# Petitioners Reply Brief — Lmicro_IA40385011_1699

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1699%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1983

## Text

2 PAGE 61

MAR

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

FEB 23 1984
No. 83-5767

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1983

MICHAEL DALE LEATHERWOOD,

Petitioner,

Vv.

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

REPLY BRIEF

Michael Sandler
(Counsel of Record)

Michael C. Miller

Felice Busto

STEPTOE & JOHNSON
Chartered

1250 Connecticut Avenue,

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 862-2061

N.W.

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
Barclay v. Florida, _ U.S. ___, 103 S.Ct. 3418
(19BS) occccccsccccccccccccsccccescsecesccceoecces
Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104 (1982).......2.0.
Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977) ...cccsccces
Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420 (1980) ..ccccccces °
Henry v. Wainwright, 721 F.2d 990 (5th Cir. 1983)..
Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153 (1974) ..-eeeeeeees
Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978) ...ceccceceeees

Manhattan Life Insurance Co. v. Cohen, 234 U.S.
SE REDE 6 cb6s RECA Obs 0b bd R6U RESO OSCE SOOKE SOO CO RSS

Pulley v. Harris, 52 U.S.L.W. 4141 (U.S. Jan. 23,
| Pr rrre rrr rrrre ry ce eee ee ee

Raley v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423 (1959) -ccccccccsceccees
Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480 (1980) .ccccccccccccvces
Washington v. Watkins, 655 F.2d 1346 (Sth Cir.
1981), cert. denied. 102 S.Ct 2021 (1982)........
Zant v. Stephens, U.S. » 203 §.Ct.
ee) M6 3) ) SP rrrrrrTarTeTTrrTCr rT et ee

Constitution:

U.S. Constitution, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments

Statutes:

Miss. Code Ann. §§ 99-19-101, 103, lOS.~..cececevees
and 107 (Supp. 1982)

Other Authorities:

Comment, Constitutional Problems Concerning Certain
Aggravating Circumstances Used for Capital
Sentencing in Mississippi, 53 Miss. L.J. 319
C29B3) wo cccccccacescccesccccccsecressesosecosecces

coeee passim

ceecee passim

MICHAEL DALE LEATHERWOOD,
Petitioner,
Ve
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,

: Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

REPLY BRIEF

l. Petitioner contends that the duplication of
“robbery” and “pecuniary gain” as separate aggravating factors
Supporting his death sentence, created a substantial risk of
an unreliable “balancing” under Mississippi's death sentencing
Statute -- where stitutory mitigating factors were also pres-
ent. Whether the Eighth Amendment tolerates such unreliability
in the face of statutory mitigating factors is an important

question left open last term by Barclay v. Plorida, U.S.

, 103 S. Ct. 3418 (1983).
Respondent's only apposite response is a quotation

from Henry v. Wainwright, 721 F.2d 990 (Sth Cir. 1983). In

Henry, the Fifth Circuit upheld an application of both robbery

and pecuniary gain as aggravating circumstances where the trial

judge, relying on Barclay, explicitly found no mitigating

circumstances. Thus, Henry does not illuminate the issue left

open in Barclay.
Another fact distinguishes Henry. There, the

duplicative factors in a Florida statute were weighed by a
judge who may have discounted the duplicativeness. Here, the
Guplicative factors were weighed against mitigation factors by
a jury, which was not cautioned or guided regarding the
Guplicativeness of the Mississippi factors.

Since this petition was filed, the Court decided

Pulley v. Harris, U.S. *52 U.S.L.W. 4141 (January 23,

1984), which, unlike this case, dealt with the facial validity
of death sentencing statutes -- specifically, whether such
Statutes had to provide for proportionality reviews. The Court
noted that any capital sentencing scheme may produce
"aberrational outcomes,” but suggested that at least in Pulley
such “inconsistencies” did not rise to the level of "major
Systemic defects identified in Furman.” Id., 52 U.S.L.W. at
4145.

Petitioner submits that the present case involves a
"systemic defect" in how Mississippi applied the statutory sen-
tencing factors in its balancing scheme. By using the same
evidence to invoke two factors to support the sentence of death
below, at least one of the duplicative factors became
tainted. Without guidance, petitioner's jury was instructed to
balance these duplicative factors against statutory mitigating
factors established by the evidence (Pet. at 4-5) -- creating a
Significant risk that the balancing process was unreliable and
hence arbitrary. The entire process was thus systemically
infected. Although respondent claims that Mississippi law
permitted the jury to impose a life sentence notwithstanding

this balancing process (Brief in Opposition at 6), the jury was

not so explicitly instructed. Indeed, as expounded in

petitioner's Issue No. 3, petitioner's requested instruction to
this effect was rejected.

Petitioner's case presents a factually clear and
appropriate occasion for the Court to illuminate the issue of
when an invalid application of sentencing factors so infects

a death sentencing process as to cross the threshold of consti-

tutional impermissibility -- issues not reached in Zant v.
Stephens, U.S. , 103 S. Ct. 2733 (1983), or in Barclay v.

Florida, supra. Respondent cannot and does not dispute that

Issue No. 1 is ripe for the granting of certiorari.

2. Respondent does contest the ripeness of peti-
tioner's second issue -- whether Mississippi unconstitutionally
applied a vague aggravating factor (that the murder was "“espe-
cially heinous, atrocious or cruel") by compelling petitioner
to reenact before the jury his role in the crime. Respondent
misperceives the standard for granting certiorari. Although
petitioner at the state level raised the issue below in state
law terms, the Mississippi Supreme Court addressed and disposed
of the issue in federal constitutional terms. It explicitly

reaffirmed its prior holding that Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S.

420 (1980), was a narrow decision limited to its peculiar facts
-- and thus Godfrey, in Mississippi's view, did not in any way
preclude the forced demonstration to establish whether the
Murder was “especially heinous, atrocious and cruel.” Since
the highest state court below reached and decided the federal
constitutional issue, certiorari may properly be granted. See,

Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153, 157 (1974); Raley v. Ohio,

360 U.S. 423, 436 (1959); Manhattan Life Insurance Co. v.

Cohen, 234 U.S. 123, 134 (1914).

3. For similar reasons, respondent misperceives the

ripeness of petitioner's Issue No. 3. Although not raised by

petitioner's counsel on appeal, the federal constitutional

issue was embraced by two of the dissenting Justices. Hence,

it was sufficiently preserved. Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S.

349, 361 (1977) (when some members of a reviewing court
expressly consider a point below, this Court presumes that
the entire Court has passed on the question); see Eddings v.
Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104, 114 n.9 (1982).

Petitioner contends that it was constitutional error
for the Mississippi trial court to refuse requested jury
instructions (a) that death need not be imposed even if the
jury found an aggravating circumstance, and (b) that mitigating
circumstances need not be found to return a sentence of life.
Respondent has now implicitly conceded the validity of these
requested instructions under Mississippi law -- by confirm-
ing that petitioner's jury had the power to make the very
determinations at issue in those instructions:

In other words, even in the complete

absence of mitigating factors, a sentenc-

ing jury is not compelled legislatively

[in Mississippi] to return a sentence of

death no matter how many aggravating

factors it has before it.

(Brief in Opposition, at 6).
Since a capital defendant has a constitutional right

to present all mitigating considerations that might bear on

his sentence, Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978), and to

obtain an “individualized” sentence, Zant v. Stephens, supra,

it should follow that the same defendant has a constitutional
right, consistent with state procedural requirements, to be
granted jury instructions that give effect to his mitigating
considerations -- particularly when the state sentencing stat-

ute Supports the requested instructions. Although at least one

federal court has recognized this federal right, Washington v.

Watkins, 655 F.2d 1346, 1374 (Sth Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 102
S. Ct. 2021 (1982), this Court has not passed on the question.
4. Petitioner contends that once a proportionality
review is provided by statute, "due process protections are
necessary to ensure that the state-created right is not arbi-

trarily abrogated.” Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480, 488-89

(1980). This due process guarantee is unaffected by this

Court's recent decision in Pulley v. Harris, supra. Indeed,

Pulley leaves unanswered fundamental questions of (1) whether
appellate review must be "meaningful" and (2) whether states
that mandate a proportionality review may conduct that review
without any objective criteria being articulated or ostensibly
applied by the reviewing court.

This case presents these issues squarely. Peti-
‘tioner's individual situation is distinct from all Mississippi
defendants sentenced to death under its post-Furman death
penalty statute. Petitioner's prior record was spotless.
(Pet. at 2.) He was neither the triggerman nor the initiator
of the crime. (Pet. at 3.) Several Statutory mitigating cir-

V/

cumstances were established. (Pet. at 4-5.) In these aggre-
gate respects, petitioner differed from other persons receiving
the death penalty in Mississippi. (Pet. at Appendix 8.)

Yet, the Mississippi Supreme Court in its propor-
tionality review did not mention any of these circumstances.
No mention was made of how petitioner's individualized circum-

stances compared with others receiving the death penalty. No

reference was even made to the trial judge's sentencing report.

1/ At the same time, of the four aggravating circumstances
found by the jury, three were legally or factually suspect.
(Pet. at 5-6).

(Pet. at 24a.) The review was limited (a) to a summary para-
graph appearing (with slight variations) in Mississippi's last
Six death penalty decisions and (b) to a simple listing of post
1977 death penalty onsen”

Respondent does not dispute that the review below
was so limited, but instead cites twelve Mississippi cases and
contends that a proportionality sousen by this Court would show
petitioner's sentence not to be disproportionate. (Brief in
Opposition, at 17.) If such de novo review were appropriate,
the Annex to this Reply Brief @iscloses circumstances that
Gistinguish petitioner's situation from that of the defendants
in twelve cases cited by respondents. However, the only matter
now properly before this Court relates to be whether a state
Supreme court, required by statute to undertake a proportional-
ity review of a death sentence, must articulate and apply
objective criteria to assure that the review is meaningful.

Petitioner submits that if the question of minimum
Standards of appellate review are to be addressed in the con-
text of state-mandated proportionality reviews, the present

case is an appropriate one to resolve this important issue.

Respectfully en

V7, ,
Ufthnbkh de

Michael Sandler

(Counsel of Record)

Michael C. Miller
Felice Busto
STEPTOE & JOHNSON
Chartered
1250 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 862-2061

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

2/ See “Comment: Constitutional Problems Concerning Certain
Ag ape Bp Circumstances Used for Capital Sentencing In
Mississippi," 53 Miss. L. J. 319 (1983).

-€6-

ll.

12.

ANNEX

Factors Distinguishing Petitioner's
Case From The Mississippi Death
Cases Relied Upon By Respondent

Smith v. State, 419 So.2d 563 (miss. 1982)
(triggerman, prior criminal record and previous
firing of deadly weapon)

Edwaroés v. State, 413 So.2d 1007 (Miss. 1982)
(triggerman and prior criminal record including
capital murder conviction)

Bullock v. State, 391 So.2d 601 (Miss. 1980)
(actively beat the victim)

*Reddix v. State, 381 So.2d 999 (Miss. 1980) (prior
criminal record including two armed robberies and two
kidnappings)

*Jones v. State, 381 So.2d 983 (Miss. 1980) (prior
Criminal record including armed robbery)

Culberson v. State, 379 So.2d 499 (Miss. 1979)
(triggerman, prior criminal record including armed
robbery and assault with intent to kill)

*Voyles v. State, 362 So.2d 1236 (Miss. 1978)
(triggerman)

*Irving v. State, 361 So. 2d 161 (Miss. 1978) (prior
criminal record including burglary)

*Washington v. State, 361 So.2d 161 (Miss. 1978)
(triggerman, prior criminal record)

*Bell v. State, 360 So.2d 1206 (Miss. 1978) (prior
criminal record including capital murder, two
robberies, two burglaries and assault with intent to
kill)

Evans v. State, 422 So.2d 737 (Miss. 1982)
(triggerman, prior criminal record and under life
sentence when murder committed)

Wheat v. State, 420 So.2d 229 (Miss. 1982)
(triggerman, prior criminal record including second
degree murder, assault with weapon and false
imprisonment)

.

Death sentence was subsequently vacated by federal court:

Reddix v. Thigpen, 554 F. Supp. 1212 (S.D. Miss.
1983); Jones v. Thigpen, 555 F. Supp. 870 (S.D. Miss.
1983); Voyles v. Watkins, 489 F. Supp. 901 (N.D.
1980); Irving v. Hargett, 518 F. Supp. 1127 (N.D.
Miss. 1981); Washington v. Watkins, 655 F.2d 1346,
1374 (5th Cir. 1981); Bell v. Watkins, 692 F.2d 999
(Sth Cir. 1982).

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 23rd day of February,
1984, a copy of this Reply Brief On Petition For Writ of
Certiorari To The Supreme Court of the State of Mississippi was
mailed, postage prepaid, to Edwin Lloyd Pittman, Attorney

General, Post Office Box 220, Jackson, Mississippi 39205.

Michael Sandler

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1699%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
