEATH
PENALTY AS APPLIED DISCRIMINATES ON
ACCOUNT OF RACE BECAUSE THEY WERE NOT
PRESENTED TO THE TEXAS COURT OF
CRIMINAL APPEALS. . . . .* . * . . . . * . . . 4
III. REVIEW OF PETITIONER'S CLAIMS OF
INTENTIONAL AND SYSTEMATIC EXCLUSION
OF BLACKS, MEXICAN-AMERICANS, AND
PERSONS BETWEN THE AGES OF EIGHTEEN
AND TWENTY-ONE SHOULD BE DENIED AS
ONLY QUESTIONS OF EVIDENCE AND FACTUAL
FINDINGS ARE INVOLVED, . . . . . . . .* . . . . 5
IV. PETITIONER'S CLAIM THAT THE TRIAL COURT
ERRED IN REFUSING TO PERMIT PETITIONER
TO IMPEACH HIS OWN WITNESS FAILS TO
STATE A CLAIM OF CONSTITUTIONAL DIMENSION .. 6
v. THE COURT BELOW CORRECTLY DETERMINED THAT
PETITIONER WAS NOT PRECLUDED FROM PRE-
SENTING RELEVANT MITIGATING EVIDENCE AT
a Sees. Ps « © 6 & 6 ie 6 *~ es = & 7
CONCLUSION. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541 (1962) ... .
Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1969) ..
Castenada v. Partida, 430 U.S. 482 (1977) ...
Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973). .
Crowell v. Randell, 10 Pet. 368 (1836). ... .»
Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104 (1982)... .

Evans v. State, 656 S.W.2d 65
(Tex.Crim.App. 1983)(en banc). « « « «+ « «

Godchaux Co., Inc. v. Estopinal,
251 UeS-e 179 (1919). . . . . . . . . . . .

Hill v. California,. 401 U.S. 797 (1971) ....
Illinois v. Gates, 103 S.Ct. 2317 (1983)... .
Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978). .....
Owings v. Norwood's Lessee, 5 Cranch 344 (1809)

Pulley v. Harris, 52 L.W. 414
(Jan. 23, 1984). . . . . . . . . * . . . .

2GC0R Ve. AriBenes 4210 GsBs 351. C1973) «6 © ©

Statutes

28 U.S.C. Sl2ZS7(3S)e. we ws evo een eveevneves
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 37.071 (Vernon)
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 38.28 (Vernon).

Rule 17, Rules of the Supreme Court ....«.-.

- iii -

NO. 83-5965

IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

MICHAEL WAYNE EVANS,
Petitioner
Vv.
THE STATE OF TEXAS,

Respondent

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Texas Court Of Criminal Appeals

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO THE HONORABLE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT:

NOW COMES the State of Texas, Respondent herein, by and
through its attorney, the Attorney General of Texas, and files
this Brief in Opposition.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of Criminal Appeals of Texas, which
is reported at 656 S.W.2d 65 (Tex.Crim.App. 1983)(en banc), is
reproduced in Appendix A to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.
The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals denied the Motion for leave
to file Petitioner's Motion for Rehearing without written order
on September 21, 1983.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner seeks to invoke the jurisdiction of this Court

under the provisions of 28 U.S.C. §1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Sixth, Eighth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the Constitution of the United States.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The record reflects that Petitioner was indicted on August
22, 1977, in.Dallas County, Texas, for the murder of Elvira
Guerrero, while in the course of committing and attempting to
commit the offense of robbery. Petitioner was initially tried on
October of 1977 in the 103rd Judicial District Court of Dallas
County, Texas and was found guilty of the capital offense. His
conviction was reversed by the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals on
September 10, 1980,.and the cause remanded for new trial.

Petitioner's new trial began on September 28, 1981, and on
October 1, 1981, the jury found Petitioner guilty of the capital
offense. On October 8, 1981, after a punishment hearing, the
jury answered affirmatively the special issues suDmitted pursuant
to Article 37.071, V.A.C.C.P. Accordingly, punishment was
assessed at death. Petitioner appealed this conviction and
sentence to the Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas, which, on May
25, 1983, affirmed the conviction and sentence. Rehearing was
denied on September 21, 1983.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

There are no special or important reasons to review this
case. The issues presented involve only the application of well
settled constitutional principles to the facts involved herein.
This Court is without jurisdiction to consider Petitioner's
proportionality claim and his claim that the death penalty as
applied discriminates on the basis of race because Petitioner has

not presented the precise issues raised herein to the Texas Court

of Criminal Appeals.

Petitioner's claims of intentional and systematic exclusion
of Blacks, Mexican-Americans and persons between the ages of
eighteen and twenty-one should be denied as only questions of
evidence and factual findings are involved. The court below,
correctly applying the test established by this Court in

Castenada v. Partida, 430 U.S. 482 (1977), held that Petitioner

failed to present sufficient evidence to demonstrate a prima
facie case of underrepresentation.

Petitioner has failed to demonstrate a claim of
constitutional dimension with his contentions that the trial
court committed fundamental error in refusing to _ permit
Petitioner to impeach his own witness with evidence of prior
convictions. Texas law expressly excludes the use of bad
character to impeach a party's own witness. Further, the facts
and circumstances of the present case are significantly different

than those presented to this Court in Chambers v. Mississippi,

410 U.S. 284 (1973).

Petitioner's claim that he was prevented from presenting
mitigating evidence relevant to the special issues is wholly
conclusory. The court below correctly held that Petitioner
failed to demonstrate the exclusion of any relevant mitigating
evidence at the punishment phase.

This Court had held that proportionality review is not
constitutionally required in every death penalty case. In so
doing, the Court expressly reaffirmed the Texas’ capital
sentencing statute. Further, Petitioner's conclusory allegations
fail to demonstrate any discrimination on the basis of race in

the application of the death penalty in Texas.

_— = —

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ARE
UNWORTHY OF THIS COURT'S ATTENTION.

Rule 17 of the Rules of the Supreme Court provides that
review on writ of certiorari is not a matter of right but of
judicial discretion, and will be granted only when there are
special and important reasons therefore. Petitioner has advanced
no special or important reason in this case and none exists.
Further, this case presents only the question of whether
well-settled constitutional principles were correctly applied to
the facts of this case. Thus, no important question of law is
presented here.

II. THIS COURT IS WITHOUT JURISDICTION TO

CONSIDER PETITIONER'S PROPORTIONALITY CLAIM
AND HIS CLAIM THAT THE DEATH PENALTY AS
APPLIED DISCRIMINATES ON ACCOUNT OF _ RACE
BECAUSE THEY WERE NOT PRESENTED TO THE TEXAS
COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS.

The cases are legion that this Court will not decide issues
raised for the first time on petition for writ of certiorari or

on appeal, and that the Court will not decide federal questions

not raised and decided in the court Dlow. E.g., Illinois v.

Gates, 103 S.Ct. 2317, 2321-23 (1983): Tacon v. Arizona, 410 U.S.

351, 352 (1973); Hill v. California, 401 U.S. 797, 805-06 (1971);

Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437, 438 (1969). In

articulating this requirement, the Court has_ stressed _ the

long-standing nature of the rule: "“[I]n Crowell v. Randell, 10

Pet. 368 (1836), Justice Story reviewed the earlier cases

commencing with Owings v. Norwood's Lessee, 5 Cranch 344 (1809),

and come to the conclusion that the Judiciary Act of 1789, 20,
Section 25, 1 Stat. 85, vested this Court with no jurisdiction
unless a federal question was raised and decided in the state
court below. ‘If both of these do not appear on the record, the

appellate jurisdiction fails.' 10 Pet. 368, 391." Cardinale v.

Louisiana, 394 U.S. at 439. To properly invoke the jurisdiction

_ ——

ws

of the Court, it is crucial that the federal question not only be
raised in the state proceedings, Dut that it be raised at the

proper point. Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541, 550 (1962);

Godchaux Co., Inc. v. Estopinal, 251 U.S. 179, 181 (1919).

Petitioner‘s contentions that the Texas death penalty
scheme is constitutionally invalid because it fails to provide a
procedures for proportionality review and that the death penalty
as applied in Texas discriminates on the basis of race were not
raised in the court Delow. Thus, Petitioner's claims were not
adequately presented to and decided by the state court Delow.
Respondent submits that in view of Petitioner's failure to
sufficiently and properly raise the issues presented here below,
the failure of the state court to pass on these issues, the
desirability of giving the state the first opportunity to address
the issues, the application for certiorari should be denied for

want of jurisdiction. Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. at 439.

In any event, this Court held in Pulley v. Harris, 52 L.W.

414 (Jan. 23, 1984), that the comparative proportionality review
is not constitutionally required in every case in which the death
penalty is imposed ana the defendant requests it. Further,
Petitioner's allegations that the death penalty as applied in
Texas discriminates on account of race because more Blacks and
Hispanics are prosecuted and convicted of capital murder than are
Caucasians are self-serving, conclusory and totally unsupported
by any specific allegations.
III. REVIEW OF PETITIONER'S CLAIMS OF INTENTIONAL
AND SYSTEMATIC EXCLUSION OF BLACKS,
MEXICAN-AMERICANS, AND PERSONS BETWEEN THE
AGES OF EIGHTEEN AND TWENTY-ONE SHOULD BE
DENIED AS ONLY QUESTIONS OF EVIDENCE AND
FACTUAL FINDINGS ARE INVOLVED.
The questions presented for review relative to Petitioner's
claims that Blacks, Mexican-Americans, and persons between the

ages of eighteen and twenty-one were intentionally and

systematically excluded from serving on grand juries and from

By.

serving as grand jury commissioners do not present subDstantial

questions worthy of this Court's review. In Castenada v.

Partida, 430 U.S. 482, 494 (1977), this Court established the
test Dy which to determine whether an equal protection violation
has occurred in the context of grand jury selection:

{I]n order to show that an equal protection
violation has occurred in the context of
grand jury selection, the defendant must show
that the procedure employed resulted in
Substantial underrepresentation of his race
Or of the identifiable group to which he
belongs. The first step is to establish that
the group is one that is a recognizable,
distinct class, singled out for for different
treatment under the laws, as written or as
applied. Next, the Gegree of
underrepresentation must be proved, by
comparing. the proportion of the group in the
total population to the Proportion called to
serve as grand jurors, over a significant
period of time.

(Citations omitted). Applying the Castenada test, the Texas
Court of Criminal Appeals held that Petitioner failed to present
sufficient evidence to prove underrepresentation. Evans v.
State, 625 S.W.2d at 66. The issues presented involve nothing
more than the state appellate court's application of
well-established principles to a unique factual situation.

IV. PETITIONER'S CLAIM THAT THE TRIAL COURT ERRED

IN REFUSING TO PERMIT PETITIONER TO IMPEACH
HIS OWN WITNESS FAILS TO STATE A CLAIM OF
CONSTITUTIONAL DIMENSION,

Petitioner contends that he was denied a fundamentally fair
trial by the trial court's refusal at the guilt-innocence stage
to permit defense counsel to impeach a defense witness by
offering evidence of the witness’ prior convictions. He argues
that he had a right to such evidence under Texas law and that the

court's refusal to permit such evidence violated the principles

as established by this Court in Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S.

284 (1973). Petitioner's claims are wholly without merit.

The court below expressly found that proof of prior
convictions is a form of impeachment by showing bad character.
Texas law expressly excludes evidence of a witness’ bad character

for impeachment. Evans v. State, 625 S.W.2d at 66. See Tex.

Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 38.28 (Vernon).

Further, the facts and circumstances of the present case are
Significantly different from those presented in Chambers.
Chambers involved the exclusion of hearsay evidence critical to
the accused's defense and bearing substantial Assurance of
trustworthiness. As Petitioner concedes in his petition: the
evidence excluded by the trial court was useful “to establish or
disestablish {sic} credibility" of the defense witness.
Respondent submits that Petitioner's claim of constitutional
error is meritless.

V. THE COURT BELOW CORRECTLY DETERMINED THAT

PETITIONER WAS NOT PRECLUDED FROM PRESENTING
RELEVANT MITIGATING EVIDENCE AT THE
PUNISHMENT PHASE.

In Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978), this Court held

that the sentencer in a capital case must be permitted to
consider any relevant mitigating factors. In so holding,
however, this Court expressly noted that “nothing in [the
court's] opinion limits the traditional authority of a court to
exclude, as irrelevant, evidence not bearing on the defendant's
character, prior record, or the circumstances of his offense."
438 U.S. at 605 n.12.

Following the Lockett guidelines, the court below held that
Petitioner failed to demonstrate, other than by bare
conclusion, that evidence of his conviction and life sentence
for a separate and distinct murder, was relevant mitigating
evidence. In so holding the court below stated:

The next two grounds of error complain
of exclusion of evidence of appellant's
conviction and life sentence for another
murder. He again argues the evidence was

admissible under Art. 37.0171, supra, and
quotes from the opinion in Jurek v. State,

-7-

522 S.W.2d 934, and Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S.

262, 96 S.Ct. 2950, 49 L.Ed.2d 929, to the
effect that the jury can consider the range
and severity of prior criminal conduct of the
accused and should have all relevant
information before it. The fact of
conviction and the decision of another jury
of the punishment appropriate for a different
murder are not evidence of appellant's
conduct. If the conviction and punishment
had occurred prior to the instant offense,
they would be relevant to show a lack of
rehabilitation, but that is not the situation
here. Although appellant makes the assertion
that this evidence “was relevant on all 3
[punishment stage] issues," he gives no
reasons to illustrate this bare conclusion.
We perceive no relevance under the facts of
this case and overrule the grounds of error.

Evans v. State, 625 S.W.2d at 67.

Petitioner again presents nothing more than his bare
conclusion that the evidence “was relevant to all three (3)
[punishment] issues." His claim that he was precluded from
presenting relevant mitigating evidence is thus, not worthy of

this Court's review. Compare, Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104

(1982).

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, Respondent respectfully requests that the
petition for writ of certiorari be denied.
Respectfully submitted,

JIM MATTOX
Attorney General of Texas

DAVID R. RICHARDS
Executive Assistant Attorney General

LESLIE A. BENITEZ
Assistaf}t Attorney General
Chiefy Enforcement Division

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
(512) 475-3281

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

—-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1728%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
