# Opposition — Shelton v. Carlton

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1513%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 467 U.S. 1206

## Text

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED
APR #6 934
No. 83-1628
ALEXANDES 1. STEVAS.
CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

sy
Vv

DR. HERBERT M. SHELTON, ET AL.,

Petitioners,
Vs.

JOAN F. CARLTON, ET AL,

Respondents.

fy
Vv

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

ry
Vv

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

fy
Vv

Ricuarp TINSMAN
TixnsMan & Hovser, Inc.
1900 NBC Building

San Antonio, Texas 78205
(512) 225-3121

Attorney for Respondents
April 25, 1984

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

RESPONSE TO QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1, The Court of Appeals’ decision does not prohibit
a person from selecting a course of treatment not sanc-
tioned by orthodox medical opinion.

2. The Court of Appeals’ decision does not prohibit
Petitioners from engaging in a course of treatment not
sanctioned by orthodox medical opinion.

3. There was sufficient evdence presented that Dr.
Vetrano did recommend an extended fast for the treatment
of William R. Carlton’s ulcerative colitis and the Court of
Appeals was correct in holding that Dr. Vetrano made that
fatal recommendation.

4. The Court of Appeals did not hold the Defendants
to the standard of care of medical practitioners.

5. There is more than ample evidence to support the
verdict and judgment of negligence, both ordinary and
gross, and the Court of Appeals’ decision is supported by
the great weight and preponderance of that evidence.

6. The Court of Appeals correctly held that the evi-
dence of prior, related and substantially similar “finger-
print deaths” was admissible under the Federal Rules in
a negligence case.

ii
PARTIES BEFORE THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The parties to the proceeding in the Fifth Circuit
were the following:

Dr. Herbert M. Shelton
Dr. Vivian Vetrano

Joan F. Carlton, Individually and as Representative
of the Estate of William R. Carlton, and as Next
Friend of Robert Carlton, Melissa Carlton, David
Carlton, and Lynn Carlton.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pages
Response to Questions Presemted 0... cette i
Parties Before the Fifth Circuit ii
Table of Authorities . iil
Opinions Below 2
Jurisdiction 2
Federal Rules Involved 2
Preliminary Statement 4
Statement 6
Proceedings Before the District Court 12
Proceedings Before the Fifth Cireuit 00000012
Reasons for Denying the Writ 13
Argument:
I. The Court of Appeals Has Rendered a Decision
in Accordance With Applicable State Law. 13

II. The Court of Appeals Has Rendered a Decision
in Accordance With the Federal Rules of Evi-
dence. 21

Ili. The Court of Appeals Has Not Rendered a De-
cision Which Will Inhibit Freedom of Choice,
Research and Exploration. 25

Conclusion 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Burk Royalty Co. v. Walls, 615 S.W.2d 911 (Tex.

(1981) 19
Dollar v. Long Mfg. N.C., Inc., 561 F.2d 613 (5th

Cir. 1977) 23

Me See

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Pages

Fielder v. Bosshard, 590 F.2d 105 (5th Cir. 1959)... 16
Garcia v. Aetna Cas. and Sur. Co., 657 F.2d 562

(5th Cir. 1981) 24, 25

Gardner v. QHS, Inc., 488 F.2d 238 (4th Cir. 1971) —. 23

General Talk P. Corp. v. Western Electric Co.,
304 U.S. 175 (1938), adherred to 305 U.S. 124,
reh. den. 305 U.S. 675 14

Gilander v. Ford Motor Company, 488 F.2d 839
(10th Cir. 1973)

Jones and Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Matherne, 348
F.2d 394 (5th Cir. 1965)

Miles v. Meadows, 309 S.W.2d 284 (Tex. Civ. App.

—Dallas, no writ 1958) 19
Morrison v. Wilkerson, 343 F. Supp. 1319 (W.D.

Miss. 1971) 23
National Labor Relations Board v. oe 8.8.

Co., 340 U.S. 498 (1951) 14
Ramos v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 615 F.2d 334 (5th

Cir. 1980) 22
Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, 349

U.S. 70 (1955) 14
Smith v. State Fire and Cas. Co., 633 F.2d 401

(5th Cir. 1980) 24, 25
Statutes
28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1) 2
28 U.S.C. § 1332(a) 2
Fed. R. Evid. 403 23
Fed. R. Evid. 404 (b) 2, 24
F. R. Cw. P. 51 3,16
Sup. Ct. R. 17 3,13

No. 83-1628

st.
Ww

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

sy
Ww

DR. HERBERT M. SHELTON, ET AL.,

Petitioners,
vs.

JOAN F. CARLTON, ET AL.,
Respondents.

, ———
oe

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

‘.
ae

RESPONDENTS’ ERIEF IN OPPOSITION

—
a

To the Honorable Supreme Court of the United States:

Joan F. Carlton, Individually and as Representative of
the Estate of William R. Carlton, Deceased and as Next
Friend of Melissa Carlton, Robert Carlton, David Carlton,
and Lynn Carlton, pray that the Petition for a Certiorari
to Review the Judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit 722 F.2d 203 filed in the
above entitled case on January 3, 1984, be denied.

1

OPINIONS BELOW

Petitioners accurately state the status of the opinions
below in their Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

°

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the Fifth Circuit was filed on Jan-
uary 3, 1984. The jurisdiction of this Court has been in-
voked under 28 USC & 1254(1). The basis of the District
Court’s jurisdiction was 28 USC & 1332(a). The petition
for certiorari should be denied in accordance with S. Ct.
R. 17.

°

FEDERAL RULES INVOLVED:

Rule 403, Federal Rules of Evidence:

Although relevant, evidence may be excluded if its
probative value is substantially outweighed by the danger
of unfair prejudice, confusion of the issues, or misleading
the jury, or by considerations of undue delay, waste of
time, or needless presentation of cumulative evidence.

Rule 404 (b), Federal Rules of Evidence:

(b) Other crimes, wrongs, or acts. Evidence of oth-
er crimes, wrongs, or acts is not admissible to show the
character of a person in order to show that he acted in
conformity therewith. It may be admissible for other
purposes, such as proof of motive, opportunity, intent,

preparation, plan, knowledge, identity, or absence of mis-
take or accident.

Rule 51, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

At the close of the evidence or at such earlier time
during the trial as the court reasonably directs, any party
may file written requests that the court instruct the jury
on the law as set forth in the requests. The court shall
inform counsel of its proposed action upon the requests
prior to their arguments to the jury, but the court shall
instruct the jury after the arguments are completed. No
party may assign as error the giving or the failure to
give an instruction unless he objects thereto before the
jury retires to consider its verdict, stating distinctly the
matter to which he objects and the grounds of his objec-
tion. Opportunity shall be given to make the objection out
of the hearing of the jury.

Rule 17, Rules of the Supreme Court:

1. A review on writ of certiorari is not a matter of
right, but of judicial discretion, and will be granted only
when there are special and important reasons therefor.
The following, while neither controlling nor fully measur-
ing the Court’s discretion, indicate the character of reasons
that will be cansidered.

(a) When a federal court of appeals has rendered a
decision in conflict with the decision of another
federal court of appeals on the same matter; or
has decided a federal question in a way in con-
flict with a state court of last resort; or has so
far departed from the accepted and usual course
of judicial proceedings, or so far sanctioned such
a departure by a lower court, as to call for an
exercise of this Court’s power of supervision.

(b) When a state court of last resort has decided a
federal question in a way in conflict with the
decision of another state court of last resort or
of a federal court of appeals.

(c) When a state court or a federal court of appeals
has decided an important question of federal law
which has not been, but should be, settled by this
Court, or has decided a federal question in a way
in conflict with applicable decisions of this Court.

io™
Ww

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

This is an action brought by the widow and children
of William R. Carlton for the wrongful death of their
husband and father. This case presents a novel method
of health care. However, the issues of negligence and
gross negligence were not decided against the Defendants,
Shelton and Vetrano, for their decision to practice this
unusual therapy but for their complete failure to exercise
the basic standard of care of the reasonable ordinary pru-
dent person in regards to the rights of the Decedent, Wil-
liam R. Carlton.

This cause of action was presented to the jury with-
out any requested issues by the Defendants in regard to
the now alleged contributory negligence of Carlton nor
were any instructions requested for submission to the
jury on the issue of assumption of the risk which was
first raised by the Defendants’ appeal.

The fundamental issue presented in the case was
whether the Defendants or any person could be excused
for withholding proper medical attention until such time

as medical aid becomes ineffective, particularly when three
other unfortunate persons had succumbed under similar
conditions in the preceding five year period under Defend-
ants’ supervision.

William R. Carlton had not made a “decision” to die.
That decision was made by Dr. Vetrano when Carlton’s
mind and body had reached such a deplorable state that
he no longer possessed the mental ability to reason and
no longer possessed the physical ability to carry out any
course of saving action.

The Judgment in this case is based on a wealth of
supportive evidence. A right and fair result was reached
by respected lower court judges. The complete lack of
any case authority regarding the standard of care of
“fasting practitioners” indicates the problem is unlikely
to occur frequently. Furthermore, since the reasonable
man standard in regards to Defendants’ care was sub-
mitted to the jury with the approval of all trial counsel,
the rule sought by the Petitioners is not supported by this
fact situation.

While the federal questions raised by the Petitioners
present intellectually interesting problems, this Court
does not sit for the benefit of Defendants to satisfy their
interests but for special and important reasons which
reach beyond the academic or the episodic.

6

STATEMENT

Plaintiff was the wife of the Decedent and Lynn,
Robert, Melissa, and David were his four (4) adopted
children. (Tr. 1-22). William R. Carlton was forty-nine
(49) years of age at the time of his death (Tr. 1-97), a
graduate of the University of Rochester and held a Mas-
ter’s Desrree in Business from the Wharton School of
Finance. (Tr. 1-23, 24).

William Carlton was an employee of the Hewlett-
Packard Company exercising the position of the Corpo-
rate Marketing Finance and Systems Manager. (Tr. 2-
366). His fellow employees described William Carlton as
possessing outstanding technical skills and having a “real
good working attitude” as far as getting along with peer
groups. (Tr. 2-367, 368). Prior to entering the Health
School, Carlton had accepted a promotion to become comp-
troller of the company’s leasing division and would have
enjoyed a salary of $56,000.00 a year. (Tr. 2-367, 368).

In 1968, Decedent was diagnosed as having ulcerative
colitis. (Tr. 1-31). The condition, manifested by ulcers
in the colon, was not painful, though it became quite a
nuisance and required Carlton to make frequent trips to
relieve himself. (Tr. 1-32). However, the colitis did not
interfere in Carlton’s enjoyment of life, particularly out-
door activities. (Tr. 1-97, 2-357).

When drug therapy failed to correct the colitis, Carl-
ton’s physician recommended a complete colostomy, a sur-
gical procedure in which the colon is removed. (Tr. 1-33).
The need for surgery was not critical. However, due to its
irreversible nature, Car'ton and his wife wanted to explore
all alternatives. (Tr. 1-34). They were introduced to the

“Hygenic” way of thinking which advocated complete
fasting for the treatment of the disease. If the fast was
unsuccessful, then there was the option of the colostomy.
As Mrs. Carlton testified:

“We had been introduced to the natural health hy-
giene way of thinking and possibly of undertaking a
fast to allow the body to rest and cure itself, and we
thought that was a viable alternative to the operation
because if it didn’t work, we could always go ahead
with the operation.” (Tr. 1-35, lines 17-22).

The Carltons read several books by Dr. Herbert M.
Shelton. (Tr. 1-38). The books were devoid of any dang-
ers of death resulting from a fast as long as the fasting
supervisor exercised good common sense. (Tr. 1-38, 39,
Plaintiffs’ Exhibit No. 32). Nor did Dr. Vetrano ever
mention to the Carltons the susceptibility of the human
body to pneumonia as a result of a debilitating fast, or
the fact that death had occurred as a result of fasting at
the Shelton Health School. (Tr. 1-38, 39).

On Dr. Vetrano’s recommendation, Carlton stopped
his drug therapy and came to San Antonio to begin a fast
consisting solely of distilled water intake. (Plaintiffs’ Ex-
hibit No. 3, Tr. 1-43). William Carlton entered the Health
School weighing 190 to 192 pounds. (Tr. 1-45).

On October 10, 1978, 29 days later, William Carlton
was brought to Baptist Memorial Hospital in an extreme-
ly weak, debilitated, and dehydrated condition, so weak
that he could not sit up and become exhausted by simply
moving his hands. (Tr. 1-168, 170, 175, 197, 252, 253, 261).
Chest X-rays indicated that Carlton was also suffering
from aspiration pneumonitis indicating that several days
prior to his admission, he had become so weak that he was

inhaling his own saliva and vomitus, severely infecting
his lungs. (Tr. 1-190, 244, 267). For at least four (4) days
prior to his admission into Baptist Memorial Hospital,
Carlton had been unable to get out of bed. (Tr. 1-261).

In the words of Dr. Vincent Di Maio, Carlton’s chanc-
es for survival were slim:

“When he came in, he was in very serious and critical
condition. His blood tests revealed that the constitu-
ents of his blood were such that he was sort of, I guess
you would say, balanced on a knife’s edge... . If he
had died five minutes after admission, I would not
have been surprised in the least.” (Tr. 2-419, lines
17-24).

Less than 24 hours after admission, Carlton was dead
due to debilitation, dehydration, malnutrition, and aspira-
tion bronchial pneumonia. (Tr. 2-374). His weight at
autopsy was 130 pounds. (See Plaintiffs’ Exhibit No. 17).

Carlton had not eaten anything at the Health School
the entire 29 days he was under the supervision of Dr.
Vetrano. (Tr. 3-796). While Dr. Vetrano was licensed as
a chiropractor by the State of Texas, her “treatment” by
prolonged fasting was not in accordance with the laws of
the State of Texas nor with her studies as a chiropractor.
(Tr. 2-296).

Dr. Charles Downing, a licensed chiropractor and past
president of Texas Chiropractic Association and Texas
State Director for the American Chiropractic Association,
testified that it was beneath the standard of care for a rea-
sonable chiropractor to recommend a diet consisting of a
sole intake of distilled water for the treatment of ulcera-
tive colitis. (Tr. 2-296, 2-317).

Five medical doctors testified that on a medical stand-
ard, Dr. Vetrano’s actions were not only negligent, but
constituted gross neglect. (Tr. 1-236, 1-239, 1-241, 1-259,
1-260, 2-421-2-423, 2-469-2-470). Furthermore, in the course
of her “practice”, Dr. Vetrano had seen at least three other
individuals die as a result of dehydration, starvation, and
disease, at Dr. Shelton’s Health School, and two of these
three ill-fated patients had aspiration pneumonitis at
the time of their death. William R. Carlton suffered from
all of these conditions. (Tr. 2-407-2-409).

Defendant, Dr. Herbert M. Shelton, while bedridden
with Parkinson’s Disease, was completely lucid at all times
material herein, and consistently advised Dr. Vetrano in
regards to the operations of the Health School. Further-
more, Dr. Shelton maintained complete veto power over the
operations of the Health Center. (Tr. 3-849-850, 3-855-857,
3-868).

Defendants’ expert, Dr. Scott, a fasting practitioner
from Ohio, stated that patients must be seen at least once
a day during a fast and notes must be recorded following
each observation. (Tr. 3-630, 3-671). According to Dr.
Scott, patients who refuse to follow orders must be dis-
charged. (Tr. 3-362). Finally, Dr. Scott testified that it
is extremely important to note in the records when a pa-
tient refuses to break a fast. (Tr. 3-672). Dr. Vetrano’s
notes indicated that she was seeing Carlton every two to
three days. She did not record any indication of a re-
fusal by Mr. Carlton to break the fast. (Tr. 4-903, 4-919,
4-921).

Emmett Freez, Mr. Carlton’s part-time roommate,
was not a “disinterested witness” as claimed by Petition-

¥G
Se

10

ers. He refused to talk to the Plaintiffs’ counsel prior to
the trial, because he believed that Plaintiffs wanted to
build a case against Dr. Vetrano. (Tr. 3-734). On cross-
examination, Emmett Freez admitted that he never heard
Dr. Vetrano recommend that Mr. Carlton break his fast.

“Q. You never did hear her recommend that he break
the fast, did you?

A. I didn’t hear her recommend it, no.” (Tr. 3-740,
lines 24, 25; Tr. 3-741, line 1).

Nor was Emmett Freez Carlton’s roommate during
Carlton’s final days at the Health School. Freez left the
School on October 1, 1978. (Tr. 3-717). Carlton remained
at the Schoo] until October 10, 1978. (Tr. 1-168-170).

Never did Dr. Herbert M. Shelton in his books, nor
did Dr. Vetrano inform Mr. Carlton or his wife, of the pos-
sibility of death in fasts conducted at the Shelton Health
Center. Defendants’ expert fasting practitioner, Dr.
Scott, testified that he does not inform his patients of the
possibility of death. (Tr. 3-687). Furthermore, all wit-
nesses at the trial who had engaged in a prolonged fast
at some time in the past, stated that they were never ad-
vised of the possibility or the risk of death occurring dur-
ing a fast, particularly at the Shelton Health Center. (Tr.
3-686, 3-762, 3-780, Pickle Depo. p. 22).

The opinion below clearly indicates that the Court of
Appeals did correctly perceive the nature of the case. Dr.
Vetrano did recommend a prolonged fast for the treatment
of Mr. Carlton’s condition. (Plaintiffs’ Exhibit No. 3).

The record clearly reflects that while the Defendants
carefully and deliberately avoided use of the term “medi-
cal facility” to describe their operation at the Shelton

ll

Health Center, their persistence in using the title “doctor”,
their use of health questionnaires, doctor’s notes, and
physical examinations, gave the public, including Carlton,
the impression that this was a “medical facility”. This
constant referral to one another as “doctor”, despite the
fact that prolonged fasting is not a sanctioned practice
within the chiropractic field, is deliberately misleading to
those unfamiliar with the Hygenic Program. Use of such
terminology gives the illusion that during a fast, basic
conditions will be monitored and proper and timely medi-
cal attention will be forthcoming in the event the need
arises.

Respondents respectfully disagree with the Petition-
ers in that the correct posture of this case does not con-
cern Carlton’s decision to enter the Health School but the
Defendants continuing the fast and withholding proper
medical attention in that critical period prior to Mr.
Carlton’s death. As Dr. Vetrano’s notes indicate, Mr.
Carlton began having chest pains on October 7, 1978. By
that time, Carlton had slipped into a mental fog and he
had become too weak to stand. The Defendants’ inaction
during this period was the basis of the verdict and judg-
ment of negligence and gross neglect. They failed to ex-
ercise the standard of care which would have been exer-
cised by the ordinary prudent person under the same or
similar circumstances, that is seek proper medical atten-
tion before it becomes too late. Dr. Vetrano chose to de-
lay conventional medical treatment. She chose to retain
Carlton, a man whose reasoning had become clouded, and
his physical strength nearly extinguished, in a non-medical
facility without testing or monitoring equipment at a
time when Carlton was experiencing severe chest pains and

12

was suffering from malnutrition and dehydration. She,
“the fasting supervisor”, with the advice and consent of
Dr. Shelton, allowed William R. Carlton to die. As set
forth in the record, it was her decision to continue the
fast despite Carlton’s complaints of pain.

“Q.

>

Haven’t there been people that you have advised
you are in a crisis, it will pass, and the person
did not survive the crisis, they died?

Yes, I have had that. (Tr. 4-926, lines 20-23).

I just want to know if you don’t encourage crisis
to be endured?

If I think the crisis should be endured, I encour-
age it. If I think it shouldn’t, I break the fast.

Alright, did anyone tell Mr. Carlton, ‘you are in
a crisis, this will pass, just endure it.’?

I told him that I thought he was passing gall-
stones. I feel that he did start passing gallstones
and I said, let’s watch it and see what it is.” (Tr.
4-927, lines 9-17).

st
a

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE DISTRICT COURT

Petitioners have accurately stated the proceedings be-
fore the District Court.

s*
—

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners have accurately stated the proceedings be-
fore the Fifth Circuit.

°

13
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I
The Court of Appeals Has Rendered a Deci-
sion In Accordance With Applicable State Law.

II.

The Court of Appeals Has Rendered a Deci-
sion In Accordance With the Federal Rules of
Evidence.

III.

The Court of Appeals Has Not Rendered a
Decision Which Will Inhibit Freedom of Choice,
Research and Exploration.

ARGUMENT

The Court of Appeals Has Rendered a Deci-
sion In Accordance With Applicable State Law.

Petitioners are correct in that it is Respondents’ posi-
tion that there are no substantial federal questions pre-
sented in this case. While a decision involving a starvation
clinic may be novel and thus intellectually interesting, the
questions presented are unique to these Defendants and
are in no way questions which have not been but should
be settled by this Court. Sup. Ct. R. 17.

Furthermore, Petitioners have failed to cite to this
Court, nor have Respondents located any decision by any

14

other federal court of appeals, which is in conflict with
the Fifth Circuit’s decision in this matter. Petitioners
have not located any decisions of this Court which conflict
with the federal questions which Petitioners state arise in
this cause of action.

The respected judges below based their decision on the
accepted usual course of judicial proceedings, that is a
review of the record to see if the evidence sufficiently
supports the district court’s judgment and whether or not
the district court exercised sound judicial discretion in the
admission of particular evidence. A right and fair result
was reached by the court below.

As this Court has stated before, concurrent findings
on questions of fact by the district court and circuit court
of appeals will not be disturbed unless piainly without
support in the evidence. General Talking P. Corp. v. West-
ern Electric Co., 304 U.S. 175 (1938) adhered to 305 U.S.
124, reh. den. 305 U.S. 675.

The record is replete with evidence to support the
jury’s verdict. This Court is not the place to review any
alleged conflicts of evidence but to review those decisions
and cases involving principles, the settlement of which are
of importance to the public as distinguished from the
parties. National Labor Relations Board v. Pittsburg S.S.
Co., 340 U.S. 498 (1951).

As the Rules of this Court state, review on a writ of
certiorari is not a matter of right, but of judicial discre-
tion, and will be granted only when there are special and
important reasons therefor. Rice v. Sioux City Memorial
Park Cemetery, 349 U.S. 70 (1955). “‘Special and im-

15

portant reasons imply a reach to a problem beyond the
academic or the episodic.’” supra at 74.

Respondents respectfully submit that this case has
been subject to a thorough and effective Federal Appellate
review and there is no need for further review.

The record clearly supports the judgment of negli-
gence, both ordinary and gross, under Texas Law. Petition-
ers are now attempting to cast this case in terms of as-
sumption of the risk and/or contributory negligence. As-
sumption of the risk and contributory negligence imply in-
formed consent. Nowhere in the record is there found any
testimony that anyone, the Carltons, or other “patients” at
the Health School were ever advised that people have die:!
during a fast, particularly at the Shelton Health School.

Petitioners now are alleging that Carlton was “deter-
mined to die.” The record is clear that at least four days
prior to his death, Mr. Carlton was totally dependent on
Dr. Vetrano for his welfare. He was too weak to physically
resist any efforts to place him in an ambulance, if Vetrano
had called one. Furthermore, his reasoning had become
clouded due to the severe infection, malnutrition, and
debilitation, Carlton was suffering during his final days
at the Shelton Health Center.

Respondents are not denying that Carlton made a
reasoned choice to undergo a fast at the Shelton Health
School in San Antonio, Texas. However, Carlton did not
look at the Health School as a place of final resort but
simply as an alternative to be investigated, and if the
Hygenic treatment was not successful, then he would have
submitted to the colostomy.

16

Clearly, the jury did not believe the testimony of the
“disinterested witness”, Emmett Freez. The statement
“do or die” could not have been uttered by a man who in the
very words of the Petitioners was an “intelligent, educated,
and mature businessman”. (See Page 8 of Petition).

The record is absent of any requested instruction to
the jury concerning assumption of the risk and contribu-
tory or comparative negilgence. Under the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, Petitioners should not be allowed to
raise those issues now. F. R. Civ. P. 51.

Due to the findings of gross negligence, the jury obvi-
ously believed that Vetrano and Shelton had crossed the
line between misfeasance and conscious indifference. In
cases such as this, the attitudes and states of minds of the
Defendants weigh very heavily. Thus, as the Court of
Appeals of the Fifth Circuit has decided in similar fact
situations, appellate courts are reluctant to read between
the lines of the record. “We commit our trust to the jurors
who saw and heard the witnesses”. Fielder v. Bosshard,
590 F.2d 105 (5th Cir. 1959).

Plaintiffs did not bring an action for malpractice. To
allege malpractice would give undue credence and status
to the fasting practitioner. There is no such standard,
there is no training facility, there is no testing of prac-
titioners. These individuals are self-appointed and basi-
cally conduct their activities in accordance with their per-
sonal prerogatives.

Due to the lack of an established standard, Plaintiffs
submitted the reasonable man standard. Defendants’ trial
attorneys were in agreement. (Tr. 1-123, 1-125). Dr. Vet-
rano’s trial attorney stated that due to the absence of such

17

a standard, the Defendant’s conduct should be weighed
against that of reasonable man. (T'r. 1-123). Dr. Shelton’s
attorney agreed. (Tr. 1-125). There wus no objection in
accordance with Rule 51 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure to the submission of the issue of negligence of
Dr. Vetrano.

Based on the record, the only standard applicable
to measure Defendants’ conduct was the reasonably pru-
dent person. Dr. Downing, ihe chiropractor, testified that
Dr. Vetrano and Dr. Sheltcn, through their use of pro-
longed fasting, were not practicing chiropractic. A care-
ful reading of Dr. Downing’s testimony reveals that fast-
ing an individual with the sole intake of distilled water
for a considerable period of time is definitely not within
the practices and teachings of the science of chiropractic.
(Tr. 2-296, 2-300). Furthermore, Dr. Downing was not
aware of any chiropractors who conduct themselves in that
matter. (Tr. 2-305). Furthermore, as Petitioners have
pointed out, Dr. Downing did testify that it was beneath
the standard of care of a chiropractor to recommend a diet
of distilled water only for the treatment of ulcerative
colitis. (Tr. 2-317).

Dr. Vetrano did recommend the fast for the treat-
ment of Mr. Carlton’s ulcerative colitis as set forth in Mr.
Carlton’s letter of July 30, 1978 to Dr. Vetrano:

“Accordingly, my reservation form specifies no ending
date for my health school stay; however, per your
recommendation, I am tentatively thinking in terms
of two months or so, depending on how things go with
the fast.” (Plaintiff’s Exhibit No. 3).

Furthermore, Dr. Vetrano did ask Mr. Carlton to
stop taking the drugs prescribed by his physician at least

.
.

&
4
P
o>
“i
;

18

three weeks prior to his entry into the Health School.
(Tr. 1-48).

It was agreed by all parties and all experts who tes-
tified, that no practitioner of any school should allow a
patient to deteriorate to a point of dehydration, mal-
nourishment, and grave illness. All the medical doctors
were in agreement that Carlton suffered from all three
conditions on his admission to Baptist Memorial Hospital.
Defendants’ own expert, Dr. Scott, the fasting practi-
tioner, stated that on admission to the Baptist Memorial
Hospital, Mr. Carlton was critically ill.

‘‘This is a very very sick man. He is metabolically
deranged, seriously, dangerously, perhaps critically.
Metabolically deranged, meaning he is suffering from
a mortal illness and it means his internal regulators
are not sustaining his vital function well enough to
preserve his health.” (Tr. 3-650, lines 12-16).

Even Dr. Shelton, in his book Fasting Cam Save Your

Life, (See Plaintiff’s Exhibit No. 32) stated:

‘*He (the supervisor) carefully watches the faster
in the day-by-day developments and breaks the fast
when his object has been obtained or before any
danger to the faster has developed.’ (Tr. 3-681, lines
4-7). (Emphasis added.)

As this Court is aware, all of the standards of the
experts, were superior to that of a reasonably prudent
man. The higher the standard of care required by the
defendant, the easier to prove liability. Here the De-
fendants’ conduct did not even rise to the standard of the
reasonably prudent man, the lowest standard of conduct
that our society will permit in governing man’s relation-
ship to man. It is conclusive that the Defendants, from
the testimony of all] experts, failed to meet the lowest

19

‘*standard of care”. See Miles v. Meadows, 309 S.W.2d
284 (Tex. Civ. App.-Dallas, no writ, 1958) at 287.

Gross Negligence

Respondents agree that in the State of Texas, Burk
Royalty Co. v. Walls, 616 S.W. 2d 911 (Tex. 1981) is the
controlling authority on gross negligence and exemplary
damages.

The Texas Supreme Court has stated that the appel-
late standard in testing a jury finding of gross negligence
test must be the same evidence test which should apply
to any other fact issue. supra at 920.

‘*The plaintiff has the burden to prove that the de-
fendant was grossly negligent. If the jury finds gross
negligence, the defendant has the burden of establish-
ing that there is no evidence to support the finding.
... The jury, after all, does not have to believe evi-
dence that some care was exercised. When there is
some evidence of the defendant’s want of care and
also some evidence of some care by the defendant,
the jury finding of gross negligence through entire
want of care resolves the issue, and the appellate
court is bound by the finding and testing for legal
sufficiency. supra at 920, 921.

The fact that Dr. Vetrano had previously supervised
three (3) people who died from malnutrition, dehydration,
debilitation and the effects thereof, was probative that
Dr. Vetrano knew about the peril to which she was sub-
jecting Carlton. Furthermore, the medical testimony that
at least four (4) days prior to his death, Carlton was too
weak to even leave his bed, established that he was totally
subject to the will and control of Dr. Vetrano. To have
allowed Carlton to fall into such a debilitated state and
to have refused to call for medical assistance until the

20

eleventh hour, was a strong indication of her want of care,
particularly in view of three (3) prior deaths from sub-
stantially the same causes and under identical cireum-
stances. Furthermore, the fact that she would allow a
living, vibrant individual, to be subjected to such pain
and suffering and to waste away to the skeletal state,
was also strong proof that she did mot care about the
safety and welfare of Mr. Carlton. (See Plaintiffs’ Ex-
hibit Nos. 9-11.)

While Dr. Vetrano alleged that she visited Carlton
on a regular basis, her notes clearly point to conduct to
the contrary. Furthermore, while she testified that she
attempted to have Mr. Carlton break his fast, there was
no record in her notes of such advice, though her own ex-
pert, Dr. Scott, indicated that it was of vital importance
to make such a notation. More importantly, Mr. Carlton
was at such a point of debilitation and extreme weakness,
he could not have physically resisted Dr. Vetrano had she
called an ambulance at any time. Dr. Vetrano did not
have the right to gamble with Mr. Carlton’s life on her
theory that he could survive the crisis. Thus any attempts
by the Petitioners to point to any evidence that Dr. Ve-
trano exercised some care is overshadowed by the over-
whelming evidence to the contrary.

Her own expert, Dr. Scott, testified that patients must
be seen at least once a day during the fast and more often
if they are critically or seriously ill. (Tr. 3-630). As Dr.
Vetrano’s notes indicated, she consistently did not see Mr.
Carlton for two to three days at a time. (Tr. 4-904).

As stated above, Dr. Vetrano did recommend a fast-
ing program for the treatment of Mr. Carlton’s disease.
(See Plaintiffs’ Exhibit No. 3). Thus, the focus of the

21

Fifth Circuit’s decision is not misplaced as alleged by
Petitioners. At no time was the possibility or risk of
death ever disclosed to Carlton or the fact that other per-
sons under Dr. Vetrano’s supervision had died during
fast at Shelton’s Health School. Without this crucial in-
formation, Carlton could not have made a reasoned choice
about the fast. The decision to continue the fast to the
point of starvation and eventual death was that of Dr.
Vetrano.

II.

The Court of Appeals Has Rendered a Deci-
sion In Accordance With the Federal Rules of
Evidence.

During the testimony of Dr. Vincent Di Maio, Bexar
County Medical Examiner, the autopsy reports of three
(3) prior individuals who had died at Dr. Shelton’s Health
School were admitted into evidence. (Tr. 2-399, 400). These
individuals were Fr. Armand John Gilbert, Keith V. Ellis
and Joy Michelle Bristo. Dr. Vincent Di Maio had re-
viewed the autopsy reports anc personally examined tis-
sue slides which had been retained by the prior medical
examiner for each of these three (3) persons. (Tr. 2-405-
407). Fr. Armand John Gilbert died in 1973; Keith Ellis
in 1974; Joy Michelle Bristo in 1977; and William R. Carl-
ton in 1978. (Tr. 2-406). Thus, the period between the
death of the first, Fr. Armand John Gilbert and Mr. Carl-
ton was five (5) years. In the opinion of Dr. Vincent Di
Maio, the state of health of all four (4) individuals were
similar at the time of their death.

‘*All of these people died as a result of dehydration,
starvation, and they manifested the evidence at autop-

22

sy of their disease, starvation and dehydration.” (Tr.

2-407, lines 3-5).

Three of the four had bronchial pneumonia at the
time of their death.

‘“‘The last one, Ms. Bristo, had bronchial pneumonia.
Mr. Ellis had bronchial pneumonia, and of course,
Mr. Carlton had bronchial pneumonia.” (Tr. 2-408,
lines 4-6).

All four, including Carlton, had sustained extreme
weight losses prior to the time of their death. (Tr. 2-409).
All four had come from Shelton’s Health School. (Tr. 2-
411). At the time of his admission to Baptist Memorial
Hospital, Carlton was described as a likely candidate for
a heart attack. Fr. Armand John Gilbert appeared to
have died from cardiac arrest. (Tr. 2-416). The first three
had actually died at Shelton’s Health School. (Tr. 2-417).

Based on the similarity of the conditions, Dr. Di Maio
testified that in his opinion, the perso who supervised
the fast of all four of these people from 1973 to 1978,
exhibited a gross neglect for their welfare and safety.
(Tr. 2-422-2-423). There was sufficient and substantial
similarity between the deaths of Gilbert, Ellis, Bristo, and
Carlton; all had died due to complications, malnutrition,
dehydration, and extreme weight loss, and these conditions
occurred at the Shelton Health Center. (Tr. 2443). Dr.
Vetrano was the supervisor in charge during 1973 throngh
1978. (Tr. 3-826-830).

It has been repeatedly held that evidence of similar
accidents is relevant in regards to issues such as the de-
fendant’s notice, magnitude of the danger involved, the
defendant’s ability to correct, the standard of care, and
causation. Ramos v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 615 F.2d 334

23

(5th Cir. 1980); and Jones and Laughlin Steel Corp. v.
Matherne, 348 F.2d 394 (5th Cir. 1965).

Only if there was no similarity of conditions between
these prior deaths could this evidence be deemed inad-
missible as a matter of law. Morrison v. Wilkerson, 343
F.Supp. 1319 (W.D. Miss. 1971).

“Tf there is some similarity of conditions, the weight
of that evidence would be in proportion to the evidence
of similarity, the greater weight to be given where
there is greater similarity and a lesser weight where
the similarity is less’”. supra at 1326.

Where the issue is one of foreseeability or notice,
evidence of what has actually been experienced in the same
or controllable situations constitutes proof of the greatest
probative value. Gardner v. QHS, Inc., 488 F.2d 238 (4th
Cir., 1971). While the evidence may be prejudicial, such
prejudice is greatly outweighed by it probative value. Fed.
R. Evid. 403. Virtually all evidence is prejudicial. De-
fendants have failed to show the prejudice is unfair. Dollar
v. Long Mfg. N. C., Inc., 561 F.2d 613 (5th Cir. 1977).

Generally, where negligence is an issue, prior failures
concerning an allegedly hazardous condition are admitted
as being probative of the Defendants’ knowledge. Are
not prior deaths under identical conditions indicative of
hazardous conditions? Rule 404 (b) is not limited solely
to products liability. Prior failures imputes knowledge
and this knowledge, in turn, then operates as a standard
against which can be tested the reasonableness of the De-
fendants’ conduct with regard to the allegedly hazardous
condition, or in this case, treatment. Gilander v. Ford Motor
Company, 488 F.2d 839 (10th Cir. 1973) at 846.

RR

24

Thus, the District Court exercised sound judicial dis-
cretion which has been upheld by the Fifth Circuit in that
the evidence of other wrongful conduct by Dr. Vetrano
was admissib!» for such other purposes as proof of motive,
opportunity, intent, preparation, plan, knowledge, and
causation. Fed. R. Evid. 404 (b).

Defendants have cited the case of Garcia v. Aetna Cas.
and Sur. Co., 657 F.2d 562 (5th Cir., 1981) in support of its
contention that the prior deaths were inadmissible. In
Garcia, the evidence of a prior fire was properly denied
since the defendant introduced absolutely no evidence to
show that the plaintiff had anything to do with the prior
fire. A similar resuit was reached in the decision of
Smith v. State Fire and Cas. Co., 633 F.2d 401 (5th Cir.
1980). In Smith, the defendants attempted to introduce the
evidence of five prior fires but failed to lay the proper
predicate by submitting evidence to show that the plain-
tiffs had actually been involved in the fires. Thus in both
Garcia and Smith, the Fifth Cireuit correctly upheld the
trial court’s decision to refuse the admission of prior inci-
dents since the moving party failed to produce evidence
to show a connection with the party against whom the evi-
dence was offered. Such connective evidence can be found
in this record.

It is undisputed that all three (3) prior deaths oc-
curred at the Shelton Health School. Furthermore, Dr.
Vetrano was the director of Dr .Shelton’s Health School
and under the supervision of Defendant, Dr. Shelton, and
was in full control and custody of its operations since
1965. (Tr. 1-47, 2-399, 2-339-340, 3-791-794). The record is
uncontroverted that Dr. Vetrano was the supervisor re-
sponsible for the fasts of Fr. Armand John Gilbert, Joy

25

Bristo, and Keith Ellis as she was Carlton’s. (Tr. 3-826-
830). Thus, the cases of Garcia and Smith are not rele-
vant to this case before this Court.

Petitioners are correct that on Page 382 of Volume II
of the Transcript, testimony from Dr. Ruben Santos was
read from deposition, that Dr. Santos had autopsied eight
deaths from the Shelton Health School in about fifteen
(15) years. However, no objection was made to that read-
ing at the time it was offered. Furthermore, the trial
court only allowed the details concerning the substantially
similar deaths of Fr. Armand John Gilbert, Joy Bristo, and
Keith Ellis into evidence

ITI.

The Court of Appeals Has Not Rendered a
Decision Which Will Inhibit Freedom of Choice,
Research and Exploration.

Respondents respectfully submit that Petitioners are
incorrect in their assertion that the judgments of the courts
below were based on a disdain for the practice of fasting
as the treatment for physical illness. (See Page 18 of
Petition). The judgments of the courts below are based
on the trial record and that record clearly showed that Dr.
Vetrano “literally allowed Carlton to starve to death”.
(Opinion at Page 1332). While Petitioners submit and
Respondents agree that the Federal Courts are not the
appropriate forum to debate the virtues and vices of “fast-
ing treatments”, Petitioners are asking this Court to ignore
the plethora of evidence of negligence and grant a writ
of certiorari in order that the theories of the Petitioners
can be further discussed.

26

The courts below are not criticizing Dr. Vetrano and
Dr. Shelton for their theories of health care but their gross
lack of attention to the basic human needs of Mr. Carlton
during his stay at the Shelton Health School. Mr. Carlton
did not intend to risk his life but relied upon Dr. Vetrano
and Dr. Shelton to exercise their duties as ordinary rea-
sonably prudent persons. Under the law, such was his
right.

CONCLUSION

Because the judgment reached by the courts below is
fair and just and Petitioners have failed to raise any sub-
stantial federal questions:

We respectfully submit that the Court should deny
Petitioners’ prayer for a Writ of Certiorari.
Respectfully submitted,

Tinsman & Hovser, Inc.
1900 NBC Building

San Antonio, Texas 78205
(512) 225-3121

By:

Ricuarp TinsMANn

Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1513%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
