# Petitioners Reply Brief — Spaziano v. Florida

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1686%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 468 U.S. 447

## Text

GeaGitAL

wo,
os®
" co
be go es
ee No. 83-5596 | RECEIVED
: IN THE | NOV 30 1983
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES | Qrrsce OF THE CLERY
1 = SUPREME COURT, U.S
OCTOBER TERM 1983 _en es
eee eee ee SS SS SSS SSS ST HSS SS SSS SSS SSS SS SSS STS SS SSS = = =$5 perneConrt, U.S
FILLED
\o NOV 30 1983
ai JOSEPH ROBERT SPAZIANO, |
a Petitioner, ALEXANDER L STEVAS
| | CLERK
= Vs.
ro STATE OF FLORIDA,
‘as Respondent.

“—<<—=ss2s222=2==2==2=2=2

REPLY AND SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF
IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD L. JORANDBY

Public Defender
15th Judicial Circuit of Plorida

224 Datura Street/l3th Floor
West Palm Beach, Florida 33401

(305) 837-2150

MICHAEL A. MELLO
Assistant Public Defender

CRAIG S. BARNARD
Chief Assistant Public Defender

.

Counsel for Petitioner

A eee ne ne nc er EE OT ee ee ee nee —— one ee et
th acct NR RETR ASL SIRE RIFE EO TRI SIERO SEITE. A STS CET IE NEE TE

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee ee CS ca a anes oe a ee ee eae mle aa

ATGUMENE cccccccccccicoccccccccsccccccceccces

COBELUSION waeescsawe

AUTHORITIES CITED

714 F.2d 1532

No.83-5596

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1983

JOSEPH ROBERT SPAZIANO,
Petitioner,

vs.

STATE OF FLORIDA,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

REPLY AND SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF
IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The brief in opposition filed by Respondent merits a few
words in reply.
I. THE “BECK ISSUE"

Respondent's argument is premised on the Motion that "the
mere imposition of sentence has no bearing on the so-called Beck

v. Alabama issue." The State appears to contend that when the

validity of Petitioner's conviction was before this Court in

1980, this really was a capital case, even though "technically"
Petitioner's death sentence had, at that time, been vacated by
the Florida Supreme Court.

The short answer is that this was not a death case in 1980
simply because at that time Petitioner was not under sentence of
death. Where Petitioner was at that time before this Court only
for review of his conviction, since the Florida Supreme Court had
vacated his death sentence, hé@ is now seeking review of the
reimposed death sentence. It is precisely this new posture which
brings the issue presented squarely within the Eighth Amendment
Standards of reliability enunciated by this Court in Beck.

The difference between the posture of the case then and its

posture now is crucial. The proof of this proceeds in two

Stages: first, failure to instruct on lesser offenses raises

=.

_— ———————————

special dangers of factfinding inaccuracy and unreliability and

second, this enhanced unreliability, though undersirable
noncapital cases, rises in capital cases to the level of being
infirmity of constitutional magnitude.

This Court has recognized
lesser-offense
interest

Keeble v.

Simple common
knowledge of huma
precarious dilemma is
jury that possesses a reas: ] as to one of the elements
of the offense charged, b Ou as the defendant's guilt
of a lesser offense that does no ul proof of the questioned
element, is likely, if m convicting the lesser
offense, to resolve its dou! in favor of conviction of the
greater. In the context of a murder t
likely to compromise its adherence
Standard rather than subju

is, Of course,
can never be totally
legal system. \ y ir i i it clear that the
need for reliability ise t th ] of constitutional
imperative. Death is ! and the infliction of death by
official choice must require a higher degree of reliability lan
we can practicably require of all other aspects

fact was the basis of Beck v. Alabama, where this Court made

clear that when the evidence established that the defendant is
guilty of “a serious, violent offense -- but leaves some doubt
with respect to an element that would Justify conviction of a
capital offense -- the failure the jury the ‘third
option’ of conviction of a lesser included offense would seem
inevitably to enhance the risk of an unwarranted conviction. Such

a_ risk cannot be tolerated when the defendant's life is at stake.

As we have often stated, there is a significant constitutional
difference between the death penalty and lesser punishments." 447
U.S. 625, 638 (1980) (emphasis added). "To ensure that the death
penalty is indeed imposed on the basis of reason rather than
caprice or emotion, we have invalidated procedural rules that
tended to diminish the reliability of the sentencing determina-
tion ... Thus, if the unavailabiity of a lesser included offense
instruction enhances the risk of an unwarranted conviction,
is constitutionally prohi
jury in a capital case.”
matters very much that
Beck

The jury,
which had considerable difficulty in reaching a verdict on guilt
after a number of hours of deliberation -- interrupted wit!
inquiry, reported deadlock and an "Allen" charge had
little difficulty in issuing an almost immediate sentencing
verdict of life imprisonment. The evidence Supporting guilt was
at best inconclusive -- there was virtually no evidence as to the
degree of the homicide and only weak circumstantial evidence that
Petitioner was actually involved in the offense -- yet the jury
was faced with a murder that was portrayed as brutal and provided
with only two options: guility of first degree murder or not
guilty. The jury did not have the "third Opt:on”" mandated by
Beck. Under these circumstances the jury exercised the only
reasonable option it had available: it found Petitioner guilty
of first degree murder but issued a Sentencing verdict of life
imprisonment. This life verdict, however, was overridden by the
trial judge who imposed the death sentence on Petitioner. The

Plorida Supreme Court affirmed the death sentence.
Accordingly, the danger of unreliability came true in this

case. The trial judge's instruction presented an imposible

Hobson's choice to the jury, a jury confronted with flimsy

evidence of first degree murder. The refusal to instruct on
lesser offenses prevented the jury from finding Petitioner guilty
of a ; offense, which it had the exclusive right to do and

for which there was a reasonbale construction of the evidence.

EG NOON OTS ee

Por example, the jury might well have believed that Petitioner

was somehow involved and knew about the homicide yet found the
evidence insufficient to Support the essential element of
premeditation. Since there were no lessers, the jury should have
acquitted, yet, as this Court has recognized, where a defenant is
guilty of some offense the jury is more likely to resolve its
doubts in favor of conviction, Petitioner's jury had only one
safeguard against the possibility of innocence of first degree
murder; to find Petitioner guilty but to recommend life. That

is exactly what his jury did.

II. THE JURY OVERRIDE AS APPLIED TO THIS CASE

Petitioner will rely upon the discussion in his initial

se THE FACIAL CONSTITUTIONALITY OF THE JURY OVERRIDE

Petitioner will rely upon his initial petition, except to
Challenge Respondent's contention that this issue has been
somehow waived. The single, out of context sentence in Peti-
tioner's Florida Supreme Court brief, upon which Respondent bases
its contention, is no more than an acknowledgment, also made in
Our certiorari petition, that "this Court has suggested that the
Override is constitutional." Petition for Certiorari Petitioner
at 24. Petitioner is aware that lower courts have read this

Court's decisions in Proffitt, Dobbert, and Barclay as fore-

Closing the issue. Id. Most recently, in Douglas v. Wainwright,

714 P.2d 1532, 1552-53 (llth Cir. 1983), the eleventh circuit
held that "whatever the merit of appellant's claim ... under the
decisions in Barclay, Dobbert , and Proffitt, the system of
overriding jury reconsiderations of life imprisonment is not
unconstitutional." It is for this reason that only this Court can
revisit the issue. Petitioner respectfully asks this Court to do
just that.

Moreover, it is clear from Petitioner's motion for rehearing
before the Florida Supreme Court that the facial validity of the

jury override was in issue. Petitioner there argued:

In permitting the death sentence to be imposed
over the jury's life verdict on the basis of
information not presented to the jury, this
Court has deregated the constitutional role of
the jury in Plorida's capital sentencing
system. Pindings regarding the presence or
absence of aggravating or mitigating circum-
stances are findings of fact as to which a
defendant has a Sixth Amendment right to trial
by jury. By allowing a death sentence to be
imposed upon facts not presented to the jury,
the Sixth Amendment guarantee is abrogated. The
principle that death sentences may be imposed
only through the intervention of a jury is
fundamental to our jurisprudence and provides
an essential assurance against disproportion-
ality, excessiveness and arbitrariness in
capital sentencing. Cf. Lockett v. Ohio, 438
u.S. 586, 609 (1978) (reserving the question
regarding the constitutional need for jury
sentencing).

The issue of the facial validity of the override was
squarely presented to the court below.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully Submitted,

RICHARD L. JORANDBY

Public Defender

15th Judicial Circuit of Florida
224 Datura Street/l3th Floor
West Palm Beach, Florida - 33401
(305) 837-2150

MICHAEL A. MELLO
Assistant Public Defender

a ‘

BY jas.
CRAIG S. BARNARD
Chief Assistant Public Defender

Counsel for Petitioner

83-5596

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1983

depositing

postage prepaid, addressed as follows:

Honorable Richard W. Prospect
Assistant Attorney General

125 North Ridgewood Avenue
Daytona Beach, Florida 32014

arties required to be served have been served

day of November, 1983.

CRAIG S. BARNARD

Chief Assistant Public
15th Judicial Circuit
224 Datura Street/l3th
West Palm Beach, Florida
(305) 837-2150

Ovtice - Suprame Court, U.S
ILED

FEB 23 j994

| ALEXANDER L. STEVas

_ ERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

\) EI ERM, 1LY¥8o5

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
Supreme Court Of Florida

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

-

Public Defender
224 Datura Street 13th Floor
West Palm Beach, Florida 33401
305 837-2150

». BARNARD?

f Assistant Public Defender

MICHAEL A. MELLO

Assistant Public Defender

Attorney of Record

PRESS OF BYRON S ADAMS PRINTING. ENG WASHINGTON. De

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a death sentence imposed after :
of guilty of a capital offense violates the Eig
and the Due Process Clause where the jury '
under the state statute of limitations from
dict of guilt of noncapital lesser included of
evidence would have supported a verdict on

2. Whether a trial Judge's override of a jury’s factuall)
based decision against the death penalty contravenes, in al]
cases, the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments?

3. Ifthe override ofa jury's life verdict ‘
its face, are the Florida standards for the override appli
manner that discounts the jury’s consideration of mitigatin
factors and that is so broad and vague as to violate the
stitutional requirement of reliability in the determination t
death is the appropriate punishment in a particular case’

TABLE OF CONTENTS

;UILT OF LESSER INCLUDED OFFENSE
EVIDENCE WouLD Have Supportep Svucu .
j ENDMENT ANI

DICT, VIOLATES THE EIGHTH Am
Due Process CLAUSE
A. Beck Requires Reversal Of Mr. Spaziano’s
Death Sentence
B. The Intolerable Uncertainty And Unrealiabil-
ity Is Not Excused By The Statute Of Limita-
tions ,
A TRIAL JuDGe’s OverRIDE Or A Jury's FAcTUALL’
BaseD Decision AGAINST THE DEATH PENALTY
Must, In ALi Cases, VioLate THE Firtu, Sixtu,
E1GHTH AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS .......
A. TheJury Override Should Be Measured By The
Evolving Standards Concerning The Imposi-
tion Of The Death Penalty '
The Objective Indicia Are That Contemporary
Values Hold A Jury’s Life Sentence Inviolate

Independent Judicial Judgment Confirms The
Unacceptability Of The Jury Override

The Countervailing Considerations Are In-
sufficient To Justify The Override Procedure

1. Florida did not have a compelling reason
for the override procedure

2. Jury nullification is not a factor

Table of Contents Continued
Page
3. The insufficiency of judicial expertise in
capital sentencing
III. THe FLoripa STanparps For THE OVE

MITIGATING Factors AND TuaT Is So Broap ANI
VAGUE As To VIOLATE THE CONSTITUTIONA!
REQUIREMENT OF RELIABILITY IN THE DETERMINA
TION THAT DEATH Is THE APPROPRIATE PUNISHMENT
In A PARTICULAR CASE

CONCLUSION AF

APPENDIX A. Statutory Provisions Involved

APPENDIX B. Florida Jury Override Cases

APPENDIX C. Judge/Jury Roles in Capital Penalty

Determinations: Survey of National
Legislative Practice
vDIx D. Utah Executions and Death Sentences

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:

Adderly v. Wainwright, 272 F.Supp. 530 (M.D. Fla.
1972)

Apodaca v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404 (1972)

Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66 (1970)

Ball v. State, 204 So.2d 523 (Fla. 3d DCA 1967)

Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. 1223 (1978) ........... 21,:
Barclay v. Florida, __. U.S. ___, 108 S.Ct. 3418

Barclay v. State, 343 So.2d 1266 (Fla. 1977) 49, 50
Beck v. Alabama, 447 U.S. 625 (1980) passim
Blankenship v. State, 308 S.E.2d 369 (Ga. 1983)

Bolender v. State, 422 So.2d 833 (Fla. 1982)

Boykin v. Florida, 408 U.S. 940 (1972)

Brown v.

Brown v.

Brown v.

Buford v. State, 403 So.2d 943 (Fla. 1981)

Bullington v. Missouri, 451 U.S. 430
(1981)

Cannady v. State, 427 So.2d 723 (Fla. 1983)
Chaney v. State, 267 So.2d 65 (Fla. 1972)
Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977)

Dobbert v. Florida, 432 U.S. 282 (1977)
Dobbert v. State, 328 So.2d 433 (Fla. 1976)
Dobbert v. State, 375 So.2d 1069 (Fla. 1979)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1686%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
