# Petitioners Reply Brief — Brown v. Brown

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1556%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 467 U.S. 1242

## Text

[ Office - Supreme Court,

Docket No. 83-1689 JUN 6 mage
SEER? STEVAS,
CLERK

FILED

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1983

KAY J. BROWN, Administratrix of the
Estate of Edward Carol Brown, deceased,
KAY J. BROWN, Individually,
RONNIE EDWARD BROWN, an infant Fy ‘is
Guardian ad litem, Wiley G. Gary, and
TIMOTHY EARL HOGGARD,
Petitioners,

V.

PATRICIA ANN BROWN
and
ALLIED TOWING CORPORATION,
Respondents.

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

Alan P. Owens

SMITH & OWENS
250 Monticello Arcade
Post Office Box 3646

Norfolk, Virginia 23514
(804) 622-1621

Counsel for Petitioners
see ees

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CASES

I. CORRECTION OF ERRONEOUS
FACTUAL STATEMENTS

II. THE ADMINISTRATRIX AS
PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE
IS THE PROPER PARTY CHARGED

WITH MAINTAINING ALL ASPECTS

OF THIS MARITIME WRONGFUL

DEATH CLAIM

III. SUPPLEMENTAL LAW

ROSEMARY MCKENNEY STANDBRIDGE,

INDIVIDUALLY, ETC

JOHN DALE TAYLOR,

CIVIL ACTION NO.
CONCL USION

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

+, ET AL V.
ET AL.
83-0609-R

ii

10

ll
15
17

TABLE OF CASES

Allied Towing Corporation v.
Tatem, 580 F.2d 702
(4th Cir. 1978) 4

American Railroad Co. of
Porto Rico yv. Birch,
224 U.S. 547 8

Briggs v. Pennsylvania R. Co.,
153 F2d 841, 84 (2nd Cir.
1946) 9

Complaint of Allied Towing
Corporation, 416 F.Supp. 1207
(D.C.Va. 1976) 3

Complaint of Cosmopolitan Ship Co.
S.A., 453 F.Supp 265 (SD
NY 1978) 9

Ford v. Wooten, 681 F.2d 712,
llth Cir. 1982), cert den
103 S.Ct. 1187, 51 LW
3611 (1983) 11

Foremost Insurance Co. v.
Richardson, 457 U.S. 668,
73 L.Ed2d 300, reh. den.
74 L.Ed2d 160 (1982) 10,15

Futch v. Midland Enterprises,
Inc., 471 F2d 1195 (Sth
Cir. 1973) 8

Green v. Ross, 338 F.Supp 365
(DC SD Fla 1972) aff'd.
481 F.2d 102, cert den 414
U.S. 1068 8

ii

Griffith v. Wheeling Pittsburgh
Steel Corp., 521 F.2d 3l
(1975) cert den. 423 U.S.
1054 5

Ivy v. Security Barge Lines,
Inc., 606 F.2d 254 (5th
Cir. 1979) cert de4n 446
U.S. 956 (1980) 8

Mobil Oil Corp. v. Higginbotham
Administratrix, 436 U.S.
618 (1977) 7

The Pan Two, 26 F.Supp. 990, 993
(DC MD 1939) 10

Standbridge, Indiv., etc. v.
John Dale Taylor, et al.,
Civil Action 83-0609-R
(EDVA) (unreported ) ll

Statutes

33 U.S.C., Section 901 et seq.
Longshoreman's and Harbor
Workers' Compensation
Act 2,3,4,7,15

33 U.S.C., Section 905
Longshoreman's and Harbor
Workers' Compensation Act 6

45 U.S.C., Section 51
Federal Employees Liability
Act 8

46 U.S.C. Section 688
The Jones Act 7

46 U.S.C., Section 761, et seq.
Death on the High
Seas Act 7

iii

DOCKET NO. 83-1689

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1983
KAY J. BROWN, Administratrix of the
Estate of Edward Carol Brown, deceased,
KAY J. BROWN, Individually,
RONNIE EDWARD BROWN, an infant by his
Guardian ad litem, Wiley G. Gary, and
TIMOTHY EARL HOGGARD,
Petitioners
Vv.
PATRICIA ANN BROWN
and

ALLIED TOWING CORPORATION,

Respondents

PETITIONERS' REPLY BRIEF

I.

CORRECTION OF ERRONEOUS
FACTUAL STATEMENTS

Respordent in her brief made the

following erroneous statements to which

petitioners point out the references in
the record which disclose the error
therein,

A. At page 5 of Respondent's Brief
she makes the totally false assertion
"that there was no indication whatever
in the Motion for Judgment, nor at any

time thereafter in the State

proceedings, that the Administratrix's
action was brought pursuant to the
Longshoreman's and Harbor Workers'
Compensation Act, 33 U.8.C., Section
901, et seq. (LHWCA)." She then states
that the first time the LHWCA was
mentioned by the Administratrix was in
her Petition for Rehearing in the
Virginia Supreme Court.

Paragraphs 7 and 8 (App F3-F4) of
the Administratrix's Motion for Judgment
deal specifically with Allied's

unsuccessful summary judgment attempt to

”"
ny

a |
~ 7 “i

bar her claim under the 1972 Amendments
to the LHWCA. Appended to her Motion
for Judgment as Exhibit "B" was the U.S.
District Court Order and Opinion dated
August 2, 1976, which appears herein as

Complaint of Allied Towing Corp.,

(EDVA 1976) 416 F.Supp. 1207 (App
J1-3J16). That entire opinion which was
made a portion of the Administratrix's
Motion for Judgment deals with her right
and that of the other then plaintiffs to
assert their causes of action under the
LHWCA. Judge Winston's opinion from the
Circuit Court of the City of Norfolk
(App. D1-D27) at D3, specifically refers
to the Administratrix's right to proceed
under the LHWCA.

Curiously Respondent on page 4 of
her Brief cites both the Motion for

Judgment and the opinion granting the

Administratrix's right to proceed under

the LHWCA. Petitioners' right to
proceed under the LHWCA was expressly

affirmed in Allied Towing Corp. v.

Tatem, (4th Cir. 1978) 580 F.2d 702
(App I-1-112). Fatricia Ann Brown
received LHWCA compensation from her
father's death in 1975 until this matter
was settled in 1980, a period in excess
of 5 years.

Additionally, Paragraphs 3 and 8 of
the Administratrix's Motion for Judgment
against Allied, decedent's employer and
the vessel owner, contain language,
appropriate to an action brought under
the LHWCA. Paragraph 3 (App F2) charges.
"negligence of the defendant acting as a
shipowner" while Paragraph 8 (App F4)
alleges the "vessel ATC 3060 guilty of
non-excluded owner occasioned negligence

which contributed to the explosion."

This is the exact language of Griffith

v. Wheeling Pittsburgh Steel

Corporation, 521 F.2d 31 (1975) cert.

den. 423 U.S. 1054, which was relied on
by both the District Court and Fourth
Circuit in affirming that the
Administratrix has "a cause of action in
negligence against their employer in its
capacity as owner of the ATC 3060" (App
J7 and J8).

B. Respondent states that "the
Virginia Supreme Court remanded the case
to the trial court solely for the
purpose of having the sum awarded
Hoggard redistributed among the other
three claimants, Kay Brown, Ronnie Brown
and Patricia." In fact the Virginia
Supreme Court remanded “the case for
further proceedings not inconsistent

with the views expressed in this

opinion" (App A22) i.e. “Kay's cause of

action is cognizable only under Virginia

law" (App A20).

II.

THE ADMINISTRATRIX AS PERSONAL
REPRESENTATIVE OF THE DECEDENT IS THE
PROPER PARTY CHARGED WITH MAINTAINING
ALL ASPECTS OF THIS MARITIME WRONGFUL
DEATH CLAIM.

While it is Petitioners' belief and
intent that all persons named as
Petitioners in the style are petitioning
parties properly before the Court, the
Petitioner Kay J. Brown, Administratrix
as the personal representative of her
deceased husband is the proper party
charged with maintaining all aspects of
this maritime wrongful death act claim.

In a third party wrongful death
claim under Section 33 U.S.C., Section

905 LHWCA (App Ll), the Act provides “an

injured employee, or his legal

representative in case death results

from the injury, may elect to claim

compensation under the Act, or maintain
an action at law or in admiralty for
damages on account of such injury or
death." (Emphasis added)

Under the general maritime law,
this Court has directed that the Death
on the High Seas Act, 46 U.S.C. 761, be
the primary guide for the lower “courts
as they refine the non-statutory death

remedy." Mobil Oil Corp. vy,

Higginbotham, 436 U.S. 618, 624.

The Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. 688, like
DOSHA and LHWCA vests the wrengful death
cause of action in the “personal
representative of the decedent."

Cases interpreting these federal
statutes and the general maritime law

have uniformly held that "only the

personal representative and not the

beneficiary has the right to sue." Ivy

v. Security Barge Lines, Inc., 585 F.2d

732 (5th Cir. 1978); Futch v. Midland

Enterprises, Inc., 471 F.2d 1195 (5th

Cir. 1973); Green v. Ross, 338 F.Supp

365 (DC SD Fla. 1972) aff'd. 481 F.2d
102, cert. denied 414 U.S. 1068 (wherein
a dependent stepchild was held to be a
permissive beneficiary).

This Court has interpreted similar
language in the Federal Employers
Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. Section 51. In

American Railroad Co. of Porto Rico v.

Birch, 224 U.S. 547, the widow and son
of a deceased railroad worker brought an
action as sole beneficiaries and the
lower court held that they should not be
compelled to have an administrator
appointed for purposes of suit. This

Court reversed although a full jury

trial had been held.

"But the words of the act will
not yield to such a liberal
construction, They are too
clear to be other than
strictly followed. They give
an action for damages to the
person injured, or, ‘in case
of his death, .. . to his oz
her personal representative.'

-((T)his distinction
between the parties to sue and
the parties to be benefited by
the suit makes clear the
purposes of Congress. To this
purpose we must yield."

At U.S. 557.

The term “personal representative"
requires some designation by a court
that the individual seeking to prosecute
the wrongful death action is an
administrator of the decedent's estate.

Complaint of Cosmopolitan Ship Co.,

£.A., 453 F.Supp 265 (SDNY 1978).
Congress intended that the “personal
representative" receive his or her

authority from a state, See Briggs v.

Pennsylvania R. Co. (2d Cir. 1946) 153

F.2d 841, 84; The Pan Two, (DC MD

1939) 26 F.Supp. 990, 993.
Kay J. Brown is the court appointed

personal representative and as such is

the only person procedurally capable of

bringing this action,

III.

S'"?PLEMENTAL LAW

While Brown v. Brown was not

expressly mentioned, Judge D. Dortch
Warriner of the Eastern District of
Virginia, in an opinion order dated
March 29, 1984, refused to dismiss an
action on the ground “that no maritime
action for wrongful death in State
waters based on negligence exists."

Judge Warriner relying on Foremost

Insurance Co. v. Richardson, 457 U.S.

«aie

F.2d 841, 84; The Pan Two, (DC MD

1939) 26 F.Supp. 990, 993.

Kay J. Brown is the court appointed
personal representative and as such is
the only person procedurally capable of

bringing this action,

IIl.

SUPPLEMENTAL LAW

While Brown v. Brown was not

expressly mentioned, Judge D. Dortch
Warriner of the Eastern District of
Virginia, in an opinion order dated
March 29, 1984, refused to dismiss an
action on the ground "that no maritime
action for wrongful death in State
waters based on negligence exists."

Judge Warriner relying on Foremost

Insurance Co. v. Richardson, 457 U.S.

-ll-

668 (1982) refused to follow that

portion of Ford v. Wooten, 681 F.2d

712 (llth Cir. 1982) relied on by the
Virginia Supreme Court and respondent
herein.

Judge Warriner's opinion is set

forth in full hereafter.

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
RICHMOND DIVISION

ROSEMARY MCKENNEY STANDBRIDGE,
Individually, etc., et al.

Vv. CIVIL ACTION NO. 83-0609R
JOHN DALE TAYLOR, et al
OPINION

The Court has before it a number of
motions in this consolidated action.
They have been fully briefed.

The defendants' motion to dismiss
the action on the ground that no

maritime action for wrongful death in

ol 2x

State waters based on negligence exists,

is DENIED.

Ford v. Wooten, 681 F.2d 712
(llth Cir. 1982) was decided barely a
month after Foremost Insurance Co. v.
Richardson, 457 U.S. 668 (1982). The
author of Ford is, so far az I am
concerned, a prime authority on any
aspect of the law. As a matter of pure
fact I doubt there is any more
respectable authority but as a matter of
law there are two: the Court of Appeais
for the Fourth Circuit and the United
States Supreme Court. Obviously,
Foremost had not come into Judge
Hoffman's hands at the time he wrote
Ford. Would that it had.

It is in my hands and I must
consider its effect upon the instant
case. The opinion in Foremost does

not say in explicit words that

o3%-

defendants' motion in this case must be
denied. Nor does it say that in a case
such as this, the court should dismiss.
But it is implicit in the opinion as a
whole that suits for wrongful death or
personal injuries involving purely
pleasure craft on State territorial
waters are cognizable in admiralty. I
so hold.

The moving consideration for the
Foremost decision is, in my opinion,
"the need for uniform rules to govern
conduct and liability...." 457 U.S. at
674. Its purpose would not be achieved
if we proceeded in admiralty court but
applied State negligence and wrongful
death rules, Accordingly, I hold that
admiralty rules will apply in all
aspects of the trial ineluding, but not
being limited to, questions of

comparative negligence, questions of the

-14-

Ke

availability of a jury, and questions of
limitations on liability.

The specific question presented on
the limitation of liability to the value
of the boat owned by defendant Taylor
and now transferred to the trustee is
not properly before the Court,
Accordingly, the Court makes no ruling
thereon.

And it is so ORDERED.

/s/ D. Dortch Warriner

United States District
Judge

Dated: 29 March 1984

In Virginia there now exists a
direct and irreconcilable conflict
between the Supreme Court of Virginia
and the United States District Courts in
the proper exercise of maritime and
admiralty jurisdiction arising out of
wrongful death on state territorial

waters.

CONCLUSION

The respondent has failed to
address the primary issues in this case.
She has raised false or irrelevant
collateral issues not material to the
basic issued raised by the Petitioners.
The Petitioners claim that under any and
all theories of maritime wrongful death,
whether the statutory LHWCA or under the
general maritime laws of the United
States, federal admiralty jurisdiction
applies and must be followed.

As stated by Justice Powell in his
dissent in Foremost (supra) at 682:

"State courts are duty
bound to apply federal as well

as local ‘uniform rules of

conduct.' See Testa v. Katt,

330 US 386, 91 L.Ed. 967, 67

S.Ct. 810 (1947). The Court

does not suggest that state

courts lack competency to
apply federal as well as state

law to this type of law

traffic. And this Court

stands ready, if necessary, to
review state decisions to

shhin

ensure that important issues
of federal law are resolved
correctly."

Respectfully submitted,

KAY J. BROWN, ADMX., ETC.

By Bars: ‘2 Noa

Alan P. Owens

Alan P. Owens

SMITH AND OWENS

250 Monticello Arcade
Post Office Box 3646
Norfolk, Virginia 23514

Attorney for Petitioners

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on or before
June 6, 1984, three copies of the
foregoing Petitioners Reply Brief were
mailed to S. Miles Dumville, Esquire,
310 South Boulevard, Post Office Box
14515, Richmond, Virginia 23221, Counsel
for Patricia Ann Brown; and three copies
of the foregoing Petitioners' Reply
Brief were hand delivered to Wiley G.
Gary, Esquire, 223 Monticello Arcade,
Norfolk, Virginia, Guardian ad Litem for
Ronnie Edward Brown.

I further certify that all parties

required to be served have been served.

aR) OES Be:

Alan P. Owens
Counsel for Petitioners

site

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1556%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
