# Appendix — Alabama Surface Mining Reclamation Commission v. Commercial Standard Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1571%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 467 U.S. 1242

## Text

Bs- 1717

Office - Supreme

Court,
FI
No. LED
APR 21 neq
ALEXANDER
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED qrATES CLERK

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

ALABAMA SURFACE MINING RECLAMATION
COMMISSION,

Petitioner
Vv.
: COMMERCIAL STANDARD INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent

APPENDIX TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE ALABAMA SUPREME COURT

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF
ALABAMA

ROSA H. DAVIS
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY
GENERAL OF ALABAMA

CHARLES A. GRADDICK

Counsel of Record
P. 0. Box 2390
Jasper, Alabama
35502-2390

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Pg.

No.

Description

la

2a

3a

l7a

24a

3la

- + -
y :
Pn a ee

January 27, 1984
Alabama Supreme
Court Order
(Denying Petition
for Certiorari)

October 19, 1983
Alabama Court of
Civil Appeals Order
(Denying a st
tion for rehearing)

September 14, 1983
Alabama Court of
Civil Appeals
(Appeals Opinion)

Tuscaloosa County
Circuit Court
(Order)

Alabama Surface
Mining Reclamation
Commission (Find-
ings and Order)

Text of statutes
cited

APPENDIX A
THE STATE OF ALABAMA--JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
OCTOBER TERM 1983-84

RE: 83-150

EX PARTE: ALABAMA SURFACE MINING
RECLAMATION COMMISSION

RE: COMMERCIAL STANDARD INSURANCE
COMPANY

VS.

ALABAMA SURFACE MINING RECLAMATION
COMMISSION

Petition for Writ of Certiorari denied.
No opinion. January 27, 1984

ADAMS, J. TORBERT, C.J.,
FAULKNER, ALMON & EMBRY,
J. J., CONCUR.

Robert G. Esdale, Clerk
Supreme Court of Alabama

+ >a

i.

ee es
viet

APPENDIX B
THE STATE OF ALABAMA--JUDICIAL DEPAKTMENT
THE COURT OF CIVIL APPEALS OF ALABAMA
OCTOBER TERM, 1983-84

CIV. 3806

COMMERCIAL STANDARD INSURANCE
COMPANY

vs.

- ALABAMA SURFACE MINING RECLAMATION
COMMISSION

Application for rehearing overruled.
ae ceent te on rehearing. October 19,
1 :

John H. Wilkerson, Jr., Clerk, Court
of Civil Appeals of Alabama

John H. Wilkerson, Jr.
Clerk, Court of Civil
Appeals of Alabama

2a

Sh as alia a SAS a ROE ot

APPENDIX C
THE STATE OF ALABAMA--JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
THE COURT OF CIVIL APPEALS OF ALABAMA
OCTOBER TERM 1983-84

CIV. 3806

f

RE: COMMERCIAL STANDARD INSURANCE
COMPANY

VS.

ALABAMA SURFACE MINING RECLAMATION
COMMISS10N

SEPTEMBER 14, 1983

Wright, Presiding Judge

This is an action under the Alabama
Surface Mining Reclamation Act of 1975,
appealed from the Circuit Court of
Tuscaloosa County, Alabama.

On January 12, 1981, verified
complaints were filed with the Alabama
Surface Mining Reclamation Commission

Drew " yateg
id

(herein the Commission) against Hendrix
& Lee, Inc. (herein Hendrix), a company
which had previously been engaged in
surface mining in Tuscaloosa County,
Alabama. The complaints alleged viola-
tions of the Alabama Surface Mining
Reclamation Act of 1975 by Hendrix.

A hearing was held January 27, 1981,
by a hearing examiner. Notice of the
hearing was sent to appellant, Commercial
Standard Insurance Company (herein
Commercial), the surety on the reclama-
tion bonds of Hendrix for the affected
mined area. Commercial appeared by
counscl at the hearing.

No one appeared at the hearing on
behalf of Hendrix which, prior to the
issuance of the complaint, had filed a
Chapter 7 petition in bankruptcy court.

No testimony was taken at the hearing as

the examiner determined that all the
facts delineated in the verified con-
plaints were admitted by Hendrix, due to
its failure to appear.

Counsel for Commercial requested
the right to present evidence, subpoena
witnesses, and cross examine the inspec-
tors who filed the complaint. That
request was denied. However, the exami-
ner allowed Commercial to object on the
record that its constitutional rights to
due process and equal protection were
being violated, and that the examiner
had no jurisdiction under §9-16-15(a),
Code of Alabama 1975.

Subsequently, the examiner issued
an order stating that Hendrix, or any
other party with an interest, should

submit a reclamation timetable to the

Commission. Failing to receive any

timetables, the Commission ordered the
forfeiture of the surety bonds.

Commercial appealed the order to
the Jefferson County Circuit Court, pur-
suant to §9-16-51(b), Code of Alabama
1975. The case was transferred to
Tuscaloosa County Circuit Court. In
April 1983, the Circuit Court of Tusca-
loosa County, after hearing, entered
judgment in favor of the Commission.
Commercial appealed.

Three issues were raised on appeal:
(1) lack of proper jurisdiction under
§9-16-51(a), Code 1975, (2) release of
surety due to a material alteration of
the original obligation, and (3) depri-
vation of Commercial's federal constitu-
tional rights of due process and equal
protection when not allowed to partici-
pate in the hearing before the Commission.

6a

~
3
ie

In resolving the jurisdictional

issue it should be noted that the Alabama
Surface Mining Reclamation Act of 1975
has been repealed by Act No. 81-435, Acts
of Alabama 1981, §38. The 1975 act is
applicable in this case, however, because
it was in effect at the time the cause

of action occurred.

Section 9-16-51l(a) states in per-
tinent part that, "Complaints alleging a
violation of the articles or rules or
regulations of the Commission must, as
a jurisdictional matter, be filed with
the Commission within 90 days of the
event or events giving rise to such
complaint". This court has already held
the section required as a jurisdictional
matter that a verified complaint must be
filed within ninety days. Alabama

Surface Mining Reclamation Commission v_

7a

aa

ee

Jolly, 373 So. 2d 855 (Ala. Civ. App.
1979).

The essential language in dispute
is the meaning of "event or events”
which would activate the jurisdiction of
the Commission to hear a complaint. In
construing a statute several rules of
construction are applicable. The court
is to ascertain and give effect to the
legislature's intent as expressed from

the words of the statute. State v. Steel

City Crane Rental, Inc., 345 So. 2d 1371
(Ala. Civ. App. 1977). A reasonable

construction is to be given as opposed

to a repressive or inconvenient one.

League of Women Voters v. Renfro, 292

Ala. 128, 290 So. 2d 167 (1974). A
statute must be considered in its entirety,
and every word in it should be made

effectual where possible. Alabama State

oe gq

rex

4
G
o

Board of Health ex rel Baxley v. Chambers

County, Alabama, 335 So. 2d 653 (1976).

Morever, a statute susceptible to either
of two opposing interpretations must be
read in the manner which effectuates
rather than frustrates the major purpose

of the legislative draftsman. Shapiro v.

United States, 335 U.S. 1 (1948).

The legislative intent is to provide
for the safe, responsible and reasonable
reclamation of lands which have been
surface mined. §9-16-32(a), Code 1975. |
The legislature has delineated several
objectives of this legislation, one of
which is to ensure the prompt reclamation
of mined surfaces. §9-16-32(i)(3) Code
of Alabama 1975. :
Two different interpretations of the :
language “event or events” are offered
by the parties, neither of which is F

satisfactory. Commercial urges this
court to construe the phrase as meaning
a single act which would start the ninety
day period running. Under Commercial's
interpretation if reclamation has not
commenced within six monvhs of the date
mining began, the ninety-day period for
filing a complaint begins to run. To
adopt Commercial's interpretation would
be unreasonable when applied to continu-
ing and repeated violations and an exten-

ded period of operation. See League of

Women Voters v. Renfroe, 292 Ala. 128,
290 So. 2d 167 (1976).

The Commission, on the other hand,
submits that the failure to reclaim the

land is a continuing act which does not
abate until the land is properly reclainm-
ed and that a complaint is timely filed
if done within ninety days of any day in

10a

which the land or any part thereof remains

unreclaimed. To adopt the Commission's

interpretation would nullify and eliminate

the limitation provision entirely. There
would be a diminished incentive to press

for early reclamation. There would be no
end to the surety's obligation under the

bond. To remove a time limit for enforc-
ing reclamation is to encourage delay of

reclamation.

While a mining operation is ongoing,
the probability of reclamation is likely
to be greater because of a present
financial ability of the operator to
finance reclamation. The incentive and
the means to reclaim are likely to de-
cline once the coal is removed and equip-
ment moved to other and more profitable
operations. A direct and tangible risk

in the Commission's interpretation is

lla

the longer the land lies umreclaimed, the

greater the probability of soil erosion
and increased expenses for the ultimate
reclamation. To permit the authority of
the Commission to hear a complaint to
extend over an unlimited time is to
unreasonably frustrate the legislative
intent of prompt reclamation of land.
Section 9-16-39(g) states that con-
touring of all affected land is to be
completed "within six months from the
date of the completion of operations",
unless prevented by an act of God or
otherwise extended by the director for
reasonable cause. The ninety-day period
thereafter is a limitation on filing a
complaint for failing to complete con-
touring. Thus, in order to give a
reasonable interpretation to the statute

and effectuate the legislative intent,

12a

we interpret the statutory words "event

or events" found in Section 9-61-51l(a)

as meaning that except for an act of God

or extension by the director, the outer

limitation for filing a complaint would

be nine months after the completion of

mining operations.

Though the record does not reveal
the exact date mining operations ceased,
it was stipulated that the Commission
had been aware of Hendrix’ failure to
timely reclaim the land for as long as
fourteen months before the complaint was
filed. It was further stipulated that
Hendrix was in violation of §9-17-39, for
a period substantially in excess of
ninety days prior to the filing of the
complaint. It thus appears that a timely

complaint was not filed. Therefore no

jurisdiction existed in the Commission,

13a

ee ee ee

under the statute, to hear the complaint

against Hendrix. The crucial question is

whether Commercial, as surety, may claim
the benefit of its principal's defense
to the complaint before the Commission.

Under Alabama law, a surety may make

any defense not personal to the principal,

that the principal can. United States

Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Town of Dothan,
174 Ala. 480, 56 So. 953 (1911). Speci-

fically, a surety may assert as a defense

the statute of limitations available to

the principal, State v. Bi-States Con-

struction Co., 269 N. W. 2d 455 (Iowa
1978), even if the principal through

negligence, inadvertence, collusion, or

otherwise, has not raised it. United

States v. Frankini Construction Co., 139

F. Supp. 153 (D. Mass. 1956). See also,
72 C.J.S. Principal and Surety §255 (1951).

l4a

*
Ot Te alt en

Thus, in this case, the surety, Commercial,

could claim the benefit of Hendrix'

defense of the lack of jurisdiction in

the Commission to entertain the complaint
against it.

We find the Commission erred in

denying Commercial the right to appear

and defend in place of its defaulting

principal. The circuit court erred in

entering judgment in favor of the

Commission and by holding therein that

failure to reclaim is a continuing vio-

lation with no limitation upon the filing

of a complaint and hearing thereon by the

Commission. For want of jurisdiction in

the Commission, its orders herein are

void and to no effect. Commercial is due

to be discharged from its obligation as

surety in the instances complained of.

In view of the issue of jurisdiction

15a

Sor. he

being dispositive, we pretermit discus-
sion of other issues presented.
REVERSED AND REMANDED WITH DIRECTION.
BRADLEY and HOLMES, JJ., Concur.

l6a

APPENDIX D
THE STATE OF ALABAMA--JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
TUSCALOOSA COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT

RE: CIV 81-5074

RE: COMMERCIAL STANDARD INSURANCE
COMPANY

VS.

ALABAMA SURFACE MINING RECLAMATION
COMMISSION

APRIL 5, 1983

This cause coming on to be heard,
on appeal from the Alabama Surface Mining
Reclamation Commission (now the Alabama
Surface Mining Commission), pursuant to
§9-16-51, Code of Alabama 1975, and was

submitted to the Court on the pleadings,

17a

exhibits, stipulation of facts, and
memorandum briefs of both parties.

The Court having considered the
pleadings, exhibits, stipulation of facts,
brief of the parties and the applicable
law, makes the following findings and
conclusions of law:

1. The Court finds and the Legis-
lature of Alabama has declared, that it
is the public policy of this State that
all areas surface mined must be reclaimed
and that lands subjected to coal surface
mining and not reclaimed constitute a
peril to the natural resources, economic
well-being of the State and a hazard to
the health and safety of the people of
this State.

2. The Court finds that the pro-
visions of the Alabama Surface Mining

Reclamation Act of 1975, must be construed

18a

so as to give effect to the aforesaid
declaration of public policy and legis-
lature intent.

3. The Court finds and holds that
a failure to reclaim lands affected by
coal surface mining is a violation of
the Alabama Surface Mining Reclamation
Act of 1975, and that this violation is
continuous in nature, i.e., the violation
exists until the land is reclaimed to the
standards required by law. To hold other-
wise would be to defeat the manifest
intentions of the legislature.

4. The Court finds and holds that
the verified complaints in this case were
timely filed with the Defendant Commis-
sion and sufficient to invoke its juris-
diction to hold administrative hearings
and enter appropriate orders to bring

the mine operator into compliance with

19a

p
s
Lie

the provisions of the Alabama Surface
Mining Reclamation Act of 1975.

5. The Court finds and holds that
there were no violations of due process
in the hearings before the Defendant
Commission or in the order of the Defen-
dant Commission in declaring Plaintiff's
surety bonds forfeited and payable into
the Alabama Surface Mining Reclamation
Fund.

6. The Court finds and holds that
the orders of the Commission, requiring
Plaintiff to either perform in its prin-
cipal's place or to pay the funds due
under its surety bond, although not a
judicial determination of forfeiture, and
of no force or effect as a judicial for-
feiture, are sufficient demands on the
surety to perform its obligations, and

is reasonable and lawful under the cir-

20a

cumstances presented, and supported by
a clear preponderance of the evidence.

7. The Court finds and holds that
Plaintiff is obligated unto the State of
Alabama as per the terms of its surety
agreement, and that Plaintiff may either
perform in the place of its principal or
pay the sums due under its bond.

8. The Court finds that the Plain-
tiff is not entitled to the relief
prayed for.

Accordingly, it is CONSIDERED,
ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED BY THE
COURT :

1. The judgment be and is hereby
entered in favor of the Defendant and
against Plaintiff.

2. That the orders of the Alabama
Surface Mining Reclamation Commission
requiring Plaintiff to pay sums due under

2la

bond are reasonable and lawful and
supported by a clear preponderance of
the evidence and Plaintiff is ordered
to comply with the orders of the Commis-
sion.
3. That costs accrued herein be
and are hereby taxed against Plaintiff,
and if not paid let execution issue,
and if execution is returned not found,
then costs are taxed against Defendant.
4. That the Clerk shall cause a
copy of this order to be delivered to
the parties by placing a copy of same in
the United States Mail, to the attorneys
of record.
DONE and ORDERED, this the 5th day
of April, 1983.
I, Doris T. Turner, Clerk, Circuit Court
Registry Division, do hereby certify that
the ry ey x a full, true and correct

copy of the instrument(s) herewith set
out as same appears of record in said

22a

Court.
Witness my hand this

April, 1983.

/s/ Doris T. Turner
Clerk, Circuit Court
County, Alabama

the 5th day of

of Tuscaloosa

| hes...
=, ees
~ =a

- §

.
=¥
os
*
ae
3
a
a
é
ag
4

APPENDIX E
BEFORE THE ALABAMA SURFACE
MINING RECLAMATION COMMISSION
MARCH 12, 1981

Frank Evans, Inspector
for the State of Alabama,

Complainant
v. No: F 81-030,
F 81-032,
Hendrix and Lee, Inc., F 81-033,
Eddie Hendrix, as Presi- F 81-034,
dent and Responsible Officer F 81-035

and John C. Coggins, III,
as Designated Agent for
Service,

Respondents

Pursuant to the provisions of the
Alabama Surface Mining Reclamation Act
of 1975, a public hearing in the above-
styled cause was held on February 25,
1981, before the Honorable Virgil Willett,
Director of the Commission and acting
Hearing Examiner. The Commission was

24a

represented by Marlin V. MacLaughlin,
Jr., Assistant Attorney General. The
Respondents were not represented though
duly served and notified by Ronald J. F.
Reeves, Assistant Attorney General,
January 27, 1981. At that time, Mr.
Eddie Hendrix was in the office of the
Alabama Surface Mining Reclamation
Commission and acknowledged that he had
knowledge of the various Hendrix and Lee
cases. At that time he further stated
that he was attempting to work the
problem of untimely reclamation out with
the Receiver in Bankruptcy. Relying on
the evidence as shown in the official
transcript of this hearing, the Commission
hereby FINDS:

It is noted that proper service of
notice is verified, the Citation and
Order with attached Verified Complaint

25a

having been mailed and the Respondent,
Eddie Hendrix, having been in the office
of the Commission and acknowledged the
Dockets before Ronald J. F. Reeves,
Assistant Attorney General, January 27,
1981. The Respondent has failed to
appear or be represented as ORDERED.

A representative of the surety company,
Commercial Standard Insurance Company,
being, Thomas Stewart, Attorney, was
present at the hearing. Relying on the
allegations contained in the Citation
and Order as represented by the attached
Verified Complaint for which there is no
dispute, namely, lack of timely reclama-
tion and in consideration of the apparent
Bankrupt status of Hendrix and Lee, Inc.,
on acreage disturbed or affected under
Permit P-1899, P-1867, P-1898, P-2020,
P-1753, the following ORDER is issued:

26a

It is hereby ORDERED that Hendrix
and Lee, Inc., or any other party with
an interest, submit or cause to be sub-
mitted a reclamation timetable in writing
acceptable to the Commission addressing
the specific steps to be taken to com-
pletely reclaim the acreage affected
under permits P-1899, P-1867, P-1898,
P-2020, and P-1753, including grading,
contouring, soil testing, the addition
of appropriate soil amendments and seed-
ing so that complete reclamation shall
be accomplished by May 15, 1982, exclu-
sive of the two (2) necessary growing
seasons within which to establish
permanent vegetative cover. Said
reclamation timetable shall be due with-
in sixty (60) days of the date of this

ORDER. Failure to receive a satisfactory

27a

reclamation timetable within sixty (60)
days of the date of this ORDER as out-
lined above, the applicable bonds, be it
a corporate surety bond or in the form of
other securities, are deemed FORFEITED
the sixty-first (6lst) day following the
date of this ORDER. However, where a
corporate surety bond is involved, the
surety may submit or cause to be sub-
mitted the required reclamation time-
table in writing satisfactory to the
Commission outlining the specific steps
to be taken to achieve complete reclama-
tion exclusive of the necessary two (2)
growing seasons for the establishment of
permanent vegetative cover, no later than
May 31, 1982. Said surety shall have an
additional thirty (30) days within which
to submit the required reclamation time-
table. Failure by Hendrix and Lee, Inc.,

28a

* * q = eile 2 , : ; + hs | +
ig > Stee 4 RE te RTA ee St ERY ee oe ee ee Speight

any party in interest or the corporate
surety to submit the required reclamation
timetable within ninety (90) days of the
date of this ORDER, the applicable bonds
on permits P-1899, P-1867, P-1898, P-2020,
P-1753 are immediately FORFEITED and the
funds thereunder DUE and PAYABLE on the
ninety-first (9lst) day from the date of
this ORDER into the Alabama Surface
Mining Reclamation Fund for the reclama-
tion of the affected acreage under Permits
P-1899, P-1867, P-1898, P-2020, P-1753.

It is further ORDERED that based
upon the Bankrupt status of Hendrix and
Lee, Inc., and upon the presumed inabili-
ty to perform the obligations under State
Law and Regulations and due to the con-
tinued failure to comply with previous
Notices of Violations and Orders of this
Commission, the license of Hendrix and |

29a

Lee, Inc. , being L-237, is immediately
REVOKED.
ORDERED BY THE COMMISSION, this
the 12th day of March, 1981.
ATTEST: A true copy

/s/ Virgil Willett
Virgil fittert :

Director for the
Commission

The above is a consolidation of the
five administrative orders issued in the
case. The orders are identical except
for the reference to permit numbers and
administrative docket numbers.

30a

APPENDIX F

STATUTES INVOLVED

Ala. Code §9-16-31:

The following words and phrases,
unless a different meaning is plainly
required by the context, shall have the
following meanings:... "Operator" means
the person, firm, corporation, partner-
ship or any other entity conducting coal
surface mining.

Ala. Code §9-16-32(a):

The objective of this Act is to
provide for the safe, responsible and
reasonable reclamation of lands upon
which surface disturbances will be
created by surface mining of coal so as
to protect the taxable value of property
and preserve natural resources within

the State and to protect and promote

3la

the health and safety of the people of
this State consistent with the protec-
tion of property and with maximum emp loy-
ment and the economic and industrial well-
being of the State. The Legislature
finds and declares that the extraction

of coal by surface mining provides a
major present and future source of energy
and is an essential and necessary
activity which contributes to the econo-
mic and material well-being of the State.
Ala. Code §9-16-34(23) (a):

In addition to any other powers
conferred on it by law, the Commission
shall have the power to:.... Enforce
the provisions of section 502 of the
federal Surface Mining Control and
Reclamation Act of 1977 (Pub. L. 95-87)
and Parts 700.5, 710.5, 710.11, 710.12,
715-718 of the Interim Surface Mining

32a

Regulations promulgated thereunder, and
any subsequent amendments or revisions
to said regulations.
Ala. Code §9-16-39(g):

Regrading shall begin within six
(6) months after the beginning of opera-
tions, unless such regrading is prevented
by act of God such as unseasonable wea-
ther or labor disputes or unless other-
wise extended by the Director for reason-
able cause, provided however that in
those operations where the mining method
utilized would result in the placing of
over-burden on regraded areas, such
regrading shall be commenced as soon as
practicable compatible with such mining
method, provided further that the
applicant shall complete the contouring
of all affected land within six (6)

months from the date of the completion of

33a

operations, unless such regrading is
prevented by act of God such as unsea-
sonable weather or labor disputes or
unless otherwise extended by the Director
for reasonable cause.

Ala. Code §9-16-44(a), (b):

After a coal surface mining permit
application has been approved but before
such a permit is issued, the applicant
shall file with the Commission, on a
form prescribed and furnished by the
Commission, a bond for performance pay-
able to the State, and conditioned upon
faithful performance of all the require-
ments of this Act and the coal surface
mining permit. The bond shall cover the
to be affected area of iand within the
permit area upon which the operator will
initiate and conduct surface coal mining

and reclamation operations within the

34a

initial term of the permit. As succeed-
ing increments of surface coal mining and
reclamation operations are to be initiat-
ed and conducted within the permit area,
the permittee shall file with the Comn-
ission an additional bond or bonds to
cover such increments in accordance with
this section. The amount of the bond
required for each bonded area shall be
One Thousand Two Hundred ($1,200.00)
Dollars, per acre to be bonded, but in no
case shall the bond be less than Ten
Thousand ($10,000.00) Dollars per permit.
Liability under the bond shall be
for the duration of the surface coal
mining and reclamation operation and for
a period coincident with the operator's
responsibility for revegetation require-

ments as provided in this Act. Upon

successful revegetation and acceptance by

the Commission, the operator's responsi-
bility shall completely terminate and the
remaining portion of bond released.

Ala. Code §9-16-51(a):

Whenever a verified complaint is
filed with the Commission, alleging that
any operator is in violation of this Act,
or rules and regulations of the Commis-
sion, the Commission may cause to have
issued and served upon the person alleged
to be committing such violation a written
notice which shall specify the provision
of this Act and/or the rules and regula-
tions of the Commission which such opera-
tor allegedly is violating, and a state-
ment of the manner in, and the extent to
which said operator is alleged to violate
this Act and/or the rules and regulations
of the Commission, and shall require the

person so complained against to answer

36a

the charges of such formal complaint at

a hearing before the Commission at a

time not less than ten (10) days or more
than thirty (30) days after the service
of notice. At the request of the Commis-
sion or of the charged operator, the
Director shall issue subpoenas requiring
the attendance of witnesses and the pro-
duction of such evidence as may be rele-
vant to such hearing. The charged
operator may appear in person or by coun-
sel at such hearing. Testimony shall be
taken under oath and recorded stenographi-
cally at such hearing and the charged
operator shall have the right to cross-
examine witnesses at such hearing. A
copy of the record of such hearing shall
be furnished to the charged operator

upon payment of the cost of such copy.

The Commission shall enter such order as

it deems appropriate on the basis of the
facts presented, which order may include
a civil penalty of not more than $10,000
based on the severity of the offense or
offenses found in such order. The
Commission shall forthwith mail a copy
thereof to the charged operator or its
attorney of record. If such order of
the Commission is not complied with, the
Commission may commence proceedings under
Section 17 of this Act. The filing of a
verified complaint alleging a violation
of this Act, or rules or regulations of
the Commission, shall be deemed to in-
clude all identical occurences of the
offense alleged and no further complaint
relating to such offense may be filed
pending the final resolution of such
complaint pursuant to this section.
Complaints alleging a violation of the

38a

Act, rules or regulations of the Commis-
sion must as a jurisdictional matter be
filed within ninety (90) days of the event
or events giving rise to such complaint.
28 U.S.C. §1257 (3):

Final judgments or decrees rendered
by the highest court of a State in which

a decision could be had, may be reviewed

By writ of certiorari, where the validity
of a treaty or statute of the United
States is drawn in question or where the
validity of a State statute is drawn in
question on the ground of its being repug-
nant to the Constitution, treaties or
laws of the United States, or where any
title, right, privilege or immunity is
specially set up or claimed under the
Constitution, treaties or statutes of, or
commission held or authority exercised
under the United States.

39a

30 U.S.C. §1201:

The Congress finds and declares
that ----

(a) extraction of coal and other
minerals from the earth can be accomplish-
ed by various methods of mining, includ-
ing surface mining;

(b) coal mining operations present-
ly contribute significantly to the
Nation's energy requirements; surface
coal mining constitutes one method of
extraction of the resource; the over-
whelming percentage of the Nation's coal
reserves can only be extracted by under-
ground mining methods, and it is, there-
fore, essential to the national interest
to insure the existence of an expanding

and economically healthy underground

coal mining industry; a
(c) many surface Wie

result in disturbances of surface areas
that burden and adversely affect commerce
and the public welfare by destroying or
diminishing the utility of land for
commercial, industrial, residential,
recreational, agricultural, and forestry
purposes, by causing erosion and land-
slides, by contributing to floods, by
polluting the water, by destroying fish
and wildlife habitats, by impairing natu-
ral beauty, by damaging the property of
citizens, by creating hasards dangerous
to life and property (,) by degrading the
quality of life in local commmities,
and by counteracting governmental pro-
grams and efforts to conserve soil, water,
and other natural resources;

(d) the expansion of coal mining to
meet the Nation's energy needs makes even

more urgent the establishment of appro-

. 4la

a i

priate standards to minimize damage to

the environment and to productivity of
the soil and to protect the health and
safety of the public;

(e) surface mining and reclamation
technology are now developed so that
effective and reasonable regulation of
surface coal mining operations by the
States and by the Federal Government in
accordance with the requirements of this
Act is an appropriate and necessary means
to minimize so far as practicable the
adverse social, economic, and environ-
mental effects of such mining operations;

(f) because of the diversity in
terrain, climate, biologic, chemical, and
other physical conditions in areas sub-
ject to mining operations, the primary
governmental responsibility for develop-

ing, authorizing, issuing, and enforcing

42a

regulations for surface mining and re-
clamation operations subject to this Act
should rest with the States;

(g) surface mining and reclamation
standards are essential in order to in-
sure that competition in interstate
commerce among sellers of coal produced
in different States will not be used to
undermine the ability of the several
States to improve and maintain adequate
standards on coal mining operations with-
in their borders;

(h) there are a substantial number
of acres of land throughout major regions
of the United States disturbed by surface
and underground coal [mining operations]
on which little or no reclamation was
conducted, and the impacts from these

unreclaimed lands impose social and

economic costs on residents in nearby and

adjoining areas as well as continuing to
impair environmental quality;

(i) while there is a need to regu-
late surface mining operations for min-
erals other than coal, more data and
analyses are needed to serve as a basis
for effective and reasonable regulation
of such operations;

(j) surface and underground coal
mining operations affect interstate com-
merce, contribute to the economic well-
being, security, and general welfare of
the Nation and should be conducted in an
environmentally sound manner; and

(k) the cooperative effort establish-
ed by this Act is necessary to prevent or
mitigate adverse environmental effects
of present and future surface coal min-
ing operations.

30 U.S.C. §1202:

+> i ' - > - aah he , .
oe es “eh tS ere eae” 2 rw. . oes ~

It is the purpose of this Act to --

(a) establish a nationwide program
to protect society and the environment
from the adverse effects of surface coal
mining operations ;

(b) assure that the rights of sur-
face landowners and other persons with
a legal interest in the land or appur-
tenances thereto are fully protected from
such operations;

(c) assure that surface mining
operations are not conducted where recla-
mation as required by this Act is not
feasible;

(d) assure that surface coal mining
operations are so conducted as to protect
the environment ;

(e) assure that adequate procedures
are undertaken to reclaim surface areas

as contemporaneously as possible with

. 45a

the surface coal mining operations;

(f) assure that the coal supply
essential to the Nation's energy require-
ments, and to its economic and social
well-being is provided and strike a bal-
ance between protection of the environ-
ment and agricultural productivity and
the Nation's need for coal as an essential
source of energy;

(g) assist the States in developing
and implementing a program to achieve
the purposes of this Act;

(h) promote the reclamation of
mined areas left without adequate reclama-
tion prior to the enactment of this Act
{enacted Aug. 3, 1977] and which continue,
in their unreclaimed condition, to sub-
stantially degrade the quality of the
environment, prevent or damage the bene-

ficial use of land or water resources, or

endanger the health or safety of the
public;

(i) assure that appropriate pro-
cedures are provided for the public
participation in the development, revi-
sion, and enforcement of regulations,
standards, reclamation plans, or programs
established by the Secretary or any
State under this Act;

(j) provide a means for develop-
ment of the data and analyses necessary
to establish effective and reasonable
regulation of surface mining operations
for other minerals;

(k) encourage the full utilization
of coal resources through the develop-
ment and application of underground
extraction technologies;

(1) stimulate, sponsor, provide
for and/or supplement present programs
for the conduct of research investiga-

tions, experiments, and demonstrations,

47a a

in the exploration, extraction, process-
ing, development, and production of
minerals and the training of mineral
engineers and scientists in the field of
mining, minerals resources, and techno-
logy, and the establishment of an appro-
priate research and training center in
various States; and

(m) wherever necessary, exercise
the full reach of Federal constitutional
powers to insure the protection of the
public interest through effective control
of surface coal mining operations.

30 U.S.C. §1253:

Each State in which there are or may |
be conducted surface coal mining opera-
tions on non-Federal lands, and which
wishes to assume exclusive jurisdiction

over the regulation of surface coal min-

ing and reclamation operations, except as

provided in sections 521 and 523 and
title IV of this Act [30 USCS §§1271,
1273 and 1231 et seq.], shall submit to
the Secretary, by the end of the eigh-
teenth-month period beginning on the date
of enactment of this Act [enacted Aug. 3,
1977], a State program which demonstrates
that such State has the capability of

carrying out the provisions of this Act

and meeting its purposes through ---

(1) a State law which provides for
the regulation of surface coal mining
and reclamation \operations in accordance
with the requirements of this Act;

(2) a State law which provides
sanctions for violations of State laws,
regulations, or conditions of permits
concerning surface coal mining and recla-
mation operations, which sanctions shall
meet the minimum requirements of this Act,

including civil and criminal actions,

forfeiture of bonds, suspensions, revo-
cations, and withholding of permits, and
the issuance of cease-and-desist orders
by the State regulatory authority or its
inspectors;

(3) a State regulatory authority
with sufficient administrative and tech-
nical personnel, and sufficient funding
to enable the State to regulate surface
coal mining and reclamation operations
in accordance with the requirements of
this Act; wok

(4) a State law which provides for
the effective implementations [implemen -

tation], maintenance, and enforcement of

a permit system, meeting the requirements | ‘att
of this title for the regulations [regu-

Saf

lation] of surface coal and recla-

x
” 4

mation operations for coal on

‘

?

. _
tN
are ape

with- a
PTA ;
Hoke, H8 i:
ae ee!
4 bay i, Pa 7 aI
r

ie
_
id

in the State;

(5) establishment of a process for
the designation of areas as unsuitable
for surface coal mining in accordance
with section 522 [30 USCS §1272] provided
that the designation of Federal lands
unsuitable for mining shall be performed
exclusively by the Secretary after con-
sultation with the State; and |

(6) establishment for the purpose
of avoiding duplication, of a process for
coordinating the review and issuance of
permits for surface coal mining and recla-,
mation operations with any other Federal
or State permit process applicable to the
proposed operations; and

(7) rules and regulations consis- ‘ga

tent with regulations issued by the

Secretary pursuant to this Act.
(b) Approval; prerequisites. The

Tey vat
\

Secretary shall not approve any State
program submitted under this section un-
til he has ---

(1) solicited and publicly dis-
closed the views of the Administrator of
the Environment ai Protection Agency, the
Secretary of Agriculture, and the heads
of other Federal agencies concerned with
or having special expertise pertinent to
the propos¢d State program;

(2) / obtained the written concur-
rence of the ere of the si espe
mental ‘Pebtect ion Agency with respect to

choke. aspects of a State program which

relate to air or water quality standards
promulgated under the authority of the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act, as
amended (33 U.S.C. 1151-1175), and the
Clean Air Act, as amended (42 U.S.C. 1857

et seq.);

(3) held at least one public hear-
ing on the State program within the
State; and

(4) found tnat the State has the
legal authority and qualified personnel
necessary for the enforcement of the
environmental protection standards.

The Secretary shall approve or disapprove
a State program, in whole or in part,
within six full calendar months after
the date such State program was submitted 5
to him. | | fe
(c) Notice of disapproval. If the

Secretary disapproves any proposed
State program in whole or in part, he
shall notify the State in writing of his
decision and set forth in detail the
reasons therefor. The State shall have
sixty days in which to resubmit a revised
State program or portion thereof. The

wee Se,

Secretary shall approve or disapprove
the resubmitted State program or portion
thereof within sixty days from the date
of resubmission.

(d) Inability of State to take

ee *, 3 , . . ”
a> 2 At > *. a Md.) Gee See

action because of injunction. For the
purposes of this section and section 504
{30 USCS §1254], the inability of a State
to take any action the purpose of which
is to prepare, submit or enforce a State

program, or any portion thereof, because

the action is enjoined by the issuance
of an injunction by any court of compe-
tent jurisdiction shall not result in a
loss of eligibility for financial assis-
tance under titles IV and VII of this
Act [30 U.S.C.S §§1231 et se. 1251 et
seq.] or in the imposition of a Federal iy
program. Regulation of the surface coal
mining and reclamation operations covered

or to be covered by the State program
subject to the injunction shall be con-
ducted by the State pursuant to section
502 of this Act [30 USCS §1252], wtil
such time as the injunction terminates

or for one year, whichever is shorter,

at which time the requirements of sections
503 and 504 [30 USCS §§1253, 1254] shall
again be fully applicable.

30 U.S.C. §1255(a):

No state law or regulation in effect
on the date of enactment of this Act
[Aug. 3, 1977], or which may become
effective thereafter, shall be superseded
by any provision of this Act of any regu-
lation issued pursuant thereto, except

insofar as such State law or regulation
is inconsistent with the provisions of
this Act. |

ma"

ae
‘ “a

30 U.S.C. §1269(c) (3):

When the operator has completed
successfully all surface coal mining
and reclamation activities, the release
of the remaining portion of the bond,
but not before the expiration of the
period specified for operator responsi-
bility in section 515 (§1265), provided,
however: that no bond shall be fully
released until all reclamation require-
ments of this Act are fully met.

30 U.S.C. §1271(d):

As a condition of approval of any
State program submitted pursuant to
section 503 of this Act [30 USCS §1253],
the enforcement provisions thereof shall,
at a minimum, incorporate sanctions no k
less stringent than those set forth in i
this section, and shall contain the same

or similar procedural requirements rela-

ting thereto. Nothing herein shall be
construed so as to eliminate any addition-
al enforcement rights or procedures which
are available under State law to a State
regulatory authority but which are not

specifically enumerated herein.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1571%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
